Veritas Tavern

4.7
292 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

At Veritas Tavern, we are committed to providing you a positively unique dining experience.

Our mission to accomplish a successful dish includes applying the use of the most classic and modern techniques. We are proud of our ingredients and strive to achieve clarity of flavor from each while purposefully choosing every plate’s elements. For us, a successful dish is not only a beautiful and delicious dish, but also one that serves as a catalyst in a journey of aesthetics, texture, and taste.

Veritas Tavern does not accept requests for additions, subtractions, or substitutions. Please alert your server regarding any dietary restrictions.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(740) 417-4074
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joshua C Dalton
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Winter St. & Sandusky
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine
What 292 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.7based on all time ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

It was a bittersweet goodbye as we will no longer have this wonderful restaurant so close to home, but we wish them the best as they move to Columbus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Amazing menu and amazing staff! My favorite restaurant in Columbus!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

Did the tasting menu and loved it so much especially the shrimp and grits and steamed bun with pork. I will be sad when they move downtown as it will be twice the amount of time to get there but it will be worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

Excellent!! Can’t wait to try your new restaurant. Unlike any restaurant that we have ever been to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Excellent food and wine pairing. They also have half priced craft cocktails from 5pm til 6:30pm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Simply the best!!! Wonderful Service!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

sat at the bar and it was impressive to watch the bar tenders make hand crafted cocktails. food was creative and the portions were spot on. we were celebrating our anniversary and the server gave us complimentary glasses of prosecco. fabulous vibe. cannot wait for them to come to columbus!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Veritas. The drinks were unusual and delicious. Amazing variety! We were in a rush and had to take one menu item to go....but that was our fault. We took too long placing our order and did not watch the clock.
The quality of the food was especially high.....the Bacon Risotto was to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

It was delicious as always! The quality of the food and drinks at Veritas Tavern are amazing! I would highly recommend Veritas Tavern to anyone who loves good food! Hard to believe, but this food actually tastes better than it looks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 19, 2017

The creative food and drinks at Veritas will be sadly missed when this Delaware gem moves to bigger quarters in downtown Columbus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2017

Great hidden gem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Best meal by far I have had in years! WOW, just WOW!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Service was fantastic. Delicious tasting menu. Cocktails are out of this world.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Is there a better place in Ohio to eat? I think Veritas delivers the most tasty, creative, and sumptuous meals. And because you can do small plates or fix prix, it's infinitely flexible on the budget. I've been coming to Veritas since it opened, and this past Friday we brought a foodie colleague from Cleveland. At every new small plate, she was ooh-ing and awe-ing. (And the service is always impeccable). She said that she'd driven down from Cleveland just for dinner here again. Luckily we get to enjoy it merely by driving to Delaware (or soon -- to Columbus -- a move for Veritas is coming soon).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2017

Small plate perfection, with a wine list that is excellent and affordable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Needed to check out the buzz. Many friends rave. Was not disappointed. Thought food was excellent and crew passionate about experience of food. Really impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

Always an experience to remember and worth indulging in everything Veritas has to offer. Spectacular cocktails and wine list, artistically presented dishes, creatively executed cuisine, and extremely delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2017

Tristan Nick & Ryan were outstanding taking excellent care of us. The sensational food is what always brings us back, but the service is great too! We would highly recommend Veritas Tavern to anyone who wants unique & excellent food & drink! Thanks again boys!

Bill & Sue
Dublin OH

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

This is the best restaurant in the Columbus (and surrounding) area hands down. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and the food is amazing. My wife and I have been here several times and have always been impressed with the quality of the ingredients, the creativity of the menu and presentation, and most importantly the staff's desire to deliver a top notch service experience. Veritas is able to deliver quality food and service comparable to that of a Michelin starred restaurant in a relaxed environment with a down to earth staff that will leave you wondering why you didn't visit sooner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 8, 2017

We felt the price point was a little, but understandable given the number of seats. The new location will hopefully address this issue. The food quality and service were outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Love this place every time we go! Food is fantastic, service incredible. Love bringing new people as they are always blown away. The feta dip and brussels sprouts are my favorite starters. Loved the scallops! The Hemingway cocktail is perfection. Must always try the white and dark chocolate dessert and cant miss the coffee and port. Will be there again next week!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

They keep it up at Veritas - another delicious, well paced, interesting tasting menu dinner. Starting with the one bite shrimp and grits and ending with the one bite "banana split" that explodes in your mouth. We had been looking forward to another opportunity to dine at what is our favorite central OH restaurant. It is just a different atmosphere / food experience than you will find this side of Chicago/NYC.
If you are looking for glitz and pretense look elsewhere. These are real folks that are there for the food / drink like it's their hobby. We get it and appreciate it. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful. I don't review restaurants usually, but it was so good, it is possible to forget how much it costs. I wanted to impress my sister from DC, and it worked. Food and service were impeccable. Definitely worth writing home about.
The photo is their banana split concoction. It is kind of like a chocolate covered cherry, except banana filling. It wasn't as exceptional as the rest of the dishes, but the most photogenic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Savor your time at veritas. The kitchen staff are wonderful to watch as they prepare perfectly detailed dishes. Tristan and the bar staff are wonderful and watching them create cocktails is like watching an artist paint a masterpiece. The drinks were wonderful. The recommendations were on point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2017

This was our second visit and even more enjoyable than the first. The food is out of this world, including the beautiful presentation. We will return and share our raves with friends and family. It's a gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was absolutely incredible, from the cocktails to dessert. Absolutely exquisite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

We went on our first official date here 4 years ago and wanted to go back to celebrate officially being together as a couple for 4 years (married over 2) and due to add a little one to our family in a month! The waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was spectacular! The setting was romantic and quiet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Awesome meal -- one of the best that we've had. Service was great - can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

An excellent dining experience! The food was outstanding. We sat at the bar and made new friends . The wait staff is knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Perfect all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing experience! My husband was very reluctant to go as he is not a fan of small plates and sharing but he was blown away ! Everything was perfect. It didn't look like a lot of food but everything was so rich that we were very full ! Great food, drinks and service!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 18, 2017

What a fun and great experience with the tasting menu! I am GF and they made me feel very accommodated with no problem with advance notice. Excellent food, interesting presentations and great unique labor-intensive cocktails. Service was great and we had some nice conversations with staff. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Fabulous. One of (if not the best) meal we've had and we go out a lot. We did the a la carte menu which was not only delicious but also was very reasonably priced. Drinks were awesome and the presentation of each cocktail and dish only magnified the experience to an even higher level.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food, excellent craft cocktails and an extensive reasonably price wine list. Our servers Ryan and Tristan were very informative in describing dish preparation and suggested wine pairings. We have been here before and the ever changing menu continues to amaze us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Birthday dinner with friends. Food is delicious and creative

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Went to see what all the fuss was about as this is allegedly a top spot in Columbus. Absolutely agree! Food was incredible and attention to detail beyond comprehension. A culinary experience like no other. Bravo.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 5, 2017

Veritas is a great place to try unusual drinks and different food presentations. We have enjoyed all the things we have tried. It's intimate atmosphere makes you feel special .

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 1, 2017

surprised to see a meal small enough to feed a mouse to pull money from your pocket that would feed an adult. Very disappointed. left starving.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Really exceptional experience this past Saturday at Veritas Tavern. We went with the 7 course option that was selected by the chef and loved every one of them. Upscale tavern feel with great drinks, wine and unique food presentations. A+ anniversary experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 1, 2017

Ryan and Tristan made the night special, on top of an already great food experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2017

My first trip here. I feel like I wasted the last three years of my life by not coming here sooner. The small plates were creative and delicious. The service was perfect. The handcrafted cocktails tasted like they were made with a passionate creator. The wine selection was creative and accommodating for the magnificent menu. Kudos!! We will be back. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8

Tweets by Veritas Tavern