Vin Room - West

4.4
410 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Good for a Date
  • Tapas
Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room West is located at 85 St SW and 8A Ave SW (take Bow Trail West to 85th Street SW and turn right)

We are a licensed restaurant. Children are welcome at Vin Room.
Patio (weather permitting) is available on a first come, first served basis. Our patio is dog friendly. We offer complimentary dog beds, dog amenities and treats for your furry friend.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Wednesday through Saturday : 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM;


Sunday/Tuesday: 3:00 - 10:00 PM
Wed/Thurs: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday/Sat: 11:00 AM- Midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(587) 353-8812
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Diana Nacita
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
85 St SW and 8A Ave SW
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary parking is available in front of Vin Room West.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Check out our website for special events
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 410 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Good food, good service and good wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Just popped in for a quick bite with my teen. Love that we have somewhere that's a bit nicer than the average suburban chain restaurant when we want a quite bite out. Shared the burger and the gnocchi and both were excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

If this had been our first visit (hence, first impression) we would not be returning.

Vin Room - West has been our "go-to" place for celebrations and anniversaries over the past several years. We return here for the atmosphere, the Sommelier's recommendations on pairings, the excellent service, and the live Jazz. This time, the server took almost 20 minutes to come to our table and explained that the service was going to be sub-par due to staff shortages. The Sommelier was nowhere to be seen and the drinks took another 15 minutes to be made. We would order our next drinks as they would drop off our current drinks and still had them finished, ice melted, and looking around before our next drinks would arrive.

The food was also not what we've grown to love from this place. Their signature dishes were not seasoned the same and the portions had severely reduced in size. I know these are off the tapas menu but they have shrunk since the last visits.

My date and I had a lot to discuss to reconnect so we were expecting to have a nice meal in a relaxed atmosphere and I'm sorry to say it was not relaxing at all knowing the tables around us were also looking at their empty glasses and for a chance to get them filled.

The live Jazz was great and made the evening more pleasant by playing some classics that I had not heard in a long time.

We will probably return but not for a while and not before trying out other comparable restaurants in the area where the value can hopefully more closely reflect the price point.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Service and setting were very nice. The food however was very bland - we tried multiple small plates.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

lunch with family, we were the only one in the restaurant. Music was way too loud for lunchtime

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This was our first time to the VinRoom. The service was excellent. The selection of wines was amazing and the ability to taste 2oz flights was awesome. We liked the tapas and food boards to share - made for a very enjoyable evening
We will definitely go again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Always exception food and service. New menu with some incredible offerings....amazing wine selection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day date with wifey. Service took a little longer than expected considering there were guests only in the patio (seemed to have a good diners/waiter ratio).
Everything else was really good - food was delicious and wine flights was a hit. Cheers

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Live Jazz music was nice. However, it was a bit too loud to have a decent conversation Service was a bit slow, as our waitress told us 3 people called in sick

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent food, wine and service. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Always exceptional! The food was amazing and so was the atmosphere. Really enjoyed the jazz music. The artists were incredibly good. We will go back very soon. Probably one of our favourite spots in Calgary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This was our first time here. Had a wonderful time and food was excellent. Will definitely be coming back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food and service were exceptional. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. Will definitely be coming back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Jeans and Jazz night!! Outstanding time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great! Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Wonderful service, food was very good and the entertainment was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Love Vin Room! Discovered after we moved to Springbank, it’s such an amazing place for great wine and exceptional food! Service is great and such a lovely spot for either a group or for 2.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

A regular spot for dinner for friends and family. Friendly service, nice menu, huge wine selection. One of my favourite places!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Our server was great, as was the atmosphere. Our food however was quite bland. The beverages were great. All in all, a decent place to go for a cocktail and a small appetizer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Jeans & Jazz on Saturday nights with a bottle of wine and the chefs special will make an amazing and unforgettable evening. The staff is classy and informed, the food is delicious and the wine amazing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Just a disappointing night. Don't usually leave reviews but this was bad. Food average at best. Service slow. Restaurant cold.

Went into the evening having read predominantly good but the odd negative review. Have enjoyed the 4th street location in prior visits we tried the west location for an anniversary dinner.

The waitress, without prompting, apologized as we sat down and admitted the restaurant being overwhelmed because they were serving three menus and had trained for three weeks getting ready for the night. We ordered three tapas and the third, a salad dish, came out 15 minutes after the other two took some time to arrive and was room temperature.

A long standing dish, the lobster nachos that have been on the menu for over 5 years used to have large pieces of beautiful lobster. It was served as minced lobster and felt as though it was a half portion.

The service was slow because she was given an eight table section that any server would have struggled with during a busy night.

Throughout the restaurant had their jackets on due to the cold. It was just an unfortunate night.

Bad management in the end. A wait staff or kitchen can't succeed with three menus. The food quality which used to be a star is a glorified Moxie's at best.

Won't be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Too far from down town . I wait 2 hour and 10 min to finish my meal they more then they work lol waste of time .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This is a great restaurant. The food never disappoints and we love the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Always amazing food and attentive service. The menu is unique and creative and the presentation wonderful. Never hesitate to go back. The Happy hour specials are terrific and reasonable. All locations of the Vin Room have their own special touch and feel. We really enjoy supporting this successful business - makes for a great night out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Really lovely atmosphere. Our server was great, and I loved that the owner Phoebe was visiting tables and was visible on the floor. The food was delicious, but I did feel that the servings could be larger (add ons were quite expensive). The live music adds to the atmosphere. We were a little uncomfortable with how close we were seated to some of the other tables (I even had a hard time getting out of my seat). We didn't feel as though we could have a conversation, and we were there on a date. Overall we would go back, not necessarily for a date but definitely for the music and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2018

Great place, unique menu, awesome staff, all around great experience. Will be visiting again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Went to Vin for an overdue date with my husband to relax and destress and it was exactly that. The service from J the general manager was fantastic ! Really enjoyed the night. Can’t wait to go back 👍

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Food was great. General Manager was the only one working outside the kitchen and service was still fantastic! Love the Vin Room

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 21, 2017

The Vin Room has so much potential. The room is beautiful but the food is always hit or miss. We’ve been here several times but after this experience we probably won’t go back.

I think the owners need to hire a consultant and redo their menus completely...complete overhaul. The concept is great but it needs some help in making it interesting again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Food was delicious. We ordered the lobster nachos, which are always a favorite of ours. My only complaint is that there is not enough topping. Once you've eaten the top layer of chips, the entire bottom layer has nothing on it, and there is no condiment to dip the plain chips into.
Service was a bit slow. I think there were about 6 of us in the entire restaurant, but our waitress was absent for long periods.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 16, 2017

We've been here several times in the past, and we always enjoyed it. My wife wanted to come here for her birthday dinner. We were disappointed with the service and the quality of the food. We'll go somewhere else for special occasions in the future.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Use to work in the area and went here to for speical occasions. Now retired and met some former coworkers so was quite to chat and service was very good. Meal portions very good for lunch menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

We were at the Vin Room to celebrate birthdays and as a get together with friends. We had a table of 6 and the service was fantastic. They seated us upstairs so it felt a little more private. Great place to meet friends and have a long, leisurely experience. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Went for a wine and cheese night, doing a flight of 6 wines and a platter of 3 cheeses and 2 meats. It did not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Went on Sunday for family dinner. Greeting was nice, table setting was ready immediately.
Server was considerate but did not what type of soup would be served. She had to ask the kitchen. Soup was very good but salad/lettuce was dry/old. large portions. No bread was served. Roast Beef was very good and large portion of vegetables. After meal, had to wait quite awhile for server for coffee and dessert. Dessert was excellent ..apple pie . Coffee was also good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Very disappointed. Food was bad. Really bad. Noise level was intoxicating. Service can be better. The wine list was impressive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

I am never disappointed with the quality of the food here, it's always a treat to bring friends and family here!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2017

The atmosphere and live music was nice
The wine is priced very high, it would be nice to have some reasonable options for every budget.
The food was good except for the boar gnocchi, it left both of us feeling a bit sick
We had a gift card so it was a nice night out but we found it a bit pricey for what you get.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 1, 2017

My new favourite go to place for everything, fine dining or just a quick bite, friendly stafff good choice love it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Great service, food, ambiance and it was a great surprise to have live music.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11

Tweets by Vin Room - West