About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM to 5PM
Dinner: Monday-Friday 5PM-10PM
Dinner: Saturday 4PM-11PM

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (48)
good for groups (37)
fit for foodies (35)
See All
romantic (25)
notable wine list (19)
great for lunch (14)
late-night find (8)
neighborhood gem (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
818 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very well prepared and deli ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very well prepared and delicious. We enjoyed the prix fixe with the wine pairing. My two preteen boys enjoyed their pasta dishes from the menu. I noticed some reviewers had issues with service but the night we visited no issues. Our sever was attentive and nice she even made it work for us to be able to order an appetizer We had seen go by to a private event thAt was not on

menu. However it is super annoying how loud this restaurant is. They care about good wine and fresh food so it's crazy to me they don't put in noise reduction padding or what have you. Had to strain for conversation with person right next to you and to hear waitress. So while I would go back bc I liked the food don't plan on enjoying much dinner conversation with your party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The staff was very attentive to our soec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The staff was very attentive to our soecial requests and made every effort to provide personal service and attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was convenient to our hot ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The restaurant was convenient to our hotel, and also to PNC Park, as we attended a Pittsburgh Pirate baseball game that evening. Our waitress was wonderful: polite, gracious, and very pleasant. Food was average, and our table was against a wall, which cut down on the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was really good. I like when I go t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was really good. I like when I go to an Italian place and it's not your typical (sausage and peppers, zucchini, etc). The oysters were great and the fish special was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The noise level is not suitable for a bu ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The noise level is not suitable for a business lunch. The food was good but over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We went here for our anniversary dinner ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner to try somewhere we've never been. The food was great, no doubt the best veal I've ever had and my husband enjoyed the crab cakes. The issue was that we sat at a small two seater table next to two other couples. It was hard to hear each other speak and being so close to the other couples made the atmosphere lose the romantic aspect- we were pretty much in their conversation and vice versa. While our waitress was very nice it seemed like she had a lot of tables since it took so long to get drinks each time. Nice place, just not sure if we d return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This place has been on my "lifetime ban" ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This place has been on my "lifetime ban" list due to poor service. I violated the ban specifically in order to try an appetizer that I was interested in, but when I went there, I was (incorrectly) told that it was unavailable.

I will never go back, not even for free food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

At first our waiter seemed perturbed whe ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

At first our waiter seemed perturbed when we asked him questions about the menu, and he left us without anything to drink for a long time. He was ok by the end of the dinner. The food was great. Would probably try another downtown restaurant before we go back again. Given enough time we might try it again.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Vallozzi's has a great menu and the qual ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Vallozzi's has a great menu and the quality of food to back it up ! We have never been disappointed and always find a new dish to try. The staff is energetic and friendly and

always helpful. We look forward to returning for another enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was TERRIBLE. Our waitress ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our service was TERRIBLE. Our waitress seemed to also be working a private party. But no one helped her out. We not only had to wait to order but didn't even have bread on our table for over 30 minutes after being seated. She took forever to come back to see if we wanted another round of cocktails, we did. Then it took a long time to get them. The table next to us had a different server, they came over 30 minutes after us, had apps, main and dessert like us, but left before we did. Also, the peach dessert was terrible. The first bite had a peach that was not only uncooked but unripe. The server did take this off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

First time at this restaurant and was ex ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First time at this restaurant and was extremely happy with the service also the food was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have had great experiences at Vallozzi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have had great experiences at Vallozzi's before, but this time was a disappointment. The noise level was so high that I could not carry on a conversation with my wife. The service was poor. We were ignored for long periods of time. At no time were we made to feel welcome. At least the food was good. Overall, I regret that I chose this restaurant to celebrate my anniversary.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I've been to the bar numerous times for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I've been to the bar numerous times for cocktails and small plates and really enjoyed it. I thought it would be a good place to have dinner prior to a show. As it was a Friday evening I allotted plenty of time knowing that it would be busy. It took us about 15 minutes for a waiter to approach our table for just drinks. It took another 15 minutes to get a wine menu and it just went downhill from there. I was truly disappointed in the food. The portions were fine but it was just sub-par. There are too many places in Pittsburgh to choose from to just settle for ok. Vallozzi's will not be on my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food is a little pricey. Portions are ve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food is a little pricey. Portions are very small. Willing to pay but shouldn't be hungry when you leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food is very good, but portions are ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is very good, but portions are very small. Also, the dining room is very noisy and you're literally sitting on top of each other. You can hear the conversations going on next to you, because you are seated so close to other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Went for an early dinner, day before Fat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for an early dinner, day before Father's Day. I had been there several times before, always with a business group, the other diners had not. First glance at the menu said to me that the restaurant was overpriced; essentially, everything is a la carte. Salads and starters are at the upper end of range in terms of price, salads were pretty tasty. Veal parmigian was ok, the amount of pasta with it only filled a small hand. Orichette with chicken was decent, portion adequate. Lobster ravioli was terrible; was ordered minus the spicy arrabiata sauce, and even then, you couldn't taste any lobster - it was returned to the kitchen. Ironically, a diner at the next table ordered the same thing, didn't eat one quarter of it. Deserts were OK. Just didn't catch a vibe of "good" dining here. $80 per person, all in, with only one drink per person and a 20% gratuity. With all the good Italian restaurants in Pittsburgh, I would not recommend; if in town, try Lidias, if in the suburbs, choices are many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Much better than expected! Food and serv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Much better than expected! Food and service both exceeded expectations. Atmosphere very friendly and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious Italian food in a beautiful se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious Italian food in a beautiful setting. The location is a short walk from the major theatres and we felt safe on our way. Upon entering you are in a lovey space greeted by a friendly face. We were taken to our seats immediately and the dining area is decorated beautifully. The drink and wine menu are interesting and everything on the food menu sounded delicious! The mozzarella was top notch as was the lobster bisque. The seafood in my risotto was delicious but I am not sure I would reorder. The filet was large and the sauce incredible. Best bread pudding I've ever had for dessert but the tiramisu was average. Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were very good. The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and service were very good. The local downtown Pittsburgh scene is fun.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent selections and service was fir ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent selections and service was first rate. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great mozzarella bar and pastas. Very ni ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great mozzarella bar and pastas. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal. Porkchops with spicy peppers ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great meal. Porkchops with spicy peppers were delicious , grilled to perfection and tender

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are great. Sound is lou ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food and service are great. Sound is loud and hard to have a private conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Very Disappointing

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The experience at Vallozzi's was quite disappointing. I've had much better Italian food in small towns of Pittsburgh for less cost. This was my first visit to this restaurant and it was way below my expectations. The salad that I ordered cost $8 and was supposed to contain prosciutto but there was none. The lettuce was chopped very small and the dressing was bland. I ordered the veal parmigiana for $32 that was to include pasta. I expected a larger portion than what was delivered considering the high price. They topped the veal parmigiana with a tablespoon of pasta instead of serving it on the side. I will never dine in this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great experience

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Working dinner for 5 business colleagues. Knowledgeable, attentive, friendly, and timely service. Exceptional food and beverage. Portion size just right; filled but not stuffed. Well worth the price.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vallozzi's on 5th never disappoints. Sal ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Vallozzi's on 5th never disappoints.

Salumi plate at bar had nice selection. Shared appetizers from Mozzarella bar for dinner were exquisite.

Mains were excellent; Ossobuco and Lobster Risotto.

Righetti Amarone to accompany the meal was silky, rich and a perfect match.

We lingered well beyond closing with business discussions and no-one disturbed us.

We managed to close the place. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. Crab cakes fan ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was excellent. Crab cakes fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Interesting dinner. Food was good excep ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Interesting dinner. Food was good except for the following. Soft shell crab appetizer was so heavily breaded that the crab taste was lost. Veal marsala was very tasty and hot in the center of the plate but just warm away from the center (how do they do that?). We had to ask for bread and as soon as the salad course was done, she took away the bread and plates, even though there was half eaten bread on the plate. Seems to be the new trend that servers are trained to take away the bread (to make room on the table?), as soon as the salads are done.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food!

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Our first time here...it was excellent. We'll be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate my d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate my daughter's graduation. The food was great, and our server, Joyce was able to make excellent recommendations for wine choices. A very enjoyable experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Our Favorite Downtown Restaurants

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

As usual, the food was fantastic, service impeccable and friendly, just two of the many reasons we choose this restaurant before our theater performances.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Extraordinary Culinary Delight

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This was our first time visit to this well established restaurant. Our server was prompt, personable and extremely helpful. My wife ordered the crab cakes...and she is still raving about them. We have traveled extensively on both coasts, and she insists that Vallozzi's crab cakes were the finest she has ever eaten.

We have a new favorite eatery when we are in town.

A wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Simply Outstanding

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We held my Mother's 95th birthday dinner at Vallozzi's on April 29, 2016. We were a party of seven and everything from the location of our table (At our request, we were seated in an alcove that provided a quieter, more intimate setting.) to the service and the absolutely delicious meals was perfect. Everyone was so polite and helpful...even the valet parking service! We will be a regular customer at Vallozzi's. What a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just OK

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We have eaten here before and loved it. But our experience last week was nothing special. The server seemed bored with us and never asked if we were timing our dining to be out for the theatre. The food was very good but nothing over the top. They have taken the lobster lasagna off the menu. Overall, just a nice evening but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Downtown Dining

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

I am in town for about two weeks, and I love trying places I haven't eaten yet that may be new since I moved away. I chose this restaurant for my aunt and I to have dinner. She had eaten here before and said it was very good! We both got the same meal which was the short rib ravioli and parma salad. Both of these items were quite tasty! I will for sure be back to dine here when in town again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Favorite

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants to eat at in Pittsburgh. Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Time

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful end to a great day. Great food, great service, and a wonderful experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service & food

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We recently dined at Valozzi's before a show at Heinz Hall. The restaurant was quiet, clean, and simply pretty. My daughter is a vegetarian, so we asked the waitress, Jackie, for advice on what was good on the menu for vegetarians. She was extremely helpful, not only with pointing out the obvious pasta dish, but also making suggestions of things we could swap out and request. My daughter had the risotto, but substituted MANY vegetables, including brussel sprouts which she loves. We both had the cauliflower bisque-like soup which was very tasty. My halibut was well cooked also. We were already thinking of the bread pudding, and Jackie said it was one of her favorites, so we had that and it was excellent as well. I would definitely recommend visiting Valozzi's.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Italian Food Snob Husband Loved It!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I had a date night and wanted to try some place new. I received a 412 email saying how wonderful this restaurant was and so I made reservations. It was wonderful! It had a very extensive wine list and my husband ordered a Barolo which you usually don't find by the glass anywhere. The waitress was very helpful in suggesting meals. My husband reluctantly ordered the Osso Bucco, because no restaurant has ever come close to as good as his Mother's. It was the best he has ever had in a restaurant! The service was truly wonderful and we will definitely go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared 3 great appetizers - meatballs ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We shared 3 great appetizers - meatballs, brussel sprouts and small fried cheese balls. What a great way to start our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.