About Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar

1700 Wynkoop St
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar provides first class Italian cuisine! Facilitating all of your event needs, from private receptions, corporate events, anniversaries and birthdays. Our amazing wine list showcases 800 Italian wines and 300 worldwide wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:00am - 4:30 pm. Dinner: Daily, 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 534-2222

Website:
http://www.veniceristorante.com/

Catering:
Catering from 30 to 1000

Parking Details:
Valet parking,only dinner

Public Transit:
Union Station bus terminal

Executive Chef:
Christian Delle Fave

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for our special six course wine dinner on Tuesday February 22 at 6:30pm. $75 per person.

We will also be participating in the 5280 restaurant week from February 26-March 11.

Private Dining

Venice Ristorante and Wine Bar is the perfect place to hold your next large party. We offer elegant dining paired with professional service and one of the top rated wine lists in the country. Five course private dining menus starting at $49 dollars per person. Contact us for more details.

Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Romantic (36)
Special Occasion (32)
See All
Notable Wine List (26)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Authentic (21)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Hot Spot (12)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome experience from start to finish! Great staff amazing food!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a great downtown restaurant. I love the great attention from all staff members. They went out of their way for us. They feature lots of tradional and some no traditional Italian dishes. They have a varied wine list that would cover most palates. The staff had some great recommendations on food as well as wines that would accent our meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I can honestly say that this was the worst service I've ever had at a restaurant. We arrived and were sat - about 15 minutes later our (very stressed looking) waiter came to take our order. We ordered drinks and a salad. We got bread and water, and waited. 20 minutes had gone by, with no drinks. Our server came over again, took our order again, and disappeared for another 15 minutes. He came over again, apologized and offered us free drinks. We said great, and placed out dinner order. Other customers were losing their tempers around the restaurant - I have no idea what was going on, but we didn't stick around to find out. After over an hour, and placing our order for drinks 3 times, we left. Thanks for the bread and water, I guess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

The food, ambiance, and Maitre D were wonderful!

Unfortunately we had a very rude and inattentive waiter. Which just made the whole dining experience that night a total downer. He definitely needs to brush up on his customer service. He kept asking us if we were in a hurry and wanted to leave. It was just awful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a lovely little Italian restaurant that features a very well thought out menu. The most outstanding feature is their extremely professional wait staff, very experienced and a good job throughout. The food was quite good, the pasta authentic but with very well balanced flavours. The Pomodoro was very natural and reminded me of some of the better places in both Manhattan and Southern CT. Recommended for it's pretty decent wine selection, good food, and pretty good atmosphere.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was wonderful—everyone cleaned their plates. Mario provided excellent service for our 8-top.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We usually go to the Venice at Orchard and Holly and that is the Venice we will continue to go to. Made a reservation early in the week for a Sat (2/18) Birthday dinner for 2 at 8pm. Arrived on time and was seated in the bar, not in the dining room despite making a reservation well in advance. Service was basically non-existent. Had to go to the bar to order drinks and prompt a server to come over. Service was slow and horrible. As I said above we will continue to eat at the Venice in GWV as we have only had 5 star service and food the 10 years we have been going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Greg and Jacob were amazing and very attentive for our special birthday dinner. We recommend Venice to everyone!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Have a very special birthday dinner for very special person, our waiter was very attentive and the food was fresh and delicious !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We are never disappointed when dining here. They have such an extensive menu making a decision takes time. The fish entrées are exceptional.

The wine selection from their impressive storage room is outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went in for Desert on Valentine's Day romantic restaurant it was very busy service was a little slow looking forward to trying dinner there

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had the appearance and price of a nice restaurant, but with awful service and mediocre food. Big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nice place, service was terrific and the meal was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed lovely food with outstanding service. The staff was very knowledgable about the menu and wines and we will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice and romantic dinner. The menu is great and you cannot even tell there is garlic in the food. good wine selection. medium pricing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wine sommelier was terrific. Outstanding night for my Valentine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was delicious, we loved everything we got...menu was extensive and was hard to choose what we wanted as it all looked so good. Waitress was not up to par, she was new but also a ditz and didn't even know what gnocchi was...how can you work at an Italian restaurant and not know what that is. I didn't like the extensive wine list...it was a little much, on a tablet and HUNDREDS of wine to choose from. Way too many, plus our waitress couldn't help us to narrow it down or find one sangiovese on the list. We were at a high top, in the bar area which I didn't love since we were there on a date night....but if we would have sat in the back room the ambience seemed nice. Overall, I would recommend mainly based on the food...it was delicious. A good place to take a date.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a nice restaurant and the food was good. The service was okay but where they sat us was not what I was hoping for. We were there for a 5 pm reservation (the restaurant had very few people in and they put us right by the front door where we could feel a cool draft every time the door opened. It was a little annoying considering they had pretty much the whole restaurant available for seating.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I will go back but they had a mix up with my wine that was in the bucket..My friends were not being served, the waiter gave my wine to somebody else but they made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our first visit to Venice having walked by the restaurant hundreds of times. The decor and layout is quite elegant and sophisticated. The menu is very extensive offering both creatively new and traditional Italian preparations. All dishes were beautifully presented with flavors being great. The wine list has a wide range of price-points, styles and origins. Service was exceptionally good with the wait staff very knowledgeable with some from Italy offering first-hand knowledge of authentic food preparations. Prices are at typically high-end restaurant levels and definitely worth it. Venice should be tried and we will return for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was a surprising find when visiting Denver for the first time and walking around the Union Station neighbourhood. Having recently returned from a foody trip throughout Italy, I must say the Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar rivaled if not exceeded some of the best food I experienced over there. The gnocchi was outstanding...I even think I heard angels singing when I took a bite. My husband had the pork chop and this was also amazingly tender and delicious. Without a doubt this was definitely the best meal we had in Denver over the entire week we were here. Almost worth coming back to Denver just to eat here.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was really too noisy, couldn't really have a conversation as there was a party of 10 practially screaming nearby. Once they left, it was a bit better, but still not easy to talk. Service was excellent - food was great except for my papparedelle pasta with pancetta was like eating a mouthful of salt. The pasta itself was tasty. Osso bucco was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food and service were great. Appreciated the food, fresh and delicious. Been back many time without disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I love this restaurant very much. Come here quite often for brunch. I reserved a table for my birthday and just happened to land a very bad server who was impatient, and complained about us, his customers a lot. He got upset at us at the end for not telling him that we were going to split the check when it is actually his responsibility to ask. First time I have ever had bad service here and unfortunately, if it continues, I will not be returning and will stop reccommending it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Private Room, Hot Spot, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Family Style, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Venice was truly a great experience, authentic staff with much attention and adoration. The food and wine list will not disappoint.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent experience and excellent food. The service was perfect and great timing for a business lunch. Very reasonable pricing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

One of our favorite Italian places, always good food and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had an amazing time. WE had a group of 13 people that included 5 kids under 7. The food was AMAZING and so was the wine. The service was a little slow to start but then he was Great!!

Thankyou so much we had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food; crappy service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Overall, a good night with friends. Unfortunately, my Sea Bass meal had too much salt.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Been to this restaurant a number of times and have always found it to be wonderful. The food is delicious, the service is top notch and the ambiance is very nice. I love the fact that is has a low noise level so you can actually have a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I arrived 10 minutes early for our 9:45pm dinner reservation on New Year's Eve, but were not seated until 10:15pm. Others were seated before us, even some without reservations. The food was ok - nothing special, but the way we were treated and the poor service we received ruined our New Year's Eve dinner and ensured that our first visit to this restaurant will be our only visit there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We decided to visit Venice on New Year's Eve. We had reservations at 9:30, and despite the craziness downtown that night, we were seated pretty close to that. It gave us time to have a drink at the bar, and the bartenders did a great job mixing. Dinner and the service were wonderful. Classy, friendly and relaxed, as opposed to stuffy. The food was delicious, and was delivered exactly as ordered. Nice work Venice!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there with a reservation on New Year's Eve, so it was understandably very, very busy. Service was quite slow, even given the occasion, so food wasn't hot by the time it was served, although it was OK. Quality of food was decent, but this place can and does do better on a daily basis. Shouldn't have disappointed on this special night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great! Service could have been better, I understand NYE is a busy night for most restaurants but we had a party for about 40 people and only had one server taking our drink/food order. Our reservation was at 7:45 we didn't get seated till 45 mins after our reservation and drinks didn't come till an hour later. Overall a great restaurant with great food/ambiance and will go back but will not be making a big reservation again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our pasta was excellent, only to much noice

I know, New Year's Eve ✌🏻

I'll comeback for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Closest thing to authentic Italian food in Denver. Fabulous service, wine selection, and the food was very tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I went here with my father who is from Northern Italy. He and I both agree this is the most authentic and delicious Italian restaurant we have eaten at in America. Some of the pasta dishes are made with handmade noodles, which is always a plus! I ordered the Bolognese which is one of the more traditional Italian dishes and it was out of this world! I can't stop thinking about it. The meat and cheese selection on the Charcuterie and Cheese board was delicious, as well as the handmade sausage ravioli.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and atmosphere were great! Waiter was not accommodating or very friendly. I felt like he was annoyed with me when I asked several questions. Just seemed like he didn't want to be there. I have always had good service in the past. It was New Year's Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was our first time to visit this restaurant, as we were celebrating a big anniversary. While the food was outstanding, the restaurant was significantly understaffed, so wait time for all services was quite long. As a result, the manager/owner expressed obvious concern for our well-being, which we certainly appreciated. We will go back again and hope that the waitstaff is all on duty as scheduled!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Jamala did an excellent job from suggesting a wine and taking carre of everything all the way though dessert! Great meal, excellent service!!!!! 10+'in my book! Incredible!!!!! *

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very enjoyable dinning experience. The menu and food preparation reminds us of our dinners out while in Italy. Chef uses locally grown ingredients when available ...

Wine list is extensive however few of the good value Italian wines were available at this time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for the great service as always. They were open on Christmas night and could not have been nicer on a a Holiday night! Food was excellent. The burrata - made in house was sumptuous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had Christmas Day dinner and were very pleased with the food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The one quibble we had was that the piped music was rather loud. Otherwise, a very nice meal with excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

In town on Christmas Eve with family. The service was awesome and the meal outstanding. It is a must if your in Denver.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Took my sons for a birthday celebration. The food & wine were excellent. The atmosphere was very festive for the holidays. A nice time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The waitstaff was exceptional and very helpful. They were very helpful when it came to a wine choice and food pairing. The food was very good and the value was great. I want to go back soon to try some other items and some more of the wines.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I hadn't been to Venice in some time and was pleasantly surprised by the updated décor, new menu and wonderful service. And, they have a Happy Hour which I'm hoping to check out soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A small group went to dinner for my birthday. The wine and the food were top notch. Loved every sip and bite. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.