About Vin Room Mission

Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room was one of Enroute Magazine's Top 25 Hot Spots in Canada, an Open Table Diner’s Choice Award Recipient, and received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for three years in a row. Vin Room was named one of Avenue Magazine's Top Restaurants of 2012.

We are located at 2310-4th St. SW (Old Mission Cycle Building); just a short cab ride from downtown and the Stampede Grounds. Rooftop patio open (weather permitting) on a first come, first served basis. Our patio is one of Open Table's top 100 outdoor dining restaurants in Canada.

2310-4th St SW
Calgary, AB T2S 1X2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Wednesday 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 3:00 pm - midnight
Friday/Saturday 3:00 pm - 1:00 am




Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-5522

Website:
http://www.vinroom.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and conveniently located near Vin Room.

Public parking is also available at the Mission Centre (Shopper's Drug Mart)

Public Transit:
A transit stop is conveniently located in front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Diana Nacita

Private Party Facilities:
Private wine cellar and second floor buyouts are available for functions. Private rooms accommodate 2 to 100 people (with rooftop patio). Full restaurant buyout is available. Please contact Brit Hart at brit@vinroom.com

Private Party Contact:
Jeremy Erickson: (403) 457-5522

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events or functions, contact Service Manager Jeremy Erickson at jeremy@vinroom.com
Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Exclusive driving service

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Truffles and Bubbles

Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us from 3-6 pm and 9 pm to close daily for our feature Happy Hour menu. $5 tapas , $6 beer and $7 wine features. Regular tapas menu also available. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Exclusive driving service

Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Enjoy a ride home for you and your car for only $20 (up to 5 km. $2/km for distances greater than 5 km).Available from open to close. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 2, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Truffles and Bubbles

Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $5 truffle popcorn and $5 glass of prosecco. Available from open to close. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 7, 2017 - Apr 30, 2017 on Tuesdays from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us on Saturday nights for live jazz. Come as you are and support local artists. Jeans welcome. No cover charge. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 25, 2017 - Mar 31, 2017 on Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Jeans and Jazz

Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us on Saturday nights for live jazz. Come as you are and support local artists. Jeans welcome. No cover charge. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 31, 2017 - May 31, 2017 on Saturdays from 8:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Vin Room Mission Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (5)
See All
Creative Cuisine (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tapas (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing and the wine was even better. Was able to try different ones and experiment a bit.

The host was extremely friendly and had a great sense of humour and our server was phenomenal. Very helpful and was very personable.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Vin Room continues to be a favourite restaurant. Never disappointing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I was so impressed at Vin Room, I am not an easy individual to cater to, I am Gluten, Dairy and Pork free and they accommodated all of my needs. Not only did the accommodate my requirements, but i absolutely loved the food! That says a lot! I will definitely be going back :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

"To Whom it May Concern,

I just felt it necessary to contact you regarding a recent experience in your venue. It was unfortunate seeing as our first visit was so memorable. We recently dined with you and had planned the night so we could avoid the Valentine's day mayhem that most places tend to experience. Upon entering the restaurant we stood at the door for more than 5 minutes before being acknowledged and sat......strange considering there were only a couple tables in the entire place at that point.
We had been there about 20 minutes when a larger group (stagette) arrived. The noise level grew to an almost unbearable level and while I understand there is a celebration going on this should never happen at the expense of other diners. I know full well you have a private area they could have been seated in but our server (who was noticeably embarrassed) assured us they were only in for a couple of drinks and then off to another destination. He was understanding and did his best but in fact they never left and the noise level became completely distracting......to the point I just asked for my bill so we could get out of there at fast as possible. I did tell him that the food had been good but the ambience for our romantic dinner had been completely ruined.
I think what upset me the most was the simple fact that the MOD never even showed up to chat with us. Left the server to deal with an uncomfortable situation and an unhappy guest. Not the level of service or attention I would have expected from your establishment.
I can honestly say we won't be returning as I won't have another evening ruined by unforeseen circumstances that should and could have been properly addressed by management.

Just felt I'd be doing you and your business a disservice by not bring this to your attention."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great Service, Great Food.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not our first time enjoying the tapas and definitely won't be our last. This time tried the lobster nachos and they were amazing. The scallops and eggplant chips were as great as the last time we had them. An enjoyable evening for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Seating can be awkward, but it is a cute little bistro.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The owners and partners and stafff are outstanding.
Enjoyed our time...
Thank you

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very expensive for what you get. Food and service average. Wine prices are just crazy. Probably explains why the place is half empty. Too bad, love the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent wine, cozy place for enjoying good food and company. One thing to improve is the service; the assigned person we had was not that helpful!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were seated promptly and the host took our coats. Good start! We then waited five minutes before our waitress took our water order. Another five minutes go by and we finally get our water! At that point we ordered our first round of drinks. It took six minutes to receive these drinks (did I mention the place was not busy at all and they were fully staffed????). My wife received her wine but I was told that they were out of Hendricks gin. Wait another three minutes for her to bring me back another G&T. 19 minutes before I received my first drink!

I was hoping the food would salvage the experience but it was a let down. The wild boar gnocchi was made with beef and the sauce tasted like it came from a can. The lobster nachos were mainly tortilla chips with a light dusting of lobster. Nothing to write home about. The beef kabobs came to the table like warm. The chicken meatballs were good, however.

I will not go back to this location - perhaps I will give the West location a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Warm capresse salad was the best thing we had by far. Pork short ribs was a substantial dish with veggies and a good size. Skip the crab cakes, so medicare I gave mine to someone else. Liked the scallops but would have been fine passing on the squid dish. Overall a great NYE. Really enjoyed our server. Room was freezing upstairs. Made it a bit hard to enjoy the evening. I've been quite a few times and this may have been one of my favorites. I'd say it is a bit overpriced for what's happening now in Calgary but I've seen advertisements for happy hours twice a day..might be worth checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very knowledgeable, professional staff and delicious wine and nibbles. In particular, the cauliflower flatbread was excellent. Price range makes is a little too out of our budget to make it a regular go-to, but it's great for a treat or a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had really great time FOOD and service were awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Really great wine room with a knowledgeable and friendly sommelier. Our server was also very friendly and attentive. There was an impressive wine selection and I enjoyed the wines chosen for our group to try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a Girls Night for the first time in a LONG time and the Vin Room was PERFECT. Super educated wait staff and we LOVED the flight wine tastings, so fun!

We had tapas and everything was excellent. High quality food. The perfect evening out!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Amazing staff, wonderful experience and the food was out of this world! Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, knowledgeable staff and good recommendations on wine. Always amazing to go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 12, 2016

They easily handled our gluten/dairy free requirement without any fuss ... much appreciated ... the restaurant was busy but the drink and food service was excellent ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

A perfect end to a tough week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Awful food! But you won't find a better wine selection by the glass- at least not in Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 8, 2016

food and service was very good but the lighting on the second level and towards the back of the room is practically non-existent. We had to use our iPhone lights to be able to see anything, including the food. nice ambiance lighting is one thing but not being able to read the menu or see the food is somewhat riduculous

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were really looking forward to trying it... However the waitress I think was having a bad day and it took hours between drinks and since we wanted to have wine with our food, we ended up having to eat it cold. No one checked in on us. The patio was busy but there was nobody inside the restaraunt and we saw every other table getting taken care of except us. People before us left because of the same reason. There could have been ways they could have ensured better service if things were busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Vin Room service has dropped considerably. On a Friday night, the place was not busy but the wait for drinks and food was atrocious. The waitress did not recommend the wines, left it up to us. The service is very poor in comparison with what it had in the past. The food was not that hot when it finally arrived either.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I have had dinner at the Vin Room three times, each time has been absolutely wonderful. The service is great, the staff is very personable and the food is mouth watering. If there were a con, I suppose it would be that some tables are close together, so you can hear the conversation of others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Overall a good experience.

Good ambience and décor.

However, the waiter didn't seem to know too much about the menu. Wasn't really a big deal, I am not picky and I like everything. He was also very polite and the service overall was good.

Would recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The atmosphere was simple, yet elegant. A great place to enjoy an intimate dinner. The waitress suggested how best to pair our choices and the result was scrumptious; we had the potato chips and lobster nachos, then scallops and seasonal vegetables. The best part was the wine flights; what a great way to try new wines. I think a nice touch was the blankets to wrap around yourself when it started to get cool outside.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Phoebe, the owner, is fantastic. She makes a point of going to every table and connecting with her guests. And you certainly do feel more like a guest than customer. The scallops are to die for! This is a real neighbourhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Every time I come to the Vin Room I am always impressed by the service. The wait staff is always friendly and helpful. My father in law had food sensitivities and they made sure we knew what he could and couldn't have.

They have an excellent wine selection and I love their tasting flights, great way to try several new wines without drinking a lot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Waitress seemed to be new, couldn't get our wine order correct

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2016

great food and service, had wines picked out for what we were eating and we could tell real effort was put into it. good bang for buck even if the plates are small. loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2016

I raved about this restaurant previously. Haven't been here for a while, so anticipating the usual great food we decided to dine here.
Nice touches - waiter lowered music noise level, later turned up by another! Potato chips was almost caked with salt - requested another, salt free version, which was delicious.
My gin martini was good but oh so costly.
We ordered our usual - lobster nachos, lamb meatballs, chicken meatballs, pork belly, etc.
The meatballs lacked flavour unfortunately, and why were all the dishes cold to lukewarm?
Not sure why the service and quality of food for us were not as we were used to. We used to dine here very often before the floods. Will ponder deeply before coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 6, 2016

It was our first time here and we really enjoyed it. Great choice of wine tasters and wines by the glass. The charcuterie and cheeses were excellent as were the several tapas we ordered. Loved our personable and friendly server and host who took good care of us throughout the evening. The restaurant was small and intimate with a cozy feel. Food was very well presented and very interesting and complex tasting. We will definitely be back! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Wonderful tapas menu paired with a great selection of wines set the scene for this quaint restaurant, formerly a family-run bicycle shop, in the heart of Mission.

What really sets the Vin Room apart from other foodie spots is the wonderful staff and owner. It's obvious that they all have a passion for food, but where they shine is the pleasure and gratitude they demonstrate from sharing the gorgeous plates that exit from the kitchen.

Too many superlatives? Then give it a try yourself and tell me I am wrong :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a great time!
The tapas were a nice size and the wine suggested was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 1, 2016

A great find. Lovely decor inside and pretty roof top patio. Interesting tapas. No normal restaurant meals. Server was competent but uninspired. Spent way more than we planned so be careful not to get carried away. $100 a head for tapas and wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 29, 2016

They need to work on their service and knowledge of wine

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went to the Vin room to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. Lovely meal as always on the rooftop patio. Service was exceptional as always too. Its a treat to come and we always return for more

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was very personable and the food fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 23, 2016

A visit to the Vin Room is always a great experience. The food is excellent and the choice of wines amazing. The staff are exceptionally friendly and knowledgable about the wines. It is always a pleasure to go there for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.