Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Village Inn & Restaurant

The Village Inn & Restaurant is located on the Russian River, the perfect spot for drinks and dinner. We feature Sonoma Wine Country cuisine, in a relaxed, casual atmosphere. A favorite return spot for local residents and visitors alike!

20822 River Boulevard
Monte Rio, CA 95462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Open Friday through Sunday. Happy Hour from 3PM to 6PM; Dinner service starts at 5PM

Cross Street:
Bohemian Highway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 865-2304

Website:
http://www.villageinn-ca.com/

Catering:
With prior arrangement we will be pleased to coordinate your perfect event.

Parking Details:
Convenient, complimentary parking is plentiful in our private lot. Complimentary limousine, bus, RV and motorcycle parking is available as well.

Public Transit:
Sonoma County Transit bus 20 is convenient, as is Bill's Taxi at (707) 869-2177

Executive Chef:
Christopher Ludwick

Private Party Facilities:
Parties for all occasions are welcome. Gatherings from 2 to 80 are possible in a variety of indoor and outdoor locations for daytime and evening private and semi-private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Judy Harvey: (707) 865-2304

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Village Inn & Restaurant is perfect for reunions, weddings, retreats, meetings, presentations, social and business gatherings of all types. We have private and semi-private dining areas to accommodate groups of 6 to 40.

Village Inn & Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (10)
Worth the Drive (7)
Waterfront (6)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our 45th anniversary dinner couldn't have been more perfect! Ran into old friends where we all enjoyed our delicious no-rush dinner on the deck. Watching the beach goers at the distance, those canoeing and kayaking down the lazy Russian River below & catching the sunset topped off the already perfect evening! Highly recommend this Inn and restaurant for your special date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I love the artichoke and crab cakes. Chicken under brick juicy and carmelized. Good Cesar. And the orange chiffon cake was out of thus world. Always my riverfront go to. Cozy elegant fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We waited for our service. And this is our story:
1. Drinks not served
2. Bartender was wonderful and helped us when waiter forgot about what we ordered
3. Caesar Salad did not have requested anchovies- even though waiter indicated that he would bring them right back
4. Had to ask about utensils
5. Door remained open and was freezing. We realize there were fire works to show...but, we were so uncomfortable! We eventually closed the door ourselves
6. To charge 20% tip for hamburgers was outrageous!
7. We had no idea there was going to be a 4th of July menu- which in our opinion was like a lunch menu. We were looking for a nice dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Even though I had made reservations through Open Table and had called the restaurant to add another person, thereby confirming the reservation, they claimed not to have the reservation. They seemed very put out by the fact that I showed up. The menu was entirely different from the menu on line -- not just different dishes but entirely different. Once we were seated, the waitress was quite helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner here with a friend with a nice view of the river.
Wonderful Shishito peppers and a Baby Blue green salad for starters; then the special of sausage and corkscrew pasta and a fine burger with all the trimmings.
Still haven't had dessert because we always eat too much but that's not a bad thing.
Highly recommended!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service and food were excellent. Charming atmosphere, but difficult to enjoy the beauty of the river and landscape due to low height seating. Having higher tables and chairs outside on upper deck would make it perfect so you could also take in the incredible view!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Unfortunately I found a hair on my plate. I don't think I would l'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Just marvelous place on the river. Great cocktails and food. Go!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was excellent, the Inn is right on the Russian River so there is a beautiful view. The staff was very friendly and service was great. Overall a wonderful place. The doughnut holes with dipping sauce for dessert were so yummy!! We only ate at the restaurant but I would love to go back and stay for a few nights.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Part of our anniversary trip to N. Calif. Wanted scenery, prompt service, unusual (for us) dinner, comfortable attentive atmosphere. Got it all! Interesting conversation about the history of the area to boot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We got together to celebrate Mothers day and it was a little cool to sit outside and watch the river drift by ~ but they accommodated us inside so well! made up a table quickly and served us very well. Food was excellent loved the Scallops, hard to find cooked well. chowder was delicious, rich, hearty. nicely toasted thin bread for the cheese which always makes a difference when naturally toasted. The coffee was yummy and hey kindly gave us a pot of tea to enjoy on the deck after the sun had drenched the beautiful tables and chairs. We loved sitting together outside, restful and warm, with a good cuppa!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had a lovely dinner. It was very quiet, off season. Excellent baked oysters! Great view of the Russian river.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We happened to stay here in Monte Rio, and decided to eat here based on reviews. The baked and raw oysters were great. The mains we had were the beef rib and the dinner onion soup. The beef was great, the soup was done well.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is a fabulous spot that we try not to miss whenever we are in town. Lovely, intimate, great ambience and service. And the food is delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been coming to the Village Inn for many years. Beautiful setting, excellent service, very attentive and ofcourse DELICIOUS food. My favorite spot on the Russian River. Its perfect for all occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service and food was fantastic the owners daughter even gave us a ride back to our hotel as no cab or Uber were available

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Made a reservation for New Years eve for my Husband and I and another couple. We had dine here before and remembered that we really like it. It was the first time for the other couple. We had a wonderful meal and will definitely be going back. Nice way to start the New Year!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A wonderful way to spend Christmas Eve. Our dinner was delish...ahi bite, sumptuous clam chowder and generous prime rib (mine wasn't as rare as I requested but then it's hard to take me as seriously as I do re: rare beef). Lovely martinis and manhattans by Chris as was his attentive and friendly service throughout our meal. Almost felt as if he were hosting us in his own home.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We only went for drinks and appetizers. The champagne cocktails were not particularly good. The appetizers were bad: a good baked Brie and 4 stale awful crostini with some mediocre toppings.
For 4 people. Wouldn't go back for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great Christmas eve dinner location; been going for the last four years and will do so again next year.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The beef broth was absolutely amazing and my husband really enjoyed his burger! We were not disappointed! Definitely recommend for a romantic getaway.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had hot been there in years and it was excellent. Will definitely return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The meal was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We walked from our hotel and both our hotel and this location were lovely. Wine pairing was perfect and food was delectable.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Wonderful indoor rooms and outdoor dinning. Very comfortable and conducive to a lovely dining experience romantic or social.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We stopped here for dinner after a ride up the coast. It was great to drive inland a little & find the sun!! We sat on the lovely patio with a great view of the river & wooded area. The service was excellent. The food was terrific. We both had the wild salmon. It was delicious. A brownie topped off a great dinner. We tried to get in for our last night in California but unfortunately they were closed on Monday's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Over priced for the food steak Griselda and fat mostly halibut over cooked oysters size of a dime at4 dollars a pop lot of good recommendations but can't see why.m

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The formal dining room is quiet and peaceful, but there was never more than one other couple dining besides us. All the other diners were in the "Club".
The lobster bisque was velvety and flavorful with a good amount of meat. The salmon was cooked to order, with cheesy polenta making the meal richer than I'm used to. The asparagus was under-cooked however. The halibut and risotto were fine, but the abundance of whole basil leaves was over-kill and didn't add anything to the dish.
We had the most expensive chardonnay on the menu, it was excellent. Turns out the wine steward has a personal relationship with the winery and had only good things to say about it, compared to anything else on the list. The big disappointment is that while we were waiting for the wine steward to talk with us about the wine list, the soup was served. Otherwise the staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were staying at the Inn and went for dinner. We sat on the patio with a gorgeous view of the Russian River. The food was wonderful. And the service was great. It is a smallish place with lots of attention but not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2016

My partner and I went to The Village Inn & Restaurant for a special anniversary. We sat outside on the patio, overlooking the Russian River. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Several of them visited our table - the owner, our server, the bartender, a bus person. They all went out of their way to make us feel welcome and special. In addition to the great service, the food was beautifully presented and delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special romantic dinner, or a fun night out with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Village Inn is a spectacular place to be. We were there on the 3rd of July a VERY busy weekend in Monte Rio! We felt they were understaffed however attempted to do a great job. The food was out of this world. We have been there before and will continue to go! I hope you try it also!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our 4th time to have dinner with friends.
What we have noticed the last three times is the owner is not friendly and inviting. The greeting upon entering is awkward and it is becoming uncomfortable not sure if we will return.
The food is okay they do tend to be out of the popular items when they are only into the first 30 minutes of the dinner hour . ( Not sure what that indicates ) .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2016

As a local, this is a wonderful tucked away restaurant I wish we remembered to go to more often. The view of the Russian River is so peaceful and beautiful on a nice night out on the desk.
Our waitress was so accommodating. Good cocktails and everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2016

We go there special to celebrate our birthdays. In the past years they had confetti on the tables and had a candle in our dessert. This year nothing. Food was not as good as past years, I was very disappointed in the meal. The steak was tough, the fish was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2016

I was surprised to see how beautifully this place has been restored. I have driven by it so many times over the years and it appeared run down and neglected. The new owners have done a beautiful job and it is a joy to see. I can't wait to go up and stay there for a few days. We had a seat by the window and could enjoy the view of the river. Our server was delightful. The new owner came by to chat and we couldn't have been happier. They had a mid week special for $29 which we couldn't resist but there are items on the menu that would please anyone. I hope the community will support this wonderful place. The food we had was homey and good. You can see the attention to detail in every aspect of the place. Go and enjoy!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We celebrated our 23rd wedding anniversary there and while we did enjoy just about everything, I have to say the large group next to us was a bit loud, drinking, swearing. Thank goodness no kids. It also would have been sweet if they would have presented us with a little anniversary dessert instead of us paying for it. Just sayin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2016

The new owners need to pay more attention to customers. There was only one waitress. We weren't brought our water and bread in a timely manner, we were charged for someone else's drinks, we were brought the wrong drink. The owner/hostess should have helped bus tables. Gone are the little appetizers before the meal. There just wasn't that homey feeling there was before. I would go back again because the food was great, but the prices are a little higher than before.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Loved our night at the village Inn... Food was amazing but service was slow and they didn't come back and check to see if we needed anything. Dessert was amazing as well. The owner
Came by and said hello which was very nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Nice, intimate setting in a great inn. Food was decent and menu balanced. The service was a bit on the spotty side, although friendly. It just seemed like our waitress (the only one servicing the dining room) had not been well trained. We wouldn't drive there just to have dinner but it was nice to have the dining room open in this rather out of the way location. A nice peaceful dinner given the far out location and with the peaceful setting and historic inn, all made for a nice overnight. (Note dining room and kitchen is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays and there isn't much else around).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for Valentine's dinner and it was a prefix menu for $75 each. It's a cozy room. There was only one other couple and they tried to sit us right next to them. They did let us choose another table but it felt rather difficult to accommodate for a room of empty tables. I think they had a lot of cancellations later that night because it remained empty all night. (Two young couples left after sitting down, from sticker shock). The first thing the server told us was they were out of the oysters with caviar. So not off to a great start walking in the door. The Amuse was very small portions but good: foie gras with brioche bread was really good, the beets with goat cheese was okay. The potato leak bisque was very tasty with the white truffle foam on top. My risotto was good and a large serving. The striploin steak was good and came with one prawn. We enjoyed the wine, was a local russian river winery. We actually went to see it and bought some bottles to take home the next day. Overall it was good, and maybe we are just spoiled after living in SF for so long, but it was a $280 dinner and not what we are used to getting for that price point. Two $75 prefix's and one cocktail and two glasses of wine each. It is right on the water so would be nice for sunset or drinks. Good for special occasion. Nice staff and the service was good all night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.