About Viande Rouge

9810 Medlock Bridge Road Suite 900
Duluth, GA 30097
View Larger Map

An American chophouse with a French flair. An upscale town atmosphere designed by Micheal Habachy, outside the perimeter. Chef Marc Sublette's blend of classic American steakhouse flavors combined with old world French technique is sure to impress. Knowledgeable, friendly service, an extensive wine list will complete your perfect evening. We welcome ages 14 and over. Please join us at Viande Rouge.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State Bridge Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 623-4959

Website:
http://www.vrsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Sublette

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful 14 person private dining room for business or intimate private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Florio: 7706234959x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Viande Rouge is open and available for diner reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Souffle - Viande Rouge
Smoked Kobe Short With Bluecheese Raviolli In A Maderia Wine Sauce - Viande Rouge
The Trio - Viande Rouge
Artichoke Provencial - Viande Rouge
porterhouse steak - Viande Rouge
Chocolate Souflé - Viande Rouge
Coconut Pie - Viande Rouge
Smoked Salmon Torta With Pickled Spicy Veg.  - Viande Rouge
Raspberry Souffle with Shortbread - Viande Rouge
Dry-Aged NY Strip - Viande Rouge

Viande Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Atlanta / Georgia
Steakhouse
Atlanta / Georgia
Best Overall
Northeast Atlanta
7 More
Best Food
Northeast Atlanta
Best Service
Northeast Atlanta
Best Ambiance
Northeast Atlanta
Best Value
Northeast Atlanta
Fit for Foodies
Northeast Atlanta
Romantic
Northeast Atlanta
Special Occasion
Northeast Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Duluth ›

Romantic (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I am highly impressed by this place hidd ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

I am highly impressed by this place hidden in Duluth!

This is a fantastic place with fantastic service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were superb!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought a friend here for her birthday. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Brought a friend here for her birthday. I made note of the occasion when I made our reservation on Open Table. Imagine her delighted surprise when we were escorted to our table where a birthday card signed by every staff member awaited.

Service was provided by four staff members and all were amazing.

The food was outstanding.

I enjoyed our experience so much that I made a reservation for my family to come to celebrate my son's 18th birthday.

Truly a wonderful find.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Healthy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, we will return to try ot ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food, we will return to try other dishes. Knowledgeable waiter and table side preparation was a nice touch. Free dessert for our anniversary capped a perfect meal!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time, but it will not ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was our first time, but it will not be our last. The restaurant was everything that we had heard and then more. The service (Robert was our waiter) was fantastic and all of the food was very tasty. The old fashioned was the best of anywhere I have been.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Service and ambiance are top notch. Food ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Service and ambiance are top notch. Food is fabulous.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very very good. Service al ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food was very very good. Service all the way to the Chief Brian.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite in Atlanta, by far. Awesome ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My favorite in Atlanta, by far. Awesome food, attentive service, beautiful ambiance - altogether wonderful. Pricey and worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still love Viande Rouge. Only negative t ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Still love Viande Rouge. Only negative this time was a bit of a rush on the serving end.

For these prices,I really don't like to be in and out in an hour. Next time,I will jus

order course by course.

Food is still wonderful !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice décor- reminded me of a French or ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nice décor- reminded me of a French or Russian Bistro, make a good Old Fashion- not too sweet, good wine list and great service- very attentive without being overburdening. Food was well done- my steak was tender, favorable and right temperature ... my wife did a shrimp scampi appetizer that was very tasty. Especially like the Caesar Salad that was prepared tableside. Pricey but worth it. Will be back soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome birthday dinner with my mom. Tha ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Awesome birthday dinner with my mom. Thanks so much for accommodating us despite our late arrival. The mussels and duck were perfect. We really loved the drink menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great modern American take on classic Fr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great modern American take on classic French cuisine. The service and ambience are great. We will definitely be back for an evening of upscale dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our favorite place in Atlanta, W ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This is our favorite place in Atlanta, We enjoy the ambiance and intimacy. The food is always great. Large group next to us was rather noisy. But we love it. Jim

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply awesome food and ambiance, we dea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Simply awesome food and ambiance, we dearly love coming here, even with the price it is well worth the visit for the delicious food and the wonderfully personable service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

simple awesome. Service was first rate. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

simple awesome. Service was first rate. Food was first rate. cost was not overwhelming at all. Big enough too for leftovers for the next day to feed two. Great place. Go there!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I chose Viande Rouge for ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I chose Viande Rouge for our 19th Anniversary dinner. It was absolutely perfect. The escargot was very flavorful and we couldn't get enough of the sauce! We shared a caesar salad that was prepared tableside and both enjoyed the duck and Steak Diane that was also prepared tableside. The chocolate souffle was a nice way to end the meal.

We throughly enjoyed the food, service and ambiance and will definitely be back again.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scallop entrée was very good. Dover sole ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Scallop entrée was very good. Dover sole was average, but at $39 way over priced. Potato side dish tasted like a frozen Or-Ida dish.

Might go back to try the steaks, might not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Steakhouse with a French Bistro twist of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Steakhouse with a French Bistro twist offers a varied menu with a French inspired touch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I put this restaurant in the top three b ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I put this restaurant in the top three best restaurants in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been wanting to go for a long ti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have been wanting to go for a long time having heard many good things about them. Glad we went! The food was excellent and the service was very attentive. Looking forward to our next time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Two couples celebrating a birthday--blue ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Two couples celebrating a birthday--blue point oysters were great $30/dz, I had NY Strip and lobster bisque, very good. Service was great but we had a 40 minute pause between apps and dinner which annoyed one of the guests. All and all a good experience IMHO.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very very very impressed about the resta ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very very very impressed about the restaurant. This was our first visit so pleased with the food, service, ambiance.... We were celebrating with our 40th wedding anniversary with a couple of dearest friends. We all very happy with the dinning experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I tried Viande Rouge last we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My wife and I tried Viande Rouge last weekend for the first time, but we will definitely be back! My steak was one of the best I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Even the side dish (scalloped potatoes) was amazing. To top it off, the service was outstanding and the ambiance was perfect for a romantic dinner date. VR has become of my new favorite restaurants, and I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was wonderful!!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food and service was wonderful!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole staff was completely accommoda ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The whole staff was completely accommodating. Thayer adjusted our arrival time to meet our request and even found us a secluded table despite the intimacy of dinning room. And it goes without saying that the food was amazing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in all of Atlant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in all of Atlanta. Great food, small and intimate. Jim

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the splurge if you can afford it. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Worth the splurge if you can afford it. The food was as good as it gets in Georgia.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is nice. The food was good. T ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Restaurant is nice. The food was good. The MAC and cheese was absolutely amazing! Great for an anniversary date!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience..food was dele ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great experience..food was delectable and worth making a repeat performance..plans are to be back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were very excited to try this restaur ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were very excited to try this restaurant as we love another steak restaurant close by but saw the great reviews on Viande Rouge and decided to try something new for my birthday. I got a nice handwritten note when we arrived which was very sweet. Our server, Ryan was very nice and knowledgeable about the menu. We decided to try the oysters casino (amazing!) and the poutine for our appetizers. The poutine was just so so, cheese was lacking, not enough gravy and very little flavor. Should be offered as a side instead of an appetizer. I asked about the steak Diane that several tables were ordering but our server suggested the filet since it was our first time. I had the 6oz filet with the crab Oscar topping, it did not disappoint! My husband ordered the steak au poivre, which was tough and chewy for a medium rare sirloin it seemed like it had been previously frozen. We didn't want to complain so we said nothing and he ate our sides which were wonderful. I had asked about a chocolate souffle when we arrived and our server said it would be on the house for my birthday and he would put in the order to be timed right. after he took our plates, he asked us if we wanted desert and it appeared he had forgotten to pre-order mine so we waited about 20 minutes and it was just ok. And it was not complimentary but that was fine as he had comped my first drink that I didn't like so we did not want to complain. Overall, we did enjoy our meal but we were not overly impressed. The atmosphere was a little boring and pretentious. Not sure we will go back but glad that we at least tried something new.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Wonderful as always. A favorite for a ni ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful as always. A favorite for a night out now. Great food, excellent service and wonderful atmosphere - nice ambiance and can actually talk to each other too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so impressed with this restauran ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were so impressed with this restaurant! Outstanding food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never write reviews or fill out survey ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I never write reviews or fill out surveys. This is my favorite resturant. From the bone in filet to the fish selections, it is always an experience to eat there. The lighting, the amazing staff, the music, and the small cozy charming decor just do it for me. I like to take friends or a date there for the first time. They are always stunned to find a five star Resturant far from Buckhead. I wouldn't change a thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our meal was very good and service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our meal was very good and service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We found this restaurant when searching ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We found this restaurant when searching for a French restaurant in the Johns Creek area. It has a great "feel" to the dining area and seemed perfect for our event. The waiter was slow to respond and seemed to focus on a corner table which meant our appetizer and meal were out slower than other tables - he even forgot our wine order.

The food was very good. Great escargot and shrimp appetizer. The duck confit was cooked perfectly, however the steak was too charred and had too much of a charcoal taste to it.

While the food tasted great, unfortunately one of the items must have been contaminated as I became quite ill in the middle of the night and for the following day. This is too bad as the food tasted great.

After contacting the restaurant they did send us a gift card in response to our complaint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We were celebrating husband's birthday. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were celebrating husband's birthday. We were greeted with a Happy Birthday, a card on the table from the staff and an offer for a dessert (which we turned down since we were so full from the awesome dinner). Server Jacob was excellent and very attentive. This is a must place, especially for special occasions.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delish! Service perfect, compa ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was delish! Service perfect, company amazing. An enjoyable evening all the way around!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level is a little higher than I wo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Noise level is a little higher than I would like. Booths could help significantly. They are more comfortable than a table and they shield the surrounding noise. Otherwise, I love the atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Happened across a listing for this resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Happened across a listing for this restaurant on Open Table and decided to give it a try. It turned out to be an excellent choice. It specializes in steak but also has an excellent sea food menu and also has French offerings such a Steak Diane and Beef Bourguignon. My wife had the fillet and said it was one of the best she ahs ever had. Great cut of meat and cooked to perfection. I had Steak Diane and was not disappointed. It was prepared table side and cooked exactly as requested. The wedge salad had a dressing that was very tasty and was not overpowered by any ingredient. All entrees and sides came to the table at the same time and all were excellent and hot. Had the Grand Marnier souffle for desert which was great.

In my opinion this restaurant is on par with any steakhouse in Atlanta and is made better by the quality of the service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was excellent and the service started out excellent, but slipped significantly as the meal went on. Our table started with Escargot, crab beignets, and lobster dip. The Beignets and dip were awesome but the Escargot was not cooked well resulting in it being chewy. Our next courses consisted of the spinach salad with warm bacon dressing, onion soup, and lobster bisque. The spinach salad prepared tableside was by far the best! I could have eat a whole meal of that. The lobster bisque was very good as was the onion soup but the onion soup was a bit sweet for my likings. Our meals consisted of grouper, steak Diane, and Steak Au Poivre and all of them were very flavorful and well prepared. The steak Diane was also prepared tableside. It was at this point the service slipped. We ordered the souffle dessert which required 20 minutes notice, but despite making a big deal of ensuring it was ordered upon receiving dinner, the waiter forgot to put the order in. We decided to still order it and wait the 20 minutes since we were not in a big hurry to leave, but then the other desserts we ordered took an additional 10 minutes to receive after the souffle arrived! We are not sure what happened with that. All were very tasty though: Coconut pie, chocolate cream pie, Gelato and souffle. The reason for still giving 4 stars for service is because the waiter was very apologetic and comped the desserts and coffee to make up for the inconvenience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.