About Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse

3878 Carlsbad Blvd
Carlsbad, CA 92008
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's Seafood and Steakhouse with an Italian flair. The restaurant faces the Pacific Ocean,one of the best views in San Diego.
Open seven days a week with an outstanding Sunday brunch. Happy Hour is daily and offers small plates and drink specials, most at under $10.
Private "Wine Cellar "room available for private parties.

For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years,
Vigilucci’s catering team can custom create a unique and memorable menu for celebrating life’s special occasions.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Tamarack Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 434-2580

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/

Executive Chef:
Gerhard Oesterlein

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse
Rib Eye Steak
Crab Cakes
USDA Prime Black Angus Rib Eye Steak
Cioppino
Mushroom Chicken
Insalata Con Gamberi
Chilled Seafood Tower
Puree of Brocoli Soup w/o Dairy Base
Gambernoni Con Spinaci
Mountain Spring Water

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vigilucci's offers dining in diverse atmospheres to suit every occasion, with private dining offering stunning views of the Pacific Ocean and an old world Italian atmosphere. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years

Vigilucci's Seafood & Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
North San Diego
Scenic View
North San Diego
Italian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Carlsbad ›

Scenic View (94)
Great for Outdoor Dining (76)
Special Occasion (70)
See All
Romantic (58)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Notable Wine List (39)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Great for Lunch (24)
Good for Groups (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Waterfront (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Kid-friendly (6)
People Watching (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
996 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful place! Seafood was SO good. At ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Wonderful place! Seafood was SO good. Attentive service

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful experience for our ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was a wonderful experience for our anniversary dinner from the time we pulled into the lot to the time valet opened our doors to leave. We grabbed a drink in the bar as we arrived early for the reservation and it was a usual busy Friday night. Once we were seated we were offered waters and quickly got fresh warm bread to munch in while our amazing dinner was cooking. The veal chop my fiancé got was probably the most tender we had ever tasted. To top that off, the waiter brought us a complimentary creme brulee for our special occasion at no cost! Even the hostess said happy anniversary as we left. Top notch experience with a priceless view. I will be going back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Dani was absolutely delightfu ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our server Dani was absolutely delightful and made the evening even more special. Food was great, view stupendous, was in walking distance of where we were staying in Carlsbad, and overall a fabulous restaurant. We would definitely return!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with another couple. The food, ambi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Went with another couple. The food, ambiance and service were outstanding. A very nice place to enjoy dinner, friends and a good bottle of wine. Recommend highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful cuisine and absolutely excelle ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Wonderful cuisine and absolutely excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well happy birthday to me, our meals wer ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Well happy birthday to me, our meals were excellent, thank you to our waiter for seeing to our every need. 🙂

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for wife's birthday. Got a window t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Went for wife's birthday. Got a window table where we could see the ocean. My cioppino was full of mussels, clams, shrimp and fish. Wife had 2 appetizers which was quite enough. Great polenta. Excellent service. Offered free birthday creme brulee.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful outdoor seating with the Ocean ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Beautiful outdoor seating with the Ocean across the street with a nice view. The food was delicious as always, the cost was a bit pricy for the meal. I guess the rent must be very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We love Vigilucci's and go there for lun ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We love Vigilucci's and go there for lunch more than dinner. I realize why after our last anniversary dinner there on Sept. 1st. It amazes me that owners/managers do not say anything to very loud and rowdy groups. The entire place was fine with the exception of one table of about 7-8 people just a table away from us who were loud and obnoxious. I realize that when people start drinking their brains seem to go on vacation, that is when a waiter or manager should quietly ask them to quiet down for the sake of other diners. Is it better to offend one table or a whole restaurant because no one has the nerve to ask the guests to quiet down. Last time i'll be there for dinner for a long time. Lunch is never that noisy. Disappointing as it was a 54th anniversary.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was REALLY good and the service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was REALLY good and the service did not lack anything. We would/will certainly return another time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining there for 10 years a ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We have been dining there for 10 years and it's consistently excellent in service, food, cocktails.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my birthday, my husband ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went here for my birthday, my husband and I loved it! The food was delicious, the presentation beautiful and the service/atmosphere was perfect. It overlooks the ocean but is beautiful inside. You have views everywhere. We had the seafood ravioli and penne vodka, along with the sautéed scallops for an app. Dessert was just as amazing with tiramisu and crime brûlée. We could not have asked for a better evening at a better restaurant !!! We can't wait to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The positives were: both our food and t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The positives were: both our food and the service by our waiter were very good. The BIG negative was that we waited almost an hour (beyond our scheduled reservation time) to get our table. When we first came in we were told that our table was being set up. Over the next 45 minutes, I asked the hostess on several occasions when our table was going to be ready. She said that the group that was currently sitting at our table was "lingering" and that it shouldn't be too long now. At no time did the hostess or the general manager try to arrange for alternative seating for us. To add insult to injury, after we were finally seated, neither the general manager nor any other representative of Vigilucci's came by to apologize for the delay. Over the years, we have dined at several of the other Vigilucci restaurants and have enjoyed our dining experience. Unfortunately, this experience has left a bitter taste in our mouths and, as a result, we plan to dine elsewhere in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Our family of five (all adults) dined th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Our family of five (all adults) dined there was the first time. We had no complaints about the quality of the food. Overall it was very good. The steaks and prime rib were generous and of good quality. The seafood was fresh.

Overall, however, the experience is taxing. Parking is a major issue. Their lot is small and fills up quickly. Although the food was good, the prices are very high. The place itself is across the highway from the beach, so traffic is noisy and the views are average. Our party waited 30 minutes WITH a reservation. When we were there, the restaurant was "screaming to be heard" noisy and remained that way throughout our meal. The service was good, but all of the wait staff look frazzled. All in all, the place feels stressful, not enjoyable and relaxed. Didn't hate it, but probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Awesome little restaurant right across t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Awesome little restaurant right across the street from the beach with beautiful view. The food is absolutely delicious and the prices are very reasonable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an amazing restaurant! We sat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This was an amazing restaurant! We sat on the outdoor patio with ocean views on a lovely summer night. The plating of the entree was beautiful and the dish was the most fabulous seafood dinner I had while in Carlsbad and San Diego. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal and the service; especially ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Awesome meal and the service; especially Chris our waiter was a pleasure.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I can't say enough about how impressed w ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I can't say enough about how impressed we were with our experience here.

From the moment we walked in the door,wwith a gracious host,toto the exceptional service and the food was amazing.

We look forward to our next trip to Carlsbad,

Just to visit our new favorite!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Fun, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I will have vongole spaghetti every time ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I will have vongole spaghetti every time.

I think that you changed a type of spaghetti.

It was a type of fat and roll.

Although it is my individual opinion, it is not good combination between spaghetti and sauce.

I like previous old type spaghetti.

Thanks,

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Got engaged 15 minutes before reservatio ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Got engaged 15 minutes before reservation nearby watching the sunset... All staff was great! Couldn't have been a better experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had always loved this place, but on t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We had always loved this place, but on this visit we had a reservation mixup, very poor service and the food was very disappointing. We will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Outstanding!!!!!!! Been in the hospitali ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding!!!!!!! Been in the hospitality industry for over 30 years and I can honestly say one of the best fine dinning experiences we have had. My girlfriend is still raving about it. From the impeccable service by Glenn to the graciousness of the manager Bruce. We live in Palm Springs and don't get to Carlsbad often but we now cant wait to return. Glenn recommended a fantastic bottle of Caymus meritage at only $45.00 dollars . The place was packed but the timing and pace of the service was spot on. Melt in your mouth Osso bucco and delicious seafood pasta . Thanks Vigilucci's , can't wait to see you again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On coast highway in Carlsbad so an enjoy ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

On coast highway in Carlsbad so an enjoyable location for outdoor dining when weather is nice.

Did not find the food or service to be particularly memorable, as in no real reason to return. Kind of spendy for what they serve and then you get dinged $4 to park. Did not care for the musak playing over speakers. With the ocean setting, no need for irritating soundtrack.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food and service was excellent.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful server that met our n ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a wonderful server that met our needs and made some great suggestions. The pork and pasta were tremendous. Sitting outside made the evening a true delight.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you love Italian food , seafood, and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

If you love Italian food , seafood, and steaks this is your place! Near the beach great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service with an an amazin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food and service with an an amazing ocean view!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic menu! We found this the last ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Fantastic menu! We found this the last time we were in Oceanside and made sure to go back this year. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vigilucci's always delivers one of the m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Vigilucci's always delivers one of the most memorable meals you will ever have!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent Find!! Our server was outstand ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent Find!! Our server was outstanding, he helped guide us through the menu and had an excellent recomandation

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food, excellent service, great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

excellent food, excellent service, great place to a romantic dinner

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What a wonderful restaurant. The food, s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant. The food, service and atmosphere was fantastic. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed in the service the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Was very disappointed in the service they where way overbooked and not enough wait staff on for the night .we had a reservation for 6:45 and where not seated until 7:30 if I wanted a 7:30 reservation I would of made it for that time .The service at the bar was just as bad they must of walked by me several times with out even a smile so finally I had to ask if I could get a glass of wine finally I got one and he left me standing there with out taking my money I had to ask another waiter if I could pay he said he did not leave u a bill the food was great but they should not over book so many people and have more staff on hand

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

This restaurant has good food and excell ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This restaurant has good food and excellent service. The view of the ocean is decent, but it is across a busy highway. Seeing since they serve seafood here, they also pack you in like sardines, ask for a booth, so that you do not have to fight for space with the tables surrounding you.

It is VERY loud in here, so if you are looking for a quiet "romantic" dinner, this may miss the mark.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food. Nice location. Good Service. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food. Nice location. Good Service. Would go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tough situation. Hot day at the beach. W ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Tough situation. Hot day at the beach. Would have liked more AC or some sort of better ventilation. Carpaccio great. Veal awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Veal chop was one of the best I've proba ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Veal chop was one of the best I've probably ever and I've eaten many veal chops at high end steak houses. I would definitely recommend it. Only negative about the evening was it was unusually warm that day in Carlsbad and would have been more comfortable dining indoor with the AC on instead of sweating it out with the folks on the patio. I get the open air thing but not when it's 86 degrees at the coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food is scrumptious and beautifully pres ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food is scrumptious and beautifully presented with flowers on every plate!! One i my favorite places to take business lunches or my husband for an anniversary dinner!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Beautiful v ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent food and service. Beautiful view. My girlfriend and I ordered two pasta dishes because they were the most affordable on a very expensive menu. They were prepared well. We enjoyed our dinner but feel the pricing was more suited for a ritzy hotel than Carlsbad by the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The view of the Sunset over the Pacific ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The view of the Sunset over the Pacific Ocean was outstanding! The food and service were excellent. The noise level was horrendous!!! It is located right on the Pacific Coast Highway and the Cruisers and their Vehicles was deafening! As a result everyone else was practically yelling. It was very difficult to hear the Server as well as my husband who was sitting right beside me. The tables were also placed very close together. It definitely destroyed any ambiance the restaurant had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.