About Village Tavern Birmingham

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (43)
Business Meals (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Casual (30)
Romantic (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Fireplace (16)
Fun (14)
Family Style (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Healthy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined a day ago

Wonderful service and great food! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Had the special..filet and grits.. fantastic. Great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall the experience was great. I've been here before, so I knew what to expect. The food was okay. I believe the dinner selection maybe better. Atmosphere was great and it's a great place to just go and have a good lunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

We all had the steaks and they were great.AJ was a great server.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service! Really enjoyed the atmosphere as well.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We have eaten here several times and consider it out favorite to celebrate a special occasion. We have NEVER had a bad meal and I have even had the meatloaf before! The servers are all very personable. They are honest in their appraisal of the offerings - even getting a negative on something I was considering - a negative given in a personal manner. Chancellor was our server and he was very attentive. I had grouper and my girlfriend had a spinach salad. She reports that the spinach salad is the best served any where - having gotten it 3 times while visiting. I have tried several different dishes - and liked them all. The menu is such that I would think anyone could find a selection. I am a product of traditional southern cooking - thus the meatloaf! We have been served in the bar as well. The bar is a comfortable room dedicated to civilized conversation. We enjoy this restaurant immensely!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our food was fantastic. Our server, Travis, was one of the best servers I have ever had (and I worked in the industry over 10 years). Everything recommended was spot on. Terrific wine suggestion. Steak cooked to perfection (a rarity in this state).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Travis was our server and he was awesome sauce! Witty, funny and well prepared. I only want him to be my server from now on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a quiet Sunday evening meal with our family on Easter. Even after one of the busiest of days, our waiter was pleasant and attentive. The cocktails were strong; loved the blackberry LIT. For appetizers, we ordered the warm crab dip and a flatbread. Both were delicious. We each enjoyed our entrees, with the steak tacos getting rave reviews from three family members. The VIllage Tavern was the perfect place to enjoy a holiday family meal that I didn't have to cook!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was poor. Drinks were empty most of the meal. Took forever to receive appetizers and salads. My salad was served less than 2 minutes before main course. Food was ok. Steaks were over cooked at a place that boasts "best steaks in Alabama". Fried oysters arrived cold and undercooked.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday Brunch. Our party of five was seated promptly for our reservation. Food and service were quite good. This place does very well for a limited chain and MUCH better than Seasons 52 which is close by. It's one of our "go to" places for friends and family, too.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a wonderful experience...the food is fantastic!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always enjoy the Tavern, sometimes eat there twice a month. My omelette was a little
over cooked and hard, but still okay. Waitress was very helpful and pleasant. Will definitely
be back.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My husband and I ate at Village Tavern for my birthday. It was our first time and we will be back. We love the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I always have a good meal at the Tavern. The service is excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Server was very good. The garlic mashed potatoes were very salty for everyone who ordered. Possibly an error. Server was notified to let kitchen know. Overall good experience with all other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice dinning experience. We went after theatre. Great menu and atmosphere. Nice people as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband and I love to go to The Village Tavern for dinner on our date nights. We usually get there at least 30 minutes before our reservation, so that we have time to relax in the bar with a drink first.

On this particular night, it was our anniversary, and we were treated to a delicious desert by the restaurant for us to share. Very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our waiter AJ was great! He explained everything to us and answered any questions we had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

we enjoyed the afternoon in your restaurant. our server was good and attentive. food arrived in a timely manner and was hot and enjoyable. we used the open table reservation and that was great. no waiting. we are members of a healthy you group as well and have eaten with you several times in the past. this time was with our family. hope to see you again soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My breakfast was served cold and eggs (Benedict) were overdone. Other meals at table seemed satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Celebrated our 2nd anniversary at Village Tavern (we had celebrated our 1st there as well) and it was excellent as usual. Hurrah - they are serving much better bread - and it was warm. That has been our only complaint in the past and so happy to see they thought it was important, too.

We made reservations through Open Table and told them it was our anniversary. Oddly, no one from management came by to wish us well or even ask if we were enjoying the food. This is the first time that has happened - usually the manage stops to inquire about the food and service. Perhaps he was out sick.

Our server, Jackelyn, was excellent and knowledgeable about the wines. We had a delightful meal and will certainly be back soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food, as always. Few mistakes by staff, though we still were happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Overall, a good experience. They went out of their way to accommodate one guest with food allergies. Quiet enough at first but got louder as the lunch people came in. We would go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food was surprisingly very, very enjoyable. Steaks were wonderful.
A little pricey but still worth it.
Service was just mediocre but I would try again in hopes it was an off day for him.

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great food & great service. Will visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great place for a business meeting, date, or anniversary. Great food with decent specials on wine on Wednesdays. Service was excellent as was the quality. Prices were a little above average but for the quality and service, it was a good value. We will definitely eat here again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Service was SLOW even though the restaurant wasn't busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

DELICIOUS! Had been a while. I forgot how good it is 😍

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

So glad I made reservations! It was packed on a Wednesday evening, but our table was waiting for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Village Tavern Birmingham is a reliable restaurant. Although it's part of a chain, the food is good and the service and ambiance are respectable. It can be crowded and noisy as tables are close together. Service can be hit or miss dependent on the server. Parking is free and easy unless it's crowded and then the valet takes up a lot of the adjacent service lot. This restaurant is much better than the nearby Seasons 52, IMO.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Village Tavern always delivers an excellent meal. I have never gotten a meal at Village Tavern that was not 5 stars. The ribeye dinner I had was one of the top cuts of meat I have ever had.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This worked great. I made the reservation and I walked in a little early and my table was waiting and ready. That's how its supposed to work. Everything went fine and the food and service was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Old friends met for a weekday dinner and had a wonderful time. The food was exceptional, the service was outstanding and the atmosphere was lively. I would recommend Village Tavern to anyone wanting to have a tasty meal with friends or relatives. We plan to go back soon to be treated like someone special again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This is a great local find. The menu selection was extensive, the portions were generous and the taste was good on every item.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very good service and the food was very good as always. It was SO crowded but our reservation made it so easy and quick to get in and go right to our table.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always a pleasure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Sat in the bar area. Very quiet at lunchtime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very enjoyable. Service and food outstanding. Would recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Travis is an amazing waiter. He is both attentive and extremely knowledgeable about the 100+ items on the menu. Try the crab dip and butter cake!! Amazing!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.