About Vidalia

1990 M Street
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Chef/owner Jeffrey Buben's Vidalia features an expanded bar with 25 wines by the glass, a beautiful private dining room for groups up to 40 people, our wine room and a soft contemporary dining room featuring warm, rich fabrics incorporated in new booths, banquets and comfortable dining chairs. We look forward to seeing you and also invite you to Chef Buben's other restaurants, Bistro Bis, located next to the Hotel George on Capital Hill and Woodward Table /Woodward Take Out located just one block from The White House . To find out more about Vidalia, Bistro Bis and Woodward Table visit our web site at www.vidaliadc.com , www.bistrobis.com or www.woodwardtable.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday Open for dinner daily at 5 pm.



Cross Street:
20th St NW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 659-1990

Website:
http://www.vidaliadc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available during our normal business hours Monday - Saturday $10.00 per car. Local parking in garages is also available.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle Red Line

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Buben

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Rachel Forester at rforester@vidaliadc.com to assist you with any of your private dining needs.

Restaurant Photos

Baked Macaroni - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Georgia Pecan Pie - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Sweetbreads & Waffles - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Pork Pate - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Roast Pork Loin - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Founders Dry Hopped Pale Ale - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Spiced Crusted Duck Breast - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Earl Grey - Vidalia, Washington, DC
DuClaw Hellrazer IPA - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Peanut Butter S'More - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Shenandoah Lamb Duo - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Shrimp and Grits - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Peanut Butter S’More - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Stiff Cocktails - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Rock Shrimp Hushpuppies And Deviled Eggs - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Mac and Cheese - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Frogmore Stew - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Wisteria Cocktail - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Crisp Berkshire Pork Trotter - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Tobacco Road Cocktail - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Amuse-bouche - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Hamachi Crudo - Vidalia, Washington, DC
baked onion - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Braised Barbecue Bison Short Ribs - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Barbeque Shrimp With Cornbread - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Kennebec Potato Chips With Tasso Ham Dip - Vidalia, Washington, DC
steak tartare - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Pork Chop - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Braised Short Ribs - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Cocoa Rubbed Venison Loin - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Peach Crisp - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Pork Scrapple and Eggs - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Apple Crumble Cake - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Seared Scallops - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Jack and Coke - Vidalia, Washington, DC
St. Mary's Style Crab Cakes - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Lemon Cream Tart - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Pork Belly - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Quail - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Sweetbread - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Ahi tuna - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Vidalia Onions - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Beet Salad - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Foie Gras With Bing Cherry Coullis  - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Braised Bison Short Ribs - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Lemon Chess Pie - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Venison Pluck Fra Diavolo with Mint and Onion Ash - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Crab Cakes - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Desserts - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Pork Scrapple - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Oyster Pan Roast - Vidalia, Washington, DC
Wine Sampling - Vidalia, Washington, DC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vidalia, a Washington favorite for its regional American cooking with a Southern influence, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Vidalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Romantic (14)
See All
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server meant well enough, but the ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Our server meant well enough, but the manager (the manager?) seemed surprised to be there and treated us like we were Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

A very upscale restaurant in food and se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A very upscale restaurant in food and service. Attention to details very good.

And, above all, very quiet and excellent for conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had been to Vidalia many years ago for w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Had been to Vidalia many years ago for work and had been wanting to take my husband there. It did not disappoint. Service was stellar, the food was delicious and the cocktails simply amazing! Warm intimate ambiance, but not stuffy. You can have fun and enjoy!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very superior dining experience - we e ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A very superior dining experience - we enjoyed our dinner here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was exceptional, and the exper ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The staff was exceptional, and the experience was worth coming from Canada to celebrate my wife's birthday! And the cuisine was up to its international reputation.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed. I had heard great ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I was not impressed. I had heard great things about this restaurant and it did not live up to its expectations. I chose this restaurant because they had a tasting menu. At the top of the menu it said the six course tasting menu was $78 per person. No where did it sat that the whole table had to order the tasting menu or no one can have it. However, that's what our waitress advised us. She said the owner/chef would not allow one guest to order from the tasting menu when the other chose not to. I ordered the sweetbreads to start. They were delicious. However, the waffle they were served on tasted old and gritty. My wife ordered the crab cake entree and ordered the duck. The crab cakes were good but nothing special. The duck was uncooked (I said mid rare) and the fat was not rendered properly. The fat was still thick and grisly. The quinoa was bland and tasteless. Overall I was very disappointed in our food experience. The service was good though, she was very polite and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Food and ambiance were great. Wait staf ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food and ambiance were great. Wait staff were pleasant and helpful, but timing was way off. Wine did not arrive until we were well in to the entre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Excellent food served in an up tight for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food served in an up tight formal setting, lights too bright to be romantic and the service was haughty and lacked any charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

My friend and I dined at Vedalia the 28t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My friend and I dined at Vedalia the 28th. We last were there in early February. It’s a subterranean restaurant downtown, and being underground gives it an intimate feel. The decor has an understated elegance, and the service is second-to-none. Some of the cocktails are smoked. At table side, the maître d’ burns a mixture of hickory & apple wood chips and places the glass upside down over the embers. You wouldn’t think that filling the glass with smoke would make a difference in the taste, but it does. My friend began with the Low Country she crab soup: lump crab is an apple butter, celery & marmalade sauce with old bay croutons. I started with the appetizer-size Maryland lump crab cake, served with southern-style greens slaw, preserved apricot & creole mustard. My friend then went with the crab cakes for her entrée. Both of us loved the tangy taste of the greens slaw. My entrée was the bison short ribs, covered with a root beer jus and served with glazed parsnips, lollipop kale & butternut squash puree. It was all so delicious! We finished by sharing a slice of Georgia pecan pie. The filling was so light.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We picked Vidalia because it was close ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We picked Vidalia because it was close to our hotel. and we really like sweetbreads. So we started with that appetizer and liked it very much. However, the rabbit special for the evening took an extra long time to show up and appeared a bit on the dry side. They had an interesting array of breads and spreads and a really good pecan pie. The restaurant does not have much ambiance. It was not bad, but there are a lot better restaurants in that area.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Definitely not for a casual dinner, impa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Definitely not for a casual dinner, impactful wine list, great service and a sophisticated southern menu of reengineered classics!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really, really good upscale southern foo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Really, really good upscale southern food. The shrimp and grits were some of the best I've ever had!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal with friends! Excellent menu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great meal with friends! Excellent menu variety - wonderful she crab soup!

Definitely go back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needed a quiet high quality place in DC ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Needed a quiet high quality place in DC and Vidalia fit the bill. Friendly and attentive but not overbearing service, interesting menu and great food. Great environment for having a conversation too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was very good. Great spo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This restaurant was very good. Great spot for a business lunch. The bread basket was PHENOMENAL! Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Overall the food was good. The she-crab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Overall the food was good. The she-crab soup was delicious, as were the breads. Unfortunately, I ordered the trout and while it was tasty there were so many bones that I eventually gave up on it and just chatted with my friends instead. The sweet tea was also delicious, and given that good iced tea is hard to find in DC, that made up for the bones for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Has been a little while since my last vi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Has been a little while since my last visit to Vidalia. The food is still wonderful! Enjoyed a smoked rabbit loin that was fantastic, and an incredibly "light" pecan pie! However, the service was really slipshod. Was not brought either the wine list or the "specials" menu until I asked for it. Waiter seemed indifferent the whole time and not really helpful. This detracted from the overall wonderful experience of the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

A very pleasant business lunch for a par ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

A very pleasant business lunch for a party of 9. The booking was in fact for 8 and Vidalia was able to quickly accommodate an unexpected additional person. The assigned table was on the upper level which was ideal for our business discussions as the area was secluded and quiet. The food was superb and the attention first class. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere, ambiance, food, and serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The atmosphere, ambiance, food, and service is excellent! Loved the staff!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A return to one of my longtime DC favori ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 3, 2016

A return to one of my longtime DC favorites was a great experience. As usual, Vidalia was up to the challenge, serving well above average food along with excellent service. I particularly enjoyed the deconstructed pear cobbler, but it was all very tasty! I look forward to my next encounter!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

second visit and the quality of the food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

second visit and the quality of the food was still 4 star.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pork chop was tasty but a tad dry for my ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Pork chop was tasty but a tad dry for my liking. It was cooked medium. So could a medium rare might have been better. Friendly wait staff and the bread service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mediocre food and terrible service...wil ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Mediocre food and terrible service...will never go there again

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Delicious food, attentive service, elega ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicious food, attentive service, elegant surrounding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Should have walked out when we arrived - ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Should have walked out when we arrived -- restaurant empty for a Saturday night, seated at corner banquette and host neglected to pull out table ( it was a squeeze) amuse bouche came -- on two spoons for three people ( odd) I had a tasteless watermelon gazpacho followed by a dry pork chop. My husband had fish with a lobster sauce ( he was ill afterwards.) it was a disappointing and pricey experience not to be repeated. The highlight was the bread plate -- four different kinds.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food and cocktails were both amazing ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food and cocktails were both amazing. My wife and I went to celebrate her birfday, and were fully satisfied by the great food and terrific staff. Best shrimp and grits (so freakin' creamy) I've ever had. And the freshly smoked Manhattan really hit the spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience! I had the t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! I had the tasting menu, it was superb! Service was great. I enjoyed every dish. Perfect place to dine for special occasions. Or just because!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant choisit un peu au hasard pend ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Restaurant choisit un peu au hasard pendant notre séjour à Washington. Nous nous n'attendions pas à un restaurant de cette gamme et nous n'étions pas habillé comme nous aurions du.

Le rapport qualité prix est très intéressant avec un menu entre plat dessert à 35$. La qualité des ingrédient et la cuisine du chef est sans reproche.

Le vin est un peu cher par rapport au prix des plats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As always, the food was amazing. However ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always, the food was amazing. However, the service was horrible. It took about 15 minutes for someone to come over and take our drink order, and about 20 minutes to get the desert menus. The tables with more than two people in the same room received more attention than us, and often times we could not gain the attention of our server, who wouldn't look in our direction. Incredibly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Always a pleasurable experience, from th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a pleasurable experience, from the first greeting to the final taste of dessert, Vidalia never disappoints. An adult restaurant that serves food that is interesting and satisfying, with service to match. Such a treasure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent dining experience was had at ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent dining experience was had at vidalia! The service, food, and ambience was just perfect!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our get together was during Restaurant W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our get together was during Restaurant Week, which often affects food quality. We felt the appetizer course was very good, but the entree just ok, and dessert choices need some spiffing up.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food, even during Restaurant W ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food, even during Restaurant Week, even though it was disappointing that we had to pay extra to get a steak for my son. They took good care of his gluten-free needs.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I am very disappointed in my experience. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I am very disappointed in my experience. This restaurant came highly recommended to us. Our server, George, was rude from the moment we arrived. He was very snooty and condescending the entire time, which ruined our experience. As far as the food goes, it was OK. The peach gazpacho was room temp, I'm not sure if the server let it sit or if that is how the kitchen sent it out. The cobia was good, but, I won't return to this place. I would recommend Blue Duck Tavern instead. It close to this location and the food and service was much better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great food - great value for restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food - great value for restaurant week. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant week menu -- lots of at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good restaurant week menu -- lots of attractive options! Fabulous service! Good value in house wines for restaurant week. Our only gripe is that the pecan pie was in the OK category -- should be a home run for these guys. Everything else was VERY VERY good -- just got to be careful to pace yourself and not eat too much of these rich and wonderful southern delicacies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been awhile since we were last at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

It had been awhile since we were last at Vidalia and went there this week for Restaurant Week. What a memorable occasion, the highlights of which were incredible food, exquisite presentations, nice extras, and excellent service. Among all the superb dishes, two stood out: a unique and delicious beef tartare, and an over-the-top (both taste and quantity) lamb shank. Kudos to Vidalia for their impressive RW showing!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an excellent, quiet night out with f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had an excellent, quiet night out with friends. Well decorated and clean restaurant with an excellent wine list and solid, well balanced Southern food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Walking downstairs to the inviting bar/l ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Walking downstairs to the inviting bar/lounge area was perfect inducement for a pre-meal cocktail. Mid-August dining meant we literally had the place to ourselves -- 1 or 2 other tables was it! Service was therefore impeccable and even though the restaurant was quite empty the full menu was available. We began w/sweatbreads and waffle , the fresh corn & crab soup, & the peach gazpacho w/MD crab -- all wonderful. For dinner course we ordered crab cakes w/succotosh & the rockfish dish w/lobster, leeks, an egg & onion soubise. Again all delicious. Ended meal w/classic pecan pie alamode & a delicious coconut and citrus creation that was divine!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been there for a number of yea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We hadn't been there for a number of years. The restaurant was far better than I remembered it--and I remembered it as being very good. The service was better than most restaurants at that price point, both meticulous and friendly. They had several prix fixe options but we ordered a la carte, sharing a delicious foie gras appetizer. We then enjoyed two house classics, the shrimp and grits and the pork rib chop. Portions were generous and most flavorful. We also enjoyed a complementary plate of breads and spreads. Cocktails were unique and well-prepared. We shared a peach mouse for dessert. It is a quiet part of town at night but this restaurant is worth the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.