About Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse - Houston

1510 Texas St
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of downtown Houston near Minute Maid Park, Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse features a blend of high-quality food & one-of-a-kind hospitality in an intimate atmosphere of hand-crafted mahogany woodwork, leather furnishings & luxurious amenities. Our highly acclaimed menu features only the finest prime beef, including Ribeye, New York strip, Porterhouse & Filet Mignon. For those with a taste for something other than beef, we also offer Colorado organic lamb chops, veal chop, live Maine lobster, Australian rock lobster tail, Gulf red snapper, tuna & chicken. The Piano Lounge & Bar is for the enjoyment of both dining & non-dining guests. With nightly entertainment, it is the perfect downtown destination for cocktails. Our award-winning wine list offers over 1,000 of the finest wines the world has to offer. For a memorable meal, a sophisticated atmosphere, impeccable service & cocktails with class, Vic & Anthony's is sure to please.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
**Effective February 1, 2016 lunch service will be offered Monday - Friday at 11 am
Monday - Thursday: 11 am - 10 pm
Friday: 11 am - 11 pm
Saturday: 5 pm - 11 pm, cocktail lounge open at 4 pm
Sunday: 5 pm - 10 pm, cocktail lounge open at 4 pm

Cross Street:
La Branch

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 228-1111

Website:
http://www.vicandanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
We offer Valet parking Metered street parking is available as well as managed lots nearby.

Executive Chef:
Carlos Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Ellen Jannik (713)228-1111

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We offer three distinguished private dining rooms. The Boardroom provides the ideal setting to accommodate business gatherings. The Wine Room is perfect for intimate functions such as rehearsal dinners and luncheons. The Ballroom is an elegant venue for receptions and larger gatherings.

Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Houston
Most Booked
Houston
Best Service
Houston
2 More
Steakhouse
Houston
Most Booked
Houston
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (249)
romantic (188)
notable wine list (111)
See All
fit for foodies (93)
good for groups (92)
hot spot (62)
vibrant bar scene (61)
great for lunch (28)
late-night find (26)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for brunch (15)
scenic view (13)
kid-friendly (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2727 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Great service and food ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere. Great service and food. Live singing was great. Drinks were great. Will definitely be back when in the area.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was by far one of the best dining e ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was by far one of the best dining experiences I have had! The chef was amazing, the management was amazing, the staff was polite. Our server Sonya was by far one of the best servers I have met, and I am a server so from one to another she is great at what she does! Food was worth every penny and we will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Go here every year when I am in Houston. ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Go here every year when I am in Houston. Best steakhouse in Texas.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined 6 days ago

Was a very pleasant experience, service was excellent, as was the food. i will be returning to this place again

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Lunch

Dined 6 days ago

It was great to discover Vic and Anthony's is now open for lunch. Easy downtown access and convenient street parking or Valet. The lunch menu was reasonably priced for such an elegant and beautiful restaurant. The food was excellent. Our server offered options and choices and did not try to up sell, just talk about options. Perfect for a business lunch, impress clients or just take someone special to lunch! I was more than pleased at the experience. I was immediately taken care of and did not have to mention it was my birthday! They knew everything! The host station was warm and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This has become kind of a birthday tradi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This has become kind of a birthday tradition for me and my wife, along with an Astro's game at Minute Maid next door. We tried to move up the time and were told 'no'. That would have been ok if we hadn't seen people come in 'knowing somebody' and getting obvious preferential treatment. But the food was great, our waiter (David) was awesome, and overall we had a great dinner. I was glad to see their attempt to uphold their upscale dresscode, banishing the shorts and flip-flops to the bar. Yes it's a little pricey but you get what you pay for. AND...no designated driver needed if you're staying at the Westin next door!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

I hate to leave a nasty review as Vic & ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I hate to leave a nasty review as Vic & Anthony's is a classic Steak venue. Unfortunately our first experience with the location in Houston was very poor. I made reservations for myself and my date on a Saturday night hoping for a nice romantic evening. When my date and I arrived ten minutes before our reservation, we couldn't find parking anywhere near the restaurant. Being fair, there was a Houston Astros game (a few blocks down the street) at the same time. This is completely understandable but when we couldn't find a place to park for over 15 minutes, I called the restaurant for help and they told me to Valet. The valet area was completely blocked off by police to let fans leave the stadium. When I mentioned this I was given a generic "please find a parking lot" response. Dedicated to the date I dropped my date off to save our table, only to learn that we were seated directly next to the entrance to the kitchen. My date asked to have our table moved as there were many seats open elsewhere and we were told that they were all reserved in case larger groups came in to the restaurant. After this, my date said she had to wait for 10 minutes without any waiter or staff speaking to her. We ended up leaving, having never been able to park, my date never having been served, and having experienced a general rude and care-free vibe from the staff. Very upsetting experience unfortunately, and we will not be coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sommelier was very helpful Our service ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Sommelier was very helpful Our service was excellent Always.. d'LISH!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food wine service. All around grea ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food wine service. All around great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd weddin ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary. The service and food were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love Vic & Anthony's....unfortunately ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

I love Vic & Anthony's....unfortunately on this occasion it was just too loud. I wear hearing aids and background noise is a killer for me. So, everything was GREAT, except for the noise.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Leah made the night. She was very helpfu ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Leah made the night. She was very helpful and polite. Would come again because of her.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

40th Anniversary

Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyed a late night dinner with my love of over 40 years on the night of our 40th anniversary at Vic & Anthony's, excellent fare great atmosphere and though we were not alone we did not notice. Definitely a must return and next time possibly with good friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice place. Romantic atmosphere. Ex ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Very nice place. Romantic atmosphere. Excellent service all around.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Nick was a great waiter. A l ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food. Nick was a great waiter. A little noisy in the restaurant

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I love this restaurant. T ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I love this restaurant. The food has never disappointed us. We've been in the restaurant at least 4 times already. Last time I had the lobster mac and cheese... and I will order it again next time I go there! Also, try the key lime pie...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress, Chin, was great: would recomme ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Waitress, Chin, was great: would recommend to others: great food and drinks

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. I made a reservation ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was great. I made a reservation for 5. The waiter was very attentive. I was debating about going, because I couldn't find a sitter for my 4 year old. To my surprise they did accommodate a menu for my toddler. It was my 2nd time at this particular location and enjoyed both times.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak is The best in The would even cons ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Steak is The best in The would even considering i come From Argentina. Service si outstanding with a Great bar and tables

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Caucophony

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was great, but the noise level got to be too much by the end of the dinner, making conversation (which was part of the reason we gathered) almost impossible. Kind of put a damper on things. Next time we come, we'll have to order "extra quiet" on the reservation.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We got the secluded elevated booth we as ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We got the secluded elevated booth we asked for and had a lovely evening.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Place

Dined on May 9, 2016

I was celebrating my 10 year anniversary at AIG with a few co-workers. They were happy with their selections and I was stuffed with enjoyment. Thanks for making my first experience a great one!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Never again!!

Dined on May 9, 2016

The vendor was aware this was our first visit. Shameful that the same company (Landry's) also owns Mastro's (best steakhouse bar none) and yet hasn't learned anything about servicing the client. First it started with having to wait at the car while 3 valet's conversed at the podium for a few minutes. Next was a wait at the Hostess podium and then being led past several "unreserved" booths/tables until reaching the very back room and seated at a table next to the fire exit. My son's head leaning back in his seat could touch the fire alarm pull. Truly the worst table in the house. No music could be heard and after several requests to turn up the audio, still nothing. The service was sub-par, the food was moderate yet scattered in delivery, but the portions were fine. The meat was not necessarily cooked to perfection but edible. It was a Mother's day dinner and was most certainly not a special memory for our family. There was a very evident awareness in the air about who was getting special treatment, and who was not. Regulars enjoy. Virgins, good luck. Shame on you V&A. I trvl the world and am very successful in my field. My experience here being a new Houston resident was not one of welcome but one of a # coming through the door. No room to elevate the memory of a moving dining experience. Unlikely I will ever return.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We love to dine at Vic & Anthony's and n ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love to dine at Vic & Anthony's and normally have excellent service. But this time our waitress was slow and when we had to ask her twice for something, her reply was I couldn't get away from the other table. She seemed pleasant but unprofessional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

On Mothers Day this year, my wife and I enjoyed our dinner at Vic & Anthony's. The quality of food and the excellent service is always special. Our waiter (Brett) was the best and will be asking for him the next time. We always find our way to Vic & Anthony's when we travel to Las Vegas, Lake Charles or here in Houston. You never will be disappointed and being a member of Landry's Select Club is an added benefit. Richard Scott

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Wonderful Meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. The service received from he waiter was superb,legendary, and memorable. Started off in the cocktail lounge though and the waitress provided disappointing service. The ambiance wasn't what i thought. They have a dress code, but I saw people in khaki shorts and a collard shirt. Overall, the experience was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Service

Dined on May 7, 2016

We are always remembered. Also, their Lawry's Club is an added incentive. Sometimes the food can be a bit inconsistent, but usually it is quite good. Hayden, our server, was excellent as are most we've had.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent!!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Everything was excellent, from being greeted at the door, to being greeted by most of the staff as we walked by. Service was excellent and food was outstanding. It was a bit pricey but knew this before going. Not a place I could frequent a lot but definitely for a special occasion. This was my early Mother's Day dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always A Treat!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Vic and Anthony's is our go to place for all special occasions. The food, service, atmosphere are all impeccable. They never let use down!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on May 3, 2016

Great food and service

food4
ambience4
service4

I was in Houston and saw Vic and Anthony ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

I was in Houston and saw Vic and Anthony's as my cab arrived at my hotel. I had planned on meeting my brother and his wife for dinner with no idea where they might want to go. I was able to get a table with short notice and sent a txt to my brother that I had taken care of the dinner choice. We arrived at the stated time and were immediately seated. Our waiter was prompt in arriving at the table for drink orders and the delivery of said drinks. I had not seen my brother and his wife for w while so we were slow to be ready to order. The restaurant was crowded but his did not seem to be a problem and he gave us a few more minutes to chat and decide before ordering. Like many upper end steak restaurants the steak was ala crate with generous sides to share. All of our steaks were cooked perfectly ranging from medium rare to medium well Pittsburgh style. I know they had another reservation for our table behind us but were never felt rushed and a cup of coffee with dessert finished the meal off. I will return the next time I am staying downtown as I do want to check out their bar scene.

food5
ambience5
service5

Aged New York strip loin was best steak ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Aged New York strip loin was best steak my husband has ever had, and he is hard to please! Waitress was brilliant too and made our night.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Good but not blow your socks away

Dined on May 1, 2016

We dinner there in a Saturday night the ambiance can be an romantic area or in a place good for large groups. The service is top notch the food however was ok. The steak was good not worth $150 for 2 people and wasn't the most delicious thing I have had. The crab cake was amazing the desert bread pudding was not good at all. The wine list was very over priced our bill for 2 people with cocktails, appetizers dinner and desert was over $400 For that price I expected one of the most amazing experience which this wasn't even close too

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and the attentiveness from the wait staff. Positive environment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service1

The food was excellent. Best crab cake I ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food was excellent. Best crab cake I've ever had, the quail was amazing. Filet specials with scallops and asparagus, bone-in filet, Brussels, duck fat potatoes, salads, tall cheesecake and bread pudding. Very interesting wine list, two sommeliers available. Exceptional. If you're not Caucasian or have visible tattoos don't bother or expect a decent table, unless you're Kobe Bryant or Adam Levine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night-Birthday Celebration

Dined on April 26, 2016

I loved the ambiance of the restaurant with the live band playing in the lounge. The server was very nice, attentive, offered great selections, and never let our glasses become half empty. Our steaks were cooked to both of our liking, full of flavor and very tender. So much that we did not want to use any of the topping that we had ordered to complement the steaks. Excellent service, food and ambiance. The only negative that we experienced was that we had to wait 20 minutes past our reservation time for our table after arriving 10 minutes early. However, the rest of the evening went quite smoothly which is the reason for the 5 stars.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good was awesome! Lives up to your reputation.

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food exceeded expectations. It was absolutely the best steak I have ever eaten. It was a hard decision to choose what to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was very attentive. My stea ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive. My steak had flavor all the way through. Absolutely enjoyed the dining experience this evening. No complaints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Loved it!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was Great, the food was delicious. I would recommend this place to friends and family.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly memorable experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

Service was excellent right down to the Happy Anniversary on the signature bread pudding desert. The food was and the sommelier was extremely helpful...the wine list is extensive. Our waiter was spot on... Memorable evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.