About Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse

86 Wharf Street
Salem, MA 01970
View Larger Map

Victoria Station & Vic's Boathouse is a Staple on the North Shore and stands above the rest for their unique proximity to the water, historic ambiance and tempting menu items. American comfort cuisine and fresh, locally sourced fish and vegetables are key ingredients to staying true to Victoria Station's traditions while still captivating a new generation. Vic's Boathouse offers local craft beers and traditional brews, elegant wines, chic martinis and creative pub fare. Come and enjoy great food and drink, live music, and a slight ocean breeze in a setting that's the definition of waterfront "wow".
"Best Bar North of Boston" by Boston Magazine
"Best Waterfront Dining" by North Shore Magazine (the past 3 consecutive years)

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
New Derby Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 745-3400

Website:
http://www.victoriastationsalem.com/

Entertainment:
Wednesday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- STUMP TRIVIA;

Thursday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- OPEN MIC;

Friday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Saturday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Sundays (April through December 6 pm-9 pm) - ACOUSTIC PERFORMANCES & REGGAE

Catering:
A venue isn't just a physical space in which to hold your event – it should be a place where you want to create memories. At Victoria Station, every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant, we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees, and desserts.

Parking Details:
Parking Garage located on Congress Street.

Public Transit:
Train service: Newburyport/Rockport Commuter Rail Line from Boston"s North Station; Bus service: Bus Route 450; Salem Depot - Boston Via Highland & Western Ave; Bus Route 455/459; Salem Depot - Haymarket or Downtown Crossing Via Loring Ave.,Central Sq.,Lynn & Western Ave.;Bus Route 451; North Beverly - Salem Depot Via Cabot St. or Sohier Rd.

Executive Chef:
Alex Chumpitazi

Private Party Facilities:
Every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our function facilities range from cozy, small-scale private rooms to larger sized private areas with floor to ceiling bay windows, providing panoramic views of the Salem waterfront. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees and desserts. To accommodate each and every guest, we gladly cater to individual needs or dietary restrictions.

Private Party Contact:
Elizabeth Collett: 9787453400x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Bridal Showers, Baby Showers, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Social Gatherings & Events, Banquets, Holiday Parties, Family Reunions, Christenings, Corporate Luncheons & Dinners, Business Parties, Retirement Parties, Award/Recognition Events, Fundraisers and Private Events

Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Boston Suburbs
Scenic View
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Salem, MA ›

scenic view (43)
great for outdoor dining (36)
good for groups (24)
See All
special occasion (18)
great for lunch (16)
neighborhood gem (14)
kid-friendly (10)
fit for foodies (9)
romantic (6)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We met friends have not in 35 years it w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We met friends have not in 35 years it was a great time thank you for a great meal and drinks

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was very overpriced for the qua ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The menu was very overpriced for the quality and quantity of food. Seafood (fried clams) was sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We have been here many times. The food ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We have been here many times. The food is very good. This year we went on July 4th especially timed to see the Salem fireworks. It was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Was looking for a place to have dinner o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was looking for a place to have dinner outside and this was perfect, right on the water.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great as always.......we love this place ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great as always.......we love this place...........................the salad bar is superb and great service

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only major issue is the utter lack o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The only major issue is the utter lack of parking. Being told by te staff when you call to inquire that there's only the one garage (South Harbor), that it's often full, and in that case, good luck finding street parking is more than a little disconcerting. I recognize that the parking situation is what it is, but it wouldn't hurt to have some 'if you don't mind a slight walk' alternatives to offer.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very disappointed with the service and t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very disappointed with the service and the food was mediocre at best. Service seemed disorganized. This used to be one of the best restaurants in Salem but no longer. Do yourself a favor and go to Finz or Turner Seafood instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Reservations were accepted without issue ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Reservations were accepted without issue, seating was prompt and efficient, sat at outside table as requested. Waitress was warm and friendly. Was not rushed during dinner. Towards end of dinner weather changed and need to put up umbrella at table due to rain, unfortunately umbrella did not work and had to evacuate to the inside of the building. Finished dinner at bar.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great view and energy!! Nachos were perf ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great view and energy!! Nachos were perfect and salmon was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were a table of 12 and they put on an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were a table of 12 and they put on an inexperienced wait staff. It took forever to just get our drink order. Food was marginal. View was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

The prime rib never disappoints

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

While the recipe has changed a little since the 1970's, the taste of Victoria Stations' prime rib remains unmistakable. Always recommended when dining here. The seafood choices are also fresh and nicely prepared. One of the few restaurants left that still maintains a salad bar. Somewhat tired/worn/vintage decor, but that is part of its historic 1970's charm.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding service and everyone enjoyed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Outstanding service and everyone enjoyed their food. A beautiful location with a great view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always good . We go there quite frequen ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Always good . We go there quite frequently. They also have a great salad bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not their best work

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Entrees were nothing special; swordfish was thin and less flavorful than I expected. The ribs, while inexpensive, were not very meaty. We wouldn't order either again. They do a much better job with steaks.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not enough bang for the buck

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fisherman's platter was not loaded enough to justify the $30. quality of what they did provide was outstanding

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Always have a good meal at Victoria Stat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Always have a good meal at Victoria Station. Service from Nicole was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a fantastic time for my daughter's S ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a fantastic time for my daughter's SSU graduation

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made an Open Table reservation for par ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I made an Open Table reservation for party of 9. Our table was ready when we arrived and the waitress was very attentive. The food was tasty and portions were very good. Especially liked the lobster quesadillas. However, my daughter is a vegan and there was little she could eat except the salad bar which she had with sweet potato fries. I called several weeks before our dinner and asked if there could be a vegan dinner option and was told that it was not possible because the restaurant would be very busy that night.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing Dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We visited Victoria's Station for dinner on a Sunday. When we arrived they weren't very busy and the view of the water was nice, so we were pretty excited. However, the afternoon took a pretty quick downturn from there - it took about 10 minutes to get our drinks after we ordered them, the waiter forgot to put in our appetizers, which he didn't realize until our entrees were being brought to the table. We both ordered the Prime Rib, which wasn't great considering that they are "known" for their Prime Rib, and they forgot to serve the entrees with the Au Jus, which after we asked for it, arrived 15 minutes later as we were finishing our meals.

I've worked in the restaurant industry for almost a decade, so I understand slow service when a restaurant is busy, but it wasn't and overall the experience was pretty bad.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was very good. Prime rib was huge a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was very good. Prime rib was huge and delicious. Only issue was very slow service. Oh, and we dont like rye bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great location! Wonderful views of water ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great location! Wonderful views of water and boats from their patio seating. We usually go for lunch which has a good selection and is reasonably priced.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

DISAPPOINTING

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

While on vacation we dined at Victoria Station. Lovely spot right on the harbor advertising aged prime rib and seafood. Dinner started off great with an appetizer of mushrooms stuffed with seafood. I ordered the baked stuffed shrimp which was very good. My unfortunate husband ordered the touted prime rib. It looked a bit gray when it came, but he gave it a go - dry and chewy. After tracking down our waiter, he sent it back. It came back a bit better, but it was very inconsistent - some good spots and some grizzly, unchewable parts. He couldn't eat it and again - back it went. By this time, he had had it and we left. They comped the meal, but it was obviously an inferior grade of beef. If you're going to advertise your prime rib as a specialty, you better make sure it's good. Would not recommend the prime rib to anyone and the place was not a restaurant I would go out of my way for to patronize. They're getting by on the fabulous view - not the so-so food.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

We have been coming to Victoria Station ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been coming to Victoria Station for over 20 years and we have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food wasn't very good. The service w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food wasn't very good. The service was really good and the server did her best to make it right, but ultimately the prime rib was dry and the steak tips were overcooked both times they were brought out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5

My fiance and I came her for our anniver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

My fiance and I came her for our anniversary dinner, it was incredible. My 21 oz prime rib was perfect. Her filet melted in your mouth. The beer selection was bountiful. I highly recommend this restaurant!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Over Priced / Poor

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Very poor meal. Prime Rib was horrific. Very disapointed

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

NICE RESTAURANT ON WATER

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

enjoyed dining here ....was one of the old victoria station chains and was purchased....nice setting .....good for and proferssional staff

could get crowded so suggest reservations.....nice dining experience

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Our overall experience was to say the least -- disappointing! Using open-table, I requested to be seated next to where the band would be playing after dinner. Upon arrival, the hostess escorted us to the opposite side of the restaurant. After reiterating my request, I was told that the band was to perform on the bar side of the restaurant where there would be only open seating .

The fried calamari appetizer was under-cooked aka soggy. My Vic's baked stuffed haddock, priced at $23 lacked the seafood in the stuffing that it claimed except one lonely shrimp and one bay scallop. The bread stuffing, in fact, was so mushy that after a few bites i scraped it off of the fish. When I complained to the waitress, she replied that the cook didn't speak english and would have to talk with another person about it later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Chelsea was an amazing waitress.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Chelsea was an amazing waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

go again

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything was perfect and would be going back soon

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect for a Valentine's dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Romantic and with great food and great service. The salad bar was a great option as a side. The area right by the fireplace was beautiful. Very unique restaurant and feel.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bad Service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It might not be the servers fault because I did not see any manager walking around on a Saturday night.

Dismal service in a very expensive restaurant to be casual. If it's casual... I'm not sure...

Certainly it is not fine dinning.. but even though a lack of staff training was obvious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Prime rib only

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Go for the prime rib. That was amazing-perfectly cooked and delicious. Everything else was just okay. Nothing terrible, but nothing amazing either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great place to eat

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Price, service, food, atmosphere all superb.....we love this restaurant

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Salad Bar

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Love the salad bar! The prices are a little on the high side for the type of food/restaurant, but can't beat the spot, especially in summer when you can sit outside right on the water. Highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great dining

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I love coming to Victoria Station. The food and service is always excellent. When we finished dinner we wandered over to vic's boathouse for a cocktail and some live music.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Lovely Evening

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We love to go here on the off season and on beautiful summer evenings. This time the wait staff was a bit slow. We waited about 15 minutes before a waiter came to the table for drink orders. It was clear the establishment was slammed and really busy but we did not even get waters or even a person's eye. The food was good. Love the salad bar and they were out of beets and had not refilled the bowl. Overall a nice evening for a friend's birthday.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good variety for large group

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Took the family to dinner for Christmas eve dinner -- a group of adults and teenagers with a variety of tastes. Broad menu of appetizers, seafood, burgers and steaks met the need. Baked stuffed shrimp was tender and flavorful. Swordfish was fresh and moist. And, the burgers and steaks were cooked as requested.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

great restaurant and great variety of food.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

After arriving 30 mins late due to delayed travel the restaurant bent over backwards to fit us in and made us feel welcome.

I would definitely go back.

Loaded nachos and spare ribs were excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers didn't bring complementary bread ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Servers didn't bring complementary bread until asked, the prime rib was very cool & dry (no au jus). Maybe it was because they had a large group in the other room?). Won't go back again for long awhile!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.