About Vernon's Speakeasy

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: 5053410831x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (65)
Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (56)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Cozy (39)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Live Music (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Fun (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Authentic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Business Meals (13)
Private Room (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Fireplace (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Historic (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food friendly staff great plac ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food friendly staff great place if you want to impress a date or new business contacts they know how to make you feel important. My server was the best very helpful with recommendations made my date feel like she was special highly recommended thank you for all you do vernons .

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but drink nothing (gin) speci ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food, but drink nothing (gin) special. Overpriced for meals and drinks. Perhaps early dinner specials or happy hour?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I did not really know what to expect and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

I did not really know what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. Vernon's had the feel of an old-time speakeasy, with guy at the door asking for the password. The bat and the house rules was a nice touch. Everyone was very nice. The restaurant was nice, quiet (but yet a full house). The food and service was really great.

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Came up to visit with my niece. Great ex ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Came up to visit with my niece. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was an excellent place to dine, great ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

it was an excellent place to dine, great atmosphere, very romantic...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wifes Seabass dinner was not good. Ou ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

My wifes Seabass dinner was not good. Our waiter was there to remedy the problem. Follow up call was appreciated. My steak and lobster dinner was great. Thank you for delivering roses to table. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Bone-in Ribeye was a little "tough" bein ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Bone-in Ribeye was a little "tough" being cooked medium-well with enough pink in the middle. Typically this Bone-in Ribeye in more tender. Must of been a bad cut of meat?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I love going to Vernon's. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and I love going to Vernon's. We realized that we recently had the same waiter as we had two years ago! Great waiter, knowledgeable, interesting guy to talk with. The atmosphere is fun yet seductive. The music, whether it's piped in or live, is perfect. We both said it felt like we were somewhere else, i.e., Chicago, New York, etc. Now the food! The crab cake appetizer rivals those I've had on the east coast. No kidding! While the menu isn't extensive, it's my feeling that it doesn't need to be. Sure it's a bit pricey, but it is totally worth it. The steaks are cooked to perfection--always. This is our favorite special place to go to. Please don't change a thing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very well done, from drinks to food to s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very well done, from drinks to food to service! Great steaks and appetizers. And service was excellent, kudos to Kristin! We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing first experience. I h ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely amazing first experience. I had family in from out of town and wanted to take them to a one of a kind Albuquerque restaurant that they will never forget. Needless to say we were all wowed by the expierience overall from the password at the door to the service and dining. This is a must do!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was really slow . I know it was ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

service was really slow . I know it was New Year's Eve but even getting our water refilled took forever!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Service was excellent on New Years and t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent on New Years and the food outstanding ... highly recommend!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere is great, food was delici ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The atmosphere is great, food was delicious, the service itself was good, but slow. A relaxing dinner is fine, but two hours was longer than we wanted to spend. After appetizers it took a long time to get our salad, then waited a long time for our main course, desert and then for the ticket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our first experience at Vernon's ... had ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our first experience at Vernon's ... had a great cocktail in lounge. Josh is a skilled mixologist, enjoyed a French 75 and a Dillinger. Both were tasty!

Service by Dusty nice, attentive, yet unobtrusive. We all had beef which was ordinary for the price. We expected extraordinary for the price. Prime rib, Ribeye (boneless) and Los Ranchos Star bone-in were ordered... good but not the best we've had. Fantastic wine list and a great Cabernet Sauvignon enjoyed!

Overall, a fun "speakeasy" experience, which you can't get everywhere! Must try!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant has a great gimmick goin ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This restaurant has a great gimmick going-- you actually have to knock on an unmarked door & say the password of the day to enter. Then you get a lecture by a "mob-type" person about expected behavior. He actually gets a baseball bat to explain what will happen if you get out of line. It's really fun. The service was good after that, and our waitress was cheerful and knowledgeable. However, my vegetarian option was tasteless and actually upset my stomach a lot later that night. Two of our group liked their entrees and the other one said his was just OK, Two who ordered dessert loved their cream brûlée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Excellent overall experience. Polite an ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent overall experience. Polite and attentive service accompanied with delicious food. Filet and ribeye were spectacular. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vernons rocks. Enough said. It was my ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Vernons rocks. Enough said. It was my dads birthday and we had a great time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No matter the occasion, THIS is the plac ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

No matter the occasion, THIS is the place to be. And Gabrielle is the waiter to have. This is the 3rd time we've been to Vernon's, and it was just as special as the first time. I highly recommend this restaurant. And if you want to be pampered and made to feel special, ask for Gabrielle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you have the funds and you want an in ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 22, 2016

If you have the funds and you want an incredible meal (steaks are incredible!) this is the place. You get what you pay for but it's sooooo worth it. Staff was friendly and on point. If you're trying to choose between Ruth Chris or Vernons...It's gotta be Vernon's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vernons is an all-encompassing atmospher ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Vernons is an all-encompassing atmosphere. Although the price is higher than most places, the food is amazing and the service is impeccable! I highly reccomend taking a date or celebrating a special occasion with these folks!

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Historic, Private Room, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster bisque was amazing-their signatu ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Lobster bisque was amazing-their signature dish! Prices were pretty high, but portions are such that you can share if you don't have a big appetite. This was our first experience with a speakeasy and that was fun, but it's definitely a place for a special occasion-not an 'every weekend' restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent drinks, food, service and musi ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent drinks, food, service and music! A great place for our small office Christmas dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous anniversary experience ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a fabulous anniversary experience at Vernon's! Our server was superb and lived listening to the live piano. Truly one of a kind and the best steak in New Mexico!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the perfect spot for a special d ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is the perfect spot for a special dinner. Food is of the highest quality, the service impeccable and the ambiance unlike any other. We particularly like that we can each create our perfect plate of meat, starch, vegetables, sauces and accompaniments. Their bar and extensive wine list is impressive. Fine dining, but not stuffy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Afternoon, I find it neces ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good Afternoon,

I find it necessary to write to express my disappointment in visiting Vernon’s for the first time on Saturday, December 9th. To celebrate a post bachelors education accomplishment it was suggested that we go to the “hidden steakhouse”. With neither of us eating beef, I was a bit hesitant, but from the experience that my daughter had she raved about the scallops she had and her date the salmon. To duplicate her visit, my husband ordered Salmon, and I had scallops. I did not find a scallop entrée on the menu (only an appetizer), however in speaking with the waiter, he said very often it is a dish that is ordered and there would be no problem. To begin our meal, we ordered duck tacos for an appetizer. We ate one each, and had one left over. Our server said that he would box that one up and hold it in the cooler so we could take with us. (I guess he forget and so did we, as we didn’t get home with it). When our entrée came out, I was extremely disappointed at the size of the 4 baby (very small) scallops and the baked potato which both were at best luke warm in temperature. The plate presentation lacked luster and presentation. I asked my husband how his salmon was, and his comment was that it was overcooked, and not great. Having waited for so long to dine at your establishment this experience was so very disappointing. Perhaps with us not eating steak (which is what you are known for) our restaurant selection should have been different.

Service...overall minus the small duck taco snafu excellent.

Regards,

Octavia Locke

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was amazing, service a little slow, ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was amazing, service a little slow, the corner we were seated in was almost too dark to read the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Quiet, creative, great for people watchi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Quiet, creative, great for people watching, very entertaining, great for special occasions and food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Historic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal--excellent servi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had a wonderful meal--excellent service, great atmosphere and outstanding foodles quality. I will definitely be a return customer.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tough to justify high end pricing for st ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Tough to justify high end pricing for steaks. They were okay, $47 for an average filet is not reasonable. Deserts were average .... lobster bisque for $11 should have LOTS of lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Normally Vernon's is excellent, but this ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Normally Vernon's is excellent, but this visit wasn't that great. 7:15 reservation, but arrived at 6:45. Sat us in the bar to wait. Bar area had one other guest. They ran out of filet mignon. The aged beef wasn't worth the price (a quarter of the serving was just fat and it was very sinewy. Maybe it was a bad cut). The one filet mignon we did get was good. The waiter wasn't attentive (but he was pleasant when we did see him).

The bouncer in the front was awesome as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Had the rib eye and shrimp scampi and bo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Had the rib eye and shrimp scampi and both were amazing. The atmosphere was perfect with a fireplace and live piano for an intimate dinner. The service was outstanding. It started with a call beforehand to ensure our assigned table accommodated our desires and concluded with the wait staff who made great recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambiance, spectacular service, very ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Nice ambiance, spectacular service, very good food

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this place. everything o ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Absolutely love this place. everything on the menu is exquisite

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Private Room, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The host, bar and wait staff were all ve ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The host, bar and wait staff were all very friendly and professional. Food was really good, but everything took way too long. We arrived at ~7:30 for a 7:45 reservation. We were seated at 8:15 (mix up with our reservation I believe) and didn't get our food until after 9:30 (and didn't order any appetizers). We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to enjoy it so we stayed positive the entire time but were disappointed by how long everything took.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

I'm leaving for the navy in a few days s ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I'm leaving for the navy in a few days so I thought I'd take my girlfriend out for some fine dining. Was delicious, fun, and pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience whether birthday or anniv ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Our experience whether birthday or anniversary has been amazing! Highly Recommend! Gabe is a awesome server makes sure youre taken care of no matter the means 👍🏻

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers and Entrees were great.....th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Appetizers and Entrees were great.....the bread was not what I would expect from this type of establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

$55 for Cioppino appetizer - Ridiculous! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

$55 for Cioppino appetizer - Ridiculous! Wish we knew the price before we ordered. Waiter failed to tell us this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

This restaurant is a great throw back to ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This restaurant is a great throw back to the old speak easy days. The steak was tender and flavorful. Great wine list. My husband had the Salmon and was so pleased. Would recommend going.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, ambiance and service at Vernon ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food, ambiance and service at Vernon's are consistently outstanding.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.