About Village Tavern Birmingham

101 Summit Blvd.
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
280

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(205) 970-1640

Website:
http://www.villagetavern.com/

Entertainment:
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet parking.

Public Transit:
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.

Executive Chef:
Mary Grace Viado

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch

Restaurant Photos

Village Tavern Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Alabama
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

special occasion (78)
good for groups (54)
great for lunch (49)
See All
romantic (41)
fit for foodies (36)
great for brunch (34)
notable wine list (26)
neighborhood gem (25)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (12)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
779 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I couldn't say enough about how wonderfu ...

Dined 6 days ago

I couldn't say enough about how wonderful this place is. From the staff to the quality of the food, it was fantastic. I highly recommend the prime rib.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love going to the Village Tavern with sp ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Love going to the Village Tavern with special friends!

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Timing is everything

Dined on May 8, 2016

glad we had reservations at 5:45 pm (was told earlier "oh at that time no problem". We were seated by 6 and then waited for an hour for 2 wedge salads to be delivered. Then 5 entrees came while the sixth person finally said just tell them to forget it. Didn't want to wait for another hour to get dessert so left without any. Food was ok, but noise level and food service made evening stressful!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Always consistent!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We recently celebrated Mothers Day at the Village Tavern. Good service, delicious food, and Moms received a pretty white long-stemmed rose. Nice touch!! When we got there, we were immediately seated. Thank you, Open Table!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Brunch was cold, ungarnished and overpri ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was cold, ungarnished and overprice. We waited over and hour for our meal because they forgot to put it in. many dinners came and went while we were leFt without even a cup of coffee!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had the lettuce wedge and a filet the ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had the lettuce wedge and a filet then the chocolate torte for dessert. It was all delicious!

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Just ok.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Nothing outstanding, nothing bad all just ok. I had the Cajin Pasta and my wife had the bacon wrapped scallops.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Value

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I had a "date" night for dinner. We had not been to the Village Tavern in a while. The food, wine, and particularly the service were all first rate. Our server ( Jacqueline(sp.?) ) was very good, and listened! She did not rush us to order, and asked us to put the menus on the edge of the table when we were ready to order. That allowed us to enjoy a few minutes with a drink , and feel like we were not being rushed so the table could be turned over quickly. The food arrived in a few minutes after ordering , and both entrees were outstanding! Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

disappointed

Dined on April 23, 2016

We are frequent visitors but the last time was disappointing. Service was adequate but slow. Food temperature was warm not hot (as it should have been). We do enjoy the Tavern but after the last time will definitely consider another location first.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Flavorful food

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

We love the Village Tavern in Winston-Salem, so we decided to try this one in Birmingham. We shared the delicious chicken spring rolls as an appetizer, and it was so filling, I could not finish my salmon dinner. We were too full for dessert, and decided that next time, we might just order a couple of appetizers or flatbread.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

2 Dissapointments

Dined on April 2, 2016

I was really looking forward to my Caesar salad but the dressing was strange and not a bit like Caesar. I did not like it at all. I would never order it again. I was also looking forward to the French onion soup but the broth was sort of bland and had no hint of sweetness from the onions that when sauteed long enough become sweet. I hate to say this, but I prefer Longhorn's French onion soup much, much more than The Taverns and will not order this again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Had the bacon wrapped scallops and they ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Had the bacon wrapped scallops and they were fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch!! Service was excellent.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great Brunch!! Service was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant didn't seem to be busier ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

The restaurant didn't seem to be busier than usual for a typical Sunday. We were promptly seated but a server never came to take our drink order nor did someone bring us water. After 12 minutes, I overheard a gentleman apologizing to another guest about the service. I decided to approach him after he finished with the other guest and let him know of our situation. He apologized, took our drink order, assigned a server to us, and the rest of our experience was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprised I Hadn't Gone Sooner

Dined on March 19, 2016

Wow, what a great find. Our server Breanna was wonderfully sweet, competent and energetic. The food was wonderful not just in flavor but in presentation. The Pork Chops were divine and the Chicken Alfredo was so delicious we couldn't stop sharing. Then came the butter cake desert with ice cream and strawberries....AMAZING. But best of all we met the Manager Cedric who was visible throughout the evening taking care of the entire restaurant and all of its customers. What a great find close to home with wonderful food and service. Don't miss out on this one because it is a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent service, accommodating regarding food allergies, delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service2
value1

Oops

Dined on March 6, 2016

Italian red chianti Prime rib Scallops Calamari The food is always exceptional. The waitress was too busy talking to listen to the order. I walked in knowing exactly what we wanted. I'm sure we were DOUBLE CHARGED for the prime rib

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food

Dined on March 6, 2016

The French Onion soup was as good as mine. The blt/pimento sandwich wS enough to feed 2 people. Our waitstaff, the manager both stopped by to see how our evening was going.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Overpriced for mediocre food

Dined on March 5, 2016

We were pretty disappointed in our dining experience at Village Tavern. We felt the price for the food was completely unreasonable considering the steaks and side dishes were just average and COLD. Our steaks were barely warm, my fries were borderline cold as if they had been sitting out for 20 minutes, and our asparagus wasn't warm either. For the food quality and temperature, we really shouldve only paid less than half of what our bill turned out to be.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steaks and cocktails

Dined on March 5, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and went to the bar where it was happy hour. My husband had and old fashioned and I asked for a skinny margarita. The bartender said that they didn't have one on the menu but he would make one for me. It was time consuming for him but he didn't complain and both of our drinks were excellent! We ordered two more and then went to the dining room for dinner, which was equally delicious. The steaks that we each ordered were cooked perfectly to our specifications. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Perfect Night

Dined on March 3, 2016

My friends and I made dinner reservations for a birthday celebration. We had no wait and were seated right away. The appetizers and entrees were delicious. Our waitress recommended wines and everyone loved their selection. Wine is 1/2 price on Wednesdays. Village Tavern is one of my favorite restaurants. The manager Cedric came over and checked our table.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Village Tavern never disappoints!

Dined on March 2, 2016

We took our granddaughter who was leaving to return to TX. We asked what she would like to eat and she said beef, so we booked a table at Village Tavern. We all had a great meal and she was duly impressed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Servers not adequately trained

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our appetizers were forgotten. The manager did comp us our dessert which was very nice but this did not truly make up for not getting the appetizers. I felt that we were being rushed. And we were not offered bread. On a another recent visit we also had issues with our server. It seems that these are new employees who have not been adequately trained. I hope that this issue is resolved because Village Tavern has been my favorite place to dine in Bham.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

A birthday to remember

Dined on February 23, 2016

Celebrated my 75th birthday with cocktails in the bar and dinner in the restaurant. Entire staff from receptionist, bartender, and waiter well trained and made the evening memorable for my wife and myself. Drinks were perfect and food was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Business Lunch burger and fries

Dined on February 23, 2016

Had a business lunch and I chose to have the pimento cheese burger with sweet potato fries. I was disappointed in the burger and its only fault may have been it was overcooked. I ordered it medium and once I cut it in half it was a tad short of well done. Did not really have the time to send it back. The sweet potato fries were very crispy and I was a little disappointed in them as well. I guess I expected a WOW factor to order a $11 cheeseburger. Service was great. Next time I will order something else.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always

Dined on February 21, 2016

Village Tavern is always great every time we come. Food is delicious and service is great too. We will be back every time we're in the Birmingham area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday Dining

Dined on February 16, 2016

Great food and service. French Onion soup was spot on! Prime Rib cooked to perfection! Good wine and dessert choices. If I had any complaints it would be that the booth we were seated at had low seats (or maybe the table was high) but I felt like I should ask for a booster seat lol! Overall great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dining in a pleasant setting.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Couln't ask for better food, better presentation, or more comfortable surroundings. We'll be back soon.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good. Great service. Pleasa ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Consistently good. Great service. Pleasant atmosphere. Nice menus. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Attention to Detail

Dined on February 14, 2016

Village Tavern is definitely a higher-end eating establishment both in dining and price. My wife and I had our V-day dinner here and were not disappointed. We decided to go with a few app's and soup/salad along with a shared dessert. We did this so that we could both enjoy a few glasses of wine. Remember, it is expensive to eat here. You would expect bacon wrapped scallops to be good, but the additional sweet and salty teriyaki glaze set it over the top. You would expect fried oysters to be good, but the spicy orange ginger dipping sauce raised the bar. This is the attention to detail that would preclude many other good restaurants in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was lovely the lights were low very r ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was lovely the lights were low very romantic. The staff was helpful to everyone and they even passed out roses to the ladies for Valentine's Day. They weren't over priced and the serving size was also great for the cost I will definitely be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a wonderful experience - Valentine's Day dinner. We were pleasantly surprised at the excellent service during a very busy time. Food arrived in a timely manner and we delicious. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a Valentine's day date

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great place for a Valentine's day date

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Reservations Optional

Dined on February 14, 2016

We made our reservations early for Valentine's Day and requested a special table. We waited at least 20 minutes and were told the table was not available. Many customers came in with no reservations and were seated quickly. I realize that customers cannot be pushed out the door, but this was supposed to be a special day at our special table. Very disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food3
ambience5
service4

Warm butter cake....AWESOME

Dined on February 14, 2016

Warm butter cake....AWESOME

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall a very good experience. Our ser ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall a very good experience. Our server was excellent. Very friendly and didn't miss a beat. Food was delicious. We had the shrimp and grits and huevo ranchero omelette on the brunch menu. Good value. Desserts were made in house and tasted very fresh. Both the Key Lime pie and apple cobbler were excellent. The ambiance was nice. It may need some mild updating in the next few years but overall nice.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Although there were a few problems with ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Although there were a few problems with the food. The manager was very attentive and adequate everything was handled quickly and the final result was delicious food.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Will ask for a different table next time

Dined on February 13, 2016

I love the village tavern and will keep visiting but next time I will make sure to ask for a both or table on the wall. For our valentine's dinner, which we made reservations for, we were placed at a table that was awkwardly placed in the middle of the floor. We felt like we were in the way. I kept almost bumping into servers. My husband said a server almost dropped their tray on my head at one point. It was just an awkward place to put a table. Very un-romantic for a valentines dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed our meal and experience at Villa ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Enjoyed our meal and experience at Village Tavern. Staff was friendly and manager was very involved with the patrons, regularly checking to make sure everything was good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Group Meal

Dined on February 12, 2016

We had a table for 6 to entertain an out of town guest. The noise level was OK for conversation.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.