Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Vernon's Speakeasy

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: (505) 341-0831

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (88)
Good for a Date (84)
Romantic (78)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Worth the Drive (33)
Fun (33)
Live Music (32)
Cozy (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Authentic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Local Ingredients (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Fireplace (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Historic (14)
Business Meals (13)
Late-night Find (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Casual (9)
Private Room (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great Beer (7)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Healthy (5)
Organic (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

Sterling, Josh, and all of the staff were amazing. As usual. Food was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

We went with friends for my birthday. I enjoyed my filet mignon it was delicous. My boyfriend got the prime rib and said it was ok nothing too special and almost bland. The atmosphere was nice. Service by Christine and carlos was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful, from the speakeasy ambiance (password to get in, gangster style host, secret entrance). Service was fast, professional and not at all pushy. The jazz pianist was perfect for the mood. Food was excellent - highly recommend the scallops, they were fresh with an excellent demi glaze. Lamb chops and salmon were also great. Topped of with a cordial and New York cheesecake ended a perfect dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love it. Everyone is always helpful and kind. Good food. Great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good food, ambiance, quality service, local restaurant, variety of dishes, ability to change contents of dish, and carry vegetarian dishes, also. Favorite place to eat and visit with friends or family.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have never paid $72 for a steak but this piece of meat was the size of a pot roast! Perfect for my husband. The service was excellent. I loved the atmosphere and the man at the front door was PERFECT! I surprised my husband on our anniversary as he LOVES the 1920's era and the mobsters of the time period. He was mesmerized by the experience. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wow! What an incredible evening! We thoroughly enjoyed our night at Vernon's! The food was amazing! We started with the Frito Misto, my fiancé had the Tequila Lime chicken and I had the Lamb Rack Chops. All were delicious! But our server Sean made our night absolutely fantastic! He was very informative and able to answer all our questions about the menu. He was very attentive and friendly! We will definitely be going back and requesting Sean as our server! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Outstanding service. Shawn, our waiter, was knowledgeable, professional, and caring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 12, 2017

When you get there, you are required to have a password, which they will send you the morning of your reservation. It's a fantastic place, especially when it's nice and quiet on the weekdays. If there are two of you, you probably won't leave spending less than $100, but it's absolutely worth it for a special event. It is a place that we like to bring company from out of town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our first meal at Speakeasy. Our server was outstanding. Unfortunately our meals were not as good. The calamari was outstanding and the very best part of our meal. My wife ordered the vegetarian entree with wild salmon. Sadly what she received was not wild salmon. I ordered the steamed green lip mussels. They were OK, slightly over cooked. At the end we split a key-lime pie which measured up to the calamari. My mistake was selecting a table near the piano. The piano player was outstanding. However, we could not carry on a conversation. Next time we will sit in another part of the restaurant. To Speakeasy's credit they comped my wife's entree. We will return for hopefully a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The 21 day aged steak is amazing. It's the second time I've had it i still love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've now been here twice and I absolutely love it. We plan to make going there a tradition. The environment is unique, the food is spectacular, and the staff rounds out the whole package into one amazing, unforgettable, experience.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We really enjoyed the whole evening at Vernon's from the password entrance, Mickies rules, dinner, and the service was excellent. It was my wifes birthday and they made it so special for her. We definately will recommend Vernon's to friends and family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Most of the food was EXCELLENT although a couple things were only 'good'. The service was TOP NOTCH! They called us the day of our reservation to confirm and to be certain we received our password. The wait staff was nothing less than AMAZING! Then they even called the day after to follow up and make sure we enjoyed our visit. Absolutely OUTSTANDING service! The Atmosphere was AWESOME. While we may not order some of the same things...we will DEFINITELY be dining there again. And the Blue Crap Cakes will most certainly be ordered...OUT OF THIS WORLD KIND OF DELICIOUS! Overall a wonderful experience and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Dinner here is always amazing! The bar has an amazing bartender that is very creative & can make any drink you are looking for. The service is always outstanding & will never disappoint. The steaks are so tender that you can cut them with a butter knife. This place is awesome for special occasions or just a good dinner! I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Late-night Find, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food and service. The crab cakes were the best we have had since we were in Maryland.

We both had a filet mignon and they were perfectly prepared. We also had a Caesar salad and the Lobster Bisque.

We ordered too much food in our zeal to try several things on the menu. It was all excellent but when we go again we will order less.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Excellent experience from top to bottom! I would highly recommend to anyone interested in exquisite dining!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Such a fun unique experience, from the password to get in to the incredible food and service!! This is definitely a place I'll come back too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This place is absolutely amazing, love the theme of the entire place and our waiter, Sterling made the experience even better, the food was fantastic can't say enough about Vernons.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Unique dining experience. Great staff and ambiance. The food was incredible. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The ambience is nice and the waiter was awesome. I had the shrimp which was really good. My husband ordered a ribeye and considering it was $39 it should have been a lot better. It was very thin and not a good quality cut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The ambiance was nice, our server was great. It's a little pricey so it wouldn't be a regular choice, but the experience was fun and makes it worth a visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Food was very good service fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I've been here before and LOVED it! This last time though, the service was not the best. This made me really sad since I know the service is fantastic as well as the food. We waited over 40 minutes for our waiter to appear and the guy we did get was good but clearly not the regular waiter. Something clearly went wrong but the great food made it manageable.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Organic, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Eating here is an experience. When you make a reservation, you are sent directions and the pass word. You knock on an unmarked door, the peep whole opens and you are asked the password, and if you are a cop. The greeting inside by a "gangster" who goes over the rules starts your experience out on a fun note. Once inside, it is dimly lit which adds to the ambience. There was a very good piano player and it was just the right amount of light pleasant music. The food was very good. Although I would call it a steak house, there was enough options to accommodate most any food preference. They own dry aged rib eye was fantastic! The Chocolate Decadence dessert was the perfect end to a great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

A hidden gem in Albuquerque! A must try if you are in the area - the food is always excellent and service is as well - we make it a point to have a dinner when we travel to this area as we know we will not be disappointed. I also love the theme of the place, from password to artwork and piano bar - very nice, not to be missed!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Amazing as always. Great bar menu too! Always a treat for us to "speak easy".

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We received a gift certificate to Vernons. I had heard lots of good things. From the moment we walked in the door until we walked out the door we received excellent service. The steaks were cooked to perfection and could be cut with a dinner fork. Had a great time. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great experience. Food was delicious and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The service at Vernons is impeccable. The piano player provided great ambiance. The food is unbelievably delicious. My wife and I will remember this anniversary dinner for a long time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The actors and servers did a good job. And it was a fun idea. But the food was just so-so, and definitely not worth the HUGE price tag. I can get MUCH better cocktails and better food at many restaurants around town that are half the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great atmosphere with a fun, speak easy vibe, great food (but a tad pricey), great service. I recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had an amazing time and we'll worth the money. Staff is absolutely top notch and go above and beyond to make sure your dinning experience is nothing shy than exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our waiter Sean was awesome! He had fantastic recommendations and knew the menu well. His service was excellent! We enjoyed everything we ordered. Appreciated that the restaurant accommodated a last minute reservation time change

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A great place to have that special Anniversary, Birthday or special dinner with friends. It is quiet and super staff and food.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

While in Albuquerque for work. We celebrated our 4 year Anniversary. This was a nice place. You will need a password to enter. They have a wide variety of whiskey which is awesome. We were seated in the VIP area. Our waiters Jose and Carlos were awesome. Damn good service from them both.
While dining we noticed that a staff member was walking around giving tours and spoke to everyone in the VIP section except us. Not sure what that was all about. But as we were leaving we asked who the gentleman was and was told he's the Director of VIP. Interesting... We were seated in VIP and he didn't greet us or introduce himself.

The I had the Chilean Seabass it was good. But the Spinach was suppose to have been sautéed and it wasn't but it was really oily. I sent the spinach back and got peas instead. Besides that the food was amazing!
And we appreciate Jose and Carlos.. best service!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a terrific meal, and, as in the past, the service was exemplary. We will be returning in the near future.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our server was fantastic. The food was amazing. My daughter loved the ambiance and the artwork on the walls. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious! Outstanding service!!!! The key lime pie was delicious, but I do wish you still had the tiramisu. I had the sea bass which was delicious but I didn't feel that it was worth the price of the meal, very small portion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.