Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.91mi
  2. Distance: 1.49mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 2.69mi

About Village Tavern Greensboro

The Village Tavern offers an upscale casual dining experience providing great food at a great value with great service to all of our guests.

1903 Westridge Road
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00m - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Battleground and Westridge Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 282-3063

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music on our Patio every Wednesday Night

Executive Chef:
Aaron Dickson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Village Tavern Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (51)
Great for Lunch (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Business Meals (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (19)
Fun (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Healthy (7)
Live Music (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great Beer (7)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Have a business trip that takes me to Greensboro twice a year and Village Tavern is always a dinner spot. Food is good, atmosphere is good. Place to relax and have a longer meal

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal. The food was very good, and the ambiance was just right for an anniversary. I wish they had a special dessert for anniversaries and birthdays, like some of the more expensive restaurants, but it was still a nice evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Disconnect between reviews read on line and experience. Food was ok but nothing special ambiance was just ok. Lighting too bright. Service was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Cant wait to see what changes will be made after the remodel coming the first of the year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 12, 2017

When you can get a nice sized piece of salmon, green beans and slaw for lunch for $13.50 all prepared properly with very good service you can't complain much about anything else. I have been eating there for many years and it's had it's ups and downs but the food is always good. I think the interior is dark & tired and there are funky odors floating around but the food and the service are predictable and as good as many restaurants charging twice as much.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 10, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in Greensboro. Never get tired of it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Very nice evening. All food was cooked to order and served hot. Waiter was quite accommodating. When seated in a booth you feel like you can have a private conversation. Menu doesn’t change often enough although they do occasionally add a new dish or two. Would like to see more different items since we do eat there often. They do have a special soup and entree each night which usually are quite good.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Comfort Food, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great clam chowder

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Server was the reason I will probably not return. Food was not prepared as requested, minimal follow up and when she did, she did not remember requests. I understand that there has been high turnover of help in recent months. Level of professionalism is not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Greensboro!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great first experience.
Looking forward to visiting again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food and service were both really good.

It would be good to see more healthy options and bring back the pasta salad

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Nice variety of food
Our waiter was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was a nice place to meet friends for a fun lunch. Lots to choose from on the menu so everyone was happy.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Was disappointed in the Ahi Tuna appetizer. I've had great Ahi elsewhere and the Village Tavern's did not compare. Certainly not sushi-grade tuna. I'll go back to the fried oyster appetizer next trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We made reservations for 10:00, which is when the restaurant opens on Sundays for brunch. They don't seem to be quite ready to handle customers upon opening. We were seated a few minutes after 10:00, but then it took another 5 minutes for our waitress to acknowledge our presence. This isn't the first time we've experienced this. We went back because their eggs Benedict are very good. Service could be better.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

my boyfriend and I went on a date this past weekend, September 30,2017. The ambiance was great! Our server was even better. He knew the menu and gave great recommendations. We will for sure come back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Filet Mignon was a little cold, the mash potatoes are choppy, kind of like it had been sitting there and became stiff. Half of the steamed broccoli had yellow on the edge of the crowns. At least it was not over steamed... that part was good. The steak had no seasoning, which is fine if you bring me A-1 sauce. However, I got an unseasoned steak and had to ask for sauce, a little annoying, but not the end of the world. Overall disappointed, food wasn't terrible, but I'm not paying that kind of money for that food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We are outside and enjoyed a leisurely Sunday brunch. Great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Food was good, but service was slow, even though the patio was only about half full. This restaurant seems to be slipping in quality. They also need to cater to gluten free customers better. Please offer gluten free bread/buns and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We arrived for our reservation and was promptly seated. The chips were delicious as always. My husband and I both ordered the 10 Spice Salmon which was very good. Our friends ordered two different chicken dishes and they said they were both very good. The service was a little slower than normal and it took a while for our food to arrive. I guess a busy Saturday night this type slower service is to be expected. I love their food but definitely not to place to go in a hurry.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great Dinner for my wife's Birthday with family. Outside seating was great. Waiter was great. (George)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My boyfriend and I needed a change in date night! We heard about the crab dip and hadn't to try this place out! The hostess was so lovely and the whole time we were treated like any other couple. Being younger (mid twentys) some places may feel intimidating to people our age. We felt welcome, and left stuffed! The steak was cooked to perfection, and the drinks topped it off. Loved their desert drink menu!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were seated in the patio section. Was not aware that pets are allowed. While I was looking over the menu, a large dog put its face on the table and my right hand. I was startled and put my menu in the dog's face to back it up. The dog's owner was unable to control her dog and started cursing me. This made for a disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great food. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Weekly specials so check the website. Always a good time.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great Service and Food always comes through with what I expect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We made reservations well that n advance but had a high traffic area for the six of us.

Food was served COLD .

Slightly overpriced for value.
Have eaten many times in Charlotte and WS location...disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Dinner rolls were not offered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Always a good experience and always a good meal. My favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Server was attentive and knowledgeable. The new meatball skillet was great though not served as hot as it could have been. Prices were moderate.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have been coming to this restaurant for years and the last three times we have dined for dinner, the food quality has deteriorated. Each time there was a problem (dinner undercooked, overcooked, not delivered as requested, timing off, etc.) Unfortunately, this will no longer be a staple of easy places to eat out at going forward. What a shame because the only thing they can still do pretty well is their appetizer chips. Those are usually pretty good. The prices are way too high for the quality of food we have been receiving.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Awesome restaurant! One of my favorites!! The food is great, and the service is wonderful! I requested a booth when I made a reservation, and I got a booth! I recommend this restaurant to anyone! The lighting and ambience are great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The filet mignon we had ordered was disappointing to say the least, but the staff was understanding when we sent it back and ordered a ribeye that was excellent. Overall it was a great dinner and will likely return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wonderful outdoor patio - Attentive and knowledgeable server - Menu has fabulous wide variety of options - made a reservation & we were seated promptly - good mix of families & couples - will return soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This was our second dinner here. Our first visit was such a nice experience that we were really looking forward to going back. Our food this time was warm and was not very appetizing. Service was good and people seemed to be enjoying themselves but my wife and I have eaten much better food for half the price as the Tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Good food and beer selection but the service was horrible. It started with the hostess and only got worse from there. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent food. I have never been disappointed with Village Tavern and continue to place it near the top in Greensboro dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.