Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Vernon's Speakeasy

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: (505) 341-0831

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (75)
Special Occasion (72)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
See All
Romantic (66)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Cozy (38)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Authentic (32)
Live Music (32)
Fun (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Business Meals (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Historic (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Fireplace (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Organic (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 21 hours ago

Unique experience and great good! The asparagus con carne are delicious! The steaks were amazing. Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

My only mild complaint was the light level, which is typical for this type of restaurant, in that it was a little too dim for me to read the menu easily (but then, I'm older and carry a pocket flashlight for that reason). The food, service, and atmosphere were excellent. I will be returning, lots of items to explore on the menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

The service from our waitress Brittany was excellent. The food was delicious and filling. Steaks were tender more than expected. Great atmosphere but a bit dark. Overall the best food we have had in awhile.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

Best steak we have experienced in all of New Mexico. Desserts were memorable too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I really did love our time there. It was our 2 year anniversary and they did something nice for us such as giving us free dessert. The only thing that I did not like was how long everything took to come to us. We spent 2 hours there and most of it was waiting for food. when the food did come it was amazing but I had just wished we got our food faster

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Fun atmosphere and a place to dress up and get fancy. Loved the ambiance at the bar and the server we had was very social and knowledgeable about the food selections and was very attentive. We'll go back again for sure.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Vernon's. It was a little hard to find...
what Speakeasy is not, but we remembered the password! The entrance performance was
fun and the actor believable. The waiter was very professional and the food was excellent.
If you have the funds to spend, it is worth the effort.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food was amazing!! Service was outstanding. Wonderful experience

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Outstanding service. The waitress played the song I proposed to and gave us a free dessert. Phenomenal steak. They have my service.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The food did not support the cost, but the atmosphere made up for it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

First time there after several years of thinking it was too fancy for my tastes. I couldn't have been more wrong. The atmosphere was very cozy and intimate, great for a romantic evening (anniversary in our case). The service was world class and Gabriel, our waiter, was the best server in at least a dozen countries. He helped me make my dinner choices by listening, offering advice and with a thorough knowledge of the menu and the food's compatibility with my cocktail from the bar. The food is amazing and the talented singer/player at the piano bar was soothing while still engaging. Vernon's is definitely upscale and not inexpensive but the combination of food and service makes it a must at least once in one's lifetime. There was an issue with a loud table nearby. Vernon's staff and management took care of the issue making the experience highly satisfactory. I wholeheartedly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 2, 2017

As always the experience was great, we had someone in our party who never had dined at Vernon's. Needless to say he was blown away with the entry, the food the service and of course the ambience. I highly recommend it to anyone who has never gone.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Very Pricey But worth every penny, No question a place for special occasions unless your wealthy. Went for my Anniversary/Birthday and it was top notch. They definitely make sure you get your moneys worth because they know your paying top dollar. I loved it and will go back again when the occasion calls. I was blown away!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Best dining experience we have ever had! It was fun going through the secret passageways and having a password. Vernon's served up the best steak I ever had. Gabe was our server and he was awesome. I could not rate a place any higher than this!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2017

wonderful special dinner on a anniversary date night.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at Vernon's. It's a unique experience, I dont think there's anything else in Albuquerque like it. A little expensive, but the food and the service are first-rate. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Organic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The whole Speakeasy thing was a bit hokey. Steaks were delicious but atmosphere is blah. Waiter uphold us a $70 steak without divulging the price. They did take $20 off when I complained and I did get a delicious complimentary birthday dessert. Still wouldn't recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Never disappointed when dining at Vernon's. The staff is always very accommodating and the food is some of the best in all of New Mexico.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The food was really wonderful! The service was on point. They really know how to pamper! It was a little pricey but it was fun and the food was so, so good! I especially loved the asparagus and the scallops. My mother especially liked the piano player.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This place was AMAZING! Something my girlfriend and I had been wanting to try and it was absolutely perfect! Our waiter was great and knowledgeable and the food was fantastic. I would recommend to anyone wanting to take their loved one out for a romantic dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This was an awesome experience! Upset I haven't gone sooner. Drinks were amazing, food was absolutely delicious, atmosphere was the best. I'll definitely be returning. Truly a treat

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This place is always good. Food is prepared wonderfully. The staff is TOP notch and the overall experience is just wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I went for my birthday & I couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate. The food was absolutely amazing! I had the filet mignon with cream spinach, tender, juicy and cooked to perfection. The prime rib, lobster & NY strip were all mouth-watering as well & for dessert I had a special treat from the chef, complete with birthday candle! Vernon's far exceeded my expectations. We all had a lovely night & look forward to our next visit to try more delicious dishes!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had such a good time! Food was t he best I've had in a while and all my friends loved their meals! Piano player was awesome!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It's been 3 days ago and my wife is still talking about how awesome the experience was

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Booth was nice to be able to reserve. Great service. Overall great night.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Vernon's serves the best steak in town, and the side dishes are excellent as well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Thank you Vernons for returning my sun glasses. Great place great people. Excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was our first visit and it definitely met our expectations! Fun experience and food was fresh and delicious. Drinks were very good as well. Shawn, our waiter, was so friendly and helpful. Perfect place for a date night or special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great place I will definitely be going back to take the rest of my family, amazing service and food was really good joe was our waiter and he did a great job

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was the best place I have ever been to! The service was impeccable!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Service was attentive, friendly, respectful and well organized. The folks working there clearly seem to love their jobs. We were pleasantly surprised that the side dishes, especially and including the obviously fresh, seasonal vegetables, were very well prepared. A lot of times at "steak" type restaurants they really neglect or over-cook the veggies. By the way: that was, hands-down, the best lobster and filet my husband and I have ever eaten. Awesome atmosphere and decor. Would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was AMAZING! One problem was that it was supposed to be a quiet ambience but there was a party of 5 by us that was extremely loud. I did not want to cause a scene and hoped the waitress would say something. Neither happened. Aside from that it was great.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The restaurant resident artist and notable wine expert took care of us. His extensive knowledge and care was extensive. We dine often and are very impressed with the quality of the food, atmosphere, and service. We enjoyed the scallops, crab cakes, and filet mignon. Our wine was high end and excellent. We just love Vernons.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Organic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Best Lobster Bisque soup in town. Great steaks. Sterling Margarita is amazing. Service is outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We really loved Vernon's. We came to Albuquerque for a random visit and found this. We loved the entry, the meal, the atmosphere, the drinks. The steaks were perfect, the service was amazing. There were multiple staff providing service. The fireplace was romantic, the dining area was elegant and low lit. We didn't get to enjoy the piano area but we would definitely go back! They even called us to ask if we had a good evening the next day.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The greatest scallops we ever ate! The atmosphere was terrific. Great variety on the menu. And the lemon cheesecake was to die for. Would definitely come back and recommend to friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had never been to Vernon's before and found ourselves charmed by the speakeasy theme. It makes the restaurant more of an experience. The food was not adventurous but was excellent upscale steakhouse fare. We were there for a special occasion, and found that a free dessert was part of our evening. Be prepared to spend some money.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Coffee was cold when brought to the table, also two Irish coffees were also cold. Price for a half order of scallops to go with prime rib dinner was expensive. Service was not always good, did not get wine poured when glasses got low. While some of the prime rib was good, some parts were chewy. Based on past dinners, this time was not as good. Wednesday was a slow night - only a few tables had customers - so service should have been better? Regrettably it seems that the restaurant may be slipping.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.