About Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse

3878 Carlsbad Blvd
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse with an Italian flair. The restaurant faces the Pacific Ocean,one of the best views in San Diego.
Open seven days a week with an outstanding Sunday brunch. Happy Hour is daily and offers small plates and drink specials, most at under $10.
Private "Wine Cellar "room available for private parties.

For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years,
Vigilucci’s catering team can custom create a unique and memorable menu for celebrating life’s special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarack Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-2580

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/

Executive Chef:
Gerhard Oesterlein

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Rib Eye Steak  - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Crab Cakes - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
USDA Prime Black Angus Rib Eye Steak - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Cioppino - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Mushroom Chicken - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Insalata Con Gamberi - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Chilled Seafood Tower - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Puree of Brocoli Soup w/o Dairy Base - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Gambernoni Con Spinaci - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Mountain Spring Water - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vigilucci's offers dining in diverse atmospheres to suit every occasion, with private dining offering stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and an old world Italian atmosphere. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Scenic View (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Waterfront (34)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Authentic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Casual (5)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A friend of mine who lives in that area ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

A friend of mine who lives in that area had recommend this restaurant to me as a good place to go for my birthday dinner with my husband. The food was good, kinda big portions, but not too bad! Overall I had nice time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our food was well-prepared and delicious ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was well-prepared and delicious. The restaurant is upscale and waiters are well-trained. The restaurant was informed of a birthday celebration at reservation time, but the staff never checked, so it was embarrassing to remind them. Sometimes, the waiter took a long time to check on us. Otherwise, I could have rated it all 5-stars.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

the appetizer calamari was outstanding! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

the appetizer calamari was outstanding! Very light and non-greasy

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb gluten free pasta. The only negat ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Superb gluten free pasta. The only negative comment and a slight one was the level of noise. It is a top end place with top end food with top end prices to match.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was extremely attentive, eff ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The service was extremely attentive, efficient and warm. The bread and olive oil were great. The food was excellent. We ordered the seafood grill, the seafood ravioli, the fried calamari, and the gnocci with seafood sauce. All was excellent. Nice wine by the glass list. Even knowing that it was a top notch place, it still was surprisingly pricey. However, I would gladly go back again for a special occasion.

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

If your vacationing in Carlsbad this is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

If your vacationing in Carlsbad this is one of the two best restaurants! Not in expensive but worth it! Great food, ambiance, oceanview, friendly staff, great waiters...... My wife and I travel Europe ever other year. Its like Venice in California.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a wonderful spot. I believe th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a wonderful spot. I believe the owner was present and met each and every table. Of course it was New Year's Eve. But that was a good touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had New Year's evening dinner. This is ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had New Year's evening dinner. This is our 3rd or 4th time at this place and each time we've thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and food. The service is more than friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent as usual. This is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent as usual. This is our "go to" place for fine dining.

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Vigilucci's never fails to please whiche ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Vigilucci's never fails to please whichever location you choose. The Seafood and Steakhouse location on the Pacific Ocean in Carlsbad is particularly appealing, not only for its great food, wine list and service but also for its ocean views and ambiance, especially the outside patio, which provides cover from light rain and heaters for cooler evenings.

Our most recent visit was on a damp and chilly night that turned out to be quite comfortable for patio dining due to the aforementioned heaters and covers. Our authentic Italian waitress, Daniela, was engaging and attentive and did a flawless job of not only taking care of our every need but also of passionately extolling the virtues of the dishes we asked about. She also perfectly decanted a rather special bottle of wine that we brought with us without any sedimentary transfer into the decanter.

For appetizers, the Tartare Tonno was a perfect size for 1 person, or even for two to share, and was a first-rate tasting experience. The Carpaccio (thinly sliced raw prime filet topped with arugula, capers, shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano and EVOO) was well presented and seemed a rather large plate for 1 person, but turned out to be a perfect size due to the extremely thin shavings of beef and cheese. The flavor was very mild and had melt in the mouth consistency. Vigilucci's also offers a great seafood version (Carpaccio Di Tonno) that substitutes sashimi grade tuna for beef.

For entrees, the Pappardelle con Funghi e Capesante (homemade wide ribbon pasta with porcini, shiitake, portobello, field mushrooms and pan-seared diver

scallops in a white truffle and brandy cream sauce) was incredibly flavorful and perfectly cooked and presented. The Ossobuco alla Milanese, served over a bed of saffron risotto, is one of their house specialties that I always enjoy but is often in short supply. I lucked out this time around and it was excellent as usual.

To cut a long story short, you just can't beat Vigilucci's if you like Italian food.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a friends' get-together. The r ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was a friends' get-together. The restaurant is located across the street from the Ocean in Carlsbad and we had great seating on the patio. The food was outstanding, including one of the best pasta dishes I've had in a long time. What made this restaurant stand out, was the impeccable service. Attentive, without hovering. The waiter let us take out time, no rushing at all. Without being told, he gleaned that we were celebrating a wedding anniversary and brought a celebratory dessert to the table without it being requesting. The food was good enough to make the restaurant stand out, but when combined with the service, I'll be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Little pricey

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Little pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Once again Vigilucci's did not disappoin ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Once again Vigilucci's did not disappoint! I took a friend who was visiting from the east coast for lunch. She was floored by the beautiful view, of course, and we also had outstanding service and a delicious meal, both entrees having been recommended by our attentive waiter. The portions were larger than we expected, so we planned to take half of each home with us, but they were so fantastic we finished them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pressed with professional wait staff.

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Pressed with professional wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Watching the sunset while enjoying a gre ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Watching the sunset while enjoying a great cocktail with truffle fries with actual truffle and not just oil infused with truffle was the best we have tasted. All other truffle fries are now ruined.

Seafood dish and a lamb dish with red wine and an orange horizon to look out to was an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding! Great service and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was outstanding! Great service and relaxing time. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was very noisy. Can't hear guests' c ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was very noisy. Can't hear guests' conversation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took a group of 4 for Christmas Eve a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We took a group of 4 for Christmas Eve and were wowed! Great food and perfect service. We ordered seafood, lamb and vegetarian entrees and all of them were superb. The zucchini wrapped seabass was inventive and fantastic. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing as always. Exceptional meal. Gre ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing as always. Exceptional meal. Great service. My first choice for a special meal/occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, as always. G ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food and service, as always. Great for a fancy date. The only disappointment I had was the bread. It was trying to be crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside, but was instead chewy and very mediocre -- a stark contract when compared to the rest of the cuisine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had their signature bone in ribeye. Outs ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Had their signature bone in ribeye. Outstanding. Preceded by a wonderful burrata salad. Best I've had. Consistently wonderful. Need to get back there to try out the classic Italian dishes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Service was supurb. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was supurb. Outdoor dining is available. Ocean views.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed we have to wait more than 3 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Disappointed we have to wait more than 30 minutes to be seated, we were offered a table that is too small for our group of 5 people and thought will wait for a booth but that took more than 30 minutes. Our waiter was very good when we were finally seated. Food is ok but not great for the amount we paid for. This place is overpriced and overrated. Won't be back and will not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I hosted several business associates fro ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I hosted several business associates from out of town with their vast and extensive experience about Italian food, globally. I can't say enough about the quality, location, taste, and definitely service. This is not a cheap restaurant, but definitely worth every penny. We truly enjoyed a wonderful evening while watching the most spectacular sunset. This restaurant deserves 5 stars and rightfully so.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, , Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of 5 from Ohio and had j ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were a group of 5 from Ohio and had just finished an extensive 2 day training course. When we arrived tired and hungry we were greeted cheerfully and seated immediately. The table attendants provided water and our server arrived promptly to provide us the opportunity to obtain something from the bar. He was very helpful in explaining the wine selections which our group chose. The menu was comprehensive, with options that appealed to everyone. The food was served hot and we found the recommendations from the server absolutely phenomenal. Our evening was completed by a personal visit from Bruce. He chatted for a few minutes and thanked us for choosing Vigilucci's. This restaurant is definetely a must see while in Carlsbad

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Vegan, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner, ambiance & service

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Lovely dinner, ambiance & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the chipiino. Fantastic! My dining ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 6, 2016

I had the chipiino. Fantastic! My dining mates had steaks. They all raved about them. Next time, I'm trying the steak! Definitely a great place to impress clients. I'd recommend going at a time of day when you can see the ocean.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very classy romantic evening with my wif ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very classy romantic evening with my wife for our anniversary. Service and food were excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable experience. Did and drink ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. Did and drink were all very good and service was attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was Thanksgiving. It was my first ch ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It was Thanksgiving. It was my first choice and was wonderful. Andrea was our server and as always the best.

Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service (Thank you Chris) and food ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great service (Thank you Chris) and food for Thanksgiving away from home.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving was made very enjoyable bot ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving was made very enjoyable both traditional menu and a la carte.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. The servi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. The service and the food were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving lunch. Everyone enjoyed the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving lunch. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The turkey was excellent as was the lasagna. Great service and an excellent view of the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second visit and it was as ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was our second visit and it was as good as we remembered. Excellent food and superb service. The menu is a little pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I celebrated my birthday with my family ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I celebrated my birthday with my family and everyone was impressed with the great food and service. I highly recommend it for its food, service and sunsets

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the dry aged rib eye and there mor ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I had the dry aged rib eye and there more fat and tendons than meat. Disappointed. But my family liked the pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Everything was delicious from the oyster ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything was delicious from the oyster appetizer, to the Caprese salad, to the main entree. Ample amounts for even my husband who tends to eat a lot! We had enough left overs to take home for another meal! Will definitely revisit this restaurant next time we vacation in Carlsbad.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A table was ready for us when we arrived ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

A table was ready for us when we arrived. Service was prompt, although a bit overbearing. Meal specials were presented clearly. Wine by the glass was available with a good selection.

We were able to order one appetizer and share it. We will go back in the near future.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We were celebrating my brother-in-law's ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We were celebrating my brother-in-law's birthday. The four of us had the 12 oz. prime rib. It was very fatty and salty. The baked potato was not particularly good because it was under cooked. The vegetables looked interesting because of the way they were presented but were not flavorful. My sister and I had Cosmopolitan drinks but they were too heavy on the alcohol and we couldn't taste any other flavor. The drinks were sent back and they were a little bit better tasting. The bill with four drinks, entrees and the tip was $210 which was somewhat pricey for not a particularly great meal. The waiters were friendly and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.