About Village Tavern Birmingham

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (27)
Business Meals (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Casual (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Cozy (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Family Style (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Fireplace (8)
Seasonal (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
943 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined a day ago

Travis is an amazing waiter. He is both attentive and extremely knowledgeable about the 100+ items on the menu. Try the crab dip and butter cake!! Amazing!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Village Tavern is consistent though nothing spectacular. We had the crab dip and it was strong, fishy smelling. We did not enjoy it. The flatbread was average and chicken sandwich and fries were good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious as always! Cold beer, crab dip appetizer was delicious, steak cooked to pure perfection, salad and loaded baked potato always good. We eat here every year for our anniversary and visit a few other times throughout the year. It is one of our favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Was able to be seated upon arrival, very organized, and wonderful waitress and staff. Very calm and unique place to eat and all of my guests and I were able to unwind and relax without having to yell. The seating arrangement was nice, which allowed everyone to be able to stretch out without the concerns of bumping into one another or another table. Overall, an amazing experience, will do it again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service, fairly priced for the amount and quality of food. My only complaints are the Steak Oscar could have had a little more béarnaise sauce and the Prime Rib was a little too tough. Other than that both the food and service were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Pros: Good food, reasonable prices

Cons: Service was a bit slow at first, but got better. It was Valentine's Day. We had to wait about five minutes before we were served once we were seated. That's a bit too long for this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Seated quickly, even though we were 15 minutes early for our reservation. Crab dip was pretty good, chicken pasta was good but the trout was delicious. Cocktails were a little pricey for their size but were very good. They handed out a single rose to each lady, which was a nice touch on Valentine's. Only complaint was that we were placed at a table with other patrons, even though there were a few tables for 2 available. This made for a somewhat awkward Valentine's dinner and will affect my decision on choosing other restaurants for special date nights. I will be back for other family dinners though.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our server was excellent, courteous, attentive but not interruptive, appetizer, entree, drinks, deserts were all outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Although it was a special day, we were seated in no time no service was quick. Our waiter, Brett was great...very knowledgeable about the menu and never let our glasses get low. Sonya came around and gave all the ladies a rose...nice touch. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We arrived at 4:30 which was the time of our reservations for Valentine's. There was a lot of chaos that early. They said it was because of a shift change. Finally, we were seated and waited 20 minutes for a waitress to show up. We ordered and when our food came the salad was good but the filet minions were ordered medium well for both of us. Our steaks were medium rare with blood running out. We complained and they took them back to the kitchen. When we got them back they were burned on the outside but done on the inside. They were not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I took the wife for Valentine's Day dinner. The food was great. Our server took very good care of us. We will be going back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Tavern has a very good selection of menu choices. The food is always good. Service is very good.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Meeting friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food and great service every time! Menu is diverse enough for most anyone and the people are friendly, always provide personal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We have eaten here many times before and have had a good experience but were disappointed tonight. First of all we have an 18 month old and they only had 2 high chairs both of which were broken. The pimento cheese fondue app was good but then it took a long time to get our food. And some of the good was lukewarm when it came out. They also were out of baked potatoes but we didn't know until my wife had already ordered a steak. I hope it was just an off night but was disappointing for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The village tavern is one of our go to restaurants. Great food, service and atmosphere.

One disappointment is they screwed up the last two mixed drinks we ordered. Oh well no one is perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our server AJ was amazing and made our lunch better. Very personable and a true asset to the restaurant

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife's Prime Rib was "excellent". My ribeye was mediocre at best. Over cooked .

We will give it another try because the reviews were so good, but I can't imagine that this place got such a glowing review from USA Today.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely evening of celebration with new family friends. Good food and good service. Enjoyable atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Waiter had either too much to do or not doing her job well. Took forever to get order in and food back. This reminded me of a glorified Olive garden and we were expecting more of a upscale experience. Could be our expectations were unrealistic. The one thing that bothered me even more, we made a 7 pm reservation on open table, Still took them 25 minutes to seat us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was really great! Service could have been a little bit better but overall a fantastic meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was amazing. Cocktails were incredibly reasonably priced and delicious. Service started off great and then our server just basically quit after we ordered food. Didn't bring our food to the table, didn't check to see if it was right (which sucked because my date's steak was a little undercooked for her liking), didn't ever bring us refills, finally the manager came by and helped and we little never saw our server at our table again. The manager was fuming mad but hid it well behind a very kind smile and excellent recovery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Must get the warm pimento cheese dip and clam chowder! Big menu and grate for brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The only thing wrong with this restaurant is the parking and it may not even be their fault. A neighboring restaurant cones off a huge (I mean huge!) portion of the parking lot forcing valet service. Forced valet, especially in a shopping mall lot, just seems inappropriate. It may seem an inept analogy, but it is somewhat akin to if Publix were to suddenly rope off their nearby parking spaces for valet services only.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Village Tavern in Birmingham is always competing for top steak dinner in the area. Meal was great. Good wine selection and warm butter cake is marvelous!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Excellent. Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food is always good and the service was wonderful as well. We had the Beef and Shrimp Teriyaki special, Chicken Parmesan, Shrimp & Grits, Blackened Shrimp, Calamari, and Creme Brule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Village Tavern was in route on our trip traveling through Birmingham. Made lunch reservations based on TripAdvisors' reviews. Very good service and good food. I would mention that I thought the restaurant side was a tad loud, so we opted to sit in the bar area which actually was more quiet. Will visit again when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The only real problem we had was that it was uncomfortably cold.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Straight awful! Food and service was just terrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love the atmosphere of this place! Lunch was great! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Lunch with business associates was a pleasant experience thanks to great food and attentive waitstaff. The crab dip was delicious. Also very good was the Small filet and shrimp and grits. Warm butter cake for desert was outstanding. Definitely worth return visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My family has been to Village Tavern multiple times now, and all six of us are impressed every single time. Every appetizer, every entrée, and each wonderful dessert has been top notch.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and FANTASTIC service! Went for Sunday lunch New Years Eve and it was POURING down rain when we left. The manager who was incredible helped me get my mom-n-law (who is in a wheelchair) to the car and into it while it was still pouring rain. He was soaked but could not have been nicer and more willing to help. Thank You Village Tavern for starting our 2017 out on a grateful note!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Brunch was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best filet I've ever had! Our waiter was extremely friendly and quick to respond to our needs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love this place. Steaks are great, best we've ever had.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was GREAT!!!! Angel was our server and she was AMAZING!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Kate made the most wonderful drinks and Matthew took excellent care of us! The food was terrific and we had a beautiful lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and great service by Raven. Everyone was very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve and while the food and the server were good, the kitchen was super slow! We were there a good 3 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was ok... no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Portions were very generous. Our server (Sarah) was outstanding and very patient. We met friends for dinner and stayed 4 hours - never felt hurried, which made for a fantastic evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food and service great. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food once again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Out of all the times I've been to Village Tavern... this missed the mark, by far!

Ambiance, Noise level and Service was not good for "a Table for Two, Date."

Sitting us right by the kitchen/serving area, where all the staff stands and waits, was not optimal for a nicely dressed couple out on a date... and it wasn't like we just showed up to take any given table. Reservations were made. Common sense could have gone a long way. Also, for whatever reason, it felt like service dropped off due to distraction of being where the staff was congregating. After the main dish was ordered, a single offer of refill and/or need anything else was given, as in once. I love the food at Village Tavern and if I were there with my kids, friends, co-workers or just a group, the seating would have sufficed. NOT for a couple out for dinner/date. Again... common sense by the staff would go a long way!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The Tavern is a go to place for us anytime we are looking for pleasant evening. It is our favorite restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Traffic was bad, parking was terrible. We were late for our reservation, but were seated right away. Server was prompt. The place was dark, crowded and noisy. They messed up my order and said it would be compted but it wasn't. Overall a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.