Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30AM-10PM
Friday/Saturday: 11:30AM-11PM
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Authentic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Their new Fall 2017 seasonal menu is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We spent our Anniversary down town on Friday. Stopped at Vallozzi's for happy hour. Sat at the Mozzarella bar. Delicious small plates of cheese, olives and roasted peppers. We decided to stay for dinner it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was average. Desserts lacking. Caprese salad was good but small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The restaurant ambience is great. It was very convenient to the theater district. The service was outstanding. The food and wine were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there last Saturday night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I had the chicken saltimbocca it was out of this world, best chicken dish I have ever had. We will defiantly be back soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Vallozzi's in Pittsburgh, PA is an outstanding restaurant with a wonderful staff. The food is fresh hot and very tasty. From the cocktails to the dessert you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. The cocktails are made with fresh fruit juices not out of a bottle when available. The Bartender is top notch. The chef is always ready to please his guests. If you get a chance put this restaurant on your must visit list. Make a reservation on the weekend. Quick tip ( try their pizza it is to die for) Rick has been our waiter the last two times and he is exceptional!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 23, 2017

food was not good. two meals came cold and remained cold even after returned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Always a great place to have a business meal where you don't have to worry about others sitting near overhearing your conversation. The food is always good and the menu is fresh. Sure miss the four tasting lunch that gave such a nice variety of their delicious food. Hope to see it back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Hard to beat this place. Great Food, Awesome Wine and Excellent service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great service, good Caesar salad but the shrimp diavolo was much too spicy, I have had and realize it is a spicy sauce but this I could not eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Perfect spot for a business lunch or dinner. Great food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We are newer to Pittsburgh, and are used to Italian restaurants in NYC and Boston. Vallozzis had such potential to be amazing. We loved the dining room and the overall fine dining atmosphere. However, the food fell short of our expectations and was not worth the expensive price. The veal dishes we ordered were not melt in your mouth quality, and the marsala was actually not a true Italian recipe. It had peppers and onions in it, which had somewhat of a pickled flavor. The homemade pasta was delicious, so I would only stick to those entrees. The staff was wonderful and very attentive. The bread and homemade ricotta was delicious. We were just very disappointed overall, at any price, but especially at this high tab.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

great, authentic Italian cuisine like we've had in Rome...server Jennifer was outstanding with knowledge of menu and suggestions and promptness...enjoyed the raviolo and shrimp diavolo...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Absolutely amazing. Service, selection, food, we were blown away. Expected a small mom and pop restaurant off of the open table description but couldn't have been happier with our selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Ambiance is marvelous and the service and menu were beyond expectations!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I found this on OpenTable and decided to give it a try as I was in a mood for Italian food. As I got there early I sat at the bar and had a cocktail which was mixed to perfection and enjoyed some light conversation with the bartender.
Because of some local traffic issues one of our dinner guest was late but the restaurant politely held our table. We are then seated and greeted by a very friendly waiter who had a good knowledge of the wines. We then proceeded to order where I had an arrangement of fresh mozzarella ricotta cheese and smoked mozzarella all of which I enjoyed. I ordered the seafood risotto which was perfectly seasoned and the proportions were perfect

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service was great. Four senior ladies after CLO show received warmly. Dinner choices chicken ,veal and raviolo delicious. Watermelon salad and fromogio plates wonderful. Next time will leave room for dessert. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I had veil parm. It was as tough as nails. I actually took about 1/2 of the meal home with me but decided to trash it due to how tough the veil was. You think it should have been as tender as a good stake but not. The accomplishments were so-so, not worth the $$$$$ paid. So sad as the waiter staff and place was great. We will not be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food is great but we think that the drinks are so small for the price. Both times that we have been there recently we were very disappointed with the drink sizes. The mixed drinks are about the size of a shot and the wine poor is very small.
If they fixed that it would be one of the best places in Pittsburgh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Date night with the wife. Nice atmosphere, Shrimp Diavolo with homemade pasta was excellent-just the right amount of spice. Wife had Risotto Di Mare with very succulent shrimp and scallops. Great wine and beer choices. Will definitely return when we come back for Steeler or Pirate games.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was outstanding. However, it was a little over priced for Italian fare. The outdoor seating was nice. The location in Pittsburgh is not the best for outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here before going to see "Mama Mia". We were 15 min late for our 5:15 reservation, but that was no problem. We asked for a table outside because it was such a lovely evening, and that was really nice too. It was a bit noisy when the buses went past, but that didn't last long and really didn't matter to us. The food was excellent; the portions were generous; the service was very good too.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was our first time dining at Valozzi's. It was one of the best Italian dinners I've ever eaten! The salad, ravioli, and wine were all delicious. The service was excellent. We will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Post theater dinner. Excellent food, wonderful service (Jen)! Will go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great food! A wonderful atmosphere. We have been here a couple of times and it is quickly becoming a favorite.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Everything was so fresh and tasty. We loved Vallozzi's and would highly recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My wife and I spent time there celebrating her 60th birthday. We found the restaurant to be cozy, romantic, and relatively quiet (I have a very serious hearing issue). They were very accommodating to our needs. The food was very good along with the service. We would strongly recommend this restaurant to our family and friend.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The service was very bad! Didn't get the attentions when we arrived or thr menus.. Also during the meal we got a bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Came here for a nice family dinner. Food was good, so were the cocktails and wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Vallozzis is one of our favorite spots in Pittsburgh. The food and service are always outstanding. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I are from Greensburg, and visit Valozzi's there quite often. As we looked for a place to wear for our Anniversary before going to a concert, I found Valozzi's Pittsburgh, and read some positive reviews, so we decided to try it.

We couldn't have been more pleased! The food and service was fantastic! The wine list is REALLY extensive. Not being super in to the wine scene, I picked the Dragon's Tooth" Red from California, which was great!

We had the Burrata for an appetizer - a MUST! It was so good. For entree's my wife had the Salmon, and was very impressed with it, while I had the Gnocci - an Italian staple and well done here with a sausage sauce.

The menu has many of the familiar dishes that have made the Greensburg Restaurant a local favorite, but the Pittsburgh location has a more modern vibe and some updated dishes that are all it's own.

We are looking forward to a return visit there!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had a delicious dinner with delightful service! It was a Wed evening, so very quiet inside the restaurant. Server was attentive but not overly solicitous. Food was outstanding! We would go back next time we are in town (for business or pleasure).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was very good. Service was a little slower than expected. They ran out of the special by 6:30.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We went here before a show a few months ago. Food was ok. Service was slow.

My coworkers and I go to different places for lunch and tried here (my second time). Food was ok. Risotto was bland. Service was great. I would only go back to the bar but not for food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent crab cakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Good was marvelous and service was outstanding. Certainly will come back next time we're in Pittsburgh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Had dinner with a friend before a show. Pasta was very good but I felt the meal was very expensive for the portion I got. May or may not return as a result.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was very good, but the noise level was too high for this type of restaurant. I would still recommend this restaurant to others as well as return myself.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our server wasn't over-kind (didn't smile much), but she was hospitable, and attentive enough for us to converse without intrusion. This is a great place for a date night. The restaurant has two areas for dining: the more formal area (where we sat), and a bar area, which is where we had drinks the last time we went (prior to dinner). And, most importantly, the food was delicious! :-)

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This was our 3rd time at Valozzi's & we chose this for a special occasion, celebrating a wedding engagement. All I can say was that this experience, as those of the past, was OK. Waitress was very responsive, food was good, but Bolognese on the pasta was mediocre (no salt/pepper on table so intent was to dine as is). The veal parm was also somewhat boring. Can't really determine why these dishes weren't up to expectations, but something was missing. For the price charged for Italian cuisine, one would expect a finer product. Carlton's & Bravo's bolognese are surprisingly superior. Is the 3rd time the charm? Not for us this time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.