About Vertical Wine Bistro

Wine Bistro serving California bistro- style menu. Over 420 wine selections, 50 by the glass and wine flights from around the world. Full bar and imported beers as well as draft.

70 N. Raymond Ave
Pasadena, CA 91103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Union St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 795-3999

Website:
http://www.verticalwinebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet offered on both sides of Raymond - southbound or northbound

Public Transit:
Metro Gold Line 1 block away.

Executive Chef:
Joel Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Vertical Wine Bistro takes the quintessential notion of wine bar to new heights. Located in Old Pasadena, Vertical presents a welcome respite with its inviting atmosphere, dazzling wine list and delectable American bistro menu.

Private Party Contact:
Rick Liss: (626) 795-3999

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Live Music most Thursdays and Sundays

Vertical Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
See All
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The bar area is always busy and fun! But a quiet dinner can easily be had in the dining room if you go early--like before 8. Wonderful place!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Highly recommend! The food and dessert were delicious. The staff was very attentive and friendly. We were there to celebrate our birthdays and will definitely go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The owner and service staff were extremely friendly and very service oriented.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We always enjoy the ambiance and food at Vertical Wine Bistro!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We went to Vertical for a week night dinner, the food was good and service was great. We had the entire restaurant by ourselves and it was dead quiet. The manager came to greet us and and he was very nice and friendly. I wish more people will go and the ambience will be better. Maybe some music in the background will help.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I like how easy it is to make a reservation at Vertical, especially for a larger table. Food was good, service was friendly, drinks were tasty. I find their interior to lack the charm you see in the lofted entryway with the plants and bistro lights. Don't get me wrong– the inside is nice; it just feel much more corporate, like a hotel bar/restaurant. Another knock: The music is too loud. They had a DJ spinning dance tracks at our late-night Saturday reservation, which would be fine except... it's not a club. It's not even a lounge, really. It looks like one. But it's not. It just doesn't attract that kind of crowd. Vertical also has this really weird magic show on Tuesday nights, which is definitely a turn off. Magic is just... so... corny! Vertical Wine Bistro has a lot of potential in general, I just think it needs to figure out what it wants to be.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We came for dinner because all the comments talked about how good the food was. Both my husband and I agree. Well flavored food, good portions.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Although noted as a wine bistro, we had a birthday dinner. The food was excellent and well prepared. It was better than some 5 star restaurants. However it was pricey for a wine bistro. The service was cordial. The bar area is good for a social setting.

Try the restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always a great place to visit have food and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

There was a magician! Haha

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The most positive thing about our dinner was the quality of the food. I had a very tender perfectly cooked pork chop, with delicious mashed potato and spinach. We orderd a side of grilled asparagus that not only was tasty, but melted in our mouths. My son had the Seafood Pasta, and raved about all the wonderful flavors. My wife had the Duck Duet, that included a savory piece of fois gras. We all sampled that perfectly prepared morsel. Desert included a slice of magnificent key lime pie, and a perfect portion of NY cheesecake. We sat in the rear section of the restaurant near a window. That was fortunate, because the noise level in the bar and front seating area was close to 90 db. A wailing singer with a too big amplifier didn't add to the ambience at all.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Beautiful place with a really nice atmosphere and vibe. Service went downhill once our food was brought to the table. The bar scene was starting to happen and I think the staff just loses their concentration with the diners. Food was average, but the prices were fair. Many tables were empty and I got a reservation within a days notice, so that kind of tells you a lot right there. It's too bad because it's a really nice place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Saw VWB on pinterest and we were immediately attracted by the ambiance. Dinner was delicious, but was very disappointed the chef ran out of the artichoke starter.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice restaurant. The service was a little slow, but it had a very lingering vibe not inattentive. The food was delicious. It was not crowded, even on mother's day

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The decor is very Pleasant . The menu is creative with a good variety of choices for your main meal & lots of appetizers. A special menu with a Very Good Wine List and many Speciality drinks are also available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent food and great service. We really enjoyed ourselves. Great wine list. Food cooked perfectly. Will def return.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always love the food here...surprised how it's never busy .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

nice ambiance. good food, love the seafood. Service was a bit off but they gave us complimentary deserts to make up for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Vertical Wine Bistro is a little gem tucked away in old town Pasadena. The food and service were fantastic and we are looking forward to going back soon. For the appetizer we had the sautéd mushrooms, plenty for two people to share. For dinner we had the lettuce wedge and the rack of lamb - both excellent. It is on the second floor of a wonderful Pasadena Historical Building that does require using the stairs or the elevator - but it is worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our almost 3 hour dinner should have been more like 2 hours. We were stuck waiting 45 minutes when their credit card system went down with very little apology. It kind of summed up the whole evening though. Not enough wait staff, so our table along with the tables around us were constantly wondering where the waiters were.

Food and wine were decent, but not worth putting up with the service level here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Super cozy and quiet spot for a good fancy dinner. The bar area was more hopping than the main dinning area but it's all good. Had the French connection and big blends flights of wine. You HAVE TO try the calamari & mushroom appetizers. So good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our second time, and I think it was even better! We had charcuterie and cheese, oysters, risotto, chicken, filet mignon, the creme brûlée and the chocolate soufflé! Everything was perfect and the staff was wonderful. Great cocktails and beer too! We will definitely be back for a third time. Such a pretty place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 22, 2017

VWB has a great ambiance with a true local feel, the food was exceptional, started with an Artichoke then enjoyed the grilled Halibut, was cooked to perfection. Great Wine List and ownership is focused on the customer experience. Great find, slightly off the Colorado S. Pasadena beaten path but well worth the extra block.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great place! I expected a better wine menu given the name but they do wine flights which is totally great! I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loved the ambiance. Beautiful table by the fireplace. Romantic setting. Only complaint, it's an elegant restaurant with a loud bar next to it basically. Loud overpowering music ruined the setting while I was trying to enjoy a date in elegance and quiet dining. Overall, has the elegant environment in dining, but modern, upbeat bar next to it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Was there a couple of years ago and then a pre Pacino theater experience. Disappointing. Mushrooms sort of dry, trout, largenportion but too salty, my Belvedere martini tasted like a dirty one. Beer salad was good. Altogether rather unremarkable.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

So I met a couple of girlfriends there. When I first walked in it's a very pretty Bar. Only thing I did not like was sports playing on the huge TV at night. I just think you can transform it into music video or maybe just an ocean scene I really didn't want to see sports I wanted a break from the TV and it was right in my face at the bar. There was a woman bartender who seemed very busy and maybe she was training somebody but nobody asked me for drinks for about 30 minutes till a younger man came and approached me and he really didn't have waiter experience but did get me a drink. During my time sitting and waiting in the bar area for my friends a waiter came up to me and was very attentive that made me feel good wish I would've got his name. The woman at the front desk could've been dressed nicer she was pleasant but clearly not a floor manager of a restaurant that should be right in tune to the people. However really no complaints she was nice. We sat in the bar area a little bit longer than expected before we got our table they held a very nice table for us. We also checked in on yelp and got our free cocktail . I ordered the salmon with a lobster sauce it was delicious I never order fish but this was very good. My girlfriends both ordered the filet mignon and said it was delicious. They also ordered the arugula salad which was delicious and fresh. We had a bottle of wine which was wonderful for dessert we ordered the soufflé, and cappuccinos Yum Yum Yum very happy with it. I definitely would go back it was expensive but very good. The only thing I didn't like was the valet parking said three dollars and when I got out we each had to pay 10 bucks apiece so if you can find parking on the streets do so if not though I Valet is right up front the guy was fast was fairly easy . Seems as though they have a great happy hour I think I would go back and try that and definitely try a little bit more on the menu the calamari was yummy perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was not at 💯 but would def give it another try. Waiter came back after the table next to us got their food (the ordered after us) and said they were not sure they had the ingredients to make my meal but then they "found it" and that was why our food took so long...

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, awesome food and fabulous service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Bait and switch?

When the original reservation was made, no mention or indication was made by the restaurant that there was a prefix menu. Of the items provided on the prefix menu, several were not to our taste. Have we known, we would have chosen a different dinning location.

The service was spotty at best. Had to ask for bread to accompany the bisque. The dessert was awful, chocolate soup vice mousse. All in all a large disappointment given the price.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time there and we were not disappointed. We had the Valentine's Day special. The lobster bisque is very good with a little spice. The grilled scallops were excellent. The chicken and lamb were both tender and well-seasoned. The Chocolate dessert was very good! Everything was delicious. The owner and the waiters were both very polite and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Live Music, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a great experience. Food was tasty, drinks were great, and service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good food , good service . Nice atmosphere .will definitely come back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Tried during Dine in L.a. nice ambiance. Food was tasty and service was great. Loved Johnathan, our server. Hr never said no. Just said "let me see what I can do" for all of our requests!!
I would go back for the service alone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Family gathering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was tasty. Service was OK. Not sure if the restaurant policy was to stick with the dineLA menu and not up-sell. For example, wine above the house selection wasn't offered or coffee wasn't offered when the dessert was served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We started with the calamari which was outstanding and some of the best I've had! We got a seasonal artichoke which was slightly bland but I ate the whole thing anyway. I had the salmon which was amazing and one of the best salmon dishes I've had and my husband had the steak which he said was equally delicious. Wine list was good! I ordered a piece of sweet potato pie off the dine LA menu and it was tiny but I was charged for the price of a full piece of pie off the main menu which was the only drawback but I think that would never happen if I had stuck to the main menu. I would highly recommend!!!! The atmosphere was lovely too....

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Party of six, friends trying out Dine LA. We all ordered cocktails to start..and they were all delicious..food and service was amazing. We originally were two separate groups a four and a two...we asked if we could sit together and they were fantastic. We had the salmon, steak, and chicken...all were divine. Wines and coffee perfect pairings. Salads and bread also good. The dessert, on the other hand was not very good. I didn't even finish my cheesecake. It tasted bland and store bought. Other than that..my group plans on returning to try other specialties.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My fiancé and I were in Pasadena for the Rose Bowl and had driven up to the Mount Wilson Observatory on New Year's Day. Hadn't thought too much about dining throughout the day. On returning, we decided to try to find a place with a last minute reservation available. After reading a couple of reviews for Vertical Wine Bistro, we thought we would give it a go. And did we make the right choice! Just so happens the restaurant was not crowded at all, even though it was one of the few places open that evening. The ambiance was great, from the fireplace to the bar. My fiancé's lemon drop martini was absolutely spot on (and she is quite particular about her drinks). Our food was excellent. We both had 2 separate fish dishes and both were superb. And nothing tops off a great meal like a fabulous dessert and a nice port. The only downside was that our dining experience at Vertical Wine Bistro occurred on our last night in town. Otherwise, we would have been back (and certainly will when we get back to Pasadena).

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.