About Village Tavern Birmingham

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Casual (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Romantic (17)
Business Meals (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Live Music (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1084 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

From salad to dessert this is one of the best meals I've had in a restaurant all year. The atmosphere was fun - way better than what I expected. Didn't feel like a "tavern" at all, more like a cross between a romantic place and a cool hot spot. Michael O was a colorful server and added to the pleasantness of our experience. We had a great time and would definitely go back again!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been twice in the last two weeks. Server said they opened patio and have new management.
Service last week was not good.
This week service was much better but they were out of my first three entree choices (86) on a Friday night (Bone-in Pork Chop, Chilean Sea Bass and Meatloaf).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Always love dining at Village Tavern. Carrot cake is a MUST!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent food, service was a bit slow, but the bartender was pulling double duty. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Highly accommodating and attentive staff. Couldn't ask for better treatment for an extended family lunch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Service was a little slow compared to previous visits

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We ate brunch at the restaurant and the restaurant was freezing and the food was cold. Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We ate here is first-time visitors to Birmingham. The atmosphere and ambience of the restaurant were terrific. Our waiter, Will, was excellent. I ordered the glaze salmon with coucous and green beans. The beans were under done, difficult to even cut. The salmon was OK, nothing to rave about. Not sure I would return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Seated promptly. Staff was polite despite the busy crowd. Food was good and service was on point.

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We enjoyed the ambiance, food, and specialty drinks. There was a great festive mood in the restaurant as well with a smiling, efficient server. Great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Met another couple for dinner and had a great meal. I had the Sea Bass and my husband had the filet. Both were great! Also, the wine selection is good and very reasonably priced. One of our favorite places to eat in Birmingham.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our server, Nick was great from start to finish. All items were prepared as we ordered and tasted great! We had a great e perience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My experience was great,the food was excellent and our waiter was good.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Salmon without the glaze was quite tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

As usual, Village Tavern was very good! We eat there frequently.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have been going their for years, We met fort the first time their. Had our Wedding Reherasl dinner their, Great place to eat,.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Traveling through Birmingham with a friend and decided to stop for dinner. Glad we made a reservation (although only 30 min. ahead of arrival.) We immediately got a table and quick service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Usually really enjoy lunch here but very disappointed in today's experience- not only because the food was not good but that the waitress and manager did nothing. I ordered the 'blackened salmon sandwich' and I had a discussion with the waitress about whether the salmon was to be grilled or blackened. I told her I didn't want it if it was grilled. She said no it's blackened. But it came out basically grilled with some spices on it. I told the waitress it wasn't blackened. The manager came. Told him the same. He said well it is grilled but with blackened spices. Asked if I wanted anything else. But I was still charged for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This visit was definitely not my favorite. Food was low to average at best. This restaurant is usually one of my favorite places, but I won't be back for a little while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Went for a special date night. I made a reservation online and we arrived before our time and was seated quickly. Our waitress was very attentive and we went with her selections. Food was amazing! It was a little darker than expected but it was ok. There was an "open table" charge added to the ticket. The waitress couldn't explain it...it was only a few bucks but we paid it. They should be prepared for that question. Overall experience was great and we'll be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food with a great value for the quality of the food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Never disappoints! This is our go to date night restaurant and have been numerous times. However this is the first time that we have ever had bad service. Our server was horrible! She would walk by our table numerous times ignoring us when we would try to ask for things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2017

It was a a busy restaurant that made all of its food from scratch! I would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I had the Bayou Shrimp with rice and sauteed spinach (substituted for green beans). The shrimp and rice were entirely too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Terrific food, good atmosphere, great service. One of my favorite steaks in Birmingham. Nice, dark, and moderately quiet.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had a group of 13. Our service and food were both outstanding!! Our waitress was exceptional, especially for a group that size.
I ordered one of the daily specials-filet and grits. It was one of the best meals I've had! Everything about our experience was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Good Food. Good atmosphere. Had the bone in Pork Chop and it was great. Our server was very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Lively place with good vibes. Good menu with lots of selections. Can be noisy - but not totally distracting

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Don't order the steak. Could have gotten a better steak at Logans Roadhouse and for much less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Celebrated my son's birthday Good selection Good good and service Great service Most enjoyable

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was not as good as usual. It was obvious that the kitchen was off as our salads were brought after main entree and we had to wait for our sides. Waitress was very nice but food quality was disappointing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The waiters and the front desk personnel are great. However, we have been going there for many years and the menu is basically the same, with the exception that some things have been removed such as the succotash which was delicious in the summer. They need more seasonal food and also some food that is healthier. The steaks and burgers are great, but if you want anything on the healthy side, it is most difficult and the menu is in dire need of an overhaul. I heard that they were going to add some items, but even with that, it is not enough from what I saw.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food, as usual, was excellent. However, although our waitress did an excellent job, we waited a very long time for dessert, ostensibly because they had a large group party and the kitchen got backed up. Nice that they comped the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food and service were wonderful, but from the moment we walked in, there was the smell of wet dirty carpet. Know they're doing some outside construction, but the inside smelled horrible. Only when we received our food we're we unable to smell it any longer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

We have enjoyed evening dinners and the Sunday brunch. Both are outstanding. Good prices for excellent food. God variety. The pimento cheese, bacon burger with sweet potato fries is to die for.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were first timers and loved the experience. Our waiter, Brett, was very knowledgeable and helped us out with great suggestions. The food from the appetizer to the salad and entree were all fabulous. A truly pleasurable night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always good & dependable food & service. Menu is Killer, something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Had a great soup and salad lunch.French Onion soup excellent. Very good waiter Eamon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.