About Village Tavern Birmingham

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Business Meals (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Romantic (25)
Casual (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Cozy (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Worth the Drive (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fun (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Kid-friendly (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Family Style (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fireplace (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Authentic (6)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Music (3)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1050 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was not as good as usual. It was obvious that the kitchen was off as our salads were brought after main entree and we had to wait for our sides. Waitress was very nice but food quality was disappointing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

The waiters and the front desk personnel are great. However, we have been going there for many years and the menu is basically the same, with the exception that some things have been removed such as the succotash which was delicious in the summer. They need more seasonal food and also some food that is healthier. The steaks and burgers are great, but if you want anything on the healthy side, it is most difficult and the menu is in dire need of an overhaul. I heard that they were going to add some items, but even with that, it is not enough from what I saw.

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Food, as usual, was excellent. However, although our waitress did an excellent job, we waited a very long time for dessert, ostensibly because they had a large group party and the kitchen got backed up. Nice that they comped the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were wonderful, but from the moment we walked in, there was the smell of wet dirty carpet. Know they're doing some outside construction, but the inside smelled horrible. Only when we received our food we're we unable to smell it any longer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were first timers and loved the experience. Our waiter, Brett, was very knowledgeable and helped us out with great suggestions. The food from the appetizer to the salad and entree were all fabulous. A truly pleasurable night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always good & dependable food & service. Menu is Killer, something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Had a great soup and salad lunch.French Onion soup excellent. Very good waiter Eamon!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My daughter is getting married in two weeks and I wanted to have dinner with her and her brother. It was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My wife has always liked this restaurant. I went with her for my first visit and ordered grouper over angel hair pasta. It came out very overcooked. The bottom was brown from, I assume as a chef, was forgotten about. Yet It was brought out to me this way. The waiter finally came back to check on us and my wife and I were eating her crab cakes and had decided that was enough for us, so i asked the waiter to just bring it to go. No other option was offered and no other customer service solution to make me want to come back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service was great and the food was good. The noise level was disappointing as there was a crying child you could hear all over the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 6, 2017

July 6th, 2017 - I had a first time meet and date. She picked this place, the Village Tavern, and I was nervous for numerous of reasons relating to the overall date. After a glass of wine, from the selection (Pinot Noir - Meiomi), I was relaxed. The ambiance with the lighting, our booth seating (cushions and table), and the music really put us at ease when it came to getting to know one another. Thank-you, for the experience, it's safe to say, we both will be back soon.

-John

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Get the mac and cheese!!! It is so good! The filet was superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I brought my mom for her 81st bday. I have to say the food was mediocre and our server was extremely inattentive. I usually have a good experience at Village Tavern, but this time, not so much.
I will be back

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It's nothing like the picture but food and service were very good. Excellent Caesar salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 27, 2017

My prime rib sandwich had very little meat and lots of fat. Usually I am very pleased with what I order, but not today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 26, 2017

A good place for groups. Very relaxed. The food came rather quickly but our server did not rush us. Steaks are a specialty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Celebrated son's birthday with a Sunday brunch. Eggs Benedict was very good. Tavern fried potatoes are excellent. Our waiter surprised my son with a complimentary desert. It was a fun way to start a special day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My husband requested Prime rib cooked "medium well" but received what we think must have been "medium rare" He didn't want to say anything so he ate it anyway, but it wasn't what he would have preferred. The 10 spice salmon I ordered was delicious!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This one of my favorite restaurants. The food is consistently good, the service is great and they have a good variety of menu options. The wine list offers something for most anyone who likes wine. Jonathan and A.J are the best!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our dining experience was good. Justin was our waiter and he made sure our food arrived promptly and our glasses remained full. However, we had to ask for silverware after our food arrived and my steak was cooked well done instead of medium. I did not complain because it was still good and the desserts made up for that. I had the carrot cake, my husband had the apple cobbler, and my daughter had the butter cake. I sampled the other two and they were delicious just as mine. Overall, we were pleased and will come again.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great restaurant for special occasions. Also kid friendly; they have a healthy children's menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Met friends for lunch. Meal was delicious and service was excellent. The only problem was the back ground noise made conversation limited to the person next to you. Might have been better in a booth, but that's difficult with 5.

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great service; food not as good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Disappointing. Mediocre food, large portions, noisy with lid piped music. Was expecting top restaurant and got meh food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was very good for the price. I highly recommend the dip dou app if you like pimento and guacamole . We also had shrimp and grits , which were spicy and very tasty, and we had the cowboy burger, which was huge and cooked perfectly. We'll be back when in town in the future .

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great place will definitely try it again. Food was great and service was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We go here for special occasions several times a year. It is our steak place of choice. The steaks are always lean, tender and cooked to perfection! Sides and beverages are great, also! Although we have different servers each time, the service is always timely, and not rushed and the servers are excellent! We have never had a negative moment here! Thanks, Guys and Gals!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food, great service , nice and relaxing environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We were celebrating our 44th Wedding Anniversary. We had an early reservation so we're seated right away. This restaurant has the best prime rib In Birmingham, it just melts in your mouth. Letting our waiter know the occasion we were able to get a special double deck vanilla/chocolate cheese cake. Low lit romantic booth and a great waiter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Awesome service and food!!! We loved it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We ate here late because we had a late lunch. It was very crowded, so we volunteered to eat at the bar. The bartenders were busy, but attentive. We found a wonderful fume blanc on the wine list, so we shared a bottle. We also shared the ahi tuna appetizer, which was delicious. We also shared part of the BBQ chicken flatbread, which was very flavorful. We love going to Village Tavern when we are traveling if there is one in town. This one was a gem.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We come here all the time and usually have a five-star experience. This time was terrible. Service was incredibly slow. Food was luke-warm and steaks were way over cooked. Very disappointing. We have company in town and kept telling them how great the restaurant is...Village Tavern made liars out of us tonight.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This is our new brunch location; I would highly recommend reservations since Sunday is very busy. However, the service and the food are both very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Tasty brunch of Crab Cakes Benedict and coffee. Our server Courtnie was sweet and helpful and knowledgeable. Enjoyed the spring rolls as an app....very good! When in Bham, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We came for our anniversary, my husband got the ribeye, it way fabulous! I had a mixed green salad & fried oysters.. very tasty!
We had the spring rolls as an appetizer , they are awesome!!! Rebecca W. was our server, we will Definitely be back, she is Super!🎀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Delicious and best food in town!!!! Compliments to the chef!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always one of our favorites. Food not quite as tasty as last time, but still good. The menu is pretty comprehensive, so next time I'll try something else.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2017

A good selection of creative entrees, fast service, nice place for conversation over a meal

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.