About Vin Room Mission

2310-4th St SW
Calgary, AB T2S 1X2
View Larger Map

Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room was one of Enroute Magazine's Top 25 Hot Spots in Canada, an Open Table Diner’s Choice Award Recipient, and received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for three years in a row. Vin Room was named one of Avenue Magazine's Top Restaurants of 2012.

We are located at 2310-4th St. SW (Old Mission Cycle Building); just a short cab ride from downtown and the Stampede Grounds. Rooftop patio open (weather permitting) on a first come, first served basis. Our patio is one of Open Table's top 100 outdoor dining restaurants in Canada.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Wednesday 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 3:00 pm - midnight
Friday/Saturday 3:00 pm - 1:00 am




Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-5522

Website:
http://www.vinroom.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and conveniently located near Vin Room.

Public parking is also available at the Mission Centre (Shopper's Drug Mart)

Public Transit:
A transit stop is conveniently located in front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Diana Nacita

Private Party Facilities:
Private wine cellar and second floor buyouts are available for functions. Private rooms accommodate 2 to 100 people (with rooftop patio). Full restaurant buyout is available. Please contact Brit Hart at brit@vinroom.com

Private Party Contact:
Alan Shenton: 4034575522x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events or functions, contact General Manager Alan Shenton at alan@vinroom.com


Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week

Restaurant Photos

Vin Room Mission
Vin Room Mission
Lobster Nachos
Citrus Mistress
French 75
Lamb Chops
Ribs
Lobster Salad
Vin Plate
Fish (cod) & Chips

Promotions

Exclusive driving service

Special valid May 20, 2016 - Sep 20, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Happy Hour

Special valid Jun 30, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Happy Hour

Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Exclusive driving service

Special valid May 20, 2016 - Sep 20, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Happy Hour

Special valid Jun 30, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Happy Hour

Special valid Sep 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Vin Room Mission Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Calgary
Romantic
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

notable wine list (36)
fit for foodies (33)
romantic (26)
See All
special occasion (23)
neighborhood gem (17)
good for groups (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (8)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
763 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

great food and service, had wines picked ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

great food and service, had wines picked out for what we were eating and we could tell real effort was put into it. good bang for buck even if the plates are small. loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I raved about this restaurant previously ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I raved about this restaurant previously. Haven't been here for a while, so anticipating the usual great food we decided to dine here.

Nice touches - waiter lowered music noise level, later turned up by another! Potato chips was almost caked with salt - requested another, salt free version, which was delicious.

My gin martini was good but oh so costly.

We ordered our usual - lobster nachos, lamb meatballs, chicken meatballs, pork belly, etc.

The meatballs lacked flavour unfortunately, and why were all the dishes cold to lukewarm?

Not sure why the service and quality of food for us were not as we were used to. We used to dine here very often before the floods. Will ponder deeply before coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It was our first time here and we really ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It was our first time here and we really enjoyed it. Great choice of wine tasters and wines by the glass. The charcuterie and cheeses were excellent as were the several tapas we ordered. Loved our personable and friendly server and host who took good care of us throughout the evening. The restaurant was small and intimate with a cozy feel. Food was very well presented and very interesting and complex tasting. We will definitely be back! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful tapas menu paired with a great ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful tapas menu paired with a great selection of wines set the scene for this quaint restaurant, formerly a family-run bicycle shop, in the heart of Mission.

What really sets the Vin Room apart from other foodie spots is the wonderful staff and owner. It's obvious that they all have a passion for food, but where they shine is the pleasure and gratitude they demonstrate from sharing the gorgeous plates that exit from the kitchen.

Too many superlatives? Then give it a try yourself and tell me I am wrong :-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time! The tapas were a nice ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a great time!

The tapas were a nice size and the wine suggested was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A great find. Lovely decor inside and pr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A great find. Lovely decor inside and pretty roof top patio. Interesting tapas. No normal restaurant meals. Server was competent but uninspired. Spent way more than we planned so be careful not to get carried away. $100 a head for tapas and wine!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

They need to work on their service and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

They need to work on their service and knowledge of wine

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We went to the Vin room to celebrate our ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went to the Vin room to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. Lovely meal as always on the rooftop patio. Service was exceptional as always too. Its a treat to come and we always return for more

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very personable and the food ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was very personable and the food fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A visit to the Vin Room is always a grea ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

A visit to the Vin Room is always a great experience. The food is excellent and the choice of wines amazing. The staff are exceptionally friendly and knowledgable about the wines. It is always a pleasure to go there for dinner.

Tags: outdoor eating, romance, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome as well as wine flights ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was awesome as well as wine flights. Only complaint service was super slow. We thought our waitress might have left and the restaurant wasn't very busy. Other than that was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The wine selection was excellent and the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The wine selection was excellent and the food delicious. Our favorite tapas selections were the pork belly, tuna and flat iron steak...very tasty! The service was very attentive and informative.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friday night date night with my husband ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Friday night date night with my husband and we were in the mood for tapas, so decided to head to the Vin Room as we hadn't been there in a couple of years. Food was amazing, it was all so tasty! We had the tuna, scallops and crab after starting with the delicious eggplant chips and topped of the meal with a fantastic dessert. The wine was wonderful too and the serving staff was great. The owner was around making sure everyone was pleased, which I'm sure they all were. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance. Sat on the patio. Was lovely.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was great. Service was a bit slow. But overall great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Service was unfortunately suboptimal as ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was unfortunately suboptimal as let our server know of a food allergy which he forgot to let the kitchen know about - and then forgot to let us know about until after we had eaten the dish containing it. Also had to ask him a few times for items that he kept forgetting. Would have stayed longer for more wine as they have a great selection and prices are reasonable but the experience was soured due to the service and side effects from eating food that one of us was allergic to.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Wonderful food, fantastic wine & excellent service

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and are very impressed with the Mission location of Vin Room. The downstairs was very loud with a great young crowd but they had the perfect table for us upstairs in a quieter more romantic area. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the different wines, gave some recommendations based on what we like for wine and was attentive without being hovering.

The owner stopped by to make sure everything was fine and to chat, very personable and you can tell she truly cares about her restaurant and her staff.

The food was top notch, I have a food allergy and they were perfectly accommodating for it.

They made a special occasion even more special with their level of service, excellent food and fantastic wine choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wine and dessert

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

staff were very attentive and had excellent suggestions for win and dessert

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Intimate

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

lots of great wines to try by the glass... Without having to buy a bottle. Great ambiance ... Quiet and nicely lit. Great service and good tapas to share. Perfect for a date or group!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great atmosphere for a friend's get to ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A great atmosphere for a friend's get together, great food and wine, awesome experience .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food but not a lot of room to spread out.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This place was recommended to us by a friend of ours. The place was very central and had a good ambiance. It's a tight place inside with not a lot of seating area especially in the front area. Was hoping to have a table however we sat on a couch bench. That being said, the food was delicious and the wine selections were excellent. Service was very attentive as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Vin was the ideal restaurant to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the ambiance and service. Nice also that the owner made the rounds and was especially warm and nice to chat with. I'll definitely be back on my next trip to Calgary.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for our anniversary, and had a r ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We came for our anniversary, and had a range of very good appetizers, and some very nice wines form the extensive and impressive selection. We had seats a a small table facing the bar and away from each other. There may be other parts of the establishment (such as the roof terrace) suitable for large groups, but the area we were in would not be good for more than couples. Other than the wine dispenser, we did not really have a scenic view

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We were both very impressed with our waitress Isolde. I have been to Vin Room Mission many many times and she has to be the most attentive (in just the right amount and frequency) and knowledgeable wine steward I have encountered. She knew just when to show up as my date and I enjoyed our company at a very private table. She was one step ahead of us for almost every request we had. We both thoroughly enjoyed her professionalism.

She's a keeper!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

albacore tuna-must try

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

albacore tuna-must try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For a romantic evening, this is the plac ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

For a romantic evening, this is the place to go - very dark, very cozy. For four middle aged professionals, the dim lighting and tight tables were a bit uncomfortable. Also, if you have any mobility issues, be sure to be seated on the main level as the bathrooms are three flights of stairs down from the top dining area. The food was good - the best plate was the wild boar gnocchi. I would not recommend the lobster nachos though. Compared to the quality of the other tapas dishes, the nachos were a real let down. I would recommend Vin Room for the food and will be back for date night, with a flashlight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Delicious! Vin Room has stayed consisten ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Delicious! Vin Room has stayed consistently great over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, good service and a great sel ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food, good service and a great selection of wine. The Vin Room is a great date place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Food, Service and Atmosphere!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The night before our visit one of their staff called me to welcome us and see if we had any questions- impressive! :O Funky, relaxed fine dining atmosphere. We dined on a menu chosen for the Calgary Big Taste Festival with the wine pairings. Excellent appetizer, main course and dessert for a very reasonable price. Our server Lori was attentive, friendly and always on hand to serve courses, answer questions and make suggestions. All staff friendly, polite and attentive. They have a smaller tasting/meeting room downstairs (seats 16) which you can book for free with a deposit which applies to your bill. Well worth the price, will definitely be back with friends. Thanks for the hospitality!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Thought the whole experience was great from the moment we walked in until we left. Food was very fresh and great, the wine pairings matched up very well, service was great, atmosphere was great too. We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it used to be

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Unfortunately this place has gone down hill. We were there in a group of 4 on Saturday evening, it wasn't very busy for a Saturday. We ordered two bottles of wine, and were told shortly later that they had neither and most of their list was out of stock. The food quality was good, but the portions sizing has slipped and is no longer of decent value. Large Duck plate was mostly just sauce and fill and very little actual duck.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Great restaurant! They Maintain a great ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great restaurant! They Maintain a great standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

So much fun! Table of 6 sharing our Valentine!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Oh my heck we had a great dinner, great wine and fell in love with Feebie and her staff!

What a wonderful place for a romantic dinner, or with a group of friends!

We will be back for more fabulous food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet & cozy

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I like Vin, it's one of the rare restaurants in Calgary that allows the flow of a conversation: no loud music and no eco! Warm and cozy, it's a nice neighbourhood hang out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Valentine's Celebration done right!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

loved our Vday celebration- this place was perfect for us, we filled up on all our favourite tapas and then a decadent chocolate torte. 2oz wines are fun cuz I got to taste sooo many :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful experience as always! Warm a ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

A wonderful experience as always! Warm atmosphere, great service, delicious food and a wine recommendation that worked perfectly for me! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Late Night Spot

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My GF and I went to Vin Room last Friday night at 9:00PM. We figured we would stop in on our way home for a glass of wine and some dessert. We were both extremely satisfied with the quality of the dinning room/lounge, service, drinks and food. Such a great little place in the heart of Mission! We hope this place never changes.....seasonal changes to the wine and food menu are ok ;). We look forward to our next visit.

Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

GREAT ATMOSPHERE, GOOD FOOD, FAIR SERVICE

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I LOVE THE LAIDBACK ATMOSPHERE HERE, I NEVER FEEL RUSHED. THE FOOD IS GOOD AND MOST DISHES CAN BE ADAPTED TO PEOPLE WITH ALLERGIES. I DO FEEL IT’S OVERPRICED BUT KEEP GOING BACK WITH FRIENDS BECAUSE OF THE SELECTION AND AMBIANCE. SERVICE IS GREAT AT THE START OF THE MEAL BUT THAT DOES NOT LAST THROUGH THE EVENING. ALTHOUGH WE EXPRESSED AN INTEREST IN DESSERT WE WERE FORGOTTEN FOR AGES WHILE STAFF TOOK CARE OF NEW GUESTS. ONE OF THE OWNERS STOPPED BY FOR A CHAT AND WE FINALLY GOT DESSERT SORTED WITH HER.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

NOT 17th Ave

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

With the trendy restaurants on 17th being over-rated it was time for a classic. The Vin Room always serves amazing flights and their tapas menu is very good. Only feedback is their Lobster Nachos seem to be average as opposed to amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service disappointing

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Very disappointed in the service this evening. We have visited the Vin Room on a number of occasions in the past and while the Alberta and Calgary economy wanes, there is no excuse for slow service. I mark my time between server visits by 20 minutes or less and I can assure you they were in the range of 20 minutes plus: water request was slow to some; wines were slow to come; once we had ordered some food, there was an assumption on the server's part that we were done, but we weren't, so another long wait. I am only assuming the server was new/inexperienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.