About Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado

1300 Orange Ave
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's is located on Orange Avenue next to the famous Hotel del Coronado. Dine with us in our "Oceano" room while viewing the magnificent Pacific Ocean or enjoy our "Murano" room overlooking Orange Avenue (named for the Murano glass chandeliers that decorate the room) while feasting on our authentic Italian ingredient laden entrees. In addition Vigilucci's has a full bar and happy hour is offered Monday through Friday from three to seven pm and Saturday & Sunday from eleven am to five pm. Masculine wood lines the custom made granite bar and lounge, where nightly tunes of the "Rat Pack" can be heard live on our baby grand piano. The "Oceano" room is open for dining or may be booked for parties up to 90 people. When dining in Coronado visit Vigilucci's Ristorante for an authentic Italian experience.
For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Vigilucci's has been catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday Brunch 11:00am-3:00pm

Happy Hour Daily

Cross Street:
Churchill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 522-0946

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/Ristorante.html

Entertainment:
Masculine wood lines the custom made granite bar and lounge, where weekend nights "Rat Pack" tunes can be heard live on our baby grand piano. Come enjoy dinner or a cocktail in a warm sophisticated atmosphere.

Catering:
We offer full service catering from a formal dinner of six people to a elegant wedding of three hundred. Our in house event coordinator will take care of your every need - rental, floral arrangements, wine selection, servers and bartenders.

Parking Details:
We suggest street parking. The Coronado Plaza does offer an underground parking garage and is available for your convenience at the fee set forth by the garage management.
Please be advised: As of July 1st, Vigilucci's will no longer be validating parking tickets from the lot beneath the restaurant.
We apologize for the inconvenience and value your patronage.
For entrance to the parking structure proceed south on Orange Ave and entrance is on R.H. side on Dana/ Adella Ave.

Executive Chef:
Dana Sills

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Treat your special Father this year to Brunch, Lunch or Dinner. We will offer seasonal specials along with our signature entrees. We offer outdoor dining and a piano bar.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The "Oceano" room accommodates up to 90 people with views of the Pacific Ocean. The "Oceano" Room is the perfect room for wedding parties, rehearsal dinners or anniversaries. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years.

Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (50)
romantic (45)
fit for foodies (27)
See All
neighborhood gem (23)
great for outdoor dining (21)
notable wine list (19)
good for groups (18)
scenic view (13)
vibrant bar scene (10)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
483 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My colleague and I had a wonderful time ...

Dined 4 days ago

My colleague and I had a wonderful time dining here. The rooftop setting was incredible & the live piano music was very relaxing. Our waiter was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. He had great menu recommendations and checked on us frequently. This is one out of four restaurants we dined at for our business trip and it was definitely our favorite place out of all of them.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was incredibly friendly, and ...

Dined 5 days ago

The service was incredibly friendly, and the food was some of the best Italian cuisine I've ever had.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food. Very noisy restaurant. Hard ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. Very noisy restaurant. Hard to carry on conversation. Not ideal for romantic dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

only place on the island we went back to ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

only place on the island we went back to for a second dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night, came back the next night too!

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a great time. Waiter and chef from Italy. Excellent Chianti, oysters, pasta, etc. it was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here while visiting San Diego an ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We went here while visiting San Diego and I must say it was fabulous. It is an easy walk from the Del Coronado Hotel. They bring out warm fresh bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar to start which was so good. We ordered frito misto as our appetizer and it was cooked perfectly. The rock shrimp we so sweet and fresh. I had the special of the night which was fresh moist halibut on risotto with all sorts of flavor treats like toasted pistachios and a port wine reduction on the plate. My daughter had the hand made pasta with chicken which was really showed off their authentic pasta making skills. My wife had pasta with seafood which we all loved. If you can save a little room for dessert you will not be disipointed. Their Chocolate Truffle with Espresso and Grand Marnier was to die for. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was incredible!

Dined on May 9, 2016

All of the food that out group ordered was truly fantastic- from the homemade semolina bread to the anti pasta plate and entrees, it was authentic Italian food. I had the scallops over risotto cakes- pure heaven. Cooked perfectly and balanced flavors- easily one of the top 5 dishes I've ever eaten. Everyone raves about their food- including my 10 year old who loved the fettuccini Alfredo.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was not what we expected, it was a li ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was not what we expected, it was a little disappointing.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. Mario our waiter s perfect and the support staff was also top notch. Mario recommended the halibut entree which didn't disappoint

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant (Vigiluccci's Ristorante - Coronado). There were five adults celebrating my husband's birthday. My husbands meal (Argosta alla Diavola) and mine (Chef Special - halibut) were delicious and priced accordingly. The other three adults did not enjoy their meals (Zuppetta Cozze Vongole, Gnocchi Sorrentina, and Rock Shrimp Penne Vodka) to the same level. Atmosphere, location, service especially due to our waitress (Jacqueline) was great!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Nice

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very good food and very well portioned for price. A+. The ONLY thing wrong was the snoody guy upfront.. He said we didnt have a reservation even though i showed him the email. And was almost not willing to sit us. Then a nice young lady came and squared it all away. She kept apologizing and saying they will figure out there system. You could tell she was more appologetic because of the way the man had treated us. Overall.. Nice place and good food.. Homeboy needs to change his not so welcoming attitude if hes going to be the first thing to greet you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We dined here with friends before attending a play nearby. We used to go to Vigilucci's when they had a La Jolla location and liked it very much, so we were looking forward to dining here. The restaurant did not disappoint! We had a window table in a quiet room. The extensive menu made it difficult to decide what to select. Our servers were knowledgeable and advised us on good wines to pair with our choices. The pasta dishes we chose were excellent with portions large enough for leftovers. Our group included a former restaurant owner with a discriminating palate and my husband, whom I've nicknamed Mr. Fussy. We agreed that we'd make the drive to Coronado just to eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 2, 2016

We came here for our 13th anniversary dinner. We were pretty shocked at first that despite having a reservation and it not being too crowded, the hostess tried to sit us at a table in the bar area without even asking our preference. My husband quickly needed to ask them to change our table and requested a much more romantic spot in the dining room area. Our main courses were actually pretty delicious (a large ribeye and a salmon dish); our caprese appetizer was good, but not the best we have ever had. I was slightly surprised that after mentioning our anniversary and the original issue with them seating us at a bar table that they did not offer us a complimentary dessert. Overall, the food was pretty good and the atmosphere was nice (once you get them to seat you in an appropriate area), but we get much better service and special anniversary perks at Fleming's Steakhouse (our usual go-to spot).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good local spot!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We chose Vigilucci's because of its proximity (a couple of blocks) to the Hotel Del. We made a 5:00 reservation on a Saturday so we were able to get a table outside, which was nice. Our lead server was attentive and friendly but her support staff seemed like they didn't want to be there (the reason for my 3-star service rating). Overall, the food was good, portions were reasonable, and the ambience was nice. The outdoor patio was largely blocked from the cool breeze so it was comfortable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoyed an excellent meal in the outside dining area and our waiter, Mario, was excellent. We especially enjoyed listening to the pianist playing in the bar area which added to the dining experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great Menu but Disappointing Experience

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

This restaurant is located in downtown Coronado and was highly recommended by locals. They have a great menu with tons of options, so deciding what to order was challenging. We were seated in a nice booth with good views of the interior and limited views of the street scene below. It was an anniversary outing and we were treated like very special guests. We began with a bottle of French Champagne and Oysters on the Half Shell; the service was great and it was a great start to a celebratory evening, even though the champagne arrived at near room temperature. Unfortunately it went downhill quickly from there. The wait staff were horrified that we wanted ice cubes to put into the champagne and insisted on trying to chill it with just ice cubes in the ice bucket. I was friendly and tried to politely explain how to do this effectively (ice, water and salt) to no avail… For the salad course we ordered the Insalata alle Pere, which was bland and tasteless beyond belief. For the main course we ordered the Saltimbocca alla Romana; this came out of the kitchen under-cooked and extremely tough. I sent the first one back (which I almost never do) and the second one came out better cooked but still tough beyond and veal I have ever had. The menu was very enticing but the food preparation and service were both sub-par. Although admittedly it may have just been an off-night, but it was so bad, it’s doubtful we’ll ever return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Veal picatta was perfect.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Veal picatta was perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 17, 2016

Took my husband to dinner for his 50th birthday. The menu had lots of great choices and they were able to accommodate my food allergies. The wait staff was professional and the food amazing. I definitely recommend Vigilucci's for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5

Seafood special for two was wonderful. E ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Seafood special for two was wonderful. Enough for 3 really.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

High-end Italian

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our first visit. Excellent food, very nicely presented and prepared, with good wine list, including by the glass. One of us had the scallops with risotto patties and corn relish, which was really excellent. Another had the special halibut with grilled veggies and purple potatoes, which was good, though the halibut was not as firm as typical. Another had the lasagna, traditional dish but it was a little unusual take on it. Service was excellent and friendly, not stuffy. Overall I thought the food was outstanding, though it's definitely a little on the expensive side.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A bit over the top

Dined on April 6, 2016

Nice service and upscale and warm ambiance. Accommodated our substitutions without fuss. Chef's hand was too heavy with the pepper on our pasta dish. Could not enjoy the clam sauce while our mouths were burning.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good meal and service!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Very good meal and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice evening out on the deck. Great serv ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Nice evening out on the deck. Great service and food.

food3
ambience3
service1

Food was hit and miss, the grouper speci ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was hit and miss, the grouper special was overcooked and lacked flavor. The sea scallops were great. Service left alot to be desired

food4
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was pretty good and the ser ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

The ambiance was pretty good and the service was also very fast and good

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant very fresh gourmet italian

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

An absolutely perfect Spring lunch. The windows were open. The antipasto platter was fresh and abundant. A must for any diner. The meals and service were excellent. Great wine lost too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well Done

Dined on March 7, 2016

The food, pianist, and staff were all remarkable. Would absolutely go there the next time I am in town. A+

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date nite

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Date nite at Vigi's is the best! Love the chicken parm and pastas.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

A very lovely restaurant. We would have ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

A very lovely restaurant. We would have liked to sit on the patio. But, the view and ambience from the dining room was great. We look forward to our next visit to Vigilucci's, Coronado.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good just ok-service excellent

Dined on February 25, 2016

This is a convenient location with very pleasant decore. Our waiter was excellent in attention and most pleasant. But the food did not live up to the hype.

food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Late Night Date

Dined on February 20, 2016

My wife and I had a rare date night and choose this special spot. We had a great meal and wine was perfect. However, we stayed too late. The restaurant cleaned the patio before we were even completed and the waiter was inside eating before we were completed. The night started great but ended on a low note. We were disappointed with their decision to pick up before all patrons were completed with their meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

The place does well as it is recommended ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

The place does well as it is recommended by area hotels but it is not very good. When I asked them to prepare meals without butter and salt I found out that everything prepared in advance! Go to Primavera for the finest in Italian fine dining, with each dish cooked fresh and to order.

food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Food

Dined on February 15, 2016

Set menu for the occasion (steak and lobster) was cooked right as requested, however, chef added too much salt on both the lobster and steak

food5
ambience5
service5

We have been enjoying Vigilucci's since ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been enjoying Vigilucci's since we first moved to San Diego in 2008. Every location has something special and this one shows it well

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A splendid gem on Coronado, a must for all diners.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Visit the bar at 3:00pm for great service and food as you wait for your dinner reservation. A must try is the Carpaccio di Manzo, delicious and a great presentation. Our bartender was a true professional; attentive, respectful and knowledgeable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Coronado's best

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to Vigilucci's for an early (4:45) Valentine's Day Dinner with our daughter and 12 year old grandson. The staff could not have been more pleasant and attentive to all of us with special attention to the little guy. Our food was excellent and the venue is lovely. We will certainly return the next time we are in the San Diego area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Diver Scallops!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had a great Valentines's Day early dinner here. Mario our server was outstanding! Great recommendations and very attentive without being overbearing. The diver scallops over risotto cakes were absolutely delicious! Husband had the spaghetti (pasta is homemade) with assorted seafood and he was very pleased with his choice as well. The ladies were all handed a long stemmed red rose by the waiter as well which was an unexpected nice touch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Italian in town

Dined on February 15, 2016

Vigilucci's Coronado is in a class by itself. Location, food, service, ambiance, views, wine list, it's all there. My wife and I have eaten there several times and each time was better than the last. The food is prepared by Chef Marco with great care and attention to detail. There's nothing stuffy about this place, just classy. The servers are courteous, knowledgeable, efficient and helpful. The management is always attentive and making sure all is running smoothly and every customer is happy. The prices are reasonable and the menu varied. I highly recommend this fine establishment to anyone looking for a fantastic dining experience, without any airs. Just great food, served well, in a beautiful place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was very delicious and just the ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our food was very delicious and just the correct amount for a nice lunchtime afternoon. Had three different glasses of wines and all were very delicious.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.