About Vincenzo's Italian Restaurant

150 S. Fifth St.
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Established in 1986, by Vincenzo and Agostino Gabriele, Vincenzo"s is an award-winning restaurant, located at 150 S. Fifth Street, in downtown Louisville, which specializes in Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 580-1350

Website:
http://vincenzositalianrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
Vincenzo"s catering is available for on-sight and off-sight events. On-site Vincenzo's can accommodate 5 to 150 guests. Vincenzo's has nine (9) separate rooms for private dining. Please contact Paula Fischer, Catering Director, at (502) 580-1350.

Parking Details:
Valet services are available Monday through Saturday for dinner service.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located to public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Agostino Gabriele

Private Party Facilities:
Vincenzo"s provides on-site and off-site catering. Vincenzos' on-site catering can accommodate from 5 to 150 in nine (9) separate private rooms at the restaurant. Vincenzo's also has an outdoor courtyard that can accommodate up to 150 guests. The menus for catered events are customer driven.

Private Party Contact:
Paula Fisher: 5025801350

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vincenzo's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
Italian
Central Kentucky
4 More
Best Food
Louisville
Best Service
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Notable Wine List (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Authentic (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Business Meals (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Historic (10)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Private Room (8)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Casual (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Drove down to Louisville from Cincinnati ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Drove down to Louisville from Cincinnati for the Brian Setzer concert last night. Show was terrific and the Palace Theater was awesome! But, I digress.

I chose Vincenzo's based on it's location, Open Table reviews, and a perusal of their menu.

I made the right choice. Food was to kill for. Gnocchi appetizer, veal Madeira, pork tenderloin, all amazing. Service was impeccable. Not just for us but for everyone in the restaurant. I noted that the staff readily pitched in to help at any table where needed. This made for super efficient service. I think this is because the owners constantly surveyed the room and made sure all were well taken care of.

Great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant dining. Excellent customer servi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Elegant dining. Excellent customer service. Friendly atmosphere. Expect to pay extra for this type of experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were in town with friends for a speci ...

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined 7 days ago

We were in town with friends for a special occasion..a lady from our hotel's gift shop (Galt House) recommended it. The staff, atmosphere, wine, and food was delicious! Will go back !

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quintessential special occasion loca ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The quintessential special occasion locale! Perfect for dining before a show at the Kentucky Center or Actors Theater.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always hav an enjoyable experience at ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We always hav an enjoyable experience at Vincenzo's. It is elegant, tranquil and the food is outstanding.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive. Not very italian. Kind o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Very expensive. Not very italian. Kind of chef boyardy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

This is a high end restaurant but entree ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is a high end restaurant but entrees are very overpriced. It is slow dining and we were on a time line- I would not have come here if I had known how slow the food comes. The food was good but not outstanding. We most likely will not return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The Good: The place is obviously well es ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The Good:

The place is obviously well established and the building is beautiful. The server was knowledgeable which is helpful being that most of the menu seems pretty authentic Italian and I didn't know how to pronounce much of it. He paired a great red wine with my entrée, which was probably the highlight of the night for me.

The not so good:

I don't want to get on a soapbox here, but don't charge me $60 for an entrée and seat me next to someone who has a GROUPON to your restaurant (never heard of fine dining groupons before that night)... the people next to us were clearly drunk (slurring words and yelling), angry about their discount coupon not being worth more. At one point they even called out to me and my wife to try and get us to join their table to receive a greater discount... I would have asked our waiter to handle it (either help the people or move my wife and I), but he got pretty swamped halfway through our dinner and we didn't see much of him for the next hour. Our waiter had obviously been seated with more important guests. I waited 10 minutes after I finished my meal to have my plate removed, then another 10 minutes to be shown the dessert options. A 20 minute wait before being offered your next course is unacceptable for what they charge. Service should be prompt. Also, there wasn't a single cut of meat that wasn't either stuffed or smothered with cheese, and sprinkling parsley as a garnish is kind of 1980s in my opinion. Plating was nothing special. Finally, The tiramisu, which was supposed to be famous, was not nearly as good as it was touted.... I was disappointed for sure.

My final verdict: if your 50 or older you'll love this place. If you're young, head to NuLuand have a better dinner for less.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A perfect place to enjoy the evening wit ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

A perfect place to enjoy the evening with friends or family. The chef is wonderful and can accommodate a variety of tastes. I love to eat at this place. It is a must go to if you come through Louisville.

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. It's perfect f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We love this restaurant. It's perfect for pre-theatre or to celebrate a special occasion. Vincenzo warmly greets us and the staff do their best to accommodate requests.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Attentive service.

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Perfect Attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Vincenzo and Augustino make e ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

As always, Vincenzo and Augustino make every night very special when you dine at Vincenzo's. We took my son and his wife before a concert and it was perfect. Always is.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is very nice and classy. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The restaurant is very nice and classy. It is just a couple of blocks from the Ohio river downtown Louisville. The only thing that I did not like was the hostess'. They always wear very scantily clad clothing and are very revealing. I wouldn't even expect to see women dressed like that at Hooters much less at an upscale place like this. But the food was amazing. Do not expect to leave spending less than $100 after tip for 2 people though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The smoked salmon was fantastic. We got ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The smoked salmon was fantastic. We got it as an appetizer. The pasta was a bit bland and somewhat disappointing. The service was great and the waiter gave us free dessert. It was the raspberry chocolate mousse and it was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

It is always a treat to eat at Vincenzo' ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It is always a treat to eat at Vincenzo's--service is superb, food is wonderful and valet parking makes it easy to attend events at the Center. I had the salmon--the champagne-dill sauce is wonderful and my husband had the yellow-fin tuna special. Thank you for consistent fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfection, as always. A lovely dinner ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Perfection, as always. A lovely dinner for a large group. Thank you, Vincenzo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gary and Casey were outstanding in an ul ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Gary and Casey were outstanding in an ultimate experience . Far exceeded any experience we have had in years

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Vincenzo's never disappoints, and is con ...

 
 (Oaxaca)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Vincenzo's never disappoints, and is consistently excellent is every way possible. Since it is my husband's favorite, we went there for his birthday dinner. There are not enough adjectives to describe this perfect evening. The food is beyond compare, and the brothers Gabriele make you feel welcome and wanted. From the efficient and caring wait staff, to the beautiful, cozy atmosphere, everything is well though out and perfectly executed. It is a bit like coming home and being honored with meal prepared just for you! Vincenzo's we love you, and look forward our next visit!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no finer restaurant experience ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

There is no finer restaurant experience than Vincenzo's for it is the ultimate collection of sharp, attentive service; impeccably prepared dishes, and a polished atmosphere of fine dining. Our evening was absolutely fantastic! Every course was vibrant, creative, and thoroughly delicious. No other restaurant has all the elements of excellence that Vincenzo’s offers for it is our city’s finest!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent homemade pasta dishes and alwa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Excellent homemade pasta dishes and always quality in every dish

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was great and the food was ou ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This place was great and the food was outstanding. The service is not really fast, It was good but sometimes they left us sitting there wondering if we were forgotten. The bartender was not in a good mood and he said he was sorry about that, apparently someone made him angry earlier. My wife had the seabass and I a filet with a pasta dish as an appetizer. I would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Once again an excellent meal at Vencenzo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Once again an excellent meal at Vencenzo's. We come to Louisville once a year for a trade show and always dine here. The service and the staff are excellent. The menu is very strong and the meals are always finished to perfection. I would recommend this place as a "must do" when in Louisville.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Private Room, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my fourth visit at Vincenzo's a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This was my fourth visit at Vincenzo's and each time the food seems better. Our service from all was outstanding and the food and wine recommendations were superb, hope to be back soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very attentive to all your ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The staff was very attentive to all your needs. Very excellent service. The food was plated at your table by Mr. Vincenzo himself. He also interacted with the patrons to make sure your experience was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the finest restaurant in Louisvi ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is the finest restaurant in Louisville. The table-side preparation of the Caesar salad and the main courses is fascinating. The expert service, the fabulous food and the valet parking make it a perfect (although pricey) restaurant experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Private Room, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great meal and our waiter Steve ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Always a great meal and our waiter Steven is worth asking for.

The food was outstanding and Vincenzo always makes us feel like family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated his birthday ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My husband and I celebrated his birthday and our 25th wedding anniversary. We had dined there before but it had been many years ago. We are both glad we went back. The food was excellent along with the service.

It is always a pleasure to able to support our local venues. Thank you, The Berry's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

An older restaurant with very dependable ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

An older restaurant with very dependable great Italian food - top-notch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A real authentic Italian Restaurant, I ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

A real authentic Italian Restaurant, I felt back home, in Italy. Great food and superb service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my 11 th wedding anniversary and ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

It was my 11 th wedding anniversary and I got a Groupon for Vincenzo's. There was something going on there that involved about 75+ young college kids. We were sat at a tiny table for 2 that was right next to this large group and in he middle of walkways, constantly being bumped by waiters. Once a table next to us opened up, we were able to move. Our waiter never told us his name, never asked if we'd been here before, never asked if we were celebrating something special (all things I believe should be done at an expensive restaurant). I told my husband to wait and see if he would tell us about the specials, and he never did so we had to ask. We did notice that he was also part of the team taking care of the large group of kids. I asked him what was going on there and he had no idea. Absolutely awful service. If I were taking care of such a large group dressed in suits and cocktail dresses, my fist question would be what are they celebrating. Our food was okay, but our waiter never asked. It was okay, but extremely over priced and the portion was extremely small. We were very disappointed. The waiters that filled the water were great and the valet driver was great. Other than that, it was a waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Met at Vincenzo's for a business lunch. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Met at Vincenzo's for a business lunch. Yes, it was expensive, but we had the quiet space in which to exchange information and make a deal.

I have to say that the luncheon menu, which is quite affordable, doesn't do justice to the talent displayed by the evening staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Barbara and I go to Vincenzo's every tim ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Barbara and I go to Vincenzo's every time we are in Louisville. It has become a tradition that we look forward to. We always leave satisfied and happy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant lived up to the expectat ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

This restaurant lived up to the expectations. Enjoy our food and the service was great. Loved the ambiance.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely outstanding service. Our ca ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Absolutely outstanding service. Our captain, James, was professional while being very personable and not "stuffy". The food was also great. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second trip to Vincenzo's an ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was my second trip to Vincenzo's and it did not disappoint. The food, service, and atmosphere was amazing. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very old school gracious place to dine ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A very old school gracious place to dine. The owner and chef were greeting diners all night. Veal is excellent here and the pasta is properly cooked al dente. Nice wine list, but a little restricted by the glass. Finest Italian in the metro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not my first time. Economy special was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Not my first time. Economy special was a great bargain for all the courses you get. Waiters did a superb job. Good, balanced package with lots of vegetables. Good meal, good bargain for a high-end restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual wxcellent food and ambiance. F ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 20, 2016

As usual wxcellent food and ambiance. For a special meal and quiet conversation excellent. Service excellent.

Kind of pricey but for special occasion or dinner to impress someone great.

Never disappointed

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an excellent resturaunt with a v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is an excellent resturaunt with a very extensive wine list. There service is extremely good with two waiters in tuxedos providing table service with tables with 3 copper heaters so your food is very well prepared. The veal dishes are numerous and truly excellent. The resturaunt is in an old Federal Reserve Bank building to it is truly a grand setting.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, drinks, and service! Sec ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food, drinks, and service! Second time there, will definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.