Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

BottegaBottega
(763)
Mediterranean | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Hot and Hot Fish ClubHot and Hot Fish Club
(232)
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Galley and GardenGalley and Garden
(254)
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Habitat Feed & SocialHabitat Feed & Social
(72)
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Ruth's Chris Steak House - BirminghamRuth's Chris Steak House - Birmingham
(375)
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
AVOAVO
(329)
Californian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Highlands Bar & GrillHighlands Bar & Grill
(1469)
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
OceanOcean
(618)
Seafood | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Daniel George Restaurant and BarDaniel George Restaurant and Bar
(394)
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
The Grill - Iron CityThe Grill - Iron City
(34)
American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
BettolaBettola
(92)
Italian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Dyrons Low countryDyrons Low country
(403)
Low Country | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Michael's RestaurantMichael's Restaurant
(4)
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now

About Vino

1930 Cahaba Rd.
Mountain Brook, AL 35223
View Larger Map

Vino is Birmingham's new intimate dining spot, featuring an array of fresh, simple, and healthy menu choices, along with an extensive wine collection. Enjoy indoor seating or dine on our patio overlooking the village. Walk-ins welcome or reservations available.

~ Now Opening For Saturday Brunch! Join us from 11:00 - 4:00 every Saturday for our special brunch menu and $2.00 Mimosas. Click HERE to view our new brunch menu.

Vino was Voted "Most Romantic Restaurant" in Birmingham Reader's Choice Poll of 2012 and runner-up in Best Italian, Best New Restaurant, Best Patio and Best Wine List

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Italian, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Brunch:
Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
20th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 870-8404

Website:
http://vinobirmingham.com/index.html

Parking Details:
Plenty off street at nights and small private parking

Executive Chef:
Becky Rabiee

Private Party Facilities:
Modern, Elegant, & Unique Looking for a hip and sophisticated location for your special event? Vino, located in English Village, is close to everything, but unlike any other. The striking contemporary California architecture of the exterior, combined with cozy, minimal interiors combines the best of modern and comfortable. Vino is divided into 3 unique spaces-the main restaurant dining room, an art gallery and generous rock patio. The white minimal dining room with its small nooks and diffused background provides a warm environment for small intimate gatherings. The patio, overlooking quaint English Village, features additional seating and outdoor fireplace for the perfect al fresco celebration. In addition, a functioning art gallery with beautiful art on display, can lend its exhibit room to any event. With its special layout and location, Vino can accommodate rehearsal dinners, corporate meetings, wine tasting, bridal and wedding showers. From small to large, casual to formal...

Private Party Contact:
Al Rabiee: 2058708404

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
34 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time at Vino. Enjoyable dinner. W ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

First time at Vino. Enjoyable dinner. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Vino Review 6/9/2016

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is the 2nd time I have eaten at Vino. My first visit I was very pleased and selected it to go back for a special occasion. However, the 2nd visit, the service was poor. Our server seemed to have only one table, ours, out on the patio. She tried her best to swing thru and check on us, but wasn't always able. Where I was disappointed was that other wait staff and hostess did not try to help her out by asking us if we needed water refilled, etc. There was no Team effort. Although the food was fair, and the location is interesting, I will not go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food and ambiance

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

A friend who is also a colleague and I met after work for dinner. Hadn't gotten together in some time so great to catch up. Great table overlooking the street and sidewalk in English Village (fun view), waiter was so nice and attentive. Instead of entrees we did multiple appetizers. Loved all our choices including dessert. (They could have a more exciting coffee brew -- tasted like it was made several hours before, but that was the only downside.) Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything fine except table was positio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Everything fine except table was positioned in a covered, area almost inside of building, even though plenty of room for additional tables outside and good weather evening. Not sure why we were placed here and since a business dinner with business guest, did not want to say anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Our dinner was a big disappointment. It ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Our dinner was a big disappointment. It started off with a poor seating. We asked to move. Then we ordered a fine wine. They were out. We ordered a second wine. They were out again. Finally, the third wine we chose was available, but was served at room temperature which was a big disappointment. Then we ordered the appetizers, but they were very average and lacked flavor. Then entrées, but again no flavor. Very bland food. I would not recommend this restaurant until they chill their red wines and get a new chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great girls night!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Had an amazing time with a little girls night out. Michael, our waiter, was amazing with helping select a wine and keeping us entertained. Enjoyed the scallops and they were cooked just right. We stayed long enough to pay the bill and then open up another tab for a glass of wine!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very good find! Great date night dinner

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Very good find! Great date night dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have never been disappointed with the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

I have never been disappointed with the quality of drinks, food and service whether meeting a group of friends for drinks, having a romantic dinner with my husband, or celebrating a graduation with a large group of guests. The cheese appetizer plate and the kale salad are amongst our favorites. Menu offers a nice balance of healthy and more rich options. Portions are plentiful. You must try the apple fritters for dessert! The restaurant is family owned and they take pride in their service. It is one of our favorite dining experiences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My fiancé and I went to Vino to celebrat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

My fiancé and I went to Vino to celebrate our engagement. I just moved to Birmingham and was excited to try a restaurant I had heard so many great things about. We made an 8:00 reservation for a Friday night. We were greeted by the hostess who looked somewhat perplexed when we told her we had a reservation. She told us our table was not yet ready and we were welcome to wait at the bar. (Interestingly, there were a number of empty tables. While I understand plenty of factors contribute to whether or one can be seated at a particular time, the empty tables became relevant.) No problem, we were happy to enjoy a glass of wine at the outside bar. The hostess placed a few menus and glasses of water and walked away. Odd, because we didn't intend to eat at the bar and she didn't mention anyone coming over for a drink order. Eventually, 10 minutes passed before we were acknowledged at the otherwise empty bar. At 8:15 we saw the hostess walk into the interior portion of the restaurant and pick up a table. She carried it outside and placed it in an awkward spot, in the middle of a walkway, away from the other tables, and under a huge outdoor light. She then came over to us and stated that our table was ready. We walked over and sat down, feeling haphazardly placed and on display to the other diners. After a few seconds of sitting at the table I told the hostess the table was uncomfortable and requested a new table. She obliged and proceeded to clear one of the many empty tables (that had remained empty) I had mentioned earlier. I was irritated and ready to leave. We had made a reservation and they were not very clearly not prepared to accommodate. My fiancé convinced me to stay. Our waitress was fine enough, although it was evident she did not want to be there. The food was good; not spectacular and certainly not something you couldn't enjoy at another restaurant that honors reservations and attends to their guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Fabulous!

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 16, 2015

Vino is one of my favorite places for dinner in Birmingham. I always have excellent food and excellent service. The staff is wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and attentive without bein ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

Great service and attentive without being annoying, good wine list, popular, but not crowded. Quiet for an outside venue close to the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining outside was great. Was raining wh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Dining outside was great. Was raining when we arrived but we were patient and when weather cleared up got a table outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Disappointed this time

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 11, 2015

Drinks, appetizer, and service were all terrific, but entrees didn't measure up. Husband ordered "Pan seared grouper". What he got looked like an overcooked piece of talapia or catfish. When questioned manager explained that it was Carolina Grouper. Oh, really? Another diner had just barely cooked salmon that was cold and had to send it back for further cooking. Too many good restaurants in Birmingham, so probably will not go back to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We will be back

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 17, 2014

We dined at Vino very early in the day. I think we arrived 10 minutes before they opened. We were traveling through Birmingham and had never been to the area before. It's in a great neighborhood and offers outside dining. We ate outside and being early we beat the crowd. The wine was very good and the food was unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

underwhelming

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

Underwhelming describe this restaurant in almost every respect. The food, service, and especially the wine list were all exceptionally underwhelming. The only positive was the outdoor setting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Everything was great but the food.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2014

Ate there in the early evening on a summer day. Very pleasant underneath the trees with a light breeze. There were quite a few other diners there, but it was perfectly easy to converse. As the sun went down, strings of lights on the trees came on. All very lovely and pleasant. Server was low key. Unfortunately, the food was just OK. Presentation was nice enough, but there just wasn't anything exciting about the food. Flavors were dull. At least, it wasn't overly salty. I cook mostly without salt at home, so when I eat out, foods tend to taste way too salty to me if I forget to ask for reduced salt.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

We are repeat diners at this wonderful r ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

We are repeat diners at this wonderful restaurant. Superb service, interesting and delightful food, lovely outdoor dining and a killer bar. It's a definite favorite!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Finally made it there

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2014

Vino has been open for some time and we kept saying we need to go. Well we did and it was quite good. The roasted eggplant was quite good as was the lamb shanks. We had a table outside and thoroughly enjoyed the dinner. We'll go back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Not up to par!

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 28, 2014

We had requested to sit outside on the patio in the reservation, but when we arrived the Hostess tried to seat us inside. When we requested outside, we had to wait 30 minutes on a table. Then the service was really slow, but when we complained about the service, it did pick up. The food was good, but we've never had to wait that long with a reservation and we have had better service in the past. Not in a hurry to go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Beautiful setting- food just ok

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 28, 2014

The outdoor courtyard at Vino is hard to beat for a romantic setting. If they added some mellow jazz music that would take it over the top. We had reservations but had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated. We started with the artichoke appetizer. We have ordered this before and it was great, but this time it was mediocre- not hot, not creamy. My husband ordered tuna and it was an extremely small portion. I ordered scallops- again just ok. Our waiter was very pleasant but it was difficult to hear him and he did not stop by the table to check on us often enough. Not sure with all the great restaurants in Birmingham if we will be back. Maybe drinks in the courtyard...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Choose your table carefully

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 28, 2014

My wife and I made reservation to celebrate our anniversary. When we got there, we were told that there were no tables left outside and did we mind sitting inside. We didn't know any better, so we agreed and were taken to a side room that felt a bit like something that used to be a storage closet. In fact, it might have been because after we started eating the hostess started hauling the other chairs and tables outside for other diners who knew better than we did and must have made a bigger fuss. Soon we were by ourselves in a windowless room with no other chairs or tables. The food was fine, and the wine list very good, but we finished as quickly as we could and left. It was disrespectful and depressing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Overall great, but tables & chairs

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 15, 2014

...are cheap and uncomfortable. The setting, food , and service is fantastic. As popular and upscale as Vino is, they really need to spring for quality outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We are in the neighborhood and this was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 7, 2014

We are in the neighborhood and this was our first visit. The outside is truly inviting and since it was raining we got to experience the inside seating and bar... what a pleasant surprise!!! It was a wonderful night.. Staff was so friendly and made us very comfortable... The food was delicious! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good restaurant

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 3, 2014

The food was good and they had a good selection of food and wine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Didn't see this coming

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 5, 2014

Decided to take a guest from San Francisco out to dinner before flying home. Wanted to try something different so gave Vino a shot. Knew the food would be amazing as soon as the smells from the kitchen reached us as we were being seated. Everything we tried was wonderful. Our guest was blown away by food he said his hometown would be thrilled to claim. If I had known it was going to be so good I wouldn't have waited so long to try it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 27, 2014

The food was outstanding. Great scene. Fellas, this is a winner for the night with that special someone!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Afternoon Delight

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 23, 2014

Wonderful meal in an outdoor setting. Tables set far enough apart so you didn't hear other conversations! Good wine and food selection. Overall wonderful dining experience. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

friendly dining

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. Great place to come early, visit, have some wine and then a great dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice find

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2014

I'm new to the area and a friend was visiting, so I decided to take a chance on this little Mountain Brook restaurant connected to an art gallery. Was quite pleased that the menu pricing wasn't outrageous. The dining area is a bit small and even half-full, it was tough to have a conversation without raising my voice. The food was very good and the baguettes soaked in olive oil and cheese were quite addictive. The all-white decor threw me a bit. As you can see, my review is more about the atmosphere, which I didn't care for as much as I liked the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Urban chic

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 16, 2014

Wonderful ambiance, terrific food, superb drinks....Vino is a winner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed Vino

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 14, 2014

The food and wait staff were fantastic. I was expecting a more expansize vine list based on the name. They had a good selection of wines but I found the list pretty standard. I would definitely go here again when it is warmer to dine on the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Friendly servers, great dinner

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 4, 2014

We ate early. The restaurant was not crowded and service was excellent. Drinks were generous and our dinners were delicious.

I especially loved the jazz recordings played in the background.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Friends at Vino

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on December 8, 2013

Service was excellent! Great attitude, on the spot but never intrusive. Everyone loved their dinner, the sautéed crab claw appetizer was some of the best ever. Wine was excellent. Might choose a little different background music, but it was low enough to not bother. Will be back and tell my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Classy date night. ..

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on November 23, 2013

Wonderful dining experience on a date night to celebrate our recent engagement. Atmosphere was modern, classy and fun - but a dash of decor from the gallery next door would be a plus.

there was a birthday party in progress while dining, perhaps lending to the elevated noise level, but it was not objectionable.

Sercive was respectable, although a bit slow to start, with several wait staff changes during the evening which made my wallet on the table go unnoticed for a bit.

The food was impeccable, with appropriate portions, visually appealing, and outstanding flavor on appetizers and entrees.

Highly recommended, we will be returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.