Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi
  1. Distance: 1.55mi
  2. Distance: 1.65mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.83mi

About Valley Green Inn

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (17)
Scenic View (17)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Waterfront (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (5)
People Watching (5)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fireplace (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Tasting Menu (0)
Sort By:
S
867 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We were a party of 5 celebrating a friend's birthday brunch. At first 2 of us were disappointed because we thought there would be more egg dishes available for a brunch. But we quickly found good alternatives. The one friend whose birthday we celebrated is gluten sensitive ( and she was the birthday girl), it took a little back and forth in honing in on something gluten-free on the menu. So, suggestion, maybe a few gluten free options clearly marked on the menu. Other than that, Valley Green is just magical. Exquisite setting. Great waitress/ staff in general. And in general, good menu. No one rushed us, we had a fabulous leisurely brunch. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

They need to change the menus to include a bigger variety of meals. To stuck on a few fancy meals. Only a single soup offering. Did not even have seafood sauce for their crab cake . The wait staff is excellent! The surroundings beautiful.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The staff took extra care to ensure our special occasion was memorable! We loved it!!

Tags: Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Salmon was fantastic as was the meatloaf and short rib Mac n cheese. Excellent server. Great wine list with several bottles in the $35-$40 range. So sad it was empty on a Wednesday. Igor. I recommend supporting this gem folks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Have been here a number of times over the years and it never disappoints. If you like historic places, beautiful vistas, and excellent food, this is the place for you!

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food, like always, was great. The service, this time was poor. Our appetizer was never brought to our table, and we sort of felt ignored by staff. We chalked it up as a bad night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our meal was great. The salad and jumbo crab appetizers were good and our salmon was cooked to perfection. The dessert was good. My birthday meal was memorable. We loved the setting of the restaurant in the woods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love Valley Green. My wife and I were actually married there and we love to go back at least once a year. Food is always top notch and the views are awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

For some reason it didn't seem the same, was looking forward to a grilled cheese sandwich, wasn't fond of the change. Little to no dressing on side salad. VG has always been one of my favorite places, not sure if I want to try again.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is one of my favorite spots. Love being deep into Fairmount Park - so pretty and peaceful. Food and service are always good. It's a pleasant way to eat a meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter Brunch and we were seated in the tent. It was hot and uncomfortable. The food was fair and definitely not worth the price. They charged a child's price of 14.95 for a 2 year old when most places don't charge for under 3. The 2 year old had a small piece of waffle and 2 strips of bacon, quite expensive at 15.00. There was 9 of us so they were making enough money without charging for a 2 year old. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food at the Easter Brunch was excellent. The only thing I would have appreciated is that the dessert be labeled like the main course. People with food allergies like to know what they are eating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We understand Easter Brunch is a busy time but the food was not good. Like it had been sitting out for hours. Rubbery eggs, really greasy bacon almost like cheap diner food but at $34.95 it was ridiculously overpriced. It took a very, very long time for a waiter to come over and even bring us water or coffee orders. We will not be heading back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It is my birthday weekend , we arrived at noon for lunch . We where the first guests to order . Asked our server if the crab cake burger would be available was not featured on menu . Requested by the chef if he could accommodate request ,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service is horrendous here. Prices are high for food that isn't very good. What a waste of such a beautiful location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were celebrating a friend landing a great job with a long hike and fantastic food. The food was amazing and I cannot wait to go back! The location is perfect for people watching and weather permitting, dog friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Valley Green Inn is just in a beautiful and historic setting. Always tranquil and special. Food and service were very good as usual. We enjoyed our brunch and time together there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I had requested to sit outside because this restaurant is located inside a beautiful park across from a creek that I absolutely love. Unfortunately it was not the day to sit outside b/c the sun wasn't out and it was 48 degrees. I went inside & there were only 2 tables taken plus another room all empty seating. We had two dogs in our group but both were service animals with their IDs, no more than 18pds and we were NOT allowed to sit inside the restaurant. That's a first, I have always been able to bring my sd dog ANYWHERE & EVERYWHERE as its so well behaved. Anyway, I went to the car to get blankets and we sat outside. The waitress must have forgotten we were there, it took about another 15 mins before anyone came out. So we finally order,minutes later food comes out and server drops the entire mac & cheese on the table, seat, bday girl & dog. 20 minutes later another comes out, the least she can do is take it off the bill as everyone in the group waited to eat together and their food was frozen. So we take food in boxes and just order a hot chocolate which also comes out cold. It just wasn't the right day to enjoy this beautiful place and it felt as if the staff was mad. Hope everyone has a better day today.
1 WEEK LATER/UPDATING REVIEW: Liza who was in my group received today a gift-card from the owner so we could return and enjoy what we know this place offers . That's outrageous!!!! Thank you so much, we will definitely be back, this wasn't our first and we didn't think it be the last visit. Best of luck to all staff.

Tags: , , , Casual, , Cozy, , , Historic, Waterfront,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and being able to enjoy the views of the creek!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was delicious. Appetizer portions were quite small so be aware of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with fantastic food. Was wonderful after a cold winter hike. Beautiful fireplace.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Unique experience every time at The Valley Green Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food was excellent it was my wife's birthday Jonesy was a great waitress and we will definitely be back. It was made even more special by the fact that we were the only patrons in the restaurant that night I know it's not a reflection on the quality just a timing issue but it was great

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went there for Sunday brunch on a gorgeous day. Got there early with a reservation and got seating out on the porch. The wait staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The fixed brunch menu was diverse and everything looked delicious. Our meals were beyond filling. It was a great brunch. My only gripe: the coffee is awful. I've been there for a wedding once before and it's the same brown dishwater. Get some La Colombo or something guys!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful setting and great food but slow service. We ate lunch at Valley Green on a beautiful weather day in February and sat outside. Thoroughly enjoyed it but had to wait over an hour to get our food. They were not staffed properly for the day given it was a gorgeous day in the middle of winter in their non-busy season. Otherwise the experience was wonderful like usual.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I dined at the Valley Green Inn for Valentine's day this year. I was a little apprehensive due to some recent poor reviews, but I have to say we were extremely happy with our choice. The prix fix dinner was outstanding. We both enjoyed our individual three courses and desserts. My favorite were the scallops and gnocchi. We love history so this place was a must for us. The fireplace room had a slight smokey smell, which we actually enjoyed. It added to the authentic feeling of a historic building hidden in Fairmont Park. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was solid, but nothing to write home about. Very typical food. We went there for Valentine's Day and had the prix fixe menu ($70 each) thinking the food would be a little "elevated". It wasn't. Just an extra course. At the end, we were too full for dessert (not included in the price) but was thinking that maybe we would get a chocolate or something, since it was Valentine's Day. Nope. We got the check and 2 wintergreen Life Savers, still in the plastic wrappers. Dissapointing and kind of "cheap". Maybe we will try it for brunch next time......

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Charming historic setting. Food and service very good when you consider the price.
I've been visiting Valley Green for over 60 years - what city in the U S has such a bucolic and is topic resturant.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Rustic atmosphere. Very good food and service was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was served cold and service was slow. Ambiance was nice and staff friendly.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My two friends and I went on Friday to celebrate a birthday. All three of us said our food was not particularly good, the duck was dry and stringy in the kale and duck salad, the catfish sandwich was lacking flavor, and the shrimp and Thai salad was very bland.
There was an excessive amount of smoke in the air from the fireplace as the fireplace was not drawing smoke properly ( plus is was stinky as well as burning our eyes).
We have been celebrating our birthdays at VGI for several years, but for $120.00 we can find elsewhere to celebrate and have a quality meal.
We are sorry to have had such an unremarkable dining experience.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We visited with good friends on a quiet Monday night. We shared a comfy table near the wood-burning fireplace, as well as delicious food. The new chef is hitting it out of the ballpark! The short ribs with mac and cheese and corn-cabbage slaw were a fantastic combination of flavors and textures. Service was low-key and friendly, as always. We'll be back in spring for al fresco dining with the dog.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Historic, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to this restaurant numerous times. This time it was not up to par.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Went to celebrate anniversary. Very quaint and intimate.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I'm updating last year's review, because after yet another New Year's Day visit, I can't recommend their brunch highly enough. This restaurant is truly a gem. In our case, I booked for the 10:00 AM opening on New Year's Day 2016, which may sound crazy, but turned out to be a great way to start the new year. So great, in fact, that I repeated the visit again for New Year's Day 2017. If you want to do brunch (or even lunch) I recommend that you don't drive in and park in the lot at the Inn; instead, park at one of the more distant lots (the Kitchens Lane lot for example), then take a walk along the Wissahickon on Forbidden Drive. (On the way back, take the trail on the other side of the creek - there's a great view of the restaurant from across the creek, especially in winter when the trees are bare - plus you get to walk through the Finger Bridge.) There's something really special about taking the time to walk, and then arrive at this restaurant, which is so evocative of the pre-automobile era. During our New Year's visit, the Inn was decorated for the holidays, which was charming, and with the wood fireplace actually providing the heat for the dining room. (I wouldn't sit too close.)

I was sorry to see that this year, they didn't offer the hot buttered rum, but their spiced cider made up for it. The new year's brunch was a $30 prix fixe two-course menu - a truly excellent value. Their house salad was excellent, and the 2016 lobster frittata was gone, but the 2017 crab Eggs Benedict was outstanding, eggs perfectly poached. I don't think you could go wrong with anything on the menu. We'll definitely be walking back again for brunch before long.

Get on their email list - this past December they offered gift cards that were basically 50% off. Incredible bargain.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Historic with never ending charm. Food is very gourmet, not the place for little kids screaming. Take them to McDonald's or the Coliseum for fried food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wait staff was not assigned to our table, and once we finally asked for a wait person, the service was still a bit slow. Some of the food was quite good, some was just ok, the salad was overdressed. Obviously people come for the ambiance, and it's a lovely place to eat. Just be prepared to wait a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went on Christmas Eve looking the comfort and coziness of one of the two front rooms with a Christmas tree and fireplace. Unfortunately, they stuck our party of six in a back room with loud music and really bright lighting. It was like being in a cafeteria. WE asked to have the lighting dimmed and music turned down, which made it tolerable but it was not the experience we were hoping for. Plus the menu was more limited and quite pricey. If you go to this restaurant, request the room with the fireplace.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been going to Valley Green for years, esp. on holidays or special occasions.. The food is very good and the service is always excellent. For the first time I can remember, they did not offer a buffet in the large tent. This actually reduced the chaos of people going back and forth to the buffet tables.
The setting is beautiful and in warm weather you can sit outside.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The location is picturesque. The cozy dining rooms, charming woodwork, & open fireplace create a warm, quiet & relaxed atmosphere perfect for dinner conversation. The wine & beer list has plenty of interesting options. The menu is limited enough not to be overwhelming but eclectic enough that all four of us found multiple dishes we were excited to try. For starters, the Mac & Short Ribs & the Crab Cake Sliders were big hits . The Burger, the Ravioli & the Swordfish were all superb. The let down was the limited desert menu. Staff was warm, helpful & attentive without being intrusive, but a little disorganized: a few minor mistakes were made. The host/manager came by more than once: a bit intrusive & likely the source of service issues. Attempts to "help" servers lead to confusion. Overall, however, we had a wonderful meal, & I would definitely recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.