Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Bistro BisBistro Bis
(2769)
$$$$
French | Capitol Hill, District of Columbia
Booked 23 times today
Woodward TableWoodward Table
(1216)
$$$$
American | Downtown, District of Columbia
Booked 26 times today
Rasika West EndRasika West End
(3091)
$$$$
Contemporary Indian | West End, District of Columbia
Booked 102 times today
Founding Farmers - DCFounding Farmers - DC
(20144)
$$$$
American | Foggy Bottom, District of Columbia
Booked 426 times today
Boqueria - DCBoqueria - DC
(1311)
$$$$
Spanish | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Booked 88 times today
Blue Duck TavernBlue Duck Tavern
(5083)
$$$$
American | West End, District of Columbia
Booked 67 times today
Le DiplomateLe Diplomate
(4945)
$$$$
French | Logan Circle, District of Columbia
Booked 221 times today
Old Ebbitt GrillOld Ebbitt Grill
(16340)
$$$$
American | Downtown, District of Columbia
Booked 307 times today
Farmers Fishers BakersFarmers Fishers Bakers
(4907)
$$$$
American | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 229 times today
Filomena RistoranteFilomena Ristorante
(8082)
$$$$
Italian | Georgetown, District of Columbia
Booked 89 times today
Bombay ClubBombay Club
(3337)
$$$$
Indian | Downtown, District of Columbia
Booked 56 times today
Tabard InnTabard Inn
(776)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Booked 67 times today
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DCJoe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
(2470)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, District of Columbia
Booked 100 times today
District CommonsDistrict Commons
(2619)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Foggy Bottom, District of Columbia
Booked 71 times today
RPM Italian - DCRPM Italian - DC
(896)
$$$$
Italian | Mt. Vernon Square, District of Columbia
Booked 147 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Permanently Closed - Vidalia

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Chef/owner Jeffrey Buben's Vidalia features an expanded bar with 25 wines by the glass, a beautiful private dining room for groups up to 40 people, our wine room and a soft contemporary dining room featuring warm, rich fabrics incorporated in new booths, banquets and comfortable dining chairs. We look forward to seeing you and also invite you to Chef Buben's other restaurants, Bistro Bis, located next to the Hotel George on Capital Hill and Woodward Table /Woodward Take Out located just one block from The White House . To find out more about Vidalia, Bistro Bis and Woodward Table visit our web site at www.vidaliadc.com , www.bistrobis.com or www.woodwardtable.com

1990 M Street
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday Open for dinner daily at 5 pm.



Cross Street:
20th St NW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 659-1990

Website:
http://www.vidaliadc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available during our normal business hours Monday - Saturday $10.00 per car. Local parking in garages is also available.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle Red Line

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Buben

Private Party Facilities:
Vidalia, a Washington favorite for its regional American cooking with a Southern influence, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Forester: (202) 659-1990

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Rachel Forester at rforester@vidaliadc.com to assist you with any of your private dining needs.

Sort By:
S
3269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Vidalia closed on the 15th after 20 some years. The fried chicken (and pecan pie) were the best in DC. I will miss it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great as usual! So sorry that they're closing after 28 years. I'll miss the food and the Lemon Chess pie.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Amazing mean. You will be missed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Vidalia is closing next week so I took my friend Dick who had recently sold Rumors on the same block. Rumors outlasted Vidalia by about 20 years but was in a different quadrant of the food business. Vidalai's fried chicken is and always has been awesome. Ditto for the pork chops blackeyed peas and collards . And the Pecan Pie! Dick and I will miss it.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Vidalia is an excellent, excellent restaurant. The Washington, DC restaurant scene is about to be a lot poorer because of its closing.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Apps came out fast but after that everything was a wait. My food was warm not hot and my coworker sent her food back and no one came to the table. Outside of the it was ok staff was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

My recent dining experience at Vidalia's was bittersweet. Such a great place. I've been dining there for almost 20 years, and every single visit has been a treat. Alas, it's scheduled to close in the very near future. Please convey my thanks and best regards to the folks there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our server meant well enough, but the manager (the manager?) seemed surprised to be there and treated us like we were Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

A very upscale restaurant in food and service. Attention to details very good.
And, above all, very quiet and excellent for conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Had been to Vidalia many years ago for work and had been wanting to take my husband there. It did not disappoint. Service was stellar, the food was delicious and the cocktails simply amazing! Warm intimate ambiance, but not stuffy. You can have fun and enjoy!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A very superior dining experience - we enjoyed our dinner here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The staff was exceptional, and the experience was worth coming from Canada to celebrate my wife's birthday! And the cuisine was up to its international reputation.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I was not impressed. I had heard great things about this restaurant and it did not live up to its expectations. I chose this restaurant because they had a tasting menu. At the top of the menu it said the six course tasting menu was $78 per person. No where did it sat that the whole table had to order the tasting menu or no one can have it. However, that's what our waitress advised us. She said the owner/chef would not allow one guest to order from the tasting menu when the other chose not to. I ordered the sweetbreads to start. They were delicious. However, the waffle they were served on tasted old and gritty. My wife ordered the crab cake entree and ordered the duck. The crab cakes were good but nothing special. The duck was uncooked (I said mid rare) and the fat was not rendered properly. The fat was still thick and grisly. The quinoa was bland and tasteless. Overall I was very disappointed in our food experience. The service was good though, she was very polite and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food and ambiance were great. Wait staff were pleasant and helpful, but timing was way off. Wine did not arrive until we were well in to the entre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food served in an up tight formal setting, lights too bright to be romantic and the service was haughty and lacked any charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My friend and I dined at Vedalia the 28th. We last were there in early February. It’s a subterranean restaurant downtown, and being underground gives it an intimate feel. The decor has an understated elegance, and the service is second-to-none. Some of the cocktails are smoked. At table side, the maître d’ burns a mixture of hickory & apple wood chips and places the glass upside down over the embers. You wouldn’t think that filling the glass with smoke would make a difference in the taste, but it does. My friend began with the Low Country she crab soup: lump crab is an apple butter, celery & marmalade sauce with old bay croutons. I started with the appetizer-size Maryland lump crab cake, served with southern-style greens slaw, preserved apricot & creole mustard. My friend then went with the crab cakes for her entrée. Both of us loved the tangy taste of the greens slaw. My entrée was the bison short ribs, covered with a root beer jus and served with glazed parsnips, lollipop kale & butternut squash puree. It was all so delicious! We finished by sharing a slice of Georgia pecan pie. The filling was so light.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We picked Vidalia because it was close to our hotel. and we really like sweetbreads. So we started with that appetizer and liked it very much. However, the rabbit special for the evening took an extra long time to show up and appeared a bit on the dry side. They had an interesting array of breads and spreads and a really good pecan pie. The restaurant does not have much ambiance. It was not bad, but there are a lot better restaurants in that area.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Definitely not for a casual dinner, impactful wine list, great service and a sophisticated southern menu of reengineered classics!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Really, really good upscale southern food. The shrimp and grits were some of the best I've ever had!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Great meal with friends! Excellent menu variety - wonderful she crab soup!
Definitely go back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Needed a quiet high quality place in DC and Vidalia fit the bill. Friendly and attentive but not overbearing service, interesting menu and great food. Great environment for having a conversation too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This restaurant was very good. Great spot for a business lunch. The bread basket was PHENOMENAL! Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Overall the food was good. The she-crab soup was delicious, as were the breads. Unfortunately, I ordered the trout and while it was tasty there were so many bones that I eventually gave up on it and just chatted with my friends instead. The sweet tea was also delicious, and given that good iced tea is hard to find in DC, that made up for the bones for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Has been a little while since my last visit to Vidalia. The food is still wonderful! Enjoyed a smoked rabbit loin that was fantastic, and an incredibly "light" pecan pie! However, the service was really slipshod. Was not brought either the wine list or the "specials" menu until I asked for it. Waiter seemed indifferent the whole time and not really helpful. This detracted from the overall wonderful experience of the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

A very pleasant business lunch for a party of 9. The booking was in fact for 8 and Vidalia was able to quickly accommodate an unexpected additional person. The assigned table was on the upper level which was ideal for our business discussions as the area was secluded and quiet. The food was superb and the attention first class. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 3, 2016

A return to one of my longtime DC favorites was a great experience. As usual, Vidalia was up to the challenge, serving well above average food along with excellent service. I particularly enjoyed the deconstructed pear cobbler, but it was all very tasty! I look forward to my next encounter!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The atmosphere, ambiance, food, and service is excellent! Loved the staff!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

second visit and the quality of the food was still 4 star.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Pork chop was tasty but a tad dry for my liking. It was cooked medium. So could a medium rare might have been better. Friendly wait staff and the bread service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Mediocre food and terrible service...will never go there again

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicious food, attentive service, elegant surrounding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Should have walked out when we arrived -- restaurant empty for a Saturday night, seated at corner banquette and host neglected to pull out table ( it was a squeeze) amuse bouche came -- on two spoons for three people ( odd) I had a tasteless watermelon gazpacho followed by a dry pork chop. My husband had fish with a lobster sauce ( he was ill afterwards.) it was a disappointing and pricey experience not to be repeated. The highlight was the bread plate -- four different kinds.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food and cocktails were both amazing. My wife and I went to celebrate her birfday, and were fully satisfied by the great food and terrific staff. Best shrimp and grits (so freakin' creamy) I've ever had. And the freshly smoked Manhattan really hit the spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! I had the tasting menu, it was superb! Service was great. I enjoyed every dish. Perfect place to dine for special occasions. Or just because!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Restaurant choisit un peu au hasard pendant notre séjour à Washington. Nous nous n'attendions pas à un restaurant de cette gamme et nous n'étions pas habillé comme nous aurions du.
Le rapport qualité prix est très intéressant avec un menu entre plat dessert à 35$. La qualité des ingrédient et la cuisine du chef est sans reproche.
Le vin est un peu cher par rapport au prix des plats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always, the food was amazing. However, the service was horrible. It took about 15 minutes for someone to come over and take our drink order, and about 20 minutes to get the desert menus. The tables with more than two people in the same room received more attention than us, and often times we could not gain the attention of our server, who wouldn't look in our direction. Incredibly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a pleasurable experience, from the first greeting to the final taste of dessert, Vidalia never disappoints. An adult restaurant that serves food that is interesting and satisfying, with service to match. Such a treasure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent dining experience was had at vidalia! The service, food, and ambience was just perfect!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our get together was during Restaurant Week, which often affects food quality. We felt the appetizer course was very good, but the entree just ok, and dessert choices need some spiffing up.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food, even during Restaurant Week, even though it was disappointing that we had to pay extra to get a steak for my son. They took good care of his gluten-free needs.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.