Village Tavern Birmingham

4.4
1328 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Casual
  • Special Occasion
Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(205) 970-1640
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Shanna Ferguson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
280
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complimentary Valet parking after 5 PM.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 1328 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great food and excellent customer service. I liked the fact that the restaurant has the option of making reservations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

All aspects excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great Father’s Day meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

First time dining at the Village Tavern, although my family has eaten there before. Overall, the food was good. The soups and dessert were excellent. The caveat was the service. There were a number of miscommunications with the kitchen having items brought out twice and then our entree orders being lost and having to wait well over an hour from order to dining. That said the server did apologize and work with us to make the mishap less. Owing to the great taste of the food and the willingness to work with us to fix their mistake I would definitely dine there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Father’s Day. Everyone enjoyed it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

The food was not worth the cost, average in taste. Service was fair but the place was really busy and servers were trying
But couldn’t make the rounds quickly due to volume. Don’t think we will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We were there for Father's Day and the person that seated us was very nice and seated without
delay. The food was excellent, cooked to our request and very tasteful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Father’s Day. Took a long time to get food. Usually very good. Waitress very good

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Tavern Benedict was not very good, pretty tasteless , crab meat on crab Benedict didn't taste good at all.
The burger my daughter had was very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

food was average at best! Expensive for amount that comes on your plate. Longhorn has a better value for your money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Our meal and the service was superb. Our waiter was friendly without being overbearing. They were happy to accommodate us even though it was close to 10:00 pm. I had French onion soup and it Is amazing. The clam chowder is also very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The food was delicious. But the are conditioning was broken & apparently had been broken for almost a week. We made a reservation but upon arrive we were not told that only the bar area had cool air. We would have requested a table in the bar when we arrived if they would have told us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Food and service are great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Our waiter was terrific!!!! And the food was awesome!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The whole experience took a little too long for a very predictable/mediocre meal. I didn’t find a reason to go back. Cheesecake Factory with a different name.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Have been wanting to try this place and did for Father's Day. It was terrific. Food was great and the warm butter cake for dessert was probably the best dessert I've ever had! Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We had a meeting with friends and ate dinner on a Saturday night. Everything was really good and the service was excellent. We had drinks and appetizers along with entrees. We were there for at least 2.5-3 hours.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Service was slow & sloppy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Excellent service and the food was amazing. We'll definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great food, great atmosphere, great prices! The service was impeccable!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Vill Tav is a GO-TO standard for us. Good menu with something for everyone and excellent drink offerings as well. Was able to make reservations w/in the hour of dining. Was able to get in and out w/out any problems.
Do wish that they would improve their blue cheese used in their stuff olives for Martinis. Why serve top shelf vodka only to be ruined by cheap blue cheese?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I would like to say to the chef that was the best meal I have had our in a very long time.
We eat out about twice a month. The other places were just ok. I left food on the plate, but I brought the left overs home and had them for lunch. I had the pork chop, with potatoe and the spinach. (Magnificent)! Our server Beth was very attentive, friendly. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Looking for a classic and comfortable place in Birmingham, Village Tavern definitely fits the bill. Our server was great and did an excellent job of representing the place: all their food is scratch map on site. Brunch menu had classics, comfort food - all good. Look forward to coming back and trying Dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Good experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

It was my daughter’s 16th birthday and our waiter made the occasion very special. It was a great dining experience. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Natasha was the absolute best server! We had 11 people at our table, and she was so wonderful and even split our check 10 ways without us asking! The food was amazing as well. I had the Hong Kong Style Chilean Sea Bass, and it was delicious. The wine was great, and the carrot cake was insane! Might've been the best carrot cake I've ever had! Definitely highly recommended. My friend had a wonderful birthday dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Was there to meet an acquaintance and discuss future plans.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

The meal, service and dining experience was awesome!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 22, 2018

soup was lukewarm but tasty would have been better hot..
Server did remove from the ticket a meal that was not liked

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

We had a great meal. Service, food and drinks were all very good. It was a bit loud but we could hear each other ok. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

great food great service very tasty drinks all in all a great time

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Lunch was very good and prepared as requested. We seemed to have a team of servers; all friendly and efficient and all making sure we were taken care of. Very prompt too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Great food. Very very loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. However, it was extremely Loud and difficult to have a conversation. Next time, I hope to request a quieter area.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Second recent visit for lunch and service was only mediocre. Restaurant appears to be understaffed and servers spread thinly. Food was good, but soup and salad took WAAYYY too long. Will be awhile before I️ visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Took my wife and mother in law here for dinner on Mother's Day. We have been to Village Tavern multiple times and had good experiences, however, it is pretty clear they don't manage special holidays well. Requested seating on the patio, which ended up being a huge mistake. One server was working the entire patio, which had several parties of 6 or more. We ordered drinks and an appetizer quickly but server did not come back to take our order for 45 MINUTES. No refills, no checking in, though we did see him on his phone with one party he was serving. Food finally arrived and was mediocre and cold. You can do better Village Tavern

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Village Tavern was very busy, and had been all day, and boisterous, very lively. The menu was large and had many good choices. The food was good, mine was excellent and the other entrees somewhat salty. Service was good considering how crowded it was. Would not be my first choice for a special occasion again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I will preface this with saying it was mother's day but we had reservations but had to wait 30 minutes past the time in order to be seated. The service was slow and we had to ask several times for silver ware and bread plates. This was the first time I have ever had service issues at Village Tavern and given the crowd I will try to excuse my disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wonderful food, wonderful service just a great evening overall. We had reservationsat 615 and we were promptly seated and from thenit only got better. I had the prime rib, my husband had grilled meatloaf he said it was very good and my sister had the cajun pasta. She too said it was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I've been a patriot of Village Tavern for years. This particular visit was on mothers day and I was very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34