About Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar

1700 Wynkoop St
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar provides first class Italian cuisine! Facilitating all of your event needs, from private receptions, corporate events, anniversaries and birthdays. Our amazing wine list showcases 800 Italian wines and 300 worldwide wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:00am - 4:30 pm. Dinner: Daily, 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 534-2222

Website:
http://www.veniceristorante.com/

Catering:
Catering from 30 to 1000

Parking Details:
Valet parking,only dinner

Public Transit:
Union Station bus terminal

Executive Chef:
Christian Delle Fave

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for our special six course wine dinner on Tuesday February 22 at 6:30pm. $75 per person.

We will also be participating in the 5280 restaurant week from February 26-March 11.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tagliatelle Bolognese
  • Mozzarella Caprese
  • Cappellacci di Zucca
  • Cheese Plate
Tagliatelle Bolognese
Mozzarella Caprese
Cappellacci di Zucca
Cheese Plate

Private Dining

Venice Ristorante and Wine Bar is the perfect place to hold your next large party. We offer elegant dining paired with professional service and one of the top rated wine lists in the country. Five course private dining menus starting at $49 dollars per person. Contact us for more details.

Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

special occasion (43)
notable wine list (40)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
romantic (33)
good for groups (29)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was amazing. Best gnocchi I've ever ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was amazing. Best gnocchi I've ever had. Service was phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is excellent and very well priced f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is excellent and very well priced for the quality of food.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Six of us went to Venice to celebrate ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Six of us went to Venice to celebrate our friend's birthday. We all had different meals and everyone agreed that the food was fantastic. The ambiance is what suffered. The noise level was so high, you could only talk to the person directly to your right or left. So, we missed out on having an enjoyable evening where we could all talk together. The tables are also VERY close together. The servers were constantly bumping into each other as well as the customers. After dinner, I couldn't stand the noise any longer, so we skipped dessert. I doubt if I will return to this restaurant given that there are so many good Italian restaurants around the Denver area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Loved the food and service. It was very ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Loved the food and service. It was very loud. The noise kind of took away from the really wonderful meal. We will go again on a weeknight rather than a weekend. Hopefully it will be quieter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went here for a work dinner with several ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Went here for a work dinner with several coworkers. Service was prompt and attentive without being overbearing. Every last bite of our food was spectacular. Definitely recommend a visit here.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wait staff was incredible. They were ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The wait staff was incredible. They were very attentive and recognized our needs in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was not our first visit. We were e ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was not our first visit. We were excited to take out of town guests. Hoswever, the food quality has changed. And, one entree had to be remade in the kitchen before delivery for some reason. The delay was never mentioned by the server until the manager saw our frustration and found out about the kitchen error. The problem was made worse by the server attempting to rush the appetizers. When the entrees did come, one with a lobster sauce was extraordinarly strong. All in all, not a good scene. And, the result is that we just cancelled a future reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Venice puts the awe in awesome. I've ha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Venice puts the awe in awesome. I've had a few dates at two of their locations. Both were setup to have a romantic ambiance. They have a fantastic wait staff that is very experienced and courteous too! The only thing I can think of was the noise level was just at a part where I had to ask the waiter to repeat himself a couple of times. Which can be frustrating for both of us. He did a wonderful job!

It is one of my favorite places to go!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a beautiful date night at Venice. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a beautiful date night at Venice. Our server took great care of us and food was great! Definitely a great place to try.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food. Our server was extremely ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good food. Our server was extremely nice. Will definitely go back again when I'm in Denver!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tables too tight. Extremely loud and noi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Tables too tight.

Extremely loud and noisy

Food service was too fast paced

Not relaxing

Food was average Italian, nothing made me go wow - mushroom ravioli was the highlight

Wine list is good, found a reasonable Tuscan cab franc that was good

No mention of my birthday that was noted in the reservation

Our server did her best but all in all I would not go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

We chose Venice because of its location ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We chose Venice because of its location convenient to Union Station; two of our group were arriving on the train from DIA. The food and portion sizes seemed old fashioned, an enormous amount of food in the full portions, no one would want to eat that much. No advice or warning of that was provided by the waiter. The food tasted good, but the timing of service was poor, with our dinners arriving before we had finished the salads. The location is great and we had fun, but the food was not the reason why. We all enjoyed our leftovers!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent ambiance for a business lunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent ambiance for a business lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Downhill

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been to this restaurant several times and find that the food is normally impeccable. I was very disappointed this time to find that the food had gone very far downhill. I was unable to finish my dinner OR desert (how can desert be bad?).

The pasta I ordered was cheddar stuffed noodles with fettuccine sauce, which ended with greasy cheese oil dripping from the pasta and was overall a bad combination.

The desert was a strong lemon cheesecake with equally overpowering blueberry sauce and cinnamon crust. It was just a lot to combine flavor wise.

I chose to avoid voicing any complaint as this was a special event with extended family and was not worth the trouble. I am hoping to give this restaurant a re-do as I've normally been very happy with it and my service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

What a great choice in Denver. We were a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

What a great choice in Denver. We were a party of 18 and they treated us extremely well and the service was quick and efficient. The food was also really delicious and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food great location

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

This is a great restaurant with delicious food. even though our waiter didn't understand what we ordered (delivered a different meal than we ordered) it was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every time I have someone new in town, t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Every time I have someone new in town, this is my go to place! I have never had anything that is bad from the menu and the service is always great. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Better Experience the 2nd Time Around

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We didn't have a great experience on Valentine's Day, but decided to give it another try after a Rockies game when we needed a place to take our son and his fiancee. Food from the regular menu (as opposed to the limited menu offered on Valentines Day) offered more/better choices and we all enjoyed our meal. My son had the butternut squash ravioli and said it was one of the best he's had. His fiancee had a meat/fettuccine dish and she enjoyed it, as well. She and I had the squash soup and both thought it was very good. My husband and I ordered the pear gorgonzola salad and the eggplant Parmesan (appetizer size) and all the food was very good and nicely presented. The waiter was very nice, well trained, but a bit overly chatty with the guests. I'm not fond of how close all the tables are inside- it seems a bit cramped, but overall it was a nice experience this time and we'll go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Graduation party

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Something for everyone on the menu. Excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service. We celebrated ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food, service. We celebrated a 21st birthday and the staff made us all feel very special

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful - from the wine ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Everything was wonderful - from the wine to the appetizers to our server! We sat on the patio and enjoyed the warm evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Venice Retaurante was excellent in every ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Venice Retaurante was excellent in every respect. It is a beautiful, elegant restaurant. Service was perfect. The food was delicious. They were out of two items on the menu that we wanted to order. Our alternate choices were wonderful. I highly recommend this restaurant for an elegant night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I took a colleague there for lunch and the waiter seemed unconcerned that we were on lunch. When I asked, after 45 minutes after ordering, where our lunch was, he seemed annoyed and the service went down hill. When people come in, in the middle of the day, you should expect they are on their lunch hour and should be a little more responsive. Sure, we would all like to take 2 hour lunches, but it's not practical. Fine dining or not, be responsive and aware that during the work week, people coming in during the day are on a LUNCH HOUR, hour being the key.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Wonderful restaurant! As always, amazing ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! As always, amazing staff and amazing food!!! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delisj

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful dinner with a great atmosphere! The food was delish and so fresh. Everything was fantastic. Our server was super friendly and funny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian restaurant in Denver. If yo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Denver. If you want an Authentic Italian experience this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

tables

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

my only complaint was that we had a party of 12 and they sat us at two different tables making it difficult to have a group conversation. but the food was good, service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Just okay. Not crowded at all. Always co ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Just okay. Not crowded at all. Always come here when in Denver, but seemed off Thursday night. Just not energetic like usual.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A Taste of Italy

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Venice is a wonderful Italian restaurant. It is right across the street from Union Station. We ate outside and loved viewing all the sights. The food was excellent. I had the branzino, done to perfection. The wine list is extensive. A great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great business lunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Took a party of 6 here for a business lunch on Thursday. The food was really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great lively atmosphere. Wil ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food, great lively atmosphere. Will always recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favourite restaurants ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Denver. I have been to Venice, and this is about as close as you can get to the authentic food served overseas, for a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Big Disappointment

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Hubby and I were on vacation and from the reviews thought this would be a good place to try. Mistake! My squash soup was good, my hubby's Caprese had mozzarella but not the buffalo mozzarella, and there were mushy tomatoes. The disaster was my entree, lobster ravioli. Mushy pasta, tiny bits of lobster and an inedible sauce. So bad I sent it back. Hubby's lasagna was OK but just, with too little pasta. To the restaurant's credit they did offer to get me a different entree, however, at that point hubby had his food and I didn't want him to wait for a new entree for me while his meal got cold. So they said they would comp dessert, which was a nice gesture - except that the chocolate fondue was an epic fail, not set and cold at the bottom. Also, we waited for 20 minutes between our soup/salad and entrees, with the explanation that it was a prom night and very busy. Not our problem! Maybe they just had a bad night, however, I can not recommend this place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Good Food at Reasonable Prices

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I really enjoy this restaurant. The food is delicious and authentic. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The dinner service at Venice is incredib ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The dinner service at Venice is incredible. The staff was extremely attentive and polite. Great location for a birthday or celebration. Great atmosphere. Food is truly authentic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wrong food was brought out twice, server ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Wrong food was brought out twice, server was very kind about it and bought our dessert. It just wasn't the normal Venice experience, must just be an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Amazing evening!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a party of 9 for a celebration and we were not disappointed. From the wine recommendations to the careful details about the food, it was wonderful. The manager came by and saw they we were having a special occasion and gave us a couple of specially prepared apps for free. We had several wait staff taking care of us and we wanted for nothing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Get the cioppino--amazing!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Get the cioppino--amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and service

 
 (Gloucestershire)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The menu had a good choice for vegetarians. Nice atmosphere in the Resturant, and good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I wouldn't mind going back!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

The wine selection was ample with good choices. The food was delicious and the service was incredible. It was a quiet Sunday night when we went but it had a very nice ambiance. The desserts are worth the calories!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.