About Vernon's Restaurant

1000 PGA Tour Blvd
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
View Larger Map

Vernon’s Restaurant features fresh Florida seafood, masterfully cut wagyu grade beef, locally-sourced vegetables and an enviable wine list.

The namesake restaurant of Vernon Kelly, a member of the development team that crafted the renowned TPC Sawgrass course with architects Pete and Alice Dye and former PGA TOUR Commissioner Deane Beman, is a destination for foodies as well as families. Enjoy breakfast or dinner and a floor-to-ceiling window view to the resort’s signature waterfall and lagoon, or watch the sun come up or go down on TPC Sawgrass.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6pm-10pm
Tuesday: 6pm-10pm
Wednesday: 6pm-10pm
Thursday: 6pm-10pm
Friday: 6pm-10pm
Saturday: 6pm-10pm
Sunday: Closed

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 280-3405

Website:
http://www.sawgrassmarriott.com/dining/vernons.aspx

Parking Details:
Private lot or complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Joe Natoli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Vernon's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (5)
special occasion (5)
scenic view (4)
See All
great for brunch (3)
romantic (2)
notable wine list (1)
good for groups (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Vernons for dinner. Words can ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We went to Vernons for dinner. Words cannot describe how amazing every dish was from the appetizer to the dessert! The ambiance was great with a scenic view of the golf course and waterfall. Our server Kelly was amazing and very patient! I'd highly recommend being seated in his section. He took excellent care of me and my family. This place is perfect for family, friends or couples looking for a great way to unwind and end the night!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3

Almost empty on holiday weekend, Ponte V ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Almost empty on holiday weekend, Ponte Vedra has so many great places to eat that I wouldn't do this again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Mothers Day Brunch,will be back ne ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mothers Day Brunch,will be back next year

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Mothers' Day Brunch was sub-par & not wo ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mothers' Day Brunch was sub-par & not worth the cost. Will never make the same mistake again.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Average

Dined on March 6, 2016

The service was very poor. We felt that we were way down on his priority list. I ordered stone crab claws with drawn butter. The claws were frozen and when I was able to get one open and put it in the butter, the frozen crab congealed the butter. It was taken off the bill. Average food for a high price.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great for special occasions

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our 4th visit to Vernon's. They did not disappoint. The menu has been revamped and everything was good. We loved the lobster appetizer and pork belly dish. Hit the spot. The Wagyu steak was superb. The wine list decent. Nice quiet atmosphere. Ambience is can be romantic. The menu and the staff are both kid-friendly. We will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food great service. Relaxing ambia ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food great service. Relaxing ambiance and love piano music. Romantic lighting. Great evening out.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time but hopefully not the last

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great place. Food and service was outstanding. Highly recommended - pleasant surprise for a "hotel" restaurant. I think the ambiance by the windows would be better during the day. At night, not much is lit up outside to see anything.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Disappointing

Dined on February 10, 2016

I selected the restaurant looking for a romantic spot but it definitely lacked atmosphere. they were two large groups that were in the middle of the restaurant and were very distracting with their noise level. The scallops were salty, and the ravioli were really "al dente" and had no sauce. I heard the brunch is good, possibly I will consider it in the future. I have been to Capital Grill and J.Alexander and that's the kind of service, food quality and atmosphere that I had envision for your restaurant based on the reviews I had read; I guess is more a place for large group and travelers.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

High end, go-back-to place in Ponte Vedra Beach

Dined on December 25, 2015

High quality food, well-prepared. Good service. Great view. Naturally, for all of this, it was pricey. I would go again for a special occasion (I went for Christmas).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas brunch

Dined on December 25, 2015

Amazing xhristmas brunch buffet, well worth the money

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant!

Dined on December 25, 2015

This was a perfect way to spend Christmas Eve ... lighting was low and thus created an inviting ambience, and very comfy arm chairs for all at an ample sized table ... nice setting overall. The food also excellent and beautifully plated. We shared several of the appetizers, which were all really tasty ... and the mains, from pork to grouper to sea bass, were all really wonderful. I would recommend Vernon's for a special evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood Gem

Dined on December 11, 2015

What a great find .... right in our own backyard! Fully expected a nice "hotel dining experience", but we were very much surprised. This venue rivals any place we've eaten in the surrounding area. We'll definitely be going back again, and introducing others to our "find"!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Dining Experience

Dined on November 26, 2015

The Thanksgiving buffet is not simply a meal, but an experience. Good selection of upscale food that presented beautifully. Beautiful atmosphere and scenery. Quite pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service4

Too cold.

Dined on October 24, 2015

Beautiful restaurant, but way too cold temperature-wise. Hard to appreciate the food when you're freezing. Hostess and waiter explained that it was always cold in there. Restaurant is off the lobby.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dining experience in a very rel ...

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

Fabulous dining experience in a very relaxing setting. The black grouper was moist well seasoned and nicely presented. The salad Made if all local ingredients had an interesting combination of pistachio, mozzarella and fried green tomatoes. Definitely on our list of repeat places to dine

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious but could have been a ...

Dined on July 25, 2015

Food was delicious but could have been a bit warmer

food1
ambience2
service4

Food was tasteless, lackluster, portions small

Dined on June 19, 2015

We stayed at the resort and the restaurant was recommended by staff. It was just awful - crispy calamari was soggy, chewy, and tasteless. Crab man and cheese was dull and boring. Seafood pasta had very little ink squid pasta. Strawberry shortcake was a HUGE disappointment. Peanut butter pie was okay. Overall - not please and for the money - so not worth it at all!

food3
ambience4
service5

Menu change, not for the better

vip
Dined on June 5, 2015

A recent menu change has taken what was an extraordinary hotel restaurant. and made it fairly ordinary, if acceptable. Gone is the selection of fresh fish of the day prepared one of several ways you choose and backfrom the 1980s are complicated preparations with bizarre start choices (made by Chef, not by you). Chowder (now served the cup) was gooey and glumpy and low on taste. Startch selection are overly complicated and bizarre. Except for the fingerling potatoes, circa longhorn steakhouse. General consensus is that the strawberry shortcake would be best served at Cracker Barrel or Denny's. Completely unremarkable, dry, and served with Cool Whip of all things. Disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Experience

Dined on May 11, 2015

Went for our 5 year wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. Hostess Eva, Server -I don't remember his name but he was aweseom & Chef Thomas were all fantastic. I would not have asked for a better anniversary dinner. We would go again just for a day trip or weekend get-a-way.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Sawgrass Marriott Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 21, 2015

Vernon's is the high-end restaurant in this hotel. Nice setting overlooking the ponds surrounding the well-known TPC golf course, where the PGA Player's Tournament is played. The menu selections were limited. The food was above average, but expected better quality for this place. Steak was not done to what was ordered. Rack of lamb was undercooked and quite fatty. I would go again, and try something else, perhaps a fish entrée.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service1

The service was awful.

Dined on April 13, 2015

We waited 10 minutes just for water. It took 15 minutes for the waiter to finally come. We asked for Chianti wine, the waiter didn't know if they had any. He confirmed they did 10 minutes later - phew. 15 minutes later they in fact did not. We finally ordered another bottle and had a drink in our hands after 30 minutes of waiting - by the way the restaurant was nearly empty. Dinner was good - the food was tasty. When it was time for dessert the waiter grabbed dishes for another table that decided they no longer wanted the dessert so they were waiting out for god knows how long. The waiter actually told us the dessert originally belonged to another table - very strange. The dessert was missing ice-cream and the was as hard as a rock. We sent it back, and I am certain they just threw it in the microwave (the plates came back warm). Awful doesn't even begin to cut it. I certainly would never go back!

food4
ambience5
service4

Ambiance and Food Very Good but...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2015

The ambiance was great. Service good and not rushed. However, menu has changed. No longer have the chowder bar which was very good in the past and very different from other restaurants. Also previously had selected types of fish with selected sauces. Now has "set" menu items only. Still very good but absence of chowder bar a real disappointment!

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on March 14, 2015

Vernon's is a beautifully decorated restaurant with a contemporary flair. The menu is quite simple, mainly steak and fish and on the expensive side. On a Saturday nite the restaurant was not crowded but the service was slow. I even apologized to the other couple who said that maybe the outdoor wedding had backed them up. We had to wait at least 15 minutes for our drinks. One person had ice tea which was not delivered at the same time. Our appetizers were all good. Our entries came out at different times. My husband's scallops were the last to be served and the ravioli's on his plate were cold.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4

I have had dinner there twice and had th ...

Dined on March 5, 2015

I have had dinner there twice and had the pan-seared salmon twice...it is fantastic, the best I have had anywhere ... The chowders are amazing along with everything else... Service is excellent some of the best on the east coast .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Met friends for dinner - beautiful view ...

Dined on February 24, 2015

Met friends for dinner - beautiful view from windows with quiet atmosphere for conversation. Server very attentive and answered all food questions. Double lamb chops were cooked to requested temperature and were delicious. Salmon with blueberry sauce was a beautiful presentation and very good. We were able to sit back enjoy conversation, wine and wonderful food in a relaxed setting. Nothing worse than being rushed out of a restaurant. Definitely will go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Vernons

Dined on February 15, 2015

Even though we miss Augustine Grille, we are pleased to have them continue on with a fine dining restaurant. The quality of the food, even though it rated a 10 at Augustine Grille, stands on it's own at Vernon's. We enjoyed the ambiance and were pleased with the impeccable service of the wait staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Traveling Valentines

Dined on February 14, 2015

My wife and I were away for a special get-a-way during Valentines Day and were staying at the Sawgrass Marriott so we didn't want to travel far. I took a chance and booked one of the hotel restaurants and all went really good. Food was a bit overcooked but other than that, we had a really good meal and experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5

Slow Demise

Dined on February 14, 2015

Since my wife and I first went to this Restuarant in 2007 it has continually gone down hill in terms of its food quality & preparation. The most precipitous decline came when it was re-opened and renamed "Vernon's" In 2008 it was called “Augustine’s Grill”, they had an excellent Chef, a wonderful Maitre’d, quality waiters, who were interested & proud of the food they served, even bringing fresh fruit and vegetables they had personally grown to the table, this was a special experience my wife and I looked forward to! Thats all gone now, only one quality waiter survives, a Tunisian gentleman who understands the meaning of quality food & service. We love to go and visit with him! Michael Colina

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1

Excellent food and ambience. poor service.

Dined on February 13, 2015

The restaurant is very nice with great ambience and great view. Food is excellent. However service was poor. There were five of us. Two people ordered steaks and one of the steaks was delivered 10 minutes after the rest of the food. Obviously someone forgot the order. Although we were given one free round of drinks and a sample of desserts, it was still unacceptable. I asked to speak with the manager. He was too busy with a private party to speak with us. I would go again but if I have a big party I will be sure to ask my server to check that all the orders were placed.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3

Horrible Christmas Buffet

Dined on December 25, 2014

My husband and I have been going to Sawgrass Marriott for 25 years and the Christmas Buffet was horrible. In fact, we could not even eat the vegetables. The meats ham and chicken! The bill with no alcohol was $132 not including tip. I mentioned our experience to both managers and it fell on death ears. I have loved this hotel for years but unless managers are changed, we plus many others I spoke to having the buffet said they would not come back!!! Help!!! Employees, other than managers were lovely! Best asset the Sawgrass Marriott has!

food5
ambience5
service5

mr.

Dined on November 29, 2014

very good menu...tasty and well prepared with excellent service

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4

Overpriced-food, food selection poor. Fo ...

vip
Dined on November 27, 2014

Overpriced-food, food selection poor. For a Thanksgiving Buffet only one meat selection, poor preparation of entire meal. Price did not even include a beverage selection, only water.

food2
ambience3
service4

Disappointing

Dined on November 27, 2014

Food was too salty and everything tasted smoky. Service was very good (nice work, Marci).

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Top-Notch Steakhouse

Dined on October 19, 2014

Hotel venues are hit or miss. Vernon's is a hit. Dorothy is the hostess, and she was quite pleasant. Appetizers are generous, and my entree entitled me to the chowder bar, where I got to sample the soups. Crab and corn chowder is highly, highly recommended. My wife had a 10 oz filet, which was cooked to perfection. I had the lamb chops, which were tender and juicy. We split a dessert, a chocolate banana pastry dish, which was fantastic and complementary due to the wife's birthday. The best part of the experience, however, was our server Josh, who was highly attentive, eager to serve, and made all the proper recommendations. His upbeat attitude and attention were refreshing in the modern restaurant scene.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

NICE AND ROMANTIC, FOOD GOOD, NOT GREAT, ...

Dined on September 12, 2014

NICE AND ROMANTIC, FOOD GOOD, NOT GREAT, SERVICE GREAT

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Special Place

Dined on September 4, 2014

Service and atmosphere were A+. The soup bar is unique and very tasty with the 3 bowl cup.the drinks from the Bar were very good.It is a little pricey but a great special occasion venue. Taking a walk around the Sawgrass Marriott added to the dining experience.Nice people all the way from enter to exit.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3

Very Disappointed

Dined on August 23, 2014

We are strong supporters of Marriott properties in general and usually have excellent food experiences. However, after looking forward to trying Vernon's, we were extremely disappointed. The "catch of the day," snapper, in entree #1, was NOT fresh, and in fact smelled & tasted fishy. The lamb chops in entree #2 were very fatty. We tried the lobster strudel for an appetizer, which was tasteless. We did like the calamari as a second appetizer, however. Also, they have a 'Soup Bar' which was interesting and liked 2 of 4 soups. Service was good. This is an expensive restaurant, and the food presentation was lovely, however, we expected higher quality. We live close by now, and are Platinum Marriott members, but we do not plan to return here.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great views of the pond and waterfalls o ...

vip
Dined on July 23, 2014

Great views of the pond and waterfalls on the Sawgrass Marriott property. All entrees include the soup bar. We tasted 4 varieties, all delicious. Entree prices were in the high $20s to $40s, a bit high we thought . The shrimp appetizer included 3 large shrimp; we thought the price of $16 was excessive. Our short ribs and grouper entrees were $29 and $35, respectively. Bottom line -- excellent service in a pleasant setting but the food seemed to us to be a bit overpriced. The wine list mark up, however was reasonable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

Great Service - Food just ok

Dined on July 4, 2014

Enjoyed the restaurant overall. The location in proximity to the hotel is it's key obviously. The staff was excellent in making it feel like a nice restaurant, but the food was mediocre.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.