Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Vernon's Speakeasy

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: (505) 341-0831

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (74)
Romantic (74)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
See All
Special Occasion (64)
Quiet Conversation (46)
Cozy (39)
Live Music (34)
Fun (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Authentic (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Business Meals (18)
Tasting Menu (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fireplace (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tapas (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
2507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful, food was perfect, and the ambience was excellent. Thank you for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Es wird sehr empfohlen, sich wie in den 20ern zu kleiden. Das Lokal ist cool und greift den Zeitgeist der Prohibition auf. Gute Küche, super Ambiente!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Prime rib was good but not the best. Vegetables were fresh and delicious. Ditto for the Parmesan truffle fries. Cioppino was garlicky and fine, but again not the best. Mussels in it were plump, small but tender scallops, but there were only flakes of crab not chunks. Never detected the lobster. The lobster bisque though had nice chunks, very rich and creamy. Bread was delicious. Loved the cocktails especially the Dillinger mojito made with cucumber gin. Service was attentive and friendly, not overbearing. Unfortunately we had a loud large party nearby for much of our dinner making our romantic evening a bit less romantic. Expensive meal, too.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing food and atmosphere. You do get the quality you expect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Vernon's never disappoints. This was my husband and I's second time there are we both tried different steaks and they were superbly cooked and seasoned. Not only are the main courses fantastic but the appetizers have flavor combinations your taste buds will love! They have a fantastic cocktail menu as well. It will absolutely be worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was mediocre. On my ribeye, I only ate 1/2 my steak since the rest was fat. The menu lacked a good variety of side dishes. The wait staff was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent experience. Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great job with the ambiance. Drinks were terrific! Little pricey but wOrth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very pleased with the service and atmosphere. Overall always worth the price if you enjoy the finer things.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Vernons consistently provides outstanding service, amazing steaks and seafood, and a unique and cozy environment. Our waiter, Gabriel, was exceptional. Both our steaks were prepared perfectly and the atmosphere is always fun yet refined. Vernons is a great choice for romantic occasions and celebrations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Vernon's is consistently FANTASTIC! Every dish ordered exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent spot. Loved the vibe and feel of the restaurant. Our waiter was very professional, staff was very friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had a wonderful time celebrating our 10 th year wedding anniversary. The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere was fun. Pricey, but very worth it!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Excellent. Filet mignon and Adult Mac-n-Cheese with green chile were excellent. Pork was a little tough. Great atmosphere and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Good food; late with the steak accompanying sauce; good wine selection; anniversary desert was awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Perfect.
Food, wine, service, ambiance...Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine there. Been going there for 5 + years and will continue.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food! My steak was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This was our first time at Vernon's. We absolutely loved it. Food was phenomenal. Service was great. We will definitely be back. Really fun experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This place gets my highest recommendation! The food was excellent, our waiter, Sean, was superb, and the ambiance and atmosphere was memorable and fun. Honestly, this was one of the best steaks that I've eaten, and our waiter had wonderful wine recommendations. Definitely take the time to visit this Speakeasy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My wife and I had a very enjoyable dinner. I would recommend Vernon's to anyone that would like a relaxed evening out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We were visiting Albuquerque for the weekend and found this place on TripAdvisor. We had an excellent time. The food, wine, service....everything EXCELLENT! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The experience is fantastic. From when you enter through the gaurded door until you leave. I highly recommend either the aged ribeye or the stuffed quail. If your dinner is going to be a romantic one I would say to reserve the booth. The lighting is perfect, the booth is comfortable, and the piano player is great as well. It feels like VIP service all the way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Staff was knowledgeable about the menu and attended to our every need. I ordered the ribeye and my wife the filet mignon. We could not say enough about how great the steaks were prepared and tasted. Will definitely go back as soon as we can.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Never fails as a oh yes let's go there spot
Received an invite for the club side to go to the summer on the patio music Tapas special. the wonderful management offed the best hospitality tonight was great music interesting drink specials and easy time to celebrate thanks

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great beer, great food, great experience. Little pricy even for a high class restaurant but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great meal and service. It was very comfortable. Server did a nice job of balancing service with allowing our table time to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great fun just to find front door, doorman set tone, superb service from ladies assisting with reservations including suggesting being moved to lounge to enjoy piano music, service was impeccable our server, was beyond professional and went above and beyond in helping us plan rest of our evening amazing experience, already planning return visit

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The speakeasy "ambience" is cheesy at best. Maybe a good marketing gimmick. The food quality, service, general experience was very average. Significantly overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 7, 2017

the environment was perfect for the occasion (anniversary). the staff was very friendly and professional. definitely visiting again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We loved the speakeasy theme and arrival encounter. We were early for a 6:30, but had to wait just a very short period . The "wait" gave us an opportunity to meet the bartender and challenge his knowledge and creativity. He passed with flying colors and "full pours".
As a 6 person group talking business, we worried about our dinner seating but were pleasantly surprised to get a table in a quiet corner that worked out perfectly.

The only disappointment came with some inconsistency in the meals. A couple of people ordered big steaks and had very good comments, but a couple people had "dinner salads" that they thought were at best "ordinary" and not up to the price points.

Service was very good and wine selection was of notable quality and variety. Noteable, it was a hot day and the interior dining room temp was noticeably warm.

In all, for the prices asked/paid, we had expected the dinner to have been something a little nicer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great as always. Although little disappointed that their delicious short ribs were unavailable. Superb Old Fashioned.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We dined at Vernon's Speakeasy for a birthday and we both had a great time. The food is Amazin!!! The service impeccable. Great for any occasion but would definitely recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 3, 2017

If you enjoy being catered to, this is the place! No matter what our request, it was granted without any hesitation. Stick to the traditional cocktails. Both my daughters and myself got a speciality cocktail which were very tasty and creative, but the glass was the smallest cocktail glass I've ever seen and the price seemed out of line for that small amount. The Los Ranchos Star Steak was large enough to split. I got a side of fries with truffle oil and parmesan that were delicious and got a side of asparagus thinking the snow peas that came with the steak would be only enough for one. I was wrong and needed to take food home. The steak was good, but a few more ligaments running through it than I would've expected for the price. More chewy than the steak I just grilled myself at home. Very good au poive and gorgonzola sauces but again, pricey for the amount given.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

As always, great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My family and I went for my birthday and it was a great experience! Highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 29, 2017

I cannot say enough about this experience. We enjoy both fine dining establishments and the speakeasy format. We travel frequently so we have a variety against which to juxtapose. The service, ambiance, meal preparation and presentation could not be beat. The gent who served us this evening, Stirling, brought this production together...perfect recommendations while anticipating our every need. The dry-aged ribeye was the star of the show; amazing seasoning, perfect char and temperature. Scallops can be difficult, but these were unrivalled. The cocktails were sublime--as a bourbon/rye connoisseur, I recommend the speakeasy Manhattan. I've enjoyed Manhattans in hundreds of establishments across this country; these that Josh created meticulously were simply the best I've ever had...the best. The bread pudding and Blantons neat was the perfect way to wrap up this event. The entire evolution was a win. Understand that along with fine dining comes the fine dining price tag, but this entire undertaking was worth every shiny penny. Tell em Joe sent you...and enjoy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Vernon's is a wonderful place with Great food and Great service! I have never been disappointed. Always wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This place is amazing. My boyfriend and I recently celebrated our one year anniversary here. The whole bit with the password and such is extremely fun. We went on Sunday so we also had a live piano player, Bob Tate, he did an amazing job. I had ordered the Kahuna Kentucky Bourbon and unfortunately ended up not liking it, so our waiter took it off our bill which was completely unnecessary but appreciated. Then Vernons gave us a complimentary dessert for our anniversary. Definitely will be returning in the future!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.