About Vinology Ann Arbor

110 South Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Vinology was created to be your everyday wine bar. Over the years the Jonna family has enjoyed sharing wine, food, and spirits through their love of experimentation and education. Whether you are enjoying a glass of wine at our full-service bar, an intimate dinner with friends, or gathering for a corporate or social event in one of our private dining rooms, we maintain a passion and commitment towards exceptional, and innovative, food and wine.
When you dine at Vinology, you have our commitment that every detail from the food we select, to the wine we serve, to the service we provide will be executed with careful attention to detail. At Vinology, "wine" down, relax, experiment, and have fun while you educate your palate and savor the offerings!

“Great food. Award winning wine list. Intimately well-paced events”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday 11am - 12am midnight
Saturday 10am - 12am midnight
Sunday 10am - 10pm
The Kitchen closes one hour earlier than close time.

Cross Street:
Main Street between Washington and Huron

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 222-9841

Website:
http://www.vinologya2.com/

Catering:
Special menu packages are available for group luncheons and dinners. Inquire for details.

Parking Details:
Ample public and street parking, free on Sundays.

Public Transit:
Close to local bus routes, Greyhound and Amtrak in downtown Ann Arbor.

Executive Chef:
Adam Galloway

Private Party Facilities:
The Bubble Room, our largest private dining room, seats up to 60 guests and can accommodate 80 guests for a reception style party. The casually elegant Bubble Room features hundreds of hand blown glass bubbles suspended from the ceiling, original exposed brick, and a private bar. The Cellar seats up to 14 guests for private dining and tasting events. Wine bottles line the walls of this glass enclosed private dining room offering guests an immersive, intimate food and wine experience. To reserve a private room, call for Cindy at 734.222.9841 or email us at info@vinologya2.com

Vinology features two completely private rooms, a third semi private area, a floating screen, LCD projector, and private sound system. Our Event Planner will be happy to work with you to meet any additional equipment or décor needs for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Alonzo: (734) 222-9841

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Custom Wine Tastings, Signature Wine and food tasting pairing events like
Vino Value Wine tasting, Malbec Madness, Wines that Age, Beer Verse Wine, Patio Tasting, Black Wine Night.

Participate in Restaurant Week, Artini Bar Crawl and are prime spot to enjoy after seeing events such as the Art Fair, Green Fair, Big Conventions, Festifools and more.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vinology Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (10)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
People Watching (6)
Tapas (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We came for restaurant week and really e ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

We came for restaurant week and really enjoyed the menu. They have a great wine list, as well, and the ambiance is classy and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

We went during restaurant week and had a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

We went during restaurant week and had a great value meal, made even better as some of the wines were half price! The quality of foods was very good but they could have all been hotter. Other patrons said the same thing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Went for restaurent week. Great tasting ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for restaurent week. Great tasting food...salad, soup, salmon, chicken, waffles, carrot cake and more. All were great!!

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a great experience at Vinology. I a ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

What a great experience at Vinology. I absolutely love this restaurant and the management and waitstaff couldn't be more pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. Made a reservation for 8 for a birthday and was kindly offered the cellar room as a dining location which I happily accepted. The good and wine was exceptional and Vinny the manager and David our waiter were so attentive and patient with our large crowd. I can't say enough about what a lovely night it was. I've eaten here frequently for everything from date night to 20+ people gatherings and I have never walked away disappointed. Overall just a fantastic place for any food and wine lover.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, very clever food.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience, very clever food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was a little extravagant for our ta ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was a little extravagant for our taste. The wine selection was wonderful & service was excellent. Nice for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Our group of 5 adults and 1 baby enjoyed ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Our group of 5 adults and 1 baby enjoyed a very tasty brunch on Saturday. The bottomless mimosas were lovely and the waitstaff was attentive and friendly. We had the French toast with chantilly cream, salmon omelette, short rib tacos, and shrimp and grits. All were delightful. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is really something special! W ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is really something special! We had an awesome meal. Amazing flavors and obviously well thought out menu. Creative dishes that you can't get just anywhere. The portions are a bit on the small side. The wine, while delicious, was very expensive for very small pours. That being said, we will definitely be back and will recommend to friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't let the menu scare you, the food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Don't let the menu scare you, the food was amazing. Very different, a bit expensive, but well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service were wonderful. It was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and service were wonderful. It was a romantic date night and great way to celebrate New Years Eve. Amazing value for portion, quality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but not the usual service or qualit ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good but not the usual service or quality. Very busy and we were seated in the path between the bar and kitchen so the staff would often fun into those of us seated at the edge of the table as they were passing. It felt rushed and service was good but distracted. The food was plated beautifully and tasted good but the some dishes were cold or had sat after being prepared. A set menu was offered for the NYE evening and my guess is that dishes were prepared and sat waiting to be served. A service charge was automatically added even though we were not a group of 6. The set menu or the service charge was not disclosed prior to dining. The extra attention to detail that usually justifies the price was absent or rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food even with limited New Yea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food even with limited New Year's Eve menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was amazing! Octopus was excellent, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was amazing! Octopus was excellent, as well as the bison and duck dishes!

Would recommend to anybody.

Judson was our server, was very knowledgeable about food and wines.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Family Style, People Watching, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife and I went for a date night. Restau ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Wife and I went for a date night. Restaurant was very busy but they had our table waiting. There wasn't any place for my wife to put her oversized winter coat. The hostess offered to take it and keep it at her own station. Good food and as mentioned great service. We had a really fun time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Didn't think a confirmed reservation mea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Didn't think a confirmed reservation meant a high-top table in the bar area of the restaurant.As for the food, it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Jennifer was great. We were in celebrati ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Jennifer was great. We were in celebrating and she treated us wonderfully!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. Food never disappoint ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I love this place. Food never disappoints - love that they are bold with the menu and change it frequently, as it keeps the dining experience fresh.

This time I tried the bison loin - asked for medium rare - got medium rare - nice pink center.

Oh and the rutabaga, carrot purée- ha! It was divine. I remember sitting at the table for hours, face wrinkled with defiant scowl in protest of my parents' demand to finish my rutabaga before I excusing me from the dinner table - well had it tasted like this there would have been far fewer standoffs in my home!

Worth noting, the apples and squash took on an incredible amount of smoke flavor - almost surreal...

And of course the wine - always a nice variety of good quality, reasonably priced varietals to choose from. Be sure to try the carafes - equitably priced as the bottle, but you can try two wines with your meal instead of one. When it's just the two of us I love this option.

Great job - keep up the good work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service was amazing! Food was fabulous! ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was amazing! Food was fabulous! Best veggies I have ever eaten!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal!! Outstanding food and servic ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Phenomenal!! Outstanding food and service. Chef Adam's recipes are incredibly delicious and the desserts sinfully decadent. Menu has excellent options to choose from and they all go beyond your expectations. Our server David was great with his suggestions for the wine bottle as well as the food and did not simply push for us to make choices but gave us wise options that fit our appetite and palette. PB & J, Fjord Trout & Michigan Beets were my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

David was very knowledgeable with the wi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

David was very knowledgeable with the wines and the octopus was very delicious.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think their prices have gone a little ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I think their prices have gone a little high and the food has gotten a tad unusual for the average diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We had a great meal. Our server, Taijah, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a great meal. Our server, Taijah, was excellent and made helpful suggestions. We were a little disappointed that we didn't get a booth we requested when we made the reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great waiter who was knowledgea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a great waiter who was knowledgeable and friendly. The brunch was delicious and they have an impressive wine list. Would definitely visit again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was good, server was very hel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Everything was good, server was very helpful and nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice brunch. Easy to get reservation on ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice brunch. Easy to get reservation on busy Parents weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I was appalled the way the server spoke ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was appalled the way the server spoke to is like he was looking down at us. It ruined the meal. The food wasn't that great either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Always good... flatbread and salad was g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always good... flatbread and salad was great...good wine!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a reservation after a UM football ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a reservation after a UM football game. Table was ready when we were. Our waiter was friendly and efficient on what became a busy evening. Both of our salads were unique and very good, We had 4 small plates between the two of us for our main course and it was plenty. Our wine was very good, but seemed quite expensive, particularly since we didn't even choose from the lengthy "select" list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, People Watching, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great place. Recommended by a colleague ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great place. Recommended by a colleague in Chicago and was definitely a winner. All staff was great from hostess to the bus boy. Very attentive but not too intrusive

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Organic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience at Vinology. Th ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Another great experience at Vinology. The food was superb and the wine selection is stellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Date night with the spouse. Solid wine l ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Date night with the spouse. Solid wine list. Menu format was nice. Could order small plate or full dinner. Our waiter was very friendly and enthusiastic with recommendations. Suggested order a few small plates and then splitting a main. Spot on. Ambiance was vibrant while still allowing for conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Atmosphere was pleasant, as always. I li ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Atmosphere was pleasant, as always. I like the booths because they cut down on the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall had a good brunch. The service w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overall had a good brunch. The service was slow, even though not busy. Ordered tea and hot water came in a really nice teapot. But when I poured it, it didn't even fill the teacup to the top which was strange. The food was good for the most part. Eggs in eggs benedict slightly undercooked. Ambiance is great, unique.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Our waitress was amazing. Super nice and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our waitress was amazing. Super nice and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food with excellent quick serv ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wonderful food with excellent quick service. Just make a reservation and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to watch end of UM game - all was g ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Went to watch end of UM game - all was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place. We were in town ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This was a great place. We were in town to visit my daughter at university and took her and her friend to dinner. We all loved everything. They have limited vegetarian/ vegan options but my meal was fantastic. They even had a vegan dessert that wasn't just boring sorbet!! Damian our waiter was awesome! Definitely go again! Highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vinology never skimps on service before, ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Vinology never skimps on service before, during and after the reservation. They can rewrite the book on customer service.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this restaurant and visit severa ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We love this restaurant and visit several times a month. We made a last minute reservation and it was a UM home football night. Our table was a small two top in the middle of the main room. It felt weird at first but our waiter, Damian I think, was so sweet and really tried to make us feel welcome. We had a couple of drinks each and a few small plates. We liked the curried cauliflower and mini sliders. The flatbread was little more than a pepperoni pizza. A good pizza but...great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff were excellent! They made our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The staff were excellent! They made our celebration for a friend's wedding truly special. Thank you, vinology!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.