About Vin Room - West

3102, 8561 8A Ave
Calgary, AB T3H 0V5
View Larger Map

Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room West is located at 85 St SW and 8A Ave SW (take Bow Trail West to 85th Street SW and turn right)

We are a licensed restaurant. Children are welcome at Vin Room.
Patio (weather permitting) is available on a first come, first served basis.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday through Saturday : 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM;


Sunday/Monday: 3:00 - 10:00 PM
Tuesday: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wed/Thurs: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday/Sat: 11:00 AM- Midnight

Cross Street:
85 St SW and 8A Ave SW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 353-8812

Website:
http://www.vinroom.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available in front of Vin Room West.

Executive Chef:
Diana Nacita

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website for special events

Restaurant Photos

  • Vin Room - West, Calgary, AB
  • Vin Room - West, Calgary, AB
Vin Room - West, Calgary, AB
Vin Room - West, Calgary, AB

Specials

Happy Hour Menu

Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

2 Course Family Dinner

Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Designated Driver Program

Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Enjoy Dom Perignon during our Happy Hour

Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Happy Hour Menu

Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us from 3-6 pm and 9 pm to close daily for our feature Happy Hour menu. $5 tapas , $6 beer and $7 wine features. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

No limited menu. No seating times. No cover charge. Celebration on your own terms.

Reservations can be cancelled 72 hours in advance without penalty

2 Course Family Dinner

Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Why cook when we can do it for you? 2 course family dinner Sunday and Monday for $25/adult $10/child 12 and under. Menu changes weekly. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 1, 2016 - Feb 28, 2017 on Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Designated Driver Program

Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for the first 5 km. $2 per km afterwards. Ask server for details. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Enjoy Dom Perignon during our Happy Hour

Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Enjoy a 4 oz glass of the 2006 Dom Perignon for only $30 during our happy hour. Available 3-6 pm and 9pm to close for the month of December. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Wed 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Vin Room - West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Modern Decor (5)
See All
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (3)
Romantic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Cozy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved it! Absolutely amazing food in a ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Loved it! Absolutely amazing food in a great space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time to this location - great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our first time to this location - great decor and ambiance. We had the family style dinner w/wine pairings they offer on Mondays - it was fabulous! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very nice restaurant, and thei ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant, and their happy hour offers great value. The food quality is solid and they have a very nice selection of wines, many of them available by the glass. The service is extremely attentive and helpful.

We had some chicken skewers and oysters as appetizers (oysters were great, chicken a bit dry but ok), followed by haddock with potato wedges and vegetables. Nicely done, not overly salty and overall a very pleasant experience. Would not hesitate to go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great, but I find the wine ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was great, but I find the wine to be pretty pricey. I had a red wine flight, and know I can build my own flight, but would like to see a few more pre-arranged flight options (e.g., 3 price points), with potential for a 9 ounce option, not just 6 ounces.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We were very disappointed in the food. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. Very small portions and not a lot of flavour. We heard such great things about the lobster nachos but were disappointed in the little amount of toppings they put on them. The service was very good and the wine selection was excellent but without good food it was not worth the expense.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Have been a few times now. Nice place an ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Have been a few times now. Nice place and food but either need a larger menu or update some items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It is always a great experience to dine ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It is always a great experience to dine at Vin Room, whatever the occasion. Always look forward to trying new dishes on the menu. Vin Room is our number one choice to entertain our business associates for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A bit too expensive for the quality but ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A bit too expensive for the quality but pretty good quality tapas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We went to this restaurant after a year ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went to this restaurant after a year of absence and were a little worried that things had changed. They had not! Same great service and food!!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been to the Vin Room on two previ ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been to the Vin Room on two previous occasions and had very positive experiences so recommended this to friends. The food quality was not as high as previous experiences and the service was terrible. Even though it was not very busy for a Friday night, it took almost 20 minutes to have our order taken and on multiple occasions we had to track our server down - not very proactive or attentive.

I am a generous tipper - typically 20% (maybe 15% is service is off). This is the first time I ever gave a 5% tip and I even debated 0%. Will be a while before I return and definitely will not recommend to others unless I return and have an experience that offsets this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food always love it here!

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great food always love it here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an outstanding experience at the Vin ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had an outstanding experience at the Vin Room west. The food is excellent and both of the feature wines for the evening were delicious. We got to sit on the patio, which was quite nice. The glass wall on the patio really keeps out the noise on from 85th street. It was a lovely evening and I would highly recommend it!

Also, it's great that their happy hour is 5-7, perfect for dining early with my parents.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I went out on date night and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 27, 2016

My wife and I went out on date night and we had a wonderful experience - the service was prompt and friendly, and the food was amazing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive and portions are small. I ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very expensive and portions are small. It's odd, when many restaurants are lowering prices to entice dinners, amidst increasing competition and a poor economy, it seems Vin Room has increased their prices. Food was good, but not great, especially considering the cost. There's just too many restaurant choices in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I think Vin Room is my favorite restaura ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 12, 2016

I think Vin Room is my favorite restaurant in Calgary. It's always such a treat for us to go there. The service is excellent and the food and wine delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a excellent dining experience

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is our third time to Vin Room West and so clearly we love it.

The food is amazing, the service is perfect. I can't wait to go back

The menu is largely tapas and so the food comes out as it is prepared. The night we went, they weren't busy and so the food came out quickly with multiple dishes arriving at the same time. Now, each to his own, but for us, we would have preferred to have one dish at a time and wished the kitchen had timed out the delivery a little better.

We elected to sit outside as it was a gorgeous night and Calgary gets so few. However, it was too bright and too hot. I know. I sound like I am complaining about the smallest things. However, my point is that a few strategically placed umbrellas would go a long way.

Overall - an amazing dinner and we will be back as soon as I can conjure up a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a birthday dinner with 6 guests and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Had a birthday dinner with 6 guests and the staff were amazing. Wine and food selections were helpful and the food tasty great as always! Looking forward to our next meal back at VinRoom!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Meagan was fantastic

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waitress Meagan was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

What a great pre concert choice. The tap ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2016

What a great pre concert choice. The tapas menu was perfect and the flights of wine were even better!! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vin Room was Amazing, the sharing plates ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Vin Room was Amazing, the sharing plates were the outstanding, especially the pan seared scallops, and the wines pairings suggested to us were very interesting. It made for a wonderful late night date.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Each dish is a wonderful combination of ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Each dish is a wonderful combination of flavours that work together. A relaxing dinner. Love that all the dishes are shared. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty good

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great, but portions were tiny! We ordered four dishes, each were about the size of a small appetizer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Really experienced and pleasant server. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Really experienced and pleasant server. She was knowledgable about the wine list and made excellent recommendations about the food and wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just OK

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was Ok - nice enough waitress but not as attentive as we expected especially considering it was really not busy for a Saturday night. We sat out on the patio and maybe 1/3 of the tables were being used. It was a little windy but inside was not very busy either. Waitress did not offer up suggestions about wine until we asked. However, she was helpful in suggesting number of plates to order/size of plates. House-made chips with dip were delicious as were the Crab cakes - everything else was just OK. We had pork-braised belly which was fatty. Croquettes were OK - my husband enjoyed more than I did - I found them to be very rich. Chili jam dip was very tasty. The lemongrass chicken meatballs tasted greasy (both of us felt agreed) - could only eat one and it did not sit well. I did like that they changed out our little plates/utensils after each item. It wasn't done until we had already started to try the 2nd dish and the sauces crossed over but the waitress had not brought the 2nd dish - another server did. It would have been nice if he said they would get us a clean plate before he walked away. We live in the area and this was our first visit for a dinner date - hesitated to come based on not-great reviews in the past and based on this experience we probably won't be rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was excellent, especially the boar gnocchi which we all agreed was one of the best we had tried.

I hadn't been here before but will make a point of returning as the service matched the calibre of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Had a wonderful time with friends for dinner. We have enjoyed the wine at Vin Room on other occasions but had never eaten. We were very happy with our dinner. The service was friendly and helpful and the food platters that were recommended were fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as always and we love ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was great as always and we love the staff! We were lucky to have Sheldon as our server... so friendly (as well as knowledgeable about the wine list and cocktails)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent.

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

not great

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The tapas were hit and miss. Nothing stood out as being great. Happy hour prices were a bonus. Good to go as a group and if you are into wine pairings

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Really like the variety and smaller port ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Really like the variety and smaller portions and the excellent by-the -glass wine menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Curt and unhelpful service

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Other than the hostess, we found the service to be quite curt and requests for recommendations were answered with generalities ("its all good"). Food was good and served promptly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Vin Room Always Delivers

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Sitting at the bar on date night being served by Sheldon is always a great experience. His candor and wine knowledge never lets you down. His sense of humour and timing on service is also something that is a skill he has mastered. The food at Vin Room is arguably some of the best in the city and given the tapas style, you get to experience several varying tastes. I highly recommend going with flights of wine to enjoy new and different wines and let Sheldon guide you on that journey. Their happy hour specials are also excellent value. If you are looking for great food, service and wine go to Vin Room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Each dish was unique and delicious... The chocolate tort for dessert was to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great group dining

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2016

We were a group of five folks dining for dinner. We decided to try the family style dinner which was awesome! Lots of food ( mostly guys in our group) many lovely flavours and the service was great. The only critique might be the music got a little loud at one point which did make conversation a bit of a challenge. It was however a most enjoyable evening . We will be back, a definite do over.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been a few times now to the Vin ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 28, 2016

We have been a few times now to the Vin Room and it doesn't disappoint. Delicious food and great wine and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun change from ordinary

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 21, 2016

If you're going for a big traditional meal, this is not the spot. But for a fun treat, sample a bunch of 2 oz varieties of wine and some very tasty tapas. Perfect date night with my wife where we sat in comfy chairs, sampled wines and tasted a number of delicious meats, cheeses, and mini dishes. Server seemed to be spread a bit too thin so, while pleasant and knowledgeable, we didn't see her often enough. Otherwise it was a great night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Valentines Success!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2016

I hate dining out on Valentine's Day. Restaurants are insanely busy and crowded, and it usually feels rushed. This trip was different, we had a 5:00 pm reservation with another couple. The Vin Room wasn't too busy and our server was attentive, but not pushy. Our food was great, the prosecco excellent. No complaints(except the music volume being a tad too high), great value relaxed service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly recommend Vin Room West

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for Valentines weekend and although they were busy, the service was attentive and we never felt rushed.

The food was fantastic. We did a number of tapas plates and each one was amazing. The duck confit lettuce wraps are not to be missed. Same for the baked bocconcini.

If I had a complaint - and it is only a nit - but the up-sell on the dessert wines was perhaps too much. No complaints about the dessert wines - they were great - but they were a little pricey. But, to be fair, I didn't have to say yes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentines dinner

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here for Valentines dinner. The food was amazing! Especially loved the crab cakes! Great service and very helpful and knowledgable staff. Remember this is a tapas restaurant so the portion sizes aren't huge but definitely worth it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We come here for special occasions becau ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We come here for special occasions because we love the food and it is a nice and relaxing atmosphere. Service was fantastic and so was the food

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.