About Village Tavern Greensboro

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blackened Fish Tacos
Ragin' Cajun Burger
Tuscan Chips
Crab Cake Eggs Benedict
Grilled Thai Chicken Skewers
Warm Chocolate Torte
Spinach Salad
Prime Rib
Barbecue Chicken Pizza
Shrimp Risotto
Stuffed Flounder
Fish Taco
Spinach Dip

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Outdoor Dining
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
American
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
3 More
Most Booked
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Neighborhood Gem
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

great for lunch (75)
neighborhood gem (75)
great for outdoor dining (74)
See All
special occasion (70)
good for groups (64)
great for brunch (62)
fit for foodies (34)
kid-friendly (31)
hot spot (26)
vibrant bar scene (25)
romantic (24)
notable wine list (20)
late-night find (11)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went there for our anniversary, and t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We went there for our anniversary, and the food and service were great. They gave us a nice booth, had it ready when they said they would (reservations on Open Table), and the salmon was cooked to perfection. My wife's pasta dish was fantastic. We definitely will return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love 1/2 price wine Wednesdays! Great cr ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Love 1/2 price wine Wednesdays! Great crab dip. Flank steak is great value. Manager, Judy, always comes by to see that all is well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice booth by a window with a v ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had a nice booth by a window with a view of the Crape Myrtle trees.

All of us enjoy the food and getting together.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another delightful dining experience --- ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Another delightful dining experience --- good food and good service.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WE HAD A GREAT TIME. WE WERE NOT RUSHED ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

WE HAD A GREAT TIME. WE WERE NOT RUSHED AND ENJOED THE EVENING. WE WILL BE BACK.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great patio

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The server was very under trained. He to ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The server was very under trained. He told us he was new and was giving three table at one time. He brought the wrong food to my son even though he specifically said that dish was his favorite. The steak my husband ordered was burned so he asked for a replacement. The server was rude about it. They need to train their servers better.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Another 'good' dining experience. FLEMMI ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Another 'good' dining experience. FLEMMINGS it's NOT!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We have our favorites... crab cakes, fri ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have our favorites... crab cakes, fried oysters, spinach dip, grilled meatloaf, and end the meal with the butter cake!! Never fails...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Never had a bad meal here, but our servi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Never had a bad meal here, but our service has not been 100% the last couple times I've been. Hopefully our waiter was new this time, because the service is as important as the food in my opinion.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great food and service. Had a great time ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and service. Had a great time with friends while eating on the patio.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the crab cake sandwich which was ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had the crab cake sandwich which was wonderful. My husband enjoyed the BLT pimento cheese sandwich which he said was great. The Village Tavern is always one of our favorite restaurants to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Village Tavern is always a great experie ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Village Tavern is always a great experience! Awesome service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a little slow, but food was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was a little slow, but food was worth the wait.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always good food, nice atmosphere, go ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

As always good food, nice atmosphere, good service, good value. Our favorite go to restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but my marinated flan ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was good, but my marinated flank steak did have a lot of fat!! Also, we were never served bread!! It was my birthday and one of the friends I went with said, while I was in the rest room, she told our waiter it was my birthday and she was told I would have two birthday desserts to choose from. When it cam time for dessert, I wasn't given any choice at all?? They automatically served me vanilla ice cream, some walnuts and some hot fudge and some whipped cream, none of which I would have requested!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Always good, great menu and excellent se ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always good, great menu and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great "go to" place for any occ ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always a great "go to" place for any occasion. Food is always good and has a good selection and varied menu. Beer selection needs some modifications.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wednesday night 1/2 price wine and a gre ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wednesday night 1/2 price wine and a great band on the deck (Rob Massengale Band)! What could be better!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service! Always meets ex ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food and service! Always meets expectations.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we had a reservation, we wai ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we waited while "first available" guests were seated ahead of us. The service was very slow and food was cold by the time it was served. French Toast didn't even taste like it was dipped in any batter. A VERY POOR experience! Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Never a disappointment at the Village Ta ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Never a disappointment at the Village Tavern. The noise level can be a bit elevated, especially for older folks who have abused their eardrums earlier in life. We all enjoyed our meals, and Alex was more than attentive, without being intrusive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

VT is a go to. Often when we decide on a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

VT is a go to. Often when we decide on another restaurant we are disappointed we didn't just go to VT. The management is nice, the food's great and they just finished the outside patio & it look amazing. Great beer & wine list too. Just wish they would change the beer more often & sometimes they're out of certain dishes bc their menu is so extensive. Just go to VT yourself. It's a fantastic restaurant. Cheers.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My meal was so delicious, especially the ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My meal was so delicious, especially the bacon wrapped scallops. It was the 1st time I've ordered them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always consistently good, servic ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food is always consistently good, service is consistently great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great night with the family. Enjoyed fan ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great night with the family. Enjoyed fantastic steaks. The pasta was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was just beautiful outside and we wer ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was just beautiful outside and we were in a nice cozy corner. My food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Earlier this year we introduced our frie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Earlier this year we introduced our friends to Village Tavern. . They loved it. In fact, they frequent this restaurant for lunch. We dined with them this day. We had a booth in the bar area of the restaurant and Laura was our waitress. Laura was attentive to our needs and she delivered outstanding service and made this dining experience with our friends wonderful. The food was delicious as usual and the cheesecake we all shared was amazing! Thank you Village Tavern for another great dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LadybugJ

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice and cool on hot day; with my husband; server was more than accommodating but not intrusive; relaxing atmosphere; generous and delicious food; great value for quality and menu voices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed food everything waiter was good ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Enjoyed food everything waiter was good wait staff excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner on Saturday.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We enjoyed the food and beverages and the atmosphere there. We just wish that it was not a 2 hour drive from where we live.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Best brunch I've had

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I took my mom here for her birthday for brunch she wanted to go to Grandover but I looked around to see whom else served brunch and found you all. She loved it, the food is great. I was craving french toast and you all's brioche french toast hit the spot. The price was great too. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to meet friends for dinner!

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great place to meet friends for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu . Everyone enjoyed their mea ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great menu . Everyone enjoyed their meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Treat

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Village Tavern Greensboro is a wonderful treat to have in the neighborhood. We celebrated at brunch for our child's church confirmation. Easy to make reservations. Food delish and something for even the pickiest eaters in our family. Being a family with kids our waitress was extremely accommodating! Definitely recommend!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It took 10 minutes after we were seated ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

It took 10 minutes after we were seated for the waitperson to come and take our drink order. We decided to order our meal at that time. It took another 20 minutes before we were served. The excuse given was "we're really busy today." We've heard that each time we've eaten there on a Sunday. Someone needs to get the message to hire more people. We like this place and the food is very good. But the service (slowness in getting the meal to us) is poor. The waitperson said that she delivered it to us as soon as it was ready in the kitchen. I believe that because the food was hot. But someone needs to take responsibility for bringing in more waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Menu offers wide selection so everyone i ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Menu offers wide selection so everyone in party can easily find something he or she likes; quality of food is a good value and consistently delicious! I really enjoy the relaxed atmosphere too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall, the food was very good. Howeve ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Overall, the food was very good. However, some of the items were somewhat cold, and the English muffins to our eggs benedict meals were not toasted. Siricha sauce on eggs benedict was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Never disappointed after years of visits ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Never disappointed after years of visits, reservation was most helpful, should have started much earlier in the day, my bad.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Prime rib dinner was great! Was properl ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Prime rib dinner was great! Was properly aged and seasoned, something often hard to get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.