Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi

About Veladora


Veladora. Where coast meets ranch. Where sun dappled afternoons fade into lantern lit evenings. And where all things fresh, handcrafted and simply delicious reside.

Rancho Valencia's captivating signature restaurant serves Coastal Ranch cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a stunning modern hacienda setting.

An extensive wine menu of over 600 selected wines is on hand for sipping and savoring, as well as a welcoming private wine room featuring our rarest bottles for the most special of occasions.

The culinary team's farm-to-table philosophy is infused throughout Veladora's program, featuring local produce and herbs, flowers and honey cultivated and foraged right on property.

5921 Valencia Circle
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday-Sunday: 7:00am-11:00am; Brunch Sunday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Dinner Tuesday-Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm





FOR A MAP TO RANCHO VALENCIA, PLEASE GO TO: DIRECTIONS (http://www.ranchovalencia.com/directions_california_resorts.asp)

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 759-6246

Website:
http://www.ranchovalencia.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary to guests dining at Rancho Valencia.

Executive Chef:
Jarrod Moiles

Private Party Facilities:
Please call our Sales Department who will be delighted to discuss with you, the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Sales & Catering: (858) 759-6259

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Veladora Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
See All
Romantic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fireplace (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Scenic View (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Veladora is a beautiful restaurant with exemplary food and service. It is the perfect spot to commemorate a special occasion! You will feel transported to another place and time when you dine here -- it feels like you've left home and entered a different dimension! Incredibly beautiful and elegant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I come here often.

Tags: Fireplace, Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We love the ambience at Veladora, and the menu offers many wonderful choices. They also permit ordering from the Pony Room menu, which is wonderful. Love this place, always a treat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The customer service was outstanding, the food was OK but nothing to rave about for the price. Wine selection was fantastic. Would I go back? Yes absolutely. The staff were amazing and I would like to try their variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our server was fantastic! He anticipated our needs very well and made for an extremely enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A truly amazing experience. Service that rivals the greatest and best places in the world.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had brunch at the Veladora this past Sunday. What a find. We were sat at a huge booth with comfy pillows and a view of the fireplace. On either side of the fireplace was large windows with gorgeous views of the greenery outside. The menu isnt too broad and our dishes were so amazing we almost licked the plates, prices are well worth the quality of food. Our waiter Steve Took really good care of us and made us feel like VIPs. I will definitely return here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fantastic birthday dinner!! Our waiter Chip was amazing! Food, staff, everything provided a meal a night to remember!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Love it!! Great drinks and fantastic farm to table cuisine.
A must go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have often dined at Market but never here. We found the food on par with Market but the service and facilities far better. We will be returning. Excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in San Diego. Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Perfect for that special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fabulously service, good food, always a pleasant experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good, but overpriced compared to other options in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 24, 2017

innovative; mostly deconstructive plates; lovely setting; very small portions and quite pricey.
Service exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere as always
Nice and comfortable like putting on a old Pendleton shirt and enjoying food and service
Not too crazy of a menu but diverse and well thought out
Excellent evening

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was our anniversary and we were married there. Always look forward to this exceptional restaurant , only for the first time the food was just ok. The farm salad was a real disappointment-- so small and in no way noteworthy. My John Dory was delicious but my husbands seabass was just "good". There were no specials and I just hope this was unusual and not typical. I will still look forward to our next dinner there with optimism

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent!! Food, wine, decor was beautiful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very special food and wine

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous dinner, we all had something different and each dish was as enchanting as the other; portions were of a good size and the menu was tidy in that it did not have too many options which makes you think its all coming out the freezer! It was all fresh tasty and pretty on the eye. Our Server was fabulous too :) .

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding evening. Marcia was a terrific server and the food was amazing. We loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Nice place to relax and enjoy the conversation. Keith waited our table and he was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Romantic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had an amazing evening at Veladora! Everything was perfect from the time we walked in the door to when we sat down. The Salmon entree was unbelievably delicious as was the lobster pasta and brussels sprouts. The wine and cocktail selection was perfect and we can't wait to come back! A must if you live or will be visiting the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was delicious. Wonderful wait staff. Am going back Thursday.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Terrific place. Food is the highlight, but Service was just right. I will return. New favorite.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We live nearby, so we eat at Veladora at least twice a week when we are in town because it's so convenient and the food is so good. A friendly staff is inconsistently good (some of the servers are truly outstanding, while others have to be tracked down to get refills on drinks), and the food (especially the Hamachi Crudo from the bar) is varied and well prepared.

A huge standout for the food is the filet, maybe the best filet I've ever had. Also, everything at breakfast is really good. It's one of our favorite breakfast places ever and fortunately it's right down the street.

I don't recommend the tuna two ways. It's fine, just very bland, as is the French Dip sandwich on the lunch menu. The salads are all quite good and the salmon Caesar is quite delicious.

The feel is casual, yet romantic enough for the most special, special occasion. Highly recommended if you are looking for a place to stay (there's a lovely hotel here too) to take a date or just to have a nice meal. They also have a great private dining room in the back and a wine cellar perfect for events.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Another amazing meal! House-made bread that melts in your mouth to start! For an appetizer, I enjoyed the Foie Gras on toasted brioche with a sweet crunch of crushed hazelnuts on top and little buttons of pumpkin puree on the plate that combined to create the perfect blend of creamy, crunchy, rich & sweet decadence! Entree was the Lobster Pot Pie! (Not your Grandma's pot-pie!) A lobster bisque flavored base with carrots & celery and LOTS of lobster. An airy puff pastry is baked over it which is gently broken by the server to add a bit of sherry gastrique that is served on the side so you may add to your own taste. Very rich and really delicious! The bread pudding was something like cookies and cream -- oh my! Amazing!!! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for restaurant week (Jan 2017) and the food/service was incredible! Would definitely come back to try other menu options.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Restaurant week menu was the most extensive I've ever seen. Great food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great place for date and occasions.

The place is really hard to find.. especially in dark. But once you get here it's nice.
Valet is complementary. Nice.
The food was excellent, and the service was courteous. No complains.
Everything was too nice and too fancy for a $50 dinner, which is what you pay for in SDRW. I'm not sure if it's as much worthwhile in a regular, but this is a must go for SDRW.

I can definitely see this place where I'd have a night to remember.. Definitely coming back in a summer night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Don't leave without ordering the grilled octopus and lobster pot pie. The oysters were great too. They have a nice wine selection that paired well. Overall food was great. The service was exceptional! Our server, Richard, and the other wait staff were PERFECT! I can't think of anything they could do to improve. They anticipated our needs and checked on us several times without being intrusive. I appreciate that. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Outstanding in all respects. Ask for dish not on menu- an outstanding risotto.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A superb dinner with friends. This place knows the gold standard and sets it apart from other restaurants. Will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The smoked pork loin & foie gras were delicious, and the 6-layer cake was a great way to end the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

What a great find, we ate here with friends for SDRW they had a nice assortment of choices the cream of corn soup was the best ever, scallop entree was good as was the fish, the hit was a acorn fed pork, it tasted like steak, service was very good 35$ corkage fee was high but overall a nice place to eat in Ranch Santa Fe

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

ALWAYS FANTASTIC ! Restaurant week is a great value. Food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2017

What a hidden gem! We really enjoyed spending a special occasion here - especially its diverse cuisine and service as well as ambience. Highly recommend for any special occasions, dates, or just casual dining!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My entree was just ok. The two others with me had a better experience with their choices. Wait staff was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delightful find! My husband and I celebrated a early New Year's Eve lunch/ dinner. Everything from food, to service, to valets, and atmosphere. JUST DELIGHTFUL!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.