About Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado

1300 Orange Ave
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's is located on Orange Avenue next to the famous Hotel del Coronado. Dine with us in our "Oceano" room while viewing the magnificent Pacific Ocean or enjoy our "Murano" room overlooking Orange Avenue (named for the Murano glass chandeliers that decorate the room) while feasting on our authentic Italian ingredient laden entrees. In addition Vigilucci's has a full bar and happy hour is offered Monday through Friday from three to seven pm and Saturday & Sunday from eleven am to five pm. Masculine wood lines the custom made granite bar and lounge, where nightly tunes of the "Rat Pack" can be heard live on our baby grand piano. The "Oceano" room is open for dining or may be booked for parties up to 90 people. When dining in Coronado visit Vigilucci's Ristorante for an authentic Italian experience.
For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Vigilucci's has been catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday Brunch 11:00am-3:00pm

Happy Hour Daily

Cross Street:
Churchill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 522-0946

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/Ristorante.html

Entertainment:
Masculine wood lines the custom made granite bar and lounge, where weekend nights "Rat Pack" tunes can be heard live on our baby grand piano. Come enjoy dinner or a cocktail in a warm sophisticated atmosphere.

Catering:
We offer full service catering from a formal dinner of six people to a elegant wedding of three hundred. Our in house event coordinator will take care of your every need - rental, floral arrangements, wine selection, servers and bartenders.

Parking Details:
We suggest street parking. The Coronado Plaza does offer an underground parking garage and is available for your convenience at the fee set forth by the garage management.
Please be advised: As of July 1st, Vigilucci's will no longer be validating parking tickets from the lot beneath the restaurant.
We apologize for the inconvenience and value your patronage.
For entrance to the parking structure proceed south on Orange Ave and entrance is on R.H. side on Dana/ Adella Ave.

Executive Chef:
Dana Sills

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado
Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado
Calamari Fritti
Ipa Beer Flight
Pappardelle Con Funghi E Capesante
INSALATA DI CESARE
Tiramisu
Pollo Alla Parmigiana
Mediterranean See Bass With Arugala/Cherry Tomato Salad
Scallops On Risotto Cakes
Chicken Marsala
Surf And Turf

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The "Oceano" room accommodates up to 90 people with views of the Pacific Ocean. The "Oceano" Room is the perfect room for wedding parties, rehearsal dinners or anniversaries. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years.

Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (58)
romantic (44)
great for outdoor dining (31)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
neighborhood gem (22)
notable wine list (21)
good for groups (20)
scenic view (13)
vibrant bar scene (11)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Rack of lamb...excellent

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined 4 days ago

Rack of lamb...excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had the chicken Marsala, while the sau ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

I had the chicken Marsala, while the sauce was very good, the Chicken breast was tough and dry and the pasta was not cooked nearly enough. The grilled veggies were the highlight of the plate. On the other hand my husband loved his chicken that was served over a sausage hash. The restaurant is very nice and the waiters, host,hostess were all very attentive and friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

We had a truly lovely email. The seafood ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a truly lovely email. The seafood was beautifully prepared and absolutely delicious . Get the cold seafood platter! It is quite pricey but it is absolutely enormous and one of the best food items we've had to eat, ever !

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a wonderful experience. Great foo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Great food and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time! Loved the live piano! Drinks ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great time! Loved the live piano! Drinks and food were all great. 100% recommend for a great evening out.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service at the restaurant w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service at the restaurant was excellent. We were very happy.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an absolutely great meal. Our s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had an absolutely great meal. Our server, Mario, was equally terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The pianist was amazing, he took our req ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The pianist was amazing, he took our requests and sang/played beautifully. Great at reading the room. The food was excellent and portions were perfect, service was fast, plus, they are very accommodating with dogs. Couldn't recommend this restaurant more.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fun resturant, worth the price, nice cho ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

fun resturant, worth the price, nice choices for seating, indoors, bar, outdoor patio. make reservations

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here several times and will contin ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Dined here several times and will continue to do it again

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pianist/singer was incredible and sa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The pianist/singer was incredible and sang many of our favorite standards. Combined with the quaint patio lights, it made for perfect date night atmosphere. The prices have gotten a bit out of control here, though, and the food - both quality and preparation - has gone down at the same time. My major caution to this place is to not become another Coronado tourist trap-type restaurant that hikes prices while lowering entree quality... Our waitress was very knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Love this restaurant. Always an enjoyab ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Love this restaurant. Always an enjoyable experience. Friendly faces greet you at the door. Beautiful décor, delicious food, attentive servers, everything I LOVE in a dining experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Server may have been new but he was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our Server may have been new but he was terrible. Two of us had drinks, the two other who arrived a bit later were not offered drinks. He disappeared for a long while before coming to take our order. When we were finished eating, he proceeded to take every last item off of the table as we were talking not just large plates etc. I had to tell him to stop. And last but not least, he mixed up our doggy bags which was not discovered until we each got to our respective homes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

On vacation in Coronado and looked invit ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

On vacation in Coronado and looked inviting. Did not disappoint. The veal chop was enormous, but delicious. My husband had the mushroom pasta dish and that was decadent. Our boys - ages 10&12 can be picky eaters, but they had great choices for them. I would not recommend for young kids, though. Service was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You will not be disappointed in the serv ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

You will not be disappointed in the service, food and ambiance at Vigilucci's on Coronado Island. The patio seating was so pleasant, with umbrellas, beautiful table service, and excellent service. On top of that, the food is always delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining in Coronado

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We chose Vigilucci's based off of Yelp and Open Table reviews. Everything was great! Initially, we were seated inside and it was a little loud and I didn't love the atmosphere. On the way to the table, we passed the patio so I asked if we could have the open table for two and to my delight, they did accommodate our request. The patio was perfect. Our server was great! Great personality. Perfect service, phenomenal food, and great wine. The wine prices did not seem too crazy either. I had a seafood pasta, which I typically do not like, but that is what was recommended by the waiter and my fiancé. It was probably the first seafood pasta I have really ever enjoyed. He had the lasagna, which was awesome. we had some ahi tuna tartare to start which was the perfect starter for us. I'm not that easy to impress, so props to Vivilucci's!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food here is always spectacular. My daughter had the house special halibut and said it was the best meal she has ever had. My wife enjoyed the wine and I always get the spaghetti and meat balls because they are very good. This restaurant is our go to Italian restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Walking distance from the Del Coronado, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Walking distance from the Del Coronado, where we were staying. The food was incredible! Great service! Wish we were staying longer, so we could go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We love it here! We discovered it on our first trip to Coronado and have returned every time we get to town. Lots of great memories!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating Here Twice While I'm in Coronado

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and service here was so good, we are making a point of going back once more before we leave. The three of us were very pleased with our selections and our service. Best ciaopino (sp) I have had in many years. Bolognese was terrific as well. Also, they have a wonderful spumoni cake to share for your dessert. Massimo took expert care of us. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place. We can always expect a ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Love this place. We can always expect a good meal. You will never leave hungry. Large portions. Yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great restaurant with delicious food. The artichoke appetizer was absolutely scrumptious.

The main courses of lasagne and chicken parmesan were excellent. The side order of pasta with the chicken was too al dente for my taste.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

review

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

have been to this restaurant a few times over the last few years they have a very nice and extensive Italian menu. however the service is extremely slow with waits up to 45 minutes between first and second course. The veal chop has been ordered by myself twice and both times found it dried out. not a good preparation considering it being an expensive item.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was bad

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Was celebrating a special occasion and I had a reservation and were seated promptly. Unfortunately, we were forgotten about multiple times, spent about 2 hours there when we could have easily left much earlier.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was really excellent. Pastas we ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was really excellent. Pastas were particularly well done and the filet was very well prepared. The location is lovely, as is the open air setting. Our servers could have been a bit more attentive. Not terrible, but not worthy of five stars either. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My colleague and I had a wonderful time ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

My colleague and I had a wonderful time dining here. The rooftop setting was incredible & the live piano music was very relaxing. Our waiter was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. He had great menu recommendations and checked on us frequently. This is one out of four restaurants we dined at for our business trip and it was definitely our favorite place out of all of them.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was not very friendly - felt treat ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Staff was not very friendly - felt treated a little second rate.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was incredibly friendly, and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was incredibly friendly, and the food was some of the best Italian cuisine I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Very noisy restaurant. Hard ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. Very noisy restaurant. Hard to carry on conversation. Not ideal for romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

only place on the island we went back to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

only place on the island we went back to for a second dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night, came back the next night too!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a great time. Waiter and chef from Italy. Excellent Chianti, oysters, pasta, etc. it was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here while visiting San Diego an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

We went here while visiting San Diego and I must say it was fabulous. It is an easy walk from the Del Coronado Hotel. They bring out warm fresh bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar to start which was so good. We ordered frito misto as our appetizer and it was cooked perfectly. The rock shrimp we so sweet and fresh. I had the special of the night which was fresh moist halibut on risotto with all sorts of flavor treats like toasted pistachios and a port wine reduction on the plate. My daughter had the hand made pasta with chicken which was really showed off their authentic pasta making skills. My wife had pasta with seafood which we all loved. If you can save a little room for dessert you will not be disipointed. Their Chocolate Truffle with Espresso and Grand Marnier was to die for. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

All of the food that out group ordered was truly fantastic- from the homemade semolina bread to the anti pasta plate and entrees, it was authentic Italian food. I had the scallops over risotto cakes- pure heaven. Cooked perfectly and balanced flavors- easily one of the top 5 dishes I've ever eaten. Everyone raves about their food- including my 10 year old who loved the fettuccini Alfredo.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

It was not what we expected, it was a li ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was not what we expected, it was a little disappointing.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and service!

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. Mario our waiter s perfect and the support staff was also top notch. Mario recommended the halibut entree which didn't disappoint

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant (Vigiluccci's Ristorante - Coronado). There were five adults celebrating my husband's birthday. My husbands meal (Argosta alla Diavola) and mine (Chef Special - halibut) were delicious and priced accordingly. The other three adults did not enjoy their meals (Zuppetta Cozze Vongole, Gnocchi Sorrentina, and Rock Shrimp Penne Vodka) to the same level. Atmosphere, location, service especially due to our waitress (Jacqueline) was great!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very good food and very well portioned for price. A+. The ONLY thing wrong was the snoody guy upfront.. He said we didnt have a reservation even though i showed him the email. And was almost not willing to sit us. Then a nice young lady came and squared it all away. She kept apologizing and saying they will figure out there system. You could tell she was more appologetic because of the way the man had treated us. Overall.. Nice place and good food.. Homeboy needs to change his not so welcoming attitude if hes going to be the first thing to greet you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great meal!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We dined here with friends before attending a play nearby. We used to go to Vigilucci's when they had a La Jolla location and liked it very much, so we were looking forward to dining here. The restaurant did not disappoint! We had a window table in a quiet room. The extensive menu made it difficult to decide what to select. Our servers were knowledgeable and advised us on good wines to pair with our choices. The pasta dishes we chose were excellent with portions large enough for leftovers. Our group included a former restaurant owner with a discriminating palate and my husband, whom I've nicknamed Mr. Fussy. We agreed that we'd make the drive to Coronado just to eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We came here for our 13th anniversary dinner. We were pretty shocked at first that despite having a reservation and it not being too crowded, the hostess tried to sit us at a table in the bar area without even asking our preference. My husband quickly needed to ask them to change our table and requested a much more romantic spot in the dining room area. Our main courses were actually pretty delicious (a large ribeye and a salmon dish); our caprese appetizer was good, but not the best we have ever had. I was slightly surprised that after mentioning our anniversary and the original issue with them seating us at a bar table that they did not offer us a complimentary dessert. Overall, the food was pretty good and the atmosphere was nice (once you get them to seat you in an appropriate area), but we get much better service and special anniversary perks at Fleming's Steakhouse (our usual go-to spot).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good local spot!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We chose Vigilucci's because of its proximity (a couple of blocks) to the Hotel Del. We made a 5:00 reservation on a Saturday so we were able to get a table outside, which was nice. Our lead server was attentive and friendly but her support staff seemed like they didn't want to be there (the reason for my 3-star service rating). Overall, the food was good, portions were reasonable, and the ambience was nice. The outdoor patio was largely blocked from the cool breeze so it was comfortable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.