Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Valley Green Inn

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Cozy (21)
Scenic View (21)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Authentic (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Seasonal (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Waterfront (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
954 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My food was not warm enough when received. Flavor of food (3rd course) not ideal. Dessert taken to go, got home, not what was ordered. Valentine''s dinner expensive and left a lot to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Very nice time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2018

I started with the hummus which had a nice flavor but was served on bread. Thought it was an odd preparation. My husband had onion soup which he thought was fine. My main dish was the salmon. Very small portion of salmon. My husband had meatloaf and it was burned on the bottom. He wasn't happy with his selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Pleasant environment despite inappropriate pop music, albeit soft, in the background. Open Table seating request and notation that this was a birthday were ignored. Do restaurant staffs even read these requests? Food / drinks good.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Went for dinner at 530. It was super quiet. Probably gets more busy when it’s warm weather. Service was excellent good cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2018

A great destination when hiking the Wissahickon Valley trail! Food is great and good sized portions. We often take out of town guests here after a hike. Just lovely! Great to sit outside afterwards by the river!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2018

The only negative was they offer muffins and they use to be. This particular morning the basket contained what appeared as the ends of bread
Hard and very small bits of bread. Not edible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We have a great meal next to the fireplace. Food was excellent, room was quiet and surroundings was conducive to great conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2018

This is one of the most romantic restaurants I have ever been in. Staff is attentive. Ambiance is otherworldly and all around fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Seasonal, Healthy, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The meal choice was fantastic. 4 stars only because the desserts were a little disappointing and there was a draft by the window seat, probably because the fireplace is not getting enough combustion air.
The waiter Andy was great and even inquired to the Chef about the process used to slow roast the vegetables which were perfect. Fluffy gnocci were a first, and worth a repeat trip. Impressive menu and quaint low key classy dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant. Food is delicious. Ambiance is amazing.

Tags: Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2017

We visited on Christmas Eve. The food was excellent, the wait staff was very efficient and pleasant. The restaurant is in the park, very much off the beaten path, and very small and cozy. The building is from the colonial period (or so) and the ambiance couldn't be better. It isn't cheap but it's well worth it.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Great atmosphere. Wonderful service. Fantastic food. Beautiful setting. Comfortable. Friendly. Just a fabulous place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Enjoyed setting, food and friends..
A great Start to Christmas weekend...

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Irene's service was excellent. Our cozy table by the fire was fantastic.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Wonderful setting for meeting a friend for a Christmas lunch. We each ordered the split pea soup, a special of the day, which was excellent. We each ordered the crab cake appetizer which was beautifully presented, tasty and enough for a nice lunch. The waitress was very friendly. My only negative comment was it was a bit loud, considering it was not a full house.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 16, 2017

I was looking for a quiet spot for a holiday lunch and this waas perfect. The food was very good, the atmosphere was nice and we were able to converse without problem.
It's a gem in the city with the ability to take a nice walk along the Wissahickon after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Lunch was an exquisite moment, with the snow falling in the ghosty trees arching over the creek, seen through an eighteenth-century mullioned window with a small wreath like a halo hanging in the center. The food was delicious, the room was warm with the fire cracking and the friendly murmur of other voices.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2017

Beautiful, historic location. My Duck Cassoulet was the best meal I've had in some time. Service was prompt and attentive without being overly familiar. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The setting and building is outstanding. We had brunch in a small dinning room. Brunch is a great way to experience this historical building and the surrounding location. Unfortunately, our room was extremely hot - by wood fireplace and radiator heat. But, everyone loved the fireplace. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2017

Food was pretty good; lavender creme brulee excellent. Noise level in the fireplace room was untenable. Our server Andy was attentive but stretched thin. If I return, I'll try different entree and the bar dining room.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Meal was fantastic. Service was good. Will be making a return visit soon. Husband and son raved about their entrees which included meatloaf and pork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

I have created a special memory for the 2 of us. Celebrated a very special person’s bday couldn’t have chosen a better place! Loved it!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

A lovely evening. Service was attentive. Rustic, historic inn.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Surprisingly nothing on the lunch menu really appealed to us. Enjoyed the history and location more than the food. Server was very nice but her tables were scattered all over making it hard for her to stay on top of things. Not a bad experience but we felt it could be much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The food was good, portions reasonable, and we had no complaints with the kitchen. The host ignored our reservation, which we later had to correct with OpenTable. Our server didn't appear until 15 minutes after we were seated, then took another 15 minutes to get our drinks. Then she just never came back. We were eventually able to get the host to find our check while we waited at the desk to pay it.

I'd love to come back here, because it's so nice outside, and the inn is cozy. But I probably won't ever set foot in here again after the horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Wonderful for our anniversary! Very romantic, great food and wine! Our waiter sang to us! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Would be even better when it's cold enould to use the fireplace. Great place for brunch, group event, romantic date!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Vegan, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2017

I love it !! The atmosphere is beautiful. Food is fresh and delicious. Service is great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Indian summer weather in late October lured us to Valley Green Inn for a leisurely Sunday dinner out on the patio, and we were not disappointed. Our party loved - and shared - the pate, the tomato-white bean soup, and the crab cake BLT. They were all delicious. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The food is excellent and creative here. You can't beat the view especially when you sit on the porch! Forbidden Drive is gorgeous. Brunch is a deal you can't beat! Dinner is also romantic for couples, but it is also special for a dinner with friends or family. We have been here multiple times, and we are considering having our rehearsal dinner here we like it so much!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Food was good (not great) and the service was spotty. Room is very nice and will likely go for a smaller meal in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This 18th Century Inn nestled in Wissahickon Park is a real gem. We dined at 5pm which was the first dinner slot after the lunch transition. So things were a little slow because of that. But afterwards, service was wonderful and attentive on all fronts. It was a cool fall evening so most diners staying indoors. We could still enjoy views of the creek, wildlife, and the hundreds of hikers, runners, and cyclers who frequent this park at all hours. My sons and I each had angus burgers. They were 1/2 pound huge. The fries were nice and crispy. I ordered my burger medium but it came back medium rare. That was OK but others may find that a problem. The starter soup, a creamy tomato and white bean puree was the perfect temperature to relieve the rapidly cooling temps. The restaurant is open year-round so as the temps drop, they have space heaters and steam radiators. My wife had a veggie burger, a sweet potato and black bean mix. She was very happy with that as usually such burgers have a mushroom mix too. We skipped dessert. This is a quaint and charming inn that is worth a stop after exploring the Parks. There are hundreds of miles of trails, very scenic, and some quite challenging. It can get crowded on weekends so be sure to make a reservation. It is a very popular special event location (weddings and such) so parking can also be an issue. They do have their own lot and it is well marked. The other lot is controlled by the Park. My wife and I agreed it would be nice to go back for a romantic date.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Lovely Sunday lunch on the porch. I've lived on the Wissahickon (never learned to spell it) most of my life and have loved this place forever. It used to be a slightly tatty old place but is now really contemporary and up on food trends. An improvement on what was already quaint and comfy. Definitely worth a trip

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

My first burger was completely raw. When they brought my plate back out it was clear that the entire plate had been microwaved....pretty tasteless burger to say the least. My server was very apologetic and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I scanned the list of things that I would recommend this restaurant for. Immediate closing was unfortunately not there. Nor was being ripped off.
I can’t think of anytime in recent memory, or past memory, when I have had a worse dining experience.
My wife and I took her mother to Valley Green because not only did she go there as a young girl with her parents, she also took my wife when she was young. Many happy times were spent in the park and at Valley Green.
We were seated on the porch which was perfect as people watching is a great part of the experience there. Sadly the table choice was the high point of the meal.
The menu choices are fine although the starters are are weak. Especially if you don’t like the soup of the day. The “fresh baked goods” basket was laughable. Some low level cold supermarket bread and a few meager pieces of cornbread.
And at 19.95 per person, it’s not stiff but for this quality of food, it’s robbery without a gun.

But before I get to the food, I need to mention the astoundingly bad service. Which admittedly was done by committee so the terrible effort can’t be heaped on one server. This probably was the most offensive aspect of the whole experience. Inattentiveness mixed with indifference doused with incompetence.
The lowlights included cold soup served to my mother in law. I knew when we finally flagged down a waitress an incompetent kitchen would simply nuke the soup and bring it back. I should have spoken up and had I known they were going to bring the poor woman’s soup now nuked to Chernobyl levels I would have. The poor woman took a spoonful and burned the inside of her mouth.
In keeping with the cold food policy the waitress brought my Eggs Benedict icy as well. Which were two of the skimpiest poached eggs, sad, tiny and dry Canadian Bacon, upon a lame croissant all drowned in unidentifiable yellow water. And some burned tater tots on the side.
As I have reached, easily, the character limit, skip this place. Walk on by. Fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was delicious. Our waitress was great. Very efficient in service. Atmosphere was quiet when we first got there at 6. Started getting busy around 7. Quaint little restaurant reminds me of the carriage house restaurant in coopersburg. It was a lovely date with my husband.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We just needed to come to a nice lunch in a beautiful spot. The food was delicious and we walked a little on the bridal path afterwards. Everyone just loved the ambiance and of course the food. Well worth the hour drive. We will do it again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 11, 2017

On this visit we were sat immediately, beautiful day so we sat outside, lovely. Our server was fantastic, very friendly and we appreciated his suggestions. Our glasses were always full and our lunch plus dessert was absolutely delicious. Our dog was treated as a guest as well with a water- bowl & treat. It was such a different, much more positive experience then last season, glad we gave this place another chance. And special thanks to the owner for sending us a gift certificate, will surely return when back in town. Thanks again for such excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Quite a great place. Parking is sometimes an issue. Otherwise wonderful and fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Beautiful setting in the Wissahickon, with good food and nice service.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.