About Vernon's Speakeasy

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: 5053410831x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Mexico
Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Romantic
New Mexico
9 More
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Steak
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Food
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Most Booked
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Los Ranchos ›

Special Occasion (99)
Romantic (96)
Fit for Foodies (44)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Late-night Find (32)
Good for Groups (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We took a friend here for her Bacheloret ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

We took a friend here for her Bachelorette Party. I can only say that it was probably her favorite part of the entire night. We had a very attentive waiter/sommelier that was knowledgeable about the history of the restaurant and was very in tune to our needs and ensuring that we had a memorable experience. The ambiance here is phenomenal, and you really feel the vibe that the restaurant is known for. The Prime Rib is probably the best thing I have ever put in my mouth. This place is worth visiting.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service...good music. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service...good music. All in all very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed celebrating our daughter's 25 ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed celebrating our daughter's 25th birthday at Vernon's. The food was tasty and the wine was superb. The ambiance is great and the piano player was very talented playing very good music. The prices are too high, though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun and unique atmosphere. The menu was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fun and unique atmosphere. The menu was fantastic and had a good balance of affordable and pricey items. The staff were wonderful and accommodating when we combined two meals, the bartender was fantastic! This place is a 'must do' for visitors and I look forward to the next date night to spend here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food! Outstanding service! O ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding food! Outstanding service! Outstanding ambiance! If someone gives Vernon's less than 5 stars, please check out their other reviews! I'm guessing they cannot be pleased and blast everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the meal i was presented paled in compar ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

the meal i was presented paled in comparison to my friend's which made the first impression quite lowly. The vibe from the restaurant's theme seemed to fit quite nicely and the service was overall good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Kristen continues to wow us with her out ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Kristen continues to wow us with her outstanding customer service and knowledge of the menu and wine list. Vernon's Speakeasy has, by far, the best French Onion soup I have ever tasted! Everyone at our table loved the quality and classy preparation & presentation of our meals, including our daughter, the chef. Thanks again for continuing to be the best of the best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the ambiance, and it m ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We really enjoyed the ambiance, and it made for a perfect date night. The food was delicious and we had great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an exceptional dining experienc ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was an exceptional dining experience! The ambiance, service, food, everything was absolutely perfect. I was most surprised by the phone call we received the day after we dined here, calling to ask how our food, service and over all experience was. I've certainly never had a restaurant call me the day after to check in and see how everything was, so that was a nice touch! We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food service and ambiance. W ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding food service and ambiance. Would highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best classic food experience ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

One of the best classic food experience we've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant, good vibe, excelle ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent restaurant, good vibe, excellent food. I would go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I loved the atmosphere, t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I loved the atmosphere, the food, and service. All of the staff is friendly and strive toward excellent customer service. The big bonus that all of this really supports is the theme of the restaurant. It provides a unique experience without sacrificing quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was fun. We enjoyed time ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The atmosphere was fun. We enjoyed time at the bar before being seated. Our server was friendly and the food was delicious. The entire staff was quick, efficient and friendly. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The power was out, but we stayed. We we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The power was out, but we stayed. We were enjoying the piano music and we were fine with it. Problem was the waitress. She was sharp toned and stressed out. We know it was a bad day, but...we said we wanted to share a dish -- and she retorted about a split charge fee for the service. Seriously? We are hanging in there, in the dark, trying to be good customers when others are leaving, and you want to charge us nickels and dimes? Then she got very frustrated when the credit card didn't work on her machine -- but it worked fine on a another machine. The evening would have been a big win without her stressed out behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and tried Vernon's due to the nice reputation. Our expectations were met and exceeded. Fun place to dine and the food was a total pleasure to enjoy. Steaks were cooked perfectly and the salads were top-notch.

Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and funny. This place does not disappoint!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance was outstanding. The drinks ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The ambiance was outstanding. The drinks were spot-on, and the piano player was the best. It was a bit quiet when we were there but it was a week night. The server took a bit too long to come and see us, and during the course of the meal was absent a lot, but the service was decent, just slow. Server was knowledgeable about his products, and did a good job selling. Food was top notch. I had a dry aged Rib eye that was absolutely what you'd expect from Vernon's... delicious. The wife had shrimp and everything was delicious. They even treated us to dessert for our anniversary.

Very good experience. Would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I really enjoy the place, the theme is r ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I really enjoy the place, the theme is really diferent and ubique. The password waiting is the best hahaha waiting for the password info to get in and the first caracter are the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have not been to Vernon's in a long ti ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have not been to Vernon's in a long time and was impressed by their new menu and greater selection of items. Vernon's is much more than just steak. They had a great selection including a vegetarian dish for my friend. Food was delicious and service was top notch! Awesome experience. Will be back very soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was different. Crab cakes were good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It was different. Crab cakes were good as was the Lobster Bisque. Lamb chops were cooked to perfection. We enjoyed our waiter Chris. He started out kind of brusque, but certainly lightened up by the end of our visit, even funny.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went there to celebrate our engagement. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went there to celebrate our engagement. Excellent food and service. Tomato bisque was outbof the world and we thought the only thing missing was a grilled cheese. We asked the waiter only half way jokingly, and within 5 minutes we had an off the menu grilled cheese that was phenominal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't usually care for themed restaura ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I don't usually care for themed restaurants but this one is very good great food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best dining in Abq!! Food is excellent. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best dining in Abq!! Food is excellent..ambiance is fabulous.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, wonderfull music, amaz ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great experience, wonderfull music, amazing food, a little pricey but worth the $. My wife loved it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed V ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed Vernon's. The theme was fun yet romantic and sexy. We had a blast. The service was excellent, however despite our server being outstanding overall, his personality was slightly less "formal" than expected considering the overall theme and class of the establishment. The dim lighting was romantic, yet way too dim for me, causing me eye strain. I was unable to read the menu without using my cell phone screen as a book light.

The ONLY reason I make these criticisms is simply because this isn't Mc'Donalds and for $150 for a dinner for two, I reserve the privilege of making such minor criticisms such as I wouldn't at a "normal" restaurant. The food was worth every bit of the bill and I look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was not as good as other times. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was not as good as other times. My steak was not cooked very well. I had the ribeye.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our entire evening was amazing. Service, ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our entire evening was amazing. Service, food, drinks, etc. all was perfect! Thank you so much!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion! The ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great place for a special occasion! The service was excellent and we loved our food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was the highlight of our ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This restaurant was the highlight of our trip. It was great and the food was great also

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fun place! Just getting there wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

What a fun place! Just getting there was quite an experience! From the minute we were 'allowed' to enter we had a blast. The steaks were absolutely delicious as was the rest of the meal. Since I'm a sweet-aholic the dessert was to die for! Watching my cousin relax and laugh was worth every penny. She takes care of her husband who is on hospice so it was a much needed treat for her. It was a wonderful experience overall and I am looking forward to dining at Vernon's again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great, especially our coc ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was great, especially our cocktails. My husband's Manhattan was perfect, and my Sazerac was as good as any in New Orleans. Of course, our meals were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would have been nice to know that the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It would have been nice to know that the steak special my husband ordered was $125! No one said a word when we ordered. I spend all kinds of money on food, and I don't bat an eye at expensive dinners. But that was outrageous, especially since it was just "pretty good." Don't think I will be back. Still miffed.

Otherwise, atmosphere was fun, quiet, cocktails were good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Giving the password to be allowed entran ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Giving the password to be allowed entrance was fun, and the bouncer was great and on point. Our food was delicious- filet minon, mushrooms, potatoes. Table bread was also served. We ordered Old Fashioned cocktails and they accommodated. Large menu, large drink menu. We even were given a tour of the whole place and the secret passages and doors really add to the ambiance and keep the noise down. Though we are from out of town, we would come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, ambience, and staff were all s ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food, ambience, and staff were all so amazing! I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, my wife and I enjoyed ourselves as ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fun, my wife and I enjoyed ourselves as we celebrated 35 years of marriage. We have talked up Vernons with our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined at Vernon's Speakeasy on Monday ni ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Dined at Vernon's Speakeasy on Monday night with my husband. It was our first time and we were sent there by a friend. The food, service, and ambiance were amazing! I had the filet and could cut it with my fork. My husband had the ribeye. Both steaks were perfectly cut and very flavorful. We will be back soon. Fabulous experience and a perfect date night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not out of the ordinary fare... ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was not out of the ordinary fare...but was very good. Drinks weak and the wine list mediocre at best. Cost a bit high for the type of cuisine served but again, food was well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was okay but the service and am ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was okay but the service and ambiance were over the top! The piano player was worth the price of the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I always wanted to dine at Vernon's. I f ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I always wanted to dine at Vernon's. I finally got the chance and loved everything about it. The service was outstanding, food was excellent, the decorations and theme were wonderful. Wish the room was set up to view the pianist, I could hear the music, but never once got to see the musician. Overall, thumbs up place to go!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice setting from the moment you wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice setting from the moment you walk in to the moment you walk out. Very mellow nice and comfortable setting. The food was amazing very well prepared. Our waiter was the best very knowledgable on the items we ordered. I really like the fact that local riots and vegetables are being used. It goes to show that we here in the state have a very well mixture variety of places to get the things needed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.