About Village Tavern Birmingham

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Restaurant Photos

  • Flash Fried Calamari - Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
  • Blackened Chicken Alfredo Cheese Fettucine - Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
  • Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Flash Fried Calamari - Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Blackened Chicken Alfredo Cheese Fettucine - Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

Good for a Date (24)
Comfort Food (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Business Meals (17)
Casual (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (10)
Fireplace (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (7)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Family Style (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
843 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We made a reservation for two three days ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We made a reservation for two three days in advance. After browsing the menu online we had strong ideas of the dishes we wanted to order. Upon arriving there was no table reserved, but no wait. We were greeted by a friendly server but immediately told they were out of sea bass, pork chops, prime rib, Ny strip, fish and chips, and grouper. Fairly disappointing for a 7:30 on Sunday night when we planned to order fish. I had shrimp tacos, and spouse had filet. The tacos were great! Filet was good but just slightly overcooked. For all of the disappointment of the menu we were offered dessert at no charge. We selected the butter cake and the server gladly accepted a substitution of caramel sauce instead of berries. The dessert was out of this world yummy and sort of made up for the rest. I suggest coming back, but not on a Sunday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Did not feel the restaurant delivered on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Did not feel the restaurant delivered on the expectations set by the website. There was no cappuccino, my tomato basil soup was barely warm and my chicken spinach salad was drowned in dressing making it too difficult to eat. Was very disappointed.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food, service, table, etc were all g ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The food, service, table, etc were all good and I would have rated it higher, but when the bill came I was only given the total due and not an itemized bill. I thought it seemed a bit higher than it should be so I asked for an itemized bill. Sure enough, there were two items on my ticket that we didn't order and I had to point it out to the waiter and get a corrected bill. People can make mistakes, but that is a pretty bad one to make. I shouldn't have to worry that I'll get charged for something that I didn't eat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This place is always fabulous! Super Sun ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place is always fabulous! Super Sunday brunch! Awesome egg benedicts!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have enjoyed dining regularly at the ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have enjoyed dining regularly at the Village Tavern for about 6 years. Very nice bar area and very nice dining room. Generally, dinners are very good and worthy of praise. Some of the items on the menu marked "New" and pushed by their servers are overpriced and just OK. Would recommend some of their older menu standbys which are quite good.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The portion size of the crab cake sandwi ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The portion size of the crab cake sandwich in comparison to the burgers was really bad. The crab cake sandwich costed more as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

My wife had the Delmonico ribeye and I h ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife had the Delmonico ribeye and I had the shrimp and grits both were outstanding! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu choices not all that appealing to u ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Menu choices not all that appealing to us. Service was good, but waiter brought wrong wine and had to be convinced that we were knowledgeable enough to know the difference.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Good as always. Felt a bit pushed to fin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Good as always. Felt a bit pushed to finish from server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Drinks was not worth it. Need experience ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Drinks was not worth it. Need experience bartender

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Always exceptional. Don't miss on steaks ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always exceptional. Don't miss on steaks. Wedge is wonderful, and service from Eamon (emphasis on the "a") is professional, friendly and efficient.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious, and the se ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food is always delicious, and the service has always been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the Village Tavern, and I make su ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I love the Village Tavern, and I make sure to get a meal there almost every time I'm in Birmingham. I especially enjoy the Pimento Cheese Deviled Eggs with candied bacon. The bacon-wrapped scallops are always a favorite too, and I've never had a bad thing to say about anything on the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Should've known that things weren't goin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Should've known that things weren't going to be up to the normal standard when the server couldn't explain the difference between a regular ribeye and the Delmonico ribeye other than it being thicker because the uncooked weight was more..

Appetizer was good.

Main courses arrived

My steak was below par but edible and I was starving, dates steak was tougher than old boots.

To give them credit, the manager replaced her steak but by the time that arrived we had both finished sides etc. Her replacement steak tasted divine, nothing like the one I had in taste or texture.

Honestly I think we could've had comparable service and food at Longhorn, not impressed at all..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great food, Natasha was a great server, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food, Natasha was a great server, lovely wine just very expensive

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good assortment of foods on the menu. I ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good assortment of foods on the menu. I went there for brunch on Sunday and it was delicious. My girlfriend got the eggs Benedict and that was really delicious and I got the chicken and waffles. Would highly reccommended this to families and small parties. If go on Sunday make sure to call for a reservation. Sundays get busy

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Friendly staff, large menu, tasty food ( ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Friendly staff, large menu, tasty food (a friend from out of town raved about the Steak Oscar), and pleasant surroundings.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Fun, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Have eaten at VT many many times. NEVER ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Have eaten at VT many many times. NEVER had a bad meal or bad experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent visitors and have to say ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We are frequent visitors and have to say this visit was much improved over our last. We enjoy the atmosphere and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Village Tavern is one of my go-to re ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The Village Tavern is one of my go-to restaurants for a business lunch. The menu selection is varied, the wait staff professional and attentive, the food is excellent and the noise level is moderate enough allowing for conversation.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Apptizers were good to share; especially ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Apptizers were good to share; especially the nachos (healthy portion). The 14oz ribeye was flavorful, but the quality of the meat was not the best. It was a little tough to cut, despite asking for a rare cut. The desert choices were food as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My best friend is taking the CPA exams a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My best friend is taking the CPA exams and she needed a girls day to not think about school. I was excited to take her to village tavern because we had never been and it got such great reviews. We had a horrible experience and will probably never return. We didn't get our salads for 45 mins after we had been there. Once our salads came there was bread on my gf salad so they had to make a new one. Then shortly after receiving our salads we got our meals only to find that they brought my friend the wrong item. She ordered one thing and they brought something completely different. I notified the waiter and my friend being the nice person she is said it was fine she would eat what they brought. I got spinach, mashed potatoes and salmon. The mashed potatoes tasted awful! Im not sure what seasoning was on them but it tasted like a barn smells. The spinach tasted like boiled canned spinach too. I was very disappointed in my meal. The salmon was tasty but it was nothing to go back for. My friend didn't finish her meal either and said it wasn't good. We were in the restaurant for an hour and a half for just two people. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

We ordered 3 eggs Benedicts. 2 were pre ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We ordered 3 eggs Benedicts. 2 were prepared just right, 1 was over cooked not once but twice. The potatoes arrived to the table after the meal was served, to us that meant the kitchen staff wasn't able to keep up with the volume, and the plates didn't look complete. The manager did comp the eggs that were not prepared to restaurant standard which was much appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent options and great taste. Evide ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent options and great taste. Evidence of teamwork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

always great, really like the spacious a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 27, 2016

always great, really like the spacious and comfortable booths

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Tapas, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here many times and been s ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We have dined here many times and been satisfied. On Sunday we had brunch here and ordered brunch and lunch items. The food took forever to get and when we did it just wasn't good. The manger was more than nice and he was the best thing about the whole experience

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Had the butter cake for dessert and it w ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had the butter cake for dessert and it was absolutely awesome. Our meal was also wonderful. We ha the shrimp with grits and the chicken masala.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service great food.

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful service great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I always enjoy the food and service at t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I always enjoy the food and service at the Village Tavern!

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Fun, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Village Tavern provides a consistently e ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Village Tavern provides a consistently excellent lunch experience. I've never had a problem with the food or service. The menu offers a nice variety, and the recipes/presentation are creative without being goofy. On this particular visit we had a conscientious but inexperienced waiter whom I would only rate as "good", but we were seated within 60 seconds of our arrival, so I rated our overall service as "very good."

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food-horrible! We ordered a pimento ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food-horrible! We ordered a pimento cheese fondue with vegetables. It was this cheese glop(?) of it all coming up in one spoonful. The cucumbers were so old-they were slimy and hardly resembled any vegetable at all. I ordered the eggs Benedict with sautéed spinach and a tomato and onion mixture with the hollandaise sauce on the side. The sauce was cold, the eggs were cold and the sautéed spinach was this frozen mess made to look like something green. Tomatoes and onion weren't present at all!

Don't waste time or money on this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Although a slow night for restaurants ( ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Although a slow night for restaurants ( football season) it took quite a while to get our food. We were told there was a " large party " ahead of our order. At any rate, the food was good. The drinks were also good albeit skimpy as if measured by Scrooge himself. We had a Delightful server in Raven. Would return but have several other favorite dining establishments ahead of the line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very enjoyable dinner. Loved my filet. T ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner. Loved my filet. The spicy fried calamari appetizer was divine.

Broccoli side dish was very tasty! Wedge salad enjoyable as well. I would recommend Village Tavern. We did have reservations but I don't believe we HAD to have them.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyed it very much!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Enjoyed it very much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We often have dinner at the Village Tave ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We often have dinner at the Village Tavern and heard they had "the best Sunday brunch" in town. We made a reservation and brought friends after church. The service was fine, but we were disappointed in the brunch. I had the Village Tavern Benedict. It would have been excellent if it had been served hot. Instead, it was barely warm and the plate was cold, making it worse. My husband ordered a side of the maple sugar bacon. It came as four strips sealed together - he could not even pull them apart. It was tough like jerky and a challenge to chew. The apple walnut muffinswere tasty, but would have been even better had they been served warm. We'll probably give the brunch another try, but will make sure to convey our concerns beforehand!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything we had was great! Hot crab di ...

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything we had was great! Hot crab dip is always one of our favorites. Great service. Very attentive management. We will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the "steak and eggs" but my steak ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had the "steak and eggs" but my steak was over cooked. Not sure the ratio of egg/hash brown/ steak was quite right for the price. (Way more egg) My wife had the same and her steak was cooked correctly. We'd go back, nothing bad to say but won't be on our regular rotation of dining spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Village Tavern is a favorite of our fami ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Village Tavern is a favorite of our family. The greeters, wait stafff, manager and bussers are always pleasant and friendly. The food is exceptional and the atmosphere lends itself to good conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 17th annive ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 17th anniversary here. The restaurant is very classy with tall ceilings, dim accent lighting, and the staff dressed in black. The menu was extensive, the prices were reasonable for an upscale restaurant, and our server was perfectly attentive. The food was absolutely scrumptious. We each cleaned our plate and then splurged with the enormous double cheesecake. It was a fantastic evening and I will be going back soon. Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When my wife booked the reservations, sh ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2016

When my wife booked the reservations, she noted in comment section that we were out celebrating our seventh/7th wedding anniversary. We chose Village Tavern over Perry's Steakhouse. To say the least, we were very disappointed in our food overall.

Firstly, my Spring Rolls was very good, however, my wife Pimiento Cheese Deviled Eggs came out, the bacon was cold and still had grease on it, yuck! When I brought to my waitress attention, she didn't give, I'm sorry or anything, she suggested getting me more, however, my wife didn't any eggs after that.

Secondly, I ordered the blackened Chicken Alfredo, I've had better from Olive Garden! My wife ordered, a sirloin steak, I know the bottom of the steaks, however, she's had better from Outback, our dinner was such a let down.

Thirdly, we ordered dessert, needless to say, it was the best part of our dinner, The Warm Butter cake, it was delicious.

Our waitress was nice but overall experience was not a good one, and if we return it would only be for the dessert.

I wouldn't recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.