Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Valley Green Inn

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Waterfront (14)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Romantic (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
People Watching (12)
Historic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Authentic (8)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Cozy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (0)
Sort By:
S
885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A very good experience, sitting outdoors on the front porch in July with my mother (who is 88 yrs and still fit enough to enjoy walking Forbidden Drive).

Very creative entrees and a wonderful waitstaff experience, well worth the drive from Bucks County.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Father's 92nd birthday. Simple menu. Reasonable prices. Great food. Amazing old world atmosphere. Plus the added adventure of getting there in the middle of wissahickon park.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We like the quiet, relaxing atmosphere on a weekend afternoon for brunch, after walking the trail in Wissahicken Park. It is a lovely, unique setting, and the food is good. Our only reservation is that it is a bit pricier than the average restaurant ($20 fixed for eggs, bacon, potatoes, fruit and coffee).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

You can't beat the setting. We sat on the patio for a recent Sunday brunch and the view of the park is lovely. Unfortunately, the food, like every other time I have been there, was just okay. Not bad, but I would never return here if not for the view. Service was fine. Two of us had omelets that were quite large and heavy, not worth finishing. The egg white strata was good, probably the best item at the table. The version of chilaquiles they served was not a very good one. So, the food was not horrible, but this is not somewhere I would recommend for a really good meal based on our recent experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I just love The Inn. Food is always great, never a bad meal. Service is really friendly and warm. Just very special.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always good. Great atmosphere, nice wait staff, food is good and is a great place to bring friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great ambience. Unfortunately, the food is very hit or miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I took my fiancee for brunch for her birthday. The Croque Madame was savory, creamy and hearty. I enjoyed it very much. We were able to sit outside. The weather was beautiful with a view of the Wissahickon Creek and the sound of the water flowing. However, the sun was hot and heated the vinyl table cloth and made our legs uncomfortable. Cloth table cloths would be better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I was really looking forward to going here as it looked so charming. Food was good, not great. For the cost there are quite a few much better restaurants in the area. Our waitress was fabulous and sitting on the porch was really nice. I had really wished for a better experience. The place has huge potential.; just needs to take it up a few notches.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2017

While the setting was outstanding, the food was mediocre at best. They changed the menu quite a bit from the previous year. The food is expensive for the quality. However, sitting outside in the summer makes up for the deficiency in dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had a very tasty, interesting meal on the porch. Our server was professional, friendly, and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My sister and I had a lovely lunch at the Valley Green Inn. Everything from the service to the decor to the food was just outstanding. We will return in a heart-beat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Beautiful venue on a sunny day! My salad was delicious and my friend's burger was great. Service could not have been better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Four of us "Dames who Dine" met to celebrate the retirement of two of us and just gather as friends. We sat on the porch because it was a lovely lunch by the creek. My meal of a Crabcake BLT was fantastic! Delish! And it was just a super relaxing, enjoyable couple of hours.

Tags: Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I was last at the VGI about 15 years ago for a wonderful brunch and remembered this as a great setting right on the Wissahickon Creek and easy access from Chestnut Hill. I took an out of town friend here and we were both very impressed! I will be bringing my husband back again soon and we will be adding VGI to our list of "go-to's!"

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The servings are small and it's overpriced, but it's all worth the ambience ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always enjoy Valley Green. Service is friendly and helpful. Scenery is beyond comparison. My favorite place to take a friend or colleague. Cell phones do not work--a plus.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Lovely brunch on the porch on a beautiful day. Totally enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were a party of 5 celebrating a friend's birthday brunch. At first 2 of us were disappointed because we thought there would be more egg dishes available for a brunch. But we quickly found good alternatives. The one friend whose birthday we celebrated is gluten sensitive ( and she was the birthday girl), it took a little back and forth in honing in on something gluten-free on the menu. So, suggestion, maybe a few gluten free options clearly marked on the menu. Other than that, Valley Green is just magical. Exquisite setting. Great waitress/ staff in general. And in general, good menu. No one rushed us, we had a fabulous leisurely brunch. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

They need to change the menus to include a bigger variety of meals. To stuck on a few fancy meals. Only a single soup offering. Did not even have seafood sauce for their crab cake . The wait staff is excellent! The surroundings beautiful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The staff took extra care to ensure our special occasion was memorable! We loved it!!

Tags: Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Salmon was fantastic as was the meatloaf and short rib Mac n cheese. Excellent server. Great wine list with several bottles in the $35-$40 range. So sad it was empty on a Wednesday. Igor. I recommend supporting this gem folks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Have been here a number of times over the years and it never disappoints. If you like historic places, beautiful vistas, and excellent food, this is the place for you!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food, like always, was great. The service, this time was poor. Our appetizer was never brought to our table, and we sort of felt ignored by staff. We chalked it up as a bad night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love Valley Green. My wife and I were actually married there and we love to go back at least once a year. Food is always top notch and the views are awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our meal was great. The salad and jumbo crab appetizers were good and our salmon was cooked to perfection. The dessert was good. My birthday meal was memorable. We loved the setting of the restaurant in the woods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

For some reason it didn't seem the same, was looking forward to a grilled cheese sandwich, wasn't fond of the change. Little to no dressing on side salad. VG has always been one of my favorite places, not sure if I want to try again.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is one of my favorite spots. Love being deep into Fairmount Park - so pretty and peaceful. Food and service are always good. It's a pleasant way to eat a meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter Brunch and we were seated in the tent. It was hot and uncomfortable. The food was fair and definitely not worth the price. They charged a child's price of 14.95 for a 2 year old when most places don't charge for under 3. The 2 year old had a small piece of waffle and 2 strips of bacon, quite expensive at 15.00. There was 9 of us so they were making enough money without charging for a 2 year old. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food at the Easter Brunch was excellent. The only thing I would have appreciated is that the dessert be labeled like the main course. People with food allergies like to know what they are eating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We understand Easter Brunch is a busy time but the food was not good. Like it had been sitting out for hours. Rubbery eggs, really greasy bacon almost like cheap diner food but at $34.95 it was ridiculously overpriced. It took a very, very long time for a waiter to come over and even bring us water or coffee orders. We will not be heading back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It is my birthday weekend , we arrived at noon for lunch . We where the first guests to order . Asked our server if the crab cake burger would be available was not featured on menu . Requested by the chef if he could accommodate request ,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service is horrendous here. Prices are high for food that isn't very good. What a waste of such a beautiful location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were celebrating a friend landing a great job with a long hike and fantastic food. The food was amazing and I cannot wait to go back! The location is perfect for people watching and weather permitting, dog friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Valley Green Inn is just in a beautiful and historic setting. Always tranquil and special. Food and service were very good as usual. We enjoyed our brunch and time together there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I had requested to sit outside because this restaurant is located inside a beautiful park across from a creek that I absolutely love. Unfortunately it was not the day to sit outside b/c the sun wasn't out and it was 48 degrees. I went inside & there were only 2 tables taken plus another room all empty seating. We had two dogs in our group but both were service animals with their IDs, no more than 18pds and we were NOT allowed to sit inside the restaurant. That's a first, I have always been able to bring my sd dog ANYWHERE & EVERYWHERE as its so well behaved. Anyway, I went to the car to get blankets and we sat outside. The waitress must have forgotten we were there, it took about another 15 mins before anyone came out. So we finally order,minutes later food comes out and server drops the entire mac & cheese on the table, seat, bday girl & dog. 20 minutes later another comes out, the least she can do is take it off the bill as everyone in the group waited to eat together and their food was frozen. So we take food in boxes and just order a hot chocolate which also comes out cold. It just wasn't the right day to enjoy this beautiful place and it felt as if the staff was mad. Hope everyone has a better day today.
1 WEEK LATER/UPDATING REVIEW: Liza who was in my group received today a gift-card from the owner so we could return and enjoy what we know this place offers . That's outrageous!!!! Thank you so much, we will definitely be back, this wasn't our first and we didn't think it be the last visit. Best of luck to all staff.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and being able to enjoy the views of the creek!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was delicious. Appetizer portions were quite small so be aware of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with fantastic food. Was wonderful after a cold winter hike. Beautiful fireplace.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Unique experience every time at The Valley Green Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.