Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Vernon's Speakeasy

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: (505) 341-0831

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (76)
Special Occasion (74)
Good for a Date (73)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
Live Music (30)
Cozy (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Fun (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Authentic (20)
Tasting Menu (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great Beer (5)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

Great wine list and menu and the service was even better. Appreciate the ability to have a conversation without screaming at each other so we can hear all parties at the table speak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent as always, the staff was spot on, attentive but not overbearing. The ambiance was marvelous and our guests were extremely impressed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great dinner at Vernon's!!! And.....Gabe is one of the best waiters.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The entree items are way too expensive! I have had as good a steak for half the price elsewhere!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

We always are amazed with how long Vernon's has been in business - surely must be the great food, staff and ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We enjoyed our visit to Vernon's. It was our first time there and we plan to go back, for sure. From the moment we walked in, we were amazed by the staff, the prompt and attentive service, the unique menu options, the yummy cocktails, and the amazingly delicious food. The concept of the restaurant was fun! The only complaint we have is that we were seated in the Black Diamond room for our anniversary, and were told the pianist would start playing 1/2 hour after our arrival, however they never showed up and we were never given an explanation or apology for the cancellation.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was excellent, and our waiter was so helpful and pleasant that he made our first experience at Vernon's such an enjoyable night that made us want to come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Not an a place for kids but definitely a date night or special night type of place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The evening was great. Richard, the waiter did an excellent job and was very accommodating. We took friends from out of town and they enjoyed themselves thoroughly.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We are Vernon regulars. We went to dinner during a BUSY Balloon Fiesta weekend. Our waiter Gabe still managed to take care of us and find a special wine with our filet. We love Vernon's and the wonderful staff.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Had a great time, very unique restaurant with excellent food, and wonderful service.

We will be back next time we are in Albuquerque!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was great. Everything we tried on the menu was good. The service from our waiter was not too good, he was very nice but was gone for very long periods of time and we had to wait.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always vernons did not disappoint. Gabe was our server and he was phenomenal as usual. Best steak house in Albuquerque

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always Vernons delivered. Food was perfectly cooked. Drinks were great. Was a bit loud as other groups did not seem to respect others dining but the staff did ask them to quiet down. Service off a bit but still friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was an absolutely wonderful expierence, the food was great, service was excellent, and the ambience is something totally different here in Albuquerque. We loved every bit of our time here. Thanks Vernon’s.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Vernon’s was recommended by a friend and I am so glad I took her advice. What a pleasant surprise. I enjoyed the ambiance, the decor, the food, the cocktails, the menu, the wine list, the servers the secrecy. If you can tell by now I just loved the whole experience. I would so recommend this restaurant .

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Best meal and service I have had in years. I can't say enough about this special place except you have to try it. We are from MN. and are only here for a few days but are planning a trip back before we leave. We had the filet mug on with lobster tail and the lamb chops. Sterling was our server who was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Both the good and the service were immaculate. I would highly reccommend Vernon' s to anyone looking to add a special touch to any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Food was excellent and service with Christopher Pendleton was superb as usual. Had a great time we were seated immediately and on time. Nothing negative to say about this restaurant! Especially enjoyed the lamb and great drinks. Thanks guys

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 4, 2017

As always the food was amazing and so was the advice. The only complaint was the noise level. Multiple large groups were quite loud. However, would return to vernons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food, service and drinks were all excellent. Do agree with other reviews that it’s a little overpriced.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Service seemed very slow. Waiter very freindly making good entre recommendations. We were there for over 2 hours sitting in very uncomfortable chairs. Food was good after waiting for over an hour for our entres. Dessert was free!! A bit over priced, atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary
The service was superb, the meal delicious as well as the wine
The live music was a plus
We will be back

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Extremely overpriced for quality of food. We had an OK meal, but certainly not a $170 per person meal!! 3 of us had the night's special and the filet was the best part of the meal.
The service was excellent, too bad the cuisine wasn't as finely executed.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was excellent. I only gave it 4 stars because I asked for my steak to be medium and it was medium rare, I would have sent it back but our server was busy with a much larger table and I didn't want to wave him down. The steak was still good but not how I would have preferred it. The scallops were to die for and the wine was just Delish!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was excellent and the wait staff impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

What a wonderful night! Our waiter Gabriel made it a special occasion for us. The food was delicious

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This was our third visit to Vernon’s and, once again, everything was outstanding. Unfortunate, we live in California so the commute is a bit far, but we will come in every time we’re in ABQ.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 25, 2017

We loved our visit. What a fun and unique way to spend a special occasion. We definitely felt like we traveled in time. The food was fantastic. Very customer oriented from start to finish. Loved all of it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2017

This was my first time here, and I’ll have to admit I was expecting a cheesy speakeasy experience, but once going through the entrance, it was not that at all. The food was prepared well and the ambiance was excellent. A little dark but I didn’t mind. A live piano player enhanced the experience. Worth checking out.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

We celebrated our first anniversary at Vernon's and had an amazing night. The service is top notch from the time you confirm your reservations to when you leave. our server Sean did a great job explaining the menu, making recommendations, and helping us find some suitable substitutions for some dietary restrictions. Our food was delicious! The chef even sent out a special dessert to help us celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our server was absolutely awesome with the knowledge of the menu and history off the resuranr

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent experience...and Gabe (our head waiter) was AWESOME!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

A little pricey. Soup was$45.00. Great steaks and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

My wife and i loved everything about Vernons! Everything about this place steals your attention. The password entry is a fun way to introduce you to the experience. The ambiance of the restaurant is calm and soothing. Perfect for a romantic evening. The hostess and wait staff go above and beyond for their guests. My waiter Shawn personally made me my own pitcher of sweet tea. The food was AMAZING! They use locally grown food whenever possible and it really comes across in the freshness. My wife and i had the filet mignon. It was tender, juicy and very tasty. The only bad part was realizing i had finished it. Overall, the entire experience helped make my wife's birthday a memorable and fun out of the ordinary experience. We will definitely be returning in the future and can't wait. I'm a firm believer in you get what you pay for and Vernons is worth every penny and so much more.

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Lovely and unique experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was amazing thank you. We did a whole prohibition style night and went blues dancing after. This was the perfect place to eat. Thank you guys!

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful service and delicious food. Vernon's is not a budget restaurant, so be ready to part with some funds, however, I highly recommend this place for that special occasion. Five Stars for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Excellent attention to detail. Great service. Fun theme.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Absolutely loved the atomsphere the food was outstanding. Yum

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Spicy, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.