About Vidalia

1990 M Street
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Chef/owner Jeffrey Buben's Vidalia features an expanded bar with 25 wines by the glass, a beautiful private dining room for groups up to 40 people, our wine room and a soft contemporary dining room featuring warm, rich fabrics incorporated in new booths, banquets and comfortable dining chairs. We look forward to seeing you and also invite you to Chef Buben's other restaurants, Bistro Bis, located next to the Hotel George on Capital Hill and Woodward Table /Woodward Take Out located just one block from The White House . To find out more about Vidalia, Bistro Bis and Woodward Table visit our web site at www.vidaliadc.com , www.bistrobis.com or www.woodwardtable.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday Open for dinner daily at 5 pm.



Cross Street:
20th St NW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 659-1990

Website:
http://www.vidaliadc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available during our normal business hours Monday - Saturday $10.00 per car. Local parking in garages is also available.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle Red Line

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Buben

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Rachel Forester at rforester@vidaliadc.com to assist you with any of your private dining needs.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM 7:45PM - 8:45PM

Sat 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vidalia, a Washington favorite for its regional American cooking with a Southern influence, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Vidalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Washington, D.C. Area
Contemporary American
District of Columbia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (81)
special occasion (75)
romantic (52)
See All
notable wine list (33)
good for groups (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vidalia provides an outstanding dining e ...

Dined 3 days ago

Vidalia provides an outstanding dining experience near DuPont Circle on M Street NW in Washington DC. The dining room is relatively small, yet still allows for a private, intimate dining experience. Service is professional, prompt, knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly without the aloofness or condescension too often characteristic of other high end restaurants. The menu offers a wide selection, leaning toward a celebration of foods from the American South. The foie gras and shrimp & grits are to die for, as are the pecan pie and lemon chess pie! I highly recommend the $78 six-course menu; and consider adding a wine pairing for each course at a relatively low cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A Decade Later

Dined 5 days ago

I remembered the menus and atmosphere of over a decade earlier but as the adage: you can't go back...I likely should not have. A bit too pricey and not a menu that I could embrace very well. Service was very good and the food recevied was good; just not what I recalled nor appetizing for me this time around.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Best shrimp & grits I've ever had

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Best shrimp & grits I've ever had

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome four course meal. The crab cake ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Awesome four course meal. The crab cake appetizer was delicate and delicious. Both entrees, pork rib chop and pigeon was mouth drooling delicious. The desserts, flourless chocolate cake and pecan pie was perfect in sweetness and deliciousness. The final was superb coffee. If you have not noticed the number of times I have used delicious, then let me remind you that the dinner was delicious. The waiter and maitre d' presented immaculate service. I am in love with this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Solid Southern Fare

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Vidalia is a solid souther-style restaurant. Shrimp & grits, and crab cakes are its specialty. The she-crab soup was fantastic - creamy, with a hint of sherry and roe and chunks of crab meat. Service was outstanding. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. They paid attent ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and service. They paid attention to detail

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been to Vidalia many times over th ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We've been to Vidalia many times over the years and I'm glad to say it is still excellent. The service was amazing, as well. My shrimp and grits was perfect, although a chop another guest had was not quite as good as expected. But overall the food was terrific.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A not to miss DC gem

Dined on May 4, 2016

I love this restaurant! Being from the South, the cuisine reminds me of home cooking. The staff is the best. Very attentive but not intrusive. Greg is in the bar and has great wine recommendations that fit any budget. The macaroni and cheese side dish is a required side. You can never go wrong with their classic shrimp and grits. Go for any reason you are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Meh

Dined on May 2, 2016

Just meh..nothing interesting, nothing worth returning for. Ambiance very cold, just not pleasant

food4
ambience2
service4

The food was delicious - the waiter was ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was delicious - the waiter was attentive (almost too much). I had the pork chop and it was a generous portion. My husband had the lamb and we swapped halfway and both dishes were delicious. The pecan pie is a must for dessert.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Visalia is a lovely restaurant worth the stop

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had not gone to Visalia for a while, and we were very happy to return to meet some friends. The service was impeccable, the tasting menu was delicious, we loved the fact that it is not one of this trendy but extremely noisy restaurant. We were able to have a conversation with our friends without screaming. The food was excellent (except dessert - was not the best). I liked also the fact that they allowed us to bring some wine with a cork fee (which was not too much), and they were pleasant about it. Our friend has a great wine cellar, and wanted to bring something. Overall I highly recommend it, its lovely, great service, great food, great location, valet parking, and great staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vidalia is always immaculate!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had friends in from out of town and was excited to take them to Vidalia because it is always immaculate--and this time was no exception. Thanks to our super server Greg and the rest of the service and kitchen staff--from the front door to the bar through dessert everything was perfect! Jeff and Sallie have had this place for years, and the reason(s) is clear when you dine with them!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Over Priced

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was great, but I think a little over priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic food

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I went to Vidalia with my son for dinner while visiting Georgetown University. The food was fantastic and so was the service. The restaurante has a quite corporate and austere look, that may turn some people off but I do recommend it. I had the foie gras and the shrimp with grits. Just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding and the food was ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was outstanding and the food was great! Went for my birthday and it was perfect! The shrimp and grits was delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

25 years

Dined on April 13, 2016

We go to Vidalia when we want to feel good. The food is always flawless. The service the perfect balance; friendly, professional, unobtrusive. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with our younger daughter and Vidalia was the obvious choice - we were welcomed, congratulated and left feeling on cloud nine. What more could you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for conversation!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

One of the things I love most about Vidalia is that it is a great place for conversation. The food is also top-notch! This visit, I enjoyed the she-crab soup--chunks of lump crab in a velvety and creamy base with sherry and pickled onions, a wonderful flavor combination. The quail with berbere spice was also very good. But I think my favorite course of the night was the churros (fried dough) with a chocolate dipping sauce. The churros were amazingly light and airy! And the portion is definitely big enough to share. Finally, the sommelier is also top-notch and helped us find a terrific wine that went perfectly with our main courses. I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

My parents had come to town for the cher ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

My parents had come to town for the cherry blossom festival and a colleague had recommended Vidalia as a dinner suggestion. We were seated 10 minutes before our reservation and our waiter was extremely attentive to detail , the food was delicious, and presented beautifully. I would recommend this place to any and everyone. Also, great martinis.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is our third time at Visalia, the second to celebrate a special occasion. The food is great, the service thoughtful and the ambiance and decor are lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Elegantly Casual

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We have been going to Vidalia once every year or so for about the last 15 years. The service, food preparation, and atmosphere have retained the same level of quality over that time frame. We had a few cocktails, one of which was prepared tableside and smoked. Our most recent trip found us dining on the beet salad and the sweetbreads and waffles, which were super (although the sauce with the sweetbreads was a bit too sweet for our taste). We then had the pork chop, shrimp and grits, and the monkfish, all of which were served hot and very flavorful. Our server was very attentive and personable, making the evening all the more enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb low country cooking!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Having lived in Charleston, S.C, wanted to try low-country cooking again as I've missed their cuisine. It was my birthday & what a wonderful experience. Definitely recommend the 6-course food tasting menu, you won't be disappointed. Definitely worth the price with more food than you can eat! Recommend the she-crab soup of course with the brandy included, shrimp and grits, and the pork chop which was a family size portion & delicious. The hush puppies were delicious/crisp & tasty. And of course for dessert, the pecan pie for us southerners. And with the menu tasting, was surprised/delighted with little samples of tasting outside the selected 6 course menu. Only suggestion is asking that the soup be a little more temperature hot but definitely the heavy cream was noticeable and divine. Will definitely be back to this gem of a restaurant to try other low country selections!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Glad we found it!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The ambiance is advertised as having a Southern flavor. Well, the only thing Southern about Vidalia is having collard greens on the menu. That didn’t matter at all because my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant’s cool, understated elegance. My friend had the Low Country she-crab soup for her appetizer. The creamy soup contained lump crab and crab roe. I went with the heirloom beet salad with red quinoa, strawberries, sorrel, bleu cheese & walnuts. For my entrée, I went with the Coho Salmon, served with fava beans, Kentucky ham, red pearl onions in béarnaise. My friend went with lump crab cakes, her usual. There were served with broccoli rabe, shiitake mushrooms, apricots & creole mustard. It was all so delicious! The service was on par with the food. We’ll certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought my boyfriend here for dinner; ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

I brought my boyfriend here for dinner; the meal, service, and drinks were excellent. He had the shrimp and grits and she crab soup, a very rich meal. I enjoyed the same soup and the pork chop. The pork was cooked to perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vidalia. Great food for Liberals and Conservatives

Dined on March 29, 2016

This was our second visit to Vidalia. Both meals as well the service were 2nd to none. The Shrimp and Grits are a must have and is one of their signature dish's. Drinks are poured generously and the wait staff are right there for you every step. The crowning moment though is when the chef sends out little tasting surprises that are equally asgood as the rest of the meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Interesting updates on Southern US Cuisi ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Interesting updates on Southern US Cuisine. Tastes exceptional, presentation good, service excellent, and wine list solid. Had the 6 course tasting menu with wine pairings. Broad options in the tasting menu. Wine pairings interesting and most worked well. Wonderful gustatory experience. Will revisit Vidalia on my return to D.C.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vidalia On!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Been wanting to try Vidalia for quite some time, so when friends came to town for the Cherry Blossoms, couldn't think of a better opportunity. After perusing the menu, we all chose the same dish - the shrimp & grits! We all agreed the meal was exceptional, the cocktails were unique, & overall it was an excellent experience. Definitely worth a re-visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Gordon

Dined on March 21, 2016

We had an early reservation for 6 people including 2 children.With a dining room only 25% filled there was no reason for a 2 1/2 hour experience especially with the children. The waiter apologized and comped 2 of the 4 deserts ordered which was appreciated. The reason we like returning to Vidalia is because of the great food and we were not disappointed,the food was very good but a very good experience is when the service and food come together and in our case that was not the case this time. We will return but maybe not on a Monday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience! Exceptional res ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Outstanding experience! Exceptional restaurant. Run don't walk! It's wonderful!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good Food Trumped by Bad Service Decision

Dined on March 19, 2016

Visited Vidalia on a recent business visit to DC. I have repeatedly visited Chef Buben's other restaurants in DC (Bistro Bis, Woodward Table). This was my first visit to Vidalia. It was to be a table for 2 but my dinner companion was delayed into DC due to weather. So it was a table for 1. I called to make sure that would be okay with them. They were most welcoming when I called and when I arrived. I was surprised that the restaurant was practically empty. It filled up a little. But when I departed at 8:20 PM (after a 7:00 PM reservation) the restaurant was busier, but there were plenty of open tables. I stress this as it was clear that my 'downgrade' to a single diner clearly did not prevent the restaurant from hosting a larger party. I was not preventing them from greater revenue. While the shrimp and grits and the she crab soup were excellent, the dinner was dampened by either the restaurant's policy and/or the waiter's attitude. I asked if one of the sides, clearly labeled as being intended for 2 or more diners, could be made as a half order. The waiter said 'no' and left it at that. I did not order the side. I have dined at many fine restaurants, mostly steakhouses, which have large orders of sides designed to be shared. At times when I have been a single diner, every restaurant (including Del Friscos, Palm, Mortons, Smith and Wolensky, BLT Steak, etc) have obliged me with a half-order of a side. But not Buben's Vidalia. I was very disappointed and that really placed a pall over what I was hoping to be a delightful dinner. As I previously noted, the soup and the shrimp and grits were excellent; but there remained a sour taste in my mouth that ultimately sealed the evening for me. Again, it's not like I was holding a table from a larger party which could have resulted in more revenue for the restaurant or a higher gratuity for the waiter. Regrettably, I will not be back. PS. the coffee (French press) was excellent. The pecan pie was not.

food5
ambience5
service5

I was dinning for my birthday .The dishe ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

I was dinning for my birthday .The dishes are presented and are cooked really well. I had the monkfish that was cooked perfectly and had been complemented with lobster served with smooth chutney I think it had a hint of basil. The macroni and cheese side was also really good and the cheese didn't feel heavy at all like it usually does with Mac not cheese. We had the quail on the table too and it was cooked just like how I like it. I have had the pleasure of eating quail since my childhood so I know how hard this dish is to prepared but the chef really balanced it with how it tasted. Shrimp and grits were also really soft and were arrange with a porridge type barley gravy that made it taste even better. Will be back soon to dine at this place and I kinda fell in love with the bar very relaxing for after dinner sherry

food5
ambience5
service5

Jeff Buben continues to do a consistentl ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Jeff Buben continues to do a consistently great job after 23 years. Food is excellent and the staff is awesome

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We have been coming here for more than 15 years. It is the most consistently excellent restaurant in the DC area, and dinner was wonderful, as it always is.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Has quality gone down?

Dined on March 9, 2016

Maybe we just had a bad night, we used to love this restaurant and recommend hands down to friends. After my wife and I sat (in a strange corner, surrounded by many filled tables while other areas were left completely empty), it took 15 minutes to get our drinks ordered. The food was very average, not the high-quality you-cannot-make-at-home kind we experienced in the past. Dessert was the only memorable dish. Not bad food, but not special either.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Overhyped

Dined on March 7, 2016

Most of what was served was plate. If you arrive hungry, you'll leave the same way; just lighter in the wallet. The waiters were not attendant. The room was noisy. A delivery person banged on the door for 5 minutes before someone let them walk through the dining room with their delivery. It's subterranean, so there is no view.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Why didn't I go sooner?

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Have worked in DC for 4 years and never tried Vidalia. Great food, attentive service, wonderful dinner for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner before the Kennedy Center

Dined on February 27, 2016

We made our reservation at 5PM so we could make a 7:30 PM show at the Kennedy Center. We were able to enjoy a leisurely dinner and still make the theater without any problem. Our meal was amazing. The service was refined and warm. When we told the waiter the last time we dined here, he told the general manager who came out and introduced himself and welcomed us back. We each had a salad that was perfectly dressed. i had the scallop special which was perfectly paired with the gruner veltleiner. My wife had the rabbit paired with a tempernillo. Both entrees were just magnificent. The bread service was one of the best I have ever had, especially the biscuit. While dinner was expensive, this was a case where we got what we paid for. It was well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Family friendly, great fast service, and ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Family friendly, great fast service, and food was very good. 3.5 year old enjoyed crab cakes and sweetbreads w waffles!

food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific food. Excellent service. The Ch ...

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Terrific food. Excellent service. The Chef's creations are fun and delicious. The she-crab soup is PERFECTLY AMAZING.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Formal Dining has never felt so good

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Even though the setting of the restaurant is formal, we were able to fit some informality. We weren't wearing a suit and tie as the rest of its guests. Four of us randomly visiting DC decided to try dinner at Vidalia for first time. Plans that weren't planned turn out better... Great service, food amazing and the ambience was ideal to allow us for a good conversation with friends. Avg age, 35-65, best for dating, formal and corporate dining or a late-night find with a touch of class.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice DC restaurant

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Enjoyable meal with good service. Portions are a reasonable size & not too pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.