About Vernon's Restaurant

1000 PGA Tour Blvd
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
View Larger Map

Vernon’s Restaurant features fresh Florida seafood, masterfully cut wagyu grade beef, locally-sourced vegetables and an enviable wine list.

The namesake restaurant of Vernon Kelly, a member of the development team that crafted the renowned TPC Sawgrass course with architects Pete and Alice Dye and former PGA TOUR Commissioner Deane Beman, is a destination for foodies as well as families. Enjoy breakfast or dinner and a floor-to-ceiling window view to the resort’s signature waterfall and lagoon, or watch the sun come up or go down on TPC Sawgrass.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6pm-9pm
Tuesday: 6pm-9pm
Wednesday: 6pm-9pm
Thursday: 6pm-9pm
Friday: 6pm-9pm
Saturday: 6pm-9pm
Sunday: Closed

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 280-3405

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotel-restaurants/jaxsw-sawgrass-marriott-golf-resort-and-spa/vernon's/81322/home-page.mi

Parking Details:
Private lot or complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Joe Natoli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vernon's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
See All
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Scenic View (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a very pleasant valentines dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a very pleasant valentines dinner at Vernon's. The waitress we had, Chandler, was absolutely great to deal with and was very very pleasant to work with.

Of particular note was that the piano player was wonderful.

They had prix fixed menu but the choices were fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent. We were seate ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was excellent. We were seated right away and placed drink orders. He gave us time to decide on our order -- was there promptly but didn't push.

There were only 3 tables in use at 7:30 on a Friday. I thought that was great but I suppose some would prefer more action and noise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality Of food

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Quality

Of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Expensive but the food is good and the s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Expensive but the food is good and the service excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looked at menu on-line before booking re ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Looked at menu on-line before booking reservation, but when arrived at restaurant the menu was restricted (many less items) and different. The choices that I picked the restaurant for were not available. Clearly disappointing.

The server was excellent, though and trying to be as accommodating as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Great ambience and the food was good. I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great ambience and the food was good. I had a steak, Ruth Chris is better for the steak. The fish was very good. Not crowded at all. Plenty of room in seats.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Seafood is excellent - Would suggest ove ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Seafood is excellent - Would suggest over the the steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A great Thanksgiving buffet. Second year ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A great Thanksgiving buffet. Second year in a row we dined at Vernon's. Now a family tradition.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Thanksgiving Buffet. Probably t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving Buffet. Probably the best T'giving dinner we've ever had. From cold seafood and salad bar, to traditional and gourmet sides, to a wide selection of tender turkey and meats, to exquisite and vast selection of desserts...all was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had no record of my reservation after us ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had no record of my reservation after using Open Table and making a follow up phone call. Thanksgiving Dinnerwas served in an absolutely sterile environment. No candles, no holiday decor whatsoever and horrible hard rock muzac.

No good chocolate dessert, no apple pie at dessert table. Seafood buffet was good.

Way over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The Thanksgiving Buffet Lunch was outsta ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving Buffet Lunch was outstanding. The choice of different dishes was excellent.

All dishes tasted great and all looked fresh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went in for a light supper and had de ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We went in for a light supper and had delicious salads followed by Vernon's sensational lobster strudel. Great service from Brook and lovely view of the nicely-lit lagoon Our third time there and we will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vernon's is a hotel lobby restaurant. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Vernon's is a hotel lobby restaurant. The setting is very open as it is not closed off from the rest of the hotel lobby. The hotel and the restaurant were not very busy when we were there so it is difficult to tell how noisy it would be otherwise. The food was outstanding. Service was good. Ambiance was ok. While casual, it is clearly an upscale restaurant reflected in menu selections and prices. Wine list was ok. We preferred our own despite a $25 corkage fee.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely atmosphere in center of hotel!!!! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lovely atmosphere in center of hotel!!!! Delicious food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Seating was handled with utmost professi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Seating was handled with utmost professionalism and flexibility. Great Lady to work with. Arrived early and the normal bartender had been MIA for a week. Temporary bartender was very nice but in the weeds the entire time. Took forever for service. Dinner came and they were out of all oysters, most of soups. Ordered Tuna and although ordered rare, came up too raw. All in all, the dinner options were disappointing and limited. Since this is the only restaurant in the main hotel, I believe it should have been better, knowing it is Sawgrass. Probably would opt to go next door next time to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

From the great servers, the menu, and th ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2016

From the great servers, the menu, and the all house made food, including the fresh Mozz, this place is worth seeking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Kelly was awesome. I had put a special r ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Kelly was awesome. I had put a special request to the Chef for my girlfriend and they already had a perfect plan when we ordered. View of the resort was peaceful and relaxing. Cocktails were unique and well made. Kudos to our waiter, Kelly and the Chef.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything about this restaurant is high ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is high quality- from the food to the staff. The staff is extremely knowledgable and friendly, and every waiter I saw was enjoying their personal conversations with every table. We ordered the scallops and black grouper, and both dishes were an absolute knock out! Very talented and creative chefs. We also had the midnight espresso dessert, which was outstanding. I would definitely dine here again when I'm back in the area!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Vernons for dinner. Words can ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went to Vernons for dinner. Words cannot describe how amazing every dish was from the appetizer to the dessert! The ambiance was great with a scenic view of the golf course and waterfall. Our server Kelly was amazing and very patient! I'd highly recommend being seated in his section. He took excellent care of me and my family. This place is perfect for family, friends or couples looking for a great way to unwind and end the night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost empty on holiday weekend, Ponte V ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Almost empty on holiday weekend, Ponte Vedra has so many great places to eat that I wouldn't do this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great Mothers Day Brunch,will be back ne ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mothers Day Brunch,will be back next year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mothers' Day Brunch was sub-par & not wo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mothers' Day Brunch was sub-par & not worth the cost. Will never make the same mistake again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Average

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 6, 2016

The service was very poor. We felt that we were way down on his priority list. I ordered stone crab claws with drawn butter. The claws were frozen and when I was able to get one open and put it in the butter, the frozen crab congealed the butter. It was taken off the bill. Average food for a high price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great for special occasions

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our 4th visit to Vernon's. They did not disappoint. The menu has been revamped and everything was good. We loved the lobster appetizer and pork belly dish. Hit the spot. The Wagyu steak was superb. The wine list decent. Nice quiet atmosphere. Ambience is can be romantic. The menu and the staff are both kid-friendly. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food great service. Relaxing ambia ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food great service. Relaxing ambiance and love piano music. Romantic lighting. Great evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

First time but hopefully not the last

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great place. Food and service was outstanding. Highly recommended - pleasant surprise for a "hotel" restaurant.

I think the ambiance by the windows would be better during the day. At night, not much is lit up outside to see anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2016

I selected the restaurant looking for a romantic spot but it definitely lacked atmosphere. they were two large groups that were in the middle of the restaurant and were very distracting with their noise level. The scallops were salty, and the ravioli were really "al dente" and had no sauce. I heard the brunch is good, possibly I will consider it in the future. I have been to Capital Grill and J.Alexander and that's the kind of service, food quality and atmosphere that I had envision for your restaurant based on the reviews I had read; I guess is more a place for large group and travelers.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

High end, go-back-to place in Ponte Vedra Beach

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2015

High quality food, well-prepared. Good service. Great view. Naturally, for all of this, it was pricey. I would go again for a special occasion (I went for Christmas).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Christmas brunch

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Amazing xhristmas brunch buffet, well worth the money

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2015

This was a perfect way to spend Christmas Eve ... lighting was low and thus created an inviting ambience, and very comfy arm chairs for all at an ample sized table ... nice setting overall. The food also excellent and beautifully plated. We shared several of the appetizers, which were all really tasty ... and the mains, from pork to grouper to sea bass, were all really wonderful. I would recommend Vernon's for a special evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 11, 2015

What a great find .... right in our own backyard! Fully expected a nice "hotel dining experience", but we were very much surprised. This venue rivals any place we've eaten in the surrounding area. We'll definitely be going back again, and introducing others to our "find"!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2015

The Thanksgiving buffet is not simply a meal, but an experience.

Good selection of upscale food that presented beautifully.

Beautiful atmosphere and scenery. Quite pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Too cold.

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Beautiful restaurant, but way too cold temperature-wise. Hard to appreciate the food when you're freezing. Hostess and waiter explained that it was always cold in there. Restaurant is off the lobby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Fabulous dining experience in a very rel ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2015

Fabulous dining experience in a very relaxing setting. The black grouper was moist well seasoned and nicely presented. The salad Made if all local ingredients had an interesting combination of pistachio, mozzarella and fried green tomatoes.

Definitely on our list of repeat places to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious but could have been a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Food was delicious but could have been a bit warmer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was tasteless, lackluster, portions small

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 19, 2015

We stayed at the resort and the restaurant was recommended by staff.

It was just awful - crispy calamari was soggy, chewy, and tasteless. Crab man and cheese was dull and boring. Seafood pasta had very little ink squid pasta.

Strawberry shortcake was a HUGE disappointment. Peanut butter pie was okay.

Overall - not please and for the money - so not worth it at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Menu change, not for the better

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 5, 2015

A recent menu change has taken what was an extraordinary hotel restaurant. and made it fairly ordinary, if acceptable. Gone is the selection of fresh fish of the day prepared one of several ways you choose and backfrom the 1980s are complicated preparations with bizarre start choices (made by Chef, not by you). Chowder (now served the cup) was gooey and glumpy and low on taste. Startch selection are overly complicated and bizarre. Except for the fingerling potatoes, circa longhorn steakhouse.

General consensus is that the strawberry shortcake would be best served at Cracker Barrel or Denny's. Completely unremarkable, dry, and served with Cool Whip of all things.

Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Awesome Experience

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2015

Went for our 5 year wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. Hostess Eva, Server -I don't remember his name but he was aweseom & Chef Thomas were all fantastic. I would not have asked for a better anniversary dinner. We would go again just for a day trip or weekend get-a-way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sawgrass Marriott Restaurant

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 21, 2015

Vernon's is the high-end restaurant in this hotel. Nice setting overlooking the ponds surrounding the well-known TPC golf course, where the PGA Player's Tournament is played. The menu selections were limited. The food was above average, but expected better quality for this place. Steak was not done to what was ordered. Rack of lamb was undercooked and quite fatty. I would go again, and try something else, perhaps a fish entrée.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The service was awful.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 13, 2015

We waited 10 minutes just for water. It took 15 minutes for the waiter to finally come. We asked for Chianti wine, the waiter didn't know if they had any. He confirmed they did 10 minutes later - phew. 15 minutes later they in fact did not. We finally ordered another bottle and had a drink in our hands after 30 minutes of waiting - by the way the restaurant was nearly empty.

Dinner was good - the food was tasty.

When it was time for dessert the waiter grabbed dishes for another table that decided they no longer wanted the dessert so they were waiting out for god knows how long. The waiter actually told us the dessert originally belonged to another table - very strange. The dessert was missing ice-cream and the was as hard as a rock. We sent it back, and I am certain they just threw it in the microwave (the plates came back warm).

Awful doesn't even begin to cut it. I certainly would never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.