HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Wed, 2/21
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.

Village Tavern Birmingham

4.5
1200 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Birthdays
Village Tavern is a full service, upscale, casual dining experience. Our extensive menu offers freshly made entrees, such as steaks, seafood, delicious sandwiched and a variety of specialties from the grill, wood fired pizzas and wonderful salads. We have over 90 wines on our extensive wine list have been awarded the Wine Spectators "Award of Excellence."
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(205) 970-1640
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Shanna Ferguson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
280
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complimentary Valet parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The Summit offers a Shuttle from anywhere in the Summit that passed by the Village Tavern approximately every 15-20 minutes.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music every Wednesday night 6:30pm.-9:30pm. Friday 10:30pm.-2:00am. Saturday 10:30pm.-2:00am.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 1200 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5  based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipTipton (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined 3 days ago

The dressing was bland. Not a lot effort put there. The service was good. First time we had to use salt and pepper to have any flavor whatsoever. Was not worth what we paid. My first complaint on this site. Ever.

Report
Helpful
Lee1601 
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Very tasty meal and such a beautiful dining area. Prices were fair and the service was most excellent. Definately will be going back again and plan to make one of my regulars!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

My family went to celebrate Valentine's Day without the maddening crowd! It worked! My only complaint is it appears the recipe for the calamari changed and contains peanuts which is a major turnoff. I also wish the bread service was offered by the servers rather than needing to be requested.

Report
Helpful
lovetodine (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Perfect choice for Valentine's Day! Wait staff are always knowledgeable on wine pairings and steaks are outstanding. Love our dinners at Village Tavern!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Enjoyed it

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Great everything perfect

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We went for Valentines Day dinner. Our waiter Rachel was awesome. Very friendly and efficient. Our food was wonderful. Would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
Valentine (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Had a great dinner with some girlfriends for Valentine’s Day! We sat down right at our reservation time, and had such a good time. Our meals were delicious, and our desserts were even better! Definitely recommend the butter cake ! Carly was our server and she was great!!

Report
Helpful
DEBBIEA (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

This is our go to place for special events. Love the shrimp and grits!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

We always really enjoy this restaurant. It’s relaxed and reasonably priced, but the food and service are first rate. The menu is strong. When my wife asked about a favorite dish deleted from this menu, the server made it happen. He got things done for us. Great night.

Report
Helpful
NaKeshaW (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

This wasn't my first dining experience and like all the others it didn't disappoint. The food was phenomenal and the service was great! I definitely recommend and I will be back.

Report
Helpful
EuniceH (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The food was very tasty, the waitress was attentive and the portions were ample.
We ale=way enjoy going to there. Looking forward to our next visit.

Report
Helpful
DennisS (Atlanta)
4.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

We were very happy with the Village Tavern. The food was very tasty and service was great. We didn't have to wait for our food, but we weren't rushed in any way. A very good experience.

Report
Helpful
JaneL (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

We go there alot, this was a birthday celebration and we all enjoyed our choices of food except the birthday boy, my husband. He got the grits and meatballs to try something different. He said the grits were watery and not very much, and the white topping was not very good. I am assuming that was the cheese... but everything else was very good.

Report
Helpful
PamC (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Our waiter was outstanding! Observant without be intrusive. His name is Miguel B (#269). We were at Table 13.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

Noisy. Food was okay. Omelette pretty good flavor but over cooked. Take away all carbs for gluten free but add nothing to replace and charge same price! Bacon, egg cheese sandwich was bad. Only two small pieces of bacon. Not going back.

Report
Helpful
LaurenM (Jacksonville)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Village Tavern is a favorite for when family or friends come into town. Great food and a wide menu so everyone is happy!

Report
Helpful
Kfh406 (New England)
4.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

We enjoyed the food very much – everything is made fresh on site. The service was excellent, and our server made wonderful recommendations for menu items that are local favorites.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Restaurant clean and nice ambiance. Server was wonderful. Had a nice birthday experience with them.

Report
Helpful
vipjem26 (Birmingham)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

After movie meal between friends

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
60