About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM to 5PM
Dinner: Monday-Friday 5PM-10PM
Dinner: Saturday 4PM-11PM

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (56)
fit for foodies (44)
good for groups (39)
See All
notable wine list (31)
romantic (25)
great for lunch (15)
neighborhood gem (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vallozzi's has a great menu and the qual ...

Dined 5 days ago

Vallozzi's has a great menu and the quality of food to back it up ! We have never been disappointed and always find a new dish to try. The staff is energetic and friendly and always helpful. We look forward to returning for another enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our service was TERRIBLE. Our waitress ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our service was TERRIBLE. Our waitress seemed to also be working a private party. But no one helped her out. We not only had to wait to order but didn't even have bread on our table for over 30 minutes after being seated. She took forever to come back to see if we wanted another round of cocktails, we did. Then it took a long time to get them. The table next to us had a different server, they came over 30 minutes after us, had apps, main and dessert like us, but left before we did. Also, the peach dessert was terrible. The first bite had a peach that was not only uncooked but unripe. The server did take this off the bill.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at this restaurant and was ex ...

Dined 5 days ago

First time at this restaurant and was extremely happy with the service also the food was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I have had great experiences at Vallozzi ...

Dined 5 days ago

I have had great experiences at Vallozzi's before, but this time was a disappointment. The noise level was so high that I could not carry on a conversation with my wife. The service was poor. We were ignored for long periods of time. At no time were we made to feel welcome. At least the food was good. Overall, I regret that I chose this restaurant to celebrate my anniversary.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I've been to the bar numerous times for ...

Dined 6 days ago

I've been to the bar numerous times for cocktails and small plates and really enjoyed it. I thought it would be a good place to have dinner prior to a show. As it was a Friday evening I allotted plenty of time knowing that it would be busy. It took us about 15 minutes for a waiter to approach our table for just drinks. It took another 15 minutes to get a wine menu and it just went downhill from there. I was truly disappointed in the food. The portions were fine but it was just sub-par. There are too many places in Pittsburgh to choose from to just settle for ok. Vallozzi's will not be on my list.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food is a little pricey. Portions are ve ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Food is a little pricey. Portions are very small. Willing to pay but shouldn't be hungry when you leave.

food4
ambience2
service2

The food is very good, but portions are ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is very good, but portions are very small. Also, the dining room is very noisy and you're literally sitting on top of each other. You can hear the conversations going on next to you, because you are seated so close to other tables.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Went for an early dinner, day before Fat ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for an early dinner, day before Father's Day. I had been there several times before, always with a business group, the other diners had not. First glance at the menu said to me that the restaurant was overpriced; essentially, everything is a la carte. Salads and starters are at the upper end of range in terms of price, salads were pretty tasty. Veal parmigian was ok, the amount of pasta with it only filled a small hand. Orichette with chicken was decent, portion adequate. Lobster ravioli was terrible; was ordered minus the spicy arrabiata sauce, and even then, you couldn't taste any lobster - it was returned to the kitchen. Ironically, a diner at the next table ordered the same thing, didn't eat one quarter of it. Deserts were OK. Just didn't catch a vibe of "good" dining here. $80 per person, all in, with only one drink per person and a 20% gratuity. With all the good Italian restaurants in Pittsburgh, I would not recommend; if in town, try Lidias, if in the suburbs, choices are many.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Italian food in a beautiful se ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious Italian food in a beautiful setting. The location is a short walk from the major theatres and we felt safe on our way. Upon entering you are in a lovey space greeted by a friendly face. We were taken to our seats immediately and the dining area is decorated beautifully. The drink and wine menu are interesting and everything on the food menu sounded delicious! The mozzarella was top notch as was the lobster bisque. The seafood in my risotto was delicious but I am not sure I would reorder. The filet was large and the sauce incredible. Best bread pudding I've ever had for dessert but the tiramisu was average. Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were very good. The ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and service were very good. The local downtown Pittsburgh scene is fun.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent selections and service was fir ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent selections and service was first rate. Would definitely go back.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great mozzarella bar and pastas. Very ni ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great mozzarella bar and pastas. Very nice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. Porkchops with spicy peppers ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great meal. Porkchops with spicy peppers were delicious , grilled to perfection and tender

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Food and service are great. Sound is lou ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Food and service are great. Sound is loud and hard to have a private conversation.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Very Disappointing

Dined on May 26, 2016

The experience at Vallozzi's was quite disappointing. I've had much better Italian food in small towns of Pittsburgh for less cost. This was my first visit to this restaurant and it was way below my expectations. The salad that I ordered cost $8 and was supposed to contain prosciutto but there was none. The lettuce was chopped very small and the dressing was bland. I ordered the veal parmigiana for $32 that was to include pasta. I expected a larger portion than what was delivered considering the high price. They topped the veal parmigiana with a tablespoon of pasta instead of serving it on the side. I will never dine in this restaurant again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 24, 2016

Working dinner for 5 business colleagues. Knowledgeable, attentive, friendly, and timely service. Exceptional food and beverage. Portion size just right; filled but not stuffed. Well worth the price.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vallozzi's on 5th never disappoints. Sal ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Vallozzi's on 5th never disappoints. Salumi plate at bar had nice selection. Shared appetizers from Mozzarella bar for dinner were exquisite. Mains were excellent; Ossobuco and Lobster Risotto. Righetti Amarone to accompany the meal was silky, rich and a perfect match. We lingered well beyond closing with business discussions and no-one disturbed us. We managed to close the place. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. Crab cakes fan ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was excellent. Crab cakes fantastic

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Interesting dinner. Food was good excep ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Interesting dinner. Food was good except for the following. Soft shell crab appetizer was so heavily breaded that the crab taste was lost. Veal marsala was very tasty and hot in the center of the plate but just warm away from the center (how do they do that?). We had to ask for bread and as soon as the salad course was done, she took away the bread and plates, even though there was half eaten bread on the plate. Seems to be the new trend that servers are trained to take away the bread (to make room on the table?), as soon as the salads are done.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Our first time here...it was excellent. We'll be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate my d ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate my daughter's graduation. The food was great, and our server, Joyce was able to make excellent recommendations for wine choices. A very enjoyable experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Our Favorite Downtown Restaurants

Dined on May 6, 2016

As usual, the food was fantastic, service impeccable and friendly, just two of the many reasons we choose this restaurant before our theater performances.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An Extraordinary Culinary Delight

Dined on May 4, 2016

This was our first time visit to this well established restaurant. Our server was prompt, personable and extremely helpful. My wife ordered the crab cakes...and she is still raving about them. We have traveled extensively on both coasts, and she insists that Vallozzi's crab cakes were the finest she has ever eaten. We have a new favorite eatery when we are in town. A wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Outstanding

Dined on April 29, 2016

We held my Mother's 95th birthday dinner at Vallozzi's on April 29, 2016. We were a party of seven and everything from the location of our table (At our request, we were seated in an alcove that provided a quieter, more intimate setting.) to the service and the absolutely delicious meals was perfect. Everyone was so polite and helpful...even the valet parking service! We will be a regular customer at Vallozzi's. What a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Just OK

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have eaten here before and loved it. But our experience last week was nothing special. The server seemed bored with us and never asked if we were timing our dining to be out for the theatre. The food was very good but nothing over the top. They have taken the lobster lasagna off the menu. Overall, just a nice evening but nothing special.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Downtown Dining

Dined on April 25, 2016

I am in town for about two weeks, and I love trying places I haven't eaten yet that may be new since I moved away. I chose this restaurant for my aunt and I to have dinner. She had eaten here before and said it was very good! We both got the same meal which was the short rib ravioli and parma salad. Both of these items were quite tasty! I will for sure be back to dine here when in town again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Favorite

Dined on April 23, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants to eat at in Pittsburgh. Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Time

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful end to a great day. Great food, great service, and a wonderful experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service & food

Dined on April 22, 2016

We recently dined at Valozzi's before a show at Heinz Hall. The restaurant was quiet, clean, and simply pretty. My daughter is a vegetarian, so we asked the waitress, Jackie, for advice on what was good on the menu for vegetarians. She was extremely helpful, not only with pointing out the obvious pasta dish, but also making suggestions of things we could swap out and request. My daughter had the risotto, but substituted MANY vegetables, including brussel sprouts which she loves. We both had the cauliflower bisque-like soup which was very tasty. My halibut was well cooked also. We were already thinking of the bread pudding, and Jackie said it was one of her favorites, so we had that and it was excellent as well. I would definitely recommend visiting Valozzi's.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Italian Food Snob Husband Loved It!

Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I had a date night and wanted to try some place new. I received a 412 email saying how wonderful this restaurant was and so I made reservations. It was wonderful! It had a very extensive wine list and my husband ordered a Barolo which you usually don't find by the glass anywhere. The waitress was very helpful in suggesting meals. My husband reluctantly ordered the Osso Bucco, because no restaurant has ever come close to as good as his Mother's. It was the best he has ever had in a restaurant! The service was truly wonderful and we will definitely go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

We shared 3 great appetizers - meatballs ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We shared 3 great appetizers - meatballs, brussel sprouts and small fried cheese balls. What a great way to start our dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch and dinner spot.

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

The owner is actively involved to make sure the service and food is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service5

Very attentive server, average to good f ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Very attentive server, average to good food, high prices, unlikely to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was really loud during lunch, but eve ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

It was really loud during lunch, but everything was delicious as usual. Love the pick 4 lunch special!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Slightly disappointed

Dined on March 19, 2016

Didn't have the Turtle Bisque that I really love. Otherwise the mozzarella bar choices were excellent, the Risotto was good, and the service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite

Dined on March 18, 2016

This is one of our favorite Pittsburgh restaurant s. Big treat for us to drive from out of state to come favorite city and this is restaurant we keep returning to. Never have been disappointed. Such a great staff and we love the food. So we will keep coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

If Only The Service......

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We love Valozzi's decor & menu. Our only negative is the service which can often be spotty. This time we sat for longer than we should before being recognized, offered water & having our drink order taken by the servers who were bustling around us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Dissappointed

Dined on March 10, 2016

Scallops were overly salty, I sent them back. Ambiance was nice until the private room doors behind our table slid open. The private room hadn't been heated like the restaurant thus there was a nasty cold breeze chilling us at our cozy table. Disappointing dining experience, and although the waitress offered replacements I was already 'turned off'.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

more attention in the details

Dined on March 5, 2016

I have been here a couple times and had the bucatini with an egg on top twice. It is delicious. The burrata is very creamy. The arancini are excellent as is the grilled calamari. I thought the brussel sprouts could have been more roasted and charred. They were under seasoned and dull. The peppers were served in bowl with too much oil. I prefer them roasted dry with sea salt. Cocktail (Negroni) was ok...too diluted and not enough Campari. But I would return and try some other things. Authentic Italian in a lively setting downtown.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pittsburgh trip

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a delicious dinner. Our server was helpful. I have a food sensitivity and he recommended a few dishes which would work for me. The food was spectacular. The menu is plentiful, with many options to choose from.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.