About Village Tavern Birmingham

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Restaurant Photos

  • Flash Fried Calamari
  • Blackened Chicken Alfredo Cheese Fettucine
  • Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Flash Fried Calamari
Blackened Chicken Alfredo Cheese Fettucine
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Alabama
Best Value
Birmingham
Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

Special Occasion (55)
Great for Lunch (50)
Good for Groups (45)
See All
Great for Brunch (25)
Romantic (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Kid-friendly (18)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We often have dinner at the Village Tave ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 4 days ago

We often have dinner at the Village Tavern and heard they had "the best Sunday brunch" in town. We made a reservation and brought friends after church. The service was fine, but we were disappointed in the brunch. I had the Village Tavern Benedict. It would have been excellent if it had been served hot. Instead, it was barely warm and the plate was cold, making it worse. My husband ordered a side of the maple sugar bacon. It came as four strips sealed together - he could not even pull them apart. It was tough like jerky and a challenge to chew. The apple walnut muffinswere tasty, but would have been even better had they been served warm. We'll probably give the brunch another try, but will make sure to convey our concerns beforehand!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything we had was great! Hot crab di ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Everything we had was great! Hot crab dip is always one of our favorites. Great service. Very attentive management. We will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had the "steak and eggs" but my steak ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had the "steak and eggs" but my steak was over cooked. Not sure the ratio of egg/hash brown/ steak was quite right for the price. (Way more egg) My wife had the same and her steak was cooked correctly. We'd go back, nothing bad to say but won't be on our regular rotation of dining spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Village Tavern is a favorite of our fami ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Village Tavern is a favorite of our family. The greeters, wait stafff, manager and bussers are always pleasant and friendly. The food is exceptional and the atmosphere lends itself to good conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 17th annive ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 17th anniversary here. The restaurant is very classy with tall ceilings, dim accent lighting, and the staff dressed in black. The menu was extensive, the prices were reasonable for an upscale restaurant, and our server was perfectly attentive. The food was absolutely scrumptious. We each cleaned our plate and then splurged with the enormous double cheesecake. It was a fantastic evening and I will be going back soon. Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When my wife booked the reservations, sh ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

When my wife booked the reservations, she noted in comment section that we were out celebrating our seventh/7th wedding anniversary. We chose Village Tavern over Perry's Steakhouse. To say the least, we were very disappointed in our food overall.

Firstly, my Spring Rolls was very good, however, my wife Pimiento Cheese Deviled Eggs came out, the bacon was cold and still had grease on it, yuck! When I brought to my waitress attention, she didn't give, I'm sorry or anything, she suggested getting me more, however, my wife didn't any eggs after that.

Secondly, I ordered the blackened Chicken Alfredo, I've had better from Olive Garden! My wife ordered, a sirloin steak, I know the bottom of the steaks, however, she's had better from Outback, our dinner was such a let down.

Thirdly, we ordered dessert, needless to say, it was the best part of our dinner, The Warm Butter cake, it was delicious.

Our waitress was nice but overall experience was not a good one, and if we return it would only be for the dessert.

I wouldn't recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Our favorite restaurant in Birmingham -- ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Birmingham -- the food is always excellent, the staff friendly and competent, and it is quiet enough to have a conversation over dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zack was an outstanding waiter for our g ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Zack was an outstanding waiter for our group of seven. We had a extended lunch meeting. Could not have been better food or service experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always very good. Service was so ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food is always very good. Service was somewhat lacking this time. missing food items, empty drinks etc.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Experience enjoyed every minute o ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great Experience enjoyed every minute of it. Look forward to going back again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time dining, and I was b ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was my first time dining, and I was blown away with my entire experience from the food, service, and total ambiance. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love being greeted so warmly upon enteri ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Love being greeted so warmly upon entering the front door of Village Tavern! We were seated promptly and someone took our beverage order immediately. Our party wanted to talk a while and catch up on our lives and our server was attentive but certainly not pushy. We asked some questions about menu items and got very good advice. Finished off the meal with the Warm Butter Cake that we had heard so much about and it was one of the most amazing desserts I have ever tasted!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my grandmother's bi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went to celebrate my grandmother's birthday, I however wish that we hadn't. The service was slow, the whole building was hot like there was no AC, and the food was sub-par. We even had to ask for ice for the waters because they didn't have any. The wait staff made it seem like an inconvenience to ask for ketchup to go with French fries. I will never go back to the restaurant, it was truly that disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Village Tavern was a welcome relief for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Village Tavern was a welcome relief for two weary travelers. The service was outstanding as was the food. Great selection and variety which will meet diverse appetites.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed our Brunch, food great! I will c ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Enjoyed our Brunch, food great! I will continue to dine here in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Immediate seating, though we were 45 min ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Immediate seating, though we were 45 minutes early for our reservation. Drinks came out within 5 minutes. Never an issue with drinks staying full. Quesidilla and Nacho appetizers were average, but again, came out quickly. Nachos ran out of chips and the waitress readily brought out more for us to finish off the toppings.

Trout is covered in some type of orange/ginger/soy marmalade the was just "to die" for! Chicken parmessan and fettucinni dishes were so large, it was impossible for them to be finished. Will keep coming back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Area towards restrooms always smells lik ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Area towards restrooms always smells like grease. Not sure if it is because it is near kitchen and possible grease trap. Restrooms are okay, could be better maintained. However, service and food always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time to visit and it was excellent ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

First time to visit and it was excellent. From the service to the food, everything was spot on. If you have never tried it out, its a must.....Steak was cooked to perfection, repeat...repeat...repeat! 6*

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 1st visit. Loved the staff, the foo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our 1st visit. Loved the staff, the food...our waitress Rebecca. We just loved it!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, well the food that c ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was great, well the food that came! One person never received her meal!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Group of 7 enjoyed a great Sunday lunch ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Group of 7 enjoyed a great Sunday lunch and conversation that was facilitated by round table so all could participate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were thankful we had reservations for ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were thankful we had reservations for Fathers Day. The restaurant was busy with diners and people waiting to get a table.

Our service was great and our food was delicious! Thank you both, Bethany and Leigh, for helping us enjoy our meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Eggs cold and under cooked for Father's ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Eggs cold and under cooked for Father's Day brunch. Service slow.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Our reservation request for a booth was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our reservation request for a booth was honored. The service is always impeccable. The food as always was delicious. We particularly enjoyed the Brie appetizer and the crab cakes. We highly recommend The Tavern.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have eaten here several times and the fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Have eaten here several times and the food and service are great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu is great for families and group ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The menu is great for families and groups with varying tastes. Most of the food was great although accuracy on meat temp could be a little better - my burger was a little over cooked and another person's prime rib was under cooked. Our server was attentive enough but not particularly friendly and the frown never left his face so that was a bit of a downer. Since our last trip to Village Tavern had been exceptional, I had expectations that just weren't met. To be fair, compared to similar restaurants, I would still recommend Village Tavern over many of them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Brunch was delicious!! Bacon and Brie om ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Brunch was delicious!! Bacon and Brie omelette was very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice brunch

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had an enjoyable brunch with a friend. Very good food, pleasant atmosphere, excellent service. Have been to Village Tavern quite a few times and it's always been a good experience. Definitely one of my favorites for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the meal. Selection was good. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Enjoyed the meal. Selection was good. Waiter (AJ) did a great job and was friendly. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was just ok, as was the service ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was just ok, as was the service. We were there very early for dinner with friends and enjoyed it overall. My prime rib lacked some flavor for my linking, but was decent all things considered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I couldn't say enough about how wonderfu ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I couldn't say enough about how wonderful this place is. From the staff to the quality of the food, it was fantastic. I highly recommend the prime rib.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love going to the Village Tavern with sp ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Love going to the Village Tavern with special friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Timing is everything

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

glad we had reservations at 5:45 pm (was told earlier "oh at that time no problem". We were seated by 6 and then waited for an hour for 2 wedge salads to be delivered. Then 5 entrees came while the sixth person finally said just tell them to forget it. Didn't want to wait for another hour to get dessert so left without any. Food was ok, but noise level and food service made evening stressful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Great food! Always consistent!!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We recently celebrated Mothers Day at the Village Tavern. Good service, delicious food, and Moms received a pretty white long-stemmed rose. Nice touch!! When we got there, we were immediately seated. Thank you, Open Table!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was cold, ungarnished and overpri ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was cold, ungarnished and overprice. We waited over and hour for our meal because they forgot to put it in. many dinners came and went while we were leFt without even a cup of coffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We had the lettuce wedge and a filet the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had the lettuce wedge and a filet then the chocolate torte for dessert. It was all delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just ok.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Nothing outstanding, nothing bad all just ok. I had the Cajin Pasta and my wife had the bacon wrapped scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Value

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I had a "date" night for dinner. We had not been to the Village Tavern in a while. The food, wine, and particularly the service were all first rate. Our server ( Jacqueline(sp.?) ) was very good, and listened! She did not rush us to order, and asked us to put the menus on the edge of the table when we were ready to order. That allowed us to enjoy a few minutes with a drink , and feel like we were not being rushed so the table could be turned over quickly. The food arrived in a few minutes after ordering , and both entrees were outstanding! Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We are frequent visitors but the last time was disappointing. Service was adequate but slow. Food temperature was warm not hot (as it should have been). We do enjoy the Tavern but after the last time will definitely consider another location first.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Flavorful food

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

We love the Village Tavern in Winston-Salem, so we decided to try this one in Birmingham. We shared the delicious chicken spring rolls as an appetizer, and it was so filling, I could not finish my salmon dinner. We were too full for dessert, and decided that next time, we might just order a couple of appetizers or flatbread.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.