About Viande Rouge

9810 Medlock Bridge Road Suite 900
Duluth, GA 30097
View Larger Map

An American chophouse with a French flair. An upscale town atmosphere designed by Micheal Habachy, outside the perimeter. Chef Marc Sublette's blend of classic American steakhouse flavors combined with old world French technique is sure to impress. Knowledgeable, friendly service, an extensive wine list will complete your perfect evening. We welcome ages 14 and over. Please join us at Viande Rouge.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State Bridge Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 623-4959

Website:
http://www.vrsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Sublette

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful 14 person private dining room for business or intimate private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Kunce: 7706234959x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Viande Rouge is open and available for diner reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Souffle
Smoked Kobe Short With Bluecheese Raviolli In A Maderia Wine Sauce
The Trio
Artichoke Provencial
porterhouse steak
Chocolate Souflé
Coconut Pie
Smoked Salmon Torta With Pickled Spicy Veg.
Raspberry Souffle with Shortbread
Dry-Aged NY Strip

Viande Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Service
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Ambiance
Atlanta / Georgia
9 More
Steakhouse
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Northeast Atlanta
Best Food
Northeast Atlanta
Best Service
Northeast Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Northeast Atlanta
Best Value
Northeast Atlanta
Fit for Foodies
Northeast Atlanta
Romantic
Northeast Atlanta
Special Occasion
Northeast Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Duluth ›

Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (50)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Notable Wine List (21)
Good for Groups (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
551 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Steakhouse with a French Bistro twist of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Steakhouse with a French Bistro twist offers a varied menu with a French inspired touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I put this restaurant in the top three b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I put this restaurant in the top three best restaurants in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been wanting to go for a long ti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have been wanting to go for a long time having heard many good things about them. Glad we went! The food was excellent and the service was very attentive. Looking forward to our next time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Two couples celebrating a birthday--blue ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Two couples celebrating a birthday--blue point oysters were great $30/dz, I had NY Strip and lobster bisque, very good. Service was great but we had a 40 minute pause between apps and dinner which annoyed one of the guests. All and all a good experience IMHO.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very very very impressed about the resta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very very very impressed about the restaurant. This was our first visit so pleased with the food, service, ambiance.... We were celebrating with our 40th wedding anniversary with a couple of dearest friends. We all very happy with the dinning experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I tried Viande Rouge last we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife and I tried Viande Rouge last weekend for the first time, but we will definitely be back! My steak was one of the best I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Even the side dish (scalloped potatoes) was amazing. To top it off, the service was outstanding and the ambiance was perfect for a romantic dinner date. VR has become of my new favorite restaurants, and I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was wonderful!!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food and service was wonderful!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole staff was completely accommoda ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The whole staff was completely accommodating. Thayer adjusted our arrival time to meet our request and even found us a secluded table despite the intimacy of dinning room. And it goes without saying that the food was amazing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in all of Atlant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in all of Atlanta. Great food, small and intimate. Jim

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the splurge if you can afford it. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Worth the splurge if you can afford it. The food was as good as it gets in Georgia.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great experience..food was dele ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great experience..food was delectable and worth making a repeat performance..plans are to be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were very excited to try this restaur ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were very excited to try this restaurant as we love another steak restaurant close by but saw the great reviews on Viande Rouge and decided to try something new for my birthday. I got a nice handwritten note when we arrived which was very sweet. Our server, Ryan was very nice and knowledgeable about the menu. We decided to try the oysters casino (amazing!) and the poutine for our appetizers. The poutine was just so so, cheese was lacking, not enough gravy and very little flavor. Should be offered as a side instead of an appetizer. I asked about the steak Diane that several tables were ordering but our server suggested the filet since it was our first time. I had the 6oz filet with the crab Oscar topping, it did not disappoint! My husband ordered the steak au poivre, which was tough and chewy for a medium rare sirloin it seemed like it had been previously frozen. We didn't want to complain so we said nothing and he ate our sides which were wonderful. I had asked about a chocolate souffle when we arrived and our server said it would be on the house for my birthday and he would put in the order to be timed right. after he took our plates, he asked us if we wanted desert and it appeared he had forgotten to pre-order mine so we waited about 20 minutes and it was just ok. And it was not complimentary but that was fine as he had comped my first drink that I didn't like so we did not want to complain. Overall, we did enjoy our meal but we were not overly impressed. The atmosphere was a little boring and pretentious. Not sure we will go back but glad that we at least tried something new.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Wonderful as always. A favorite for a ni ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful as always. A favorite for a night out now. Great food, excellent service and wonderful atmosphere - nice ambiance and can actually talk to each other too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighbourhood Gem, Romance, Special Occasions
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never write reviews or fill out survey ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I never write reviews or fill out surveys. This is my favorite resturant. From the bone in filet to the fish selections, it is always an experience to eat there. The lighting, the amazing staff, the music, and the small cozy charming decor just do it for me. I like to take friends or a date there for the first time. They are always stunned to find a five star Resturant far from Buckhead. I wouldn't change a thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our meal was very good and service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our meal was very good and service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We found this restaurant when searching ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We found this restaurant when searching for a French restaurant in the Johns Creek area. It has a great "feel" to the dining area and seemed perfect for our event. The waiter was slow to respond and seemed to focus on a corner table which meant our appetizer and meal were out slower than other tables - he even forgot our wine order.

The food was very good. Great escargot and shrimp appetizer. The duck confit was cooked perfectly, however the steak was too charred and had too much of a charcoal taste to it.

While the food tasted great, unfortunately one of the items must have been contaminated as I became quite ill in the middle of the night and for the following day. This is too bad as the food tasted great.

After contacting the restaurant they did send us a gift card in response to our complaint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We were celebrating husband's birthday. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were celebrating husband's birthday. We were greeted with a Happy Birthday, a card on the table from the staff and an offer for a dessert (which we turned down since we were so full from the awesome dinner). Server Jacob was excellent and very attentive. This is a must place, especially for special occasions.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delish! Service perfect, compa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was delish! Service perfect, company amazing. An enjoyable evening all the way around!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level is a little higher than I wo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Noise level is a little higher than I would like. Booths could help significantly. They are more comfortable than a table and they shield the surrounding noise. Otherwise, I love the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Happened across a listing for this resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Happened across a listing for this restaurant on Open Table and decided to give it a try. It turned out to be an excellent choice. It specializes in steak but also has an excellent sea food menu and also has French offerings such a Steak Diane and Beef Bourguignon. My wife had the fillet and said it was one of the best she ahs ever had. Great cut of meat and cooked to perfection. I had Steak Diane and was not disappointed. It was prepared table side and cooked exactly as requested. The wedge salad had a dressing that was very tasty and was not overpowered by any ingredient. All entrees and sides came to the table at the same time and all were excellent and hot. Had the Grand Marnier souffle for desert which was great.

In my opinion this restaurant is on par with any steakhouse in Atlanta and is made better by the quality of the service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was excellent and the service started out excellent, but slipped significantly as the meal went on. Our table started with Escargot, crab beignets, and lobster dip. The Beignets and dip were awesome but the Escargot was not cooked well resulting in it being chewy. Our next courses consisted of the spinach salad with warm bacon dressing, onion soup, and lobster bisque. The spinach salad prepared tableside was by far the best! I could have eat a whole meal of that. The lobster bisque was very good as was the onion soup but the onion soup was a bit sweet for my likings. Our meals consisted of grouper, steak Diane, and Steak Au Poivre and all of them were very flavorful and well prepared. The steak Diane was also prepared tableside. It was at this point the service slipped. We ordered the souffle dessert which required 20 minutes notice, but despite making a big deal of ensuring it was ordered upon receiving dinner, the waiter forgot to put the order in. We decided to still order it and wait the 20 minutes since we were not in a big hurry to leave, but then the other desserts we ordered took an additional 10 minutes to receive after the souffle arrived! We are not sure what happened with that. All were very tasty though: Coconut pie, chocolate cream pie, Gelato and souffle. The reason for still giving 4 stars for service is because the waiter was very apologetic and comped the desserts and coffee to make up for the inconvenience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We choose Viande Rouge from a co workers ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We choose Viande Rouge from a co workers recommendation. It was an absolute wonderful dining experience. Wes, our server, was fantastic and made great recommendations from appetizers all the way to dessert. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is an amazing hidden gem. Don ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This place is an amazing hidden gem. Don't let the location fool you. When you walk inside you will be blown away by the ambiance and the decor. It is very romantic, but would also work with a small group of close friends looking for an amazing dining experience. All of the wait staff are expertly trained and extremely knowledgable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening celebrating F ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We had a wonderful evening celebrating Father's Day. The food was delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Viande Rouge continues to be a wonderfu ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Viande Rouge continues to be a wonderful restaurant. Becoming my

favorite in the ATL.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The service was impeccable with great attention was given to us and we noticed that all the tables received that same attention. Our waiter Robert was knowledgeable and very attentive which just made our first experience there even more special . We have already recommended Viende Rouge to friends. This was truly a wonderful dining experience .

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating a friend's birthday and had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Celebrating a friend's birthday and had a great evening. We all enjoyed our meals. I had oysters on the half shell, raw. The others tried the baked and grilled oysters. We shared all around and they were all delicious. Steaks were prepared to perfection and the Cauliflower and Creamed Spinach rounded out our entrees. Crowning glory - the souffles! Mine was the Grand Marnier souffle and it was to die for! Wonderful evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came here to celebrate our anniversar ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We came here to celebrate our anniversary and had a great time! The service was great from Brian and the food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden gem. Transported back to the tur ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Hidden gem. Transported back to the turn of the century in Paris. Food was well presented and delicious. Service was great. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best steak experience in Atl ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is the best steak experience in Atlanta. Food, ambience and most importantly the service is top notch. All of the servers are great - Wesley is my go-to guy.

Classic Swiss Fondue - Spinach & Mushroom Salad - Ribeye - Potatoes Dauphinoise - Coffee - too full for anything else

Oh - Don't listen to your friends that think you can only get a great steak experience ITP. They're completely wrong - Travel the 9 miles OTP and be rewarded with greatest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true surprise of the area. We alread ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A true surprise of the area. We already have plans to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great steak (bone in filet) after that e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great steak (bone in filet) after that everything else average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Never disappointed in Viande Rouge. Se ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Never disappointed in Viande Rouge. Service was excellent. Ambiance was nice. Food was excellent as always. Several new selections on the menu and everything sounded so delicious I thought I would never make up my mind. Started to tell the waiter to just surprise me because it sounded like I was going to be happy with anything on the menu. The crab beignets (appetizers) were new on the menu and MUST TRY! I really enjoyed them. I am bad about finding something I like in a restaurant and sticking with it but I had the fish special and it was out of this world. For me, dining at Viande Rouge makes any day a special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Very Happy 20th Anniversary

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The atmosphere was Dark but not so Dark you couldn't read; the music fit the environment and wasun obtrusive. The Food (I had the Steak Diane my wife had the Duck) was outstanding as was the service. We plan to keep this restaraunt in mind for other special occassions. Our Anniversary was indeed a Happy one because of the Great company, great food, sercice and atmosphere. Well Done Viande Rouge!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service was outstanding. All of the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was outstanding. All of the staff members were very kind, helpful and people friendly. My girl friend and I came for a date and it made the night truly one to remember. The food was unbelievable because I believe you could point your finger on any dish on that menu and it be good. My NY struck steak, however, was a little tough when we went so I got filet instead. Overall a great experience and I would definetly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants incredible food and a night to remember.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Viande Rouge is always consistent. You ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Viande Rouge is always consistent. You have to drive to Bulkhead for Bones or Chops to find a comparable steak!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice small place for a great meal. Barte ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice small place for a great meal. Bartender serves a very good manhatten.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time at Viande Rouge ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This was our first time at Viande Rouge and the unassuming exterior set us up for what turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Every thing we had from appetizer to dessert was lovely. The ambience was conducive for a quiet dinner. There was slightly audible chatter from nearby tables but that was easily tuned out. It was worth the price tag.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Viande Rouge for a late Mothe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We went to Viande Rouge for a late Mother's Day dinner. Everything was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and we were ver ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our first visit and we were very impressed. Everything was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.