About Vidalia

1990 M Street
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Chef/owner Jeffrey Buben's Vidalia features an expanded bar with 25 wines by the glass, a beautiful private dining room for groups up to 40 people, our wine room and a soft contemporary dining room featuring warm, rich fabrics incorporated in new booths, banquets and comfortable dining chairs. We look forward to seeing you and also invite you to Chef Buben's other restaurants, Bistro Bis, located next to the Hotel George on Capital Hill and Woodward Table /Woodward Take Out located just one block from The White House . To find out more about Vidalia, Bistro Bis and Woodward Table visit our web site at www.vidaliadc.com , www.bistrobis.com or www.woodwardtable.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday Open for dinner daily at 5 pm.



Cross Street:
20th St NW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 659-1990

Website:
http://www.vidaliadc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available during our normal business hours Monday - Saturday $10.00 per car. Local parking in garages is also available.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle Red Line

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Buben

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Rachel Forester at rforester@vidaliadc.com to assist you with any of your private dining needs.

Restaurant Photos

Georgia Pecan Pie
Peach Crisp
Baked Macaroni
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Sweetbreads & Waffles
Pork Pate
Roast Pork Loin
Founders Dry Hopped Pale Ale
Spiced Crusted Duck Breast
Earl Grey
DuClaw Hellrazer IPA
Shenandoah Lamb Duo
Peanut Butter S'More
Shrimp and Grits
Peanut Butter S’More
Stiff Cocktails
Rock Shrimp Hushpuppies And Deviled Eggs
Mac and Cheese
Frogmore Stew
Hamachi Crudo
baked onion
Amuse-bouche
Braised Barbecue Bison Short Ribs
Crisp Berkshire Pork Trotter
Wisteria Cocktail
Tobacco Road Cocktail
Kennebec Potato Chips With Tasso Ham Dip
Barbeque Shrimp With Cornbread
Pork Chop
steak tartare
Braised Short Ribs
Cocoa Rubbed Venison Loin
Pork Scrapple and Eggs
Apple Crumble Cake
Seared Scallops
St. Mary's Style Crab Cakes
Jack and Coke
Lemon Cream Tart
Pork Belly
Sweetbread
Quail
Beet Salad
Vidalia Onions
Ahi tuna
Foie Gras With Bing Cherry Coullis
Crab Cakes
Venison Pluck Fra Diavolo with Mint and Onion Ash
Lemon Chess Pie
Braised Bison Short Ribs
Desserts
Pork Scrapple
Oyster Pan Roast
Wine Sampling

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vidalia, a Washington favorite for its regional American cooking with a Southern influence, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Vidalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Washington, D.C. Area
Fit for Foodies
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (58)
special occasion (50)
romantic (34)
See All
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (21)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3083 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I can only say try the shrimp and grits, ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined 3 days ago

I can only say try the shrimp and grits, it is great--but so is everything else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef made everything fresh and serve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The chef made everything fresh and served us accordingly. The staff was very nice to me and my daughter it was our first time there and in D.C. I would recommend this to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

came here on my last night of my parents ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

came here on my last night of my parents' visit and had an amazing dinner. we had an 8:00 reservation but called and they were able to seat us at 7:00. the restaurant was pretty empty which was surprising because the food is SO GOOD. it's a little on the pricey side, but they bring so much extra food (we got a pate amuse-bouche and a spread of different breads with different spreads). the peach gazpacho was delicious and we really loved the broccoli side and the porkchop. make sure to save room for dessert, though - we got two and loved them both. it's very romantic and quiet, and would definitely make foor a great date spot as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect setting to have a d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was the perfect setting to have a delicious meal. We thoroughly enjoyed the food. The atmosphere was relaxing and the service was top notched. Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only item that was tasteful was the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The only item that was tasteful was the bread tray. Black male waiter was beyond rude to people of his color.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Vidalia has never disappointed me and th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Vidalia has never disappointed me and this visit was no exception. The food is terrific (signature dish is the shrimp & grits) and they change the menu seasonally. The service is equally outstanding and our server was attentive, friendly and professional. The ambiance also is exceptional there and it is clear that they place a high value on the satisfaction of their customers. I would wholeheartedly recommend Vidalia to others and give them my highest and unqualified praise!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the tasting menu and the food was ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We did the tasting menu and the food was absolutely delicious. Not only did we have 6 courses, there were various plates served while waiting for the next course. The crab cake was exceptional along with the pork chop. The service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The smoked cocktails were amazing. The s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The smoked cocktails were amazing. The shrimp and grits were some of the best I've ever had. We went for our anniversary and they took such good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food and wine selections were outsta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our food and wine selections were outstanding and service was wonderful and fun. Vidalia's was exceptionally quiet on a Saturday before a holiday which gave us time to interact with the staff and bartender as well. An excellent experience overall.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just an outstanding dinner experience on ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Just an outstanding dinner experience on a slow Monday night. Went for the food but the service was outstanding and the room was so relaxing. The menu was very interesting and everything we ordered was sensational. Its not a budget restaurant but it seems competitively priced for downtown DC. Hope we someday find someplace this good in our city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding with many unique dishes. Goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding with many unique dishes. Good for any occasion or no occasion at all

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet, elegant restaurant with excellent ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Quiet, elegant restaurant with excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

VERY disappointing. Will never return. F ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

VERY disappointing. Will never return. Food incredibly bland and did not reflect descriptions in menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The service was excellent. Our food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was excellent. Our food was delicious but the menu was very limited. Not advertised as a seafood restaurant, there were not many options for non seafood eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

a grown ups' restaurant with delicious f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

a grown ups' restaurant with delicious food and great service, ambience, and noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a rare gem-- white tablecloths, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a rare gem-- white tablecloths, quiet, great food, nice decor, and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent but.....

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food quality, service and ambiance was amazing! I love the location! However, I believe it was a bit overpriced for the portions that was served. I order a quail for $35 and got a portion the size of a quails leg, Other than that...it was perfect!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Very elegant restaurant

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Vidalia was a beautiful romantic restaurant with very good food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Started out great, then faded off a bit

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were quite impressed with the initial bread sampler, the surprise amuse bouche, some of the other items we ordered were also delicious. I wasn't super impressed with the tuna...tasted like it wasn't cooked quite enough (even for "rare") which I normally order.

The service was interesting...our server started out with a bang, then drinks sat empty, plates weren't cleared...and we realized later we never saw him again after our entrees came. I thought that was odd...luckily there was other staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

41st Anniversary dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

One wonderful food evening. Had the tasting menu and enjoyed everything on it. Service was excellent! Best dinner we had in DC!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, nice ambience and friendly se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Good food, nice ambience and friendly service. We were there on a holiday weekend so the restaurant was a little quiet. I am sure this is a popular restaurant. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went at 9 pm. Everything was great bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We went at 9 pm. Everything was great but I think one of the waiters forgot about us. Robert jumped in and was wonderful. Definitely a keeper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Vidalia provides an outstanding dining e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Vidalia provides an outstanding dining experience near DuPont Circle on M Street NW in Washington DC. The dining room is relatively small, yet still allows for a private, intimate dining experience. Service is professional, prompt, knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly without the aloofness or condescension too often characteristic of other high end restaurants. The menu offers a wide selection, leaning toward a celebration of foods from the American South. The foie gras and shrimp & grits are to die for, as are the pecan pie and lemon chess pie! I highly recommend the $78 six-course menu; and consider adding a wine pairing for each course at a relatively low cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Decade Later

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I remembered the menus and atmosphere of over a decade earlier but as the adage: you can't go back...I likely should not have. A bit too pricey and not a menu that I could embrace very well. Service was very good and the food recevied was good; just not what I recalled nor appetizing for me this time around.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Best shrimp & grits I've ever had

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Best shrimp & grits I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome four course meal. The crab cake ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Awesome four course meal. The crab cake appetizer was delicate and delicious. Both entrees, pork rib chop and pigeon was mouth drooling delicious. The desserts, flourless chocolate cake and pecan pie was perfect in sweetness and deliciousness. The final was superb coffee. If you have not noticed the number of times I have used delicious, then let me remind you that the dinner was delicious. The waiter and maitre d' presented immaculate service. I am in love with this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid Southern Fare

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Vidalia is a solid souther-style restaurant. Shrimp & grits, and crab cakes are its specialty. The she-crab soup was fantastic - creamy, with a hint of sherry and roe and chunks of crab meat. Service was outstanding. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and service. They paid attent ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service. They paid attention to detail

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've been to Vidalia many times over th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We've been to Vidalia many times over the years and I'm glad to say it is still excellent. The service was amazing, as well. My shrimp and grits was perfect, although a chop another guest had was not quite as good as expected. But overall the food was terrific.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A not to miss DC gem

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

I love this restaurant! Being from the South, the cuisine reminds me of home cooking. The staff is the best. Very attentive but not intrusive. Greg is in the bar and has great wine recommendations that fit any budget. The macaroni and cheese side dish is a required side. You can never go wrong with their classic shrimp and grits. Go for any reason you are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meh

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Just meh..nothing interesting, nothing worth returning for. Ambiance very cold, just not pleasant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was delicious - the waiter was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was delicious - the waiter was attentive (almost too much). I had the pork chop and it was a generous portion. My husband had the lamb and we swapped halfway and both dishes were delicious. The pecan pie is a must for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Visalia is a lovely restaurant worth the stop

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had not gone to Visalia for a while, and we were very happy to return to meet some friends. The service was impeccable, the tasting menu was delicious, we loved the fact that it is not one of this trendy but extremely noisy restaurant. We were able to have a conversation with our friends without screaming. The food was excellent (except dessert - was not the best). I liked also the fact that they allowed us to bring some wine with a cork fee (which was not too much), and they were pleasant about it. Our friend has a great wine cellar, and wanted to bring something. Overall I highly recommend it, its lovely, great service, great food, great location, valet parking, and great staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Vidalia is always immaculate!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Had friends in from out of town and was excited to take them to Vidalia because it is always immaculate--and this time was no exception. Thanks to our super server Greg and the rest of the service and kitchen staff--from the front door to the bar through dessert everything was perfect! Jeff and Sallie have had this place for years, and the reason(s) is clear when you dine with them!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over Priced

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was great, but I think a little over priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Interesting food. Great place. Never dis ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Interesting food. Great place. Never disappoints when I'm in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I went to Vidalia with my son for dinner while visiting Georgetown University. The food was fantastic and so was the service.

The restaurante has a quite corporate and austere look, that may turn some people off but I do recommend it.

I had the foie gras and the shrimp with grits. Just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was outstanding and the food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was outstanding and the food was great! Went for my birthday and it was perfect! The shrimp and grits was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

25 years

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We go to Vidalia when we want to feel good. The food is always flawless. The service the perfect balance; friendly, professional, unobtrusive. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with our younger daughter and Vidalia was the obvious choice - we were welcomed, congratulated and left feeling on cloud nine. What more could you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for conversation!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

One of the things I love most about Vidalia is that it is a great place for conversation. The food is also top-notch! This visit, I enjoyed the she-crab soup--chunks of lump crab in a velvety and creamy base with sherry and pickled onions, a wonderful flavor combination. The quail with berbere spice was also very good. But I think my favorite course of the night was the churros (fried dough) with a chocolate dipping sauce. The churros were amazingly light and airy! And the portion is definitely big enough to share. Finally, the sommelier is also top-notch and helped us find a terrific wine that went perfectly with our main courses. I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.