Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Veritas Tavern

At Veritas Tavern, we are committed to providing you a positively unique dining experience.

Our mission to accomplish a successful dish includes applying the use of the most classic and modern techniques. We are proud of our ingredients and strive to achieve clarity of flavor from each while purposefully choosing every plate’s elements. For us, a successful dish is not only a beautiful and delicious dish, but also one that serves as a catalyst in a journey of aesthetics, texture, and taste.

Veritas Tavern does not accept requests for additions, subtractions, or substitutions. Please alert your server regarding any dietary restrictions.

15 E. Winter St.
Delaware, OH 43015
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Winter St. & Sandusky

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(740) 417-4074

Website:
http://www.veritastavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua C Dalton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Veritas Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Bar Seating (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Romantic (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Tapas (9)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This is the best restaurant in the Columbus (and surrounding) area hands down. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and the food is amazing. My wife and I have been here several times and have always been impressed with the quality of the ingredients, the creativity of the menu and presentation, and most importantly the staff's desire to deliver a top notch service experience. Veritas is able to deliver quality food and service comparable to that of a Michelin starred restaurant in a relaxed environment with a down to earth staff that will leave you wondering why you didn't visit sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We felt the price point was a little, but understandable given the number of seats. The new location will hopefully address this issue. The food quality and service were outstanding!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Love this place every time we go! Food is fantastic, service incredible. Love bringing new people as they are always blown away. The feta dip and brussels sprouts are my favorite starters. Loved the scallops! The Hemingway cocktail is perfection. Must always try the white and dark chocolate dessert and cant miss the coffee and port. Will be there again next week!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 8, 2017

They keep it up at Veritas - another delicious, well paced, interesting tasting menu dinner. Starting with the one bite shrimp and grits and ending with the one bite "banana split" that explodes in your mouth. We had been looking forward to another opportunity to dine at what is our favorite central OH restaurant. It is just a different atmosphere / food experience than you will find this side of Chicago/NYC.
If you are looking for glitz and pretense look elsewhere. These are real folks that are there for the food / drink like it's their hobby. We get it and appreciate it. Highly recommended.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful. I don't review restaurants usually, but it was so good, it is possible to forget how much it costs. I wanted to impress my sister from DC, and it worked. Food and service were impeccable. Definitely worth writing home about.
The photo is their banana split concoction. It is kind of like a chocolate covered cherry, except banana filling. It wasn't as exceptional as the rest of the dishes, but the most photogenic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Savor your time at veritas. The kitchen staff are wonderful to watch as they prepare perfectly detailed dishes. Tristan and the bar staff are wonderful and watching them create cocktails is like watching an artist paint a masterpiece. The drinks were wonderful. The recommendations were on point.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was our second visit and even more enjoyable than the first. The food is out of this world, including the beautiful presentation. We will return and share our raves with friends and family. It's a gem.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was absolutely incredible, from the cocktails to dessert. Absolutely exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We went on our first official date here 4 years ago and wanted to go back to celebrate officially being together as a couple for 4 years (married over 2) and due to add a little one to our family in a month! The waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. The food was spectacular! The setting was romantic and quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Awesome meal -- one of the best that we've had. Service was great - can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

An excellent dining experience! The food was outstanding. We sat at the bar and made new friends . The wait staff is knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Perfect all around.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing experience! My husband was very reluctant to go as he is not a fan of small plates and sharing but he was blown away ! Everything was perfect. It didn't look like a lot of food but everything was so rich that we were very full ! Great food, drinks and service!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 18, 2017

What a fun and great experience with the tasting menu! I am GF and they made me feel very accommodated with no problem with advance notice. Excellent food, interesting presentations and great unique labor-intensive cocktails. Service was great and we had some nice conversations with staff. Highly recommend

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fabulous. One of (if not the best) meal we've had and we go out a lot. We did the a la carte menu which was not only delicious but also was very reasonably priced. Drinks were awesome and the presentation of each cocktail and dish only magnified the experience to an even higher level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food, excellent craft cocktails and an extensive reasonably price wine list. Our servers Ryan and Tristan were very informative in describing dish preparation and suggested wine pairings. We have been here before and the ever changing menu continues to amaze us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Birthday dinner with friends. Food is delicious and creative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Went to see what all the fuss was about as this is allegedly a top spot in Columbus. Absolutely agree! Food was incredible and attention to detail beyond comprehension. A culinary experience like no other. Bravo.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Veritas is a great place to try unusual drinks and different food presentations. We have enjoyed all the things we have tried. It's intimate atmosphere makes you feel special .

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

surprised to see a meal small enough to feed a mouse to pull money from your pocket that would feed an adult. Very disappointed. left starving.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Really exceptional experience this past Saturday at Veritas Tavern. We went with the 7 course option that was selected by the chef and loved every one of them. Upscale tavern feel with great drinks, wine and unique food presentations. A+ anniversary experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Ryan and Tristan made the night special, on top of an already great food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My first trip here. I feel like I wasted the last three years of my life by not coming here sooner. The small plates were creative and delicious. The service was perfect. The handcrafted cocktails tasted like they were made with a passionate creator. The wine selection was creative and accommodating for the magnificent menu. Kudos!! We will be back. Thank you!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 23, 2017

These guys, front and back of house, are a well-oiled, finely-tuned, hard-working machine of food lovers and producers who are smart and respectfully devoted to bringing beautiful and delicious food/beverage selections.

They have high standards which they do not compromise and must love daily inspiration by the fresh, lovely foods they are able find at the markets daily.

After several years in the tough restaurant business, staff turnover is slight, if at all, and probably for very good reason.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was absolutely wonderful. Every bite was wonderful and the presentation was exceptional. We did the tasting menu and the wait time between courses was painfully long. Full meal took almost 3 hours. Very pricey for portion sizes. Our husbands left hungry and needed to get more to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We invited friends with us to celebrate an early Father's day and we all decided to experience the Tasting menu during what was our second visit to Veritas Tavern. From the surprising first course of shrimp and grits to the explosive last course of cherry Kombucha it was all phenomenal! We are fans of Veritas for life!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I love unique foods and unusual presentation - exceeds expectation!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good for an upscale dining experience. Great for the special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always wonderful food and service. Love going to Veritas and trying all the food. Its an eating experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Can not recommend the tasting menu enough! Excellent experience in every way.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Not checking beforehand I was expecting a more formal kind of restaurant.
I did not expect Tapas, but found them just enough and quite tasty.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Absolutely fantastic, we put off going because of the drive, huge mistake, friendly staff, excellent menu, and the food was nothing short of spectacular. You can see why it is one of the 10 best in Columbus. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wonderful delicious experience. Unique drinks and food. Presentation is 5 star. The tastes and flavors are like no other place I've eaten. Sad to see u leave Delaware.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Organic, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

While the food often dazzles at Veritas Tavern, the front of house service is far less consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Spectacular experience! From the moment we walked in and were greeted by the friendly professional restaurant manager we felt comfortable and excited for the night ahead. The food was phenomenal. We love to eat, we love food, have traveled the world and have eaten at several Michelin star restaurants and the food at Veritas was exceptional. The flavor combinations were a mixture of new and also predictable but put together in ways that was innovative and all worked well together. The staff were extremely knowledgeable about the food/cocktails and in a relaxed manner, not pretentious at all. We left very happy with our entire evening at Veritas and would highly recommend it to others. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fantastic, cutting edge, amazing, worth the drive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The restaurant met expectations: good food with a twist, nicely served, and the courses were well paced. Portions were sized well so you could finish them without gorging. Pleasant ambiance, not noisy, but would have preferred lowered table and chairs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is easily one of the best restaurants in Ohio and midwest. Food is inventive, fun, and the bar program is top notch. Go for the tasting menu. A real treat.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Awesome food, service and overall experience. I would highly recommend either a small group 2-4 or just sitting st the bar with small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Best in Central Ohio, bar none. No restaurant can compete with concept and execution.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.