About Village Tavern Birmingham

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Restaurant Photos

  • Flash Fried Calamari
  • Blackened Chicken Alfredo Cheese Fettucine
  • Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Flash Fried Calamari
Blackened Chicken Alfredo Cheese Fettucine
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Alabama
American
Alabama
Best Value
Birmingham
1 More
Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

special occasion (55)
great for lunch (51)
good for groups (47)
See All
great for brunch (29)
romantic (28)
fit for foodies (27)
neighborhood gem (22)
kid-friendly (16)
notable wine list (13)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is always very good. Service was so ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food is always very good. Service was somewhat lacking this time. missing food items, empty drinks etc.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Experience enjoyed every minute o ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great Experience enjoyed every minute of it. Look forward to going back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time dining, and I was b ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was my first time dining, and I was blown away with my entire experience from the food, service, and total ambiance. Can't wait to return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love being greeted so warmly upon enteri ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Love being greeted so warmly upon entering the front door of Village Tavern! We were seated promptly and someone took our beverage order immediately. Our party wanted to talk a while and catch up on our lives and our server was attentive but certainly not pushy. We asked some questions about menu items and got very good advice. Finished off the meal with the Warm Butter Cake that we had heard so much about and it was one of the most amazing desserts I have ever tasted!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my grandmother's bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went to celebrate my grandmother's birthday, I however wish that we hadn't. The service was slow, the whole building was hot like there was no AC, and the food was sub-par. We even had to ask for ice for the waters because they didn't have any. The wait staff made it seem like an inconvenience to ask for ketchup to go with French fries. I will never go back to the restaurant, it was truly that disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Village Tavern was a welcome relief for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Village Tavern was a welcome relief for two weary travelers. The service was outstanding as was the food. Great selection and variety which will meet diverse appetites.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed our Brunch, food great! I will c ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Enjoyed our Brunch, food great! I will continue to dine here in the future.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Immediate seating, though we were 45 min ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Immediate seating, though we were 45 minutes early for our reservation. Drinks came out within 5 minutes. Never an issue with drinks staying full. Quesidilla and Nacho appetizers were average, but again, came out quickly. Nachos ran out of chips and the waitress readily brought out more for us to finish off the toppings.

Trout is covered in some type of orange/ginger/soy marmalade the was just "to die" for! Chicken parmessan and fettucinni dishes were so large, it was impossible for them to be finished. Will keep coming back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Area towards restrooms always smells lik ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Area towards restrooms always smells like grease. Not sure if it is because it is near kitchen and possible grease trap. Restrooms are okay, could be better maintained. However, service and food always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time to visit and it was excellent ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

First time to visit and it was excellent. From the service to the food, everything was spot on. If you have never tried it out, its a must.....Steak was cooked to perfection, repeat...repeat...repeat! 6*

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 1st visit. Loved the staff, the foo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our 1st visit. Loved the staff, the food...our waitress Rebecca. We just loved it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, well the food that c ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great, well the food that came! One person never received her meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Group of 7 enjoyed a great Sunday lunch ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Group of 7 enjoyed a great Sunday lunch and conversation that was facilitated by round table so all could participate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were thankful we had reservations for ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were thankful we had reservations for Fathers Day. The restaurant was busy with diners and people waiting to get a table.

Our service was great and our food was delicious! Thank you both, Bethany and Leigh, for helping us enjoy our meal.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Eggs cold and under cooked for Father's ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Eggs cold and under cooked for Father's Day brunch. Service slow.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Our reservation request for a booth was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our reservation request for a booth was honored. The service is always impeccable. The food as always was delicious. We particularly enjoyed the Brie appetizer and the crab cakes. We highly recommend The Tavern.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have eaten here several times and the fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Have eaten here several times and the food and service are great.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu is great for families and group ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The menu is great for families and groups with varying tastes. Most of the food was great although accuracy on meat temp could be a little better - my burger was a little over cooked and another person's prime rib was under cooked. Our server was attentive enough but not particularly friendly and the frown never left his face so that was a bit of a downer. Since our last trip to Village Tavern had been exceptional, I had expectations that just weren't met. To be fair, compared to similar restaurants, I would still recommend Village Tavern over many of them.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Brunch was delicious!! Bacon and Brie om ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Brunch was delicious!! Bacon and Brie omelette was very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice brunch

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had an enjoyable brunch with a friend. Very good food, pleasant atmosphere, excellent service. Have been to Village Tavern quite a few times and it's always been a good experience. Definitely one of my favorites for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the meal. Selection was good. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Enjoyed the meal. Selection was good. Waiter (AJ) did a great job and was friendly. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was just ok, as was the service ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was just ok, as was the service. We were there very early for dinner with friends and enjoyed it overall. My prime rib lacked some flavor for my linking, but was decent all things considered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I couldn't say enough about how wonderfu ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I couldn't say enough about how wonderful this place is. From the staff to the quality of the food, it was fantastic. I highly recommend the prime rib.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love going to the Village Tavern with sp ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Love going to the Village Tavern with special friends!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Timing is everything

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

glad we had reservations at 5:45 pm (was told earlier "oh at that time no problem". We were seated by 6 and then waited for an hour for 2 wedge salads to be delivered. Then 5 entrees came while the sixth person finally said just tell them to forget it. Didn't want to wait for another hour to get dessert so left without any. Food was ok, but noise level and food service made evening stressful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Great food! Always consistent!!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We recently celebrated Mothers Day at the Village Tavern. Good service, delicious food, and Moms received a pretty white long-stemmed rose. Nice touch!! When we got there, we were immediately seated. Thank you, Open Table!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was cold, ungarnished and overpri ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was cold, ungarnished and overprice. We waited over and hour for our meal because they forgot to put it in. many dinners came and went while we were leFt without even a cup of coffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We had the lettuce wedge and a filet the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had the lettuce wedge and a filet then the chocolate torte for dessert. It was all delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just ok.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Nothing outstanding, nothing bad all just ok. I had the Cajin Pasta and my wife had the bacon wrapped scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Value

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I had a "date" night for dinner. We had not been to the Village Tavern in a while. The food, wine, and particularly the service were all first rate. Our server ( Jacqueline(sp.?) ) was very good, and listened! She did not rush us to order, and asked us to put the menus on the edge of the table when we were ready to order. That allowed us to enjoy a few minutes with a drink , and feel like we were not being rushed so the table could be turned over quickly. The food arrived in a few minutes after ordering , and both entrees were outstanding! Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We are frequent visitors but the last time was disappointing. Service was adequate but slow. Food temperature was warm not hot (as it should have been). We do enjoy the Tavern but after the last time will definitely consider another location first.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Flavorful food

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We love the Village Tavern in Winston-Salem, so we decided to try this one in Birmingham. We shared the delicious chicken spring rolls as an appetizer, and it was so filling, I could not finish my salmon dinner. We were too full for dessert, and decided that next time, we might just order a couple of appetizers or flatbread.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2 Dissapointments

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I was really looking forward to my Caesar salad but the dressing was strange and not a bit like Caesar. I did not like it at all. I would never order it again.

I was also looking forward to the French onion soup but the broth was sort of bland and had no hint of sweetness from the onions that when sauteed long enough become sweet. I hate to say this, but I prefer Longhorn's French onion soup much, much more than The Taverns and will not order this again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had the bacon wrapped scallops and they ...

 
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Had the bacon wrapped scallops and they were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Brunch!! Service was excellent.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great Brunch!! Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant didn't seem to be busier ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The restaurant didn't seem to be busier than usual for a typical Sunday. We were promptly seated but a server never came to take our drink order nor did someone bring us water. After 12 minutes, I overheard a gentleman apologizing to another guest about the service. I decided to approach him after he finished with the other guest and let him know of our situation. He apologized, took our drink order, assigned a server to us, and the rest of our experience was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Surprised I Hadn't Gone Sooner

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Wow, what a great find. Our server Breanna was wonderfully sweet, competent and energetic. The food was wonderful not just in flavor but in presentation. The Pork Chops were divine and the Chicken Alfredo was so delicious we couldn't stop sharing. Then came the butter cake desert with ice cream and strawberries....AMAZING. But best of all we met the Manager Cedric who was visible throughout the evening taking care of the entire restaurant and all of its customers.

What a great find close to home with wonderful food and service. Don't miss out on this one because it is a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent service, accommodating regarding food allergies, delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oops

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Italian red chianti

Prime rib

Scallops

Calamari

The food is always exceptional. The waitress was too busy talking to listen to the order. I walked in knowing exactly what we wanted.

I'm sure we were DOUBLE CHARGED for the prime rib

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

Awesome food

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The French Onion soup was as good as mine. The blt/pimento sandwich wS enough to feed 2 people. Our waitstaff, the manager both stopped by to see how our evening was going.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.