About Vertical Wine Bistro

Wine Bistro serving California bistro- style menu. Over 420 wine selections, 50 by the glass and wine flights from around the world. Full bar and imported beers as well as draft.

70 N. Raymond Ave
Pasadena, CA 91103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Union St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 795-3999

Website:
http://www.verticalwinebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet offered on both sides of Raymond - southbound or northbound

Public Transit:
Metro Gold Line 1 block away.

Private Party Facilities:
Vertical Wine Bistro takes the quintessential notion of wine bar to new heights. Located in Old Pasadena, Vertical presents a welcome respite with its inviting atmosphere, dazzling wine list and delectable American bistro menu.

Private Party Contact:
Rick Liss: (626) 795-3999

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Live Music most Thursdays and Sundays

Vertical Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Romantic (9)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fireplace (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere, awesome food and fabul ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, awesome food and fabulous service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bait and switch? When the original res ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Bait and switch?

When the original reservation was made, no mention or indication was made by the restaurant that there was a prefix menu. Of the items provided on the prefix menu, several were not to our taste. Have we known, we would have chosen a different dinning location.

The service was spotty at best. Had to ask for bread to accompany the bisque. The dessert was awful, chocolate soup vice mousse. All in all a large disappointment given the price.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

First time there and we were not disappo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time there and we were not disappointed. We had the Valentine's Day special. The lobster bisque is very good with a little spice. The grilled scallops were excellent. The chicken and lamb were both tender and well-seasoned. The Chocolate dessert was very good! Everything was delicious. The owner and the waiters were both very polite and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Live Music, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great experience. Food was tasty, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a great experience. Food was tasty, drinks were great, and service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food , good service . Nice atmosphe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good food , good service . Nice atmosphere .will definitely come back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Tried during Dine in L.a. nice ambiance ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Tried during Dine in L.a. nice ambiance. Food was tasty and service was great. Loved Johnathan, our server. Hr never said no. Just said "let me see what I can do" for all of our requests!!

I would go back for the service alone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Family gathering

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Family gathering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was tasty. Service was OK. Not sure ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was tasty. Service was OK. Not sure if the restaurant policy was to stick with the dineLA menu and not up-sell. For example, wine above the house selection wasn't offered or coffee wasn't offered when the dessert was served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We started with the calamari which was o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We started with the calamari which was outstanding and some of the best I've had! We got a seasonal artichoke which was slightly bland but I ate the whole thing anyway. I had the salmon which was amazing and one of the best salmon dishes I've had and my husband had the steak which he said was equally delicious. Wine list was good! I ordered a piece of sweet potato pie off the dine LA menu and it was tiny but I was charged for the price of a full piece of pie off the main menu which was the only drawback but I think that would never happen if I had stuck to the main menu. I would highly recommend!!!! The atmosphere was lovely too....

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Party of six, friends trying out Dine LA ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Party of six, friends trying out Dine LA. We all ordered cocktails to start..and they were all delicious..food and service was amazing. We originally were two separate groups a four and a two...we asked if we could sit together and they were fantastic. We had the salmon, steak, and chicken...all were divine. Wines and coffee perfect pairings. Salads and bread also good. The dessert, on the other hand was not very good. I didn't even finish my cheesecake. It tasted bland and store bought. Other than that..my group plans on returning to try other specialties.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancé and I were in Pasadena for the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My fiancé and I were in Pasadena for the Rose Bowl and had driven up to the Mount Wilson Observatory on New Year's Day. Hadn't thought too much about dining throughout the day. On returning, we decided to try to find a place with a last minute reservation available. After reading a couple of reviews for Vertical Wine Bistro, we thought we would give it a go. And did we make the right choice! Just so happens the restaurant was not crowded at all, even though it was one of the few places open that evening. The ambiance was great, from the fireplace to the bar. My fiancé's lemon drop martini was absolutely spot on (and she is quite particular about her drinks). Our food was excellent. We both had 2 separate fish dishes and both were superb. And nothing tops off a great meal like a fabulous dessert and a nice port. The only downside was that our dining experience at Vertical Wine Bistro occurred on our last night in town. Otherwise, we would have been back (and certainly will when we get back to Pasadena).

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A big fan of Vertical Wine Bistro. Prix ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A big fan of Vertical Wine Bistro. Prix fixe dinner on New Year's Eve was only fair and didn't deliver the value. Their standard fare and price points are much better. Still a big fan, but the NYE offering missed the mark.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We come every Christmas time, because de ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We come every Christmas time, because dear friends come here from NY. Dear FOODIE friends. This is our favorite place to go. The last year was not as good as we usually find it, so we were a little concerned when we came this year. WELL! This year was the BEST it has ever been! The food was over the top fantastic, the wait staff attentive, but not clingy. Gave us great recommendations. Sat us at our favorite table. Manager came and made sure we had everything we needed. Great menu items, we just ordered and ate and ordered more and drank and laughed and relaxed. I love it so much and wish my friends could come more that once a year. The best thing is I can go anytime I want!

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, , Happy Hour, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great dinner, food and service was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had a great dinner, food and service was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great experience and nice ambia ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always a great experience and nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was a four star meal, with five sta ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was a four star meal, with five star prices and 1 star service; like that which you would expect at The Yard House. The main room is VERY loud. The service is terrible and slow. They don't even know which wine glasses to use; they served all our red wine in white wine glasses. We noticed other tables with white wine in red wine glasses and vice versa. One table had red wine in two different glasses! One of us ordered the house cabernet and received their pinot noir instead. The waiter insisted it was the house cab after my partner asked twice, until the rest of our party joined us and two of them also ordered the house cab - a different color and taste. Finally, the waiter admitted that the bartender must have poured my partner the wrong wine. We had to ask if there were any specials.

Our appetizers arrived within half an hour but it took another hour after that to get our food. We finally asked about it and were told it was all ready and coming right out - 20 minutes later. When my sister-in-law ordered a second glass of wine, it didn't show up until our waiter brought the dessert menus. The dirty appetizer plates lingered on our table until we asked about our entrees and it wasn't until after we ordered dessert that they removed our dirty entree plates. I ordered an Earl Grey tea to accompany my dessert and it arrived with the check after our dessert plates were cleaned up. The waiter did apologize for that one and indicated he had taken it off the bill, only he didn't and had added his gratuity as well. Ha!

Now, the ONLY saving grace of this restaurant is the food. As late as it was in arriving, it was absolutely delicious! No one could say a critical word about any of our meals. Everything was fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed every bite of the halibut and wanted more. Of course, we could have also just been incredibly hungry...

For the price point, we expected the service to be comparable to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Hidden and hip place. Cool bar and food ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Hidden and hip place. Cool bar and food great. I have been here 3 times and each time does not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although the manager did acknowledge the ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Although the manager did acknowledge the lack of slow service and attentiveness, and adjusted our bill . . . serious service growing pains with new ownership. Give it more time before taking a large party on a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

This was our second visit. Visited last ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our second visit. Visited last year. Will not be back. New owner. Has not trained the staff well. Missteps all through dinner. Food just okay, not good. (And it used to be quite good.) Owner seemed "laissez faire" in attitude. Place will not take care of itself; you need to put in the effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Food!!! We started with the Charc ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great Food!!! We started with the Charcuterie (with truffle honey) and Artisanal Cheese Plates. Between the four of us, we had the Steak Au Poivre (2), Roasted Chicken and Grilled Pork Chop. All meals were delicious. I recommend reservations. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a wine bar, they do not have a very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

For a wine bar, they do not have a very large selection. The food selection, although good, is also very limited. We were there very early in the evening, but I was also disappointed in the slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We went after a football game. 8 of us. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went after a football game. 8 of us. Good choices for the vegetarians in our group. Attentive service. Quiet enough for conversation the the dining room. The bar was more energetic if that's your thing.

Street parking or the Marriott garage 1.5 blocks North on the other side of the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Made a reservation for dinner and went e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Made a reservation for dinner and went early to sit in the bar for happy hour. I enjoyed my $5 glass of house Chardonnay, though my friend with a more sophisticated palate said it was stale, as was her house Cabernet, but she agreed for $5 nothing to complain about. We ordered the shishito peppers, which were very tasty: salty but in a good way. The steamed artichoke was not a winner. It was enormous, but seemed waterlogged and a bit mushy. Still, the ambience on the cocktail seating in the bar area was very pleasant and we enjoyed it. For dinner, two of our party ordered a special which was initially described as flank steak, but the waitstaff returned and said it was a flat iron steak. Looked and tasted like sirloin to me, but it wasn't bad. The truffle fries were outstanding. I would go back just for those crunchy little delights. My kale salad was OK. Maybe that's what I get for ordering kale LOL. One odd note stood out: when we entered, and sitting on the soft seating in the bar area, my husband and I both noticed a faint, off musty/sour smell. When I go back, which I plan to, I'll try to identify it.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Another fun night.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Another fun night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome food and service!

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Awesome food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was okay yet we were promised 1000 point ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Was okay yet we were promised 1000 points yet only received 100. Not expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Mediocre food with menu different than ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Mediocre food with menu different than online, artichoke undercooked, salad greens limp, over dressed, stale bread atop, waiter could not describe pasta prep just repeated menu 'some pasta' with chicken and a heavy pesto sauce. When we were surprised knew not type of pasta or prep he explained it wasn't very popular so didn't know much about it. Very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

This was my second visit here but this w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my second visit here but this was the first time ordering from their menu (1st visit was for a pop up restaurant) so I knew the ambiance and the restaurant was nice. I must say that the wine was the best part of the meal, we ordered calamari, halibut, steak and risotto and they were all very salty. For dessert I ordered the tiramisu and it was dry, lady fingers not soaked in espresso at all. It was quite disappointing cause I was celebrating my birthday. I was told that since they changed chef, the restaurant has been going down hill. Sad cuz it's a beautiful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Disappointment Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall the experience was less than spectacular. The menu was very disappointing. One aspect with the menu was it wasn't clearly described what was included. For example when the Eggs Benedict stated salmon, it should have been worded it was LOX not salmon. Very misleading, the Cesar Salad didn't have any dressing only the cheese.

Overall, the food was below sub par for a special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Mothers day brunch was a disaster

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We waited a very long time for food and drinks. They didnt come out together which means that some of our food got cold. Took forever to get my daughters shirley temple. Btw, they charged as bottomless cocktail. $15 for a few sips of shirley temple. 2 people ordered french toast. One got fruits and my daughter didnt. They forgot the dressing on the salad. Prime rib was supposed to be medium rare, i was served well done!! I used to be a regular but brunch was an extreme disappointment. Too bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

More horizontal than vertical...flat line, in fact

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I now know why I was able to get a last minute reservation for 7:30pm on a Friday night. The bar/restaurant was very nice - what you would expect at this price point. The hostess was very gracious and accommodating. The service was on point...right up until the end, that is...more on that later.

Party of 4. Ordered sauteed mushrooms, an artichoke, ceasar salad, skewered filet mignon, calamari and salmon. Of these, the artichoke was the best dish, though the ounce of aioli it came with was ridiculously insufficient. The mushrooms and salad were bland, the salmon was dry, etc., ...not at all what I expected from such a nice place.

We ordered decaf to finish the disappointing meal and were told they were out of it. "I could have just brought you regular coffee and you never would have known." Record scratch. It wasn't even said in a joking manner.

The boysenberry sorbet was very good, however, and the wine list is extensive but overpriced. I've never spent so much money to be so unimpressed. We won't be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The food is great! Ambience is great. Ma ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food is great! Ambience is great. Makes climbing all that stairs to the restaurant worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I haven't been here in awhile but did not like it

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2016

I did not like the addition of the dance floor......felt weird when I walked in and didn't feel like the place I used to bring clients to for dinner, I won't be back for dinner, maybe cocktails/wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great for seafood lovers; Their menu has ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Great for seafood lovers; Their menu has a variety of different items from salads, to braised beef down to raw seafood. They have theses awesome seafood towers which you can order anywhere from one to three tiers of assorted raw seafood. Overall great assortment; Atmosphere is great. Great place for a date, gathering for a special occasion, place to catch up with friends or even to just hang out at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

First time for dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our first time for dinner but had been to the bar a few times. We were very happy with the menu, food was delicious, great drinks. The only complaint was our server handled too many tables and as the room filled up he was very rushed and service dropped off. Even so, he was very polite and did the best he could. We consider this is a management problem, not his.

The atmosphere is fabulous for drinks or dinner. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Rip off

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

This place was promising from the reviews that I read. I never write reviews for these things, but this had to be done. I decided to come here for the wine pairing and four course dinner for Valentine's Day. The first two courses were great, but the main course was horrible. I don't presume to be the most knowledgeable person about food, but I'm pretty sure two cold steaks with cold potatoes and piping hot veggies isn't ideal. For over $200 for two people I'd expect them to at least get the main course right. Never coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

A good choice for Valentine's Day

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

I have a very short list of options for a special Valentine's Day dinner, because I've been burned more than once. I like the tradition, but many restaurants offer a limited menu, jacked-up prices, a reduction in quality, and robotic or uneven service. My only complaint is that the fixed price was more than I would expect to pay at this restaurant. However, the food was good, and the service was attentive, timely, and cordial.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wine was good, atmosphere was nice. Afte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wine was good, atmosphere was nice. After 1.5 hours and not getting our food we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Valentines Dinner

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Previous dining experiences here were good, but this time, it took over 45 minutes to receive raw oysters, drinks and steaks were also slow. We tried to get a second glass of wine to eat with the steak and it took so long the food was cold by the time we made a second request and finally received it. Food was overly salty and steaks were missing the sauces mentioned on the menu. We would have mentioned it to the waitress had she come back to check on us. We were not the only disappointed table many other guests were complaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

First time there. Excellent food and dri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

First time there. Excellent food and drinks. Definitely going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.