About Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar

1700 Wynkoop St
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar provides first class Italian cuisine! Facilitating all of your event needs, from private receptions, corporate events, anniversaries and birthdays. Our amazing wine list showcases 800 Italian wines and 300 worldwide wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:00am - 4:30 pm. Dinner: Daily, 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 534-2222

Website:
http://www.veniceristorante.com/

Catering:
Catering from 30 to 1000

Parking Details:
Valet parking,only dinner

Public Transit:
Union Station bus terminal

Executive Chef:
Christian Delle Fave

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for our special six course wine dinner on Tuesday February 22 at 6:30pm. $75 per person.

We will also be participating in the 5280 restaurant week from February 26-March 11.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Venice Ristorante and Wine Bar is the perfect place to hold your next large party. We offer elegant dining paired with professional service and one of the top rated wine lists in the country. Five course private dining menus starting at $49 dollars per person. Contact us for more details.

Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

special occasion (74)
romantic (71)
notable wine list (69)
See All
fit for foodies (58)
good for groups (43)
neighborhood gem (29)
hot spot (24)
vibrant bar scene (22)
great for lunch (12)
scenic view (9)
late-night find (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time I have someone new in town, t ...

Dined 2 days ago

Every time I have someone new in town, this is my go to place! I have never had anything that is bad from the menu and the service is always great. Love it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Graduation party

Dined on May 21, 2016

Something for everyone on the menu. Excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service. We celebrated ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food, service. We celebrated a 21st birthday and the staff made us all feel very special

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful - from the wine ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Everything was wonderful - from the wine to the appetizers to our server! We sat on the patio and enjoyed the warm evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Venice Retaurante was excellent in every ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Venice Retaurante was excellent in every respect. It is a beautiful, elegant restaurant. Service was perfect. The food was delicious. They were out of two items on the menu that we wanted to order. Our alternate choices were wonderful. I highly recommend this restaurant for an elegant night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Slow service

Dined on May 13, 2016

I took a colleague there for lunch and the waiter seemed unconcerned that we were on lunch. When I asked, after 45 minutes after ordering, where our lunch was, he seemed annoyed and the service went down hill. When people come in, in the middle of the day, you should expect they are on their lunch hour and should be a little more responsive. Sure, we would all like to take 2 hour lunches, but it's not practical. Fine dining or not, be responsive and aware that during the work week, people coming in during the day are on a LUNCH HOUR, hour being the key.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant! As always, amazing ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! As always, amazing staff and amazing food!!! Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delisj

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful dinner with a great atmosphere! The food was delish and so fresh. Everything was fantastic. Our server was super friendly and funny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian restaurant in Denver. If yo ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Denver. If you want an Authentic Italian experience this is the place to go.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

tables

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

my only complaint was that we had a party of 12 and they sat us at two different tables making it difficult to have a group conversation. but the food was good, service was good.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just okay. Not crowded at all. Always co ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Just okay. Not crowded at all. Always come here when in Denver, but seemed off Thursday night. Just not energetic like usual.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Taste of Italy

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Venice is a wonderful Italian restaurant. It is right across the street from Union Station. We ate outside and loved viewing all the sights. The food was excellent. I had the branzino, done to perfection. The wine list is extensive. A great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great business lunch

Dined on April 21, 2016

Took a party of 6 here for a business lunch on Thursday. The food was really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great lively atmosphere. Wil ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food, great lively atmosphere. Will always recommend.

food5
ambience5
service4

This is one of my favourite restaurants ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Denver. I have been to Venice, and this is about as close as you can get to the authentic food served overseas, for a reasonable price.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Big Disappointment

Dined on April 9, 2016

Hubby and I were on vacation and from the reviews thought this would be a good place to try. Mistake! My squash soup was good, my hubby's Caprese had mozzarella but not the buffalo mozzarella, and there were mushy tomatoes. The disaster was my entree, lobster ravioli. Mushy pasta, tiny bits of lobster and an inedible sauce. So bad I sent it back. Hubby's lasagna was OK but just, with too little pasta. To the restaurant's credit they did offer to get me a different entree, however, at that point hubby had his food and I didn't want him to wait for a new entree for me while his meal got cold. So they said they would comp dessert, which was a nice gesture - except that the chocolate fondue was an epic fail, not set and cold at the bottom. Also, we waited for 20 minutes between our soup/salad and entrees, with the explanation that it was a prom night and very busy. Not our problem! Maybe they just had a bad night, however, I can not recommend this place.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Food at Reasonable Prices

Dined on April 2, 2016

I really enjoy this restaurant. The food is delicious and authentic. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The dinner service at Venice is incredib ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

The dinner service at Venice is incredible. The staff was extremely attentive and polite. Great location for a birthday or celebration. Great atmosphere. Food is truly authentic.

food5
ambience4
service3

Wrong food was brought out twice, server ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Wrong food was brought out twice, server was very kind about it and bought our dessert. It just wasn't the normal Venice experience, must just be an off night.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing evening!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a party of 9 for a celebration and we were not disappointed. From the wine recommendations to the careful details about the food, it was wonderful. The manager came by and saw they we were having a special occasion and gave us a couple of specially prepared apps for free. We had several wait staff taking care of us and we wanted for nothing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Get the cioppino--amazing!

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Get the cioppino--amazing!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and service

Dined on March 23, 2016

The menu had a good choice for vegetarians. Nice atmosphere in the Resturant, and good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wouldn't mind going back!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

The wine selection was ample with good choices. The food was delicious and the service was incredible. It was a quiet Sunday night when we went but it had a very nice ambiance. The desserts are worth the calories!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5

Great experience, this is a place I will ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great experience, this is a place I will definitely go back to visit

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We LOVE Venice!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

As always, our food was excellent and beautifully presented. The service was excellent as well. Venice is one of our favorite restaurants in downtown Denver! We go there regularly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Good main dishes, a lot of variety for e ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Good main dishes, a lot of variety for everyone, we weren't thoroughly impressed with the appetizers we got. Wine selection is wonderful.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very enjoyable evening in downtown Denver

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had to wait about fifteen minutes past our Open Table reservation, but it was worth it. The wine list is extensive, with some nice Italian choices. Menu covers the gamut, and our waiter made some nice suggestions. The soup of the day was wonderful, the caesar salad as one would expect, The pasta dishes we had, a spicy shrimp with linguini and the sausage and mushroom ravioli were very good. I think we would try it again if in the area.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful celebration!

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Venice is our family's favorite for special celebrations. The beautiful surroundings, the attentive staff, and the delicious food all provide warm and gracious hospitality. The wine list is outstanding. We appreciate the variety of the menu. The innovative menu includes dishes you won't find anywhere else! All items are elegantly presented and full of flavor! From the antipasto through the entrees to the desserts, Venice provides a unique dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 7, 2016

As we are new to the area, we were very pleased to find a neighborhood restaurant that has excellent food, drinks, and service. And great parking!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This place was so good! I got the lingui ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

This place was so good! I got the linguine and clams and it was a-mazing! The waitress messed up our order somehow but it didn't have any impact on our experience! The managers came out multiple times to apologize, they bought our table a round of drinks, a round of shots, and coffee with our dessert!!! They really made it right and we will definitely be back not only because the food was amazing, but also because the service was out of this world! We will be back very soon to try the other items on the menu we wanted!

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was good. Service started out ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was good. Service started out good but decreased as the evening passed. There was a group of people next to us that was extremely loud, especially one man, who made it very difficult to talk at our table. We asked the waiter to say something to the man but he never did. It really became very distracting. Thankfully they left but it was about 2/3 of the way through our meal. So the rating indicating the noise level was "energetic" is not accurate....it was LOUD. We would go back only because the food was good and we would like to think the servers were having a bad day. We can deal with that, unless it happens again. Then it won't matter how good the food is because we won't be back.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great salmon entree and calamari appeti ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Great salmon entree and calamari appetizer! AMAZING ** glass wine cellar and selection . Well versed staff, friendly.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Date night

Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife of 40+ years and I had a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience recently at Venice. It's not the first time we've enjoyed ourselves there and definitely not the last. Good food, superior wine list, a knowledgeable attentive staff, and a great, lively location just across the street from Union Station--and only a block away from the 16th. St. Mall shuttle (we went to the DCPA following our supper).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always exceptional

Dined on March 5, 2016

Everything about this dining experience was great. The ambience, the service, the food, the variety of selections on the menu and the uniqueness of many items. This was my 4th visit and all have been exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud music started loud talking - very noisy

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food. Wonderful wait staff. Definitely not an eatery! An elegant, real restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food, slow service

Dined on March 5, 2016

We went during restaurant week and the food was amazing. We had a party of 18 and every person loved their food. Our waitress was very friendly, but the service was extremely slow and it took forever to get orders placed and receive our food. There were empty tables around us, so I am not sure why everything took so long. While I would go there again, I would not go when under any time constraints. We were there from 7-10:15, and not because we wanted to be. We actually needed to be elsewhere at 9. So again, great food and friendly staff, just be prepared to make it an evening long event.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed our Group Dinner

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

We showed up during Denver Restaurant Week for a (business) group dinner - party of 8. Our reservation was for 7:30 (and several folks had gotten there earlier for a drink) but we ended up having to wait for our table. When that wait started to push towards 30 minutes, I suggested to our waiter that a free drink or some appetizers would help 'ease our pain' or that he could offer the group that was sitting at our table chatting away (sans food or beverage, since 5:30 apparently) a nightcap at the bar to 'unstick their sticky bottoms.' He looked uncomfortable making the call, so I asked to see the Manager. That turned out to be Pacho, and he made things right. Pacho got us some beverages, brought us some terrific appetizers and, I believe, managed to unstick the bottoms all in parallel! Well done Pacho :-) The rest of our meal turned out to be fantastic. Great service. Everyone enjoyed their food selections (some had been to another downtown Italian place the night before, and I heard them commenting that 'Venice is better') - note that we ate off the regular (not DRW) menu. And the wines were good, albeit a bit pricey. In any case I (and my guests) thoroughly enjoyed their evening at Venice when all was said and done.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Went for Denver restaurant week. Food wa ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Went for Denver restaurant week. Food was good, nice spot for a special occasion. Service was good, not great though. Did not bring bread or Parmesan cheese (other tables received these items). Salad order was wrong but was quickly corrected. May come back for a special occasion, but would hope service to be better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Dined here for Restaurant week, Never again.

Dined on February 29, 2016

Hire a new chef! The meals were a massive disappointment. My bowl of uncooked pasta had approximately three minuscule pieces of chicken. Olive Garden would have been a better choice.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Venice - Restaurant Week

Dined on February 29, 2016

We went to Venice on a Sunday night during Denver Restaurant Week. While we expected a rather quiet evening considering it was Sunday, the place was packed! We were looking to find restaurants for future visits in the LoDo area. This is an exceptional restaurant, both in terms of great Italian food and a lengthy, eclectic wine list. For antipastos we shared Burricotta and Caesar salad. The Burricotta was really unique and delicious. For entrees, we had Cappelletti di Zucca (hat-shaped ravioli filled with roasted butternut squash, walnuts and parmesan cheese; marinara-vellutata sauce) and Scaloppine Carciofi e Capperi (veal scapoppine with grilled artichokes hearts, capers, roasted garlic and finished with a lemon wine butter sauce; served with penne pomodoro). Both were truly exceptional and different from other Italian restaurants. Tiramisu and Panna Cotta rounded out the desert. All for $30. A very nice Super Tuscan blend wine was enjoyed throughout the meal. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.