Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.97mi
  3. Distance: 2.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.58mi

About Veladora


Veladora. Where coast meets ranch. Where sun dappled afternoons fade into lantern lit evenings. And where all things fresh, handcrafted and simply delicious reside.

Rancho Valencia's captivating signature restaurant serves Coastal Ranch cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner in a stunning modern hacienda setting.

An extensive wine menu of over 600 selected wines is on hand for sipping and savoring, as well as a welcoming private wine room featuring our rarest bottles for the most special of occasions.

The culinary team's farm-to-table philosophy is infused throughout Veladora's program, featuring local produce and herbs, flowers and honey cultivated and foraged right on property.

5921 Valencia Circle
Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Monday-Sunday: 7:00am-11:00am; Brunch Sunday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am-2:30pm; Dinner Tuesday-Sunday: 5:30pm-9:30pm





FOR A MAP TO RANCHO VALENCIA, PLEASE GO TO: DIRECTIONS (http://www.ranchovalencia.com/directions_california_resorts.asp)

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 759-6246

Website:
http://www.ranchovalencia.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is complimentary to guests dining at Rancho Valencia.

Executive Chef:
Jarrod Moiles

Private Party Facilities:
Please call our Sales Department who will be delighted to discuss with you, the many options available.

Private Party Contact:
Sales & Catering: (858) 759-6259

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Veladora Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Scenic View (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Fireplace (6)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
546 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Thank you for outstanding food & service! Perfect in every way, as always!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Organic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We've been blessed to enjoy Veladora, and the Pony Room next door, many times. It's always creative and cooked to perfection. This last occasion, however, was absolutely amazing. The filet, best ever. The Iberco pork chop, one of the best dishes ever. Many thank you's to the staff at Veladora, especially Chip who made the recommendations.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch. Took 40 minutes to get the food. Food was fine when it finally was served. Expected more for the high price.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 27, 2017

So excited to find Veladora! The service, food, and wine list were great! We loved this place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Went for a bday lunch. Beautiful setting near fireplace. Great food. Great for Special occasion.s

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

David luncheon for one of my friends and other people. Velodora is always a good choice for this type of event

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Mothers day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our first visit was awesome. Ambiance as in European style, not stuffy but in a very friendly personable way. Cushy couch seating. All food items are creative and flavorful and as a world traveler and constant food critic, I was extremely impressed. We all felt like we were visiting a good friend home, what more could you ask for. Extensive wine list. We noticed a cool looking bar area so will visit that soon for a cocktail. Everyone in the bar was smiling and happy - definitely a place to go to next. We will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A little difficult to find but well worth the time. The service was excellent. Unfortunately we were seated between the two wine glass stations so we got a lot of traffic behind us on both sides. While not ideal, we nevertheless had a good time. The menu was varied and nicely presented on the plate. The cocktails and wine list offered good variety. Our desert (the apple crisp) was excellent. An excellent alternative to Market. Veledora would be my preference.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Jonathan our waiter was fantastic! Beautiful seating on the sofas overlooking the grounds. Food was excellent as well as excellently timed. Great sommelier as well.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Everything about our lunch was wonderful. The food, ambiance and service were all impeccable - this is definitely on my list for future occasions.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great meal and ambiance. Chip and all the staff were great. A great meal to celebrate our anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Veladora is a beautiful restaurant with exemplary food and service. It is the perfect spot to commemorate a special occasion! You will feel transported to another place and time when you dine here -- it feels like you've left home and entered a different dimension! Incredibly beautiful and elegant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I come here often.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fireplace, Organic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We love the ambience at Veladora, and the menu offers many wonderful choices. They also permit ordering from the Pony Room menu, which is wonderful. Love this place, always a treat!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The customer service was outstanding, the food was OK but nothing to rave about for the price. Wine selection was fantastic. Would I go back? Yes absolutely. The staff were amazing and I would like to try their variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our server was fantastic! He anticipated our needs very well and made for an extremely enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Love the setting

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A truly amazing experience. Service that rivals the greatest and best places in the world.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had brunch at the Veladora this past Sunday. What a find. We were sat at a huge booth with comfy pillows and a view of the fireplace. On either side of the fireplace was large windows with gorgeous views of the greenery outside. The menu isnt too broad and our dishes were so amazing we almost licked the plates, prices are well worth the quality of food. Our waiter Steve Took really good care of us and made us feel like VIPs. I will definitely return here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fantastic birthday dinner!! Our waiter Chip was amazing! Food, staff, everything provided a meal a night to remember!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Love it!! Great drinks and fantastic farm to table cuisine.
A must go!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have often dined at Market but never here. We found the food on par with Market but the service and facilities far better. We will be returning. Excellent!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in San Diego. Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Perfect for that special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fabulously service, good food, always a pleasant experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good, but overpriced compared to other options in the area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 24, 2017

innovative; mostly deconstructive plates; lovely setting; very small portions and quite pricey.
Service exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere as always
Nice and comfortable like putting on a old Pendleton shirt and enjoying food and service
Not too crazy of a menu but diverse and well thought out
Excellent evening

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was our anniversary and we were married there. Always look forward to this exceptional restaurant , only for the first time the food was just ok. The farm salad was a real disappointment-- so small and in no way noteworthy. My John Dory was delicious but my husbands seabass was just "good". There were no specials and I just hope this was unusual and not typical. I will still look forward to our next dinner there with optimism

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Valentine's Day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent!! Food, wine, decor was beautiful

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very special food and wine

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous dinner, we all had something different and each dish was as enchanting as the other; portions were of a good size and the menu was tidy in that it did not have too many options which makes you think its all coming out the freezer! It was all fresh tasty and pretty on the eye. Our Server was fabulous too :) .

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding evening. Marcia was a terrific server and the food was amazing. We loved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Nice place to relax and enjoy the conversation. Keith waited our table and he was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Romantic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had an amazing evening at Veladora! Everything was perfect from the time we walked in the door to when we sat down. The Salmon entree was unbelievably delicious as was the lobster pasta and brussels sprouts. The wine and cocktail selection was perfect and we can't wait to come back! A must if you live or will be visiting the area!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was delicious. Wonderful wait staff. Am going back Thursday.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Terrific place. Food is the highlight, but Service was just right. I will return. New favorite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We live nearby, so we eat at Veladora at least twice a week when we are in town because it's so convenient and the food is so good. A friendly staff is inconsistently good (some of the servers are truly outstanding, while others have to be tracked down to get refills on drinks), and the food (especially the Hamachi Crudo from the bar) is varied and well prepared.

A huge standout for the food is the filet, maybe the best filet I've ever had. Also, everything at breakfast is really good. It's one of our favorite breakfast places ever and fortunately it's right down the street.

I don't recommend the tuna two ways. It's fine, just very bland, as is the French Dip sandwich on the lunch menu. The salads are all quite good and the salmon Caesar is quite delicious.

The feel is casual, yet romantic enough for the most special, special occasion. Highly recommended if you are looking for a place to stay (there's a lovely hotel here too) to take a date or just to have a nice meal. They also have a great private dining room in the back and a wine cellar perfect for events.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.