About Vidalia

1990 M Street
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Chef/owner Jeffrey Buben's Vidalia features an expanded bar with 25 wines by the glass, a beautiful private dining room for groups up to 40 people, our wine room and a soft contemporary dining room featuring warm, rich fabrics incorporated in new booths, banquets and comfortable dining chairs. We look forward to seeing you and also invite you to Chef Buben's other restaurants, Bistro Bis, located next to the Hotel George on Capital Hill and Woodward Table /Woodward Take Out located just one block from The White House . To find out more about Vidalia, Bistro Bis and Woodward Table visit our web site at www.vidaliadc.com , www.bistrobis.com or www.woodwardtable.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday Open for dinner daily at 5 pm.



Cross Street:
20th St NW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 659-1990

Website:
http://www.vidaliadc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available during our normal business hours Monday - Saturday $10.00 per car. Local parking in garages is also available.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle Red Line

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Buben

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Rachel Forester at rforester@vidaliadc.com to assist you with any of your private dining needs.

Restaurant Photos

Georgia Pecan Pie
Peach Crisp
Baked Macaroni
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Sweetbreads & Waffles
Pork Pate
Roast Pork Loin
Founders Dry Hopped Pale Ale
Spiced Crusted Duck Breast
Earl Grey
DuClaw Hellrazer IPA
Shenandoah Lamb Duo
Peanut Butter S'More
Shrimp and Grits
Peanut Butter S’More
Stiff Cocktails
Rock Shrimp Hushpuppies And Deviled Eggs
Mac and Cheese
Frogmore Stew
Hamachi Crudo
baked onion
Amuse-bouche
Braised Barbecue Bison Short Ribs
Crisp Berkshire Pork Trotter
Wisteria Cocktail
Tobacco Road Cocktail
Kennebec Potato Chips With Tasso Ham Dip
Barbeque Shrimp With Cornbread
Pork Chop
steak tartare
Braised Short Ribs
Cocoa Rubbed Venison Loin
Pork Scrapple and Eggs
Apple Crumble Cake
Seared Scallops
St. Mary's Style Crab Cakes
Jack and Coke
Lemon Cream Tart
Pork Belly
Sweetbread
Quail
Beet Salad
Vidalia Onions
Ahi tuna
Foie Gras With Bing Cherry Coullis
Crab Cakes
Venison Pluck Fra Diavolo with Mint and Onion Ash
Lemon Chess Pie
Braised Bison Short Ribs
Desserts
Pork Scrapple
Oyster Pan Roast
Wine Sampling

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vidalia, a Washington favorite for its regional American cooking with a Southern influence, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Vidalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
District of Columbia
Contemporary American
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (68)
special occasion (60)
romantic (40)
See All
notable wine list (25)
good for groups (18)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding with many unique dishes. Goo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding with many unique dishes. Good for any occasion or no occasion at all

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Quiet, elegant restaurant with excellent ...

Dined 6 days ago

Quiet, elegant restaurant with excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent. Our food was ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was excellent. Our food was delicious but the menu was very limited. Not advertised as a seafood restaurant, there were not many options for non seafood eaters.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a grown ups' restaurant with delicious f ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

a grown ups' restaurant with delicious food and great service, ambience, and noise level.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a rare gem-- white tablecloths, ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a rare gem-- white tablecloths, quiet, great food, nice decor, and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Excellent but.....

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food quality, service and ambiance was amazing! I love the location! However, I believe it was a bit overpriced for the portions that was served. I order a quail for $35 and got a portion the size of a quails leg, Other than that...it was perfect!

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very elegant restaurant

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Vidalia was a beautiful romantic restaurant with very good food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Started out great, then faded off a bit

Dined on June 4, 2016

We were quite impressed with the initial bread sampler, the surprise amuse bouche, some of the other items we ordered were also delicious. I wasn't super impressed with the tuna...tasted like it wasn't cooked quite enough (even for "rare") which I normally order. The service was interesting...our server started out with a bang, then drinks sat empty, plates weren't cleared...and we realized later we never saw him again after our entrees came. I thought that was odd...luckily there was other staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

41st Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 31, 2016

One wonderful food evening. Had the tasting menu and enjoyed everything on it. Service was excellent! Best dinner we had in DC!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, nice ambience and friendly se ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Good food, nice ambience and friendly service. We were there on a holiday weekend so the restaurant was a little quiet. I am sure this is a popular restaurant. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

We went at 9 pm. Everything was great bu ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We went at 9 pm. Everything was great but I think one of the waiters forgot about us. Robert jumped in and was wonderful. Definitely a keeper.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vidalia provides an outstanding dining e ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Vidalia provides an outstanding dining experience near DuPont Circle on M Street NW in Washington DC. The dining room is relatively small, yet still allows for a private, intimate dining experience. Service is professional, prompt, knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly without the aloofness or condescension too often characteristic of other high end restaurants. The menu offers a wide selection, leaning toward a celebration of foods from the American South. The foie gras and shrimp & grits are to die for, as are the pecan pie and lemon chess pie! I highly recommend the $78 six-course menu; and consider adding a wine pairing for each course at a relatively low cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A Decade Later

Dined on May 25, 2016

I remembered the menus and atmosphere of over a decade earlier but as the adage: you can't go back...I likely should not have. A bit too pricey and not a menu that I could embrace very well. Service was very good and the food recevied was good; just not what I recalled nor appetizing for me this time around.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Best shrimp & grits I've ever had

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Best shrimp & grits I've ever had

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome four course meal. The crab cake ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Awesome four course meal. The crab cake appetizer was delicate and delicious. Both entrees, pork rib chop and pigeon was mouth drooling delicious. The desserts, flourless chocolate cake and pecan pie was perfect in sweetness and deliciousness. The final was superb coffee. If you have not noticed the number of times I have used delicious, then let me remind you that the dinner was delicious. The waiter and maitre d' presented immaculate service. I am in love with this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Solid Southern Fare

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Vidalia is a solid souther-style restaurant. Shrimp & grits, and crab cakes are its specialty. The she-crab soup was fantastic - creamy, with a hint of sherry and roe and chunks of crab meat. Service was outstanding. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. They paid attent ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service. They paid attention to detail

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to Vidalia many times over th ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We've been to Vidalia many times over the years and I'm glad to say it is still excellent. The service was amazing, as well. My shrimp and grits was perfect, although a chop another guest had was not quite as good as expected. But overall the food was terrific.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A not to miss DC gem

Dined on May 4, 2016

I love this restaurant! Being from the South, the cuisine reminds me of home cooking. The staff is the best. Very attentive but not intrusive. Greg is in the bar and has great wine recommendations that fit any budget. The macaroni and cheese side dish is a required side. You can never go wrong with their classic shrimp and grits. Go for any reason you are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Meh

Dined on May 2, 2016

Just meh..nothing interesting, nothing worth returning for. Ambiance very cold, just not pleasant

food4
ambience2
service4

The food was delicious - the waiter was ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was delicious - the waiter was attentive (almost too much). I had the pork chop and it was a generous portion. My husband had the lamb and we swapped halfway and both dishes were delicious. The pecan pie is a must for dessert.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Visalia is a lovely restaurant worth the stop

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had not gone to Visalia for a while, and we were very happy to return to meet some friends. The service was impeccable, the tasting menu was delicious, we loved the fact that it is not one of this trendy but extremely noisy restaurant. We were able to have a conversation with our friends without screaming. The food was excellent (except dessert - was not the best). I liked also the fact that they allowed us to bring some wine with a cork fee (which was not too much), and they were pleasant about it. Our friend has a great wine cellar, and wanted to bring something. Overall I highly recommend it, its lovely, great service, great food, great location, valet parking, and great staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vidalia is always immaculate!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had friends in from out of town and was excited to take them to Vidalia because it is always immaculate--and this time was no exception. Thanks to our super server Greg and the rest of the service and kitchen staff--from the front door to the bar through dessert everything was perfect! Jeff and Sallie have had this place for years, and the reason(s) is clear when you dine with them!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Over Priced

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was great, but I think a little over priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting food. Great place. Never dis ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Interesting food. Great place. Never disappoints when I'm in DC.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic food

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I went to Vidalia with my son for dinner while visiting Georgetown University. The food was fantastic and so was the service. The restaurante has a quite corporate and austere look, that may turn some people off but I do recommend it. I had the foie gras and the shrimp with grits. Just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding and the food was ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was outstanding and the food was great! Went for my birthday and it was perfect! The shrimp and grits was delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

25 years

Dined on April 13, 2016

We go to Vidalia when we want to feel good. The food is always flawless. The service the perfect balance; friendly, professional, unobtrusive. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with our younger daughter and Vidalia was the obvious choice - we were welcomed, congratulated and left feeling on cloud nine. What more could you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for conversation!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

One of the things I love most about Vidalia is that it is a great place for conversation. The food is also top-notch! This visit, I enjoyed the she-crab soup--chunks of lump crab in a velvety and creamy base with sherry and pickled onions, a wonderful flavor combination. The quail with berbere spice was also very good. But I think my favorite course of the night was the churros (fried dough) with a chocolate dipping sauce. The churros were amazingly light and airy! And the portion is definitely big enough to share. Finally, the sommelier is also top-notch and helped us find a terrific wine that went perfectly with our main courses. I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

My parents had come to town for the cher ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

My parents had come to town for the cherry blossom festival and a colleague had recommended Vidalia as a dinner suggestion. We were seated 10 minutes before our reservation and our waiter was extremely attentive to detail , the food was delicious, and presented beautifully. I would recommend this place to any and everyone. Also, great martinis.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is our third time at Visalia, the second to celebrate a special occasion. The food is great, the service thoughtful and the ambiance and decor are lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Elegantly Casual

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been going to Vidalia once every year or so for about the last 15 years. The service, food preparation, and atmosphere have retained the same level of quality over that time frame. We had a few cocktails, one of which was prepared tableside and smoked. Our most recent trip found us dining on the beet salad and the sweetbreads and waffles, which were super (although the sauce with the sweetbreads was a bit too sweet for our taste). We then had the pork chop, shrimp and grits, and the monkfish, all of which were served hot and very flavorful. Our server was very attentive and personable, making the evening all the more enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb low country cooking!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Having lived in Charleston, S.C, wanted to try low-country cooking again as I've missed their cuisine. It was my birthday & what a wonderful experience. Definitely recommend the 6-course food tasting menu, you won't be disappointed. Definitely worth the price with more food than you can eat! Recommend the she-crab soup of course with the brandy included, shrimp and grits, and the pork chop which was a family size portion & delicious. The hush puppies were delicious/crisp & tasty. And of course for dessert, the pecan pie for us southerners. And with the menu tasting, was surprised/delighted with little samples of tasting outside the selected 6 course menu. Only suggestion is asking that the soup be a little more temperature hot but definitely the heavy cream was noticeable and divine. Will definitely be back to this gem of a restaurant to try other low country selections!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad we found it!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The ambiance is advertised as having a Southern flavor. Well, the only thing Southern about Vidalia is having collard greens on the menu. That didn’t matter at all because my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant’s cool, understated elegance. My friend had the Low Country she-crab soup for her appetizer. The creamy soup contained lump crab and crab roe. I went with the heirloom beet salad with red quinoa, strawberries, sorrel, bleu cheese & walnuts. For my entrée, I went with the Coho Salmon, served with fava beans, Kentucky ham, red pearl onions in béarnaise. My friend went with lump crab cakes, her usual. There were served with broccoli rabe, shiitake mushrooms, apricots & creole mustard. It was all so delicious! The service was on par with the food. We’ll certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought my boyfriend here for dinner; ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

I brought my boyfriend here for dinner; the meal, service, and drinks were excellent. He had the shrimp and grits and she crab soup, a very rich meal. I enjoyed the same soup and the pork chop. The pork was cooked to perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vidalia. Great food for Liberals and Conservatives

Dined on March 29, 2016

This was our second visit to Vidalia. Both meals as well the service were 2nd to none. The Shrimp and Grits are a must have and is one of their signature dish's. Drinks are poured generously and the wait staff are right there for you every step. The crowning moment though is when the chef sends out little tasting surprises that are equally asgood as the rest of the meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Interesting updates on Southern US Cuisi ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Interesting updates on Southern US Cuisine. Tastes exceptional, presentation good, service excellent, and wine list solid. Had the 6 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Broad options in the tasting menu. Wine pairings interesting and most worked well. Wonderful gustatory experience. Will revisit Vidalia on my return to D.C.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vidalia On!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Been wanting to try Vidalia for quite some time, so when friends came to town for the Cherry Blossoms, couldn't think of a better opportunity. After perusing the menu, we all chose the same dish - the shrimp & grits! We all agreed the meal was exceptional, the cocktails were unique, & overall it was an excellent experience. Definitely worth a re-visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Gordon

Dined on March 21, 2016

We had an early reservation for 6 people including 2 children.With a dining room only 25% filled there was no reason for a 2 1/2 hour experience especially with the children. The waiter apologized and comped 2 of the 4 deserts ordered which was appreciated. The reason we like returning to Vidalia is because of the great food and we were not disappointed,the food was very good but a very good experience is when the service and food come together and in our case that was not the case this time. We will return but maybe not on a Monday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience! Exceptional res ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Outstanding experience! Exceptional restaurant. Run don't walk! It's wonderful!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.