Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

About Village Tavern Greensboro

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
See All
Great for Lunch (50)
Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Great for Brunch (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Comfort Food (31)
Fun (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Cozy (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Business Meals (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Romantic (15)
Quick Bite (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Healthy (12)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Fireplace (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Live Music (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great Beer (7)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Seasonal (5)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Always great at VT! There was a pungent odor at the front entrance. I mentioned it to the hostess. It was very off putting.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Ordered the spinach appetizer salad. Always order that but dressing seemed too heavy on it this time. But, of course, that won't stop me from coming back. Food is always delicious and it is a great place to dine!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food and service were both exceptional! I will definitely be returning!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was extremely slow. Table for 6 on Sunday after church. We were there an hour and a half. The restaurant was not that busy. There were empty tables and booths.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was okay and service good with fair pricing. But just "okay" food is really a disappointment based on my expectations for a restaurant if this type.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was outstanding. Bloody Mary was awesome. Service was wonderful, our waitress was very attentive and super sweet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We've been customers of the Village Tavern, both in Greensboro and Winston Salem for years. Food is always good, consistent and priced fairly. Atmosphere is good - great place overall, but the service during this visit was lacking. Not sure if our server had too many larger groups or what, but service was slow and weak. It also seemed the kitchen was backed up and slow. It appeared a few other tables seemed "restless" in waiting for their food, bread and beverage refills.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice dinner with family for my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

Village tavern is an awesome place to take friends and family. I enjoy myself every time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 10, 2017

As always....a very pleasant experience! Requests before arriving were granted!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 8, 2017

There was a huge crowd there at 7:30 when we arrived. There were quite a few waiting to be seated. They were still able to get us fed and out by 8:30. Nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I took my favorite girl there to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The greeting from the hostesses to the service by Brandie, to the food, was exceptional! I've found the Village Tavern is consistently one of, if not THE, best in Greensboro. I highley recommend The Village Tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Quick seat in bar area; no need to wait. Wait staff helpful and attentive. Spaghetti squash with zucchini and tomatoes always a favorite. Great selection of wine.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is a favorite of ours and we have enjoyed it for years, especially when the weather is conducive to outside dining. However, this night, the service was well below par. The waiter didn't know what the special was, didn't know the price, didn't offer to check, even when we asked him to do so. One entree salad arrived missing the requested salmon and it took way too long to correct the error. Others in the party were more than half through with their meals when it was finally delivered. Disappointed in a spot that seldom disappoints.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a great night and loved sitting out on the patio. We never go wrong at the Village Tavern!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 4, 2017

another delightful dining experience with friends -- good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Food and service is always great our server was excellent as well as the drinks. Thanks for a great birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Consistently good food and service, portions are nice as well and the menu is extensive.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Celebrating a friend's "Milestone" birthday with 3 in our party. After narrowing our wine selection down to 2, our attentive waiter went to the bar and brought us tastes of each for our final decision. Food is exceptional and the service is as well. The atmosphere is cozy, yet allows room for table conversation.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Always a great experience. The service and food are always good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Family Brunch..used Open Table, immediate seating for our reservation time. Loved the new 'OK to Drink Earlier on Sunday'...$2.00 off per brunch drink menu. Granddaughter loved the new Chicken & waffles options. Waiter was able to accomodate a special request.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Lunch after church. Good food and service ok but became less and less good when meal moved along. Took awhile for food and waitress offered bread but later found out it was a charge and never mentioned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch. The bloody mary was Great!! However, the chicken and waffles was a small waffle and tasteless chicken tenders. Not my idea of a great dish, and definitely overpriced at $11. No kids menu for brunch was disappointing as they have an excellent kids menu at lunch and dinner. The service was not outstanding. My husband's plate came without one of his sides. My husband was halfway through his meal before he got his forgotten side. My request for butter for my waffle took a very long time as well. But the patio is a beautiful setting and there are other menu items that I would like to try.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The Village Tavern never disappoints. The food is excellent and our server Justin was too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

There are a lot of good restaurants in Greensboro, many which are new; however VT is the standard bearer for fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great restaurant. We enjoyed everything we had. Reservation was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The last 2 visits to the Village Tavern we experienced mediocre service, which we thought was unusual. This trip we enjoyed better service, but the food was another story. 2 of our party have severe allergies. The server did note this on the ticket & said he also told the kitchen staff. 1 dish was fine, but the other contained mushrooms which were specifically mentioned as an allergen. The dish was replaced, but halfway through, a piece of mushroom was found on the plate. No harm done this time m but we will not be returning. Too bad, because we used to eat there regularly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Every Wed. 😎

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The indoor seating had a bit of a musty odor, so we requested and were moved to the patio seating where it was very nice.

The Sashimi Tuna, and Bacon Wrapped Scallops were very good, and the entrees were good, though one, a medium filet came out with no pink at all.

I personally enjoy a good porter or stout beer with my dinner, and there were none on the menu which was a bit disappointing.

But overall, we enjoyed the meal and would recommend to others.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We love the outdoor dining with fans to cool us off. I'm a big fan of the lunch prime rib.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great . Good service, food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always love the food at the Village Tavern! Great outdoor dining too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Super noisy!! Good was excellent. Easier was very nice, but ancillary staff brought our meals in before even cleaning of our dishes from our appetizers. They stood there with our food and asked us to move our plates.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent, as expected. Love the food; waitstaff is attentive. Judy, the manager, comes by to be sure we have everything we need. Will be back soon on a Wednesday for 1/2 off wine! 🍷

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food is always delicious and the service is great. Very reasonably priced for the quality of food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We live right around the corner and it is very convenient for us. Love the food and all about it. Probably will be earring with you on Sarurday night, 7/15/17.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Go to spot when family or friends are in town. Great food and drinks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 9, 2017

There were 12 people in our group. The Village Tavern did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We were celebrating friends getting engaged. Our waitress went above and beyond to make it wonderful. Lovely fun evening

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Another wonderful dining experience -- good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.