Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

About Village Tavern Greensboro

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Great for Lunch (50)
Casual (48)
See All
Good for Birthdays (41)
Good for Groups (41)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Great for Brunch (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Fireplace (33)
Bar Seating (28)
Comfort Food (28)
Cozy (24)
Business Meals (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Romantic (16)
Family Style (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Fun (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Healthy (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Great Beer (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Live Music (6)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

As always everything was very good and fresh. One of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Could not have had a better dinner and service. They had run out of prime rib but the ribeye was cooked perfectly. My second time there. Go there each time I'm in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a tremendous meal and great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Great time with old college friends!!! Food and service were wonderful!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed our evening. They placed us in a half circle both in a corner.. only complaint was I noticed my husband was charged for two ice teas. I would exspect this in NYC, but not Greensboro..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Salmon dinner and crab cakes were delicious and a great price! Super friendly and attentive staff, truly excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Love the food here! It's a little pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It's our go-to restaurant where we know we'll always get very good food, as well as very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is first time I have had a complaint. I was there the day before and the person I was with ordered black beans. They were exceptional. The next day he ordered black beans again. They were not nearly as good. His fries were sent back because they were not fresh twice. Finally, got it right. In spite of this, it is probably my favorite spot for brunch, lunch, or dinner. Just thought you should know.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Village Tavern has been around for a "long" time and is consistently providing good food, a lovely atmosphere and good service. We especially enjoy Sunday Brunch and highly recommend patronizing the restaurant for a myriad of occasions.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We frequent this Village Tavern and have never disappointed. This time something was definitely off. It was a prom night but we were there at 5:30 well before the crowds and maybe that was the problem. Our entrees (prime rib and steak au poivre) were just ok when usually they are amazing. Our side dishes were a big disappointment. I was craving the macaroni and cheese which is usually to die for. It was awful, noodles weren't cooked and the there was no sauce. When I complained to the server, he agreed and just removed the dollar upcharge. That is also not the service I am accustomed to at Village Tavern. The broccoli and green beans were not good either. I hope this is just an isolated incident. We will try again but not for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Beautiful day on the patio celebrating a dear friend's birthday!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 17, 2017

4-17-17. Birthday lunch. Always good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took my son and his girlfriend there for Easter. They are college students so I wanted to do something nice. The food was excellent. I am going back for Mother's Day- I live in Pennsylvania!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I made a reservation but arrived early. I was seated promptly a few minutes before my time. Wait staff was excellent and food great as usual. Did not have a long wait for food to be delivered and everyone's order came out at the same time. This is our go to restaurant for all special occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went to the Village Tavern for Brunch on Easter Sunday. There was 6 of us. Everybody had something different and it was all good. Kevin was our waiter and he did a nice job. Even though it was Easter and the restaurant was very busy the food and service was awesome......

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food is always good!! Friendly employees..some of the staff just didn't get items asked for..2 times..

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food here is normally good. I love the cheese fondue and vegetables for an appetizer. I would not recommend the chicken tenders and waffles. The spinach salad is great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant with great food and service. The only complaints were if I make a reservation my expectation is that I don't get a pager and have to wait and it was really loud. It was very busy so maybe I'm being too harsh.

Tags: Spicy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Really great restaurant with a lot of options, good for everyone if you have a group of picky eaters. All of the food tastes good, a great place if you want some standard and simple American food.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Kudos to George the waiter for his professional demeanor and his attention to detail. He made everyone at our table feel special by meeting every request. Give that young man a raise!! (Smile)

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Another wonderful dining experience -- good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The fish was amazing. My steak came out over cooked but they brought me another one. Nothing special about this place. Would probably return for the seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food and service was amazing! Our server was very attentive and checked in frequently to make sure we always had what we needed!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fantastic menu and service ! The food is very good and unique environment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 6, 2017

There was a small hiccup with the seating. It really wasn't the restaurants fault that they treat you so well you just don't want to leave so our table wasn't ready when we got there. We really didn't mind the wait. My food was just okay. My crab cake tasted just a little bit old and was slightly dry. I just had it perfect 2 days ago so I know this isn't normal but still not bad. My guest's meals were absolutely perfect and that's really all that mattered. Our server Jessica was amazing totally made up for my meal being just a little off. I didn't say anything to them about the problem but that was because I didn't want the hassle of dealing with the manager. I just wanted to spend the time with my friends uninterrupted. All in all we had a great visit and I can promise I'll be back whenever I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Village Tavern never disappoints. Great that they take reservations.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My wife and I love Village Tavern. Our food is always good and the wait staff is always prompt, courteous, and professional. As expected, our food was great... our waiter, Sean, however, was outstanding! A tough thing to do, given the consistently high level of service we have come to experience! We look forward to our next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed The Village Tavern. I attended the first time with my wife as we were on our "date night". Open Table ranked VT in the Top 4 for hardest places in Greensboro to get a reservation. We had a wonderful time and will definitely attend again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Consistently good food and service at a reasonable price.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our waitress Laura was excellent. She was very busy, as expected for a Saturday evening, but she made our party of 7 feel like we were her only customers. The patio was great and the food was excellent. One of the best Delmonico steaks I've ever had. Seasoned perfectly and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Eaten there so many times and while it's still an "OK" place to eat there is nothing special about it. Today was not so special. The batter on my Fish N Chips was overcooked while the fish inside was not done. Another guest had a 12 oz Prime Rib and it was chewy, stringy and flavorless. Could not cut it with a knife. Literally had to pull it apart. Bread served was cold and dried out. It always appears to me that speed is more important than preparation. The only thing good about VT now is that you can always get in and get out quickly....if that's acceptable to you. Place is TIRED!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I recommend VT for almost any occasion - family with small kids, large/small groups, intimate dates, or even to pop in for a refreshing drink or tasty meal in between running errands on a Saturday afternoon. The food is flavorful, filling, a fun delight to the senses! The atmosphere is lively yet relaxed, and welcomes one to enjoy an unhurried meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Never disappointed with food or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Predictably good food and service. Nice variety well prepared. Great waitress!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This is our new go to restaurant especially for steak. It easily beats the big chain expensive steakhouses in taste and price. The prime rib is my choice. Always cooked perfectly and tender. My husband is in love with the steak Au poivre. He could eat it everyday. The macaroni and cheese is delicious but should be called cheese and macaroni. It is so good! The creme brulee' made me a believer!
The level of service depends on your server. Never bad, just sometimes not as attentive as I would like. It is loud and very crowded so reservations are the way to go.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our food was delicious. Our wait staff were accommodating, with just the right mixture of attention and privacy. We had a delightful evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great place to enjoy. Love it here. Always come at least 1 every 2 weeks.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was great - love half price wine night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Service excellent! Food delicious! Drink special was good! Just need the make sure not to run out of Snapper Hemingway so much! One of my fav dishes! But there's so much tO choose from I'll just come back! Lol

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.