About Vera Mae's Bistro

209 S. Walnut Street
Muncie, IN 47305
View Larger Map

Located in the revitalized historic district of downtown Muncie Indiana, Vera Mae's offers upscale fusion cuisine borrowing from the rich traditions of Europe, Asia and the new world. Our goal is to offer the highest quality and freshest fare available presented with impeccable service with attention to detail. Warm and inviting, the atmosphere reflects the love of the historic features inherent to the space and is filled with art work predominantly from local artisans.Our banquet facility, private dining area and seasonal outside seating allows for a wide range of accommodations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 747-4941

Website:
http://www.veramaes.com/

Entertainment:
Vera Mae's hosts special events such as musical and theatrical presentations, community and educational programs, wine tastings and much more. We have enjoyed acts such as Jazz greats Diane Reeves, Carole King, and Jackie Allen, New York Voices and Ball State University Theatre and Dance students. We proudly offer live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights featuring the talents of pianists Jim Burcaw and Phil Cooley.

Catering:
Vera Mae's Bistro is a full service caterer offering only the finest food and drink with elegant accommodations and outstanding service. Vera Mae's offers both on site and off premise catering as well as delivery and pick up. We offer a wide variety of hors d'oeuvres intended for both large and small gatherings; as well as, entrées designed to hold up to the demands of off premise service--all with a concentration on presentation and flavor.

Executive Chef:
Nick Kirkpatrick

Private Party Facilities:
Located in the lower level of the restaurant, overlooking the wine cellar, the Boardroom offers a completely private dining atmosphere for up to 40 guests. This intimate space is well suited for business presentations and small conferences as well as warm gatherings of friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
David Franklin: (765) 747-4941

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vera Mae's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (21)
Worth the Drive (18)
Historic (17)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fun (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Fireplace (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Private Room (10)
Live Music (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Seasonal (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Scenic View (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food, time, and service. A gem ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food, time, and service. A gem of Muncie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed. We have been here a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed. We have been here a couple of time a few years back. We enjoyed it then. We made reservations for Valentines Day this time and had NO idea that the regular menu would not be available until we arrived. We had already planned our dinner from the regular menu. We had to instead pick from a very limited menu that cost us twice as much as the regular menu would have cost. We also did not get to order the entrees that we went there for. The cost combined with what we received was not good. The waiter did a great job. The waiter and my date (wife) were the only good things about the evening. We may not return. It was a disappointing evening.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

We dined at Vera Mae's for Valentine's D ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

We dined at Vera Mae's for Valentine's Day dinner. The menu was a prixfixe and included very good choices. I had the scallops and my husband had the salmon. They were both delicious. The soup was especially delicious. Our server did an excellent job of timing the courses. It was a five star rated experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my girlfriend here for Valentines ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

I took my girlfriend here for Valentines and she absolutely loved it. I enjoyed it very much as well. I drove threw hours and it was definitely worth the drive and the price. I loved the quick and friendly staff which made the experience much much better. I will definitely be recommending and visiting this elegant, fine, accommodating and delicious restaurant. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, , Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Organic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Celebration We were celebrating a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Celebration

We were celebrating a birthday, and this was the perfect venue for that. The food was wonderful as were the libations. It was the perfect place in Muncie to do this.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. Very elegan ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Very elegant, but also comfortable and casual. One-of-a-kind in East Central Indiana

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Historic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, , Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality of the food was outstanding. Exc ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Quality of the food was outstanding. Excellent service. Pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Vera Mae's never disappoints! We love th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Vera Mae's never disappoints! We love the food, the staff, and especially the owners who always go out of their way to make you feel like family!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice local gem. Quiet' quant place with ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Nice local gem. Quiet' quant place with good food and reasonably priced

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

After we left we learned that everyone's ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

After we left we learned that everyone's meat was over cooked. My grouper was set. The raspberry chicken was over cooked. Someone got the New York strip and it was well done not medium. Overall it was a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

A must every time we go to Muncie to vis ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A must every time we go to Muncie to visit our daughter at college. Will miss it when she graduates!!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vera Maes is an absolute gem in Muncie. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Vera Maes is an absolute gem in Muncie. It gives a big city feel to an evening on the town, yet is quaint, cozy and romantic. Service is excellent and the owners made us feel at home. Food was excellent and ample. Worth the drive even if you live out of town.

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Historic, Live Music, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great personalized service! Hubby's stea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great personalized service! Hubby's steak was a perfect medium rare and seasoned with perfection. Always first choice for birthday celebrations. Love the soft live piano music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to eat! Never had a bad mea ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great place to eat! Never had a bad meal! Have been several times and will go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience as always! We so appr ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A great experience as always! We so appreciate having Vera Mae's here in Muncie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the special of the evening: a ver ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had the special of the evening: a very well-prepared sea bass accompanied by perfect rice pilaf and asparagus that was tender and delicious. A dry riesling has been added to the wine list, and it is a great accompaniment for fish. Muncie is very fortunate to have a restaurant of this quality.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening talking with ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a wonderful evening talking with an old friend. The staff was so couteous and helpful. The food was exceptional. We all had dessert. The bread pudding was the best I've ever had!! My brother from New York was very impressed and wants to bring his family the next time they are in town. Thank you for representing Muncie so well!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value for lunch but not so much for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Good value for lunch but not so much for dinner. Products are not seasonal, and the menu never rotates. However, I have never had bad food, so you can't go wrong when you come to Vera Mae's except for your wallet!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It is absolutely wonderful!! Our favorit ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It is absolutely wonderful!! Our favorite place for a wonderful dinner or lunch!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Groups, Vegan, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, , Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Historic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years dinner, wonderful meal and gre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years dinner, wonderful meal and great live music.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated New Years Eve at this amaz ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated New Years Eve at this amazing gem tucked away in Muncie's downtown. Food is always fantastic the atmosphere is perfect and the owners Kent and Steve always make you feel so welcomed and appreciated. You must go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was well prepared and our waiter di ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was well prepared and our waiter did a great job.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tow of us had scallops, and they were ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Tow of us had scallops, and they were outstanding. The filet also received race reviews. The Ghyslain desserts made us think we were in Europe. The beans were not undercooked. They were just ideal as was the couscous. Muncie is so fortunate to have this restaurant since the alternative is a drive to Indianapolis or Ft. Wayne.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great local restaurant, that i ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is a great local restaurant, that is worth the trip to Muncie Indiana. I have had 2 excellent meals, and the service is great

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Live Music, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. Everyone was hap ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was wonderful. Everyone was happy with their dish. The service was horrible. The waiter took our appetizer and drink orders and did not return for at least a half an hour with the drinks then 10 to 15 minutes later at least with the appetizers. We had ordered our meals once and then the waiter came back and ask if you could take our order. The food did not arrive for at least an hour after that. During the wait for our food no one came to check on us and there were no apologies for the long wait or an offer to reduce our bill. I was very disappointed in the level of service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

This restaurant is the best in Muncie. T ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This restaurant is the best in Muncie. The service is impeccable and the food is well prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far our favorite place to eat ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is by far our favorite place to eat. Amazing food and a fantastic atmosphere. Great place for special occasions or just a quiet evening with your significant other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and the food was great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service and the food was great! My wife and I loved the atmosphere and I would highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Vera Mae's ... it is great for a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love Vera Mae's ... it is great for any occasion! We always feel at home there! Thank you Kent and Steve and the whole Vera Mae's family!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vera Mae's is our favorite restaurant. ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Vera Mae's is our favorite restaurant. Wonderful menu and always interesting daily specials. The ambiance is both friendly and classy, a great combination.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dined during the week, not busy, relativ ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

dined during the week, not busy, relatively quiet & very quaint, an upscale vintage bar with linens & nice artwork - menu is small & on the pricey side - don't miss the French onion soup, not my fav but looked delish

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So enjoyed our first visit to this Munci ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

So enjoyed our first visit to this Muncie treasure! We will return often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I had a friend come in from California a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I had a friend come in from California and I wanted to take her to fine dining, Vera Mae's is the finest Muncie, Indiana offers. It is five star and my friend was so impressed we went the following night for dinner! I love this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptionally good French onion soup. Sa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Exceptionally good French onion soup. Salmon well prepared-generous portion. Pleasant ambiance. Friendly, courteous, attentive wait staff/owner.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great wine list. Excellent, friendly ser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great wine list. Excellent, friendly service. Warm, interesting decor. Get the lamb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had better food at Vera Mae; thi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We have had better food at Vera Mae; this evening crusted cod was burned/dry on the ends. The rice average, and the green veggie atop the rice did not appear real and had no taste. The flavored tea was not quality. We have had better quality food at Ruby Tuesday, Olive Garden, and

Red Lobster. Our friend from Mercer Island, Washington, was overly impressed, though her salad was better than our cod. The host, however, was pleasant. We have had much better dinners at Vera Maes on other occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food wasexcellent. We loved the the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food wasexcellent. We loved the the ambiance. Service was great. I would recommend this restaurant to a friend and in fact, I already have.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great wine list, and goo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious food, great wine list, and good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Vera Mae's for the first time ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to Vera Mae's for the first time to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Everything on the menu sounded fabulous, but the reality of the meal was only mediocre. There were four of us and we each ordered something different, but every meal was served with polenta and creamed spinach which accounted for 2/3 of the plate. There was no choice for the starch and vegetable, that is what was served. We all felt that the main dish was good, not great. Very over priced for the quality and quantity of the meal. The seating with a reservation and service were both very good. However, we won't be returning.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We are older and felt the atmosphere was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We are older and felt the atmosphere was just our style. Semi 1940's, piano bar was nice. Service was excellent. Will return soon. Thanks Jeff and Nevali.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.