About Vickers Restaurant

192 East Welsh Pool Rd
Exton, PA 19341
View Larger Map

Vickers Restaurant is the transformed home of famed abolitionist and Chester County potter, John Vickers. Nestled in his original 1820s farmhouse, Vickers is an institution in Chester County known for its authentic vintage cuisine. Vickers Restaurant opened in 1972 and is still one of the only restaurants in the country celebrating these traditional dishes that epitomize luxury and continental glamor. Come in to experience the timeless panache of flambeed Bananas Foster, Steak Diane and Caesar Salad prepared tableside as well as a variety of entrees & appetizers. For something lighter the casual bar menu that includes Kobe Sliders, spinach and artichoke fondue & seared scallops is perfect for a weeknight bite. Outdoor patio opened in the Spring/Summer. Private dining rooms available for 10-135. Corporate menus available. Fireplaces for romantic dinners. Full Bar & wine list available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Global, International, French

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Private Events only.
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm.

Cross Street:
Gordon Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 363-7998

Website:
http://vickersrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Piano Friday & Saturday Evenings from 6:45-10:00.

Please check our website for special artists.
www.VickersRestaurant.com

Catering:
Vickers provides on site catering for private functions of 45-135 in our banquet facility. Our on site catering menus include cocktail receptions, plated meals and buffets for wedding receptions, showers, corporate functions, rehearsal dinners and many other private events. Luncheon group menus start at $21, dinner group menus start at $29 and wedding receptions are custom.

Full group menus are online and can always be customized to fit yoru event and budget.

Parking Details:
Private lot adjacent to the front of the building.

Public Transit:
SEPTA

Private Party Facilities:
PRIVATE EVENTS
Vickers is the perfect backdrop for your most intimate events. Our private rooms will give warmth to your showers, add elegance to your engagement parties and exude charm at your anniversary and birthday celebrations. Special menus are available.

CORPORATE EVENTS
For corporate events, Vickers has private rooms for 10-35 and our our spacious ballroom can host from 50-120. This space is perfect for corporate holiday parties, retirement parties, cocktail receptions and seminars and presentations. Group menus to fit every budget.

WEDDINGS & SHOWERS
Adjacent to the historic restaurant is the Plantation Ballroom. It's quiet elegance and grand décor make it the perfect venue for top-notch wedding receptions, baby and bridal showers. Our elegant ballroom can hold up to 135 guests and has an adjacent outdoor space.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Brogan: 6103637998x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
UPCOMING EVENTS....

WINE TASTING DINNERS
Wild Game & California Wine Tasting Dinner 11/6

HAPPY HOUR M-F 4:30-6:30
with our special discounted bar menu. Bar menu is available on our patio or bar for a more casual evening.

HOLIDAYS
Open Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, New Years Eve, Mother's Day, Easter

Vickers Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Continental
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Western Suburbs
2 More
Romantic
Western Suburbs
Special Occasion
Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Exton ›

Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (19)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was excellent atmospher ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was excellent atmosphere was very good piano player was excellent portions were very small 5 ounce filet mignon's I had the crispy chicken which was excellent wife had Dover sole excellent Caesar salad was to die for. Maybe featuring a 10 ounce filet mignon or 16 ounce New York strip as a special would satisfy us big eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

FANTASTIC SERVICE AND FOOD!!!!! Definit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

FANTASTIC SERVICE AND FOOD!!!!! Definitely the drive from Newark, De to Exton.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Vickers before. We ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been to the Vickers before. We have always enjoyed the experience. Even after living in Germany for 2 years, we love it at Vickers. It gives us the warm European feeling that we don't get anywhere else. Any food that we have ordered has met or exceeded our expectations. The waiters are superb.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been a fan of this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We have been a fan of this restaurant for 40 years. This time it was not up to par. It was very hot outside and I am sure the kitchen was a thousand degrees. The restaurant was very hot too. The food was not as good as it has been in the past. The smoked salmon appetizer was terrible. Just three small pieces on a round piece of something soggy and tasteless. The Bananas' Foster was terrible. Ken our waiter did a good job even in the heat. Maybe it was just a bad night all around. I expect something better for $450.00 for 4 people. We will try them again someday.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

My wife and I went for a date on Friday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My wife and I went for a date on Friday night. The food and ambiance were excellent. The service was good, but not great. Our server was a little sloppy and only came by to fill our water glasses once. However, he had an strong understanding of the menu which was helpful since it was our first time there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The venue is historical/cool and the ser ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The venue is historical/cool and the service impeccable. I thought the food was very good/not great, but some dishes were terrific. I would go back because the piano bar makes for a great evening and really cool entertainment while you're eating. To make it a truly memorable experience, I think they should review their menu offerings and make changes where necessary. My steak was a bit overcooked...no excuse for a restaurant that wants "all the money".

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Historical place and legendary food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Historical place and legendary food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They need embark In a advertise campain ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

They need embark In a advertise campain because there is a low attendance and I am afraid they would close the doors again. It is a very good restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long-term local staple of fine dining th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Long-term local staple of fine dining that has gone through a few different incarnations over the years. Lovely surroundings, courteous staff, excellent food. We will be going often! Steak Diane was fabulous, much better than local competition. Rack of lamb likewise great, perfectly cooked. All desserts worth trying. Not cheap if you do drinks, appetizer, main course, dessert, and coffee; worth the money, though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Charming setting, yummy food, classy ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Charming setting, yummy food, classy service, and a pianist who is second to none! Thanks, Joe, for making our evening so enjoyable. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a terrific night with exceptional fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Had a terrific night with exceptional food and unhurried great service. Very ronantic. Enjoyed the piano plus impromptu singing by patrons. After dinner, had drinks at bar. Will definately he returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambiance. Nice for ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service and ambiance. Nice for a special occasion. Must order something prepared table side for the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Superb setting, food, service and thorou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Superb setting, food, service and thoroughly enjoyable to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the piano player in the bar area ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the piano player in the bar area. The music can be heard while dining and the restaurant is a favorite of ours!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having dined at Vickers numerous times n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Having dined at Vickers numerous times now, Vickers is rapidly becoming our go to restaurant. Tonight, they outdid themselves. The service has always been spot on but tonight they showed they will go above and beyond to ensure we were taken care of. After an excellent meal; French onion gratinee for myself and the cocktail shrimp for my wife to start, then steak diane flambe and the dover sole, both prepared tableside, for our entrees, all of which were delicious and perfectly prepared, my wife and I decided to finish with the bananas foster for desert. Alas, our waiter informed us, i just used the last of our bananas. Fortunately the manager overheard and said, i will go to wawa and buy some more! So we were able to enjoy bananas foster after all. He's made loyal customers of us for certain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Professional waiter, excellent food. It ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Professional waiter, excellent food. It would need to be somewhat of a special occasion as it is a little pricey, but not overpriced.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little historic building and delicious meal!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went on a recommendation and were not let down.

Great little building that has a ton of history. The bar was a nice little setting that was a great prelude to dinner.

Escargot was excellent! We then had the steak Dianne and the wife had soft shell crab special. Delicious all around, and chocolate mousse cake was not a let down for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always get an excellent meal.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Always get an excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food. Great ambiance. Great service. Wonderful piano music. What more can you ask?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went in on a Tuesday at 5:30 PM for our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Went in on a Tuesday at 5:30 PM for our 19th wedding anniversary. We had drinks at the bar which were great. We then went to our table and the waiter asked us for our menu selections. My wife and I decided against appetizers and ordered our meals with a glass or wine. We requested the wine be brought with the meal. The waiter came back shortly with rolls which were great and about 5 minutes later he brought out the wine. Dinner arrived very shortly after. I felt as if they were rushing us out. The food was excellent but the salmon portion my wife got was tiny. I feel that for the price of the meal I should not have to tell the waitstaff to slow down. I have been to other venues (Seven Stars, Dueling Kurts ....) with my 3 kids and not felt so rushed. Monday is not a night to rush customers out. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Vickers

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We love this restaurant with it's old wold charm, piano player and delicious food.

We will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always get a great meal and service. Jus ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always get a great meal and service. Just love the table-side prepared Caesar Salad. Excellent suggestion of an Argentina Bordeaux we had not tried before.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out of food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our reservation was at 5:30 on Mother's Day and they were already out of three entrees. Very surprising as they were fully booked and must have been prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Restaurant!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and enjoyed dinning there for Mother's Day!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just Adequate

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We visited this restaurant for Mother's Day brunch. The entire experience was adequate. Reasonably edible food without much waiting. The service was disappointing. On multiple ocassions our server quickly responded to our requests with a curt 'no' before checking with anyone about our requests. We weren't asking for much. One request was to ask at the bar if they had any juice besides OJ or cranberry. Another request was to substitute fruit for the cake included with a child's meal. Both times he responded no without giving the requests any thought. We ended up having to pay the adult price for our 4 year old to get fruit for dessert.

Our server did no more than he absolutely had to. It's doubtful that we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

My husband and I dined at this restaurant many years ago when we last lived in the area. Monday night we entertained guests from Savannah, Georgia, for dinner at Vickers Restaurant. Our high expectations were met fully. Though it was a Monday night and very quiet, our service was excellent; the atmosphere elegant; and the meal, delicious. We could not have enjoyed a more pleasant experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still a Great Place for a Celebration

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We visited Vickers recently to celebrate by wife's 60th birthday. Vickers was our go to place for celebrations when we were younger but we haven't been there for years. Well it was just as good if not better than we remembered. The food, service and ambience were all excellent. Our group of 7 tried a number of things including the lobster tail/lobster ravioli combo, the filet, the shrimp & scallops, the duck and all were excellent. Appetizers included the spinach salad, the lobster crisp and a few others and again all were excellent. If you haven't been there I highly recommend you try it. We'll surely be back sooner rather than later.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

used to be a contender

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

5th time going. Was our "place"to celebrate anniversary . Might have been an off night but there were plenty of open tables for a Saturday. Food quality seems to have declined since last year but the prices have not. Service was great though.

May have to find my next favorite spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Never disappoints!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food is divine, my friend and I both got the Steak Diane, prepared tableside, (it is to die for!), the husbands ordered specials which there are always several. The bar is cozy & well serviced with an entertaining bartender, the live piano player is talented and takes requests. I feel all of my troubles melt away when I'm there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful service; fresh, tasty and beautifully prepared meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expensiuve

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Ordered the "fish special" which was very good but was shocked when I was charged $42. Items on the menu were expensive but I expected that considering the restaurant but the "special" price was way over priced. When specials were offered no mention of price was provided

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We were hosting a party of 8 with vistors fr Italy

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We wanted a place with local color in both atmosphere and menu. An excellent choice for our low-key dinner with clients and employees.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect as Always

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We love Vickers and choose it for all of our special occasions as well as casual nights out. The fact that there is a piano man is one of my favorite things! The food is always fantastic- we've never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a great experience at Vickers restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Had a great experience at Vickers restaurant. Great ambiance, great food, great service. A little on the pricey side but highly recommend for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fabulous experience! The menu choices ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

A fabulous experience! The menu choices for Valentine's Day were delicious. The live musical entertainment added just the perfect accompaniment to an already pleasing environment. Service, as always, was on point. Just the nicest time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. Sinc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Since it was Valentine's Day the menu was fixed price which I do not care since we are not dessert eaters.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific Food with Exceptional Piano Bar

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Vickers Is a wonderful place for special occasions with excellent food and desserts. Our Valentine's dinner was excellent from start to finish. The piano bar is warm and inviting--great atmosphere for a night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Escargot, winter salad, & fillet with bé ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Escargot, winter salad, & fillet with béarnaise sauce. It was all fantastic. Medium rare steak cooked perfectly! Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Vickers

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

A little expensive for old style menus and ok food. Service was ok not great. Not sure I would spend the money to go there again

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

DELICIOUS! Table side Caesar salad and B ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

DELICIOUS! Table side Caesar salad and Banana's Foster prepared meticulously, attentive and professional service, would absolutely go back for a romantic dinner. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.