About Viande Rouge

9810 Medlock Bridge Road Suite 900
Duluth, GA 30097
View Larger Map

An American chophouse with a French flair. An upscale town atmosphere designed by Micheal Habachy, outside the perimeter. Chef Marc Sublette's blend of classic American steakhouse flavors combined with old world French technique is sure to impress. Knowledgeable, friendly service, an extensive wine list will complete your perfect evening. We welcome ages 14 and over. Please join us at Viande Rouge.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State Bridge Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 623-4959

Website:
http://www.vrsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Sublette

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful 14 person private dining room for business or intimate private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Florio: (770) 623-4959

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Viande Rouge is open and available for diner reservations.

Viande Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (57)
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Good for a Date (45)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Worth the Drive (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Cozy (24)
Notable Wine List (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Business Meals (15)
Authentic (12)
Private Room (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Steaks are good but I had wished that we did not order the soufflé. It took forever and tasted terrible. Also, they need to play nicer music. Ambiance was loud that Sat. night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had baked oysters, tomato salad,

Steak Diane, and potatoes gratin. Everything was delicious. Potatoes gratin melted in my mouth. Tomato salad is one of the best I have had. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The restaurant was very romantic and our waiter attentive. The food was good but some dishes were too spicy for me. The lobster bisque had a little too much sherry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fabulous service, awesome meals every time we visit VR's we can't wait to return!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was amazing!! The owner was very personable and hands on! Food was amazing!! This place is a must go!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thomas, Erin, Brian and the fabulous staff always deliver the service and upscale dining experience that we appreciate at this marvelous French steakhouse. Small and intimate, even the Valentine's Day "crush" caused nary a ripple to the service or quality authentic French preparations. Try the best escargot this side of Paris and the smokey lobster bisque. Add melt in the mouth seared foie gras or a grilled lobster lobster tail to the "red meat" or try one of the wonderful French dishes. Maybe steak Diane prepared table side? Save room for the to die for grand mariner soufflé! Our favorite upscale eatery here in our own 'hood just keeps getting better and better!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Outstanding Valentine's Day dinner- excellent food and service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have lived in Johns Creek for 17 years. This was our first time there and it will not be our last! It was a very romantic place to celebrate Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

JUST DISCOVERED TODAY WHEN BALANCING MY BANK BOOKS THAT THE WAITER INCREASED THE TIP AMOUNT I LEFT ON THE BILL BY $8.00 . VERY ANNOYED. WILL NOT EAT HERE EVER AGIN.

We have dined here before and had nice experiences and chose to return because we were impressed with their quality and service. HOWEVER, this was not the sam experience when we dined here for Valentines Day Eve to avoid all the chaos that usually accompanies Valentines Day dining. While they did a lovely job decorating the tables for Valentines Day, and the wait staff tried very hard, we were disappointed with the fact that we were being charged high end prices and getting low end quality. When spending top dollar, you expect top quality food and presentation. We did not get that and only two items were actually prepared by the chef, and the rest of the meal items were prepared and served by either the hostess or the wait staff.

The kitchen prepared a fantastic dish of baked oysters and another dish of lovely tomatoes with delicious soft Barrata cheese. After that the kitchen was quiet as we were looking forward to the the next two courses being prepared table side. The novelty of having table side preparation wore off very quickly when the hostess was asked/told to prepare warm spinach salad and burned some of the ingredients creating smoke in the dining room and she just kept on cooking and serving it. She should not be serving or worse preparing food (she was also not very personable).

Next was someone from the wait staff who prepared the Steak Diane table side. The meat (I dare not say steak) was two paltry slices of tenderloin and was undercooked to our liking (we did not discover this until it was served and he vanished). The sauce was delicious, however the plating was terrible. Our meat was swimming in a plate of slop, almost like the meat was cast out into a sea of sauce. Nothing attractive. Skipped dessert at this point and high tailed it out of there.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Normally, like all of us, we find one thing that is not spot on BUT there was nothing, truly nothing. The waitstaff, the martini, the wine list, the table side preparation, the temperature of the filet, the right amount of zing in the salad, the dessert...it was all perfect. No we are not related to the owners. We were in town to see a concert, a four hour drive from home, to the city. 20 minutes from the hotel to the restaurant. It was just truly an exceptional dining experience. Not for children or those with a modest budget but it is well worth the expense.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The blend of French cuisine and American steakhouse is the perfect description. The food was wonderful and service very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very good service and the food was special. We love this place.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Highlights were hand written birthday cards signed by the staff, attentive service and well prepared and thoughtful dishes. It's expensive, but for a special night out, a great indulgence to enjoy without having to drive into Atlanta. Very happy to have this type of restaurant in Johns Creek.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service was great, as was all of the food from apps to dessert - except for the steaks. They weren't bad, but very ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding Service, Great food, very romantic ambiance. The staff made our anniversary very memorable indeed. Thank You!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Viande Rouge is still great! Small,intimate,excellent service and

delicious food. Tableside dishes too! Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, amazing service and wine list. Simply an amazing restaurant to eat at.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

LOVED this neighborhood restaurant. Husband and I wanted great food but close to home and this place met all expectations. From the fondue, to soup and salad, steaks and duck confit, everything was outstanding. And of course I couldn't forget the soufflé! The grand marnier soufflé was my favorite! Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The steaks were very fatty; 3 in our party did not finish eating them

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Visited on 21 January 2017 to celebrate a quiet/romantic birthday dinner with my wife. This was certainly a great choice for such an occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The visit was for a special night out to get dressed up and have a nice meal. The experience was what we were looking for. Very nice and upscale. The proper etiquette by the staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is my husband and my favorite restaurant in Atlanta. We go there each time we can for our 'date night'. No one will be disappointed!!

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Never a disappointment at vionde rouge. The food is always wonderful, the service is always friendly and efficient. If I could afford to go there every day I would

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2017

This is a very nice restaurant in Gwinnett County. Usually we drive into the city to find a place like this but it was amazing. The food was delicious and very up-scale. It was quiet, private and personal and I LOVED eating there. I can't wait to go again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Awesome time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Dover sole was hands down the best meal I have had since the last time I was in France eating Dover sole. The crispy capers were a fantastic touch! Coupled with the escargot, I could not have been more satisfied. My compliments to the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were hopeful this would live up to all of the positive reviews...it did and much more. We moved to the area from Chicago over 4 years ago and have been disappointed with the limited options of truly fine dining. Everything about our experience here was exceptional. From the romantic ambiance & attentive service to the table side Caesar, the best bouillabaisse ever, to the paired wines and Grand Marnier soufflé and bananas foster for dessert. This will become a regular for us when we want a special night out and an exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really enjoyed the small atmosphere. Service was exceptional

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is one of our very favorite restaurants. The food is always fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food and great service. Wait staff very knowledgeable. Love the table side prep for salad and dessert. Never disappoints.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

blown away. The food. The service. The Ambiance. Everything was absolutely top notch! We had a table of 8 and everyone raved about everything they had. Two of us had the beef bourguignon. It was succulent and i couldn't even finish it. Bouillabaisse, Groupper, Filet, and off the bone ribeye were all outstanding. If i lived closer, this would become a go-to favorite of mine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

When we stumbled upon VR, we knew it was right up our alley in terms of cousine and ambiance (A Chophouse with French flare). We finally had the opportunity to dine on our anniversary and it exceeded our expectations. My girlfriend had the Duck Confit and I had the Dry-Aged Ribeye. I've lived in the Atlanta area for 20 years and this was probably one of the top 5 dining experiences I've had. Spectacular service from a friendly, knowledgeable and attentive waiter. The chocolate soufflé was an excellent finale to the dinner. Even if you're full from your entree, it's light and fluffy enough to be enjoyable. We're looking forward to going back soon to explore the menu even further.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Viande Rouge this week and could not have asked for a more lovely time. Walking in to the restaurant is like taking a step back in time to when dining was an experience and not just a meal. The ambience is warm, the food was delicious and the service top notch. We ordered everything at once and the meal was paced so wonderfully that we never felt rushed or as though one part of the meal was infringing on another. I would recommend Viande Rouge to anyone wanting a quiet, romantic and elegant dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great service interesting menu great ambiance in a strip mall

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere, food and service. I did not know it was so close to home. Nice surprise.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Duck a l'Orange, Beef Bourguignon, Cream Corn, etc. The food is as good as you will find anywhere. Wonderful ambience and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Simply great place for a great dinner.hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We arrived for a two hour dinner sitting on New Year's Eve. The entire arrival to departure was excellent. Our waiter, the food and ambiance was absolutely amazing. We both ordered the peppered steak which was tender and well seasoned. The broccoli with hollandaise sauce was excellent. I recommend this restaurant to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was not as good as in the past. We had to ask for the bread and our server did not review the menu with us. Also, we had to ask about the soufflé in order to request it in time to get it without the 20 minute wait.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I have visited the restaurant on 4 other occasions this year and all was fantastic - food, service, etc. However, this time our waiter clearly wasn't on par. He was congenial but never explained the foods for the evening. We didn't receive any plates with the fondue and so used our bread plates which were much too small to use. Later we saw other tables who actually did receive plates. We have always received bread in the past and noticed all of the other tables had bread. We asked for bread. The waiter said, "yes, I guess I can get some". One of the diners ordered Bouillabasse. He didn't get a spoon nor a bowl (as other tables did) to eat with and discard the shells. He disappeared for long periods at a time from the dining room. We sat waiting after finishing dessert over 20 minutes before asking another server for the bill. Once we got it and provided the credit card another large amount of time transpired when finally the manager took the card.

Added to the poor service, we had raved about the restaurant to our guests. This certainly did not live up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Simply superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Handled corking, filtering and decanting of 1978 wine with aplomb!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Overall, it was very good. I think my expectations were a little high based on some of the other reviews I had read. Appetizers, salad, sides, and dessert were all excellent. My steak is the reason for a 4 star vs a 5 star. I got the dry aged bone in ribeye and asked for it to be a medium. It was more of a medium well to well in some parts of the steak, so it was a little dry for my taste. Others might like that. I got the escargot appetizer and the Lobster Bisque; both very good. My wife got the spinach salad; which was excellent! My wife had the sea bass and said it was very good, but she's had better. We had the creamed spinach and the mac and cheese sides; both were excellent. Topped it off with the chocolate soufflé for dessert; very good as well. Again, overall, it was very good; I think I just had higher expectations based on some reviews I read prior to visiting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Enjoyed a sumptuous dinner with my parents celebrating their anniversary. 40 minute drive well worth it for the entire experience. Food quality, quantity, and service exceptional! First of many visits to come. Thank you for making my parents visit so special!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Outstanding service by Richard and Taj. Perfect ambiance for my wife and I. Celebrated my wife's birthday and she said this was her favorite restaurant of all her birthday dinners. The food was superb and the presentation excellent. Outstanding lobster bisque, salad, Dover Sole, and

Bananas Foster. Fantastic experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a great evening. Food was excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went here for a special dinner on our 49th anniversary. We were not disappointed! Ordered the filet mignon. It was melt inyour mouth…delicious! We tried a new new wine we'd never heard of called Uppercut. It went fantastic with the steak. Viande Rouge translates from French to "Red Meat". That's what we ordered and it was excellent. Wait staff was very attentive, let us try samples of wine when we could make up our mind initially, and provided great recommendations as to appetizers. Noise level was very good and my wife and I were able to carry on a conversation and enjoy each other's company.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2016

What a great meal! Robert was fantastic. Dry aged bone in ribeye so succulent and cooked to a perfect medium rare....... The way all beef should be cooked. Creamed corn was a sleeper hit. Duck confit was on point. Will go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food and Service are both exceptional. Nice atmosphere without having to drive downtown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.