About Vinology Ann Arbor

110 South Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Vinology was created to be your everyday wine bar. Over the years the Jonna family has enjoyed sharing wine, food, and spirits through their love of experimentation and education. Whether you are enjoying a glass of wine at our full-service bar, an intimate dinner with friends, or gathering for a corporate or social event in one of our private dining rooms, we maintain a passion and commitment towards exceptional, and innovative, food and wine.
When you dine at Vinology, you have our commitment that every detail from the food we select, to the wine we serve, to the service we provide will be executed with careful attention to detail. At Vinology, "wine" down, relax, experiment, and have fun while you educate your palate and savor the offerings!

“Great food. Award winning wine list. Intimately well-paced events”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday 11am - 12am midnight
Saturday 10am - 12am midnight
Sunday 10am - 10pm
The Kitchen closes one hour earlier than close time.

Cross Street:
Main Street between Washington and Huron

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 222-9841

Website:
http://www.vinologya2.com/

Catering:
Special menu packages are available for group luncheons and dinners. Inquire for details.

Parking Details:
Ample public and street parking, free on Sundays.

Public Transit:
Close to local bus routes, Greyhound and Amtrak in downtown Ann Arbor.

Executive Chef:
Adam Galloway

Private Party Facilities:
The Bubble Room, our largest private dining room, seats up to 60 guests and can accommodate 80 guests for a reception style party. The casually elegant Bubble Room features hundreds of hand blown glass bubbles suspended from the ceiling, original exposed brick, and a private bar. The Cellar seats up to 14 guests for private dining and tasting events. Wine bottles line the walls of this glass enclosed private dining room offering guests an immersive, intimate food and wine experience. To reserve a private room, call for Cindy at 734.222.9841 or email us at info@vinologya2.com

Vinology features two completely private rooms, a third semi private area, a floating screen, LCD projector, and private sound system. Our Event Planner will be happy to work with you to meet any additional equipment or décor needs for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Alonzo: 7342229841x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Custom Wine Tastings, Signature Wine and food tasting pairing events like
Vino Value Wine tasting, Malbec Madness, Wines that Age, Beer Verse Wine, Patio Tasting, Black Wine Night.

Participate in Restaurant Week, Artini Bar Crawl and are prime spot to enjoy after seeing events such as the Art Fair, Green Fair, Big Conventions, Festifools and more.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vinology Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Special Occasion (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (2)
Authentic (2)
Organic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1082 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Phenomenal!! Outstanding food and servic ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Phenomenal!! Outstanding food and service. Chef Adam's recipes are incredibly delicious and the desserts sinfully decadent. Menu has excellent options to choose from and they all go beyond your expectations. Our server David was great with his suggestions for the wine bottle as well as the food and did not simply push for us to make choices but gave us wise options that fit our appetite and palette. PB & J, Fjord Trout & Michigan Beets were my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

David was very knowledgeable with the wi ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

David was very knowledgeable with the wines and the octopus was very delicious.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think their prices have gone a little ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I think their prices have gone a little high and the food has gotten a tad unusual for the average diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We had a great meal. Our server, Taijah, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a great meal. Our server, Taijah, was excellent and made helpful suggestions. We were a little disappointed that we didn't get a booth we requested when we made the reservation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great waiter who was knowledgea ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a great waiter who was knowledgeable and friendly. The brunch was delicious and they have an impressive wine list. Would definitely visit again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was good, server was very hel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Everything was good, server was very helpful and nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice brunch. Easy to get reservation on ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Nice brunch. Easy to get reservation on busy Parents weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I was appalled the way the server spoke ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was appalled the way the server spoke to is like he was looking down at us. It ruined the meal. The food wasn't that great either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Always good... flatbread and salad was g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always good... flatbread and salad was great...good wine!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a reservation after a UM football ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a reservation after a UM football game. Table was ready when we were. Our waiter was friendly and efficient on what became a busy evening. Both of our salads were unique and very good, We had 4 small plates between the two of us for our main course and it was plenty. Our wine was very good, but seemed quite expensive, particularly since we didn't even choose from the lengthy "select" list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, People Watching, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Great place. Recommended by a colleague ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great place. Recommended by a colleague in Chicago and was definitely a winner. All staff was great from hostess to the bus boy. Very attentive but not too intrusive

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Organic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience at Vinology. Th ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Another great experience at Vinology. The food was superb and the wine selection is stellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Date night with the spouse. Solid wine l ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Date night with the spouse. Solid wine list. Menu format was nice. Could order small plate or full dinner. Our waiter was very friendly and enthusiastic with recommendations. Suggested order a few small plates and then splitting a main. Spot on. Ambiance was vibrant while still allowing for conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Atmosphere was pleasant, as always. I li ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Atmosphere was pleasant, as always. I like the booths because they cut down on the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall had a good brunch. The service w ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overall had a good brunch. The service was slow, even though not busy. Ordered tea and hot water came in a really nice teapot. But when I poured it, it didn't even fill the teacup to the top which was strange. The food was good for the most part. Eggs in eggs benedict slightly undercooked. Ambiance is great, unique.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Our waitress was amazing. Super nice and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our waitress was amazing. Super nice and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food with excellent quick serv ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wonderful food with excellent quick service. Just make a reservation and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to watch end of UM game - all was g ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Went to watch end of UM game - all was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great place. We were in town ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This was a great place. We were in town to visit my daughter at university and took her and her friend to dinner. We all loved everything. They have limited vegetarian/ vegan options but my meal was fantastic. They even had a vegan dessert that wasn't just boring sorbet!! Damian our waiter was awesome! Definitely go again! Highly recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vinology never skimps on service before, ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Vinology never skimps on service before, during and after the reservation. They can rewrite the book on customer service.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love this restaurant and visit severa ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We love this restaurant and visit several times a month. We made a last minute reservation and it was a UM home football night. Our table was a small two top in the middle of the main room. It felt weird at first but our waiter, Damian I think, was so sweet and really tried to make us feel welcome. We had a couple of drinks each and a few small plates. We liked the curried cauliflower and mini sliders. The flatbread was little more than a pepperoni pizza. A good pizza but...great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff were excellent! They made our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The staff were excellent! They made our celebration for a friend's wedding truly special. Thank you, vinology!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible, at first we wer ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was incredible, at first we were a bit put off by the price but the food was worth every penny. We will definitely be back for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious brunch with so many c ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a delicious brunch with so many choices on the menu, everyone had something they wanted. The egg dishes were all hits with our crowd and the burger was a stunner! The composed side salad was not only delicious but beautiful. The unlimited Mimosas and Bloody Mary's for a reasonable price were very well done. Our server,also the bartender, took more than excellent care of our party! Damian was THE best server anywhere we

have been in Ann Arbor. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, wonderful decor and the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food, wonderful decor and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vegetarian entrees were not flavorful - ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Vegetarian entrees were not flavorful - wine was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We celebrated our daughter finishing sch ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We celebrated our daughter finishing school (PhD). The service was excellent, the menu was very tasty and the wine was wonderful. I would recommend this to others for any type of occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An average restaurant with exorbitant pr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2016

An average restaurant with exorbitant pricing! Not a good option for vegetarians. Had the duck wings, which was decent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Could not get the salmon cooked properly ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Could not get the salmon cooked properly for our request.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was decent but not amazing for the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was decent but not amazing for the price. Disappointed by charcuterie plate. Wish there was a more balanced meat and cheese plate without having to order both options. Short rib tacos were very good. Main dishes were good but nothing special. Wine pour was a little light but good wine list and recommendation from waitress. Overall it was a decent option but there are so many places in Ann Arbor that are amazing I wouldn't probably come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I would recommend Vineology. The for and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2016

I would recommend Vineology. The for and wine are outstanding. We had lamb for dinner. he staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I met at Vinology for a cel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 4, 2016

A friend and I met at Vinology for a celebratory dinner. We were seated in a booth, usually a quieter setting. The menu, which changes seasonally, is very 'gourmet' and limited in choices. I chose the wild salmon with truffle oil gnocchi; it was excellent (the gnocchi are made in house). When our waitress found we were celebrating birthdays, we were offered our choice of complimentary dessert and it too was delicious. My main complaint is 'ambience' as noise level is very high, too high for my friend and I to hear each other without shouting. It seems like high noise level is a trend and I await the day when a restaurant will set aside a 'quiet' space or perhaps add sound absorbing materials to cut down on the high noise level for civilized dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We've had brunch at this restaurant on t ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We've had brunch at this restaurant on three occasions and dinner numerous times. Sunday's brunch was ok. I had the strawberry and quinoa salad. My total salad (at around $10) could have fit into a one cup measure. There was no quinoa present. The salad was good but small. One of our party had the chicken sandwich and thought it was amazing. Ditto on the carrot cake waffles. Would I come back? Sure. The food keeps improving. Hopefully it will be there soon. The service is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Stopped in here for a quick lunch with t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Stopped in here for a quick lunch with the kids. Just right portions for us not extra large and not too small. The salmon fish tacos were great! Kids liked their chicken and sweet potato waffles and fried chicken sandwich. Unique offerings on the menu. We enjoyed it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a fine dining experience, though ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Overall a fine dining experience, though with a surprisingly limited wine list.

Service was solid, food quite tasty, though again with limited selections.

It was an enjoyable evening and worth a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had another wonderful experience at V ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had another wonderful experience at Vinology on our visit from Chicago.

The food is awesome, the drinks are great, and the service is phenomenal.

They are always so nice to our children, against 10, 10, and 12.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been here twice. First time was muc ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've been here twice. First time was much better than the second.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great dinner out, great wine selection a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great dinner out, great wine selection and excellent entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Vinology for the first time ( ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We visited Vinology for the first time (new residents of Ann Arbor) with friends during the annual Art Fair/Festival. We had reservations for 7:15PM, but we showed up an hour early hoping that a table would be available. Thankfully, the hostess greeted us with a friendly smile and escorted us to a table immediately. We are wine/foodies. We weren't really planning on it, but they were featuring a 3-glass Rose' flight that sounded wonderful, as we were pretty hot from walking the streets. The 3 featured Rose's were distinctive, cool, and delicious. We ordered a couple of appetizers and several small plates to share, making the evening very enjoyable. We will be returning to Vinology again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious as usual, but the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was delicious as usual, but the menu is fairly limited and features little seafood.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.