About Vickers Restaurant

192 East Welsh Pool Rd
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Vickers Restaurant is the transformed home of famed abolitionist and Chester County potter, John Vickers. Nestled in his original 1820s farmhouse, Vickers is an institution in Chester County known for its authentic vintage cuisine. Vickers Restaurant opened in 1972 and is still one of the only restaurants in the country celebrating these traditional dishes that epitomize luxury and continental glamor. Come in to experience the timeless panache of flambeed Bananas Foster, Steak Diane and Caesar Salad prepared tableside as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers. For something lighter the casual bar menu that includes Kobe Sliders, spinach and artichoke fondue & seared scallops is perfect for a weeknight bite. Outdoor patio opened in the Spring/Summer. Private dining rooms available for 10-135. Corporate menus available. Fireplaces for romantic dinners. Full Bar & wine list available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International, French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Private Events only.
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gordon Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 363-7998

Website:
http://vickersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Piano Friday & Saturday Evenings from 6:45-10:00.

Please check our website for special artists.
www.VickersRestaurant.com

Catering:
Vickers provides on site catering for private functions of 45-135 in our banquet facility. Our on site catering menus include cocktail receptions, plated meals and buffets for wedding receptions, showers, corporate functions, rehearsal dinners and many other private events. Luncheon group menus start at $21, dinner group menus start at $29 and wedding receptions are custom.

Full group menus are online and can always be customized to fit yoru event and budget.

Parking Details:
Private lot adjacent to the front of the building.

Public Transit:
SEPTA

Private Party Facilities:
PRIVATE EVENTS
Vickers is the perfect backdrop for your most intimate events. Our private rooms will give warmth to your showers, add elegance to your engagement parties and exude charm at your anniversary and birthday celebrations. Special menus are available.

CORPORATE EVENTS
For corporate events, Vickers has private rooms for 10-35 and our our spacious ballroom can host from 50-120. This space is perfect for corporate holiday parties, retirement parties, cocktail receptions and seminars and presentations. Group menus to fit every budget.

WEDDINGS & SHOWERS
Adjacent to the historic restaurant is the Plantation Ballroom. It's quiet elegance and grand décor make it the perfect venue for top-notch wedding receptions, baby and bridal showers. Our elegant ballroom can hold up to 135 guests and has an adjacent outdoor space.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Brogan: 6103637998x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
UPCOMING EVENTS....

WINE TASTING DINNERS
Wild Game & California Wine Tasting Dinner 11/6

HAPPY HOUR M-F 4:30-6:30
with our special discounted bar menu. Bar menu is available on our patio or bar for a more casual evening.

HOLIDAYS
Open Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, New Years Eve, Mother's Day, Easter

Vickers Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Historic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fireplace (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (10)
Live Music (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful setting! Our table was by the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful setting! Our table was by the fireplace and was lovely. Our meals were nicely presented--the waiter filleted a fish table side--what a talent! I ordered the salmon, good presentation but the salmon was very fishy tasting. Escargot were 5 star.

The bar was very noisy, but the service was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place very good for special occasio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice place very good for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Always make sure we stop for dinner when ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Always make sure we stop for dinner when in the area

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love going to Vickers. The food is exc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I love going to Vickers. The food is excellent. The building inside and outside is very historical and elegant. The staff is very personable. The service is great and very professional. This is a great restaurant for happy hour, entertaining clients, celebrating or just to take a break. They have my favorite wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, great service; wonderful ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fantastic food, great service; wonderful atmosphere; best place in the area.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was excellent and the food wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and the food was delicious. The atmosphere was terrific--a nice fire burning in the large fireplace added to the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the two of the specials, tuna and be ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Had the two of the specials, tuna and beef wellington. The pastry enclosing the beef wellington was done perfect and the sesame encrusted tuna was the best I ever had in a restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

While the decor at Vicker's was festive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

While the decor at Vicker's was festive on Christmas Eve the service and quality of food were very disappointing. Aside from taking our order and serving our entrees the waiter did nothing else which was curious as the restaurant was not at all crowded. He did not stop by the table even once to ask how our meal was or if he could bring as another glass of wine etc.There were only 7 tables in the small "porch" area where we were seated and three were empty. I mean empty with no chairs, no place settings, no glass ware. My husband ordered the Beef Wellington medium rare. It was so well done it could not even have passed for a poor piece of pot roast. The crab cakes had little crab meat and were the size of an appetizer. At $38-$40 an entrée this is unacceptable. We have been to Vicker's over the years and always had a pleasant dining experience. What a waste of $160 on Christmas Eve. We have crossed this restaurant off of our list and will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Back to its' former great service, food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Back to its' former great service, food quality and ambiance. One of the best Christmas Eve dinners we have had. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A yearly traditional ladies lunch at Vic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A yearly traditional ladies lunch at Vicker's for my M-in-L birthday and we are NEVER disappointed - amazing food, drinks, ambiance and best service!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traditional food superbly executed in a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Traditional food superbly executed in a quiet, elegant atmosphere. The waitstaff is very good with great attention to detail. Very dependable and consistent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nicely priced wine list. Table side sala ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Nicely priced wine list. Table side salads, Dover soles awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service and view of the firepl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food, service and view of the fireplace were all wonderful for a Christmas lunch

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time here and we were i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It was our first time here and we were immediately impressed with the wonderful ambience: from the moment we walked in and were greeted by the coat check person, to the warm and welcoming lounge area, pianist, up to the host stand - everyone was welcoming and on point. The food was exquisite - we had the lobster tempura appetizer, tableside-made Caesar salad, lamb and pasta main dishes, and cherries jubilee, also prepared tableside, for dessert. Everything was excellent. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Took a customer and our two (2) wives th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Took a customer and our two (2) wives there - salads were forgotten, server ignored our table, wrong check was given at the end of the meal. Ownership seemed more interested in quantity of people as opposed to quality for the people.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Great restaurant with excellent food and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great restaurant with excellent food and service. We ate in the bar area but the noise level was not bad considering the number of people in the area. Our waiter, Kevin, was gracious, helpful and very attentive to our requests. He never forgot about us as some waiters do. I highly recommend Vickers for lunch & dinner. You won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New server had some struggles but she wa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2016

New server had some struggles but she was attentive..

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Live Music, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Vickers Restaurant is wonderfully consis ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Vickers Restaurant is wonderfully consistent. The Colonial era structure adds a level of ambience that complements the dining experience---with specials and printed entrees all well prepared and tasty. Our group had the filet, tuna and lamb- all excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful special date night venue, hand ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Wonderful special date night venue, handled to perfection by the staff, including special request, waiter could have gotten on board better, but it did not diminish the perfect experience and food quality of the Vickers Restaurant. We are thrilled and will always will remember the night. P.S. both had lobster tails...perfect as well.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

An evening at the Vickers Tavern is alwa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An evening at the Vickers Tavern is always a special occasion, especially on Saturday night, with the live piano music. I enjoyed the beef Wellington which was a special that evening.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time celebrating my birthday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had a great time celebrating my birthday. Food was good. Service was good. Dinner was prepared tableside. Loved the room. The historic building takes you back to a time period that makes you feel elegant. Ended the evening in the cozy bar listening to the excellent piano player. The bartender was great making sure that your time there was special.

Thank You

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When in Lionville we try to have either ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

When in Lionville we try to have either lunch or dinner at Vickers Tavern At Vickers you can still have the pleasure of table side food preparation, a lost art at most restaurants. our server Jason was the ultimate professional. Don't miss the opportunity to dine at Vickers when in the Exton area of PA.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally, a restaurant with a high end ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Generally, a restaurant with a high end menu and a deliberate sophisticated theme will provide the ambiance and taste satisfaction we expect. Vickers was all we expected in our choice for an intimate, local restaurant with exceptional food presented in a distinctive formal style. We like a restaurant which matches the service (including the bar experience) to the elegance or casual design of the menu. In Vickers case the service was attentive, experienced and adaptable to our individual comfort. In essence, it was a memorable experience for the delicious meal in a very cozy, well-designed tavern atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time dining and overall, it was gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time dining and overall, it was great for a relaxing date night. Cozy candles, a fireplace, and a pianist taking requests made the experience even more comforting. A little disorganized when you walk in, as there are no signs telling you where to check in and no host/hostess to greet customers. We wandered around for a few minutes, until we finally stopped a waiter to ask where we were to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Vickers has a great menu, good ambience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Vickers has a great menu, good ambience and yummy entrees as well as desserts. Priced slightly on the higher side the food is worth the price. Ate my filet with ease using only s butter knife.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Long standing fabulous restaurant with p ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Long standing fabulous restaurant with plenty of charm and ambiance. Great bar and excellent food with superior professional service. A true gem of chester county!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Historic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food selection, presentation ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Outstanding food selection, presentation and taste. Biggest problem was the service. Our waiter was only occasionally in our room. Waited for 20 minutes for the dessert memo. We loved everthing else, so not sure if we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

We chose Vickers for our tenth anniversa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We chose Vickers for our tenth anniversary. We mentioned that we would like somewhere quiet and they accommodated us immediately. Both our appetizers and entrees were absolutely delicious as were the desserts. Wine recommendations were perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Vickers twice this week while ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We went to Vickers twice this week while visiting the area - we go every year when we are here. The food was great. The service is really an issue. Our waiter the first night was fine. Last night the waiter acted as if everything was an inconvenience. Truly arrogant. Can't say I'd recommend the place any more. When some members of he party shared their experience with the management - they were equally arrogant about the situation. Consider spending your dinner dollars elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Thank you Vickers. Excellent food. Exce ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Thank you Vickers. Excellent food. Excellent service.

Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent atmospher ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food and service was excellent atmosphere was very good piano player was excellent portions were very small 5 ounce filet mignon's I had the crispy chicken which was excellent wife had Dover sole excellent Caesar salad was to die for. Maybe featuring a 10 ounce filet mignon or 16 ounce New York strip as a special would satisfy us big eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

FANTASTIC SERVICE AND FOOD!!!!! Definit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

FANTASTIC SERVICE AND FOOD!!!!! Definitely worth the drive from Newark, De to Exton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Vickers before. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been to the Vickers before. We have always enjoyed the experience. Even after living in Germany for 2 years, we love it at Vickers. It gives us the warm European feeling that we don't get anywhere else. Any food that we have ordered has met or exceeded our expectations. The waiters are superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been a fan of this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have been a fan of this restaurant for 40 years. This time it was not up to par. It was very hot outside and I am sure the kitchen was a thousand degrees. The restaurant was very hot too. The food was not as good as it has been in the past. The smoked salmon appetizer was terrible. Just three small pieces on a round piece of something soggy and tasteless. The Bananas' Foster was terrible. Ken our waiter did a good job even in the heat. Maybe it was just a bad night all around. I expect something better for $450.00 for 4 people. We will try them again someday.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great happy hour to enjoy before you sit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great happy hour to enjoy before you sit down for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went for a date on Friday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I went for a date on Friday night. The food and ambiance were excellent. The service was good, but not great. Our server was a little sloppy and only came by to fill our water glasses once. However, he had an strong understanding of the menu which was helpful since it was our first time there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The venue is historical/cool and the ser ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The venue is historical/cool and the service impeccable. I thought the food was very good/not great, but some dishes were terrific. I would go back because the piano bar makes for a great evening and really cool entertainment while you're eating. To make it a truly memorable experience, I think they should review their menu offerings and make changes where necessary. My steak was a bit overcooked...no excuse for a restaurant that wants "all the money".

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Historical place and legendary food

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Historical place and legendary food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They need embark In a advertise campain ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 6, 2016

They need embark In a advertise campain because there is a low attendance and I am afraid they would close the doors again. It is a very good restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.