Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30AM-10PM
Friday/Saturday: 11:30AM-11PM
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Business Meals (31)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Authentic (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fun (11)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
966 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Hardest working service staff in Pittsburgh. A true gem.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was a little slow at first, we sat with nothing for quite a while before someone finally came over.
The meat and cheese were amazing! And the food was excellent.
We would sit in the bar area next time for a more lively ambiance...plus we enjoy people watching and there is a nice view of the city streets.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My friend and I was in town for the weekend and was searching for a good seafood restaurant and picked this place but I was disappointed. My salmon that I ordered was not good, no taste and my friend ordered Rissotto and it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is another one of those good restaurants hidden in plain sight downtown and I'd never really noticed it before since it isn't on one of the bustling streets like Market, Penn or Liberty. The atmosphere is great for a date night but if going for pre-theater just think carefully about your meal so you don't go too heavy and risk a food coma for the show :)

The cocktails were excellent and the wine list also had a great selection. The marinated olives were delicious but a HUGE serving and too much for 2 people. The pre-meal bread was OK but not anything special. The main courses we chose, Raviolo and Pork pappardelle were fairly good and on par with what I would expect from higher level Italian restaurants. The only real disappointment was the Tiramisu as it was sort of meh and lacking a bit of flavor.

Service was good but a bit on the slow side so be sure to give yourself a good ~90 minutes if you want to do apps & dessert with your meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I was looking forward to a nice Italian meal. This was not it. The quality of the food, I would liken to a jarred Pasta dinner. The bread-horrible, the ricotta spread-flavorless, and the spice cake dessert-dry, dry, dry! The wine-good. Our server was very nice. Prices are fair-if the food was good. IT WAS NOT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We arrived early for our reservation, enjoyed great wine with appetizers for happy hour. Enjoyed my dinner special of scallops! Had wonderful service & bread pudding for dessert was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my mother here for her birthday and the food was amazing! I'm gluten free and was able to order a pasta dish and salad. Their main entrees also were able to be gluten free upon request. Definitely would recommend!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great location for either a serious dinner or a quick bite at the bar with friends. Awesome wines, great food and excellent service!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service and loved their halibut! Enjoyed drinks at bar prior to our dinner reservation

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for dinner before a show at the Benedum Center. It was a special night for us, so we decided to splurge at Vallozzi's. It was a bit on the pricier side (we are two college kids, after all), so we probably won't make Vallozzi's a habit, but it was a wonderful treat. The food was very good, and the staff was very attentive and very kind. I would definitely recommend this for a special occasion date night!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Wonderful food! The Carpaccio pizza was terrific. Osso Buco was amazing. The Buratta cheese and olives was wonderful! Great place and service was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great and especially the meat and cheese plate. Service was just ok. The waiter was slow and not very friendly or attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Late Valentine's Day celebration; was contacted by the resuruqrnt to confirm that in fact my party was coming twice. I both occasion reintegrated a quiet booth and was early for my scheduled reservation. Instead was placed at a noise table side of the main dining room not a booth and had to wait to be seated though early and had a reservation. Waitress at the beginning and middle of the mean made us feel that we were just another number. Dissapointed as a year earlier meal, service and overall value was outstanding .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our waitress was very bad and she made us feel as a disturbance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our server was pleasant and helpful. We were a bit disappointed in the food. The overall reviews were great (the reason why I made reservations), but it just didn't meet our expectations. I ordered the Veal Marsala, the dish definitely needed more seasoning. My husband ordered the Raviolo, which was recommended by the server. It was made with short rib meat. The fatty meat just didn't appeal to him. Maybe different selections from the menu would have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We will return again and bring more friends and family. The food and service are AMAZING!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First time at Vallozzi's for Valentine's Day. Wonderful atmosphere, food, and drinks. Disappointed, however, to see the prices hiked for the holiday.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ate dinner here for Valentine's day. Maybe I missed it somewhere on the website, but I also checked with someone else who was possibly eating here for Valentine's Day, and neither of us saw anything about a special limited menu. All of the dishes that I thought I wanted to try were not on the special menu. Also, they up charged the dishes that were on the standard menu. Honestly, the bread and the wine were the best parts of this dinner. My boyfriend liked his veal, but said it was the fattiest piece of veal he's ever eaten. The lobster risotto was decent, but the lobster was the toughest lobster I've ever had. I know it was a "holiday," so I'm sure they were just trying to turn and burn as many reservations as possible, but then again it was a special occasion so I should not have felt like I was having a speed date dinner. Overall, seriously not impressed with any aspect of my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Classy, organized, and most importantly delicious authentic Italian menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A great dinner before the Ballet for Valentine's weekend. The ricotta served with the bread tray is really different, and the bread pudding is out of this world! My husband and I split one - next time we will each order our own :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went for lunch on Saturday prior to a matinee. Both the food and service were great. The crab cake was delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was good except that one of our entrees arrived luke warm at best. Service was horrible. We had reservations and were seated promptly; however it was at least 10 minutes before someone actually came to our table. Then it was probably another 15 minutes before we actually received any beverages. We were seated in the worst possible location at a very wobbly table despite the fact that we were amongt the only early customers there. We couldn't touch the table throughout our dining experience for fear of toppling it over. Our server simply apologized and walked away without fixing situation. We generally feel that we were forgotten about for the majority of our time there. The only thing that was prompt was the check.
As a side note, our server was paying so little attention to us that, when she finally brought the fresh parmesan to our table (a full 5 minutes after delivering our cold food), she then proceeded to look in the opposite direction while grating not the cheese, but the RIND, onto our food. Really, if I could offer zero stars on the service, I would.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was my first time going there and it was fancier than I expected it to be for being located in market square.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great and attentive service without being overpowering. Server was well versed in menu items and was great at suggesting the crab cakes which were absolutely delicious. Overall a really great experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was delicious and the crab cakes are out of this world. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. The atmosphere however was very disappointing, especially since we were celebrating our 10th Anniversary. The tables were very close together and the noise level was high. It was difficult to have a conversation without raising our voices. This created a very non-intimate atmosphere. The worst part for me though was that every time a waiter, waitress, or busboy walked past us, they bumped into my chair. At one point the bus boy actually bumped into my chair with not one, but two chairs he was moving to the other side of the room. He never even acknowledged it or apologized. I'm not a picky or critical person, but I was definitely expecting a nicer and more intimate experience from this restaurant, but ended up feeling extremely claustrophobic and in serious need of my glass of wine. I have eaten at the Greensburg location and had a much more pleasant experience. If you don't mind the noise and congestion, the food is truly amazing! I would return for the food.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dinner was wonderful. Service was great and the food was awesome! The salmon was perfect! I'll definitely be back and bring others. That being said, at 11:00 pm on a Friday night all the lights were turned on and the music turned off in an effort to get everyone to leave. Now, I realize our table was one of only two left in the restaurant but that's an absurd way to handle that situation. First of all, you stop seating just before 11. Would the staff have done that if someone had just come in to dine? Secondly, had we greatly overstayed our welcome, the manager could have kindly approached and said something nice to end the evening. We spent good money on that dinner and the experience is part of that cost. People who come in at 9:30 should get the same exact experience (only a little quieter) than those that come in at 7. I'm appalled by the handling of this situation. It's greatly disrespectful to the guests that keep a business running and give the servers good tips. You're not a bar that has to kick everyone out at 2, you're a fine dining restaurant. I'm sorry the wonderful evening was ended this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The halibut was fresh and done to perfection. The salad dressing on the house salad was light and lemony.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a great dinner at Valozzi's, as I have had every time I've dined here. Fantastic food, good service, and fun for a group. Will keep coming back as long as the ricotta ravioli is around!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our waiter was not good, she was not enthusiastic in giving suggestions and seemed like she hated her job! Food was of average taste but prices are above average which doesnt give much value. I usually restrain from putting negative comments but our experience was very disappointing so i had to warn others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

There was an awful smell in the building when we entered and that permeated through your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We both had the special of pasta soaked in wine with shrimp and cuddle fish. It was fantastic. My wife said the salad was the best that she ever had.

The valet parking was very nice too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very good but way too expensive for Italian. Paid 38 for Risotto with no Salad included and another 10 for Salad. Way too much in total...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fantastic dinner. Wine list, and server's knowledge about that list, amazing! Would go back every time I am in town!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Have eaten here a number of times. Tonight was disappointing, especially considering we had out of town guests join us. 1) it was 14 degrees outside and they couldn't keep the front door closed and there was no vestibule so the cold air was blowing in straight back to our table. 2) one of my guests got the same exact entree as me but you would have guessed I had ordered from the children's menu because my portion was literally half the size. I finished mine still hungry while my guest had to get a doggie bag for his leftovers. Our server did a very nice job but between our party and the others seated nearby, with all the complaining about the cold air, you would have thought a manager would have come over to apologize or they would have given us dessert or free coffee after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Unfortunately, exterior door malfunctioned on a 5 degree evening. Artic air blasted through much of the meal. The hosts were too busy with coat check, etc to adequately deal with it. I personally got up 3 times and shut the door, from a table across the room! Unfortunate waitress apologized (two large unhappy tables in our area), but mgt ineffectual, acted like if he didn't acknowledge we wouldn't notice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Delicious pasta and a great atmosphere for a business lunch

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The restaurant was recommended by family and we gave it a try,
The service was great. It was friendly, helpful and professional.
The food we ate were of top quality and served beautifully and at the correct temperature.
Beverages were great.
Great location and great ambiance
We will return soon.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

wonderful grilled octopus ! Crab cakes were yummy too

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was outstanding. Excellent waitress.
The food was top notch. Would dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Beet and squash salad was horrible and we LOVE salad.
Reservation time and special request was dismissed. We were told our table was given away "because we were late". Fortunately, we had the name of the person we spoke with and time we made the adjustments. Hostess was then accommodating. Meal was marginal for the cost. We'd been there 4 other times and with all the great places to dine in Pittsburgh we were disappointed. We will not return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.