About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30AM-10PM
Friday/Saturday: 11:30AM-11PM
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Groups (24)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Authentic (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Romantic (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fun (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There was an awful smell in the building ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

There was an awful smell in the building when we entered and that permeated through your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We both had the special of pasta soaked ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

We both had the special of pasta soaked in wine with shrimp and cuddle fish. It was fantastic. My wife said the salad was the best that she ever had.

The valet parking was very nice too.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good but way too expensive for Ital ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good but way too expensive for Italian. Paid 38 for Risotto with no Salad included and another 10 for Salad. Way too much in total...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic dinner. Wine list, and server' ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fantastic dinner. Wine list, and server's knowledge about that list, amazing! Would go back every time I am in town!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have eaten here a number of times. Toni ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Have eaten here a number of times. Tonight was disappointing, especially considering we had out of town guests join us. 1) it was 14 degrees outside and they couldn't keep the front door closed and there was no vestibule so the cold air was blowing in straight back to our table. 2) one of my guests got the same exact entree as me but you would have guessed I had ordered from the children's menu because my portion was literally half the size. I finished mine still hungry while my guest had to get a doggie bag for his leftovers. Our server did a very nice job but between our party and the others seated nearby, with all the complaining about the cold air, you would have thought a manager would have come over to apologize or they would have given us dessert or free coffee after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Unfortunately, exterior door malfunction ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Unfortunately, exterior door malfunctioned on a 5 degree evening. Artic air blasted through much of the meal. The hosts were too busy with coat check, etc to adequately deal with it. I personally got up 3 times and shut the door, from a table across the room! Unfortunate waitress apologized (two large unhappy tables in our area), but mgt ineffectual, acted like if he didn't acknowledge we wouldn't notice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Delicious pasta and a great atmosphere f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Delicious pasta and a great atmosphere for a business lunch

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant was recommended by family ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The restaurant was recommended by family and we gave it a try,

The service was great. It was friendly, helpful and professional.

The food we ate were of top quality and served beautifully and at the correct temperature.

Beverages were great.

Great location and great ambiance

We will return soon.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful grilled octopus ! Crab cakes ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

wonderful grilled octopus ! Crab cakes were yummy too

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was outstanding. Excellent wait ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was outstanding. Excellent waitress.

The food was top notch. Would dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beet and squash salad was horrible and w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Beet and squash salad was horrible and we LOVE salad.

Reservation time and special request was dismissed. We were told our table was given away "because we were late". Fortunately, we had the name of the person we spoke with and time we made the adjustments. Hostess was then accommodating. Meal was marginal for the cost. We'd been there 4 other times and with all the great places to dine in Pittsburgh we were disappointed. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great food, ridiculously slow service. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food, ridiculously slow service. One hour and forty-five minutes for a party of five -- with no appetizers and no deserts. Holy moly! Worth going, just plan on a really slow experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Great and friendly service. Food was ver ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great and friendly service. Food was very, very good. Noting to complain about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a drunk at the bar after and anot ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a drunk at the bar after and another good experience - knowledgeable and great bartenders, and an excellent choice of Amari

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While shopping for Christmas made a rese ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

While shopping for Christmas made a reservation for lunch at Vallozzi's. Although a little expensive for lunch the food was excellent and the service could not have been better. Have visited here one other time for dinner and was not disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service, took an hour to get served ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Slow service, took an hour to get served even tho restaurant was half full, with no apology or acknowledgement. . Arancini was tasty. Everything else was mediocre. Papparelle dish unddrseasoned. Spaghetti with marinara over cooked (!!!) and sauce was watery, ragu underwhelming. Overall disappointing for a restaurant at this price level. Decor very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We only come here once a year but the fo ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We only come here once a year but the food and service is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful holiday dinner. The food - esp ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful holiday dinner. The food - especially the arancini, risotto, salmon, and grilled octopus - were outstanding. Lovely decor and excellent service (attentive without being intrusive).

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite. It feels like home. ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Always a favorite. It feels like home. The staff is very accommodating and attentive. I would come here every day if I wanted to weigh 800 lbs... The food is always very good and the options allow for a variety of tastes. I would, and do, recommend Vallozzi's to anyone.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok, not the greatest. Has slipp ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was ok, not the greatest. Has slipped over the last few years.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food very good. Somm decanted our wine b ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food very good. Somm decanted our wine but inexplicably took the bottle with him instead of leaving it on the table. The sound level was a bit ridiculously loud- had to shout to be heard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was out of this world! Ate so much ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was out of this world! Ate so much of the antipasta and mozzarella bar, we didn't have room for the delicious entrees! Service was impeccable, from the moment we walked in to the time we stepped out the door. Would recommend this to anybody. Not cheap, but definitely worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First class food and relaxing afternoon. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First class food and relaxing afternoon. Definitely recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. However our ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. However our table was located on the edge of the dining room and every time the outside door opened, it became cold enough that we thought we were eating outside

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We felt welcome by the staff at Vallozzi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We felt welcome by the staff at Vallozzi's. After a couple relaxing per-dinner drinks at the bar we were seated in the main dinning room. Our server was prompt and offered great menu explanations and recommendations. Following the recommendations of other dinner's we started with the ARANCINI, oh my wonderfully different and so delicious. also enjoyed the soup of the day a beef strew, very delicious and tasteful. I enjoyed the PAPPARDELLE BOLOGNESE and I would have never imagined having a pork dish that would just melt with every bite. For the Mrs, the shrimp and scallop risotto, cooked perfectly and full of flavor. We both were impressed with our portion sizes. We will definitely be headed back to Vallozzi's, their menu is full of wonder.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, , Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I am a repeat customer to Vallozzi's hav ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I am a repeat customer to Vallozzi's having gone there prior to attending shows in Pittsburgh. They never disappoint: the service, atmosphere, and quality of the food make it a wonderful experience no matter what the occasion. The prices were reasonable and the menu had a nice variety of items. I definitely recommend it!

Tags: , Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OUTSTANDING and the service SPO ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was OUTSTANDING and the service SPOT ON.

Perfect for a business lunch.

Looking forward to returning!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a great restaurant. Consistency ev ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Truly a great restaurant. Consistency every time. You will not be disappointed with the menu, the service, the atmosphere, and the quality.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service. Very good at ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very good food and service. Very good atmosphere. Only negative was close seating arrangements with other tables. Seemed like wait staff had to squeeze between our table and those beside when serving.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was delicious but it was so noisy i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was delicious but it was so noisy in there it was very difficult to hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great Italian food. Service is quick an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great Italian food. Service is quick and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a larger group of clients in from ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had a larger group of clients in from across the country and needed a spot for dinner. The service, food and overall experience was perfect. Thank you.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent experience! We had a table of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent experience! We had a table of 8 and everyone loved their meal! The wine was fantastic as well! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First of all, I LOVE Vallozzi's...the fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First of all, I LOVE Vallozzi's...the food is excellent. It's one of my favorite Pgh restaurants. Having said that, I was disappointed that the crab cakes (I think the BEST in the city, no matter what anyone claims!), which used to be served on a fabulous asiago cheese corn (which gave it just the right texture and sweetness) was now served on a squash puree, with a squash and kale salad. I was so disappointed it I didn't order it. And then the beet salad I liked, had also changed....and again served with squash...and I just couldn't imagine the textures of beets and squash...so didn't order that either. I IMPLORE Vallozzi's to change that crab cake back! OK..so I (begrudgingly and unhappily) had to order something else. I ordered the Parma salad, although I didn't seem to find any crispy prosciutto in it, and the Orecchietti which was really fabulous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was my 1st time here....I don't kno ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This was my 1st time here....I don't know why. It's great! The staff is great! They have room for larger parties

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The wine serving was only about 4 ounces ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The wine serving was only about 4 ounces. It was $10 and so tiny that I refuse to order any more wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

We really enjoyed our visit. We liked th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our visit. We liked the atmosphere and the food tasted great. Only issue is that some of our food was just warm and should have been hot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

really enjoyed the pasta Bolognese----- ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

really enjoyed the pasta Bolognese------------------------------

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Proximity of tables challenges discussio ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Proximity of tables challenges discussion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

very enjoyable..love the gnocci...great ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 13, 2016

very enjoyable..love the gnocci...great atmosphere....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.