About Village Tavern Greensboro

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blackened Fish Tacos
Ragin' Cajun Burger
Tuscan Chips
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict
Grilled Thai Chicken Skewers
Spinach Salad
Warm Chocolate Torte
Barbecue Chicken Pizza
Fish Taco
Shrimp Risotto
Spinach Dip
Prime Rib
Stuffed Flounder

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
5 More
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Great for Lunch
Greensboro
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

Neighborhood Gem (68)
Great for Lunch (67)
Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
See All
Good for Groups (57)
Special Occasion (56)
Great for Brunch (44)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Hot Spot (25)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
Late-night Find (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (10)
Fun (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Fireplace (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Live Music (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1039 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always consistent and great service. On ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always consistent and great service. One of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated on time, and enjoyed a de ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were seated on time, and enjoyed a delicious meal with 3 drinks, an appetizer, and a dessert for around $100 before tip, which is certainly reasonable. The Long Island Iced Tea was incredible. I had an 8oz filet, my husband had a very unique meatloaf . Everything was well prepared and well presented. The service was good but not exceptional. We enjoyed our meal, had difficulty deciding what to get from an impressive selection, and would definitely not hesitate to return.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Attended Wednesday Night with Brice Stre ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Attended Wednesday Night with Brice Street Band on the Patio. Appetizers were great;

meal / flank steak was not up to their normal

standard as it was medium rare as opposed to medium well. We had around 8 people and the bill was totally screwed up. We drink margaritas with premium liquor, 1800 and grand mariner. When bill arrived it was not properly divided, which happens. Service was good, but we needed to see our waiter more often. I had to carry my flank steak entree back to the kitchen area as it was not properly cooked and the waiter was no where to be found. THIS IS NOT THE NORM FOR VILLAGE TAVERN AND REALIZE IT WAS VERY CROWDED. MY SUGGESTION TO MANAGEMENT IS TO PROPERLY STAFF FOR THE AMOUNT OF PATRONS THEY KNOW ARE COMING.

We are frequent customers, had a good time, and know that the majority, if not all, of our concerns lie with the server we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Our server was very very rude and the wh ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our server was very very rude and the whole time we were there she try to make us leave even though we were ordering drinks the whole time we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

I have loved Village Tavern since it ope ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I have loved Village Tavern since it opened. It is a great place to meet friends. I love Band Night and like to eat outside. My friends and I love to have birthdays there. The Sunday brunch is always awesome. One of my favorites in Greensboro.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Dancing, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised. Lots of seating, ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Lots of seating, inside and out. Food was fast, fresh, prepared perfectly, and good portion size. Wife had fish and chips - fish (cod) had a nice crisp batter and was not greasy at all. Fries were the best I've had in a long time. I had the sirloin - not a spec of fat, cooked just as I asked. Dessert was good, too. Atmosphere is a little dated - but think of it as comfortable, and go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was a great experience. I will defini ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was a great experience. I will definitely go back agsin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped by the Village Tavern for lun ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We stopped by the Village Tavern for lunch after a quick trip to the mountains to pick up apples. The day was cool, with a slight breeze, and very comfortable compared to recent days. We opted to sit outside and we're glad we did. It was a perfect way to dine al fresco. My husband tried the pimiento cheese BLT, I had the chicken club, our friends had the Carolina burger and the fish tacos. The food was delicious. We finalized our meal with a slice of their key lime pie, which is the best we've ever had. We come back to the Village Tavern time and again and always find the food to be great. We bring friends with us who can't wait to come back when we are in the area. Thanks for consistently good food and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to Village Tavern 2-3 times a month ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I go to Village Tavern 2-3 times a month, at least. Never disappointed. Food is always good, prices reasonable, and great atmosphere. Wait staff is exceptional. My favorite place.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service as always!! Menu ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and service as always!! Menu is quite diverse and wine list is very good!!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Village Tavern never disappoints! A loca ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Village Tavern never disappoints! A local gem here in Greensboro. Love the 2 in Winston as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fish and chips excellent...and the Maryl ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Fish and chips excellent...and the Maryland crab cakes very good as well...and this is coming from a Baltimore native. This place is always busy...hmmm, maybe it's the delicious food. Travis did a great job serving up the vittles.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten the best steaks over there. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have eaten the best steaks over there. The last time, however, the steaks were too done and dry. Service was awesome as always. Hopefully this was a one time bad experience. It's usually so good that I will give them another try.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our group was impressed by the excellent ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our group was impressed by the excellent meal and the friendly, helpful staff. We were celebrating a belated birthday, and our friend was made to feel very special. Thank you for a very wonderful and memorable lunch!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicely prepared specials that complement ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nicely prepared specials that complement an already diverse menu. Large (recently renovated) outdoor dinning area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in town with friends from Colora ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were in town with friends from Colorado, moving our kids into HPU. This worked well for a variety of tastes in a group of 6 people. It was very crowded due to various events in town and server seemed a bit stressed but handled everything well. I'd recommend it again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always enjoy my ahi tuna salad with a si ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always enjoy my ahi tuna salad with a side of great friends and exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Didn't like the ribeye. Seemed like it w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Didn't like the ribeye. Seemed like it was cooked on a flat grill and had a "grill flavor" added to it. Like the side salad and potato! But the double decker cheesecake was okay - the chocolate was too bitter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The Village Tavern has always been our " ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Village Tavern has always been our "go to" restaurants! Food choices for everyone, excellent service, fair prices, they never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently good food and servic ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always consistently good food and service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We are from Martinsville and love coming ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We are from Martinsville and love coming to the Village Tavern. The food, service and atmosphere are worth the drive! I love the Key Lime Cheese Cake.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner! The sea bass was ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great dinner! The sea bass was delicious and the prime rib was good too. The tables were pretty close together and the decor was outdated but we enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

We've dined many times during the last d ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We've dined many times during the last decade. Many out-of-town family members we've taken there continue to look forward to a repeat visit when they are staying with us here in Greensboro.

They never fail to meet expectations.

I do recommend making advance reservations, the last several occasions I used this service worked very well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great! It was great for qu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was great! It was great for quiet talking with friends. The wine and beer selection were good as well. I love the outdoor sitting but enjoyed sitting by the window. We can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of favorite places for dinner ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always one of favorite places for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good. Another enjoyable lunch wi ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always good. Another enjoyable lunch with friends:

good food, good service, reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate here for lunch while visiting Gre ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We ate here for lunch while visiting Greensboro, since we love the Village Tavern in Winston Salem. We were surprised it was so busy, we wound up eating at the bar and were well served by the bartender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome food great service and atmospher ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Awesome food great service and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We went there for our anniversary, and t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We went there for our anniversary, and the food and service were great. They gave us a nice booth, had it ready when they said they would (reservations on Open Table), and the salmon was cooked to perfection. My wife's pasta dish was fantastic. We definitely will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love 1/2 price wine Wednesdays! Great cr ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Love 1/2 price wine Wednesdays! Great crab dip. Flank steak is great value. Manager, Judy, always comes by to see that all is well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice booth by a window with a v ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a nice booth by a window with a view of the Crape Myrtle trees.

All of us enjoy the food and getting together.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another delightful dining experience --- ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Another delightful dining experience --- good food and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WE HAD A GREAT TIME. WE WERE NOT RUSHED ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

WE HAD A GREAT TIME. WE WERE NOT RUSHED AND ENJOED THE EVENING. WE WILL BE BACK.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great patio

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The server was very under trained. He to ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The server was very under trained. He told us he was new and was giving three table at one time. He brought the wrong food to my son even though he specifically said that dish was his favorite. The steak my husband ordered was burned so he asked for a replacement. The server was rude about it. They need to train their servers better.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Another 'good' dining experience. FLEMMI ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Another 'good' dining experience. FLEMMINGS it's NOT!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have our favorites... crab cakes, fri ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have our favorites... crab cakes, fried oysters, spinach dip, grilled meatloaf, and end the meal with the butter cake!! Never fails...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Never had a bad meal here, but our servi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Never had a bad meal here, but our service has not been 100% the last couple times I've been. Hopefully our waiter was new this time, because the service is as important as the food in my opinion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great food and service. Had a great time ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and service. Had a great time with friends while eating on the patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the crab cake sandwich which was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had the crab cake sandwich which was wonderful. My husband enjoyed the BLT pimento cheese sandwich which he said was great. The Village Tavern is always one of our favorite restaurants to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.