Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About VIA VAI

VIA VAI is a Chef-Owner run restaurant, serving contemporary and authentic Italian food that one would find in the best restaurants and trattorie in today's Italy.



The restaurant is rustic cozy and charming, with a slate and marble top bar serving only select Italian wines, and local and imported tap and bottled beer, that pair perfectly with the artisanal food prepared every day on the premises, and the brick oven roman-style (thin crust) pizza cooked in the imported Italian oven.



Chef-owner Antonio Morichini is Roman born and bred. He did his culinary education and training in Italy, working in some of the best Michelin-starred restaurants in Rome. His food is loyal to tradition, but forward looking.

31-09 23rd Ave
Astoria, NY 11105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday 4:00PM-10:00PM
Friday-Saturday 12:30PM-11:00PM
Sundays 12:30PM to 10:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(347) 612-4334

Website:
http://www.viavai-ny.com/

Catering:
Cater your next special event with specialty food from VIA VAI. Call us for catering menus and further information

Parking Details:
Street parking and municipal parking lot in very close proximity, are available.

Public Transit:
VIA VAI is down the block from the last stop of the N train, Ditmars Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Antonio Morichini

Additional:
Beer, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

Join us at VIA VAI for Christmas Eve. Regular menu items, plus special Christmas specials with our usual contemporary Italian flair, will be offered. Buon Natale!

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Join us at VIA VAI to ring in the new year with flair. Regular menu items plus traditional and contemporary Italian seasonal specialties, will welcome 2018 in style!

VIA VAI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
See All
Creative Cuisine (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Romantic (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort by
S
29 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great food, especially the homemade pasta. Sauce was very good. This would have been perfect if the waitress didn’t mess up my order and forget my entree. Thankfully we had extra apps. We will be back thanks to the great food and reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Went with 3 other couples to Via Vai and had a fabulous meal. The octopus carpaccio special appetizer was right on the mark. The Polpette meatballs, served in a smooth tomato sauce, took what is usually a mundane standard and made it something special. I had the Gamberi black ink tagliolini entree, clearly house made and perfectly al dente. My wife enjoyed the Rotolo di Gnocco and our friends were equally happy with their food choices. Together we spilt a few bottles of excellent Sicilian Nero D'Avola and followed it all up with an assortment of dessert options from the chef. The bombolini and tiramisu were particularly good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Excellent!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Very good italian food! Enjoyed the meal and the service was great! Very friendly staff!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

True gem. Italian can be really boring, but this authentic Roman restaurant is firing on all cylinders: quality ingredients, creative but approachable recipes, & friendly knowledgeable service. I will be coming again and recommending it to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food is always excellent as is the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Astoria. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The pizza is delicious and crispy. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It's always a great time at Via Vai. Our server was thoughtful and attentive and my fettuccine bolognese was delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful, authentic Italian cuisine at a reasonable price. Very pleasant ambiance. Nice wine list. We plan to come here often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food is always great! The branzino special baked in bread was delicious, and the tiramisu is one of the best. I keep hoping that they'll bring back the bomboloni!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2015

Small, inviting neighborhood restaurant. Excellent Italian food - traditional dishes plus a few with a modern twist.

I've sat outside both times I've gone, so can't really speak to the atmosphere inside.

A shared salad of kale, apple slices, avocado was not Italian, but the ingredients were fresh and the textures and tastes went together perfectly. I might have added shavings of Parmigiano Reggiano to it for an Italian twist.

The fresh bread and excellent olive oil is a meal in itself!

The Pizza Margherita was to die for. Perfect, crispy, then crust. The freshest toppings.

Risotto with beets, goat cheese, and balsamic reduction was excellent. The risotto was perfectly al dente and the flavors were perfect together.

Both nights, in the beginning of our evening the service was welcoming and attentive. As the evening wore on, we had to constantly look for our waiter and catch his eye. And yet, the restaurant was not at all busy. On one occasion, a friend of the waiter stopped by and they chatted and chatted and chatted, leaving us completely unattended. Not good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2015

The food here is always outstanding. The service is always good. What an adorable place. We are lucky to have this restaurant in our neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2015

A nice italian restaurant in Astoria when you don't want to leave the neighborhood

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2015

Delicious pizza made with high quality ingredients in a nice restaurant setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2015

This was my second visit to this restaurant, and again, i enjoy ed it quite a bit. This is the place to go when you don't feel like cooking and simply want a night out, eating good, regular italian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2015

This is our second time here, and loved it just as much as the first. Outstanding cuisine In an adorable restaurant. The service is superb. We were celebrating my mom's birthday and they were super nice. Everybody loved the appetizers, entrees and desert. A real gem in our neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2015

Great ambiance in a neighborhood you wouldn't expect. Great food and friendly staff. Limited choices but what I tried over three visits were all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2015

Everything here is always fantastic. My fiancee and I dine here frequently and the food is hands down the best Italian to be found anywhere in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2015

We went to Vanentine's Day and had a great meal. Steak was perfectly cooked (needed a little salt - but it was a great cut of meat) Even came with a little entertaining when listening to the table next to us explain what the difference between sparkling water and seltzer was.... Definetly recomend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2015

What a neighborhood gem. We are so lucky to live close by. We will tell everybody about this restaurant. The food was beyond anything we had a expected. Also excellent service in a beautiful place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2015

Excellent meal and a wonderful ambiance. It's a great spot for a romantic dinner, or even with a group of friends. Service can be a bit spotty but otherwise servers are very friendly and make you feel at home. BRAVO!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2014

Food is outstanding. Staff is super Freindly and went out their way for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2014

Friendly service, overall warm (I.e.: Italian!) vibe, excellent service, delicious authentic food, very welcoming....what more could you want?! Via Vai is a fabulous addition to the neighborhood. I adore Italy, and experiencing Via Vai makes me miss it a little less. Buona Fortuna, Antonio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2014

We were coming back to NYC and decided to try this place as it was on our way from Laguardia. Wow. The ambiance is exceptional and the food was out of this world. I had the aglio e olio which, despite its simplicity, can be great. Via Vai's aglio e olio was truly special. My daughter had the fetuccine bolognese which, again, can be great. Via Vai's bolognese was outstanding. I can't say enough positive about this place. The service was very good and our server very attentive. A real 10 out 10.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2014

Amateurish service due to well-meaning yet clueless waitress. Our mistake to go with a party of six, more appropriate for two to four, max. It's casual, I get it, but there's no excuse for confusing orders, bringing food out ineptly timed. Waitress didn't ask the right questions, obviously poorly trained or not trained at all. Best dishes were pasta and apps, specials seemed the way to go. Sit near the front, the rear is cramped and dark and the kitchen staff are not discrete. Menu features primi and secondi but apparently they're not accustomed to diners ordering both and expecting that, yes, you want your primi before your secondi! Would go again, nonetheless, the kitchen is promising.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2014

Very nice spot, the food was excelent. The meatball app was to die for, my gf got the spaghetti with marinara and she absolutely loved it. I got the pasta with the lamb ragu which was good as well. The restaurant is very nice and had the coolest ceiling fan I've ever seen. I would def go back. For the price, the place is outstanding. The wine list could use some work though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2014

Had a very hard time understanding the waiter. Food was much better than the frist time we ate there. Don't know how they will survive without a better menu and and massive upgrade their horrible wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2014

I've been to Astoria's new Via Vai a few times since its opening, and every time has been great. The appetizers are the highlight of the menu: the meatballs are excellent, and the caprese is incredibly fresh. For the main course, the home-made tagliolini w/ tomato sauce has been a favorite. The pizza is great; VV's personal thin crust pies stack up favorably compared to other local favorites (LIncontro, Milkflower, Tufino). Considering the high quality of the food, VV is very well priced. The waitstaff is genuinely friendly and can offer insightful menu recommendations (always appreciated at a new place). Although the restaurant is still finding itself in some ways, Via Vai has already established itself as the best Italian in Astoria.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2014

Manager & Waitress were very attentive and helpful! Service was slightly rushed for a Sunday night...
could slow it down just a little bit! Food was outstanding...Calamari, Meatballs, and Pasta dishes were fantastic...
Like being in Rome...prices reasonable for the quality...good value. Primivita wine and Prosecco by the glass-perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.