About Viande Rouge

An American chophouse with a French flair. An upscale town atmosphere designed by Micheal Habachy, outside the perimeter. Chef Marc Sublette's blend of classic American steakhouse flavors combined with old world French technique is sure to impress. Knowledgeable, friendly service, an extensive wine list will complete your perfect evening. We welcome ages 14 and over. Please join us at Viande Rouge.

9810 Medlock Bridge Road Suite 900
Duluth, GA 30097
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State Bridge Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 623-4959

Website:
http://www.vrsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Sublette

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful 14 person private dining room for business or intimate private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Florio: (770) 623-4959

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Viande Rouge is open and available for diner reservations.

Viande Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (41)
Romantic (39)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Good for a Date (36)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Private Room (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We have now been to Viande Rouge on multiple occasions and it is by far our favorite spot in the Suwanee/Duluth area. The food is simply outstanding as well as the service. I would recommend this place to anyone that is looking for upscale dining north of the city. The menu has some great items (cheese fondue, duck confit, bone-in filet) and the best dessert you could ask for (grand marnier souffle). The seats are comfortable and it is not a very loud place so you can have a conversation. This is by far one of my favorite places to eat and I plan to keep coming back on multiple occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Hadn't been here in a while. Kick myself. Food is over the top awesome. Server was good but over committed. There was a good 30 min in there where we waiting for our second round of drinks. But all was forgiven with the food and once he got free he was attentive. The table side cooking held him up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I love this place. come here every year for our wedding Anniversary. 3 years strong. Come not say enough good things about this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Romantic embiance. Good steak & wine. Very expensive. Horrible asparagus - tasted like smoke & left a smokey aftertaste in mouth such that you could not taste he other food. Grilled is fine but not smoked! French house champagne delightful. Mussels were excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Wow Viande Rouge really knocks it out of the park. Food was amazing, service from Steven, Ryan, and Bryant was impeccable. Loved the quiet romantic atmosphere on a Monday night. Can't wait to go back. Thanks Viande you're the best Johns Creek could ask for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything was excellent! Service and food quality was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is by far my new favorite steak place. From the staff, Robert especially, to the decor, the food, the service, everything was top notch. We will be going back for sure in the very near future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent date out with the wife. Wasn't sure what to expect but boy were we pleasantly surprised. Food was excellent, service was great. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always excellent; classic menu; small elegant dining room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Viande Rouge is an all around top notch upscale restaurant. My husband had the dover sole expertly fileted and I enjoyed the lamb chops. We have never had to wait for service ... it's a pleasure to dine there.
One of the best . Highly recommend Viande Rouge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Exquisite dining experience. Hubby and I decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary close to home and we were not disappointed. Food was excellent and our waiter was extremely personable and professional. They had a nice anniversary card waiting for us, which I thought was a nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This was my 3rd visit. Wonderful service every time. The bananas foster was prepared tableside and was quite the show. The filet mignon, cooked medium, was perfection. Great cocktails, atmosphere and food.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My birthday meal was excellent as always. We had requested a specific table and it was reserved for us. My favorite place for special occasions and thank you for no kids

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I have visited this restaurant a few times before and, loved it so much, we went back for my mom's birthday. While the food was just as good as on previous visits, the service this time fell a bit short of our expectations. I even asked the server to box up specific items and he tossed one of the items we requested to take home.

With a more attentive server, our dinner would have been as memorable as my previous visits.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food and service were great. Knowledgeable waiter. As the place filled up, the noise level rose. Entertaining friends from Florida and all were very pleased with the dining experience. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

short notice Saturday night reservation accomplished, waiter excellent, food very good to excellent, excellent wine and menu recommendations. Table change accommodated happily and parking easy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food! Had the Caesar and spinach salads....best ever! Steaks melted in your mouth! Gorgeous restaurant!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have been going to this place since it opened. Great experience every time. Food is amazing. The atmosphere is Romantic. Best Steak, Lobster and Dover Sole in the State. We love this place, we g here to celebrate every birthday, anniversary, special occasion or when we are just in the mood for a special treat!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We have business clients who love beef, but all the "high end" steak houses are just too noisy to carry on a conversation. We enjoy Viande Rouge because not only is the food exceptional, but the atmosphere is quiet and sophisticated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Lovely setting. They go above & beyond to make it special. Our server, Taj, was definitely a big personality ~ made our evening so enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner was wonderful as always. Service was impeccable!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We ran into two friends at the bar and decided to dine together. What a great time! We were already testing the excellent bartenders and they made the best screwdrivers we have ever had. We each ordered different items. The steak Diane was unbelievable and came with a show having it cooked table side. The rack of lamb was very good and my ribeye was mouthwatering. My next visit will be for the steak Diane. It was one of the most tender steak meals I have experienced. The staff was awesome and attentive. Make sure you meet the bartenders, Richard and Ryan. They will treat you very well, indeed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! The food, the presentation and service (Taj is great), the ambiance, all wonderful. A touch of old-line Buckhead in John's Creek. My favorite restaurant by far.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The Scenery was very nice and totally different from any other restaurant that I ever been to, the food I think could have been better I had the beef bouruignon that was basically a roast beef and my wife had the steak diane witch was pretty good. So overall I give it a 4 out of 5

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Another great dinner at VR. two business dinners there in a row....its that good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very very good food, great wine list. Chocolate souffle, was fantastic. Little pricey.....

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and enjoyed very much.. there was a loud table (3 men drinking whiskey)... so that I did not like, but nothing that the restaurant could avoid I think

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 13, 2017

As always, great!!! Had a business meeting over dinner, client very impressed. Jim

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went for the filet mignon and sea salt baked potato with Caesar salad prepared table-side. Our server, Robert, was lovely and contributed to what was a fantastic birthday celebration. The staff even signed a birthday card - nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything we had was excellent!! Bone in Fillet was best we've ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food and service were amazing. My birthday dinner was PERFECT. It will definitely be on our special occasion list! The decor is beautiful as well. Crawford was our waiter and he was outstanding. He was very knowledgable of the wine list, menu and dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Fabulous , professional service and excellent , melt in your mouth steaks , make this neighborhood gem , worth skipping the long ride to the city .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always a great meal and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. It can get a bit loud at times if in the front room and it's usually pretty chilly so take a wrap or sweater.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our dinners were delishious and well presented. The service was attentive but not hovering.
We were there in a week night so it was not crowded so only half of the dining room was actually being used. I do think that since that was the case they could spread folks out a bit more so we would have a little more quiet. There were business dinners there and while everyone was speaking normally there was o reason to have us sitting so close to everyone else. Other than that one comment everything was excellent and I most definitely would return again to what is now one or our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Steaks are good but I had wished that we did not order the soufflé. It took forever and tasted terrible. Also, they need to play nicer music. Ambiance was loud that Sat. night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had baked oysters, tomato salad,
Steak Diane, and potatoes gratin. Everything was delicious. Potatoes gratin melted in my mouth. Tomato salad is one of the best I have had. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The restaurant was very romantic and our waiter attentive. The food was good but some dishes were too spicy for me. The lobster bisque had a little too much sherry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fabulous service, awesome meals every time we visit VR's we can't wait to return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was amazing!! The owner was very personable and hands on! Food was amazing!! This place is a must go!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thomas, Erin, Brian and the fabulous staff always deliver the service and upscale dining experience that we appreciate at this marvelous French steakhouse. Small and intimate, even the Valentine's Day "crush" caused nary a ripple to the service or quality authentic French preparations. Try the best escargot this side of Paris and the smokey lobster bisque. Add melt in the mouth seared foie gras or a grilled lobster lobster tail to the "red meat" or try one of the wonderful French dishes. Maybe steak Diane prepared table side? Save room for the to die for grand mariner soufflé! Our favorite upscale eatery here in our own 'hood just keeps getting better and better!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.