About Vin Room - West

3102, 8561 8A Ave
Calgary, AB T3H 0V5
View Larger Map

Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room West is located at 85 St SW and 8A Ave SW (take Bow Trail West to 85th Street SW and turn right)

We are a licensed restaurant. Children are welcome at Vin Room.
Patio (weather permitting) is available on a first come, first served basis.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday through Saturday : 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM;


Sunday/Monday: 3:00 - 10:00 PM
Tuesday: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wed/Thurs: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday/Sat: 11:00 AM- Midnight

Cross Street:
85 St SW and 8A Ave SW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 353-8812

Website:
http://www.vinroom.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available in front of Vin Room West.

Executive Chef:
Diana Nacita

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website for special events

Specials

2 Course Family Dinner

Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour Menu

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Truffles and Bubbles Tuesdays

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

2 Course Family Dinner

Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Why cook when we can do it for you? 2 course family dinner Sunday and Monday for $25/adult $10/child 12 and under. Menu changes weekly. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 1, 2016 - Feb 28, 2017 on Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour Menu

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us from 3-6 pm and 9 pm to close daily for our feature Happy Hour menu. $5 tapas , $6 beer and $7 wine features. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us on Saturday nights for live jazz. Jeans welcome. No cover charge. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 21, 2017 - Mar 31, 2017 on Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Truffles and Bubbles Tuesdays

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $5 truffle popcorn and $5 glass of prosecco. Available from open to close. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 7, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 on Tuesdays from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Wed 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Vin Room - West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (13)
Tapas (12)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Modern Decor (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Music (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service, great good. Cannot go wro ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, great good. Cannot go wrong! Phoebe and team make it a blast.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for sharing or date night! Service ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 6 days ago

Great for sharing or date night! Service was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a table for 2 in the corner. Loved ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a table for 2 in the corner. Loved the ambiance (dim lighting, table with a booth, open kitchen, bar seating). Jared and Katy (our host, sommelier and servers) were excellent! Very friendly, very help in selecting wines, and very attentive.

The food was excellent. We had the seared scallops on arugula salad, lamb meatballs, braised short ribs and the market fish with seasonal vegetables. All was delicious, especially the first 3 tapas. The only thing I would have preferred was more selection for vegetable tapas.

They said they were kid friendly and offered coloring and kids meals, however with a quiet atmosphere, small tables and wine glasses on all tables, I'd be a little reluctant to bring young kids.

Will definitely go back for a date night again. Even a double date here would be awesome.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vin Room West is one of our favourite re ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Vin Room West is one of our favourite restaurants and is our go-to for special occasions. The wine list is great, the food is terrific and the service top notch. In the past, I have always given the Vin Room 5 stars down the column. This time, I can't and I will say why

Service. Very friendly, casual, comfortable - even a little bit sassy - which is great. The manager with the bow tie makes everyone feel at home and welcome. Ben, our waiter, was top notch.

Food. Great tapas menu. Great cheese and chacuterie boards. At the moment, the tapas menu is really (really) meat-heavy. Which is fine - this is Alberta after all. But some variety ( vegetable, legume, non-shellfish ) choices would be great. The "seasonal vegetables" which we ordered to balance the plate were, sadly, an uninspired preparation. The beef skewers were a little tough. Which is too bad as the rest of the choices were great and up to the Vin Room's usual high standard. It was a busy night and perhaps we just got unlucky with two dishes. The braised short rib was amazing as were the merguez meatballs

Wine. An expansive wine list. Feel free to ask for your red wines to be decanted as they don't always think to do that. If you open a pinotage, it needs some room! For a place with wine in the name, this should be an automatic offer.

This is a great place to go and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were amazing. Everyone ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service were amazing. Everyone enjoyed a wonderful evening. Thank you!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Needed a late supper after the opera so ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Needed a late supper after the opera so we booked an 11pm table. The service and food were amazing and wine list unbelievable ! I can't wait to back when I have more time to enjoy the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Waiter was phenomenal and the food w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our Waiter was phenomenal and the food was delicious. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Started with the po ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent as always. Started with the potato chips - a must have, so delicious! Not greasy but not dry - very addictive! Had the bento lunch with chicken skewers, soup, salad, and a modified caprese to suit my dietary constraints. My dining partner had the lobster nachos and raved about them. Dessert was a delicious apple pie filling. Wine suggestions were on point as always and service was outstanding. Perfect for a weekday lunch. Unpretentious, classy restaurant.

Tags: , Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints, great food, great win ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Never disappoints, great food, great wine, great atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great advice on wine choices

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great advice on wine choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Phenomenal lunch here. Easy and welcomi ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Phenomenal lunch here. Easy and welcoming even with a newborn; accommodated dietary restrictions, made an excellent wine recommendation and provided top notch service throughout. Food was delicious and great value; had scallops and shrimp, cooked perfectly, as my main. Soup to start and apple "pie" dessert were also wonderful.

Will be back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality food and great wine and whiskey ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Quality food and great wine and whiskey selections. Tapas are very good and sufficient size.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The scallops were very delicious. The ch ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The scallops were very delicious. The charcuterie was tasty. The wine very nice and the chairs were comfortable.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved it! Absolutely amazing food in a ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Loved it! Absolutely amazing food in a great space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time to this location - great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our first time to this location - great decor and ambiance. We had the family style dinner w/wine pairings they offer on Mondays - it was fabulous! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very nice restaurant, and thei ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant, and their happy hour offers great value. The food quality is solid and they have a very nice selection of wines, many of them available by the glass. The service is extremely attentive and helpful.

We had some chicken skewers and oysters as appetizers (oysters were great, chicken a bit dry but ok), followed by haddock with potato wedges and vegetables. Nicely done, not overly salty and overall a very pleasant experience. Would not hesitate to go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great, but I find the wine ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was great, but I find the wine to be pretty pricey. I had a red wine flight, and know I can build my own flight, but would like to see a few more pre-arranged flight options (e.g., 3 price points), with potential for a 9 ounce option, not just 6 ounces.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We were very disappointed in the food. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. Very small portions and not a lot of flavour. We heard such great things about the lobster nachos but were disappointed in the little amount of toppings they put on them. The service was very good and the wine selection was excellent but without good food it was not worth the expense.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Have been a few times now. Nice place an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Have been a few times now. Nice place and food but either need a larger menu or update some items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It is always a great experience to dine ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It is always a great experience to dine at Vin Room, whatever the occasion. Always look forward to trying new dishes on the menu. Vin Room is our number one choice to entertain our business associates for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A bit too expensive for the quality but ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A bit too expensive for the quality but pretty good quality tapas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We went to this restaurant after a year ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went to this restaurant after a year of absence and were a little worried that things had changed. They had not! Same great service and food!!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been to the Vin Room on two previ ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been to the Vin Room on two previous occasions and had very positive experiences so recommended this to friends. The food quality was not as high as previous experiences and the service was terrible. Even though it was not very busy for a Friday night, it took almost 20 minutes to have our order taken and on multiple occasions we had to track our server down - not very proactive or attentive.

I am a generous tipper - typically 20% (maybe 15% is service is off). This is the first time I ever gave a 5% tip and I even debated 0%. Will be a while before I return and definitely will not recommend to others unless I return and have an experience that offsets this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Amazing food as always! Best Tapas place ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Amazing food as always! Best Tapas place in the city

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food always love it here!

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food always love it here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an outstanding experience at the Vin ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had an outstanding experience at the Vin Room west. The food is excellent and both of the feature wines for the evening were delicious. We got to sit on the patio, which was quite nice. The glass wall on the patio really keeps out the noise on from 85th street. It was a lovely evening and I would highly recommend it!

Also, it's great that their happy hour is 5-7, perfect for dining early with my parents.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I went out on date night and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 27, 2016

My wife and I went out on date night and we had a wonderful experience - the service was prompt and friendly, and the food was amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive and portions are small. I ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very expensive and portions are small. It's odd, when many restaurants are lowering prices to entice dinners, amidst increasing competition and a poor economy, it seems Vin Room has increased their prices. Food was good, but not great, especially considering the cost. There's just too many restaurant choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I think Vin Room is my favorite restaura ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 12, 2016

I think Vin Room is my favorite restaurant in Calgary. It's always such a treat for us to go there. The service is excellent and the food and wine delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a excellent dining experience

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is our third time to Vin Room West and so clearly we love it.

The food is amazing, the service is perfect. I can't wait to go back

The menu is largely tapas and so the food comes out as it is prepared. The night we went, they weren't busy and so the food came out quickly with multiple dishes arriving at the same time. Now, each to his own, but for us, we would have preferred to have one dish at a time and wished the kitchen had timed out the delivery a little better.

We elected to sit outside as it was a gorgeous night and Calgary gets so few. However, it was too bright and too hot. I know. I sound like I am complaining about the smallest things. However, my point is that a few strategically placed umbrellas would go a long way.

Overall - an amazing dinner and we will be back as soon as I can conjure up a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a birthday dinner with 6 guests and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Had a birthday dinner with 6 guests and the staff were amazing. Wine and food selections were helpful and the food tasty great as always! Looking forward to our next meal back at VinRoom!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Meagan was fantastic

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waitress Meagan was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

What a great pre concert choice. The tap ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2016

What a great pre concert choice. The tapas menu was perfect and the flights of wine were even better!! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vin Room was Amazing, the sharing plates ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Vin Room was Amazing, the sharing plates were the outstanding, especially the pan seared scallops, and the wines pairings suggested to us were very interesting. It made for a wonderful late night date.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each dish is a wonderful combination of ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Each dish is a wonderful combination of flavours that work together. A relaxing dinner. Love that all the dishes are shared. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty good

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great, but portions were tiny! We ordered four dishes, each were about the size of a small appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Really experienced and pleasant server. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Really experienced and pleasant server. She was knowledgable about the wine list and made excellent recommendations about the food and wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just OK

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was Ok - nice enough waitress but not as attentive as we expected especially considering it was really not busy for a Saturday night. We sat out on the patio and maybe 1/3 of the tables were being used. It was a little windy but inside was not very busy either. Waitress did not offer up suggestions about wine until we asked. However, she was helpful in suggesting number of plates to order/size of plates. House-made chips with dip were delicious as were the Crab cakes - everything else was just OK. We had pork-braised belly which was fatty. Croquettes were OK - my husband enjoyed more than I did - I found them to be very rich. Chili jam dip was very tasty. The lemongrass chicken meatballs tasted greasy (both of us felt agreed) - could only eat one and it did not sit well. I did like that they changed out our little plates/utensils after each item. It wasn't done until we had already started to try the 2nd dish and the sauces crossed over but the waitress had not brought the 2nd dish - another server did. It would have been nice if he said they would get us a clean plate before he walked away. We live in the area and this was our first visit for a dinner date - hesitated to come based on not-great reviews in the past and based on this experience we probably won't be rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was excellent, especially the boar gnocchi which we all agreed was one of the best we had tried.

I hadn't been here before but will make a point of returning as the service matched the calibre of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable

 
 (London)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a wonderful time with friends for dinner. We have enjoyed the wine at Vin Room on other occasions but had never eaten. We were very happy with our dinner. The service was friendly and helpful and the food platters that were recommended were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.