Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Vino Levantino

4.4
78 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Wine Bar
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Notable Wine List
  • Good Vegetarian Options
Vino Levantino is first and foremost a wine bar. Our wines are imported from all over the world, mostly from boutique wineries in France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Turkey, Israel & the Americas. Our menu reflects the diversity of the Ottoman Empire. It is also influenced by the cuisine of Sephardic Jews, many of whom journeyed to Israel through Turkey.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Wine Bar, Middle Eastern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner:
Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 280-3333
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
between Amsterdam Ave & Broadway
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
96 St. (1, 2, 3) 86 St. (1, 2) 96 St. (A, B, C)
Additional
Beer, Cocktails, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 78 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.0
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

So wonderful, quiet, cute, magical ambience! Perfect place to catch up with a friend. Will definitely be a regular here now that I've found it in my own neighborhood!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

LOVED the food and wine,
Plus the ambiance - SUCH a win for the UWS.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We had previously come here for an event and loved it. Friendly staff, delicious Meditarrian food. We came back for a date on a warm Friday night and we sat outside. The windows in the restaurant open up completely so even if you are sitting outside you get a nice summer breeze. Get the hummus, falafels and baba ganoush (it comes with pita bread) - SO BOMB. And then we shared the curry pumpkin balls (it's an entree) - it's SO good. It's like a curried pumpkin and sweet potato "meat" ball with a side of rice. Perfect portion if you share the 3 apps beforehand. We love this place and will plan to come back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The food was good but the service was very slow and they didn't seem to realize we would like our appetizer before the meal. Also, need a much better selection of kosher wines since they have gone kosher with the food. Only a few wines to choose from which was dissapointing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

terrible service
Food was average at best
they really need to get their act together
Very inattentive
It's a wine bar and that is really a misnomer-most of the wines are really overpriced
Their menu has changed for the worse

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Food was good and appropriately priced. Our server was aloof and seemed annoyed constantly. The kicker was when he spilled water all over us: did not apologize and said “I thought I had spilled the wine,” And just walked away! I’d go back if I could be guaranteed I would not have that server again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

This is a wonderful place to meet for happy hour or a meal. The dishes are healthy he and delicious and the staff is very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

First time there. Dinner menu had many yummy and healthy options and was delightful before Symphony Space event nearby. Enjoyed so much that we returned after the performance for an after-dinner drink.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Nice find in the upper west side. Owner and staff were lovely and accommodating. Modern mediterranean/sephardic menu. Great, large salads. All dishes were freshly prepared and in some cases, traditional dishes included unusual but very effective ingredients with delicious results. Great wine selection with knowledgeable staff. Nice ambiance, quiet background music that even with a full house of people talking allowed for easy conversation at our table. We strongly recommend Vino Levantino and will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

I love Vino Levantino. It's a neighborhood gem when you are looking for that one place to have a glass of wine and a small bite to eat.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The falafel cakes were very good along with the mixed olives. I thought the curry pumpkin balls were too sweet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Fantastic, cozy wine bar. Excellent food, wine & service. Excellent value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Didn’t realize the menu is fish and vegetables which is great for me, not so much (initially) for my boyfriend. That said, we were both pleasantly surprised by how satisfying our meal was. We shared the tuna tartare and a fatoush salad and we each ordered fish entrees. Everything was delicious. Fresh and flavorful ingredients. Large wine and beer menu. Warm and friendly service. Another great UWS find.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

This place could be world class if the owner would hire some professional wait staff. The wait people are the only thing holding this place back. (BTW, bartenders are wonderful.)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

The food is always a delight and Vino Levantino’s cuisine is certainly one of the more healthy and unusual arrays on the UWS. Drink prices are fair but 1 caveat: know your wine. Some come at a steep markup. Not to say they are not well selected; but, just be aware. Overall, truly a neighborhood regular and favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

We love this place! We're hoping they bring back the live music on Thursday nights. They always play great music, that one can actually decipher. Jazz, world. The food is wonderful and interesting. The staff, exceptional. Sweet, attentive. Love it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

This was a great little spot. Sat at the bar and had apps for our dinner, with a bottle of wine.
The foods are all easy to share and very delicious. We liked the grilled halumi cheese and veggies. One item we wanted was unavailable and they gave us another "on the house". Very lovely setting. Fair prices for all the wines offered. We will def go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Perfect neighborhood spot to meet for a glass of wine and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Wine bar with amazing, healthy food. I don't drink & I love this place. Small and out of the way, cozy, lots of brick & wood. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Nice quiet wine bar with Mediterranean food. Great happy hour choices and regular menu options. Small and quaint near Symphony Space.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2017

FUN AND EASY NEIGHBORHOOD PLACE. BADLY NEEDED ON UWS

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

My friend and I had an event to attend at Symphony Space and we came across this restaurant and we glad that we ate there. The foods were amazing. Will come back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Super friendly staff, good food served timely. I recommend this to anyone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 14, 2017

The food is excellent; a quiet street (not on the busy avenue) makes this a find
But - service is very slow so be prepared to take the time needed. Since orders are meant to be shared, the kitchen would be well advised to pace the delivering of dishes instead of all at once, especially when so asked.
And the portions of pits (extra charge) are small but very tasty.

Great wine list

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

We love Vino Levantino and come often--happy hour with friends after work on Fridays, out for dinner on Saturdays with family and friends, quiet weeknight dinner with colleagues. Fresh, delicious food, great wines, good service, reasonable prices, an inviting environment--love that chandelier!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2017

We very much enjoyed this first visit and plan to return very soon. Delicious meal, really friendly atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 29, 2017

I went to the place on Thursday for a drink and light snack. I like the theme as I like Middle Eastern food and I love wines. But the service was a bit slow considering the size of the crowd and many items on the menu were not available for mid-week. Bit disappointed but it is a good neighborhood place for casual snack and meal. They seem to be holding up well in the competitive landscape in UWS.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Vino Levantino has been one of my neighborhood go to for the last few years. However, the food has gone downhill. The wine list is good, but their pour is tiny for the price. Presentation is lacking and servings are small for the price. Sadly, I can't recommend at this time. That said, the staff is very nice and the ambiance is quiet and simple.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2017

I love Vino Levantino. I bring all family members, visiting relatives, colleagues and good friends there and sometimes go twice a week! Food is fresh and delicious, wine never disappoints, service is friendly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the food, the wine and the music. The ambience is cozy and makes for a lovely setting for an enjoyable meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2017

We wanted to like it... The volume of the 80's music playing was too loud, and not the right mood for an empty restaurant (most guests were seated outdoors). The wine was good, but the Mediterranean platter was flavorless, and the octopus salad was uninspired. Servers were attentive and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

I've come to like Vino Levantino that I've gone there up to twice a week. It's perfect for a weeknight dinner with a friend for a good meal and a long talk, or for a noisier fun weekend evening out with a small group. I've brought guests of all ages and tastes in food there and everyone loves it. Prices reasonable, quality excellent. Excellent wines and the best hummus any of us has ever had. Just please keep it a secret.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 2, 2017

Awful meal at a very sub-par, amateur, and altogether unacceptable restaurant, from the bad food to the inadequate decor to the very slow service. It was chosen as convenient to a performance at Symphony Space, but we would not recommend it to anyone for any reason at any time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 29, 2017

Very good food but salmon was dry and the place was way too noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2017

Lots of vegetarian and gluten free options. The staff was very welcoming. We arrived early (before the crowds) but never felt rushed. We ordered tapas style, choosing 2 appetizers, a salad and 1 entree to share. The burekas take a while to make, so order them right away. The shredded root vegetable salad was delicious and the portion was quite large. The grilled zucchini was small, but perfectly grilled and served over an herbed yoghurt. The lamb chops were served over awesome cauliflower puree (which you can also order as an extra side dish if you want). We enjoyed our meal and will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Very pleasant evening with friends in an unpretentious wine bar that hits just the right note. Great for a date or friend get together. Authentic and tasty Mediterranean bites.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent in every way! Exotic wine you won't find else whee!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2017

I hate to let anyone else know how fantastic a find Vino Levantino is because clearly the entire neighborhood knows! I like this restaurant so much that I was just there again just two nights after this dinner. Weekend nights it's hopping with people for drinks and people for dinner. Weekday nights it's the perfect spot for a long dinner and conversation with a friend. Excellent wine, fresh and delicious food (mostly Turkish and Lebanese), cozy atmosphere, very helpful servers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2017

Nice comfortable restaurant with good eastern Mediterranean cuisine and an excellent western Mediterranean wine list. Great for a romantic drink, the small plates / mezze / starters are excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2017

I had been to Vino Levantino in the past and enjoyed it, so I was delighted to return with some friends. Unfortunately, the whole visit was very disappointing. The kitchen was out of about 2/3 of the items on the menu. (This at 8:30 on a Saturday night; hardly closing time.) To make matters worse, the waiter didn't begin by saying "I'm sorry, but we're out of a number of menu items, so I can't offer you X, Y, and Z." Rather, we'd try to order and he'd say, "we're out" and we'd try again -- and again and again and again. Who ever heard of a Mediterranean restaurant running out of olives? When I inquired about the strange lack of options, the waiter said they'd been busy the prior day. Really? And you can't get olives? The manager was worse -- condescending and dismissive. I was really embarrassed to have brought my friends to this place. The absence of options was bad enough, but one might at least expect a little information, a sincere apology, and a lot less attitude. (One positive note: the burekas are delicious.)

Report
Helpful
1
2