About Vernon's Speakeasy

6855 4th Street NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87107
View Larger Map

Vernon's Speakeasy is the only speak easy in New Mexico! We feature exquisite steaks and seafood and American cuisine in a superb dining atmosphere. The culmination of live music, great food and top notch service, as well as the need for "the Password", create an atmosphere and dining experience that surely proves to be one of a kind.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 4:30pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Osuna

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 341-0831

Website:
http://www.yougottapassword.com/

Entertainment:
Vernon's features live music! From Bob Tate tickling the ivories to Vernon's is proud to present great music in true speak easy style. You never know who might be on stage in the Black Diamond Lounge. http://www.thehiddensteakhouse.com/black-diamond-lounge

Catering:
Please inquire by calling 505.341.0831.

Parking Details:
Parking Lot

Public Transit:
Bus Stop directly in front of the shopping center.

Private Party Facilities:
Vernon's is available for private dining and will work to accommodate all our guest's needs. From the Capone Room or the Chamber to closing our venue down for your event, contact us to reserve your Vernon's experience! You gotta password?

Private Party Contact:
Bill Howley: 5053410831x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us for all your special event needs at 505-341-0831.

Vernon's Speakeasy Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Mexico
Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Romantic
New Mexico
9 More
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Steak
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Most Booked
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Los Ranchos ›

romantic (90)
special occasion (87)
fit for foodies (43)
See All
notable wine list (36)
neighborhood gem (36)
late-night find (23)
good for groups (22)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was different. Crab cakes were good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was different. Crab cakes were good as was the Lobster Bisque. Lamb chops were cooked to perfection. We enjoyed our waiter Chris. He started out kind of brusque, but certainly lightened up by the end of our visit, even funny.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went there to celebrate our engagement. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went there to celebrate our engagement. Excellent food and service. Tomato bisque was outbof the world and we thought the only thing missing was a grilled cheese. We asked the waiter only half way jokingly, and within 5 minutes we had an off the menu grilled cheese that was phenominal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I don't usually care for themed restaura ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I don't usually care for themed restaurants but this one is very good great food and service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best dining in Abq!! Food is excellent. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Best dining in Abq!! Food is excellent..ambiance is fabulous.....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, wonderfull music, amaz ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great experience, wonderfull music, amazing food, a little pricey but worth the $. My wife loved it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed V ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed Vernon's. The theme was fun yet romantic and sexy. We had a blast. The service was excellent, however despite our server being outstanding overall, his personality was slightly less "formal" than expected considering the overall theme and class of the establishment. The dim lighting was romantic, yet way too dim for me, causing me eye strain. I was unable to read the menu without using my cell phone screen as a book light.

The ONLY reason I make these criticisms is simply because this isn't Mc'Donalds and for $150 for a dinner for two, I reserve the privilege of making such minor criticisms such as I wouldn't at a "normal" restaurant. The food was worth every bit of the bill and I look forward to our next visit.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was not as good as other times. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was not as good as other times. My steak was not cooked very well. I had the ribeye.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Our entire evening was amazing. Service, ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our entire evening was amazing. Service, food, drinks, etc. all was perfect! Thank you so much!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a special occasion! The ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great place for a special occasion! The service was excellent and we loved our food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was the highlight of our ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This restaurant was the highlight of our trip. It was great and the food was great also

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fun place! Just getting there wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

What a fun place! Just getting there was quite an experience! From the minute we were 'allowed' to enter we had a blast. The steaks were absolutely delicious as was the rest of the meal. Since I'm a sweet-aholic the dessert was to die for! Watching my cousin relax and laugh was worth every penny. She takes care of her husband who is on hospice so it was a much needed treat for her. It was a wonderful experience overall and I am looking forward to dining at Vernon's again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great, especially our coc ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Everything was great, especially our cocktails. My husband's Manhattan was perfect, and my Sazerac was as good as any in New Orleans. Of course, our meals were cooked to perfection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It would have been nice to know that the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It would have been nice to know that the steak special my husband ordered was $125! No one said a word when we ordered. I spend all kinds of money on food, and I don't bat an eye at expensive dinners. But that was outrageous, especially since it was just "pretty good." Don't think I will be back. Still miffed.

Otherwise, atmosphere was fun, quiet, cocktails were good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Giving the password to be allowed entran ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Giving the password to be allowed entrance was fun, and the bouncer was great and on point. Our food was delicious- filet minon, mushrooms, potatoes. Table bread was also served. We ordered Old Fashioned cocktails and they accommodated. Large menu, large drink menu. We even were given a tour of the whole place and the secret passages and doors really add to the ambiance and keep the noise down. Though we are from out of town, we would come here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food, ambience, and staff were all s ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food, ambience, and staff were all so amazing! I cannot wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, my wife and I enjoyed ourselves as ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fun, my wife and I enjoyed ourselves as we celebrated 35 years of marriage. We have talked up Vernons with our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined at Vernon's Speakeasy on Monday ni ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Dined at Vernon's Speakeasy on Monday night with my husband. It was our first time and we were sent there by a friend. The food, service, and ambiance were amazing! I had the filet and could cut it with my fork. My husband had the ribeye. Both steaks were perfectly cut and very flavorful. We will be back soon. Fabulous experience and a perfect date night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not out of the ordinary fare... ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was not out of the ordinary fare...but was very good. Drinks weak and the wine list mediocre at best. Cost a bit high for the type of cuisine served but again, food was well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was okay but the service and am ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was okay but the service and ambiance were over the top! The piano player was worth the price of the meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I always wanted to dine at Vernon's. I f ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I always wanted to dine at Vernon's. I finally got the chance and loved everything about it. The service was outstanding, food was excellent, the decorations and theme were wonderful. Wish the room was set up to view the pianist, I could hear the music, but never once got to see the musician. Overall, thumbs up place to go!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice setting from the moment you wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice setting from the moment you walk in to the moment you walk out. Very mellow nice and comfortable setting. The food was amazing very well prepared. Our waiter was the best very knowledgable on the items we ordered. I really like the fact that local riots and vegetables are being used. It goes to show that we here in the state have a very well mixture variety of places to get the things needed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did not like the scallops and I though ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I did not like the scallops and I thought the prime rib was terrible. The meat did not resemble prime rib in any way and it didn't taste like prime rib. I was very disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Exceptional food service and atmosphere, ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Exceptional food service and atmosphere, I was asked when I made my reservation if this was for a "special occasion" when I replied yes 35th anniversary we were provided with a semi private alcove and a complimentary dessert. This was undoubtedly one of the most pleasurable dining experiences of my life. The price was secondary to the experience we will do this again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stick with the filet! The rib eye was di ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Stick with the filet! The rib eye was disappointing in flavor, though still tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Not as good as it should have been for the price.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Most food was good to very good except for my NY 'black and blue steak,' which had lots of gristle and was tough. Appetizers, however, were great! Also, my first 'regular' Patron margarita was bland - not 'margarita' like at all. Ironically the second 'special' margarita (with a touch of jalapeno) was much better.

Was your main chef and bar staff off on the Sunday we were there?

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Vernon's, no secret how great it is

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have been coming to Vernon's for at least four years, each time a wonderful experience as to the steaks which is what we come for. The filet with béarnaise is so delicious that we keep about half to have the next day!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Vernon's - food, ambience, servi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We love Vernon's - food, ambience, service. And the speakeasy vibe is great fun!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. The speake ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. The speakeasy entrance was clever & fun. Food was top quality along with outstanding service. Pianist provided just the right volume & selection of background music. Enjoyed the dark ambiance however only suggestion would be a tad brighter light on the table or a tad larger print on the menu to aid those of us with over 60 eyesight.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I absolutely love the food.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The waitstaff are always friendly and helpful. The atmosphere makes for romantic or just fun.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a special visit for my daughter ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This was a special visit for my daughter for a wonderful achievement of hers. She has heard about Vernon's and had wanted to try it. The food and the atmosphere was lovely but the prices were so incredibly crazy, I could not in good conscience recommend it to any friends. While not overly affluent, our circle of people are modest income earners, not able to drop $250-$300 for a meal for two. For us and many of the Albuquerque-natives here, it is a once in a life-time event to experience. That is unfortunate.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Anniversary date night

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My wife ND I celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary at Vernon's and had great time!

Waitress was very tentative during our meal and also gave us a free dessert to celebrate our anniversary.

Great place!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first visit to Vernon's. I' ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This was my first visit to Vernon's. I've heard about this place for years and had really been looking forward to trying it out. The ambience was nice enough, although I was expecting something a little more private. The presentation upon entering was the best part, intriguing and mysterious. The wait staff was friendly and professional. The food was mediocre and overpriced. The bread was served cold and tasteless. I would not recommend this place , and I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Vernons was fantastic!! Will be going ba ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Vernons was fantastic!! Will be going back again. The service was great. The food was out of this world! I would recommend Vernons to anyone that appreciates good food and better service. Thank you Vernon's! we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fun night out. It starts when yo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

What a fun night out. It starts when you get your special code to say at an almost hidden door at the edge of town in an strip mall. After being allowed in you step back in time to the roaring 20s

Beautiful artwork, comfortable chairs, nice music set the scene for steak house classics. We tried almost everything on the menu - there were 6 of us. Standouts were the tbone, risotto and Mac cheese.

They are working on the wine list which is good because that was weak. But full bar and nice cocktails

It's expensive that's true but s great way to celebrate

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance was nice, food was excelent, wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Ambiance was nice, food was excelent, waiter knew his wines and seemed to put at ease. Steak was perfectly and even got a dessert for our anniversary. Price cheap, but worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience, fantastic for an i ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent experience, fantastic for an intimate date or even a small group dinner. The live piano in our section Thursday night was excellent--live music is always a treat. The meal was excellent, and the atmosphere was fun, professional, adult-oriented, yet relaxed and enjoyable. I highly recommend this venue for the great food, fun yet mature atmosphere (not a lot of college kids in there messing it up for everyone...), and it lends a bit of romantic vibe if that is what you are looking for in an evening. However, the venue would be excellent for a business dinner or bringing out of town guests for a fine meal. My only comment is that I would like folks to dress business casual or better...not shorts and a collard shirt fellas. Other than that, a great place in Albuquerque to have dinner any night of the week.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was no place to sit in the bar whi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

There was no place to sit in the bar while waiting for the reservation. After standing there for about 15 minutes another couple came into the bar to wait. The bartender quickly brought in two chairs to give them a seat. While we stood for another 15-20 minutes. The service at the table for dinner was exceptional. Chris was the server. Overall I had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

dusty

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As always, dusty is the bomb. That's why he usually get 50-60%.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks and service

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I'm glad Albuquerque has a nice gem like this! !!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is awesome. We sat in the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance is awesome. We sat in the Black Diamond lounge and there was a live pianist. The food was amazing and service was top notch. We will totally come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.