About Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado

1300 Orange Ave
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

Vigilucci's is located on Orange Avenue next to the famous Hotel del Coronado. Dine with us in our "Oceano" room while viewing the magnificent Pacific Ocean or enjoy our "Murano" room overlooking Orange Avenue (named for the Murano glass chandeliers that decorate the room) while feasting on our authentic Italian ingredient laden entrees. In addition Vigilucci's has a full bar and happy hour is offered Monday through Friday from three to seven pm and Saturday & Sunday from eleven am to five pm. Masculine wood lines the custom made granite bar and lounge, where nightly tunes of the "Rat Pack" can be heard live on our baby grand piano. The "Oceano" room is open for dining or may be booked for parties up to 90 people. When dining in Coronado visit Vigilucci's Ristorante for an authentic Italian experience.
For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com
Vigilucci's has been catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday Brunch 11:00am-3:00pm

Happy Hour Daily

Cross Street:
Churchill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 522-0946

Website:
http://www.vigiluccis.com/Ristorante.html

Entertainment:
Masculine wood lines the custom made granite bar and lounge, where weekend nights "Rat Pack" tunes can be heard live on our baby grand piano. Come enjoy dinner or a cocktail in a warm sophisticated atmosphere.

Catering:
We offer full service catering from a formal dinner of six people to a elegant wedding of three hundred. Our in house event coordinator will take care of your every need - rental, floral arrangements, wine selection, servers and bartenders.

Parking Details:
We suggest street parking. The Coronado Plaza does offer an underground parking garage and is available for your convenience at the fee set forth by the garage management.
Please be advised: As of July 1st, Vigilucci's will no longer be validating parking tickets from the lot beneath the restaurant.
We apologize for the inconvenience and value your patronage.
For entrance to the parking structure proceed south on Orange Ave and entrance is on R.H. side on Dana/ Adella Ave.

Executive Chef:
Dana Sills

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado
Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado
Calamari Fritti
Ipa Beer Flight
Pappardelle Con Funghi E Capesante
INSALATA DI CESARE
Tiramisu
Pollo Alla Parmigiana
Mediterranean See Bass With Arugala/Cherry Tomato Salad
Scallops On Risotto Cakes
Chicken Marsala
Surf And Turf

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The "Oceano" room accommodates up to 90 people with views of the Pacific Ocean. The "Oceano" Room is the perfect room for wedding parties, rehearsal dinners or anniversaries. For off-site events and parties contact Cater@Vigiluccis.com Catering to the most discerning palates for over 20 years.

Vigilucci's Ristorante Coronado Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (48)
romantic (39)
fit for foodies (26)
See All
great for outdoor dining (25)
neighborhood gem (20)
good for groups (19)
notable wine list (18)
scenic view (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On vacation in Coronado and looked invit ...

Dined 6 days ago

On vacation in Coronado and looked inviting. Did not disappoint. The veal chop was enormous, but delicious. My husband had the mushroom pasta dish and that was decadent. Our boys - ages 10&12 can be picky eaters, but they had great choices for them. I would not recommend for young kids, though. Service was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You will not be disappointed in the serv ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

You will not be disappointed in the service, food and ambiance at Vigilucci's on Coronado Island. The patio seating was so pleasant, with umbrellas, beautiful table service, and excellent service. On top of that, the food is always delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining in Coronado

Dined on June 11, 2016

We chose Vigilucci's based off of Yelp and Open Table reviews. Everything was great! Initially, we were seated inside and it was a little loud and I didn't love the atmosphere. On the way to the table, we passed the patio so I asked if we could have the open table for two and to my delight, they did accommodate our request. The patio was perfect. Our server was great! Great personality. Perfect service, phenomenal food, and great wine. The wine prices did not seem too crazy either. I had a seafood pasta, which I typically do not like, but that is what was recommended by the waiter and my fiancé. It was probably the first seafood pasta I have really ever enjoyed. He had the lasagna, which was awesome. we had some ahi tuna tartare to start which was the perfect starter for us. I'm not that easy to impress, so props to Vivilucci's!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food here is always spectacular. My daughter had the house special halibut and said it was the best meal she has ever had. My wife enjoyed the wine and I always get the spaghetti and meat balls because they are very good. This restaurant is our go to Italian restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Walking distance from the Del Coronado, ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Walking distance from the Del Coronado, where we were staying. The food was incredible! Great service! Wish we were staying longer, so we could go there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on June 7, 2016

We love it here! We discovered it on our first trip to Coronado and have returned every time we get to town. Lots of great memories!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Eating Here Twice While I'm in Coronado

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The food and service here was so good, we are making a point of going back once more before we leave. The three of us were very pleased with our selections and our service. Best ciaopino (sp) I have had in many years. Bolognese was terrific as well. Also, they have a wonderful spumoni cake to share for your dessert. Massimo took expert care of us. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great restaurant with delicious food. The artichoke appetizer was absolutely scrumptious. The main courses of lasagne and chicken parmesan were excellent. The side order of pasta with the chicken was too al dente for my taste.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

review

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

have been to this restaurant a few times over the last few years they have a very nice and extensive Italian menu. however the service is extremely slow with waits up to 45 minutes between first and second course. The veal chop has been ordered by myself twice and both times found it dried out. not a good preparation considering it being an expensive item.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Service was bad

Dined on May 29, 2016

Was celebrating a special occasion and I had a reservation and were seated promptly. Unfortunately, we were forgotten about multiple times, spent about 2 hours there when we could have easily left much earlier.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was really excellent. Pastas we ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was really excellent. Pastas were particularly well done and the filet was very well prepared. The location is lovely, as is the open air setting. Our servers could have been a bit more attentive. Not terrible, but not worthy of five stars either. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My colleague and I had a wonderful time ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

My colleague and I had a wonderful time dining here. The rooftop setting was incredible & the live piano music was very relaxing. Our waiter was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. He had great menu recommendations and checked on us frequently. This is one out of four restaurants we dined at for our business trip and it was definitely our favorite place out of all of them.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was incredibly friendly, and ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was incredibly friendly, and the food was some of the best Italian cuisine I've ever had.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food. Very noisy restaurant. Hard ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. Very noisy restaurant. Hard to carry on conversation. Not ideal for romantic dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

only place on the island we went back to ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

only place on the island we went back to for a second dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night, came back the next night too!

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a great time. Waiter and chef from Italy. Excellent Chianti, oysters, pasta, etc. it was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here while visiting San Diego an ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We went here while visiting San Diego and I must say it was fabulous. It is an easy walk from the Del Coronado Hotel. They bring out warm fresh bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar to start which was so good. We ordered frito misto as our appetizer and it was cooked perfectly. The rock shrimp we so sweet and fresh. I had the special of the night which was fresh moist halibut on risotto with all sorts of flavor treats like toasted pistachios and a port wine reduction on the plate. My daughter had the hand made pasta with chicken which was really showed off their authentic pasta making skills. My wife had pasta with seafood which we all loved. If you can save a little room for dessert you will not be disipointed. Their Chocolate Truffle with Espresso and Grand Marnier was to die for. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was incredible!

Dined on May 9, 2016

All of the food that out group ordered was truly fantastic- from the homemade semolina bread to the anti pasta plate and entrees, it was authentic Italian food. I had the scallops over risotto cakes- pure heaven. Cooked perfectly and balanced flavors- easily one of the top 5 dishes I've ever eaten. Everyone raves about their food- including my 10 year old who loved the fettuccini Alfredo.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was not what we expected, it was a li ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was not what we expected, it was a little disappointing.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and service. Mario our waiter s perfect and the support staff was also top notch. Mario recommended the halibut entree which didn't disappoint

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant (Vigiluccci's Ristorante - Coronado). There were five adults celebrating my husband's birthday. My husbands meal (Argosta alla Diavola) and mine (Chef Special - halibut) were delicious and priced accordingly. The other three adults did not enjoy their meals (Zuppetta Cozze Vongole, Gnocchi Sorrentina, and Rock Shrimp Penne Vodka) to the same level. Atmosphere, location, service especially due to our waitress (Jacqueline) was great!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Nice

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very good food and very well portioned for price. A+. The ONLY thing wrong was the snoody guy upfront.. He said we didnt have a reservation even though i showed him the email. And was almost not willing to sit us. Then a nice young lady came and squared it all away. She kept apologizing and saying they will figure out there system. You could tell she was more appologetic because of the way the man had treated us. Overall.. Nice place and good food.. Homeboy needs to change his not so welcoming attitude if hes going to be the first thing to greet you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We dined here with friends before attending a play nearby. We used to go to Vigilucci's when they had a La Jolla location and liked it very much, so we were looking forward to dining here. The restaurant did not disappoint! We had a window table in a quiet room. The extensive menu made it difficult to decide what to select. Our servers were knowledgeable and advised us on good wines to pair with our choices. The pasta dishes we chose were excellent with portions large enough for leftovers. Our group included a former restaurant owner with a discriminating palate and my husband, whom I've nicknamed Mr. Fussy. We agreed that we'd make the drive to Coronado just to eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 2, 2016

We came here for our 13th anniversary dinner. We were pretty shocked at first that despite having a reservation and it not being too crowded, the hostess tried to sit us at a table in the bar area without even asking our preference. My husband quickly needed to ask them to change our table and requested a much more romantic spot in the dining room area. Our main courses were actually pretty delicious (a large ribeye and a salmon dish); our caprese appetizer was good, but not the best we have ever had. I was slightly surprised that after mentioning our anniversary and the original issue with them seating us at a bar table that they did not offer us a complimentary dessert. Overall, the food was pretty good and the atmosphere was nice (once you get them to seat you in an appropriate area), but we get much better service and special anniversary perks at Fleming's Steakhouse (our usual go-to spot).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good local spot!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We chose Vigilucci's because of its proximity (a couple of blocks) to the Hotel Del. We made a 5:00 reservation on a Saturday so we were able to get a table outside, which was nice. Our lead server was attentive and friendly but her support staff seemed like they didn't want to be there (the reason for my 3-star service rating). Overall, the food was good, portions were reasonable, and the ambience was nice. The outdoor patio was largely blocked from the cool breeze so it was comfortable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoyed an excellent meal in the outside dining area and our waiter, Mario, was excellent. We especially enjoyed listening to the pianist playing in the bar area which added to the dining experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great Menu but Disappointing Experience

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

This restaurant is located in downtown Coronado and was highly recommended by locals. They have a great menu with tons of options, so deciding what to order was challenging. We were seated in a nice booth with good views of the interior and limited views of the street scene below. It was an anniversary outing and we were treated like very special guests. We began with a bottle of French Champagne and Oysters on the Half Shell; the service was great and it was a great start to a celebratory evening, even though the champagne arrived at near room temperature. Unfortunately it went downhill quickly from there. The wait staff were horrified that we wanted ice cubes to put into the champagne and insisted on trying to chill it with just ice cubes in the ice bucket. I was friendly and tried to politely explain how to do this effectively (ice, water and salt) to no avail… For the salad course we ordered the Insalata alle Pere, which was bland and tasteless beyond belief. For the main course we ordered the Saltimbocca alla Romana; this came out of the kitchen under-cooked and extremely tough. I sent the first one back (which I almost never do) and the second one came out better cooked but still tough beyond and veal I have ever had. The menu was very enticing but the food preparation and service were both sub-par. Although admittedly it may have just been an off-night, but it was so bad, it’s doubtful we’ll ever return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Veal picatta was perfect.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Veal picatta was perfect.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 17, 2016

Took my husband to dinner for his 50th birthday. The menu had lots of great choices and they were able to accommodate my food allergies. The wait staff was professional and the food amazing. I definitely recommend Vigilucci's for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5

Seafood special for two was wonderful. E ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Seafood special for two was wonderful. Enough for 3 really.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

High-end Italian

Dined on April 10, 2016

This was our first visit. Excellent food, very nicely presented and prepared, with good wine list, including by the glass. One of us had the scallops with risotto patties and corn relish, which was really excellent. Another had the special halibut with grilled veggies and purple potatoes, which was good, though the halibut was not as firm as typical. Another had the lasagna, traditional dish but it was a little unusual take on it. Service was excellent and friendly, not stuffy. Overall I thought the food was outstanding, though it's definitely a little on the expensive side.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A bit over the top

Dined on April 6, 2016

Nice service and upscale and warm ambiance. Accommodated our substitutions without fuss. Chef's hand was too heavy with the pepper on our pasta dish. Could not enjoy the clam sauce while our mouths were burning.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good meal and service!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Very good meal and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice evening out on the deck. Great serv ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Nice evening out on the deck. Great service and food.

food3
ambience3
service1

Food was hit and miss, the grouper speci ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Food was hit and miss, the grouper special was overcooked and lacked flavor. The sea scallops were great. Service left alot to be desired

food4
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was pretty good and the ser ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

The ambiance was pretty good and the service was also very fast and good

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant very fresh gourmet italian

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

An absolutely perfect Spring lunch. The windows were open. The antipasto platter was fresh and abundant. A must for any diner. The meals and service were excellent. Great wine lost too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well Done

Dined on March 7, 2016

The food, pianist, and staff were all remarkable. Would absolutely go there the next time I am in town. A+

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date nite

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Date nite at Vigi's is the best! Love the chicken parm and pastas.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.