About Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse

3878 Carlsbad Blvd
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse with an Italian flair. The restaurant faces the Pacific Ocean,one of the best views in San Diego.
Open seven days a week with an outstanding Sunday brunch. Happy Hour is daily and offers small plates and drink specials, most at under $10.
Private "Wine Cellar "room available for private parties.

For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years,
Vigilucci’s catering team can custom create a unique and memorable menu for celebrating life’s special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarack Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-2580

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/

Executive Chef:
Gerhard Oesterlein

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Rib Eye Steak  - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Crab Cakes - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
USDA Prime Black Angus Rib Eye Steak - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Cioppino - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Mushroom Chicken - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Insalata Con Gamberi - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Chilled Seafood Tower - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Puree of Brocoli Soup w/o Dairy Base - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Gambernoni Con Spinaci - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA
Mountain Spring Water - Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse, Carlsbad, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vigilucci's offers dining in diverse atmospheres to suit every occasion, with private dining offering stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and an old world Italian atmosphere. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
North San Diego
Italian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

Scenic View (51)
Special Occasion (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
See All
Waterfront (38)
Good for a Date (38)
Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Notable Wine List (27)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Cozy (11)
People Watching (10)
Authentic (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Fun (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very enjoyable experience. Did and drink ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very enjoyable experience. Did and drink were all very good and service was attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was Thanksgiving. It was my first ch ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It was Thanksgiving. It was my first choice and was wonderful. Andrea was our server and as always the best.

Beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service (Thank you Chris) and food ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great service (Thank you Chris) and food for Thanksgiving away from home.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving was made very enjoyable bot ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving was made very enjoyable both traditional menu and a la carte.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. The servi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. The service and the food were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving lunch. Everyone enjoyed the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving lunch. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The turkey was excellent as was the lasagna. Great service and an excellent view of the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second visit and it was as ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was our second visit and it was as good as we remembered. Excellent food and superb service. The menu is a little pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I celebrated my birthday with my family ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I celebrated my birthday with my family and everyone was impressed with the great food and service. I highly recommend it for its food, service and sunsets

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the dry aged rib eye and there mor ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I had the dry aged rib eye and there more fat and tendons than meat. Disappointed. But my family liked the pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Everything was delicious from the oyster ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Everything was delicious from the oyster appetizer, to the Caprese salad, to the main entree. Ample amounts for even my husband who tends to eat a lot! We had enough left overs to take home for another meal! Will definitely revisit this restaurant next time we vacation in Carlsbad.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A table was ready for us when we arrived ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

A table was ready for us when we arrived. Service was prompt, although a bit overbearing. Meal specials were presented clearly. Wine by the glass was available with a good selection.

We were able to order one appetizer and share it. We will go back in the near future.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We were celebrating my brother-in-law's ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We were celebrating my brother-in-law's birthday. The four of us had the 12 oz. prime rib. It was very fatty and salty. The baked potato was not particularly good because it was under cooked. The vegetables looked interesting because of the way they were presented but were not flavorful. My sister and I had Cosmopolitan drinks but they were too heavy on the alcohol and we couldn't taste any other flavor. The drinks were sent back and they were a little bit better tasting. The bill with four drinks, entrees and the tip was $210 which was somewhat pricey for not a particularly great meal. The waiters were friendly and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We have been to other locations and love ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have been to other locations and loved the food. Maybe it was a bad night. Two people ordered the Gnocchi which was so overcooked and mushy. Everyone was to hungry so they ate it anyway. the Lasagna was a huge portion and was overly cheesy. Overall we were not impressed. I normally do not write reviews but felt it needed to be said. This was not an inexpensive meal and I expected way more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was outstanding and our waiter ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was outstanding and our waiter was knowledgeable and delightful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A special place to dine while on vacatio ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A special place to dine while on vacation in Carlsbad. Top notch!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Knowledgeable service ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent service. Knowledgeable service staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank You! Everything about our evening ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Thank You! Everything about our evening at your restaurant was Outstanding. Service, Food, Atmosphere etc.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is hit or miss, especially for ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food is hit or miss, especially for vegetarians. They need to show more imagination as the vegetarian options haven't changed in years.

Caesar salad is consistently great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I came here for our 5th anni ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My wife and I came here for our 5th anniversary. The staff was very friendly and the food was excellent! I had a prime filet with garlic butter pasta and fresh veggies... By far the best steak meal I've ever had. My wife loved here butternut squash pasta, and our creme brulle dessert was delicious as well

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely one of the finest restaurants ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Absolutely one of the finest restaurants in north county. Great food, awesome staff and great ambiance. I highly recommend them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out side of Chicago & New York they have ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Out side of Chicago & New York they have the best Steaks ever

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! Great food, great fri ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Never disappoints! Great food, great friends, and beautiful sunset!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding for dining and great ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always outstanding for dining and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Pleased with the entire experience ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very Pleased with the entire experience and meal at Vigilucci's . It was a special occasion and opportunity for the family to get together. Enjoyed every aspect of the evening and the seabass special really was special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great evening! We had dinner earl ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

What a great evening! We had dinner early on a Thursday evening. We had a choice of eating inside or out on the patio. I think every table in the restaurant offered a view of the Pacific sunset. We had salads to start. The greens were garden fresh, light and tasty. My wife had the polpette (meatballs) and spaghetti and said they were the best she had ever eaten. I had the fish special, seared ahi topped with crabmeat. It was served with asparagus, and mashed potato with a delightful citrus sauce. The potato was nothing special, but the sauce was really good. For dessert, we shared tiramisu. It was large enough for both of us and unforgettable! Our server Lindsey was very attentive but not intrusive. The only negative was the parking situation. The restaurant has its own lot, and there is none available on the street. The valet was awesome and manages to park every vehicle in the small lot. My only issue is that why would a restaurant of this caliber that is rather pricey charge its patrons for parking? Nonetheless, we had a memorable evening and will return on our next visit to Carlsbad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Visited with my family for my daughter's ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Visited with my family for my daughter's 16th birthday dinner. The food was delicious and our waiter Andrea was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu items. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive. Good variety of dishes . Food ...

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Expensive. Good variety of dishes . Food too much cooked (fish and pork chop especially)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The food was superb and our waitress Dan ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was superb and our waitress Daniella was the greatest!

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always try to treat ourselves when we ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We always try to treat ourselves when we are in Carlsbad and Vigiluccis is our favorite restaurant! We will be back!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was superior! The view ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food and service was superior! The view of the ocean was an added bonus and the perfect ambiance for a Friday afternoon. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All was what we expected, except 2 of th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

All was what we expected, except 2 of the 4 plates ordered were subpar Osso Buco dry, and the Prime Rib Medium Rare cut was Medium to Medium well. Based on the cost, and recommendations from friends, did not live up to overall expectation. Everything else about the experience was great. The other 2 plates were really good, the house dry wine was an excellent value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was excellent, including the val ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Service was excellent, including the valet. The food was very and the portions generous.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an outstanding place to enjoy gr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This is an outstanding place to enjoy great food, friends, and atmosphere.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband an I had dinner here last wee ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My husband an I had dinner here last week, I had a delicious salad with calamari on the side. my husband had prime rib, med. rare. He could only eat half of it, it was so chewy and tough!! In hindsight he should have sent it back! We told our waiter, all he said was he'll tell the cook! we won't be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This place is a must stop every time we ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This place is a must stop every time we are in the SanDiego area! Good, customer service is top notch!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better Steakhouses in Carlsbad. Try Wes ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Better Steakhouses in Carlsbad. Try West next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Our experience was great except for the ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our experience was great except for the fly in my peach mimosa. It was immediately replaced but a bit disconcerting. Service was very accommodating. We had one diner who must have gluten free and this was worked out to his satisfaction.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We took my daughter and her friends for ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We took my daughter and her friends for homecoming dinner while my husband and I sat at the bar area with our friend. The service was fast and staff are very friendly. The food is great and love the location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Great service. Highly re ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great food and Great service. Highly recommend for a great nite

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed in our lunch. The m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were disappointed in our lunch. The menu was really heavy for lunch. I was looking forward to a light seafood salad but none was on the menu. We asked for chicken piccata even though not on the menu and they did accommodate. But the chicken was not cooked properly and it was just OK. The side of pasta was like sticky rice. The vegetables were prepared well and served in a unique way. I'm not a big vegetable fan and that was the best part of the meal, so it tells you something. We won't be going back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.