Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn

4.4
179 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
German
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

Conveniently located off 1-84 & 1-90, #9 Sturbridge Exit. Towering over upper Main Street in Historic Southbridge, Mass. The Krach family operates a full-service European restaurant & Inn for overnight lodging featuring guest suites. Impressive period antiques & authentically refreshing décor of the past Austro-Hungarian empire, making this a true romantic & relaxing dining destination.

Highlights:, Wiener Schnitzel, Rabbit Dishes, Salads, Fresh New England Seafood , Roasted Duckling & Frenched Rack of Lamb. Finish in the parlor by the wood burning fireplace while sipping a good Cognac or Viennese Coffee & delectable desserts.
Traditional Home Magazine, Yankee Magazine - Editors Choice "Best European-style Inn for New England", Voted 6 consecutive years -Trip Adviser's Award of Excellence.

So, Come sit by the real wood-burning fireplace most any day of the year, inside or out in our Wiengarten.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
German, Austrian, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Friday 11:45 - 2:30 p.m.
Dinner Mon - Friday 4:30 - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday 4:30 - 10:00 p.m.
Sunday Dinner 2:00 - 6:00 p.m.

All other times - Call for availibility
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(508) 764-0700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jonathan Krach, Proprietor/Host Lisa Krach
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
2-500
Private Cheffing available
Oktoberfest
Wedding
Rehearsal Dinners
Showers
Post-Funeral Receptions
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private Lot in front of Inn - Street parking permittable
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Worcester Transit to Jacob's Edward Library
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
For New Year's Gala, Special Events and Holidays only
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Oktoberfest
Private Chef available
Oktoberfest
Wedding
Rehearsal Dinners
Showers
Post-Funeral Receptions
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 179 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

It's anot absolutely fantastic restaurant and Inn. The host, Jonathan , is so friendly and the rooms are gorgious. We loved I and will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service, authentic Austrian food and many other food options.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 11, 2017

It was a Romantic date night the weekend before Valentines day . The servers were just not able to get it together even though we had reservations 4 days prior. We waited for 15 mins for anyone to look at us, 15 more mins to order a beverage and another half hour before they even talked food. One and a half hours there and not even a hint of dinner coming, It was obviously a problem. The cold sliced bread in the bread basket looked like it was from the supermarket and did little to help. The party of 6 sitting next to us were in and out before we were even offered a dessert menu. The main course was good enough. I had salmon and husband had a steak. But we go out a lot and have had a lot of good food at better prices without such bad service. Folks next to us saw how miserable we were and swear they are regulars and we should try it another time. I'm pretty sure my husband would never set foot there again ! Bill was over $100 and we left with a bitter tastes ...Too many other great places nearby!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

we stopped for Valentines and had a great time. Food was great and served in a quiet clean setting. Very good service also.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Excelent food. Very disorganized service. Great strudel.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was so-so (herring = delicious, veal = tough, strudel = soggy). Some menu items are over-priced. Wine by the glass selection is minimal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2017

Fabulous service and delicious food - loved the decor and the antiques scattered around. We did dinner only, so we didn't see any of the guest rooms.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2017

Our visit was just outstanding. Great service, delicious food and wine and a special dessert with a candle for the birthday girl. it was an amazing experience and I would highly recommend The Vienna.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2016

First time at the Vienna. We went for Christmas Dinner. Table wasn't ready on time, but we were escorted to the parlor for cocktails, which made the wait very pleasant. Considering the day, the wait was minimal. Adrianna did an excellent job as our server......couldn't ask for more. Food was very good. The only thing that could make it better would be to have the plates heated to keep the food a little warmer. Onion soup was one of the best I've ever had. Overall, a very enjoyable experience well worth the 1 hour drive for us. Definitely would recommend this restaurant for upscale, relaxed dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was perfect with the exception of the pork Jagger Shnitzel (spelling???) which three of the four of us had to eat. It was gamey with grizzle and fat. Also, peach/raspberry tart like desert was so hard it required sips of coffee to soften it. We will try going there again but if we experience the same thing, we will not return. These two things marred what was otherwise a lovely meal and experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve Dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2016

Wonderful meal was had by all although my meal was not prepared quite as the write up in the menu. Superb service and the fireplace was a nice touch. Great suggestion for the Reisling. Don't know what all the prior negative comments were about because we did not experience any of that. Get the strudel. It is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2016

We traveled an hour to get to this restaurant, as we wanted traditional Viennese food. We were not disappointed. The service was wonderful, and the food was excellent. While generally traditional, there were a few little twists that made it memorable (e.g. a touch of curry in the salad dressing). The ambiance was charming. Not realizing I had made the reservation at the exact hour the kitchen closes, we were nevertheless treated with care and were unrushed. I would highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2016

A friend and I went for an earlier dinner on a Sunday and we were the only ones there. Service was attentive but maybe trying a bit too hard (though that's unsurprising when you're the only patrons). But the food was amazing! Totally worth the trip and felt very authentic to the food I would eat when I lived in Central Europe! Overall, it make take itself a bit too seriously but the food speaks for itself!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2016

Web site comments re: inadequate help were borne out; i.e. a single waiter in a dirty apron who had to manage by himself from laying a fire (never got one), taking/delivering the meal, mixing drinks, busing during/after dinner, had to ask for bread/butter and water which was never replenished once provided, table knife left when appetizer was cleared away and was never replaced. The young man tried valiantly to do a good job and was very pleasant despite his inexperience. In that we were the only patrons during the first half of the meal (when a second couple arrived), it seems that someone might have come out to assist him.
24/7 operation is apparently more than the staff can accommodate. Try six, even five, nights a week. It gets lonely in an otherwise empty but lovely dining room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2016

This restaurant is very special. You will not want to rush through your dinner. I had a cozy table by the fireplace. The food is outstanding and beautifully presented. I had the jaegerschnitzel and it was wonderful. Service was excellent. Save room for dessert. The Viennese coffee really reminded me of Austria.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2016

For health reasons, I need to order gluten-free. Most items on the menu could be prepared gluten-free and the ones I tried were absolutely delicious! This was the best restaurant meal I have had in ages!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was authentic Austrian cuisine prepared exceptionally well! We sat next to the warm crackling fireplace for a very romantic experience. Dessert was fantastic as well!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 17, 2016

We chose the restaurant because their listing on Happy Cow said they could accommodate vegetarian and gluten free diets. I wrote them a note advising them that we fit into that niche when I made the reservation. Unfortunately the note was not read by the restaurant and when we asked the waitress about it, she did not offer to consult with the chef. On the vegetarian and gluten free menu, all we could eat was soup and salad. Having said that, the food was excellent, just not what we had hoped for on our anniversary. If we return, we will make sure we ask ahead of time what the chef is able to provide.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

Very unique experience. If you were looking for authentic Austrian-Hungarian food this is the place for you. This has become our favorite restaurant. Lisa the owner always makes a point to stop by and visit with us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 14, 2016

The food was outstanding and very authentic. Appreciated the chef for making exceptions to the prep of my meal due to an egg allergy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 23, 2016

The Vienna is a wonderful choice for schnitzel and sauerbraten. Their potato rosti is consistently crisp and flavorful. Lisa often greets her guests to add a special touch to your experience. Try it (reality tv shows be damned!). We have gone for years and never been disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderfully delicious food. From the appetizer to the dessert it was just fantastic. The service was very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 7, 2016

Our meal was quite enjoyable. I've lived in Germany and the spaetzel and Jaegerschnitzel were the equal of any I've had. While not delivering a really authentic Austrian atmosphere, we thought the references to continental culture, especially Viennese composers and musicians, was unique and charming.
Our only disappointment was the service. The place was nearly empty, but service was dreadfully slow. Our waitress apologized quite sincerely near the end of the meal, explaining that they were short-staffed that night. Since we were in no hurry it wasn't a problem, but it could have been. The waitress herself, whose name we did not get, was very attentive and helpful, making the (long) evening overall quite enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 5, 2016

The free appetizers & drinks we got as Inn guests were outstanding. Dinner was good overall but my sauerbraten was overcooked, stringy and dry. The chef kind of overdid it with the butter on the vegetables. The rolls, likewise were not fresh, nor particularly German in character. The red cabbage was good but was a hint too sour, needing a better sweet-sour balance. We liked the carrot soup, the puréed parsnips were a lovely treat, and my husband enjoyed his
Wiener Schnitzel. Dessert, a plum tart ,was
not impressive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 17, 2016

My husband and I have been coming to the Vienna for several years to celebrate birthdays and our anniversary.- We love the atmosphere, the attentiveness of the staff, and of course, the magnificent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was excellent and my dinner was very good (had the salmon). The veal was very tasty but small portion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2016

We went to Vienna Inn to eat something out-of-the-ordinary and we were pleased to discover just that- excellent food beautifully presented and outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 19, 2016

Meal was delicious--menu had a lot to choose from
Presentation was good--food made from scratch
Lots of beer and wine to choose from
Staff was very friendly
Would go again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2016

It was my boyfriend's birthday and I wanted to bring him to a memorable place. We love going to Historic Bed & Breakfast style Inn's because of the ambiance. The Inn keeper's and guests typically intermingle with everyone and its interesting learning the history of the Inn, everyone telling stories and experiences of each one's lives from all over. You never know who you'll meet. The Vienna is no different.

My boyfriend is a performer, previously on Broadway and traveled to various parts of the world, so you can only imagine the energy when we moved into the parlor after our quite romantic dinner, where we sat down for wine and birthday cake with the owners. Everyone here was so delightful, and interesting with their own stories and singing birthday songs in Italian. (My boyfriend Steven is Sicilian). What a special touch.

The decor and the Austrian food brought back memories for me because of my own fathers up bringing and the wine list was world class. Any wine connoisseur would be impressed with the reserve list. The host and servers where all very attentive and knowledgeable, offering a nice touch to the overall dinner experience. We will be talking about this night for a long time. I would recommend this place with all our guests from out of town, especially my father. I want to bring my father here just so he can reminisce the past. I know all our friends and family will enjoy it as much as we did and you will too!

If your tired of the stuffy restaurants and want something different, then try going to a well appointed Inn like the Vienna. Your night will be a memorable one. We only wished we had booked a room and stayed the evening, because we didn't want to leave our new found friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent menu with wonderful, authentic flavors. Perfect for a date night or special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing & exceptional. There is great care & thought put into every single piece of food on your plate. Every side is treated with equal respect as the main portion with quality ingredients used, which is a rare find as many restaurants cut corners on sides & salads. Even our three year old enjoyed everything we shared with her. The ambiance & decor is just lovely. I would like to not only dine at the restaurant when we visit again next year for the antiques show, but also stay at the Inn to experience as many things on the menu as possible. I'm difficult to please, but I'm truly thrilled with our dinner. Please open a restaurant near us in Hanover, NH! Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2016

We were traveling through the area & love Austrian food, so decided to try
Vienna Inn. Everything was wonderful.......we were not disappointed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2016

Dined at Vienna while traveling in the area last week. Loved the building and the ambiance. It's small and quaint, with a noise level that allows for conversation. We enjoyed our meal and dessert, as well as the wine offerings. The problem was the service. We felt the restaurant was understaffed, and we got lost in the shuffle. Our waiter was very nice, and trying hard, but he had too many tables to handle alone. As a result, the service was very polite, but slow. I don't mind a leisurely meal, but it shouldn't take 15 minutes to bring out a slice of cake. I would definitely come here again if I was in Southbridge and give it another try. Parking is limited.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2016

The service and ambience was very relaxing as we were the only ones there for most of our dining experience. The food was outstanding. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 16, 2016

Great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant. It has a unique menu which is a change from ordinary fare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2016

I'd been thinking about trying this restaurant out and am I glad I did. The meals were fantastic. The domestic boar was incredible. The selection of draft beers was also impressive. We had the milk stout it's a great pick. The wait staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The desert portions were a bit small, but by that time I was already quite full, so it was OK. I'm definitely going back again soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2016

Good food, small menu, pricey, marginal service from staff.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 12, 2016

Service was so slow I don't know how they make a profit. We were there for over 2 hours starting at 5:30. We also had an unfortunate experience with tables. The waitress dumped a bowl of mussels on the table. We were moved to another table for appetizers and asked to move back to the first table. Not even offered a comp cup of coffee.
The food was good. Very good house dressing. Lamb chops were over done. Not that she asked me how I wanted them.
Not going back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5