Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Vernon's Speakeasy

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: (505) 341-0831

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (88)
Romantic (87)
Special Occasion (85)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Live Music (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Cozy (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Authentic (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fun (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Local Ingredients (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Fireplace (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Business Meals (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Historic (13)
Private Room (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Casual (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
People Watching (7)
Organic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very good service fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been here before and LOVED it! This last time though, the service was not the best. This made me really sad since I know the service is fantastic as well as the food. We waited over 40 minutes for our waiter to appear and the guy we did get was good but clearly not the regular waiter. Something clearly went wrong but the great food made it manageable.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Organic, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Eating here is an experience. When you make a reservation, you are sent directions and the pass word. You knock on an unmarked door, the peep whole opens and you are asked the password, and if you are a cop. The greeting inside by a "gangster" who goes over the rules starts your experience out on a fun note. Once inside, it is dimly lit which adds to the ambience. There was a very good piano player and it was just the right amount of light pleasant music. The food was very good. Although I would call it a steak house, there was enough options to accommodate most any food preference. They own dry aged rib eye was fantastic! The Chocolate Decadence dessert was the perfect end to a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

A hidden gem in Albuquerque! A must try if you are in the area - the food is always excellent and service is as well - we make it a point to have a dinner when we travel to this area as we know we will not be disappointed. I also love the theme of the place, from password to artwork and piano bar - very nice, not to be missed!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing as always. Great bar menu too! Always a treat for us to "speak easy".

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We received a gift certificate to Vernons. I had heard lots of good things. From the moment we walked in the door until we walked out the door we received excellent service. The steaks were cooked to perfection and could be cut with a dinner fork. Had a great time. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great experience. Food was delicious and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The service at Vernons is impeccable. The piano player provided great ambiance. The food is unbelievably delicious. My wife and I will remember this anniversary dinner for a long time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The actors and servers did a good job. And it was a fun idea. But the food was just so-so, and definitely not worth the HUGE price tag. I can get MUCH better cocktails and better food at many restaurants around town that are half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great atmosphere with a fun, speak easy vibe, great food (but a tad pricey), great service. I recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had an amazing time and we'll worth the money. Staff is absolutely top notch and go above and beyond to make sure your dinning experience is nothing shy than exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our waiter Sean was awesome! He had fantastic recommendations and knew the menu well. His service was excellent! We enjoyed everything we ordered. Appreciated that the restaurant accommodated a last minute reservation time change

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A great place to have that special Anniversary, Birthday or special dinner with friends. It is quiet and super staff and food.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

While in Albuquerque for work. We celebrated our 4 year Anniversary. This was a nice place. You will need a password to enter. They have a wide variety of whiskey which is awesome. We were seated in the VIP area. Our waiters Jose and Carlos were awesome. Damn good service from them both.
While dining we noticed that a staff member was walking around giving tours and spoke to everyone in the VIP section except us. Not sure what that was all about. But as we were leaving we asked who the gentleman was and was told he's the Director of VIP. Interesting... We were seated in VIP and he didn't greet us or introduce himself.

The I had the Chilean Seabass it was good. But the Spinach was suppose to have been sautéed and it wasn't but it was really oily. I sent the spinach back and got peas instead. Besides that the food was amazing!
And we appreciate Jose and Carlos.. best service!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a terrific meal, and, as in the past, the service was exemplary. We will be returning in the near future.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our server was fantastic. The food was amazing. My daughter loved the ambiance and the artwork on the walls. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious! Outstanding service!!!! The key lime pie was delicious, but I do wish you still had the tiramisu. I had the sea bass which was delicious but I didn't feel that it was worth the price of the meal, very small portion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We arrived a bit late due to traffic. In spite of saying we had a firm time we had to leave for an event, service was slow, fine if you had not other engagements. One of us has an allergy to garlic and it took four menu choices to find something with little garlic. The steak was OK. Our other dinner was Salmon which again was ok although poorly plated. When we went to pay the bill we were charged for an entrée that we did not have in addition to what we had. That took 10 minutes to sort out which put us in a time squeeze. It is in interesting venue, speakeasy, and decent décor with nice mood lighting. Our overall dining experience was disappointing, especially given the other reviews on Open Table.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at Vernon's Speakeasy. It was a memorable evening that included delicious food and drinks, unbeatable service (thank you, Kristen!), and a romantic ambiance featuring live piano music. Steak was cooked perfectly! We had fun with the "wise guys" out front who posed for pictures complete with their tommy gun and bat. We will definitely look forward to another visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

It was great, service was excellent, waiter was well informed to the food that was being served. Our glasses were always filled. It was somewhere I have never been and highly recommend to everyone it was a great experience. The atmosphere and music was excellent it really takes you back in time just a great place I we were in awe

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was a delicious meal, with terrific service in a unique atmosphere. I would go back for sure.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Had a great time! Food and service were wonderful! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great way to celebrate a birthday! Wonderful food and great service! My husband and I always have such an awesome dinnng experience here. :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The speakeasy concept is different and more fun than just eating at a typical steakhouse. The food and service was great. My steak was cooked to order (which usually does not happen at other restaurants) and the side vegetable was very tasty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely amazing! The steaks were perfect. Carne wrapped aspargus was delicious as was the flourless chocolate cake. Wine paired very well. Service was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is our 3rd time here and we absolutely love it. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is amazing. Vernon's is where we will celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Second time going to Vernon's! It did not disappoint! We drove from OKC just to go here for dinner. Hope to be back again soon! Try the asparagus appetizer! So yummy! And if you are lucky enough to be there on a day they have the German chocolate chocolate cheesecake? Do NOT miss out on it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great atmosphere,

Waiter Gabriel was very friendly and very attentive
As was the rest of the staff.

Food was cooked just right.
Would recommend for a quit date

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My sister gave my wife and I a $200 gift certificate for Christmas, so we used it for a special occasion. The environment was romantic and warm, and our hostess was very attentive. We had the crab cakes as an appetizer, the wedge salad, the shrimp scampi and the short ribs. The food was great.. unfortunately we were so stuffed we did not have dessert. Oh, also my wife had a couple of the mango mojitos and I had two Guinness Stout. This is not a place I would dine out frequently because the cost are a bit prohibitive, however I will definitely return for anniversaries and special occasions. Great staff, great theme and good food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 17, 2017

AMAZING as ALWAYS! I have dined Vernon's several times and it is usually my, "go to" restaurant for very special occasions. I went there for a special Valentine's Day Dinner and could not wait for another special occasion and ended up going back a couple of days later. In true speakeasy flair, the night begins with walking up to the black, solid steal wrought iron front door with a small sliding window. The small sliding window opened and a 1920's gangster on the other side asked me for my password. After the password was given, I was asked, "Are you a cop?" Upon assuring the doorman I wasn't, I was let in and the 1920's speakeasy fantasy began. We were escorted past the hidden doorways to one of the main dining rooms with a fireplace. We were immediately greeted with wait staff who elegantly placed our napkins on our laps and welcomed us to the restaurant. A short time later, we ordered drinks, we were given some warm bread and seasoned olive oil to temp our palates. I had the ribeye which was cooked just the way I like it with a side of wasabi mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. I was VERY HAPPY with my meal. My dining partner and best friend ordered the full lobster tail which was very large in size and I was told, cooked perfectly and tasted INCREDIBLE! All was DELICIOUS! After an AMAZING dinner we opted for coffee and dessert. We both shared a creme brûlée which was a perfect ending to a perfect meal. As stated in my previous posts, I come to this restaurant for three reasons, 1. The incredible food. 2. The impeccable service to the point I am always made to feel like I am the most important diner in the room. The Service provided by Carlos and/or Kristen, as well as the rest of the staff, has ALWAYS been EXCELLENT!! 3. The elegant, relaxed and quiet atmosphere makes for a wonderful dining experience. Bravo to you, Vernon's, for always offering something different with incredible food, and great staff.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Mussels were fantastic! Salmon was a little over cooked. Ambiance and service great!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We celebrated Valentine's Day a day after...it was so nice & quiet!! The food was spectacular, so flavorful & presentation on plate was impressive!! Service was outstanding!! Overall a wonderful date, very nice time!! Will recommend to friends!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time here. Atmosphere was great, food delicious, drinks were amazing, service was on point, and the environment of a speakeasy was well played.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband brought me to Vernon's for Valentines Day. We had reservations at 8 pm, and they called us back quicker then I had expected. We were seated at the bar for about 15 min. The waiter was good, I feel like he may have been overwhelmed, but he did his best. It did take a lot of time to wait on us at times. It was about 8:15-8:20 that we were called back, and didn't leave until almost 10:30. The food was good, not as good as a regular day, I feel like they may have been rushing making it. But either way, the asparagus con carne is one of the best appetizers they have, I would definitely suggest ordering it. Overall, everything was pretty good. I definitely love the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food! Excellent service in the dining area. Received poor service in the bar area.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have visited Vernons 9 times since it's initial opening. There have been many changes, expansion etc, but the food and service has stayed amazingly the Same, We Love Vernons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place to eat! Always provide great service. Love the atmosphere.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place was absolutely amazing. Unique, romantic and fun!! The food was very good, however, I was dissapointed by two things: 1) only 2 people were tending the bar on Valentines day!! Poor girls looked like overworked 1920's factory workers, and people were getting frustrated. 2) with one of my sides. Unfortunately, I had their special price scallop potatoes, which to me ruined my entire dinner, as these were NOT home made from scratch. These potatoes where from the box sold at the supermarket. Once I took a bite, that is all I could taste and ruined my $70 steak. Honestly, that bite changed my whole perception about the restaurant, and made me question the quality of the food.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful Valentine's Day experience. The food was amazing, like always. Service was on top of our experience and present at all times needed. We would recommend Vernon's to anyone prior, for dinner, but now we'd recommend it for any special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a good time, dinner was awsome, service was great. Food and drinks were a little pricey. While I enjoyed my visit to the Vernon's Speak easy, I will probably visit a high end steak house in the future only because food was so expensive at Vernon's. The theme of a Speak Easy was fun, so anyone who has never been there will be pleased.... How ever the expense, may keep the hard working average person to visit a good steak restaurant instead. I thought it was a good one time experience..... Thank you to the service staff....

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.