About Veritas Tavern

15 E. Winter St.
Delaware, OH 43015
View Larger Map

At Veritas Tavern, we are committed to providing you a positively unique dining experience.

Our mission to accomplish a successful dish includes applying the use of the most classic and modern techniques. We are proud of our ingredients and strive to achieve clarity of flavor from each while purposefully choosing every plate’s elements. For us, a successful dish is not only a beautiful and delicious dish, but also one that serves as a catalyst in a journey of aesthetics, texture, and taste.

Veritas Tavern does not accept requests for additions, subtractions, or substitutions. Please alert your server regarding any dietary restrictions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Winter St. & Sandusky

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(740) 417-4074

Website:
http://www.veritastavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua C Dalton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Veritas Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
7 More
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Delaware ›

Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
See All
Tasting Menu (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Tapas (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (12)
Authentic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A really outstanding dinner. Veritas has ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A really outstanding dinner. Veritas has not always delivered at its potential but right now is at the top of its game.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dining at Veritas Tavern is a unique, wa ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Dining at Veritas Tavern is a unique, warm, delicious, inventive dining experience. Great for

Foodies, we tried different ingredients and combinations of food we would not have dreamed of ordering and enjoyed every bite! The staff is warm and friendly and know a great deal about the food and wine. We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in central Ohio. Excell ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best restaurant in central Ohio. Excellent service and great food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was one of most impressive dinner experi ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Was one of most impressive dinner experiences we've ever had. Very unique and tasty dishes . Small menu but it worked just fine and cocktails were equally impressive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Unbeatable food adventure when you visit ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Unbeatable food adventure when you visit Veritas Tavern. Sad they are headed downtown Columbus only because now we have to share with the rest of the city!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was a bit lacking. Service was slow ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was a bit lacking. Service was slow and seemed less interested in taking care of our table in comparison to other tables. When I wasn't sure what cocktail to get, the waiter was quick to leave instead of offer suggestions. We thought maybe our age made them take us less seriously as guests. We sampled the entire menu. I thought buying the kitchen staff a round of drinks would help our experience - wrong. Tipped 20%, would have tipped more had the service cared more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We loved our meal at Veritas! We highly ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We loved our meal at Veritas! We highly recommend the tasting menu, what a treat! We will definitely be back and look forward to there move downtown. Thank you Tristan for taking such good care of us.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We sat at the bar and marveled at Trista ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We sat at the bar and marveled at Tristan who is not a bartender but a drink artist. His creativity and flair for the unusual was fun to watch. If you go, ask him to make you one of his specialities, not on the menu. He seems to always be crafted new drinks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our party of four wanted to try the tast ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our party of four wanted to try the tasting menu. Some very unusual small plates comprised the nine courses. They were very creative. Some I could not imagine. Three out of four of us enjoyed the experience. I thought it was a bit price but it was rated #1 in Columbus Magazine. The cocktail list is very impressive as well. I would recommend s reservation on weekends.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Simply amazing. Tristin took care of us ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Simply amazing. Tristin took care of us and we were overwhelmed and joyfully thrilled with Veritas Tavern. It's in a class of its own and we will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard so much about this restaura ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We had heard so much about this restaurant, and we had no preconceived ideas. We truly enjoyed it, with the great variety of small plates, some better than others. Desserts were super good. It's too far to make a habit of it, but we understand it will be coming closer in the future. We look forward to trying it again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best meal I have had in rec ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was the best meal I have had in recent memory. We plan on eating here on a quarterly basis to experience the menu changes. The Chef tasting menu is the way to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We love this restaurant. It is where we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We love this restaurant. It is where we prefer to eat and it is usually AMAZING. This visit left us less than satisfied. To start we had great cocktails and wonderful courses to begin then we ordered our last two plates, the wild boar and the sirloin filet. It took over an hour from the time we ordered to when we got theses dishes. After 45 minutes we asked our server if we did order he assured us we did and "it just takes a while." I do not mind the long wait for really delicious food. I would have waited even longer if the food was good and hot. Both plates came out cold. The "filet" was some of the toughest beef I have ever had, difficult to cut the slices with the butter knife provided. The boar was cold and disappointing. Our server did not check in to see if everything was okay like he did in all the previous courses we had. After 7-10 visits this was our only bad experience here. My husband and I used to recommend this place to everyone. I really hope this was just an off night.It will be quite sometime before we head back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This restaurant was amazing!! My wife an ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This restaurant was amazing!! My wife and I spent our 10 year anniversary and ordered the Tasting menu and we were amazed by ever dish that was brought out. The wait staff was awesome and made our experience special! I will definitely be back and bring friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Veritas is much more than just going out ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Veritas is much more than just going out for dinner, it is a dining experience ! The food, presentation and service was outstanding! Downtown Columbus will soon have a chance to experience the best of the best.

Scott F.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and cocktails are amazing! I ha ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and cocktails are amazing! I have no complaints there. Price is on the high side.

They only have a handful of tables and it can be hard to get into, so I made reservations. Greeting was not warm and making reservations only got us two spots at the bar, not a table. And for spending $100, it'd be nice to have an actual table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Our server Tristan was very helpful for ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Our server Tristan was very helpful for our first ever visit and gave great advice on the menu and tasting menu option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a great find! We loved the food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is a great find! We loved the food and the cocktails. Everyone was great. A really nice evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff, amazing and quick servic ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Friendly staff, amazing and quick service! Dishes were delicious and beautifully presented! One of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely divine !! I've never had fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Absolutely divine !! I've never had food this good with such perfect combination of flavors

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and perfectly crafted cockt ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Amazing food and perfectly crafted cocktails! Be sure to order the "kitchen kool-aid"

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing is a word that is overused to de ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Amazing is a word that is overused to describe mundane things but in the case of my experience at Veritas tavern, it is very fitting. After reading reviews on Yelp I decided to take my daughter to Veritas for her 33rd birthday. We made a reservation for the 6:00 slot on Friday night. Because it was first Friday in downtown Delaware it was a little difficult to find a parking spot but we were lucky to have a spot open on the street right across from the restaurant. We were seated immediately at the bar. We both ordered cocktails from their extensive menu and were very pleased with our selections. I ordered the tasting menu and my daughter ordered off the al la cart. We intended to taste and share. As each dish arrived we were truly amazed at the beautiful presentation accompanied by a detailed verbal presentation from our server. We found ourselves surprised and delighted with the new and delicious flavors and textures in each dish. It was truly a unique and amazing adventure in dining. Top notch in all regards. Amazing!!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reviews are in, highest Open Table r ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The reviews are in, highest Open Table rated venue in the area again, etc. I just want to thank Chef Josh and his staff at Veritas for what they do - a dining experience unlike any other in the area. Every thing is special - it is all about the food - bacon risotto, rabbit in house made pasta, sous vide herb infused brussel sprouts, crab gnocchi - you just want to order the menu. Big future for this place - they deserve it - I cannot wait.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the best restaurant in the Colum ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This is the best restaurant in the Columbus area. My wife and I have been there twice and split a bunch of small plates. Some of the most adventurous food in town. We will probably try the tasting menu the next time we are there, as we watched the servers bring out a series of appealing dishes on the tasting menu the last time we were there. The chicken wings with blue cheese foam are incredible as are the hush puppies. Everything else we have had has been wonderful as well. The restaurant is small and active. The food is elegant but the atmosphere is casual. They feature craft cocktails and a small but carefully constructed wine list. This is a destination restaurant that is worth traveling to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best restaurant in Columbus vicinity. F ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Best restaurant in Columbus vicinity. Foodies should not miss this one!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Continues to be my favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Continues to be my favorite restaurant in Central Ohio.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed. Overpriced food, s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was not impressed. Overpriced food, small portions and two dishes lacked ingredients described in menu. Felt extremely ripped off!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food - as promised was small plates ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food - as promised was small plates and fabulous cocktails, but the service left a lot to be desired. Our main waitress had lots of attitude - eye rolling when we asked for certain things (which were totally reasonable). The strangest was when I asked for decaf coffee at the end of the meal, she acted like I had asked for something totally outrageous and with another eye roll, I was told that they don't do decaf... ok, so how about tea - no, sorry... A restaurant that touts itself as a high end culinary experience doesn't have decaf or tea??? We've been to restaurants where the service was bad because the wait staff was inattentive or just too busy, but this was purposefully rude. I have no words, really...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

It was just OK, I would not recommend it ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was just OK, I would not recommend it to any of my friends. Service was great, can't say the same for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The food is spectacular . Not only prese ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food is spectacular . Not only presentation but the taste as well. A real surprise. Do not get fooled by the small plate sizes either... There is enough in two or three plates to fill you up plenty !

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The unique menu as fun. The gnocchi was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The unique menu as fun. The gnocchi was outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely evening!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the nine course tasting. It was p ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had the nine course tasting. It was phenomenal! Everything. Small plates, but each seemingly better than the last. Bartender was excellent too. At this place, the drinks are just as creating and delicious as the food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved the tasting menu! It is a good ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We loved the tasting menu! It is a good adventure. The wine suggestions paired nicely with the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the nine course option, and absol ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We did the nine course option, and absolutely loved everything. We will definitely return, and recommend to our friends.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the creativity from the chef, sma ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love the creativity from the chef, small plates so you can taste many different dishes. Small place with 5 or 6 tables and a large bar. The menu is outside the box and very tasty. If you enjoy trying different creations this is the place. We drive 45 min to get there and it is worth every minute. If you are a steak and potato kind of person this is NOT your spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time there. The food an ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 26, 2016

It was our first time there. The food and drinks were wonderful but service was definitely slow. We ordered a tasting menu and the time between each course dragged. We actually ended up leaving before our last three courses even though we repeatedly asked them to rush so that was disappointing. Overall I would recommend just make sure you have no pressing plans because you could be there awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Unbeleivable dinner. Tapas, however, no ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Unbeleivable dinner. Tapas, however, not so small...smile. Delicious food and incredible craft drinks. My new favorite place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was superb, service friendly. Smal ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was superb, service friendly. Small plate dining a great idea. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought great friends to Veritas last ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We brought great friends to Veritas last night and we left with a great big WOW! Our friends were visiting from the Monterey Peninsula and were reminded of Manressa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.