Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

MP Taverna - AstoriaMP Taverna - Astoria
(395)
Greek | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
MojaveMojave
(105)
Mexican / Southwestern | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Dionysos RestaurantDionysos Restaurant
(2)
Mediterranean | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
The PomeroyThe Pomeroy
(32)
American | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Ornella Trattoria ItalianaOrnella Trattoria Italiana
(181)
Italian | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
The Thirsty KoalaThe Thirsty Koala
(7)
Australian | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Trattoria L'incontroTrattoria L'incontro
(949)
Italian | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
TruTru
(45)
Mediterranean | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Telly's TavernaTelly's Taverna
(83)
Greek | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Mussels 'N SausagesMussels 'N Sausages
(13)
International | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Bubbas BistroBubbas Bistro
(1)
Creole / Cajun / Southern | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Victory Garden CafeVictory Garden Cafe
(18)
Greek | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Flo Lounge RestaurantFlo Lounge Restaurant
(73)
Global, International | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Palermo RestaurantPalermo Restaurant
(3)
Sicilian | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now
Christos Steak HouseChristos Steak House
(458)
Greek | Astoria, Queens
Reserve Now

About VIA VAI

3109 23rd Ave
Astoria, NY 11105
View Larger Map


VIA VAI is an Italian restaurant, based on a concept of quality and excellent food, in a space where people come together to enjoy the feel of real Italy in Astoria. VIA VAI’s goal is to offer our customers a fresh, contemporary take on traditional Italian food, in a friendly, comfortable environment.

Chef and Owner Antonio Morichini's dishes and the ambiance at VIA VAI provide an authentic and honest dining experience. The food reflects Chef’s Antonio’s culinary experiences in the Peidmont region of northern Italy, the town of Chiavari in the Liguria region of north Italy, and in Michelin-starred restaurants in his hometown of Rome.

Whether it’s the food of yesterday Italian traditional seeped in history and culture, or the food of today and the future – firmly rooted in tradition but with an eye towards innovation – our food is genuine, from the heart and for every palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(347) 612-4334

Website:
http://www.viavai-ny.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and municipal parking lot in very close proximity, are available.

Public Transit:
VIA VAI is down the block from the last stop of the N train, Ditmars Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Antonio Morichini

Additional:
Bar Dining, Gluten-free Menu, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
19 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Neighborhood gem!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

Small, inviting neighborhood restaurant. Excellent Italian food - traditional dishes plus a few with a modern twist.

I've sat outside both times I've gone, so can't really speak to the atmosphere inside.

A shared salad of kale, apple slices, avocado was not Italian, but the ingredients were fresh and the textures and tastes went together perfectly. I might have added shavings of Parmigiano Reggiano to it for an Italian twist.

The fresh bread and excellent olive oil is a meal in itself!

The Pizza Margherita was to die for. Perfect, crispy, then crust. The freshest toppings.

Risotto with beets, goat cheese, and balsamic reduction was excellent. The risotto was perfectly al dente and the flavors were perfect together.

Both nights, in the beginning of our evening the service was welcoming and attentive. As the evening wore on, we had to constantly look for our waiter and catch his eye. And yet, the restaurant was not at all busy. On one occasion, a friend of the waiter stopped by and they chatted and chatted and chatted, leaving us completely unattended. Not good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food here is always outstanding. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

The food here is always outstanding. The service is always good. What an adorable place. We are lucky to have this restaurant in our neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice italian restaurant in Astoria whe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

A nice italian restaurant in Astoria when you don't want to leave the neighborhood

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

A great Rome-style pizzeria and pasta house

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

Delicious pizza made with high quality ingredients in a nice restaurant setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

good neighborhood italian

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

This was my second visit to this restaurant, and again, i enjoy ed it quite a bit. This is the place to go when you don't feel like cooking and simply want a night out, eating good, regular italian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This is our second time here, and loved ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 28, 2015

This is our second time here, and loved it just as much as the first. Outstanding cuisine In an adorable restaurant. The service is superb. We were celebrating my mom's birthday and they were super nice. Everybody loved the appetizers, entrees and desert. A real gem in our neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance in a neighborhood you wou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

Great ambiance in a neighborhood you wouldn't expect. Great food and friendly staff. Limited choices but what I tried over three visits were all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

Everything here is always fantastic. My fiancee and I dine here frequently and the food is hands down the best Italian to be found anywhere in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cool little date spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We went to Vanentine's Day and had a great meal. Steak was perfectly cooked (needed a little salt - but it was a great cut of meat) Even came with a little entertaining when listening to the table next to us explain what the difference between sparkling water and seltzer was.... Definetly recomend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a neighborhood gem. We are so lucky ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

What a neighborhood gem. We are so lucky to live close by. We will tell everybody about this restaurant. The food was beyond anything we had a expected. Also excellent service in a beautiful place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious and cozy

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

Excellent meal and a wonderful ambiance. It's a great spot for a romantic dinner, or even with a group of friends. Service can be a bit spotty but otherwise servers are very friendly and make you feel at home. BRAVO!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 28, 2014

Food is outstanding. Staff is super Freindly and went out their way for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2014

Friendly service, overall warm (I.e.: Italian!) vibe, excellent service, delicious authentic food, very welcoming....what more could you want?! Via Vai is a fabulous addition to the neighborhood. I adore Italy, and experiencing Via Vai makes me miss it a little less. Buona Fortuna, Antonio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

We were coming back to NYC and decided to try this place as it was on our way from Laguardia. Wow. The ambiance is exceptional and the food was out of this world. I had the aglio e olio which, despite its simplicity, can be great. Via Vai's aglio e olio was truly special. My daughter had the fetuccine bolognese which, again, can be great. Via Vai's bolognese was outstanding. I can't say enough positive about this place. The service was very good and our server very attentive. A real 10 out 10.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Room to improve

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2014

Amateurish service due to well-meaning yet clueless waitress. Our mistake to go with a party of six, more appropriate for two to four, max. It's casual, I get it, but there's no excuse for confusing orders, bringing food out ineptly timed. Waitress didn't ask the right questions, obviously poorly trained or not trained at all. Best dishes were pasta and apps, specials seemed the way to go. Sit near the front, the rear is cramped and dark and the kitchen staff are not discrete. Menu features primi and secondi but apparently they're not accustomed to diners ordering both and expecting that, yes, you want your primi before your secondi! Would go again, nonetheless, the kitchen is promising.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Very Nice with Good Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

Very nice spot, the food was excelent. The meatball app was to die for, my gf got the spaghetti with marinara and she absolutely loved it. I got the pasta with the lamb ragu which was good as well. The restaurant is very nice and had the coolest ceiling fan I've ever seen. I would def go back. For the price, the place is outstanding. The wine list could use some work though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Had a very hard time understanding the w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2014

Had a very hard time understanding the waiter. Food was much better than the frist time we ate there. Don't know how they will survive without a better menu and and massive upgrade their horrible wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Via Vai - Best Italian in Astoria

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2014

I've been to Astoria's new Via Vai a few times since its opening, and every time has been great. The appetizers are the highlight of the menu: the meatballs are excellent, and the caprese is incredibly fresh. For the main course, the home-made tagliolini w/ tomato sauce has been a favorite. The pizza is great; VV's personal thin crust pies stack up favorably compared to other local favorites (LIncontro, Milkflower, Tufino). Considering the high quality of the food, VV is very well priced. The waitstaff is genuinely friendly and can offer insightful menu recommendations (always appreciated at a new place). Although the restaurant is still finding itself in some ways, Via Vai has already established itself as the best Italian in Astoria.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

GD

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

Manager & Waitress were very attentive and helpful! Service was slightly rushed for a Sunday night...

could slow it down just a little bit! Food was outstanding...Calamari, Meatballs, and Pasta dishes were fantastic...

Like being in Rome...prices reasonable for the quality...good value. Primivita wine and Prosecco by the glass-perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.