About Valley Green Inn

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Scenic View
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Great for Lunch
Philadelphia
2 More
Outdoor Dining
Philadelphia
Scenic View
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

scenic view (59)
great for outdoor dining (49)
romantic (36)
See All
neighborhood gem (35)
special occasion (35)
great for lunch (31)
great for brunch (29)
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (13)
kid-friendly (11)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
750 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

The waitress was not knowledge about th ...

Dined 6 days ago

The waitress was not knowledge about the menu. I asked he twice about the green vegetable with the chicken. She never answered me and brought it anywhere. She spoke too softly and too fast. When asked about different dishes on the menu, she did not know. The chef Lydia was amazing and informative and a wonderful chef

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

Very charming place. Ate outside on the ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very charming place. Ate outside on the porch because it was too cold for my wife inside Very good food but very small portions for the high price.

food1
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been here before and I was excited ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I've been here before and I was excited to go back but this time the food was not good . I was very disappointed with food- but the service was superb. I just don't think I'll go back for food again. We had lunch on sat. I ordered the pulled pork sandwich and honestly probably the worst pulled pork sandwich I've ever had in my life. my friend had grilled cheese sandwich and we could barely taste the cheese- onions and bread overpowered it. We also had calamari for appetizer and some didn't even have calamari in it. we bragged about this place to my friends but I regretted bringing them .. oh wells, at least the scenery was awesome.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was very nice on Thurs. night ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything was very nice on Thurs. night. We went with a friend with whom we used to celebrate wedding anniversaries. Her husband died but we keep up the tradition. Lots of memory sharing. Staff accommodated our request for a private table. We will be back. M.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

I met two friends for lunch at the Inn. ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

I met two friends for lunch at the Inn. Two of us ordered the crabcake appetizer, which at a price of $14 in Center City would have yielded something of sufficient size to satisfy. What arrived was a crab cake of good quality but tiny, with a nest of greens to which the kitchen had forgotten to add dressing. A staff representative apologized for the lack of salad dressing but defended the crabcake portion size as "what it said on the menu." We were presented with a complimentary dish of the Inn's calamari--not helpful to a group that does not eat fried food. I will be returning to the Inn's beautiful grounds but with a picnic lunch next time.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Several weeks ago, we had lousy strip st ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Several weeks ago, we had lousy strip steaks at Valley Green. I wrote about it here. The owner contacted me. He refunded two full dinners (not just the cost of the steaks) AND sent a gift certificate. We were told there had been a mix up and had been served the steaks meant for lunch. They were so nice I felt guilty about the review I had given and was anxious to get back and try again. Our waitress was professional, not overly friendly. We shared the Charred Asparagus Salad, it was fantastic!!! First rate. We split some Local Calamari. Said it came with Smoked Tomato Aioli but the Aioli served to us was green and tangy - maybe wasabi. However, it was outstanding - so fresh! My husband had Organic Roast Chicken Breast with Rosemary Sweet Potatoes, Sauteed Kale, Natural Jus. He got a small portion, white potatoes (not sweet) puree, couldn't taste the rosemary. Still, very good. I ordered the strip steak. I was disappointed. First steak I received was overdone. Wasn't much thicker than the half inch one I had complained about a few weeks back. A steak that is under an inch thick, it is nearly impossible to cook to a medium rare temperature. By the time you have the steak seared on one side it's done. If you sear the other side - it's medium. I sent it back. The next one was MUCH better! About 5/8 inch thick, not well trimmed, lots of fat and gristle. The description was Angus New York Strip Steak Pommes Puree, Charred Green Onions, Herb Butter. What I got was steak fries sauteed kale and topped with a huge amount of green herb mash. It was an overwhelming herb blend that was too strong on the steak AFTER I scraped it off. I'll go back but only for lunch, outside on a beautiful day. For $32, I expect a top quality steak. Other restaurants in the area offer two inch strip steaks or filet for the same price. Valley Green should stick with a lower price menu offering burgers and sandwiches. They will need to up their game to be a high end place.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Our meal was a bit disappointing, mostly ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our meal was a bit disappointing, mostly because the portions were so small, expensive for what we received and the service was slow even though the restaurant was not particularly crowded. Our server also forgot to bring an appetizer. I've eaten at Valley Green before and will give it another chance, but were I a first-time diner, I might have been turned off.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Overpriced. My mediocre vegetable entree was $23.

Dined on June 7, 2016

Waitress was outstanding. Food arrived in a timely manner. Overpriced. Location is wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Pay Per View

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

If you want to participate vicariously in one of the many weddings, this is the spot. Likewise, if you want a view of the Wissahickon Creek and swimming ducks, punctuated by bicyclists and joggers. But don't go for the food.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place!

Dined on May 29, 2016

You'd never believe you were inside Philadelphia - not easy to get to but worth the (minor) trek. Wonderful food, atmosphere, service. Very dog-friendly! Great view.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Extremely disappointed! Took my niece, ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Extremely disappointed! Took my niece, from out of town, to her father's favorite Haunt as a kid. Valley Green Inn has been a "go-to" for decades because of it's location, ambiance and (maybe not great but) good food. Not this time. Shared the Caesar Salad, which was large and tasty. The lettuce was huge, barely cut up. Two of us ordered the "Strip Steak". It really takes some nerve to call what we got a Strip Steak. It was less than half an inch thick. Almost had to wonder if they only had one steak left and divided it, to have two portions. Ordered them Medium rare but how do you cook a steak this thin to any given temperature? One was over done the other well done at one end and rare at the other. $32 for this steak that looked like something that should have been made into cheese steak! Wish I had the nerve to tell them to take it back. My husband ordered Sea Scallops - which was a better choice but still pretty bad. Received 5 scallops all different sizes, all smaller than a half dollar. All over cooked. Our waitress was a gem!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Henry was a great server and couldn't do ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Henry was a great server and couldn't do enough for us

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5

For starters, have enough parking. I ha ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

For starters, have enough parking. I had to park way up the hill because the overflow lot was locked. I called and was told they don't control the parking lots. Well heck- make a relationship with the parks department and assure adequate parking. Food was acceptable, portions on the smaller side and prices on the higher side. Kids meal? Try offering something kids want. And really -12.95 for a kids bowl of pasta! Positives: our party of 7 had a room to ourselves and our server was very nice. She was even going to run over to the snack shop to get our child guest a pretzel (alas sold out). The location is very nice - historic Inn in Fairmount park.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Menu changes not a plus

Dined on May 20, 2016

We dine at this restaurant times a year and were very disappointed to find many of our favorite options missing from a recent lunch, e.g. the baked brie. Not only were favorites missing but the menu had fewer choices. Only 3 things were offered for dessert choices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Missing menu items and very poor service.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was very inattentive and we had to keep asking the bus person for more drinks and extra menu items. My friend had her half empty wine glass filled with water. The food was so-so and quite overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch on the porch

Dined on May 12, 2016

We ate lunch on the porch on a sunny day with a view of the creek. The service was great and the food delicious. There were several options for me, a vegan. We were just sad that we missed the bear who showed up the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulouse location perfect for outdoor dining.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Very enjoyable all around location to visit. Food was good although they took 3 of my favorite things off the menu. I think the prices were also increased since the new chef started a few weeks ago. Still worth going to especially when you can eat outside.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is a neighborhood treasure. The food is great and the atmosphere is unbeatable. Parking is the only real issue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A Romantic Historic Inn on the Lovely Wissahickon

Dined on April 21, 2016

We love the Wissahickon Creek and for decades have spent many hours running, walking, climbing, and exploring along Forbidden Drive and its offshoot trails. The historic Valley Green Inn has been the perfect venue for many of our family's most special occasions: anniversaries, Easter, 4th of July, and entertaining visitors from around the globe. We love settling around a table on the inn's porch to see friends jog by, to see the wood ducks out for a swim and the Canada geese nesting on the rocks, and, two days ago, a bald eagle swooped by our party to supposedly wish my sister and her husband a happy anniversary. The staff presents a mostly-affordable diverse menu catering to many different dietary needs and hosts have been, for the most part, gracious, efficient, and hospitable. We prefer to eat outside on the porch as the noise level in the tented porch can become deafening.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quaint and Nostalgic

Dined on April 13, 2016

Great location in Fairmount Park on the bridle path along the Wissahickon Creek. Valley Green Inn has lots of history.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and quality worth the reasonable price

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service and quality of the meal were very good for the price including cocktails and wine. the menu was diverse without being too long. Atmosphere was very quaint including a fire in the fire place on a cold wet evening. Will come back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Easter Brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Went to Valley Green Inn for Easter Brunch after a fabulous Thanksgiving dinner there last year. Unfortunately, this meal did not meet the high level of expectation that was set from Thanksgiving. Over 2.5 hours to get our meal and when it was served, each meal was cold. The waitress did not attend to us well at all -- she did not keep up informed about back ups in the kitchen, did not look to replenish our drinks (including water), and left the bread basket empty. We would not have been as disappointed in the wait for our meal had she been attentive and kept us informed. The manager was wonderful -- he was very apologetic and took very good care of us because of the issues we faced. There apparently is a new chef who underestimated Easter at Valley Green Inn. I felt for the manager because I think he spent his entire day putting out too many fires. I appreciate all he did for us! We will definitely return because our Thanksgiving experience was so great and we'll hope for no repeats of Easter. I'm confident our next visit will be great!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Slow but scenic

Dined on March 27, 2016

The restaurant was very busy for Easter brunch. Our waitress lacked finesse and somehow our order was screwed up and we waited one hour for our main course. The manager apologized and gave us a discount. The food was ok but the wait was bad with a two year old!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden treasure

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Very friendly staff. Excellent food, great for "escapes"

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a celebration!

Dined on March 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our brunch, food and service was excellent. We were celebrating two events and the relaxed atmosphere allowed us to enjoy the moment!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on March 13, 2016

A magically delightful gem hidden on the Wissahickon Trail .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

good spot

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The outdoor scene is a good attraction. The service was good. the food is really good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Was there for lunch. The food was delici ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Was there for lunch. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. I love the setting. It's a beautiful place.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice place

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The Inn was a little more rustic than I expected (I had the idea that it was "fancy"). But service was friendly and the food was good. We went for Sunday brunch and stayed for quite a while, but they didn't rush us out, which we appreciated!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Brunch at Valley Green Inn was perfect

Dined on February 21, 2016

I took my family (i.e. my partner and two young children, ages 7 and 5 years) for brunch at the Inn on a Sunday morning at 10AM. I am just becoming acquainted with the Philadelphia area, and had hiked a few times on trails at the Wissahickon Valley park with my children, but had not yet stopped in at the inn. The location of the Valley Green Inn is delightful: it is idyllically located at the basin of the forest where several hiking trails meet, and has a beautiful setting where, before or after your meal, you and your children can stroll, feed geese, sit, hike, or run in the forest. The food at the Inn was also lovely: all four adult-size entrees were overall delicious (the sausage and potatoes was a big hit with each of us!); the only complaint was that the walnut maple syrup dressing on the double-cream Brie French toast was far too sweet. The cost of the food was appropriate. Note to parents of rapidly-growing/always-hungry children: the child's plate on the menu will probably suffice to feed your child; I had my doubts so I ordered an adult-size entree for each of my children, but we took most of it home since they were already nearly stuffed after the fruit salad and baked goods were served before the meal! Altogether, it was absolutely lovely, and I would absolutely go again and again :-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Just ok

Dined on February 21, 2016

We've been going here for years, including having our wedding reception there. I don't know why we go back for dinner - the food is better at so many other places. It's a good place to sit on the patio in the spring and fall with a glass of wine and appetizer. The best thing they have to offer is the surroundings.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

President's Day lunch Monday 2/15/16

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The Valley Green Inn never lets me down. Have been coming here since I was 6 years old and that is half a century ago! Food is fabulous, and the ambiance is lovely no matter what season you visit. It was lightly snowing on Monday, and the view from the dining room was gorgeous. I will be back, that is for sure!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Perfect Sunday Brunch Spot

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were able to get a last minute Valentine's Day brunch reservation -- and I am so glad we did! The brunch menu was expansive, and the food was fantastic. Even better was the charming ambiance, including our adorable waitress who "fit the theme" perfectly. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the Gems of Philadelphia Dining

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We always enjoy Valley Green Inn for the combination of good food and terrific surroundings. A beautiful brunch for Valentine's Day...the only disappointment was the freakishly cold weather prevented a after-meal walk. Oh well, next time!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2

Have been to Valley Green Inn since I wa ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Have been to Valley Green Inn since I was a kid. Recently went for brunch. They are still missing the mark. Great historic place. Nice friendly staff but very amateur and inexperienced. Food was delivered cold for both of us. Could be such a great place.

food4
ambience5
service4

Will be back! Quiet and cozy atmosphere. ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Will be back! Quiet and cozy atmosphere. Food was delicious too. I would deter people from getting a draft beer because our beer tasted funky.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Snowy evening in the valley.

Dined on January 18, 2016

We go to the Valley Green Inn when we have the opportunity to stay over in Philly prior to a next day appointment. I usually get the pork tenderloin. I should have this time, too. I got the ribeye steak, which was not all that great. Sorry for the disappointment, but someone in the kitchen is not up to par in choosing their steaks. It had fat down the sides and was pretty tough. Ribeyes are usually really good. Not this one. I will not get that again. My wife had the salmon, which was great. Live and learn.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Hidden Gem

Dined on January 16, 2016

My wife and I have never been to the restaurant before and went there to quietly celebrate my birthday with a nice meal. The restaurant exceeded our expectations in food, service and atmosphere. We will definitely return again and highly recommend to our friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on January 7, 2016

The food is tasty, and well prepared with good presentation. I have been here for lunch twice and have not been disappointed either time. The waitresses are extremely knowledgeable and made excellent suggestions. It is very charming.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Beautiful interior deco ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Excellent food. Beautiful interior decor and the outside seating area is picturesque. Great place for lunch and dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.