About Vera Mae's Bistro

209 S. Walnut Street
Muncie, IN 47305
View Larger Map

Located in the revitalized historic district of downtown Muncie Indiana, Vera Mae's offers upscale fusion cuisine borrowing from the rich traditions of Europe, Asia and the new world. Our goal is to offer the highest quality and freshest fare available presented with impeccable service with attention to detail. Warm and inviting, the atmosphere reflects the love of the historic features inherent to the space and is filled with art work predominantly from local artisans.Our banquet facility, private dining area and seasonal outside seating allows for a wide range of accommodations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 747-4941

Website:
http://www.veramaes.com/

Entertainment:
Vera Mae's hosts special events such as musical and theatrical presentations, community and educational programs, wine tastings and much more. We have enjoyed acts such as Jazz greats Diane Reeves, Carole King, and Jackie Allen, New York Voices and Ball State University Theatre and Dance students. We proudly offer live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights featuring the talents of pianists Jim Burcaw and Phil Cooley.

Catering:
Vera Mae's Bistro is a full service caterer offering only the finest food and drink with elegant accommodations and outstanding service. Vera Mae's offers both on site and off premise catering as well as delivery and pick up. We offer a wide variety of hors d'oeuvres intended for both large and small gatherings; as well as, entrées designed to hold up to the demands of off premise service--all with a concentration on presentation and flavor.

Executive Chef:
Nick Kirkpatrick

Private Party Facilities:
Located in the lower level of the restaurant, overlooking the wine cellar, the Boardroom offers a completely private dining atmosphere for up to 40 guests. This intimate space is well suited for business presentations and small conferences as well as warm gatherings of friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
David Franklin: 7657474941x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pomodori Secchi
  • Side Salad
  • Ensalada Amontillado
  • Peanut Butter Cheesecake
  • French Onion Soup
  • Gorgonzola Onion Angus Burger
  • Chicken With Brie And Raspberry
  • Crab Cakes
Pomodori Secchi
Side Salad
Ensalada Amontillado
Peanut Butter Cheesecake
French Onion Soup
Gorgonzola Onion Angus Burger
Chicken With Brie And Raspberry
Crab Cakes

Vera Mae's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indiana
Neighborhood Gem
Indiana
10 More
Romantic
Indiana
Special Occasion
Indiana
Contemporary American
Indiana
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Great for Lunch
Indianapolis
Neighborhood Gem
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Contemporary American
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Muncie ›

special occasion (27)
neighborhood gem (21)
romantic (19)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
great for lunch (15)
good for groups (13)
notable wine list (9)
great for outdoor dining (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual, dinner at Vera Mae's was excel ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

As usual, dinner at Vera Mae's was excellent. Great food, good service, wonderful ambience; always a joy to see Kent and Steve

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our lunch was wonderful. The food was b ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our lunch was wonderful. The food was beautifully prepared and tasted yummy!!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Vera Maes is my go to restaurant when vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Vera Maes is my go to restaurant when visiting Muncie. The food is always good and I love the atmosphere, service, etc. I rated the food as a 3 star instead of 4 due to the saltiness of the kale

partnered with the salmon. Vera Maes is definitely a gem for Muncie.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Vera Mae's

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It was a busy night but our service was good; overall the food was good though I thought the dinner salad was average and the rolls & dessert (pecan pie) didn't taste the freshest. Our entrees were very good (scallops & steak).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Noise level to was to much, food was goo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Noise level to was to much, food was good but not at the rate it cost.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Barbicue

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Another fabulous evening at Vera Mae's. Without a doubt, best restaurant in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took a client from out of town to Vera M ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Took a client from out of town to Vera Mae's. The meal was excellent. And it was great to meet both owners, who personally stopped by the table to see how we were doing. Definitely one of the top restaurants in Muncie - you can't go wrong here.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant, attentive servers, ch ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Lovely restaurant, attentive servers, charming owners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Occasion Place

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoy going to Vera Mae's for special occasions. The price prohibits us from going more often. Three of the four of us really enjoyed our food. The raspberry Brie chicken was great as were the veggies and couscous that came with it. The fried cod was also a hit. The linguini dish was not a favorite. It seemed to be very light on sauce so was dry. We'd have liked a bit more dressing to proportion it with the size of the salad. Overall, we enjoyed our experience and would definitely return for another special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We always impress our friends when we ta ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We always impress our friends when we take them to Vera Mae's

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Date night!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Love going to this place. Food is excellent! The fact that it is locally owned and operated makes it even more special. Would be returning again in the near future.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed dining at Vera Mae's. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere eclectic and food was fresh and tastee. Terrific wine list too

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Our waiter was Roberto. He was fantastic. We are vegetarian plus I cannot eat tomatoes. He was able to guide us in our menu choices. He new the menu and was able to help us select items that fit our diet restrictions and were delicious. My only suggestion is that you include more vegetarian items. Maybe an Alfredo pasta dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and wine! Prompt and cou ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food and wine! Prompt and courteous service!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Vera Mae's is undoubtedly the finest dining in Muncie. The service was top notch, the staff welcoming, the food good, full bar, soft music, a great overall atmosphere. A little pricey, but, that's par for the course these days in a fine dining establishment. All in all a very nice special occasion location.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great find in Muncie

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I prefer restaurants that have "different" menus. This would qualify. We had boned quail stuffed with jambalaya and scallops with bacon gravy over grits. Both portions were generous (2 quail, several large sea scallops, both entrees served with asparagus and house salad or soup) and well prepared. The owners were walking around to make sure all of the customers were taken care of and pitched in to remove plates and deliver meals when needed, just to keep things flowing. It was a pleasant meal and a welcome addition to a last minute business trip. I would definitely dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

disappointing

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

ordered beef med rare, came 1 side charred and well done, other was medium at best, fingerling potatoes seemed like yesterdays rewarmed, very dried out!! did love the salad however!!! and desert was good...wife had sea scallops..came on a very thick bed of grits, drizzled in bacon grease..not appetizing! also had potatoes..both came with a side of fried cabbage..wouldnt go again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Eating At Vera Mae's...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

...Feels like welcoming home coming, only with better food and really good cocktails!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Date Night Meal.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The ambiance was romantic. The décor was tasteful. The service was excellent. Both owners were charming and friendly. The food was amazing both in presentation and taste! Excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great food and great owners.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

As always the food was fantastic. The owner visited our table and wished my twin daughters a happy birthday. The restaurant is a rare find for a city the size of Muncie.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vera Mae's is a great restaurant in Muncie, IN

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

We had heard good things about Vera Mae's in Muncie. We decided to visit for our 48th wedding anniversary dinner. It was a good choice. We had reservations through open table. We were greeted at the door and seated right away. Our waitress was very attentive. Our appetizer orders were delivered promptly and were great. The entree's were both superbly prepared and presented. It was a delightful experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I've been to Vera Mae's Bistro a few times now and always have a great experience! Great atmosphere! Great food! Just lovely!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great jazz, Very good food and a great w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great jazz, Very good food and a great wine list made this a great evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent Special Occasion Restaurant

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We tend to use Vera Mae's as our "special" place and were thrilled to enjoy their Valentine's Day menu. There was a live band, the lights were low, and the room was full of candlelight - perfect. As always, the owners spent a lot of time visiting each table to confirm that everything was going well, which was nice to see. The menu is always excellent and we consider it one of the best places to eat in Muncie. We were going to go to a restaurant in Indianapolis, but we decided to stay in Muncie because Vera Mae's is already so great and then there's no drive home from Indy. No regrets.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentine's Dinner

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

On Valentine's Day we enjoyed a fabulous dinner at Vera Mae's. The menu was a fixed menu and I had the filet mignon for my entree. My husband chose the salmon. Our food was served hot and with the proper timing between each course. The red pepper soup was outstanding as well the side dish of couscous. My steak was delicious and prepared exactly the way I ordered it. Recently, we dined in Boulder, CO at a well known steak house where I also order a filet. The filet I had at Vera Mae's was by far superior to the other one. Good job, and my compliments to the chef for the preparation and menu choices on Vakentine's Day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best place in Muncie

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentines with wife, and it was perfect. Food was awesome. Started with shrimp cocktails that were just right. Both had the steak, and it was probably best steak that I have ever had. Asparagus was cooked perfectly. Vera Mae's is best restaurant in Muncie.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cold feet

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food good, but too expensive. Seated by door so very cold. Music too loud to talk with your guests. Limited menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Always an awesome experience. Food and s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Always an awesome experience. Food and service is fantastic. They spoil you.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food is absolultely fantastic. Great Service too. The ambiance is very romantic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was looking for a small town local resta ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Was looking for a small town local restaurant for something new on VD. Vera Mae's was perfect. They had nice live music, great menu and attentive owners

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Grand Slam

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

My wife and I went to Vera Mae's Bistro on the Friday before Valentine's Day for our Valentine's Dinner. The evening could not have been any better. Excellent Service, excellent conversation with staff, and the food was remarkable. We both decided that night that we will make this place a regular dinning out event. Who said there are not any good restaurants in Muncie?

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ahh the fireplace

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Thank you for making our night out even more perfect by sitting us next to the fireplace.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet and Relaxing

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

A great location to celebrate something special, catch up with family, or unwind with friends. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is serene.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious, but a tad salty. The food an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Delicious, but a tad salty. The food and ambiance never disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Vera Mae is a super restaurant to try

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We loved our meal. The service was a bit slow but overall, the experience was enjoyed by all!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent food and serv ice

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

As usual, Vera Mae's did not disappoint! It is a pleasure to dine there. The owners canvas the restaurant and greet the patrons in a friendly and inviting atmosphere. The food is outstanding. I offer this establishment my strongest possible recommendation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

One of Muncie's very best. Excellent food and service in a delightful nostalgic setting. The bar is superb and offers great specialty drinks. I recommend Hendricks' gin martini, a classic. It's on the pricey side for the town, but not so much so that it's over the budget limit for most people. A perfect special occasion venue.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve 2016

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Enjoyed a special menu on this special evening. The dinners were very good, four courses. Our table had shrimp cocktail, baked brie and artichoke dip fo appetizers. They were all very good. The second course was tomato bisque, which was OK. Our main courses were chicken and portabella mushroom, which everyone agreed were very good.

The only downside on the evening was the noise level, which was much higher than any of us liked, making the special entertainment nonexistent at our table.

Overall, we enjoyed our outing at Vera Mae's.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Absolutely love Vera Mae's. Finest estab ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Absolutely love Vera Mae's. Finest establishment in town and the food is amazing. Love seeing Kent interact with the customers. Decor is perfect and a wine and bar list to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though packed, the server was promp ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Even though packed, the server was prompt and attentive. Two had steak, two veal, all were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.