Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi
  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi
  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi

About Vin Room - West

Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room West is located at 85 St SW and 8A Ave SW (take Bow Trail West to 85th Street SW and turn right)

We are a licensed restaurant. Children are welcome at Vin Room.
Patio (weather permitting) is available on a first come, first served basis. Our patio is dog friendly Sunday to Wednesday. We offer complimentary dog beds, dog amenities and treats for your furry friend

3102, 8561 8A Ave
Calgary, AB T3H 0V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday through Saturday : 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM;


Sunday/Monday: 3:00 - 10:00 PM
Tuesday: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wed/Thurs: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday/Sat: 11:00 AM- Midnight

Cross Street:
85 St SW and 8A Ave SW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 353-8812

Website:
http://www.vinroom.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available in front of Vin Room West.

Executive Chef:
Diana Nacita

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website for special events

Specials

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Happy Hour with Veuve Clicquot

Special valid May 1, 2017 - May 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Happy Hour Menu

Special valid May 1, 2017 - Jul 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Dog friendly patio

Wednesdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

2 Course Family Dinner

Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us on Saturday nights for live jazz. Jeans welcome. No cover charge. Reservations recommended. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 1, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Happy Hour with Veuve Clicquot

Special valid May 1, 2017 - May 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Happy Hour just got happier. Join us for a 4 oz glass of Veuve Clicquot N/V Champagne for $12 during our happy hour 3-6 pm and 9pm to close daily. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 1, 2017 - May 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Happy Hour Menu

Special valid May 1, 2017 - Jul 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us from 3-6 pm and 9 pm to close daily for our feature Happy Hour menu. $5 tapas , $6 beer and $7 wine features. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 1, 2017 - Jul 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Dog friendly patio

Wednesdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Our patio is dog friendly Sunday/Mondays 3- close, Tues/Wed- 11 am to close. Complimentary use of dog beds and house made treats for your furry friend. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 10, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Wednesdays, Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

2 Course Family Dinner

Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Give mom a break. Join us for our Chef's feature 2 course dinner for $25. Soup, Salad, and a choice of entrée. Kids option available for $10/child 12 and under. Menu changes weekly. Check website for details. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available Sunday and Mondays 3 pm to close. Special valid May 20, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Wed 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Vin Room - West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Tapas (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Live Music (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my third time visiting the Vin Room. I have always had a great meal and I enjoy choosing from your wine list or trying your flights. I also like that you offer a single malt flight. I was surprised this time that through that the entire evening only three tables were occupied , including ours. Perhaps the weather was the problem. I also visit your wine store next door every time I am in town and I always walk out with a few purchases.

So I was a bit surprised by how hurried the service was. The young man was certainly pleasant and answered all our questions about the menu. But no sooner had he brought out the cheese and charcuterie selections that he almost immediately returned and squished on to the (very , very small) table the rest of our tapas that we ordered. Towards the end of our meal the server then proceeded to bring out our coats and umbrellas before both of us had ordered coffee, before he had asked us about dessert, before we had asked for the bill, and obviously, before we were ready to leave. It felt like we were being rushed out the door so that the staff could close early.

Other than the rushed service, the food was great, as usual. I am in Calgary usually twice a year and my family lives near by so they too have enjoyed your restaurant a number of occasions. We discussed my experience and everyone was quite surprised that happened in your restaurant.

Please accept my comments and feedback in the spirit in which they are given.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and service were excellent as always. The Jazz was awesome. A perfect acompanyment to the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went to go see live jazz but the jazz "band" was a guy on a keyboard and a female singer. There was nothing authentic about synthesized sounds coming from a keyboard. It was much too loud to hear anything anyway. We left earlier than we intended because of this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Quiet, probably because it was a week night. We liked that. Small portions for the the prices, although it was good food. Only food criticism is that the beef on the beef skewers was more like beef jerky - dry and tough.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Been here a few times now and it has not disappointed. Great place for live music on Saturday nights (Jazz). Wine list is impressive. Food is good. Ambiance is really cool. They just need to open a Vin room South so we can get there more often!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was not as good as it usually is. Service was very good, but the food seemed to be cold and heavy.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great place for "date night", great tapas menu to combine with fantastic wine selections. Don't know what to choose, helpful staff including sommelier ready to help you out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had the lobster nachos, the fried chick peas, the cheese board and the seasoned popcorn. All of it was great. Our server happened to be the guy that runs their wine bar next door. He was a sommelier and happened to be in France for a few months. We chatted about the sparking wine flight we ordered last night. It was great. He was knowledgeable and pleasant.

This is a great to place for a date night and if you can make it after work prior to 6 pm there are happy hour specials. We usually order apps and drinks and that is our meal. Some are on special; some are not. But overall the food never disappoints. And, the owner, whom is a sweet lady, always drops by and informed us she is the first restaurant in Calgary that is going to allow customers to bring their dogs on the patio in the warmer months!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service, great good. Cannot go wrong! Phoebe and team make it a blast.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great for sharing or date night! Service was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a table for 2 in the corner. Loved the ambiance (dim lighting, table with a booth, open kitchen, bar seating). Jared and Katy (our host, sommelier and servers) were excellent! Very friendly, very help in selecting wines, and very attentive.

The food was excellent. We had the seared scallops on arugula salad, lamb meatballs, braised short ribs and the market fish with seasonal vegetables. All was delicious, especially the first 3 tapas. The only thing I would have preferred was more selection for vegetable tapas.

They said they were kid friendly and offered coloring and kids meals, however with a quiet atmosphere, small tables and wine glasses on all tables, I'd be a little reluctant to bring young kids.

Will definitely go back for a date night again. Even a double date here would be awesome.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Vin Room West is one of our favourite restaurants and is our go-to for special occasions. The wine list is great, the food is terrific and the service top notch. In the past, I have always given the Vin Room 5 stars down the column. This time, I can't and I will say why

Service. Very friendly, casual, comfortable - even a little bit sassy - which is great. The manager with the bow tie makes everyone feel at home and welcome. Ben, our waiter, was top notch.

Food. Great tapas menu. Great cheese and chacuterie boards. At the moment, the tapas menu is really (really) meat-heavy. Which is fine - this is Alberta after all. But some variety ( vegetable, legume, non-shellfish ) choices would be great. The "seasonal vegetables" which we ordered to balance the plate were, sadly, an uninspired preparation. The beef skewers were a little tough. Which is too bad as the rest of the choices were great and up to the Vin Room's usual high standard. It was a busy night and perhaps we just got unlucky with two dishes. The braised short rib was amazing as were the merguez meatballs

Wine. An expansive wine list. Feel free to ask for your red wines to be decanted as they don't always think to do that. If you open a pinotage, it needs some room! For a place with wine in the name, this should be an automatic offer.

This is a great place to go and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service were amazing. Everyone enjoyed a wonderful evening. Thank you!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Needed a late supper after the opera so we booked an 11pm table. The service and food were amazing and wine list unbelievable ! I can't wait to back when I have more time to enjoy the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our Waiter was phenomenal and the food was delicious. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent as always. Started with the potato chips - a must have, so delicious! Not greasy but not dry - very addictive! Had the bento lunch with chicken skewers, soup, salad, and a modified caprese to suit my dietary constraints. My dining partner had the lobster nachos and raved about them. Dessert was a delicious apple pie filling. Wine suggestions were on point as always and service was outstanding. Perfect for a weekday lunch. Unpretentious, classy restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Never disappoints, great food, great wine, great atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great advice on wine choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Phenomenal lunch here. Easy and welcoming even with a newborn; accommodated dietary restrictions, made an excellent wine recommendation and provided top notch service throughout. Food was delicious and great value; had scallops and shrimp, cooked perfectly, as my main. Soup to start and apple "pie" dessert were also wonderful.
Will be back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Quality food and great wine and whiskey selections. Tapas are very good and sufficient size.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The scallops were very delicious. The charcuterie was tasty. The wine very nice and the chairs were comfortable.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Loved it! Absolutely amazing food in a great space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our first time to this location - great decor and ambiance. We had the family style dinner w/wine pairings they offer on Mondays - it was fabulous! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant, and their happy hour offers great value. The food quality is solid and they have a very nice selection of wines, many of them available by the glass. The service is extremely attentive and helpful.

We had some chicken skewers and oysters as appetizers (oysters were great, chicken a bit dry but ok), followed by haddock with potato wedges and vegetables. Nicely done, not overly salty and overall a very pleasant experience. Would not hesitate to go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was great, but I find the wine to be pretty pricey. I had a red wine flight, and know I can build my own flight, but would like to see a few more pre-arranged flight options (e.g., 3 price points), with potential for a 9 ounce option, not just 6 ounces.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. Very small portions and not a lot of flavour. We heard such great things about the lobster nachos but were disappointed in the little amount of toppings they put on them. The service was very good and the wine selection was excellent but without good food it was not worth the expense.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Have been a few times now. Nice place and food but either need a larger menu or update some items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It is always a great experience to dine at Vin Room, whatever the occasion. Always look forward to trying new dishes on the menu. Vin Room is our number one choice to entertain our business associates for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A bit too expensive for the quality but pretty good quality tapas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went to this restaurant after a year of absence and were a little worried that things had changed. They had not! Same great service and food!!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been to the Vin Room on two previous occasions and had very positive experiences so recommended this to friends. The food quality was not as high as previous experiences and the service was terrible. Even though it was not very busy for a Friday night, it took almost 20 minutes to have our order taken and on multiple occasions we had to track our server down - not very proactive or attentive.

I am a generous tipper - typically 20% (maybe 15% is service is off). This is the first time I ever gave a 5% tip and I even debated 0%. Will be a while before I return and definitely will not recommend to others unless I return and have an experience that offsets this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Amazing food as always! Best Tapas place in the city

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food always love it here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had an outstanding experience at the Vin Room west. The food is excellent and both of the feature wines for the evening were delicious. We got to sit on the patio, which was quite nice. The glass wall on the patio really keeps out the noise on from 85th street. It was a lovely evening and I would highly recommend it!
Also, it's great that their happy hour is 5-7, perfect for dining early with my parents.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 27, 2016

My wife and I went out on date night and we had a wonderful experience - the service was prompt and friendly, and the food was amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very expensive and portions are small. It's odd, when many restaurants are lowering prices to entice dinners, amidst increasing competition and a poor economy, it seems Vin Room has increased their prices. Food was good, but not great, especially considering the cost. There's just too many restaurant choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 12, 2016

I think Vin Room is my favorite restaurant in Calgary. It's always such a treat for us to go there. The service is excellent and the food and wine delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is our third time to Vin Room West and so clearly we love it.

The food is amazing, the service is perfect. I can't wait to go back

The menu is largely tapas and so the food comes out as it is prepared. The night we went, they weren't busy and so the food came out quickly with multiple dishes arriving at the same time. Now, each to his own, but for us, we would have preferred to have one dish at a time and wished the kitchen had timed out the delivery a little better.

We elected to sit outside as it was a gorgeous night and Calgary gets so few. However, it was too bright and too hot. I know. I sound like I am complaining about the smallest things. However, my point is that a few strategically placed umbrellas would go a long way.

Overall - an amazing dinner and we will be back as soon as I can conjure up a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Had a birthday dinner with 6 guests and the staff were amazing. Wine and food selections were helpful and the food tasty great as always! Looking forward to our next meal back at VinRoom!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waitress Meagan was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.