Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Mon Ami Gabi - BethesdaMon Ami Gabi - Bethesda
(4000)
$$$$
French | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 63 times today
Kapnos KouzinaKapnos Kouzina
(707)
$$$$
Greek | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 58 times today
PassionFish - BethesdaPassionFish - Bethesda
(413)
$$$$
Seafood | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 38 times today
SilverSilver
(299)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 26 times today
Jaleo - BethesdaJaleo - Bethesda
(2395)
$$$$
Spanish | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 33 times today
Black's Bar & KitchenBlack's Bar & Kitchen
(2468)
$$$$
Seafood | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 33 times today
Uncle Julio's - Bethesda RowUncle Julio's - Bethesda Row
(153)
$$$$
Mexican | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 10 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - BethesdaRuth's Chris Steak House - Bethesda
(1132)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 10 times today
Mussel Bar & Grille - BethesdaMussel Bar & Grille - Bethesda
(463)
$$$$
Belgian | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 15 times today
Cafe Deluxe - BethesdaCafe Deluxe - Bethesda
(226)
$$$$
American | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 16 times today
Clyde's of Chevy ChaseClyde's of Chevy Chase
(2445)
$$$$
American | Friendship Heights, District of Columbia
Booked 42 times today
PersimmonPersimmon
(1729)
$$$$
American | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 17 times today
Benihana - BethesdaBenihana - Bethesda
(704)
$$$$
Japanese | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 24 times today
RedwoodRedwood
(2146)
$$$$
American | Bethesda / Chevy Chase, Maryland - DC Suburbs
Booked 15 times today
The Capital Grille - Chevy ChaseThe Capital Grille - Chevy Chase
(1371)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Chevy Chase, District of Columbia
Booked 22 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.41mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Vino Volo - Bethesda

Unwind for the evening with a glass of wine at Vino Volo. Its contemporary, yet casual setting features rich colors and warm lighting. Vino Volo offers outdoor seating for guests to enjoy the views of the neighborhood along with the weather as they converse amongst friends. Vino Volo offers snacks like truffled popcorn and kale chips. It features small plates filled with such fare as braised pork tacos with red pepper aioli, smoked salmon rolls and pan-seared gnocchi with basil pesto. Meat and cheese platters, as well as desserts can be found on the menu.

Vino Volo has a bar area for guests to socialize and also partake in wine flights that feature global selections. It hosts educational and tasting events throughout the year. This wine bar has a happy hour, as well as a retail shop.

7243 Woodmont Ave
Bethesda, MD 20814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am. HAPPY HOUR: Monday - Friday, 4 - 7 PM

Cross Street:
Elm St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 656-0916

Website:
http://www.vinovolobethesdarow.com/

Entertainment:
Live music most Thursday nights! Check out our facebook page or stop by for a flight, glass, or bottle, and check it out!

Parking Details:
VALET PARKING - At Woodmont avenue in front of Vino Volo
Available Daily at 5pm | $10
*$7 at sponsored restaurants
PUBLIC PARKING - There are 16 public garages or lots with over 6,600 spaces and 766 on-street meters within walking distance of the movies, shops and restaurants. Garage and lot public parking is FREE on Saturdays, Sunday and holidays.

Public Transit:
One block east of the Bethesda Metro station.

Executive Chef:
Bebel Kim

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
- LADIES NIGHT EVERY WEDNESDAY
- HAPPY HOUR M - F 4 - 7 PM
- PRIVATE EVENT SPACE AVAILABLE
- PATIO SEATING - FIRST COME/FIRST SERVE

Sort By:
S
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2014

While the ambiance, wine, and service were very good, the food was not. The salmon rolls rated very good because the fish was firm and moist, but the pork tacos were dry and flavorless. I would not recommend Vino Volo to a friend because I would not go again. I limit my repeat visits to places that have very good to excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2014

Reasonably priced wines and nice small plates. Very casual for a group to chat and enjoy a simple evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 1, 2014

The space is pleasant and the service was also friendly but not great or very coordinated. The food was ok, lamb meatballs were very good and pizza was fine too - soup was luke warm though and things didn't come in order.

I would come back again to see if it irons out its coordination issues as the staff were friendly and its an attractive space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2014

It was quiet, as might be expected of a Monday evening. Tried a fabulous and really interesting white wine on recommendation of our waiter, but the food was bland and the service, nonchalant. Love the idea of flights of wine for tasting and there were several other things on the menu that looked interesting, and it's right in my 'hood so will give them another opportunity to impress, but for my first visit, it was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2014

I am not from DC but was coming to town for a friend's birthday and wanted to plan a special day. I found this great wine bar on the intranet. It was fabulous! From the decor to the food, from the wine selection to the service, it was great! The server even asked us about the types of wines we enjoy and created a special flight for each of us to try. The prices were also very reasonable. My friend has discovered a new place for girls night out with her local friends and I've definitely found a place I'd visit again next time I'm in the DC area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2014

At the restaurant, my friend and I were seated. We mentioned that we were meeting another friend, and to escort him to our table when he arrived. Well, one half hour passed and after calling him, realized that he was already at the restaurant and seated in the front and already having a cocktail. The evening went downhill after that. We ordered small bites of this and that - all were good, and ordered glasses of wine and then a bottle of wine. Our first selection we were told was sold out after asking where was the bottle of wine we ordered. Then our server said what else would you like to order. We ordered another bottle and when we question where is it, were told that it was warm and they were chilling it.We had finished dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2014

Great wine selections; food was good; great for sharing; lots of different tastes and can accommodate veggies and meat eaters; service was a little poor and it was not crowded; would have like better service at cleaning our dishes when dishes were empty for we were sharing & it just cluttered the table & did not allow for new dishes. Did cater to our adult birthday girl with free drink and dessert-nice touch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 29, 2014

Great energetic ambiance with good feel of outing and being live and vivid... Good find in a neighborhood. Excellent happy hours flights.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2014

Went on a date here and had a wonderful time. The wine flights were great and the wine info system they have is very well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2014

We weren't impressed by the wine offerings but the food was very satisfying. Good place for a happy hour or casual late night dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2014

We went with a group of eight people and they were very accommodating. Great wine selection and excellent light fare. Great location in the heart of Bethesda and a wonderful place to enjoy some wine and appetizers before dinner in one of bethesda's many restaurants. Would definitely go back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2014

We dropped by for lunch one afternoon while shopping at Bethesda Row. It's a quaint place with good enough food and wine but it's nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 6, 2014

Wow. What a great find in Bethesda. The wine list is amazing, the prices are great, and the service is impeccable, as are the house-made specialties like the chicken pate, arancini, and bread pudding. Best bread pudding I've ever had, and I get it everywhere I go. The staff was extremely knowledgeable, and they seemed like they were enjoying working as much as I was having drinks! The live music was incredible, and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2014

this place is a great find for people who love wine and great food. Service was great and lots of variety to choose from for eating and lite bites. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 10, 2014

We saw ambivalent reviews on Vino Volo and did not have a similar experience. They were trying out a new fish talapia dish which was outstanding and their small plates were more than small. We did not leave hungry. Their wine flights were interesting and quite varied (six different flights... 18 wines).

The size of the plates was comparable to Jaleo nearby and the dining experience was actually quieter. You have lots of good options on the block and if you are going for a movie in Bethesda, you have lots of very good reasonable cost options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2014

We had a great time at Vino Volo. They have outdoor seating, a nice inside bar, tables near their big glass windows and eating area. Their wine selection was nice. I loved their wine flights - they're great for learning more about wine/trying different types of wines. The food was simple (in the nicest way), delicious and fresh. Their arugula and barley and field greens with citrus salads and Pizzetta Salsiccia was particularly good. The service was friendly.

It's a charming spot to go for a glass of wine and small snacks with friends, lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2014

Their speciality is wine and they serve it by the flight, glass or bottle. the wines are varied and good. I love the food - both variety and size choice. You can have small plates or real entrée size meals. We were two and had a charcuterie plate, salad to split, chicken pate and one additional dish. they were all tasty and perfectly sized. Our wait person was good and knowledgeable. It is a fun place for a not fancy but excellent dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2014

Great wine list and nice food pairings. Service is iffy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2014

Because the menu has changed somewhat Vino is no longer my first restuarant choice; I would consider it for a light bite to eat and a glass of wine before going to the movies.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2014

Great wine list and service. Creative food. Almonds were addictive. The salmon roll was ok. Great ambiance. Would recommend for wine tasting and a light bite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 28, 2014

In the heart of Bethesda, Vino Volo has a great location. Went there for a recent Saturday dinner. Wine tasting concept seems sound and the wines we tasted were good. Food was a disappointment. Not particularly exceptional or memorable. Not on par with the wine.
Too bad, because we like the space and the ambience. Room was warm, and reasonably quite. Could hold a conversation without shouting, unlike a lot of places these days. Might be back for an after movie glass of vino. Wouldn't make a special trip to eat there.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2014

I went to Vino Volo with 3 friends after a movie. We were first seated next to a very large (loud) party near the door. I asked if we could be moved to another table and they were accomodating. The second table was more private, less noisy and not as cold - away from the door. The wine was very good and the food was good. Price wise, with wine its on the high end of "moderate" I've been there before and will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2014

The perfect place for a great glass of wine and snacks pre the movies in Bethesda--and as a bonus, happy hour prices are excellent then, too. Would also recommend for other occasions as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2014

I'm super excited that I discovered the Vino Volo is opening a actual restaurant locations. I love the idea and there is so much attention to detail put into the presentation of the store it's incredible. The staff at this particular location is always been overly friendly and extremely knowledgeable about their wine selection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2014

Wine flights and small plates were ideal for our girls night out. Large group next to us was a bit loud so was hard to talk but was fine before they showed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2014

We enjoyed our meal but were surprised that the portions were so small. It looks like they changed their menu around. I think they need to switch it back to the way it was last year.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2014

We went to Vino Volo on Valentine's Day, the place is nice and the attention is really good. What we didn't like was that on this day they had a different menu that we were not interested, that was definitely not our lucky day.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2014

The fix prix menu for Valentine's Day was divine! Very Well done

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2014

Just went for a quick bite before a movie, and was really impressed with the speed of the food and the knowledge of the servers regarding both the wine and food. Can't wait to return. Also, Happy Hour specials are great. Monday through Friday, 4 to 7. One of the best Happy Hours in Bethesda.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2014

The food was below average. I would consider going there just for some wine. The place is very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 16, 2014

People this is more than "that wine place" you keep walking by in downtown Bethesda. Stop in, it'll be worth the visit. They have food, and not just accompaniments with a flight of wine, but a delicious stand alone menu. They don't seem to busy at lunch so it's a great quiet mid-day meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2014

it aeemed like a great idea but it really was not. the food was very mediocre and frankly the menu was just nothing to smile at. HAve a glass of wine then dine elsewhere

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2014

I didn't know that this fun wine bar in Bethesda had delicious food. A great place to go pre or post movie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2014

The flights of wine are fun to sample, but the wine list is not extraordinary. We had meats and cheeses (generous portions, but not particularly special) and a few small plates. Menu reads well, but nothing exceeds a B. Decent place for friends who like wine to meet for a flight and a light meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2014

Had a great meal and the diversity of wine with each serving was outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2013

Favorable transition from airport wine bar to local restaurant. Great stop before or after a movie next door. Singles with laptops, couples, and groups can enjoy wine flights and small plates in a casual atmosphere. Server pleasant, helpful, and informative without being intrusive. A very nice addition to Bethesda row.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2013

Nice addition to the restaurant scene. Love the wine flights but wish they would use nicer wines. The bottle prices are good, so take that route. Food is quite good, esp the little pizzas. Don't recommend the meatballs, they were dry, not very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2013

The food is very good, but the wines are priced higher than their quality warrants. They do not compare favorably to wines I can purchase by the case at less than one-third of what Vino Volvo charges. A comparison I based by comparison shopping two other wine stores where I shop regularly. The very small double espresso is overpriced at $6.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2013

They willingly teach you about varied wines.
Offers great deals on trial glasses (tablet).
The service is very personable.
Great location.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2013

What a delightful departure from the Bethesda, MD, restaurant scene. Great and affordable wines, terrific menu for knoshing or a full dinner, exceedingly helpful wait staff and management -- and sane enough for genteel conversation. We really enjoyed it and will be back often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.