Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.64mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.61mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Vernon's Speakeasy

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to local favorite Calvin Appleberry Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speakeasy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Chuck Lindsey: (505) 341-0831

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (89)
Special Occasion (88)
Romantic (86)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Cozy (39)
Live Music (39)
Authentic (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Fun (35)
Notable Wine List (35)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Fireplace (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Historic (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Business Meals (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Private Room (8)
Great Beer (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Casual (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Organic (6)
Disabled Access (6)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was really wonderful! The service was on point. They really know how to pamper! It was a little pricey but it was fun and the food was so, so good! I especially loved the asparagus and the scallops. My mother especially liked the piano player.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

This place was AMAZING! Something my girlfriend and I had been wanting to try and it was absolutely perfect! Our waiter was great and knowledgeable and the food was fantastic. I would recommend to anyone wanting to take their loved one out for a romantic dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

This was an awesome experience! Upset I haven't gone sooner. Drinks were amazing, food was absolutely delicious, atmosphere was the best. I'll definitely be returning. Truly a treat

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is always good. Food is prepared wonderfully. The staff is TOP notch and the overall experience is just wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

I went for my birthday & I couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate. The food was absolutely amazing! I had the filet mignon with cream spinach, tender, juicy and cooked to perfection. The prime rib, lobster & NY strip were all mouth-watering as well & for dessert I had a special treat from the chef, complete with birthday candle! Vernon's far exceeded my expectations. We all had a lovely night & look forward to our next visit to try more delicious dishes!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had such a good time! Food was t he best I've had in a while and all my friends loved their meals! Piano player was awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It's been 3 days ago and my wife is still talking about how awesome the experience was

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Booth was nice to be able to reserve. Great service. Overall great night.

Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Vernon's serves the best steak in town, and the side dishes are excellent as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Thank you Vernons for returning my sun glasses. Great place great people. Excellent service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was our first visit and it definitely met our expectations! Fun experience and food was fresh and delicious. Drinks were very good as well. Shawn, our waiter, was so friendly and helpful. Perfect place for a date night or special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great place I will definitely be going back to take the rest of my family, amazing service and food was really good joe was our waiter and he did a great job

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was the best place I have ever been to! The service was impeccable!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Service was attentive, friendly, respectful and well organized. The folks working there clearly seem to love their jobs. We were pleasantly surprised that the side dishes, especially and including the obviously fresh, seasonal vegetables, were very well prepared. A lot of times at "steak" type restaurants they really neglect or over-cook the veggies. By the way: that was, hands-down, the best lobster and filet my husband and I have ever eaten. Awesome atmosphere and decor. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was AMAZING! One problem was that it was supposed to be a quiet ambience but there was a party of 5 by us that was extremely loud. I did not want to cause a scene and hoped the waitress would say something. Neither happened. Aside from that it was great.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The restaurant resident artist and notable wine expert took care of us. His extensive knowledge and care was extensive. We dine often and are very impressed with the quality of the food, atmosphere, and service. We enjoyed the scallops, crab cakes, and filet mignon. Our wine was high end and excellent. We just love Vernons.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Organic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Best Lobster Bisque soup in town. Great steaks. Sterling Margarita is amazing. Service is outstanding!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We really loved Vernon's. We came to Albuquerque for a random visit and found this. We loved the entry, the meal, the atmosphere, the drinks. The steaks were perfect, the service was amazing. There were multiple staff providing service. The fireplace was romantic, the dining area was elegant and low lit. We didn't get to enjoy the piano area but we would definitely go back! They even called us to ask if we had a good evening the next day.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The greatest scallops we ever ate! The atmosphere was terrific. Great variety on the menu. And the lemon cheesecake was to die for. Would definitely come back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had never been to Vernon's before and found ourselves charmed by the speakeasy theme. It makes the restaurant more of an experience. The food was not adventurous but was excellent upscale steakhouse fare. We were there for a special occasion, and found that a free dessert was part of our evening. Be prepared to spend some money.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Coffee was cold when brought to the table, also two Irish coffees were also cold. Price for a half order of scallops to go with prime rib dinner was expensive. Service was not always good, did not get wine poured when glasses got low. While some of the prime rib was good, some parts were chewy. Based on past dinners, this time was not as good. Wednesday was a slow night - only a few tables had customers - so service should have been better? Regrettably it seems that the restaurant may be slipping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Vernons was an amazing restaurant. The food was excellent comedy the wine was amazing, service was great, and the environment was quiet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Seated on time, server was terrific. Prom night so they were busy. Mussels were great, steaks perfect. Sterling Margarita delicious. Lori Michaels piano and vocals very enjoyable. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Dazzling.......!
From start to finish it was fun and delicious. All the way from the secret password to the late night piano music. You get a lot of food for the price, and the food was great, very tasty.....wonderful service. Definitely a place to take your babe over the candle light......

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were driving through on a road trip. Stopped to have Steak Salad. I have to say it was awful.
Steak had so much gristle that I had to send back. My second steak wasn't much better. Great atmosphere but dinner was not good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service great presentation wine list great but on the high side

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Sterling, Josh, and all of the staff were amazing. As usual. Food was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We went with friends for my birthday. I enjoyed my filet mignon it was delicous. My boyfriend got the prime rib and said it was ok nothing too special and almost bland. The atmosphere was nice. Service by Christine and carlos was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful, from the speakeasy ambiance (password to get in, gangster style host, secret entrance). Service was fast, professional and not at all pushy. The jazz pianist was perfect for the mood. Food was excellent - highly recommend the scallops, they were fresh with an excellent demi glaze. Lamb chops and salmon were also great. Topped of with a cordial and New York cheesecake ended a perfect dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Love it. Everyone is always helpful and kind. Good food. Great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good food, ambiance, quality service, local restaurant, variety of dishes, ability to change contents of dish, and carry vegetarian dishes, also. Favorite place to eat and visit with friends or family.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have never paid $72 for a steak but this piece of meat was the size of a pot roast! Perfect for my husband. The service was excellent. I loved the atmosphere and the man at the front door was PERFECT! I surprised my husband on our anniversary as he LOVES the 1920's era and the mobsters of the time period. He was mesmerized by the experience. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wow! What an incredible evening! We thoroughly enjoyed our night at Vernon's! The food was amazing! We started with the Frito Misto, my fiancé had the Tequila Lime chicken and I had the Lamb Rack Chops. All were delicious! But our server Sean made our night absolutely fantastic! He was very informative and able to answer all our questions about the menu. He was very attentive and friendly! We will definitely be going back and requesting Sean as our server! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Outstanding service. Shawn, our waiter, was knowledgeable, professional, and caring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 12, 2017

When you get there, you are required to have a password, which they will send you the morning of your reservation. It's a fantastic place, especially when it's nice and quiet on the weekdays. If there are two of you, you probably won't leave spending less than $100, but it's absolutely worth it for a special event. It is a place that we like to bring company from out of town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Our first meal at Speakeasy. Our server was outstanding. Unfortunately our meals were not as good. The calamari was outstanding and the very best part of our meal. My wife ordered the vegetarian entree with wild salmon. Sadly what she received was not wild salmon. I ordered the steamed green lip mussels. They were OK, slightly over cooked. At the end we split a key-lime pie which measured up to the calamari. My mistake was selecting a table near the piano. The piano player was outstanding. However, we could not carry on a conversation. Next time we will sit in another part of the restaurant. To Speakeasy's credit they comped my wife's entree. We will return for hopefully a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The 21 day aged steak is amazing. It's the second time I've had it i still love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I've now been here twice and I absolutely love it. We plan to make going there a tradition. The environment is unique, the food is spectacular, and the staff rounds out the whole package into one amazing, unforgettable, experience.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.