Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30AM-10PM
Friday/Saturday: 11:30AM-11PM
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Business Meals (28)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Authentic (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Casual (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (5)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
995 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

EXCELLANT FOOD. OUTSTANDING APPETIZERS - GRILLED OCTUPUS W/ SMOKED POTATOES

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Valozzi's exceeded my expectations in every way. The seating for our party was perfect, the atmosphere beautiful and sophisticated. The food was exceptional! We had a party of 8 and every single person commented on the meal and choice of restaurant. Outstanding!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

The Osso Bucco was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Don't order the veal, it was very tough. Great service and scenery. Cool bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is a great authentic Italian restaurant! My husband and I went early for appetizers and drinks and ended up staying in the lounge for dinner. The server was fantastic and crafted an appetizer tray to our specifications. Everything from start to finish - we had dessert, too - was fantastic! I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are visiting Pittsburgh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I don't know...I had high expectations but was somewhat disappointed with the food. My salmon was almost raw - in all fairness, the waitress didn't ask my preference and I didn't think to clarify that I'm not a fan of raw fish. She probably should have asked. In hindsight, I should also have sent it back. My husband had the Osso Bucco which looked good. He seemed to like it. The pistachio cake was a little dry. I know it has had good reviews and I might give them another chance but I was underwhelmed by my first time there. Great service, though -

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were there for lunch after a college graduation with 14 people. Appetizers were good and great to share. Lunch selections we tried were ok - gnocchi, panini, chicken milanese. Wasn't a spectacular meal - but it was also just lunch. Server was very good though - very attentive and patient with our large group!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food was good, server did not pay any attention to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Joyce was our server, and she was fabulous!! And the food was great as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great all around!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The hospitality started with the valet parking attendants. The waiter was warm, very kind and knowledgeable. The food was just terrific. We will be back! Thank you for a nice evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Everyone has a bad night and our waiter's coincided with our visit. Took offence at our questions about the menu. Needed reminders to bring non-alcoholic drinks. Slow overall. Food was pretty good and the room is adult but not dull. But, the music is downscale for this ambience.

There are so many other options downtown, we'll try them before coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Gorgeous atmosphere. Impeccable table presentation. Prompt and attentive wait staff. Incredible food. One-of-a-kind dessert menu. Portion sizes are perfect. Great for large gatherings or individuals. Quiet conversation possible in seated dining area. Septate bar/bistro setting for boisterous groups. Easy walking distance to shopping and hotels. Would visit again when in Pittsburgh on business or pleasure.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Family Style, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Disabled Access, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Been there many times and it never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

we sat by the bar and loved sitting near the window. the dining tooms were crowded and noisy. food was delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Service was quick and attentive. The food was delicious. The bread pudding was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Room had no atmosphere, service was good, food was average at best, veal parmigiana was bland, veal was too thick and sauce was also bland, like to have more garlic flavor, probably not go back, not totally upset but was looking for more.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was very poor. The server was unfriendly I would even go as far as mean. We found a hair in one of the entrees and had to send it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I thought my experience was excellent! Great bar with creative drinks. Good and unique atmosphere, with a lot of food options. Dinner was excellent as were appetizers, all reasonable prices. I'll be returning!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Volazzis!
The food was wonderful and the service as excellent. It was rather pricey for two people getting dinner before a show, and I will only come here for a special occasion rather than every day dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Tasty and unusual dishes, good wines and drinks, good service and a nice atmosphere. About two blocks to Heinz Hall.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very expensive for what you order. The sauce is good , not much of it though. Wine is good but very small pour. If you want good Italian go to Hofstots or Michael As in Oakmont.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were in a rush, due to heavy traffic, and had tickets to the opera. Our waiter was SUPERB in making sure we got our food as quickly as possible. My daughter is vegetarian - and although the options are limited, the waiter steered her to what was available to her.My daughter and I chose the cheese plate- excellent. She had the ravioli and I the gnocchi - both excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fell in love with our server, I believe her name was Thersa. Food and drinks were awesome. Everyone was so friendly. Will visit again without a doubt.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great place to dine and relax with a friend. Drinks and food were very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Restaurant and food was great. Short walk from the Embassy Suite hotel. My risotto was cook perfectly and my wife's chicken was so-so. She said it was a little dry. My 15 year old son had the mahi-mahi dinner special and he loved it! My 11 year old daughter had the ricotta ravioli. She wanted to lick her plate. (We didn't allow her.)

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food was exceedingly good, portions were spot-on in size, and the atmosphere in the restaurant is great. I will certainly be back soon, and recommend it to anyone who enjoys Italian food and its variations.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Favorite place to sit is at one of the high tables in the bar. Nice space between tables for a business meeting or for private conversations. The food is always good and the staff is very attentive.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Hardest working service staff in Pittsburgh. A true gem.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Service was a little slow at first, we sat with nothing for quite a while before someone finally came over.
The meat and cheese were amazing! And the food was excellent.
We would sit in the bar area next time for a more lively ambiance...plus we enjoy people watching and there is a nice view of the city streets.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My friend and I was in town for the weekend and was searching for a good seafood restaurant and picked this place but I was disappointed. My salmon that I ordered was not good, no taste and my friend ordered Rissotto and it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is another one of those good restaurants hidden in plain sight downtown and I'd never really noticed it before since it isn't on one of the bustling streets like Market, Penn or Liberty. The atmosphere is great for a date night but if going for pre-theater just think carefully about your meal so you don't go too heavy and risk a food coma for the show :)

The cocktails were excellent and the wine list also had a great selection. The marinated olives were delicious but a HUGE serving and too much for 2 people. The pre-meal bread was OK but not anything special. The main courses we chose, Raviolo and Pork pappardelle were fairly good and on par with what I would expect from higher level Italian restaurants. The only real disappointment was the Tiramisu as it was sort of meh and lacking a bit of flavor.

Service was good but a bit on the slow side so be sure to give yourself a good ~90 minutes if you want to do apps & dessert with your meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I was looking forward to a nice Italian meal. This was not it. The quality of the food, I would liken to a jarred Pasta dinner. The bread-horrible, the ricotta spread-flavorless, and the spice cake dessert-dry, dry, dry! The wine-good. Our server was very nice. Prices are fair-if the food was good. IT WAS NOT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation, enjoyed great wine with appetizers for happy hour. Enjoyed my dinner special of scallops! Had wonderful service & bread pudding for dessert was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my mother here for her birthday and the food was amazing! I'm gluten free and was able to order a pasta dish and salad. Their main entrees also were able to be gluten free upon request. Definitely would recommend!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great location for either a serious dinner or a quick bite at the bar with friends. Awesome wines, great food and excellent service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service and loved their halibut! Enjoyed drinks at bar prior to our dinner reservation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for dinner before a show at the Benedum Center. It was a special night for us, so we decided to splurge at Vallozzi's. It was a bit on the pricier side (we are two college kids, after all), so we probably won't make Vallozzi's a habit, but it was a wonderful treat. The food was very good, and the staff was very attentive and very kind. I would definitely recommend this for a special occasion date night!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful food! The Carpaccio pizza was terrific. Osso Buco was amazing. The Buratta cheese and olives was wonderful! Great place and service was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great and especially the meat and cheese plate. Service was just ok. The waiter was slow and not very friendly or attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.