About Vincenzo's Italian Restaurant

150 S. Fifth St.
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Established in 1986, by Vincenzo and Agostino Gabriele, Vincenzo"s is an award-winning restaurant, located at 150 S. Fifth Street, in downtown Louisville, which specializes in Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 580-1350

Website:
http://vincenzositalianrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
Vincenzo"s catering is available for on-sight and off-sight events. On-site Vincenzo's can accommodate 5 to 150 guests. Vincenzo's has nine (9) separate rooms for private dining. Please contact Paula Fischer, Catering Director, at (502) 580-1350.

Parking Details:
Valet services are available Monday through Saturday for dinner service.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located to public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Agostino Gabriele

Private Party Facilities:
Vincenzo"s provides on-site and off-site catering. Vincenzos' on-site catering can accommodate from 5 to 150 in nine (9) separate private rooms at the restaurant. Vincenzo's also has an outdoor courtyard that can accommodate up to 150 guests. The menus for catered events are customer driven.

Private Party Contact:
Paula Fisher: 5025801350

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vincenzo's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
Special Occasion
Central Kentucky
4 More
Italian
Central Kentucky
Notable Wine List
Louisville
Romantic
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

special occasion (85)
romantic (76)
fit for foodies (51)
See All
notable wine list (43)
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (10)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We keep Vincenzo's for very special occa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 3 days ago

We keep Vincenzo's for very special occasions. They never disappoint and treat you as if you were their very best patron. The food is exceptional and the caesar salad is the best you can get anywhere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very well taken care of. Great r ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were very well taken care of. Great recommendations from the gentlemen taking care of us when it came to a good wine and also when we were trying to make final decisions on entrées. Didn't have to wait or struggle to get ahold of someone, our needs were met immediately. The food was fantastic. The veal was the best I've had anywhere hands down. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This would five, but their air condition ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This would five, but their air conditioning was being worked on and it was noticeable. Otherwise, everything was wondeful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When we arrived, we were told that we co ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

When we arrived, we were told that we couldn't sit in the dining room because we had on shorts. Yes, our fault. However, another person with shorts was seen sitting in the dining room. Not sure why we got singled out. So, we opted to eat in the "bar" area. We were seated at two high top tables pulled together. The tables were wobbly and kept banging into each other. When we asked about the specials, the server couldn't even tell us. He had to go and ask another waiter. When this waiter came by, he had huge spots on his jackets and stains all over his white shirt. So, I guess they don't hold their service staff to the same "dress code" as they do their patrons. I visit Louisville quite often for work, but I won't visit this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

A Lil pricey but worth it..Would treat m ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A Lil pricey but worth it..Would treat myself on date night with husband every once in awhile..Food was WONDERFUL .Can't wait to try something else from menu

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal in a romantic setting.

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderful meal in a romantic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were outstanding.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating ou ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating our anniversary and my wife's birthday. Vincenzo's always knows how to make a special occasion special. They have the best caesar salad made table side. Our server Mark is first class.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful dining room, great service, go ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beautiful dining room, great service, good food, but a little pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome experience every time.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Awesome experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very very very slow service. Took waitor ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very very very slow service. Took waitor 15 min to bring our water to us. We arrived at 7:45pm and left at 10:00pm. Horrible experience.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was exceptional. My wife and I split the seafood pasta appetizer which had incredible flavor balanced with a bit of heat. The veal Sinatra melted in my mouth and the sauce was so rich and flavorful. Cocktails were reasonably priced and the wine paired well with the meal. Overall an excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent experience all around

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent experience all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great presentation the seafood artichoke ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great presentation the seafood artichoke app was the best. Meat was a little overcooked but still tasty. Seafood pasta was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Since its inception, Vincenzo's remains ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Since its inception, Vincenzo's remains a warm & vibrant restaurant with welcoming ownership, great service staff & wonderful food & drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. The ambiance, ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The ambiance, the service, and the food was top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first visit and we had excellent serv ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My first visit and we had excellent service, including menu advice and a great dinner. This is a white tablecloth restaurant with waiters in tuxes. we had a very good after work dinner and we got a lot of work done too !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely phenomenal service with outst ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal service with outstanding food!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed the evening. Littl ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the evening. Little pricey but the food was great. Loved the cheese sauce that was on our food. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable. Food reflec ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The service was impeccable. Food reflected top quality ingredients, was well-prepared, with some table-side preparation. Tables spaced adequately so conversations were private and noise level was low.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Louisville

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

In our opinion Vincenzo's is the best in Louisville for fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants. This ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. This time we brought a guest and they were impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was great and service great as usual. It is pricey but it is a wonderful special occasion restaurant .

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were a group of 9 celebrating my reti ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We were a group of 9 celebrating my retirement. The food was excellent, as it most always is at Vincenzo's. Our dinner captain and waiters were particularly outstanding, providing for our every need and making the 4 children with our group feel right at home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always exceeds expectations

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Vincenzo's never disappoints. Excellent food, friendly and knowledgeable wait staff. An amazing dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Beautiful dinning and bar area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Buon Giorno Il mangiare era eccellente! ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Buon Giorno

Il mangiare era eccellente! We were in Louisville for a business conference, noted Vincenzo listed in a local magazine under 'Fine Dining', it certainly was. The ambience so pleasant, not noisy, the service very good, again, the food excellent, Agnello done to perfection, mascarpone ravioli mouthwatering. Molto Bene!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came a few minutes late (15min) and call ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Came a few minutes late (15min) and called ahead to let them know. Got a table in a traffic zone where they stage trays to serve people. All we needed to make the not feeling valued experience complete was the kitchen door hitting the back of my chair. Luckily that was not the case. Food was fine. Waiter annoyed that we asked questions and took a few minutes ordering. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Apparently this restaurant has a long hi ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Apparently this restaurant has a long history in Louisville. They were proud of the Sinatra veal preparation which I had. My guests had Branzino and the Filet. The delivery of the meal was impressive but the food itself was unremarkable. If you want an impressive, luxurious atmosphere, this is the place but, if you want great food you should consider somewhere else. Carabba's has much better food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My husband & I celebrated our 3rd weddin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

My husband & I celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary here. We fell in love there 8 yrs ago and since we were in town for business we were fortunate enough to be there again! We were made to feel so incredibly special can't wait to go back again! Service top notch! Food - wish I could eat there every day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A jewel in the heart of Louisville.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This place is lovely and perfect for a special occasion or date-night. The Old-world style of service might seem slow to some, but for a true "dining experience", it was just right. The food was very good. The salmon was perfectly cooked and the champagne dill sauce was sublime. The pasta dishes were fresh and delicious. The only down-side was the dessert. We should have opted for the soufflé, but chose the tiramisu instead. Bad decision. The actual dessert was more of a layer cake than a tiramisu - and it was very dry. Other than that, we enjoyed the overall experience and will definitely return - and order the soufflé next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Took hour and 15 minutes for food to arr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Took hour and 15 minutes for food to arrive. Very disappointing. Also asked for some small dish of pasta instead of vegetables and they up charged us $9 for tiny amount of pasta.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

My wife and I Celebrated a late Mother's ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

My wife and I Celebrated a late Mother's Day, with my mom. Awesome can't even begin to describe our night. My mother was so excited to go to Vincenzo's and as always they did not disappoint! The meal was awesome, the service incredible and the entire staff made it a special night for my mom. To top it off they brought out a desert plate with a sample of three deserts with Happy Mothers Day written on Chocolate on the Plate. She Loved It! Vincenzo and Augustino and their team never disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a busy Ky Derby weekend and we ar ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a busy Ky Derby weekend and we are at three incredible restaurants over the weekend. I'm glad we saved Vincenzo's for the last night. Our server did a wonderful job, manager came by and thanked us for being there and food was absolutely wonderful!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rushed

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our table for four was by the hallway to the restrooms. Four times waiters were lifting chairs over our heads for other tables. Room appeared classy with white tablecloths, china and nice glassware but a very noisy room. Difficult to get our waiter's attention. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Upscale Delivers

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

As part of our Derby experience, I reserved dinner for two and was not disappointed. They kept our glasses full at all times and Mr. Vincenzo cooked our meals personally at our table. And not just ours, he was doing this for most diners. It was an excellent dinner and experience and the entire staff were friendly and welcoming.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Understandably a busy Derby weekend, but....

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I made reservations for the Thursday before the Derby several weeks in advance on OpenTable. We chose this restaurant solely on the glowing reviews. Upon arriving, we quickly discovered that there was no way our reservation time was going to be honored considering how busy the restaurant was. The hostess assured us she would find us at the bar and get us seated as soon as possible. We did thoroughly enjoy the bar , but after an hour and a half of waiting for a table we were tired of it. After a last ditch effort to seat us at a terrible table by the kitchen, we just threw in the towel without eating. The only plus for us was we met another couple in the bar who happened to be in the same situation. We enjoyed their company so much that we left and had a wonderful dinner with them at The Brown.

Clearly, this is a pretty popular place. I would have really liked to try it. Derby weekend brings a lot of people to your city. It's a shame you are unable to handle a high volume of people for a few days.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We were visiting Louisville for the Derb ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We were visiting Louisville for the Derby and ate here. It had a great old school restaurant appeal with great service and food! I'd highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Avoid busy nights like Derby week!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on the menu that is on their website. We went on the Thursday before the Kentucky Derby, which I would not recommend. Our reservation for two was set for 7:30, we were not seated till 7:55 after being told it would be a few minutes. The menu we received was limited because of the tremendous amount of people in town for the Derby. While I understand totally the restaurant limiting the menu, it would have been nice if the web site had stated that would be the case then we could have decided. I am not sure if our waiter was new or overworked. He tried to bring the wrong bottle of wine, the wrong entrees and did not even ask if we wanted dessert. My wife ordered the house mixed salad and I ordered the tomato and mozzarella. We both thought our salads were excellent. My tomato and mozzarella was in fact outstanding. When the waiter took my salad plate away I was shocked to see a black ring on the table cloth. I am clueless what was on the bottom rim of my salad plate, but it was very unattractive in front of me on the tablecloth. When our server did bring our entrees my wife had the ravioli and I had the medallions of beef. I had reminded the waiter that he did not ask how I wanted my medallions cooked, but fortunately he had them prepared medium rare which is a good thing. My wife's mozzarella was good, but my beef was not so good. The menu said prime, but I am not even sure it was choice. We will go back again, but we will go on a not so busy time.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Underwhelming

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Based on the reviews, we had high expectations for Vincenzo's. We dined the weekend of the Kentucky Derby so admittedly the place was crowded. We had a reservation and were promptly seated, then the waiting game started. It was roughly 30 mins before anyone even stopped by the table to ask if we wanted anything to drink (including water). Then another 15 mins before our drinks arrived. We had some questions about the menu which was different from their regular menu posted online. They had a "special" Derby weekend menu - more limited & higher prices. We were ready to order but our waiter left the table abruptly & didn't come back for another 10 mins.

We were seated near a "cook station," close enough that I could feel the heat from the flame and had to adjust my seat for wait staff coming and going from the cook station. I spent the entire evening waiting for hot grease to splatter my way.

My husband ordered the beef medallions and I had a spaghetti special with lobster & shrimp. His dish reminded us of a meal you would get at some hotel banquet style event. Tender but bland and overdone. My spaghetti was a large portion but not worth $54. The lobster and shrimp were tasty but the whole dish was swimming in oil. At the end of the day it was nothing fancy even with the lobster.

After finishing dinner, we waiting another 20-25 mins for someone to clear our plates. We asked for a check and waited more. We were pressed to order dessert but by that point we were so over the whole dining experience we wanted to just leave. Again, our waiter abruptly left the table. After no sign of him for sometime, we asked another waiter who had brought us our food to please bring us a check. She apologized and went searching for him. It took another 10 mins to bring us the check which included a surcharge for Derby weekend that was not disclosed anywhere on the menu.

I understand busy weekends like the Derby but this seems like a place that should be used to it by now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.