About Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse

86 Wharf Street
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Victoria Station & Vic's Boathouse is a Staple on the North Shore and stands above the rest for their unique proximity to the water, historic ambiance and tempting menu items. American comfort cuisine and fresh, locally sourced fish and vegetables are key ingredients to staying true to Victoria Station's traditions while still captivating a new generation. Vic's Boathouse offers local craft beers and traditional brews, elegant wines, chic martinis and creative pub fare. Come and enjoy great food and drink, live music, and a slight ocean breeze in a setting that's the definition of waterfront "wow".
"Best Bar North of Boston" by Boston Magazine

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
New Derby Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-3400

Website:
http://www.victoriastationsalem.com/

Entertainment:
Wednesday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- STUMP TRIVIA;

Friday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Saturday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Sundays (April through December 6 pm-9 pm) - ACOUSTIC PERFORMANCES & REGGAE

Catering:
A venue isn't just a physical space in which to hold your event – it should be a place where you want to create memories. At Victoria Station, every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant, we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees, and desserts.

Parking Details:
Parking Garage located on Congress Street.

Public Transit:
Train service: Newburyport/Rockport Commuter Rail Line from Boston"s North Station; Bus service: Bus Route 450; Salem Depot - Boston Via Highland & Western Ave; Bus Route 455/459; Salem Depot - Haymarket or Downtown Crossing Via Loring Ave.,Central Sq.,Lynn & Western Ave.;Bus Route 451; North Beverly - Salem Depot Via Cabot St. or Sohier Rd.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chumpitazi

Private Party Facilities:
Every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our function facilities range from cozy, small-scale private rooms to larger sized private areas with floor to ceiling bay windows, providing panoramic views of the Salem waterfront. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees and desserts. To accommodate each and every guest, we gladly cater to individual needs or dietary restrictions.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Collett: (978) 745-3400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Bridal Showers, Baby Showers, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Social Gatherings & Events, Banquets, Holiday Parties, Family Reunions, Christenings, Corporate Luncheons & Dinners, Business Parties, Retirement Parties, Award/Recognition Events, Fundraisers and Private Events

Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (12)
Scenic View (9)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Romantic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall food lacked intense flavors. Thirty minutes to find a parking spot was maddening!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We had terrible service the night we went. They accepted our reservation of 8 people and we had to wait 2 hours to receive our food. When we did receive our food 3 of us had to send our food back because it was burned. The management apologized, as did the waiter, explaining by that they had a party of 35 people that put them behind in the kitchen. They did not charge us for those 3 dinners and comped our desserts. I don't think we will go back, but to their credit they tried to make up for an awful dining experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and food. Great for all occasions, with awesome view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was Valentine's Day and I pick this restaurant because was in a list of restaurants that I can go on Valentine's, but the restaurant didn't do anything special..flower, chocolate.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was slow from the kitchen. waiter was apologetic.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I got the fried clams they could've been fried better I didn't even take them home that's unusual for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I love the salad bar and the food is always good. I am never disappointed. You

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I was there several years back and was disappointed. I had a few other people say that as well. Since I really always liked the restaurant I decided to give it a try with some friends that were in from CT. The meals were very good and the service was good too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

As usual, our evening at Victoria Station was a delight. The staff was great! We were a party of 13 with a baby and our waitress took great care of us. We loved salad bar with it's crisp vegetables, delicious dressings and other yummy bites. Everyone raved about their main meals from seafood to beef. I would highly recommend Victoria Station for any kind of occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. The food was excellent as was the atmosphere. Our waitress was courteous and attentive to our requests. Overall an outstanding night.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food both the haddock and prime rib were excellent. Mike our waiter was very attentive and helpful with menu suggestions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Our server, Tom, was wonderful. He was very attentive and friendly. Clam chowder was amazing, but the rest of our meal left much to be desired. We were on vacation from out of town and saw food reviews, but we're

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went here with my parents and fiancee in search of potential rehearsal dinner locations for his parents. The food was great and service was good. They still make cocktails that are classic and made 35 years ago.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I typically grab a meal here during Halloween time. The menu is always filled with many choices. Their New England Clam Chowder is delicious. Their Haddock sandwich is made from fresh fish. I also have to compliment the restaurant on their vast Draft beer selection.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was recently in Salem for Halloweekend with my mom and a group of our girlfriends. We made a reservation a few months in advance, since we were traveling from Pennsylvania, and we were not disappointed! The food was excellent, the prices were reasonable, the service was fantastic, and the view was beautiful. I would eat here again if I ever come back to Salem, and I would surely recommend this restaurant to others!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We visited during Halloween weekend and we are glad we used Open Table for the reservation becasue they were not accepting parties without reservation. Food was good- I had salmon (good) and wife had steak (fair). Staff was very friendly on a very busy night.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The service was really slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our experience was amazing! 2'We visited Salem for the first time and I had made a reservation online not knowing what to expect and were pleasantly surprised ! We will def return

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Early to arrive - easy to get seated. I'm a huge salmon fan but the seasoning on it tried to make it into something it wasn't. I'm a culinary school grad and I couldn't figure it out. Nearly inedible even though the cut was perfect and it was cooked perfectly from a doneness perspective. 2/3rds of it was left on my plate and the server didn't blink an eye as to why when I said please take it away. The fries were absolutely disgusting, with just a handful eaten. Frozen in a bag and then over fried. Why not do fresh cut?

Husband got the chicken parm sandwich and he had to use my glasses to identify the chicken breast. Tiny. And tasteless. Again disgusting.

For a couple who traveled to Salem from Washington DC and chose this as our Friday night dinner date - and a $28 Uber ride to get there - I cannot tell you how disappointed we were, and we are very reasonable people. I know what it takes to operate a kitchen.

We thought about taking this up with our server (see above), but decided against making our night even worse so we just paid our bill - still leaving a very respectable tip given everything - but very quickly got the hell out of there. This may have just been an off night but if you have your hard earned vacation dollars to spend, please spend it elsewhere. We will be talking about this miserable experience for a long time to come - it was that bad.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Nicely done. We were celebrating with a retirement luncheon. Everything was lovely. I took advantage of having flowers delivered and they were at the table as promised, and quite a nice bouquet. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and the atmosphere was perfect for a small gathering. I would highly recommend Victoria Station for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The only thing I would recommend is to have better handicap access to the outdoor seating area so a customer that is handicap and has difficulty walking does not have to walk all the way around

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Victoria's Station is fun, funky and full of options. A broad menu made it difficult for us to choose what to order. All of our choices, including the cocktails, were very good and the price was reasonable. The service was a little bit slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

While the waitstaff was friendly and courteous, our waiter was responsible for a party of 25 in the other room, and left us for large periods. Also, the salad bar was decent, but very generic in my opinion. When our dinner arrived, the fries were cold. It seemed as though they weren't prepared to deal with a regular crowd and the large party. There should have been one dedicated waitperson for the party, so the waiter didn't have to run back and forth. Also, we were told there were no specials because there was a large party. I spoke to the Manager and he was very attentive and apologetic. The restaurant is right on the water and it would be a better experience having appetizers and drinks outside, if the weather permitted.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wasn't expecting much in that friends had said no way. I relented and took my daughter there. Its a throw back with salad bar with decent family food, a 99 called something else. My prime rib dip was fine and my daughter liked the mac and cheese appetizer size and said it was CP inspired and flavored.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Family Style, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food was not very tasty. I has the Bolognese which was bland and had no flavor. The salad bar was the best thing on the menu.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Pickering Wharf is a great place to dine and Victoria Station has the "best" prime rib.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have been to a few Victoria's Stations. This is a great place and you can't beat the view of Salem Harbor.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I booked a table based on reviews, I chanced it regardless of the hit or miss reviews. Unfortunately we got a miss this night. Maybe it was due to late in the day, I'm being kind in saying this, service was poor. Our waitress seemed annoyed with us, they were not busy this night so maybe she had a long day. Food was mediocre and didn't feel fresh at all, actually 2 out of 6 in our party became ill at our hotel later that night. My food was actually deducted from the bill being that I had too much sand and small rocks from the fried clams. Overall I would give this place another chance and hope for a good night, whenever I pass through Salem that is.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2016

THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THE FOOD AND SERVICE, THE FOOD WAS GOOD AND WE WERE NOT RUSHED. THE WAITER WAS PATIENT AND EVEN LAUGHED WITH US

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was great. Temperature in building was miserable....so hot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were seated outside when a sudden summer rain storm popped up with heavy wind. We had stepped inside to the salad bar and our table was cleared of our drinks. Our server, Craig, very effiently moved us inside to another table, replaced our drinks and continued as our server. He was great

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The location is great, on the water, with fast, friendly service. The food was good, not outstanding but good and our waiter was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We met friends have not in 35 years it was a great time thank you for a great meal and drinks

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The menu was very overpriced for the quality and quantity of food. Seafood (fried clams) was sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 5, 2016

We have been here many times. The food is very good. This year we went on July 4th especially timed to see the Salem fireworks. It was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was looking for a place to have dinner outside and this was perfect, right on the water.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great as always.......we love this place...........................the salad bar is superb and great service

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The only major issue is the utter lack of parking. Being told by te staff when you call to inquire that there's only the one garage (South Harbor), that it's often full, and in that case, good luck finding street parking is more than a little disconcerting. I recognize that the parking situation is what it is, but it wouldn't hurt to have some 'if you don't mind a slight walk' alternatives to offer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very disappointed with the service and the food was mediocre at best. Service seemed disorganized. This used to be one of the best restaurants in Salem but no longer. Do yourself a favor and go to Finz or Turner Seafood instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Reservations were accepted without issue, seating was prompt and efficient, sat at outside table as requested. Waitress was warm and friendly. Was not rushed during dinner. Towards end of dinner weather changed and need to put up umbrella at table due to rain, unfortunately umbrella did not work and had to evacuate to the inside of the building. Finished dinner at bar.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great view and energy!! Nachos were perfect and salmon was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were a table of 12 and they put on an inexperienced wait staff. It took forever to just get our drink order. Food was marginal. View was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2016

While the recipe has changed a little since the 1970's, the taste of Victoria Stations' prime rib remains unmistakable. Always recommended when dining here. The seafood choices are also fresh and nicely prepared. One of the few restaurants left that still maintains a salad bar. Somewhat tired/worn/vintage decor, but that is part of its historic 1970's charm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Entrees were nothing special; swordfish was thin and less flavorful than I expected. The ribs, while inexpensive, were not very meaty. We wouldn't order either again. They do a much better job with steaks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Outstanding service and everyone enjoyed their food. A beautiful location with a great view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Always good . We go there quite frequently. They also have a great salad bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fisherman's platter was not loaded enough to justify the $30. quality of what they did provide was outstanding

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Always have a good meal at Victoria Station. Service from Nicole was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a fantastic time for my daughter's SSU graduation

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2016

I made an Open Table reservation for party of 9. Our table was ready when we arrived and the waitress was very attentive. The food was tasty and portions were very good. Especially liked the lobster quesadillas. However, my daughter is a vegan and there was little she could eat except the salad bar which she had with sweet potato fries. I called several weeks before our dinner and asked if there could be a vegan dinner option and was told that it was not possible because the restaurant would be very busy that night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.