About Vernon's Restaurant

Vernon’s Restaurant features fresh Florida seafood, masterfully cut wagyu grade beef, locally-sourced vegetables and an enviable wine list.

The namesake restaurant of Vernon Kelly, a member of the development team that crafted the renowned TPC Sawgrass course with architects Pete and Alice Dye and former PGA TOUR Commissioner Deane Beman, is a destination for foodies as well as families. Enjoy breakfast or dinner and a floor-to-ceiling window view to the resort’s signature waterfall and lagoon, or watch the sun come up or go down on TPC Sawgrass.

1000 PGA Tour Blvd
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 6pm-9pm
Tuesday: 6pm-9pm
Wednesday: 6pm-9pm
Thursday: 6pm-9pm
Friday: 6pm-9pm
Saturday: 6pm-9pm
Sunday: Closed

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 280-3405

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotel-restaurants/jaxsw-sawgrass-marriott-golf-resort-and-spa/vernon's/81322/home-page.mi

Parking Details:
Private lot or complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Joe Natoli

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vernon's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
See All
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food and service excellent. Marduk was an excellent server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This restaurant was awful! Both the food and service were just horrendous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a fabulous Thanksgiving buffet, a great Christmas buffet, a so-so Easter buffet and then for Mother's Day it was simply a normal breakfast buffet and not like it had been for other occasions. It did cost less but, because it fell on the last day of TPC, which we didn't know when we booked it, we had to pay $35 for parking. It was fine. But not worth the $100 total with the parking and tip.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The wait staff were not attentive and the food was long to come out. We had to serve our own wine. We weren't served dinner until 10pm and the restaurant was pretty empty.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

easter 2017 brunch, disapointing @$65 per , selection ok, but should havebeen much better, egg/omelet station no bacon, desserts/ all hand picks/no serious pie/cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good food and table service. However only 12 people in restaurant and food served too slow. 6:30 reservation finished meal at 9:30.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent and quiet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a very pleasant valentines dinner at Vernon's. The waitress we had, Chandler, was absolutely great to deal with and was very very pleasant to work with.
Of particular note was that the piano player was wonderful.
They had prix fixed menu but the choices were fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everything was excellent. We were seated right away and placed drink orders. He gave us time to decide on our order -- was there promptly but didn't push.

There were only 3 tables in use at 7:30 on a Friday. I thought that was great but I suppose some would prefer more action and noise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Quality
Of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Expensive but the food is good and the service excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Looked at menu on-line before booking reservation, but when arrived at restaurant the menu was restricted (many less items) and different. The choices that I picked the restaurant for were not available. Clearly disappointing.
The server was excellent, though and trying to be as accommodating as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great ambience and the food was good. I had a steak, Ruth Chris is better for the steak. The fish was very good. Not crowded at all. Plenty of room in seats.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Seafood is excellent - Would suggest over the the steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A great Thanksgiving buffet. Second year in a row we dined at Vernon's. Now a family tradition.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving Buffet. Probably the best T'giving dinner we've ever had. From cold seafood and salad bar, to traditional and gourmet sides, to a wide selection of tender turkey and meats, to exquisite and vast selection of desserts...all was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had no record of my reservation after using Open Table and making a follow up phone call. Thanksgiving Dinnerwas served in an absolutely sterile environment. No candles, no holiday decor whatsoever and horrible hard rock muzac.

No good chocolate dessert, no apple pie at dessert table. Seafood buffet was good.

Way over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving Buffet Lunch was outstanding. The choice of different dishes was excellent.
All dishes tasted great and all looked fresh.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We went in for a light supper and had delicious salads followed by Vernon's sensational lobster strudel. Great service from Brook and lovely view of the nicely-lit lagoon Our third time there and we will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Vernon's is a hotel lobby restaurant. The setting is very open as it is not closed off from the rest of the hotel lobby. The hotel and the restaurant were not very busy when we were there so it is difficult to tell how noisy it would be otherwise. The food was outstanding. Service was good. Ambiance was ok. While casual, it is clearly an upscale restaurant reflected in menu selections and prices. Wine list was ok. We preferred our own despite a $25 corkage fee.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Lovely atmosphere in center of hotel!!!! Delicious food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Seating was handled with utmost professionalism and flexibility. Great Lady to work with. Arrived early and the normal bartender had been MIA for a week. Temporary bartender was very nice but in the weeds the entire time. Took forever for service. Dinner came and they were out of all oysters, most of soups. Ordered Tuna and although ordered rare, came up too raw. All in all, the dinner options were disappointing and limited. Since this is the only restaurant in the main hotel, I believe it should have been better, knowing it is Sawgrass. Probably would opt to go next door next time to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2016

From the great servers, the menu, and the all house made food, including the fresh Mozz, this place is worth seeking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Kelly was awesome. I had put a special request to the Chef for my girlfriend and they already had a perfect plan when we ordered. View of the resort was peaceful and relaxing. Cocktails were unique and well made. Kudos to our waiter, Kelly and the Chef.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is high quality- from the food to the staff. The staff is extremely knowledgable and friendly, and every waiter I saw was enjoying their personal conversations with every table. We ordered the scallops and black grouper, and both dishes were an absolute knock out! Very talented and creative chefs. We also had the midnight espresso dessert, which was outstanding. I would definitely dine here again when I'm back in the area!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 20, 2016

We went to Vernons for dinner. Words cannot describe how amazing every dish was from the appetizer to the dessert! The ambiance was great with a scenic view of the golf course and waterfall. Our server Kelly was amazing and very patient! I'd highly recommend being seated in his section. He took excellent care of me and my family. This place is perfect for family, friends or couples looking for a great way to unwind and end the night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Almost empty on holiday weekend, Ponte Vedra has so many great places to eat that I wouldn't do this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mothers Day Brunch,will be back next year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mothers' Day Brunch was sub-par & not worth the cost. Will never make the same mistake again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2016

The service was very poor. We felt that we were way down on his priority list. I ordered stone crab claws with drawn butter. The claws were frozen and when I was able to get one open and put it in the butter, the frozen crab congealed the butter. It was taken off the bill. Average food for a high price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our 4th visit to Vernon's. They did not disappoint. The menu has been revamped and everything was good. We loved the lobster appetizer and pork belly dish. Hit the spot. The Wagyu steak was superb. The wine list decent. Nice quiet atmosphere. Ambience is can be romantic. The menu and the staff are both kid-friendly. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food great service. Relaxing ambiance and love piano music. Romantic lighting. Great evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great place. Food and service was outstanding. Highly recommended - pleasant surprise for a "hotel" restaurant.

I think the ambiance by the windows would be better during the day. At night, not much is lit up outside to see anything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 9, 2016

I selected the restaurant looking for a romantic spot but it definitely lacked atmosphere. they were two large groups that were in the middle of the restaurant and were very distracting with their noise level. The scallops were salty, and the ravioli were really "al dente" and had no sauce. I heard the brunch is good, possibly I will consider it in the future. I have been to Capital Grill and J.Alexander and that's the kind of service, food quality and atmosphere that I had envision for your restaurant based on the reviews I had read; I guess is more a place for large group and travelers.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2015

High quality food, well-prepared. Good service. Great view. Naturally, for all of this, it was pricey. I would go again for a special occasion (I went for Christmas).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Amazing xhristmas brunch buffet, well worth the money

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2015

This was a perfect way to spend Christmas Eve ... lighting was low and thus created an inviting ambience, and very comfy arm chairs for all at an ample sized table ... nice setting overall. The food also excellent and beautifully plated. We shared several of the appetizers, which were all really tasty ... and the mains, from pork to grouper to sea bass, were all really wonderful. I would recommend Vernon's for a special evening out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 11, 2015

What a great find .... right in our own backyard! Fully expected a nice "hotel dining experience", but we were very much surprised. This venue rivals any place we've eaten in the surrounding area. We'll definitely be going back again, and introducing others to our "find"!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2015

The Thanksgiving buffet is not simply a meal, but an experience.
Good selection of upscale food that presented beautifully.
Beautiful atmosphere and scenery. Quite pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 24, 2015

Beautiful restaurant, but way too cold temperature-wise. Hard to appreciate the food when you're freezing. Hostess and waiter explained that it was always cold in there. Restaurant is off the lobby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.