Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi
  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi
  1. Distance: 2.31mi
  2. Distance: 2.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.43mi
  4. Distance: 2.44mi

About Vin Room - West

Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room West is located at 85 St SW and 8A Ave SW (take Bow Trail West to 85th Street SW and turn right)

We are a licensed restaurant. Children are welcome at Vin Room.
Patio (weather permitting) is available on a first come, first served basis. Our patio is dog friendly. We offer complimentary dog beds, dog amenities and treats for your furry friend.

3102, 8561 8A Ave
Calgary, AB T3H 0V5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday through Saturday : 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM;


Sunday/Tuesday: 3:00 - 10:00 PM
Wed/Thurs: 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday/Sat: 11:00 AM- Midnight

Cross Street:
85 St SW and 8A Ave SW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(587) 353-8812

Website:
http://www.vinroom.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available in front of Vin Room West.

Executive Chef:
Diana Nacita

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website for special events

Vin Room - West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (18)
Tasting Menu (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Romantic (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Live Music (6)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Just a disappointing night. Don't usually leave reviews but this was bad. Food average at best. Service slow. Restaurant cold.

Went into the evening having read predominantly good but the odd negative review. Have enjoyed the 4th street location in prior visits we tried the west location for an anniversary dinner.

The waitress, without prompting, apologized as we sat down and admitted the restaurant being overwhelmed because they were serving three menus and had trained for three weeks getting ready for the night. We ordered three tapas and the third, a salad dish, came out 15 minutes after the other two took some time to arrive and was room temperature.

A long standing dish, the lobster nachos that have been on the menu for over 5 years used to have large pieces of beautiful lobster. It was served as minced lobster and felt as though it was a half portion.

The service was slow because she was given an eight table section that any server would have struggled with during a busy night.

Throughout the restaurant had their jackets on due to the cold. It was just an unfortunate night.

Bad management in the end. A wait staff or kitchen can't succeed with three menus. The food quality which used to be a star is a glorified Moxie's at best.

Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Too far from down town . I wait 2 hour and 10 min to finish my meal they more then they work lol waste of time .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a great restaurant. The food never disappoints and we love the atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Always amazing food and attentive service. The menu is unique and creative and the presentation wonderful. Never hesitate to go back. The Happy hour specials are terrific and reasonable. All locations of the Vin Room have their own special touch and feel. We really enjoy supporting this successful business - makes for a great night out.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Really lovely atmosphere. Our server was great, and I loved that the owner Phoebe was visiting tables and was visible on the floor. The food was delicious, but I did feel that the servings could be larger (add ons were quite expensive). The live music adds to the atmosphere. We were a little uncomfortable with how close we were seated to some of the other tables (I even had a hard time getting out of my seat). We didn't feel as though we could have a conversation, and we were there on a date. Overall we would go back, not necessarily for a date but definitely for the music and wine.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2018

Great place, unique menu, awesome staff, all around great experience. Will be visiting again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Went to Vin for an overdue date with my husband to relax and destress and it was exactly that. The service from J the general manager was fantastic ! Really enjoyed the night. Can’t wait to go back 👍

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Food was great. General Manager was the only one working outside the kitchen and service was still fantastic! Love the Vin Room

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2017

The Vin Room has so much potential. The room is beautiful but the food is always hit or miss. We’ve been here several times but after this experience we probably won’t go back.

I think the owners need to hire a consultant and redo their menus completely...complete overhaul. The concept is great but it needs some help in making it interesting again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Food was delicious. We ordered the lobster nachos, which are always a favorite of ours. My only complaint is that there is not enough topping. Once you've eaten the top layer of chips, the entire bottom layer has nothing on it, and there is no condiment to dip the plain chips into.
Service was a bit slow. I think there were about 6 of us in the entire restaurant, but our waitress was absent for long periods.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 16, 2017

We've been here several times in the past, and we always enjoyed it. My wife wanted to come here for her birthday dinner. We were disappointed with the service and the quality of the food. We'll go somewhere else for special occasions in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 14, 2017

Use to work in the area and went here to for speical occasions. Now retired and met some former coworkers so was quite to chat and service was very good. Meal portions very good for lunch menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We were at the Vin Room to celebrate birthdays and as a get together with friends. We had a table of 6 and the service was fantastic. They seated us upstairs so it felt a little more private. Great place to meet friends and have a long, leisurely experience. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Went for a wine and cheese night, doing a flight of 6 wines and a platter of 3 cheeses and 2 meats. It did not disappoint.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Went on Sunday for family dinner. Greeting was nice, table setting was ready immediately.
Server was considerate but did not what type of soup would be served. She had to ask the kitchen. Soup was very good but salad/lettuce was dry/old. large portions. No bread was served. Roast Beef was very good and large portion of vegetables. After meal, had to wait quite awhile for server for coffee and dessert. Dessert was excellent ..apple pie . Coffee was also good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Very disappointed. Food was bad. Really bad. Noise level was intoxicating. Service can be better. The wine list was impressive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 17, 2017

I am never disappointed with the quality of the food here, it's always a treat to bring friends and family here!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The atmosphere and live music was nice
The wine is priced very high, it would be nice to have some reasonable options for every budget.
The food was good except for the boar gnocchi, it left both of us feeling a bit sick
We had a gift card so it was a nice night out but we found it a bit pricey for what you get.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 1, 2017

My new favourite go to place for everything, fine dining or just a quick bite, friendly stafff good choice love it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great service, food, ambiance and it was a great surprise to have live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Lovely restaurant with great service. LOVED the live Jazz, loved the wine list ... prices a bit high for tapas. Would like to go more often but a bit too pricey.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This was my first time visiting as we recently moved into the area. Very impressive wine list by the glass, I’m sure anyone can find a favourite. We tried the steak bites which were okay, the crab cakes were really good and the lobster nachos were pretty good. Lots of interesting stuff left on the menu to try next time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Great restaurant. Food and service excellent. Restaurant wasn’t full so great for chatting. We’ll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 23, 2017

One word describes it all - AMAZING. Great food, great service, and lovely live jazz on Saturday night. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Loved this place and Phoebe is so inviting and personable. Loved the entertainment and will come in again to enjoy it another time. The food is lovely.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have been here several times - always great food and surroundings. Staff seems to always be stretched, so service tends to be a little slow. However, we go to Vin to enjoy wine and tapas, so time was not important. Recommend it to anyone living in the western part of the city.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Amazing experience :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Birthday outing. Exceeded expectations. Tapas & wine selections were awesome and Savino was a perfect host/server. Will be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food was good. We knew it was a tapas restaurant but still felt is was quite expensive. We likely will not return simply for that reason.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I was quite surprised with the great service!
Our server was attentive and offered suggestions she even mentioned that they have a sommelier on staff to help with our wine selection ! We were outside on a hot day and our server came by with complementary sunscreen so the patrons don't get burned with the sun :)
Great experience and I would definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The service was very good. The wild boar nocchi was so darn delicious, so creamy, so flavourful you just want to keep coming back for that alone. My friend loved the steak bites and the chicken skewers but was disappointed there was no complimentary dessert for her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening out! Excellent food, service and ambience. We'll return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were the only customers for lunch as it was a Saturday during Stampede week - for being the only diners, the service could have been better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We had been to the VIN Room before but found the portions a bit small for the prices. We were back due to the dog friendly patio. Our dog got a little treat and the patio has a water dish for him as well. This time we have a cava we knew we enjoyed. As it was happy hour we enjoyed several tatters at better prices. It was a wonderful sunny day and good for people watching.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I always enjoy myself at the Vin Room and often bring friends and family there. Great food, always, and I like the tapas size which is great for sharing.

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We absolutely love the Vin Room - especially the West Calgary one. Phoebe is wonderful, the wait staff are just attentive enough, but not overbearing, and the food is exceptional. And as a bonus, we are able to bring our puppy if we sit on the patio (Sun-Wed) after a long work-day and not have to leave him at home when we grab a bite to eat.

We've been back a few times, and the Vin Room is our new favourite summer spot.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Several nice dining options on the menu and a diverse and expansive wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

With an extensive wine list, mostly available by the glass, and a creative selection of tapas, this is a great place for a quick but classy or casual dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was my Birthday and the team there was great..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The cost was higher than expected but we thoroughly enjoyed the jazz entertainment.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.