About Valley Green Inn

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Scenic View
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Outdoor Dining
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

Scenic View (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Romantic (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Great for Brunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good, but the service was just ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good, but the service was just awful as usual. We got married here a couple of years ago and it was amazing, but the restaurant is pretty disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Love visiting VGI and the experience.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love visiting VGI and the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The room we wanted was closed due to a r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

The room we wanted was closed due to a roof leak.

The available dining room was FREEZING cold. There was condensate dripping off the windows and it was very loud.

The hostess took our drink order and eventually our food order. The waiter came over and apologized . He was very busy or they were short handed? He is a great guy but no one really tended the table.

I mentioned that the lunch was for my husbands birthday and that was just ignored.

It was a bad day. I've had nice times at Valley Green but this was not one of them and I wanted it to be special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

We went for our anniversary dinner. Like ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went for our anniversary dinner. Liked the sound of the appetizers most, so we ordered four of these and shared. Delicious. So full, we said no to dessert but the waitress brought us a delicious (and complimentary) flan-like custard with berries and mint...amazing. This is the most beautiful place for dinner. We sat on the porch, watched the ducks in the creek, listened to the cicadas and crickets. Plan to go back for brunch some Sunday in the fall.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was revamped recently. Fabulou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The menu was revamped recently. Fabulous. Will surely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were fortunate that the restaurant on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were fortunate that the restaurant only had two couples other than our group of four, and eventually we were the only ones in the place. This resulted in the quiet atmosphere. The wine was lovely. Thefood was delicious from the calamari appetizer to the fish entrees three of us ordered, to the steak one ordered (grilled to perfection). We ended the meal sharing the lemon poppy dessert and the chocolate sorbet dessert each delicious and served beautifully. When we were finished and went outside, the ambiance of the park was magical. We all enjoyed every part of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch. The menu is u ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. The menu is unoriginal and unappealing--your choice of entree is served with 2 little Bob Evans-type sausages and home fries (who even eats that at a nice brunch?) along with a tiny saucer of fruit and a basket with a few slices of dry raisin bread and a thimble-size muffin (for 3 people). The food tasted like it had been prepared earlier and warmed over. The room smelled like there had been a fire in the fireplace the night before--like damp burnt wood. All this for $18.95. Very disappointing. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I eat at Valley Green fairly often. It i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I eat at Valley Green fairly often. It is one of my favorite places.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was excellent , food , servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was excellent , food , service, bar menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK, nothing amazing. You can't ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was OK, nothing amazing. You can't beat the ambiance though and that you can eat at the porch with your dogs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The food was very well prepared and pres ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was very well prepared and presented. Service was great and the atmosphere was quiet and warm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time but not last. Tremendous!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

First time but not last. Tremendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the space at the Valley Green In ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Overall the space at the Valley Green Inn cannot be beat! However, I did find the service to be lacking and the food for brunch was over priced for what you actually received.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Family here from CA. "Watermellon soup" ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Family here from CA. "Watermellon soup" was very spicy gespacho so uneatable for child but he got to feed the ducks!. Better for adults maybe.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Wines are very limited, server was 3 day ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wines are very limited, server was 3 days new and really did not know the menu, long waits between asking a question about the menu and the answer, calamari was horrible (Most of the fried rings where empty). No phone service at all. I would recommend this restaurant and I will not be returning either..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing lunch at Valleygreen it i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Disappointing lunch at Valleygreen it in. Waitress arrived quickly took our orders but the food took forever to arrive. The restaurant was not busy and there was no excuse for the food to take so long to get out of the kitchen . When the food arrives it was just OK nothing special. We had four different entrées and the best one was the grilled cheese. The burger was a good nothing special and the fish sandwich was our least favorite. Service was good the food was just OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food will not knock your socks off; but, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food will not knock your socks off; but, in summer anyway, very pleasant setting for outside dining on a nice day, with quick access to a scenic walk before or after the meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Impromptu post-wedding supper on the por ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Impromptu post-wedding supper on the porch on a beautiful July evening. Great mix of dogs, joggers, kids, geese, ducks and folks of every color and type. Great "neighborhood" vibe in the most beautiful spot in all of Philadelphia. Good service and quality food at a reasonable price. Server offered to make "special" Mojitos with raspberry coulee - lovely!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful view. Fantastic weather. Staff ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Beautiful view. Fantastic weather. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. Food was not very good in general. Burgers were seriously overcooked, dried out and flavorless.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We had a small reunion of old friends. W ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a small reunion of old friends. We were seated outside and it was very comfortable and fun. Food was delicious. Service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was not knowledge about th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The waitress was not knowledge about the menu. I asked he twice about the green vegetable with the chicken. She never answered me and brought it anywhere. She spoke too softly and too fast. When asked about different dishes on the menu, she did not know.

The chef Lydia was amazing and informative and a wonderful chef

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Very charming place. Ate outside on the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very charming place. Ate outside on the porch because it was too cold for my wife inside Very good food but very small portions for the high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I've been here before and I was excited ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I've been here before and I was excited to go back but this time the food was not good . I was very disappointed with food- but the service was superb. I just don't think I'll go back for food again.

We had lunch on sat. I ordered the pulled pork sandwich and honestly probably the worst pulled pork sandwich I've ever had in my life. my friend had grilled cheese sandwich and we could barely taste the cheese- onions and bread overpowered it. We also had calamari for appetizer and some didn't even have calamari in it.

we bragged about this place to my friends but I regretted bringing them .. oh wells, at least the scenery was awesome.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very nice on Thurs. night ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything was very nice on Thurs. night. We went with a friend with whom we used to celebrate wedding anniversaries. Her husband died but we keep up the tradition. Lots of memory sharing. Staff accommodated our request for a private table. We will be back. M.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I met two friends for lunch at the Inn. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I met two friends for lunch at the Inn. Two of us ordered the crabcake appetizer, which at a price of $14 in Center City would have yielded something of sufficient size to satisfy. What arrived was a crab cake of good quality but tiny, with a nest of greens to which the kitchen had forgotten to add dressing. A staff representative apologized for the lack of salad dressing but defended the crabcake portion size as "what it said on the menu." We were presented with a complimentary dish of the Inn's calamari--not helpful to a group that does not eat fried food.

I will be returning to the Inn's beautiful grounds but with a picnic lunch next time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Several weeks ago, we had lousy strip st ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Several weeks ago, we had lousy strip steaks at Valley Green. I wrote about it here.

The owner contacted me. He refunded two full dinners (not just the cost of the steaks) AND sent a gift certificate. We were told there had been a mix up and had been served the steaks meant for lunch. They were so nice I felt guilty about the review I had given and was anxious to get back and try again.

Our waitress was professional, not overly friendly.

We shared the Charred Asparagus Salad, it was fantastic!!! First rate.

We split some Local Calamari. Said it came with Smoked Tomato Aioli but the Aioli served to us was green and tangy - maybe wasabi. However, it was outstanding - so fresh!

My husband had Organic Roast Chicken Breast with Rosemary Sweet Potatoes, Sauteed Kale, Natural Jus. He got a small portion, white potatoes (not sweet) puree, couldn't taste the rosemary. Still, very good.

I ordered the strip steak. I was disappointed.

First steak I received was overdone. Wasn't much thicker than the half inch one I had complained about a few weeks back. A steak that is under an inch thick, it is nearly impossible to cook to a medium rare temperature. By the time you have the steak seared on one side it's done. If you sear the other side - it's medium.

I sent it back. The next one was MUCH better! About 5/8 inch thick, not well trimmed, lots of fat and gristle. The description was Angus New York Strip Steak Pommes Puree, Charred Green Onions, Herb Butter.

What I got was steak fries sauteed kale and topped with a huge amount of green herb mash. It was an overwhelming herb blend that was too strong on the steak AFTER I scraped it off.

I'll go back but only for lunch, outside on a beautiful day.

For $32, I expect a top quality steak. Other restaurants in the area offer two inch strip steaks or filet for the same price.

Valley Green should stick with a lower price menu offering burgers and sandwiches. They will need to up their game to be a high end place.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Our meal was a bit disappointing, mostly ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our meal was a bit disappointing, mostly because the portions were so small, expensive for what we received and the service was slow even though the restaurant was not particularly crowded. Our server also forgot to bring an appetizer. I've eaten at Valley Green before and will give it another chance, but were I a first-time diner, I might have been turned off.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Overpriced. My mediocre vegetable entree was $23.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Waitress was outstanding. Food arrived in a timely manner. Overpriced. Location is wonderful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Pay Per View

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

If you want to participate vicariously in one of the many weddings, this is the spot. Likewise, if you want a view of the Wissahickon Creek and swimming ducks, punctuated by bicyclists and joggers. But don't go for the food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing place!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

You'd never believe you were inside Philadelphia - not easy to get to but worth the (minor) trek. Wonderful food, atmosphere, service. Very dog-friendly! Great view.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely disappointed! Took my niece, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Extremely disappointed!

Took my niece, from out of town, to her father's favorite Haunt as a kid. Valley Green Inn has been a "go-to" for decades because of it's location, ambiance and (maybe not great but) good food.

Not this time.

Shared the Caesar Salad, which was large and tasty. The lettuce was huge, barely cut up.

Two of us ordered the "Strip Steak". It really takes some nerve to call what we got a Strip Steak. It was less than half an inch thick. Almost had to wonder if they only had one steak left and divided it, to have two portions.

Ordered them Medium rare but how do you cook a steak this thin to any given temperature? One was over done the other well done at one end and rare at the other.

$32 for this steak that looked like something that should have been made into cheese steak!

Wish I had the nerve to tell them to take it back.

My husband ordered Sea Scallops - which was a better choice but still pretty bad. Received 5 scallops all different sizes, all smaller than a half dollar. All over cooked.

Our waitress was a gem!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Henry was a great server and couldn't do ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Henry was a great server and couldn't do enough for us

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For starters, have enough parking. I ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

For starters, have enough parking. I had to park way up the hill because the overflow lot was locked. I called and was told they don't control the parking lots. Well heck- make a relationship with the parks department and assure adequate parking. Food was acceptable, portions on the smaller side and prices on the higher side. Kids meal? Try offering something kids want. And really -12.95 for a kids bowl of pasta!

Positives: our party of 7 had a room to ourselves and our server was very nice. She was even going to run over to the snack shop to get our child guest a pretzel (alas sold out). The location is very nice - historic Inn in Fairmount park.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Menu changes not a plus

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We dine at this restaurant times a year and were very disappointed to find many of our favorite options missing from a recent lunch, e.g. the baked brie. Not only were favorites missing but the menu had fewer choices. Only 3 things were offered for dessert choices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Missing menu items and very poor service.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was very inattentive and we had to keep asking the bus person for more drinks and extra menu items. My friend had her half empty wine glass filled with water. The food was so-so and quite overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Lunch on the porch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We ate lunch on the porch on a sunny day with a view of the creek. The service was great and the food delicious. There were several options for me, a vegan. We were just sad that we missed the bear who showed up the next day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulouse location perfect for outdoor dining.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Very enjoyable all around location to visit. Food was good although they took 3 of my favorite things off the menu. I think the prices were also increased since the new chef started a few weeks ago. Still worth going to especially when you can eat outside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Experience

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This is a neighborhood treasure. The food is great and the atmosphere is unbeatable. Parking is the only real issue.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Romantic Historic Inn on the Lovely Wissahickon

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We love the Wissahickon Creek and for decades have spent many hours running, walking, climbing, and exploring along Forbidden Drive and its offshoot trails. The historic Valley Green Inn has been the perfect venue for many of our family's most special occasions: anniversaries, Easter, 4th of July, and entertaining visitors from around the globe. We love settling around a table on the inn's porch to see friends jog by, to see the wood ducks out for a swim and the Canada geese nesting on the rocks, and, two days ago, a bald eagle swooped by our party to supposedly wish my sister and her husband a happy anniversary. The staff presents a mostly-affordable diverse menu catering to many different dietary needs and hosts have been, for the most part, gracious, efficient, and hospitable. We prefer to eat outside on the porch as the noise level in the tented porch can become deafening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful place for outdoor dining in th ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Wonderful place for outdoor dining in the spring or fall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.