About Vinology Ann Arbor

110 South Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Vinology was created to be your everyday wine bar. Over the years the Jonna family has enjoyed sharing wine, food, and spirits through their love of experimentation and education. Whether you are enjoying a glass of wine at our full-service bar, an intimate dinner with friends, or gathering for a corporate or social event in one of our private dining rooms, we maintain a passion and commitment towards exceptional, and innovative, food and wine.
When you dine at Vinology, you have our commitment that every detail from the food we select, to the wine we serve, to the service we provide will be executed with careful attention to detail. At Vinology, "wine" down, relax, experiment, and have fun while you educate your palate and savor the offerings!

“Great food. Award winning wine list. Intimately well-paced events”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Tapas / Small Plates, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday 4pm - 11pm
Friday 11am - 12am midnight
Saturday 10am - 12am midnight
Sunday 10am - 10pm
The Kitchen closes one hour earlier than close time.

Cross Street:
Main Street between Washington and Huron

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 222-9841

Website:
http://www.vinologya2.com/

Catering:
Special menu packages are available for group luncheons and dinners. Inquire for details.

Parking Details:
Ample public and street parking, free on Sundays.

Public Transit:
Close to local bus routes, Greyhound and Amtrak in downtown Ann Arbor.

Executive Chef:
Adam Galloway

Private Party Facilities:
The Bubble Room, our largest private dining room, seats up to 60 guests and can accommodate 80 guests for a reception style party. The casually elegant Bubble Room features hundreds of hand blown glass bubbles suspended from the ceiling, original exposed brick, and a private bar. The Cellar seats up to 14 guests for private dining and tasting events. Wine bottles line the walls of this glass enclosed private dining room offering guests an immersive, intimate food and wine experience. To reserve a private room, call for Cindy at 734.222.9841 or email us at info@vinologya2.com

Vinology features two completely private rooms, a third semi private area, a floating screen, LCD projector, and private sound system. Our Event Planner will be happy to work with you to meet any additional equipment or décor needs for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Cindy Alonzo: 7342229841x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Custom Wine Tastings, Signature Wine and food tasting pairing events like
Vino Value Wine tasting, Malbec Madness, Wines that Age, Beer Verse Wine, Patio Tasting, Black Wine Night.

Participate in Restaurant Week, Artini Bar Crawl and are prime spot to enjoy after seeing events such as the Art Fair, Green Fair, Big Conventions, Festifools and more.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vinology Ann Arbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Best Ambiance
Ann Arbor
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Romantic
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

notable wine list (68)
fit for foodies (62)
special occasion (53)
See All
romantic (47)
good for groups (28)
neighborhood gem (19)
vibrant bar scene (17)
great for brunch (15)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (12)
great for lunch (11)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (4)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had great food, artfully prepared. W ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We had great food, artfully prepared. We enjoyed all 3 courses of our meal. Meal size was not overwhelming. My wife enjoyed two different wines with dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

great food and service. The strong vibra ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

great food and service. The strong vibrations from the party space below- owned by the restaurant we were told- was a definite detractor to the culinary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, good location

Dined on May 20, 2016

Some of the food combinations are a bit odd and not all the dishes appealed to me. I had the small portion baked Guinea hen and it was very good. My two companions had the duck breast and they both really liked it. They said it was cooked perfectly. We liked that we could order small portions. The wine we chose was also very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is a very neat place that ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The restaurant is a very neat place that transposed some modern flair with a lot of classic elements. So you have exposed brick walls and a tin ceiling with creative lights at each booth and modernistic art on the walls. The service was impeccable and the food was outstanding. This was our first time at Vinology and also our Anniversary. The experience was extremely positive and we will be back.

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was great. But not everything.....

Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Vinology on several occasions. We have always been very pleased with the food, whether it be for dinner or just drinks and a quick bite before the next stop. We can't give the food enough stars. However, usually the staff is very exuberant and into the food/wine. This time, he barely cared that we were alive. He just brought the food to the table and didn't even make eye contact. On top of that, the bottle we ordered was substandard. I realize that this is very subjective, but for a place called vinology, it seems a big risk to have an overripe and blubbery bottle on the menu, and though it wasn't extravagant, it also wasn't cheap. Given the service, I didn't even bother speaking up, which normally I would have stated that at the initial tasting (which I also rushed because the server seemed annoyed with me. Great restaurant, and many great visits, but this one thankfully won't be our entire basis for future visits.

food2
ambience4
service3

Excellent wine list, food appears to not ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Excellent wine list, food appears to not to be prepared from scratch in their kitchen

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fun dining experience...

Dined on April 29, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's graduation from the University of Michigan at Vineology and the restaurant did not disappoint! Our wine flights were delicious and a great way to explore the extensive wine list. Our food was delicious...the dinner portions were large and we all ended up with take home. Our waitperson, Rochelle, was delightful...knowledgeable about the wines and menu and helpful in making suggestions based on our preferences. Highly recommend this restaurant for dinner or just wine and appetizers.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome service. Awesome food.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Awesome service. Awesome food.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I don't like lentals

Dined on April 24, 2016

I don't like lentals. The menu was too limited. I wanted a nice steak with a nice cream sause, I settled for a steak with lintals. Yuk. I won't be back until the menu changes, if ever.

food5
ambience4
service4

Very impressed with the food. We had a s ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Very impressed with the food. We had a selection of multiple items that we shared, all were excellent (morel flatbread, octopus, short rib tacos, lamb duo). The wine flights were a fun mix and a bargain as well. Bonus points for a good kids menu!

food5
ambience4
service3

Quite expensive, but not too expensive f ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Quite expensive, but not too expensive for the caliber of food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Cornish hen au vin and duck breast were ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Cornish hen au vin and duck breast were both divine! New menu awesome.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

I went to Vinology for my anniversary dinner. Everything about our meal was excellent. The service was good, there was a very nice selection on the wine list, and fantastic food. We ordered the brie appetizer, beet and ricotta salad and both were incredible. For main courses, we had the rib eye and trout. Both were delicious and better than any meal I have had anywhere else. This is a true foodie restaurant. And don't miss the dessert. We had a smores lava cake with ice cream, which sounds more like a kids dessert, but this was the most elegant and wonderful preparation of a smores-like dessert. I have only compliments.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff makes the place

Dined on April 1, 2016

We came here for happy hour before a show at Michigan theater. I come here a lot with friends after work but rarely stay for dinner. The food is wonderful and fancy but what I love is the staff never makes me feel bad if I ask what something is or ask to remove something from an entree. The place is fancy but the staff is friendly and that makes all the difference in the world to me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 22, 2016

This was the best experience I've ever had at a restaurant, the food was flawless, the service was incredible and the experience was perfect. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Select cheese flight

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Select cheese flight

food4
ambience4
service5

Our main courses were incredible! The me ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our main courses were incredible! The menu is seasonal, but if you have a chance, get the bison loin! So delicious! We weren't too impressed with the butternut squash salad: It was described with ribboned pickled squash and when it arrived half the squash was ribboned and half was cubed, it felt like someone had gotten tired half way through. That being said, it was dressed well and tasted great! Will definitely return and try more of the menu!

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great for an Elegant Night Out

Dined on March 11, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the atmosphere and experience while dining, it was especially nice since it was a Friday night during dinner rush. The noise level was a little loud but we surprisingly had no trouble speaking at a normal level and could understand everything. The only item I may point out is that it felt like the waiter neglected us a little until he found out it was our first time at Vinology, at which point he was very kind and considerate and explained everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on March 7, 2016

Took a friend here for her first visit - was my second time. Everything was once again delicious! Three of us shared the entree of calamari - divine! We each ordered our own entree and taste tested all - scallops, beef, and bison. Yum! Nothing but rave reviews from all. We all ordered the creme brulee for dessert, which was superb! I ordered a cappuccino, but it was actually a latte - no foam. If that's the only complaint.....I'm not complaining!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious

Dined on March 4, 2016

We loved the fact that we could order smaller portions of the entree menu. We had a great time. The food was creative,balanced and thoughtfully prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal!

Dined on February 27, 2016

All three of us agreed that it was by far one of the best meals we had ever eaten. We all shared everything we ordered and each meal was superior. We thought we had had the best creme brulee ever when we were in France, then we tried the creme brulee at Vinology. Vinology chef's could teach the French a thing or two! Service was exceptional, and the manager came and spoke with us to see how we fared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Definitely Gourmet

Dined on February 27, 2016

Don't visit this restaurant if you are in a hurry. The menu is a bit eclectic, but the cuisine is definitely top notch. So take the time to savor whatever you order, because you are not going to find that caliber of food at most other restaurants. It is truly a experience that is a class above, at least as far as AA goes (and they have a lot of great restaurants).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and atmosphere

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great service and atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome as always.

Dined on February 19, 2016

The fish tacos are my favorite and the waitstaff is always so nice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2016

Not tasty, not prepared correctly, tiny portions, bad table, loud, bumped by servers repeatedly, tiny water glasses without ice, no bread, overpriced

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Trendy Wine Bar Downtown Ann Arbor

Dined on February 14, 2016

No complaints, Vinology was trendy, and upbeat. For a wine bar the wine list was a little restricted. The food was good, leaning more towards gastropub vs homemade (comfort food) style. Wait staff were competent and friendly yet busy.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dessert was best

Dined on February 14, 2016

Took my significant other here for Valentine's Day. We got to sit in the wine cellar area which was fun. Really enjoyed the wide wine selection even if we did order a cheap bottle. Food was very good but not amazing. Don't skip a dessert/dessert wine pairing though. Highlight of the meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have been wanting to go to Vineonolgy for some time now. All our friends gave it rave reviews. As it turned out, they were right! Everything was perfect, from the waiter,menu, and ambiance. It was a great experience! We will definitely be back and bring back some friends! Thanks so much!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun evening

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The current menu at Vinology is creative and fun. All main courses that we ordered were excellent, some of us wished we had ordered the full instead of the half portion! Our server was knowledgeable about the wines, and made good suggestions. If I had a critique, it was the dessert. The vegan red velvet cake wasn't as moist as I had hoped, and the layering with the cashew buttercream did not work that well either. We were also disappointed with the creme brulee. All said it was an evening of really good food, and we will be back! Don't ever take the roasted beets off the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Don't bother with Vinology

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

I made a reservation at Vinology, even though if had a previous bad experience, because I'd gotten a $20 Open Table gift card and thought it deserved another try. Unfortunately, this experience was even worse. The restaurant had crammed extra tables in to accommodate the Valentines crowd, but that combined with the awful cold that wasn't counteracted by the small space heater, had the effect of killing any romantic vibe that may have existed. The waitress was short with us, and scoffed when we told her we were there for appetizers and drinks only, not dinner. To add insult to injury, she took the Open Table gift card number down, but didn't take the $20 off our bill (the only reason I went there at all), just charged the full price to my credit card. We waited a bit to ask her to correct it, but she never glanced in our direction again. Rather than continue to ruin our valentines evening, I left.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food for dinner and brunch!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Will definitely return for dinner or brunch. Ambiance was great for a date night, and wine list is extensive. Dessert is great too!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

fantastic!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were a group of 4 for an early dinner before a music event. All our meals were delicious, the wine was excellent, our server friendly. We will definitely return to Vinology!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

one of Ann Arbor's best places

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was creative, tasty, pretty, beautifully served, fun yet upscale atmosphere, not outrageous prices, though expensive. Would have rated higher, but we nearly froze to death. Don't sit near the front of the restaurant when the temp is < 20 deg outside. They need a better solution to the cold. We wore parkas!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good selection of small plates. Hap ...

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

Very good selection of small plates. Happy hour is a bargain, and worth the trip.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on February 7, 2016

My husband and I shared a curried cauliflower appetizer, gorgonzola and fig flatbread, butternut pecan salad, smaller portion of the King Trumpet Mushroom Risotto, and S'Mores Lava Cake, along with a bottle of an Italian red wine called Puglia Negroamaro. The portion sizes allowed us to try all of these thing, sharing them, and to not leave feeling as stuffed as you might have thought. The cauliflower was excellent, especially if you enjoy curry flavors/middle eastern inspired dishes. The flatbread was also enjoyable and would be a perfect snack to enjoy if you just want to share a small plate and some wine. Once having the salad, we thought it was a tiny bit overpriced for what it was, but the flavor combination was very nice. The Risotto was our least favorite, but it was still very good. Had we decided to order less items and to have our own entree, this is what I would have chosen as my entree. I am glad we did not do that though. By trying more selections, we had a better chance to decide how we liked their food and if we would go back again. The risotto alone would not have given as good of an impression. It was good, but we were expecting a creamier consistency, and it was somewhat dry for risotto. We enjoyed the flavor combinations of the ingredients in this dish though. The lava cake and wine were both excellent. We're going to look for that wine in stores to have at home. Our server was wonderful. We had a great table by the window that was set apart from a large group nearby, so that was nice. We were shielded from any noise from the group. Overall, it was an excellent experience and we'll definitely go back. Above all, I'd recommend the Puglia Negroamaro wine if you like Italian reds, and also the gorgonzola and fig flatbread or lava cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

great for happy hour

Dined on February 5, 2016

we went during happy hour and the place was very empty. therefore, our dishes came very fast. the portions are kind of small, but we were expecting that since it is happy hour. wine was excelent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid choice in Ann Arbor. Inventive ch ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Solid choice in Ann Arbor. Inventive choices well prepared

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful night!

Dined on February 3, 2016

Came here to celebrate my birthday. It was perfect for a party of 4 and we had wonderful food. I loved the duck and the calamari. Great wine selection. Our waiter was very polite and helpful at accommodating gluten free dining needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious experience!

Dined on January 31, 2016

I was with a small group for my first visit to Vinology. We had appetizers, wine off of the "good" list according to my friend who is a wine aficionado (5 bottles by the end of the night!) and both small plates and entrees between the group. The food and wine were excellent. The service was just right too. I have already mentioned this as a possible place for an anniversary dinner with my husband who was not with me and would have loved the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

a great place for drinks or a special dinner

Dined on January 22, 2016

I have dined at Vinology on two occasions now. The first was a recruiting dinner for my current job, where there was a limited menu. I had the short ribs and a house pinot that they were pouring and had an all around terrific meal in the private room downstairs. The second occasion was for restaurant week in Jan 2016. I had the lamb shank and it was delicious. We ordered cocktails to start and wine with our food, and I just have to say - although the name implies you should order wine here, the cocktails are AMAZING! If coming for drinks with friends, half off bottles of wine on Monday is always a good idea :)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.