About Valley Green Inn

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Scenic View
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Great for Brunch
Philadelphia
2 More
Great for Lunch
Philadelphia
Scenic View
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

scenic view (54)
romantic (40)
neighborhood gem (38)
See All
great for outdoor dining (37)
special occasion (35)
great for brunch (33)
great for lunch (30)
fit for foodies (23)
good for groups (12)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (4)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5

For starters, have enough parking. I ha ...

Dined 4 days ago

For starters, have enough parking. I had to park way up the hill because the overflow lot was locked. I called and was told they don't control the parking lots. Well heck- make a relationship with the parks department and assure adequate parking. Food was acceptable, portions on the smaller side and prices on the higher side. Kids meal? Try offering something kids want. And really -12.95 for a kids bowl of pasta! Positives: our party of 7 had a room to ourselves and our server was very nice. She was even going to run over to the snack shop to get our child guest a pretzel (alas sold out). The location is very nice - historic Inn in Fairmount park.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Menu changes not a plus

Dined 6 days ago

We dine at this restaurant times a year and were very disappointed to find many of our favorite options missing from a recent lunch, e.g. the baked brie. Not only were favorites missing but the menu had fewer choices. Only 3 things were offered for dessert choices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Missing menu items and very poor service.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was very inattentive and we had to keep asking the bus person for more drinks and extra menu items. My friend had her half empty wine glass filled with water. The food was so-so and quite overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch on the porch

Dined on May 12, 2016

We ate lunch on the porch on a sunny day with a view of the creek. The service was great and the food delicious. There were several options for me, a vegan. We were just sad that we missed the bear who showed up the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulouse location perfect for outdoor dining.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Very enjoyable all around location to visit. Food was good although they took 3 of my favorite things off the menu. I think the prices were also increased since the new chef started a few weeks ago. Still worth going to especially when you can eat outside.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is a neighborhood treasure. The food is great and the atmosphere is unbeatable. Parking is the only real issue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A Romantic Historic Inn on the Lovely Wissahickon

Dined on April 21, 2016

We love the Wissahickon Creek and for decades have spent many hours running, walking, climbing, and exploring along Forbidden Drive and its offshoot trails. The historic Valley Green Inn has been the perfect venue for many of our family's most special occasions: anniversaries, Easter, 4th of July, and entertaining visitors from around the globe. We love settling around a table on the inn's porch to see friends jog by, to see the wood ducks out for a swim and the Canada geese nesting on the rocks, and, two days ago, a bald eagle swooped by our party to supposedly wish my sister and her husband a happy anniversary. The staff presents a mostly-affordable diverse menu catering to many different dietary needs and hosts have been, for the most part, gracious, efficient, and hospitable. We prefer to eat outside on the porch as the noise level in the tented porch can become deafening.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quaint and Nostalgic

Dined on April 13, 2016

Great location in Fairmount Park on the bridle path along the Wissahickon Creek. Valley Green Inn has lots of history.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and quality worth the reasonable price

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service and quality of the meal were very good for the price including cocktails and wine. the menu was diverse without being too long. Atmosphere was very quaint including a fire in the fire place on a cold wet evening. Will come back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Went to Valley Green Inn for Easter Brunch after a fabulous Thanksgiving dinner there last year. Unfortunately, this meal did not meet the high level of expectation that was set from Thanksgiving. Over 2.5 hours to get our meal and when it was served, each meal was cold. The waitress did not attend to us well at all -- she did not keep up informed about back ups in the kitchen, did not look to replenish our drinks (including water), and left the bread basket empty. We would not have been as disappointed in the wait for our meal had she been attentive and kept us informed. The manager was wonderful -- he was very apologetic and took very good care of us because of the issues we faced. There apparently is a new chef who underestimated Easter at Valley Green Inn. I felt for the manager because I think he spent his entire day putting out too many fires. I appreciate all he did for us! We will definitely return because our Thanksgiving experience was so great and we'll hope for no repeats of Easter. I'm confident our next visit will be great!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Slow but scenic

Dined on March 27, 2016

The restaurant was very busy for Easter brunch. Our waitress lacked finesse and somehow our order was screwed up and we waited one hour for our main course. The manager apologized and gave us a discount. The food was ok but the wait was bad with a two year old!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden treasure

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Very friendly staff. Excellent food, great for "escapes"

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a celebration!

Dined on March 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our brunch, food and service was excellent. We were celebrating two events and the relaxed atmosphere allowed us to enjoy the moment!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on March 13, 2016

A magically delightful gem hidden on the Wissahickon Trail .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

good spot

Dined on March 12, 2016

The outdoor scene is a good attraction. The service was good. the food is really good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Was there for lunch. The food was delici ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Was there for lunch. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. I love the setting. It's a beautiful place.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice place

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The Inn was a little more rustic than I expected (I had the idea that it was "fancy"). But service was friendly and the food was good. We went for Sunday brunch and stayed for quite a while, but they didn't rush us out, which we appreciated!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Brunch at Valley Green Inn was perfect

Dined on February 21, 2016

I took my family (i.e. my partner and two young children, ages 7 and 5 years) for brunch at the Inn on a Sunday morning at 10AM. I am just becoming acquainted with the Philadelphia area, and had hiked a few times on trails at the Wissahickon Valley park with my children, but had not yet stopped in at the inn. The location of the Valley Green Inn is delightful: it is idyllically located at the basin of the forest where several hiking trails meet, and has a beautiful setting where, before or after your meal, you and your children can stroll, feed geese, sit, hike, or run in the forest. The food at the Inn was also lovely: all four adult-size entrees were overall delicious (the sausage and potatoes was a big hit with each of us!); the only complaint was that the walnut maple syrup dressing on the double-cream Brie French toast was far too sweet. The cost of the food was appropriate. Note to parents of rapidly-growing/always-hungry children: the child's plate on the menu will probably suffice to feed your child; I had my doubts so I ordered an adult-size entree for each of my children, but we took most of it home since they were already nearly stuffed after the fruit salad and baked goods were served before the meal! Altogether, it was absolutely lovely, and I would absolutely go again and again :-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Just ok

Dined on February 21, 2016

We've been going here for years, including having our wedding reception there. I don't know why we go back for dinner - the food is better at so many other places. It's a good place to sit on the patio in the spring and fall with a glass of wine and appetizer. The best thing they have to offer is the surroundings.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

President's Day lunch Monday 2/15/16

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The Valley Green Inn never lets me down. Have been coming here since I was 6 years old and that is half a century ago! Food is fabulous, and the ambiance is lovely no matter what season you visit. It was lightly snowing on Monday, and the view from the dining room was gorgeous. I will be back, that is for sure!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Perfect Sunday Brunch Spot

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were able to get a last minute Valentine's Day brunch reservation -- and I am so glad we did! The brunch menu was expansive, and the food was fantastic. Even better was the charming ambiance, including our adorable waitress who "fit the theme" perfectly. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the Gems of Philadelphia Dining

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We always enjoy Valley Green Inn for the combination of good food and terrific surroundings. A beautiful brunch for Valentine's Day...the only disappointment was the freakishly cold weather prevented a after-meal walk. Oh well, next time!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

Have been to Valley Green Inn since I wa ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Have been to Valley Green Inn since I was a kid. Recently went for brunch. They are still missing the mark. Great historic place. Nice friendly staff but very amateur and inexperienced. Food was delivered cold for both of us. Could be such a great place.

food4
ambience5
service4

Will be back! Quiet and cozy atmosphere. ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Will be back! Quiet and cozy atmosphere. Food was delicious too. I would deter people from getting a draft beer because our beer tasted funky.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Snowy evening in the valley.

Dined on January 18, 2016

We go to the Valley Green Inn when we have the opportunity to stay over in Philly prior to a next day appointment. I usually get the pork tenderloin. I should have this time, too. I got the ribeye steak, which was not all that great. Sorry for the disappointment, but someone in the kitchen is not up to par in choosing their steaks. It had fat down the sides and was pretty tough. Ribeyes are usually really good. Not this one. I will not get that again. My wife had the salmon, which was great. Live and learn.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Hidden Gem

Dined on January 16, 2016

My wife and I have never been to the restaurant before and went there to quietly celebrate my birthday with a nice meal. The restaurant exceeded our expectations in food, service and atmosphere. We will definitely return again and highly recommend to our friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on January 7, 2016

The food is tasty, and well prepared with good presentation. I have been here for lunch twice and have not been disappointed either time. The waitresses are extremely knowledgeable and made excellent suggestions. It is very charming.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Beautiful interior deco ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Excellent food. Beautiful interior decor and the outside seating area is picturesque. Great place for lunch and dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Neighborhood Gem

Dined on December 24, 2015

Friendly, attentive service. Fabulous food. Nice beer and wine selection. Delectable desserts This was our second Christmas Eve dinner at Valley Green Inn and it was just as delicious and special as our first visit several years ago. This is a lovely, quaint 17th century Inn nestled in the middle of the woods. Our server, Kristen, was friendly and prompt, checking on us frequently to ensure we had everything we wanted. Lovely to sit outside and listen to the Wissahickon Creek flow by under a full moon. Great experience again.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Specifically, I liked how quiet it was a ...

Dined on December 20, 2015

Specifically, I liked how quiet it was and allowed for an intimate meal for my wife and I.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A December Birthday MUST!

Dined on December 17, 2015

The charm of the newly refurbished Inn, in the renowned setting of the Wissahickon Creek match the highly enjoyable dining experience of entrees of sublimely combined ingredients paired with a perfect wine, brought to us in a very timely manner by a jovial, knowledgeable waiter. Our table, by request, was next to the crackling fire. My husband takes me to the Valley Green Inn for my birthday every year as we know we can count on it being a treat. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great luncheon with superior and friendly service

vip
Dined on December 16, 2015

A great luncheon with superior and friendly service for our group of 12 in this beautiful historic Inn.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

A very nice Holiday Lunch experience.

Dined on December 15, 2015

Spent a lovely time this week with several colleagues for a pre-Christmas lunch. The room was warmly decorated with a tree and other holiday symbols, and had a very "cozy" feel to it. Our waiter was prompt and attentive and had a complete knowledge of the menus items and specials. His advice on the onion soup and home-made meatloaf was spot on--both were delicious. A little "out of the way" for everyday lunch but it was perfect for this special occasion! I think most will agree.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasant Sunday brunch

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Two couples met for brunch and we had a pleasant time. The Inn's setting in the woods along the Wissahickon River is beautiful and the antique building is charming. The selections for brunch expanded beyond breakfast-oriented items. Three of us chose egg-based dishes such as huevos rancheros and Eggs Benedict, but I opted for salmon on a bed of spinach. Two of us enjoyed tasty Bloody Marys. Entrees, which come at two very fair price points of $18.95 and $22.95, are accompanied by soup, green or Caesar salad or fruit salad. The butternut squash soup that I chose was a delicious generous portion in a bowl. Service was professional and friendly. For us the one disappointment was the bakery basket, which contained only sweet items (including brownies). Each of us longed for a slice of French bread or a crusty roll.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1

Unpleasant Experience

Dined on November 24, 2015

They served appetizers but waitress forgot to enter order for main meal. Had to remind her we wanted our lunch. NO apology, no offer of drink or dessert to compensate. And food was cold.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Birthday dinner

Dined on November 20, 2015

My son and wife and I enjoyed the Inn for a quiet birthday celebration.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect quaint spot to meet for lunch no ...

vip
Dined on November 2, 2015

Perfect quaint spot to meet for lunch no haven't tried dinner but now I will.

food3
ambience4
service2

Sadly falling below standard.

Dined on November 1, 2015

We were married at the lovely Valley Green and have returned many times for lunches and dinners and the beautiful surroundings. Sadly, our recent visit was not what we expected. We had a reservation but the hostess area was not staffed so we stood at the entrance for quite a while without anyone acknowledging our presence. Even the wait staff coming and going to and from the hostess stand ignored us. They merely could have greeted us and said "the hostess will be right with you". This was a pattern, we noticed, as several couples and groups waited and then left after being ignored by staff at the desk. Once seated, our wait person barely spoke to us, did not smile, and offered little in the way of service. I could not help but notice that all of the servers, except one smiling young woman, displayed a flat affect and seemed unhappy to be there. Our food service was extremely slow and a few groups came and went in the time we were waiting. The food itself was okay; nothing to rave about and nothing worth remembering. We were so disappointed and hope that the Valley Green will take steps to improve so that this landmark doesn't disappear.

food4
ambience4
service5

I love having brunch there after a nice ...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

I love having brunch there after a nice Sunday hike

food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet dining

Dined on October 15, 2015

Great food. Large portions. Quiet dining room. Can carry on a conversation without any problems.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.