About Vin Room Mission

2310-4th St SW
Calgary, AB T2S 1X2
View Larger Map

Vin Room is Calgary's premier wine bar offering over 100 wines by the taste. With the help of the Enomatic Wine Preservation System, we can guarantee variety and freshness as well.

Our wines are complemented by our tapas menu, focusing on fresh, local ingredients with a global twist. We offer tapas that are seasonal, wine focused and flavorful.

Vin Room was one of Enroute Magazine's Top 25 Hot Spots in Canada, an Open Table Diner’s Choice Award Recipient, and received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for three years in a row. Vin Room was named one of Avenue Magazine's Top Restaurants of 2012.

We are located at 2310-4th St. SW (Old Mission Cycle Building); just a short cab ride from downtown and the Stampede Grounds. Rooftop patio open (weather permitting) on a first come, first served basis. Our patio is one of Open Table's top 100 outdoor dining restaurants in Canada.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Sunday to Wednesday 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday 3:00 pm - midnight
Friday/Saturday 3:00 pm - 1:00 am




Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week

Cross Street:
23rd Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 457-5522

Website:
http://www.vinroom.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and conveniently located near Vin Room.

Public parking is also available at the Mission Centre (Shopper's Drug Mart)

Public Transit:
A transit stop is conveniently located in front of the building.

Executive Chef:
Diana Nacita

Private Party Facilities:
Private wine cellar and second floor buyouts are available for functions. Private rooms accommodate 2 to 100 people (with rooftop patio). Full restaurant buyout is available. Please contact Brit Hart at brit@vinroom.com

Private Party Contact:
Alan Shenton: 4034575522x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For special events or functions, contact General Manager Alan Shenton at alan@vinroom.com


Enjoy a safe ride home for you and your car. $20 for 5 km. $2/km after. Available 7 days a week

Restaurant Photos

Vin Room Mission
Vin Room Mission
Lobster Nachos
Citrus Mistress
French 75
Lamb Chops
Ribs
Lobster Salad
Vin Plate
Fish (cod) & Chips

Promotions

Exclusive driving service

Special valid May 20, 2016 - Sep 20, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Happy Hour

Special valid Jun 30, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Exclusive driving service

Special valid May 20, 2016 - Sep 20, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Enjoy a ride home for you and your car for only $20 (up to 5 km. $2/km for distances greater than 5 km).Available from open to close. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 20, 2016 - Sep 20, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Happy Hour

Special valid Jun 30, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Join us from 4-7 pm and 9 pm to close daily for our feature Happy Hour menu. $5 tapas , $6 beer and $7 wine features. Regular tapas menu also available. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 30, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Vin Room Mission Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Notable Wine List
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

notable wine list (41)
fit for foodies (35)
romantic (35)
See All
special occasion (30)
neighborhood gem (17)
good for groups (15)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Vin room to celebrate our ...

Dined 4 days ago

We went to the Vin room to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. Lovely meal as always on the rooftop patio. Service was exceptional as always too. Its a treat to come and we always return for more

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very personable and the food ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was very personable and the food fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A visit to the Vin Room is always a grea ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

A visit to the Vin Room is always a great experience. The food is excellent and the choice of wines amazing. The staff are exceptionally friendly and knowledgable about the wines. It is always a pleasure to go there for dinner.

Tags: outdoor eating, romance, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was awesome as well as wine flights ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was awesome as well as wine flights. Only complaint service was super slow. We thought our waitress might have left and the restaurant wasn't very busy. Other than that was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The wine selection was excellent and the ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The wine selection was excellent and the food delicious. Our favorite tapas selections were the pork belly, tuna and flat iron steak...very tasty! The service was very attentive and informative.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friday night date night with my husband ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Friday night date night with my husband and we were in the mood for tapas, so decided to head to the Vin Room as we hadn't been there in a couple of years. Food was amazing, it was all so tasty! We had the tuna, scallops and crab after starting with the delicious eggplant chips and topped of the meal with a fantastic dessert. The wine was wonderful too and the serving staff was great. The owner was around making sure everyone was pleased, which I'm sure they all were. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great ambiance. Sat on the patio. Was lovely.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was great. Service was a bit slow. But overall great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was unfortunately suboptimal as ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service was unfortunately suboptimal as let our server know of a food allergy which he forgot to let the kitchen know about - and then forgot to let us know about until after we had eaten the dish containing it. Also had to ask him a few times for items that he kept forgetting. Would have stayed longer for more wine as they have a great selection and prices are reasonable but the experience was soured due to the service and side effects from eating food that one of us was allergic to.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, fantastic wine & excellent service

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and are very impressed with the Mission location of Vin Room. The downstairs was very loud with a great young crowd but they had the perfect table for us upstairs in a quieter more romantic area. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the different wines, gave some recommendations based on what we like for wine and was attentive without being hovering. The owner stopped by to make sure everything was fine and to chat, very personable and you can tell she truly cares about her restaurant and her staff. The food was top notch, I have a food allergy and they were perfectly accommodating for it. They made a special occasion even more special with their level of service, excellent food and fantastic wine choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

wine and dessert

Dined on May 23, 2016

staff were very attentive and had excellent suggestions for win and dessert

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Intimate

Dined on May 22, 2016

lots of great wines to try by the glass... Without having to buy a bottle. Great ambiance ... Quiet and nicely lit. Great service and good tapas to share. Perfect for a date or group!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

A great atmosphere for a friend's get to ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

A great atmosphere for a friend's get together, great food and wine, awesome experience .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but not a lot of room to spread out.

Dined on May 14, 2016

This place was recommended to us by a friend of ours. The place was very central and had a good ambiance. It's a tight place inside with not a lot of seating area especially in the front area. Was hoping to have a table however we sat on a couch bench. That being said, the food was delicious and the wine selections were excellent. Service was very attentive as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Vin was the ideal restaurant to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Really enjoyed the ambiance and service. Nice also that the owner made the rounds and was especially warm and nice to chat with. I'll definitely be back on my next trip to Calgary.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We came for our anniversary, and had a r ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We came for our anniversary, and had a range of very good appetizers, and some very nice wines form the extensive and impressive selection. We had seats a a small table facing the bar and away from each other. There may be other parts of the establishment (such as the roof terrace) suitable for large groups, but the area we were in would not be good for more than couples. Other than the wine dispenser, we did not really have a scenic view

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server.

Dined on March 18, 2016

We were both very impressed with our waitress Isolde. I have been to Vin Room Mission many many times and she has to be the most attentive (in just the right amount and frequency) and knowledgeable wine steward I have encountered. She knew just when to show up as my date and I enjoyed our company at a very private table. She was one step ahead of us for almost every request we had. We both thoroughly enjoyed her professionalism. She's a keeper!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

albacore tuna-must try

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

albacore tuna-must try

food4
ambience2
service4

For a romantic evening, this is the plac ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

For a romantic evening, this is the place to go - very dark, very cozy. For four middle aged professionals, the dim lighting and tight tables were a bit uncomfortable. Also, if you have any mobility issues, be sure to be seated on the main level as the bathrooms are three flights of stairs down from the top dining area. The food was good - the best plate was the wild boar gnocchi. I would not recommend the lobster nachos though. Compared to the quality of the other tapas dishes, the nachos were a real let down. I would recommend Vin Room for the food and will be back for date night, with a flashlight!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Vin Room has stayed consisten ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Delicious! Vin Room has stayed consistently great over the years.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, good service and a great sel ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food, good service and a great selection of wine. The Vin Room is a great date place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food, Service and Atmosphere!

Dined on March 10, 2016

The night before our visit one of their staff called me to welcome us and see if we had any questions- impressive! :O Funky, relaxed fine dining atmosphere. We dined on a menu chosen for the Calgary Big Taste Festival with the wine pairings. Excellent appetizer, main course and dessert for a very reasonable price. Our server Lori was attentive, friendly and always on hand to serve courses, answer questions and make suggestions. All staff friendly, polite and attentive. They have a smaller tasting/meeting room downstairs (seats 16) which you can book for free with a deposit which applies to your bill. Well worth the price, will definitely be back with friends. Thanks for the hospitality!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine

Dined on March 6, 2016

Thought the whole experience was great from the moment we walked in until we left. Food was very fresh and great, the wine pairings matched up very well, service was great, atmosphere was great too. We will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Not what it used to be

Dined on February 21, 2016

Unfortunately this place has gone down hill. We were there in a group of 4 on Saturday evening, it wasn't very busy for a Saturday. We ordered two bottles of wine, and were told shortly later that they had neither and most of their list was out of stock. The food quality was good, but the portions sizing has slipped and is no longer of decent value. Large Duck plate was mostly just sauce and fill and very little actual duck.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant! They Maintain a great ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great restaurant! They Maintain a great standard.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So much fun! Table of 6 sharing our Valentine!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Oh my heck we had a great dinner, great wine and fell in love with Feebie and her staff! What a wonderful place for a romantic dinner, or with a group of friends! We will be back for more fabulous food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Quiet & cozy

Dined on February 13, 2016

I like Vin, it's one of the rare restaurants in Calgary that allows the flow of a conversation: no loud music and no eco! Warm and cozy, it's a nice neighbourhood hang out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Celebration done right!

Dined on February 13, 2016

loved our Vday celebration- this place was perfect for us, we filled up on all our favourite tapas and then a decadent chocolate torte. 2oz wines are fun cuz I got to taste sooo many :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience as always! Warm a ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

A wonderful experience as always! Warm atmosphere, great service, delicious food and a wine recommendation that worked perfectly for me! Loved it!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Late Night Spot

Dined on January 30, 2016

My GF and I went to Vin Room last Friday night at 9:00PM. We figured we would stop in on our way home for a glass of wine and some dessert. We were both extremely satisfied with the quality of the dinning room/lounge, service, drinks and food. Such a great little place in the heart of Mission! We hope this place never changes.....seasonal changes to the wine and food menu are ok ;). We look forward to our next visit. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

GREAT ATMOSPHERE, GOOD FOOD, FAIR SERVICE

Dined on January 30, 2016

I LOVE THE LAIDBACK ATMOSPHERE HERE, I NEVER FEEL RUSHED. THE FOOD IS GOOD AND MOST DISHES CAN BE ADAPTED TO PEOPLE WITH ALLERGIES. I DO FEEL IT’S OVERPRICED BUT KEEP GOING BACK WITH FRIENDS BECAUSE OF THE SELECTION AND AMBIANCE. SERVICE IS GREAT AT THE START OF THE MEAL BUT THAT DOES NOT LAST THROUGH THE EVENING. ALTHOUGH WE EXPRESSED AN INTEREST IN DESSERT WE WERE FORGOTTEN FOR AGES WHILE STAFF TOOK CARE OF NEW GUESTS. ONE OF THE OWNERS STOPPED BY FOR A CHAT AND WE FINALLY GOT DESSERT SORTED WITH HER.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

NOT 17th Ave

Dined on January 29, 2016

With the trendy restaurants on 17th being over-rated it was time for a classic. The Vin Room always serves amazing flights and their tapas menu is very good. Only feedback is their Lobster Nachos seem to be average as opposed to amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Service disappointing

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

Very disappointed in the service this evening. We have visited the Vin Room on a number of occasions in the past and while the Alberta and Calgary economy wanes, there is no excuse for slow service. I mark my time between server visits by 20 minutes or less and I can assure you they were in the range of 20 minutes plus: water request was slow to some; wines were slow to come; once we had ordered some food, there was an assumption on the server's part that we were done, but we weren't, so another long wait. I am only assuming the server was new/inexperienced.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic wine bar with delicious eats

Dined on January 23, 2016

The space is small and intimate, the wine is fantastic, the staff are helpful, and the concept is amazing. Try wine without having to buy a full bottle. Delicious charcuterie and amazing wines!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner!

Dined on January 10, 2016

The tapas menu and wine selection was great, staff were friendly and knowledgable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favourite wine bar in town!

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

The wine list might be daunting, but the staff are wonderful at picking a lovely selection of wines for a flight or two around the vino world. The service is phenomenal: the owner herself got involved when I had a minor billing error, and she resolved it promptly and was kind enough to give a small token of appreciation for bringing it to her attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New Year's Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

Had a great eve at Vin A perfect way to spend an evening with friends. Diverse wine selection and a great variety of tapas. Quiet and intimate Service was consistent and we never felt rushed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Unless you are set on what you want, lis ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Unless you are set on what you want, listen to their recommendations. Delicious every time!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing venue and service. Intimate and ...

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

Amazing venue and service. Intimate and caters to every occasion. The fireplace and romantic dim lit ambience sets the mood for a relaxing and enjoyable get together !

food5
ambience4
service5

VIN ROOM - AMAZING

Dined on November 22, 2015

I wanted to take my wife out for her birthday and decided on Vin Room. Tapas menu was varied and overall each of the dishes were terrific. The chef's meat and cheese tray was fabulous and the duck was great. When we sat down we were greeted by, and chatted with, the owner. The wine list allowed for over 100 varieties that are available for a 2 oz. tasting - which we found made for a better experience. The staff were extremely attentive. We really enjoyed ourselves and I give it my highest recommendation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.