About Vertical Wine Bistro

70 N. Raymond Ave
Pasadena, CA 91103
View Larger Map

Wine Bistro serving California bistro- style menu. Over 420 wine selections, 50 by the glass and wine flights from around the world. Full bar and imported beers as well as draft.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Union St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 795-3999

Website:
http://www.verticalwinebistro.com/

Catering:
We offer offsite wine dinners for parties of 12-65.

Parking Details:
Valet offered on both sides of Raymond - southbound or northbound

Public Transit:
Metro Gold Line 1 block away.

Executive Chef:
Laurent Quenioux

Private Party Facilities:
Vertical Wine Bistro takes the quintessential notion of wine bar to new heights. Located in Old Pasadena, Vertical presents a welcome respite with its inviting atmosphere, dazzling wine list and delectable American bistro menu.

Private Party Contact:
Manuel Mesta: 6267953999x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Private Party and Banquets call Manuel Mesta 626-795-3999

Restaurant Photos

Caramelized Onion & Goat Cheese Pizza
Blueberry Lemonade Cocktail
Lolita Cocktail
Burrata And Fig Salad
Sauteed Mushrooms
Proscuitto And Arugula Pizza
Wine Flight
Parsnip Soup
Corn Fritter With Salmon
Beer Flight
Asparagus Soup
The Lolita
Vege Burger
Shoestring Fries
Mussels with chorizo
Kir Vertical
Scallops
Moules Frites
Calamari

Vertical Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Romantic (5)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
543 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was okay yet we were promised 1000 point ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Was okay yet we were promised 1000 points yet only received 100. Not expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Mediocre food with menu different than ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Mediocre food with menu different than online, artichoke undercooked, salad greens limp, over dressed, stale bread atop, waiter could not describe pasta prep just repeated menu 'some pasta' with chicken and a heavy pesto sauce. When we were surprised knew not type of pasta or prep he explained it wasn't very popular so didn't know much about it. Very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

This was my second visit here but this w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my second visit here but this was the first time ordering from their menu (1st visit was for a pop up restaurant) so I knew the ambiance and the restaurant was nice. I must say that the wine was the best part of the meal, we ordered calamari, halibut, steak and risotto and they were all very salty. For dessert I ordered the tiramisu and it was dry, lady fingers not soaked in espresso at all. It was quite disappointing cause I was celebrating my birthday. I was told that since they changed chef, the restaurant has been going down hill. Sad cuz it's a beautiful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Disappointment Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall the experience was less than spectacular. The menu was very disappointing. One aspect with the menu was it wasn't clearly described what was included. For example when the Eggs Benedict stated salmon, it should have been worded it was LOX not salmon. Very misleading, the Cesar Salad didn't have any dressing only the cheese.

Overall, the food was below sub par for a special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Mothers day brunch was a disaster

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We waited a very long time for food and drinks. They didnt come out together which means that some of our food got cold. Took forever to get my daughters shirley temple. Btw, they charged as bottomless cocktail. $15 for a few sips of shirley temple. 2 people ordered french toast. One got fruits and my daughter didnt. They forgot the dressing on the salad. Prime rib was supposed to be medium rare, i was served well done!! I used to be a regular but brunch was an extreme disappointment. Too bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

More horizontal than vertical...flat line, in fact

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I now know why I was able to get a last minute reservation for 7:30pm on a Friday night. The bar/restaurant was very nice - what you would expect at this price point. The hostess was very gracious and accommodating. The service was on point...right up until the end, that is...more on that later.

Party of 4. Ordered sauteed mushrooms, an artichoke, ceasar salad, skewered filet mignon, calamari and salmon. Of these, the artichoke was the best dish, though the ounce of aioli it came with was ridiculously insufficient. The mushrooms and salad were bland, the salmon was dry, etc., ...not at all what I expected from such a nice place.

We ordered decaf to finish the disappointing meal and were told they were out of it. "I could have just brought you regular coffee and you never would have known." Record scratch. It wasn't even said in a joking manner.

The boysenberry sorbet was very good, however, and the wine list is extensive but overpriced. I've never spent so much money to be so unimpressed. We won't be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The food is great! Ambience is great. Ma ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food is great! Ambience is great. Makes climbing all that stairs to the restaurant worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I haven't been here in awhile but did not like it

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I did not like the addition of the dance floor......felt weird when I walked in and didn't feel like the place I used to bring clients to for dinner, I won't be back for dinner, maybe cocktails/wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

First time for dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our first time for dinner but had been to the bar a few times. We were very happy with the menu, food was delicious, great drinks. The only complaint was our server handled too many tables and as the room filled up he was very rushed and service dropped off. Even so, he was very polite and did the best he could. We consider this is a management problem, not his.

The atmosphere is fabulous for drinks or dinner. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Rip off

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This place was promising from the reviews that I read. I never write reviews for these things, but this had to be done. I decided to come here for the wine pairing and four course dinner for Valentine's Day. The first two courses were great, but the main course was horrible. I don't presume to be the most knowledgeable person about food, but I'm pretty sure two cold steaks with cold potatoes and piping hot veggies isn't ideal. For over $200 for two people I'd expect them to at least get the main course right. Never coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

A good choice for Valentine's Day

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I have a very short list of options for a special Valentine's Day dinner, because I've been burned more than once. I like the tradition, but many restaurants offer a limited menu, jacked-up prices, a reduction in quality, and robotic or uneven service. My only complaint is that the fixed price was more than I would expect to pay at this restaurant. However, the food was good, and the service was attentive, timely, and cordial.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wine was good, atmosphere was nice. Afte ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wine was good, atmosphere was nice. After 1.5 hours and not getting our food we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Valentines Dinner

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Previous dining experiences here were good, but this time, it took over 45 minutes to receive raw oysters, drinks and steaks were also slow. We tried to get a second glass of wine to eat with the steak and it took so long the food was cold by the time we made a second request and finally received it. Food was overly salty and steaks were missing the sauces mentioned on the menu. We would have mentioned it to the waitress had she come back to check on us. We were not the only disappointed table many other guests were complaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

First time there. Excellent food and dri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

First time there. Excellent food and drinks. Definitely going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Will go again!!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Four of us went to dinner and ordered a variety of appetizers/starters and entrees. Everything was delicious and properly served. Also, they make great cocktails and have a nice selection of beer and wine. I recommend reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Great

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Music way to loud. We had to ask three times to please turn the sound down before anyone did anything. Oysters were food but it was down hill from there. I had steak and it was just not very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent Food, Under-Serviced

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Good as always, even with a constantly changing and evolving menu. However, the dining area seemed woefully understaffed on the Saturday we were there. Our server was nice enough, and tried his best, but the service suffered as a result of being undermanned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Filet Mignon

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

My filet was uncooked and tasted funny. They took it back to cook more and came back when the remaining of my 6 guests already finished their plates. My filet still tasted funny. I did return plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect dining experience to ring in 2016

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined here for New Year's Eve...... it was perfect in every way. The service/wait staff was professional, food delivery was perfectly-timed, they were all knowledgable about the menu and the wines to pair. Our dinner choices ranged from beef to fish and our desserts put the finishing touches on an outstanding meal. Our 9:00PM reservation brought in the New Year and then we finished off the evening with a bottle of champagne. Though we were one of the last parties to leave, we never felt rushed or hurried in any way. We could not have found a better restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love our yearly Christmas Visit to Vertical

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Great, great food, fantastic wines, there is nothing we do not love about Vertical Wine Bistro. We have friends come every Christmas and before we drop them off at Bob Hope Airport, it is our tradition to have a last dinner at Vertical. The food is fantastic and we wouldn't think of going any where else to top off the holidays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Xmas Eve Group Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Vertical Wine Bistro was an excellent choice for our group of 10. It is a nice dining room, great food and drink and the service was amazing. We had 8 adults and two young kids and everyone was extremely accommodating. Thanks for a great dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy hour menu is way better, dinner me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Happy hour menu is way better, dinner menu lacks variety. The food is so so. I was not impressed with anything really. I would come back but only for happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The platters from the raw bar is a lot m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The platters from the raw bar is a lot more than it sounds. So it is a pretty good deal. That being said... I probably would not order it again without an army of seafood loving mates to destroy it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Small Gathering

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

I had a wonderful evening with friends over wine and appetizers. Great place, great food, great wine. Who can ask for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New menu -- much less interesting and ve ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

New menu -- much less interesting and very limited. This used to be a favorite - no more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We have dined at Vertical Wine Bistro se ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

We have dined at Vertical Wine Bistro several times. The food and service have been great each time. We will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

hubby found our new favorite late night place by chance. He went there for a business dinner and decided to show it to me. What an amazing experience, the food was delicious, the server amazing and the noise level was low. Highly recommend it 😀

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seafood tower, cheese and wine

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

They have all the offerings of a wine bar. There are 2 menus- bar and restaurant. Everything was great except the truffle fries. The fries tasted like regular fries and not worth the price. Cheese and meat plates are very good. Definitely do the wine flights! Busboy was a bit overzealous and not paying attention to subtle cues that we were not ready for him to clear the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Another enjoyable evening at The Vertical!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

Excellent food and service -- especially from Eric! We love this restaurant and enjoy it every time! Never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

My family went to Verticle Wine Bistro for my husbands birthday and we were pleasantly surprised by the space. Very nice, and not to loud. My husband and I ordered the rib eye but were not happy. It had the texture of pork, not very tender, we ordered medium but it was leaning toward well. Not worth the $37. The two other dishes ordered were ok, pork chop and beef bourguignon. The service was very good, but I don't think we will be returning, too expensive for mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Excellent as always

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Seafood tower is simply awesome, will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love , Love, Love this restaurant.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

Great vibe, excellent food, great service!!!! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cool entrance, great atmosphere

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2015

We enjoyed the food and wine here. The restaurant is upstairs with some brick walls which gives it a cool atmosphere. It also has a glass see-through wall of wine storage that divides the bar from the dining area that is really neat too. The food was good, but 2 different items we ordered were gone for the night (seafood risotto -boo hoo!). They also told me "you're getting the last one" when I ordered the beef bourgingnon. So my only criticism would be that they need to order their food supply better to serve all the guests every night, so you don't have to disappoint anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

I've been here a few times, and each time has been special. Food never disappoints, Wine Flights are simply amazing, and the waiters are the nicest people ever.

I'll be coming back again of course!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Ambiance

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2015

Let me start by saying WOW. This place exceeded my/our expectations. The restaurant was beautiful and such a lovely bar. I have to say everyone of their staff was wonderful. Super friendly & very helpful especially when it came to recommendations from the wonderful wine list to the food. We will definitely be back. Definitely tried the Omakase wine flight with my Wedge and Seafood Risotto & trusted my waiter to choose. Fabulous all 3 he chose were delicious. A Chablis, Rose & a delicious Chardonnay which I decided to order a second glass of. They all paired so wonderfully with my dish. My hubby had the Ribeye which looked amazing & said it tasted even better & was cooked perfectly. Cannot wait to come back. Thank Vertical Wine Bistro for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Wine Bars

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

This was not our first time at Vertical Wine Bar, and once again, we were very pleased. This was the first time we ordered one of the "entrees" and it was good, but not great. Their best things are their small plates and very fresh shell fish. The wine list is a little too small, but the choices are good and well priced. We will certainly return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Place

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

Very nice place. The menu was a bit small and they were out of my wife's choice. Service was good and food was very good. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2015

Our server (so sorry to have forgotten his name, spoke French) was extremely helpful in his recommendations...spot on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Recent Visit

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2015

We went in this past week after not having been there for months. The menu was completely different, which was a surprise but let me tell you, quite a wonderful surprise. And the food... Wow! The chef is shining!! I had halibut which was cooked to perfection. Most places seem to overcook fish but here, no. My husband had the pork shoulder which was fabulous. My father had mussels that were juicy and in a very tasty broth. On the starters, the octopus with burrata is not to be missed. SO tender and tasty. I loved my arugula salad- simple yet great. My husband pointed out that every bite was memorable. Overall, everything was amazing & we'll definitely be back. Eric waited on us. He was super nice, knowledgeable & very helpful with gluten-free choices. We highly recommend the revamped Vertical Wine Bistro!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My New Favorite

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 13, 2015

I went with my darling boyfriend for a romantic and quiet dinner. We had exotic variations of grilled cheese sandwiches with beer pairings. Exquisite! And, I highly recommend the Kir Vertical before dinner. We left feeling enriched and well cared for. Thanks to Vertical staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.