About Veritas Tavern

15 E. Winter St.
Delaware, OH 43015
View Larger Map

At Veritas Tavern, we are committed to providing you a positively unique dining experience. Dishes are served as Small Plates in order to present you the opportunity to enjoy an assortment of our traditional and unexpected flavor combinations. While each dish stands alone, they are best consumed in succession with friends. We encourage sharing food, as it inevitably sparks conversation and community, transforming a meal into a memory. Our mission to accomplish a successful dish includes applying the use of the most classic and modern techniques. We are proud of our ingredients and strive to achieve clarity of flavor from each while purposefully choosing every plate’s elements. For us, a successful dish is not only a beautiful and delicious dish, but also one that serves as a catalyst in a journey of aesthetics, texture, and taste. Veritas Tavern does not accept requests for additions, subtractions, or substitutions. Please alert your server regarding any dietary restrictions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Winter St. & Sandusky

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(740) 417-4074

Website:
http://www.veritastavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua C Dalton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine, Wine Bar

Veritas Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
11 More
Best Value
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Neighborhood Gem
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Neighborhood Gem
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Delaware ›

fit for foodies (33)
special occasion (32)
neighborhood gem (26)
See All
romantic (18)
notable wine list (12)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
good for groups (3)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful, exquisite food, displayed bea ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful, exquisite food, displayed beautifully, wonderful cocktails. We love Veritas!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great, unique setting with excellent foo ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Great, unique setting with excellent food

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent, excellent, excellent

Dined on May 3, 2016

This is a true gem of a restaurant -- people passionate about food and drinks, as well as people's experience. We went with our kids, who were welcomed and treated in a lovely way. They are 9 & 7 and were a little challenged by some of the more adventurous foods but then absolutely adored the sliders and asked for more. We had a fantastic time. This is a perfect place for celebrations, for business meals, for foodies, for romantic evenings... It's definitely a Delaware/Columbus don't-miss.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Most Excellent!

Dined on April 28, 2016

The kitchen and wait staff were superb. All were well versed in menu items and explained what each component was and what to expect. Small plate, schmall plate! I left completely satiated. My friend was skeptical when she saw the first component arrive. She doubts no more. My friends and I can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

This place was SUCH a pleasant surprise. The staff was so accommodating and friendly, and they really knew their food and drinks. The food was absolutely fabulous - we tried the small plates and each and every one was better than the last. Loved everything here!!! We'll be going back to try the 7 course meal...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Met My Expectations!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I've heard nothing but good things from my fellow foodie friends about Veritas Tavern. And it did not disappoint. Everything from the initial greeting, to the complimentary pour of rose (how did they know this is my favorite?!), the expert menu guidance, the superb friendly service, the eye catching, beautiful food presentation, the TASTE, the cocktails, the wine.. I could go on and on. It was perfect. We plan to drive out again when another tasting menu is available. And please, for the love of God, order the bacon risotto with 62.5 degree egg.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent tapas style restaurant! Food ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent tapas style restaurant! Food was different than anything else around. Presentation was beautiful. Drinks were best in town. Knowledgable staff and high level of customer service. Will definitely go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent and creative

Dined on April 15, 2016

We absolutely love this place! The food is fantastic and the creative execution of the menu and presentation is fabulous. Some of the very best food in Columbus "and it's hidden in Delaware"! This is a must try if you are a foodie

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening out

Dined on April 12, 2016

Amazing food and service! Love the "antique" and eclectic serving plates and dishes - gives the restaurant a great vibe. It's an added bonus when the servers give you a description of the food and the process used to prepare it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Also an experience

Dined on April 6, 2016

Food offers great imagination and creativity. Waiter was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

Dined on April 1, 2016

Veritas is a great spot to enjoy a special night out. The tasting menu is such a fun experience where you can try techniques you can't find anywhere else in the area. The food was also amazing. It felt like you were actually experiencing art and not just out for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceeds Expectations.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Was expecting high attitude dining that left you hungry. Not the case at all. The tasting menu was amazing and the food was filling. Amazing tastes and presentation, also. Would recommend the experience to all. Tables can be hard to reserve. Bar is always a good option, if just the two of you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing tasting menu.Perfect for sharing.

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was our second time at Veritas, which we first discovered last summer. We had such an amazing experience that we brought some good friends with us this time. The tasting menu is known for its creative use of unusual foods and food combinations, as well as it's artistic presentation. We were not disappointed. The cocktail menu was extensive and we took advantage of that. It was well worth the drive from Columbus!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great night

Dined on March 16, 2016

Terrific food and amazing cocktails. Brush Fire was my favorite drink of the evening. I've seen people complain about the price here, but $70 for a seven course tasting with this amount of nuance and detail is a total steal. And unlike anything else in Columbus. My girlfriend needed dairy-free options. Everyone was super nice about it and very accommodating. Her strawberry-sorbet dessert was out of this world. All of the food was really delicious. Favorites were the shrimp & grits, roasted sunchoke, and the beet risotto (that one, again, from the dairy-free menu). Filet medallions weren't the biggest hit with us, but we both liked them. And loved the build of the tasting menu. Very fun night out for foodies. Will definitely be coming back. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A welcome surprise

Dined on March 10, 2016

Veritas Tavern might well put Delaware, Ohio on the map. We weren't sure what we were getting into when we found only two other tables seated at 8pm. It was a rainy Wednesday night. The good news is that the meal was excellent. We ordered a selection of small plates, each of which was a pleasure to taste. Tristan, our bartender/waiter, was nicely low-key but attentive. I reserve five star ratings for truly memorable meals at the world's best restaurants but the food here was close. A strong four stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Veritas! Celebrated adult daughter ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Love Veritas! Celebrated adult daughter's bday and they went over the top! Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An amazing restaurant

Dined on February 26, 2016

I went on a Thursday night and it was extremely quiet. There was just another couple siting at the bar. The bartender told us that was unusual, but it was perfect for me and my husband since we wanted a romantic night out. Once the couple left we had the whole place for ourselves which was both an unusual and very pleasant experience. The tasting menu was fabulous and creative. Rich and innovative flavors, amazing textures, nice flow. The wine and cocktail list is very impressive. Service was great but I will have to go back during the weekend to see how good it really is during a busier time. And I will definitely go back. In my opinion this is one of the best (if not the best) restaurant in central Ohio. It's not cheap, but totally worthy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, cocktails and service were fantast ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Food, cocktails and service were fantastic. Really enjoyed the tapas versus 1 large, heavy meal. Will definitely be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie heaven in Delaware

Dined on February 12, 2016

Have been to Veritas 3 times and am always wowed. The food is so beautiful I'm always tempted to clap when it arrives at the table. Then I dig into it and am always amazed that it tastes even better than it looks. Service is always perfect. Friendly and helpful without being intrusive. If you haven't been to Veritas, drop everything and go. Now.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Just not my kind of place.

Dined on February 10, 2016

Good concept, portions very small. Go away hungry while the costs are high compared to other places.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most unusual combinations that I actually enjoyed.

Dined on January 27, 2016

The waiters were very knowledgeable and helpful. The food was outstanding and the drinks - both alcoholic and non-alcoholic - were exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2

We had heard nothing but great things ab ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

We had heard nothing but great things about this restaurant but my husband and I chose the tasting menu for $70 each and were very disappointing in the portions and the food. Our friends chose separate dishes and thought it was OK at best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the Best Food ever!

Dined on January 19, 2016

the craft cocktails are awesome! while the foods mixture of flavors on the palate was just wonderful. that coupled with the excellent service ryan provided made our evening spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on January 16, 2016

What a great dining experience. I had the unique tasting menu and my wife ordered a la carte. I love the fact that I could have a top notch dining experience without the hustle and bustle of a big city. The chef created some amazing dishes that we thoroughly enjoyed. The scallops and the shrimp and grits left us craving more. Great job and looking forward to next time. Be sure to make a reservation they fill up fast and are very popular!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Veritas is amazing

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

This place is just silly good - I always balk at the distance and issues we have had Ubering - but what delicious and interesting food - I mean going here is addictive if you crave a Chicago / NYC type experience with unassuming surroundings and really special food - hats off to the whole crew at Veritas. Keep it going - you are appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food. I will definitely be back. ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Awesome food. I will definitely be back. 😄

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cirque du Soleil for the Palate

Dined on December 19, 2015

Intimate space. Friendly staff. Chef Josh Dalton is a wizard. Every menu option seduced us and our selections provided waves of delight around the table. The experience started to feel Pavlovian as each time anyone from the bar or kitchen approached, we dropped our stories and gave our full attention to whatever was put in front of us -- as well as to the intricate descriptions. It felt like the dining equivalent of watching Cirque du Soleil performance. We kept asking, 'How did they do that?" We left satisfied, but not stuffed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service5

Great food, expertly knowledgable servic ...

Dined on December 18, 2015

Great food, expertly knowledgable service. Wine was very moderately priced. Had 6 small plates between the two of us and all were great. Will be returning

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome

Dined on December 5, 2015

All I can truly say is the place was firetrucking awesome and I cannot wait to go back. Creative food with a wonderful ambiance and great service. We enjoyed Ryan and the rest of his team.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always

Dined on November 27, 2015

Veritas always has unique items on their menu. It's perfect for groups that want to have unique food fare. I love the deconstructed food and the craft cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Best food in Columbus

Dined on November 26, 2015

I've never enjoyed food like I did at Veritas. Amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome dining experience

Dined on November 20, 2015

This was a birthday celebration, where 3 of the 4 had birthdays. We all four had the tasting menu with a few extra small plates. Everyone loved it, but the experience begins when the server explains the tasting menu ... (the little placard didn't do it justice). This is a very unique experience, as each dish is the chef's creation, and is definitely not something you would make at home! With the tasting menu, each course is served on small individual plates ... it is not too much, and the guys did not say they were left hungry, so it must be enough for them too. There were no leftovers from our table though! The server had reviewed the tasting menu with us, and then the person delivering the food to the table reviewed it ... it was fascinating, and although you might think this takes a lot of time, it was very entertaining. Drinks were also interesting, and we had a beer that was off-menu that was great. So ask. I thought every dish was delicious, and my describing would not do these unique creations justice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Small plate heaven

vip
Dined on November 13, 2015

This was our second time. We had the seven course tasting menu and it was amazingly good. The shrimp and grits was a most wonderful surprise. The steak and potatoes likewise. The soup was outstanding. Just one great dish after another, and none so large that you felt stuffed, you just wanted more of the same. The service was friendly and efficient (we were attending a dance concert at OWU and had to leave on time--every course came out on time, and we didn't feel either rushed or impatient). The drinks were creative and excellent. It was just a great experience top to bottom and we most definitely will be back soon. Veritas Tavern is true to its name....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely #1

Dined on November 7, 2015

Veritas Tavern was a wonderful surprise and worth the drive from Columbus to Delaware. We took advantage of a 6 pm reservation. Excellent wine list and intriguing "pre-Prohibition " cocktails. The tasting menu consisted of 7 courses of perfectly prepared and presented tastes, just enough to be full without being stuffed over a 90 minute period. Highlights included oxtail ravioli, vanilla-poached langostines, and a to-die-for potato treatment with the beef medallions. Service was great and shared by the small staff, including one dish brought out by the chef owner. The small plates looked equally spectacular. The best restaurant I have been to in the Columbus area since Handke's closed.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Great Evening

vip
Dined on November 3, 2015

Veritas never fails to be the best restaurant in Columbus area! Drinks, food and service are the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

taste bud extravaganza

Dined on October 23, 2015

The chef is the most creative We have ever seen. Eating his creations opens all your taste buds, visually as well as sensory. The platings are so unique & the entire meal is not only delicious but so fun. We encourage everyone who loves a new experience in dining to try Veratas. The craft cocktails are also amazing. It is fun to try something unique. Wine bottles are really priced fairly for a different than most places serve.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific!

Dined on October 15, 2015

Veritas is a gem in Delaware. Cocktails are creative and very good. Wine list offers very good variety. Short menu of starters and small plates is interesting and balanced. All plates are nicely presented. Most importantly, each dish we tried was wonderful. Two of us shared 5 dishes and were satisfied but not stuffed. We finished with a shared banana dessert (next time, I'm not sharing!) The service was very good. The guys seem to share the duties and take care of each table efficiently but still having fun and showing pride in what Veritas is doing. As each dish is brought to the table, the server carefully explained the ingredients and how the dish was prepared. It was a fun and interesting evening and we will go there again, soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A true dining experience all around. Exq ...

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

A true dining experience all around. Exquisite presentation, spot on flavor profile & a very attentive, genuine staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Best

Dined on October 10, 2015

For my money, Veritas Tavern is the best restaurant in the Columbus area. I'm very willing to travel to Delaware to go. The food and presentation is modern, but the overall flavor profiles are very familiar to most people. The wait staff is very good and their cocktails are amazing. I had one the the best meals of my life there last Saturday. It's that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great cocktails

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

If you are looking for a great foodie restaurant with amazing pre-prohibition style craft cocktails you just hit the jackpot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.