About Victor Restaurant

30 Mercer Street
Toronto, ON M5V 1H3
View Larger Map

Nestled off the lobby of Hotel Le Germain Toronto, Victor provides guests the perfect setting to lounge, dine and entertain.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Canadian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Daily: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
John St. & King St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 883-3431

Website:
http://www.victorrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Victor Restaurant offers an elegant and versatile catering experience via multiple private and semi-private dining rooms. From private dinners for up to 100 guests to cocktail receptions for 250 guests. Accommodating special events such as wine tastings, Iron Chef themed dinners, media launches, weddings and corporate parties. Off-site catering is also available.

Parking Details:
There are two public parking lots located on either side of Mercer St. adjacent to the Restaurant. Valet parking is available through the Hotel le Germain Toronto.

Public Transit:
Mercer St. is a one way street going West from John St. to Blue Jays Way. It runs parallel to King Street, one street South.
The closest subway station is St. Andrew Station at King St and University. The closest intersection and TTC stop is King St West and John St.

Executive Chef:
David Chrystian

Private Party Facilities:
Victor's private dining room is ideal for corporate dinners, day time meetings, private birthday parties and smaller cocktail receptions. The private room can hold up to 40 guests for dinner, 50 for cocktail and is equipped with it's own private bar, large screen TV and private washroom. Restaurant buyouts also available.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Leverty: 4168833431x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Foie Gras Ice Cream #Gfwe - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
  • Fusion Dishes Ensemble - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
  • Pork Loin - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
  • Chicken - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
  • Potatoe Soup - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
  • Brown Butter Lobster Rolls - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
  • Sashimi Tuna Pizza - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Foie Gras Ice Cream #Gfwe - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Fusion Dishes Ensemble - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Pork Loin - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Chicken - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Potatoe Soup - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Brown Butter Lobster Rolls - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON
Sashimi Tuna Pizza - Victor Restaurant, Toronto, ON

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Victor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Entertainment District ›

Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Romantic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Menu that was on OpenTable was not the s ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Menu that was on OpenTable was not the same. The daily specials were absent and this was disappointing. Pricing was significantly higher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great cocktails. Delicious food. Swank ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great cocktails. Delicious food. Swanky atmosphere. Enjoyed dinner prior to seeing a Second City show right across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere. Server gave us a pr ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Amazing atmosphere. Server gave us a private room for our birthday party. The private room was absolutely beautiful. The food was great and the server was attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Simply amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A romantic spot tucked away off Bay St. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

A romantic spot tucked away off Bay St. A great continental menu offered Ng something for everyone, including pasta, seafood, vegetarian and of course the carnivores amongst us. My husband and I shared the Tuna and Shrimp Ceviche. Avery generous appetizer that I couldn't get enough of. My entree was I the evening special, a strip lion with frites. Prepared perfectly, best fries I've had. I would however have like the meal to include a vegetable to complete the meal. My husband had the scallops. These too were delicious and perfectly prepared. We finished the evening with the chef sampler desserts since we couldn't decide which to get.

The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. They helped us select a nice wine and even allowed us to sample a couple before we settled on one.

Not an inexpensive evening but definitely felt that we got our monies worth.

Note: Open Table indicates that They offer No Corkage Fees on Sunday. This is an old promo and no longer in effect. Can't comment on the other specials noted but always best to check first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had dinner pre-theatre. Lovely decor ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had dinner pre-theatre. Lovely decor and quiet atmosphere. Great service. The food was superb, we LOVED the caesar salad, and had the panko crusted lake trout and frites which was delicious. Cheesecake was yummy, not too sweet. We would definitely return to Victor!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food m service and ambience was excellen ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food m service and ambience was excellent. I love macaroni and cheese and with the chicken it was amazing. Their drink Dark and Stormy was best I ever had in a bar. They cheesecake is yummy! We will be going back!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Vic Burger was one of the best burge ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The Vic Burger was one of the best burgers I've experienced

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a beautiful restaurant and the f ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant and the food was pretty good. The server didn't offer us a drink after we sat down. We had to prompt him to take our drink order and had to ask if there were any specials. The service was below average and I was embarrassed by this considering it was my recommendation to have a dinner meeting at this restaurant. We felt ignored.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Chose this place based on Open Table and ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Chose this place based on Open Table and Yelp reviews. When we got there it was in a hotel which made us all question whether it was really going to be good. We were all pleasantly surprised. We had the grilled calamari appetizer which was outstanding. The calamari were tender and the flavor from the grilling was great. I had the scallops and they were cooked perfectly. My companions had the lamb and they said it was delicious. Everything was presented beautifully. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed my meal. Both of us finis ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Really enjoyed my meal. Both of us finished every last bite. Service was a bit slow, but we did appreciate that they didn't push us out the door either. Ambience was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

quiet place, food is good and also servi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2016

quiet place, food is good and also service was ok. small place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Best veal chop I have ever eaten. Very a ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Best veal chop I have ever eaten. Very attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good, but not awesome. Lovely s ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was good, but not awesome. Lovely setting tucked away on Mercer St.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I have now come twice to Victor's and ha ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have now come twice to Victor's and had different items from the menu and not been disappointed. Food is delicious and everyone I was with felt the same way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Really incredible food. I had the Branzi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really incredible food. I had the Branzino and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I've ever had. Our server was knowledgable and professional, but also really friendly, not too stuffy. I'd say it's business casual dress. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambience and service was superb, the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The ambience and service was superb, the dishes well presented and tasty, all in all a great place to go eat. I would say this restaurant falls on the maybe lower $$$ instead of the said $$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for dinner before concerts at ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great spot for dinner before concerts at Roy Thomson Hall, just a few blocks away. Service was extremely courteous and helpful . Loved the Happy Hour Sangria. Enjoyed all our courses. Location is somewhat tucked away on Mercer Street so suspect it doesn't get much walk by business .....worth walking to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I was a bit taken back with the limit me ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 16, 2016

I was a bit taken back with the limit menu but when digging into each of the items it became obvious that each was a tasty work of art. I had the seared scallops with the lentils (not currently showing on their website menu). This was the best meal I had in my 4 days of travel in downtown Toronto. And the service was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and amazing food!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Celebrated my girlfriends birthdays and they made a custom cake for her. Great tasting food and great drink selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was alright

vip
 (Österreich)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Had to send my steak back as it was over cooked. Surprising considering that this attempts to be a high end place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Top notch professional service. Nice lo ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Top notch professional service. Nice looking room. Food was excellent. Generous portion sizes. Complimentary sparkling water. Wine by the glass a little on the expensive side. Plan to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem in the entertainment district

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Took me a minute to realize the restaurant was inside Le Germain Hotel.

It had a very nice atmosphere and the food was outstanding!

The service was done exceptionally well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Victor, is a pleasant underutilized rest ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Victor, is a pleasant underutilized restaurant in the St. Germain Hotel.

we were greeted warmly and were provided with outstanding service. We were on our way to a play and slightly late because of traffic, however the staff ensured we got everything in plenty of time and we were never rushed.

The food was excellent. A nice little place if you want something away from the main King Street Strip in the Entertainment District.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Value

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food is excellent food, but portions small for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great spot

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 7, 2016

We sat at the bar cuz we were a little early, staff was great. Bartenders entertaining while making a variety of drinks. Great conversations and friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

loved the food and wine. staff excellent

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2016

delighted wIth our meal at Victor. Great location in Entertainment District, ownderful food, great selection of wines by the glass. the wait staff was both professional and warm, and very accomodating. will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

7/10

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Had wine, cheese board, oysters, roasted brazino and pork chop. Girlfriend didn't enjoy the fish too much but I thought the pork chop with brussel sprouts was great. Decent Happy Hour deals as well. Complementary sparkling water was a first and balanced out the couple of order mistakes.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Victor Restaurant - Toronto

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Our group of five dined at the Victor on Thursday, April 28. We were late for our reservation, having come from out of town, but it was not even mentioned. The wait staff ensured us that we would still be able to make it to our 8:00 show. Everyone loved their food which ranged from poutine to scallops (cooked perfectly). The staff were very attentive and friendly. Our service was efficient but felt personable. The Victor wine from California was greatly appreciated and a real treat. I thought the prices were very reasonable for what was presented on the plate. A great choice as even the picky eaters in my group were happy. It was great to be able to reserve on line.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unpredicted hidden gem

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Found this restaurant on open table while looking fro a new venue to meet some friends at. Saw the 5 star rating and thought why not lets try it. A small place which surprised us they had seating for 7 people but a great atmosphere and vibe and clearly not many people know about this hidden gem. Very friendly staff inside the St Germain Hotel on Mercer. Love the selection of cocktails and the food was fantastic. Literally booked the table and walked down the street. Had to wait about 5 min to get the table set up. Food was great with lots of selection. I would totally go back for more!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We got to the restaurants at 630 for din ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2016

We got to the restaurants at 630 for dinner before a show at 8. The theatre is a 3 min walk so we figured 1.5 hours would be more than enough time. Sadly it wasn't. Took about 45 mins to get our food so we just asked them to give it to us in to go containers instead. Even more sadly, no one seemed to care we were in a rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Dinner Before The Show

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 5, 2016

Was here once before for a corporate event. I was quite surprised by the good food and wonderful service. I went out of my comfort zone and ordered something I wouldn't normally order and was pleasantly surprised because it was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was just for some light late night fo ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 13, 2016

It was just for some light late night food. It was close to closing. Everything was quite delicious and the service attentive. I would go next time to try a full meal. The location is great for TIFF week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

So Glad My Friend Found This Place

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2016

My friend was visiting from out of town and she researched restaurants around Second City. She found Victor at Hotel Le Germain. I was quite skeptical at first, having dined in many restaurants with foodie sounding menus, yet deliver subpar results.

Victor was an exception. Friendly, genuine service from checking in, sitting at the bar for a drink, and then for dinner. Server sat my friend and I at a nice quiet table at the back, and gave very genuinely (instead of forced smile) professional service. Bar tender made wonderful cocktails.

I returned about 20 minutes after I left because I thought I forgot my phone. Our kind server, immediately upon seeing me, asked what I needed and upon telling her i lost my phone, she ran over to our table to help me look for it.

Oh! I guess I should mention the food! Excellent. I had the ribeye with garlic butter and truffled mash potatoes. Melt in your mouth, lots of flavor. Best steak i have had for a verrrry long time. My friend had bone in porkchop and celeriac she was yumming the whole way. Shared a reasonably priced and very nice bottle Pinot Grigio .

All in all a lovely experience for two friends to catch up. Can't wait to return with my husband.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good. Dishes are of very good quali ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Very good. Dishes are of very good quality and very tasty but it might be too expensive for the quality that you are getting.

I still liked it a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Dinner was great

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a girls dinner here. I love how they don't try to stuff the restaurant full of people. The service was good, they could have been more attentive but truth be told it was 4 ladies chatting away over wine and dinner so they can't be blamed. The steak tartare was great as was my main (scallops and pork belly). Everyone else had lovely entrees as well. I would totally come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Pleasant spot. Chose two apps rather tha ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2016

Pleasant spot. Chose two apps rather than an entree. Caesar salad had too much mayo. Steak tartare and fish cakes were excellent. Service good. Nice touch was offering bottled water complementary instead of using it as an opportunity to rip you off!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great ambiance. Well located in the King ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great ambiance. Well located in the King west area. Food was of a high quality. However, portions were small, and in the end was not worth the price we paid.

Drinks were mediocre. Wasn't too impressed with the cocktails. Once again, overall a very decent experience. But I've had much better food for the same price. So good for special occasions, but nothing notable other than the ambiance and the value for this restaurant is low.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Nice quiet spot for Lunch or Dinner

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Prime location in Toronto for many attractions and entertainment district. Food and service were good and very prompt. Our server was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Evening

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The location was perfect for us as we were going to the late show at The Second City, across the street. The meal was very good although my wife's Gnocchi was a little bland. Service was very, very good and the quiet ambiance was just what we were looking for. The wines are fairly pricey, but there was a nice selection. I would go back next time we are in Toronto

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.