About Vickers Restaurant

Vickers Restaurant is the transformed home of famed abolitionist and Chester County potter, John Vickers. Nestled in his original 1820s farmhouse, Vickers is an institution in Chester County known for its authentic vintage cuisine. Vickers Restaurant opened in 1972 and is still one of the only restaurants in the country celebrating these traditional dishes that epitomize luxury and continental glamor. Come in to experience the timeless panache of flambeed Bananas Foster, Steak Diane and Caesar Salad prepared tableside as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers. For something lighter the casual bar menu that includes Kobe Sliders, spinach and artichoke fondue & seared scallops is perfect for a weeknight bite. Outdoor patio opened in the Spring/Summer. Private dining rooms available for 10-135. Corporate menus available. Fireplaces for romantic dinners. Full Bar & wine list available.

192 East Welsh Pool Rd
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International, French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Private Events only.
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gordon Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 363-7998

Website:
http://vickersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Piano Friday & Saturday Evenings from 6:45-10:00.

Please check our website for special artists.
www.VickersRestaurant.com

Catering:
Vickers provides on site catering for private functions of 45-135 in our banquet facility. Our on site catering menus include cocktail receptions, plated meals and buffets for wedding receptions, showers, corporate functions, rehearsal dinners and many other private events. Luncheon group menus start at $21, dinner group menus start at $29 and wedding receptions are custom.

Full group menus are online and can always be customized to fit yoru event and budget.

Parking Details:
Private lot adjacent to the front of the building.

Public Transit:
SEPTA

Private Party Facilities:
PRIVATE EVENTS
Vickers is the perfect backdrop for your most intimate events. Our private rooms will give warmth to your showers, add elegance to your engagement parties and exude charm at your anniversary and birthday celebrations. Special menus are available.

CORPORATE EVENTS
For corporate events, Vickers has private rooms for 10-35 and our our spacious ballroom can host from 50-120. This space is perfect for corporate holiday parties, retirement parties, cocktail receptions and seminars and presentations. Group menus to fit every budget.

WEDDINGS & SHOWERS
Adjacent to the historic restaurant is the Plantation Ballroom. It's quiet elegance and grand décor make it the perfect venue for top-notch wedding receptions, baby and bridal showers. Our elegant ballroom can hold up to 135 guests and has an adjacent outdoor space.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Brogan: (610) 363-7998

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
UPCOMING EVENTS....

WINE TASTING DINNERS
Wild Game & California Wine Tasting Dinner 11/6

HAPPY HOUR M-F 4:30-6:30
with our special discounted bar menu. Bar menu is available on our patio or bar for a more casual evening.

HOLIDAYS
Open Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, New Years Eve, Mother's Day, Easter

Vickers Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (21)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Fireplace (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (10)
Live Music (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Always high quality food served by well trained wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

First time at this restaurant which we drive by all of the time. Our perception based upon looking at the dinner menu was that it was a bit pricey and a little fancy for a regular night out. We thought we'd save it for a special occasion. However we happened be in the neighborhood so we thought we'd give it a shot. It is a historic building originally the home of a potter (John Vickers) and it has a very attractive bar and dining area. We ordered only small plates but each was nicely prepared presented and very tasty. Our choices included ...
Short Rib Flatbread with very flavorful pieces of short rib, grapa tomato slices blue cheese and "melted" onions on a thin crispy crust
White Bean Bruschetta with olive oil, charred tomato on crustini. We didn't expect much just thought it sounded interesting but it was delicious and very pleasant surprise.
Grilled Shrimp w/ goat cheese polenta, and andouille sausage. This was very good but there were only three shrimp and they seemed more steamed than grilled. Good but wanted more shrimp and more of a grilled flavor.
Parppardelle with mushrooms, spinach, sunflower seeds and Pecorino. Pasta was cooked perfect, nice portion for an app and nice blend of flavors.
The bar tender and host were very friendly. The couple next to us had a Caesar salad prepared tableside which was a very nice presentation.
This place is not inexpensive but definitely worth a visit. We'll be back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We went to Vickers for a birthday dinner and were not disappointed. The setting was lovely and the menu reminded me of restaurants in the "old" days. The food was nicely prepared. The overall experience was pleasing. We would return.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The tableside authentic Dover sole keeps us coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Vickers is elegant dining in a historic setting. This restaurant is becoming a tradition to celebrate my wife's birthday. We had veal chop, incredible Caesar's,salad prepared at our table - best Caesar's salad in Pennsylvania. Creme brulee. The live piano music, fireplace, first class service and cuisine made for a sublime evening.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Vickers offers the ultimate in gourmet dining and cozy, colonial ambiance. We really enjoyed our dinners. I checked the box for a moderately high noise level only because there was a customer at a nearby table who had little concern for the other patrons. He insisted on pontificating on various subjects in a loud voice for the entire time we were there. One couple actually moved to another room because of him. I realize that such rudeness is almost a Dear Abby problem, rather than something the restaurant can do anything about. I know Arturo and his employees care deeply about their clients' enjoyment of the restaurant's quiet ambiance. In a perfect world one of the maître d's would have figured out a way to gently and from a positive perspective ask the man to at least lower his voice a little so all the other patrons in the room would not have to be exposed to his entire life story.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

As always, Vickers never disappoints. We have had great meals and celebrated many special occasions at this fine restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good was fabric, have to try the Bison. Sat next to fireplace so ambience was superb. Every time we go there we are thrilled.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My friend and I went for Friday night cocktails and appetizers. It was a snowy evening so it was very quiet. She had cosmos - great. We shared cheese platter (standard), pasta and salmon (great), grilled shrimp (good), and white bean bruschetta (very good). The waiter was extremely attentive and not annoying. It was a comforting and fun evening after the workweek! We intend to go back - at least for cocktails and happy hour menu. She'd like to try a formal dinner there. Me - I'll go along. The menu is classic.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Nothing but a classic fine-dining experience. Loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Fireplace, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always, our meals were prepared perfectly, service is impeccable, and the piano playing is divine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Private Room, Tapas, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One word...Outstanding! Service, food, atmosphere were all terrific.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Healthy, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Superb! Quality food, service, historic beautiful surroundings. Perfect for our anniversary.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

sat a table for 2 but found the table to be too small for all we ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was delicious. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. He made sure we had everything we need to be comfortable. He also made a really tasty Caesar salad. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was not ordinary fare and it was excellent! We sat in front of the fireplace and had a great meal!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent Service and the meal was outstanding. Very cozy atmosphere with the fireplace limited size of tables.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was delicious and there was no rush to eat. The bar area is visually interesting. We were there for a Valentine's Day celebration and the addition of live piano music was great.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome evening. Classic dining. Fantastic Piano music with Joe.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was excellent even though the menu was limited

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

First time dining at Vickers left a fantastic impression, enough to have me go back.
Everything from the menu, wait staff, and overall ambiance was impressive. Wine list was second to none if you enjoy offers from Napa Valley.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at the Vickers last week. Will definitely return for a jazz nite

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service. Outstanding food. Beautiful ambience. What more do you need? Recommend highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and service is superb. Highly recommended for a quiet date night or intimate dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

four star restuarant...not very busy for a Friday night..the food was outstanding...and the service was also excellent.

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Been here a few times. This was definitely not the best. Steak was dry. Not worth the price.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was good but overpriced. I also found the service lacking but it may have been just our server as she seemed disinterested at times. Charming place. Dover sole was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Beautiful setting! Our table was by the fireplace and was lovely. Our meals were nicely presented--the waiter filleted a fish table side--what a talent! I ordered the salmon, good presentation but the salmon was very fishy tasting. Escargot were 5 star.
The bar was very noisy, but the service was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Nice place very good for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always make sure we stop for dinner when in the area

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I love going to Vickers. The food is excellent. The building inside and outside is very historical and elegant. The staff is very personable. The service is great and very professional. This is a great restaurant for happy hour, entertaining clients, celebrating or just to take a break. They have my favorite wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fantastic food, great service; wonderful atmosphere; best place in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and the food was delicious. The atmosphere was terrific--a nice fire burning in the large fireplace added to the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had the two of the specials, tuna and beef wellington. The pastry enclosing the beef wellington was done perfect and the sesame encrusted tuna was the best I ever had in a restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

While the decor at Vicker's was festive on Christmas Eve the service and quality of food were very disappointing. Aside from taking our order and serving our entrees the waiter did nothing else which was curious as the restaurant was not at all crowded. He did not stop by the table even once to ask how our meal was or if he could bring as another glass of wine etc.There were only 7 tables in the small "porch" area where we were seated and three were empty. I mean empty with no chairs, no place settings, no glass ware. My husband ordered the Beef Wellington medium rare. It was so well done it could not even have passed for a poor piece of pot roast. The crab cakes had little crab meat and were the size of an appetizer. At $38-$40 an entrée this is unacceptable. We have been to Vicker's over the years and always had a pleasant dining experience. What a waste of $160 on Christmas Eve. We have crossed this restaurant off of our list and will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful foodie restaurant, great service . My top favorite for special moments.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Back to its' former great service, food quality and ambiance. One of the best Christmas Eve dinners we have had. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A yearly traditional ladies lunch at Vicker's for my M-in-L birthday and we are NEVER disappointed - amazing food, drinks, ambiance and best service!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Traditional food superbly executed in a quiet, elegant atmosphere. The waitstaff is very good with great attention to detail. Very dependable and consistent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.