About Veritas Tavern

At Veritas Tavern, we are committed to providing you a positively unique dining experience.

Our mission to accomplish a successful dish includes applying the use of the most classic and modern techniques. We are proud of our ingredients and strive to achieve clarity of flavor from each while purposefully choosing every plate’s elements. For us, a successful dish is not only a beautiful and delicious dish, but also one that serves as a catalyst in a journey of aesthetics, texture, and taste.

Veritas Tavern does not accept requests for additions, subtractions, or substitutions. Please alert your server regarding any dietary restrictions.

15 E. Winter St.
Delaware, OH 43015
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Winter St. & Sandusky

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(740) 417-4074

Website:
http://www.veritastavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua C Dalton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Veritas Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (10)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Tapas (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was probably our 50th time at Veritas over the past 4 years. The menu is constantly changing and the choices keep getting better. We go often for the tasting menu and the craft cocktails. Our small town will miss this place when it moves to downtown Columbus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food is 5-stars. Seriously spectacular. The price is expensive, but the food is worth it. I don't personally like sitting at a bar and most all of the two-person settings are put at the bar. The is my only con.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went here for a date night and had a great time! We made a reservation about a week in advance which is definitely recommended! We got two spots at the bar and it was great. We weren't rushed at all and could just enjoy the drinks and tasty dishes! I can't wait to go back. You can tell how seriously the staff takes their job and it shows in how amazing the food and drinks are.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Loved it! Was skeptical that it could be #1 on central Ohio restaurant list over and over. Am a believer! It's the best. Really enjoyed the food and the ambience. Service is excelksnt too. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very impressed. Wife and I both had the tasting menu. Servings were different and interesting; staff was knowledgeable and took time to explain each dish. Cocktails were also interesting and very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was fantastic; lots of choices. Servings are very small and meant for sharing. I enjoyed the experience; we had a 6pm reservation on Friday night; We stayed til 8:15 and were never rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fabulous. The tasting menu was amazing and the drinks were great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We enjoyed the enthusiasm of the staff and chefs towards their preparation and presentation. Loved the small plates, tapas type food. Interesting on many levels.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything was awesome. I will be going back as to allow them to continue to blow my mind and taste buds!

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice experience, friendly, informative and pleasant dining. Service good and not overbearing. My date didn't care for the dim lighting. It gave her a headache trying to read the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Casual and cozy with some fantastic elevated food. The tasting menu was as fun as it was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Easily the best restaurant in the greater Columbus Ohio area. Outstanding cocktails, great a la carte menu and an ever changing tasting menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best food in Columbus and we are avid foodies! Worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 10, 2016

wonderfully creative food; took care of our food sensitivities. pricey, but worth it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food and drinks were everything that we were expecting. Great time, we will see you again soon.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Simply amazing cocktails, appetizers, small plates, and desserts. We will go back often!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The server was wonderful. Totally made up for the fact that the bartender was a pompous jerk. If you have any questions about cocktails, be prepared to be treated like an idiot! The bartender was tall and slender with longer hair and appeared to have eye makeup on. To be fair, he made a MEAN cocktail. But he was a jerk.

Again, the server was delightful. It's a fun place to go for tapas and a couple drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A really outstanding dinner. Veritas has not always delivered at its potential but right now is at the top of its game.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Dining at Veritas Tavern is a unique, warm, delicious, inventive dining experience. Great for

Foodies, we tried different ingredients and combinations of food we would not have dreamed of ordering and enjoyed every bite! The staff is warm and friendly and know a great deal about the food and wine. We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best restaurant in central Ohio. Excellent service and great food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Was one of most impressive dinner experiences we've ever had. Very unique and tasty dishes . Small menu but it worked just fine and cocktails were equally impressive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Unbeatable food adventure when you visit Veritas Tavern. Sad they are headed downtown Columbus only because now we have to share with the rest of the city!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was a bit lacking. Service was slow and seemed less interested in taking care of our table in comparison to other tables. When I wasn't sure what cocktail to get, the waiter was quick to leave instead of offer suggestions. We thought maybe our age made them take us less seriously as guests. We sampled the entire menu. I thought buying the kitchen staff a round of drinks would help our experience - wrong. Tipped 20%, would have tipped more had the service cared more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We loved our meal at Veritas! We highly recommend the tasting menu, what a treat! We will definitely be back and look forward to there move downtown. Thank you Tristan for taking such good care of us.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We sat at the bar and marveled at Tristan who is not a bartender but a drink artist. His creativity and flair for the unusual was fun to watch. If you go, ask him to make you one of his specialities, not on the menu. He seems to always be crafted new drinks.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Our party of four wanted to try the tasting menu. Some very unusual small plates comprised the nine courses. They were very creative. Some I could not imagine. Three out of four of us enjoyed the experience. I thought it was a bit price but it was rated #1 in Columbus Magazine. The cocktail list is very impressive as well. I would recommend s reservation on weekends.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Simply amazing. Tristin took care of us and we were overwhelmed and joyfully thrilled with Veritas Tavern. It's in a class of its own and we will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We had heard so much about this restaurant, and we had no preconceived ideas. We truly enjoyed it, with the great variety of small plates, some better than others. Desserts were super good. It's too far to make a habit of it, but we understand it will be coming closer in the future. We look forward to trying it again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was the best meal I have had in recent memory. We plan on eating here on a quarterly basis to experience the menu changes. The Chef tasting menu is the way to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We love this restaurant. It is where we prefer to eat and it is usually AMAZING. This visit left us less than satisfied. To start we had great cocktails and wonderful courses to begin then we ordered our last two plates, the wild boar and the sirloin filet. It took over an hour from the time we ordered to when we got theses dishes. After 45 minutes we asked our server if we did order he assured us we did and "it just takes a while." I do not mind the long wait for really delicious food. I would have waited even longer if the food was good and hot. Both plates came out cold. The "filet" was some of the toughest beef I have ever had, difficult to cut the slices with the butter knife provided. The boar was cold and disappointing. Our server did not check in to see if everything was okay like he did in all the previous courses we had. After 7-10 visits this was our only bad experience here. My husband and I used to recommend this place to everyone. I really hope this was just an off night.It will be quite sometime before we head back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This restaurant was amazing!! My wife and I spent our 10 year anniversary and ordered the Tasting menu and we were amazed by ever dish that was brought out. The wait staff was awesome and made our experience special! I will definitely be back and bring friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Veritas is much more than just going out for dinner, it is a dining experience ! The food, presentation and service was outstanding! Downtown Columbus will soon have a chance to experience the best of the best.

Scott F.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food and cocktails are amazing! I have no complaints there. Price is on the high side.

They only have a handful of tables and it can be hard to get into, so I made reservations. Greeting was not warm and making reservations only got us two spots at the bar, not a table. And for spending $100, it'd be nice to have an actual table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Our server Tristan was very helpful for our first ever visit and gave great advice on the menu and tasting menu option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is a great find! We loved the food and the cocktails. Everyone was great. A really nice evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Friendly staff, amazing and quick service! Dishes were delicious and beautifully presented! One of our favorite places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Absolutely divine !! I've never had food this good with such perfect combination of flavors

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Amazing food and perfectly crafted cocktails! Be sure to order the "kitchen kool-aid"

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Amazing is a word that is overused to describe mundane things but in the case of my experience at Veritas tavern, it is very fitting. After reading reviews on Yelp I decided to take my daughter to Veritas for her 33rd birthday. We made a reservation for the 6:00 slot on Friday night. Because it was first Friday in downtown Delaware it was a little difficult to find a parking spot but we were lucky to have a spot open on the street right across from the restaurant. We were seated immediately at the bar. We both ordered cocktails from their extensive menu and were very pleased with our selections. I ordered the tasting menu and my daughter ordered off the al la cart. We intended to taste and share. As each dish arrived we were truly amazed at the beautiful presentation accompanied by a detailed verbal presentation from our server. We found ourselves surprised and delighted with the new and delicious flavors and textures in each dish. It was truly a unique and amazing adventure in dining. Top notch in all regards. Amazing!!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The reviews are in, highest Open Table rated venue in the area again, etc. I just want to thank Chef Josh and his staff at Veritas for what they do - a dining experience unlike any other in the area. Every thing is special - it is all about the food - bacon risotto, rabbit in house made pasta, sous vide herb infused brussel sprouts, crab gnocchi - you just want to order the menu. Big future for this place - they deserve it - I cannot wait.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 4, 2016

This is the best restaurant in the Columbus area. My wife and I have been there twice and split a bunch of small plates. Some of the most adventurous food in town. We will probably try the tasting menu the next time we are there, as we watched the servers bring out a series of appealing dishes on the tasting menu the last time we were there. The chicken wings with blue cheese foam are incredible as are the hush puppies. Everything else we have had has been wonderful as well. The restaurant is small and active. The food is elegant but the atmosphere is casual. They feature craft cocktails and a small but carefully constructed wine list. This is a destination restaurant that is worth traveling to.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Best restaurant in Columbus vicinity. Foodies should not miss this one!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Continues to be my favorite restaurant in Central Ohio.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food - as promised was small plates and fabulous cocktails, but the service left a lot to be desired. Our main waitress had lots of attitude - eye rolling when we asked for certain things (which were totally reasonable). The strangest was when I asked for decaf coffee at the end of the meal, she acted like I had asked for something totally outrageous and with another eye roll, I was told that they don't do decaf... ok, so how about tea - no, sorry... A restaurant that touts itself as a high end culinary experience doesn't have decaf or tea??? We've been to restaurants where the service was bad because the wait staff was inattentive or just too busy, but this was purposefully rude. I have no words, really...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was not impressed. Overpriced food, small portions and two dishes lacked ingredients described in menu. Felt extremely ripped off!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was just OK, I would not recommend it to any of my friends. Service was great, can't say the same for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food is spectacular . Not only presentation but the taste as well. A real surprise. Do not get fooled by the small plate sizes either... There is enough in two or three plates to fill you up plenty !

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The unique menu as fun. The gnocchi was outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had the nine course tasting. It was phenomenal! Everything. Small plates, but each seemingly better than the last. Bartender was excellent too. At this place, the drinks are just as creating and delicious as the food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.