About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30AM-10PM
Friday/Saturday: 11:30AM-11PM
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (42)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Romantic (20)
Great for Lunch (12)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Vallozzi's has the best Italian cuisine ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Vallozzi's has the best Italian cuisine I have had. The service was excellent, the waitresses and waiters were very cordial. I definitely will be gong back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and relaxing dining experienc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and relaxing dining experience. Perfect spot for lunch or dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food, service and décor was all wonderfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

food, service and décor was all wonderful. Thoroughly enjoyed

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome. Everyone had delicious ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was awesome. Everyone had delicious, eclectic entrees and the appetizer was fabulous also. Service was the worst I've had in quite some time. Waitress was not friendly, seemed like she would rather be doing anything else than waiting our table. Actually took plates away and I had to flag her down to ask for another drink. Never once said is there anything I can get you guys? Had to ask hostess who was setting up table next to us to get her so we could have water refilled. Service can make or break a dining experience and in this case it broke our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Slow service and loud, but amazing mozza ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Slow service and loud, but amazing mozzarella!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great Saturday lunch experience

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great Saturday lunch experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent server - she was ver ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had an excellent server - she was very knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients in any preparations we asked about. She was also very personable and efficient. Food was very good. I ordered a house Daiquiri - it was the old-fashioned kind, shaken and served in an "up" glass, not a goofy "frozen" daiquiri. Caesar's Salad very good: dressing was creamy and garlicky, and I loved the soft fried egg served on top. Orichetti Pasta with Chicken Sausage was very flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food that goes beyond typical red ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food that goes beyond typical red sauce place. Excellent service and food prep, This place made our last night in Pitt memorable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lamb was poor but other parts of our ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The lamb was poor but other parts of our meal were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We were seated early for our reservation ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were seated early for our reservation. Our server was very attentive, and made a specially requested appetizer exactly as we wanted. We had a perfect wine pairing for our meal. And coffee and dessert was spectacular!! We will return!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

vip
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Horrible experience. Unfriendly service ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Horrible experience. Unfriendly service - our server kept saying that the restaurant will be closing soon and made us feel very unwelcome (we arrived at the exact time for when the reservations were made - 8:30pm). Horrible tasting water, wine served in water glasses, asked for bread and the server said she will have to check if they had any left (!)... They did. All servers looked unhappy to be there. Food was bland and overpriced. The staff kept moving chairs and rearranging the tables while the guests were dining. They also seemed to be arguing about shifts and breaks. Who runs a restaurant like this?? I would have replaced half of the staff to start with! The only good things I found: excellent wine selection and a fresh Caprese salad. But all negated by bad service and blandness of all the other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We had 10 people at our table. We could ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had 10 people at our table. We could talk and hear each other. That is so rare these days. I love a restaurant where I can hear my friends. The service and food were excellent - top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional salads and very good Italian ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Exceptional salads and very good Italian cuisine with a nice variety of menu options. Our waitress was excellent and everyone in our party was quite pleased with their dinner choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

beautiful as soon as you walk in the pl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

beautiful as soon as you walk in the place

service was very good and friendly great place

enjoy dinner would be back in a minute menu was great

I had the crab mannacutte my friend had the pork chop both dishes were great

love this place

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My new favorite Italian spot!!!! The moz ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My new favorite Italian spot!!!! The mozzarella bar was awesome. Loved the bar area with the instrumental music. Great happy hour. The best calamari ever! Def will be back.....already booked a freind's work baby shower there in a couple months !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food, good service, good ambiance. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Good food, good service, good ambiance. A bit pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely setting & good food. Staff was fr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lovely setting & good food. Staff was friendly. Great place to talk.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very well prepared and deli ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was very well prepared and delicious. We enjoyed the prix fixe with the wine pairing. My two preteen boys enjoyed their pasta dishes from the menu. I noticed some reviewers had issues with service but the night we visited no issues. Our sever was attentive and nice she even made it work for us to be able to order an appetizer We had seen go by to a private event thAt was not on

menu. However it is super annoying how loud this restaurant is. They care about good wine and fresh food so it's crazy to me they don't put in noise reduction padding or what have you. Had to strain for conversation with person right next to you and to hear waitress. So while I would go back bc I liked the food don't plan on enjoying much dinner conversation with your party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The staff was very attentive to our soec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The staff was very attentive to our soecial requests and made every effort to provide personal service and attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was convenient to our hot ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The restaurant was convenient to our hotel, and also to PNC Park, as we attended a Pittsburgh Pirate baseball game that evening. Our waitress was wonderful: polite, gracious, and very pleasant. Food was average, and our table was against a wall, which cut down on the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was really good. I like when I go t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was really good. I like when I go to an Italian place and it's not your typical (sausage and peppers, zucchini, etc). The oysters were great and the fish special was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The noise level is not suitable for a bu ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The noise level is not suitable for a business lunch. The food was good but over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We went here for our anniversary dinner ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner to try somewhere we've never been. The food was great, no doubt the best veal I've ever had and my husband enjoyed the crab cakes. The issue was that we sat at a small two seater table next to two other couples. It was hard to hear each other speak and being so close to the other couples made the atmosphere lose the romantic aspect- we were pretty much in their conversation and vice versa. While our waitress was very nice it seemed like she had a lot of tables since it took so long to get drinks each time. Nice place, just not sure if we d return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This place has been on my "lifetime ban" ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This place has been on my "lifetime ban" list due to poor service. I violated the ban specifically in order to try an appetizer that I was interested in, but when I went there, I was (incorrectly) told that it was unavailable.

I will never go back, not even for free food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

At first our waiter seemed perturbed whe ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

At first our waiter seemed perturbed when we asked him questions about the menu, and he left us without anything to drink for a long time. He was ok by the end of the dinner. The food was great. Would probably try another downtown restaurant before we go back again. Given enough time we might try it again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Vallozzi's has a great menu and the qual ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Vallozzi's has a great menu and the quality of food to back it up ! We have never been disappointed and always find a new dish to try. The staff is energetic and friendly and

always helpful. We look forward to returning for another enjoyable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was TERRIBLE. Our waitress ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our service was TERRIBLE. Our waitress seemed to also be working a private party. But no one helped her out. We not only had to wait to order but didn't even have bread on our table for over 30 minutes after being seated. She took forever to come back to see if we wanted another round of cocktails, we did. Then it took a long time to get them. The table next to us had a different server, they came over 30 minutes after us, had apps, main and dessert like us, but left before we did. Also, the peach dessert was terrible. The first bite had a peach that was not only uncooked but unripe. The server did take this off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

First time at this restaurant and was ex ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First time at this restaurant and was extremely happy with the service also the food was incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have had great experiences at Vallozzi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have had great experiences at Vallozzi's before, but this time was a disappointment. The noise level was so high that I could not carry on a conversation with my wife. The service was poor. We were ignored for long periods of time. At no time were we made to feel welcome. At least the food was good. Overall, I regret that I chose this restaurant to celebrate my anniversary.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I've been to the bar numerous times for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I've been to the bar numerous times for cocktails and small plates and really enjoyed it. I thought it would be a good place to have dinner prior to a show. As it was a Friday evening I allotted plenty of time knowing that it would be busy. It took us about 15 minutes for a waiter to approach our table for just drinks. It took another 15 minutes to get a wine menu and it just went downhill from there. I was truly disappointed in the food. The portions were fine but it was just sub-par. There are too many places in Pittsburgh to choose from to just settle for ok. Vallozzi's will not be on my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food is a little pricey. Portions are ve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food is a little pricey. Portions are very small. Willing to pay but shouldn't be hungry when you leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food is very good, but portions are ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is very good, but portions are very small. Also, the dining room is very noisy and you're literally sitting on top of each other. You can hear the conversations going on next to you, because you are seated so close to other tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Went for an early dinner, day before Fat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for an early dinner, day before Father's Day. I had been there several times before, always with a business group, the other diners had not. First glance at the menu said to me that the restaurant was overpriced; essentially, everything is a la carte. Salads and starters are at the upper end of range in terms of price, salads were pretty tasty. Veal parmigian was ok, the amount of pasta with it only filled a small hand. Orichette with chicken was decent, portion adequate. Lobster ravioli was terrible; was ordered minus the spicy arrabiata sauce, and even then, you couldn't taste any lobster - it was returned to the kitchen. Ironically, a diner at the next table ordered the same thing, didn't eat one quarter of it. Deserts were OK. Just didn't catch a vibe of "good" dining here. $80 per person, all in, with only one drink per person and a 20% gratuity. With all the good Italian restaurants in Pittsburgh, I would not recommend; if in town, try Lidias, if in the suburbs, choices are many.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Much better than expected! Food and serv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Much better than expected! Food and service both exceeded expectations. Atmosphere very friendly and relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious Italian food in a beautiful se ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious Italian food in a beautiful setting. The location is a short walk from the major theatres and we felt safe on our way. Upon entering you are in a lovey space greeted by a friendly face. We were taken to our seats immediately and the dining area is decorated beautifully. The drink and wine menu are interesting and everything on the food menu sounded delicious! The mozzarella was top notch as was the lobster bisque. The seafood in my risotto was delicious but I am not sure I would reorder. The filet was large and the sauce incredible. Best bread pudding I've ever had for dessert but the tiramisu was average. Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were very good. The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and service were very good. The local downtown Pittsburgh scene is fun.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent selections and service was fir ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent selections and service was first rate. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great mozzarella bar and pastas. Very ni ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great mozzarella bar and pastas. Very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great meal. Porkchops with spicy peppers ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great meal. Porkchops with spicy peppers were delicious , grilled to perfection and tender

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.