About Vickers Restaurant

192 East Welsh Pool Rd
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Vickers Restaurant is the transformed home of famed abolitionist and Chester County potter, John Vickers. Nestled in his original 1820s farmhouse, Vickers is an institution in Chester County known for its authentic vintage cuisine. Vickers Restaurant opened in 1972 and is still one of the only restaurants in the country celebrating these traditional dishes that epitomize luxury and continental glamor. Come in to experience the timeless panache of flambeed Bananas Foster, Steak Diane and Caesar Salad prepared tableside as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers. For something lighter the casual bar menu that includes Kobe Sliders, spinach and artichoke fondue & seared scallops is perfect for a weeknight bite. Outdoor patio opened in the Spring/Summer. Private dining rooms available for 10-135. Corporate menus available. Fireplaces for romantic dinners. Full Bar & wine list available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International, French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Private Events only.
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gordon Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 363-7998

Website:
http://vickersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Piano Friday & Saturday Evenings from 6:45-10:00.

Please check our website for special artists.
www.VickersRestaurant.com

Catering:
Vickers provides on site catering for private functions of 45-135 in our banquet facility. Our on site catering menus include cocktail receptions, plated meals and buffets for wedding receptions, showers, corporate functions, rehearsal dinners and many other private events. Luncheon group menus start at $21, dinner group menus start at $29 and wedding receptions are custom.

Full group menus are online and can always be customized to fit yoru event and budget.

Parking Details:
Private lot adjacent to the front of the building.

Public Transit:
SEPTA

Private Party Facilities:
PRIVATE EVENTS
Vickers is the perfect backdrop for your most intimate events. Our private rooms will give warmth to your showers, add elegance to your engagement parties and exude charm at your anniversary and birthday celebrations. Special menus are available.

CORPORATE EVENTS
For corporate events, Vickers has private rooms for 10-35 and our our spacious ballroom can host from 50-120. This space is perfect for corporate holiday parties, retirement parties, cocktail receptions and seminars and presentations. Group menus to fit every budget.

WEDDINGS & SHOWERS
Adjacent to the historic restaurant is the Plantation Ballroom. It's quiet elegance and grand décor make it the perfect venue for top-notch wedding receptions, baby and bridal showers. Our elegant ballroom can hold up to 135 guests and has an adjacent outdoor space.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Brogan: 6103637998x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
UPCOMING EVENTS....

WINE TASTING DINNERS
Wild Game & California Wine Tasting Dinner 11/6

HAPPY HOUR M-F 4:30-6:30
with our special discounted bar menu. Bar menu is available on our patio or bar for a more casual evening.

HOLIDAYS
Open Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, New Years Eve, Mother's Day, Easter

Vickers Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Continental
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Western Suburbs
Romantic
Western Suburbs
1 More
Special Occasion
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Exton ›

special occasion (26)
romantic (23)
fit for foodies (14)
See All
notable wine list (12)
good for groups (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They need embark In a advertise campain ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

They need embark In a advertise campain because there is a low attendance and I am afraid they would close the doors again. It is a very good restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-term local staple of fine dining th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Long-term local staple of fine dining that has gone through a few different incarnations over the years. Lovely surroundings, courteous staff, excellent food. We will be going often! Steak Diane was fabulous, much better than local competition. Rack of lamb likewise great, perfectly cooked. All desserts worth trying. Not cheap if you do drinks, appetizer, main course, dessert, and coffee; worth the money, though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming setting, yummy food, classy ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Charming setting, yummy food, classy service, and a pianist who is second to none! Thanks, Joe, for making our evening so enjoyable. We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a terrific night with exceptional fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a terrific night with exceptional food and unhurried great service. Very ronantic. Enjoyed the piano plus impromptu singing by patrons. After dinner, had drinks at bar. Will definately he returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambiance. Nice for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and ambiance. Nice for a special occasion. Must order something prepared table side for the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Superb setting, food, service and thorou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Superb setting, food, service and thoroughly enjoyable to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the piano player in the bar area ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the piano player in the bar area. The music can be heard while dining and the restaurant is a favorite of ours!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having dined at Vickers numerous times n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Having dined at Vickers numerous times now, Vickers is rapidly becoming our go to restaurant. Tonight, they outdid themselves. The service has always been spot on but tonight they showed they will go above and beyond to ensure we were taken care of. After an excellent meal; French onion gratinee for myself and the cocktail shrimp for my wife to start, then steak diane flambe and the dover sole, both prepared tableside, for our entrees, all of which were delicious and perfectly prepared, my wife and I decided to finish with the bananas foster for desert. Alas, our waiter informed us, i just used the last of our bananas. Fortunately the manager overheard and said, i will go to wawa and buy some more! So we were able to enjoy bananas foster after all. He's made loyal customers of us for certain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Professional waiter, excellent food. It ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Professional waiter, excellent food. It would need to be somewhat of a special occasion as it is a little pricey, but not overpriced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little historic building and delicious meal!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went on a recommendation and were not let down.

Great little building that has a ton of history. The bar was a nice little setting that was a great prelude to dinner.

Escargot was excellent! We then had the steak Dianne and the wife had soft shell crab special. Delicious all around, and chocolate mousse cake was not a let down for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always get an excellent meal.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Always get an excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food. Great ambiance. Great service. Wonderful piano music. What more can you ask?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in on a Tuesday at 5:30 PM for our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Went in on a Tuesday at 5:30 PM for our 19th wedding anniversary. We had drinks at the bar which were great. We then went to our table and the waiter asked us for our menu selections. My wife and I decided against appetizers and ordered our meals with a glass or wine. We requested the wine be brought with the meal. The waiter came back shortly with rolls which were great and about 5 minutes later he brought out the wine. Dinner arrived very shortly after. I felt as if they were rushing us out. The food was excellent but the salmon portion my wife got was tiny. I feel that for the price of the meal I should not have to tell the waitstaff to slow down. I have been to other venues (Seven Stars, Dueling Kurts ....) with my 3 kids and not felt so rushed. Monday is not a night to rush customers out. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Vickers

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We love this restaurant with it's old wold charm, piano player and delicious food.

We will return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always get a great meal and service. Jus ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always get a great meal and service. Just love the table-side prepared Caesar Salad. Excellent suggestion of an Argentina Bordeaux we had not tried before.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out of food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our reservation was at 5:30 on Mother's Day and they were already out of three entrees. Very surprising as they were fully booked and must have been prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Restaurant!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and enjoyed dinning there for Mother's Day!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just Adequate

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We visited this restaurant for Mother's Day brunch. The entire experience was adequate. Reasonably edible food without much waiting. The service was disappointing. On multiple ocassions our server quickly responded to our requests with a curt 'no' before checking with anyone about our requests. We weren't asking for much. One request was to ask at the bar if they had any juice besides OJ or cranberry. Another request was to substitute fruit for the cake included with a child's meal. Both times he responded no without giving the requests any thought. We ended up having to pay the adult price for our 4 year old to get fruit for dessert.

Our server did no more than he absolutely had to. It's doubtful that we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

My husband and I dined at this restaurant many years ago when we last lived in the area. Monday night we entertained guests from Savannah, Georgia, for dinner at Vickers Restaurant. Our high expectations were met fully. Though it was a Monday night and very quiet, our service was excellent; the atmosphere elegant; and the meal, delicious. We could not have enjoyed a more pleasant experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a Great Place for a Celebration

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We visited Vickers recently to celebrate by wife's 60th birthday. Vickers was our go to place for celebrations when we were younger but we haven't been there for years. Well it was just as good if not better than we remembered. The food, service and ambience were all excellent. Our group of 7 tried a number of things including the lobster tail/lobster ravioli combo, the filet, the shrimp & scallops, the duck and all were excellent. Appetizers included the spinach salad, the lobster crisp and a few others and again all were excellent. If you haven't been there I highly recommend you try it. We'll surely be back sooner rather than later.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

used to be a contender

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

5th time going. Was our "place"to celebrate anniversary . Might have been an off night but there were plenty of open tables for a Saturday. Food quality seems to have declined since last year but the prices have not. Service was great though.

May have to find my next favorite spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Never disappoints!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food is divine, my friend and I both got the Steak Diane, prepared tableside, (it is to die for!), the husbands ordered specials which there are always several. The bar is cozy & well serviced with an entertaining bartender, the live piano player is talented and takes requests. I feel all of my troubles melt away when I'm there!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful service; fresh, tasty and beautifully prepared meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensiuve

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Ordered the "fish special" which was very good but was shocked when I was charged $42. Items on the menu were expensive but I expected that considering the restaurant but the "special" price was way over priced. When specials were offered no mention of price was provided

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We were hosting a party of 8 with vistors fr Italy

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We wanted a place with local color in both atmosphere and menu. An excellent choice for our low-key dinner with clients and employees.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect as Always

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We love Vickers and choose it for all of our special occasions as well as casual nights out. The fact that there is a piano man is one of my favorite things! The food is always fantastic- we've never had a bad meal there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a great experience at Vickers restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Had a great experience at Vickers restaurant. Great ambiance, great food, great service. A little on the pricey side but highly recommend for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fabulous experience! The menu choices ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

A fabulous experience! The menu choices for Valentine's Day were delicious. The live musical entertainment added just the perfect accompaniment to an already pleasing environment. Service, as always, was on point. Just the nicest time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. Sinc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Since it was Valentine's Day the menu was fixed price which I do not care since we are not dessert eaters.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific Food with Exceptional Piano Bar

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Vickers Is a wonderful place for special occasions with excellent food and desserts. Our Valentine's dinner was excellent from start to finish. The piano bar is warm and inviting--great atmosphere for a night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Escargot, winter salad, & fillet with bé ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Escargot, winter salad, & fillet with béarnaise sauce. It was all fantastic. Medium rare steak cooked perfectly! Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Vickers

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

A little expensive for old style menus and ok food. Service was ok not great. Not sure I would spend the money to go there again

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

DELICIOUS! Table side Caesar salad and B ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

DELICIOUS! Table side Caesar salad and Banana's Foster prepared meticulously, attentive and professional service, would absolutely go back for a romantic dinner. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced for adequate meal.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had the Dover Sole and Beef Wellington. It was okay; not great. Our bottle of wine was tasteless. We should have said something, but didn't. The maitre'd was speaking a foreign language to the person that was seating people when we walked in. We didn't understand him but the tone was certainly not encouraging. It seemed the wait staff was under pressure. Felt a little like a number and, frankly, a bit sorry for our waiter. He was working very hard.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Thanks to Kevin

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Our server Kevin was attentive all evening. The fireplace provided a delightful ambiance for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and Food good but pricey.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The Service and food were very good, we liked the layout and atmosphere of restaurant also. Only downside was that it's pretty pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great anniversary diner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Had a wonderful evening of dining and enjoying each other for celebration of our wedding anniversary. The food is fantastic, especially the dover sole and tuna.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vick tory

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Christmas eve dinner was great, the lobby/ bar decoration put you in a festive mode. Started out up one of the best manhattan ever. Must try the escargot in garlic/ butter fantastic. For our entree we had roasted duck prepared perfectly and my wife had the sole and crab great. Our server Kenn was gracious and was always on top of our ever need.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Durable and Delightful!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

When discussing our choice for a special evening out at the Christmas season, our thoughts immediately turned to the durable, tried-and-true Vickers. It had been a while since we were last there, and there had been some changes; but it's difficult to find an eatery more suitable for that satisfying, pleasant and relaxing event that we had hoped for. Arturo and his staff could not have been more hospitable, informed and attentive, adding to the end result. And when is the last time you were treated to the forgotten and dying art of tableside preparation of such favorites as Caesar Salad, Steak Diane and Cherries Jubilee! Top it all off with the warm and welcoming accompaniment of a pianist playing many familiar tunes for the holidays, audible even in the side dining rooms. You owe it to yourselves to visit Vickers for a memorable dining experience in a timeless atmosphere. A word of caution.......if you pass up the Escargots, you're really missing out on a gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Holiday Lunch in a Pretty Setting

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

We enjoyed a very nice lunch prior to going to Longwood Gardens. The restaurant was decorated for the holidays, which created a lovely ambiance. Food was very good, and our waiter was attentive. There was, however, an aspect of stuffiness. I believe we encountered the owner when we were paying our bill and he seemed overly serious, not welcoming or warm. That last impression was the only negative aspect of our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.