About Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse

3878 Carlsbad Blvd
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse with an Italian flair. The restaurant faces the Pacific Ocean,one of the best views in San Diego.
Open seven days a week with an outstanding Sunday brunch. Happy Hour is daily and offers small plates and drink specials, most at under $10.
Private "Wine Cellar "room available for private parties.

For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years,
Vigilucci’s catering team can custom create a unique and memorable menu for celebrating life’s special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarack Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-2580

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/

Executive Chef:
Gerhard Oesterlein

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat your special Father this year to Brunch or Dinner. We will offer seasonal specials along with our signature entrees. We offer outdoor dining with gorgeous ocean views

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vigilucci's offers dining in diverse atmospheres to suit every occasion, with private dining offering stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and an old world Italian atmosphere. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

special occasion (89)
scenic view (83)
great for outdoor dining (66)
See All
romantic (59)
fit for foodies (46)
notable wine list (42)
neighborhood gem (39)
great for lunch (24)
good for groups (22)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for brunch (14)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
923 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Super food and great after a day at the ...

Dined 4 days ago

Super food and great after a day at the beach!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Atmosphere

Dined on May 21, 2016

Celebrated girls reunion weekend and started it off at Vigilucci's. The food, service and atmosphere were outstanding. I am excited to take my husband back there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great for special occasion.

Dined on May 19, 2016

This restaurant is a wonderful spot to go and will always hold a special place in my heart--I got engaged there! Heather, our waitress, was wonderful. She was just as excited as we were.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation delight

Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband and dropped in for dinner while on vacation. The food was devine, house wine delicious. Our waiter was extremely helpful and friendly. The cook staff accommodated my need for gluten free as well. Salmon tender delicious, steak melt in your mouth awesomeness. Perfect night for a meal with an ocean view.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best meal of our lives pr ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely the best meal of our lives pretty much. The Cioppino was heavenly, especially the toasted garlic bread pieces that come with it soaking up the sauce. We both agreed it was the best Cioppino we have ever tasted by far. The filets are amazing too, so are the homemade pastas. Great service, great ambience and views, high prices but WELL worth it for a special occasion when you want the best meal available.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I love this restaurant. They have an int ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I love this restaurant. They have an interesting menu and excellent food. I love the atmosphere and the wonderful ocean and sunset view. Price $$$. As we used Open Table we did not have to wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food was incredible. Service was unusually poor.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our 'go to' spot for big events. Food, View etc. was outstanding but our server was poor. This is unusual as service there is usually awesome. this time. not so much. Maybe our server was just having a bad day and that wore off onto the service staff too. odd. . we'll certainly keep going there and would encourage others to go there too.. but. did get an odd ball server woman.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awww so nice !

Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was superior, food great, friendly and most enjoyable--a treasure in the sand !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Great experience as usual. I ordered buc ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great experience as usual. I ordered bucatini with shrimp & artichokes. Excellent dish, I highly recommend it. This time it was a bit louder than usual. I suggest not to sit by the entrance for that reason.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ocean view and food is incredible!

Dined on May 2, 2016

The combination of ocean view, outstanding authentic Italian food, service and ambiance makes for a truly remarkable evening. A great place to take old friends that your truly care about as well as those that you would like to become close friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1

I realize that this is a very popular pl ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I realize that this is a very popular place. Perhaps there are a lack of quality Italian restaurants in north county, which may explain its popularity. However, they had way more then the safe number of people crammed inside; I got elbowed repeatedly by several well fed patrons, think standard economy airline seating. Our reservation wasn't ready on time, and our waiter basically forgot about us repeatedly, forgetting to bring butter when requested, forgetting side dishes, forgetting to ask if we wanted something to drink. As far as ambiance is concerned It was so noisy, I couldn't hear myself think let alone hear what my wife was saying; not exactly romantic. Patrons were either well dressed for an upscale restaurant or for the most part in board shorts and flip flops-- again feels like management just wanted to cram as many people as possible into a small space- just like the impossible valet lot we were turned away from.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean view dining at its finest!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Took a friend here for lunch and the view could not be beat. The hamburger was done to perfection. The servers were great and very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, just what I would expect!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful Birthday celebration dinner overlooking the ocean. Doesn't get much better than that! Ambiance was delightful. Our server was excellent. Thank you, look forward to returning.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal

Dined on April 20, 2016

Absolutely excellent meal, service and location, we throughly enjoyed our evening. The food was outstanding as was the service, other than the incredibly rude blonde hostess. Make sure you go for sunset, it's a wonderful evening will go back when we are in the area Valet parking as well

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a wonderful time. The staff were cou ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Was a wonderful time. The staff were courteous, pleasant, and personable. The food was excellent. Will be returning again and again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Pure excellence U our server Christopher

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Pure excellence U our server Christopher

food3
ambience4
service4

The Crab meat in the ahi special lacked ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Crab meat in the ahi special lacked flavor. Prime rib was very good. An expensive place to eat but knew that from the reviews. Special dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Vigilucci's was a great find!

Dined on April 17, 2016

I went here for my wife's birthday, and made my reservation on Open Table (indicating it was her birthday, and requesting a good table). When we arrived the hostesses were extremely friendly and both gave my wife a big hug! They wished her a happy birthday and proceeded to sit us at the best table in the house with spectacular views. Our server was also very friendly and knowledgeable. Then comes the food, which was on point...absolutely delicious!!! Overall, I give this place a 9+ out of 10 (very high rating for me)!!! Plus, I found this via Yelp and reviews, which did not disappoint. I highly recommend this place, and will not hesitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner with a view

Dined on April 16, 2016

Daniella provided excellent service by giving us insight about the menu on preparation and portions. She was very pleasant and kept a good eye on how we were doing and what we needed. You should ask for if you go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrating a Birthday and it was a g ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We celebrating a Birthday and it was a great success and a wonderful choice ! Our waiter made it special by his personal attention to us . And the food was to die for . Love this place !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely magnificent Italian seafood!

Dined on April 12, 2016

We started with the signature appetizer. An amazing display dish featuring an assortment of shellfish. I had the lobster with spicy marina -- it was wonderful. Everyone was delighted with their choice. We will definitely be back. Great ocean views added to the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Although the food and view were very goo ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Although the food and view were very good, I thought the prices were extremely high for the menu selection. I would recommend the location only for special occasions and I would give them other comparable options that would be more cost effective.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

My wife and I ate dinner out on the pati ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

My wife and I ate dinner out on the patio to enjoy the ocean air and setting sun over the water. The service was excellent, and the food was superb. That being said, the road noise from Coast Highway was a bit distracting at times. So if a quiet dinner is your goal, opt for the indoor seating. Also note that the menu is a bit pricey but understandable for the ocean view location.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sea Side

Dined on April 10, 2016

Vigilucci's in Carlsbad on Coast Highway is one of our favorite places !! Good food, good view (even in the rain :)) Great place to sit, have a drink, watch the sunset. Prices are not outrageous. Place is always busy, so plan accordingly. While parking could be a problem, the valets are efficient and courteous.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Worst Service possible

Dined on April 9, 2016

I have been going to Vigilucci's for 14 years. The view and ambiance is always the main attraction and while the food can be inconsistent the service typically makes up for it. Last time we arrived for at 7:15 for a 7:30 dinner reservation; we had a special date planned and requested a booth. By 8:00 pm no one had come to talk with us about the delay . We had not even been able to find a seat as the bar is small and always packed on a Friday night. By about 8:10 we inquired about our table, then again a few more times until they were more than an hour late seating us. When we spoke to the manger about what we felt was an unacceptable delay he has nothing but excuses for us, never offered a drink or an appetizer and even told us how much the other people were spending suggesting they had every right to still be at the table. I suggested to him that he could easily solve his problem by letting a seating know that their table was scheduled for a second seating at 7:30. His response to us was that we knew nothing about the restaurant industry and that if he did that he's lose business or get a bad review! I ordered the sea bass and while the fish was delicious it came on top of garlic potatoes that tasted like not quite cooked home fries I would have paired with breakfast. Suddenly the often barely good enough food tasted even worse as the ambiance had been ruined by the unapologetic rudeness of the manager. Interestingly, we went to our favorite sushi restaurant the following Friday, Blue Ocean and they seated up at a table we requested but before doing so said: "we can offer you this table but it's booked for a reservation in 2 hours" is that going to work for you? " Yes, we said and thank you for letting us know, when or if you need the table if we want to linger we'd be happy to move to the bar." Blue Ocean has our business. We are totally done with Vigilucci.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter and the entire restaurant sta ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our waiter and the entire restaurant staff are absolute professionals and all genuinely liked each other. Everyone smiles and works so well together. These great people and the amazing location make this a preferred spot for special occasions. The food was also absolutely amazing and can't be beat!

food2
ambience5
service1

The calamari's texture was like a rubber ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The calamari's texture was like a rubber band, horrible worst we ever had. The saffron risotto had way too much saffron, it took away from the flavor of the rack of lamb. The daily ravioli was very good. Service was very slow. Our entrees arrived almost 50 minutes after we finished our appetizer.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our family usually goes to Vigilucci's on holiday.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family usually goes to Vigilucci's on major holidays and it's always a treat!! Great location, excellent views and great service. Our family is a large party and they always goes out of their way to make our dining time a great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delightful evening!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful location, Luca was superb. Veal Parmigiana, Ossobuco and Lasagna sang to us. Delightful evening! We will return!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Added note requesting outdoors. Did not ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Added note requesting outdoors. Did not get this message and also did not have our reservation on their computer. I showed it to them on my email. Had to wait 30 minutes to be seated.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always spectacular! Just relax and enjoy ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Always spectacular! Just relax and enjoy.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great night out

Dined on March 20, 2016

Everything about the evening was great, food was excellent, nice wine list my on comment was it was really really loud inside the restaurant so I was hard to hear conversation. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Vigilucci's is always a great dining exp ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Vigilucci's is always a great dining experience, from the welcome at the hostess desk to the amazing food and wine. Not to mention their awesome cocktails.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and service are fantastic!

Dined on March 19, 2016

I can't say enough good things about the level of service and the food was outstanding. The only negative about this restaurant is that it is extremely loud. I was not able to have a conversation with my husband if I didn't practically yell, which is what everyone else was doing too.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Went there on a date when we were visiting from out of state. Great atmosphere, fabulous service, and amazing food! We ate the stuffed clam shells for our appetizer, the seafood ravioli and the gnocchi for dinner, and had the chocolate lava cake for dessert… all of it was AMAZING. Our server was super nice and very helpful. Definitely would recommend this restaurant, and we'd love to go back when we visit the area again!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I had dinner with friends over the weekend. Great ambiance, relaxed, nice view.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 12, 2016

I had looked for a place to take my significant other for his birthday and noticed that Vigilucci's was close to our apartment. I made a reservation for us and two friends and was absolutely blown away by how wonderful the experience was. We sat at the bar while our table was made ready. I was consistently impressed by how professional the staff was and how friendly everyone seemed. The food delicious, and promptly served. The best part? My boyfriend loved his birthday dinner..which is a huge compliment seeing as he's a bit of a chef himself. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Five Star Experience

Dined on March 4, 2016

Great place, good menu and the dinner was simply superior. Definitively a must when in Carlsbad

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and beautiful decor. Love ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Great location and beautiful decor. Lovely outdoor patio with great view of the ocean! Fabulous wine list! Hot fresh bread is served with olive oil and balsamic. Everything on the menu, that I've tried, is delicious. Service is fantastic. Valet parking also available. Bon Appetite!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Worth a trip

Dined on February 23, 2016

Excellent food, attentive service, terrific ocean view. Only off note was the "tips are appreciated" urging both orally and by posted sign for valet parking - this in addition to the $5 parking fee.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.