About Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar

1700 Wynkoop St
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar provides first class Italian cuisine! Facilitating all of your event needs, from private receptions, corporate events, anniversaries and birthdays. Our amazing wine list showcases 800 Italian wines and 300 worldwide wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:00am - 4:30 pm. Dinner: Daily, 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 534-2222

Website:
http://www.veniceristorante.com/

Catering:
Catering from 30 to 1000

Parking Details:
Valet parking,only dinner

Public Transit:
Union Station bus terminal

Executive Chef:
Christian Delle Fave

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for our special six course wine dinner on Tuesday February 22 at 6:30pm. $75 per person.

We will also be participating in the 5280 restaurant week from February 26-March 11.

Restaurant Photos

  • Tagliatelle Bolognese - Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar, Denver, CO
  • Mozzarella Caprese - Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar, Denver, CO
  • Cappellacci di Zucca - Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar, Denver, CO
  • Cheese Plate - Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar, Denver, CO

Report a photo problem

Tagliatelle Bolognese - Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar, Denver, CO
Mozzarella Caprese - Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar, Denver, CO
Cappellacci di Zucca - Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar, Denver, CO
Cheese Plate - Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar, Denver, CO

Private Dining

Venice Ristorante and Wine Bar is the perfect place to hold your next large party. We offer elegant dining paired with professional service and one of the top rated wine lists in the country. Five course private dining menus starting at $49 dollars per person. Contact us for more details.

Venice Ristorante & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (27)
See All
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Business Meals (17)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food; crappy service

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food; crappy service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall, a good night with friends. Unf ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall, a good night with friends. Unfortunately, my Sea Bass meal had too much salt.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Been to this restaurant a number of time ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Been to this restaurant a number of times and have always found it to be wonderful. The food is delicious, the service is top notch and the ambiance is very nice. I love the fact that is has a low noise level so you can actually have a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I arrived 10 minutes earl ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I arrived 10 minutes early for our 9:45pm dinner reservation on New Year's Eve, but were not seated until 10:15pm. Others were seated before us, even some without reservations. The food was ok - nothing special, but the way we were treated and the poor service we received ruined our New Year's Eve dinner and ensured that our first visit to this restaurant will be our only visit there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We decided to visit Venice on New Year's ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We decided to visit Venice on New Year's Eve. We had reservations at 9:30, and despite the craziness downtown that night, we were seated pretty close to that. It gave us time to have a drink at the bar, and the bartenders did a great job mixing. Dinner and the service were wonderful. Classy, friendly and relaxed, as opposed to stuffy. The food was delicious, and was delivered exactly as ordered. Nice work Venice!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there with a reservation on New Yea ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there with a reservation on New Year's Eve, so it was understandably very, very busy. Service was quite slow, even given the occasion, so food wasn't hot by the time it was served, although it was OK. Quality of food was decent, but this place can and does do better on a daily basis. Shouldn't have disappointed on this special night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was great! Service could have b ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great! Service could have been better, I understand NYE is a busy night for most restaurants but we had a party for about 40 people and only had one server taking our drink/food order. Our reservation was at 7:45 we didn't get seated till 45 mins after our reservation and drinks didn't come till an hour later. Overall a great restaurant with great food/ambiance and will go back but will not be making a big reservation again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our pasta was excellent, only to much no ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our pasta was excellent, only to much noice

I know, New Year's Eve ✌🏻

I'll comeback for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Closest thing to authentic Italian food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Closest thing to authentic Italian food in Denver. Fabulous service, wine selection, and the food was very tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here with my father who is from N ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I went here with my father who is from Northern Italy. He and I both agree this is the most authentic and delicious Italian restaurant we have eaten at in America. Some of the pasta dishes are made with handmade noodles, which is always a plus! I ordered the Bolognese which is one of the more traditional Italian dishes and it was out of this world! I can't stop thinking about it. The meat and cheese selection on the Charcuterie and Cheese board was delicious, as well as the handmade sausage ravioli.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and atmosphere were great! Waiter ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and atmosphere were great! Waiter was not accommodating or very friendly. I felt like he was annoyed with me when I asked several questions. Just seemed like he didn't want to be there. I have always had good service in the past. It was New Year's Eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

It was our first time to visit this rest ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was our first time to visit this restaurant, as we were celebrating a big anniversary. While the food was outstanding, the restaurant was significantly understaffed, so wait time for all services was quite long. As a result, the manager/owner expressed obvious concern for our well-being, which we certainly appreciated. We will go back again and hope that the waitstaff is all on duty as scheduled!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Jamala did an excellent job from suggest ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Jamala did an excellent job from suggesting a wine and taking carre of everything all the way though dessert! Great meal, excellent service!!!!! 10+'in my book! Incredible!!!!! *

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable dinning experience. The ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very enjoyable dinning experience. The menu and food preparation reminds us of our dinners out while in Italy. Chef uses locally grown ingredients when available ...

Wine list is extensive however few of the good value Italian wines were available at this time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We went for the great service as always. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went for the great service as always. They were open on Christmas night and could not have been nicer on a a Holiday night! Food was excellent. The burrata - made in house was sumptuous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had Christmas Day dinner and were ver ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had Christmas Day dinner and were very pleased with the food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The one quibble we had was that the pipe ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The one quibble we had was that the piped music was rather loud. Otherwise, a very nice meal with excellent service.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

In town on Christmas Eve with family. Th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

In town on Christmas Eve with family. The service was awesome and the meal outstanding. It is a must if your in Denver.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my sons for a birthday celebration. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Took my sons for a birthday celebration. The food & wine were excellent. The atmosphere was very festive for the holidays. A nice time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The waitstaff was exceptional and very h ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The waitstaff was exceptional and very helpful. They were very helpful when it came to a wine choice and food pairing. The food was very good and the value was great. I want to go back soon to try some other items and some more of the wines.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to Venice in some time and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I hadn't been to Venice in some time and was pleasantly surprised by the updated décor, new menu and wonderful service. And, they have a Happy Hour which I'm hoping to check out soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A small group went to dinner for my birt ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A small group went to dinner for my birthday. The wine and the food were top notch. Loved every sip and bite. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little skeptical when we arriv ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We were a little skeptical when we arrived as the bar area had been transformed into a dining room due to a large Christmas party taking over the majority of the restaurant. However the service and the meal made up for any concerns we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place for business lunch! Even wh ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great place for business lunch! Even when packed with a couple of large holiday groups the food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy night and took a while for service.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Busy night and took a while for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Fabulous restaurant, food exceptional, o ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fabulous restaurant, food exceptional, only negative sat a two top table near the front door, all guests walking by.

I will definitely will go again but we will sit at a high top in the bar area

Tags: Live Sports, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We had the lasagna and it was amazing! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had the lasagna and it was amazing! The service was also just as amazing. Reasonable price as well. I would definitely recommend if you are in the mood for white tablecloth dinner with a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! The food and atmosphere was amazin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wow! The food and atmosphere was amazing. We are already looking forward to dining out again here. Try it out, you will NOT be disappointed!

Bruce Gachne

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Venice Ristorante seemed like a great ch ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Venice Ristorante seemed like a great choice at the beginning of our dining experience; however, it went downhill from there. Perhaps it was because our head waiter had a large table right next to ours. Whatever the reason, it took quite some time to get our first drinks and then I had to ask for a second...one was not offered. The food was good but not great for the price and everything was a la carte - making for an expensive outing for a family of five. I would not go back as there are many other dining options in Denver these days.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Wonderful place! Very tasty and very cha ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful place! Very tasty and very charismatic staff. I really enjoyed my date there. I went there for a romantic date and it was great. Next time I want to try the wine bar with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was just ok. Ladies restroom was a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was just ok. Ladies restroom was a mess. Locks didn't work and leaking on floors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was touted as "authentic" and " ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was touted as "authentic" and "modern". The reason for modern was that the serving sizes were smaller. We ordered a meat and cheese tray, which while exotic w/ tongue and snout, was a bit weird as it didn't match the rest of the menu. It was also not explained beyond "chef's choice" until it had hit the table.

I ordered a roasted beet/ beet salad. The "salad" was 3 small half beets, and 1 raw uncooked beet that resembled a baby carrot. It had some kind of dressing, a herb in the cilantro family, and some kind of salt on it. While tasty, the whole thing was 5 bites.

For entrees: I had the Carbonara, and my wife had the special of the day, Lasagne. The carbonara came only with very tiny bits of some kind of bacon. The sauce was uninspiring, and had already set on the plate when they brought it out. I was halfway done w/ it before someone offered grated parm. The only upside was the pasta was homemade, but it felt and tasted like something I could've got at the local food court at the mall for 1/4 the price.

My wife had the lasagne. The only redeeming parts of it were the size of the portion huge, and that it was basically like molten lava it was so hot. Again, other than the basic ingredients you'd expect, nothing was amazing about it.

Our table was next to some heavy drapes that the dining room was cut in half by, like 2 inches away from it. The table on the other side was 2 feet from the drapes. 5 or 6 times our entire table was shaken by servers or other customers walking on the other side. We didn't partake of the wine menu, but if we had, it would've been all over the floor or us.

The noise level was over the top(at 730pm). I'd assume the drapes were supposed to help w/ that, but I'd hate to hear it w/o them if so.

Overall, they restaurant didn't live up to they hype of the reviews I had read. While not hungry when we left, we won't be returning. We were in, seated, fed, and out the door in 40 mins. Rushed.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

My girlfriend and I went here for our an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My girlfriend and I went here for our anniversary, and it was spectacular. The food was terrific, the restaurant itself was beautiful, and the prices were very affordable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this restaurant! Warm, romantic am ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved this restaurant! Warm, romantic ambience with candlelight and sheer draperies. Delicious Italian fare with unbelievably reasonable prices and extensive wine list. The table service was above par. Chef/owner, Alessandro, greeted our table and upon finding out it was mine & my husband's anniversary he promptly had a complimentary small bottle of prosecco sent to our a table! What a special way to finish the evening. Couldn't wait to tell our friends and family about this amazing restaurant. We will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, , Notable Wine List, Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Blaa blaa blaa, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Blaa blaa blaa, Blaa blaa blaa, Blaa blaa blaa, Blaa blaa blaa, enjoy, Bon Apatite.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sadly our experience wasn't good. Waiter ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Sadly our experience wasn't good. Waiter excellent but music on sound system WAY TOO NOISY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Great food for a great price at lunch ti ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great food for a great price at lunch time. For marginally more than you might pay for some Pizza, or a sandwich you can get a genuine Italian meal. Really good value.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was mostly a pleasant experience, b ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was mostly a pleasant experience, but it was puzzling to me why the gnocchi verdi is a small plate item, and why it is not listed as such in the menu, nor mentioned to us by our waitress.l

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went on the recommendation of a friend- ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Went on the recommendation of a friend- we were pleased, but not excited. My wife started with the calamari and followed up with the Branzino? The calamari was "great." She was, however, very disappointed in the Branzino. She said it was bland and had very little flavor. She said if she hadn't been stuffed from the calamari (huge portion), she would have sent it back. I started with an excellent carpaccio, a very delicious beet/carrot salad and a fantastic acorn squash ravioli. We were both too stuffed for dessert so no comment there. Overall we had a nice meal and excellent service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

From the moment we walked in the door, w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

From the moment we walked in the door, we were treated like good friends. Sicily was a great advisor for all things food and wine. Sometimes you just want delicious chicken parmigiana or veal scaloppini without any tricks. You can even afford to have an appetizer and dessert! This is your place!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.