About Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse

3878 Carlsbad Blvd
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse with an Italian flair. The restaurant faces the Pacific Ocean,one of the best views in San Diego.
Open seven days a week with an outstanding Sunday brunch. Happy Hour is daily and offers small plates and drink specials, most at under $10.
Private "Wine Cellar "room available for private parties.

For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years,
Vigilucci’s catering team can custom create a unique and memorable menu for celebrating life’s special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarack Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-2580

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/

Executive Chef:
Gerhard Oesterlein

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Rib Eye Steak
Crab Cakes
USDA Prime Black Angus Rib Eye Steak
Cioppino
Mushroom Chicken
Insalata Con Gamberi
Chilled Seafood Tower
Puree of Brocoli Soup w/o Dairy Base
Gambernoni Con Spinaci
Mountain Spring Water

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vigilucci's offers dining in diverse atmospheres to suit every occasion, with private dining offering stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and an old world Italian atmosphere. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
North San Diego
Scenic View
North San Diego
Italian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

Scenic View (105)
Great for Outdoor Dining (87)
Special Occasion (81)
See All
Romantic (62)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Notable Wine List (42)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Hot Spot (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
978 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome meal and the service; especially ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome meal and the service; especially Chris our waiter was a pleasure.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I will have vongole spaghetti every time ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 5 days ago

I will have vongole spaghetti every time.

I think that you changed a type of spaghetti.

It was a type of fat and roll.

Although it is my individual opinion, it is not good combination between spaghetti and sauce.

I like previous old type spaghetti.

Thanks,

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We had always loved this place, but on t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had always loved this place, but on this visit we had a reservation mixup, very poor service and the food was very disappointing. We will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Outstanding!!!!!!! Been in the hospitali ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding!!!!!!! Been in the hospitality industry for over 30 years and I can honestly say one of the best fine dinning experiences we have had. My girlfriend is still raving about it. From the impeccable service by Glenn to the graciousness of the manager Bruce. We live in Palm Springs and don't get to Carlsbad often but we now cant wait to return. Glenn recommended a fantastic bottle of Caymus meritage at only $45.00 dollars . The place was packed but the timing and pace of the service was spot on. Melt in your mouth Osso bucco and delicious seafood pasta . Thanks Vigilucci's , can't wait to see you again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On coast highway in Carlsbad so an enjoy ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

On coast highway in Carlsbad so an enjoyable location for outdoor dining when weather is nice.

Did not find the food or service to be particularly memorable, as in no real reason to return. Kind of spendy for what they serve and then you get dinged $4 to park. Did not care for the musak playing over speakers. With the ocean setting, no need for irritating soundtrack.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food and service was excellent.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful server that met our n ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a wonderful server that met our needs and made some great suggestions. The pork and pasta were tremendous. Sitting outside made the evening a true delight.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you love Italian food , seafood, and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

If you love Italian food , seafood, and steaks this is your place! Near the beach great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service with an an amazin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food and service with an an amazing ocean view!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic menu! We found this the last ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fantastic menu! We found this the last time we were in Oceanside and made sure to go back this year. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vigilucci's always delivers one of the m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Vigilucci's always delivers one of the most memorable meals you will ever have!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent Find!! Our server was outstand ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent Find!! Our server was outstanding, he helped guide us through the menu and had an excellent recomandation

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food, excellent service, great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

excellent food, excellent service, great place to a romantic dinner

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What a wonderful restaurant. The food, s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant. The food, service and atmosphere was fantastic. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed in the service the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Was very disappointed in the service they where way overbooked and not enough wait staff on for the night .we had a reservation for 6:45 and where not seated until 7:30 if I wanted a 7:30 reservation I would of made it for that time .The service at the bar was just as bad they must of walked by me several times with out even a smile so finally I had to ask if I could get a glass of wine finally I got one and he left me standing there with out taking my money I had to ask another waiter if I could pay he said he did not leave u a bill the food was great but they should not over book so many people and have more staff on hand

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

This restaurant has good food and excell ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This restaurant has good food and excellent service. The view of the ocean is decent, but it is across a busy highway. Seeing since they serve seafood here, they also pack you in like sardines, ask for a booth, so that you do not have to fight for space with the tables surrounding you.

It is VERY loud in here, so if you are looking for a quiet "romantic" dinner, this may miss the mark.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food. Nice location. Good Service. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food. Nice location. Good Service. Would go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tough situation. Hot day at the beach. W ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Tough situation. Hot day at the beach. Would have liked more AC or some sort of better ventilation. Carpaccio great. Veal awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Veal chop was one of the best I've proba ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Veal chop was one of the best I've probably ever and I've eaten many veal chops at high end steak houses. I would definitely recommend it. Only negative about the evening was it was unusually warm that day in Carlsbad and would have been more comfortable dining indoor with the AC on instead of sweating it out with the folks on the patio. I get the open air thing but not when it's 86 degrees at the coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food is scrumptious and beautifully pres ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food is scrumptious and beautifully presented with flowers on every plate!! One i my favorite places to take business lunches or my husband for an anniversary dinner!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Beautiful v ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. Beautiful view. My girlfriend and I ordered two pasta dishes because they were the most affordable on a very expensive menu. They were prepared well. We enjoyed our dinner but feel the pricing was more suited for a ritzy hotel than Carlsbad by the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The view of the Sunset over the Pacific ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The view of the Sunset over the Pacific Ocean was outstanding! The food and service were excellent. The noise level was horrendous!!! It is located right on the Pacific Coast Highway and the Cruisers and their Vehicles was deafening! As a result everyone else was practically yelling. It was very difficult to hear the Server as well as my husband who was sitting right beside me. The tables were also placed very close together. It definitely destroyed any ambiance the restaurant had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

The perfect venue to enjoy a great dinne ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The perfect venue to enjoy a great dinner on the patio on a summer night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Prices at restaurant higher than the on- ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Prices at restaurant higher than the on-line menu from their website (reviewed same day). Seated outside in hot sun (no other tables available). Asked about getting some shade and was told that there was nothing they could do. The new sun shades wouldn't cover and there were no other tables.

2 hours baking in the hot sun.

Food was OK, but pricey.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food and ambiance!!!! Great sunset ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and ambiance!!!! Great sunset dinner but can be a little loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice outdoor dining terrace across the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice outdoor dining terrace across the street from the ocean, with pleasant breezes but also with some annoying traffic noise. The food and service were passable. The pasta dishes seemed to work best. Chicken marsala was subpar. Grilled veggies were disappointing, both a little undercooked and a bit too bland. Despite its shortcomings, this is still an appealing spot for lunch, particularly if you're in the mood for pasta.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We made the reservation by chance and wo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We made the reservation by chance and won the prize. The room, service, staff and meal were very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It's not modern Italian. It's heavy and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It's not modern Italian. It's heavy and overly daubed cans overly dressed. There is nothing sophisticated about it. Our server was very nice and accommodating though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Absolutely loved our meal and the atmosp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Absolutely loved our meal and the atmosphere of the restaurant. Since eating dinner there on Monday night, we have already been to a second location in the village and bought dinner through the market on Wednesday

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic time, watching the sunset and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fantastic time, watching the sunset and great meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best find during our trip t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was the best find during our trip to Carlsbad. The dinner was for our son's birthday and we weren't disappointed. The food was beautifully prepared and delicious. The scenery was wonderful - get the outdoor seating, you won't be disappointed! We recommended to our friends who also live in the area and they said they'd definitely eat there also. We'd definitely go back when we're in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and impeccable service. Celeb ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food and impeccable service. Celebrated a late anniversary dinner and it was fabulous. Would go again. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu and great location. Vigilucc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great menu and great location. Vigilucci's never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for our 20th wed ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 20th wedding anniversary. It was our first experience at the restaurant and I was happy to see Vigilucci's accommodated the table location request I had put in my reservation note. We ordered the sea bass and the shrimp risotto that were the specials for the night. They were very good but not amazing. What blew us away were the oysters and crab cakes we enjoyed as appetizers, and the very attentive, personable and gracious service. Even though the restaurant was very busy, we felt like their timing for everything was perfect. A great spot to experience great people and great food in the midst of beach life.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was just flat out excellent, all arou ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It was just flat out excellent, all around! I decided on this venue for our anniversary and we both were 100% pleased- thrilled to say the least. It's a busy place so make a reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the food mediocre, the service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We found the food mediocre, the service inattentive, and we expected so much more for what they charge.

We will not return again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was the star as the service was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was the star as the service was lacking. Waiter was friendly but often disappeared for a long while. With an early reservation this seemed odd. Also did not know specials before coming to the table nor soup of the day. When we flagged another waiter down at one point, he begrudgingly assisted but you knew never to ask him for help again. BUT the food, was superb.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Immediate seating w our reservations on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Immediate seating w our reservations on Friday night, great service and incredible food. Can't wait til we return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, service was outstand ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent, service was outstanding and the wine list was very good. Will go back next time I am in the area

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful authentic Italian restaurant. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful authentic Italian restaurant. Relaxed but classy atmosphere. View and food is to die for and service is top notch. Our server Andrea was very friendly and attentive. Truly looking forward to dining there again. It was a wonderful experience from beginning to end.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.