Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi

About Veladora


Veladora. Where coast meets ranch. Where sun dappled afternoons fade into lantern lit evenings. And where all things fresh, handcrafted and simply delicious reside.

Rancho Valencia's captivating signature restaurant serves Coastal Ranch cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a stunning modern hacienda setting.

An extensive wine menu of over 600 selected wines is on hand for sipping and savoring, as well as a welcoming private wine room featuring our rarest bottles for the most special of occasions.

The culinary team's farm-to-table philosophy is infused throughout Veladora's program, featuring local produce and herbs, flowers and honey cultivated and foraged right on property.

5921 Valencia Circle
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday-Sunday: 7:00am-11:00am; Brunch Sunday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Dinner Tuesday-Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm





FOR A MAP TO RANCHO VALENCIA, PLEASE GO TO: DIRECTIONS (http://www.ranchovalencia.com/directions_california_resorts.asp)

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 759-6246

Website:
http://www.ranchovalencia.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary to guests dining at Rancho Valencia.

Executive Chef:
Jarrod Moiles

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Veladora Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (7)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Music (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

FANTASTIC RESTAURANT.....GREAT FOOD....GREAT SERVICE....JUST PERFECT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Absolutely wonder! Food was wonderful and the service could not have been better. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I’ve been here twice over the last few weeks and I love the beautiful grounds so it pains me to write this review but the output from the kitchen is very inconsistent. About four weeks ago I ate dinner in the Pony Room. I had an appetizer with prosciutto and melon. When I received the plate I thought there was a white sauce surrounding the melon and went to try it only to discover it was the prosciutto which was 90% fat. I was disappointed and sent it back to the kitchen. The second plate came out with a much better selection of prosciutto although much, much smaller. Last night I went here was to celebrate my birthday with my family. Four of the 6 of us ordered the Pork Iberico plate, which I had ordered the previous time when I found it delicious. Sadly, I was the only one of the four of us to not receive the gnocchi on my plate that is listed on the menu. Again, it’s extremely disappointing. This should be a five star restaurant, but I just can’t give it that with the inconsistencies in the kitchen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

A beautiful restaurant with excellent food without being pretentious. No coat and tie required. We discovered this hidden gem during restaurant week, and found the pricing to be quite fair any time of year.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Took my husband for his birthday dinner. We were very impressed with both the food and the service. I highly recommend for a date night or special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2017

This place was a hidden gem, beautiful place only wished I came earlier to see the views in the daylight. The service was top notched and had the best octopus in San Diego. I came for restaurant week and will definitely be back, maybe weekend getaway even. So close and tucked away. Love....

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The meals for restaurant week are very interesting as to selection and very tastee. It was very fresh including selection of vegetables and greens -some what fusion. We dine and bring our own wine to this restaurant every 45 to 60 days. We always find it excellent in every way.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Great food and laid back beautiful RSF atmosphere! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Chip was an amazing server! Extremely experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Everything from the appetizer to the entree to desert was fantastic! Decor is cute and matches the whole "Rancho SantaFe" vibe.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were married at the Rancho Valencia a few years ago (fantastic place to have a wedding), so we always celebrate our anniversary every year at Veladora, plus always go just for dinner sometimes. We must admit, this dinner and the way we were treated was out of this world, we felt so special. The service was over the top, and the food was just wonderful. It was hard to pick something from the menu, all looked so good. It was one of the finest meals we have had in a long time. Everything was excellent, and we are so happy that we can celebrate our special occasions there. You must try it. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Disappointing upscale restaurant :
Mediocre food with excellent service and a lovely ambience.
Had octopus for appetizer and it was like chewing rubber . The pork loin was so salty I had to send it back. The Duck Carbonara is a sort of alfredo sauce with duck bacon with a poached egg sitting on the top....no comment ......
Dessert was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2017

A superb dining experience with excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were celebrating our 38th anniversary and from beginning to end we felt special. Our anniversary was acknowledged by everyone and they sent us sparkling wine for a toast. The food was outstanding, service that perfect balance of friendly and helpful without intruding. Will return soon.

Tags: Organic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Would never go back. It's just a typical hotel restaurant OK if your staying there, but not worth a trip there otherwise. SD people can do much better elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very nice place, good food, serviré from Steve esa EXCELLENT, however the test of the service was not the best value flor the place as it took a lot of time on taking things out of the way.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service and location where amazing. One of the best spots I've ever been too.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We go to Veladora often for dinner and decided to try it for lunch for our anniversary. As usual, the food was great and even a better value at lunch. Service and ambiance was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Love it everytime. Second time we've been served by Marcia, and she's wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Veladora has quickly become my favorite upscale restaurant in the San Diego area. After my first visit to the restaurant, I knew that not many others around could even begin to compete. From the food, to the atmosphere, and the staff, everything was amazing. Thank you for another great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The were flexible and accommodating of my vegetarian requests

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Went for fashion show every month second Tuesday.
Lovely setting and ambience and good food. Enjoyed seeing the clothes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Expect a fine dining experience at Veladora. The service is excellent, food is exquisite, and wonderful wine list. A perfect place to impress a date!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was my first visit to the Rancho Valencia property and to Veladora. My fiancé and I went to celebrate our engagement and it was perfect for the occasion! The service was lovely, all of the food was delicious, and it's a gorgeous spot to dine. We also had a night cap in the bar and there was some killer, fun live music. It's not somewhere I can afford to go all the time (!), but I wouldn't hesitate to go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Could be a great place again. But it needs to be refreshed again. Tables need refinishing , main carpet needs to be cleaned or replaced Just overall it's a refreshing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Delightful in every way. We have dined here many times and are never disappointed. The evening is always an event and , although the food is the highlight, the servers are charming and offer great tips on other good California and even foreign restaurants in this case, Mexican restaurants not far from San Diego in Baja). We will return again and again!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The service was abysmal. After waiting nearly an hour for two entrées we were finally told that the computers were down. They should've explained that from the outset so diners knew to expect delays. We inquired a few times to the status of the food and everyone said they would check and never got back to us. I took my 91 year old mother in law for her birthday and I was embarrassed at the service and not even a mention of her birthday. And when we did get our meals the order was wrong. VERY poorly managed. I expected more from Rancho Valencia.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Absolutley amazing experience. The space, design and staff are incredible. Our meal was perfect and very creative. Wine menu is very impressive, with a wonderful by the glass selection from their Coravin. Also visit the lounge, the Pony Room for a cocktail! This is as good as dining gets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The salad we shared was great. My friend and I had the Lobster Pot Pie....mistake, the lobster was too tough to cut. Management responded by taking it off the bill. In addition they comped the dessert.
Because they made it right, we will be back!
Greg

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fabulous ads always. Great for all occasions and romantic date night😊👍

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The Brandt Beef Fillet was incredible. Daniel, waiter, was superb.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My wife and I were there to celebrate our 22nd wedding anniversary while staying at the resort. The service was exceptional, the waiter was great and answered all our questions! The food was great! We are happy we made reservations to eat there! We would go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Relaxing, fun, good food, good service. Had no idea there was a fashion show, apparently every second Tuesday. Will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

While our waiter was competent and friendly, overall service here was poor. It took forty minutes to order and required us finding a staff member. Additionally, once ordered, we had to ask for plates and ask again for the drinks and bread we had requested. The food, however, was very good. Perhaps we visited on an off-day. Nevertheless, there are many wonderful restaurants and we don't at all feel tempted to return here and give them another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Veladora has exceeded excellent.

The food always delivers, but the manager has, honestly, been a weak spot. However, Poor managers have been made up for with exceptional service from folks like Marcia. But Veladora just added a new manager to the team who is excellent.

Wow - this incredible restraunt is going to become even more spectacular. Watch out French Laundry and Eleven Madison Park!

Congratulations!!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Scenic View, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Came for my birthday and had such great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Veladora has become spotty ... two weeks ago it took 45 min to be served. Last week, the place was empty and it still took a long time. The server kept forgetting requests made (fill coffee, bring butter, etc.). To top it off, a party seated inside the restaurant had their dog with them. Not sure if thats to code or not - whatever ... the real issue was not question of sanitary conditions but a question of ambiance. This dog was whining and whispering the whole time .... getting up and down and moving around. Disruptive. I don't want to pay that kind of $$ for brunch and have it be like I'm in someones dining room with their dog who doesn't behave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I went to Veladora to celebrate my 76th birthday. The staff are all very friendly, offered sincere and warm BD wishes. The food here is outstanding, portions fairly small for the price, but delicious. We started with a glass of Cava each and split the lobster salad, which was beautifully presented and had a wonderful combination of grilled lobster, prosciutto base, crispy bacon and thinly sliced nectarine (which apparently wasn't ripe - it had NO flavor). I ordered halibut, on the well done side, and it was PERFECTLY cooked, accompanying sides well matched and delicious. My husband ordered the lobster pot pie, which also was delicious, but rather scant for the price. Halfway through my meal, having finished the sparkling wine, I wanted a glass of chardonnay, but Marcia, the server, never came back to our table till the end of our meal, never noticed our empty glasses to see if we would like anything additional to drink - so we are disappointed in this omission and lack of attentive service. She did check on us moments after our meal was delivered to see how it was - but that was at the very beginning of the meal. Never saw her again till we were finished. We noticed she was very attentive to a larger table of guests, constantly refilling their wine glasses, etc. We would have given a 5 star rating if this service had been as expected and as is usually done. In spite of this, we highly recommend this restaurant and will go back again often. On a positive note for this server, she made a special effort to run my husband's credit card out to us as we were waiting for our car - he had left it on the table. Very thoughtful and much appreciated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Thank you for outstanding food & service! Perfect in every way, as always!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Organic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We've been blessed to enjoy Veladora, and the Pony Room next door, many times. It's always creative and cooked to perfection. This last occasion, however, was absolutely amazing. The filet, best ever. The Iberco pork chop, one of the best dishes ever. Many thank you's to the staff at Veladora, especially Chip who made the recommendations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.