About Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse

3878 Carlsbad Blvd
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse with an Italian flair. The restaurant faces the Pacific Ocean,one of the best views in San Diego.
Open seven days a week with an outstanding Sunday brunch. Happy Hour is daily and offers small plates and drink specials, most at under $10.
Private "Wine Cellar "room available for private parties.

For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years,
Vigilucci’s catering team can custom create a unique and memorable menu for celebrating life’s special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarack Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-2580

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/

Executive Chef:
Gerhard Oesterlein

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Rib Eye Steak
Crab Cakes
Cioppino
USDA Prime Black Angus Rib Eye Steak
Mushroom Chicken
Chilled Seafood Tower
Insalata Con Gamberi
Mountain Spring Water
Puree of Brocoli Soup w/o Dairy Base
Gambernoni Con Spinaci

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vigilucci's offers dining in diverse atmospheres to suit every occasion, with private dining offering stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and an old world Italian atmosphere. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
North San Diego
Italian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

scenic view (98)
special occasion (80)
great for outdoor dining (76)
See All
romantic (57)
fit for foodies (46)
notable wine list (42)
neighborhood gem (40)
great for lunch (26)
good for groups (25)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for brunch (16)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
957 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tough situation. Hot day at the beach. W ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 2 days ago

Tough situation. Hot day at the beach. Would have liked more AC or some sort of better ventilation. Carpaccio great. Veal awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

The view of the Sunset over the Pacific ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

The view of the Sunset over the Pacific Ocean was outstanding! The food and service were excellent. The noise level was horrendous!!! It is located right on the Pacific Coast Highway and the Cruisers and their Vehicles was deafening! As a result everyone else was practically yelling. It was very difficult to hear the Server as well as my husband who was sitting right beside me. The tables were also placed very close together. It definitely destroyed any ambiance the restaurant had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

The perfect venue to enjoy a great dinne ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The perfect venue to enjoy a great dinner on the patio on a summer night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Prices at restaurant higher than the on- ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Prices at restaurant higher than the on-line menu from their website (reviewed same day). Seated outside in hot sun (no other tables available). Asked about getting some shade and was told that there was nothing they could do. The new sun shades wouldn't cover and there were no other tables.

2 hours baking in the hot sun.

Food was OK, but pricey.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food and ambiance!!!! Great sunset ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and ambiance!!!! Great sunset dinner but can be a little loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice outdoor dining terrace across the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice outdoor dining terrace across the street from the ocean, with pleasant breezes but also with some annoying traffic noise. The food and service were passable. The pasta dishes seemed to work best. Chicken marsala was subpar. Grilled veggies were disappointing, both a little undercooked and a bit too bland. Despite its shortcomings, this is still an appealing spot for lunch, particularly if you're in the mood for pasta.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We made the reservation by chance and wo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We made the reservation by chance and won the prize. The room, service, staff and meal were very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It's not modern Italian. It's heavy and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It's not modern Italian. It's heavy and overly daubed cans overly dressed. There is nothing sophisticated about it. Our server was very nice and accommodating though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Absolutely loved our meal and the atmosp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Absolutely loved our meal and the atmosphere of the restaurant. Since eating dinner there on Monday night, we have already been to a second location in the village and bought dinner through the market on Wednesday

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic time, watching the sunset and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fantastic time, watching the sunset and great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best find during our trip t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was the best find during our trip to Carlsbad. The dinner was for our son's birthday and we weren't disappointed. The food was beautifully prepared and delicious. The scenery was wonderful - get the outdoor seating, you won't be disappointed! We recommended to our friends who also live in the area and they said they'd definitely eat there also. We'd definitely go back when we're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and impeccable service. Celeb ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food and impeccable service. Celebrated a late anniversary dinner and it was fabulous. Would go again. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu and great location. Vigilucc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great menu and great location. Vigilucci's never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for our 20th wed ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 20th wedding anniversary. It was our first experience at the restaurant and I was happy to see Vigilucci's accommodated the table location request I had put in my reservation note. We ordered the sea bass and the shrimp risotto that were the specials for the night. They were very good but not amazing. What blew us away were the oysters and crab cakes we enjoyed as appetizers, and the very attentive, personable and gracious service. Even though the restaurant was very busy, we felt like their timing for everything was perfect. A great spot to experience great people and great food in the midst of beach life.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was just flat out excellent, all arou ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It was just flat out excellent, all around! I decided on this venue for our anniversary and we both were 100% pleased- thrilled to say the least. It's a busy place so make a reservation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the food mediocre, the service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We found the food mediocre, the service inattentive, and we expected so much more for what they charge.

We will not return again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was the star as the service was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was the star as the service was lacking. Waiter was friendly but often disappeared for a long while. With an early reservation this seemed odd. Also did not know specials before coming to the table nor soup of the day. When we flagged another waiter down at one point, he begrudgingly assisted but you knew never to ask him for help again. BUT the food, was superb.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Immediate seating w our reservations on ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Immediate seating w our reservations on Friday night, great service and incredible food. Can't wait til we return!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent, service was outstand ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent, service was outstanding and the wine list was very good. Will go back next time I am in the area

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful authentic Italian restaurant. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful authentic Italian restaurant. Relaxed but classy atmosphere. View and food is to die for and service is top notch. Our server Andrea was very friendly and attentive. Truly looking forward to dining there again. It was a wonderful experience from beginning to end.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a frequent visitor, consistency is ve ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

As a frequent visitor, consistency is very important to me. Vigilucci's is an incredibly well run restaurant. I know what to expect when I dine there, and never concerned about the cost because I know that I will get what I expect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views, attentive service. Ordered ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great views, attentive service. Ordered farfalle ai funghi capesante, texture and preparation were superb but the creamy sauce could have been more flavorful. A bit skimpy on the quantity of mushrooms. My dad had the steak, beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is one of our favored places with a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is one of our favored places with an ocean view featuring Great Steak, Seafood & Pasta however this visit was disappointing. We went for Father's Day Brunch/Lunch and while the food was great, the service and value was not. The restaurant was busy but not packed as you might expect for a Father's Day. Two of us ordered the Rib-Eye steak on a bed of gorgenzola gnocchi topped with King Crab meat. Once our food finally arrived it was luke-warm and the crab meet was fishy tasting. We had no cocktails, ordered 1 bottle of moderately priced wine ($60 hard to find on their over priced list) yet the bill was over $100 per person. It appears they decided to capitalize on Father's Day by event with high prices. It will be quite sometime before I return as a result!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Very elegant restaurant clearly a local ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very elegant restaurant clearly a local favourite. Sensational ocean sunset views.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was superb. The wait staff was ver ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was superb. The wait staff was very personable. Parking valets knew what they were doing!

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food with an amazing view.

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food with an amazing view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy going. Food is perfect! Goo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always enjoy going. Food is perfect! Good location, good view & good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

While our waiter Paolo was lovely, the s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

While our waiter Paolo was lovely, the service was bad. We had to ask for a drink menu, which was a challenge since Paolo was often nowhere to be seen. Then it took an hour for him to take our order. A man who came in after us had his drink and finished his lunch before we even ordered. While the patio was busy, the inside was not so it wasn't like he was overwhelmed. Then my meal was kind of boring--the cappellini. I won't speak for the others in my party about their meals. This place came highly recommended from friends and my sister chose it for her birthday lunch because she said she loved it. But not sure I'd go back, except for the view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

The service was terrible, because our se ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The service was terrible, because our server saw a young couple, she did not pay much attention. The older couples who she assumed would tip on the other hand she waited on hand and foot. I tried to get a beer for an hour before I had to ask the bus boy for the check because I waitress hadn't came by. And then when I explsined the situation to her she tossed the check down on the table in passing. However, the food and ambiance was impeccable

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

We love this restaurant. The food, serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We love this restaurant. The food, service, and ocean views are are superb.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Fungi pasta, way too much garl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I had the Fungi pasta, way too much garlic,

Maybe too much Truffle oil. The shrimp cocktail was good.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

To noisy

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The restaurant has an awesome location, great food, great service, but its just too loud.

I was having a special date and could not hear my date speak. Most annoying. When I go to Ruth Chris, I can always count on the best atmostphere. That's why I go out to eat a high quality meal: its part of the whole dining experience. This place not so much.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Super food and great after a day at the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Super food and great after a day at the beach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food & Atmosphere

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Celebrated girls reunion weekend and started it off at Vigilucci's. The food, service and atmosphere were outstanding. I am excited to take my husband back there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for special occasion.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This restaurant is a wonderful spot to go and will always hold a special place in my heart--I got engaged there! Heather, our waitress, was wonderful. She was just as excited as we were.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Vacation delight

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

My husband and dropped in for dinner while on vacation. The food was devine, house wine delicious. Our waiter was extremely helpful and friendly. The cook staff accommodated my need for gluten free as well. Salmon tender delicious, steak melt in your mouth awesomeness. Perfect night for a meal with an ocean view.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely the best meal of our lives pr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely the best meal of our lives pretty much. The Cioppino was heavenly, especially the toasted garlic bread pieces that come with it soaking up the sauce. We both agreed it was the best Cioppino we have ever tasted by far. The filets are amazing too, so are the homemade pastas. Great service, great ambience and views, high prices but WELL worth it for a special occasion when you want the best meal available.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. They have an int ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I love this restaurant. They have an interesting menu and excellent food. I love the atmosphere and the wonderful ocean and sunset view. Price $$$. As we used Open Table we did not have to wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was incredible. Service was unusually poor.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our 'go to' spot for big events. Food, View etc. was outstanding but our server was poor. This is unusual as service there is usually awesome. this time. not so much. Maybe our server was just having a bad day and that wore off onto the service staff too. odd. . we'll certainly keep going there and would encourage others to go there too.. but. did get an odd ball server woman.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Awww so nice !

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was superior, food great, friendly and most enjoyable--a treasure in the sand !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.