About Village Tavern Greensboro

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Blackened Fish Tacos - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Ragin' Cajun Burger - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Tuscan Chips - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Grilled Thai Chicken Skewers - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Spinach Salad - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Warm Chocolate Torte - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Barbecue Chicken Pizza - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Fish Taco - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Shrimp Risotto - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Spinach Dip - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Prime Rib - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Stuffed Flounder - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Comfort Food (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fireplace (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Business Meals (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Fun (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (9)
Great Beer (9)
Healthy (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Family Style (3)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Village Tavern always has good food. It ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Village Tavern always has good food. It was a cool Saturday night and the fireplace was not on which took away from the ambience. Also, very cool at our table (in the 50's) which detracted from the overall experience.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First off- we waited for 20 extra minute ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

First off- we waited for 20 extra minutes past our reservation in a heavily crowded area. Uncool, but I'll give it to them, they were very busy.

They have a lot of items on the menu. If you have a hard time making a decision, I recommend reviewing the menu online before you go.

The noise level was high. It was very crowded. Just be aware that's the environment if you go on Saturday night. We could barely hear each other from across the table.

The food was all on point. Absolutely delicious. My soup probably should have been a little warmer when served. My nephew was in heaven eating the fish and chips and my husband thoroughly enjoyed the flank steak. My seared ahi tuna was also perfect.

Once finally seated, service was excellent, especially with respect to how busy it was. Alex was our server and he was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for a late lunch! Use the O ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for a late lunch! Use the Open Table to ensure that you get a table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another delightful dining experience wit ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Another delightful dining experience with friends --- good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Healthy,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food great service good prices.Wil ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food great service good prices.Will return again to enjoy the entire process with friends and family

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was so impressed that the restaurant h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was so impressed that the restaurant had a separate gluten free menu. We had 2 fish dishes, flank steak and pork chops. All turned out to be very good. The Malbec was a great recommendation. Will get there again

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, , Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Village Tavern was great as always. It's ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Village Tavern was great as always. It's always nice to visit a place with a gluten free menu (instead of searching the regular menu & quizzing the server). The pimento cheese deviled eggs are worth the trip!

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this place. They have consistentl ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I love this place. They have consistently for years had quality food great service very attentive to my needs. I highly recommend Village Tavern to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seems like Village Tavern was a little o ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Seems like Village Tavern was a little off their game. The Thai Chicken Salad was soaked in dressing and so soggy at the bottom my daughter couldn't eat it. Definitely ask for dressing on the side. The chicken on the Chicken Spinach Salad was a little tough and the muffin was overcooked and hard. The crab dip appetizer was delicious, as always. Our server was very attentive and the food came out relatively quick.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We are a group of girls who graduated 65 ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We are a group of girls who graduated 65 years ago together in the same high school class (1951 GSHS) and we get together for lunch once a month. We always look forward to when the Village Tavern comes around in out list of restaurants we visit In fact we always have the best attendance on that day. Love it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was good food and good service.

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was good food and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Samantha gave great service! The food wa ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Samantha gave great service! The food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time user of open table. Actually ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

First time user of open table. Actually seated before reservation. Special request for a booth was honored. We had a fantastic server. Even with a crowded restaurant we were in and out in under an hour. Would definitely use Open Table in the future and will definitely be back to Village Tavern. Been dining there for over 10 years now.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a family gathering. Use ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great place for a family gathering. Used the Open Table App to make a reservation and bypassed all those waiting w/o a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a request for a certain table becau ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Made a request for a certain table because of the size of the party and handicapped husband. Table was set up and ready for us despite the fact the restaurant was packed. Wonderful manager and staff. Checked back often to be sure we had everything we needed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Village Tavern for its varied me ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We love Village Tavern for its varied menu which offers something for every taste. This time was no exception. The food we ordered was very simple but prepared extremely well and served on time--this on a day when the restaurant was very full and I could see waitresses literally running in and out of the kitchen to keep up. I continue to be impressed with how well VT is run.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Village Tavern is always a great dinning ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Village Tavern is always a great dinning experience ,with great food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The sides(green beans and rice) were alm ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The sides(green beans and rice) were almost cold when my plate was set down in front of me and the salmon was a little scorched on one side. The desserts are not what they used to be either.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It was delicious! Always the best crab ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was delicious! Always the best crab cake. 1/2 price wine make it even better

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super place to dine..a little too loud, ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Super place to dine..a little too loud, but it was before the Holidays

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place to meet friends!

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great place to meet friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Village Tavern is our favorite place for ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Village Tavern is our favorite place for lunch or dinner, so we decided to try brunch for breakfast after church. We were disappointed.

I purchased a waffle. It wasn't hot or very warm, more like not cold, and did not seem freshly cooked. I'd call it tough. Not terrible, but not good and more like a big eggo waffle. I wondered if it had been pre-made and sitting in a heater tray or something. I've liked waffles you make yourself at a hotel better. My husband tried a segment and agreed, he didn't care for it.

My husband purchased the Egg's Benedict, and he said it wasn't bad, but not worth the price. To be fair, we go to breakfast almost every Saturday, so we've tried a lot of breakfast places and have found our go to breakfast places. My husband is used to having a bit of spinach in his benedicts, and despite several choices, nothing really matched up to what he wanted, ham, spinach, on english muffin.

I was disappointed there was no bacon and eggs type of choice.

I'm thinking breakfast is just not VT's forte, and we expected too much because we love it for other meals. We've had worse, but it's not a good value for price to us. We'll stick to lunch and dinner from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Made reservations days ahead and was hop ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Made reservations days ahead and was hoping for a decent table. Had to wait and then had a table right next to kitchen and was very noisy. The waitress was not very informative and waiting tables is not her calling. That being said the food was amazing. It was crowded because of the holidays and I'm chalking the waitress up to youth and inexperience. I would go back and eat here again. Food always superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

Another excellent night for my wife and ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Another excellent night for my wife and I. It is close to our home and we know the food is great. I had the Caesar with grilled chicken (as always) and my wife had the shrimp and grits. We both believe these two dishes are the best you can find anywhere. We were happy to have Carrie for our server. We had her the last time and she is great. Lots of fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time to the Village Tavern, and de ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

First time to the Village Tavern, and definitely not the last! Absolutely surpassed my expectations. We went to Greensboro for early Christmas (Trans-Siberian Orchestra) and we came here off of a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed and it is on my list of things to do again! We both had a steak, mac and cheese, and the garlic mashed potatoes. Great place and I could go on and on, but you go and be surprised like we were!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always classy! Reservation was on time a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always classy! Reservation was on time as scheduled.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another delightful lunch dining with fri ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Another delightful lunch dining with friends. Good Food, Good Service, Reasonable Prices.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, , Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had 5 people in our party, including ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We had 5 people in our party, including one tween. The 2 men were especially happy with their prime rib dinners, while the ladies enjoyed everything from calamari and scallop appetizers to clam chowder and Tavern salad, to chicken and pasta. The menu appeals to a variety of ages and tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the prime rib sandwich, always good ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Love the prime rib sandwich, always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for brunch on a Sunday after church ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went for brunch on a Sunday after church. It did not disappoint.

Food was delicious and service was excellent.

Looking forward to going back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have been going to Village Tavern sin ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have been going to Village Tavern since it opened and have never had a complaint. Our last visit was not good.could be because it was Thanksgiving weekend, but that shouldn't matter. The food I ordered was the problem. The Thai chicken salad, which I have ordered many times, was very different. The chicken was from a package this time and there were very few vegetables in it. It was very much like a Harris Teeter packaged salad with very cold packaged chicken thrown in. They previously used the same chicken that they use in the Thai chicken skewers, which is wonderful. Very disappointing to pay 13 dollars for a horrible salad. Will never order this again, but am also not excited about going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Love VT. my favorite restaurant Greensbo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Love VT. my favorite restaurant Greensboro. Been going regularly since the doors opened 20-+years. My son was one of the first bartenders.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress came over immediately after bei ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Waitress came over immediately after being seated, despite the crowded house. Received our drinks very quickly. Appetizers came out very shortly. Meal was excellent. Great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food and service were very good, jus ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food and service were very good, just what I've come to expect from Village Tavern over the many years I've frequented this spot. They must be new to Open Table, because the hostess forgot to register my arrival and I got a "did not keep reservation" email instead of this one that requests a review. It was a bit inconvenient for me, but I'm sure that's a learning curve and will get better over time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Another awesome get together at Village ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Another awesome get together at Village Tavern! Everything was perfect - especially our waiter who knew 4 ladies had a lot to say! Food was delicious and served quickly. Wonderful catching up with old friends in such a perfect neighborhood setting. Thanks again Village Tavern! We'll see you next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from George. The food was ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service from George. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, impeccable service! Jordan ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food, impeccable service! Jordan is a great server!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BEST MAC AND CHEESE SIDE ORDER I HAVE EV ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

BEST MAC AND CHEESE SIDE ORDER I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with manager and spouse. Waiter w ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Dinner with manager and spouse. Waiter was outstanding. Food was excellent. Seating a little tight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.