About Veladora

5921 Valencia Circle
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
View Larger Map


Veladora. Where coast meets ranch. Where sun dappled afternoons fade into lantern lit evenings. And where all things fresh, handcrafted and simply delicious reside.

Rancho Valencia's captivating signature restaurant serves Coastal Ranch cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a stunning modern hacienda setting.

An extensive wine menu of over 600 selected wines is on hand for sipping and savoring, as well as a welcoming private wine room featuring our rarest bottles for the most special of occasions.

The culinary team's farm-to-table philosophy is infused throughout Veladora's program, featuring local produce and herbs, flowers and honey cultivated right on property.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday-Sunday: 7:00am-11:00am; Brunch Sunday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Dinner Tuesday-Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm





FOR A MAP TO RANCHO VALENCIA, PLEASE GO TO: DIRECTIONS (http://www.ranchovalencia.com/directions_california_resorts.asp)

Cross Street:
Rancho Diegueno

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 759-6216

Website:
http://www.ranchovalencia.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary to guests dining at Rancho Valencia.

Executive Chef:
Jarrod Moiles

Private Party Facilities:
Please call our Sales Department who can handle all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Sales & Catering: 8587596285x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Veladora Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
North San Diego
Californian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Rancho Santa Fe ›

Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Two women celebrated a 60th birthday wit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Two women celebrated a 60th birthday with a 2 hour lunch on a lovely patio. The wine was excellent and the seafood Cobb was Outstanding. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, service, and the staff tha ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Amazing food, service, and the staff that works there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The facility is obviously gorgeous. Ser ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The facility is obviously gorgeous. Service was great Unfortunately, the entrees we had (both fish) were fair at best -- the problem lies in the kitchen as the service was excellent.

Loved the Pony Bar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This is among the best restaurants I've ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is among the best restaurants I've been to in San Diego. My only regret is that I didn't find it sooner. I've already recommended it to several friends. This is a MUST VISIT.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazingly pleasant place to dine. Won ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

An amazingly pleasant place to dine. Wonderful menu. Excellent staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are San Francisco-area-spoiled foodie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We are San Francisco-area-spoiled foodies, now in SD county for more than five years. Veladora has been a find for us, because we like great food and knowledgeable servers and sommeliers, all of which Veladora has. It also has a wonderful quiet pastoral setting that is very difficult to find anywhere in the Bay Area (much less other great food cities like Manhattan), so it is quite unique. We were treated to a great experience there, the second time we have been there, but the first we've realized that we need to let people know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Comfortable ambience in an upscale setti ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Comfortable ambience in an upscale setting. Food and presentation excellent as well as attentive service from the whole staff. Perfect for celebrating a special event.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They have refreshed the menu, and althou ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

They have refreshed the menu, and although hard to believe, it is even better, more complex, and tastier than the last. You can count on an outstanding meal. Really, really, amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love this resort and hotel. Ambience ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love this resort and hotel.

Ambience and food are excellent. Highly recommend the brunch out on the patio on a Sunday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So disappointing. We waited 30 min for o ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

So disappointing. We waited 30 min for our table - despite the fact that we had a reservation. Service was extremely slow. They were out of the best item on their menu (the foie gras). The party next door was so loud that we had to talk over their music. Guests at other tables were so drunk they couldn't walk straight. Really not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We have gone to Rancho Valenzia for 25 ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have gone to Rancho Valenzia for 25 years. We had not been back in several years. It was the best place I have ever gone for dinner. Yes, it is expensive, but well worth the cost. I can not say enough about all your staff from hostess to servers to your entire group for such a wonderful evening. Next time I am back in California, I am sure that we will come back for dinner.

Best Regards,

Greg Dean

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience with very ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding dining experience with very professional staff. The food is excellently prepared with a very goodchoice of wines. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical atmosphere and incredible servic ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Magical atmosphere and incredible service! When we visit Rancho Santa Fe again, this will be our first stop. Such a wonderful experience, from beginning to end. Food presentation was outstanding and the apple crumble was YUM! Can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting. Fine dining with grea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Beautiful setting. Fine dining with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a very nice experience, we will ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was a very nice experience, we will definitey come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Little disappointed with the appetizers ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Little disappointed with the appetizers and desserts. The entrees were great. The lobster in the lobster salad was over done and chewy. When I mentioned that, the waitress brought another plate with just lobster. At a place like this (where you pay avg $100 person), you would expect them get a totally new salad rather than bits and pieces like I got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Went for a last-minute lunch/brunch on a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Went for a last-minute lunch/brunch on a Sunday. Sat outside with our dogs. They have a special pet menu...awesome! Many great choices. Beautiful grounds. Pet friendly. Great wines and cocktails. It's pretty much perfect here

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special location set in the middle of th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Special location set in the middle of the Rancho Valencia resort. Atmosphere reminiscent of what the grand Spanish rancheros may have been like during the early days in California. Food expertly prepared with great variety and wine list to allow pairing with some wonderful selections. Recommended dishes, the lobster salad, octopus, halibut, and short ribs.

Great farm to table vegetable salad for Chino farms and local raised beef selection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Highly recommend this place!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate a Veladora three times while stay ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We ate a Veladora three times while staying at Rancho Valencia. The service was always superior, and they took great care with our food allergies. The food was delicious and worked for the adults and the kids at our table. A lovely setting with a very friendly vibe. Expensive as most hotel restaurants are but we didn't leave feeling that we overpaid because the experience was so pleasant all three times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was terrific. Service ambianc ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Everything was terrific. Service ambiance food except the king crab appetizer the cauliflower was the size of a dime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting and luxurious decor wi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Beautiful setting and luxurious decor with extremely comfortable seating made for a wonderful first impression. Unfortunately, large parties and crying children made seem it noisy and hectic during brunch service. Staff was very pleasant and polite but server was extremely busy and distracted with large parties which caused forgetfulness and some disorganization at our table of four. An extra server to assist with large parties might have helped reduce the chaotic vibe. Reasonably priced when compared to other restaurants. Food offerings were exciting but execution, that day, missed the mark for me.

Setting and ambiance alone will definitely make me try it again but probably at a time other than Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Great ambiance

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was wonderful but the highl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The ambiance was wonderful but the highlight was the unusual and perfectly prepared dinner we had. highly recommended and good value as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was fine, but food was a Big dis ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Service was fine, but food was a Big disappointment.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Surprised the food was not great!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I explained I was vegan and was told they could make pasta with vegetables. The problem was, it was dripping in butter! Also, the salad was just so so. The best part of the evening was our amazing server. Sorry, cannot remember his name, but have never had a better server in any restaurant!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Gem in Rancho Santa Fe

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The ambiance at Veldora is first class. The food was up to our expectations and the service excellent. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Problems in the Veladora Kitchen

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The management was very gracious by reducing our bill when we informed them that none of the four meals met expectations. Fish was luke cold in one meal, mashed potatoes cold in three meals and the chicken wasn't too warm either. Clearly some kitchen management issues. It's a shame that it reflects on the great servers and managers, but for these prices we expect a much better food experience. And the booze is way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Had hoped for a better dining experience

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Went as a group of 4 with 2 couples. Spent many special occasions at the old Ranch Valencia and was excited to return and try the highly touted Veladora. Staff is wonderfully trained and very attentive. Kudos to the staff! Dining room ambiance is nice, yet very noisy. We were seated behind a loud table of 6 and next to a loud table of 8. It was difficult to even cross talk so conversations were kept to the person sitting next to you. Started with the grilled octopus appetizer and the portion was just tiny. Tasty, but tiny. The fried goat cheese salad was very nice. Two of us ordered the Halibut entree and it was so over salted, that it was not edible and unfortunately had to be sent back. It took quite a long time for the replacement dishes which changed the flow of the evening. I was told the short ribs were just "OK" and the squid ink pasta with lobster was too heavily spiced after we requested no spice as my husband has had throat cancer and cannot tolerate spice. Long story short, we would not rush back or plan any special occasion meals here. Stick with the Pony Room bar which was lively and how can you go wrong with bar food?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun with Friends

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Always the food and service is perfect; never rushed at a calm pace which gives us all time to catch up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant in beautiful setting. I ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Great restaurant in beautiful setting. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Consistently Perfect

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We brought some friends and ALL had the new filet prep. Wow, those were the best filets that we have ever had, just amazing. The staff too always receive a commendation as they genuinely care that you have the best possible experience at Veladora. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting is great. Rancho Valencia ha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The setting is great. Rancho Valencia has fantastic landscaping. The food was good but the menu is somewhat limited. Also resort pricing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Really enjoyed our dinner. The corn sou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner. The corn soup with lobster was exquisite. My wife's filet was cooked to perfection and delicious. The amuse bouche and my sea bass were a little too salty for our taste. We had higher expectations for the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Excellent service and food.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easter Brunch

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The price was way over priced for a buffet and the service. The food was good but not worth $125 per person, $65 per child. The egg hunt was very sparse. For the cost and the number of children there were way too few eggs.

I think for cost there should have been included wine or cocktails with the brunch ,instead of sparkling wine in the children's play section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Love this place. Food is outstanding and ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Love this place. Food is outstanding and the ambience always feels like I'm on vacation when I'm a local.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Classy place with great food. Expensive ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Classy place with great food. Expensive though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a Special Place.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

I have been coming here for years. The redo has only made it better. The good is very good, the wine list and service are great. And the setting for dinner is truly perfect. It is a bit of a hike to find, but once you get here, enjoy and relax.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful surroundings. Most of the food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Beautiful surroundings. Most of the food items were excellent. Two members of my party had the wrap, and both people said it was dry. Our service was very very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.