Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse

Victoria Station & Vic's Boathouse is a Staple on the North Shore and stands above the rest for their unique proximity to the water, historic ambiance and tempting menu items. American comfort cuisine and fresh, locally sourced fish and vegetables are key ingredients to staying true to Victoria Station's traditions while still captivating a new generation. Vic's Boathouse offers local craft beers and traditional brews, elegant wines, chic martinis and creative pub fare. Come and enjoy great food and drink, live music, and a slight ocean breeze in a setting that's the definition of waterfront "wow".
"Best Bar North of Boston" by Boston Magazine

86 Wharf Street
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
New Derby Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-3400

Website:
http://www.victoriastationsalem.com/

Entertainment:
Wednesday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- STUMP TRIVIA;

Friday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Saturday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Sundays (April through December 6 pm-9 pm) - ACOUSTIC PERFORMANCES & REGGAE

Catering:
A venue isn't just a physical space in which to hold your event – it should be a place where you want to create memories. At Victoria Station, every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant, we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees, and desserts.

Parking Details:
Parking Garage located on Congress Street.

Public Transit:
Train service: Newburyport/Rockport Commuter Rail Line from Boston"s North Station; Bus service: Bus Route 450; Salem Depot - Boston Via Highland & Western Ave; Bus Route 455/459; Salem Depot - Haymarket or Downtown Crossing Via Loring Ave.,Central Sq.,Lynn & Western Ave.;Bus Route 451; North Beverly - Salem Depot Via Cabot St. or Sohier Rd.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chumpitazi

Private Party Facilities:
Every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our function facilities range from cozy, small-scale private rooms to larger sized private areas with floor to ceiling bay windows, providing panoramic views of the Salem waterfront. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees and desserts. To accommodate each and every guest, we gladly cater to individual needs or dietary restrictions.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Collett: (978) 745-3400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Bridal Showers, Baby Showers, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Social Gatherings & Events, Banquets, Holiday Parties, Family Reunions, Christenings, Corporate Luncheons & Dinners, Business Parties, Retirement Parties, Award/Recognition Events, Fundraisers and Private Events

Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Scenic View (10)
Waterfront (8)
See All
Cozy (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fireplace (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Historic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great menu and service. Decor needs refreshing. Super view. Salad bar q hit.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our waitress was excellent, very friendly and professional. I had friends visiting from Spain and wanted to try a little of different New England foods. She served everything in a way that was easy to share .

Food was very good, except the baked haddock, which was overlooked. I especially enjoyed the fried calamari, the fish and chips and the fried clams. Cooked to perfection.

Beer selection emphasizing IPAs.

I had been at Victoria's Station before and I will continue going every time I am in Salem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was very good. Salad bar is excellent. Wait staff was very attentive. Wait staff recommended beer that all of us liked. We are frequent patrons and are never disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and timely with serving food and drink. Excellent waiter

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Victoria Station never disappoints. The food is great and they have a fabulous salad bar.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Went out to eat with another couple. Requested a table for 4 next to the fireplace which was waiting for us when we arrived AND it was a real wood fireplace not a fake gas one. Ambiance couldn't have been better. Two of us had the all you can eat steak tips which were cooked to order and two in our party had the all you can eat fried haddock, which was cooked perfectly, moist and not greasy. We also ordered stuffed mushrooms before our meal which were also excellent. The drinks were great ( wharf rats) and there was a nice selection of wines. Our server Tom was also great. Very friendly and attentive. We easily spent 2 hours there just relaxing by the fire and talking. We never felt rushed, we did go on a Wednesday night and it was not too busy. I would highly recommend this restaurant and we will be returning soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was good. With so many choices in Salem I would pick another place. Service was extremely slow. I believe because of the nice weather everyone came out and they were short staffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was very fresh and Delicious! I love coming there ! It has become my Fiancée and I favorite place to dine out when ever we go to Salem! My mouth is watering just thinking about it! I can't wait till next time !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

food was good service was good,it was very cold in the resturaunt

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall food lacked intense flavors. Thirty minutes to find a parking spot was maddening!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had terrible service the night we went. They accepted our reservation of 8 people and we had to wait 2 hours to receive our food. When we did receive our food 3 of us had to send our food back because it was burned. The management apologized, as did the waiter, explaining by that they had a party of 35 people that put them behind in the kitchen. They did not charge us for those 3 dinners and comped our desserts. I don't think we will go back, but to their credit they tried to make up for an awful dining experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and food. Great for all occasions, with awesome view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was Valentine's Day and I pick this restaurant because was in a list of restaurants that I can go on Valentine's, but the restaurant didn't do anything special..flower, chocolate.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was slow from the kitchen. waiter was apologetic.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love the prime rib and the salad bar is alway fresh with an abundance of choices.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I got the fried clams they could've been fried better I didn't even take them home that's unusual for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I love the salad bar and the food is always good. I am never disappointed. You

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Not many restaurants serve beef ribs. These are delicious there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I was there several years back and was disappointed. I had a few other people say that as well. Since I really always liked the restaurant I decided to give it a try with some friends that were in from CT. The meals were very good and the service was good too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As usual, our evening at Victoria Station was a delight. The staff was great! We were a party of 13 with a baby and our waitress took great care of us. We loved salad bar with it's crisp vegetables, delicious dressings and other yummy bites. Everyone raved about their main meals from seafood to beef. I would highly recommend Victoria Station for any kind of occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. The food was excellent as was the atmosphere. Our waitress was courteous and attentive to our requests. Overall an outstanding night.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food both the haddock and prime rib were excellent. Mike our waiter was very attentive and helpful with menu suggestions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Our server, Tom, was wonderful. He was very attentive and friendly. Clam chowder was amazing, but the rest of our meal left much to be desired. We were on vacation from out of town and saw food reviews, but we're

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went here with my parents and fiancee in search of potential rehearsal dinner locations for his parents. The food was great and service was good. They still make cocktails that are classic and made 35 years ago.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I typically grab a meal here during Halloween time. The menu is always filled with many choices. Their New England Clam Chowder is delicious. Their Haddock sandwich is made from fresh fish. I also have to compliment the restaurant on their vast Draft beer selection.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was recently in Salem for Halloweekend with my mom and a group of our girlfriends. We made a reservation a few months in advance, since we were traveling from Pennsylvania, and we were not disappointed! The food was excellent, the prices were reasonable, the service was fantastic, and the view was beautiful. I would eat here again if I ever come back to Salem, and I would surely recommend this restaurant to others!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We visited during Halloween weekend and we are glad we used Open Table for the reservation becasue they were not accepting parties without reservation. Food was good- I had salmon (good) and wife had steak (fair). Staff was very friendly on a very busy night.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was really slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our experience was amazing! 2'We visited Salem for the first time and I had made a reservation online not knowing what to expect and were pleasantly surprised ! We will def return

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Early to arrive - easy to get seated. I'm a huge salmon fan but the seasoning on it tried to make it into something it wasn't. I'm a culinary school grad and I couldn't figure it out. Nearly inedible even though the cut was perfect and it was cooked perfectly from a doneness perspective. 2/3rds of it was left on my plate and the server didn't blink an eye as to why when I said please take it away. The fries were absolutely disgusting, with just a handful eaten. Frozen in a bag and then over fried. Why not do fresh cut?

Husband got the chicken parm sandwich and he had to use my glasses to identify the chicken breast. Tiny. And tasteless. Again disgusting.

For a couple who traveled to Salem from Washington DC and chose this as our Friday night dinner date - and a $28 Uber ride to get there - I cannot tell you how disappointed we were, and we are very reasonable people. I know what it takes to operate a kitchen.

We thought about taking this up with our server (see above), but decided against making our night even worse so we just paid our bill - still leaving a very respectable tip given everything - but very quickly got the hell out of there. This may have just been an off night but if you have your hard earned vacation dollars to spend, please spend it elsewhere. We will be talking about this miserable experience for a long time to come - it was that bad.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Nicely done. We were celebrating with a retirement luncheon. Everything was lovely. I took advantage of having flowers delivered and they were at the table as promised, and quite a nice bouquet. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and the atmosphere was perfect for a small gathering. I would highly recommend Victoria Station for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The only thing I would recommend is to have better handicap access to the outdoor seating area so a customer that is handicap and has difficulty walking does not have to walk all the way around

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Victoria's Station is fun, funky and full of options. A broad menu made it difficult for us to choose what to order. All of our choices, including the cocktails, were very good and the price was reasonable. The service was a little bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

While the waitstaff was friendly and courteous, our waiter was responsible for a party of 25 in the other room, and left us for large periods. Also, the salad bar was decent, but very generic in my opinion. When our dinner arrived, the fries were cold. It seemed as though they weren't prepared to deal with a regular crowd and the large party. There should have been one dedicated waitperson for the party, so the waiter didn't have to run back and forth. Also, we were told there were no specials because there was a large party. I spoke to the Manager and he was very attentive and apologetic. The restaurant is right on the water and it would be a better experience having appetizers and drinks outside, if the weather permitted.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wasn't expecting much in that friends had said no way. I relented and took my daughter there. Its a throw back with salad bar with decent family food, a 99 called something else. My prime rib dip was fine and my daughter liked the mac and cheese appetizer size and said it was CP inspired and flavored.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Family Style, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was not very tasty. I has the Bolognese which was bland and had no flavor. The salad bar was the best thing on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Pickering Wharf is a great place to dine and Victoria Station has the "best" prime rib.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have been to a few Victoria's Stations. This is a great place and you can't beat the view of Salem Harbor.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I booked a table based on reviews, I chanced it regardless of the hit or miss reviews. Unfortunately we got a miss this night. Maybe it was due to late in the day, I'm being kind in saying this, service was poor. Our waitress seemed annoyed with us, they were not busy this night so maybe she had a long day. Food was mediocre and didn't feel fresh at all, actually 2 out of 6 in our party became ill at our hotel later that night. My food was actually deducted from the bill being that I had too much sand and small rocks from the fried clams. Overall I would give this place another chance and hope for a good night, whenever I pass through Salem that is.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2016

THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THE FOOD AND SERVICE, THE FOOD WAS GOOD AND WE WERE NOT RUSHED. THE WAITER WAS PATIENT AND EVEN LAUGHED WITH US

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.