About Village Tavern Greensboro

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blackened Fish Tacos
Ragin' Cajun Burger
Tuscan Chips
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict
Grilled Thai Chicken Skewers
Spinach Salad
Warm Chocolate Torte
Barbecue Chicken Pizza
Fish Taco
Shrimp Risotto
Spinach Dip
Prime Rib
Stuffed Flounder

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro
1 More
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

Great for Lunch (78)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Great for Outdoor Dining (72)
See All
Special Occasion (69)
Good for Groups (66)
Great for Brunch (63)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Kid-friendly (28)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Late-night Find (13)
Scenic View (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1026 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our group was impressed by the excellent ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our group was impressed by the excellent meal and the friendly, helpful staff. We were celebrating a belated birthday, and our friend was made to feel very special. Thank you for a very wonderful and memorable lunch!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicely prepared specials that complement ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nicely prepared specials that complement an already diverse menu. Large (recently renovated) outdoor dinning area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in town with friends from Colora ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were in town with friends from Colorado, moving our kids into HPU. This worked well for a variety of tastes in a group of 6 people. It was very crowded due to various events in town and server seemed a bit stressed but handled everything well. I'd recommend it again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Always enjoy my ahi tuna salad with a si ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always enjoy my ahi tuna salad with a side of great friends and exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Didn't like the ribeye. Seemed like it w ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Didn't like the ribeye. Seemed like it was cooked on a flat grill and had a "grill flavor" added to it. Like the side salad and potato! But the double decker cheesecake was okay - the chocolate was too bitter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The Village Tavern has always been our " ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Village Tavern has always been our "go to" restaurants! Food choices for everyone, excellent service, fair prices, they never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently good food and servic ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always consistently good food and service...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We are from Martinsville and love coming ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We are from Martinsville and love coming to the Village Tavern. The food, service and atmosphere are worth the drive! I love the Key Lime Cheese Cake.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner! The sea bass was ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a great dinner! The sea bass was delicious and the prime rib was good too. The tables were pretty close together and the decor was outdated but we enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

We've dined many times during the last d ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We've dined many times during the last decade. Many out-of-town family members we've taken there continue to look forward to a repeat visit when they are staying with us here in Greensboro.

They never fail to meet expectations.

I do recommend making advance reservations, the last several occasions I used this service worked very well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great! It was great for qu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was great! It was great for quiet talking with friends. The wine and beer selection were good as well. I love the outdoor sitting but enjoyed sitting by the window. We can't wait to go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of favorite places for dinner ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always one of favorite places for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good. Another enjoyable lunch wi ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Always good. Another enjoyable lunch with friends:

good food, good service, reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate here for lunch while visiting Gre ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We ate here for lunch while visiting Greensboro, since we love the Village Tavern in Winston Salem. We were surprised it was so busy, we wound up eating at the bar and were well served by the bartender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome food great service and atmospher ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Awesome food great service and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We went there for our anniversary, and t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We went there for our anniversary, and the food and service were great. They gave us a nice booth, had it ready when they said they would (reservations on Open Table), and the salmon was cooked to perfection. My wife's pasta dish was fantastic. We definitely will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love 1/2 price wine Wednesdays! Great cr ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Love 1/2 price wine Wednesdays! Great crab dip. Flank steak is great value. Manager, Judy, always comes by to see that all is well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice booth by a window with a v ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a nice booth by a window with a view of the Crape Myrtle trees.

All of us enjoy the food and getting together.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another delightful dining experience --- ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Another delightful dining experience --- good food and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WE HAD A GREAT TIME. WE WERE NOT RUSHED ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

WE HAD A GREAT TIME. WE WERE NOT RUSHED AND ENJOED THE EVENING. WE WILL BE BACK.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great patio

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The server was very under trained. He to ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The server was very under trained. He told us he was new and was giving three table at one time. He brought the wrong food to my son even though he specifically said that dish was his favorite. The steak my husband ordered was burned so he asked for a replacement. The server was rude about it. They need to train their servers better.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Another 'good' dining experience. FLEMMI ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Another 'good' dining experience. FLEMMINGS it's NOT!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have our favorites... crab cakes, fri ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have our favorites... crab cakes, fried oysters, spinach dip, grilled meatloaf, and end the meal with the butter cake!! Never fails...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Never had a bad meal here, but our servi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Never had a bad meal here, but our service has not been 100% the last couple times I've been. Hopefully our waiter was new this time, because the service is as important as the food in my opinion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great food and service. Had a great time ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and service. Had a great time with friends while eating on the patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the crab cake sandwich which was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had the crab cake sandwich which was wonderful. My husband enjoyed the BLT pimento cheese sandwich which he said was great. The Village Tavern is always one of our favorite restaurants to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Village Tavern is always a great experie ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Village Tavern is always a great experience! Awesome service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a little slow, but food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was a little slow, but food was worth the wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always good food, nice atmosphere, go ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always good food, nice atmosphere, good service, good value. Our favorite go to restaurant

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but my marinated flan ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was good, but my marinated flank steak did have a lot of fat!! Also, we were never served bread!! It was my birthday and one of the friends I went with said, while I was in the rest room, she told our waiter it was my birthday and she was told I would have two birthday desserts to choose from. When it cam time for dessert, I wasn't given any choice at all?? They automatically served me vanilla ice cream, some walnuts and some hot fudge and some whipped cream, none of which I would have requested!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good, great menu and excellent se ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always good, great menu and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great "go to" place for any occ ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always a great "go to" place for any occasion. Food is always good and has a good selection and varied menu. Beer selection needs some modifications.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wednesday night 1/2 price wine and a gre ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wednesday night 1/2 price wine and a great band on the deck (Rob Massengale Band)! What could be better!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service! Always meets ex ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food and service! Always meets expectations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we had a reservation, we wai ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we waited while "first available" guests were seated ahead of us. The service was very slow and food was cold by the time it was served. French Toast didn't even taste like it was dipped in any batter. A VERY POOR experience! Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Never a disappointment at the Village Ta ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Never a disappointment at the Village Tavern. The noise level can be a bit elevated, especially for older folks who have abused their eardrums earlier in life. We all enjoyed our meals, and Alex was more than attentive, without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

VT is a go to. Often when we decide on a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

VT is a go to. Often when we decide on another restaurant we are disappointed we didn't just go to VT. The management is nice, the food's great and they just finished the outside patio & it look amazing. Great beer & wine list too. Just wish they would change the beer more often & sometimes they're out of certain dishes bc their menu is so extensive. Just go to VT yourself. It's a fantastic restaurant. Cheers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My meal was so delicious, especially the ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My meal was so delicious, especially the bacon wrapped scallops. It was the 1st time I've ordered them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always consistently good, servic ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food is always consistently good, service is consistently great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.