About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30AM-10PM
Friday/Saturday: 11:30AM-11PM
Closed Sunday

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Notable Wine List (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
848 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went to Vallozzi's due to their menu opt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went to Vallozzi's due to their menu options and convenient location to our hotel. Upon arrival, we went to the bar for a specialty cocktail and were not disappointed! Julia, our bartender helped us choose and then proceeded to mix perfect drinks! Our server experience was perhaps one of the best I've ever had. Her name was Jackie and she helped us choose the perfect wine and did a great job explaining the menu. She was attentive at all of the right moments. The timing between each serving was perfect. We started with a meat and cheese platter from the mozzarella bar, followed by a caprese salad. My wife had ravioli and I had the filet mignon. All of the food was perfectly prepared with fresh ingredients and delicious! I don't usually stay for dessert but the night was going so well, we decided to stick around. Again, not disappointed....The bread pudding was to die for! I would recommend this place to anyone and I'm looking forward to coming back next time I'm in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Vallozzi's is a beautiful restaurant and ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Vallozzi's is a beautiful restaurant and has an appealing menu/variety of dishes. The food quality is good; however, the responsiveness and service of the wait staff is below average. Food preparation in the kitchen is extremely slow- both for lunch and dinner- mid week and weekends. I am a frequent diner at Vallozzi's; however, after this past experience- waiting over 40 minutes for my entree and mediocre service at best, I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was good but could have been h ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good but could have been hotter. The service was above normal the was nice.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. Several ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service were excellent. Several kinds of bread and ricotta free with your meal which were delicious. I got the ravioli and absolutely loved them. In general I felt the entrees were a bit overpriced. Decor was beautiful but it was extremely loud and hard to carry on a conversation without yelling.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have gone to Vallozzi's be ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I have gone to Vallozzi's before a number of pre-marathon and running race meals. Great food. Lots of options for drinks. Wait staff friendly and attentive, though not overbearing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service. I was there odor ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Good food and service. I was there odor a business dinner. I will definitely bring my wife back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Reading others reviews here, I must just ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Reading others reviews here, I must just have a different opinion of most. Both myself and my date found the food to be lacking.

The service provided was good, and the dining room provides a nice atmosphere, but the food quality and taste was nowhere up to par.

There are some great Italian restaurants around Pittsburgh, but unfortunately I would not count Vallozzi's among them.

When you take into account that Vallozzi's is charging fairly premium prices for their entrees as well this is doubly disappointing. Maybe we just got there on a bad night, but I would have left disappointed even if the bill was half of what I was charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

My husband and I had reservations for a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

My husband and I had reservations for a Friday night. We were seated quickly, but then waited more than 5 minutes for the server to greet us and ask for our drink order. There was also private party going on so they had a curtain separating the party from the rest of the dining room. This would have been fine, however, our table was right next to the opening of the curtain. Every time a guest or server had to enter or exit they had to scoot past our table to open the curtain. It was a huge nuisance. The guests would apologize every time they had to squeeze past our table. Needless to say our entire meal was spent pushing in our chairs and ducking for incoming trays. I would think there would be a better process than the one used. It was a very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

LOVE Vallozzi's. I'm not sure why "Great ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

LOVE Vallozzi's. I'm not sure why "Great food" isn't on the list of what you'd recommend a restaurant for??? Vallozzi's has the BEST crab cakes in the city, even though Monterey Bay and Atria's will claim that title. Theirs are also good, but I don't think they're as good as Vallozzi's….or as authentic. And diets be damned, go for the bread pudding for dessert and ask for extra rum/butter/caramel sauce…and a spoon, because you will want ever last bit of that great sauce!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would call this restaurant extremely u ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I would call this restaurant extremely under-rated for Italian cuisine in Pittsburgh. One of my dad's favorites has become one of mine. More traditional Italian décor in the dining room, yet the bar is more hip and casual, great fit for happy hour or some "wine" down time. Recommend the more Italian dish of veal parmesan or delicious scallops (if you're more in the mood for less traditional)- never disappointed by anything on the menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a good meal. Never disappointed i ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always a good meal. Never disappointed in food or service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fine, except for the sala ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Everything was fine, except for the salad dressing options. We had two different salads at our table, both asked for extra dressing on the side. All we were given was a very strong lemon vinaigrette. We asked for something else (ranch? balsamic? give me anything) but were told that was the only option. What? Gross. Service was fine, food was fine (aside from the dressing issue). There was construction happening three feet from our table at 12:30 on a weekday (that can't wait?....). Overall, not my favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh, but will probably return at some point out of convenience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Vallozzi's has the best Italian cuisine ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Vallozzi's has the best Italian cuisine I have had. The service was excellent, the waitresses and waiters were very cordial. I definitely will be gong back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and relaxing dining experienc ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food and relaxing dining experience. Perfect spot for lunch or dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food, service and décor was all wonderfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

food, service and décor was all wonderful. Thoroughly enjoyed

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome. Everyone had delicious ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was awesome. Everyone had delicious, eclectic entrees and the appetizer was fabulous also. Service was the worst I've had in quite some time. Waitress was not friendly, seemed like she would rather be doing anything else than waiting our table. Actually took plates away and I had to flag her down to ask for another drink. Never once said is there anything I can get you guys? Had to ask hostess who was setting up table next to us to get her so we could have water refilled. Service can make or break a dining experience and in this case it broke our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Slow service and loud, but amazing mozza ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Slow service and loud, but amazing mozzarella!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great Saturday lunch experience

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great Saturday lunch experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent server - she was ver ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had an excellent server - she was very knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients in any preparations we asked about. She was also very personable and efficient. Food was very good. I ordered a house Daiquiri - it was the old-fashioned kind, shaken and served in an "up" glass, not a goofy "frozen" daiquiri. Caesar's Salad very good: dressing was creamy and garlicky, and I loved the soft fried egg served on top. Orichetti Pasta with Chicken Sausage was very flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food that goes beyond typical red ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food that goes beyond typical red sauce place. Excellent service and food prep, This place made our last night in Pitt memorable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lamb was poor but other parts of our ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The lamb was poor but other parts of our meal were good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We were seated early for our reservation ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were seated early for our reservation. Our server was very attentive, and made a specially requested appetizer exactly as we wanted. We had a perfect wine pairing for our meal. And coffee and dessert was spectacular!! We will return!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Horrible experience. Unfriendly service ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Horrible experience. Unfriendly service - our server kept saying that the restaurant will be closing soon and made us feel very unwelcome (we arrived at the exact time for when the reservations were made - 8:30pm). Horrible tasting water, wine served in water glasses, asked for bread and the server said she will have to check if they had any left (!)... They did. All servers looked unhappy to be there. Food was bland and overpriced. The staff kept moving chairs and rearranging the tables while the guests were dining. They also seemed to be arguing about shifts and breaks. Who runs a restaurant like this?? I would have replaced half of the staff to start with! The only good things I found: excellent wine selection and a fresh Caprese salad. But all negated by bad service and blandness of all the other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

We had 10 people at our table. We could ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had 10 people at our table. We could talk and hear each other. That is so rare these days. I love a restaurant where I can hear my friends. The service and food were excellent - top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional salads and very good Italian ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Exceptional salads and very good Italian cuisine with a nice variety of menu options. Our waitress was excellent and everyone in our party was quite pleased with their dinner choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

beautiful as soon as you walk in the pl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

beautiful as soon as you walk in the place

service was very good and friendly great place

enjoy dinner would be back in a minute menu was great

I had the crab mannacutte my friend had the pork chop both dishes were great

love this place

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My new favorite Italian spot!!!! The moz ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My new favorite Italian spot!!!! The mozzarella bar was awesome. Loved the bar area with the instrumental music. Great happy hour. The best calamari ever! Def will be back.....already booked a freind's work baby shower there in a couple months !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food, good service, good ambiance. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Good food, good service, good ambiance. A bit pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely setting & good food. Staff was fr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lovely setting & good food. Staff was friendly. Great place to talk.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very well prepared and deli ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was very well prepared and delicious. We enjoyed the prix fixe with the wine pairing. My two preteen boys enjoyed their pasta dishes from the menu. I noticed some reviewers had issues with service but the night we visited no issues. Our sever was attentive and nice she even made it work for us to be able to order an appetizer We had seen go by to a private event thAt was not on

menu. However it is super annoying how loud this restaurant is. They care about good wine and fresh food so it's crazy to me they don't put in noise reduction padding or what have you. Had to strain for conversation with person right next to you and to hear waitress. So while I would go back bc I liked the food don't plan on enjoying much dinner conversation with your party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The staff was very attentive to our soec ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The staff was very attentive to our soecial requests and made every effort to provide personal service and attention.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was convenient to our hot ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The restaurant was convenient to our hotel, and also to PNC Park, as we attended a Pittsburgh Pirate baseball game that evening. Our waitress was wonderful: polite, gracious, and very pleasant. Food was average, and our table was against a wall, which cut down on the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was really good. I like when I go t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was really good. I like when I go to an Italian place and it's not your typical (sausage and peppers, zucchini, etc). The oysters were great and the fish special was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The noise level is not suitable for a bu ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The noise level is not suitable for a business lunch. The food was good but over-priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We went here for our anniversary dinner ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner to try somewhere we've never been. The food was great, no doubt the best veal I've ever had and my husband enjoyed the crab cakes. The issue was that we sat at a small two seater table next to two other couples. It was hard to hear each other speak and being so close to the other couples made the atmosphere lose the romantic aspect- we were pretty much in their conversation and vice versa. While our waitress was very nice it seemed like she had a lot of tables since it took so long to get drinks each time. Nice place, just not sure if we d return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This place has been on my "lifetime ban" ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This place has been on my "lifetime ban" list due to poor service. I violated the ban specifically in order to try an appetizer that I was interested in, but when I went there, I was (incorrectly) told that it was unavailable.

I will never go back, not even for free food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

At first our waiter seemed perturbed whe ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

At first our waiter seemed perturbed when we asked him questions about the menu, and he left us without anything to drink for a long time. He was ok by the end of the dinner. The food was great. Would probably try another downtown restaurant before we go back again. Given enough time we might try it again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Vallozzi's has a great menu and the qual ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Vallozzi's has a great menu and the quality of food to back it up ! We have never been disappointed and always find a new dish to try. The staff is energetic and friendly and

always helpful. We look forward to returning for another enjoyable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was TERRIBLE. Our waitress ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our service was TERRIBLE. Our waitress seemed to also be working a private party. But no one helped her out. We not only had to wait to order but didn't even have bread on our table for over 30 minutes after being seated. She took forever to come back to see if we wanted another round of cocktails, we did. Then it took a long time to get them. The table next to us had a different server, they came over 30 minutes after us, had apps, main and dessert like us, but left before we did. Also, the peach dessert was terrible. The first bite had a peach that was not only uncooked but unripe. The server did take this off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.