About Vera Mae's Bistro

Located in the revitalized historic district of downtown Muncie Indiana, Vera Mae's offers upscale fusion cuisine borrowing from the rich traditions of Europe, Asia and the new world. Our goal is to offer the highest quality and freshest fare available presented with impeccable service with attention to detail. Warm and inviting, the atmosphere reflects the love of the historic features inherent to the space and is filled with art work predominantly from local artisans.Our banquet facility, private dining area and seasonal outside seating allows for a wide range of accommodations.

209 S. Walnut Street
Muncie, IN 47305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 747-4941

Website:
http://www.veramaes.com/

Entertainment:
Vera Mae's hosts special events such as musical and theatrical presentations, community and educational programs, wine tastings and much more. We have enjoyed acts such as Jazz greats Diane Reeves, Carole King, and Jackie Allen, New York Voices and Ball State University Theatre and Dance students. We proudly offer live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights featuring the talents of pianists Jim Burcaw and Phil Cooley.

Catering:
Vera Mae's Bistro is a full service caterer offering only the finest food and drink with elegant accommodations and outstanding service. Vera Mae's offers both on site and off premise catering as well as delivery and pick up. We offer a wide variety of hors d'oeuvres intended for both large and small gatherings; as well as, entrées designed to hold up to the demands of off premise service--all with a concentration on presentation and flavor.

Executive Chef:
Nick Kirkpatrick

Private Party Facilities:
Located in the lower level of the restaurant, overlooking the wine cellar, the Boardroom offers a completely private dining atmosphere for up to 40 guests. This intimate space is well suited for business presentations and small conferences as well as warm gatherings of friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
David Franklin: 7657474941x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pomodori Secchi - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
  • Side Salad - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
  • Ensalada Amontillado - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
  • Peanut Butter Cheesecake - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
  • French Onion Soup - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
  • Gorgonzola Onion Angus Burger - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
  • Chicken With Brie And Raspberry - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
  • Crab Cakes - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN

Report a photo problem

Pomodori Secchi - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
Side Salad - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
Ensalada Amontillado - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
Peanut Butter Cheesecake - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
French Onion Soup - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
Gorgonzola Onion Angus Burger - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
Chicken With Brie And Raspberry - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN
Crab Cakes - Vera Mae's Bistro, Muncie, IN

Vera Mae's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Business Meals (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Romantic (13)
Fun (12)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Historic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fireplace (10)
Cozy (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Private Room (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Live Music (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a wonderful evening talking with ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful evening talking with an old friend. The staff was so couteous and helpful. The food was exceptional. We all had dessert. The bread pudding was the best I've ever had!! My brother from New York was very impressed and wants to bring his family the next time they are in town. Thank you for representing Muncie so well!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value for lunch but not so much for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Good value for lunch but not so much for dinner. Products are not seasonal, and the menu never rotates. However, I have never had bad food, so you can't go wrong when you come to Vera Mae's except for your wallet!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

It is absolutely wonderful!! Our favorit ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It is absolutely wonderful!! Our favorite place for a wonderful dinner or lunch!!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Good for Groups, Vegan, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Seasonal, Historic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years dinner, wonderful meal and gre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years dinner, wonderful meal and great live music.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated New Years Eve at this amaz ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated New Years Eve at this amazing gem tucked away in Muncie's downtown. Food is always fantastic the atmosphere is perfect and the owners Kent and Steve always make you feel so welcomed and appreciated. You must go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was well prepared and our waiter di ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was well prepared and our waiter did a great job.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tow of us had scallops, and they were ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Tow of us had scallops, and they were outstanding. The filet also received race reviews. The Ghyslain desserts made us think we were in Europe. The beans were not undercooked. They were just ideal as was the couscous. Muncie is so fortunate to have this restaurant since the alternative is a drive to Indianapolis or Ft. Wayne.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great local restaurant, that i ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is a great local restaurant, that is worth the trip to Muncie Indiana. I have had 2 excellent meals, and the service is great

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. Everyone was hap ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was wonderful. Everyone was happy with their dish. The service was horrible. The waiter took our appetizer and drink orders and did not return for at least a half an hour with the drinks then 10 to 15 minutes later at least with the appetizers. We had ordered our meals once and then the waiter came back and ask if you could take our order. The food did not arrive for at least an hour after that. During the wait for our food no one came to check on us and there were no apologies for the long wait or an offer to reduce our bill. I was very disappointed in the level of service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

This restaurant is the best in Muncie. T ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This restaurant is the best in Muncie. The service is impeccable and the food is well prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is by far our favorite place to eat ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This is by far our favorite place to eat. Amazing food and a fantastic atmosphere. Great place for special occasions or just a quiet evening with your significant other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and the food was great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent service and the food was great! My wife and I loved the atmosphere and I would highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Vera Mae's ... it is great for a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love Vera Mae's ... it is great for any occasion! We always feel at home there! Thank you Kent and Steve and the whole Vera Mae's family!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vera Mae's is our favorite restaurant. ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Vera Mae's is our favorite restaurant. Wonderful menu and always interesting daily specials. The ambiance is both friendly and classy, a great combination.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

dined during the week, not busy, relativ ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2016

dined during the week, not busy, relatively quiet & very quaint, an upscale vintage bar with linens & nice artwork - menu is small & on the pricey side - don't miss the French onion soup, not my fav but looked delish

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So enjoyed our first visit to this Munci ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

So enjoyed our first visit to this Muncie treasure! We will return often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I had a friend come in from California a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I had a friend come in from California and I wanted to take her to fine dining, Vera Mae's is the finest Muncie, Indiana offers. It is five star and my friend was so impressed we went the following night for dinner! I love this place.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptionally good French onion soup. Sa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Exceptionally good French onion soup. Salmon well prepared-generous portion. Pleasant ambiance. Friendly, courteous, attentive wait staff/owner.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great wine list. Excellent, friendly ser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great wine list. Excellent, friendly service. Warm, interesting decor. Get the lamb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food wasexcellent. We loved the the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food wasexcellent. We loved the the ambiance. Service was great. I would recommend this restaurant to a friend and in fact, I already have.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had better food at Vera Mae; thi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We have had better food at Vera Mae; this evening crusted cod was burned/dry on the ends. The rice average, and the green veggie atop the rice did not appear real and had no taste. The flavored tea was not quality. We have had better quality food at Ruby Tuesday, Olive Garden, and

Red Lobster. Our friend from Mercer Island, Washington, was overly impressed, though her salad was better than our cod. The host, however, was pleasant. We have had much better dinners at Vera Maes on other occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious food, great wine list, and goo ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious food, great wine list, and good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Vera Mae's for the first time ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to Vera Mae's for the first time to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Everything on the menu sounded fabulous, but the reality of the meal was only mediocre. There were four of us and we each ordered something different, but every meal was served with polenta and creamed spinach which accounted for 2/3 of the plate. There was no choice for the starch and vegetable, that is what was served. We all felt that the main dish was good, not great. Very over priced for the quality and quantity of the meal. The seating with a reservation and service were both very good. However, we won't be returning.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We are older and felt the atmosphere was ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We are older and felt the atmosphere was just our style. Semi 1940's, piano bar was nice. Service was excellent. Will return soon. Thanks Jeff and Nevali.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our soup was good but cold, some of our ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our soup was good but cold, some of our items served with our entrees were cold well. Very overpriced.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

One of us had had a big lunch and was no ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of us had had a big lunch and was not very hungry. A delicious shrimp cocktail was selected along with the French onion soup. I had had no lunch so was looking for a little more. The raspberry brie chicken was perfect especially with the great couscous of the evening. We both were very happy with our choices.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my 1st time to Vera Mae's and b ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was my 1st time to Vera Mae's and by judging by my overall experience it won't be the last. I actually found out about Vera Mae's via Open Table and even though it was almost an hour drive from my house it was well worth it! While the service was excellent and the staff very friendly and engaging, it was the food that set it apart for me. I started with the Crawfish Nachos, then had the Chicken Tortilla Soup followed by the Porterhouse Pork Chop and finished it off with the bread breading! I can honestly say every part of my meal was excellent (including the hot rolls)! After just 1 visit it is already in my top 3 places to eat at in Indiana!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible place to dine and have a fant ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Incredible place to dine and have a fantastic meal. Great ambiance, great drinks, wonderful food. Whole package in a unique and awesome environment.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Historic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the overall quality of the food it i ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 23, 2016

For the overall quality of the food it is a little pricey

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Casey B was fantastic great service, won ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Casey B was fantastic great service, wonderful recommendations. However for 36$ Each our filets should have bee perfect and unfortunately they were extremely overlooked two times. On the second time we just decided to eat them. They took one of them off our bill which was gracious however spending well over 100$ I feel like they should have done more to take care of it. Great time just very unfortunate in regards to the major disappointment in the steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

This is a gem in downtown Muncie. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 8, 2016

This is a gem in downtown Muncie. Great food and great service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was supposed to be a fine dining es ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was supposed to be a fine dining establishment. The only thing that suggested it was fine dining were the prices. The "salad" was literally just leaves on a plate. McDonald s has better salads than what was presented to me. Our bread was just two rolls, they were good, but we only got one each. Other fine dining establishments give you a whole loaf. Our sides for the steaks we ordered, was some sort of Cajun rice, and some awful looking brussel sprouts. Our steaks were good though, but when our bill is $86, everything given to us should have been fantastic. Next time I'll just listen to my husband and go to Texas Roadhouse. At least when we leave there, we don't leave hungry. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We were very disappointed that Vera Mae' ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We were very disappointed that Vera Mae's would not accept our Indiana Public Radio membercard. I contacted IPR, and was told that they have approached Vera Mae's several times, and VM's would not offer a "freebie" to holders of the IPR membercard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

LOVED Vera Mae's, wonderful birthday eve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 1, 2016

LOVED Vera Mae's, wonderful birthday evening! The staff was so friendly, the food was superb!! The menu had a great selection of such a variety of choices. We were happy that many menu selections were very different than most restaurants. We will DEFINITELY be going back and recommending it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience! The food ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful experience! The food was top notch, service was stellar, and the ambiance actually enhanced our conversation. You have set a new bar for what 'romantic dinner' means.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food in a fun part of Muncie. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Delicious food in a fun part of Muncie. Kind servers, great cocktails, and a quirky ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The last two times we have visited Vera ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The last two times we have visited Vera Mae's the service and the food has not been what was in the past. The change in menu I hope is temporary as they have taken off quit a few of our favorite foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Vera Mae's in Muncie IN demonstrates ele ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Vera Mae's in Muncie IN demonstrates elegance. Interesting artwork with some pieces from Indiana and local artists. Melodious piano music typically starts at 7pm on weekend nights. Food: From steaks, fish, and chicken dishes to baked brie and escargot, the food has a French flavor filled with exceptional deliciousness.

Reservations: When I made reservations via Open Table (at 4am one morning), my choice was 5:30 pm OR 9pm. Was a tad off. The restaurant had been packed the night before due to summer graduations at the local university. But on the 7-23, there were numerous opportunity for reservations all night. We like to eat early, so the 5:30 was not a big deal. I did, however, tell the owners of the times available on open table.

Otherwise our experience with family was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, dinner at Vera Mae's was excel ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 21, 2016

As usual, dinner at Vera Mae's was excellent. Great food, good service, wonderful ambience; always a joy to see Kent and Steve

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our lunch was wonderful. The food was b ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our lunch was wonderful. The food was beautifully prepared and tasted yummy!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.