About Veladora

5921 Valencia Circle
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
View Larger Map


Veladora. Where coast meets ranch. Where sun dappled afternoons fade into lantern lit evenings. And where all things fresh, handcrafted and simply delicious reside.

Rancho Valencia's captivating signature restaurant serves Coastal Ranch cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a stunning modern hacienda setting.

An extensive wine menu of over 600 selected wines is on hand for sipping and savoring, as well as a welcoming private wine room featuring our rarest bottles for the most special of occasions.

The culinary team's farm-to-table philosophy is infused throughout Veladora's program, featuring local produce and herbs, flowers and honey cultivated and foraged right on property.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday-Sunday: 7:00am-11:00am; Brunch Sunday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Dinner Tuesday-Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm





FOR A MAP TO RANCHO VALENCIA, PLEASE GO TO: DIRECTIONS (http://www.ranchovalencia.com/directions_california_resorts.asp)

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 759-6246

Website:
http://www.ranchovalencia.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary to guests dining at Rancho Valencia.

Executive Chef:
Jarrod Moiles

Private Party Facilities:
Please call our Sales Department who will be delighted to discuss with you, the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Sales & Catering: (858) 759-6259

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Veladora Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (18)
See All
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Cozy (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Fireplace (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Scenic View (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Valentine's Day

 
 (San Diego)·Dined a day ago

Valentine's Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!! Food, wine, decor was beauti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent!! Food, wine, decor was beautiful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very special food and wine

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very special food and wine

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dinner, we all had something di ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous dinner, we all had something different and each dish was as enchanting as the other; portions were of a good size and the menu was tidy in that it did not have too many options which makes you think its all coming out the freezer! It was all fresh tasty and pretty on the eye. Our Server was fabulous too :) .

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening. Marcia was a terrif ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding evening. Marcia was a terrific server and the food was amazing. We loved it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing evening at Veladora! E ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had an amazing evening at Veladora! Everything was perfect from the time we walked in the door to when we sat down. The Salmon entree was unbelievably delicious as was the lobster pasta and brussels sprouts. The wine and cocktail selection was perfect and we can't wait to come back! A must if you live or will be visiting the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Wonderful wait s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was delicious. Wonderful wait staff. Am going back Thursday.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous waiter

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific place. Food is the highlight, ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Terrific place. Food is the highlight, but Service was just right. I will return. New favorite.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We live nearby, so we eat at Veladora at ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We live nearby, so we eat at Veladora at least twice a week when we are in town because it's so convenient and the food is so good. A friendly staff is inconsistently good (some of the servers are truly outstanding, while others have to be tracked down to get refills on drinks), and the food (especially the Hamachi Crudo from the bar) is varied and well prepared.

A huge standout for the food is the filet, maybe the best filet I've ever had. Also, everything at breakfast is really good. It's one of our favorite breakfast places ever and fortunately it's right down the street.

I don't recommend the tuna two ways. It's fine, just very bland, as is the French Dip sandwich on the lunch menu. The salads are all quite good and the salmon Caesar is quite delicious.

The feel is casual, yet romantic enough for the most special, special occasion. Highly recommended if you are looking for a place to stay (there's a lovely hotel here too) to take a date or just to have a nice meal. They also have a great private dining room in the back and a wine cellar perfect for events.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another amazing meal! House-made bread ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Another amazing meal! House-made bread that melts in your mouth to start! For an appetizer, I enjoyed the Foie Gras on toasted brioche with a sweet crunch of crushed hazelnuts on top and little buttons of pumpkin puree on the plate that combined to create the perfect blend of creamy, crunchy, rich & sweet decadence! Entree was the Lobster Pot Pie! (Not your Grandma's pot-pie!) A lobster bisque flavored base with carrots & celery and LOTS of lobster. An airy puff pastry is baked over it which is gently broken by the server to add a bit of sherry gastrique that is served on the side so you may add to your own taste. Very rich and really delicious! The bread pudding was something like cookies and cream -- oh my! Amazing!!! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week (Jan 2017) and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for restaurant week (Jan 2017) and the food/service was incredible! Would definitely come back to try other menu options.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week menu was the most extens ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Restaurant week menu was the most extensive I've ever seen. Great food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't leave without ordering the grilled ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Don't leave without ordering the grilled octopus and lobster pot pie. The oysters were great too. They have a nice wine selection that paired well. Overall food was great. The service was exceptional! Our server, Richard, and the other wait staff were PERFECT! I can't think of anything they could do to improve. They anticipated our needs and checked on us several times without being intrusive. I appreciate that. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in all respects. Ask for dis ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Outstanding in all respects. Ask for dish not on menu- an outstanding risotto.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A superb dinner with friends. This place ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

A superb dinner with friends. This place knows the gold standard and sets it apart from other restaurants. Will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The smoked pork loin & foie gras were de ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The smoked pork loin & foie gras were delicious, and the 6-layer cake was a great way to end the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

What a great find, we ate here with frie ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

What a great find, we ate here with friends for SDRW they had a nice assortment of choices the cream of corn soup was the best ever, scallop entree was good as was the fish, the hit was a acorn fed pork, it tasted like steak, service was very good 35$ corkage fee was high but overall a nice place to eat in Ranch Santa Fe

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

ALWAYS FANTASTIC ! Restaurant week is a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

ALWAYS FANTASTIC ! Restaurant week is a great value. Food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a hidden gem! We really enjoyed spe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2017

What a hidden gem! We really enjoyed spending a special occasion here - especially its diverse cuisine and service as well as ambience. Highly recommend for any special occasions, dates, or just casual dining!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My entree was just ok. The two others wi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My entree was just ok. The two others with me had a better experience with their choices. Wait staff was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful find! My husband and I celebr ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delightful find! My husband and I celebrated a early New Year's Eve lunch/ dinner. Everything from food, to service, to valets, and atmosphere. JUST DELIGHTFUL!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

our go-to spot for any meal. always del ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

our go-to spot for any meal. always delicious food & great service. cozy and casual/chic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most aspects of the meal was very good t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Most aspects of the meal was very good to excellent. However, the $35 corkage fee is rediculous, especially since they did not even offer to decant the cellared bottle we brought. While their wine list is respectable, it does not compete,with any wine lover's who is able to cellar wines for several,years before drinkjing, and thus most of their offerings were still way too young. The Somemlier seemed to appreciate the wine we brought and even enjoyed tasting it. Why then rip off your customers by over grossly charging for merely pulling a cork and washing two glasses?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had Christmas Eve brunch with friends ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had Christmas Eve brunch with friends at Veladora. I love going there because of the creativity on the best produces from Chino Farm. Veggies' colors combinations

are so vibrant, it was just like an art on the plate. The food quality are consistence. I had the best ever lemon souffle pancake, it was light, moist and fluffy. A friend had a French dip sandwich, the homemade chip was out of this world. Our server Steve is friendly, cheerful and attentive. Overall we had great time and great food at Veladora, we also love the X'mas decor, it is very cozy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have gone to Veladora's a few times a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have gone to Veladora's a few times a year since it opened under new ownership. The ambiance is really pleasant and the service top notch. The food unfortunately is somewhat hit and miss. On our most recent meal, the pork entree was too salty and the duck entree while very flavorful, had very little meat (just a drumstick portion of the leg without the thigh) leaving me a hungry at the end of the meal despite having a starter course and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I went to Veladora for da ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My husband and I went to Veladora for date night. The food was superb! Outstanding service and atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We absolutely love both Rancho Valencia ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We absolutely love both Rancho Valencia and Veladora. Highly recommend for a date night. Quality food, drinks, ambiance and service from every person you come in contact with- from the gate, hostess, servers to valet. Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food isalways good but the service w ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food isalways good but the service was just awful! We sat at the table for a full 15 minutes without anyone asking us if we needed anything or even offering water. And then only because we went to the check in stand & asked where our waiter was. Even afrter all this the waiter was pretty aloof & no apology for the wait. It's good food but expensive & lots of good alternatives in the area for brunch/lunch. We've always been fans but will not be anxious to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Sat our reservation 45 min late.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Sat our reservation 45 min late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Dan was amazing server love the chino co ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dan was amazing server love the chino corn crab soup. To die for

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

from our experience dining at Veladora f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

from our experience dining at Veladora for both dinner and breakfast, I would recommend you come for dinner. dinner experience was a lot more pleasant and enjoyable. breakfast is good here but after having tried dinner the night prior it did not wow us. i tried the lobster benedict which was wonderful but I felt it lacked lobster, I only received a little bit. their tea selection was awesome and it's brought out to you already brewed, you don't have to fiddle with tea bags here. I would recommend their fresh squeezed juice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we came here for dinner and I must say w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

we came here for dinner and I must say we were impressed. the food was amazing. we ordered filet which was cooked perfectly, medium rare plus. sea bass was so buttery and did not have an unpleasant odor. we sat in the courtyard, the heat lamp was on to keep me cozy and warm. the water fountain was on with night lights and it was very pretty. only thing if I have to say was not five star was the inconsistency of our server. he started off very warm and as the meal progressed he was less friendly and more abrupt.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The good was good. They accommodated my ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The good was good. They accommodated my needs as a vegetarian. We waited a long time for service. There was confusion as to what restaurant we had reservations. Charged me $16 to change for three shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Two women celebrated a 60th birthday wit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Two women celebrated a 60th birthday with a 2 hour lunch on a lovely patio. The wine was excellent and the seafood Cobb was Outstanding. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, service, and the staff tha ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Amazing food, service, and the staff that works there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The facility is obviously gorgeous. Ser ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The facility is obviously gorgeous. Service was great Unfortunately, the entrees we had (both fish) were fair at best -- the problem lies in the kitchen as the service was excellent.

Loved the Pony Bar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This is among the best restaurants I've ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is among the best restaurants I've been to in San Diego. My only regret is that I didn't find it sooner. I've already recommended it to several friends. This is a MUST VISIT.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazingly pleasant place to dine. Won ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

An amazingly pleasant place to dine. Wonderful menu. Excellent staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, , Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are San Francisco-area-spoiled foodie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We are San Francisco-area-spoiled foodies, now in SD county for more than five years. Veladora has been a find for us, because we like great food and knowledgeable servers and sommeliers, all of which Veladora has. It also has a wonderful quiet pastoral setting that is very difficult to find anywhere in the Bay Area (much less other great food cities like Manhattan), so it is quite unique. We were treated to a great experience there, the second time we have been there, but the first we've realized that we need to let people know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.