Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.06mi
  4. Distance: 0.06mi

About Victor Restaurant

Nestled off the lobby of Hotel Le Germain Toronto, Victor provides guests the perfect setting to lounge, dine and entertain.

30 Mercer Street
Toronto, ON M5V 1H3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Canadian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
We are currently CLOSED FOR RENOVATIONS, with an anticipated re-opening date of June 16th. We hope to see you then!

Cross Street:
John St. & King St West

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 883-3431

Website:
http://www.victorrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
There are two public parking lots located on either side of Mercer St. adjacent to the Restaurant. Valet parking is available through the Hotel le Germain Toronto.

Public Transit:
Mercer St. is a one way street going West from John St. to Blue Jays Way. It runs parallel to King Street, one street South.
The closest subway station is St. Andrew Station at King St and University. The closest intersection and TTC stop is King St West and John St.

Executive Chef:
Lanny MacLeod

Private Party Contact:
Ellen Prychitka: (416) 883-3431

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Fri 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Victor Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Romantic (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Small diningroom and bar which is great. Unfortunately the room is closing for renovation. It was terrific tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Appetizers : Yukon potaroes, Beef Shortrib and aged cheddar Perogies were excellent! i could have it that all night 5/5

Mean: Pappardelle , don't need to be vegetarian to appreciate, it was delicious just the right amount of mushrooms and Ricotta cheese and the pasta were perfectly cooked 4/5

Dessert : That was the low part of the night, we should have just took the bill but we went for the Coffee cake with Cream chantilly. Unfortunately the dessert really average didn't find the coffee taste and the cream chantilly was pretty much whipcream 2/5

Services : Excellent 5/5

Ambiance : 4/5 great not too noisy really relaxing could easily had a conversation without screaming. We went at 8:30pm Friday night.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very expensive for what it is. This restaurant is attached to a hotel and is meant for business travelers who can charge the meal as a corporate expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The Rosé sangria was delicious. Ambient environment, only wish the drinks would of come faster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was very salty, and stuff that you could make at home.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The coffee wasn't served hot.
Otherwise, it was a most enjoyable supper.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Victor was a nice random selection after an afternoon at the AGO. Good Food and nice portions. Good Service from all the servers; they were pleasant and engaging without being obvious and the atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. We'll be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent service within a gem of a hotel, close to Second City and theatres. Loved the ambiance too. Really cute date spot. And big enough for a large group.

I liked our dishes -- Big Vic burger and the scallops, but would have enjoyed them more with half the salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was very good nd service excellent, all in a good atmosphere. A great pre theatre meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Friendly reception . Great ambiance. Caesar salad and soup delicious. Entre very tasty. Great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was fantastic, cooked and paired perfectly. The steak frites were wonderful, as were the brick chicken and pirogies. Loved the old movies being shown. Staff was knowledgable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a wonderful family meal in Christmas Eve. It was quiet, the wine list is fabulous, and the food and service were well received. This is an excellent spot, and quiet, so that you can actually have a conversation with your guests. This is distessingly rare now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Nice quiet dining atmosphere despite the fact there is a very large screen tv behind the bar and a parking lot right across the street. The menu was small but had a very good variety. We all enjoyed our entrees- steak frites, scallops and pork loin chop and shared the trio of desserts with lemon cheesecake and an excellent butter tart. Would be good for drinks and business dinners and they charge for $25 corkage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Amazing service and good meals! Wish they had a bit more variety on the menu but overall everything was great! Was here to celebrate a birthday and loved the whole vibe of the restaurant. They don't answer the phone though.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great food, service, wine list and overall experience. I always make it a point to dine here when I'm in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Third time I brought a business group and each time my group was very satisfied. In my group we had a gluten free diet requirement, the server was very attentive to her needs and was very knowledgeable regarding the menu. My company bean counters will be happy that the cost per person was under $65 (pre tax and tip). I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Menu that was on OpenTable was not the same. The daily specials were absent and this was disappointing. Pricing was significantly higher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Wonderful pre-theatre choice given proximity to King Street theatres and Roy Thomson Hall. Lovely cocktails to start and creative food offerings . Although it's part of a hotel, it feels like a small intimate restaurant on a deserted street.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great cocktails. Delicious food. Swanky atmosphere. Enjoyed dinner prior to seeing a Second City show right across the street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Amazing atmosphere. Server gave us a private room for our birthday party. The private room was absolutely beautiful. The food was great and the server was attentive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Simply amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

A romantic spot tucked away off Bay St. A great continental menu offered Ng something for everyone, including pasta, seafood, vegetarian and of course the carnivores amongst us. My husband and I shared the Tuna and Shrimp Ceviche. Avery generous appetizer that I couldn't get enough of. My entree was I the evening special, a strip lion with frites. Prepared perfectly, best fries I've had. I would however have like the meal to include a vegetable to complete the meal. My husband had the scallops. These too were delicious and perfectly prepared. We finished the evening with the chef sampler desserts since we couldn't decide which to get.

The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. They helped us select a nice wine and even allowed us to sample a couple before we settled on one.

Not an inexpensive evening but definitely felt that we got our monies worth.

Note: Open Table indicates that They offer No Corkage Fees on Sunday. This is an old promo and no longer in effect. Can't comment on the other specials noted but always best to check first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had dinner pre-theatre. Lovely decor and quiet atmosphere. Great service. The food was superb, we LOVED the caesar salad, and had the panko crusted lake trout and frites which was delicious. Cheesecake was yummy, not too sweet. We would definitely return to Victor!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food m service and ambience was excellent. I love macaroni and cheese and with the chicken it was amazing. Their drink Dark and Stormy was best I ever had in a bar. They cheesecake is yummy! We will be going back!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The Vic Burger was one of the best burgers I've experienced

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant and the food was pretty good. The server didn't offer us a drink after we sat down. We had to prompt him to take our drink order and had to ask if there were any specials. The service was below average and I was embarrassed by this considering it was my recommendation to have a dinner meeting at this restaurant. We felt ignored.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Chose this place based on Open Table and Yelp reviews. When we got there it was in a hotel which made us all question whether it was really going to be good. We were all pleasantly surprised. We had the grilled calamari appetizer which was outstanding. The calamari were tender and the flavor from the grilling was great. I had the scallops and they were cooked perfectly. My companions had the lamb and they said it was delicious. Everything was presented beautifully. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Really enjoyed my meal. Both of us finished every last bite. Service was a bit slow, but we did appreciate that they didn't push us out the door either. Ambience was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 20, 2016

quiet place, food is good and also service was ok. small place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raum Stuttgart)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Best veal chop I have ever eaten. Very attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was good, but not awesome. Lovely setting tucked away on Mercer St.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have now come twice to Victor's and had different items from the menu and not been disappointed. Food is delicious and everyone I was with felt the same way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Really incredible food. I had the Branzino and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I've ever had. Our server was knowledgable and professional, but also really friendly, not too stuffy. I'd say it's business casual dress. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The ambience and service was superb, the dishes well presented and tasty, all in all a great place to go eat. I would say this restaurant falls on the maybe lower $$$ instead of the said $$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great spot for dinner before concerts at Roy Thomson Hall, just a few blocks away. Service was extremely courteous and helpful . Loved the Happy Hour Sangria. Enjoyed all our courses. Location is somewhat tucked away on Mercer Street so suspect it doesn't get much walk by business .....worth walking to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 16, 2016

I was a bit taken back with the limit menu but when digging into each of the items it became obvious that each was a tasty work of art. I had the seared scallops with the lentils (not currently showing on their website menu). This was the best meal I had in my 4 days of travel in downtown Toronto. And the service was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Celebrated my girlfriends birthdays and they made a custom cake for her. Great tasting food and great drink selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Had to send my steak back as it was over cooked. Surprising considering that this attempts to be a high end place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Top notch professional service. Nice looking room. Food was excellent. Generous portion sizes. Complimentary sparkling water. Wine by the glass a little on the expensive side. Plan to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Took me a minute to realize the restaurant was inside Le Germain Hotel.
It had a very nice atmosphere and the food was outstanding!

The service was done exceptionally well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.