About Village Tavern Greensboro

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blackened Fish Tacos - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Ragin' Cajun Burger - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Tuscan Chips - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Grilled Thai Chicken Skewers - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Spinach Salad - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Warm Chocolate Torte - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Barbecue Chicken Pizza - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Fish Taco - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Shrimp Risotto - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Spinach Dip - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Prime Rib - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
Stuffed Flounder - Village Tavern Greensboro, Greensboro, NC

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
2 More
Best Food
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Casual (27)
See All
Great for Lunch (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Comfort Food (16)
Fireplace (15)
Fun (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (14)
Cozy (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Healthy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (6)
Great Beer (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Family Style (4)
Live Music (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1077 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the prime rib sandwich, always good ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Love the prime rib sandwich, always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went for brunch on a Sunday after church ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Went for brunch on a Sunday after church. It did not disappoint.

Food was delicious and service was excellent.

Looking forward to going back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have been going to Village Tavern sin ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have been going to Village Tavern since it opened and have never had a complaint. Our last visit was not good.could be because it was Thanksgiving weekend, but that shouldn't matter. The food I ordered was the problem. The Thai chicken salad, which I have ordered many times, was very different. The chicken was from a package this time and there were very few vegetables in it. It was very much like a Harris Teeter packaged salad with very cold packaged chicken thrown in. They previously used the same chicken that they use in the Thai chicken skewers, which is wonderful. Very disappointing to pay 13 dollars for a horrible salad. Will never order this again, but am also not excited about going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Love VT. my favorite restaurant Greensbo ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Love VT. my favorite restaurant Greensboro. Been going regularly since the doors opened 20-+years. My son was one of the first bartenders.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress came over immediately after bei ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Waitress came over immediately after being seated, despite the crowded house. Received our drinks very quickly. Appetizers came out very shortly. Meal was excellent. Great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food and service were very good, jus ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food and service were very good, just what I've come to expect from Village Tavern over the many years I've frequented this spot. They must be new to Open Table, because the hostess forgot to register my arrival and I got a "did not keep reservation" email instead of this one that requests a review. It was a bit inconvenient for me, but I'm sure that's a learning curve and will get better over time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Another awesome get together at Village ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Another awesome get together at Village Tavern! Everything was perfect - especially our waiter who knew 4 ladies had a lot to say! Food was delicious and served quickly. Wonderful catching up with old friends in such a perfect neighborhood setting. Thanks again Village Tavern! We'll see you next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from George. The food was ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service from George. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, impeccable service! Jordan ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great food, impeccable service! Jordan is a great server!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BEST MAC AND CHEESE SIDE ORDER I HAVE EV ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 20, 2016

BEST MAC AND CHEESE SIDE ORDER I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with manager and spouse. Waiter w ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Dinner with manager and spouse. Waiter was outstanding. Food was excellent. Seating a little tight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time I drive by the Village Tavern ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Every time I drive by the Village Tavern the place is mobbed and there are no parking spaces and people are waiting outside the door. I made a reservation through open table, highly recommended, and we were seated on time. The beer list is good, the food was great, and the service was even better. Great atmosphere. The carrot cake was excellent. Do not hesitate to go here, but I would encourage making a reservation.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service great....we brought a b ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food and service great....we brought a birthday and they served it beautifully.

Parking is however always very tight and not enough handicapped spaces.

Would be great if there was a roast turkey entree.

We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Another delightful evening with good foo ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Another delightful evening with good food and good service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Went to Village Tavern for daughters 21s ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went to Village Tavern for daughters 21st birthday. Was able to book a reservation and state the occasion. When we arrived, we were asked "Who is the Birthday Girl" at front door...very fun. We were asked if we had anything to set aside (cake) and later it was brought out a the right time with candles lit... very efficient! Was a good meal, great family time and the perfect setting for the day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. Always consistent and ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love this place. Always consistent and quality food. Service always on top. Highly recommend

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate outside in the sunshine - wonderful! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Ate outside in the sunshine - wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch with friends!! Complimentar ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great lunch with friends!! Complimentary birthday dessert was very nice!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taken care of well from the moment I wal ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Taken care of well from the moment I walked in. Good service, accommodated my table request, overall a good experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and great service as always. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and great service as always. This is our family's go to spot for special occasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Shrimp Scampi was delicious . My fri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Shrimp Scampi was delicious . My friend had the porkchop and said it was very good but too small for the price. The service was good but we did have to ask for bread .

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pimento Cheese appetizer was very good a ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Pimento Cheese appetizer was very good and arrived timely. Waiter was attentive but lacked personality. Entree was awful. I ordered the Ten Spices Glazed Salmon. The description was fresh Atlantic salmon. What arrived was a frozen, square salmon patty. At 21.00 for this entree you expect more than a frozen processed patty. The restaurant is dark, dingy and smelly. I would NOT recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

This was a great evening, celebrating a ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 24, 2016

This was a great evening, celebrating a birthday of a co worker and really enjoyed the beautiful weather, the fireplace outside, the food and service was very good. Will come back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always good. Another wonderful evening ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Always good. Another wonderful evening dining with friends.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife's favorite restaurant. Never had ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My wife's favorite restaurant. Never had a bad meal here and I feel like I get good value for the money. Only thing is you want to make a reservation to be on the safe side.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like this place. Especially th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We really like this place. Especially the Sunday lunch/ brunch. All of our entrees were very good. They key lime pie was awesome. The sides were just ok , the garlic mash potatoes not great. While the service was excellent in some areas it could've been better in others. Overall we really like this place a lot and will be coming back. Thanks for a lovely Sunday family lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I went to Village Tavern in Greensboro f ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I went to Village Tavern in Greensboro for my grandfather's 92nd birthday and the staff was more than accommodating. They manager was very present and friendly and the staff brought out a dessert with a candle for him without us asking them to. Great food and good service made for a great birthday celebration spot!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Healthy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been eating there for many years. Not g ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Been eating there for many years. Not great, not bad. Not a place that I would take someone to impress them but the food is dependably good and fairly priced. Frankly I think the interior is getting real tired. Little dark and dingy. Sometimes the waiters are superb and sometimes you have to chase yours down. It's a good eating restaurant not necessarily a dining one. Perhaps that's the way they want it.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Sat outside and had a great time! JP wa ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Sat outside and had a great time! JP was our waiter and was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone at Village Tavern made us feel ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Everyone at Village Tavern made us feel welcome and our server Travis was freaking awesome!!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Saturday evening to celebra ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We went on a Saturday evening to celebrate a friend's birthday. I loved the place and can't wait to go back. Our food was outstanding with beautiful presentation. Our service was excellent. We all enjoyed the ambience. The place was noisy but there was a hum of good cheer about the noise. It was too warm for the fireplace to be in use, but I am sure that in the winter it adds a very warm and pleasant note. The fireplace is in the center of the largest room and is open on both sides. I hate to say how wonderful our entire experience was because then the Tavern may become even more crowded and I won't be able to get a reservation!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has grown tired. Carpet need ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This place has grown tired. Carpet needs to be replaced. Menu needs modern update. Seems like they are just going through motions and just mailing it in. My London broil used to be signature dish and when manager walked by and saw it, nearly half fat, she was embarrassed by it and I didn't say anything. Salsa for my wife's tacos looks like Pace picante from grocery store when making fresh pico de gallo would be expected these days. It literally feels like they don't care. Place is full so why do a thing I guess is thinking. I don't get it. It's going downhill but still making money. Sad to see but I know how this story ends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

My wife and I always enjoy going to the ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 12, 2016

My wife and I always enjoy going to the Village Tavern. We especially like to go on Wednesday's because of the 1/2 price wine. I usually get the Caesar Salad with chicken and my wife tries various dishes. She got some sort of shrimp dish that she really liked. Th service was excellent. We had a good time with our server, Carrie. Recommend Village Tavern to everyone.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite brunch spots. My wife ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 9, 2016

One of my favorite brunch spots. My wife had french toast and I had an omelet. Both were good as always. Decent brunch options along with lunch fair. Service is always prompt and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were in town for a special event at t ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were in town for a special event at the Coliseum and made first time reservations for two here. Upon entering, we were warmly greeted and seated in a booth as preferred promptly. The lighting was dim and decor interesting enough without seeming too much. Our waitress was great and the food excellent. We had Bayou Shrimp and a burger with dessert and a double cappuccino to share. We were pleased with portions, quality of coffee and amount of seasoning on food. It was a bit loud and crowded for it to be my kind of romantic but good restaurants tend to draw an excited crowd. The other patrons were smiling and enjoying dinner in large groups so it's hard to complain about noise. I would definitely recommend this establishment and look forward to trying out other menu items.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My friend had the tavern salad with a su ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My friend had the tavern salad with a succulent piece of salmon, and she loved it. My crab cake appetizer was not quite firm enough but delicious. The coffee at $2.95 each was a little pricey!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Starter was melted pimento cheese with 1 ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Starter was melted pimento cheese with 1/2 corn chips and other raw veggies was fine. Had overly sweet NC trout with standard rice pilaf and green beans to my tastebuds. Other had standard fish and chips. Third diner had chicken "satay" inspired skewers (overly sweet). Good beer selection. Friendly, prompt waitress. Patio on nice evening very pleasant with moderate ambient noise (mainly from music via speakers). For price of food, will likely seek other restaurants we like.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The place was very busy on Friday evenin ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The place was very busy on Friday evening. Thanks appetizer arrived with the entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Always consistent and great service. On ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always consistent and great service. One of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated on time, and enjoyed a de ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were seated on time, and enjoyed a delicious meal with 3 drinks, an appetizer, and a dessert for around $100 before tip, which is certainly reasonable. The Long Island Iced Tea was incredible. I had an 8oz filet, my husband had a very unique meatloaf . Everything was well prepared and well presented. The service was good but not exceptional. We enjoyed our meal, had difficulty deciding what to get from an impressive selection, and would definitely not hesitate to return.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.