About Vernon's Speakeasy

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: 5053410831x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Mexico
Best Food
New Mexico
Best Service
New Mexico
13 More
Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Best Value
New Mexico
Romantic
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Steak
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Food
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Best Value
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Most Booked
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Los Ranchos ›

Romantic (75)
Special Occasion (72)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Cozy (36)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Notable Wine List (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Live Music (27)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fun (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Hot Spot (13)
Private Room (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Historic (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fireplace (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I'm leaving for the navy in a few days s ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

I'm leaving for the navy in a few days so I thought I'd take my girlfriend out for some fine dining. Was delicious, fun, and pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience whether birthday or anniv ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Our experience whether birthday or anniversary has been amazing! Highly Recommend! Gabe is a awesome server makes sure youre taken care of no matter the means 👍🏻

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers and Entrees were great.....th ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

Appetizers and Entrees were great.....the bread was not what I would expect from this type of establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

$55 for Cioppino appetizer - Ridiculous! ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

$55 for Cioppino appetizer - Ridiculous! Wish we knew the price before we ordered. Waiter failed to tell us this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

This restaurant is a great throw back to ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This restaurant is a great throw back to the old speak easy days. The steak was tender and flavorful. Great wine list. My husband had the Salmon and was so pleased. Would recommend going.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, ambiance and service at Vernon ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food, ambiance and service at Vernon's are consistently outstanding.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic atmosphere for a nice intimate ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere for a nice intimate dinner date. Food was outstanding!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I honestly don't care for the prohibitio ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I honestly don't care for the prohibition shtick, but honestly, the food is so wonderful, I don't mind. All our food and drink choices were scrumptious. I especially would recommend the lobster bisque.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing place ever. The food, t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The most amazing place ever. The food, the sinks, the atmosphere were all awesome. The service was top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Private Room, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Vernon's twice and plan to ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We've been to Vernon's twice and plan to go again with out-of-town relatives around Christmas. It's a special treasure we're looking forward to sharing.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had an excellent evening. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My wife and I had an excellent evening. The food was amazing and the service was excellent. It was our first time dining there. We had heard a lot about The restaurant prior and they did not disappoint. The atmosphere was the best part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was beyond excellent, food w ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service was beyond excellent, food was fantastic. We went with the servers recommendation which was the very best choice. When it came to dessert they were out of the speciality, but when our dessert arrived they (4 people combined) recreated a fabulous cheesecake dessert, which was to die for!!!!! This place came highly recommended and did not disappoint!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was Fantastic as always !! Good and s ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was Fantastic as always !! Good and service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service by Gabe knowledgable somme ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service by Gabe knowledgable sommelier. Very tasty salmon Oscar dish with moist rice pilaf. Also as usual excellent filet.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Vernon's Speakeasy for our 5t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went to Vernon's Speakeasy for our 5th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful experience. We were early, so we hung out at the bar and were presented with a large drink list. We were seated at the exact time, and our waiter had extensive knowledge on his wines and spirits. He promised to cater to our hearts desire on food and drink and he delivered beautifully.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great experience! The food was g ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Overall great experience! The food was great and the service/atmosphere was beyond what we expected! Everything that we ordered was excellent, can't wait to go back. The only problem that we had it was very dim, hard to read the menu.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent across the board. Love the atm ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent across the board. Love the atmosphere. The beef stew was sensational.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Fabulous dining experience! The service ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fabulous dining experience! The service team was exceptional with our drinks never empty, our table always clean, and never interrupted during our conversation. The food was elegant, prepared to perfection, and absolutely delicious. All the while surrounded by the exceptional pianist eloquently playing the keys to our ears delight.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and customer service was outstandin ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food and customer service was outstanding. Will definitely dine with them again in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. I'd defini ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and great service. I'd definitely go back to this place

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but very pricy - especiall ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was good but very pricy - especially for an over cooked steak. Atmosphere was great.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We love Vernon's and come often. This ti ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love Vernon's and come often. This time was for my grandmother's 87 birthday dinner and was a huge success. I don't remember our servers name but a special thanks to him for his patience and assistance with her as she couldn't make a decision on what to order with her health restrictions. We will be back soon for another delicious steak dinner!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Organic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my girlfriend went here for her b ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Me and my girlfriend went here for her birthday. We had an amazing experience! That food was awesome! We usually like to go to Ruth's Chris or Marcello's for special occasions. The food at Vernon's was way better! At the other places they never cook my girlfriends steak perfectly rare, Vernon's did! Also we ordered the same amount of food at Vernon's that we usually do at the other restaurants and it was cheaper. I would highly recommend this place for special occasions and dates. We will be come back asap!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once you are granted permission to enter ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Once you are granted permission to enter, the atmosphere and service are outstanding. The food, however, was just average. While the duck confit taco appetizer was both interesting and tasty, the prime rib was well below par, the salmon average, and mushroom side cheap and basic. The wedge salad was not the traditional one with roquefort chunks and bacon atop iceberg lettuce, unfortunately for me who just wanted a traditional steak house meal. All in all, a disappointment, but fun enough.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A bit hard to find, as there is no sign ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A bit hard to find, as there is no sign. Some people in the parking lot showed us where the door was. The menu was a bit hard to read in the very dim light, but the service and food was excellent. This is an expensive restaurant, so be prepared.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Unique ambiance as Vernon described. Exc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Unique ambiance as Vernon described. Excellent steak & comfortable service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Vernon's Spe ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our first visit to Vernon's Speakeasy. Our server Gabriel, provided first class service like we have never experienced before. The food was fantastic and made my foodie heart flutter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We liked the entrance. The wise guy put ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We liked the entrance. The wise guy put a smile on our face and set the mood for fun. The food was great and the music was entertaining. It was a special anniversary evening.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Authentic, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a fun place to eat with great f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This was a fun place to eat with great food and a wonderful waiter. Overall, one of the best experiences this year.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun from the moment you knock on the doo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Fun from the moment you knock on the door! We had a friend visit from out of town and took him for desserts and drinks. Loved the tiramisu but did not care for the chocolate cake option - was too gooey - like uncooked cake. Our table ordered a Manhattan and was very pleased, a spiced mango mojito that was pleasant, and a gin & tonic which was rather standard. Nice environment. The painted walls are neat. The art is not impressive. The lighting is quite dim. The prices are steep but it's more a place to go on an occasion, so expect to pay more for the ambiance and experience. Great/considerate service. Clean bathrooms. Good music. Clean tables and silverware. Would like to return on a date night to try their food. Hoping they have vegetarian options. Overall, would recommend. Not quite a speakeasy - been to a better more authentic and fun speakeasy, but this is great as an ABQ upscale restaurant where you do not need to worry about riff-raff.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best birthday celebration ever! Of the f ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Best birthday celebration ever! Of the five in the party, no one had been to Vernon's Speakeasy.

Well, we know about it now and we plan on coming back soon. We didn't know what exactly to expect, but we soon found out. We had the best food, drinks, service and ambiance we had not even thought would exist in a strip mall. It was fantastic evening and a fantastic way to celebrate our friend's birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They did not honor the reservation time ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 21, 2016

They did not honor the reservation time we selected through OpenTable. They told us that "OpenTable does not appreciate the restaurants reservation schedule" so we had to wait to be seated until 40 minutes after the reservation time we selected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

We really enjoyed the experience and the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We really enjoyed the experience and the food was good

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server and sommelier, Gabe was outst ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Our server and sommelier, Gabe was outstanding. He imparted his knowledge of wines to pair beautifully with our entrees. The food was abundant and perfectly prepared. Gabe made the dining experience fabulous! Highly recommend this establishment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great experience! The food was d ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Overall great experience! The food was delicious and the service/atmosphere was great! My only qualm was other patrons not being in proper attire- it took away from the mood.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I love this restaurant, from ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My wife and I love this restaurant, from the amazing food and service to a truly unique ambiance Vernon's nails it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and terrific food. My ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful service and terrific food. My wife and I had a great experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vernon's Speakeasy is consistently top n ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Vernon's Speakeasy is consistently top notch. The service is some of the best you'll experience. The food is excellent and the piano music is unique in Albuquerque. The age dried ribeye is the best we've ever had. A shame it available during our 2nd visit, but we learned that it might be necessary to pre-order.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It truly is a speakeasy. Little hard to ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It truly is a speakeasy. Little hard to find. Hilarious getting past the door "guard" but once you're in the food was top notch. Great servers. We were there on a night with a live piano player and he was great too. Good atmosphere all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Live Music, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great set of prime cut steaks. Per ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Had a great set of prime cut steaks. Perfectly prepared and served. Attentive service and knowledgeable personnel. All in all a great birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.