About Valley Green Inn

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

Scenic View (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Romantic (16)
See All
Historic (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (9)
Casual (9)
Fireplace (9)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Waterfront (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Take in context... our reservation was o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Take in context... our reservation was on the Saturday after Thanksgiving (so a generally busy day). Despite our reservation, we needed to wait about 20 minutes for our table. Ambiance and location are great. We were seated in the main dining room near the fireplace, which was very nice. Menu choices are a bit limited... but proved adequate. Food was solid... not outstanding. Service was good. Only real downer was being chased from our table ("...the next party is waiting..."), which, when considering how late we were seated felt brusque. I hope they are more polite when they are not so busy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

great brunch (but wish i could have used ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

great brunch (but wish i could have used my dining points).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Valley Green Inn was phenomenal! I w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Valley Green Inn was phenomenal! I would highly recommend it to anyone!! Absolutely delicious food for a fair price in a great location!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've gone here many times and still are ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We've gone here many times and still are surprised by how rude they can be. (Previously we tried to come for lunch 20 minutes after getting engage and they slammed the door in our faces.) They get easily overwhelmed whenever they have a wedding or other event.

Aside from some rudeness when we called to confirm our reservation and when we arrived, this time we had a pleasant lunch outside and the hostess and waitress were really kind. We'll still go back but maintain low expectations for being treated well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was delicious and reasonable but th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food was delicious and reasonable but the noise level was quite high with some loud tables. We did not care to hear the medical reports of all their family members (the table was 2 from us), so we moved to the other room to at least hear each other's conversation

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great setting but don't come for the foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great setting but don't come for the food. Lukewarm hot water for the tea, very underdone burgers, slooooowww service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Brunch menu has typical brunch fare. Pri ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Brunch menu has typical brunch fare. Prix Fixe of $19.95 with a $5.00 supplement for certain dishes. Includes soup or salad and breads.

Very noisy in an original colonial inn.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My friends and I have been coming to VGI ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My friends and I have been coming to VGI for several years to celebrate our birthdays. This brings us to celebrate in three seasons, winter, spring and fall. Always lovely to see the different changes in the various seasons. Charming atmosphere and good food have made for good memories!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fireplace, Private Room, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I hate to share this best kept secret! T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I hate to share this best kept secret!

The food has gotten much more interesting.

Such a lovely place to enjoy a meal, especially on the porch in good weather

Good service but don't rush

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love eating at The Valley Green! Love t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Love eating at The Valley Green! Love the history and the beautiful views! Dining on the porch is such a plus, and we have a few favorites from your menu. I was on a carb restriction, and the kitchen accommodated my needs without making me feel awkward! THANK YOU!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Historic, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What a unique environment! One of the be ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

What a unique environment!

One of the best kept secrets in Philly!!

Best brunch and lovely service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious farm to table type fare; good ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious farm to table type fare; good for a romantic dinner with your sweetheart

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Valley Green Inn couldn't have been more ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Valley Green Inn couldn't have been more romantic of an atmosphere! the staff was great and very attentive and the food was erotic and excitingly delicious! My date and I had a spectacular time sharing our meals and trying these exquisite dishes! We enjoyed sitting by the water after our meal and feeding seeds to the beautiful ducks and admiring the colorful leaves on the trees.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was outstanding. Our wait ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our experience was outstanding. Our waitress, Josie, was cute, attentive, and exceptionally pleasant. Great young lady. The food was terrific, a culinary artistic event. Complements to Stephanie, our chef. We will go back, many times, in all four seasons. This inn in the deep woods calls to your sense of history, to the days of futures passed, and warms with its welcome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location, if possible arrive w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Beautiful location, if possible arrive while it is still light out so you can take in the tranquil view of the stream and surrounding woods. Cozy, historic building. We sat in the Fireplace room and felt it was very romantic. There are not a lot of options for food but what they prepare is delicious. I had the grilled swordfish on top of a quinoa salad in a yellow tomato, cantaloupe gazpacho and loved every bite. It was well seasoned, the flavors were perfectly balances and the different textures added dimension to the dish. Would recommend without hesitation.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, historic location with a warm ...

 
 (Nürnberg)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Beautiful, historic location with a warm atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got married here, so we celebrated ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We got married here, so we celebrated our 7th anniversary with brunch on a beautiful Sunday morning. VGI is a really nice place, the food was good, and the ambiance is terrific.

My only complaint - upon eating outside is something that isn't the locale's fault but is just a factor of eating out on a fall day. Bugs were a pain in the butt - we had to shoo several yellow jackets away, and several flies. We could have eaten inside of course.

It's a great place, I'd highly recommend them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a pleasant Friday dinner at a hid ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It was a pleasant Friday dinner at a hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was awful. Destroyed the whole ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was awful. Destroyed the whole meal. The staff seemed to not realize that when people are seated at tables, they are actually there to see what it is they would like to eat. We will never be back there again.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great setting but the food quality has ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great setting but the food quality has gone done in recent years. My husband and I got married here 6 years ago, so will always be a special place. But I hope the food choices and quality improve.

Tags: Historic, Casual, People Watching
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Some of the food was fine, the chicken s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Some of the food was fine, the chicken salad was made with dark meat and was a bit slimy. We were called 10 minutes before our reservation time, and the person calling seemed to be upset that we were going to be on time rather than early. Once we were there the staff was great, it was a gorgeous day, and we had a relaxing time

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I will not return to this restaurant nor ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I will not return to this restaurant nor recommend this restaurant. I had a reservation made for lunch on Saturday and was seated promptly. We ordered 1 appetizer along with two entrees. The appetizer arrived in a reasonable amount of time however the service declined from there.

In the 1 hour we waited for our entrees, our waitress checked on us twice. After 30 minutes our waitress first check in with us to inform us that there is a delay as the kitchen was catching up on orders for a party of 30. We were understanding and initially was not upset at all. However, I started to notice parties that arrived the same time we did begin receiving their orders. After another 15 minutes, our waitress checked in on us the second time and informed us if our order does not arrive in 5 minutes, she will get Patty (whom I never got to meet nor know who it is). She expressed that the delay in our entrees was not her fault and out of her control. Well who is in control and who can correct this we thought? Patty? Five minutes passed and she did not return. I lost my patience when the table next to us, who sat down long after us, ordered the identical entrees that we ordered and received their food... We sat there and observed in confusion and disappointment. I immediately requested for our orders to be canceled which apparently have not been started. No attempts to make amends were done on the restaurant's part by anyone. We were still charged for our appetizer which we gladly paid.

We certainly left feeling not valued as customers at all and no one should feel the way we did. We attempted to dine at a restaurant that we took the consideration to make reservations for, proceeded to patiently wait due to the restaurant's poor time management and was left not only forgotten but also dismissed. We have never felt so insulted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I made a reservation for Valley Green, r ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I made a reservation for Valley Green, remembering it as an institution from my childhood. We sat for 45 minutes without any food. We weren't offered menu specials. Our waitress was completely unprofessional. I eventually got up and left without eating, after waiting for 45 minutes. Completely unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The inn is pretty, the setting lovely. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The inn is pretty, the setting lovely. After much too long a wait, a waiter finally arrived at our table. He did a terrific job, listening to requests and going out of his way to meet them. Food was under seasoned but okay.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

They made my father very happy. Thanks f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2016

They made my father very happy. Thanks for the attention.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

They hired a new chief and he has change ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2016

They hired a new chief and he has changed the menu. He removed something we always have ordered for years...the chicken salad sandwich with cranberries and almonds and we were disappointed its wasn't listed. Hopefully they put it back on the Fall menu. Prices are higher, no bargains on the menu. It's still a wonderful location , the bathrooms are pretty clean and the staff is helpful. We had a new server and she was not very helpful. We always go club.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Great place to have a bite on a beautifu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great place to have a bite on a beautiful day. Sat out on the porch, had a really nice lunch, and enjoyed the surroundings. Other than som bees hovering around, everything was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been here several times. The amb ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have been here several times. The ambience is always lovely, and was especially so this last time, as we sat on the front porch. The service was fine. The food varies from pretty good to just okay. I love being there, so I wish they would do better with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

My husband and I genuinely love Valley G ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I genuinely love Valley Green Inn and had one of our first dates here, back in the mid-1980s. We treated our friends to lunch on Saturday, September 3. They loved it -- food excellent, ambiance terrific for outdoor dining. We all loved seeing people walking dogs, jogging, enjoying the beautiful day and lovely scenery. Our server was delightful. So, I feel terrible saying that the service -- which I think was not the server's fault -- is a problem. We were seated almost 15 minutes before our server arrived for the first time. She apologized and we understood, and tipped her generously because she was working hard. But the service really should be more efficient and coordinated. And maybe they were shorthanded on a busy Saturday. Overall, we had a very nice luncheon and will surely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Perfect summer evening outdoors on the W ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Perfect summer evening outdoors on the Wissahickon. Fine food, very good service, memorable experience for out of town guests

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good, but the service was just ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was good, but the service was just awful as usual. We got married here a couple of years ago and it was amazing, but the restaurant is pretty disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Love visiting VGI and the experience.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love visiting VGI and the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The room we wanted was closed due to a r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The room we wanted was closed due to a roof leak.

The available dining room was FREEZING cold. There was condensate dripping off the windows and it was very loud.

The hostess took our drink order and eventually our food order. The waiter came over and apologized . He was very busy or they were short handed? He is a great guy but no one really tended the table.

I mentioned that the lunch was for my husbands birthday and that was just ignored.

It was a bad day. I've had nice times at Valley Green but this was not one of them and I wanted it to be special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

We went for our anniversary dinner. Like ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for our anniversary dinner. Liked the sound of the appetizers most, so we ordered four of these and shared. Delicious. So full, we said no to dessert but the waitress brought us a delicious (and complimentary) flan-like custard with berries and mint...amazing. This is the most beautiful place for dinner. We sat on the porch, watched the ducks in the creek, listened to the cicadas and crickets. Plan to go back for brunch some Sunday in the fall.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was revamped recently. Fabulou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The menu was revamped recently. Fabulous. Will surely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were fortunate that the restaurant on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were fortunate that the restaurant only had two couples other than our group of four, and eventually we were the only ones in the place. This resulted in the quiet atmosphere. The wine was lovely. Thefood was delicious from the calamari appetizer to the fish entrees three of us ordered, to the steak one ordered (grilled to perfection). We ended the meal sharing the lemon poppy dessert and the chocolate sorbet dessert each delicious and served beautifully. When we were finished and went outside, the ambiance of the park was magical. We all enjoyed every part of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch. The menu is u ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. The menu is unoriginal and unappealing--your choice of entree is served with 2 little Bob Evans-type sausages and home fries (who even eats that at a nice brunch?) along with a tiny saucer of fruit and a basket with a few slices of dry raisin bread and a thimble-size muffin (for 3 people). The food tasted like it had been prepared earlier and warmed over. The room smelled like there had been a fire in the fireplace the night before--like damp burnt wood. All this for $18.95. Very disappointing. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I eat at Valley Green fairly often. It i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2016

I eat at Valley Green fairly often. It is one of my favorite places.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was excellent , food , servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was excellent , food , service, bar menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK, nothing amazing. You can't ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was OK, nothing amazing. You can't beat the ambiance though and that you can eat at the porch with your dogs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.