About Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn

14 South St
Southbridge, MA 01550-4006
View Larger Map

Conveniently located off 1-84 & 1-90, #9 Sturbridge Exit. Towering over upper Main Street in Historic Southbridge, Mass. The Krach family operates a full-service European restaurant & Inn for overnight lodging featuring guest suites. Impressive period antiques & authentically refreshing décor of Austro-Hungary, making this a true romantic & relaxing dining destination.

Highlights:, Wiener Schnitzel, Rabbit Dishes, Salads, Fresh New England Seafood , Roasted Duckling & Frenched Rack of Lamb. Finish in the parlor by the wood burning fireplace while sipping a good Cognac or Viennese Coffee & delectable desserts.
Traditional Home Magazine, Yankee Magazine - Editors Choice "Best European-style Inn for New England", Voted 6 consecutive years -Trip Adviser's Award of Excellence.

So, Come sit by the real wood-burning fireplace most any day of the year, inside or out in our Wiengarten.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Austrian, Hungarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Wed - Friday 11:45 - 2:30 p.m.
Dinner Mon - Friday 4:30 - 9:00 p.m.
Saturday 4:30 - 10:00 p.m.
Sunday Dinner 2:00 - 6:00 p.m.

All other times - Call for availibility

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 764-0700

Website:
http://www.thevienna.com/

Entertainment:
For New Year's Gala, Special Events and Holidays only

Catering:
2-500
Private Cheffing available
Oktoberfest
Wedding
Rehearsal Dinners
Showers
Post-Funeral Receptions

Parking Details:
Private Lot in front of Inn - Street parking permittable

Public Transit:
Worcester Transit to Jacob's Edward Library

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Krach, Proprietor/Host Lisa Krach

Private Party Facilities:
We offer several intimate dining rooms for upscale fine dining. All dining rooms are equipped with working fireplaces for warmth, tranquil, romantic atmosphere in all areas of the restaurant. Whether celebrating with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, Vienna is the ideal choice! We do offer a private dining room on the second level, the use of a set of stairs are required.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 5087640700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oktoberfest
Private Chef available
Oktoberfest
Wedding
Rehearsal Dinners
Showers
Post-Funeral Receptions

Vienna Restaurant & Historic Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Central MA
Best Food
Central MA
6 More
Best Service
Central MA
Best Ambiance
Central MA
Fit for Foodies
Central MA
Neighborhood Gem
Central MA
Romantic
Central MA
Special Occasion
Central MA
Best Restaurants in Southbridge ›

Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Vienna is a wonderful choice for sch ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Vienna is a wonderful choice for schnitzel and sauerbraten. Their potato rosti is consistently crisp and flavorful. Lisa often greets her guests to add a special touch to your experience. Try it (reality tv shows be damned!). We have gone for years and never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderfully delicious food. From the a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderfully delicious food. From the appetizer to the dessert it was just fantastic. The service was very good.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was quite enjoyable. I've live ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our meal was quite enjoyable. I've lived in Germany and the spaetzel and Jaegerschnitzel were the equal of any I've had. While not delivering a really authentic Austrian atmosphere, we thought the references to continental culture, especially Viennese composers and musicians, was unique and charming.

Our only disappointment was the service. The place was nearly empty, but service was dreadfully slow. Our waitress apologized quite sincerely near the end of the meal, explaining that they were short-staffed that night. Since we were in no hurry it wasn't a problem, but it could have been. The waitress herself, whose name we did not get, was very attentive and helpful, making the (long) evening overall quite enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The free appetizers & drinks we got as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The free appetizers & drinks we got as Inn guests were outstanding. Dinner was good overall but my sauerbraten was overcooked, stringy and dry. The chef kind of overdid it with the butter on the vegetables. The rolls, likewise were not fresh, nor particularly German in character. The red cabbage was good but was a hint too sour, needing a better sweet-sour balance. We liked the carrot soup, the puréed parsnips were a lovely treat, and my husband enjoyed his

Wiener Schnitzel. Dessert, a plum tart ,was

not impressive.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I have been coming to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My husband and I have been coming to the Vienna for several years to celebrate birthdays and our anniversary.- We love the atmosphere, the attentiveness of the staff, and of course, the magnificent food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and my dinner was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was excellent and my dinner was very good (had the salmon). The veal was very tasty but small portion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to Vienna Inn to eat something o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went to Vienna Inn to eat something out-of-the-ordinary and we were pleased to discover just that- excellent food beautifully presented and outstanding service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was delicious--menu had a lot to ch ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Meal was delicious--menu had a lot to choose from

Presentation was good--food made from scratch

Lots of beer and wine to choose from

Staff was very friendly

Would go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a Special Find

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It was my boyfriend's birthday and I wanted to bring him to a memorable place. We love going to Historic Bed & Breakfast style Inn's because of the ambiance. The Inn keeper's and guests typically intermingle with everyone and its interesting learning the history of the Inn, everyone telling stories and experiences of each one's lives from all over. You never know who you'll meet. The Vienna is no different.

My boyfriend is a performer, previously on Broadway and traveled to various parts of the world, so you can only imagine the energy when we moved into the parlor after our quite romantic dinner, where we sat down for wine and birthday cake with the owners. Everyone here was so delightful, and interesting with their own stories and singing birthday songs in Italian. (My boyfriend Steven is Sicilian). What a special touch.

The decor and the Austrian food brought back memories for me because of my own fathers up bringing and the wine list was world class. Any wine connoisseur would be impressed with the reserve list. The host and servers where all very attentive and knowledgeable, offering a nice touch to the overall dinner experience. We will be talking about this night for a long time. I would recommend this place with all our guests from out of town, especially my father. I want to bring my father here just so he can reminisce the past. I know all our friends and family will enjoy it as much as we did and you will too!

If your tired of the stuffy restaurants and want something different, then try going to a well appointed Inn like the Vienna. Your night will be a memorable one. We only wished we had booked a room and stayed the evening, because we didn't want to leave our new found friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu with wonderful, authentic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent menu with wonderful, authentic flavors. Perfect for a date night or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing, amazing, amazing.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing & exceptional. There is great care & thought put into every single piece of food on your plate. Every side is treated with equal respect as the main portion with quality ingredients used, which is a rare find as many restaurants cut corners on sides & salads. Even our three year old enjoyed everything we shared with her. The ambiance & decor is just lovely. I would like to not only dine at the restaurant when we visit again next year for the antiques show, but also stay at the Inn to experience as many things on the menu as possible. I'm difficult to please, but I'm truly thrilled with our dinner. Please open a restaurant near us in Hanover, NH! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely Lunch

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were traveling through the area & love Austrian food, so decided to try

Vienna Inn. Everything was wonderful.......we were not disappointed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost a great dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Dined at Vienna while traveling in the area last week. Loved the building and the ambiance. It's small and quaint, with a noise level that allows for conversation. We enjoyed our meal and dessert, as well as the wine offerings. The problem was the service. We felt the restaurant was understaffed, and we got lost in the shuffle. Our waiter was very nice, and trying hard, but he had too many tables to handle alone. As a result, the service was very polite, but slow. I don't mind a leisurely meal, but it shouldn't take 15 minutes to bring out a slice of cake. I would definitely come here again if I was in Southbridge and give it another try. Parking is limited.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service and ambience was very relaxi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The service and ambience was very relaxing as we were the only ones there for most of our dining experience. The food was outstanding. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

This is a lovely restaurant. It has a un ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant. It has a unique menu which is a change from ordinary fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I'd been thinking about trying this restaurant out and am I glad I did. The meals were fantastic. The domestic boar was incredible. The selection of draft beers was also impressive. We had the milk stout it's a great pick. The wait staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The desert portions were a bit small, but by that time I was already quite full, so it was OK. I'm definitely going back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, small menu, pricey, marginal ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Good food, small menu, pricey, marginal service from staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

MUSICAL TABLES

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Service was so slow I don't know how they make a profit. We were there for over 2 hours starting at 5:30. We also had an unfortunate experience with tables. The waitress dumped a bowl of mussels on the table. We were moved to another table for appetizers and asked to move back to the first table. Not even offered a comp cup of coffee.

The food was good. Very good house dressing. Lamb chops were over done. Not that she asked me how I wanted them.

Not going back.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

highly attentive

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was great, the owner was attentive, and the wait staff was kind and polite! no complaints

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. This was a wonderful experience! The waitress was poised and professional. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, simple and tasteful. My meal was hands-down the best food I have ever had in a restaurant. After dining, the waitress showed up the guest rooms. We will definately be returning, bringing friends and staying the night!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere and German style food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Had a great time. The food and service was great. We will return again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A must

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Vienna is an all-around great stop for fantastic food and great ambience. A menu different than anywhere else colorful tasteful is a must try . My new favorite spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid mid-state restaurant

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We are two couples, one from the Stockbridge area, and one from Rt 95, and we try to meet somewhere in the middle. The neighborhood is a bit industrial looking, but the Vienna is a really cute place inside.

Our waitress seemed a bit of a beginner; she read several things off notes. But she was charming and very cheery.

Wiener Schnitzel and rabbit were excellent. The half order of lamb, at $14, was an exceptional buy. Service was timely and friendly.

Lots of cool artwork and nicknacks abound, along with very nice china and tablecloths.

One small drawback -- there was a bit of a mixup on the salads; we understood our waitress to be telling us that any of the three salads she described was included in the cost of the entree. No, that turned out to be only the house salad. Not to worry; they resolved the bill to our satisfaction.

And, the owner visited our table a few times, the last time coming over to share an after-dinner drink "on the house". Very impressive, and like the restaurant, very charming. It was hard not to feel extremely welcome here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Great food me and wife loved it and are definitely going back

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disappointed

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

waitress was new. very sweet. no clue how to do the job. owners responsible. they were very chummy with many customers but ignored those people they did not know. we were sat at 6:30. had our app by 6:45. no drinks or water. had to ask 4 times. finally got drinks at 7:10. food was delicious. table behind us same problem. owners could have cared less. when we were leaving suddenly we had her attention - although we had not complained - she apologized for the bad service. super small restaurant. no reason for bad service. disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great place, great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Had the pleasure of eating at the Vienna Restaurant shortly after New Years. This beautiful Victorian mansion was still tastefully decorated for Christmas. The ambiance is very nice. great selection of appetizers and entrees with a large choice of gluten free foods, which were great. IIts unusual to have such great choices. The owners were more than willing to please us, making great suggestions. Can't wait to go back.,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Vienna for 3 y ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We have been going to the Vienna for 3 years on New Year's Eve. We like having a full menu to choose from and the service is great. Thus year there have been menu changes based on a visit from a TV show. We weren't thrilled with the changes and hope the keep an open mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lovely dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We had a lovely dinner and are only sorry we haven't been there sooner. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Vienna is Out of This World

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Our dinner at Vienna was exceptional. We enjoyed our Christmas dinner in this historic inn. We've been there once before and though it was exceptional then this is beyond that. Our server Whitney was incredibly accommodating and actually walked us to the rest room rather than pointing it out. The menu was extraordinary and included Christmas Goose and domestic boar. We included out of town guests who deemed it the best restaurant they've ever eaten at. BRAVO!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Special Place!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Vienna is our "special occasion" place.The food is always outstanding, the service friendly

and knowledgeable. Lisa is a wonderful host and and we recommended her restaurant highly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for a romantic evening

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Visited Vienna restaurant on a Tuesday evening. Fire place was going and a very romantic atmosphere. Food and service were excellent, and very friendly staff. If you want to impress a girlfriend or someone special in your life then this place is a must!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's amazing and creative

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

I love this experience, and appreciate the hostess, the owner of the restaurant, Lisa for her taking us have a wonderful "trip" (that is how I feel" . the decorations, the various of master pieces, the room with a theme of "Sigmund Freud", especially the ground floor, where there are wine storage, bar place of long history, massage room.... especially their passion and creativity on this place. They have their own special tone.....My friends and me love this place, and we all would like to visit it again in the future....

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

This little place is a well kept secret, that we need to spread the word about. Always great service, nice ambiance, delicious food, and reasonable prices. The only thing I would change is the desserts, nothing changes and the dessert menu just does not appeal to me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Austrian comfort food, stay the night!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

You have to leave New England and drive to New York City to find another Austrian restaurant, so when you book a reservation, you're hoping it will be good. IT IS!! It's the upcoming subject of a Spring 2016 cable network TV restaurant makeover show with chef Gordon Ramsey, who kept all the things that have made this place special, and changed some more minor things to make it more in tune with today's somewhat more casual dining habits. Having said the word 'casual', you still feel good dressing up here if you'd like to contribute to the elegant decor.

Very nice food, paying homage to Viennese cooking, but it includes fine New England dishes as well. The restaurant does a great job sourcing season-appropriate foods, so our mid-December 2015 visit included predominantly root vegetables, which is not only thoughtful, but relatively unique in today's eat-any-food-in-any-season, gustatory overload eating establishments. And it gives you a good reason to return at another season. Speaking of days - open every day of the year, and they work hard to plan and execute holiday menus that look exciting and approachable at the same time.

Overnight guests should be thrilled with very nice overnight accommodations, and the inn is a great place to be well known and hide out in this small town with relative anonymity. There are five suites to chose from in this former residence, and they are sumptuous without being tarty. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Romantic & quaint

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

This wonderful restaurant is quickly becoming a favorite of mine and my wife's. The savory menu and top notch wine list make me want to make my next reservation before I leave.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent atmosphere, great food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

An excellent place to have a quiet diner if you are looking for the a traditional Victorian settling. Restaurant is set in an old Victorian stay home where dining in done in the "living room and Dining room" of the home. A real home feeling.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A well kept secret

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

This was our fourth visit to Vienna, everything was very good. Service has always been great - Food is very good, with average size portions at reasonable prices. Recent redecorating is nice, but it was nice enough before the redo.

The only thing missing is customers. Dinner on Friday night, only three reservations, a total of six guests during our visit.

The only disappointing part of this restaurant is the dessert menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Thanksgiving Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

One of the few places open 365 days a year! Food was good. Higher prices reflected the holiday meal. Everything a la carte. Best part was attentive service although we did feel we were rushed through the meal. Would return but not on a holiday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Changes at The Vienna...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Recent decor changes inspired by show with Gordon Ramsey are not conducive to The Vienna /German theme ...lost a lot of that treasured ambiance. Hope they bring it back. Many items also off the menu that I also hope come back. However food and service is always fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.