Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Veritas Tavern

At Veritas Tavern, we are committed to providing you a positively unique dining experience.

Our mission to accomplish a successful dish includes applying the use of the most classic and modern techniques. We are proud of our ingredients and strive to achieve clarity of flavor from each while purposefully choosing every plate’s elements. For us, a successful dish is not only a beautiful and delicious dish, but also one that serves as a catalyst in a journey of aesthetics, texture, and taste.

Veritas Tavern does not accept requests for additions, subtractions, or substitutions. Please alert your server regarding any dietary restrictions.

15 E. Winter St.
Delaware, OH 43015
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Winter St. & Sandusky

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(740) 417-4074

Website:
http://www.veritastavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua C Dalton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Veritas Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Tasting Menu (22)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
Tapas (13)
Authentic (9)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

What a fun and great experience with the tasting menu! I am GF and they made me feel very accommodated with no problem with advance notice. Excellent food, interesting presentations and great unique labor-intensive cocktails. Service was great and we had some nice conversations with staff. Highly recommend

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Fabulous. One of (if not the best) meal we've had and we go out a lot. We did the a la carte menu which was not only delicious but also was very reasonably priced. Drinks were awesome and the presentation of each cocktail and dish only magnified the experience to an even higher level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food, excellent craft cocktails and an extensive reasonably price wine list. Our servers Ryan and Tristan were very informative in describing dish preparation and suggested wine pairings. We have been here before and the ever changing menu continues to amaze us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Birthday dinner with friends. Food is delicious and creative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Went to see what all the fuss was about as this is allegedly a top spot in Columbus. Absolutely agree! Food was incredible and attention to detail beyond comprehension. A culinary experience like no other. Bravo.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Veritas is a great place to try unusual drinks and different food presentations. We have enjoyed all the things we have tried. It's intimate atmosphere makes you feel special .

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

surprised to see a meal small enough to feed a mouse to pull money from your pocket that would feed an adult. Very disappointed. left starving.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Really exceptional experience this past Saturday at Veritas Tavern. We went with the 7 course option that was selected by the chef and loved every one of them. Upscale tavern feel with great drinks, wine and unique food presentations. A+ anniversary experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Ryan and Tristan made the night special, on top of an already great food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My first trip here. I feel like I wasted the last three years of my life by not coming here sooner. The small plates were creative and delicious. The service was perfect. The handcrafted cocktails tasted like they were made with a passionate creator. The wine selection was creative and accommodating for the magnificent menu. Kudos!! We will be back. Thank you!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 23, 2017

These guys, front and back of house, are a well-oiled, finely-tuned, hard-working machine of food lovers and producers who are smart and respectfully devoted to bringing beautiful and delicious food/beverage selections.

They have high standards which they do not compromise and must love daily inspiration by the fresh, lovely foods they are able find at the markets daily.

After several years in the tough restaurant business, staff turnover is slight, if at all, and probably for very good reason.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was absolutely wonderful. Every bite was wonderful and the presentation was exceptional. We did the tasting menu and the wait time between courses was painfully long. Full meal took almost 3 hours. Very pricey for portion sizes. Our husbands left hungry and needed to get more to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We invited friends with us to celebrate an early Father's day and we all decided to experience the Tasting menu during what was our second visit to Veritas Tavern. From the surprising first course of shrimp and grits to the explosive last course of cherry Kombucha it was all phenomenal! We are fans of Veritas for life!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I love unique foods and unusual presentation - exceeds expectation!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good for an upscale dining experience. Great for the special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always wonderful food and service. Love going to Veritas and trying all the food. Its an eating experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Can not recommend the tasting menu enough! Excellent experience in every way.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Not checking beforehand I was expecting a more formal kind of restaurant.
I did not expect Tapas, but found them just enough and quite tasty.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Absolutely fantastic, we put off going because of the drive, huge mistake, friendly staff, excellent menu, and the food was nothing short of spectacular. You can see why it is one of the 10 best in Columbus. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wonderful delicious experience. Unique drinks and food. Presentation is 5 star. The tastes and flavors are like no other place I've eaten. Sad to see u leave Delaware.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Organic, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

While the food often dazzles at Veritas Tavern, the front of house service is far less consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Spectacular experience! From the moment we walked in and were greeted by the friendly professional restaurant manager we felt comfortable and excited for the night ahead. The food was phenomenal. We love to eat, we love food, have traveled the world and have eaten at several Michelin star restaurants and the food at Veritas was exceptional. The flavor combinations were a mixture of new and also predictable but put together in ways that was innovative and all worked well together. The staff were extremely knowledgeable about the food/cocktails and in a relaxed manner, not pretentious at all. We left very happy with our entire evening at Veritas and would highly recommend it to others. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fantastic, cutting edge, amazing, worth the drive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The restaurant met expectations: good food with a twist, nicely served, and the courses were well paced. Portions were sized well so you could finish them without gorging. Pleasant ambiance, not noisy, but would have preferred lowered table and chairs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is easily one of the best restaurants in Ohio and midwest. Food is inventive, fun, and the bar program is top notch. Go for the tasting menu. A real treat.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Awesome food, service and overall experience. I would highly recommend either a small group 2-4 or just sitting st the bar with small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Best in Central Ohio, bar none. No restaurant can compete with concept and execution.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

So creative and amazing food! We can't stop talking about how good everything was. Atmosphere was lively. Servers were so friendly and made the dinner even better.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Veritas has become our favorite place to dine in all of central Ohio and our go-to when hoping to impress guests from out of town. The food, presentation, and service never disappoint!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The tasting menu is clearly the choice to make, with the Brussell sprouts as the start. Creative cocktails off the House Made list are great as well. It's rating as the best restaurant in Central Ohio is very well deserved. Every dish was inspired and delectable, the service impeccable. Outstanding and worth the travel to Delaware.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They are artists, absolutely love Veritas!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was remarkable. My girl friend and I had the tasting menu. There were 11 servings they were small servings but they were so delectable and flavorful. I would recommend this place for special occasions where you really want to impress someone.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Exceptional as always. The tasting menu creates a new experience every time you dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Awesome. You will not be disappointed! Small tapas portions but ordering many of them allows you to try lots of things. Couples are only seated at the bar.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Outstanding creative menu & dishes. Great for experimenting with your pallet. Super Service! One of the Best Restaurants in Central Ohio.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Tapas, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We just love this place. We have the most unique tasting menu and dining experience every time we go there. Everything is different than you would imagine it to be. Love love love it

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I have been wanting to try Veritas for a long time. We finally made the drive up to Delaware and we were both very impressed. This type of restaurant is a rare find in Ohio. First, this is a gastronomy/foodie restaurant in the style of some of the great restaurants in Chicago, NYC, etc. Along with that designation comes needing a reservation. The placed was full and they were reservation only for the night. We went with the tasting menu and each dish was fantastic. This is a tasting menu so don't expect Applebees portions! I was impressed that the kitchen was doing this kind of food in central ohio and give them props for the presentation/freshness of the ingredients. The wait staff/bartenders were even more impressive. Not only were they making extremely unique drinks, they also act as servers and take care of everyone in the restaurant. Our server Tristan was very knowledgeable about the food and took excellent care of us. What always impresses me about a restaurant though is when the whole wait staff works together well as a team and this one did that very well. I don't think my water was ever less than half full. Getting through the 8 course menu took about 3 hours so make sure you give yourself plenty of time. I think they made the meat/fish sou vide so that make sense. 80.00 per person for the tasting menu which compared to the big cities mentioned is actually very cheap. Compared to other tasting menus around central ohio it is probably a bit high, but the ingredients and preparation more than justify the cost here. Overall great experience and a great date night. I am excited for them to move to their new location and bring this type of restaurant downtown. Its something that Columbus really doesn't have many choices for right now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The staff is great here, the food is some of the best in the Columbus area, and the selection at the bar is second to none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant for taking business associates or for special occasions, birthdays, anniversaries. Never, ever disappointed! Perfect food, service, drinks! Love the inventive small plates and special cocktails. Favorites are brussel sprouts, feta dip and dark chocolate, white chocolate dessert. One suggestion would be to use softer bread for the feta dip. The thin crisps were perfect though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.