Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 4/22
Time
10:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Vernon's Speakeasy

4.7
2732 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Perfect For:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speakeasy restaurant in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am (last dining reservation at 9:30).
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 341-0831
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Kim Baird: (505) 341-0831
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Osuna
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking Lot
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Kosher, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2732 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

We loved the atmosphere Fun place to go to We would recommend it to friends Food great but a lot We were from out of town so couldn't take any home

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Food was solid. Very big portions. Maybe a little too big. Atmosphere was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

I love it here. Always a fan of the dry age steak. Great wine/alcohol list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great, and I mean great food. It better at their prices too. They are expensive! But for once and while special occasions, perfect. My complaints are very superficial. 1. It was very noisy. I thought it was gonna be a dressed up facny evening. People were there in jeans and t shirts (which is fine I just thought it was fancy), and we couldn't hear each other. 2. The speakeasy theme was really cool in the begging with the password and the door guys speech! But, after that it was just a restaurant. It would have been nice for the theme to carry through to the dinning experience too. That's it. That's all I can say. It was awesome! Can't wait until next year to go again! GET THE QUAIL

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great night and lots of fun. Food was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We had a great experience! Food was phenomenal! Definitely recommend and will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

I always wanted to go to Vernon’s Speakeasy, and when the opportunity came, Vernon’s was everything I expected and more! If you want to romance your spouse, amazing food, or just an ambiance like no other, Vernon’s Speakeasy is your restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Our server was excellent. Made great recommendations and was so friendly. we enjoyed the ambiance, food and wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This was a terrific, unique dining experience! We'll definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Had a great experience here! Kristen, our waitperson, was very professional and friendly. Our steak was cooked to perfection. Quiet, dimly lit, Chicago atmosphere with great background music. Not easy to find if you can’t follow the clues! Just find the address and KNOCK! Can’t wait to take unsuspecting friends here. Be sure to click on the menu and know beforehand prices and selections. It’s not cheap, but it’s worth the unique dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I took my wife there to celebrate her birthday. I didn't tell her a head of time, but I gave it away during the drive there. She was absolutely thrilled that we were going to Vernon's. We both like it and it's just a neat place to go. We both had the ribeye and baked potatoe. She had a crab/bernaise sauce on her's, I had half a lobster tail with mine. My lobster tail wasn't the best, but the rest of it made up for that. They even had a little dessert made up for my wife and she said it was really good. I had the New York style cheesecake. Simply marvelous!!! Our waiter, and I don't know that I ever caught his name, was one of the best any where that we have had take care of us. It was an absolute success on my part, and Vernon's is and will be our choice of someplace special to go for those special occasions.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I expected a top of the line experience considering the word of mouth that was circulating about this place. It went from okay, to bad, to worse. I made it clear to the staff that I hadn’t been here before and bearing that in mind, I expected to be part of the restaurant, instead we were sat in the corner with an almost empty restaurant. I went to the restrooms where there was no tissue and no paper towels which I decide to look past but then my waitress rubbed me the wrong way. I expressed to her that I did not want anything to drink because I forgot my wallet at home but my boyfriend ordered himself a Tito’s and tonic. A little while later, there are multiple plates and glasses on the table. He happened to sit his beverage somewhat close to me and the waitress accused me of drinking his drink with no ID. I was sipping on water for the whole 20 minutes we were there. My boyfriend was tryng to do something nice for me and they blew my entire experience. Needless to say, we left before we got our food. What was worth noting was how polite and generous the manager was. He paid for the one beverage we had and our salads when he realized we weren’t satisfied, I made it clear to him that I receive better service at Chili’s and that we likely would not be back. We were just a little disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Took my lady here for a date/dine evening. Great place terrific service and we were treated how we like which is above average and the service here was spectacular. Will certainly recommend and will have to come back because it was just that good. Great Place worth enjoying.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

If I could give six stars for ambience, I would. Great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Celebrated my 21st birthday here, the staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Food was unbelievable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Delish definitely a wonderful place to eat we love the the show

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Vernon's speak easy has a great atmosphere and food. We went on Easter Sunday for the brunch and it was great. We will return to sample the regular menu at our first opportunity. It's an authentic speak-easy, and you'll need a password to get past the bouncer at the door. The drink selection is great, and the seating is quite comfortable. The ambiance is authentic, and quite a bit of fun.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I have been to Vernon's for dinner and had a fantastic experience. The food and service was unbelievable. This was my first time visiting the restaurant for brunch and it did not meet my expectations! The food was overpriced for the quality and the service was painfully slow, though there were very few tables in the entire restaurant.
I would only recommend for dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My boyfriend and I came to Vernons for my Birthday. It was amazing! The food was to die for and the atmosphere was so relaxing. I highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

A special treat! Ambiance unique and fun. Excellent entrees and wine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food was fantastic. The staff were friendly and did a wonderful job. I will be going back for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

As usual, Vernon's did not disappoint. The steaks were fantastic, the lamb was superb, and the wine choice that our server (Gabe) recommended was right on point. Everything from the wonderfully concocted cocktails, to the delicious green chili Caesar was perfect! We will most definitely be coming back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at Vernon’s and really enjoyed the feeling that we were out of town! The service is excellent, the suggestions our waiter made were right on, our steak and scallops were perfectly prepared and everything as delicious! There were several nice wines by the glass, and we were brought a desert for our celebration. Though the restaurant is top dollar, the whole experience was well worth the expense!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We have been to Vernon's Speakeasy on numerous occasions for our anniversary. Have always had a memorable experience, quite & romantic. This last visit a group of 7 patrons were sat right next to us which were a bit loud for the atmosphere I was looking for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Looking to rekindle the flame with your spouse? Wanting to impress That special someone? Look no further. Vernon's speakeasy is the place of choice..As soon as you walk in, you are introduced to the elegant beauty of the mob lifestyle..a place of warmth, privacy, wealth, and the feeling that you can have anything with the wink of an eye or violent snap of the fingers. Paying $48 for a 16oz NY strip steak is a small price for a cut that is prepared with such caution. The service is; of course, what you would except from other mobsters beneath you.. They answer to you without hesitation. From placing the cloth on your lap as you are seated, to escorting you out, knowing you will be back time and time again. Patiently awaiting your return..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Excellent!! 🥩

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Was a wonderful experience and made a special ocassion quite special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Steak was over cooked and not cooked evenly. Service average.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

We very much enjoyed visiting Vernon’s during our stay in Albuquerque. It was a very unique establishment, and the food was perfection. Thank you so much for a memorable evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Just enjoyed the experience, food and service was perfect

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Food was disappointing..not up to par. Steak was tough and the wife's seafood was closer to sushi. Prime rib was unremarkable. They had to bring out the peppers for my green beans and red peppers...I dont quite understand that... arent they cooked together? The pastry chef didn't make enough bread pudding so I had to do without..seems the kitchen had an off day.
Service was excellent
Ambience was fun as always
Need to do a bit more quality control on the food ..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The best steak hoise ive been too in Albuquerque. Definetly going again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Interesting place and certainly not the typical "steakhouse". Service was very good and wait staff was pleasant and professional. The prime rib was quite good and served per request.My wife had a salmon dish and liked it as well. Maybe a little pricey, but an overall good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

If you're looking for Instagram worthy food that also tastes great, look no further than Vernon's. This was the second time I've been to the speakeasy, and I will continue to recommend dining here at least once in your life, if not every time you want to treat yo' self.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Our son was going on a Hero's Journey and we were having one last fling before he left. We had the best time ever. This is about our 5th trip in the past 10 months. Vernon's is great if you want the very best in food and service. Our wait person was Sterling who lived up to his namesake. He was fabulous. Out usual waiter, Sean, was sick. Sean is superb. Ask for either Sean or Sterling. You will have a memorable great evening.
I had the (10 oz.) roast pork tenderloin and it was cooked exactly how I asked for it. My wife had the lamb chops, also to die for. Our son had a surf (lobster tail) and turf special, also a fantastic choice. When you really want to "Be Good to Yourself" or your friends or business associates: this is The place to do it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great staff
Delicious food
Super fun theme
Perfect for a date

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great place, great service had a great time! Celebrated a birthday and the staff as was very attentive. Food was great we enjoyed our time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Outstanding in every way... I loved the bouncer at the door! He took his job very seriously and was absolutely wonderful at it!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We were celebrating 2 birthdays (71 and 92), and Vernon's was highly recommended for a special event occasion. We loved the gangster era genre, the secret password to get in using the black door with the red light above. All of that was so much fun and different, and was perfect for our special occasions. It's a little pricey for general dining, but worthwhile for out-of-town-guests, birthdays, etc. The food was delicious, the staff were very fun and entertaining, and the service was fabulous. We were there on a Wednesday, but I'd like to go back when the piano player is there - weekends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 13, 2018

We LOOOOOOOVED it!!! My wife and I were celebrating our 18th anniversary and we were blown away. The food, the drinks, the service, the ambiance...it was an EXPERIENCE! We absolutely can’t wait to go back. We had the 21 day dry-aged Ribeye (the crust....oh my goodness) with pan-seared Scallops (so delicate and clean), the adult Mac N Cheese (wow) and the half fried seafood appetizer (the sauce...mmmmmm) with some drinks (Lagavulin and Hennessy XO). IT WAS SUBLIME. We listened to our Guide (he was too good to be called a server or waiter) and he steered us right.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
69