About Village Tavern Birmingham

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (37)
Business Meals (34)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Casual (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Fun (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Fireplace (13)
Family Style (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, as always. Few mistakes by staff, though we still were happy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Overall, a good experience. They went out of their way to accommodate one guest with food allergies. Quiet enough at first but got louder as the lunch people came in. We would go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was surprisingly very, very enjoyable. Steaks were wonderful.
A little pricey but still worth it.
Service was just mediocre but I would try again in hopes it was an off day for him.

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food & great service. Will visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for a business meeting, date, or anniversary. Great food with decent specials on wine on Wednesdays. Service was excellent as was the quality. Prices were a little above average but for the quality and service, it was a good value. We will definitely eat here again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Service was SLOW even though the restaurant wasn't busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

DELICIOUS! Had been a while. I forgot how good it is 😍

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

So glad I made reservations! It was packed on a Wednesday evening, but our table was waiting for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Village Tavern Birmingham is a reliable restaurant. Although it's part of a chain, the food is good and the service and ambiance are respectable. It can be crowded and noisy as tables are close together. Service can be hit or miss dependent on the server. Parking is free and easy unless it's crowded and then the valet takes up a lot of the adjacent service lot. This restaurant is much better than the nearby Seasons 52, IMO.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Village Tavern always delivers an excellent meal. I have never gotten a meal at Village Tavern that was not 5 stars. The ribeye dinner I had was one of the top cuts of meat I have ever had.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This worked great. I made the reservation and I walked in a little early and my table was waiting and ready. That's how its supposed to work. Everything went fine and the food and service was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Old friends met for a weekday dinner and had a wonderful time. The food was exceptional, the service was outstanding and the atmosphere was lively. I would recommend Village Tavern to anyone wanting to have a tasty meal with friends or relatives. We plan to go back soon to be treated like someone special again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very good service and the food was very good as always. It was SO crowded but our reservation made it so easy and quick to get in and go right to our table.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always a pleasure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Sat in the bar area. Very quiet at lunchtime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very enjoyable. Service and food outstanding. Would recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Travis is an amazing waiter. He is both attentive and extremely knowledgeable about the 100+ items on the menu. Try the crab dip and butter cake!! Amazing!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Village Tavern is consistent though nothing spectacular. We had the crab dip and it was strong, fishy smelling. We did not enjoy it. The flatbread was average and chicken sandwich and fries were good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious as always! Cold beer, crab dip appetizer was delicious, steak cooked to pure perfection, salad and loaded baked potato always good. We eat here every year for our anniversary and visit a few other times throughout the year. It is one of our favorites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Was able to be seated upon arrival, very organized, and wonderful waitress and staff. Very calm and unique place to eat and all of my guests and I were able to unwind and relax without having to yell. The seating arrangement was nice, which allowed everyone to be able to stretch out without the concerns of bumping into one another or another table. Overall, an amazing experience, will do it again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service, fairly priced for the amount and quality of food. My only complaints are the Steak Oscar could have had a little more béarnaise sauce and the Prime Rib was a little too tough. Other than that both the food and service were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Pros: Good food, reasonable prices

Cons: Service was a bit slow at first, but got better. It was Valentine's Day. We had to wait about five minutes before we were served once we were seated. That's a bit too long for this restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Seated quickly, even though we were 15 minutes early for our reservation. Crab dip was pretty good, chicken pasta was good but the trout was delicious. Cocktails were a little pricey for their size but were very good. They handed out a single rose to each lady, which was a nice touch on Valentine's. Only complaint was that we were placed at a table with other patrons, even though there were a few tables for 2 available. This made for a somewhat awkward Valentine's dinner and will affect my decision on choosing other restaurants for special date nights. I will be back for other family dinners though.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our server was excellent, courteous, attentive but not interruptive, appetizer, entree, drinks, deserts were all outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Although it was a special day, we were seated in no time no service was quick. Our waiter, Brett was great...very knowledgeable about the menu and never let our glasses get low. Sonya came around and gave all the ladies a rose...nice touch. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We arrived at 4:30 which was the time of our reservations for Valentine's. There was a lot of chaos that early. They said it was because of a shift change. Finally, we were seated and waited 20 minutes for a waitress to show up. We ordered and when our food came the salad was good but the filet minions were ordered medium well for both of us. Our steaks were medium rare with blood running out. We complained and they took them back to the kitchen. When we got them back they were burned on the outside but done on the inside. They were not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I took the wife for Valentine's Day dinner. The food was great. Our server took very good care of us. We will be going back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Tavern has a very good selection of menu choices. The food is always good. Service is very good.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Meeting friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food and great service every time! Menu is diverse enough for most anyone and the people are friendly, always provide personal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We have eaten here many times before and have had a good experience but were disappointed tonight. First of all we have an 18 month old and they only had 2 high chairs both of which were broken. The pimento cheese fondue app was good but then it took a long time to get our food. And some of the good was lukewarm when it came out. They also were out of baked potatoes but we didn't know until my wife had already ordered a steak. I hope it was just an off night but was disappointing for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The village tavern is one of our go to restaurants. Great food, service and atmosphere.

One disappointment is they screwed up the last two mixed drinks we ordered. Oh well no one is perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our server AJ was amazing and made our lunch better. Very personable and a true asset to the restaurant

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife's Prime Rib was "excellent". My ribeye was mediocre at best. Over cooked .
We will give it another try because the reviews were so good, but I can't imagine that this place got such a glowing review from USA Today.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely evening of celebration with new family friends. Good food and good service. Enjoyable atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Waiter had either too much to do or not doing her job well. Took forever to get order in and food back. This reminded me of a glorified Olive garden and we were expecting more of a upscale experience. Could be our expectations were unrealistic. The one thing that bothered me even more, we made a 7 pm reservation on open table, Still took them 25 minutes to seat us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was really great! Service could have been a little bit better but overall a fantastic meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was amazing. Cocktails were incredibly reasonably priced and delicious. Service started off great and then our server just basically quit after we ordered food. Didn't bring our food to the table, didn't check to see if it was right (which sucked because my date's steak was a little undercooked for her liking), didn't ever bring us refills, finally the manager came by and helped and we little never saw our server at our table again. The manager was fuming mad but hid it well behind a very kind smile and excellent recovery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Must get the warm pimento cheese dip and clam chowder! Big menu and grate for brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.