About Village Inn & Restaurant

20822 River Boulevard
Monte Rio, CA 95462
View Larger Map

The Village Inn & Restaurant is located on the Russian River, the perfect spot for drinks and dinner. We feature Sonoma Wine Country cuisine, in a relaxed, casual atmosphere. A favorite return spot for local residents and visitors alike!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesday through Sunday. Bar from 3PM; dinner service starts at 5PM,

Cross Street:
Bohemian Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 865-2304

Website:
http://www.villageinn-ca.com/

Catering:
With prior arrangement we will be pleased to coordinate your perfect event.

Parking Details:
Convenient, complimentary parking is plentiful in our private lot. Complimentary limousine, bus, RV and motorcycle parking is available as well.

Public Transit:
Sonoma County Transit bus 20 is convenient, as is Bill's Taxi at (707) 869-2177

Executive Chef:
Christopher Ludwick

Private Party Facilities:
Parties for all occasions are welcome. Gatherings from 2 to 80 are possible in a variety of indoor and outdoor locations for daytime and evening private and semi-private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Harvey: 707-865-2304x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Village Inn & Restaurant is perfect for reunions, weddings, retreats, meetings, presentations, social and business gatherings of all types. We have private and semi-private dining areas to accommodate groups of 6 to 40.

Village Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Francisco Bay Area
Scenic View
San Francisco Bay Area
Outdoor Dining
Wine Country
3 More
Romantic
Wine Country
Scenic View
Wine Country
Special Occasion
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Monte Rio ›

Scenic View (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The formal dining room is quiet and peac ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The formal dining room is quiet and peaceful, but there was never more than one other couple dining besides us. All the other diners were in the "Club".

The lobster bisque was velvety and flavorful with a good amount of meat. The salmon was cooked to order, with cheesy polenta making the meal richer than I'm used to. The asparagus was under-cooked however. The halibut and risotto were fine, but the abundance of whole basil leaves was over-kill and didn't add anything to the dish.

We had the most expensive chardonnay on the menu, it was excellent. Turns out the wine steward has a personal relationship with the winery and had only good things to say about it, compared to anything else on the list. The big disappointment is that while we were waiting for the wine steward to talk with us about the wine list, the soup was served. Otherwise the staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were staying at the Inn and went for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were staying at the Inn and went for dinner. We sat on the patio with a gorgeous view of the Russian River. The food was wonderful. And the service was great. It is a smallish place with lots of attention but not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner and I went to The Village Inn ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My partner and I went to The Village Inn & Restaurant for a special anniversary. We sat outside on the patio, overlooking the Russian River. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Several of them visited our table - the owner, our server, the bartender, a bus person. They all went out of their way to make us feel welcome and special. In addition to the great service, the food was beautifully presented and delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special romantic dinner, or a fun night out with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Village Inn is a spectacular place t ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The Village Inn is a spectacular place to be. We were there on the 3rd of July a VERY busy weekend in Monte Rio! We felt they were understaffed however attempted to do a great job. The food was out of this world. We have been there before and will continue to go! I hope you try it also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our 4th time to have dinner wit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our 4th time to have dinner with friends.

What we have noticed the last three times is the owner is not friendly and inviting. The greeting upon entering is awkward and it is becoming uncomfortable not sure if we will return.

The food is okay they do tend to be out of the popular items when they are only into the first 30 minutes of the dinner hour . ( Not sure what that indicates ) .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

As a local, this is a wonderful tucked a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

As a local, this is a wonderful tucked away restaurant I wish we remembered to go to more often. The view of the Russian River is so peaceful and beautiful on a nice night out on the desk.

Our waitress was so accommodating. Good cocktails and everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday disappointment

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We go there special to celebrate our birthdays. In the past years they had confetti on the tables and had a candle in our dessert. This year nothing. Food was not as good as past years, I was very disappointed in the meal. The steak was tough, the fish was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Such a surprise!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I was surprised to see how beautifully this place has been restored. I have driven by it so many times over the years and it appeared run down and neglected. The new owners have done a beautiful job and it is a joy to see. I can't wait to go up and stay there for a few days. We had a seat by the window and could enjoy the view of the river. Our server was delightful. The new owner came by to chat and we couldn't have been happier. They had a mid week special for $29 which we couldn't resist but there are items on the menu that would please anyone. I hope the community will support this wonderful place. The food we had was homey and good. You can see the attention to detail in every aspect of the place. Go and enjoy!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Beautiful view

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary there and while we did enjoy just about everything, I have to say the large group next to us was a bit loud, drinking, swearing. Thank goodness no kids. It also would have been sweet if they would have presented us with a little anniversary dessert instead of us paying for it. Just sayin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service needs work

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The new owners need to pay more attention to customers. There was only one waitress. We weren't brought our water and bread in a timely manner, we were charged for someone else's drinks, we were brought the wrong drink. The owner/hostess should have helped bus tables. Gone are the little appetizers before the meal. There just wasn't that homey feeling there was before. I would go back again because the food was great, but the prices are a little higher than before.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Loved our night at the village Inn... Fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Loved our night at the village Inn... Food was amazing but service was slow and they didn't come back and check to see if we needed anything. Dessert was amazing as well. The owner

Came by and said hello which was very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Nice, intimate setting in a great inn. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Nice, intimate setting in a great inn. Food was decent and menu balanced. The service was a bit on the spotty side, although friendly. It just seemed like our waitress (the only one servicing the dining room) had not been well trained. We wouldn't drive there just to have dinner but it was nice to have the dining room open in this rather out of the way location. A nice peaceful dinner given the far out location and with the peaceful setting and historic inn, all made for a nice overnight. (Note dining room and kitchen is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays and there isn't much else around).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Creative fancy food with a view ($$$$)

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for Valentine's dinner and it was a prefix menu for $75 each. It's a cozy room. There was only one other couple and they tried to sit us right next to them. They did let us choose another table but it felt rather difficult to accommodate for a room of empty tables. I think they had a lot of cancellations later that night because it remained empty all night. (Two young couples left after sitting down, from sticker shock). The first thing the server told us was they were out of the oysters with caviar. So not off to a great start walking in the door. The Amuse was very small portions but good: foie gras with brioche bread was really good, the beets with goat cheese was okay. The potato leak bisque was very tasty with the white truffle foam on top. My risotto was good and a large serving. The striploin steak was good and came with one prawn. We enjoyed the wine, was a local russian river winery. We actually went to see it and bought some bottles to take home the next day. Overall it was good, and maybe we are just spoiled after living in SF for so long, but it was a $280 dinner and not what we are used to getting for that price point. Two $75 prefix's and one cocktail and two glasses of wine each. It is right on the water so would be nice for sunset or drinks. Good for special occasion. Nice staff and the service was good all night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Not informed when booking of pre-fix menu

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

but nevertheless the food was pretty good. On the pre-fix there was only one veggie option, which did not have many veggies. The history of the place and the view is worth the visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Dinner was great! The charcuterie was outstanding! Great little dining room, and I'm sure the outdoor dining is beautiful in warmer weather. We stayed at the hotel and enjoyed our stay very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fantastic Find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We came here for a romantic Valentine's Day dinner and were very pleased. We had a delicious reimagined wedge salad, amazing short ribs with mashed potatoes and root vegetables and sauteed greens. Every course was out of this world good. We finished with a wonderful cheese course. The food was fantastic, the wine list was great and well priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As good as ever

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We are regulars at the Village Inn, so it would be easy to take it for granted. We really shouldn't!

Our most recent meal there was our second since the change of chef. It was EXCELLENT. Whilst we loved the former chef's offerings (particularly, the tombo tuna appetizer, the new menu is great so far too. The steak was superb, and the addition of a burger option to the menu, means even our 15 year-old son is now happy:-)

Add to that, Judy's warm welcome, Chris' wonderful cocktails, and the addition of some great wines to the all-Sonoma County list, you really can't go wrong. If you've never been, you should.....and if you have, you should go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal was excellent and the ambiance was lovely.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

My meal was delicious and the staff were friendly, attentive and accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Keep it coming!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

This has become our "go to" restaurant. Judy and her team ensure a thoroughly delightful experience. There's a new chef in town and he's working his magic. Generous portions and boffo flavors. Service is timely and responsive. We'll be back, and often, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unexpected Charm and Flavor

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

My husband & I were looking for a local restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. We stumbled across the Village Inn. Its a little off the beaten path in Monte Rio. It definitely exceeded our expectations not only in portion size but the flavors as well. My husband had the roast chicken which was amazing. It was a half of chicken! I had the butternut risotto which was lovely. Judy the owner was an absolute star and provided us a comp dessert for our anniversary.

So happy we went and had a wonderful evening. We plan on going back and stay at the inn sometime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Two great dinners at Village Inn

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

We had two excellent dinners at Village Inn Restaurant. I don't eat meat, and on the first night I had the butternut bisque and the butternut and mushroom risotto, both very good. On the second night, they made me a vegetable plate from side dishes served with other dinners: Mashed potatoes, sauteed collards, and baby roots. It was delicious and quite enough for a dinner. My husband had the bronzino with black-eyed peas that he liked so much he had it again on the second night. At his request, they made it without bacon. We really appreciated the way they tailored the meals to our individual wishes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was SPECTACULAR!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

They had a limited menu which served them well. Odd service and wine list was not impressive. The server didn't seem to know anything about wine which felt odd for the area. But, they certainly made up for it with the food! Appetizers, salads, soups and main courses were all amazing! It felt like fine dining quality (beautifully presented) but for affordable costs. We were also pleased that they sat us away from a crying child in the other room. No offense to the family but this was NOT the place to bring your screaming baby. We could still hear the baby from the other room but at least it was a distant noise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Superb meal in the boonies

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

We were spending a romantic week in Guerneville and read about the Village Inn. It was superb. We actually enjoyed it so much that we went twice in a week. The first time was a Thursday night, and we had a perfect meal with speedy service and a brilliant, knowledgeable server.

The second time was with a family member for a celebration, on a Saturday night, and the service was notably slow. Our waiter was rather ditsy but she did pick up as the evening went on. The food was equally wonderful though.

Excellent wine list and great full bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Mr.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

4152034481

Been coming to the Village in for 30 years.

Always a pleasure any time of year.

Chef really hitting it out of the park under new owners. Who are proving gracious service.

An exceptional charming comfortable delicious oasis.

Cheers!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average Restaurant w/poor service but great view

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

We were seated in the bar and asked about drinks immediately, which no one wanted. We asked for water and then were ignored for quite some time 15-20 min. A party of 10 moved in from outside on the deck next to us. It happens, but it was hard to talk over them. Menu has changed with new owners. We were told specials and then left alone for quite some time again. Food was OK, but nothing special. Still no water when we ordered after a 2nd reminder. Salad was delivered by another person other than the waitress in reasonable time. Still no water so third request made at over 30 minutes now. That request was successful some minutes later after the salad girl went back and found our waitress, however it was never checked on or refilled during dinner. Beet salad was fine, just more greens than beats. I had 4 scallops on top of a bed of fettuccini with summer squash for around $24. I was never offered pepper or Parmesan on top, which would've helped the bland flavor. It was fine, just nothing to brag about. My mom had roasted chicken breast over some potatoes and veggies and enjoyed it. My husband had a flat bread pizza appetizer which he said was fine but lacked flavor, and an interesting looking ceaser salad with a Parmesan crusted piece on top which he said was fine. The owner came in several times, but mostly to help the big party. She did ask us who our waitress was (I wondered why she didn't know whose station it was if she was managing the house) and she asked us how our meals were to which we replied "fine."

We did recognize that the staff was entirely new and the owner told us she had bought the place only several months earlier. So given that, we'll try it again and hope that it improves, because we've enjoyed this place for over twenty - five years and we want her to be succesful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Lovely meal: lovely place

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

We had a very, very tasty dinner at the Village Inn. Appetizers were very good - I had the flatbread. What was even more notable was the fresh salad. While I am not normally a 'salad person' it was great - interesting and tasty combination of testures and tastes. My Risotto special was yummy and my husband's rolled pasta dish was as well. There was a little 'wait-staff' shortage that caused small delays but the bartender, and front-door staff bridged the gaps.

One surprise was the not particularly exciting wine list. Nothing terrible, but nothing really notable either. (But our bartender made a very nice gibson!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place for romance

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

This place has great food. It also has a lot of charm.

It is great place to relax and have a good meal.

They a great wine list there as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

New owners - fresh menu

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

The riverside hotel and dining room with a classic old bar has been restored very tastefully. The food was fresh and well prepared. Cocktails, bartender and server were pros.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The Village Inn has been a Monte Rio favorite!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

I've seen the changes over the years and I believe the newest owners are trying very hard to keep it a Monte Rio, CA favorite. One thing I did notice is that there was no bar tender. I think one is needed especially on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights in the Summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Beautiful view and wonderful food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2015

The staff was very friendly and attentive. We have a great table by the window, which gave us a view of the river. The menu was not extensive, but everything we ordered was very good. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the Monte Rio area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic, with a view

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

If you haven't visited The Village Inn in Monte Rio, then you're missing out on a great treat. Got an anniversary? Visit VI. A special occasion? Visit VI. Just want to have a great meal in a nice quiet atmosphere? Visit VI. I can't recommend this place enough. Friendly and fast service, nice owners, an incredible locale, and the food is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Who'd a thunk it?

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 30, 2015

We had an early Sunday dinner indoors in the cozy and charming bar area, with views of the Russian River out the window. The rustic flatbread appetizer was the first tip-off to great food. My adult children had the pea soup and the House Rolled pasta, which they loved. My wife had an excellent salmon and I really enjoyed the risotto with scallops. We finished it off with fabulous desserts - a banana split (split that serving between two or more!), and a couple of chocolate creme brulees. We poked around outdoors and saw the attractive outdoor dining areas on multiple decks and the rooms of the inn connected by wooden bridges and walkways. Made me want to spend a night or more there!

The service was very good but not great - our server seemed disinclined to smile for any reason and was sometimes out of sight for longer than we would like - but the place has a homey charm and the manager at the reception and bar was very welcoming.

All in, the price was reasonable for a special night out, and we left in time to catch the sunset at Goat Rock State Beach about 20 minutes away. A very pleasant surprise for a restaurant so remotely tucked in along the banks of the scenic Russian River. Who'd a thunk it?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Village Inn Restaurant, Monte Rio, California

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

Our Friday evening dinner was the best of our trip to California. We all enjoyed the wild salmon and it was perfectly delicious. The relaxing evening by the Russian River was just what we hoped it would be.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable meal

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 19, 2015

My cider-brined pork loin was cooked to perfection and served on a bed of yams, string beans and sauteed slivered apple. Desert was fruit cobbler a la mode, vanilla bean ice cream....wonderful! Portions were also very generous for entree as well as dessert.

I can't wait for our next visit to try something else on their menu.

Thank you Chef Oliver for your wonderful dining experience.

Nms

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Off their game...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

While the salads were delicious, the Calamari appetizer missed the mark, being extremely rubbery and lacking flavor. The New York steak, that was to be cooked medium rare was barely almost gray in color and as dry as the Mojave desert with no flavor.

I've loved this restaurant for many years, but this dinner was a disappointment, sorry to report.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Awesome Place

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 22, 2015

The ease of booking our dinner and the awesome food made our dinner a memorable event. Chef Oliver will not be the best kept secret in Monte Rio very long. The spot is a perfect getaway venue for anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

NYE Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Went to the Village Inn Restaurant for the first time on NYE for the prix fix. This is NOT the night to try a place for the first time and we will go back to give it a fair shot. Everyone working this night was very friendly and fun. The wait staff were very nice and service was good. The food left something to be desired. I don't cook or use much salt so I'm sensitive to it. It seemed like the kitchen didn't use ANY salt at all. The food was good but every course needed seasoning. That being said we still had a very nice time. I would really like to try and go back in warmer weather as the outdoor areas look really nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Truly Wonderful!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

My husband and I went for dinner on Christmas Eve....the atmosphere was festive, warm and tasteful...the food was beyond amazing....from start to finish. We finished off our evening with a nightcap in their cozy bar. The entire evening was really wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Local favorite with change of ownership

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 18, 2014

The Village Inn is historic and charming and the food has always been good. When I went in early December, 2014 there was a change of ownership. So now we are hoping the quality will continue to be what we have always enjoyed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Wonderful!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

From start to finish our dining experience was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.