About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30AM-10PM
Friday/Saturday: 11:30AM-11PM
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for a Date (28)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (23)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Bar Seating (15)
Authentic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (7)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Italian food. Service is quick an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great Italian food. Service is quick and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a larger group of clients in from ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a larger group of clients in from across the country and needed a spot for dinner. The service, food and overall experience was perfect. Thank you.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent experience! We had a table of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent experience! We had a table of 8 and everyone loved their meal! The wine was fantastic as well! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all, I LOVE Vallozzi's...the fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First of all, I LOVE Vallozzi's...the food is excellent. It's one of my favorite Pgh restaurants. Having said that, I was disappointed that the crab cakes (I think the BEST in the city, no matter what anyone claims!), which used to be served on a fabulous asiago cheese corn (which gave it just the right texture and sweetness) was now served on a squash puree, with a squash and kale salad. I was so disappointed it I didn't order it. And then the beet salad I liked, had also changed....and again served with squash...and I just couldn't imagine the textures of beets and squash...so didn't order that either. I IMPLORE Vallozzi's to change that crab cake back! OK..so I (begrudgingly and unhappily) had to order something else. I ordered the Parma salad, although I didn't seem to find any crispy prosciutto in it, and the Orecchietti which was really fabulous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was my 1st time here....I don't kno ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This was my 1st time here....I don't know why. It's great! The staff is great! They have room for larger parties

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The wine serving was only about 4 ounces ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The wine serving was only about 4 ounces. It was $10 and so tiny that I refuse to order any more wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

We really enjoyed our visit. We liked th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit. We liked the atmosphere and the food tasted great. Only issue is that some of our food was just warm and should have been hot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

really enjoyed the pasta Bolognese----- ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

really enjoyed the pasta Bolognese------------------------------

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Proximity of tables challenges discussio ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Proximity of tables challenges discussion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

very enjoyable..love the gnocci...great ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

very enjoyable..love the gnocci...great atmosphere....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wine and service. Looking fo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food, wine and service. Looking forward to dining in the new wine cellar.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool place and decent food. My wife ord ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Cool place and decent food. My wife ordered the Veal Parmesan, which was a very nice portion size. I ordered the carbanara, which was very tasty but only about 4 bites. It was definitely an appetizer portion and you will be hungry after eating it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints as a lunch spot during ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Never disappoints as a lunch spot during the work week!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like the ambience of the whole restauran ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Like the ambience of the whole restaurant. Food was very good service was fine the noise level in that back room was just way too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent service and Dinner which is wh ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent service and Dinner which is why we always choose Vallozzi's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for an event in the newly opened wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Came for an event in the newly opened wine cellar. It's a really great space and would make a perfect spot for holiday party. I'd love to think of it as a nice date place, but the larger tables wouldn't allow for as much privacy. Could still be fun though. Only complaint is how cold it was down there. I was pretty much freezing the whole time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service was good. Meals came very fast. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Service was good. Meals came very fast. Good experience overall. One note was that the noise level was pretty high for a lunch. We were in the back area (no windows) and that appears to amplify the sound. Normal conversation was drowned out.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dinner started out strong; great appts, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Dinner started out strong; great appts, wine and service. Went down hill from there. Staff appeared more concerned with making the first dinner turn vs. servicing tables. All four entrees were cold. Manager was told and appeared non-interested in the feedback. Would not go back nor recommend any of my hotel guest to go there.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Vallozzi's was a fair Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Vallozzi's was a fair Italian restaurant with a decent menu. We both enjoyed the entrees we ordered, however the arancini appetizer was the best of the lot. As vegetarians, it would be nice to see a few dedicated, meat-less items with more thought than simple cheese ravioli.

The ambiance of the restaurant was great; the bar area actually looked more inviting than the main dining room. Our server was nice, but not personable; she didn't make our experience a memorable one.

All in all, we're satisfied with our meals as they were quality, however the menu and service it were lacking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The server tried to take care of us, but ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The server tried to take care of us, but the kitchen was slow. My portion was huge. Twice as much as a normal person should eat. Just not finely prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The crab cakes are excellent and the ser ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The crab cakes are excellent and the service is great! Excellent wine list also! One of our favorite spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant is vastly over-rated. The ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The restaurant is vastly over-rated. The bar area is interesting and probably a better place to eat than the main dining room. We arrived 20 minutes early and were asked to take a seat at the bar until our table was ready. It was our anniversary and I noted this on our reservation, asking for a nice table if available.

I used the men's room, which required me to pass through the dining area. I noted several open tables in a room where tables are spaced apart barely enough for a person to pass through to take a seat.

Much to my dismay, when we were finally seated, we were taken to one of the tables that was open when we first arrived. The acoustics in the dining area are absolutely horrible, made worse by the fact that tables are so close to one another.

Our server seemed to not have a clue and was average at best. The menu is interesting, but the entrees do not live up to expectations. I ordered the braised beef ravioli and my wife the veal parm. Her veal was far too thick and the sauce average. My entree was just OK as well. It was fairly bland.

We asked the couple seated next to us what they thought of their meal and they had the same opinion.

Considering the many dining options available in the city, I can not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was very good with a nice menu sele ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food was very good with a nice menu selection. Business was brisk so service could have been better but they were very accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food quality was major disappointment. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food quality was major disappointment. $32 for pasta is ridiculous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was excellant. Large menu selectio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was excellant. Large menu selection. Staff, friendly and courteous. Did not rush us, enjoyable experience all around. Only negative was the noise level. A little noisier than I would have like, but not terribly bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere, very nice menu. The me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Nice atmosphere, very nice menu. The menu includes Italian favorites and standards, but also a significant number of modern, interesting dishes, so a nice combination of classic Italian and contemporary cuisine.

Wine list is very heavy on Italians, which is great, and waitstaff is knowledgeable. Staff is also very attentive and pleasant.

On a Friday night, the restaurant was about 3.4 full, so busy but still comfortable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very nice authentic high quality Italian ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very nice authentic high quality Italian food. Compared very favorably to my trip to Rome last summer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was exceptional!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Everything was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfectly executed Italian cuisine. Del ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Perfectly executed Italian cuisine. Delicious pasta. Good service. Attractive ambience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Vallozzi's due to their menu opt ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went to Vallozzi's due to their menu options and convenient location to our hotel. Upon arrival, we went to the bar for a specialty cocktail and were not disappointed! Julia, our bartender helped us choose and then proceeded to mix perfect drinks! Our server experience was perhaps one of the best I've ever had. Her name was Jackie and she helped us choose the perfect wine and did a great job explaining the menu. She was attentive at all of the right moments. The timing between each serving was perfect. We started with a meat and cheese platter from the mozzarella bar, followed by a caprese salad. My wife had ravioli and I had the filet mignon. All of the food was perfectly prepared with fresh ingredients and delicious! I don't usually stay for dessert but the night was going so well, we decided to stick around. Again, not disappointed....The bread pudding was to die for! I would recommend this place to anyone and I'm looking forward to coming back next time I'm in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Vallozzi's is a beautiful restaurant and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Vallozzi's is a beautiful restaurant and has an appealing menu/variety of dishes. The food quality is good; however, the responsiveness and service of the wait staff is below average. Food preparation in the kitchen is extremely slow- both for lunch and dinner- mid week and weekends. I am a frequent diner at Vallozzi's; however, after this past experience- waiting over 40 minutes for my entree and mediocre service at best, I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Waited an hour for our food.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Waited an hour for our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

The food was good but could have been h ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was good but could have been hotter. The service was above normal the was nice.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. Several ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Several kinds of bread and ricotta free with your meal which were delicious. I got the ravioli and absolutely loved them. In general I felt the entrees were a bit overpriced. Decor was beautiful but it was extremely loud and hard to carry on a conversation without yelling.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have gone to Vallozzi's be ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My wife and I have gone to Vallozzi's before a number of pre-marathon and running race meals. Great food. Lots of options for drinks. Wait staff friendly and attentive, though not overbearing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service. I was there odor ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Good food and service. I was there odor a business dinner. I will definitely bring my wife back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Reading others reviews here, I must just ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Reading others reviews here, I must just have a different opinion of most. Both myself and my date found the food to be lacking.

The service provided was good, and the dining room provides a nice atmosphere, but the food quality and taste was nowhere up to par.

There are some great Italian restaurants around Pittsburgh, but unfortunately I would not count Vallozzi's among them.

When you take into account that Vallozzi's is charging fairly premium prices for their entrees as well this is doubly disappointing. Maybe we just got there on a bad night, but I would have left disappointed even if the bill was half of what I was charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

My husband and I had reservations for a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My husband and I had reservations for a Friday night. We were seated quickly, but then waited more than 5 minutes for the server to greet us and ask for our drink order. There was also private party going on so they had a curtain separating the party from the rest of the dining room. This would have been fine, however, our table was right next to the opening of the curtain. Every time a guest or server had to enter or exit they had to scoot past our table to open the curtain. It was a huge nuisance. The guests would apologize every time they had to squeeze past our table. Needless to say our entire meal was spent pushing in our chairs and ducking for incoming trays. I would think there would be a better process than the one used. It was a very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

LOVE Vallozzi's. I'm not sure why "Great ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2016

LOVE Vallozzi's. I'm not sure why "Great food" isn't on the list of what you'd recommend a restaurant for??? Vallozzi's has the BEST crab cakes in the city, even though Monterey Bay and Atria's will claim that title. Theirs are also good, but I don't think they're as good as Vallozzi's….or as authentic. And diets be damned, go for the bread pudding for dessert and ask for extra rum/butter/caramel sauce…and a spoon, because you will want ever last bit of that great sauce!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would call this restaurant extremely u ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2016

I would call this restaurant extremely under-rated for Italian cuisine in Pittsburgh. One of my dad's favorites has become one of mine. More traditional Italian décor in the dining room, yet the bar is more hip and casual, great fit for happy hour or some "wine" down time. Recommend the more Italian dish of veal parmesan or delicious scallops (if you're more in the mood for less traditional)- never disappointed by anything on the menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.