About Valley Green Inn

Valley Green Road at Wissahickon Creek
Philadelphia, PA 19128
View Larger Map

Located in the Wissahickon Valley, the inviting atmosphere of Philadelphia's last remaining roadhouse is one of the city's best kept secrets. The Valley Green Inn is just waiting to be found in the bustling metropolis of America's Birthplace.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 247-1730

Website:
http://valleygreeninn.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Valley Green Inn can accommodate all your special event needs.

Valley Green Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Scenic View
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Outdoor Dining
Philadelphia
1 More
Scenic View
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Scenic View (44)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Romantic (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Brunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Kid-friendly (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Historic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Casual (2)
Waterfront (2)
Cozy (2)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
788 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful, historic location with a warm ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful, historic location with a warm atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got married here, so we celebrated ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

We got married here, so we celebrated our 7th anniversary with brunch on a beautiful Sunday morning. VGI is a really nice place, the food was good, and the ambiance is terrific.

My only complaint - upon eating outside is something that isn't the locale's fault but is just a factor of eating out on a fall day. Bugs were a pain in the butt - we had to shoo several yellow jackets away, and several flies. We could have eaten inside of course.

It's a great place, I'd highly recommend them.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a pleasant Friday dinner at a hid ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was a pleasant Friday dinner at a hidden gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was awful. Destroyed the whole ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was awful. Destroyed the whole meal. The staff seemed to not realize that when people are seated at tables, they are actually there to see what it is they would like to eat. We will never be back there again.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great setting but the food quality has ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great setting but the food quality has gone done in recent years. My husband and I got married here 6 years ago, so will always be a special place. But I hope the food choices and quality improve.

Tags: Historic, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Some of the food was fine, the chicken s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Some of the food was fine, the chicken salad was made with dark meat and was a bit slimy. We were called 10 minutes before our reservation time, and the person calling seemed to be upset that we were going to be on time rather than early. Once we were there the staff was great, it was a gorgeous day, and we had a relaxing time

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

I will not return to this restaurant nor ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I will not return to this restaurant nor recommend this restaurant. I had a reservation made for lunch on Saturday and was seated promptly. We ordered 1 appetizer along with two entrees. The appetizer arrived in a reasonable amount of time however the service declined from there.

In the 1 hour we waited for our entrees, our waitress checked on us twice. After 30 minutes our waitress first check in with us to inform us that there is a delay as the kitchen was catching up on orders for a party of 30. We were understanding and initially was not upset at all. However, I started to notice parties that arrived the same time we did begin receiving their orders. After another 15 minutes, our waitress checked in on us the second time and informed us if our order does not arrive in 5 minutes, she will get Patty (whom I never got to meet nor know who it is). She expressed that the delay in our entrees was not her fault and out of her control. Well who is in control and who can correct this we thought? Patty? Five minutes passed and she did not return. I lost my patience when the table next to us, who sat down long after us, ordered the identical entrees that we ordered and received their food... We sat there and observed in confusion and disappointment. I immediately requested for our orders to be canceled which apparently have not been started. No attempts to make amends were done on the restaurant's part by anyone. We were still charged for our appetizer which we gladly paid.

We certainly left feeling not valued as customers at all and no one should feel the way we did. We attempted to dine at a restaurant that we took the consideration to make reservations for, proceeded to patiently wait due to the restaurant's poor time management and was left not only forgotten but also dismissed. We have never felt so insulted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I made a reservation for Valley Green, r ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I made a reservation for Valley Green, remembering it as an institution from my childhood. We sat for 45 minutes without any food. We weren't offered menu specials. Our waitress was completely unprofessional. I eventually got up and left without eating, after waiting for 45 minutes. Completely unacceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The inn is pretty, the setting lovely. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The inn is pretty, the setting lovely. After much too long a wait, a waiter finally arrived at our table. He did a terrific job, listening to requests and going out of his way to meet them. Food was under seasoned but okay.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

They made my father very happy. Thanks f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

They made my father very happy. Thanks for the attention.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

They hired a new chief and he has change ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

They hired a new chief and he has changed the menu. He removed something we always have ordered for years...the chicken salad sandwich with cranberries and almonds and we were disappointed its wasn't listed. Hopefully they put it back on the Fall menu. Prices are higher, no bargains on the menu. It's still a wonderful location , the bathrooms are pretty clean and the staff is helpful. We had a new server and she was not very helpful. We always go club.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Great place to have a bite on a beautifu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great place to have a bite on a beautiful day. Sat out on the porch, had a really nice lunch, and enjoyed the surroundings. Other than som bees hovering around, everything was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been here several times. The amb ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have been here several times. The ambience is always lovely, and was especially so this last time, as we sat on the front porch. The service was fine. The food varies from pretty good to just okay. I love being there, so I wish they would do better with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

My husband and I genuinely love Valley G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I genuinely love Valley Green Inn and had one of our first dates here, back in the mid-1980s. We treated our friends to lunch on Saturday, September 3. They loved it -- food excellent, ambiance terrific for outdoor dining. We all loved seeing people walking dogs, jogging, enjoying the beautiful day and lovely scenery. Our server was delightful. So, I feel terrible saying that the service -- which I think was not the server's fault -- is a problem. We were seated almost 15 minutes before our server arrived for the first time. She apologized and we understood, and tipped her generously because she was working hard. But the service really should be more efficient and coordinated. And maybe they were shorthanded on a busy Saturday. Overall, we had a very nice luncheon and will surely return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Perfect summer evening outdoors on the W ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Perfect summer evening outdoors on the Wissahickon. Fine food, very good service, memorable experience for out of town guests

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good, but the service was just ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was good, but the service was just awful as usual. We got married here a couple of years ago and it was amazing, but the restaurant is pretty disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Love visiting VGI and the experience.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love visiting VGI and the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The room we wanted was closed due to a r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The room we wanted was closed due to a roof leak.

The available dining room was FREEZING cold. There was condensate dripping off the windows and it was very loud.

The hostess took our drink order and eventually our food order. The waiter came over and apologized . He was very busy or they were short handed? He is a great guy but no one really tended the table.

I mentioned that the lunch was for my husbands birthday and that was just ignored.

It was a bad day. I've had nice times at Valley Green but this was not one of them and I wanted it to be special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

We went for our anniversary dinner. Like ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We went for our anniversary dinner. Liked the sound of the appetizers most, so we ordered four of these and shared. Delicious. So full, we said no to dessert but the waitress brought us a delicious (and complimentary) flan-like custard with berries and mint...amazing. This is the most beautiful place for dinner. We sat on the porch, watched the ducks in the creek, listened to the cicadas and crickets. Plan to go back for brunch some Sunday in the fall.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was revamped recently. Fabulou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The menu was revamped recently. Fabulous. Will surely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were fortunate that the restaurant on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were fortunate that the restaurant only had two couples other than our group of four, and eventually we were the only ones in the place. This resulted in the quiet atmosphere. The wine was lovely. Thefood was delicious from the calamari appetizer to the fish entrees three of us ordered, to the steak one ordered (grilled to perfection). We ended the meal sharing the lemon poppy dessert and the chocolate sorbet dessert each delicious and served beautifully. When we were finished and went outside, the ambiance of the park was magical. We all enjoyed every part of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch. The menu is u ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. The menu is unoriginal and unappealing--your choice of entree is served with 2 little Bob Evans-type sausages and home fries (who even eats that at a nice brunch?) along with a tiny saucer of fruit and a basket with a few slices of dry raisin bread and a thimble-size muffin (for 3 people). The food tasted like it had been prepared earlier and warmed over. The room smelled like there had been a fire in the fireplace the night before--like damp burnt wood. All this for $18.95. Very disappointing. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

I eat at Valley Green fairly often. It i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I eat at Valley Green fairly often. It is one of my favorite places.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was excellent , food , servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was excellent , food , service, bar menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK, nothing amazing. You can't ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was OK, nothing amazing. You can't beat the ambiance though and that you can eat at the porch with your dogs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

The food was very well prepared and pres ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was very well prepared and presented. Service was great and the atmosphere was quiet and warm.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time but not last. Tremendous!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

First time but not last. Tremendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall the space at the Valley Green In ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Overall the space at the Valley Green Inn cannot be beat! However, I did find the service to be lacking and the food for brunch was over priced for what you actually received.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Family here from CA. "Watermellon soup" ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Family here from CA. "Watermellon soup" was very spicy gespacho so uneatable for child but he got to feed the ducks!. Better for adults maybe.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Wines are very limited, server was 3 day ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wines are very limited, server was 3 days new and really did not know the menu, long waits between asking a question about the menu and the answer, calamari was horrible (Most of the fried rings where empty). No phone service at all. I would recommend this restaurant and I will not be returning either..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointing lunch at Valleygreen it i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Disappointing lunch at Valleygreen it in. Waitress arrived quickly took our orders but the food took forever to arrive. The restaurant was not busy and there was no excuse for the food to take so long to get out of the kitchen . When the food arrives it was just OK nothing special. We had four different entrées and the best one was the grilled cheese. The burger was a good nothing special and the fish sandwich was our least favorite. Service was good the food was just OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food will not knock your socks off; but, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food will not knock your socks off; but, in summer anyway, very pleasant setting for outside dining on a nice day, with quick access to a scenic walk before or after the meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Impromptu post-wedding supper on the por ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Impromptu post-wedding supper on the porch on a beautiful July evening. Great mix of dogs, joggers, kids, geese, ducks and folks of every color and type. Great "neighborhood" vibe in the most beautiful spot in all of Philadelphia. Good service and quality food at a reasonable price. Server offered to make "special" Mojitos with raspberry coulee - lovely!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful view. Fantastic weather. Staff ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Beautiful view. Fantastic weather. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. Food was not very good in general. Burgers were seriously overcooked, dried out and flavorless.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We had a small reunion of old friends. W ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a small reunion of old friends. We were seated outside and it was very comfortable and fun. Food was delicious. Service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was not knowledge about th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The waitress was not knowledge about the menu. I asked he twice about the green vegetable with the chicken. She never answered me and brought it anywhere. She spoke too softly and too fast. When asked about different dishes on the menu, she did not know.

The chef Lydia was amazing and informative and a wonderful chef

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Very charming place. Ate outside on the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very charming place. Ate outside on the porch because it was too cold for my wife inside Very good food but very small portions for the high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

I've been here before and I was excited ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I've been here before and I was excited to go back but this time the food was not good . I was very disappointed with food- but the service was superb. I just don't think I'll go back for food again.

We had lunch on sat. I ordered the pulled pork sandwich and honestly probably the worst pulled pork sandwich I've ever had in my life. my friend had grilled cheese sandwich and we could barely taste the cheese- onions and bread overpowered it. We also had calamari for appetizer and some didn't even have calamari in it.

we bragged about this place to my friends but I regretted bringing them .. oh wells, at least the scenery was awesome.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was very nice on Thurs. night ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything was very nice on Thurs. night. We went with a friend with whom we used to celebrate wedding anniversaries. Her husband died but we keep up the tradition. Lots of memory sharing. Staff accommodated our request for a private table. We will be back. M.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I met two friends for lunch at the Inn. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I met two friends for lunch at the Inn. Two of us ordered the crabcake appetizer, which at a price of $14 in Center City would have yielded something of sufficient size to satisfy. What arrived was a crab cake of good quality but tiny, with a nest of greens to which the kitchen had forgotten to add dressing. A staff representative apologized for the lack of salad dressing but defended the crabcake portion size as "what it said on the menu." We were presented with a complimentary dish of the Inn's calamari--not helpful to a group that does not eat fried food.

I will be returning to the Inn's beautiful grounds but with a picnic lunch next time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.