Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse

Victoria Station & Vic's Boathouse is a Staple on the North Shore and stands above the rest for their unique proximity to the water, historic ambiance and tempting menu items. American comfort cuisine and fresh, locally sourced fish and vegetables are key ingredients to staying true to Victoria Station's traditions while still captivating a new generation. Vic's Boathouse offers local craft beers and traditional brews, elegant wines, chic martinis and creative pub fare. Come and enjoy great food and drink, live music, and a slight ocean breeze in a setting that's the definition of waterfront "wow".
"Best Bar North of Boston" by Boston Magazine

86 Wharf Street
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
New Derby Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-3400

Website:
http://www.victoriastationsalem.com/

Entertainment:
Wednesday Nights (8 pm-10 pm)- STUMP TRIVIA;

Friday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Saturday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Sundays (April through December 2 pm-5 pm) - ACOUSTIC PERFORMANCES

Catering:
A venue isn't just a physical space in which to hold your event – it should be a place where you want to create memories. At Victoria Station, every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant, we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees, and desserts.

Parking Details:
Parking Garage located on Congress Street.

Public Transit:
Train service: Newburyport/Rockport Commuter Rail Line from Boston"s North Station; Bus service: Bus Route 450; Salem Depot - Boston Via Highland & Western Ave; Bus Route 455/459; Salem Depot - Haymarket or Downtown Crossing Via Loring Ave.,Central Sq.,Lynn & Western Ave.;Bus Route 451; North Beverly - Salem Depot Via Cabot St. or Sohier Rd.

Executive Chef:
Joel Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our function facilities range from cozy, small-scale private rooms to larger sized private areas with floor to ceiling bay windows, providing panoramic views of the Salem waterfront. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees and desserts. To accommodate each and every guest, we gladly cater to individual needs or dietary restrictions.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Collett: (978) 745-3400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Bridal Showers, Baby Showers, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Social Gatherings & Events, Banquets, Holiday Parties, Family Reunions, Christenings, Corporate Luncheons & Dinners, Business Parties, Retirement Parties, Award/Recognition Events, Fundraisers and Private Events

Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (27)
Waterfront (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
See All
Casual (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
People Watching (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

This fit the needs for our group of 12. Service was excellent! 7 kids and 5 adults.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

I went here with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. It was great! They accommodated 9 of us (with a reservation, of course), and the service was great. Make sure to get the salad bar, too...it's delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Busy weekend reservations suggested. We had reservations at 4:30 but it took 2 hours to get out of there. Waited an hour for food and 30 minutes for dessert. Asked 3 times for the check because we were running late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had five in our party and all but one of us had a portion or all of our main meal disappoint us. Someone in the kitchen over-seasoned with pepper: the mashed potato sides on four dishes, teriyaki steak tips on one dish, and the baked haddock on another dish. The asparagus sides were thin and chewy. Two of us had the prime rib which were cooked to requested temperature and seasoned perfectly, but the sides as described above were not. The only dish in our party that did not disappoint was the fish and chips, average not remarkable. The dining experience started as promising. The calamari and coconut shrimp appetizers were enjoyable. Two cups of chowder and the French onion soup were also good. Our server was attentive, but it took thirty minutes after we finished the soups and appetizers before we were served our meals, and this was at 4 pm on a Sunday. The restaurant was not very busy. Our tab including tip was about $225.00 and no alcoholic beverages were purchased. We passed on dessert. Sadly, Victoria Station was an old favorite, but this was the second consecutive subpar experience. There won’t be a third.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Vic's never disappoints! Made a reservation, because there was a lot going on locally, but it was not too busy and everything was great! Still the best salad bar around.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2017

My wife and I recently had dinner at Victoria Station. My wife has several food allergies, which we relayed to our waitress. My wife ordered the salmon dish and reiterated how the salmon should be prepared. Our waitress assured us that she transmitted the allergy info to the kitchen and assured us that the dish was safe. Unfortunately, there must have been a break-down of communication, given my wife had very painful abdominal pains several hours after eating her meal. This reaction only occurs from ingesting one of the allergens. This is the second time this has happened at this restaurant and we will no longer be visiting this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great lobster mac&cheese and the prime rib and filet were both cooked perfectly. Would not recommend the espresso martini - glasses were not full and drinks did not have the robust flavor expected. On the other hand the chocolate mousse portion was huge and delicipus

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Every thing was great! Only con was the air conditioning unit was very noisy.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

A late day decision to get together with friends for dinner. We could get a reservation for a few hours from then and took it. We would like to sit outside and watch Salem harbor but the temp was falling so we ate inside.
Victoria Station always has a good menu with fresh seafood and meat entrees. Our server was new (around 30 days there) but she was a great wait staff. She knew the menu very well and even made some recommendations, so a very pleasant dinner.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and food...hostess was very accommodating to our group and sat us by the window...

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I arrived at the restaurant late. I just passed a big exam and was on the phone and the server came over 3 times and was trying to get me to order and being rude. There were mice running all over the floor which was disturbing. I will never go here again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The location is great, right along the water. The service was fast & friendly. We ordered seafood appetizers, they were fresh & tasty. For the main course my wife & I ordered steak dishes, both were cooked to perfection. Good food and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Terrible service, slow and very rude. might have just been the one server, others in the dining room looked like they were fine. Food not good. Location great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We have always loved Victoria's Station, but the last few times have been subpar. This time the food was so heavily seasoned that it was not even edible! Some food was also cold. When the waitress came to clear our plates and saw our uneaten dinners, she asked "Did you not like it?" and merely shrugged when we said that we did not. She was mostly absent during our evening. Thankfully the beautiful view saved the evening!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Old-timey but well kept up. Our party of 5 were easily satisfied with the pretty old-fashioned menu and the outdoor seating was relaxing with a nice view of the harbor. Waitstaff was on top of everything and food was plentiful. Nice ending to an afternoon in Salem for the Escape Room on a beautiful summer's eve.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2017

When we ask the hostess to be seated outside,she answered wit a rude attitude that it's first come first serve and thatwe would haveto wait for 45 minutes. We were disapointed and even more because in fact there were 3 unnoccupied tables available on the deck during our dinner that last a bit more than an hour. Our experience could have been better. However, the food was very good, after all our night was fine but annoying due to not be able to have a meal on the deck when tables were availble.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The prime rib sandwich is amazing. Piled high with the most tender, flavorful prime rib. I live 40 minutes away and would make the trip just for this sandwich!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very nice location awesome ambiance hidden little gem! Perfect for date or dinner for a group highly recommend ohhhh and of course the strong drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant was in a nice location, prices were average. The food was pretty good. the carpeting should be replaced. Our waitress very nice but she was spread too thin for the amount of folks she was serving. Meal came with in a reasonable time but getting drinks was a bit of a wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

After making the reservation online, I called the restaurant to confirm that our reservation would be for the deck (waterfront) and not inside. I was told yes. However, upon arrival, we were told that they "don't take reservations for the deck" but that we could be added to the 45-60 minute waitlist if we wanted to sit outside. Despite having made a reservation in advance, we would be added to a list behind several patrons who did not have a reservation in the first place. Unfortunately, due to childcare constraints, we did not have the luxury of waiting another hour to be seated. We instead had the pleasure of sitting indoors in the dated, carpeted, musicless dining room for our special occasion. Our table was wedged between two other tables- both with screaming toddlers who were watching cartoons at high volume on their parent's iPads for much of the evening.

This experience was particularly disappointing as my husband and I are both health care providers and typically work conflicting schedules. We made efforts to both be available on the same evening and were specifically looking for somewhere to dine outside on the water and in view of the sunset.

I found it particularly frustrating to see that there were several deck tables not in use that evening. When I inquired, I was told that there was not enough wait staff to seat all of the deck tables. As someone who spent 7 years in the restaurant industry, I found it ridiculous that, on a beautiful summer evening when you have a list of people waiting to be seated on the deck, you would not make it a priority to adequately staff the patio. It's not as though there was a wait list of people wanting to sit indoors that evening. For whatever reason, the management doesn't seem to have a problem with losing business as I observed several couples leave and go elsewhere that evening when faced with a 45-60 minute wait for the patio. We would have left ourselves if it had not been for the time constraint.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Good food just could have been hotter. Service was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Not bad staff friendly restaurant a little too old fashioned for me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The service was cordial, but a bit slow. The food was fair...Had calamari - a bit oily and soggy. One person had the prime rib with lobster Mac and cheese. It was ok; decent amount of lobster, but neither were super flavorful. Another had a burger - a bit on the dry side. Kids had mac and cheese which was ok. All in all - fair. It wasn't a bad experience, but it didnt wow either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Since they do not take reservations for outdoor seating, we had to wait 1/2 hour for a table. This wasn't a problem since it took me almost that to find a parking space.
The only problem we encountered was my son ordered mac & cheese without lobster and it came with lobster. He was hungry so he didn't return it. The price was much higher but it was his birthday lunch!
People watching is great there on the pier.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Waterfront, People Watching, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Restaraunt was dirty, tables sticky, salad bar tired and not refilled on a regular basis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We held a big work party. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food is always good and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

great patio overlooking the harbor, would eat here again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Time for a remodel and better service. Interior is really tired and dated. Service was very slow and at times unprofessional.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were there rather late so things were quiet. We had a nice table and excellent server. My husband really enjoyed his stuffed haddock and asparagus. I had shrimp scampi fettuccine and it was satisfying while not especially memorable. Nice decor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were in at around 5 on a chilly Friday night in July. We ate inside but they have outdoor seating with a great view. My lobster roll was good and my friends all the had the haddock which they said was okay. It was a good spot for an early dinner and catching up with friends.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I used to dine at Victoria Station all the time. Nice to find they are still open.
Service was very good, food was also quite good and we had a great time
I will be coming back

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I ordered grilled swordfish and rice pilaf. The swordfish was very overcooked and the lemon caper sauce was sloppy thick and tasted too bitter. I sent it back and just ate bread. The scallops my daughter ordered were also overcooked and tough. They offered to make something else but at that point I was over it and wanted nothing from their restaurant. The drinks were good and strong though. Guess they don't want you to notice how bad their food is. Go to Turners instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food was very good.
Outdoor deck seating was good, many people walking by between dining and ocean view.
Service was good.
Certainly not 5 star dining but a great value.
The stuffed haddock was great.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent service, fish was fresh and well made. We ordered the hadfock dinner, lobster mac, shrimp scampi and a burger. The garlic mashed potatos were on the dry side, but still ok to eat
Large portions too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I planned a girls night for my soon to be sister in law. She was visiting from DC and wanted seafood, and unneeded a reservation for 13. Victoria Station accommodated us nicely and we're very attentive with drinks and food. We had a great night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great as always!! The food and ambiance are outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We both had prime rib. It was one of the best we have had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My fish was a little over cooked. Salad bar was good. Service was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Amazing! The prime rib can not be beat! The side dishes where just as good.
Great food in a beautiful setting

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Fantastic view of Salem Harbor. Great service. Fair prices.

The Onion Rings were poor - more like greasy Onion Strings.

The French Fries were average - passable but not exceptional.

We have been here before, for Dinner, and the food was exceptional.

But this Lunch was pretty much average. Not bad, and everyone finished their main courses without complaint. But not exceptional, either.

Although we sat outside this time, the inside is genuine eye candy, with many interesting architectural details. So in or out, you can't lose.

We do plan to return !

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.