Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Valley Green Inn

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us this Easter at the historic Valley Green with your family for our brunch. We will be serving our buffet from 10am to 3pm. Adults $34.95, Kids 9 and under 14.95

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (20)
Cozy (12)
Scenic View (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fireplace (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (5)
Waterfront (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
People Watching (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
848 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and being able to enjoy the views of the creek!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was delicious. Appetizer portions were quite small so be aware of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Unique experience every time at The Valley Green Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food was excellent it was my wife's birthday Jonesy was a great waitress and we will definitely be back. It was made even more special by the fact that we were the only patrons in the restaurant that night I know it's not a reflection on the quality just a timing issue but it was great

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went there for Sunday brunch on a gorgeous day. Got there early with a reservation and got seating out on the porch. The wait staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The fixed brunch menu was diverse and everything looked delicious. Our meals were beyond filling. It was a great brunch. My only gripe: the coffee is awful. I've been there for a wedding once before and it's the same brown dishwater. Get some La Colombo or something guys!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful setting and great food but slow service. We ate lunch at Valley Green on a beautiful weather day in February and sat outside. Thoroughly enjoyed it but had to wait over an hour to get our food. They were not staffed properly for the day given it was a gorgeous day in the middle of winter in their non-busy season. Otherwise the experience was wonderful like usual.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I dined at the Valley Green Inn for Valentine's day this year. I was a little apprehensive due to some recent poor reviews, but I have to say we were extremely happy with our choice. The prix fix dinner was outstanding. We both enjoyed our individual three courses and desserts. My favorite were the scallops and gnocchi. We love history so this place was a must for us. The fireplace room had a slight smokey smell, which we actually enjoyed. It added to the authentic feeling of a historic building hidden in Fairmont Park. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was solid, but nothing to write home about. Very typical food. We went there for Valentine's Day and had the prix fixe menu ($70 each) thinking the food would be a little "elevated". It wasn't. Just an extra course. At the end, we were too full for dessert (not included in the price) but was thinking that maybe we would get a chocolate or something, since it was Valentine's Day. Nope. We got the check and 2 wintergreen Life Savers, still in the plastic wrappers. Dissapointing and kind of "cheap". Maybe we will try it for brunch next time......

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Charming historic setting. Food and service very good when you consider the price.
I've been visiting Valley Green for over 60 years - what city in the U S has such a bucolic and is topic resturant.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Rustic atmosphere. Very good food and service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was served cold and service was slow. Ambiance was nice and staff friendly.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My two friends and I went on Friday to celebrate a birthday. All three of us said our food was not particularly good, the duck was dry and stringy in the kale and duck salad, the catfish sandwich was lacking flavor, and the shrimp and Thai salad was very bland.
There was an excessive amount of smoke in the air from the fireplace as the fireplace was not drawing smoke properly ( plus is was stinky as well as burning our eyes).
We have been celebrating our birthdays at VGI for several years, but for $120.00 we can find elsewhere to celebrate and have a quality meal.
We are sorry to have had such an unremarkable dining experience.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We visited with good friends on a quiet Monday night. We shared a comfy table near the wood-burning fireplace, as well as delicious food. The new chef is hitting it out of the ballpark! The short ribs with mac and cheese and corn-cabbage slaw were a fantastic combination of flavors and textures. Service was low-key and friendly, as always. We'll be back in spring for al fresco dining with the dog.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Historic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to this restaurant numerous times. This time it was not up to par.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Went to celebrate anniversary. Very quaint and intimate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I'm updating last year's review, because after yet another New Year's Day visit, I can't recommend their brunch highly enough. This restaurant is truly a gem. In our case, I booked for the 10:00 AM opening on New Year's Day 2016, which may sound crazy, but turned out to be a great way to start the new year. So great, in fact, that I repeated the visit again for New Year's Day 2017. If you want to do brunch (or even lunch) I recommend that you don't drive in and park in the lot at the Inn; instead, park at one of the more distant lots (the Kitchens Lane lot for example), then take a walk along the Wissahickon on Forbidden Drive. (On the way back, take the trail on the other side of the creek - there's a great view of the restaurant from across the creek, especially in winter when the trees are bare - plus you get to walk through the Finger Bridge.) There's something really special about taking the time to walk, and then arrive at this restaurant, which is so evocative of the pre-automobile era. During our New Year's visit, the Inn was decorated for the holidays, which was charming, and with the wood fireplace actually providing the heat for the dining room. (I wouldn't sit too close.)

I was sorry to see that this year, they didn't offer the hot buttered rum, but their spiced cider made up for it. The new year's brunch was a $30 prix fixe two-course menu - a truly excellent value. Their house salad was excellent, and the 2016 lobster frittata was gone, but the 2017 crab Eggs Benedict was outstanding, eggs perfectly poached. I don't think you could go wrong with anything on the menu. We'll definitely be walking back again for brunch before long.

Get on their email list - this past December they offered gift cards that were basically 50% off. Incredible bargain.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Historic with never ending charm. Food is very gourmet, not the place for little kids screaming. Take them to McDonald's or the Coliseum for fried food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wait staff was not assigned to our table, and once we finally asked for a wait person, the service was still a bit slow. Some of the food was quite good, some was just ok, the salad was overdressed. Obviously people come for the ambiance, and it's a lovely place to eat. Just be prepared to wait a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went on Christmas Eve looking the comfort and coziness of one of the two front rooms with a Christmas tree and fireplace. Unfortunately, they stuck our party of six in a back room with loud music and really bright lighting. It was like being in a cafeteria. WE asked to have the lighting dimmed and music turned down, which made it tolerable but it was not the experience we were hoping for. Plus the menu was more limited and quite pricey. If you go to this restaurant, request the room with the fireplace.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been going to Valley Green for years, esp. on holidays or special occasions.. The food is very good and the service is always excellent. For the first time I can remember, they did not offer a buffet in the large tent. This actually reduced the chaos of people going back and forth to the buffet tables.
The setting is beautiful and in warm weather you can sit outside.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The location is picturesque. The cozy dining rooms, charming woodwork, & open fireplace create a warm, quiet & relaxed atmosphere perfect for dinner conversation. The wine & beer list has plenty of interesting options. The menu is limited enough not to be overwhelming but eclectic enough that all four of us found multiple dishes we were excited to try. For starters, the Mac & Short Ribs & the Crab Cake Sliders were big hits . The Burger, the Ravioli & the Swordfish were all superb. The let down was the limited desert menu. Staff was warm, helpful & attentive without being intrusive, but a little disorganized: a few minor mistakes were made. The host/manager came by more than once: a bit intrusive & likely the source of service issues. Attempts to "help" servers lead to confusion. Overall, however, we had a wonderful meal, & I would definitely recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My friend and I grew up spending many summer days in the Wissahickon area. Our homes display framed pictures of The Inn. It is a special treat to visit it again. The view from the dining room makes lunch special. The menus has a number of excellent salads and entrees. Best of all, the staff is sensitive to people who want to spend a little time talking, provided there is no pressing need for the table. Their considerate service makes even a lunch a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Early dinner beside the fireplace. Waitstaff terrific.
Food very good.
Had first date there over 20 years ago and it still remains one of our favorite places.
Beautiful artwork of the inn still hangs on the walls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I took my friend to lunch for her birthday. We were tucked in a cozy corner; in fact, I was right next to the fireplace--sometimes actually too warm on a really cold day! We sat and talked for a long time, dawdling over our food, and no one rushed us at all. The food was tasty and well prepared. We had a nice time.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have been going to this Inn since I was a child. Never disappoints!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great lunch with friends. French Dip was delicious, although it was open-faced and couldn't be picked up to dip. Curried chicken sandwich was also delicious.
Service was not particularly attentive. Server appeared inexperienced.
Setting is pastoral along the Wissahickon trail.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Love the grilled cheese sandwich

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Take in context... our reservation was on the Saturday after Thanksgiving (so a generally busy day). Despite our reservation, we needed to wait about 20 minutes for our table. Ambiance and location are great. We were seated in the main dining room near the fireplace, which was very nice. Menu choices are a bit limited... but proved adequate. Food was solid... not outstanding. Service was good. Only real downer was being chased from our table ("...the next party is waiting..."), which, when considering how late we were seated felt brusque. I hope they are more polite when they are not so busy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

great brunch (but wish i could have used my dining points).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Valley Green Inn was phenomenal! I would highly recommend it to anyone!! Absolutely delicious food for a fair price in a great location!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We've gone here many times and still are surprised by how rude they can be. (Previously we tried to come for lunch 20 minutes after getting engage and they slammed the door in our faces.) They get easily overwhelmed whenever they have a wedding or other event.
Aside from some rudeness when we called to confirm our reservation and when we arrived, this time we had a pleasant lunch outside and the hostess and waitress were really kind. We'll still go back but maintain low expectations for being treated well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food was delicious and reasonable but the noise level was quite high with some loud tables. We did not care to hear the medical reports of all their family members (the table was 2 from us), so we moved to the other room to at least hear each other's conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great setting but don't come for the food. Lukewarm hot water for the tea, very underdone burgers, slooooowww service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Brunch menu has typical brunch fare. Prix Fixe of $19.95 with a $5.00 supplement for certain dishes. Includes soup or salad and breads.
Very noisy in an original colonial inn.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My friends and I have been coming to VGI for several years to celebrate our birthdays. This brings us to celebrate in three seasons, winter, spring and fall. Always lovely to see the different changes in the various seasons. Charming atmosphere and good food have made for good memories!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fireplace, Private Room, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I hate to share this best kept secret!
The food has gotten much more interesting.
Such a lovely place to enjoy a meal, especially on the porch in good weather
Good service but don't rush

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Love eating at The Valley Green! Love the history and the beautiful views! Dining on the porch is such a plus, and we have a few favorites from your menu. I was on a carb restriction, and the kitchen accommodated my needs without making me feel awkward! THANK YOU!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Historic, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

What a unique environment!
One of the best kept secrets in Philly!!
Best brunch and lovely service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious farm to table type fare; good for a romantic dinner with your sweetheart

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Valley Green Inn couldn't have been more romantic of an atmosphere! the staff was great and very attentive and the food was erotic and excitingly delicious! My date and I had a spectacular time sharing our meals and trying these exquisite dishes! We enjoyed sitting by the water after our meal and feeding seeds to the beautiful ducks and admiring the colorful leaves on the trees.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.