About Vera Mae's Bistro

209 S. Walnut Street
Muncie, IN 47305
View Larger Map

Located in the revitalized historic district of downtown Muncie Indiana, Vera Mae's offers upscale fusion cuisine borrowing from the rich traditions of Europe, Asia and the new world. Our goal is to offer the highest quality and freshest fare available presented with impeccable service with attention to detail. Warm and inviting, the atmosphere reflects the love of the historic features inherent to the space and is filled with art work predominantly from local artisans.Our banquet facility, private dining area and seasonal outside seating allows for a wide range of accommodations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Jackson Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(765) 747-4941

Website:
http://www.veramaes.com/

Entertainment:
Vera Mae's hosts special events such as musical and theatrical presentations, community and educational programs, wine tastings and much more. We have enjoyed acts such as Jazz greats Diane Reeves, Carole King, and Jackie Allen, New York Voices and Ball State University Theatre and Dance students. We proudly offer live music on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights featuring the talents of pianists Jim Burcaw and Phil Cooley.

Catering:
Vera Mae's Bistro is a full service caterer offering only the finest food and drink with elegant accommodations and outstanding service. Vera Mae's offers both on site and off premise catering as well as delivery and pick up. We offer a wide variety of hors d'oeuvres intended for both large and small gatherings; as well as, entrées designed to hold up to the demands of off premise service--all with a concentration on presentation and flavor.

Executive Chef:
Nick Kirkpatrick

Private Party Facilities:
Located in the lower level of the restaurant, overlooking the wine cellar, the Boardroom offers a completely private dining atmosphere for up to 40 guests. This intimate space is well suited for business presentations and small conferences as well as warm gatherings of friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
David Franklin: 7657474941x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pomodori Secchi
  • Side Salad
  • Ensalada Amontillado
  • Peanut Butter Cheesecake
  • French Onion Soup
  • Gorgonzola Onion Angus Burger
  • Chicken With Brie And Raspberry
  • Crab Cakes
Pomodori Secchi
Side Salad
Ensalada Amontillado
Peanut Butter Cheesecake
French Onion Soup
Gorgonzola Onion Angus Burger
Chicken With Brie And Raspberry
Crab Cakes

Vera Mae's Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Indiana
Great for Lunch
Indianapolis
Romantic
Indianapolis
1 More
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Muncie ›

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Historic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
Live Music (1)
Casual (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great wine list. Excellent, friendly ser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great wine list. Excellent, friendly service. Warm, interesting decor. Get the lamb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food wasexcellent. We loved the the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food wasexcellent. We loved the the ambiance. Service was great. I would recommend this restaurant to a friend and in fact, I already have.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had better food at Vera Mae; thi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have had better food at Vera Mae; this evening crusted cod was burned/dry on the ends. The rice average, and the green veggie atop the rice did not appear real and had no taste. The flavored tea was not quality. We have had better quality food at Ruby Tuesday, Olive Garden, and

Red Lobster. Our friend from Mercer Island, Washington, was overly impressed, though her salad was better than our cod. The host, however, was pleasant. We have had much better dinners at Vera Maes on other occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious food, great wine list, and goo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious food, great wine list, and good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Vera Mae's for the first time ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to Vera Mae's for the first time to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Everything on the menu sounded fabulous, but the reality of the meal was only mediocre. There were four of us and we each ordered something different, but every meal was served with polenta and creamed spinach which accounted for 2/3 of the plate. There was no choice for the starch and vegetable, that is what was served. We all felt that the main dish was good, not great. Very over priced for the quality and quantity of the meal. The seating with a reservation and service were both very good. However, we won't be returning.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We are older and felt the atmosphere was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We are older and felt the atmosphere was just our style. Semi 1940's, piano bar was nice. Service was excellent. Will return soon. Thanks Jeff and Nevali.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our soup was good but cold, some of our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our soup was good but cold, some of our items served with our entrees were cold well. Very overpriced.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

One of us had had a big lunch and was no ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

One of us had had a big lunch and was not very hungry. A delicious shrimp cocktail was selected along with the French onion soup. I had had no lunch so was looking for a little more. The raspberry brie chicken was perfect especially with the great couscous of the evening. We both were very happy with our choices.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my 1st time to Vera Mae's and b ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was my 1st time to Vera Mae's and by judging by my overall experience it won't be the last. I actually found out about Vera Mae's via Open Table and even though it was almost an hour drive from my house it was well worth it! While the service was excellent and the staff very friendly and engaging, it was the food that set it apart for me. I started with the Crawfish Nachos, then had the Chicken Tortilla Soup followed by the Porterhouse Pork Chop and finished it off with the bread breading! I can honestly say every part of my meal was excellent (including the hot rolls)! After just 1 visit it is already in my top 3 places to eat at in Indiana!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible place to dine and have a fant ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Incredible place to dine and have a fantastic meal. Great ambiance, great drinks, wonderful food. Whole package in a unique and awesome environment.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Historic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the overall quality of the food it i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

For the overall quality of the food it is a little pricey

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Casey B was fantastic great service, won ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Casey B was fantastic great service, wonderful recommendations. However for 36$ Each our filets should have bee perfect and unfortunately they were extremely overlooked two times. On the second time we just decided to eat them. They took one of them off our bill which was gracious however spending well over 100$ I feel like they should have done more to take care of it. Great time just very unfortunate in regards to the major disappointment in the steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

This is a gem in downtown Muncie. Great ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

This is a gem in downtown Muncie. Great food and great service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was supposed to be a fine dining es ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was supposed to be a fine dining establishment. The only thing that suggested it was fine dining were the prices. The "salad" was literally just leaves on a plate. McDonald s has better salads than what was presented to me. Our bread was just two rolls, they were good, but we only got one each. Other fine dining establishments give you a whole loaf. Our sides for the steaks we ordered, was some sort of Cajun rice, and some awful looking brussel sprouts. Our steaks were good though, but when our bill is $86, everything given to us should have been fantastic. Next time I'll just listen to my husband and go to Texas Roadhouse. At least when we leave there, we don't leave hungry. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We were very disappointed that Vera Mae' ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We were very disappointed that Vera Mae's would not accept our Indiana Public Radio membercard. I contacted IPR, and was told that they have approached Vera Mae's several times, and VM's would not offer a "freebie" to holders of the IPR membercard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

LOVED Vera Mae's, wonderful birthday eve ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

LOVED Vera Mae's, wonderful birthday evening! The staff was so friendly, the food was superb!! The menu had a great selection of such a variety of choices. We were happy that many menu selections were very different than most restaurants. We will DEFINITELY be going back and recommending it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience! The food ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful experience! The food was top notch, service was stellar, and the ambiance actually enhanced our conversation. You have set a new bar for what 'romantic dinner' means.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious food in a fun part of Muncie. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Delicious food in a fun part of Muncie. Kind servers, great cocktails, and a quirky ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The last two times we have visited Vera ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The last two times we have visited Vera Mae's the service and the food has not been what was in the past. The change in menu I hope is temporary as they have taken off quit a few of our favorite foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Vera Mae's in Muncie IN demonstrates ele ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Vera Mae's in Muncie IN demonstrates elegance. Interesting artwork with some pieces from Indiana and local artists. Melodious piano music typically starts at 7pm on weekend nights. Food: From steaks, fish, and chicken dishes to baked brie and escargot, the food has a French flavor filled with exceptional deliciousness.

Reservations: When I made reservations via Open Table (at 4am one morning), my choice was 5:30 pm OR 9pm. Was a tad off. The restaurant had been packed the night before due to summer graduations at the local university. But on the 7-23, there were numerous opportunity for reservations all night. We like to eat early, so the 5:30 was not a big deal. I did, however, tell the owners of the times available on open table.

Otherwise our experience with family was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, dinner at Vera Mae's was excel ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

As usual, dinner at Vera Mae's was excellent. Great food, good service, wonderful ambience; always a joy to see Kent and Steve

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our lunch was wonderful. The food was b ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our lunch was wonderful. The food was beautifully prepared and tasted yummy!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Vera Maes is my go to restaurant when vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Vera Maes is my go to restaurant when visiting Muncie. The food is always good and I love the atmosphere, service, etc. I rated the food as a 3 star instead of 4 due to the saltiness of the kale

partnered with the salmon. Vera Maes is definitely a gem for Muncie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Vera Mae's

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It was a busy night but our service was good; overall the food was good though I thought the dinner salad was average and the rolls & dessert (pecan pie) didn't taste the freshest. Our entrees were very good (scallops & steak).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Noise level to was to much, food was goo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Noise level to was to much, food was good but not at the rate it cost.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Barbicue

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Another fabulous evening at Vera Mae's. Without a doubt, best restaurant in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took a client from out of town to Vera M ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Took a client from out of town to Vera Mae's. The meal was excellent. And it was great to meet both owners, who personally stopped by the table to see how we were doing. Definitely one of the top restaurants in Muncie - you can't go wrong here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant, attentive servers, ch ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Lovely restaurant, attentive servers, charming owners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Occasion Place

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoy going to Vera Mae's for special occasions. The price prohibits us from going more often. Three of the four of us really enjoyed our food. The raspberry Brie chicken was great as were the veggies and couscous that came with it. The fried cod was also a hit. The linguini dish was not a favorite. It seemed to be very light on sauce so was dry. We'd have liked a bit more dressing to proportion it with the size of the salad. Overall, we enjoyed our experience and would definitely return for another special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We always impress our friends when we ta ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We always impress our friends when we take them to Vera Mae's

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Date night!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Love going to this place. Food is excellent! The fact that it is locally owned and operated makes it even more special. Would be returning again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed dining at Vera Mae's. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere eclectic and food was fresh and tastee. Terrific wine list too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Our waiter was Roberto. He was fantastic. We are vegetarian plus I cannot eat tomatoes. He was able to guide us in our menu choices. He new the menu and was able to help us select items that fit our diet restrictions and were delicious. My only suggestion is that you include more vegetarian items. Maybe an Alfredo pasta dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and wine! Prompt and cou ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food and wine! Prompt and courteous service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Vera Mae's is undoubtedly the finest dining in Muncie. The service was top notch, the staff welcoming, the food good, full bar, soft music, a great overall atmosphere. A little pricey, but, that's par for the course these days in a fine dining establishment. All in all a very nice special occasion location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Great find in Muncie

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My husband and I prefer restaurants that have "different" menus. This would qualify. We had boned quail stuffed with jambalaya and scallops with bacon gravy over grits. Both portions were generous (2 quail, several large sea scallops, both entrees served with asparagus and house salad or soup) and well prepared. The owners were walking around to make sure all of the customers were taken care of and pitched in to remove plates and deliver meals when needed, just to keep things flowing. It was a pleasant meal and a welcome addition to a last minute business trip. I would definitely dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

disappointing

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

ordered beef med rare, came 1 side charred and well done, other was medium at best, fingerling potatoes seemed like yesterdays rewarmed, very dried out!! did love the salad however!!! and desert was good...wife had sea scallops..came on a very thick bed of grits, drizzled in bacon grease..not appetizing! also had potatoes..both came with a side of fried cabbage..wouldnt go again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Eating At Vera Mae's...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

...Feels like welcoming home coming, only with better food and really good cocktails!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Date Night Meal.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The ambiance was romantic. The décor was tasteful. The service was excellent. Both owners were charming and friendly. The food was amazing both in presentation and taste! Excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great food and great owners.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

As always the food was fantastic. The owner visited our table and wished my twin daughters a happy birthday. The restaurant is a rare find for a city the size of Muncie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.