Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse

Victoria Station & Vic's Boathouse is a Staple on the North Shore and stands above the rest for their unique proximity to the water, historic ambiance and tempting menu items. American comfort cuisine and fresh, locally sourced fish and vegetables are key ingredients to staying true to Victoria Station's traditions while still captivating a new generation. Vic's Boathouse offers local craft beers and traditional brews, elegant wines, chic martinis and creative pub fare. Come and enjoy great food and drink, live music, and a slight ocean breeze in a setting that's the definition of waterfront "wow".
"Best Bar North of Boston" by Boston Magazine

86 Wharf Street
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
New Derby Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-3400

Website:
http://www.victoriastationsalem.com/

Entertainment:
Wednesday Nights (8 pm-10 pm)- STUMP TRIVIA;

Friday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Saturday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Sundays (April through December 2 pm-5 pm) - ACOUSTIC PERFORMANCES

Catering:
A venue isn't just a physical space in which to hold your event – it should be a place where you want to create memories. At Victoria Station, every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant, we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees, and desserts.

Parking Details:
Parking Garage located on Congress Street.

Public Transit:
Train service: Newburyport/Rockport Commuter Rail Line from Boston"s North Station; Bus service: Bus Route 450; Salem Depot - Boston Via Highland & Western Ave; Bus Route 455/459; Salem Depot - Haymarket or Downtown Crossing Via Loring Ave.,Central Sq.,Lynn & Western Ave.;Bus Route 451; North Beverly - Salem Depot Via Cabot St. or Sohier Rd.

Executive Chef:
Joel Amador

Private Party Facilities:
Every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our function facilities range from cozy, small-scale private rooms to larger sized private areas with floor to ceiling bay windows, providing panoramic views of the Salem waterfront. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees and desserts. To accommodate each and every guest, we gladly cater to individual needs or dietary restrictions.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Collett: (978) 745-3400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Bridal Showers, Baby Showers, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Social Gatherings & Events, Banquets, Holiday Parties, Family Reunions, Christenings, Corporate Luncheons & Dinners, Business Parties, Retirement Parties, Award/Recognition Events, Fundraisers and Private Events

Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (30)
Scenic View (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
See All
Casual (18)
Comfort Food (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
People Watching (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Fun (10)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

When we ask the hostess to be seated outside,she answered wit a rude attitude that it's first come first serve and thatwe would haveto wait for 45 minutes. We were disapointed and even more because in fact there were 3 unnoccupied tables available on the deck during our dinner that last a bit more than an hour. Our experience could have been better. However, the food was very good, after all our night was fine but annoying due to not be able to have a meal on the deck when tables were availble.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

The prime rib sandwich is amazing. Piled high with the most tender, flavorful prime rib. I live 40 minutes away and would make the trip just for this sandwich!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very nice location awesome ambiance hidden little gem! Perfect for date or dinner for a group highly recommend ohhhh and of course the strong drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant was in a nice location, prices were average. The food was pretty good. the carpeting should be replaced. Our waitress very nice but she was spread too thin for the amount of folks she was serving. Meal came with in a reasonable time but getting drinks was a bit of a wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

After making the reservation online, I called the restaurant to confirm that our reservation would be for the deck (waterfront) and not inside. I was told yes. However, upon arrival, we were told that they "don't take reservations for the deck" but that we could be added to the 45-60 minute waitlist if we wanted to sit outside. Despite having made a reservation in advance, we would be added to a list behind several patrons who did not have a reservation in the first place. Unfortunately, due to childcare constraints, we did not have the luxury of waiting another hour to be seated. We instead had the pleasure of sitting indoors in the dated, carpeted, musicless dining room for our special occasion. Our table was wedged between two other tables- both with screaming toddlers who were watching cartoons at high volume on their parent's iPads for much of the evening.

This experience was particularly disappointing as my husband and I are both health care providers and typically work conflicting schedules. We made efforts to both be available on the same evening and were specifically looking for somewhere to dine outside on the water and in view of the sunset.

I found it particularly frustrating to see that there were several deck tables not in use that evening. When I inquired, I was told that there was not enough wait staff to seat all of the deck tables. As someone who spent 7 years in the restaurant industry, I found it ridiculous that, on a beautiful summer evening when you have a list of people waiting to be seated on the deck, you would not make it a priority to adequately staff the patio. It's not as though there was a wait list of people wanting to sit indoors that evening. For whatever reason, the management doesn't seem to have a problem with losing business as I observed several couples leave and go elsewhere that evening when faced with a 45-60 minute wait for the patio. We would have left ourselves if it had not been for the time constraint.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Good food just could have been hotter. Service was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Not bad staff friendly restaurant a little too old fashioned for me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The service was cordial, but a bit slow. The food was fair...Had calamari - a bit oily and soggy. One person had the prime rib with lobster Mac and cheese. It was ok; decent amount of lobster, but neither were super flavorful. Another had a burger - a bit on the dry side. Kids had mac and cheese which was ok. All in all - fair. It wasn't a bad experience, but it didnt wow either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Since they do not take reservations for outdoor seating, we had to wait 1/2 hour for a table. This wasn't a problem since it took me almost that to find a parking space.
The only problem we encountered was my son ordered mac & cheese without lobster and it came with lobster. He was hungry so he didn't return it. The price was much higher but it was his birthday lunch!
People watching is great there on the pier.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Waterfront, People Watching, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Restaraunt was dirty, tables sticky, salad bar tired and not refilled on a regular basis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We held a big work party. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food is always good and very reasonably priced.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

great patio overlooking the harbor, would eat here again!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Time for a remodel and better service. Interior is really tired and dated. Service was very slow and at times unprofessional.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were there rather late so things were quiet. We had a nice table and excellent server. My husband really enjoyed his stuffed haddock and asparagus. I had shrimp scampi fettuccine and it was satisfying while not especially memorable. Nice decor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were in at around 5 on a chilly Friday night in July. We ate inside but they have outdoor seating with a great view. My lobster roll was good and my friends all the had the haddock which they said was okay. It was a good spot for an early dinner and catching up with friends.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I used to dine at Victoria Station all the time. Nice to find they are still open.
Service was very good, food was also quite good and we had a great time
I will be coming back

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I ordered grilled swordfish and rice pilaf. The swordfish was very overcooked and the lemon caper sauce was sloppy thick and tasted too bitter. I sent it back and just ate bread. The scallops my daughter ordered were also overcooked and tough. They offered to make something else but at that point I was over it and wanted nothing from their restaurant. The drinks were good and strong though. Guess they don't want you to notice how bad their food is. Go to Turners instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food was very good.
Outdoor deck seating was good, many people walking by between dining and ocean view.
Service was good.
Certainly not 5 star dining but a great value.
The stuffed haddock was great.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Excellent service, fish was fresh and well made. We ordered the hadfock dinner, lobster mac, shrimp scampi and a burger. The garlic mashed potatos were on the dry side, but still ok to eat
Large portions too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I planned a girls night for my soon to be sister in law. She was visiting from DC and wanted seafood, and unneeded a reservation for 13. Victoria Station accommodated us nicely and we're very attentive with drinks and food. We had a great night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We both had prime rib. It was one of the best we have had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My fish was a little over cooked. Salad bar was good. Service was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great as always!! The food and ambiance are outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Amazing! The prime rib can not be beat! The side dishes where just as good.
Great food in a beautiful setting

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Fantastic view of Salem Harbor. Great service. Fair prices.

The Onion Rings were poor - more like greasy Onion Strings.

The French Fries were average - passable but not exceptional.

We have been here before, for Dinner, and the food was exceptional.

But this Lunch was pretty much average. Not bad, and everyone finished their main courses without complaint. But not exceptional, either.

Although we sat outside this time, the inside is genuine eye candy, with many interesting architectural details. So in or out, you can't lose.

We do plan to return !

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Victoria Station used to be a great restaurant in its time and is still frequented primarily by tourists due to its great Waterfront location. But other than the salad bar the food quality has consistently gone downhill. I now know why it's the only restaurant that has available reservations when all others around it are booked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Right on the water. Very big place. Food was good but our waiter was only ok. Asked if we wanted bread than never brought it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Not a fan of their white wine collection. My salmon was burnt. Great environment, indoor and outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A nice experience along the water. Good menu with many choices. Helpful and attentive staff.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Still the best Bloody Mary ever! Excellent service. We enjoyed everything including their infamous prime rib, chicken parmesan and potato skins. Being able to make a reservation makes all the difference. Wear your walking shoes-lots to see nearby after your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Worth the Drive. Nice atmosphere, beautiful waterfront seating with excellent servers. I'd highly recommend

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great location overlooking Salem Harbor. Food is excellent and reasonably priced. Service prompt and staff knows the menu and ingredients well. Food served promptly after ordering. This restaurant is one of my favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The waiter was very slow but the food was good.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Too noisy which we have never run into before. Prime rib was too tough but all other meals were delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was ok-good, possibly a little to costly for lunch , but the location is on the water and is nice. There is no parking- so prepare -garage in the center of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went there to celebrate my daughters graduation. DO NOT expect to find parking anywhere close. Put us in a backroom, even though we requested outside or dock side seating. For $300 for 8 people, the food was mediocre, but service was good. Cant say Id ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our server, Tony, was attentive (but not overly so) and the meal was scrumptious. Moderately priced and the view was beautiful.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Reservations were handled properly. Food was good, .... when it finally arrived. Waitress tried her best but was overbooked with too many tables to handle and the kitchen was slow as Hell. There was no, or minimal, air conditioning on a very hot evening. It took forever to get our food. I spent close to $300 for the meals but doubt that I will ever go back there again. The slow kitchen and no air conditioning is indicative of poor management.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food across the board, calamari especially, fast service and we were able to get the view we wanted by using OpenTable, very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

There didn't seem to be a place to enjoy a quiet dinner and be able to carry on a conversation at normal decibel levels. I had asked to be seated in a quiet place in the restaurant section, as opposed to Vic's Boathouse. Perhaps a quiet doesn't exist in the restaurant. There was a group of about 9 people next to us and they were boisterous and loud. However, the food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.