About Vin Room Mission

2310-4th St SW
Calgary, AB T2S 1X2
View Larger Map

Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room was one of Enroute Magazine's Top 25 Hot Spots in Canada, an Open Table Diner’s Choice Award Recipient, and received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for three years in a row. Vin Room was named one of Avenue Magazine's Top Restaurants of 2012.

We are located at 2310-4th St. SW (Old Mission Cycle Building); just a short cab ride from downtown and the Stampede Grounds. Rooftop patio open (weather permitting) on a first come, first served basis. Our patio is one of Open Table's top 100 outdoor dining restaurants in Canada.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Wednesday 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 3:00 pm - midnight
Friday/Saturday 3:00 pm - 1:00 am




Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-5522

Website:
http://www.vinroom.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and conveniently located near Vin Room.

Public parking is also available at the Mission Centre (Shopper's Drug Mart)

Public Transit:
A transit stop is conveniently located in front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Diana Nacita

Private Party Facilities:
Private wine cellar and second floor buyouts are available for functions. Private rooms accommodate 2 to 100 people (with rooftop patio). Full restaurant buyout is available. Please contact Brit Hart at brit@vinroom.com

Private Party Contact:
Alan Shenton: 4034575522x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events or functions, contact General Manager Alan Shenton at alan@vinroom.com


Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week

Restaurant Photos

Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB
Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB
Lobster Nachos - Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB
Citrus Mistress  - Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB
French 75 - Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB
Lamb Chops - Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB
Ribs - Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB
Lobster Salad - Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB
Vin Plate - Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB
Fish (cod) & Chips - Vin Room Mission, Calgary, AB

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Exclusive driving service

Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Dom Perignon Feature

Fridays, Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Dom Perignon Feature

Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us from 3-6 pm and 9 pm to close daily for our feature Happy Hour menu. $5 tapas , $6 beer and $7 wine features. Regular tapas menu also available. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

No limited menu. No seating times. No cover charge. Celebration on your own terms.

Reservations can be cancelled 72 hours in advance without penalty

Exclusive driving service

Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a ride home for you and your car for only $20 (up to 5 km. $2/km for distances greater than 5 km).Available from open to close. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Dom Perignon Feature

Fridays, Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Enjoy a 4 oz glass of 2006 Dom Perignon for $30 during our happy hour. Available 3-6 pm and 9pm to close during December. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Fridays, Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Dom Perignon Feature

Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Enjoy a 4 oz glass of 2006 Dom Perignon for $30 during our happy hour. Available 3-6 pm and 9pm to close during December. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 2, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Vin Room Mission Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Notable Wine List (13)
Good for a Date (9)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Tapas (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
782 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had really great time FOOD and servic ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had really great time FOOD and service were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great wine room with a knowledgea ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really great wine room with a knowledgeable and friendly sommelier. Our server was also very friendly and attentive. There was an impressive wine selection and I enjoyed the wines chosen for our group to try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a Girls Night for the first time ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a Girls Night for the first time in a LONG time and the Vin Room was PERFECT. Super educated wait staff and we LOVED the flight wine tastings, so fun!

We had tapas and everything was excellent. High quality food. The perfect evening out!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing staff, wonderful experience and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing staff, wonderful experience and the food was out of this world! Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, knowledgeable staff and good ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, knowledgeable staff and good recommendations on wine. Always amazing to go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They easily handled our gluten/dairy fre ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

They easily handled our gluten/dairy free requirement without any fuss ... much appreciated ... the restaurant was busy but the drink and food service was excellent ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect end to a tough week!

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

A perfect end to a tough week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awful food! But you won't find a better ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Awful food! But you won't find a better wine selection by the glass- at least not in Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

food and service was very good but the l ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 8, 2016

food and service was very good but the lighting on the second level and towards the back of the room is practically non-existent. We had to use our iPhone lights to be able to see anything, including the food. nice ambiance lighting is one thing but not being able to read the menu or see the food is somewhat riduculous

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were really looking forward to trying ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were really looking forward to trying it... However the waitress I think was having a bad day and it took hours between drinks and since we wanted to have wine with our food, we ended up having to eat it cold. No one checked in on us. The patio was busy but there was nobody inside the restaraunt and we saw every other table getting taken care of except us. People before us left because of the same reason. There could have been ways they could have ensured better service if things were busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

The Vin Room service has dropped conside ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Vin Room service has dropped considerably. On a Friday night, the place was not busy but the wait for drinks and food was atrocious. The waitress did not recommend the wines, left it up to us. The service is very poor in comparison with what it had in the past. The food was not that hot when it finally arrived either.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I have had dinner at the Vin Room three ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I have had dinner at the Vin Room three times, each time has been absolutely wonderful. The service is great, the staff is very personable and the food is mouth watering. If there were a con, I suppose it would be that some tables are close together, so you can hear the conversation of others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a good experience. Good ambie ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall a good experience.

Good ambience and décor.

However, the waiter didn't seem to know too much about the menu. Wasn't really a big deal, I am not picky and I like everything. He was also very polite and the service overall was good.

Would recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The atmosphere was simple, yet elegant. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The atmosphere was simple, yet elegant. A great place to enjoy an intimate dinner. The waitress suggested how best to pair our choices and the result was scrumptious; we had the potato chips and lobster nachos, then scallops and seasonal vegetables. The best part was the wine flights; what a great way to try new wines. I think a nice touch was the blankets to wrap around yourself when it started to get cool outside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Phoebe, the owner, is fantastic. She mak ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Phoebe, the owner, is fantastic. She makes a point of going to every table and connecting with her guests. And you certainly do feel more like a guest than customer. The scallops are to die for! This is a real neighbourhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I come to the Vin Room I am a ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Every time I come to the Vin Room I am always impressed by the service. The wait staff is always friendly and helpful. My father in law had food sensitivities and they made sure we knew what he could and couldn't have.

They have an excellent wine selection and I love their tasting flights, great way to try several new wines without drinking a lot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress seemed to be new, couldn't get ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Waitress seemed to be new, couldn't get our wine order correct

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

great food and service, had wines picked ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2016

great food and service, had wines picked out for what we were eating and we could tell real effort was put into it. good bang for buck even if the plates are small. loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I raved about this restaurant previously ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I raved about this restaurant previously. Haven't been here for a while, so anticipating the usual great food we decided to dine here.

Nice touches - waiter lowered music noise level, later turned up by another! Potato chips was almost caked with salt - requested another, salt free version, which was delicious.

My gin martini was good but oh so costly.

We ordered our usual - lobster nachos, lamb meatballs, chicken meatballs, pork belly, etc.

The meatballs lacked flavour unfortunately, and why were all the dishes cold to lukewarm?

Not sure why the service and quality of food for us were not as we were used to. We used to dine here very often before the floods. Will ponder deeply before coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It was our first time here and we really ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 6, 2016

It was our first time here and we really enjoyed it. Great choice of wine tasters and wines by the glass. The charcuterie and cheeses were excellent as were the several tapas we ordered. Loved our personable and friendly server and host who took good care of us throughout the evening. The restaurant was small and intimate with a cozy feel. Food was very well presented and very interesting and complex tasting. We will definitely be back! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful tapas menu paired with a great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful tapas menu paired with a great selection of wines set the scene for this quaint restaurant, formerly a family-run bicycle shop, in the heart of Mission.

What really sets the Vin Room apart from other foodie spots is the wonderful staff and owner. It's obvious that they all have a passion for food, but where they shine is the pleasure and gratitude they demonstrate from sharing the gorgeous plates that exit from the kitchen.

Too many superlatives? Then give it a try yourself and tell me I am wrong :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time! The tapas were a nice ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a great time!

The tapas were a nice size and the wine suggested was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A great find. Lovely decor inside and pr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2016

A great find. Lovely decor inside and pretty roof top patio. Interesting tapas. No normal restaurant meals. Server was competent but uninspired. Spent way more than we planned so be careful not to get carried away. $100 a head for tapas and wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

They need to work on their service and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 29, 2016

They need to work on their service and knowledge of wine

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We went to the Vin room to celebrate our ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went to the Vin room to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. Lovely meal as always on the rooftop patio. Service was exceptional as always too. Its a treat to come and we always return for more

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very personable and the food ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was very personable and the food fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A visit to the Vin Room is always a grea ...

 
 (London)·Dined on June 23, 2016

A visit to the Vin Room is always a great experience. The food is excellent and the choice of wines amazing. The staff are exceptionally friendly and knowledgable about the wines. It is always a pleasure to go there for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome as well as wine flights ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was awesome as well as wine flights. Only complaint service was super slow. We thought our waitress might have left and the restaurant wasn't very busy. Other than that was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The wine selection was excellent and the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The wine selection was excellent and the food delicious. Our favorite tapas selections were the pork belly, tuna and flat iron steak...very tasty! The service was very attentive and informative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friday night date night with my husband ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Friday night date night with my husband and we were in the mood for tapas, so decided to head to the Vin Room as we hadn't been there in a couple of years. Food was amazing, it was all so tasty! We had the tuna, scallops and crab after starting with the delicious eggplant chips and topped of the meal with a fantastic dessert. The wine was wonderful too and the serving staff was great. The owner was around making sure everyone was pleased, which I'm sure they all were. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance. Sat on the patio. Was lovely.

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was great. Service was a bit slow. But overall great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Service was unfortunately suboptimal as ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was unfortunately suboptimal as let our server know of a food allergy which he forgot to let the kitchen know about - and then forgot to let us know about until after we had eaten the dish containing it. Also had to ask him a few times for items that he kept forgetting. Would have stayed longer for more wine as they have a great selection and prices are reasonable but the experience was soured due to the service and side effects from eating food that one of us was allergic to.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Wonderful food, fantastic wine & excellent service

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and are very impressed with the Mission location of Vin Room. The downstairs was very loud with a great young crowd but they had the perfect table for us upstairs in a quieter more romantic area. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the different wines, gave some recommendations based on what we like for wine and was attentive without being hovering.

The owner stopped by to make sure everything was fine and to chat, very personable and you can tell she truly cares about her restaurant and her staff.

The food was top notch, I have a food allergy and they were perfectly accommodating for it.

They made a special occasion even more special with their level of service, excellent food and fantastic wine choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wine and dessert

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 23, 2016

staff were very attentive and had excellent suggestions for win and dessert

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Intimate

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2016

lots of great wines to try by the glass... Without having to buy a bottle. Great ambiance ... Quiet and nicely lit. Great service and good tapas to share. Perfect for a date or group!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great atmosphere for a friend's get to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 21, 2016

A great atmosphere for a friend's get together, great food and wine, awesome experience .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food but not a lot of room to spread out.

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 14, 2016

This place was recommended to us by a friend of ours. The place was very central and had a good ambiance. It's a tight place inside with not a lot of seating area especially in the front area. Was hoping to have a table however we sat on a couch bench. That being said, the food was delicious and the wine selections were excellent. Service was very attentive as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 4, 2016

Vin was the ideal restaurant to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Experience

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the ambiance and service. Nice also that the owner made the rounds and was especially warm and nice to chat with. I'll definitely be back on my next trip to Calgary.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for our anniversary, and had a r ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 22, 2016

We came for our anniversary, and had a range of very good appetizers, and some very nice wines form the extensive and impressive selection. We had seats a a small table facing the bar and away from each other. There may be other parts of the establishment (such as the roof terrace) suitable for large groups, but the area we were in would not be good for more than couples. Other than the wine dispenser, we did not really have a scenic view

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.