Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi

About Veladora


Veladora. Where coast meets ranch. Where sun dappled afternoons fade into lantern lit evenings. And where all things fresh, handcrafted and simply delicious reside.

Rancho Valencia's captivating signature restaurant serves Coastal Ranch cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a stunning modern hacienda setting.

An extensive wine menu of over 600 selected wines is on hand for sipping and savoring, as well as a welcoming private wine room featuring our rarest bottles for the most special of occasions.

The culinary team's farm-to-table philosophy is infused throughout Veladora's program, featuring local produce and herbs, flowers and honey cultivated and foraged right on property.

5921 Valencia Circle
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday-Sunday: 7:00am-11:00am; Brunch Sunday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Dinner Tuesday-Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm





FOR A MAP TO RANCHO VALENCIA, PLEASE GO TO: DIRECTIONS (http://www.ranchovalencia.com/directions_california_resorts.asp)

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 759-6246

Website:
http://www.ranchovalencia.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary to guests dining at Rancho Valencia.

Executive Chef:
Jarrod Moiles

Private Party Facilities:
Please call our Sales Department who will be delighted to discuss with you, the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Sales & Catering: (858) 759-6259

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Veladora Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Seasonal (7)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Live Music (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Organic (3)
Fireplace (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Veladora has quickly become my favorite upscale restaurant in the San Diego area. After my first visit to the restaurant, I knew that not many others around could even begin to compete. From the food, to the atmosphere, and the staff, everything was amazing. Thank you for another great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The were flexible and accommodating of my vegetarian requests

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Went for fashion show every month second Tuesday.
Lovely setting and ambience and good food. Enjoyed seeing the clothes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Expect a fine dining experience at Veladora. The service is excellent, food is exquisite, and wonderful wine list. A perfect place to impress a date!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was my first visit to the Rancho Valencia property and to Veladora. My fiancé and I went to celebrate our engagement and it was perfect for the occasion! The service was lovely, all of the food was delicious, and it's a gorgeous spot to dine. We also had a night cap in the bar and there was some killer, fun live music. It's not somewhere I can afford to go all the time (!), but I wouldn't hesitate to go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Could be a great place again. But it needs to be refreshed again. Tables need refinishing , main carpet needs to be cleaned or replaced Just overall it's a refreshing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Delightful in every way. We have dined here many times and are never disappointed. The evening is always an event and , although the food is the highlight, the servers are charming and offer great tips on other good California and even foreign restaurants in this case, Mexican restaurants not far from San Diego in Baja). We will return again and again!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The service was abysmal. After waiting nearly an hour for two entrées we were finally told that the computers were down. They should've explained that from the outset so diners knew to expect delays. We inquired a few times to the status of the food and everyone said they would check and never got back to us. I took my 91 year old mother in law for her birthday and I was embarrassed at the service and not even a mention of her birthday. And when we did get our meals the order was wrong. VERY poorly managed. I expected more from Rancho Valencia.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Absolutley amazing experience. The space, design and staff are incredible. Our meal was perfect and very creative. Wine menu is very impressive, with a wonderful by the glass selection from their Coravin. Also visit the lounge, the Pony Room for a cocktail! This is as good as dining gets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The salad we shared was great. My friend and I had the Lobster Pot Pie....mistake, the lobster was too tough to cut. Management responded by taking it off the bill. In addition they comped the dessert.
Because they made it right, we will be back!
Greg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fabulous ads always. Great for all occasions and romantic date night😊👍

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The Brandt Beef Fillet was incredible. Daniel, waiter, was superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My wife and I were there to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary while staying at the resort. The service was exceptional, the waiter was great and answered all our questions! The food was great! We are happy we made reservations to eat there! We would go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Relaxing, fun, good food, good service. Had no idea there was a fashion show, apparently every second Tuesday. Will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

While our waiter was competent and friendly, overall service here was poor. It took forty minutes to order and required us finding a staff member. Additionally, once ordered, we had to ask for plates and ask again for the drinks and bread we had requested. The food, however, was very good. Perhaps we visited on an off-day. Nevertheless, there are many wonderful restaurants and we don't at all feel tempted to return here and give them another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Veladora has exceeded excellent.

The food always delivers, but the manager has, honestly, been a weak spot. However, Poor managers have been made up for with exceptional service from folks like Marcia. But Veladora just added a new manager to the team who is excellent.

Wow - this incredible restraunt is going to become even more spectacular. Watch out French Laundry and Eleven Madison Park!

Congratulations!!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Scenic View, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Came for my birthday and had such great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Veladora has become spotty ... two weeks ago it took 45 min to be served. Last week, the place was empty and it still took a long time. The server kept forgetting requests made (fill coffee, bring butter, etc.). To top it off, a party seated inside the restaurant had their dog with them. Not sure if thats to code or not - whatever ... the real issue was not question of sanitary conditions but a question of ambiance. This dog was whining and whispering the whole time .... getting up and down and moving around. Disruptive. I don't want to pay that kind of $$ for brunch and have it be like I'm in someones dining room with their dog who doesn't behave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I went to Veladora to celebrate my 76th birthday. The staff are all very friendly, offered sincere and warm BD wishes. The food here is outstanding, portions fairly small for the price, but delicious. We started with a glass of Cava each and split the lobster salad, which was beautifully presented and had a wonderful combination of grilled lobster, prosciutto base, crispy bacon and thinly sliced nectarine (which apparently wasn't ripe - it had NO flavor). I ordered halibut, on the well done side, and it was PERFECTLY cooked, accompanying sides well matched and delicious. My husband ordered the lobster pot pie, which also was delicious, but rather scant for the price. Halfway through my meal, having finished the sparkling wine, I wanted a glass of chardonnay, but Marcia, the server, never came back to our table till the end of our meal, never noticed our empty glasses to see if we would like anything additional to drink - so we are disappointed in this omission and lack of attentive service. She did check on us moments after our meal was delivered to see how it was - but that was at the very beginning of the meal. Never saw her again till we were finished. We noticed she was very attentive to a larger table of guests, constantly refilling their wine glasses, etc. We would have given a 5 star rating if this service had been as expected and as is usually done. In spite of this, we highly recommend this restaurant and will go back again often. On a positive note for this server, she made a special effort to run my husband's credit card out to us as we were waiting for our car - he had left it on the table. Very thoughtful and much appreciated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Thank you for outstanding food & service! Perfect in every way, as always!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Organic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We've been blessed to enjoy Veladora, and the Pony Room next door, many times. It's always creative and cooked to perfection. This last occasion, however, was absolutely amazing. The filet, best ever. The Iberco pork chop, one of the best dishes ever. Many thank you's to the staff at Veladora, especially Chip who made the recommendations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch. Took 40 minutes to get the food. Food was fine when it finally was served. Expected more for the high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 26, 2017

So excited to find Veladora! The service, food, and wine list were great! We loved this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Went for a bday lunch. Beautiful setting near fireplace. Great food. Great for Special occasion.s

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

David luncheon for one of my friends and other people. Velodora is always a good choice for this type of event

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers day

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our first visit was awesome. Ambiance as in European style, not stuffy but in a very friendly personable way. Cushy couch seating. All food items are creative and flavorful and as a world traveler and constant food critic, I was extremely impressed. We all felt like we were visiting a good friend home, what more could you ask for. Extensive wine list. We noticed a cool looking bar area so will visit that soon for a cocktail. Everyone in the bar was smiling and happy - definitely a place to go to next. We will be back soon.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A little difficult to find but well worth the time. The service was excellent. Unfortunately we were seated between the two wine glass stations so we got a lot of traffic behind us on both sides. While not ideal, we nevertheless had a good time. The menu was varied and nicely presented on the plate. The cocktails and wine list offered good variety. Our desert (the apple crisp) was excellent. An excellent alternative to Market. Veledora would be my preference.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Jonathan our waiter was fantastic! Beautiful seating on the sofas overlooking the grounds. Food was excellent as well as excellently timed. Great sommelier as well.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything about our lunch was wonderful. The food, ambiance and service were all impeccable - this is definitely on my list for future occasions.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great meal and ambiance. Chip and all the staff were great. A great meal to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Veladora is a beautiful restaurant with exemplary food and service. It is the perfect spot to commemorate a special occasion! You will feel transported to another place and time when you dine here -- it feels like you've left home and entered a different dimension! Incredibly beautiful and elegant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I come here often.

Tags: Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We love the ambience at Veladora, and the menu offers many wonderful choices. They also permit ordering from the Pony Room menu, which is wonderful. Love this place, always a treat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The customer service was outstanding, the food was OK but nothing to rave about for the price. Wine selection was fantastic. Would I go back? Yes absolutely. The staff were amazing and I would like to try their variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our server was fantastic! He anticipated our needs very well and made for an extremely enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Love the setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

A truly amazing experience. Service that rivals the greatest and best places in the world.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had brunch at the Veladora this past Sunday. What a find. We were sat at a huge booth with comfy pillows and a view of the fireplace. On either side of the fireplace was large windows with gorgeous views of the greenery outside. The menu isnt too broad and our dishes were so amazing we almost licked the plates, prices are well worth the quality of food. Our waiter Steve Took really good care of us and made us feel like VIPs. I will definitely return here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic birthday dinner!! Our waiter Chip was amazing! Food, staff, everything provided a meal a night to remember!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.