About Village Tavern Birmingham

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Report a photo problem

Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Flash Fried Calamari - Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Blackened Chicken Alfredo Cheese Fettucine - Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - Village Tavern Birmingham, Birmingham, AL

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (22)
Business Meals (19)
See All
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fun (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Seasonal (7)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fireplace (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is always good and the service ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined a day ago

The food is always good and the service was wonderful as well. We had the Beef and Shrimp Teriyaki special, Chicken Parmesan, Shrimp & Grits, Blackened Shrimp, Calamari, and Creme Brule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The only real problem we had was that it ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

The only real problem we had was that it was uncomfortably cold.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the atmosphere of this place! Lunch ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the atmosphere of this place! Lunch was great! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with business associates was a ple ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Lunch with business associates was a pleasant experience thanks to great food and attentive waitstaff. The crab dip was delicious. Also very good was the Small filet and shrimp and grits. Warm butter cake for desert was outstanding. Definitely worth return visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My family has been to Village Tavern mul ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My family has been to Village Tavern multiple times now, and all six of us are impressed every single time. Every appetizer, every entrée, and each wonderful dessert has been top notch.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and FANTASTIC service! Went f ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and FANTASTIC service! Went for Sunday lunch New Years Eve and it was POURING down rain when we left. The manager who was incredible helped me get my mom-n-law (who is in a wheelchair) to the car and into it while it was still pouring rain. He was soaked but could not have been nicer and more willing to help. Thank You Village Tavern for starting our 2017 out on a grateful note!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was great.

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Brunch was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best filet I've ever had! Our waiter was ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best filet I've ever had! Our waiter was extremely friendly and quick to respond to our needs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place. Steaks are great, best ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love this place. Steaks are great, best we've ever had.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was GREAT!!!! Angel was our ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service was GREAT!!!! Angel was our server and she was AMAZING!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kate made the most wonderful drinks and ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Kate made the most wonderful drinks and Matthew took excellent care of us! The food was terrific and we had a beautiful lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great service by Rave ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food and great service by Raven. Everyone was very nice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Christmas Eve and while the food and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve and while the food and the server were good, the kitchen was super slow! We were there a good 3 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

It was ok... no complaints.

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was ok... no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Portions were very generous. Our server ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Portions were very generous. Our server (Sarah) was outstanding and very patient. We met friends for dinner and stayed 4 hours - never felt hurried, which made for a fantastic evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service great. Very noisy.

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food and service great. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

Great food once again!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food once again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of all the times I've been to Villag ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Out of all the times I've been to Village Tavern... this missed the mark, by far!

Ambiance, Noise level and Service was not good for "a Table for Two, Date."

Sitting us right by the kitchen/serving area, where all the staff stands and waits, was not optimal for a nicely dressed couple out on a date... and it wasn't like we just showed up to take any given table. Reservations were made. Common sense could have gone a long way. Also, for whatever reason, it felt like service dropped off due to distraction of being where the staff was congregating. After the main dish was ordered, a single offer of refill and/or need anything else was given, as in once. I love the food at Village Tavern and if I were there with my kids, friends, co-workers or just a group, the seating would have sufficed. NOT for a couple out for dinner/date. Again... common sense by the staff would go a long way!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

The Tavern is a go to place for us anyti ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The Tavern is a go to place for us anytime we are looking for pleasant evening. It is our favorite restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traffic was bad, parking was terrible. W ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Traffic was bad, parking was terrible. We were late for our reservation, but were seated right away. Server was prompt. The place was dark, crowded and noisy. They messed up my order and said it would be compted but it wasn't. Overall a bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Dinner at Village Tavern was excellent a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Dinner at Village Tavern was excellent as usual - with one tiny but annoying exception. A couple of reviews ago I mentioned that they had changed the bread they served from a tasty hot loaf to something tough and tasteless. In my last review, I was happy to report they had gone back to the original bread - something we congratulated the manager about. Sad to say, they are back to the tough, tasteless variety which came as sliced bread, cold. I took one bite and abandoned the rest. It was like two-day-old white bread. You may think its an unimportant thing in the scope of a lovely meal, but remember - it's the first food item you are served (you have to request bread). When this small item is of such poor quality, it changes the way you feel about the entire experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Prime rib was excellent as usual. Our w ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Prime rib was excellent as usual. Our waiter was great and courteous of our time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The good was delicious but the Warm Butt ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The good was delicious but the Warm Butter Cake was incredible!

The description does not mention the vanilla ice cream and the strawberry and blueberries. This dessert was a very pleasant surprise at the end of a delightful meal. I am thrilled to know they are open Christmas Eve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great value. Wednesday wine at half pri ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great value. Wednesday wine at half price both wine by the glass and bottle. Loved the pimento BLT, crab cakes, fried oysters, spring rolls, etc.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Village Tavern is a consistent casual re ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Village Tavern is a consistent casual restaurant. They have a pretty good selection of food that is average. Decor is nice and service is attentive. It is a good place for a casual get together for business or friends but not for deep discussion as it can be a little noisy. Lively bar area for happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We made a reservation for two three days ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We made a reservation for two three days in advance. After browsing the menu online we had strong ideas of the dishes we wanted to order. Upon arriving there was no table reserved, but no wait. We were greeted by a friendly server but immediately told they were out of sea bass, pork chops, prime rib, Ny strip, fish and chips, and grouper. Fairly disappointing for a 7:30 on Sunday night when we planned to order fish. I had shrimp tacos, and spouse had filet. The tacos were great! Filet was good but just slightly overcooked. For all of the disappointment of the menu we were offered dessert at no charge. We selected the butter cake and the server gladly accepted a substitution of caramel sauce instead of berries. The dessert was out of this world yummy and sort of made up for the rest. I suggest coming back, but not on a Sunday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Did not feel the restaurant delivered on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Did not feel the restaurant delivered on the expectations set by the website. There was no cappuccino, my tomato basil soup was barely warm and my chicken spinach salad was drowned in dressing making it too difficult to eat. Was very disappointed.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food, service, table, etc were all g ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food, service, table, etc were all good and I would have rated it higher, but when the bill came I was only given the total due and not an itemized bill. I thought it seemed a bit higher than it should be so I asked for an itemized bill. Sure enough, there were two items on my ticket that we didn't order and I had to point it out to the waiter and get a corrected bill. People can make mistakes, but that is a pretty bad one to make. I shouldn't have to worry that I'll get charged for something that I didn't eat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This place is always fabulous! Super Sun ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This place is always fabulous! Super Sunday brunch! Awesome egg benedicts!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have enjoyed dining regularly at the ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have enjoyed dining regularly at the Village Tavern for about 6 years. Very nice bar area and very nice dining room. Generally, dinners are very good and worthy of praise. Some of the items on the menu marked "New" and pushed by their servers are overpriced and just OK. Would recommend some of their older menu standbys which are quite good.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The portion size of the crab cake sandwi ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The portion size of the crab cake sandwich in comparison to the burgers was really bad. The crab cake sandwich costed more as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

My wife had the Delmonico ribeye and I h ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My wife had the Delmonico ribeye and I had the shrimp and grits both were outstanding! We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu choices not all that appealing to u ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Menu choices not all that appealing to us. Service was good, but waiter brought wrong wine and had to be convinced that we were knowledgeable enough to know the difference.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Good as always. Felt a bit pushed to fin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Good as always. Felt a bit pushed to finish from server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Drinks was not worth it. Need experience ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Drinks was not worth it. Need experience bartender

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Always exceptional. Don't miss on steaks ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always exceptional. Don't miss on steaks. Wedge is wonderful, and service from Eamon (emphasis on the "a") is professional, friendly and efficient.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always delicious, and the se ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food is always delicious, and the service has always been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the Village Tavern, and I make su ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

I love the Village Tavern, and I make sure to get a meal there almost every time I'm in Birmingham. I especially enjoy the Pimento Cheese Deviled Eggs with candied bacon. The bacon-wrapped scallops are always a favorite too, and I've never had a bad thing to say about anything on the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Should've known that things weren't goin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Should've known that things weren't going to be up to the normal standard when the server couldn't explain the difference between a regular ribeye and the Delmonico ribeye other than it being thicker because the uncooked weight was more..

Appetizer was good.

Main courses arrived

My steak was below par but edible and I was starving, dates steak was tougher than old boots.

To give them credit, the manager replaced her steak but by the time that arrived we had both finished sides etc. Her replacement steak tasted divine, nothing like the one I had in taste or texture.

Honestly I think we could've had comparable service and food at Longhorn, not impressed at all..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.