About Viande Rouge

9810 Medlock Bridge Road Suite 900
Duluth, GA 30097
View Larger Map

An American chophouse with a French flair. An upscale town atmosphere designed by Micheal Habachy, outside the perimeter. Chef Marc Sublette's blend of classic American steakhouse flavors combined with old world French technique is sure to impress. Knowledgeable, friendly service, an extensive wine list will complete your perfect evening. We welcome ages 14 and over. Please join us at Viande Rouge.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State Bridge Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 623-4959

Website:
http://www.vrsteakhouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Marc Sublette

Private Party Facilities:
We have a beautiful 14 person private dining room for business or intimate private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Erin Kunce: 7706234959x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Viande Rouge is open and available for diner reservations.

Restaurant Photos

Viande Rouge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Northeast Atlanta
Best Food
Northeast Atlanta
Best Service
Northeast Atlanta
6 More
Best Ambiance
Northeast Atlanta
Best Value
Northeast Atlanta
Fit for Foodies
Northeast Atlanta
Romantic
Northeast Atlanta
Special Occasion
Northeast Atlanta
Most Booked
Northeast Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Duluth ›

special occasion (76)
romantic (69)
fit for foodies (52)
See All
notable wine list (36)
neighborhood gem (31)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A Very Happy 20th Anniversary

Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere was Dark but not so Dark you couldn't read; the music fit the environment and wasun obtrusive. The Food (I had the Steak Diane my wife had the Duck) was outstanding as was the service. We plan to keep this restaraunt in mind for other special occassions. Our Anniversary was indeed a Happy one because of the Great company, great food, sercice and atmosphere. Well Done Viande Rouge!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Viande Rouge is always consistent. You ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Viande Rouge is always consistent. You have to drive to Bulkhead for Bones or Chops to find a comparable steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice small place for a great meal. Barte ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice small place for a great meal. Bartender serves a very good manhatten.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first time at Viande Rouge ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was our first time at Viande Rouge and the unassuming exterior set us up for what turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Every thing we had from appetizer to dessert was lovely. The ambience was conducive for a quiet dinner. There was slightly audible chatter from nearby tables but that was easily tuned out. It was worth the price tag.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Viande Rouge for a late Mothe ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went to Viande Rouge for a late Mother's Day dinner. Everything was wonderful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit and we were ver ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our first visit and we were very impressed. Everything was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I always enjoy Viande Rou ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I always enjoy Viande Rouge. We were dining as a late birthday present to me. Everything was great as usual. Our only coifs about this visit, and they are minimal in our book, is the server did not offer us the market price for the daily fish. I ordered the lobster tails, which were divine, but it would have been nice to hear the price beforehand, offered by the server instead of having to ask. Secondly, the lettuce in my salad was a bit yellowed, not much, but enough to notice. And the last item on our list was the server neglected to check with us before we were finished with dinner to let us know about the souffle for dessert, as it takes 15 min. Instead he mentioned it at the end of the meal, which would have left us sitting there waiting for 15 min until it was done. I'm all about enjoying the moment, but 15 minutes is a long time to wait for a dessert (for us, maybe not for others) but we just chose the crème brulee, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The noise level was fairly loud, which for a Saturday night, cannot be helped. It was just a note to self, that for a quiet intimate dinner, it's better on a weeknight. All in all, we were pleased as always, and will return for many more memorable occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Viande Rouge Excels

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Viande Rouge continues to excel. The food is delicious and well cooked. The atmosphere is adult and you can actually hear yourself talk. The service is outstanding which so many restaurants are lacking these days. Go-it's worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Very Good Steakhouse with a French Flair

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Very Good Steakhouse with a French Flair

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been to steakhouses in Las Vegas, Scottsdale, New York, Atlanta, Chicago, Washington, etc. We love to travel and try a new steakhouse everywhere we go. Viande Rouge is absolutely one of the best! The service was exceptional, the food was outstanding, and the venue had a very cool upscale vibe. I think that now the word is out about Viande Rouge, they will probably need to relocate to a larger space. The space is intimate but cannot accommodate the number of people that probably call for reservations. So, they will probably have to expand. Hopefully, they can do that without losing some of the intimacy of the existing locale. Great job! Keep up the good work!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice restaurant. Superb staff server.

Dined on April 22, 2016

We went to Viannde Rouge on a special occasion and were very pleasantly surprised. As our server told us, VR is a steak house and we agree. We were impressed with our server's at-table abilities as well; the perfectly made Caesar salad, for example, was hand-tossed with from-scratch dressing by our server. He also was droll - which we like in a server. Food was excellent - definitely a special occasion restaurant in our future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Business Dinner

Dined on April 21, 2016

We were celebrating the promotion of a business colleague. He chose Viande Rouge for his special dinner. The food, service and ambiance were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Special Occasion

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Viande Rouge for a special occasion. We had been there before with a large group and enjoyed it so much. Food was delicious and presentation of Dover Sole was impressive. Grouper & salmon were also top notch. Side dishes were yummy and well seasoned. We will be back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The bartender was talking very loudly to ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The bartender was talking very loudly to guests at the bar -- he really needs to tone it down! We found it disturbing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Had a wonderful time and great food. Wine and steaks were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A great surprise in Johns Creek! Food an ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

A great surprise in Johns Creek! Food and service were amazing!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, a wonderful dining experience. ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Overall, a wonderful dining experience. Server was extremely knowledgeable/helpful. Amazing steak.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit and really enjoy ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

This was my first visit and really enjoyed my meal experience. I had the lamb and it was perfectly season and cooked to perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic 21st Wedding Anniversary celeb ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Fantastic 21st Wedding Anniversary celebration. Food was absolutely wonderful! Best caesar salad and creamed corn!!! The service was impeccable right down to the lovely note signed by the staff and personal well wishes by them. Can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always

Dined on March 19, 2016

I have been to Viande Rouge a number of times over the past few years, and have never been disappointed. Their steak in particular is amazing, as are their wine list, sides, and appetizers (the mussels are a personal favorite). And the soufflé deserves its own special mention. Between my friends, family, and I, we've yet to order anything with which we've been disappointed, and the wait staff are knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Two thumbs up!

Dined on March 16, 2016

Can't wait to go back - one of the best meals I've had and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with modern french atmosphere

Dined on March 14, 2016

Husband and out had a date night out to celebrate him. We enjoyed the fondue as a start and the bread with apple slices dipped in aged Swiss Cheese was delightful. For dinner, he had Ribeye steak with mash potatoes and grilled mushrooms for sides. He really enjoyed it and had leftovers. I had grilled grouper over finger potatoes and spinach, it was delicious and i also has leftovers. They served bread before the meal and we had the fondue appetizer, so we were both pretty full 3/4 way through the meal. We would definitely go again and may skip the appetizer to have room for dessert. :-) I really, really enjoyed the decor

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, wonderful food.

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Excellent service, wonderful food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant

Dined on March 11, 2016

Another great dining experience. Awesome food, super wine list and outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is fantastic, service is elegan ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food is fantastic, service is elegant, and drinks are perfect. This has become our go to date spot.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experience!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

First time at Viande Rouge and everything from the atmosphere to the service and food were excellent. The menu has a good variety of options that are all fairly priced for a high end restaurant. The spinach salad and caeser salad prepared table side were very good. We also enjoyed steak au'poivre and steak diane which was prepared table side. Creamed spinach and pomme frites as sides were sizable portions and excellent. We finished with an excellent chocolate souffle and coconut pie. Great meal and we look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Viande Rouge continues to be excellent

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a wonderful Saturday night dinner. My husband enjoyed the Duck Confit and I had the seafood special which was super good.We will be back soon. Viande Rouge continues to have excellent food and service as well as a sophisticated clientele for the most part.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were outstanding. The ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Service and food were outstanding. The management was very accomadating. Will certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great dinner in Johns Creek

Dined on February 29, 2016

We had walked past this place multiple times on our way to Kathleen's Catch. Finally decided to try it out. A great dinner, very good service, and a fantastic souffle for dessert. The accompaniments are enough to share so don't over order. I highly recommend Viande Rouge.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Evening - Great Food and Service

Dined on February 27, 2016

Went Viande Rouge for the first time to celebrate a late Valentine's Day and husband's birthday - an excellent meal - service was top notch - food was spectacular - mussels appetizer was outstanding - we even took sauce home for next day with bread - I had filet mignon - cooked to perfection while husband had lamb chop lollipops that fell off the bone - overall a great experience for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Meal was rushed. In and out in under 90 ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Meal was rushed. In and out in under 90 minutes. Pace of service should have been better. I ordered a bone in filet and was served a bone in ribeye. For $55 a good restaurant should know the difference.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

I took my wife to Viande Rouge for her birthday. This place has great food, attentive service, and a very nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Trapped in the 70's

Dined on February 18, 2016

The server was misleading, and assumed we would not see the error on the bill. We asked for a ribeye and the server asked bone or no bone, bone in ment dry aged and that was a significant price difference . I enquired and orderd the foie gras $18.00 not assuming portion size although the server said three ounce portion, it was not. A little less then one ounce was presented. It was horribly over cooked. Pre sliced portions of iqf foie is total bush league.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looking forward to a return visit!

Dined on February 16, 2016

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Viande Rouge. We are very picky about everything and we walked out that evening saying to each other that they got an A plus grade from us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale

Dined on February 16, 2016

Took my wife here for her bday this was the best meal that we both have had a ever from a restaurant. Excellent waitstaff, host's & the bartender makes stiff drinks. Do yourself a favor and make reservations 🤗

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!

Dined on February 16, 2016

The weather was awful, but my introduction to this steakhouse with a French accent was perfect in every way. The food was excellent, the service impeccable, the ambiance just right. I don't drink wine, but my husband thoroughly enjoyed the Cabernet that accompanied his ribeye. While everything we ordered -- oyster appetizer, steaks, veggie sides -- we're wonderful, I have to single out the creme brûlée. It was the best I ever tasted. Viandes Rouge is no less expensive than any of Atlanta's other fine dining steakhouses, but for an outstanding dining experience, it's tops on my list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Steaks

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went for Valentines day. Had the special which was a Kobe strip steak. Outstanding. My date had the Steak Dianne which was prepared at the table and also very good. Good for special occasions, a little pricey for frequent visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the finest dining experi ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was one of the finest dining experiences I've ever enjoyed. The food, drinks, service, presentation, portions, ambiance, and execution were flawless. The aged steaks were as good or better than you would get in some of the finest steakhouses in the country, and were expertly prepared. If you like French onion soup, it's as good as any you would enjoy in Montreal. I took my wife out for Valentine's Day and we had a wonderful time. We can't wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went here for Valentine ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I went here for Valentines Day dinner and it was THE BEST meal I have ever had! It was worth every penny. I would highly recommend the muscles as an appetizer and a caeser salad..those were my favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was struggling, but has come around.

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I have gone to Viande Rouge several times, we stopped going because the service had fallen off. We decided to give it another shot for Valentine's Day and they have definitely turned things around. The food was great and the service was even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.