Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Vera Mae's Bistro

Located in the revitalized historic district of downtown Muncie Indiana, Vera Mae's offers upscale fusion cuisine borrowing from the rich traditions of Europe, Asia and the new world. Our goal is to offer the highest quality and freshest fare available presented with impeccable service with attention to detail. Warm and inviting, the atmosphere reflects the love of the historic features inherent to the space and is filled with art work predominantly from local artisans.Our banquet facility, private dining area and seasonal outside seating allows for a wide range of accommodations.

209 S. Walnut Street
Muncie, IN 47305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 747-4941

Website:
http://www.veramaes.com/

Entertainment:
Vera Mae's hosts special events such as musical and theatrical presentations, community and educational programs, wine tastings and much more. We have enjoyed acts such as Jazz greats Diane Reeves, Carole King, and Jackie Allen, New York Voices and Ball State University Theatre and Dance students. We proudly offer live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights featuring the talents of pianists Jim Burcaw and Phil Cooley.

Catering:
Vera Mae's Bistro is a full service caterer offering only the finest food and drink with elegant accommodations and outstanding service. Vera Mae's offers both on site and off premise catering as well as delivery and pick up. We offer a wide variety of hors d'oeuvres intended for both large and small gatherings; as well as, entrées designed to hold up to the demands of off premise service--all with a concentration on presentation and flavor.

Executive Chef:
Nick Kirkpatrick

Private Party Facilities:
Located in the lower level of the restaurant, overlooking the wine cellar, the Boardroom offers a completely private dining atmosphere for up to 40 guests. This intimate space is well suited for business presentations and small conferences as well as warm gatherings of friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
David Franklin: (765) 747-4941

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vera Mae's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Worth the Drive (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Business Meals (20)
Historic (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (16)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Authentic (16)
Fireplace (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Private Room (11)
Live Music (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 hours ago

Great dinner as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first visit to Vera Mae's. The food, service and atmosphere were great. special thanks to Derek and Mary, and I will be visiting again in the near future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, Waitresses are always outstanding! Fantastic and great variety among menu!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Hot Spot, Historic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A delightful evening! Service was exemplary, food was excellent. The price was within our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was perfectly prepared. Service was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Live music greeted our visit while we took in the ambience of this establishment. From the appetizers to our entree', we were impressed by the quality of the food and more importantly the taste! The grouper was amazing! It was just a little noisy as it was difficult to speak in the music room but the overall experience was just wonderful. We will go again when we are in town!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food and great attention to detail by our waiter and bartender who created a drink request.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always a great time at Vera's!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My partner and I celebrated Valentine's by going out to dinner. We enjoyed the terrific atmosphere provided by the live piano player, historic building, and nicely set tables. The food was equally terrific as expected. We did the spinach and feta wontons for a starter and enjoyed the nicely seasoned curried potato soup and sides of mashed potatoes and asparagus. The service was close to top notch, only having to wait a time or two for a drink refill. Our waiter was great with answering our questions about the menu and throwing out a recommendation or two.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our experience at Vera Mae's Bistro was great. We started off with the Spinach and Feta Wontons. I had the Chicken Brie Raspberry. My boyfriend had the Porterhouse. We finished the meal off with the Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce. All of the food was spot on. Our server was very helpful with recommendations. We never waited too long for any of our food. Great experience and we hope to come back!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful food, time, and service. A gem of Muncie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always a great memory. Vera's is the best find north of Indianapolis. Great for intimate dinners or business meetings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very disappointed. We have been here a couple of time a few years back. We enjoyed it then. We made reservations for Valentines Day this time and had NO idea that the regular menu would not be available until we arrived. We had already planned our dinner from the regular menu. We had to instead pick from a very limited menu that cost us twice as much as the regular menu would have cost. We also did not get to order the entrees that we went there for. The cost combined with what we received was not good. The waiter did a great job. The waiter and my date (wife) were the only good things about the evening. We may not return. It was a disappointing evening.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We dined at Vera Mae's for Valentine's Day dinner. The menu was a prixfixe and included very good choices. I had the scallops and my husband had the salmon. They were both delicious. The soup was especially delicious. Our server did an excellent job of timing the courses. It was a five star rated experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for Valentines and she absolutely loved it. I enjoyed it very much as well. I drove threw hours and it was definitely worth the drive and the price. I loved the quick and friendly staff which made the experience much much better. I will definitely be recommending and visiting this elegant, fine, accommodating and delicious restaurant. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Organic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great Celebration
We were celebrating a birthday, and this was the perfect venue for that. The food was wonderful as were the libations. It was the perfect place in Muncie to do this.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very elegant, but also comfortable and casual. One-of-a-kind in East Central Indiana

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Historic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Quality of the food was outstanding. Excellent service. Pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Vera Mae's never disappoints! We love the food, the staff, and especially the owners who always go out of their way to make you feel like family!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Nice local gem. Quiet' quant place with good food and reasonably priced

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

After we left we learned that everyone's meat was over cooked. My grouper was set. The raspberry chicken was over cooked. Someone got the New York strip and it was well done not medium. Overall it was a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A must every time we go to Muncie to visit our daughter at college. Will miss it when she graduates!!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Vera Maes is an absolute gem in Muncie. It gives a big city feel to an evening on the town, yet is quaint, cozy and romantic. Service is excellent and the owners made us feel at home. Food was excellent and ample. Worth the drive even if you live out of town.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Historic, Live Music, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great personalized service! Hubby's steak was a perfect medium rare and seasoned with perfection. Always first choice for birthday celebrations. Love the soft live piano music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great place to eat! Never had a bad meal! Have been several times and will go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A great experience as always! We so appreciate having Vera Mae's here in Muncie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had the special of the evening: a very well-prepared sea bass accompanied by perfect rice pilaf and asparagus that was tender and delicious. A dry riesling has been added to the wine list, and it is a great accompaniment for fish. Muncie is very fortunate to have a restaurant of this quality.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a wonderful evening talking with an old friend. The staff was so couteous and helpful. The food was exceptional. We all had dessert. The bread pudding was the best I've ever had!! My brother from New York was very impressed and wants to bring his family the next time they are in town. Thank you for representing Muncie so well!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Good value for lunch but not so much for dinner. Products are not seasonal, and the menu never rotates. However, I have never had bad food, so you can't go wrong when you come to Vera Mae's except for your wallet!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It is absolutely wonderful!! Our favorite place for a wonderful dinner or lunch!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Groups, Vegan, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Historic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years dinner, wonderful meal and great live music.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated New Years Eve at this amazing gem tucked away in Muncie's downtown. Food is always fantastic the atmosphere is perfect and the owners Kent and Steve always make you feel so welcomed and appreciated. You must go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was well prepared and our waiter did a great job.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Tow of us had scallops, and they were outstanding. The filet also received race reviews. The Ghyslain desserts made us think we were in Europe. The beans were not undercooked. They were just ideal as was the couscous. Muncie is so fortunate to have this restaurant since the alternative is a drive to Indianapolis or Ft. Wayne.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is a great local restaurant, that is worth the trip to Muncie Indiana. I have had 2 excellent meals, and the service is great

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was wonderful. Everyone was happy with their dish. The service was horrible. The waiter took our appetizer and drink orders and did not return for at least a half an hour with the drinks then 10 to 15 minutes later at least with the appetizers. We had ordered our meals once and then the waiter came back and ask if you could take our order. The food did not arrive for at least an hour after that. During the wait for our food no one came to check on us and there were no apologies for the long wait or an offer to reduce our bill. I was very disappointed in the level of service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This restaurant is the best in Muncie. The service is impeccable and the food is well prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is by far our favorite place to eat. Amazing food and a fantastic atmosphere. Great place for special occasions or just a quiet evening with your significant other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service and the food was great! My wife and I loved the atmosphere and I would highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.