Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Vera Mae's Bistro

Located in the revitalized historic district of downtown Muncie Indiana, Vera Mae's offers upscale fusion cuisine borrowing from the rich traditions of Europe, Asia and the new world. Our goal is to offer the highest quality and freshest fare available presented with impeccable service with attention to detail. Warm and inviting, the atmosphere reflects the love of the historic features inherent to the space and is filled with art work predominantly from local artisans.Our banquet facility, private dining area and seasonal outside seating allows for a wide range of accommodations.

209 S. Walnut Street
Muncie, IN 47305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 747-4941

Website:
http://www.veramaes.com/

Entertainment:
Vera Mae's hosts special events such as musical and theatrical presentations, community and educational programs, wine tastings and much more. We have enjoyed acts such as Jazz greats Diane Reeves, Carole King, and Jackie Allen, New York Voices and Ball State University Theatre and Dance students. We proudly offer live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights featuring the talents of pianists Jim Burcaw and Phil Cooley.

Catering:
Vera Mae's Bistro is a full service caterer offering only the finest food and drink with elegant accommodations and outstanding service. Vera Mae's offers both on site and off premise catering as well as delivery and pick up. We offer a wide variety of hors d'oeuvres intended for both large and small gatherings; as well as, entrées designed to hold up to the demands of off premise service--all with a concentration on presentation and flavor.

Executive Chef:
Nick Kirkpatrick

Private Party Facilities:
Located in the lower level of the restaurant, overlooking the wine cellar, the Boardroom offers a completely private dining atmosphere for up to 40 guests. This intimate space is well suited for business presentations and small conferences as well as warm gatherings of friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
David Franklin: (765) 747-4941

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vera Mae's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Romantic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Live Music (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fun (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Another great experience at Vera Mae's. There for BSU Family Weekend with our daughter.
Food, service, ambience all spot on. Nice wine list. AMAZING Bourbon Pecan Pie not to be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Had an excellent meal here with excellent service. Their french onion soup is not to be missed, and all of our entrees were first rate. If you're in Munice, looking for a big-city dining experience, here's your place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

WAY TOO MUCH cheese on the french onion soup - no wonder they serve it with scissors, need to cut that cheese portion in half. Food was good but not outstanding, even though I did enjoy the creamed corn - it was nice and spicy. AND sitting us in the bar was not pleasant - too many REALLY loud talkers and our table was too close to the bar - perhaps that back area should be opened for diners and the front reserved for the bar patrons. Will not go back - it was nothing to rave about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Vera Mae's was incredibly beautiful. The staff was friendly and the food was very good. I ordered the scallops. They would have been better if there was no rum butter. The rum butter overpowered everything on the dish. However, the soup, bread, appetizer, and my boyfriend's meal. I will DEFINITELY go again, but not order the scallops, or at least order it without the rum butter. Other than that, everything was amazing!

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Vera Mae's was an absolutely incredible experience! Impeccable atmosphere and the dining was spectacular! The steak was cooked beautifully and the escargot was perfect. Overall an absolutely wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We both had excellent meals. I had the special which was swordfish with tomato jelly. The cocktails were perfect. The ambiance is warm and friendly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was amazing, the server was very efficient, great atmosphere,

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Vera Mae's never disappoints. It is, without question, the best restaurant in Muncie and one of the best in Central Indiana (including the Indianapolis area). The salmon, which four in our party of six ordered, was truly outstanding. Our server, Tyler, provided attentive, efficient, personable service. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Vera Mae's is wonderfully appointed bistro and probably one of the nicest restaurants in Muncie. The interior and exterior are smartly appointed. Various sized tables and a banquet room allow for a variety of venues. My only quirk is that the food was "so-so." I expected something better. Dill encrusted cod had hardly any dill, garden salad was straight out of a bag. Potato salad had a great consistency, but alas was pretty lackluster in flavor. Perhaps dinner offerings are better?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Wonderful ambience, drinks, food, music, and service. Had a wonderful time. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Vera Mae's is a gem. The service is good, the menu has enough variety to suit many different tastes and if you are in Muncie, IN you are not 'settling' by staying downtown for dinner - you are making a wise choice with a solid independent restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 23, 2017

One of my favorite places. Service is excellent, food is delicious. Owners mingle with the guests and are very much a part of the heart of the restaurant. We brought someone who had never been and he loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The Filet was wonderful and cooked perfectly. Fabulous wine list and the Chocolate Tort was out of this world!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always happy with everything at Vera Mae's...every detail is attended to.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Live Music, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was Fantastic!! The food was wonderful, the service was fantastic! It is always nice when the owners take the time to come speak with you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It was A very nice evening enhanced by our salmon and chicken entrees.

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent food, service, location and ambiance. Our meal was pricey ($100 for 2 people, no appetizers and 1 beer each) which was more than we were expecting, but given the quality would come here again if in Muncie!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was incredible. The staff and owners were very attentive. Made for a great date spot for being out of town!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Amazing service; very attentive and understanding. Noise level inside is very high, so we requested a table outside and they were so accommodating; it was much more peaceful on the flowery patio. Very Parisian atmosphere, too; my friend and I went to Vera Mae's to catch up after his return from France and he found the little bistro comparatively charming. I like to call it "a little slice of Paris in Muncie". 😊 We'll be returning!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Sister Shubert rolls, vegetables were not tasty and prices too high for the quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My husband and I recently dined at Vera Mae's to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was the perfect choice for us. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was beautiful, and the staff and owners were very friendly. It was well worth the drive!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

One of the restaurants that make Muncie special! It's always a pleasure to share a meal there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband and I are never disappointed when we go to Vera Mae's Bistro. We went this time for our 5th wedding anniversary, and the experience was great. Our server was attentive and efficient, and the food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We sat outside so the noise level was more than inside but that was to be expected but quite acceptable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The food was phenomenal and even though we were there 30min after close the waitstaff was still very friendly. We never once felt like we were being rushed to finish our meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was excellent but the high price waa not reflected in the value or fare

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I had just proposed to my (now) fiance, and we came over right afterwards. Though your staff didn't know that, they were extremely kind and made our night even more wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food. Great experience. Try this place; you won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 1, 2017

As always the food and service were great. Sat outside and endured the 2 hour bongo drum solo from down the street. This was a 1st Thursday of the month aberration I hope.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Awesome. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Staying downtown in Muncie, IN at the new Courtyard (fabulous service BTW ... ) and wanted a nice place within walking distance that was more restaurant than micro-brewery/bar for dinner. Vera Mae's did not disappoint! Service was excellent; food choices were broad and the temperature, flavor and value of the meal were great. Don't forget the bourbon pecan pie for dessert!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went here for a date and had a fantastic meal. The duck and lamb were succulent with very unique flavors. Also great cocktails. Definitely a worth while if you're willing to spring for the pricing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We're from North Carolina and are often in Muncie to visit our daughter at Taylor University. Have been to Vera Mae's several times and have never been disappointed with the quality of food, the wait staff, and the owners are very engaging! The decor is fabulously eclectic and very inviting and cozy. My favorite thing is the escargot and they serve it just like I remember from my visit to Paris many years ago! The wine and beer list is wonderful! I recommend it highly and will return this fall when we have to bring my daughter back to Taylor Univ!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great environment and great people. Always have a good experience there either when dining in or using them for catering our events.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Charming restaurant providing a warm ambiance in an historic building. Both the service and food were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always the best!! Tried something new - oysters rockerfella and chicken valentine...

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always a delicious meal with varied nightly specials, great bar, love the owners and staff who go above and beyond to make your dining experience a great one.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was great but way too noisy. When asked about moving to a quiet area was not given that option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I would recommend Vera Mae's over and over again. We've never had bad food here. Try the Ahi tuna - it's sublime. The service is always on point, the owners stop and say hi and are genuinely pleased to see you. There's usually live music, and the art on the walls is weird, and fun to look at. If you haven't tried the best place to eat in Muncie, you should.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our son is a student at Ball State University and his grandparents were visiting Muncie for the first time. We wanted to go to a nice restaurant and after reading the reviews of Vera Mae's Bistro, I made reservations for dinner. I can honestly say that the dinner was outstanding, especially the rack of lamb and the duck entrees. The rack of lamb was large so we asked to split that entree between two of us and the restaurant was very accommodating. The duck was so outstanding that I cannot say enough good things about it! Everything was prepared perfectly and there is a nice wine list too. The waitress was also excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for great food in a really nice setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.