About Vallozzi's Pittsburgh

220 Fifth Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Family owned and operated for over 50 years, following in the footsteps of Vallozzi's Classic Restaurant in Greensburg, PA. We use fresh, quality ingredients, as well as Italian meats cheeses flown in from Italy every week. Our wine list is extensive, with many wines available by the glass and by the bottle. We can host your intimate date, family dinner, business meetings, or larger parties in our banquet room. Or come enjoy a specially made cocktail in our bar area and a small bite.

Vallozzi's started over 50 years ago when Helen Vallozzi was selling homemade pastas out of her home. Helen opened a take out restaurant in Latrobe, PA a few years later where her popularity exploded. In 1977, Ernie Vallozzi moved his mothers location to Greensburg where it is still open and operating today. In 2012 Ernie's son Julian expanded the tradition in to downtown Pittsburgh.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday 11AM to 5PM
Dinner: Monday-Friday 5PM-10PM
Dinner: Saturday 4PM-11PM

Cross Street:
McMasters Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 394-3400

Website:
http://www.vallozzispittsburgh.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Valet parking is $7 and begins at 5PM

Executive Chef:
Josiah Henry

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Vallozzi's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Pittsburgh
Notable Wine List
Pittsburgh
Italian
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (79)
fit for foodies (58)
good for groups (46)
See All
romantic (42)
notable wine list (39)
great for lunch (26)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
795 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Very Disappointing

Dined 5 days ago

The experience at Vallozzi's was quite disappointing. I've had much better Italian food in small towns of Pittsburgh for less cost. This was my first visit to this restaurant and it was way below my expectations. The salad that I ordered cost $8 and was supposed to contain prosciutto but there was none. The lettuce was chopped very small and the dressing was bland. I ordered the veal parmigiana for $32 that was to include pasta. I expected a larger portion than what was delivered considering the high price. They topped the veal parmigiana with a tablespoon of pasta instead of serving it on the side. I will never dine in this restaurant again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined 7 days ago

Working dinner for 5 business colleagues. Knowledgeable, attentive, friendly, and timely service. Exceptional food and beverage. Portion size just right; filled but not stuffed. Well worth the price.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vallozzi's on 5th never disappoints. Sal ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Vallozzi's on 5th never disappoints. Salumi plate at bar had nice selection. Shared appetizers from Mozzarella bar for dinner were exquisite. Mains were excellent; Ossobuco and Lobster Risotto. Righetti Amarone to accompany the meal was silky, rich and a perfect match. We lingered well beyond closing with business discussions and no-one disturbed us. We managed to close the place. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. Crab cakes fan ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Everything was excellent. Crab cakes fantastic

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Interesting dinner. Food was good excep ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Interesting dinner. Food was good except for the following. Soft shell crab appetizer was so heavily breaded that the crab taste was lost. Veal marsala was very tasty and hot in the center of the plate but just warm away from the center (how do they do that?). We had to ask for bread and as soon as the salad course was done, she took away the bread and plates, even though there was half eaten bread on the plate. Seems to be the new trend that servers are trained to take away the bread (to make room on the table?), as soon as the salads are done.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Our first time here...it was excellent. We'll be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate my d ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate my daughter's graduation. The food was great, and our server, Joyce was able to make excellent recommendations for wine choices. A very enjoyable experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Our Favorite Downtown Restaurants

Dined on May 6, 2016

As usual, the food was fantastic, service impeccable and friendly, just two of the many reasons we choose this restaurant before our theater performances.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An Extraordinary Culinary Delight

Dined on May 4, 2016

This was our first time visit to this well established restaurant. Our server was prompt, personable and extremely helpful. My wife ordered the crab cakes...and she is still raving about them. We have traveled extensively on both coasts, and she insists that Vallozzi's crab cakes were the finest she has ever eaten. We have a new favorite eatery when we are in town. A wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Outstanding

Dined on April 29, 2016

We held my Mother's 95th birthday dinner at Vallozzi's on April 29, 2016. We were a party of seven and everything from the location of our table (At our request, we were seated in an alcove that provided a quieter, more intimate setting.) to the service and the absolutely delicious meals was perfect. Everyone was so polite and helpful...even the valet parking service! We will be a regular customer at Vallozzi's. What a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Just OK

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have eaten here before and loved it. But our experience last week was nothing special. The server seemed bored with us and never asked if we were timing our dining to be out for the theatre. The food was very good but nothing over the top. They have taken the lobster lasagna off the menu. Overall, just a nice evening but nothing special.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Downtown Dining

Dined on April 25, 2016

I am in town for about two weeks, and I love trying places I haven't eaten yet that may be new since I moved away. I chose this restaurant for my aunt and I to have dinner. She had eaten here before and said it was very good! We both got the same meal which was the short rib ravioli and parma salad. Both of these items were quite tasty! I will for sure be back to dine here when in town again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Favorite

Dined on April 23, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants to eat at in Pittsburgh. Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Time

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful end to a great day. Great food, great service, and a wonderful experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service & food

Dined on April 22, 2016

We recently dined at Valozzi's before a show at Heinz Hall. The restaurant was quiet, clean, and simply pretty. My daughter is a vegetarian, so we asked the waitress, Jackie, for advice on what was good on the menu for vegetarians. She was extremely helpful, not only with pointing out the obvious pasta dish, but also making suggestions of things we could swap out and request. My daughter had the risotto, but substituted MANY vegetables, including brussel sprouts which she loves. We both had the cauliflower bisque-like soup which was very tasty. My halibut was well cooked also. We were already thinking of the bread pudding, and Jackie said it was one of her favorites, so we had that and it was excellent as well. I would definitely recommend visiting Valozzi's.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Italian Food Snob Husband Loved It!

Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I had a date night and wanted to try some place new. I received a 412 email saying how wonderful this restaurant was and so I made reservations. It was wonderful! It had a very extensive wine list and my husband ordered a Barolo which you usually don't find by the glass anywhere. The waitress was very helpful in suggesting meals. My husband reluctantly ordered the Osso Bucco, because no restaurant has ever come close to as good as his Mother's. It was the best he has ever had in a restaurant! The service was truly wonderful and we will definitely go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

We shared 3 great appetizers - meatballs ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We shared 3 great appetizers - meatballs, brussel sprouts and small fried cheese balls. What a great way to start our dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch and dinner spot.

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

The owner is actively involved to make sure the service and food is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service5

Very attentive server, average to good f ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Very attentive server, average to good food, high prices, unlikely to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was really loud during lunch, but eve ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

It was really loud during lunch, but everything was delicious as usual. Love the pick 4 lunch special!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Slightly disappointed

Dined on March 19, 2016

Didn't have the Turtle Bisque that I really love. Otherwise the mozzarella bar choices were excellent, the Risotto was good, and the service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite

Dined on March 18, 2016

This is one of our favorite Pittsburgh restaurant s. Big treat for us to drive from out of state to come favorite city and this is restaurant we keep returning to. Never have been disappointed. Such a great staff and we love the food. So we will keep coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

If Only The Service......

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

We love Valozzi's decor & menu. Our only negative is the service which can often be spotty. This time we sat for longer than we should before being recognized, offered water & having our drink order taken by the servers who were bustling around us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Dissappointed

Dined on March 10, 2016

Scallops were overly salty, I sent them back. Ambiance was nice until the private room doors behind our table slid open. The private room hadn't been heated like the restaurant thus there was a nasty cold breeze chilling us at our cozy table. Disappointing dining experience, and although the waitress offered replacements I was already 'turned off'.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

more attention in the details

Dined on March 5, 2016

I have been here a couple times and had the bucatini with an egg on top twice. It is delicious. The burrata is very creamy. The arancini are excellent as is the grilled calamari. I thought the brussel sprouts could have been more roasted and charred. They were under seasoned and dull. The peppers were served in bowl with too much oil. I prefer them roasted dry with sea salt. Cocktail (Negroni) was ok...too diluted and not enough Campari. But I would return and try some other things. Authentic Italian in a lively setting downtown.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pittsburgh trip

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a delicious dinner. Our server was helpful. I have a food sensitivity and he recommended a few dishes which would work for me. The food was spectacular. The menu is plentiful, with many options to choose from.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was good - service was very good - ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Food was good - service was very good - price was a bit high - for the type of restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks for the help!

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

I scheduled this reservation for my mom's birthday. The staff was so helpful in getting everything setup for her so that we could surprise her and pay for it in advance. We have always heard great things and the cheese/meats are the BEST!!! We look forward to coming back and want to thank the staff again for their assistance.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place

Dined on February 27, 2016

My wife wanted to go to an Italian restaurant and this one came up via a quick google search. It had a lot of good reviews and it was downtown where we wanted to go so we checked it out. Everything about the place was spot on: the staff were very nice and welcoming and on hand when you needed them and unobtrusive when you didn't. The food was great and the price was affordable. We were celebrating my wife's promotion so they gave us a quieter table and complimentary champagne. Great experience all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Dinner Before a Show!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food! Waiter was very helpful. There were 5 of us & we made the show in plenty of time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for 'first time' visitors to the burgh

Dined on February 22, 2016

I made this reservation based on the stars from the website AND the fact that it was close to the cultural district. The food was great, but since the menu changed from what was on the website, I didn't get my anticpated entree, but the filet was fantastic. I recommend it. Be prepared to pay top dollar, but certainly worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

ALways a pleasure

Dined on February 21, 2016

its always a pleasure to have dinner at Vallozzi's. Rarely is there an unsuccessful item on the menu and some of the dishes are outstanding. Service is generally professional and not cloying and the restaurant is reasonably priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good. Would try again.

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant. The ambiance was a little lost. It felt more commercial instead of romantic, which is what I expected. The food was pretty good. The appetizers were great and my husband loved his veal. However, my sea bass left a lot to be desired. It was pretty bland. But over all, not a bad choice. I would go back and try a pasta dish or another item off the menu.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

V Day

Dined on February 20, 2016

Visited while seeing daughter at Pitt. Great spot. Great food and service Eric was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

What great atmosphere, scrumptios menu and a wonderful wait staff from the bartenders to the servers to the Vallet. I would definitely reccommend for a date night, out w/ friends or any old time really.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy lunch spot

Dined on February 19, 2016

Vallozzi's is always very busy for lunch. The food was excellent but go early for lunch because when it is at lunch peak, it is a little slow coming out of the kitchen.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The Veal Osso Buco melted in my mouth; i ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

The Veal Osso Buco melted in my mouth; it was spectacular, as we as the Seafood Risotto. Definitely a special occasion place for us as it was quite expensive, but we never mind paying for top shelf food.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service3

The food was brutal. Some meals cold, so ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

The food was brutal. Some meals cold, some overcooked, some undercooked. Extremely disappointing. Given the price for the food, it needs to be perfect. I won't be coming back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place to go if you don't care about diet

Dined on February 15, 2016

So this place is overall good. The ambiance was great. the service was a bit much but it was still really good. They were prompt but our waiter was a bit much. The reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because the food is pretty fatty. It was definitely not healthy but it was delicious. My BF and I ended up just wanting to take a nap. But a satisfying one.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Lobster Bisque very good. Lobster Lasag ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Lobster Bisque very good. Lobster Lasagna was delicious. Crab cakes were good.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.