About Vickers Restaurant

192 East Welsh Pool Rd
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Vickers Restaurant is the transformed home of famed abolitionist and Chester County potter, John Vickers. Nestled in his original 1820s farmhouse, Vickers is an institution in Chester County known for its authentic vintage cuisine. Vickers Restaurant opened in 1972 and is still one of the only restaurants in the country celebrating these traditional dishes that epitomize luxury and continental glamor. Come in to experience the timeless panache of flambeed Bananas Foster, Steak Diane and Caesar Salad prepared tableside as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers. For something lighter the casual bar menu that includes Kobe Sliders, spinach and artichoke fondue & seared scallops is perfect for a weeknight bite. Outdoor patio opened in the Spring/Summer. Private dining rooms available for 10-135. Corporate menus available. Fireplaces for romantic dinners. Full Bar & wine list available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International, French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Private Events only.
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gordon Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 363-7998

Website:
http://vickersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Piano Friday & Saturday Evenings from 6:45-10:00.

Please check our website for special artists.
www.VickersRestaurant.com

Catering:
Vickers provides on site catering for private functions of 45-135 in our banquet facility. Our on site catering menus include cocktail receptions, plated meals and buffets for wedding receptions, showers, corporate functions, rehearsal dinners and many other private events. Luncheon group menus start at $21, dinner group menus start at $29 and wedding receptions are custom.

Full group menus are online and can always be customized to fit yoru event and budget.

Parking Details:
Private lot adjacent to the front of the building.

Public Transit:
SEPTA

Private Party Facilities:
PRIVATE EVENTS
Vickers is the perfect backdrop for your most intimate events. Our private rooms will give warmth to your showers, add elegance to your engagement parties and exude charm at your anniversary and birthday celebrations. Special menus are available.

CORPORATE EVENTS
For corporate events, Vickers has private rooms for 10-35 and our our spacious ballroom can host from 50-120. This space is perfect for corporate holiday parties, retirement parties, cocktail receptions and seminars and presentations. Group menus to fit every budget.

WEDDINGS & SHOWERS
Adjacent to the historic restaurant is the Plantation Ballroom. It's quiet elegance and grand décor make it the perfect venue for top-notch wedding receptions, baby and bridal showers. Our elegant ballroom can hold up to 135 guests and has an adjacent outdoor space.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Brogan: 6103637998x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
UPCOMING EVENTS....

WINE TASTING DINNERS
Wild Game & California Wine Tasting Dinner 11/6

HAPPY HOUR M-F 4:30-6:30
with our special discounted bar menu. Bar menu is available on our patio or bar for a more casual evening.

HOLIDAYS
Open Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, New Years Eve, Mother's Day, Easter

Vickers Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Continental
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Western Suburbs
1 More
Romantic
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Exton ›

Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Historic (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fireplace (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (5)
Live Music (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Vickers Restaurant is wonderfully consis ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Vickers Restaurant is wonderfully consistent. The Colonial era structure adds a level of ambience that complements the dining experience---with specials and printed entrees all well prepared and tasty. Our group had the filet, tuna and lamb- all excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful special date night venue, hand ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful special date night venue, handled to perfection by the staff, including special request, waiter could have gotten on board better, but it did not diminish the perfect experience and food quality of the Vickers Restaurant. We are thrilled and will always will remember the night. P.S. both had lobster tails...perfect as well.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

An evening at the Vickers Tavern is alwa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An evening at the Vickers Tavern is always a special occasion, especially on Saturday night, with the live piano music. I enjoyed the beef Wellington which was a special that evening.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time celebrating my birthday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great time celebrating my birthday. Food was good. Service was good. Dinner was prepared tableside. Loved the room. The historic building takes you back to a time period that makes you feel elegant. Ended the evening in the cozy bar listening to the excellent piano player. The bartender was great making sure that your time there was special.

Thank You

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When in Lionville we try to have either ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

When in Lionville we try to have either lunch or dinner at Vickers Tavern At Vickers you can still have the pleasure of table side food preparation, a lost art at most restaurants. our server Jason was the ultimate professional. Don't miss the opportunity to dine at Vickers when in the Exton area of PA.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally, a restaurant with a high end ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Generally, a restaurant with a high end menu and a deliberate sophisticated theme will provide the ambiance and taste satisfaction we expect. Vickers was all we expected in our choice for an intimate, local restaurant with exceptional food presented in a distinctive formal style. We like a restaurant which matches the service (including the bar experience) to the elegance or casual design of the menu. In Vickers case the service was attentive, experienced and adaptable to our individual comfort. In essence, it was a memorable experience for the delicious meal in a very cozy, well-designed tavern atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time dining and overall, it was gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time dining and overall, it was great for a relaxing date night. Cozy candles, a fireplace, and a pianist taking requests made the experience even more comforting. A little disorganized when you walk in, as there are no signs telling you where to check in and no host/hostess to greet customers. We wandered around for a few minutes, until we finally stopped a waiter to ask where we were to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Vickers has a great menu, good ambience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Vickers has a great menu, good ambience and yummy entrees as well as desserts. Priced slightly on the higher side the food is worth the price. Ate my filet with ease using only s butter knife.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Long standing fabulous restaurant with p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Long standing fabulous restaurant with plenty of charm and ambiance. Great bar and excellent food with superior professional service. A true gem of chester county!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Historic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food selection, presentation ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Outstanding food selection, presentation and taste. Biggest problem was the service. Our waiter was only occasionally in our room. Waited for 20 minutes for the dessert memo. We loved everthing else, so not sure if we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

We chose Vickers for our tenth anniversa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We chose Vickers for our tenth anniversary. We mentioned that we would like somewhere quiet and they accommodated us immediately. Both our appetizers and entrees were absolutely delicious as were the desserts. Wine recommendations were perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Vickers twice this week while ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We went to Vickers twice this week while visiting the area - we go every year when we are here. The food was great. The service is really an issue. Our waiter the first night was fine. Last night the waiter acted as if everything was an inconvenience. Truly arrogant. Can't say I'd recommend the place any more. When some members of he party shared their experience with the management - they were equally arrogant about the situation. Consider spending your dinner dollars elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Thank you Vickers. Excellent food. Exce ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Thank you Vickers. Excellent food. Excellent service.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent atmospher ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food and service was excellent atmosphere was very good piano player was excellent portions were very small 5 ounce filet mignon's I had the crispy chicken which was excellent wife had Dover sole excellent Caesar salad was to die for. Maybe featuring a 10 ounce filet mignon or 16 ounce New York strip as a special would satisfy us big eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

FANTASTIC SERVICE AND FOOD!!!!! Definit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

FANTASTIC SERVICE AND FOOD!!!!! Definitely worth the drive from Newark, De to Exton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Vickers before. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been to the Vickers before. We have always enjoyed the experience. Even after living in Germany for 2 years, we love it at Vickers. It gives us the warm European feeling that we don't get anywhere else. Any food that we have ordered has met or exceeded our expectations. The waiters are superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been a fan of this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have been a fan of this restaurant for 40 years. This time it was not up to par. It was very hot outside and I am sure the kitchen was a thousand degrees. The restaurant was very hot too. The food was not as good as it has been in the past. The smoked salmon appetizer was terrible. Just three small pieces on a round piece of something soggy and tasteless. The Bananas' Foster was terrible. Ken our waiter did a good job even in the heat. Maybe it was just a bad night all around. I expect something better for $450.00 for 4 people. We will try them again someday.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great happy hour to enjoy before you sit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great happy hour to enjoy before you sit down for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went for a date on Friday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I went for a date on Friday night. The food and ambiance were excellent. The service was good, but not great. Our server was a little sloppy and only came by to fill our water glasses once. However, he had an strong understanding of the menu which was helpful since it was our first time there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The venue is historical/cool and the ser ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The venue is historical/cool and the service impeccable. I thought the food was very good/not great, but some dishes were terrific. I would go back because the piano bar makes for a great evening and really cool entertainment while you're eating. To make it a truly memorable experience, I think they should review their menu offerings and make changes where necessary. My steak was a bit overcooked...no excuse for a restaurant that wants "all the money".

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Historical place and legendary food

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Historical place and legendary food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They need embark In a advertise campain ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2016

They need embark In a advertise campain because there is a low attendance and I am afraid they would close the doors again. It is a very good restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-term local staple of fine dining th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Long-term local staple of fine dining that has gone through a few different incarnations over the years. Lovely surroundings, courteous staff, excellent food. We will be going often! Steak Diane was fabulous, much better than local competition. Rack of lamb likewise great, perfectly cooked. All desserts worth trying. Not cheap if you do drinks, appetizer, main course, dessert, and coffee; worth the money, though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming setting, yummy food, classy ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Charming setting, yummy food, classy service, and a pianist who is second to none! Thanks, Joe, for making our evening so enjoyable. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a terrific night with exceptional fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a terrific night with exceptional food and unhurried great service. Very ronantic. Enjoyed the piano plus impromptu singing by patrons. After dinner, had drinks at bar. Will definately he returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambiance. Nice for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and ambiance. Nice for a special occasion. Must order something prepared table side for the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Superb setting, food, service and thorou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Superb setting, food, service and thoroughly enjoyable to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the piano player in the bar area ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the piano player in the bar area. The music can be heard while dining and the restaurant is a favorite of ours!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having dined at Vickers numerous times n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Having dined at Vickers numerous times now, Vickers is rapidly becoming our go to restaurant. Tonight, they outdid themselves. The service has always been spot on but tonight they showed they will go above and beyond to ensure we were taken care of. After an excellent meal; French onion gratinee for myself and the cocktail shrimp for my wife to start, then steak diane flambe and the dover sole, both prepared tableside, for our entrees, all of which were delicious and perfectly prepared, my wife and I decided to finish with the bananas foster for desert. Alas, our waiter informed us, i just used the last of our bananas. Fortunately the manager overheard and said, i will go to wawa and buy some more! So we were able to enjoy bananas foster after all. He's made loyal customers of us for certain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Professional waiter, excellent food. It ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Professional waiter, excellent food. It would need to be somewhat of a special occasion as it is a little pricey, but not overpriced.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little historic building and delicious meal!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went on a recommendation and were not let down.

Great little building that has a ton of history. The bar was a nice little setting that was a great prelude to dinner.

Escargot was excellent! We then had the steak Dianne and the wife had soft shell crab special. Delicious all around, and chocolate mousse cake was not a let down for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always get an excellent meal.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Always get an excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food. Great ambiance. Great service. Wonderful piano music. What more can you ask?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in on a Tuesday at 5:30 PM for our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 24, 2016

Went in on a Tuesday at 5:30 PM for our 19th wedding anniversary. We had drinks at the bar which were great. We then went to our table and the waiter asked us for our menu selections. My wife and I decided against appetizers and ordered our meals with a glass or wine. We requested the wine be brought with the meal. The waiter came back shortly with rolls which were great and about 5 minutes later he brought out the wine. Dinner arrived very shortly after. I felt as if they were rushing us out. The food was excellent but the salmon portion my wife got was tiny. I feel that for the price of the meal I should not have to tell the waitstaff to slow down. I have been to other venues (Seven Stars, Dueling Kurts ....) with my 3 kids and not felt so rushed. Monday is not a night to rush customers out. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Vickers

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2016

We love this restaurant with it's old wold charm, piano player and delicious food.

We will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always get a great meal and service. Jus ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always get a great meal and service. Just love the table-side prepared Caesar Salad. Excellent suggestion of an Argentina Bordeaux we had not tried before.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out of food

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our reservation was at 5:30 on Mother's Day and they were already out of three entrees. Very surprising as they were fully booked and must have been prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Restaurant!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and enjoyed dinning there for Mother's Day!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just Adequate

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We visited this restaurant for Mother's Day brunch. The entire experience was adequate. Reasonably edible food without much waiting. The service was disappointing. On multiple ocassions our server quickly responded to our requests with a curt 'no' before checking with anyone about our requests. We weren't asking for much. One request was to ask at the bar if they had any juice besides OJ or cranberry. Another request was to substitute fruit for the cake included with a child's meal. Both times he responded no without giving the requests any thought. We ended up having to pay the adult price for our 4 year old to get fruit for dessert.

Our server did no more than he absolutely had to. It's doubtful that we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.