About Vertical Wine Bistro

70 N. Raymond Ave
Pasadena, CA 91103
View Larger Map

Wine Bistro serving California bistro- style menu. Over 420 wine selections, 50 by the glass and wine flights from around the world. Full bar and imported beers as well as draft.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Union St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 795-3999

Website:
http://www.verticalwinebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Valet offered on both sides of Raymond - southbound or northbound

Public Transit:
Metro Gold Line 1 block away.

Private Party Facilities:
Vertical Wine Bistro takes the quintessential notion of wine bar to new heights. Located in Old Pasadena, Vertical presents a welcome respite with its inviting atmosphere, dazzling wine list and delectable American bistro menu.

Private Party Contact:
Rick Liss: 6267953999x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Live Music most Thursdays and Sundays

Restaurant Photos

Caramelized Onion & Goat Cheese Pizza - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Blueberry Lemonade Cocktail - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Lolita Cocktail - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Burrata And Fig Salad - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Sauteed Mushrooms - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Proscuitto And Arugula Pizza - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Wine Flight - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Parsnip Soup - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Corn Fritter With Salmon - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Beer Flight - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Asparagus Soup - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
The Lolita - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Vege Burger - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Shoestring Fries - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Mussels with chorizo - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Kir Vertical - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Scallops - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Moules Frites - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA
Calamari - Vertical Wine Bistro, Pasadena, CA

Vertical Wine Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.6

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Fireplace (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a four star meal, with five sta ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was a four star meal, with five star prices and 1 star service; like that which you would expect at The Yard House. The main room is VERY loud. The service is terrible and slow. They don't even know which wine glasses to use; they served all our red wine in white wine glasses. We noticed other tables with white wine in red wine glasses and vice versa. One table had red wine in two different glasses! One of us ordered the house cabernet and received their pinot noir instead. The waiter insisted it was the house cab after my partner asked twice, until the rest of our party joined us and two of them also ordered the house cab - a different color and taste. Finally, the waiter admitted that the bartender must have poured my partner the wrong wine. We had to ask if there were any specials.

Our appetizers arrived within half an hour but it took another hour after that to get our food. We finally asked about it and were told it was all ready and coming right out - 20 minutes later. When my sister-in-law ordered a second glass of wine, it didn't show up until our waiter brought the dessert menus. The dirty appetizer plates lingered on our table until we asked about our entrees and it wasn't until after we ordered dessert that they removed our dirty entree plates. I ordered an Earl Grey tea to accompany my dessert and it arrived with the check after our dessert plates were cleaned up. The waiter did apologize for that one and indicated he had taken it off the bill, only he didn't and had added his gratuity as well. Ha!

Now, the ONLY saving grace of this restaurant is the food. As late as it was in arriving, it was absolutely delicious! No one could say a critical word about any of our meals. Everything was fantastic. I thoroughly enjoyed every bite of the halibut and wanted more. Of course, we could have also just been incredibly hungry...

For the price point, we expected the service to be comparable to the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Hidden and hip place. Cool bar and food ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Hidden and hip place. Cool bar and food great. I have been here 3 times and each time does not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Although the manager did acknowledge the ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Although the manager did acknowledge the lack of slow service and attentiveness, and adjusted our bill . . . serious service growing pains with new ownership. Give it more time before taking a large party on a busy night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

This was our second visit. Visited last ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our second visit. Visited last year. Will not be back. New owner. Has not trained the staff well. Missteps all through dinner. Food just okay, not good. (And it used to be quite good.) Owner seemed "laissez faire" in attitude. Place will not take care of itself; you need to put in the effort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Food!!! We started with the Charc ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great Food!!! We started with the Charcuterie (with truffle honey) and Artisanal Cheese Plates. Between the four of us, we had the Steak Au Poivre (2), Roasted Chicken and Grilled Pork Chop. All meals were delicious. I recommend reservations. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a wine bar, they do not have a very ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

For a wine bar, they do not have a very large selection. The food selection, although good, is also very limited. We were there very early in the evening, but I was also disappointed in the slow service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We went after a football game. 8 of us. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went after a football game. 8 of us. Good choices for the vegetarians in our group. Attentive service. Quiet enough for conversation the the dining room. The bar was more energetic if that's your thing.

Street parking or the Marriott garage 1.5 blocks North on the other side of the street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Made a reservation for dinner and went e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Made a reservation for dinner and went early to sit in the bar for happy hour. I enjoyed my $5 glass of house Chardonnay, though my friend with a more sophisticated palate said it was stale, as was her house Cabernet, but she agreed for $5 nothing to complain about. We ordered the shishito peppers, which were very tasty: salty but in a good way. The steamed artichoke was not a winner. It was enormous, but seemed waterlogged and a bit mushy. Still, the ambience on the cocktail seating in the bar area was very pleasant and we enjoyed it. For dinner, two of our party ordered a special which was initially described as flank steak, but the waitstaff returned and said it was a flat iron steak. Looked and tasted like sirloin to me, but it wasn't bad. The truffle fries were outstanding. I would go back just for those crunchy little delights. My kale salad was OK. Maybe that's what I get for ordering kale LOL. One odd note stood out: when we entered, and sitting on the soft seating in the bar area, my husband and I both noticed a faint, off musty/sour smell. When I go back, which I plan to, I'll try to identify it.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Another fun night.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Another fun night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome food and service!

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Awesome food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was okay yet we were promised 1000 point ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Was okay yet we were promised 1000 points yet only received 100. Not expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Mediocre food with menu different than ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Mediocre food with menu different than online, artichoke undercooked, salad greens limp, over dressed, stale bread atop, waiter could not describe pasta prep just repeated menu 'some pasta' with chicken and a heavy pesto sauce. When we were surprised knew not type of pasta or prep he explained it wasn't very popular so didn't know much about it. Very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

This was my second visit here but this w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my second visit here but this was the first time ordering from their menu (1st visit was for a pop up restaurant) so I knew the ambiance and the restaurant was nice. I must say that the wine was the best part of the meal, we ordered calamari, halibut, steak and risotto and they were all very salty. For dessert I ordered the tiramisu and it was dry, lady fingers not soaked in espresso at all. It was quite disappointing cause I was celebrating my birthday. I was told that since they changed chef, the restaurant has been going down hill. Sad cuz it's a beautiful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Disappointment Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall the experience was less than spectacular. The menu was very disappointing. One aspect with the menu was it wasn't clearly described what was included. For example when the Eggs Benedict stated salmon, it should have been worded it was LOX not salmon. Very misleading, the Cesar Salad didn't have any dressing only the cheese.

Overall, the food was below sub par for a special event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Mothers day brunch was a disaster

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We waited a very long time for food and drinks. They didnt come out together which means that some of our food got cold. Took forever to get my daughters shirley temple. Btw, they charged as bottomless cocktail. $15 for a few sips of shirley temple. 2 people ordered french toast. One got fruits and my daughter didnt. They forgot the dressing on the salad. Prime rib was supposed to be medium rare, i was served well done!! I used to be a regular but brunch was an extreme disappointment. Too bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

More horizontal than vertical...flat line, in fact

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I now know why I was able to get a last minute reservation for 7:30pm on a Friday night. The bar/restaurant was very nice - what you would expect at this price point. The hostess was very gracious and accommodating. The service was on point...right up until the end, that is...more on that later.

Party of 4. Ordered sauteed mushrooms, an artichoke, ceasar salad, skewered filet mignon, calamari and salmon. Of these, the artichoke was the best dish, though the ounce of aioli it came with was ridiculously insufficient. The mushrooms and salad were bland, the salmon was dry, etc., ...not at all what I expected from such a nice place.

We ordered decaf to finish the disappointing meal and were told they were out of it. "I could have just brought you regular coffee and you never would have known." Record scratch. It wasn't even said in a joking manner.

The boysenberry sorbet was very good, however, and the wine list is extensive but overpriced. I've never spent so much money to be so unimpressed. We won't be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The food is great! Ambience is great. Ma ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food is great! Ambience is great. Makes climbing all that stairs to the restaurant worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I haven't been here in awhile but did not like it

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2016

I did not like the addition of the dance floor......felt weird when I walked in and didn't feel like the place I used to bring clients to for dinner, I won't be back for dinner, maybe cocktails/wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

First time for dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our first time for dinner but had been to the bar a few times. We were very happy with the menu, food was delicious, great drinks. The only complaint was our server handled too many tables and as the room filled up he was very rushed and service dropped off. Even so, he was very polite and did the best he could. We consider this is a management problem, not his.

The atmosphere is fabulous for drinks or dinner. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Rip off

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

This place was promising from the reviews that I read. I never write reviews for these things, but this had to be done. I decided to come here for the wine pairing and four course dinner for Valentine's Day. The first two courses were great, but the main course was horrible. I don't presume to be the most knowledgeable person about food, but I'm pretty sure two cold steaks with cold potatoes and piping hot veggies isn't ideal. For over $200 for two people I'd expect them to at least get the main course right. Never coming here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

A good choice for Valentine's Day

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

I have a very short list of options for a special Valentine's Day dinner, because I've been burned more than once. I like the tradition, but many restaurants offer a limited menu, jacked-up prices, a reduction in quality, and robotic or uneven service. My only complaint is that the fixed price was more than I would expect to pay at this restaurant. However, the food was good, and the service was attentive, timely, and cordial.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wine was good, atmosphere was nice. Afte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wine was good, atmosphere was nice. After 1.5 hours and not getting our food we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Valentines Dinner

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Previous dining experiences here were good, but this time, it took over 45 minutes to receive raw oysters, drinks and steaks were also slow. We tried to get a second glass of wine to eat with the steak and it took so long the food was cold by the time we made a second request and finally received it. Food was overly salty and steaks were missing the sauces mentioned on the menu. We would have mentioned it to the waitress had she come back to check on us. We were not the only disappointed table many other guests were complaining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

First time there. Excellent food and dri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

First time there. Excellent food and drinks. Definitely going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Will go again!!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 30, 2016

Four of us went to dinner and ordered a variety of appetizers/starters and entrees. Everything was delicious and properly served. Also, they make great cocktails and have a nice selection of beer and wine. I recommend reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not Great

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2016

Music way to loud. We had to ask three times to please turn the sound down before anyone did anything. Oysters were food but it was down hill from there. I had steak and it was just not very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent Food, Under-Serviced

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Good as always, even with a constantly changing and evolving menu. However, the dining area seemed woefully understaffed on the Saturday we were there. Our server was nice enough, and tried his best, but the service suffered as a result of being undermanned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Filet Mignon

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2016

My filet was uncooked and tasted funny. They took it back to cook more and came back when the remaining of my 6 guests already finished their plates. My filet still tasted funny. I did return plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfect dining experience to ring in 2016

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined here for New Year's Eve...... it was perfect in every way. The service/wait staff was professional, food delivery was perfectly-timed, they were all knowledgable about the menu and the wines to pair. Our dinner choices ranged from beef to fish and our desserts put the finishing touches on an outstanding meal. Our 9:00PM reservation brought in the New Year and then we finished off the evening with a bottle of champagne. Though we were one of the last parties to leave, we never felt rushed or hurried in any way. We could not have found a better restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love our yearly Christmas Visit to Vertical

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Great, great food, fantastic wines, there is nothing we do not love about Vertical Wine Bistro. We have friends come every Christmas and before we drop them off at Bob Hope Airport, it is our tradition to have a last dinner at Vertical. The food is fantastic and we wouldn't think of going any where else to top off the holidays.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Xmas Eve Group Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Vertical Wine Bistro was an excellent choice for our group of 10. It is a nice dining room, great food and drink and the service was amazing. We had 8 adults and two young kids and everyone was extremely accommodating. Thanks for a great dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy hour menu is way better, dinner me ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 19, 2015

Happy hour menu is way better, dinner menu lacks variety. The food is so so. I was not impressed with anything really. I would come back but only for happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The platters from the raw bar is a lot m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2015

The platters from the raw bar is a lot more than it sounds. So it is a pretty good deal. That being said... I probably would not order it again without an army of seafood loving mates to destroy it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Small Gathering

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2015

I had a wonderful evening with friends over wine and appetizers. Great place, great food, great wine. Who can ask for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New menu -- much less interesting and ve ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 17, 2015

New menu -- much less interesting and very limited. This used to be a favorite - no more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We have dined at Vertical Wine Bistro se ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 27, 2015

We have dined at Vertical Wine Bistro several times. The food and service have been great each time. We will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely evening

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 13, 2015

hubby found our new favorite late night place by chance. He went there for a business dinner and decided to show it to me. What an amazing experience, the food was delicious, the server amazing and the noise level was low. Highly recommend it 😀

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seafood tower, cheese and wine

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2015

They have all the offerings of a wine bar. There are 2 menus- bar and restaurant. Everything was great except the truffle fries. The fries tasted like regular fries and not worth the price. Cheese and meat plates are very good. Definitely do the wine flights! Busboy was a bit overzealous and not paying attention to subtle cues that we were not ready for him to clear the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Another enjoyable evening at The Vertical!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2015

Excellent food and service -- especially from Eric! We love this restaurant and enjoy it every time! Never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2015

My family went to Verticle Wine Bistro for my husbands birthday and we were pleasantly surprised by the space. Very nice, and not to loud. My husband and I ordered the rib eye but were not happy. It had the texture of pork, not very tender, we ordered medium but it was leaning toward well. Not worth the $37. The two other dishes ordered were ok, pork chop and beef bourguignon. The service was very good, but I don't think we will be returning, too expensive for mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.