About Veladora

5921 Valencia Circle
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
View Larger Map


Veladora. Where coast meets ranch. Where sun dappled afternoons fade into lantern lit evenings. And where all things fresh, handcrafted and simply delicious reside.

Rancho Valencia's captivating signature restaurant serves Coastal Ranch cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a stunning modern hacienda setting.

An extensive wine menu of over 600 selected wines is on hand for sipping and savoring, as well as a welcoming private wine room featuring our rarest bottles for the most special of occasions.

The culinary team's farm-to-table philosophy is infused throughout Veladora's program, featuring local produce and herbs, flowers and honey cultivated right on property.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday-Sunday: 7:00am-11:00am; Brunch Sunday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Dinner Tuesday-Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm





FOR A MAP TO RANCHO VALENCIA, PLEASE GO TO: DIRECTIONS (http://www.ranchovalencia.com/directions_california_resorts.asp)

Cross Street:
Rancho Diegueno

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 759-6216

Website:
http://www.ranchovalencia.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary to guests dining at Rancho Valencia.

Executive Chef:
Jarrod Moiles

Private Party Facilities:
Please call our Sales Department who can handle all your needs.

Private Party Contact:
Sales & Catering: 8587596285x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Veladora Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Californian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Rancho Santa Fe ›

special occasion (16)
romantic (14)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for lunch (8)
scenic view (8)
notable wine list (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance

vip
Dined a day ago

Great ambiance

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was wonderful but the highl ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The ambiance was wonderful but the highlight was the unusual and perfectly prepared dinner we had. highly recommended and good value as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was fine, but food was a Big dis ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Service was fine, but food was a Big disappointment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Surprised the food was not great!

Dined on June 5, 2016

I explained I was vegan and was told they could make pasta with vegetables. The problem was, it was dripping in butter! Also, the salad was just so so. The best part of the evening was our amazing server. Sorry, cannot remember his name, but have never had a better server in any restaurant!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Gem in Rancho Santa Fe

Dined on June 4, 2016

The ambiance at Veldora is first class. The food was up to our expectations and the service excellent. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Problems in the Veladora Kitchen

Dined on June 3, 2016

The management was very gracious by reducing our bill when we informed them that none of the four meals met expectations. Fish was luke cold in one meal, mashed potatoes cold in three meals and the chicken wasn't too warm either. Clearly some kitchen management issues. It's a shame that it reflects on the great servers and managers, but for these prices we expect a much better food experience. And the booze is way overpriced.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had hoped for a better dining experience

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Went as a group of 4 with 2 couples. Spent many special occasions at the old Ranch Valencia and was excited to return and try the highly touted Veladora. Staff is wonderfully trained and very attentive. Kudos to the staff! Dining room ambiance is nice, yet very noisy. We were seated behind a loud table of 6 and next to a loud table of 8. It was difficult to even cross talk so conversations were kept to the person sitting next to you. Started with the grilled octopus appetizer and the portion was just tiny. Tasty, but tiny. The fried goat cheese salad was very nice. Two of us ordered the Halibut entree and it was so over salted, that it was not edible and unfortunately had to be sent back. It took quite a long time for the replacement dishes which changed the flow of the evening. I was told the short ribs were just "OK" and the squid ink pasta with lobster was too heavily spiced after we requested no spice as my husband has had throat cancer and cannot tolerate spice. Long story short, we would not rush back or plan any special occasion meals here. Stick with the Pony Room bar which was lively and how can you go wrong with bar food?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun with Friends

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Always the food and service is perfect; never rushed at a calm pace which gives us all time to catch up.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great restaurant in beautiful setting. I ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Great restaurant in beautiful setting. I highly recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Perfect

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We brought some friends and ALL had the new filet prep. Wow, those were the best filets that we have ever had, just amazing. The staff too always receive a commendation as they genuinely care that you have the best possible experience at Veladora. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The setting is great. Rancho Valencia ha ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The setting is great. Rancho Valencia has fantastic landscaping. The food was good but the menu is somewhat limited. Also resort pricing.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

Really enjoyed our dinner. The corn sou ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner. The corn soup with lobster was exquisite. My wife's filet was cooked to perfection and delicious. The amuse bouche and my sea bass were a little too salty for our taste. We had higher expectations for the service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent service and food.

food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

The price was way over priced for a buffet and the service. The food was good but not worth $125 per person, $65 per child. The egg hunt was very sparse. For the cost and the number of children there were way too few eggs. I think for cost there should have been included wine or cocktails with the brunch ,instead of sparkling wine in the children's play section.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Food is outstanding and ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Love this place. Food is outstanding and the ambience always feels like I'm on vacation when I'm a local.

food4
ambience4
service5

Classy place with great food. Expensive ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Classy place with great food. Expensive though

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a Special Place.

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

I have been coming here for years. The redo has only made it better. The good is very good, the wine list and service are great. And the setting for dinner is truly perfect. It is a bit of a hike to find, but once you get here, enjoy and relax.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2

Beautiful surroundings. Most of the food ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

Beautiful surroundings. Most of the food items were excellent. Two members of my party had the wrap, and both people said it was dry. Our service was very very slow.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect getaway

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Everything was perfect from the food to the service. A really special place for dinner, lunch, or brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

15 out of 16 isn't bad

Dined on February 21, 2016

17 years ago we were married at RV and have been back every year since, save the one year they were remodeling. Every anniversary was so special as we always enjoyed our time, food and service immensely, so it is with a bit of personal sadness that this particular experience did not live up to our previous memories. Though the hostess greeted us with anniversary wishes, which we greatly appreciated, after we were sat we were completely ignored for an inordinate amount of time. It was actually the manager that happened to come over to introduce himself (again, appreciated), but we had to inform him we had not been attended to. Though he did buy us our first round of drinks, it was still almost 20 minutes before we were ever approached. The rest of the evening our waitress was fine, but the food was a bit of a disappointment. My brussel sprouts were excellent, but the risotto was way too soupy and the filets were good---not great---and for that price greatness should be realized. Our dessert was quite tasty, but for the first time ever, it was not complimentary. Perhaps we should not have expected that, but as they have done it every year (and believe it's quite traditional of restaurants even if we were not actually married at their venue), it was just more fuel to our disappointment. I am certain we will return for our 18th, and hope this last experience was just an anomaly and never repeated.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a set wine pairing menu on Valent ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We had a set wine pairing menu on Valentine's Day. It was superb and the wines were exquisite. Our server was the best but I also noticed that all servers were very attentive. We will definitely return!!

food5
ambience5
service4

A terrific menu with farm-to-table ingre ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

A terrific menu with farm-to-table ingredient prepared California style. Every dish was excellent. The short ribs were stand outs. High quality wine menu. Highest recommendation.

food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Highly over-priced ordinary food; gorgeous site.

Dined on January 27, 2016

Highly over priced with bland prentious food. Poor wine list for a super expensive restaurant. The menu is limited and for such a health conscious restaurant it has few vegetable choices or specialties. Excellent service in a beautiful secluded site and gorgeous room.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic hidden gem

Dined on January 25, 2016

This resort is beautiful throughout, and the restaurants, Veladora and The Pony Room are both fantastic locations for a wonderful dining experience! I took my staff there for a special appreciate lunch, and everything about it is was just perfect. The service is attentive and friendly, the meals were well made and good portion sizes, and the ambience is just so beautiful. It is Rancho Santa Fe, and it is a fabulous resort, so the food is VERY pricey, but for a very special occasion, it may be worth the extra $$.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Everyone at this restaurant is friendly ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Everyone at this restaurant is friendly , wants to please , and the food is great .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Restaurant week

Dined on January 22, 2016

We checked the restaurant week menu for restaurant week and choice Veladora over other restaurants because of the oyster dish on the menu. When we were given our menus the dish was not on the menu. We told the waiter and he checked to see if they could make the dish for us.The answer was yes for an extra $40. I think this was false advertising.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambience!

Dined on January 21, 2016

This was my second visit to Veladora and stay at Rancho Valencia and I really love the setting, food and ambience. I will be back as it is now my favorite tennis resort!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A True Destination Restaurant

Dined on January 18, 2016

On the estate of the Rancho Valencia Resort it is well know to its elite guests and its neighbors of Rancho Santa Fe as a special occasion and place to impress out of town guests. The setting, facilities and the professional and friendly staff make for a great evening. We could not been more pleased with our last visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Astoundingly fresh... Truly amazing serv ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Astoundingly fresh... Truly amazing service!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Christmas Brunch

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Beautiful restaurant with tasty food and good service. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

The food, service and ambiance are impeccable. We always go here for our special occasions and we have never been disappointed. Our server Chip is wonderful. He always remembers us, he's very knowledgeable and his suggestions are right on. We also have had lunch here and it is also great. Fabulous restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a treat!

Dined on December 5, 2015

One of the best kept secrets in North San Diego and always a treat for a special celebration. The staff is always friendly and very professional. Love the setting and always looking for an excuse to return. Highly recommended!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Exceptional

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Veladora is always a great experience. Excellent service, great food, exceptional wine list. You can't go wrong. And if you're up for a more casual experience, the Pony Room is fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch

Dined on November 4, 2015

This is the 2nd time dining here for lunch. Excellent food, I had the skirt steak & arugula salad. Warm inviting dining area and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch at Veladora

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

The ambiance was top drawer, the service was excellent and the food extraordinary.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5

One of the most beautiful settings

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

Sure it's expensive but you will not be disappointed with the ambience or service at Rancho V. Both the bar and dinning room are unbeatable. I have been several times and unfortunately my last visit wasn't up to their normal standards. Rather than bash the food I will simply give them a pass this time and hope they redeem themselves on the next visit. With such attention to detail on the structure and service it will be a shame if the kitchen can't keep up. We are cheering for you and want this to be our go to place, so fingers crossed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was cool, food was awesome, overa ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Waiter was cool, food was awesome, overall very nice ambiance... We definitely would come back again. Thx

food3
ambience4
service1

Beautiful place, spoilt by incompetent s ...

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

Beautiful place, spoilt by incompetent service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a delicious dinner here and will return!

Dined on September 18, 2015

Great food, presentation and service in a very tastefully decorated and comfortable restaurant. I will highly recommend to friends and family and already plan to return soon. Thank you for a very enjoyable experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

we had to send our food back because the ...

Dined on September 12, 2015

we had to send our food back because the fish was overdone

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.