About Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse

3878 Carlsbad Blvd
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse with an Italian flair. The restaurant faces the Pacific Ocean,one of the best views in San Diego.
Open seven days a week with an outstanding Sunday brunch. Happy Hour is daily and offers small plates and drink specials, most at under $10.
Private "Wine Cellar "room available for private parties.

For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years,
Vigilucci’s catering team can custom create a unique and memorable menu for celebrating life’s special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarack Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-2580

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/

Executive Chef:
Gerhard Oesterlein

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Rib Eye Steak
Crab Cakes
Cioppino
USDA Prime Black Angus Rib Eye Steak
Mushroom Chicken
Chilled Seafood Tower
Insalata Con Gamberi
Mountain Spring Water
Puree of Brocoli Soup w/o Dairy Base
Gambernoni Con Spinaci

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vigilucci's offers dining in diverse atmospheres to suit every occasion, with private dining offering stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and an old world Italian atmosphere. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

scenic view (95)
special occasion (84)
great for outdoor dining (72)
See All
romantic (56)
fit for foodies (42)
notable wine list (42)
neighborhood gem (40)
good for groups (26)
great for lunch (24)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (17)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
941 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

We found the food mediocre, the service ...

Dined 5 days ago

We found the food mediocre, the service inattentive, and we expected so much more for what they charge. We will not return again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was the star as the service was ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The food was the star as the service was lacking. Waiter was friendly but often disappeared for a long while. With an early reservation this seemed odd. Also did not know specials before coming to the table nor soup of the day. When we flagged another waiter down at one point, he begrudgingly assisted but you knew never to ask him for help again. BUT the food, was superb.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Immediate seating w our reservations on ...

Dined 6 days ago

Immediate seating w our reservations on Friday night, great service and incredible food. Can't wait til we return!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, service was outstand ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent, service was outstanding and the wine list was very good. Will go back next time I am in the area

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful authentic Italian restaurant. ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful authentic Italian restaurant. Relaxed but classy atmosphere. View and food is to die for and service is top notch. Our server Andrea was very friendly and attentive. Truly looking forward to dining there again. It was a wonderful experience from beginning to end.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a frequent visitor, consistency is ve ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

As a frequent visitor, consistency is very important to me. Vigilucci's is an incredibly well run restaurant. I know what to expect when I dine there, and never concerned about the cost because I know that I will get what I expect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great views, attentive service. Ordered ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great views, attentive service. Ordered farfalle ai funghi capesante, texture and preparation were superb but the creamy sauce could have been more flavorful. A bit skimpy on the quantity of mushrooms. My dad had the steak, beautifully presented.

food4
ambience3
service2
value1

This is one of our favored places with a ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

This is one of our favored places with an ocean view featuring Great Steak, Seafood & Pasta however this visit was disappointing. We went for Father's Day Brunch/Lunch and while the food was great, the service and value was not. The restaurant was busy but not packed as you might expect for a Father's Day. Two of us ordered the Rib-Eye steak on a bed of gorgenzola gnocchi topped with King Crab meat. Once our food finally arrived it was luke-warm and the crab meet was fishy tasting. We had no cocktails, ordered 1 bottle of moderately priced wine ($60 hard to find on their over priced list) yet the bill was over $100 per person. It appears they decided to capitalize on Father's Day by event with high prices. It will be quite sometime before I return as a result!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very elegant restaurant clearly a local ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very elegant restaurant clearly a local favourite. Sensational ocean sunset views.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was superb. The wait staff was ver ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was superb. The wait staff was very personable. Parking valets knew what they were doing!

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food with an amazing view.

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food with an amazing view.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always enjoy going. Food is perfect! Goo ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Always enjoy going. Food is perfect! Good location, good view & good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

While our waiter Paolo was lovely, the s ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

While our waiter Paolo was lovely, the service was bad. We had to ask for a drink menu, which was a challenge since Paolo was often nowhere to be seen. Then it took an hour for him to take our order. A man who came in after us had his drink and finished his lunch before we even ordered. While the patio was busy, the inside was not so it wasn't like he was overwhelmed. Then my meal was kind of boring--the cappellini. I won't speak for the others in my party about their meals. This place came highly recommended from friends and my sister chose it for her birthday lunch because she said she loved it. But not sure I'd go back, except for the view.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The service was terrible, because our se ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The service was terrible, because our server saw a young couple, she did not pay much attention. The older couples who she assumed would tip on the other hand she waited on hand and foot. I tried to get a beer for an hour before I had to ask the bus boy for the check because I waitress hadn't came by. And then when I explsined the situation to her she tossed the check down on the table in passing. However, the food and ambiance was impeccable

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. The food, serv ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We love this restaurant. The food, service, and ocean views are are superb.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I had the Fungi pasta, way too much garl ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I had the Fungi pasta, way too much garlic, Maybe too much Truffle oil. The shrimp cocktail was good.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

To noisy

Dined on June 5, 2016

The restaurant has an awesome location, great food, great service, but its just too loud. I was having a special date and could not hear my date speak. Most annoying. When I go to Ruth Chris, I can always count on the best atmostphere. That's why I go out to eat a high quality meal: its part of the whole dining experience. This place not so much.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Super food and great after a day at the ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Super food and great after a day at the beach!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Atmosphere

Dined on May 21, 2016

Celebrated girls reunion weekend and started it off at Vigilucci's. The food, service and atmosphere were outstanding. I am excited to take my husband back there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great for special occasion.

Dined on May 19, 2016

This restaurant is a wonderful spot to go and will always hold a special place in my heart--I got engaged there! Heather, our waitress, was wonderful. She was just as excited as we were.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation delight

Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband and dropped in for dinner while on vacation. The food was devine, house wine delicious. Our waiter was extremely helpful and friendly. The cook staff accommodated my need for gluten free as well. Salmon tender delicious, steak melt in your mouth awesomeness. Perfect night for a meal with an ocean view.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best meal of our lives pr ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely the best meal of our lives pretty much. The Cioppino was heavenly, especially the toasted garlic bread pieces that come with it soaking up the sauce. We both agreed it was the best Cioppino we have ever tasted by far. The filets are amazing too, so are the homemade pastas. Great service, great ambience and views, high prices but WELL worth it for a special occasion when you want the best meal available.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I love this restaurant. They have an int ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I love this restaurant. They have an interesting menu and excellent food. I love the atmosphere and the wonderful ocean and sunset view. Price $$$. As we used Open Table we did not have to wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food was incredible. Service was unusually poor.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our 'go to' spot for big events. Food, View etc. was outstanding but our server was poor. This is unusual as service there is usually awesome. this time. not so much. Maybe our server was just having a bad day and that wore off onto the service staff too. odd. . we'll certainly keep going there and would encourage others to go there too.. but. did get an odd ball server woman.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awww so nice !

Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was superior, food great, friendly and most enjoyable--a treasure in the sand !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Great experience as usual. I ordered buc ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great experience as usual. I ordered bucatini with shrimp & artichokes. Excellent dish, I highly recommend it. This time it was a bit louder than usual. I suggest not to sit by the entrance for that reason.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ocean view and food is incredible!

Dined on May 2, 2016

The combination of ocean view, outstanding authentic Italian food, service and ambiance makes for a truly remarkable evening. A great place to take old friends that your truly care about as well as those that you would like to become close friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1

I realize that this is a very popular pl ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I realize that this is a very popular place. Perhaps there are a lack of quality Italian restaurants in north county, which may explain its popularity. However, they had way more then the safe number of people crammed inside; I got elbowed repeatedly by several well fed patrons, think standard economy airline seating. Our reservation wasn't ready on time, and our waiter basically forgot about us repeatedly, forgetting to bring butter when requested, forgetting side dishes, forgetting to ask if we wanted something to drink. As far as ambiance is concerned It was so noisy, I couldn't hear myself think let alone hear what my wife was saying; not exactly romantic. Patrons were either well dressed for an upscale restaurant or for the most part in board shorts and flip flops-- again feels like management just wanted to cram as many people as possible into a small space- just like the impossible valet lot we were turned away from.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean view dining at its finest!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Took a friend here for lunch and the view could not be beat. The hamburger was done to perfection. The servers were great and very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, just what I would expect!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful Birthday celebration dinner overlooking the ocean. Doesn't get much better than that! Ambiance was delightful. Our server was excellent. Thank you, look forward to returning.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal

Dined on April 20, 2016

Absolutely excellent meal, service and location, we throughly enjoyed our evening. The food was outstanding as was the service, other than the incredibly rude blonde hostess. Make sure you go for sunset, it's a wonderful evening will go back when we are in the area Valet parking as well

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a wonderful time. The staff were cou ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Was a wonderful time. The staff were courteous, pleasant, and personable. The food was excellent. Will be returning again and again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Pure excellence U our server Christopher

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Pure excellence U our server Christopher

food3
ambience4
service4

The Crab meat in the ahi special lacked ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Crab meat in the ahi special lacked flavor. Prime rib was very good. An expensive place to eat but knew that from the reviews. Special dining.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Vigilucci's was a great find!

Dined on April 17, 2016

I went here for my wife's birthday, and made my reservation on Open Table (indicating it was her birthday, and requesting a good table). When we arrived the hostesses were extremely friendly and both gave my wife a big hug! They wished her a happy birthday and proceeded to sit us at the best table in the house with spectacular views. Our server was also very friendly and knowledgeable. Then comes the food, which was on point...absolutely delicious!!! Overall, I give this place a 9+ out of 10 (very high rating for me)!!! Plus, I found this via Yelp and reviews, which did not disappoint. I highly recommend this place, and will not hesitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dinner with a view

Dined on April 16, 2016

Daniella provided excellent service by giving us insight about the menu on preparation and portions. She was very pleasant and kept a good eye on how we were doing and what we needed. You should ask for if you go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrating a Birthday and it was a g ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We celebrating a Birthday and it was a great success and a wonderful choice ! Our waiter made it special by his personal attention to us . And the food was to die for . Love this place !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely magnificent Italian seafood!

Dined on April 12, 2016

We started with the signature appetizer. An amazing display dish featuring an assortment of shellfish. I had the lobster with spicy marina -- it was wonderful. Everyone was delighted with their choice. We will definitely be back. Great ocean views added to the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Although the food and view were very goo ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Although the food and view were very good, I thought the prices were extremely high for the menu selection. I would recommend the location only for special occasions and I would give them other comparable options that would be more cost effective.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

My wife and I ate dinner out on the pati ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

My wife and I ate dinner out on the patio to enjoy the ocean air and setting sun over the water. The service was excellent, and the food was superb. That being said, the road noise from Coast Highway was a bit distracting at times. So if a quiet dinner is your goal, opt for the indoor seating. Also note that the menu is a bit pricey but understandable for the ocean view location.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.