About Vincenzo's Italian Restaurant

150 S. Fifth St.
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Established in 1986, by Vincenzo and Agostino Gabriele, Vincenzo"s is an award-winning restaurant, located at 150 S. Fifth Street, in downtown Louisville, which specializes in Authentic Northern Italian Cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Market

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 580-1350

Website:
http://vincenzositalianrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Pianist Friday and Saturday nights.

Catering:
Vincenzo"s catering is available for on-sight and off-sight events. On-site Vincenzo's can accommodate 5 to 150 guests. Vincenzo's has nine (9) separate rooms for private dining. Please contact Paula Fischer, Catering Director, at (502) 580-1350.

Parking Details:
Valet services are available Monday through Saturday for dinner service.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located to public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Agostino Gabriele

Private Party Facilities:
Vincenzo"s provides on-site and off-site catering. Vincenzos' on-site catering can accommodate from 5 to 150 in nine (9) separate private rooms at the restaurant. Vincenzo's also has an outdoor courtyard that can accommodate up to 150 guests. The menus for catered events are customer driven.

Private Party Contact:
Paula Fisher: 5025801350

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Vincenzo's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Central Kentucky
Romantic
Central Kentucky
Italian
Central Kentucky
4 More
Best Service
Louisville
Notable Wine List
Louisville
Romantic
Louisville
Special Occasion
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

special occasion (114)
romantic (101)
fit for foodies (63)
See All
notable wine list (55)
good for groups (33)
great for lunch (15)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1077 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food and service. Beautiful dinning and bar area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buon Giorno Il mangiare era eccellente! ...

Dined 5 days ago

Buon Giorno Il mangiare era eccellente! We were in Louisville for a business conference, noted Vincenzo listed in a local magazine under 'Fine Dining', it certainly was. The ambience so pleasant, not noisy, the service very good, again, the food excellent, Agnello done to perfection, mascarpone ravioli mouthwatering. Molto Bene!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Came a few minutes late (15min) and call ...

Dined 5 days ago

Came a few minutes late (15min) and called ahead to let them know. Got a table in a traffic zone where they stage trays to serve people. All we needed to make the not feeling valued experience complete was the kitchen door hitting the back of my chair. Luckily that was not the case. Food was fine. Waiter annoyed that we asked questions and took a few minutes ordering. Will not return.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Apparently this restaurant has a long hi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Apparently this restaurant has a long history in Louisville. They were proud of the Sinatra veal preparation which I had. My guests had Branzino and the Filet. The delivery of the meal was impressive but the food itself was unremarkable. If you want an impressive, luxurious atmosphere, this is the place but, if you want great food you should consider somewhere else. Carabba's has much better food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband & I celebrated our 3rd weddin ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

My husband & I celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary here. We fell in love there 8 yrs ago and since we were in town for business we were fortunate enough to be there again! We were made to feel so incredibly special can't wait to go back again! Service top notch! Food - wish I could eat there every day!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A jewel in the heart of Louisville.

Dined on May 18, 2016

This place is lovely and perfect for a special occasion or date-night. The Old-world style of service might seem slow to some, but for a true "dining experience", it was just right. The food was very good. The salmon was perfectly cooked and the champagne dill sauce was sublime. The pasta dishes were fresh and delicious. The only down-side was the dessert. We should have opted for the soufflé, but chose the tiramisu instead. Bad decision. The actual dessert was more of a layer cake than a tiramisu - and it was very dry. Other than that, we enjoyed the overall experience and will definitely return - and order the soufflé next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Took hour and 15 minutes for food to arr ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Took hour and 15 minutes for food to arrive. Very disappointing. Also asked for some small dish of pasta instead of vegetables and they up charged us $9 for tiny amount of pasta.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I Celebrated a late Mother's ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

My wife and I Celebrated a late Mother's Day, with my mom. Awesome can't even begin to describe our night. My mother was so excited to go to Vincenzo's and as always they did not disappoint! The meal was awesome, the service incredible and the entire staff made it a special night for my mom. To top it off they brought out a desert plate with a sample of three deserts with Happy Mothers Day written on Chocolate on the Plate. She Loved It! Vincenzo and Augustino and their team never disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a busy Ky Derby weekend and we ar ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a busy Ky Derby weekend and we are at three incredible restaurants over the weekend. I'm glad we saved Vincenzo's for the last night. Our server did a wonderful job, manager came by and thanked us for being there and food was absolutely wonderful!!!!

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Rushed

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our table for four was by the hallway to the restrooms. Four times waiters were lifting chairs over our heads for other tables. Room appeared classy with white tablecloths, china and nice glassware but a very noisy room. Difficult to get our waiter's attention. Disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Upscale Delivers

Dined on May 7, 2016

As part of our Derby experience, I reserved dinner for two and was not disappointed. They kept our glasses full at all times and Mr. Vincenzo cooked our meals personally at our table. And not just ours, he was doing this for most diners. It was an excellent dinner and experience and the entire staff were friendly and welcoming.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Understandably a busy Derby weekend, but....

Dined on May 5, 2016

I made reservations for the Thursday before the Derby several weeks in advance on OpenTable. We chose this restaurant solely on the glowing reviews. Upon arriving, we quickly discovered that there was no way our reservation time was going to be honored considering how busy the restaurant was. The hostess assured us she would find us at the bar and get us seated as soon as possible. We did thoroughly enjoy the bar , but after an hour and a half of waiting for a table we were tired of it. After a last ditch effort to seat us at a terrible table by the kitchen, we just threw in the towel without eating. The only plus for us was we met another couple in the bar who happened to be in the same situation. We enjoyed their company so much that we left and had a wonderful dinner with them at The Brown. Clearly, this is a pretty popular place. I would have really liked to try it. Derby weekend brings a lot of people to your city. It's a shame you are unable to handle a high volume of people for a few days.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting Louisville for the Derb ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We were visiting Louisville for the Derby and ate here. It had a great old school restaurant appeal with great service and food! I'd highly recommend it!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Avoid busy nights like Derby week!

Dined on May 5, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on the menu that is on their website. We went on the Thursday before the Kentucky Derby, which I would not recommend. Our reservation for two was set for 7:30, we were not seated till 7:55 after being told it would be a few minutes. The menu we received was limited because of the tremendous amount of people in town for the Derby. While I understand totally the restaurant limiting the menu, it would have been nice if the web site had stated that would be the case then we could have decided. I am not sure if our waiter was new or overworked. He tried to bring the wrong bottle of wine, the wrong entrees and did not even ask if we wanted dessert. My wife ordered the house mixed salad and I ordered the tomato and mozzarella. We both thought our salads were excellent. My tomato and mozzarella was in fact outstanding. When the waiter took my salad plate away I was shocked to see a black ring on the table cloth. I am clueless what was on the bottom rim of my salad plate, but it was very unattractive in front of me on the tablecloth. When our server did bring our entrees my wife had the ravioli and I had the medallions of beef. I had reminded the waiter that he did not ask how I wanted my medallions cooked, but fortunately he had them prepared medium rare which is a good thing. My wife's mozzarella was good, but my beef was not so good. The menu said prime, but I am not even sure it was choice. We will go back again, but we will go on a not so busy time.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Underwhelming

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Based on the reviews, we had high expectations for Vincenzo's. We dined the weekend of the Kentucky Derby so admittedly the place was crowded. We had a reservation and were promptly seated, then the waiting game started. It was roughly 30 mins before anyone even stopped by the table to ask if we wanted anything to drink (including water). Then another 15 mins before our drinks arrived. We had some questions about the menu which was different from their regular menu posted online. They had a "special" Derby weekend menu - more limited & higher prices. We were ready to order but our waiter left the table abruptly & didn't come back for another 10 mins. We were seated near a "cook station," close enough that I could feel the heat from the flame and had to adjust my seat for wait staff coming and going from the cook station. I spent the entire evening waiting for hot grease to splatter my way. My husband ordered the beef medallions and I had a spaghetti special with lobster & shrimp. His dish reminded us of a meal you would get at some hotel banquet style event. Tender but bland and overdone. My spaghetti was a large portion but not worth $54. The lobster and shrimp were tasty but the whole dish was swimming in oil. At the end of the day it was nothing fancy even with the lobster. After finishing dinner, we waiting another 20-25 mins for someone to clear our plates. We asked for a check and waited more. We were pressed to order dessert but by that point we were so over the whole dining experience we wanted to just leave. Again, our waiter abruptly left the table. After no sign of him for sometime, we asked another waiter who had brought us our food to please bring us a check. She apologized and went searching for him. It took another 10 mins to bring us the check which included a surcharge for Derby weekend that was not disclosed anywhere on the menu. I understand busy weekends like the Derby but this seems like a place that should be used to it by now.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were exceptional. T ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food and service were exceptional. There was an extra fee added ($6 per person) for use of their table and linens. Did not see this disclosed anywhere on the menu so it felt like it was snuck in hoping most patrons wouldn't notice it. I know that is customary in Italy but was surprised to see it in KY. Still a wonderful experience and delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous lunch, exceptional service and ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Fabulous lunch, exceptional service and priced right. A Louisville MUST.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Italian

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

This was an amazing evening! The service was great, the ambiance terrific, and the food and wine were superb. The Caesar Salad prepared traditionally at table side was perfect. All the entrees were perfect - lamb chops, filet and lobster pasta. They even accommodated an off menu request for pasta with marinara sauce. And finally, the white chocolate cake was delicious. Can't believe I found this gem available Derby Week! By all means, don't miss a chance to eat here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on May 3, 2016

Vincenzo's is a great spot for me when I have downtown business lunches. Unlike a lot of places downtown you can hear each other speak across the table. The food is very good and the service is old-school excellent.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Overpriced and Overrated

Dined on April 30, 2016

It was very disappointing to spend so much money for so little value. I have had better food and service at moderately priced restaurants and could have eaten at these establishments three times for what we paid at Vicenzos. Some examples. $14 for a tiny wine glass filled one-third full. $3.50 for a tiny cup of coffee and the waiter never came by to see if we wanted refills. The food was good, but it was not totally hot. In general, it was not a great experience. We will never go back. We get better values at other restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Service for Teens

Dined on April 29, 2016

Vincenzo's was where we stopped to eat for prom. After being seated in the back corner of the restaurant, our main waiter was rude and frankly degrading. We were looking over the menu, and at one point he offered to make us Chicken Alfredo, as if we were too young to eat off of the regular menu. He seemed like he had somewhere he'd rather be. We had 2 younger waiters (I think were in training) and they were both very personable and helpful, but the older waiter is certainly not one who should be training anyone. It's sad because the food was excellent, but the service was definetly not where it should be.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Mini pre-meal.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Fewer than expected pasta choices. Wife disappointed in her pork dish, as it sounded more favorable from menu description. Overall however we still enjoyed the meals and would come back. Service was exceptional.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Prom dinner !

Dined on April 29, 2016

Me and my boyfriend came to Vincenzo's last June and fell in love with this place. So this April we convinced our group of friends to spend a little more and come to dinner with us! It was a major hit with out group and I think everyone was very happy with the food and service. Can't wait to come back !

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great food and ambiance. Excellent service. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and made reservations on the same day. This was our first time in the area and what a great surprise! Exceptional start to finish.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great...alcoholic drinks were i ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was great...alcoholic drinks were incredibly over priced!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable food, service

Dined on April 16, 2016

Took my sister for her first-ever Vincenzo's experience. She was enchanted. The food was marvelous, the service impeccable and the dessert divine. We were not rushed, but managed to finish our meal in style -- and in plenty of time for our show at the nearby Kentucky Center for the Arts.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place... One of my favorite in ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Love this place... One of my favorite in Louisville

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had 3 captains, lead by Gary, who met our every need and then some. They were charming, funny, and very efficient. Food was excellent in both taste and presentation. Felt a bit like a spoiled princess. Thank you all. Entire group was quite impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not what I expected

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

The service was very nice and upscale. However, the food was not what I expected. I had Chicken Parmigiana which was listed on their Theater menu online. They did not seem to want to make it but they did. The crust on the chicken was mushy, and not just from the sauce. Parts that had no sauce had a mushy crust also. Not very flavorful. For the money it was very disappointing. My husband had a shrimp dish and he said the sauce was bland. Shortly after eating he had an upset stomach. Don't think we will return.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service is always very good and enjoyable.

Dined on April 1, 2016

It is very enjoyable with on-site cooking & serve. Server is always very nice and watching the progress of our food & wine. * Gary is making perfect service!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent

Dined on March 26, 2016

The experience was wonderful, as usual. The service was impecable and the4 food was great. This is one of top eateries in the city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as Usual

Dined on March 25, 2016

We have never been disappointed at Vincenzo's. Everything is perfect. The food is superb. The service is stellar. The ambience is subdued. The overall experience is everything you want it to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best in Town

Dined on March 23, 2016

I have known Vincenzo for 40 plus years. He treats you as if you are the only one in the restaurant. He even remembered what my wife ordered two years ago. The change of decor is fantastic. The Best in Kentucky and Indiana!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service3

My chair felt old and weak. Shrimp on ap ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

My chair felt old and weak. Shrimp on appetizer was overcooked. Presentation on main dish was poor.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still the best Italian Restaurant in Town

Dined on March 14, 2016

Still the best Italian Restaurant in the Louisville, and Southern Indiana Region. I Know as we eat out twicw a week and have tried almost all of the better rated Italian restaurants around as well as some of the smaller less known places.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Power Lunch is alive and well at Vincenzo's

Dined on March 11, 2016

Took a customer for an important business luncheon and was not disapointed. The food and service were excellent. I had the fish special which was a Seafood stuffed Salmon filet. Outstanding. This is what I think of when I think of a great Power Lunch. White table clothes, polished wait staff, and excellent food. They do it right. Tables are not crammed together like so many other places and they take reservations which is a must. I will go back! The owner was present and stopped by to say thank you. Nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Our captain and first mate were amazing! ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our captain and first mate were amazing! They really "get it." It was more than great food it was a great experience! Biscuits for all!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellency to the 10th power.

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellency to the 10th power.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and even better service.

Dined on March 4, 2016

Vincenzo does not disappoint. Valet parking, coat check, and friendly staff make dining here a lovely experience. The food is good, and the wait staff are professional and eager to please. It isn't a place I'll go frequently because spending $100 for a couple to eat out isn't in my retirement budget. Not to say the experience is not worth it, because it is. Vincenzo himself will come by to chat. He's the real deal. Our waiter was James. He's been our guy several times. James could write the book on good service. If money was no object, I'd eat here more often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice but pricey.

Dined on March 2, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance but very expensive for what you get. We would be frequent patrons if it were a little more reasonably priced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.