About Vernon's Speakeasy

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: 5053410831x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Food
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
14 More
Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Best Value
New Mexico
Romantic
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Steak
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Food
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Best Value
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Most Booked
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Los Ranchos ›

Special Occasion (91)
Romantic (90)
Notable Wine List (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Late-night Find (27)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Live Music (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fun (4)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere. A true speakeasy! Had ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great atmosphere. A true speakeasy! Had to give the password to get in. Food was amazing. Service was ok. Our server wasn't attentive but all his assistants were. Water was always filled, dirty dishes were taken etc. The server seemed nervous or something. Would love to come back and try more food. Filet was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

It takes some diligence to find the loca ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

It takes some diligence to find the location, but it's worth it. Decor is dark, with gangster themed artwork, the waitstaff dressed in period garb, and a fun "entrance speech." Don't forget the password. The food is a combination of standard steakhouse fare, with some creative alternative dishes for those seeking a lighter meal. The wine list concentrates on California, and some nice selections that are fairly priced. Our waiter, Gabe, was outstanding - very attentive and informative, but not obtrusive. The food was prepared exactly as ordered, served promptly (but not hurriedly), and was excellent. Tender and juicy steaks, fresh seafood, all properly cooked and spiced. There is a piano bar, but we were there on a slow evening so didn't experience the live entertainment. We will go back next time we're in Albuquerque.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My company went to Vernon's Speakeasy to ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My company went to Vernon's Speakeasy to celebrate a work related milestone and we had a wonderful experience. We were greeted by a mobster and given our warnings and then lead to a private room for our group. The staff was outstanding! They were attentive, polite, and knowledgeable of the menu. The food was phenomenal! From the appetizers to the entrees to the desserts, everything was delicious! Our visit was absolutely perfect and we plan on returning whenever the next occasion arises.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect romantic atmosphere with live be ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Perfect romantic atmosphere with live beautiful piano music. The food was presented artistically abd was delicious. Service was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vernon's was AWESOME! The visit was inc ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Vernon's was AWESOME! The visit was incredible from start to finish! A true Speakeasy with tremendous service, food and decor. Unique and splendid gem! Don't miss it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just as described in the reviews. Greete ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Just as described in the reviews. Greeted by a "mobster" in all the get up and a club in his hand, (This has a 1930s bootlegger theme after we said the password for entry. Warning.......it is very expensive, but very good. Famous for huge steaks grilled to perfection. Various toppings available to top off the steaks. We each had the14 oz Rib Steak. It came with a veg of the day and a side (potato). That was after a starter we shared of scallops (excellent).

Full service bar and great wine list available. Service was outstanding. And the bread (made in house) was wonderful. Needless to say, we took home a lot of leftovers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

More than a nice restaurant eating a nic ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

More than a nice restaurant eating a nice meal, Vernon's was an experience to be remembered. From being greeted by a palooka with a baseball bat threatening to break your bones if he hears your cellphone go off to the outstanding service to the pianist playing the tunes that were so special, to the magnificent food, nothing could have been any better for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, excellent service and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent service and food. This is a place for a romatic evening, gathering of small group, dressing up in 1920's style. Low lighting, speakeasy entrance & 20's decor add to the ombiance. Food was excellent, tho known for there excellent steaks, the quail, pork chops are just as great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, loved the food, and r ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great atmosphere, loved the food, and really enjoyed the private speakeasy vibe. The live pianist really set the mood for the whole night. The only I can critique is the wait for our food was kind of long and our waiter didn't really check up on us until after we finished our entree.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Vernon's is always a great place to have ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Vernon's is always a great place to have a delicious dinner! The waiters are fabulous, and it's fun to have to give your password through the opening like a speakeasy. I had the ribeye steak and it was done perfectly, just a little more cooked than rare.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was cooked exactly as requested ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our food was cooked exactly as requested. The wait staff was extremely attentive. We were seated in the piano area, and the piano player was very talented. My only complaint would be that the wine glasses were twice the size of the wine that was poured. The wine itself was very good though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The speakeasy had an off night. The fil ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The speakeasy had an off night. The filet mignon was dry and tough, not juicy and tender. Vernon's had not disappointed previously, and I'll be back for my next special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

As vegetarian, I always figured Vernon's ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

As vegetarian, I always figured Vernon's wasn't for me (it's a steakhouse afterall) but recently noticed that they have a rotating vegetarian option on their menu, as well as a tasty looking salmon dish for my husband. So we went for his birthday dinner and were both delighted. The baked brie was amazing, the watercress salad was memorable and our (non-steak) entrees were excellent. The atmosphere was fun and service was superb. It's a bit pricey but for a special occasion we'll definitely go back and will send friends there who are looking for a fun and delicious special treat.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it! We had a great time, food was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Loved it! We had a great time, food was delicious and service outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a friend here for her Bacheloret ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We took a friend here for her Bachelorette Party. I can only say that it was probably her favorite part of the entire night. We had a very attentive waiter/sommelier that was knowledgeable about the history of the restaurant and was very in tune to our needs and ensuring that we had a memorable experience. The ambiance here is phenomenal, and you really feel the vibe that the restaurant is known for. The Prime Rib is probably the best thing I have ever put in my mouth. This place is worth visiting.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service...good music. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food and service...good music. All in all very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed celebrating our daughter's 25 ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating our daughter's 25th birthday at Vernon's. The food was tasty and the wine was superb. The ambiance is great and the piano player was very talented playing very good music. The prices are too high, though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun and unique atmosphere. The menu was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fun and unique atmosphere. The menu was fantastic and had a good balance of affordable and pricey items. The staff were wonderful and accommodating when we combined two meals, the bartender was fantastic! This place is a 'must do' for visitors and I look forward to the next date night to spend here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food! Outstanding service! O ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding food! Outstanding service! Outstanding ambiance! If someone gives Vernon's less than 5 stars, please check out their other reviews! I'm guessing they cannot be pleased and blast everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the meal i was presented paled in compar ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

the meal i was presented paled in comparison to my friend's which made the first impression quite lowly. The vibe from the restaurant's theme seemed to fit quite nicely and the service was overall good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Kristen continues to wow us with her out ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Kristen continues to wow us with her outstanding customer service and knowledge of the menu and wine list. Vernon's Speakeasy has, by far, the best French Onion soup I have ever tasted! Everyone at our table loved the quality and classy preparation & presentation of our meals, including our daughter, the chef. Thanks again for continuing to be the best of the best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the ambiance, and it m ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We really enjoyed the ambiance, and it made for a perfect date night. The food was delicious and we had great service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an exceptional dining experienc ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was an exceptional dining experience! The ambiance, service, food, everything was absolutely perfect. I was most surprised by the phone call we received the day after we dined here, calling to ask how our food, service and over all experience was. I've certainly never had a restaurant call me the day after to check in and see how everything was, so that was a nice touch! We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food service and ambiance. W ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding food service and ambiance. Would highly recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best classic food experience ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

One of the best classic food experience we've had in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant, good vibe, excelle ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent restaurant, good vibe, excellent food. I would go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I loved the atmosphere, t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I loved the atmosphere, the food, and service. All of the staff is friendly and strive toward excellent customer service. The big bonus that all of this really supports is the theme of the restaurant. It provides a unique experience without sacrificing quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was fun. We enjoyed time ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The atmosphere was fun. We enjoyed time at the bar before being seated. Our server was friendly and the food was delicious. The entire staff was quick, efficient and friendly. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The power was out, but we stayed. We we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The power was out, but we stayed. We were enjoying the piano music and we were fine with it. Problem was the waitress. She was sharp toned and stressed out. We know it was a bad day, but...we said we wanted to share a dish -- and she retorted about a split charge fee for the service. Seriously? We are hanging in there, in the dark, trying to be good customers when others are leaving, and you want to charge us nickels and dimes? Then she got very frustrated when the credit card didn't work on her machine -- but it worked fine on a another machine. The evening would have been a big win without her stressed out behavior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and tried Vernon's due to the nice reputation. Our expectations were met and exceeded. Fun place to dine and the food was a total pleasure to enjoy. Steaks were cooked perfectly and the salads were top-notch.

Our server was friendly, knowledgeable, and funny. This place does not disappoint!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance was outstanding. The drinks ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The ambiance was outstanding. The drinks were spot-on, and the piano player was the best. It was a bit quiet when we were there but it was a week night. The server took a bit too long to come and see us, and during the course of the meal was absent a lot, but the service was decent, just slow. Server was knowledgeable about his products, and did a good job selling. Food was top notch. I had a dry aged Rib eye that was absolutely what you'd expect from Vernon's... delicious. The wife had shrimp and everything was delicious. They even treated us to dessert for our anniversary.

Very good experience. Would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I really enjoy the place, the theme is r ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I really enjoy the place, the theme is really diferent and ubique. The password waiting is the best hahaha waiting for the password info to get in and the first caracter are the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have not been to Vernon's in a long ti ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I have not been to Vernon's in a long time and was impressed by their new menu and greater selection of items. Vernon's is much more than just steak. They had a great selection including a vegetarian dish for my friend. Food was delicious and service was top notch! Awesome experience. Will be back very soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was different. Crab cakes were good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It was different. Crab cakes were good as was the Lobster Bisque. Lamb chops were cooked to perfection. We enjoyed our waiter Chris. He started out kind of brusque, but certainly lightened up by the end of our visit, even funny.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went there to celebrate our engagement. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went there to celebrate our engagement. Excellent food and service. Tomato bisque was outbof the world and we thought the only thing missing was a grilled cheese. We asked the waiter only half way jokingly, and within 5 minutes we had an off the menu grilled cheese that was phenominal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't usually care for themed restaura ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I don't usually care for themed restaurants but this one is very good great food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best dining in Abq!! Food is excellent. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best dining in Abq!! Food is excellent..ambiance is fabulous.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, wonderfull music, amaz ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great experience, wonderfull music, amazing food, a little pricey but worth the $. My wife loved it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed V ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed Vernon's. The theme was fun yet romantic and sexy. We had a blast. The service was excellent, however despite our server being outstanding overall, his personality was slightly less "formal" than expected considering the overall theme and class of the establishment. The dim lighting was romantic, yet way too dim for me, causing me eye strain. I was unable to read the menu without using my cell phone screen as a book light.

The ONLY reason I make these criticisms is simply because this isn't Mc'Donalds and for $150 for a dinner for two, I reserve the privilege of making such minor criticisms such as I wouldn't at a "normal" restaurant. The food was worth every bit of the bill and I look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was not as good as other times. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was not as good as other times. My steak was not cooked very well. I had the ribeye.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.