About Viande Rouge

An American chophouse with a French flair. An upscale town atmosphere designed by Micheal Habachy, outside the perimeter. Chef Marc Sublette's blend of classic American steakhouse flavors combined with old world French technique is sure to impress. Knowledgeable, friendly service, an extensive wine list will complete your perfect evening. We welcome ages 14 and over. Please join us at Viande Rouge.

9810 Medlock Bridge Road Suite 900
Duluth, GA 30097
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State Bridge Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 623-4959

Website:
http://www.vrsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Sublette

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful 14 person private dining room for business or intimate private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Florio: 7706234959x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Viande Rouge is open and available for diner reservations.

Report a photo problem

Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Chocolate Souffle - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Smoked Kobe Short With Bluecheese Raviolli In A Maderia Wine Sauce - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
The Trio - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Artichoke Provencial - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
porterhouse steak - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Chocolate Souflé - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Coconut Pie - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Smoked Salmon Torta With Pickled Spicy Veg.  - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Raspberry Souffle with Shortbread - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA
Dry-Aged NY Strip - Viande Rouge, Duluth, GA

Viande Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (54)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Authentic (16)
Business Meals (14)
Private Room (11)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome time.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Dover sole was hands down the best m ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

The Dover sole was hands down the best meal I have had since the last time I was in France eating Dover sole. The crispy capers were a fantastic touch! Coupled with the escargot, I could not have been more satisfied. My compliments to the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were hopeful this would live up to al ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We were hopeful this would live up to all of the positive reviews...it did and much more. We moved to the area from Chicago over 4 years ago and have been disappointed with the limited options of truly fine dining. Everything about our experience here was exceptional. From the romantic ambiance & attentive service to the table side Caesar, the best bouillabaisse ever, to the paired wines and Grand Marnier soufflé and bananas foster for dessert. This will become a regular for us when we want a special night out and an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the small atmosphere. Ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Really enjoyed the small atmosphere. Service was exceptional

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our very favorite restaur ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

This is one of our very favorite restaurants. The food is always fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service. Wait staff ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service. Wait staff very knowledgeable. Love the table side prep for salad and dessert. Never disappoints.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

blown away. The food. The service. The A ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

blown away. The food. The service. The Ambiance. Everything was absolutely top notch! We had a table of 8 and everyone raved about everything they had. Two of us had the beef bourguignon. It was succulent and i couldn't even finish it. Bouillabaisse, Groupper, Filet, and off the bone ribeye were all outstanding. If i lived closer, this would become a go-to favorite of mine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we stumbled upon VR, we knew it was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

When we stumbled upon VR, we knew it was right up our alley in terms of cousine and ambiance (A Chophouse with French flare). We finally had the opportunity to dine on our anniversary and it exceeded our expectations. My girlfriend had the Duck Confit and I had the Dry-Aged Ribeye. I've lived in the Atlanta area for 20 years and this was probably one of the top 5 dining experiences I've had. Spectacular service from a friendly, knowledgeable and attentive waiter. The chocolate soufflé was an excellent finale to the dinner. Even if you're full from your entree, it's light and fluffy enough to be enjoyable. We're looking forward to going back soon to explore the menu even further.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, , Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at Viande ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Viande Rouge this week and could not have asked for a more lovely time. Walking in to the restaurant is like taking a step back in time to when dining was an experience and not just a meal. The ambience is warm, the food was delicious and the service top notch. We ordered everything at once and the meal was paced so wonderfully that we never felt rushed or as though one part of the meal was infringing on another. I would recommend Viande Rouge to anyone wanting a quiet, romantic and elegant dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service interesting menu great amb ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service interesting menu great ambiance in a strip mall

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, food and service. I d ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere, food and service. I did not know it was so close to home. Nice surprise.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Simply great place for a great dinner.hh ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Simply great place for a great dinner.hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived for a two hour dinner sitting ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We arrived for a two hour dinner sitting on New Year's Eve. The entire arrival to departure was excellent. Our waiter, the food and ambiance was absolutely amazing. We both ordered the peppered steak which was tender and well seasoned. The broccoli with hollandaise sauce was excellent. I recommend this restaurant to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not as good as in the past. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was not as good as in the past. We had to ask for the bread and our server did not review the menu with us. Also, we had to ask about the soufflé in order to request it in time to get it without the 20 minute wait.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I have visited the restaurant on 4 other ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I have visited the restaurant on 4 other occasions this year and all was fantastic - food, service, etc. However, this time our waiter clearly wasn't on par. He was congenial but never explained the foods for the evening. We didn't receive any plates with the fondue and so used our bread plates which were much too small to use. Later we saw other tables who actually did receive plates. We have always received bread in the past and noticed all of the other tables had bread. We asked for bread. The waiter said, "yes, I guess I can get some". One of the diners ordered Bouillabasse. He didn't get a spoon nor a bowl (as other tables did) to eat with and discard the shells. He disappeared for long periods at a time from the dining room. We sat waiting after finishing dessert over 20 minutes before asking another server for the bill. Once we got it and provided the credit card another large amount of time transpired when finally the manager took the card.

Added to the poor service, we had raved about the restaurant to our guests. This certainly did not live up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Simply superb!!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Simply superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Handled corking, filtering and decanting ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Handled corking, filtering and decanting of 1978 wine with aplomb!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, it was very good. I think my e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Overall, it was very good. I think my expectations were a little high based on some of the other reviews I had read. Appetizers, salad, sides, and dessert were all excellent. My steak is the reason for a 4 star vs a 5 star. I got the dry aged bone in ribeye and asked for it to be a medium. It was more of a medium well to well in some parts of the steak, so it was a little dry for my taste. Others might like that. I got the escargot appetizer and the Lobster Bisque; both very good. My wife got the spinach salad; which was excellent! My wife had the sea bass and said it was very good, but she's had better. We had the creamed spinach and the mac and cheese sides; both were excellent. Topped it off with the chocolate soufflé for dessert; very good as well. Again, overall, it was very good; I think I just had higher expectations based on some reviews I read prior to visiting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed a sumptuous dinner with my paren ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Enjoyed a sumptuous dinner with my parents celebrating their anniversary. 40 minute drive well worth it for the entire experience. Food quality, quantity, and service exceptional! First of many visits to come. Thank you for making my parents visit so special!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding service by Richard and Taj. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Outstanding service by Richard and Taj. Perfect ambiance for my wife and I. Celebrated my wife's birthday and she said this was her favorite restaurant of all her birthday dinners. The food was superb and the presentation excellent. Outstanding lobster bisque, salad, Dover Sole, and

Bananas Foster. Fantastic experience.

Tags: , Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great evening. Food was excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a great evening. Food was excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for a special dinner on our ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went here for a special dinner on our 49th anniversary. We were not disappointed! Ordered the filet mignon. It was melt inyour mouth…delicious! We tried a new new wine we'd never heard of called Uppercut. It went fantastic with the steak. Viande Rouge translates from French to "Red Meat". That's what we ordered and it was excellent. Wait staff was very attentive, let us try samples of wine when we could make up our mind initially, and provided great recommendations as to appetizers. Noise level was very good and my wife and I were able to carry on a conversation and enjoy each other's company.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great meal! Robert was fantastic. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

What a great meal! Robert was fantastic. Dry aged bone in ribeye so succulent and cooked to a perfect medium rare....... The way all beef should be cooked. Creamed corn was a sleeper hit. Duck confit was on point. Will go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and Service are both exceptional. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food and Service are both exceptional. Nice atmosphere without having to drive downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wall hangings and red flocked wall p ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The wall hangings and red flocked wall paper attempt to create a "French" ambience, which is a good idea, however, it is completely undone by the 1970's U.S. Top 40 music playing in the background. Suggestion: Pandora must have a French Cafe Music channel that would do much better for you.

For a "French-influenced" restaurant their wine selection (particularly Bordeaux) is lacking. The steaks were good although a bit pricey for a strip shopping center restaurant located in the Atlanta suburbs ($55 for a 10 oz bone-in filet)

Dessert was a complete failure. First we tried the coconut cream pie which amounted to whipped cream with toasted coconut sprinkled on it - sent it back. The replacement chocolate cake was equally unimpressive.

I am a big fan of their sister restaurant - Trattoria One 41 - I tried Viande Rouge because One41 was consumed by a holiday office party. I will likely try the place again just to confirm my experience and because its is close to home. Otherwise, my first experience would not have lead to another visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Wonderful dinner. We had beef bourguign ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Wonderful dinner. We had beef bourguignon and it was excellent. The service was the best. It is a lovely restaurant with a cozy quiet atmosphere. We had dinner here before a concert. Perfect date night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Viande Rouge had been recommended by a f ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Viande Rouge had been recommended by a friend. How we had not known of this place for the 5 or so years it has been open is beyond me. In short, it was one of THE BEST dining experiences. EVER! Service was exceptional. Owner, Thomas came by and decanted our wine and was very personable- as was Daniel, our server. Great cocktails. Our foursome had the lobster dip, crab beignets, escargot, and grilled oysters. Mains included the bone in filet, the veal chop (no bacon in the sauce accommodated without question) and the short rib. Sides: creamed spinach and the Potatoes Gratin Dauphinoise. While nothing was less than exceptional, the Escargot, bone-in Filet and Veal Chop were to die for. The potatoes are different and fantastic. Celebrating two birthdays, they served their chocolate souffle AND Bananas Foster and did not charge for either! Two bottles of 2012 Chimney Rock Cabernet -outstanding, and a round of Limoncello (on the house from their next door Italian Rest.) to cap off the night was smooth as silk, with a hint of almond(?). The decor is sultry and reminiscent in some ways of the old Pano's and Paul's (surprisingly in a strip center), but cozier and even more elegant. Clearly one of our new and perhaps most favorite restaurant to celebrate a really special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food preparation, prompt atten ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Excellent food preparation, prompt attentive service, and a swanky decor made our evening out special and fulfilling.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice little neighborhood gem with a roma ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Nice little neighborhood gem with a romantic atmosphere. Food was goo and generously portioned. Nice to not have to travel to Atlanta for boutique dining. We will return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been here several times and it is ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We've been here several times and it is always outstanding, service and food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best steaks you will find an ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Some of the best steaks you will find anywhere. If you are not a steak lover there other dishes especially seafood that are outstanding. Should be something delicious for different tastes.

Service is outstanding and atmosphere is great. Been here 3 times and have never had a bad experience.

Great for birthdays, anniversaries, or a night out with your significant other. Not for children

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always - always -always a great experien ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always - always -always a great experience there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there. Service was fast and p ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time there. Service was fast and professional.

Food was delicious . Wouldn't change a thing .

Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating 40th anniversary and could n ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Celebrating 40th anniversary and could not have chosen a better restaurant. We arrived a bit early for our 6:30 p.m. reservation and were seated immediately. There was a anniversary card signed by the staff waiting at our table and immediately we were served complimentary flutes of champagne. Our server, Daniel, was very attentive and engaging all evening but was never intrusive. Oysters - outstanding, spinach salad prepared tableside - outstanding, grouper and ribeye entrees - outstanding. Daniel informed us of their souffle desserts at the proper time during our meal to ensure it was prepared as we finished (20 minute advance for preparation). VR has a great atmosphere, fantastic food, and fabulous service!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a perfect dining experience. Fr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was a perfect dining experience. From the appetizer until the end, we had a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best! If my finances allowed, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Simply the best! If my finances allowed, I would eat there weekly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was great!! And it is a grea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our waiter was great!! And it is a great place, good food but I just thought too expensive. It was just the 2 of us and bill was $200, think that is just too much for the meal. We will only go back if its a very, very special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Easily the best steakhouse in Alpharetta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Easily the best steakhouse in Alpharetta!! Highly recommended!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spontaneous midweek date night. Beef bo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Spontaneous midweek date night. Beef bourguignon fell off the bone!! Raspberry soufflé was delicious too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went for my husbands Birthday. We had ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We went for my husbands Birthday. We had reservations (which I recommend) but we were slightly late due to an accident that caused terrible traffic back up. My son arrived separately so I asked him to let them know we were running a little bit late. They had no problem with it and when we did arrive we were seated immediately with a card on the table signed by the staff to wish my husband a happy birthday. The waiter answered our questions and was very knowledgeable about the entire menu. We very much enjoyed the night. I had the 6oz filet while my husband had the bone in filet. We shared side veggies and everything was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.