Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Veritas Tavern

At Veritas Tavern, we are committed to providing you a positively unique dining experience.

Our mission to accomplish a successful dish includes applying the use of the most classic and modern techniques. We are proud of our ingredients and strive to achieve clarity of flavor from each while purposefully choosing every plate’s elements. For us, a successful dish is not only a beautiful and delicious dish, but also one that serves as a catalyst in a journey of aesthetics, texture, and taste.

Veritas Tavern does not accept requests for additions, subtractions, or substitutions. Please alert your server regarding any dietary restrictions.

15 E. Winter St.
Delaware, OH 43015
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Winter St. & Sandusky

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(740) 417-4074

Website:
http://www.veritastavern.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua C Dalton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wine

Veritas Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Romantic (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Tapas (7)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined a day ago

They are artists, absolutely love Veritas!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Exceptional as always. The tasting menu creates a new experience every time you dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Awesome. You will not be disappointed! Small tapas portions but ordering many of them allows you to try lots of things. Couples are only seated at the bar.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Outstanding creative menu & dishes. Great for experimenting with your pallet. Super Service! One of the Best Restaurants in Central Ohio.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Tapas, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We just love this place. We have the most unique tasting menu and dining experience every time we go there. Everything is different than you would imagine it to be. Love love love it

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I have been wanting to try Veritas for a long time. We finally made the drive up to Delaware and we were both very impressed. This type of restaurant is a rare find in Ohio. First, this is a gastronomy/foodie restaurant in the style of some of the great restaurants in Chicago, NYC, etc. Along with that designation comes needing a reservation. The placed was full and they were reservation only for the night. We went with the tasting menu and each dish was fantastic. This is a tasting menu so don't expect Applebees portions! I was impressed that the kitchen was doing this kind of food in central ohio and give them props for the presentation/freshness of the ingredients. The wait staff/bartenders were even more impressive. Not only were they making extremely unique drinks, they also act as servers and take care of everyone in the restaurant. Our server Tristan was very knowledgeable about the food and took excellent care of us. What always impresses me about a restaurant though is when the whole wait staff works together well as a team and this one did that very well. I don't think my water was ever less than half full. Getting through the 8 course menu took about 3 hours so make sure you give yourself plenty of time. I think they made the meat/fish sou vide so that make sense. 80.00 per person for the tasting menu which compared to the big cities mentioned is actually very cheap. Compared to other tasting menus around central ohio it is probably a bit high, but the ingredients and preparation more than justify the cost here. Overall great experience and a great date night. I am excited for them to move to their new location and bring this type of restaurant downtown. Its something that Columbus really doesn't have many choices for right now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The staff is great here, the food is some of the best in the Columbus area, and the selection at the bar is second to none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant for taking business associates or for special occasions, birthdays, anniversaries. Never, ever disappointed! Perfect food, service, drinks! Love the inventive small plates and special cocktails. Favorites are brussel sprouts, feta dip and dark chocolate, white chocolate dessert. One suggestion would be to use softer bread for the feta dip. The thin crisps were perfect though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Still the best restaurant in town, every plate is fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Hands down the most interesting food in the area! Presentation is striking, and staff knowledgeable. Never rushed!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We love Veritas! We don't go out to eat as frequently as most people because I enjoy cooking and my husband usually says my meals are better than many restaurants. Veritas is different though. The food and presentation is always unique- definitely more creative than my cooking. Eating there is an experience, one we have shared with many of our friends. We usually get the tasting menu, but the ala cart menu is also tasty! The space is small and relaxed and the staff is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The best - another great tasting menu. Thanks Ryan, Tristan, Josh, and the kitchen staff for saving us the air fare to Chicago to get a meal like this. Always special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a reservation for 8:30 on a Saturday night. We came early, and were sat shortly after 8:30. There were only two of us, but we got a table, which seems uncommon as there is more bar seating than table top seating. The drinks are very particularly made, the service was warm, and the food was phenomenal. You could see the kitchen working the whole time, and the whole staff treated us well. I highly recommend for foodies, but if you want something less complicated, expensive, or want something more fast paced, I would recommend something else.

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Casual, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Their food are always spectacular with variety house made cocktail list

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This is one the best restaurant I have ever been to. It can be pricey. You could easily spend 75 to 100$ per person but is well worth it if you have that budget. You can also eat for 75$ for a couple all depends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Incredible as always! Wait staff is amazing. Food can't be found anywhere else. My favorite restaurant of all time. Couldn't recommend more!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We have heard wonderful things about Veritas Tavern and let me tell you, their reputation is well deserved. The food was borderline amazing and the service was flawless. We dined for my boyfriend's birthday and it was a perfect place for our special occasion. Beautiful and quiet. We opted to enjoy the chef's tasting menu and all I can say is WOW! Bar, A+. Food, A+. Service, A+. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love the Bartenders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first visit and I can't wait to go back. everything was prepared with great attention to both presentation and taste. Both my husband and I are former restaurant managers so we are very tough to please and we were really delighted. Loved the Brussel sprouts gnocchi, shoulder filet, banaa brownie desert!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is an interesting, creative food experience, with courses that were very good to excellent-- the gnocchi was exceptional, the brussel sprouts very good, the ricotta a miss. It's a lively boisterous place -- and we had fun. This isn't the place for a conventional " lovely evening out". The seating isn't comfortable, it's loud, and the servers are ok. Not rude, but clearly signally that you are the lucky ones to be there drinking their drinks and eating their food. So, you are there for one reason -- the consumables: the decadent cocktails and the food. On balance, it was worth it, but not overly so. The best courses were truly delicious. The portions, though small and highly stylized, were fine. The presentation was nicely done, though about what you'd see in any haute cuisine place. But the combination of bar atmosphere and exotic food prep is compelling, and unique for this area, so big points for that. Other aspects were a pretentious bother, with the kind of fussy rules you'd expect (but don't in fact have to endure) at an Alain Ducasse restaurant:e.g. my spouse wanted the tasting menu and I didn't, BUT the portions are so "carefully measured" and "constructed" it is "impossible" to make it available for only one person in a party. Oo la la! Fess up. This is about convenience (theirs) and cost, not a culinary necessity. The website doesn't warn about this. Also be sure to read the website carefully if you have a dietary restriction; there are two sets of rules, one for the tasting menu and one for the small plates menu. Arrive without proper advance work at your peril. Not clear why you have to work so hard to order a meal, even an exceptional one. And this wasn't quite exceptional. So I suggest they loosen up and concentrate on taking a great menu with fair execution one step higher. Conclusion: it's interesting enough to warrant a second visit, and for a first timer, with a thorough pre-brief on applicable rules, it's worth a try.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Simply put, Veritas Tavern is the best restaurant in central Ohio. The tasting menu is truly amazing. I know of no other restaurant in the greater Columbus area that that makes such interesting and varied cocktails and prepares food of this caliber. Chef Josh Dalton and his staff are to be congratulated for offering such a terrific dining experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We dine out often in the Columbus area and wanted to give Delaware a try. We've enjoyed 1808 and read good things about Veritas. Well from the moment we walked in it was one of the worst dining experiences we've ever had. The bartender that greeted us was smug and condescending. My husband asked for a certain drink and was told "we don't make that here" and then just stared at us, not offering to make anything similar. The food choices were ridiculous and the quality of the tapas we did manage to order was subpar at best. Hush puppies were burnt and tasteless. Risotto had an awful taste to it. Wings weren't bad but the "whipped" blue cheese had absolutely no taste. The only positive was our waiter, who couldn't have been nicer, seemingly trying to overcompensate for the restaurant's many short comings. Will never understand how this restaurant lands on the top 10 in Columbus. Just glad we didn't bring friends, would've been embarrassing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was probably our 50th time at Veritas over the past 4 years. The menu is constantly changing and the choices keep getting better. We go often for the tasting menu and the craft cocktails. Our small town will miss this place when it moves to downtown Columbus.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food is 5-stars. Seriously spectacular. The price is expensive, but the food is worth it. I don't personally like sitting at a bar and most all of the two-person settings are put at the bar. The is my only con.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went here for a date night and had a great time! We made a reservation about a week in advance which is definitely recommended! We got two spots at the bar and it was great. We weren't rushed at all and could just enjoy the drinks and tasty dishes! I can't wait to go back. You can tell how seriously the staff takes their job and it shows in how amazing the food and drinks are.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Loved it! Was skeptical that it could be #1 on central Ohio restaurant list over and over. Am a believer! It's the best. Really enjoyed the food and the ambience. Service is excelksnt too. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very impressed. Wife and I both had the tasting menu. Servings were different and interesting; staff was knowledgeable and took time to explain each dish. Cocktails were also interesting and very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was fantastic; lots of choices. Servings are very small and meant for sharing. I enjoyed the experience; we had a 6pm reservation on Friday night; We stayed til 8:15 and were never rushed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fabulous. The tasting menu was amazing and the drinks were great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We enjoyed the enthusiasm of the staff and chefs towards their preparation and presentation. Loved the small plates, tapas type food. Interesting on many levels.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Everything was awesome. I will be going back as to allow them to continue to blow my mind and taste buds!

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice experience, friendly, informative and pleasant dining. Service good and not overbearing. My date didn't care for the dim lighting. It gave her a headache trying to read the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Casual and cozy with some fantastic elevated food. The tasting menu was as fun as it was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Easily the best restaurant in the greater Columbus Ohio area. Outstanding cocktails, great a la carte menu and an ever changing tasting menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best food in Columbus and we are avid foodies! Worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 10, 2016

wonderfully creative food; took care of our food sensitivities. pricey, but worth it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food and drinks were everything that we were expecting. Great time, we will see you again soon.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Simply amazing cocktails, appetizers, small plates, and desserts. We will go back often!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The server was wonderful. Totally made up for the fact that the bartender was a pompous jerk. If you have any questions about cocktails, be prepared to be treated like an idiot! The bartender was tall and slender with longer hair and appeared to have eye makeup on. To be fair, he made a MEAN cocktail. But he was a jerk.
Again, the server was delightful. It's a fun place to go for tapas and a couple drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

A really outstanding dinner. Veritas has not always delivered at its potential but right now is at the top of its game.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.