Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Victorias Station & Vic's Boathouse

4.0
270 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Victoria Station & Vic's Boathouse is a Staple on the North Shore and stands above the rest for their unique proximity to the water, historic ambiance and tempting menu items. American comfort cuisine and fresh, locally sourced fish and vegetables are key ingredients to staying true to Victoria Station's traditions while still captivating a new generation. Vic's Boathouse offers local craft beers and traditional brews, elegant wines, chic martinis and creative pub fare. Come and enjoy great food and drink, live music, and a slight ocean breeze in a setting that's the definition of waterfront "wow".
"Best Bar North of Boston" by Boston Magazine
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(978) 745-3400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joel Amador
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our function facilities range from cozy, small-scale private rooms to larger sized private areas with floor to ceiling bay windows, providing panoramic views of the Salem waterfront. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees and desserts. To accommodate each and every guest, we gladly cater to individual needs or dietary restrictions.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Elizabeth Collett: (978) 745-3400
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
A venue isn't just a physical space in which to hold your event – it should be a place where you want to create memories. At Victoria Station, every celebration and gathering is very important to us. Our attention to detail and high level of service will help make your event extraordinary and unforgettable. Whether it be an intimate group or a large gathering, we offer many options from which to choose when planning your occasion. As we are a full service restaurant, we are able to offer a broad range of delicious appetizers, entrees, and desserts.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
New Derby Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking Garage located on Congress Street.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Train service: Newburyport/Rockport Commuter Rail Line from Boston"s North Station; Bus service: Bus Route 450; Salem Depot - Boston Via Highland & Western Ave; Bus Route 455/459; Salem Depot - Haymarket or Downtown Crossing Via Loring Ave.,Central Sq.,Lynn & Western Ave.;Bus Route 451; North Beverly - Salem Depot Via Cabot St. or Sohier Rd.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Wednesday Nights (8 pm-10 pm)- STUMP TRIVIA;

Friday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Saturday Nights (9 pm-12 am)- LIVE BANDS; the most popular local bands, guarantee a night of non-stop dancing;

Sundays (April through December 2 pm-5 pm) - ACOUSTIC PERFORMANCES
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Rehearsal Dinners, Wedding Receptions, Bridal Showers, Baby Showers, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Social Gatherings & Events, Banquets, Holiday Parties, Family Reunions, Christenings, Corporate Luncheons & Dinners, Business Parties, Retirement Parties, Award/Recognition Events, Fundraisers and Private Events
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 270 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
3.9
food
4.0
service
4.0
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on December 16, 2017

why would you send this to me,,you sent me an email it shut down,,,pay attention!! Stay engaged wont be using open table...

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 9, 2017

It was closed - even though they took the reservation! No review will matter!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 25, 2017

We were really looking forward to this restaurant. Beautiful setting - right on the water. Service was good. Menu was very underwhelming and food was fair. We were disappointed not to see any fresh seafood on the menu. I’d recommend for drink or snack, but not dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Great salad bar.. steak tips were average
Good coffee, good service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

It’s just a nice place to go while in Salem . Been here every year for 15 years when we come to Salem

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

We were seated right away at our reservation time. It took quite a while for the waitress to take our drink order, bring them and take our dinner order. The food and drinks were delicious at a good price. It was a busy day and everyone was pleasant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 27, 2017

Plan to share. I ate a fourth of my plate. It was a big plate and it was piled high!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2017

I made reservations on line for nine people and the only slot that was available was 9:45 PM on Sat. 10/21/17. We arrived early (approx. 9:00 PM). As we walked in we saw many tables outside and inside vacant. I gave my name to the hostess, one was very, very nice and said they could seat us in about 3 mins. Another hostess came over and said, no your reservations are for 9:45 PM so you will have to wait. I said something to the effect of (how rude you do have many vacancies. With that being said we were seated in 10 mins. The rest of the evening was great. We had the best waiter (John) and our food was wonderful. I especially loved my choice of ravioli with mushrooms and spinach. We will return and hopefully the hostesses will all be cordial. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Very busy during Salem’s haunted happenings. They were advertising a 2 your wait without a reservation. They were very accommodating for us since we did have a reservation

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 21, 2017

We had the fried haddock sandwich and the prime rib. Both were excellent. The alcoholic drink prices, however, were ridiculous. We ordered two drinks and the price was 26.50 for the two drinks and they were not anything that great. I do not remember seeing prices for them on the menu. That was maybe my mistake I did not look hard enough but $26.50 for two??? We liked the atmosphere but $75.00 for what we ordered was way too steep and that didn't include tip!! Ouch!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 19, 2017

My waiter Matt was Ausome. Very friendly and courteous. I will go back an ask for him. Great food too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2017

This fit the needs for our group of 12. Service was excellent! 7 kids and 5 adults.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

We visited salem for halloween fun and stopped into victorias station for lunch. it was so delicious, I had a chicken cesar wrap and a glass of white wine. Our service was amazing. it wasnt rushed so we could enjoy our time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

I went here with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. It was great! They accommodated 9 of us (with a reservation, of course), and the service was great. Make sure to get the salad bar, too...it's delicious!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Busy weekend reservations suggested. We had reservations at 4:30 but it took 2 hours to get out of there. Waited an hour for food and 30 minutes for dessert. Asked 3 times for the check because we were running late.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 1, 2017

We had five in our party and all but one of us had a portion or all of our main meal disappoint us. Someone in the kitchen over-seasoned with pepper: the mashed potato sides on four dishes, teriyaki steak tips on one dish, and the baked haddock on another dish. The asparagus sides were thin and chewy. Two of us had the prime rib which were cooked to requested temperature and seasoned perfectly, but the sides as described above were not. The only dish in our party that did not disappoint was the fish and chips, average not remarkable. The dining experience started as promising. The calamari and coconut shrimp appetizers were enjoyable. Two cups of chowder and the French onion soup were also good. Our server was attentive, but it took thirty minutes after we finished the soups and appetizers before we were served our meals, and this was at 4 pm on a Sunday. The restaurant was not very busy. Our tab including tip was about $225.00 and no alcoholic beverages were purchased. We passed on dessert. Sadly, Victoria Station was an old favorite, but this was the second consecutive subpar experience. There won’t be a third.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Vic's never disappoints! Made a reservation, because there was a lot going on locally, but it was not too busy and everything was great! Still the best salad bar around.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 29, 2017

My wife and I recently had dinner at Victoria Station. My wife has several food allergies, which we relayed to our waitress. My wife ordered the salmon dish and reiterated how the salmon should be prepared. Our waitress assured us that she transmitted the allergy info to the kitchen and assured us that the dish was safe. Unfortunately, there must have been a break-down of communication, given my wife had very painful abdominal pains several hours after eating her meal. This reaction only occurs from ingesting one of the allergens. This is the second time this has happened at this restaurant and we will no longer be visiting this establishment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 28, 2017

Great lobster mac&cheese and the prime rib and filet were both cooked perfectly. Would not recommend the espresso martini - glasses were not full and drinks did not have the robust flavor expected. On the other hand the chocolate mousse portion was huge and delicipus

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2017

Every thing was great! Only con was the air conditioning unit was very noisy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

A late day decision to get together with friends for dinner. We could get a reservation for a few hours from then and took it. We would like to sit outside and watch Salem harbor but the temp was falling so we ate inside.
Victoria Station always has a good menu with fresh seafood and meat entrees. Our server was new (around 30 days there) but she was a great wait staff. She knew the menu very well and even made some recommendations, so a very pleasant dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and food...hostess was very accommodating to our group and sat us by the window...

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 6, 2017

I arrived at the restaurant late. I just passed a big exam and was on the phone and the server came over 3 times and was trying to get me to order and being rude. There were mice running all over the floor which was disturbing. I will never go here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

The location is great, right along the water. The service was fast & friendly. We ordered seafood appetizers, they were fresh & tasty. For the main course my wife & I ordered steak dishes, both were cooked to perfection. Good food and very reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Terrible service, slow and very rude. might have just been the one server, others in the dining room looked like they were fine. Food not good. Location great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 25, 2017

We have always loved Victoria's Station, but the last few times have been subpar. This time the food was so heavily seasoned that it was not even edible! Some food was also cold. When the waitress came to clear our plates and saw our uneaten dinners, she asked "Did you not like it?" and merely shrugged when we said that we did not. She was mostly absent during our evening. Thankfully the beautiful view saved the evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 20, 2017

Old-timey but well kept up. Our party of 5 were easily satisfied with the pretty old-fashioned menu and the outdoor seating was relaxing with a nice view of the harbor. Waitstaff was on top of everything and food was plentiful. Nice ending to an afternoon in Salem for the Escape Room on a beautiful summer's eve.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 19, 2017

When we ask the hostess to be seated outside,she answered wit a rude attitude that it's first come first serve and thatwe would haveto wait for 45 minutes. We were disapointed and even more because in fact there were 3 unnoccupied tables available on the deck during our dinner that last a bit more than an hour. Our experience could have been better. However, the food was very good, after all our night was fine but annoying due to not be able to have a meal on the deck when tables were availble.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

The prime rib sandwich is amazing. Piled high with the most tender, flavorful prime rib. I live 40 minutes away and would make the trip just for this sandwich!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 13, 2017

Very nice location awesome ambiance hidden little gem! Perfect for date or dinner for a group highly recommend ohhhh and of course the strong drinks!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant was in a nice location, prices were average. The food was pretty good. the carpeting should be replaced. Our waitress very nice but she was spread too thin for the amount of folks she was serving. Meal came with in a reasonable time but getting drinks was a bit of a wait.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 1, 2017

After making the reservation online, I called the restaurant to confirm that our reservation would be for the deck (waterfront) and not inside. I was told yes. However, upon arrival, we were told that they "don't take reservations for the deck" but that we could be added to the 45-60 minute waitlist if we wanted to sit outside. Despite having made a reservation in advance, we would be added to a list behind several patrons who did not have a reservation in the first place. Unfortunately, due to childcare constraints, we did not have the luxury of waiting another hour to be seated. We instead had the pleasure of sitting indoors in the dated, carpeted, musicless dining room for our special occasion. Our table was wedged between two other tables- both with screaming toddlers who were watching cartoons at high volume on their parent's iPads for much of the evening.

This experience was particularly disappointing as my husband and I are both health care providers and typically work conflicting schedules. We made efforts to both be available on the same evening and were specifically looking for somewhere to dine outside on the water and in view of the sunset.

I found it particularly frustrating to see that there were several deck tables not in use that evening. When I inquired, I was told that there was not enough wait staff to seat all of the deck tables. As someone who spent 7 years in the restaurant industry, I found it ridiculous that, on a beautiful summer evening when you have a list of people waiting to be seated on the deck, you would not make it a priority to adequately staff the patio. It's not as though there was a wait list of people wanting to sit indoors that evening. For whatever reason, the management doesn't seem to have a problem with losing business as I observed several couples leave and go elsewhere that evening when faced with a 45-60 minute wait for the patio. We would have left ourselves if it had not been for the time constraint.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Good food just could have been hotter. Service was great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 26, 2017

Not bad staff friendly restaurant a little too old fashioned for me

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 23, 2017

The service was cordial, but a bit slow. The food was fair...Had calamari - a bit oily and soggy. One person had the prime rib with lobster Mac and cheese. It was ok; decent amount of lobster, but neither were super flavorful. Another had a burger - a bit on the dry side. Kids had mac and cheese which was ok. All in all - fair. It wasn't a bad experience, but it didnt wow either.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 23, 2017

Since they do not take reservations for outdoor seating, we had to wait 1/2 hour for a table. This wasn't a problem since it took me almost that to find a parking space.
The only problem we encountered was my son ordered mac & cheese without lobster and it came with lobster. He was hungry so he didn't return it. The price was much higher but it was his birthday lunch!
People watching is great there on the pier.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Restaraunt was dirty, tables sticky, salad bar tired and not refilled on a regular basis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 19, 2017

We held a big work party. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food is always good and very reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 16, 2017

great patio overlooking the harbor, would eat here again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Time for a remodel and better service. Interior is really tired and dated. Service was very slow and at times unprofessional.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7