Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi
  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi
  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi

About Vin Room - West

Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room West is located at 85 St SW and 8A Ave SW (take Bow Trail West to 85th Street SW and turn right)

We are a licensed restaurant. Children are welcome at Vin Room.
Patio (weather permitting) is available on a first come, first served basis. Our patio is dog friendly. We offer complimentary dog beds, dog amenities and treats for your furry friend.

3102, 8561 8A Ave
Calgary, AB T3H 0V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday through Saturday : 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM;


Sunday/Monday: 3:00 - 10:00 PM
Tuesday: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wed/Thurs: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday/Sat: 11:00 AM- Midnight

Cross Street:
85 St SW and 8A Ave SW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 353-8812

Website:
http://www.vinroom.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available in front of Vin Room West.

Executive Chef:
Diana Nacita

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website for special events

Specials

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Happy Hour Menu

Special valid May 1, 2017 - Jul 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Dog friendly patio

Special valid May 10, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

2 Course Family Dinner

Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us on Saturday nights for live jazz. Jeans welcome. No cover charge. Reservations recommended. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 1, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Happy Hour Menu

Special valid May 1, 2017 - Jul 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us from 3-6 pm and 9 pm to close daily for our feature Happy Hour menu. $5 tapas , $6 beer and $7 wine features. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 1, 2017 - Jul 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Dog friendly patio

Special valid May 10, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Our front patio is dog friendly 7 days a week. Complimentary use of dog beds and house made treats for your furry friend. For those who prefer the company of humans, our rooftop patio remains humans only. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 10, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

2 Course Family Dinner

Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Give mom a break. Join us for our Chef's feature 2 course dinner for $25. Soup, Salad, and a choice of entrée. Kids option available for $10/child 12 and under. Menu changes weekly. Check website for details. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available Sunday and Mondays 3 pm to close. Special valid May 20, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 on Sundays and Mondays from 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Wed 12:00PM - 1:00PM

Vin Room - West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Tapas (8)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Romantic (1)
Cozy (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

The service was very good. The wild boar nocchi was so darn delicious, so creamy, so flavourful you just want to keep coming back for that alone. My friend loved the steak bites and the chicken skewers but was disappointed there was no complimentary dessert for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening out! Excellent food, service and ambience. We'll return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were the only customers for lunch as it was a Saturday during Stampede week - for being the only diners, the service could have been better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had been to the VIN Room before but found the portions a bit small for the prices. We were back due to the dog friendly patio. Our dog got a little treat and the patio has a water dish for him as well. This time we have a cava we knew we enjoyed. As it was happy hour we enjoyed several tatters at better prices. It was a wonderful sunny day and good for people watching.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I always enjoy myself at the Vin Room and often bring friends and family there. Great food, always, and I like the tapas size which is great for sharing.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We absolutely love the Vin Room - especially the West Calgary one. Phoebe is wonderful, the wait staff are just attentive enough, but not overbearing, and the food is exceptional. And as a bonus, we are able to bring our puppy if we sit on the patio (Sun-Wed) after a long work-day and not have to leave him at home when we grab a bite to eat.

We've been back a few times, and the Vin Room is our new favourite summer spot.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Several nice dining options on the menu and a diverse and expansive wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

With an extensive wine list, mostly available by the glass, and a creative selection of tapas, this is a great place for a quick but classy or casual dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was my Birthday and the team there was great..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The cost was higher than expected but we thoroughly enjoyed the jazz entertainment.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This is our favourite spot in Calgary for a special night out.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and service were excellent as always. The Jazz was awesome. A perfect acompanyment to the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went to go see live jazz but the jazz "band" was a guy on a keyboard and a female singer. There was nothing authentic about synthesized sounds coming from a keyboard. It was much too loud to hear anything anyway. We left earlier than we intended because of this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Quiet, probably because it was a week night. We liked that. Small portions for the the prices, although it was good food. Only food criticism is that the beef on the beef skewers was more like beef jerky - dry and tough.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Been here a few times now and it has not disappointed. Great place for live music on Saturday nights (Jazz). Wine list is impressive. Food is good. Ambiance is really cool. They just need to open a Vin room South so we can get there more often!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was not as good as it usually is. Service was very good, but the food seemed to be cold and heavy.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great place for "date night", great tapas menu to combine with fantastic wine selections. Don't know what to choose, helpful staff including sommelier ready to help you out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had the lobster nachos, the fried chick peas, the cheese board and the seasoned popcorn. All of it was great. Our server happened to be the guy that runs their wine bar next door. He was a sommelier and happened to be in France for a few months. We chatted about the sparking wine flight we ordered last night. It was great. He was knowledgeable and pleasant.

This is a great to place for a date night and if you can make it after work prior to 6 pm there are happy hour specials. We usually order apps and drinks and that is our meal. Some are on special; some are not. But overall the food never disappoints. And, the owner, whom is a sweet lady, always drops by and informed us she is the first restaurant in Calgary that is going to allow customers to bring their dogs on the patio in the warmer months!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service, great good. Cannot go wrong! Phoebe and team make it a blast.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great for sharing or date night! Service was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a table for 2 in the corner. Loved the ambiance (dim lighting, table with a booth, open kitchen, bar seating). Jared and Katy (our host, sommelier and servers) were excellent! Very friendly, very help in selecting wines, and very attentive.

The food was excellent. We had the seared scallops on arugula salad, lamb meatballs, braised short ribs and the market fish with seasonal vegetables. All was delicious, especially the first 3 tapas. The only thing I would have preferred was more selection for vegetable tapas.

They said they were kid friendly and offered coloring and kids meals, however with a quiet atmosphere, small tables and wine glasses on all tables, I'd be a little reluctant to bring young kids.

Will definitely go back for a date night again. Even a double date here would be awesome.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Vin Room West is one of our favourite restaurants and is our go-to for special occasions. The wine list is great, the food is terrific and the service top notch. In the past, I have always given the Vin Room 5 stars down the column. This time, I can't and I will say why

Service. Very friendly, casual, comfortable - even a little bit sassy - which is great. The manager with the bow tie makes everyone feel at home and welcome. Ben, our waiter, was top notch.

Food. Great tapas menu. Great cheese and chacuterie boards. At the moment, the tapas menu is really (really) meat-heavy. Which is fine - this is Alberta after all. But some variety ( vegetable, legume, non-shellfish ) choices would be great. The "seasonal vegetables" which we ordered to balance the plate were, sadly, an uninspired preparation. The beef skewers were a little tough. Which is too bad as the rest of the choices were great and up to the Vin Room's usual high standard. It was a busy night and perhaps we just got unlucky with two dishes. The braised short rib was amazing as were the merguez meatballs

Wine. An expansive wine list. Feel free to ask for your red wines to be decanted as they don't always think to do that. If you open a pinotage, it needs some room! For a place with wine in the name, this should be an automatic offer.

This is a great place to go and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food and service were amazing. Everyone enjoyed a wonderful evening. Thank you!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Needed a late supper after the opera so we booked an 11pm table. The service and food were amazing and wine list unbelievable ! I can't wait to back when I have more time to enjoy the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our Waiter was phenomenal and the food was delicious. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent as always. Started with the potato chips - a must have, so delicious! Not greasy but not dry - very addictive! Had the bento lunch with chicken skewers, soup, salad, and a modified caprese to suit my dietary constraints. My dining partner had the lobster nachos and raved about them. Dessert was a delicious apple pie filling. Wine suggestions were on point as always and service was outstanding. Perfect for a weekday lunch. Unpretentious, classy restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Never disappoints, great food, great wine, great atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great advice on wine choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Phenomenal lunch here. Easy and welcoming even with a newborn; accommodated dietary restrictions, made an excellent wine recommendation and provided top notch service throughout. Food was delicious and great value; had scallops and shrimp, cooked perfectly, as my main. Soup to start and apple "pie" dessert were also wonderful.
Will be back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Quality food and great wine and whiskey selections. Tapas are very good and sufficient size.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The scallops were very delicious. The charcuterie was tasty. The wine very nice and the chairs were comfortable.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Loved it! Absolutely amazing food in a great space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Our first time to this location - great decor and ambiance. We had the family style dinner w/wine pairings they offer on Mondays - it was fabulous! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant, and their happy hour offers great value. The food quality is solid and they have a very nice selection of wines, many of them available by the glass. The service is extremely attentive and helpful.

We had some chicken skewers and oysters as appetizers (oysters were great, chicken a bit dry but ok), followed by haddock with potato wedges and vegetables. Nicely done, not overly salty and overall a very pleasant experience. Would not hesitate to go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was great, but I find the wine to be pretty pricey. I had a red wine flight, and know I can build my own flight, but would like to see a few more pre-arranged flight options (e.g., 3 price points), with potential for a 9 ounce option, not just 6 ounces.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were very disappointed in the food. Very small portions and not a lot of flavour. We heard such great things about the lobster nachos but were disappointed in the little amount of toppings they put on them. The service was very good and the wine selection was excellent but without good food it was not worth the expense.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Have been a few times now. Nice place and food but either need a larger menu or update some items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It is always a great experience to dine at Vin Room, whatever the occasion. Always look forward to trying new dishes on the menu. Vin Room is our number one choice to entertain our business associates for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

A bit too expensive for the quality but pretty good quality tapas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We went to this restaurant after a year of absence and were a little worried that things had changed. They had not! Same great service and food!!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.