Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Valley Green Inn

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Scenic View (23)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Sunday Lunch (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
People Watching (17)
Casual (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Waterfront (10)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Seasonal (7)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
906 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed Sunday brunch here with my mother and daughter. Historic building in the park, with a view of hikers, dog walkers and bicycle riders going by. Food was delicious and a good value. Prix Fixe included two courses and a non-alcoholic beverage. Will return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Incredible service! Patient and attentive. A wonderful experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have loved the Wissahickon for decades. This cafe, the ambiance and the delicious food and drink fit right in. We sat on the porch and thoroughly enjoyed the sunset.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Grilled asparagus and mushroom appetizer was great! Always a treat to sit on the porch and watch the world go by. Perfect summer evening spot.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

A perfect birthday dinner. My girlfriend and I loved the gnocchi in an arugula pesto and were knocked out by the pavlova (I thought Pavlova was Russian ballerina, not also a dessert!). We dined on the porch, enjoying the view of the Wissahickon and some uber cute dogs walking by. Our server was attentive but not hovering. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Historic tavern along river trail was a nice venue. Although menu had a good selection, and food was well-prepared, a bit pricey. For example, the $12 "Inn Salad" was only the size of a small dinner salad, and the burger had a modicum of toppings. Service was marginal, and in fact a bit confusing: After taking our order, our first waitress reported we would be subsequently served by another, which left us wondering if she was off-shift or if we had said something to offend her. At any rate, service timing could have been better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Took my very special lady for a romantic evening meal. Had been here many years ago and loved the location and setting. We enjoyed our time, especially the corner table by a window next to a fireplace - very romantic.

Unfortunately the food was poor to average, however the ambiance, service and location lived up to my high expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great location, people, vibe, atmosphere. Just a special place in Philly whatever the Season. Brunch on Sunday is OK, sometimes would like to see a more broad menu with greater choice.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Went there for brunch and my eggs were over cooked, and my toast was under toasted. Brunch was $19.99 per person for bad eggs and bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Another great meal at Valley Green. This is an exceptional place to dine. Food and service were good but location on a summer evening was exceptional. My overriding wish is that the restaurant could find the formula to draw in more diners on a Monday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Black bean burger was excellent. Fries were delicious too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Terrific restaurant deep in Fairmount Park. Nestled in a wooded river valley, large open porch and patio for dining outside or interior rooms. Bring your walking shoes or bike too as you will be inspired to take a walk or bike ride after lunch or dinner along the river.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This is a really lovely countryside Inn. It is a beautiful location and the service was excellent. My only little quibble is that I thought it was rather expensive. One is locked into a set price for your meal. I prefer to have a choice as I am not a big eater.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great group get together on the porch with a beautiful view (of the rain!), excellent food, and great service from our server. Todd.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Dinner was average, and would have been acceptable if prices were moderate. The appetizer we ordered prior to the meal for the table was meager, although priced higher than what we usually pay at other restaurants. I think the people in our party who ordered sandwiches made out the best. The sandwiches were very good.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were disappointed in limited vegetarian options, unless remove meat from listed entree. Service was disappointing and good was not cooked well or taste good.
Best part was location and being outside, but we were disappointed and it was costly for what we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We had a delightful lunch on the porch overlooking the creek. The drinks and food were great and our server was wonderfully gracious and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Lovely summer evening, a walk on Forbidden Drive and a nice dinner. Only downside is that the 'no parking' areas are not clearly marked.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We arrived early for a reservation and they were able to accommodate us. They did seat walk-ins that came after us first which was odd. The Hostess seemed concerned and she showed us to a table. The waitress was nice. The main item I ordered was sold out and found that out awhile after ordering. Food was good - not outstanding. The best thing about Valley Green is the location. It is nice to sit outside and watch the people on the trail that runs in front of the Inn and the river beyond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very disappointing when, at the end of the evening, we inquired about the restaurant calling a cab and they had little interest (and made it clear) in doing so. Especially so, since cell coverage is quite limited there making contacting Uber or Lyft difficult to impossible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We have been to Valley a Green many times and love the unique setting and sence of authenticity. I think the dinner menu is a bit on the pricy side and wish a lighter menu - eg sandwiches could be offered at that time. Our most recent visit was Sunday brunch. The earliest time I could reserve was 2 pm and I felt that food was not up to par. Perhaps it was the late brunch time. The pastry/bread basket had to be requested and was just bread with a few small muffins. However we do love Valley Green and wish them continued success.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A very good experience, sitting outdoors on the front porch in July with my mother (who is 88 yrs and still fit enough to enjoy walking Forbidden Drive).

Very creative entrees and a wonderful waitstaff experience, well worth the drive from Bucks County.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Father's 92nd birthday. Simple menu. Reasonable prices. Great food. Amazing old world atmosphere. Plus the added adventure of getting there in the middle of wissahickon park.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We like the quiet, relaxing atmosphere on a weekend afternoon for brunch, after walking the trail in Wissahicken Park. It is a lovely, unique setting, and the food is good. Our only reservation is that it is a bit pricier than the average restaurant ($20 fixed for eggs, bacon, potatoes, fruit and coffee).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

You can't beat the setting. We sat on the patio for a recent Sunday brunch and the view of the park is lovely. Unfortunately, the food, like every other time I have been there, was just okay. Not bad, but I would never return here if not for the view. Service was fine. Two of us had omelets that were quite large and heavy, not worth finishing. The egg white strata was good, probably the best item at the table. The version of chilaquiles they served was not a very good one. So, the food was not horrible, but this is not somewhere I would recommend for a really good meal based on our recent experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I just love The Inn. Food is always great, never a bad meal. Service is really friendly and warm. Just very special.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always good. Great atmosphere, nice wait staff, food is good and is a great place to bring friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great ambience. Unfortunately, the food is very hit or miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I took my fiancee for brunch for her birthday. The Croque Madame was savory, creamy and hearty. I enjoyed it very much. We were able to sit outside. The weather was beautiful with a view of the Wissahickon Creek and the sound of the water flowing. However, the sun was hot and heated the vinyl table cloth and made our legs uncomfortable. Cloth table cloths would be better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I was really looking forward to going here as it looked so charming. Food was good, not great. For the cost there are quite a few much better restaurants in the area. Our waitress was fabulous and sitting on the porch was really nice. I had really wished for a better experience. The place has huge potential.; just needs to take it up a few notches.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2017

While the setting was outstanding, the food was mediocre at best. They changed the menu quite a bit from the previous year. The food is expensive for the quality. However, sitting outside in the summer makes up for the deficiency in dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had a very tasty, interesting meal on the porch. Our server was professional, friendly, and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My sister and I had a lovely lunch at the Valley Green Inn. Everything from the service to the decor to the food was just outstanding. We will return in a heart-beat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Beautiful venue on a sunny day! My salad was delicious and my friend's burger was great. Service could not have been better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Four of us "Dames who Dine" met to celebrate the retirement of two of us and just gather as friends. We sat on the porch because it was a lovely lunch by the creek. My meal of a Crabcake BLT was fantastic! Delish! And it was just a super relaxing, enjoyable couple of hours.

Tags: Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I was last at the VGI about 15 years ago for a wonderful brunch and remembered this as a great setting right on the Wissahickon Creek and easy access from Chestnut Hill. I took an out of town friend here and we were both very impressed! I will be bringing my husband back again soon and we will be adding VGI to our list of "go-to's!"

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The servings are small and it's overpriced, but it's all worth the ambience ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always enjoy Valley Green. Service is friendly and helpful. Scenery is beyond comparison. My favorite place to take a friend or colleague. Cell phones do not work--a plus.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Lovely brunch on the porch on a beautiful day. Totally enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were a party of 5 celebrating a friend's birthday brunch. At first 2 of us were disappointed because we thought there would be more egg dishes available for a brunch. But we quickly found good alternatives. The one friend whose birthday we celebrated is gluten sensitive ( and she was the birthday girl), it took a little back and forth in honing in on something gluten-free on the menu. So, suggestion, maybe a few gluten free options clearly marked on the menu. Other than that, Valley Green is just magical. Exquisite setting. Great waitress/ staff in general. And in general, good menu. No one rushed us, we had a fabulous leisurely brunch. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.