About Veritas Tavern

15 E. Winter St.
Delaware, OH 43015
View Larger Map

At Veritas Tavern, we are committed to providing you a positively unique dining experience. Dishes are served as Small Plates in order to present you the opportunity to enjoy an assortment of our traditional and unexpected flavor combinations. While each dish stands alone, they are best consumed in succession with friends. We encourage sharing food, as it inevitably sparks conversation and community, transforming a meal into a memory. Our mission to accomplish a successful dish includes applying the use of the most classic and modern techniques. We are proud of our ingredients and strive to achieve clarity of flavor from each while purposefully choosing every plate’s elements. For us, a successful dish is not only a beautiful and delicious dish, but also one that serves as a catalyst in a journey of aesthetics, texture, and taste. Veritas Tavern does not accept requests for additions, subtractions, or substitutions. Please alert your server regarding any dietary restrictions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Winter St. & Sandusky

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(740) 417-4074

Website:
http://www.veritastavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua C Dalton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine, Wine Bar

Veritas Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
10 More
Best Value
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Delaware ›

fit for foodies (33)
special occasion (23)
neighborhood gem (20)
See All
notable wine list (20)
romantic (17)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (4)
good for groups (2)
Sort By:
Newest
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best plating and food ever. Nothing ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The best plating and food ever. Nothing is close. Not Hyde Park, Eddie Merlots, Smith&Wolenski, or Marcellas.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit to Veritas Tavern ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our 3rd visit to Veritas Tavern. It never disappoints. We tried the tasting menu and loved the opportunity to try new delicious finds. Service was wonderful as well.

We will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was an exciting and del ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The tasting menu was an exciting and delicious dining experience. Due to the small size of the restaurant, a couple of large boisterous groups did influence the overall noise level, taking away a bit of our dining enjoyment.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Best restaurant in Columbus! Nate and Tr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Best restaurant in Columbus! Nate and Tristan are fantastic! Nate knows his food and Tristan creates the best drinks! Amazing food and a fun experience every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tasting menu was an adventure. Very ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The tasting menu was an adventure. Very creative and incredible food in a series of small plates.

I would recommend Veritas Tavern to anyone who enjoys inventive cocktails and delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal we've had in Central Ohio! ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The best meal we've had in Central Ohio! Josh's creations were quite amazing. We enjoyed every bite! We also enjoyed learning about some of his inspirations for the courses. We had a wonderful time and will be back soon!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting plating and imaginative food ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Interesting plating and imaginative food. Can't wait to return

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Been to Veritas several times but this w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Been to Veritas several times but this was 1st time we ordered the tasting menu. It was fabulous! We will always do it in the future.

As normal service was top notch and cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! Amazing food unlike any ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love this place! Amazing food unlike anything I've ever tasted before. Order the tasting menu. Fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An immensely creative tapas bar is not n ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

An immensely creative tapas bar is not necessarily what you expect in a small storefront in Delaware. To appreciate this place, you need to be in the mood for unique daily small plate creations, few standard menu items, and adventurous friends with whom to share. The drink menu is one of the most varied in the area, with a neat pre-prohibition focus. I've never had a hot potato dish served on hot coals at the table, or a great hot potato soup chilled with dry ice. Not inexpensive (we spent almost $100 each counting 4-5 drinks each). Not a lot of seating, so reservations needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Creative delicious food-surprising combi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Creative delicious food-surprising combinations of tastes and textures Go for the tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A special hidden gem, the chef menu tast ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A special hidden gem, the chef menu tasting was amazing! Cocktails were quite impressive, enjoyed every minute of our experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in central Ohio.

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Best in central Ohio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolute gem. The tasting menu was fu ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

An absolute gem. The tasting menu was fun, innovative and best of all, delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the chef's tasting menu --not cheap, ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Had the chef's tasting menu --not cheap, but every course was superb and worth the $, in my opinion. Service was top-notch and every course was explained by the chef/owner himself. Outstanding flavors and creativity. Reservations are a must and the whole experience takes time so plan to savor every course over a couple of hours. They have "small plates" on the menu as well for those wanting to spend less time & $, but I wholeheartedly recommend the full tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food I have ever had

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This place is awesome. The blend of flavor in each small plate is amazing. The presentation of each dish is truly an art form. We had the chefs tasting menu it was great. Our server Tristan explained the preparation and ingredients in all 10 course.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, exquisite food, displayed bea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful, exquisite food, displayed beautifully, wonderful cocktails. We love Veritas!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great, unique setting with excellent foo ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Great, unique setting with excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, excellent, excellent

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

This is a true gem of a restaurant -- people passionate about food and drinks, as well as people's experience. We went with our kids, who were welcomed and treated in a lovely way. They are 9 & 7 and were a little challenged by some of the more adventurous foods but then absolutely adored the sliders and asked for more. We had a fantastic time. This is a perfect place for celebrations, for business meals, for foodies, for romantic evenings... It's definitely a Delaware/Columbus don't-miss.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Most Excellent!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The kitchen and wait staff were superb. All were well versed in menu items and explained what each component was and what to expect. Small plate, schmall plate! I left completely satiated. My friend was skeptical when she saw the first component arrive. She doubts no more. My friends and I can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This place was SUCH a pleasant surprise. The staff was so accommodating and friendly, and they really knew their food and drinks. The food was absolutely fabulous - we tried the small plates and each and every one was better than the last. Loved everything here!!! We'll be going back to try the 7 course meal...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Met My Expectations!!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I've heard nothing but good things from my fellow foodie friends about Veritas Tavern. And it did not disappoint. Everything from the initial greeting, to the complimentary pour of rose (how did they know this is my favorite?!), the expert menu guidance, the superb friendly service, the eye catching, beautiful food presentation, the TASTE, the cocktails, the wine.. I could go on and on. It was perfect. We plan to drive out again when another tasting menu is available.

And please, for the love of God, order the bacon risotto with 62.5 degree egg.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent tapas style restaurant! Food ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent tapas style restaurant! Food was different than anything else around. Presentation was beautiful. Drinks were best in town. Knowledgable staff and high level of customer service. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and creative

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We absolutely love this place! The food is fantastic and the creative execution of the menu and presentation is fabulous. Some of the very best food in Columbus "and it's hidden in Delaware"! This is a must try if you are a foodie

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great evening out

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Amazing food and service! Love the "antique" and eclectic serving plates and dishes - gives the restaurant a great vibe. It's an added bonus when the servers give you a description of the food and the process used to prepare it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Also an experience

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Food offers great imagination and creativity. Waiter was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date Night

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Veritas is a great spot to enjoy a special night out. The tasting menu is such a fun experience where you can try techniques you can't find anywhere else in the area. The food was also amazing. It felt like you were actually experiencing art and not just out for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceeds Expectations.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Was expecting high attitude dining that left you hungry. Not the case at all. The tasting menu was amazing and the food was filling. Amazing tastes and presentation, also. Would recommend the experience to all. Tables can be hard to reserve. Bar is always a good option, if just the two of you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing tasting menu.Perfect for sharing.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was our second time at Veritas, which we first discovered last summer. We had such an amazing experience that we brought some good friends with us this time. The tasting menu is known for its creative use of unusual foods and food combinations, as well as it's artistic presentation. We were not disappointed. The cocktail menu was extensive and we took advantage of that. It was well worth the drive from Columbus!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great night

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Terrific food and amazing cocktails. Brush Fire was my favorite drink of the evening. I've seen people complain about the price here, but $70 for a seven course tasting with this amount of nuance and detail is a total steal. And unlike anything else in Columbus. My girlfriend needed dairy-free options. Everyone was super nice about it and very accommodating. Her strawberry-sorbet dessert was out of this world. All of the food was really delicious. Favorites were the shrimp & grits, roasted sunchoke, and the beet risotto (that one, again, from the dairy-free menu). Filet medallions weren't the biggest hit with us, but we both liked them. And loved the build of the tasting menu. Very fun night out for foodies. Will definitely be coming back. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A welcome surprise

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Veritas Tavern might well put Delaware, Ohio on the map. We weren't sure what we were getting into when we found only two other tables seated at 8pm. It was a rainy Wednesday night. The good news is that the meal was excellent. We ordered a selection of small plates, each of which was a pleasure to taste. Tristan, our bartender/waiter, was nicely low-key but attentive. I reserve five star ratings for truly memorable meals at the world's best restaurants but the food here was close. A strong four stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Veritas! Celebrated adult daughter ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Love Veritas! Celebrated adult daughter's bday and they went over the top! Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing restaurant

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

I went on a Thursday night and it was extremely quiet. There was just another couple siting at the bar. The bartender told us that was unusual, but it was perfect for me and my husband since we wanted a romantic night out. Once the couple left we had the whole place for ourselves which was both an unusual and very pleasant experience. The tasting menu was fabulous and creative. Rich and innovative flavors, amazing textures, nice flow. The wine and cocktail list is very impressive. Service was great but I will have to go back during the weekend to see how good it really is during a busier time. And I will definitely go back. In my opinion this is one of the best (if not the best) restaurant in central Ohio. It's not cheap, but totally worthy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, cocktails and service were fantast ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Food, cocktails and service were fantastic. Really enjoyed the tapas versus 1 large, heavy meal. Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Foodie heaven in Delaware

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Have been to Veritas 3 times and am always wowed. The food is so beautiful I'm always tempted to clap when it arrives at the table. Then I dig into it and am always amazed that it tastes even better than it looks. Service is always perfect. Friendly and helpful without being intrusive. If you haven't been to Veritas, drop everything and go. Now.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just not my kind of place.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Good concept, portions very small. Go away hungry while the costs are high compared to other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Most unusual combinations that I actually enjoyed.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

The waiters were very knowledgeable and helpful. The food was outstanding and the drinks - both alcoholic and non-alcoholic - were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard nothing but great things ab ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We had heard nothing but great things about this restaurant but my husband and I chose the tasting menu for $70 each and were very disappointing in the portions and the food. Our friends chose separate dishes and thought it was OK at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

the Best Food ever!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

the craft cocktails are awesome! while the foods mixture of flavors on the palate was just wonderful. that coupled with the excellent service ryan provided made our evening spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

What a great dining experience. I had the unique tasting menu and my wife ordered a la carte. I love the fact that I could have a top notch dining experience without the hustle and bustle of a big city. The chef created some amazing dishes that we thoroughly enjoyed. The scallops and the shrimp and grits left us craving more. Great job and looking forward to next time. Be sure to make a reservation they fill up fast and are very popular!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.