Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 4/23
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Vin Room Mission

4.4
869 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Top Tags:
  • Tapas
  • Notable Wine List
  • Special Occasion
Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 80 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

We are located at 2310-4th St. SW (Old Mission Cycle Building) Our rooftop patio is one of Open Table's top 100 outdoor dining restaurants in Canada, on a first come, first served basis.

Our Front patio is dog friendly seven days a week. We offer complimentary dog beds, amenities station, dog bar and house made dog treats for your furry friend. For those who prefer the company of humans, our rooftop patio remains humans only.
For those who prefer the company of humans, our rooftop patio remains humans only 7 days a week, weather permitting.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Tapas / Small Plates, Global, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday to Wednesday 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday/Saturday 3:00 pm - 1:00 am




Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(403) 457-5522
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Diana Nacita
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private wine cellar and second floor buyouts are available for functions. Private rooms accommodate 2 to 100 people (with rooftop patio). Full restaurant buyout is available. Please contact Andrea Wales at andrea@vinroom.com
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Andrea Wales (andrea@vinroom.com): (403) 457-5522
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
23rd Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking is available and conveniently located near Vin Room.

Public parking is also available at the Mission Centre (Shopper's Drug Mart)
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A transit stop is conveniently located in front of the building.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live jazz on Saturdays from 8-11 pm. No cover charge. Just great music by local artists
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For special events or functions, contact Andrea Wales andrea@vinroom.com
Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 869 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Great spot to get together with friends. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Server was super energetic and a joy to be around. New the wines and the story of them like the back of his hand.

I've never been to a restaurant where you could order flights of wine, tasting wine 2 Oz at a time was fun and tasty.

The food was delicious and they were great for sharing. Because of the nature of the Tapas style dishes, orders were quick and we could keep adding as we felt like it. Was a fantastic evening out all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

It was a lovely dinner and service was attentive and perfectly handled. Great choice for vegetarians too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Vin Room never disappoints. There is always a seasonal menu but I'm glad that they keep people's favourites on the regular menu (aka Lobster Nachos). With all of the hand-picked wines the list can be a little overwhelming, it's nice to have the option for a 2 ounce glass to try or their carefully selected flights. Their summer patio is the best!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Calgary Big Taste with fixed price meals - very tasty! Wine flights were good. Service was excellent and accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Had a wonderful experience during the Big Taste Calgary. We use the Big Taste to test new restaurants and this was an awesome win. It was our first experience at the Vin Room Mission. We were greeted by our friendly waiter and the restaurant manager. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The ambiance was very inviting and comfortable, easy to relax and enjoy our conversations. The drinks were good but the food was incredible and very well portioned. We have bee to BT restaurants that offer small tastings in an effort to recover cost. Not here. We were also greeted by the owner Phoebe who also shared some of her passions and of course her home built dog cookies. She made it very apparent that she has a passion for people/canines, her restaurants which feature exceptional service and food. Bravo!! Looking forward to our next visit.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Pricey, did not offer happy hours for a vine. You have to ask...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Went with a group of friends as we hadn't been in awhile. Disappointed, the food was just OK and the waiter wasn't very friendly. Tried to order a few bottles of wine but they were out of stock. Wine list is never updated. I think in Calgary there are much better places to enjoy a bottle of wine with Friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great place for tapas and election of wine

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Great wine

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We felt the tables were too small for our group and placement was at the door. Not great for flights and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Always a wonderful experience. Service is exceptional, tapas and share plates great and wine selection excellent. Happy hour wines are very good and make for excellent value and a chance to try new wines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We sat at the bar, the bartender was awesome. Very knowledgeable about their wine selection and managed to create a wine tasting based on what we like.
We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We love visiting the Vin Room for dinner, we are never disappointed. The only thing that I would change is the seating arrangements. Tables for 2 are situated so that you are sitting side by side, both facing the same direction and very close proximity to the next table over. I personally prefer to sit across the table from my company and be a little bit more distant from the people next to us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

I go to Vin Room relatively regularly: girls nights, get togethers and date nights with my husband. I always love the food and overall ambiance, however two of the last four times, service wasn’t to the standards I’ve experienced there.

Usually, our server is always SUPER knowledgeable on the wines. I enjoy wines but am not overly knowledgeable on them. So, when I asked a question on a particular Merlot on the flight, the server told me she didn’t know about it and had never even tasted it. She then had to go and ask about it. She wasn’t able to answer my question as to how it compares to other Merlots, since I usually prefer one that isn’t to “tanniny”. Her answer was “It’s not an entry-level prices Merlot, so it should be good.” But price has nothing to do with the tannin levels. I decided to try the flight and I did enjoy the Merlot, so I now have one I can add to my repertoire.


We then decided to order food so I ordered a flight of bubbly with some oysters. Normally, the glasses are positioned in the order they should be drunk, from left to right. I didn’t pay attention as I picked up the second glass, and as soon as I took a sip, realized I was drinking a Muscato. It was unfortunate because it completely ruined my last glass, which was much drier and it ruined the taste. I let our waitress know of my recommendation and she said she didn’t realize what order they were in.

I usually love going to Vin room because I get to try new wines and learn from the servers, who I expect to be much more knowledgeable than me since my knowledge is quite limited.

I will give it another try and hope that these were unusual circumstances and that servers learn about the wines they are selling.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

The wine, food, and atmosphere were all great. Really enjoyed our night here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Service was incredibly slow, took about an hour for cheese, crackers, and oysters..wine selection was mediocre but the place was really warm and inviting..probably wouldn't recommend this place though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Fantastic food. Fantastic service. Fantastic wine list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Very good service and yummy tapas
The wine list has endless possibilities

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Thanks to phoebe, loved all your personalized flights and found some new favourite wines. Always fun to be at vin room with friends.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 1, 2017

It was great at 1st but when it came to dessert and getting the bill it seemed like we were forgotten.

I would go again but that was not impressive. Otherwise it was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

We had a great time. Enjoyed the wine selections and the food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 8, 2017

The service was exceptional. The staff was very knowledgable on wines and fine dining. The charcuterie was tasty and well-presented, the meat and cheese was perfectly paired, and the quantity of food was suitable for two. We really enjoyed the evening and will return. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 25, 2017

I took my dad here to treat him to a nice night out. He really likes share plates and good wine. We were however disappointed in the share plates. They were out of the meat platter at 7pm which was discouraging but it happens. The food was good, nothing to really write home about however. The wine and the service were great though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Went to the Vin Room on Saturday night for a date and it was amazing! I loved the build your own cheese and charcuterie board and the 2 oz glasses of wine meant we could try several. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Really enjoyed the meal and wine list. Great night ou with friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

Food is always great. Wine selection fantastic though quite pricey. The service was lacking this time. Nice waiter but disorganized. Left sitting with empty glasses and dirty dishes for too long.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 23, 2017

I've been to the VIN a few times now. It is a good place for a quiet date. Wine, dim lights, cozy furniture. I would not recommend it for the food due to the extremely small size portions. We had to order a few things and we still were not full. We went to earls across the street after for some yam fries and dessert after.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Upstairs provides a quiet more intimate space than the main floor which is brighter and louder. Our server was exceptional, appropriately attentive offering suggestions and insights. We enjoyed 2 customized flights of wine for sampling. Tapas as smaller plate sharing allowed opportunity for trying more items. We had 4 tasty savoury plates plus 2 delicious desserts for the two of us. A lovely alternative dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2017

Celebrated my birthday and our anniversary. Everything was excellent. Made our own charcuterie board lots of great options at fair prices

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Very elegant ambiance and friendly staff. Promt service and the food is delicious. Live music was such a lovely touch to the evening, really elevated the experience.
Love that the wine list is extensive but also comprehensible. Will definitely recommend to friends.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 10, 2017

We've been to Vin before as it's a casual, comfortable and cool place to relax w a drink and some food. However this last visit was a disappointment. The costs must have increased and food quality decreased. My wife and I and our 2 adult sons shared a bottle and a half of wine, and ordered about 6 or 7 food plates. Bill was $240! We'll think twice before spending that kind of money for snacks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 3, 2017

We came to try a new location for a quiet birthday. I have heard from a friend about the Vin Room and have been wanting to go for some time now. We all had such a wonderful experience with the food, service, atmosphere and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Loved our time at Vin, as always! We enjoyed a few wine flights and amazing food. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 23, 2017

The patio in Mission was perfect, even for a hot day. The trees and umbrella provided the perfect amount of evening shade. I ordered the charcuterie platter (3) and it was pretty small for $18. I was able to get gluten free crackers, however, so that was a nice option.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

It is a wonderful restaurant!
The staff were friendly and very efficient. We were able to taste so many choice wines.
The seating was very comfortable but modern.
The Steak and many tapas were delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 11, 2017

Food was really good, our waitress was really nice, made us feel like home and took good care of us. She as really careful with allergies or special diets.
I know it's a wine bar but I used my daughter's birthday as an excuse to catch up with my friends (single mom so not a lot of time free), it was a perfect moment with tasty food and delightful wine until a waiter from another table was rude with me and almost stepped on my daughter on purpose.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2017

It was a lovely experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2017

Definitely my favorite place in Calgary. Great staff, awesome food, and dog-friendly on the patio Sunday-Wednesday. Will go back often.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2017

It was a quiet evening. Thoroughly enjoyed it

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
22

Tweets by Vin Room Mission