About Village Tavern Greensboro

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
1 More
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

great for lunch (90)
special occasion (87)
neighborhood gem (79)
See All
good for groups (66)
great for outdoor dining (65)
great for brunch (65)
fit for foodies (47)
romantic (34)
kid-friendly (28)
notable wine list (27)
hot spot (24)
vibrant bar scene (22)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
975 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Treat

Dined 7 days ago

Village Tavern Greensboro is a wonderful treat to have in the neighborhood. We celebrated at brunch for our child's church confirmation. Easy to make reservations. Food delish and something for even the pickiest eaters in our family. Being a family with kids our waitress was extremely accommodating! Definitely recommend!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

It took 10 minutes after we were seated ...

Dined 7 days ago

It took 10 minutes after we were seated for the waitperson to come and take our drink order. We decided to order our meal at that time. It took another 20 minutes before we were served. The excuse given was "we're really busy today." We've heard that each time we've eaten there on a Sunday. Someone needs to get the message to hire more people. We like this place and the food is very good. But the service (slowness in getting the meal to us) is poor. The waitperson said that she delivered it to us as soon as it was ready in the kitchen. I believe that because the food was hot. But someone needs to take responsibility for bringing in more waitstaff.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Menu offers wide selection so everyone i ...

Dined 7 days ago

Menu offers wide selection so everyone in party can easily find something he or she likes; quality of food is a good value and consistently delicious! I really enjoy the relaxed atmosphere too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall, the food was very good. Howeve ...

Dined 7 days ago

Overall, the food was very good. However, some of the items were somewhat cold, and the English muffins to our eggs benedict meals were not toasted. Siricha sauce on eggs benedict was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed after years of visits ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Never disappointed after years of visits, reservation was most helpful, should have started much earlier in the day, my bad.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Prime rib dinner was great! Was properl ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Prime rib dinner was great! Was properly aged and seasoned, something often hard to get.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

sincere service with a smile

Dined on May 14, 2016

A "friend's get-together" turned into an afternoon of long stories, laughter and good food as we dined and drank wine together. We had not seen each other in a year and Hank was very helpful with the menu items. He was so friendly and patient.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food, great service and wonder ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Delicious food, great service and wonderful ambiance...

food3
ambience4
service3

Food was average. Outside seating was pl ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was average. Outside seating was pleasant, but music was loud making conversation difficult.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great dinner!

Dined on May 9, 2016

We had a great dinner celebrating my dad's and my husband dad birthday on May 9th. The restaurant was quiet that day and the service and food were on point. We started the night with some drinks and crab dip as an appetizer. My husband loves the Chicken Alfredo and the spinach salad was awesome as well. I had a filet mignon with sweet potato fries which was also really yummy. Everything worked well that night and food was awesome!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We have dined at the Village Tavern many ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at the Village Tavern many times. Most of the time they are outstanding. On this occasion they failed to dazzle. This was Mother's Day and the one thing my Mom wanted was Prime Rib. Unfortunately that was the one thing of which they had run out. Mom's second choice was the Maple Glazed Pork Chop. She said it was very tasty and way more than she could eat. My second choice was Blackened Chicken Alfredo. It was kind of bland. I expected more spice from a blackened dish. This is the second Mother's Day we have not been fully satisfied with our dining experience at Village Tavern. We will not be going back on Mother's Day again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always delish!

Dined on May 7, 2016

I quite often get the crab cakes because they come pretty close to "the real thing" (I'm originally from Maryland)! The waiters/waitresses are very professional and are always friendly. Going to the Village is always a good experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was bad.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The server was forgetfull. The dip we ordered came with flatten buns, was not good the dip was but the bread was not good. I asjed the mansger about it and he said that's the way it was served. Have been before it was great this past not so great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Village Tavern is a Go-To place for a great meal.

Dined on May 3, 2016

The Village Tavern is one of my favorite restaurants in the Greensboro area. The ambiance is very pleasant, the wait staff is excellent. Every meal I have had in the tavern has been excellent. Highly recommended to make a reservation and Open Table is the perfect application to reserve your table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Varied menu has something for everyone. P

Dined on May 1, 2016

Varied menu offers favorites for everyone. Great brunch menu as well as dinner menu. Great selection of wines. P

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a great time

Dined on April 30, 2016

I really enjoyed the food and atmosphere a great experience

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Loved the remodeled outside dining area.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved the remodeled outside dining area.

food5
ambience5
service5

Tried the wings for the first time. Simp ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Tried the wings for the first time. Simply amazing. Every time I try something it never fails. It's always delicious.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch with our extended family....food is always wonderful...would have been nice to have a couple more "value offerings" for those in our group who were looking for something more economical....

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Extrordinary food and service. Will defi ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Extrordinary food and service. Will defiantly be back.👍🏻

food4
ambience4
service5

Food and service are always great!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food and service are always great!

food5
ambience4
service5

We went for a birthday dinner. Everyone ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner. Everyone had something different and it was all great!! We shared between 8 and I have to say my favorite was the prime rib, it was perfectly cooked, not too fatty. Great experience

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Less Than Their Best Effort

Dined on April 15, 2016

I have eaten at Village Tavern numerous times and rarely had a bad experience. However, on this occasion, the food had good flavor and cooked to order, but it was cold.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and atmosphere made for an ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere made for an amazing girls night out.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a delicious dinner with friends! Th ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Had a delicious dinner with friends! The wait staff was attentive, but not hovering. Very enjoyable visit!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LuvGoodFood

Dined on April 9, 2016

Can always depend on a wonderful evening with friends. Always leave feeling good about having eaten there and relaxed due to the atmosphere and service. Love it!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place I've been too in a long time.

Dined on March 31, 2016

I would write a story about our experience. The best service and the food was amazing. My server Rob was OUTSTANDING. I don't care about the price with that type of service I'll pay double. THE BEST EXPERIENCE IN THE WORLD. KEEP UP THE GREATWORK. ROB WILL BE MY SERVER FROM NOW ON. Thank you for BEING GREAT.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Always good and consistent. Large select ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Always good and consistent. Large selection with a lot of variety.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Favorite local restaurant

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Whether with friends, co-workers, or dinner with my husband, Village Tavern is predictably great food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantabulous

Dined on March 27, 2016

I went to Village Tavern with my mother and sister on Easter and we had an absolutely wonderful time. Our server, Travis, was friendly and funny, very kind and lots of fun. He helped make the entire experience even better than it would have been with just great food. The food was fantastic and very filling. Granted, this is not the sort of place I can get to frequently--the prices are a bit out of my usual range--for a special occasion, it's just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The Village Tavern always pleases. The f ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Village Tavern always pleases. The food was enjoyed by all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

VT is consistently consistent. They alwa ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

VT is consistently consistent. They always have great service, cold drinks & really good food. They never disappoint. Go to VT.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently Good

Dined on March 25, 2016

Never had a bad meal here. Best filet mignon in Greensboro. Service was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

The fish tacos were good. My wife enjoye ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

The fish tacos were good. My wife enjoyed the gluten free pizza. It is nice that they have a gluten free menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always!

Dined on March 20, 2016

We lovew doing brunch at the Villae Tavern. Always great food and everything is special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good Food...Poor Service

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We typically have good service here. This time, our waiter was not good at all. I won't mention his name - maybe he was just having a bad day. Drinks were ordered and delivered, and food order was taken in a fairly timely manner. Food took a little longer than usual to arrive, but no big deal. Several times, we had to flag our waiter down for coffee, soda or water refills. Food was delivered by the manager, but our server never once asked how the food was or if we needed anything else. Waiter was also not very friendly, and it seemed like we were an inconvenience to him that day. It is nice to see that they are remodeling the outdoor area, as we love to eat brunch outside whenever possible. Hopefully they will also remodel the inside soon as well...this place is definitely showing it's age as far as decor.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Expensive for the quality.

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was just average for how expensive it was. Good, but not noteworthy in any way.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food/service, Noisy

Dined on March 12, 2016

While the food was excellent and the service attentive, the noise level makes having a conversation very difficult and thus the experience less enjoyable. Tables are very crammed in the space.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Really enjoyed the food. Mac & cheese best ever had. The wedge salad absolutely delicious. Would have been perfectly happy with just those two items. The wedge was so fresh & crisp with loads of blue cheese crumbles & bacon. My husband had prime rib which was a bit rare, so returned to put a sear on it. Absolutely melt in your mouth flavorful. I had shrimp & grits, grits were delicious but would have like andouille sausage in place of mushrooms. Creme brûlée for desert, yummy. Wait staff great job. Overall experience 5 star. First time for me.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

No more Saturdays

Dined on March 5, 2016

Village Tavern one of our favorite places, but not on Saturday nights. Crowded and noisy, with 2 larger parties adding to the distraction. Noise so loud our server had to nearly shout and because she could not hear us well, food order was placed improperly. When actually dining, we will confine our visits to lunch, off times, or less congested evenings. Still a gem for us, but will plan more carefully for future visits.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.