Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

About Village Tavern Greensboro

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (59)
Good for a Date (57)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (55)
Special Occasion (48)
Great for Lunch (47)
Good for Groups (44)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Great for Brunch (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Comfort Food (32)
Fun (30)
Bar Seating (26)
Cozy (25)
Business Meals (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fireplace (20)
Happy Hour (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Romantic (16)
Healthy (14)
Authentic (14)
Quick Bite (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Family Style (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great Beer (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Live Music (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Scenic View (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

40th wedding anniversary

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Love this restaurant. I used to go there all the time when I lived there long time ago and so glad to see it still open and just a great.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Underrated by some; excellent food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful visit to Village. Music was playing on the patio, but we opted for inside. It happened to be half-price wine night which was an added value. I enjoyed the Tavern salad. Truly outstanding salad. My guest had the Caesar salad and enjoyed it. We split the Chilean sea bass. A wonderfully tasty dish with good sides of spinach and sticky rice. Wished we lived closer.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We enjoyed Father's Day lunch at Village Tavern: variety of menu choices available, including new brunch items; courteous and extra fast service; delicious food; and great value. We can always count on VT!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The restaurant is bustling with activity on a Sunday afternoon and the Hostesses and waiters were very attentive. We had a booking made through Open Table but were told that we could go and sit in the bar lounge without a wait.
I had a Bloody Mary to start off with and this was made well and priced fairly. The Tavern Special Poached Eggs with Siracha sauce was outstanding and I would definitely recommend it.
My daughter had chicken with waffles and she said it was fine. I took a take-out of a Thai chicken salad, which my wife thought was average. She found there was not enough of salad dressing provided and overall it was just passable.
My overall experience was positive and I have booked a table for 10, the next week, when we have visitors from Ohio. I believe the Village Tavern does give a authentic and positive impression of cuisine in Greensboro, NC.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Another wonderful dining experience with friends. Good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Cozy, Quick Bite, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Very slow today. We were there over 2 hours. The "special" was a tiny portion. It'll probably be a long time before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The two of us had all the time that we needed to talk over old times and enjoy a delicious meal and a glass of wine. We did not feel rushed or made to feel as if we were taking a table that our waiter needed to turn over.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I eat here a lot, but they took my favorite thing off the menu, the Chicken Street Tacos, and replaced them with Oyster Tacos. I don't get it because they already have Fish Tacos and Shrimp Tacos...so now all the Street Tacos are seafood only. Bad move in my opinion.
I ended up having a flank steak sandwich (which was good), but the pasta salad side was super boring - like no flavor at all. My other complaint is that I put in my reservation notes (through Open Table) that we were celebrating my sister's birthday, but they failed to acknowledge that in any way. So I will still eat here, but definitely much less often.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Always an outstanding meal. Food and service is consistently excellent with every visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 5, 2017

It was my parents 63 wedding anniversary. Our waitress was fantastic.,

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had a great experience celebrating our friend's birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I had made a reservation for Sunday brunch for 4, and we were seated promptly when we arrived. Our waiter was very friendly & helpful, with suggestions about which foods to try from each part of the menu. We got breakfast bowls, a waffle, a cheeseburger and an omelet, and the food was really good all around, with the sweet potato fries and grits being standouts. The glazed bacon was a bit too sticky for our tastes. The patio seats lots of people, and the tables filled up while we were there, but we never found it too noisy. Great brunch experience.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Noise level terrible..detracts from enjoyment of dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 21, 2017

First visit to The Village Tavern was pleasant. We were looking for a special place to celabrate a wedding anniversary. The service was very friendly and helpful. the menu and specials were explained with care and detail. Questions asked were answered with courtesy and accuracy. the food was well prepared and perfectly seasoned. Portion size was good and price point made our meal an excellent value. Many menu choices are available. All in all a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always enjoy eating there. Food as well as service is great! Parking sometimes a problem. Valet would be nice!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were in the area for our son's graduation from Elon and we were looking for Sunday Brunch and we were delighted with everything !

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I made a reservation and met a couple of friends who I hadn't seen for many years. They had a table ready for us exactly as I had requested. Very personable hostess and server. The server was prompt and attentive, but not overbearing and gave us plenty of time to converse without interruption. Great atmosphere, everything was cooked perfectly...even my rare burger which was delicious. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Perfect dining experience that served as a great environment for my friends. I couldn't he happier with the experience. Great job guys! -Joe

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Best crab cake in town! Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Dined with 7 people with a reservation on Mothers Day at 7pm. Waited 10 mins at a nice bar before being seated. Plenty of great beer on tap choices.

Service was prompt, efficient and friendly. We had Prime Rib, fish tacos, shrimp scampi and more. All served TOGETHER. Every diner loved their food. The vegetables were fresh, hot and seasoned perfectly. Our drinks and water glasses were always filled. We shared 3 monster desserts that were delicious.

The price was very reasonable. This place is GREAT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good as always. Reservations were made at 3:30 and I guess that it the change over time from brunch to dinner, so we had to wait almost 20 min. Not really a big deal, just wish I knew that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a 3:30 pm reservation. We arrived at 2;45 pm and asked if we could be seated early. We were told it would be about a 10 minute wait. At 3:28 pm, I asked the hostess why we hadn't been seated. With a less than pleasant demeanor she stated that she had been instructed not to seat anyone except reservations because the kitchen was converting to the dinner menu. I was disturbed because I explained upon arrival that we had driven an hour to the restaurant. I should have been told upon arrival about the kitchen conversion. We were seated at 3:35 pm. The menu had good selections. I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass. It had a good presentation and I must say tasted delicious. The quality of the food almost made up for the unpleasant wait. I will probably return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my wife for Mother's Day and we both thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The only issue I would say that they had was that the food was amazing but there wasn't that much of it.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Being Mother's day we were expecting noise and lots of people - which proved to be the case. Mom got the prime rib and said it had a lot of fat, more so than usual.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was mother's days .. as always ... amazing

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Family Style, Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We're longtime village tavern diners; it gets better; service is fantastic; also has a great Sunday brunch. Food is way underrated in greensboro. I much prefer it to Fleming's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place for a Mother's Day celebration! Remember to use the Open Table App to make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always great tasting food with wonderful service even though busy at times. Love the outdoor area with stone fireplace! The cocktail specials are fun for trying new drinks. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went here this past Sunday for Mother's Day and it was PACKED due to the holiday and College graduations. Travis was our served and he was wonderful - polite, quick and knowledgeable! We had a lovely lunch.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was excellent. The wine was wonderful. The Red Oak beer is locally brewed and was very tasty. The service was prompt and attentive. All in all, a great dining experience.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This restaurant consistently delivers high quality dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Amazing 10th anniversary dinner! Food was spectacular! Thank you

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Always excellent and top drawer service. Consistent quality and pleasant atmosphere

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Relaxed environment, great service and awesome food.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Overall good. We asked if we could sit at a booth. Was told there were none available. As we were being seated, we could see there were at least 3-4 empty booths. Disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I love their Prime rib sandwich but they were all out of prime rib on a Monday. So I ordered the fried oyster taco ..... horrible and a waste of time. Just order the fried oysters separately. It was a bare taco with 2 oysters in it. Bland rice and bland black beans served on the side. What a disappointment!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.