About Viande Rouge

An American chophouse with a French flair. An upscale town atmosphere designed by Micheal Habachy, outside the perimeter. Chef Marc Sublette's blend of classic American steakhouse flavors combined with old world French technique is sure to impress. Knowledgeable, friendly service, an extensive wine list will complete your perfect evening. We welcome ages 14 and over. Please join us at Viande Rouge.

9810 Medlock Bridge Road Suite 900
Duluth, GA 30097
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State Bridge Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 623-4959

Website:
http://www.vrsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Sublette

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful 14 person private dining room for business or intimate private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Florio: (770) 623-4959

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Viande Rouge is open and available for diner reservations.

Viande Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (49)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Good for a Date (40)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (13)
Private Room (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
698 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Exquisite dining experience. Hubby and I decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary close to home and we were not disappointed. Food was excellent and our waiter was extremely personable and professional. They had a nice anniversary card waiting for us, which I thought was a nice touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my 3rd visit. Wonderful service every time. The bananas foster was prepared tableside and was quite the show. The filet mignon, cooked medium, was perfection. Great cocktails, atmosphere and food.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My birthday meal was excellent as always. We had requested a specific table and it was reserved for us. My favorite place for special occasions and thank you for no kids

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I have visited this restaurant a few times before and, loved it so much, we went back for my mom's birthday. While the food was just as good as on previous visits, the service this time fell a bit short of our expectations. I even asked the server to box up specific items and he tossed one of the items we requested to take home.

With a more attentive server, our dinner would have been as memorable as my previous visits.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food and service were great. Knowledgeable waiter. As the place filled up, the noise level rose. Entertaining friends from Florida and all were very pleased with the dining experience. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

short notice Saturday night reservation accomplished, waiter excellent, food very good to excellent, excellent wine and menu recommendations. Table change accommodated happily and parking easy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food! Had the Caesar and spinach salads....best ever! Steaks melted in your mouth! Gorgeous restaurant!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We have been going to this place since it opened. Great experience every time. Food is amazing. The atmosphere is Romantic. Best Steak, Lobster and Dover Sole in the State. We love this place, we g here to celebrate every birthday, anniversary, special occasion or when we are just in the mood for a special treat!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We have business clients who love beef, but all the "high end" steak houses are just too noisy to carry on a conversation. We enjoy Viande Rouge because not only is the food exceptional, but the atmosphere is quiet and sophisticated.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Lovely setting. They go above & beyond to make it special. Our server, Taj, was definitely a big personality ~ made our evening so enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner was wonderful as always. Service was impeccable!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We ran into two friends at the bar and decided to dine together. What a great time! We were already testing the excellent bartenders and they made the best screwdrivers we have ever had. We each ordered different items. The steak Diane was unbelievable and came with a show having it cooked table side. The rack of lamb was very good and my ribeye was mouthwatering. My next visit will be for the steak Diane. It was one of the most tender steak meals I have experienced. The staff was awesome and attentive. Make sure you meet the bartenders, Richard and Ryan. They will treat you very well, indeed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! The food, the presentation and service (Taj is great), the ambiance, all wonderful. A touch of old-line Buckhead in John's Creek. My favorite restaurant by far.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The Scenery was very nice and totally different from any other restaurant that I ever been to, the food I think could have been better I had the beef bouruignon that was basically a roast beef and my wife had the steak diane witch was pretty good. So overall I give it a 4 out of 5

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Another great dinner at VR. two business dinners there in a row....its that good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very very good food, great wine list. Chocolate souffle, was fantastic. Little pricey.....

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and enjoyed very much.. there was a loud table (3 men drinking whiskey)... so that I did not like, but nothing that the restaurant could avoid I think

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 13, 2017

As always, great!!! Had a business meeting over dinner, client very impressed. Jim

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We went for the filet mignon and sea salt baked potato with Caesar salad prepared table-side. Our server, Robert, was lovely and contributed to what was a fantastic birthday celebration. The staff even signed a birthday card - nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Everything we had was excellent!! Bone in Fillet was best we've ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food and service were amazing. My birthday dinner was PERFECT. It will definitely be on our special occasion list! The decor is beautiful as well. Crawford was our waiter and he was outstanding. He was very knowledgable of the wine list, menu and dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Fabulous , professional service and excellent , melt in your mouth steaks , make this neighborhood gem , worth skipping the long ride to the city .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always a great meal and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. It can get a bit loud at times if in the front room and it's usually pretty chilly so take a wrap or sweater.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our dinners were delishious and well presented. The service was attentive but not hovering.
We were there in a week night so it was not crowded so only half of the dining room was actually being used. I do think that since that was the case they could spread folks out a bit more so we would have a little more quiet. There were business dinners there and while everyone was speaking normally there was o reason to have us sitting so close to everyone else. Other than that one comment everything was excellent and I most definitely would return again to what is now one or our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Steaks are good but I had wished that we did not order the soufflé. It took forever and tasted terrible. Also, they need to play nicer music. Ambiance was loud that Sat. night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had baked oysters, tomato salad,
Steak Diane, and potatoes gratin. Everything was delicious. Potatoes gratin melted in my mouth. Tomato salad is one of the best I have had. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The restaurant was very romantic and our waiter attentive. The food was good but some dishes were too spicy for me. The lobster bisque had a little too much sherry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fabulous service, awesome meals every time we visit VR's we can't wait to return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was amazing!! The owner was very personable and hands on! Food was amazing!! This place is a must go!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thomas, Erin, Brian and the fabulous staff always deliver the service and upscale dining experience that we appreciate at this marvelous French steakhouse. Small and intimate, even the Valentine's Day "crush" caused nary a ripple to the service or quality authentic French preparations. Try the best escargot this side of Paris and the smokey lobster bisque. Add melt in the mouth seared foie gras or a grilled lobster lobster tail to the "red meat" or try one of the wonderful French dishes. Maybe steak Diane prepared table side? Save room for the to die for grand mariner soufflé! Our favorite upscale eatery here in our own 'hood just keeps getting better and better!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding Valentine's Day dinner- excellent food and service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have lived in Johns Creek for 17 years. This was our first time there and it will not be our last! It was a very romantic place to celebrate Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

JUST DISCOVERED TODAY WHEN BALANCING MY BANK BOOKS THAT THE WAITER INCREASED THE TIP AMOUNT I LEFT ON THE BILL BY $8.00 . VERY ANNOYED. WILL NOT EAT HERE EVER AGIN.

We have dined here before and had nice experiences and chose to return because we were impressed with their quality and service. HOWEVER, this was not the sam experience when we dined here for Valentines Day Eve to avoid all the chaos that usually accompanies Valentines Day dining. While they did a lovely job decorating the tables for Valentines Day, and the wait staff tried very hard, we were disappointed with the fact that we were being charged high end prices and getting low end quality. When spending top dollar, you expect top quality food and presentation. We did not get that and only two items were actually prepared by the chef, and the rest of the meal items were prepared and served by either the hostess or the wait staff.

The kitchen prepared a fantastic dish of baked oysters and another dish of lovely tomatoes with delicious soft Barrata cheese. After that the kitchen was quiet as we were looking forward to the the next two courses being prepared table side. The novelty of having table side preparation wore off very quickly when the hostess was asked/told to prepare warm spinach salad and burned some of the ingredients creating smoke in the dining room and she just kept on cooking and serving it. She should not be serving or worse preparing food (she was also not very personable).

Next was someone from the wait staff who prepared the Steak Diane table side. The meat (I dare not say steak) was two paltry slices of tenderloin and was undercooked to our liking (we did not discover this until it was served and he vanished). The sauce was delicious, however the plating was terrible. Our meat was swimming in a plate of slop, almost like the meat was cast out into a sea of sauce. Nothing attractive. Skipped dessert at this point and high tailed it out of there.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Normally, like all of us, we find one thing that is not spot on BUT there was nothing, truly nothing. The waitstaff, the martini, the wine list, the table side preparation, the temperature of the filet, the right amount of zing in the salad, the dessert...it was all perfect. No we are not related to the owners. We were in town to see a concert, a four hour drive from home, to the city. 20 minutes from the hotel to the restaurant. It was just truly an exceptional dining experience. Not for children or those with a modest budget but it is well worth the expense.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The blend of French cuisine and American steakhouse is the perfect description. The food was wonderful and service very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very good service and the food was special. We love this place.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Highlights were hand written birthday cards signed by the staff, attentive service and well prepared and thoughtful dishes. It's expensive, but for a special night out, a great indulgence to enjoy without having to drive into Atlanta. Very happy to have this type of restaurant in Johns Creek.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was great, as was all of the food from apps to dessert - except for the steaks. They weren't bad, but very ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding Service, Great food, very romantic ambiance. The staff made our anniversary very memorable indeed. Thank You!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.