Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Valley Green Inn

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Sunday Lunch (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Cozy (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Casual (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Seasonal (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Fun (7)
Waterfront (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was pretty good; lavender creme brulee excellent. Noise level in the fireplace room was untenable. Our server Andy was attentive but stretched thin. If I return, I'll try different entree and the bar dining room.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Meal was fantastic. Service was good. Will be making a return visit soon. Husband and son raved about their entrees which included meatloaf and pork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

I have created a special memory for the 2 of us. Celebrated a very special person’s bday couldn’t have chosen a better place! Loved it!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

A lovely evening. Service was attentive. Rustic, historic inn.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Surprisingly nothing on the lunch menu really appealed to us. Enjoyed the history and location more than the food. Server was very nice but her tables were scattered all over making it hard for her to stay on top of things. Not a bad experience but we felt it could be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was good, portions reasonable, and we had no complaints with the kitchen. The host ignored our reservation, which we later had to correct with OpenTable. Our server didn't appear until 15 minutes after we were seated, then took another 15 minutes to get our drinks. Then she just never came back. We were eventually able to get the host to find our check while we waited at the desk to pay it.

I'd love to come back here, because it's so nice outside, and the inn is cozy. But I probably won't ever set foot in here again after the horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Wonderful for our anniversary! Very romantic, great food and wine! Our waiter sang to us! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Would be even better when it's cold enould to use the fireplace. Great place for brunch, group event, romantic date!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Vegan, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I love it !! The atmosphere is beautiful. Food is fresh and delicious. Service is great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Indian summer weather in late October lured us to Valley Green Inn for a leisurely Sunday dinner out on the patio, and we were not disappointed. Our party loved - and shared - the pate, the tomato-white bean soup, and the crab cake BLT. They were all delicious. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The food is excellent and creative here. You can't beat the view especially when you sit on the porch! Forbidden Drive is gorgeous. Brunch is a deal you can't beat! Dinner is also romantic for couples, but it is also special for a dinner with friends or family. We have been here multiple times, and we are considering having our rehearsal dinner here we like it so much!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Food was good (not great) and the service was spotty. Room is very nice and will likely go for a smaller meal in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This 18th Century Inn nestled in Wissahickon Park is a real gem. We dined at 5pm which was the first dinner slot after the lunch transition. So things were a little slow because of that. But afterwards, service was wonderful and attentive on all fronts. It was a cool fall evening so most diners staying indoors. We could still enjoy views of the creek, wildlife, and the hundreds of hikers, runners, and cyclers who frequent this park at all hours. My sons and I each had angus burgers. They were 1/2 pound huge. The fries were nice and crispy. I ordered my burger medium but it came back medium rare. That was OK but others may find that a problem. The starter soup, a creamy tomato and white bean puree was the perfect temperature to relieve the rapidly cooling temps. The restaurant is open year-round so as the temps drop, they have space heaters and steam radiators. My wife had a veggie burger, a sweet potato and black bean mix. She was very happy with that as usually such burgers have a mushroom mix too. We skipped dessert. This is a quaint and charming inn that is worth a stop after exploring the Parks. There are hundreds of miles of trails, very scenic, and some quite challenging. It can get crowded on weekends so be sure to make a reservation. It is a very popular special event location (weddings and such) so parking can also be an issue. They do have their own lot and it is well marked. The other lot is controlled by the Park. My wife and I agreed it would be nice to go back for a romantic date.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Lovely Sunday lunch on the porch. I've lived on the Wissahickon (never learned to spell it) most of my life and have loved this place forever. It used to be a slightly tatty old place but is now really contemporary and up on food trends. An improvement on what was already quaint and comfy. Definitely worth a trip

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

My first burger was completely raw. When they brought my plate back out it was clear that the entire plate had been microwaved....pretty tasteless burger to say the least. My server was very apologetic and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I scanned the list of things that I would recommend this restaurant for. Immediate closing was unfortunately not there. Nor was being ripped off.
I can’t think of anytime in recent memory, or past memory, when I have had a worse dining experience.
My wife and I took her mother to Valley Green because not only did she go there as a young girl with her parents, she also took my wife when she was young. Many happy times were spent in the park and at Valley Green.
We were seated on the porch which was perfect as people watching is a great part of the experience there. Sadly the table choice was the high point of the meal.
The menu choices are fine although the starters are are weak. Especially if you don’t like the soup of the day. The “fresh baked goods” basket was laughable. Some low level cold supermarket bread and a few meager pieces of cornbread.
And at 19.95 per person, it’s not stiff but for this quality of food, it’s robbery without a gun.

But before I get to the food, I need to mention the astoundingly bad service. Which admittedly was done by committee so the terrible effort can’t be heaped on one server. This probably was the most offensive aspect of the whole experience. Inattentiveness mixed with indifference doused with incompetence.
The lowlights included cold soup served to my mother in law. I knew when we finally flagged down a waitress an incompetent kitchen would simply nuke the soup and bring it back. I should have spoken up and had I known they were going to bring the poor woman’s soup now nuked to Chernobyl levels I would have. The poor woman took a spoonful and burned the inside of her mouth.
In keeping with the cold food policy the waitress brought my Eggs Benedict icy as well. Which were two of the skimpiest poached eggs, sad, tiny and dry Canadian Bacon, upon a lame croissant all drowned in unidentifiable yellow water. And some burned tater tots on the side.
As I have reached, easily, the character limit, skip this place. Walk on by. Fast.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was delicious. Our waitress was great. Very efficient in service. Atmosphere was quiet when we first got there at 6. Started getting busy around 7. Quaint little restaurant reminds me of the carriage house restaurant in coopersburg. It was a lovely date with my husband.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We just needed to come to a nice lunch in a beautiful spot. The food was delicious and we walked a little on the bridal path afterwards. Everyone just loved the ambiance and of course the food. Well worth the hour drive. We will do it again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 11, 2017

On this visit we were sat immediately, beautiful day so we sat outside, lovely. Our server was fantastic, very friendly and we appreciated his suggestions. Our glasses were always full and our lunch plus dessert was absolutely delicious. Our dog was treated as a guest as well with a water- bowl & treat. It was such a different, much more positive experience then last season, glad we gave this place another chance. And special thanks to the owner for sending us a gift certificate, will surely return when back in town. Thanks again for such excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Quite a great place. Parking is sometimes an issue. Otherwise wonderful and fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Beautiful setting in the Wissahickon, with good food and nice service.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

the crab cake was very crabby almost inedible...not sure why I didn't send it back...the waitress saw me smelling it several times however did not bother to ask if everything was ok..if it smelled ok...anything.

would suggest to anyone going to get the fried chicken sandwich my boyfriends was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Fantastic food and service! Plan to dress casual for brunch to be able to hike the beautiful trails after. Gorgeous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great place to stop after biking or walking on Forbidden Drive. Have visited multiple times and found the menu to be fantastic, including GF options. Staff is very nice. Ambiance always a highlight here. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I had a great time at Valley Green Inn. We went on a Sunday afternoon and it was busy but not too awful. Service was great and our food came quickly. You get a brunch appetizer and an entree for $20. Only complaint is I think they should have more lunch options rather than breakfast. We went at 1:30 and it was only breakfast

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

My son grew up in Philadelphia and we often ate at Valley Green when he and his brother were small. He and his family were visiting from Seattle last weekend, and I arranged for all of us- including my younger son and his family - to have lunch at Valley Green. It was truly a hit!!!! In addition to five adults, our party included two young children and a baby, and the wait staff could not have been more patient or obliging. After a lovely lunch we went for a walk along the Wissahickon. It was a perfect afternoon.

The Valley Green Inn is definite must if you are visiting Philadelphia.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We sat on the patio, which looks out on Forbidden Drive (great for people-watching) and Wissahickon Creek (the perfect outdoor dining atmosphere). The brunch menu is original, varied and DELICIOUS. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The Valley Green Inn is a Philadelphia staple that any resident or visitor should experience at least once. We often hike from our home but it is easily accessible by car.
While food is consistent, in recent years there has been a definite decline in service. During our most recent visit, our waitress mentioned that the famous bread basket would be out shortly. To our dismay the bread never arrived while we waited for our appetizers. BE SURE TO GET THIS... it is spectacular especially during brunch!

Since the bill can be quite healthy (dinner for 4 will run easily . $200) you would hope that service at the very least would be consistent and good delivery would be a little smoother.

Overall, if you find yourself in the area or have a special occasion I would definitely consider Valley Green Inn; it is the quintessential cottage in the woods. Even if your meal takes a little longer to get to you, you will be pleasantly distracted by the beautiful scenery Wissahickon Park has to offer.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Enjoyed Sunday brunch here with my mother and daughter. Historic building in the park, with a view of hikers, dog walkers and bicycle riders going by. Food was delicious and a good value. Prix Fixe included two courses and a non-alcoholic beverage. Will return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

An otherwise peaceful brunch became a moderate noisy experience thanks to mother's trying to control their rambunctious children. 10/10 I want to show this place to everyone I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Incredible service! Patient and attentive. A wonderful experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We have loved the Wissahickon for decades. This cafe, the ambiance and the delicious food and drink fit right in. We sat on the porch and thoroughly enjoyed the sunset.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Grilled asparagus and mushroom appetizer was great! Always a treat to sit on the porch and watch the world go by. Perfect summer evening spot.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

A perfect birthday dinner. My girlfriend and I loved the gnocchi in an arugula pesto and were knocked out by the pavlova (I thought Pavlova was Russian ballerina, not also a dessert!). We dined on the porch, enjoying the view of the Wissahickon and some uber cute dogs walking by. Our server was attentive but not hovering. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Historic tavern along river trail was a nice venue. Although menu had a good selection, and food was well-prepared, a bit pricey. For example, the $12 "Inn Salad" was only the size of a small dinner salad, and the burger had a modicum of toppings. Service was marginal, and in fact a bit confusing: After taking our order, our first waitress reported we would be subsequently served by another, which left us wondering if she was off-shift or if we had said something to offend her. At any rate, service timing could have been better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Took my very special lady for a romantic evening meal. Had been here many years ago and loved the location and setting. We enjoyed our time, especially the corner table by a window next to a fireplace - very romantic.

Unfortunately the food was poor to average, however the ambiance, service and location lived up to my high expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great location, people, vibe, atmosphere. Just a special place in Philly whatever the Season. Brunch on Sunday is OK, sometimes would like to see a more broad menu with greater choice.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Went there for brunch and my eggs were over cooked, and my toast was under toasted. Brunch was $19.99 per person for bad eggs and bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Another great meal at Valley Green. This is an exceptional place to dine. Food and service were good but location on a summer evening was exceptional. My overriding wish is that the restaurant could find the formula to draw in more diners on a Monday night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Black bean burger was excellent. Fries were delicious too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Terrific restaurant deep in Fairmount Park. Nestled in a wooded river valley, large open porch and patio for dining outside or interior rooms. Bring your walking shoes or bike too as you will be inspired to take a walk or bike ride after lunch or dinner along the river.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.