About Vinology Ann Arbor

110 South Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Vinology was created to be your everyday wine bar. Over the years the Jonna family has enjoyed sharing wine, food, and spirits through their love of experimentation and education. Whether you are enjoying a glass of wine at our full-service bar, an intimate dinner with friends, or gathering for a corporate or social event in one of our private dining rooms, we maintain a passion and commitment towards exceptional, and innovative, food and wine.
When you dine at Vinology, you have our commitment that every detail from the food we select, to the wine we serve, to the service we provide will be executed with careful attention to detail. At Vinology, "wine" down, relax, experiment, and have fun while you educate your palate and savor the offerings!

“Great food. Award winning wine list. Intimately well-paced events”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday 11am - 12am midnight
Saturday 10am - 12am midnight
Sunday 10am - 10pm
The Kitchen closes one hour earlier than close time.

Cross Street:
Main Street between Washington and Huron

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 222-9841

Website:
http://www.vinologya2.com/

Catering:
Special menu packages are available for group luncheons and dinners. Inquire for details.

Parking Details:
Ample public and street parking, free on Sundays.

Public Transit:
Close to local bus routes, Greyhound and Amtrak in downtown Ann Arbor.

Executive Chef:
Adam Galloway

Private Party Facilities:
The Bubble Room, our largest private dining room, seats up to 60 guests and can accommodate 80 guests for a reception style party. The casually elegant Bubble Room features hundreds of hand blown glass bubbles suspended from the ceiling, original exposed brick, and a private bar. The Cellar seats up to 14 guests for private dining and tasting events. Wine bottles line the walls of this glass enclosed private dining room offering guests an immersive, intimate food and wine experience. To reserve a private room, call for Cindy at 734.222.9841 or email us at info@vinologya2.com

Vinology features two completely private rooms, a third semi private area, a floating screen, LCD projector, and private sound system. Our Event Planner will be happy to work with you to meet any additional equipment or décor needs for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Alonzo: 7342229841x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Custom Wine Tastings, Signature Wine and food tasting pairing events like
Vino Value Wine tasting, Malbec Madness, Wines that Age, Beer Verse Wine, Patio Tasting, Black Wine Night.

Participate in Restaurant Week, Artini Bar Crawl and are prime spot to enjoy after seeing events such as the Art Fair, Green Fair, Big Conventions, Festifools and more.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vinology Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

notable wine list (44)
fit for foodies (39)
special occasion (32)
See All
romantic (25)
good for groups (22)
vibrant bar scene (15)
neighborhood gem (13)
great for brunch (10)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been here twice. First time was muc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I've been here twice. First time was much better than the second.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great dinner out, great wine selection a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great dinner out, great wine selection and excellent entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Vinology for the first time ( ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We visited Vinology for the first time (new residents of Ann Arbor) with friends during the annual Art Fair/Festival. We had reservations for 7:15PM, but we showed up an hour early hoping that a table would be available. Thankfully, the hostess greeted us with a friendly smile and escorted us to a table immediately. We are wine/foodies. We weren't really planning on it, but they were featuring a 3-glass Rose' flight that sounded wonderful, as we were pretty hot from walking the streets. The 3 featured Rose's were distinctive, cool, and delicious. We ordered a couple of appetizers and several small plates to share, making the evening very enjoyable. We will be returning to Vinology again!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious as usual, but the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was delicious as usual, but the menu is fairly limited and features little seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Half priced glasses of wine and some sma ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Half priced glasses of wine and some small plates are a great bargain during happy hour.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, wonderful wine pairings, v ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing food, wonderful wine pairings, very creative choices, and amazing creative desserts. For example, we had a dessert fashioned like "Chicago corn" with caramel, white cheddar cheese icecream, and a popcorn chip. Remarkable!

Moreover, they celebrated my wife's birthday with a free dessert for her aND complimentary toast of champagne.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner here for our 20 ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My wife and I had dinner here for our 20th anniversary. The short-rib tacos and cheese sampler were amazing! Our waiter was very attentive without hovering. We are looking forward to returning for another nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious, ambience was peacefu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was delicious, ambience was peaceful, and the location is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

First time at Vinology. Loved the wine ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

First time at Vinology. Loved the wine selections. Michigan Beets appetizer very tasty. Dinner Menu had a wide range for many different tastes. Husband had the filet, I had the smaller portion Salmon. You get a choice between portion sizes. Which, was great because we then had room for dessert (shared a Smores Lava Cake). Overall I would give it a high rating. We're not super critical people in general. We enjoyed a great meal in a nice setting. Score!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place, the wine is great and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I love this place, the wine is great and the food is delicious. My only compliant is the lack of variety in the dishes. They seem to be all similar in the protein and spices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Vinology is, without a doubt, one of the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Vinology is, without a doubt, one of the two best restaurants I have ever eaten in. The food is excellent, some of the best I've had. The staff are amazing, attentive, helpful, and knowledgeable. I have never had one server who did not impress me, and this occasion was no different. It was my second anniversary. We had gotten married in Vinology's event space, and came back to celebrate that with dinner. Our server made sure that everything was perfect through every step of the way, which he managed with a perfect combination of politeness, friendliness, banter, advice, and without either being too distant or interrupting too often with extreme attentiveness. He struck a perfect balance. The entree I ordered included some sides that I normally do not like, but in true Vinology style, everything was so perfectly cooked that I even loved the things I have normally disliked anywhere else. The manager came by to check on us, and talked a bit to let us know that the event space downstairs was not in use, so if we wanted a stroll down memory lane, we were free to do so. She let us reminisce a little, and then came down to take some pictures of us in front of the altar in The Bubble Room where we married. They made our anniversary dinner pretty wonderful and magical, from start to finish.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess was rude. Although the resta ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The hostess was rude. Although the restaurant was close to empty she seemed to mind where we wanted to sit. But the waitress was quite gracious. The food was good but very pricey for what it is and the wine pours very mean. The wine is very expensive for a place for which the wine is the main attraction. The French ambience what is trying to be imitated but in France wine is like water. It is always there and not as expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was good; service was not. Waiter ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was good; service was not. Waiter (Tim) disappeared for a half hour AFTER salads were done. Manager came and comped the wine, after my wife went looking for service. Food for one of my guests was not what he ordered. My wife's food was delivered late, and not hot. Food was good. Unique presentations of the plates.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The experience was average at best, and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The experience was average at best, and with so many other options in Ann Arbor we probably will not be returning. The tone of the visit was set upon arrival with the attitude of the hostess. She was quite rude and I certainly did not feel welcome in this establishment. The food was interesting on the menu, but somewhat average in taste and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Year after year, Vinology is the innovat ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Year after year, Vinology is the innovation and creativity leader during restaurant week. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time, unusual combinations but ta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

First time, unusual combinations but tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. You can see chef's effor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Delicious food. You can see chef's effort from dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Watermelon gazpacho is a nearly platonic dish!!!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Refreshingly unassuming for such a high-quality restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had great food, artfully prepared. W ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had great food, artfully prepared. We enjoyed all 3 courses of our meal. Meal size was not overwhelming. My wife enjoyed two different wines with dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great food and service. The strong vibra ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

great food and service. The strong vibrations from the party space below- owned by the restaurant we were told- was a definite detractor to the culinary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Good food, good location

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Some of the food combinations are a bit odd and not all the dishes appealed to me. I had the small portion baked Guinea hen and it was very good. My two companions had the duck breast and they both really liked it. They said it was cooked perfectly. We liked that we could order small portions. The wine we chose was also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant is a very neat place that ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

The restaurant is a very neat place that transposed some modern flair with a lot of classic elements. So you have exposed brick walls and a tin ceiling with creative lights at each booth and modernistic art on the walls. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. This was our first time at Vinology and also our Anniversary. The experience was extremely positive and we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. But not everything.....

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Vinology on several occasions. We have always been very pleased with the food, whether it be for dinner or just drinks and a quick bite before the next stop. We can't give the food enough stars. However, usually the staff is very exuberant and into the food/wine. This time, he barely cared that we were alive. He just brought the food to the table and didn't even make eye contact. On top of that, the bottle we ordered was substandard. I realize that this is very subjective, but for a place called vinology, it seems a big risk to have an overripe and blubbery bottle on the menu, and though it wasn't extravagant, it also wasn't cheap. Given the service, I didn't even bother speaking up, which normally I would have stated that at the initial tasting (which I also rushed because the server seemed annoyed with me. Great restaurant, and many great visits, but this one thankfully won't be our entire basis for future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent wine list, food appears to not ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Excellent wine list, food appears to not to be prepared from scratch in their kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

A fun dining experience...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's graduation from the University of Michigan at Vineology and the restaurant did not disappoint! Our wine flights were delicious and a great way to explore the extensive wine list. Our food was delicious...the dinner portions were large and we all ended up with take home. Our waitperson, Rochelle, was delightful...knowledgeable about the wines and menu and helpful in making suggestions based on our preferences. Highly recommend this restaurant for dinner or just wine and appetizers.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service. Awesome food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Awesome service. Awesome food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't like lentals

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I don't like lentals. The menu was too limited. I wanted a nice steak with a nice cream sause, I settled for a steak with lintals. Yuk.

I won't be back until the menu changes, if ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very impressed with the food. We had a s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Very impressed with the food. We had a selection of multiple items that we shared, all were excellent (morel flatbread, octopus, short rib tacos, lamb duo). The wine flights were a fun mix and a bargain as well. Bonus points for a good kids menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Quite expensive, but not too expensive f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Quite expensive, but not too expensive for the caliber of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Cornish hen au vin and duck breast were ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Cornish hen au vin and duck breast were both divine! New menu awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome meal

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I went to Vinology for my anniversary dinner. Everything about our meal was excellent. The service was good, there was a very nice selection on the wine list, and fantastic food. We ordered the brie appetizer, beet and ricotta salad and both were incredible. For main courses, we had the rib eye and trout. Both were delicious and better than any meal I have had anywhere else. This is a true foodie restaurant. And don't miss the dessert. We had a smores lava cake with ice cream, which sounds more like a kids dessert, but this was the most elegant and wonderful preparation of a smores-like dessert. I have only compliments.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff makes the place

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We came here for happy hour before a show at Michigan theater. I come here a lot with friends after work but rarely stay for dinner. The food is wonderful and fancy but what I love is the staff never makes me feel bad if I ask what something is or ask to remove something from an entree. The place is fancy but the staff is friendly and that makes all the difference in the world to me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

This was the best experience I've ever had at a restaurant, the food was flawless, the service was incredible and the experience was perfect. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Select cheese flight

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Select cheese flight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our main courses were incredible! The me ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Our main courses were incredible! The menu is seasonal, but if you have a chance, get the bison loin! So delicious! We weren't too impressed with the butternut squash salad: It was described with ribboned pickled squash and when it arrived half the squash was ribboned and half was cubed, it felt like someone had gotten tired half way through. That being said, it was dressed well and tasted great! Will definitely return and try more of the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great for an Elegant Night Out

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the atmosphere and experience while dining, it was especially nice since it was a Friday night during dinner rush. The noise level was a little loud but we surprisingly had no trouble speaking at a normal level and could understand everything. The only item I may point out is that it felt like the waiter neglected us a little until he found out it was our first time at Vinology, at which point he was very kind and considerate and explained everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Took a friend here for her first visit - was my second time. Everything was once again delicious! Three of us shared the entree of calamari - divine! We each ordered our own entree and taste tested all - scallops, beef, and bison. Yum! Nothing but rave reviews from all. We all ordered the creme brulee for dessert, which was superb! I ordered a cappuccino, but it was actually a latte - no foam. If that's the only complaint.....I'm not complaining!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We loved the fact that we could order smaller portions of the entree menu. We had a great time. The food was creative,balanced and thoughtfully prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent Meal!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

All three of us agreed that it was by far one of the best meals we had ever eaten. We all shared everything we ordered and each meal was superior. We thought we had had the best creme brulee ever when we were in France, then we tried the creme brulee at Vinology. Vinology chef's could teach the French a thing or two! Service was exceptional, and the manager came and spoke with us to see how we fared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely Gourmet

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Don't visit this restaurant if you are in a hurry. The menu is a bit eclectic, but the cuisine is definitely top notch. So take the time to savor whatever you order, because you are not going to find that caliber of food at most other restaurants. It is truly a experience that is a class above, at least as far as AA goes (and they have a lot of great restaurants).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.