About Veritas Tavern

15 E. Winter St.
Delaware, OH 43015
View Larger Map

At Veritas Tavern, we are committed to providing you a positively unique dining experience. Dishes are served as Small Plates in order to present you the opportunity to enjoy an assortment of our traditional and unexpected flavor combinations. While each dish stands alone, they are best consumed in succession with friends. We encourage sharing food, as it inevitably sparks conversation and community, transforming a meal into a memory. Our mission to accomplish a successful dish includes applying the use of the most classic and modern techniques. We are proud of our ingredients and strive to achieve clarity of flavor from each while purposefully choosing every plate’s elements. For us, a successful dish is not only a beautiful and delicious dish, but also one that serves as a catalyst in a journey of aesthetics, texture, and taste. Veritas Tavern does not accept requests for additions, subtractions, or substitutions. Please alert your server regarding any dietary restrictions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Winter St. & Sandusky

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(740) 417-4074

Website:
http://www.veritastavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua C Dalton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Veritas Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
10 More
Best Value
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Service
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Fit for Foodies
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Delaware ›

Fit for Foodies (24)
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Notable Wine List (12)
Romantic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Continues to be my favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Continues to be my favorite restaurant in Central Ohio.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was not impressed. Overpriced food, s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I was not impressed. Overpriced food, small portions and two dishes lacked ingredients described in menu. Felt extremely ripped off!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food - as promised was small plates ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food - as promised was small plates and fabulous cocktails, but the service left a lot to be desired. Our main waitress had lots of attitude - eye rolling when we asked for certain things (which were totally reasonable). The strangest was when I asked for decaf coffee at the end of the meal, she acted like I had asked for something totally outrageous and with another eye roll, I was told that they don't do decaf... ok, so how about tea - no, sorry... A restaurant that touts itself as a high end culinary experience doesn't have decaf or tea??? We've been to restaurants where the service was bad because the wait staff was inattentive or just too busy, but this was purposefully rude. I have no words, really...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

It was just OK, I would not recommend it ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was just OK, I would not recommend it to any of my friends. Service was great, can't say the same for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

The food is spectacular . Not only prese ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food is spectacular . Not only presentation but the taste as well. A real surprise. Do not get fooled by the small plate sizes either... There is enough in two or three plates to fill you up plenty !

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The unique menu as fun. The gnocchi was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The unique menu as fun. The gnocchi was outstanding

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lovely evening!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the nine course tasting. It was p ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had the nine course tasting. It was phenomenal! Everything. Small plates, but each seemingly better than the last. Bartender was excellent too. At this place, the drinks are just as creating and delicious as the food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved the tasting menu! It is a good ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We loved the tasting menu! It is a good adventure. The wine suggestions paired nicely with the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the nine course option, and absol ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We did the nine course option, and absolutely loved everything. We will definitely return, and recommend to our friends.

Tags: Authentic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the creativity from the chef, sma ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love the creativity from the chef, small plates so you can taste many different dishes. Small place with 5 or 6 tables and a large bar. The menu is outside the box and very tasty. If you enjoy trying different creations this is the place. We drive 45 min to get there and it is worth every minute. If you are a steak and potato kind of person this is NOT your spot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time there. The food an ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It was our first time there. The food and drinks were wonderful but service was definitely slow. We ordered a tasting menu and the time between each course dragged. We actually ended up leaving before our last three courses even though we repeatedly asked them to rush so that was disappointing. Overall I would recommend just make sure you have no pressing plans because you could be there awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Unbeleivable dinner. Tapas, however, no ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Unbeleivable dinner. Tapas, however, not so small...smile. Delicious food and incredible craft drinks. My new favorite place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was superb, service friendly. Smal ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was superb, service friendly. Small plate dining a great idea. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought great friends to Veritas last ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We brought great friends to Veritas last night and we left with a great big WOW! Our friends were visiting from the Monterey Peninsula and were reminded of Manressa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique experience. Only a few tables. Di ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Unique experience. Only a few tables. Disappointed that I had to sit at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had five and it is not cheap if you g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had five and it is not cheap if you get the tasting menu but other food off the menu is much more reasonable. Since we've only gone for special occasions we get the tasting menu and have not ever been disappointed. Atmosphere is casual. Food is luscious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place for craft cocktails and smal ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great place for craft cocktails and small plates. The food is prepared in such a way that it high lights the mixture of flavors and spices. It is truly masterpiece.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best plating and food ever. Nothing ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The best plating and food ever. Nothing is close. Not Hyde Park, Eddie Merlots, Smith&Wolenski, or Marcellas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit to Veritas Tavern ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Veritas Tavern. It never disappoints. We tried the tasting menu and loved the opportunity to try new delicious finds. Service was wonderful as well.

We will visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was an exciting and del ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The tasting menu was an exciting and delicious dining experience. Due to the small size of the restaurant, a couple of large boisterous groups did influence the overall noise level, taking away a bit of our dining enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Best restaurant in Columbus! Nate and Tr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Best restaurant in Columbus! Nate and Tristan are fantastic! Nate knows his food and Tristan creates the best drinks! Amazing food and a fun experience every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The tasting menu was an adventure. Very ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The tasting menu was an adventure. Very creative and incredible food in a series of small plates.

I would recommend Veritas Tavern to anyone who enjoys inventive cocktails and delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal we've had in Central Ohio! ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The best meal we've had in Central Ohio! Josh's creations were quite amazing. We enjoyed every bite! We also enjoyed learning about some of his inspirations for the courses. We had a wonderful time and will be back soon!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting plating and imaginative food ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Interesting plating and imaginative food. Can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Been to Veritas several times but this w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Been to Veritas several times but this was 1st time we ordered the tasting menu. It was fabulous! We will always do it in the future.

As normal service was top notch and cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place! Amazing food unlike any ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Love this place! Amazing food unlike anything I've ever tasted before. Order the tasting menu. Fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An immensely creative tapas bar is not n ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

An immensely creative tapas bar is not necessarily what you expect in a small storefront in Delaware. To appreciate this place, you need to be in the mood for unique daily small plate creations, few standard menu items, and adventurous friends with whom to share. The drink menu is one of the most varied in the area, with a neat pre-prohibition focus. I've never had a hot potato dish served on hot coals at the table, or a great hot potato soup chilled with dry ice. Not inexpensive (we spent almost $100 each counting 4-5 drinks each). Not a lot of seating, so reservations needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Creative delicious food-surprising combi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Creative delicious food-surprising combinations of tastes and textures Go for the tasting menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A special hidden gem, the chef menu tast ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

A special hidden gem, the chef menu tasting was amazing! Cocktails were quite impressive, enjoyed every minute of our experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in central Ohio.

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Best in central Ohio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolute gem. The tasting menu was fu ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

An absolute gem. The tasting menu was fun, innovative and best of all, delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the chef's tasting menu --not cheap, ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Had the chef's tasting menu --not cheap, but every course was superb and worth the $, in my opinion. Service was top-notch and every course was explained by the chef/owner himself. Outstanding flavors and creativity. Reservations are a must and the whole experience takes time so plan to savor every course over a couple of hours. They have "small plates" on the menu as well for those wanting to spend less time & $, but I wholeheartedly recommend the full tasting menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food I have ever had

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This place is awesome. The blend of flavor in each small plate is amazing. The presentation of each dish is truly an art form. We had the chefs tasting menu it was great. Our server Tristan explained the preparation and ingredients in all 10 course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, exquisite food, displayed bea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Wonderful, exquisite food, displayed beautifully, wonderful cocktails. We love Veritas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great, unique setting with excellent foo ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Great, unique setting with excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, excellent, excellent

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

This is a true gem of a restaurant -- people passionate about food and drinks, as well as people's experience. We went with our kids, who were welcomed and treated in a lovely way. They are 9 & 7 and were a little challenged by some of the more adventurous foods but then absolutely adored the sliders and asked for more. We had a fantastic time. This is a perfect place for celebrations, for business meals, for foodies, for romantic evenings... It's definitely a Delaware/Columbus don't-miss.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Most Excellent!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The kitchen and wait staff were superb. All were well versed in menu items and explained what each component was and what to expect. Small plate, schmall plate! I left completely satiated. My friend was skeptical when she saw the first component arrive. She doubts no more. My friends and I can't wait to go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This place was SUCH a pleasant surprise. The staff was so accommodating and friendly, and they really knew their food and drinks. The food was absolutely fabulous - we tried the small plates and each and every one was better than the last. Loved everything here!!! We'll be going back to try the 7 course meal...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Met My Expectations!!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I've heard nothing but good things from my fellow foodie friends about Veritas Tavern. And it did not disappoint. Everything from the initial greeting, to the complimentary pour of rose (how did they know this is my favorite?!), the expert menu guidance, the superb friendly service, the eye catching, beautiful food presentation, the TASTE, the cocktails, the wine.. I could go on and on. It was perfect. We plan to drive out again when another tasting menu is available.

And please, for the love of God, order the bacon risotto with 62.5 degree egg.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.