About Vertical Wine Bistro

Wine Bistro serving California bistro- style menu. Over 420 wine selections, 50 by the glass and wine flights from around the world. Full bar and imported beers as well as draft.

70 N. Raymond Ave
Pasadena, CA 91103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Union St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 795-3999

Website:
http://www.verticalwinebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet offered on both sides of Raymond - southbound or northbound

Public Transit:
Metro Gold Line 1 block away.

Executive Chef:
Joel Hernandez

Private Party Facilities:
Vertical Wine Bistro takes the quintessential notion of wine bar to new heights. Located in Old Pasadena, Vertical presents a welcome respite with its inviting atmosphere, dazzling wine list and delectable American bistro menu.

Private Party Contact:
Rick Liss: (626) 795-3999

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Live Music most Thursdays and Sundays

Vertical Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Bar Seating (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fireplace (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (3)
Live Music (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Saw VWB on pinterest and we were immediately attracted by the ambiance. Dinner was delicious, but was very disappointed the chef ran out of the artichoke starter.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very nice restaurant. The service was a little slow, but it had a very lingering vibe not inattentive. The food was delicious. It was not crowded, even on mother's day

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The decor is very Pleasant . The menu is creative with a good variety of choices for your main meal & lots of appetizers. A special menu with a Very Good Wine List and many Speciality drinks are also available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food and great service. We really enjoyed ourselves. Great wine list. Food cooked perfectly. Will def return.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always love the food here...surprised how it's never busy .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

nice ambiance. good food, love the seafood. Service was a bit off but they gave us complimentary deserts to make up for it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Vertical Wine Bistro is a little gem tucked away in old town Pasadena. The food and service were fantastic and we are looking forward to going back soon. For the appetizer we had the sautéd mushrooms, plenty for two people to share. For dinner we had the lettuce wedge and the rack of lamb - both excellent. It is on the second floor of a wonderful Pasadena Historical Building that does require using the stairs or the elevator - but it is worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our almost 3 hour dinner should have been more like 2 hours. We were stuck waiting 45 minutes when their credit card system went down with very little apology. It kind of summed up the whole evening though. Not enough wait staff, so our table along with the tables around us were constantly wondering where the waiters were.

Food and wine were decent, but not worth putting up with the service level here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Super cozy and quiet spot for a good fancy dinner. The bar area was more hopping than the main dinning area but it's all good. Had the French connection and big blends flights of wine. You HAVE TO try the calamari & mushroom appetizers. So good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was our second time, and I think it was even better! We had charcuterie and cheese, oysters, risotto, chicken, filet mignon, the creme brûlée and the chocolate soufflé! Everything was perfect and the staff was wonderful. Great cocktails and beer too! We will definitely be back for a third time. Such a pretty place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 23, 2017

VWB has a great ambiance with a true local feel, the food was exceptional, started with an Artichoke then enjoyed the grilled Halibut, was cooked to perfection. Great Wine List and ownership is focused on the customer experience. Great find, slightly off the Colorado S. Pasadena beaten path but well worth the extra block.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great place! I expected a better wine menu given the name but they do wine flights which is totally great! I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved the ambiance. Beautiful table by the fireplace. Romantic setting. Only complaint, it's an elegant restaurant with a loud bar next to it basically. Loud overpowering music ruined the setting while I was trying to enjoy a date in elegance and quiet dining. Overall, has the elegant environment in dining, but modern, upbeat bar next to it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fun, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food, nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Was there a couple of years ago and then a pre Pacino theater experience. Disappointing. Mushrooms sort of dry, trout, largenportion but too salty, my Belvedere martini tasted like a dirty one. Beer salad was good. Altogether rather unremarkable.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

So I met a couple of girlfriends there. When I first walked in it's a very pretty Bar. Only thing I did not like was sports playing on the huge TV at night. I just think you can transform it into music video or maybe just an ocean scene I really didn't want to see sports I wanted a break from the TV and it was right in my face at the bar. There was a woman bartender who seemed very busy and maybe she was training somebody but nobody asked me for drinks for about 30 minutes till a younger man came and approached me and he really didn't have waiter experience but did get me a drink. During my time sitting and waiting in the bar area for my friends a waiter came up to me and was very attentive that made me feel good wish I would've got his name. The woman at the front desk could've been dressed nicer she was pleasant but clearly not a floor manager of a restaurant that should be right in tune to the people. However really no complaints she was nice. We sat in the bar area a little bit longer than expected before we got our table they held a very nice table for us. We also checked in on yelp and got our free cocktail . I ordered the salmon with a lobster sauce it was delicious I never order fish but this was very good. My girlfriends both ordered the filet mignon and said it was delicious. They also ordered the arugula salad which was delicious and fresh. We had a bottle of wine which was wonderful for dessert we ordered the soufflé, and cappuccinos Yum Yum Yum very happy with it. I definitely would go back it was expensive but very good. The only thing I didn't like was the valet parking said three dollars and when I got out we each had to pay 10 bucks apiece so if you can find parking on the streets do so if not though I Valet is right up front the guy was fast was fairly easy . Seems as though they have a great happy hour I think I would go back and try that and definitely try a little bit more on the menu the calamari was yummy perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was not at 💯 but would def give it another try. Waiter came back after the table next to us got their food (the ordered after us) and said they were not sure they had the ingredients to make my meal but then they "found it" and that was why our food took so long...

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere, awesome food and fabulous service. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Bait and switch?

When the original reservation was made, no mention or indication was made by the restaurant that there was a prefix menu. Of the items provided on the prefix menu, several were not to our taste. Have we known, we would have chosen a different dinning location.

The service was spotty at best. Had to ask for bread to accompany the bisque. The dessert was awful, chocolate soup vice mousse. All in all a large disappointment given the price.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time there and we were not disappointed. We had the Valentine's Day special. The lobster bisque is very good with a little spice. The grilled scallops were excellent. The chicken and lamb were both tender and well-seasoned. The Chocolate dessert was very good! Everything was delicious. The owner and the waiters were both very polite and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fireplace, Live Music, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a great experience. Food was tasty, drinks were great, and service was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good food , good service . Nice atmosphere .will definitely come back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Tried during Dine in L.a. nice ambiance. Food was tasty and service was great. Loved Johnathan, our server. Hr never said no. Just said "let me see what I can do" for all of our requests!!
I would go back for the service alone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Family gathering

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was tasty. Service was OK. Not sure if the restaurant policy was to stick with the dineLA menu and not up-sell. For example, wine above the house selection wasn't offered or coffee wasn't offered when the dessert was served.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We started with the calamari which was outstanding and some of the best I've had! We got a seasonal artichoke which was slightly bland but I ate the whole thing anyway. I had the salmon which was amazing and one of the best salmon dishes I've had and my husband had the steak which he said was equally delicious. Wine list was good! I ordered a piece of sweet potato pie off the dine LA menu and it was tiny but I was charged for the price of a full piece of pie off the main menu which was the only drawback but I think that would never happen if I had stuck to the main menu. I would highly recommend!!!! The atmosphere was lovely too....

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Party of six, friends trying out Dine LA. We all ordered cocktails to start..and they were all delicious..food and service was amazing. We originally were two separate groups a four and a two...we asked if we could sit together and they were fantastic. We had the salmon, steak, and chicken...all were divine. Wines and coffee perfect pairings. Salads and bread also good. The dessert, on the other hand was not very good. I didn't even finish my cheesecake. It tasted bland and store bought. Other than that..my group plans on returning to try other specialties.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

My fiancé and I were in Pasadena for the Rose Bowl and had driven up to the Mount Wilson Observatory on New Year's Day. Hadn't thought too much about dining throughout the day. On returning, we decided to try to find a place with a last minute reservation available. After reading a couple of reviews for Vertical Wine Bistro, we thought we would give it a go. And did we make the right choice! Just so happens the restaurant was not crowded at all, even though it was one of the few places open that evening. The ambiance was great, from the fireplace to the bar. My fiancé's lemon drop martini was absolutely spot on (and she is quite particular about her drinks). Our food was excellent. We both had 2 separate fish dishes and both were superb. And nothing tops off a great meal like a fabulous dessert and a nice port. The only downside was that our dining experience at Vertical Wine Bistro occurred on our last night in town. Otherwise, we would have been back (and certainly will when we get back to Pasadena).

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A big fan of Vertical Wine Bistro. Prix fixe dinner on New Year's Eve was only fair and didn't deliver the value. Their standard fare and price points are much better. Still a big fan, but the NYE offering missed the mark.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We come every Christmas time, because dear friends come here from NY. Dear FOODIE friends. This is our favorite place to go. The last year was not as good as we usually find it, so we were a little concerned when we came this year. WELL! This year was the BEST it has ever been! The food was over the top fantastic, the wait staff attentive, but not clingy. Gave us great recommendations. Sat us at our favorite table. Manager came and made sure we had everything we needed. Great menu items, we just ordered and ate and ordered more and drank and laughed and relaxed. I love it so much and wish my friends could come more that once a year. The best thing is I can go anytime I want!

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had a great dinner, food and service was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always a great experience and nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was a four star meal, with five star prices and 1 star service; like that which you would expect at The Yard House. The main room is VERY loud. The service is terrible and slow. They don't even know which wine glasses to use; they served all our red wine in white wine glasses. We noticed other tables with white wine in red wine glasses and vice versa. One table had red wine in two different glasses! One of us ordered the house cabernet and received their pinot noir instead. The waiter insisted it was the house cab after my partner asked twice, until the rest of our party joined us and two of them also ordered the house cab - a different color and taste. Finally, the waiter admitted that the bartender must have poured my partner the wrong wine. We had to ask if there were any specials.
Our appetizers arrived within half an hour but it took another hour after that to get our food. We finally asked about it and were told it was all ready and coming right out - 20 minutes later. When my sister-in-law ordered a second glass of wine, it didn't show up until our waiter brought the dessert menus. The dirty appetizer plates lingered on our table until we asked about our entrees and it wasn't until after we ordered dessert that they removed our dirty entree plates. I ordered an Earl Grey tea to accompany my dessert and it arrived with the check after our dessert plates were cleaned up. The waiter did apologize for that one and indicated he had taken it off the bill, only he didn't and had added his gratuity as well. Ha!
Now, the ONLY saving grace of this restaurant is the food. As late as it was in arriving, it was absolutely delicious! No one could say a critical word about any of our meals. Everything was fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed every bite of the halibut and wanted more. Of course, we could have also just been incredibly hungry...
For the price point, we expected the service to be comparable to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Hidden and hip place. Cool bar and food great. I have been here 3 times and each time does not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Although the manager did acknowledge the lack of slow service and attentiveness, and adjusted our bill . . . serious service growing pains with new ownership. Give it more time before taking a large party on a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our second visit. Visited last year. Will not be back. New owner. Has not trained the staff well. Missteps all through dinner. Food just okay, not good. (And it used to be quite good.) Owner seemed "laissez faire" in attitude. Place will not take care of itself; you need to put in the effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great Food!!! We started with the Charcuterie (with truffle honey) and Artisanal Cheese Plates. Between the four of us, we had the Steak Au Poivre (2), Roasted Chicken and Grilled Pork Chop. All meals were delicious. I recommend reservations. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

For a wine bar, they do not have a very large selection. The food selection, although good, is also very limited. We were there very early in the evening, but I was also disappointed in the slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Love this spot have amazing happy hour deals and great drinks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went after a football game. 8 of us. Good choices for the vegetarians in our group. Attentive service. Quiet enough for conversation the the dining room. The bar was more energetic if that's your thing.

Street parking or the Marriott garage 1.5 blocks North on the other side of the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.