About Vidalia

1990 M Street
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Chef/owner Jeffrey Buben's Vidalia features an expanded bar with 25 wines by the glass, a beautiful private dining room for groups up to 40 people, our wine room and a soft contemporary dining room featuring warm, rich fabrics incorporated in new booths, banquets and comfortable dining chairs. We look forward to seeing you and also invite you to Chef Buben's other restaurants, Bistro Bis, located next to the Hotel George on Capital Hill and Woodward Table /Woodward Take Out located just one block from The White House . To find out more about Vidalia, Bistro Bis and Woodward Table visit our web site at www.vidaliadc.com , www.bistrobis.com or www.woodwardtable.com

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday Open for dinner daily at 5 pm.



Cross Street:
20th St NW

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 659-1990

Website:
http://www.vidaliadc.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking available during our normal business hours Monday - Saturday $10.00 per car. Local parking in garages is also available.

Public Transit:
Dupont Circle Red Line

Executive Chef:
Jeffrey Buben

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Rachel Forester at rforester@vidaliadc.com to assist you with any of your private dining needs.

Restaurant Photos

Baked Macaroni
Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Georgia Pecan Pie
Sweetbreads & Waffles
Pork Pate
Roast Pork Loin
Founders Dry Hopped Pale Ale
Spiced Crusted Duck Breast
Earl Grey
DuClaw Hellrazer IPA
Peanut Butter S'More
Shenandoah Lamb Duo
Shrimp and Grits
Peanut Butter S’More
Stiff Cocktails
Rock Shrimp Hushpuppies And Deviled Eggs
Mac and Cheese
Frogmore Stew
Wisteria Cocktail
Crisp Berkshire Pork Trotter
Tobacco Road Cocktail
Amuse-bouche
Hamachi Crudo
baked onion
Braised Barbecue Bison Short Ribs
Barbeque Shrimp With Cornbread
Kennebec Potato Chips With Tasso Ham Dip
steak tartare
Pork Chop
Braised Short Ribs
Cocoa Rubbed Venison Loin
Peach Crisp
Pork Scrapple and Eggs
Apple Crumble Cake
Seared Scallops
Jack and Coke
St. Mary's Style Crab Cakes
Lemon Cream Tart
Pork Belly
Quail
Sweetbread
Ahi tuna
Vidalia Onions
Beet Salad
Foie Gras With Bing Cherry Coullis
Braised Bison Short Ribs
Lemon Chess Pie
Venison Pluck Fra Diavolo with Mint and Onion Ash
Crab Cakes
Desserts
Pork Scrapple
Oyster Pan Roast
Wine Sampling

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 6:45PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Vidalia, a Washington favorite for its regional American cooking with a Southern influence, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Vidalia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Washington, D.C. Area
Fit for Foodies
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (44)
Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (33)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful dining experience! I had the t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful dining experience! I had the tasting menu, it was superb! Service was great. I enjoyed every dish. Perfect place to dine for special occasions. Or just because!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the food was amazing. However ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always, the food was amazing. However, the service was horrible. It took about 15 minutes for someone to come over and take our drink order, and about 20 minutes to get the desert menus. The tables with more than two people in the same room received more attention than us, and often times we could not gain the attention of our server, who wouldn't look in our direction. Incredibly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Always a pleasurable experience, from th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a pleasurable experience, from the first greeting to the final taste of dessert, Vidalia never disappoints. An adult restaurant that serves food that is interesting and satisfying, with service to match. Such a treasure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent dining experience was had at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent dining experience was had at vidalia! The service, food, and ambience was just perfect!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our get together was during Restaurant W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our get together was during Restaurant Week, which often affects food quality. We felt the appetizer course was very good, but the entree just ok, and dessert choices need some spiffing up.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I am very disappointed in my experience. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I am very disappointed in my experience. This restaurant came highly recommended to us. Our server, George, was rude from the moment we arrived. He was very snooty and condescending the entire time, which ruined our experience. As far as the food goes, it was OK. The peach gazpacho was room temp, I'm not sure if the server let it sit or if that is how the kitchen sent it out. The cobia was good, but, I won't return to this place. I would recommend Blue Duck Tavern instead. It close to this location and the food and service was much better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Great food - great value for restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food - great value for restaurant week. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant week menu -- lots of at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good restaurant week menu -- lots of attractive options! Fabulous service! Good value in house wines for restaurant week. Our only gripe is that the pecan pie was in the OK category -- should be a home run for these guys. Everything else was VERY VERY good -- just got to be careful to pace yourself and not eat too much of these rich and wonderful southern delicacies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been awhile since we were last at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It had been awhile since we were last at Vidalia and went there this week for Restaurant Week. What a memorable occasion, the highlights of which were incredible food, exquisite presentations, nice extras, and excellent service. Among all the superb dishes, two stood out: a unique and delicious beef tartare, and an over-the-top (both taste and quantity) lamb shank. Kudos to Vidalia for their impressive RW showing!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an excellent, quiet night out with f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had an excellent, quiet night out with friends. Well decorated and clean restaurant with an excellent wine list and solid, well balanced Southern food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Walking downstairs to the inviting bar/l ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Walking downstairs to the inviting bar/lounge area was perfect inducement for a pre-meal cocktail. Mid-August dining meant we literally had the place to ourselves -- 1 or 2 other tables was it! Service was therefore impeccable and even though the restaurant was quite empty the full menu was available. We began w/sweatbreads and waffle , the fresh corn & crab soup, & the peach gazpacho w/MD crab -- all wonderful. For dinner course we ordered crab cakes w/succotosh & the rockfish dish w/lobster, leeks, an egg & onion soubise. Again all delicious. Ended meal w/classic pecan pie alamode & a delicious coconut and citrus creation that was divine!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been there for a number of yea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We hadn't been there for a number of years. The restaurant was far better than I remembered it--and I remembered it as being very good. The service was better than most restaurants at that price point, both meticulous and friendly. They had several prix fixe options but we ordered a la carte, sharing a delicious foie gras appetizer. We then enjoyed two house classics, the shrimp and grits and the pork rib chop. Portions were generous and most flavorful. We also enjoyed a complementary plate of breads and spreads. Cocktails were unique and well-prepared. We shared a peach mouse for dessert. It is a quiet part of town at night but this restaurant is worth the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was flawless and the food de ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was flawless and the food delicious. We did the tasting menu and liked every single thing brought out. The tasting menu has flexibility to it, so there was no issue being served things that we didn't like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

THis was a milestone birthday for me. Ha ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

THis was a milestone birthday for me. Had an opportunity to share dinner with a Grandson that I seldom see. The service was very attentive without being intrusive. The food was delicious! This was a referral from my travel agent who had been there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

During the end of the week, we had a gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

During the end of the week, we had a great meal. The restaurant was not very busy and the service was fine. We totality enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined here for my wife's birthday. The d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Dined here for my wife's birthday. The downstairs, windowless location threw me off initially. Then the first class service kicked in, from maitre D to waiter to support staff. All excellent. Food presentation exceeded my expectations. Foodies would love the chef's creativity. Looking forward to visiting again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Presentation of t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was excellent. Presentation of the food was great. Excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three close friends of many years met fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Three close friends of many years met for dinner to catch up on one another's lives and activities because each one had been traveling both for social and business reasons in recent weeks. I picked Vidalia for our reunion on recommendation of an interior design business owner. One dining guest said her daughter identified Vidalia as the best restaurant in the District. Two of the three gentleman who greeted us were gracious and made us feel quite welcomed. One was a bit pretentious. Our waiter named Will warmed up to us and attended to our needs but did not identify himself until the end of our dining experience. All three of us had the peach and crab gazpacho for the first course and we loved it! Two of our party had the Blue Plate selection of vegetables (one of our party was vegetarian) and both indicated their pleasure in eating them. I selected the Chesapeake Bay Rock Fish. There was a melange of breads among which the corn bread was considered divine. We had cappuccinos but I found the choices and the desert I ate unremarkable. Now having said all this, the standard for comparison for us on DC's best has to be Rose's Luxury on Barrack's Row. We will have to see what the ratings are by Michelin this fall.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I can only say try the shrimp and grits, ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I can only say try the shrimp and grits, it is great--but so is everything else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef made everything fresh and serve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The chef made everything fresh and served us accordingly. The staff was very nice to me and my daughter it was our first time there and in D.C. I would recommend this to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

came here on my last night of my parents ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

came here on my last night of my parents' visit and had an amazing dinner. we had an 8:00 reservation but called and they were able to seat us at 7:00. the restaurant was pretty empty which was surprising because the food is SO GOOD. it's a little on the pricey side, but they bring so much extra food (we got a pate amuse-bouche and a spread of different breads with different spreads). the peach gazpacho was delicious and we really loved the broccoli side and the porkchop. make sure to save room for dessert, though - we got two and loved them both. it's very romantic and quiet, and would definitely make foor a great date spot as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the perfect setting to have a d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was the perfect setting to have a delicious meal. We thoroughly enjoyed the food. The atmosphere was relaxing and the service was top notched. Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vidalia has never disappointed me and th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Vidalia has never disappointed me and this visit was no exception. The food is terrific (signature dish is the shrimp & grits) and they change the menu seasonally. The service is equally outstanding and our server was attentive, friendly and professional. The ambiance also is exceptional there and it is clear that they place a high value on the satisfaction of their customers. I would wholeheartedly recommend Vidalia to others and give them my highest and unqualified praise!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the tasting menu and the food was ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We did the tasting menu and the food was absolutely delicious. Not only did we have 6 courses, there were various plates served while waiting for the next course. The crab cake was exceptional along with the pork chop. The service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The smoked cocktails were amazing. The s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The smoked cocktails were amazing. The shrimp and grits were some of the best I've ever had. We went for our anniversary and they took such good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food and wine selections were outsta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our food and wine selections were outstanding and service was wonderful and fun. Vidalia's was exceptionally quiet on a Saturday before a holiday which gave us time to interact with the staff and bartender as well. An excellent experience overall.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just an outstanding dinner experience on ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Just an outstanding dinner experience on a slow Monday night. Went for the food but the service was outstanding and the room was so relaxing. The menu was very interesting and everything we ordered was sensational. Its not a budget restaurant but it seems competitively priced for downtown DC. Hope we someday find someplace this good in our city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding with many unique dishes. Goo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding with many unique dishes. Good for any occasion or no occasion at all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet, elegant restaurant with excellent ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Quiet, elegant restaurant with excellent food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

VERY disappointing. Will never return. F ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

VERY disappointing. Will never return. Food incredibly bland and did not reflect descriptions in menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The service was excellent. Our food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service was excellent. Our food was delicious but the menu was very limited. Not advertised as a seafood restaurant, there were not many options for non seafood eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

a grown ups' restaurant with delicious f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

a grown ups' restaurant with delicious food and great service, ambience, and noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a rare gem-- white tablecloths, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a rare gem-- white tablecloths, quiet, great food, nice decor, and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent but.....

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food quality, service and ambiance was amazing! I love the location! However, I believe it was a bit overpriced for the portions that was served. I order a quail for $35 and got a portion the size of a quails leg, Other than that...it was perfect!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Very elegant restaurant

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Vidalia was a beautiful romantic restaurant with very good food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Started out great, then faded off a bit

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were quite impressed with the initial bread sampler, the surprise amuse bouche, some of the other items we ordered were also delicious. I wasn't super impressed with the tuna...tasted like it wasn't cooked quite enough (even for "rare") which I normally order.

The service was interesting...our server started out with a bang, then drinks sat empty, plates weren't cleared...and we realized later we never saw him again after our entrees came. I thought that was odd...luckily there was other staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

41st Anniversary dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

One wonderful food evening. Had the tasting menu and enjoyed everything on it. Service was excellent! Best dinner we had in DC!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, nice ambience and friendly se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Good food, nice ambience and friendly service. We were there on a holiday weekend so the restaurant was a little quiet. I am sure this is a popular restaurant. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went at 9 pm. Everything was great bu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We went at 9 pm. Everything was great but I think one of the waiters forgot about us. Robert jumped in and was wonderful. Definitely a keeper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Vidalia provides an outstanding dining e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Vidalia provides an outstanding dining experience near DuPont Circle on M Street NW in Washington DC. The dining room is relatively small, yet still allows for a private, intimate dining experience. Service is professional, prompt, knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly without the aloofness or condescension too often characteristic of other high end restaurants. The menu offers a wide selection, leaning toward a celebration of foods from the American South. The foie gras and shrimp & grits are to die for, as are the pecan pie and lemon chess pie! I highly recommend the $78 six-course menu; and consider adding a wine pairing for each course at a relatively low cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.