Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Valley Green Inn

4.3
981 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 247-1730
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

View Private Dining Details
What 981 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Our service provider was very nice and obviously trying to please. The food was mediocre and not worth the price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Delicious food, many options, lovely outdoor setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The Steak Frites was better than what I have had in Paris! The food was fabulous and the atmosphere of outdoor dining right by the Wissahickon Creek amidst the history of Forbidden Drive was enchanting!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

A quiet little gem nestled into the woods of the Wissahickon park, the valley green inn is charming and has delicious food. It's a real special treat to eat there. Go if you can.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Very average food and service for brunch. Setting is pretty but does not make up for lack of quality in food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Wow! Amazingly tasty food, generous portions, attentive service, and of course, great ambience. We can't wait to go back!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Wonderful ambiance. Excellent service. Porch was perfect on a perfect spring day. Glitch in one of the main courses was compensated by complementary dessert. Only disappointment was that I had indicated this was a special birthday lunch and not one word was said, even though we heard happy birthday singing for another group in the dining room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We have not been here in a long time - and it is still quite good. Will keep on our list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Our first date was here over 25 years ago.
We’ve been back a few times.
Tonight was extra special as it was my birthday, but Sean was absolutely one of the best waiters I’ve experienced.
Thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

A lovely spot. The view is wonderful; the food interesting and good; it was quiet so could hear each other; and the staff was super friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Great place!! Beautiful setting and very good food/drink!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Good food though I prefer their brunch menu. Great location and ambience. Fun to sit inside in history or outside in nature.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Great outdoor dining and ambiance. Delicious food and great service. Decent selection of draft beer and house wine. Would definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

We had a lovely lunch with old friends from California. They were charmed by the Inn. Kathy, our server, was attentive and fun. The food was wonderful. Will be back again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

My husband and I came back for our first anniversary after holding our wedding ceremony at the Valley Green Inn. Still as charming and delicious as ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

We always bring family and friends from out of town to Valley Green for its historic appeal, excellent food and service and for the beautiful setting beside the Wissahickon Creek. This time, our server Sean was even more outstanding than others we have had in the past. The menu is always diverse and appealing! Can't say enough good things about the Valley Green Inn.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We were celebrating our friends engagement. A waiter dropped two of our four meals on the ground. So two of us ate while the other two watched. Then when one of the replacement meals came out (the one for the bride-to-be), it had a long black hair in it. I wish I was making this up but I’m not. They removed her meal from the check and gave us 15% off for dropping half the food which was nice but the damage was done. So much for a happy engagement celebration. :(

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Best ambiance, best food, best value. Consistently wonderful.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The inn is a lovely place to stop for a meal when walking along the trails. However, the food and menu are unexceptional, especially when compared with other options in Philadelphia. It would be nice to have a fresh chef rethink the menu and perhaps upgrade the kitchen. Nonetheless, we have a nice time hiking from my house in Chestnut Hill and having a Sunday brunch with a view of the fireplace,

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We went for Sunday brunch. We were quickly greeted and seated to a lovely table by a roaring fireplace. Service was attentive and good delicious! We al enjoyed the ambiance and all of our entrees.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Warm and cozy. The fireplace puts out heat as well as looking lovely and adding to the ambience. Great service! Open even after the snow storm! A jewel of a restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

They provided an excellent dining experience just a day after a Nor'easter took out the power.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

You won't find a cozier location. Eating by the fireplace in a historic house in one of the most scenically beautiful parts of Philadelphia is always a treat. The food was very good; not the best around Philadelphia, or anything to write home about, but we were still extremely satisfied with our dinner. The desert was the highlight; easily the best cheesecake I've had in many many years. I'd happily go every weekend if I could.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Very nice setting with wood-burning fireplace. Good service and food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Wonderful experience. Will definitely be back again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The setting was wonderful. Dinner with close friends, snow falling outside.
But much of the food is plain or actually bad. The burger had obviously been a small frozen disk, and wasn’t much improved by cooking and coverings. Fries were really soggy. Friends catfish had clearly been plucked directly from the frier and dropped on the rice, looking like a hunk of kfc. So dissapointing to have such a pleasant nice setting have poor food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My food was not warm enough when received. Flavor of food (3rd course) not ideal. Dessert taken to go, got home, not what was ordered. Valentine''s dinner expensive and left a lot to be desired.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

This was our first time visiting Valley Green Inn, even though we've walked past it many times. We went for the exclusive Valentine's Day 4-course prix-fixe dinner, and it was worth every penny! Highlights were the Seared Tuna appetizer, Honeycrisp Apple soup, and the cooked-to-perfection(medium rare) Prime Rib. And the wine and Red Velvet cake were pretty amazing too. EAT HERE!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Very nice time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

I started with the hummus which had a nice flavor but was served on bread. Thought it was an odd preparation. My husband had onion soup which he thought was fine. My main dish was the salmon. Very small portion of salmon. My husband had meatloaf and it was burned on the bottom. He wasn't happy with his selection.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Pleasant environment despite inappropriate pop music, albeit soft, in the background. Open Table seating request and notation that this was a birthday were ignored. Do restaurant staffs even read these requests? Food / drinks good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Went for dinner at 530. It was super quiet. Probably gets more busy when it’s warm weather. Service was excellent good cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

A great destination when hiking the Wissahickon Valley trail! Food is great and good sized portions. We often take out of town guests here after a hike. Just lovely! Great to sit outside afterwards by the river!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

The only negative was they offer muffins and they use to be. This particular morning the basket contained what appeared as the ends of bread
Hard and very small bits of bread. Not edible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

We have a great meal next to the fireplace. Food was excellent, room was quiet and surroundings was conducive to great conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 5, 2018

This is one of the most romantic restaurants I have ever been in. Staff is attentive. Ambiance is otherworldly and all around fine dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The meal choice was fantastic. 4 stars only because the desserts were a little disappointing and there was a draft by the window seat, probably because the fireplace is not getting enough combustion air.
The waiter Andy was great and even inquired to the Chef about the process used to slow roast the vegetables which were perfect. Fluffy gnocci were a first, and worth a repeat trip. Impressive menu and quaint low key classy dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant. Food is delicious. Ambiance is amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

We visited on Christmas Eve. The food was excellent, the wait staff was very efficient and pleasant. The restaurant is in the park, very much off the beaten path, and very small and cozy. The building is from the colonial period (or so) and the ambiance couldn't be better. It isn't cheap but it's well worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Great atmosphere. Wonderful service. Fantastic food. Beautiful setting. Comfortable. Friendly. Just a fabulous place.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
25

Tweets by Valley Green Inn