Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Vera Mae's Bistro

Located in the revitalized historic district of downtown Muncie Indiana, Vera Mae's offers upscale fusion cuisine borrowing from the rich traditions of Europe, Asia and the new world. Our goal is to offer the highest quality and freshest fare available presented with impeccable service with attention to detail. Warm and inviting, the atmosphere reflects the love of the historic features inherent to the space and is filled with art work predominantly from local artisans.Our banquet facility, private dining area and seasonal outside seating allows for a wide range of accommodations.

209 S. Walnut Street
Muncie, IN 47305
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 747-4941

Website:
http://www.veramaes.com/

Entertainment:
Vera Mae's hosts special events such as musical and theatrical presentations, community and educational programs, wine tastings and much more. We have enjoyed acts such as Jazz greats Diane Reeves, Carole King, and Jackie Allen, New York Voices and Ball State University Theatre and Dance students. We proudly offer live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights featuring the talents of pianists Jim Burcaw and Phil Cooley.

Catering:
Vera Mae's Bistro is a full service caterer offering only the finest food and drink with elegant accommodations and outstanding service. Vera Mae's offers both on site and off premise catering as well as delivery and pick up. We offer a wide variety of hors d'oeuvres intended for both large and small gatherings; as well as, entrées designed to hold up to the demands of off premise service--all with a concentration on presentation and flavor.

Executive Chef:
Nick Kirkpatrick

Private Party Facilities:
Located in the lower level of the restaurant, overlooking the wine cellar, the Boardroom offers a completely private dining atmosphere for up to 40 guests. This intimate space is well suited for business presentations and small conferences as well as warm gatherings of friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
David Franklin: (765) 747-4941

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vera Mae's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Historic (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fun (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Authentic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Healthy (10)
Live Music (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Private Room (9)
Fireplace (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Staying downtown in Muncie, IN at the new Courtyard (fabulous service BTW ... ) and wanted a nice place within walking distance that was more restaurant than micro-brewery/bar for dinner. Vera Mae's did not disappoint! Service was excellent; food choices were broad and the temperature, flavor and value of the meal were great. Don't forget the bourbon pecan pie for dessert!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went here for a date and had a fantastic meal. The duck and lamb were succulent with very unique flavors. Also great cocktails. Definitely a worth while if you're willing to spring for the pricing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We're from North Carolina and are often in Muncie to visit our daughter at Taylor University. Have been to Vera Mae's several times and have never been disappointed with the quality of food, the wait staff, and the owners are very engaging! The decor is fabulously eclectic and very inviting and cozy. My favorite thing is the escargot and they serve it just like I remember from my visit to Paris many years ago! The wine and beer list is wonderful! I recommend it highly and will return this fall when we have to bring my daughter back to Taylor Univ!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great environment and great people. Always have a good experience there either when dining in or using them for catering our events.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Charming restaurant providing a warm ambiance in an historic building. Both the service and food were excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always the best!! Tried something new - oysters rockerfella and chicken valentine...

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Always a delicious meal with varied nightly specials, great bar, love the owners and staff who go above and beyond to make your dining experience a great one.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Great Beer, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was great but way too noisy. When asked about moving to a quiet area was not given that option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I would recommend Vera Mae's over and over again. We've never had bad food here. Try the Ahi tuna - it's sublime. The service is always on point, the owners stop and say hi and are genuinely pleased to see you. There's usually live music, and the art on the walls is weird, and fun to look at. If you haven't tried the best place to eat in Muncie, you should.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our son is a student at Ball State University and his grandparents were visiting Muncie for the first time. We wanted to go to a nice restaurant and after reading the reviews of Vera Mae's Bistro, I made reservations for dinner. I can honestly say that the dinner was outstanding, especially the rack of lamb and the duck entrees. The rack of lamb was large so we asked to split that entree between two of us and the restaurant was very accommodating. The duck was so outstanding that I cannot say enough good things about it! Everything was prepared perfectly and there is a nice wine list too. The waitress was also excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for great food in a really nice setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Fantastic soup and crab cake sandwich

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Seared tuna was bland needed to be brighter, The main course was also under seasoned. Really excepted more was overall disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were celebrating a special occasion and the server didn't once seem interested in us. A table of 9. The experience was okay but could've been amazing had the waitress cared about us. She seemed like we were annoying here.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Never a disappointment! The grouper special was phenomenal.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Vera Mae's delivered again as they have constantly since they opened years ago. Always go there for special celebrations as well as just everyday meals. Chicken raspberry Brie is my favorite, and I love the blue cheese dressing for the salad. Always an internal debate over the salad or the French onion soup--scissors required for the abundance of cheese. My husband choose the curry soup with pork and cabbage. It is rarely on the menu and that is a shame because it is delicious and unlike any other. He had the grouper and it was delicious. Service was great and we had no problem making our Civic Theatre performance. I love the food, staff and everything Vera Mae's.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Vera Mae's is the Go To restaurant in Muncie. We asked and asked and asked. We ended up eating there two nights in a row and loving it both nights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great dinner as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This was my first visit to Vera Mae's. The food, service and atmosphere were great. special thanks to Derek and Mary, and I will be visiting again in the near future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, Waitresses are always outstanding! Fantastic and great variety among menu!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Hot Spot, Historic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A delightful evening! Service was exemplary, food was excellent. The price was within our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was perfectly prepared. Service was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Live music greeted our visit while we took in the ambience of this establishment. From the appetizers to our entree', we were impressed by the quality of the food and more importantly the taste! The grouper was amazing! It was just a little noisy as it was difficult to speak in the music room but the overall experience was just wonderful. We will go again when we are in town!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food and great attention to detail by our waiter and bartender who created a drink request.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always a great time at Vera's!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My partner and I celebrated Valentine's by going out to dinner. We enjoyed the terrific atmosphere provided by the live piano player, historic building, and nicely set tables. The food was equally terrific as expected. We did the spinach and feta wontons for a starter and enjoyed the nicely seasoned curried potato soup and sides of mashed potatoes and asparagus. The service was close to top notch, only having to wait a time or two for a drink refill. Our waiter was great with answering our questions about the menu and throwing out a recommendation or two.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our experience at Vera Mae's Bistro was great. We started off with the Spinach and Feta Wontons. I had the Chicken Brie Raspberry. My boyfriend had the Porterhouse. We finished the meal off with the Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce. All of the food was spot on. Our server was very helpful with recommendations. We never waited too long for any of our food. Great experience and we hope to come back!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful food, time, and service. A gem of Muncie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Always a great memory. Vera's is the best find north of Indianapolis. Great for intimate dinners or business meetings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very disappointed. We have been here a couple of time a few years back. We enjoyed it then. We made reservations for Valentines Day this time and had NO idea that the regular menu would not be available until we arrived. We had already planned our dinner from the regular menu. We had to instead pick from a very limited menu that cost us twice as much as the regular menu would have cost. We also did not get to order the entrees that we went there for. The cost combined with what we received was not good. The waiter did a great job. The waiter and my date (wife) were the only good things about the evening. We may not return. It was a disappointing evening.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We dined at Vera Mae's for Valentine's Day dinner. The menu was a prixfixe and included very good choices. I had the scallops and my husband had the salmon. They were both delicious. The soup was especially delicious. Our server did an excellent job of timing the courses. It was a five star rated experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for Valentines and she absolutely loved it. I enjoyed it very much as well. I drove threw hours and it was definitely worth the drive and the price. I loved the quick and friendly staff which made the experience much much better. I will definitely be recommending and visiting this elegant, fine, accommodating and delicious restaurant. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Historic, Quick Bite, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Organic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great Celebration
We were celebrating a birthday, and this was the perfect venue for that. The food was wonderful as were the libations. It was the perfect place in Muncie to do this.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. Very elegant, but also comfortable and casual. One-of-a-kind in East Central Indiana

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Historic, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Quality of the food was outstanding. Excellent service. Pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Vera Mae's never disappoints! We love the food, the staff, and especially the owners who always go out of their way to make you feel like family!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Nice local gem. Quiet' quant place with good food and reasonably priced

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

After we left we learned that everyone's meat was over cooked. My grouper was set. The raspberry chicken was over cooked. Someone got the New York strip and it was well done not medium. Overall it was a bust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A must every time we go to Muncie to visit our daughter at college. Will miss it when she graduates!!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.