Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30AM-10PM
Friday/Saturday: 11:30AM-11PM
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.17

Mondays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.17

Mondays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $35.17. Excludes Tax and Tip. Optional Wine Pairings available for $15. Special valid Jul 31, 2017 - Aug 3, 2017 on Mondays - Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Romantic (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Business Meals (22)
Authentic (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Happy Hour (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Fun (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first time dining at Valozzi's. It was one of the best Italian dinners I've ever eaten! The salad, ravioli, and wine were all delicious. The service was excellent. We will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Post theater dinner. Excellent food, wonderful service (Jen)! Will go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food! A wonderful atmosphere. We have been here a couple of times and it is quickly becoming a favorite.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Everything was so fresh and tasty. We loved Vallozzi's and would highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My wife and I spent time there celebrating her 60th birthday. We found the restaurant to be cozy, romantic, and relatively quiet (I have a very serious hearing issue). They were very accommodating to our needs. The food was very good along with the service. We would strongly recommend this restaurant to our family and friend.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The service was very bad! Didn't get the attentions when we arrived or thr menus.. Also during the meal we got a bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Came here for a nice family dinner. Food was good, so were the cocktails and wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Vallozzis is one of our favorite spots in Pittsburgh. The food and service are always outstanding. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I are from Greensburg, and visit Valozzi's there quite often. As we looked for a place to wear for our Anniversary before going to a concert, I found Valozzi's Pittsburgh, and read some positive reviews, so we decided to try it.

We couldn't have been more pleased! The food and service was fantastic! The wine list is REALLY extensive. Not being super in to the wine scene, I picked the Dragon's Tooth" Red from California, which was great!

We had the Burrata for an appetizer - a MUST! It was so good. For entree's my wife had the Salmon, and was very impressed with it, while I had the Gnocci - an Italian staple and well done here with a sausage sauce.

The menu has many of the familiar dishes that have made the Greensburg Restaurant a local favorite, but the Pittsburgh location has a more modern vibe and some updated dishes that are all it's own.

We are looking forward to a return visit there!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had a delicious dinner with delightful service! It was a Wed evening, so very quiet inside the restaurant. Server was attentive but not overly solicitous. Food was outstanding! We would go back next time we are in town (for business or pleasure).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was very good. Service was a little slower than expected. They ran out of the special by 6:30.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We went here before a show a few months ago. Food was ok. Service was slow.

My coworkers and I go to different places for lunch and tried here (my second time). Food was ok. Risotto was bland. Service was great. I would only go back to the bar but not for food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent crab cakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Good was marvelous and service was outstanding. Certainly will come back next time we're in Pittsburgh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Had dinner with a friend before a show. Pasta was very good but I felt the meal was very expensive for the portion I got. May or may not return as a result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was very good, but the noise level was too high for this type of restaurant. I would still recommend this restaurant to others as well as return myself.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our server wasn't over-kind (didn't smile much), but she was hospitable, and attentive enough for us to converse without intrusion. This is a great place for a date night. The restaurant has two areas for dining: the more formal area (where we sat), and a bar area, which is where we had drinks the last time we went (prior to dinner). And, most importantly, the food was delicious! :-)

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was our 3rd time at Valozzi's & we chose this for a special occasion, celebrating a wedding engagement. All I can say was that this experience, as those of the past, was OK. Waitress was very responsive, food was good, but Bolognese on the pasta was mediocre (no salt/pepper on table so intent was to dine as is). The veal parm was also somewhat boring. Can't really determine why these dishes weren't up to expectations, but something was missing. For the price charged for Italian cuisine, one would expect a finer product. Carlton's & Bravo's bolognese are surprisingly superior. Is the 3rd time the charm? Not for us this time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great food. Excellent wait staff. Bread pudding was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My first time at Vallozzi's Pittsburgh was actually a couple of years ago, for a friend's 30th birthday. I was very intrigued & impressed with the meal selection, as well as the variety of dishes/tastes offered up. After a couple of years, I decided to return this past weekend with my family. Being of Italian descent, we love trying different Italian cuisines all over, ranging from a corner pizza shop to upscale, chef-inspired cuisine. Upon completion of our meal, we all agreed that Vallozzi's is one of the most authentic Italian spots we've ever visited. We love to cook, ourselves, and the best thing that stands out about Vallozzi's: the food has a home-cooked, straight from the old-country taste to it. It's very accurate to many Italian dishes that our ancestors had made for us/that we make on our own. The environment was very serene & relaxing, a perfect blend of mood-lighting & gorgeous decor. Perfect for conversational dinner. The service was great, very friendly, and very informative & helpful. I love restaurants that aren't afraid to mix it up & offer new options every time I go there. From the time I was there 2 years ago all the way to now, I was pleased to see they still offer some of the dishes I remembered seeing at that time, as well as new creations to satisfy those with an ever-changing palate (like myself). Nothing short of the finest Italian restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh. My absolute highest regards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We have dined pre-symphony at Vallozzi's a number of times. We have had a uniformly
great meal and excellent service. It has become one of our favorite restaurants .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Very nice meal. Food looked beautiful on presentation. A special place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We loved it! The Bolognese sauce was fabulous and Halibut special wonderful. The bread pudding dessert is to die for!

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very nice restaurant. The fish we had (salmon and halibut) were outstanding. The appetizers and sides are just Ok, but were pricey. Overall, a nice place and I would go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I went here for a Birthday dinner with friends and the service was amazing. The staff is well trained and very professional. Also they will accommodate your choice for dinner even if the exact dish isn't on the menu. I highly recommend Vallozzi's

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Service was great and the food was great. We had five people in our party and everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Good food and ambience. Enjoyed our meal. Ravioli was delicious as wax the meatball.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food and service! We really enjoyed our first time at the reasturant.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

EXCELLANT FOOD. OUTSTANDING APPETIZERS - GRILLED OCTUPUS W/ SMOKED POTATOES

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Valozzi's exceeded my expectations in every way. The seating for our party was perfect, the atmosphere beautiful and sophisticated. The food was exceptional! We had a party of 8 and every single person commented on the meal and choice of restaurant. Outstanding!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The Osso Bucco was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Don't order the veal, it was very tough. Great service and scenery. Cool bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Good experience through out the lunch and guests invited were totally satisfied with the food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is a great authentic Italian restaurant! My husband and I went early for appetizers and drinks and ended up staying in the lounge for dinner. The server was fantastic and crafted an appetizer tray to our specifications. Everything from start to finish - we had dessert, too - was fantastic! I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are visiting Pittsburgh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I don't know...I had high expectations but was somewhat disappointed with the food. My salmon was almost raw - in all fairness, the waitress didn't ask my preference and I didn't think to clarify that I'm not a fan of raw fish. She probably should have asked. In hindsight, I should also have sent it back. My husband had the Osso Bucco which looked good. He seemed to like it. The pistachio cake was a little dry. I know it has had good reviews and I might give them another chance but I was underwhelmed by my first time there. Great service, though -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were there for lunch after a college graduation with 14 people. Appetizers were good and great to share. Lunch selections we tried were ok - gnocchi, panini, chicken milanese. Wasn't a spectacular meal - but it was also just lunch. Server was very good though - very attentive and patient with our large group!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food was good, server did not pay any attention to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Joyce was our server, and she was fabulous!! And the food was great as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great all around!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The hospitality started with the valet parking attendants. The waiter was warm, very kind and knowledgeable. The food was just terrific. We will be back! Thank you for a nice evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.