About Village Tavern Birmingham

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (42)
Business Meals (41)
Good for a Date (41)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Casual (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Cozy (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Romantic (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fireplace (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Family Style (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Fun (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Healthy (10)
Tasting Menu (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (4)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Music (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic prime rib. Server was very polite and helpful. Overall great dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent brunch menu. Chicken & waffles and steak Benedict were great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Heard from friends to stop by. Staying fairly close. Appetizer (ahi tuna) was outstanding. Special was blue cheese ribeye. Very nice. Wine selection is pretty comprehensive. Would recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was amazing and our server was very nice and very helpful.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Daughter and Son-in-Law's anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

You would not think of Village Tavern as a great steakhouse,but it sure is superb. I would put it right in the mix as one of the best steaks in Bham.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The Village Tavern is one of our "go to" places in Birmingham. The food and service are always excellent. Have never had anything less than an excellent meal there!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2017

After making a reservation and being told they would find the next available table, we found out we were just in line like we didn't. It was Mother's Day and they were not prepared for it. The place was filthy. Our server was good, but the food was not. Our side dish thrown on the plate was under cooked, our steak over cooked. Usually they are better, but today was not that day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Unfortunately, either the Tavern was under staffed or some other difficulty in providing an enjoyable dining experience existed.

Reservation was for 7pm. We were seated at 7:25 and server not able to come to our table until 7:45. Took our orders and returned shortly before 8pm to tell my mother they were out of Grouper. (This was a Mother's Day Dinner). Then server left to get drink orders. He returned 5-10 minutes later to tell my brother-in-law they were out of pizza dough. He was offered alternative Gluten free pizza crust (they did comp his pizza).

My sister ordered her bar drink-Vodka and water. We are still laughing about this order-server mistakenly brought vodka in glass and separate glass of water. She asked for additional glass with ice to make her own drink. Server returned with glass-no ice and glass was hot (fresh from dishwasher).

Noise volume was very loud-finally quieted since most customers were gone when our meal finally arrived. Four or 7 dinners arrived then 2 more and finally pizza arrived.

Very disappointed in dining experience. We have enjoyed other meals at The Tavern that were not a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Two of our entrees were outstanding. The other two were good, but great. Our server was awesome and we enjoyed our lunch. We would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Terry, our waiter, outstanding! Excellent food! Great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day and had a wonderful experience. Fast service and food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ran out of spinach dip very busy day be hire Mother's Day . Kitchen seemed the busiest . Haphazard waitress. Had to ask for silverware no butter with bread . Wife's prime rib was rare ordered medium

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Table for six was ready right on time. Waiter, Skylark, was personable and never hurried despite the crowds. Food was excellent! Thanks for making my Mother's Day dinner so nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food, ambiance and service. We had the Piminto Cheese Deviled Eggs with Bacon for an appetizer. It was amazing. The pimiento cheese was creamy and the candied bacon was cooked perfectly. My wife had the Chilean Seabass and it was excellent. Thick cut of filet with an amazing Asian style sauce. I had the Filet Oscar cooked rare and it was done perfectly. The sever was attentive and prompt. The place had a great vibe and smelled like a wood grill. Great choice in the Summit.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mothers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Delicious food! Love the atmosphere

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Six girlfriends/co-workers met for dinner. We try to do it every month or so. Picked Village Tavern for the varied menu and beautiful decor. The Executive Chef, Ira, came out and checked on us, what a master chef and great guy. We chose different dishes and enjoyed every bite of the 4 delicious desserts we shared. One of our best choices in restaurants so far!!
Loved using OpenTable to make reservations on the restaurant's website.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was tepid. Otherwise, it was solid. Service was good.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Brought my parents to Village Tavern for their anniversary and had a great experience. The service was great, our server make great recommendations, and the food was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Have been here twice now and both times it has been great with both food and service. Has a nice atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wonderful service and great food! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Had the special..filet and grits.. fantastic. Great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Overall the experience was great. I've been here before, so I knew what to expect. The food was okay. I believe the dinner selection maybe better. Atmosphere was great and it's a great place to just go and have a good lunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We all had the steaks and they were great.AJ was a great server.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great food and great service! Really enjoyed the atmosphere as well.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We have eaten here several times and consider it out favorite to celebrate a special occasion. We have NEVER had a bad meal and I have even had the meatloaf before! The servers are all very personable. They are honest in their appraisal of the offerings - even getting a negative on something I was considering - a negative given in a personal manner. Chancellor was our server and he was very attentive. I had grouper and my girlfriend had a spinach salad. She reports that the spinach salad is the best served any where - having gotten it 3 times while visiting. I have tried several different dishes - and liked them all. The menu is such that I would think anyone could find a selection. I am a product of traditional southern cooking - thus the meatloaf! We have been served in the bar as well. The bar is a comfortable room dedicated to civilized conversation. We enjoy this restaurant immensely!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our food was fantastic. Our server, Travis, was one of the best servers I have ever had (and I worked in the industry over 10 years). Everything recommended was spot on. Terrific wine suggestion. Steak cooked to perfection (a rarity in this state).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Travis was our server and he was awesome sauce! Witty, funny and well prepared. I only want him to be my server from now on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed a quiet Sunday evening meal with our family on Easter. Even after one of the busiest of days, our waiter was pleasant and attentive. The cocktails were strong; loved the blackberry LIT. For appetizers, we ordered the warm crab dip and a flatbread. Both were delicious. We each enjoyed our entrees, with the steak tacos getting rave reviews from three family members. The VIllage Tavern was the perfect place to enjoy a holiday family meal that I didn't have to cook!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was poor. Drinks were empty most of the meal. Took forever to receive appetizers and salads. My salad was served less than 2 minutes before main course. Food was ok. Steaks were over cooked at a place that boasts "best steaks in Alabama". Fried oysters arrived cold and undercooked.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good food! It was Easter Sunday, so they were very busy and the service was slow!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday Brunch. Our party of five was seated promptly for our reservation. Food and service were quite good. This place does very well for a limited chain and MUCH better than Seasons 52 which is close by. It's one of our "go to" places for friends and family, too.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a wonderful experience...the food is fantastic!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We always enjoy the Tavern, sometimes eat there twice a month. My omelette was a little
over cooked and hard, but still okay. Waitress was very helpful and pleasant. Will definitely
be back.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My husband and I ate at Village Tavern for my birthday. It was our first time and we will be back. We love the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I always have a good meal at the Tavern. The service is excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Server was very good. The garlic mashed potatoes were very salty for everyone who ordered. Possibly an error. Server was notified to let kitchen know. Overall good experience with all other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Nice dinning experience. We went after theatre. Great menu and atmosphere. Nice people as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband and I love to go to The Village Tavern for dinner on our date nights. We usually get there at least 30 minutes before our reservation, so that we have time to relax in the bar with a drink first.

On this particular night, it was our anniversary, and we were treated to a delicious desert by the restaurant for us to share. Very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.