Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

About Village Tavern Greensboro

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Casual (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
See All
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for Groups (36)
Fireplace (36)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Comfort Food (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Great for Brunch (25)
Bar Seating (23)
Cozy (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fun (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (15)
Business Meals (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Family Style (12)
Healthy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Great Beer (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Authentic (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was wonderful and the service was great - love half price wine night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Service excellent! Food delicious! Drink special was good! Just need the make sure not to run out of Snapper Hemingway so much! One of my fav dishes! But there's so much tO choose from I'll just come back! Lol

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently good food and service. I can always trust that I will walk away pleased with my meal and the service received.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely LOVE it here!! Great food, fantastic service! Atmosphere is welcoming and comforting. I have been running restaurants for 15+ years and would recommend this spot to anyone/everyone!! If you go soon, ask for Jordan, he's an amazing server. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Another delightful lunch with friends -- good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The 6 of us sat in a very spacious and comfortable corner booth which was perfect so we could talk. It can be noisy at this popular restaurant. So glad we booked a reservation so we didn't have to wait. Delicious food and drinks. Shrimp and grits were wonderful! Also the blackened chicken Alfredo which was a huge portion and I finished the leftovers next day! Love Village Tavern.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Good service. I would recommend this place.. Good was good and wine list is very good!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 9, 2017

SERVER WAS EXCELLENT AND MOVED US INDOORS FROM THE PATIO WHEN ONE OF OUR DINNERS GOT CHILLED OUTSIDE.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The wait staff was attentive and professional. The menu is comprehensive and they have a nice assortment of "starters"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Service and food were great. Salmon was a bit dry/over cooked but everything else was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Portions good. Waiter and service wonderful! Quality of meat.....so do.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The waitstaff is always excellent, we especially like when Jordan is our waiter!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Made reservations for 5:15. Showed up at 5:14 and was seated at 5:16. We had great service and the food was incredible! It is a little high priced but worth it I think. The crab dip and Cajun seafood fettuccine is my favorite. Definitely will go again!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our server was really fantastic and we had a great lunch! The Santa Fe Burger was outstanding and I love their house made chips! Reasonably priced. Make a reservation because they are always packed!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great service, good food, nice wine list. Excellent experience.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 27, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Greensboro. Food is always good and a good value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My wife, our friend and I had brunch at the Village Tavern. As always, we all enjoyed it. Our friend had Eggs Benedict with fresh fruit. The berries were fresh and sweet--just perfect and her eggs were well prepared. My wife enjoyed her breakfast burrito and said she would order it again. I had the ham and cheese omelette which was adequate with the grits. The grits were the star of my breakfast. They were rich and creamy. They were perfect. Our service was exceptional. Our visit was a perfect brunch. Great food, a comfortable place, great service, and amazing company.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good experience overall. We love village tavern. Food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always a great visit with family and friends to enjoy great food and fellowship...pasta and chicken selections are always wonderful..staff is always A1...

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Another good dining experience: good food, good service, good value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 24, 2017

always consistent quality and service. One of my fav restaurants.. Highly recommend

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Amazing service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One of my most favorite restaurants in the Triad. Always a good and tasty experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Not sure having reservations gave us any advantage. Our party of six still had to wait 20 minutes. Good variety on the menu insured everyone got something to their liking. Food was good to very good depending on who you asked. Some of the dishes were only warm which we chalked up to their trying to serve the entrees to all six at one time. Waiter was very busy and we were never offered refills on any drinks, even the water. The noise level was pretty high, but I suppose that's to be expected on a Saturday night at a very popular restaurant. Might not be my first choice next time, but would certainly consider it again, maybe with a smaller group, earlier in the evening, and on a week night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had reservation through Open Table for 7:30PM. Upon arrival was told by the Hostess (Manager) that they were running behind - said they had " a lot of people that were not getting up". She said it would be 15 minutes. We waited 45. Things started poorly - we ordered calamari for appetizer and were told they were out - mind you 8:15 or so on a Saturday night. We ordered the 3 Trout dinners - have had them a number of times and have always been happy. This time, not so much. The glazed was bland and did not have the usual char that adds so much to the dishes flavor.

Finally, the service. the food came out quickly - but the server was low to deliver follow up items and it took a long time to get the check. While waiting, a lady with a Trainer badge came by I asked if she could get our check. She basically ignored me; did not make eye contact or acknowledge me.

I seriously hope this is an aberration, we have always have a good meal and time here, but this was not.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had a Saturday night reservation at 7:15, upon arrival we were told running about 10 minutes behind, understandable, but after 25 minutes we were getting a little upset. We were not seated until 8:00. Did not see our waiter for 10 minutes, very apologetic, but after the tenth time of saying I'm sorry you are just truly annoyed now. The atmosphere is anything but quiet and relaxing. It is very noisy & chaotic. People were dressed as if going to a fast food restaurant. We came here before & it use to be a more upscale restaurant. The dress code was more business casual , lights were dimmer & noise level was not as bad. Food was not terrible , but nothing to rave over. All in all we were quite disappointed. We had hoped to book again for a birthday party, but have decided to go somewhere else instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived at 6:57 p.m. for our reservation at 7:15 p.m. and was told that we would be seated by 7:15 p.m. or shortly after. I inquired at 7:30 p.m. on the delay and was informed that only 1 reservation was before our party being seated. After receiving that information, we (my party and I) observed 4 different parties being seated prior to us. Finally, we were seated at 7:40 p.m..
We were highly dissatisfied with our overall dining experience. At this point, I would not recommend this restaurant to family or friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place for a special occasion lunch with the family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good. Service was horrible. Glasses of water stayed empty. Scheduled reservations for 7:30pm. Showed up at 7:25pm. Didn't sit down till 8:00pm. Watched a couple walk right in & sit down at a booth in the bar section. Confronted the hostess about it & got rejected/Denied. Was told I was lying. Total disrespect for the customer. We will NOT being going back to the Village Tavern in Greensboro, NC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a 6:15 reservation but were not seated until 6:30. Food was awesome and the very best of servers, Alex. She was very attentive and personable. We love Village Tavern for every occasion and was very lucky to have gotten a table on Valentines.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We like take our older friend here after church on Sundays. She loves the excellent crab cake appetizer and we always order that. The fries were great; service was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome brunch! Food and service were fantastic. We ate outside on the patio, which was a great atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food & service - we will return for more! Great place for Valentine's Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fireplace, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food! Great service by our waiter, Alex! Village Tavern is my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good as usual. Had asked for a quiet table because it was our anniversary, but were seated next to the wait staff station (where they enter orders and otherwise chit-chat...) as well as next to a table with small children. Not exactly what I would have thought qualified as a "quiet table."

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our first time dining at Village Tavern but it won't be our last. The service was outstanding and the food was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Enjoyed our meal! Service was excellent. Nicely accommodated one member of our party's dietary limitations. Especially loved the Pimento Cheese appetizer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It such a pretty day yesterday and we wanted to eat lunch outside and the hostess was kind a hesitant to accommodate us even though we had reservation especially for a big party. It was a first visit for some of the group who lives locally and that set-back did not make a good impression. It would have not taken a lot of time to put together the tables but her reaction was not pleasant. This was the only bad feedback I would provide everything else was awesome.

Thank you.
Grace Valencia

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Quick Bite, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.