About Village Tavern Greensboro

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Casual (36)
Great for Lunch (36)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Fireplace (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Great for Brunch (25)
Comfort Food (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Bar Seating (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (15)
Fun (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Romantic (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Great Beer (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Family Style (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Authentic (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Amazing service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

One of my most favorite restaurants in the Triad. Always a good and tasty experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Not sure having reservations gave us any advantage. Our party of six still had to wait 20 minutes. Good variety on the menu insured everyone got something to their liking. Food was good to very good depending on who you asked. Some of the dishes were only warm which we chalked up to their trying to serve the entrees to all six at one time. Waiter was very busy and we were never offered refills on any drinks, even the water. The noise level was pretty high, but I suppose that's to be expected on a Saturday night at a very popular restaurant. Might not be my first choice next time, but would certainly consider it again, maybe with a smaller group, earlier in the evening, and on a week night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Had reservation through Open Table for 7:30PM. Upon arrival was told by the Hostess (Manager) that they were running behind - said they had " a lot of people that were not getting up". She said it would be 15 minutes. We waited 45. Things started poorly - we ordered calamari for appetizer and were told they were out - mind you 8:15 or so on a Saturday night. We ordered the 3 Trout dinners - have had them a number of times and have always been happy. This time, not so much. The glazed was bland and did not have the usual char that adds so much to the dishes flavor.

Finally, the service. the food came out quickly - but the server was low to deliver follow up items and it took a long time to get the check. While waiting, a lady with a Trainer badge came by I asked if she could get our check. She basically ignored me; did not make eye contact or acknowledge me.

I seriously hope this is an aberration, we have always have a good meal and time here, but this was not.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Had a Saturday night reservation at 7:15, upon arrival we were told running about 10 minutes behind, understandable, but after 25 minutes we were getting a little upset. We were not seated until 8:00. Did not see our waiter for 10 minutes, very apologetic, but after the tenth time of saying I'm sorry you are just truly annoyed now. The atmosphere is anything but quiet and relaxing. It is very noisy & chaotic. People were dressed as if going to a fast food restaurant. We came here before & it use to be a more upscale restaurant. The dress code was more business casual , lights were dimmer & noise level was not as bad. Food was not terrible , but nothing to rave over. All in all we were quite disappointed. We had hoped to book again for a birthday party, but have decided to go somewhere else instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We arrived at 6:57 p.m. for our reservation at 7:15 p.m. and was told that we would be seated by 7:15 p.m. or shortly after. I inquired at 7:30 p.m. on the delay and was informed that only 1 reservation was before our party being seated. After receiving that information, we (my party and I) observed 4 different parties being seated prior to us. Finally, we were seated at 7:40 p.m..

We were highly dissatisfied with our overall dining experience. At this point, I would not recommend this restaurant to family or friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good. Service was horrible. Glasses of water stayed empty. Scheduled reservations for 7:30pm. Showed up at 7:25pm. Didn't sit down till 8:00pm. Watched a couple walk right in & sit down at a booth in the bar section. Confronted the hostess about it & got rejected/Denied. Was told I was lying. Total disrespect for the customer. We will NOT being going back to the Village Tavern in Greensboro, NC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a 6:15 reservation but were not seated until 6:30. Food was awesome and the very best of servers, Alex. She was very attentive and personable. We love Village Tavern for every occasion and was very lucky to have gotten a table on Valentines.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

We like take our older friend here after church on Sundays. She loves the excellent crab cake appetizer and we always order that. The fries were great; service was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome brunch! Food and service were fantastic. We ate outside on the patio, which was a great atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food & service - we will return for more! Great place for Valentine's Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fireplace, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food! Great service by our waiter, Alex! Village Tavern is my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good as usual. Had asked for a quiet table because it was our anniversary, but were seated next to the wait staff station (where they enter orders and otherwise chit-chat...) as well as next to a table with small children. Not exactly what I would have thought qualified as a "quiet table."

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time dining at Village Tavern but it won't be our last. The service was outstanding and the food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Enjoyed our meal! Service was excellent. Nicely accommodated one member of our party's dietary limitations. Especially loved the Pimento Cheese appetizer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

It such a pretty day yesterday and we wanted to eat lunch outside and the hostess was kind a hesitant to accommodate us even though we had reservation especially for a big party. It was a first visit for some of the group who lives locally and that set-back did not make a good impression. It would have not taken a lot of time to put together the tables but her reaction was not pleasant. This was the only bad feedback I would provide everything else was awesome.

Thank you.

Grace Valencia

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Quick Bite, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was our first time both for us and our friends. The food was very good to great. We each had something different and all of us very much liked our choices. We definitely will return.

Besides having a great meal the service was exceptional. Wish I could mentioned his name but it was so noisy that I did not hear what he said. Even with not having his name we were never left for more than a few minutes without his checking on our water and or anything else we may need.

Okay, I need to mention the one and only negative for the entire dining experience and that is your coffee. YUK!!! We all had a cup, and it was terrible. But that won't stop us from returning.....Thanks for a great meal....

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Enjoyed the chicken and waffles on the brunch menu. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was EXCELLENT!!! Our server was Sean S and he went above and beyond fire every table he had. He was personable, friendly, attentive, and made great recommendations. I will ask for him every single time. Food was very good and the manager checked in with us as well. Normally in restaurants that always feels forced and obligatory but she was very genuine!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

It was our first time dining and definitely will not be our last. The food was great and our waitress was amazing!! Five stars all the way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Eat here at least once per week. Everything always consistently good and great service. Love Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was a birthday dinner.

Fondue was not hot enough to be called fondue, it was rather like a cheese dip.

Flat bread was too chewy as if it was 2 days old.

Veggie burger was sweet and that was the only flavor in it, patty was tasteless.

After this we didn't have any courage to check desserts!

Go to Cheesecake Factory instead if looking for a chain restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Eat here at least once a week. Always consistent and good. Highly recommend. Good value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Consistent food quality. Dependable place to go for an acceptable meal at an acceptable price. Personally I had Fish & Chips which I normally order. They could have used another minute cooking. Not quite done but I ate them anyway. I have never an extraordinary meal at VT but I have never had a bad meal either. Server was excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a 7:15 reservation and did not get seated until 7:35. Need to improve that.

Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on January 17, 2017

This is probably my 10 time dining at Green Valley Grill. The menu never disappoints and the food and service are always top notch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Village Tavern always has good food. It was a cool Saturday night and the fireplace was not on which took away from the ambience. Also, very cool at our table (in the 50's) which detracted from the overall experience.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very enjoyable, but had to wait 40 minutes with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

First off- we waited for 20 extra minutes past our reservation in a heavily crowded area. Uncool, but I'll give it to them, they were very busy.

They have a lot of items on the menu. If you have a hard time making a decision, I recommend reviewing the menu online before you go.

The noise level was high. It was very crowded. Just be aware that's the environment if you go on Saturday night. We could barely hear each other from across the table.

The food was all on point. Absolutely delicious. My soup probably should have been a little warmer when served. My nephew was in heaven eating the fish and chips and my husband thoroughly enjoyed the flank steak. My seared ahi tuna was also perfect.

Once finally seated, service was excellent, especially with respect to how busy it was. Alex was our server and he was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great place for a late lunch! Use the Open Table to ensure that you get a table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Another delightful dining experience with friends --- good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food great service good prices.Will return again to enjoy the entire process with friends and family

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

The VT has been around for years. Its longevity can be credited to consistently good food & good service. The menu has plenty of variety, so it's easy for friends, family & colleagues to find something they enjoy. The prices are reasonable for the quality & quantity of the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was so impressed that the restaurant had a separate gluten free menu. We had 2 fish dishes, flank steak and pork chops. All turned out to be very good. The Malbec was a great recommendation. Will get there again

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Village Tavern was great as always. It's always nice to visit a place with a gluten free menu (instead of searching the regular menu & quizzing the server). The pimento cheese deviled eggs are worth the trip!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

I love this place. They have consistently for years had quality food great service very attentive to my needs. I highly recommend Village Tavern to anyone

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Seems like Village Tavern was a little off their game. The Thai Chicken Salad was soaked in dressing and so soggy at the bottom my daughter couldn't eat it. Definitely ask for dressing on the side. The chicken on the Chicken Spinach Salad was a little tough and the muffin was overcooked and hard. The crab dip appetizer was delicious, as always. Our server was very attentive and the food came out relatively quick.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

We are a group of girls who graduated 65 years ago together in the same high school class (1951 GSHS) and we get together for lunch once a month. We always look forward to when the Village Tavern comes around in out list of restaurants we visit In fact we always have the best attendance on that day. Love it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was good food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Samantha gave great service! The food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time user of open table. Actually seated before reservation. Special request for a booth was honored. We had a fantastic server. Even with a crowded restaurant we were in and out in under an hour. Would definitely use Open Table in the future and will definitely be back to Village Tavern. Been dining there for over 10 years now.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great place for a family gathering. Used the Open Table App to make a reservation and bypassed all those waiting w/o a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Made a request for a certain table because of the size of the party and handicapped husband. Table was set up and ready for us despite the fact the restaurant was packed. Wonderful manager and staff. Checked back often to be sure we had everything we needed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We love Village Tavern for its varied menu which offers something for every taste. This time was no exception. The food we ordered was very simple but prepared extremely well and served on time--this on a day when the restaurant was very full and I could see waitresses literally running in and out of the kitchen to keep up. I continue to be impressed with how well VT is run.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Village Tavern is always a great dinning experience ,with great food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

The sides(green beans and rice) were almost cold when my plate was set down in front of me and the salmon was a little scorched on one side. The desserts are not what they used to be either.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was delicious! Always the best crab cake. 1/2 price wine make it even better

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.