About Vaccaro's Trattoria

Vaccaro's Trattoria offers innovative Italian cuisine as well as classic favorites served in a casual fine dining atmosphere. Our pasta is made fresh daily. We have a stylishly appointed bar & an extensive & thoughtfully chosen wine list to complement our menu.

1000 Ghent Road
Akron, OH 44333
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday thru Friday 11a to 4p
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 5p to 9p Friday & Saturday 5p to 10p
Closed on Sunday

Cross Street:
Exit 138 at Interstate 77

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 666-6158

Website:
http://www.vactrat.com/

Catering:
Vaccaro's Trattoria offers virtually any type of catering service desired, from drop-off, ready to serve food to complete in-home, multi course dinners with wait staff & on-site chef service.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Raphael Vaccaro

Private Party Facilities:
Vaccaro's Trattoria can accommodate parties in the restaurant of up to 60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Raphael: (330) 666-6158

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vaccaro's Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (11)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Private Room (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
512 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We were the noisy ones because our experience was THAT good and worth enjoying! From the superb wine recommendations to the amazing food, five of five -- again. Beef Braciole that's spoon-ready; who dusts ocean scallops with cinnamon and a chili thread? Lasagna that screams Italian comfort. No wonder the CBS golf crew eats here when in town, and they see restaurants around the world. None better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

It was my first time there and the food was excite as well as the service. I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have eaten at Vacarro's for years, it has never been as good as it is today. The pasta is homemade, the seafood is fresh, and wine list is awesome. I love the attention to detail that they do from the table setting, the wine pour and the food coming out of the kitchen. They are rocking it all.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great Atmosphere and food Service was excellent and personal attention

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Vaccaro's is unbelievable, the food was exceptional and the management and staff were spot on. This was without doubt one of the best experiences my wife and I have ever, ever had. Highest recommendation!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent family style Italian Restaurant. Excellent food, excellent atmosphere, excellent staff, excellent Chef/Owner!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Private Room, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Terrible service, food overcooked. Just an awful dining experience. So terrible we'd never go back nor recommend anyone to. Possible we went on a bad night, but it was so bad they won't be getting a second chance from us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waiter was very entertaining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was just ok. We had to ask for our bread. Only checked on us a few times. Not very busy for Valentine's Day. My linguine and clam sauce was not worth the price. It was very dry

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lobster pasta had poor quality shrimp.
Lobster was good but the shrimp was below average for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always great. I had the lobster pasta which was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Date with my wife!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic entrées and impeccable service.
Swordfish, salmon and lasagna were all tasty and perfectly prepared.
Our only suggestion, window treatments are needed to the block the bright highway lights shining into the restaurant through the parking lot window. Really killed the ambiance. Otherwise it was an excellent value and we will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The waiter was great. The lamb chop was not tender. I would serve a frenched lamb chop versus the regular lamb chop. I only buy frenched chops because of that. The food was presented very nicely. Lovely ambiance. The calamari was very good. Again, don't use regular lamb chops. I am a bonified foodie and trust me, the chef can take this recommendation to the bank.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The pesto with spinach linguini was delicious and not overly oily. House salad dressing was delicious. Husband loved his gnocchi with secret sauce (I wasn't a fan, but then again, I didn't order it). The fritte dessert (fried donuts) was amazing, fresh and hot, but HUGE...enough for 4 or 5 people. Waiters were very nice. The only thing I didn't like about the service (and maybe this is a personal thing because I've served for a very high-end country club before) was they cleared my husbands plate before I was done. That makes me feel rushed. In fact one server asked if she could clear my plate while I was still chewing. It would be nice if restaurants would train servers to wait until everyone is finished before clearing. Otherwise, a fantastic experience and will be back to try other things on the menu. $$Pricey!!$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Vaccaro's has been a consistent gem for many years. I typically order whatever their fish special is and it is always outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We enjoyed Vaccaros and will be back. It has a crowded dining room
but was not that distracting. Food is excellent, everyone had a clean
plate. Server was attentive but not overboard.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We eat at Vacarros on a frequent basis. The service was notch with the owner always available. The waiters went out of their way to make the experience memorable. The food was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Haven't stopping th Making about the gnocchi since I had it 2 days ago. First time there and will definitely be back. Fantastic experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was delicious, and the portions were just right. A bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice quaint little place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We celebrated Christmas with family. Everything was perfect. All entrees tasted wonderful from pizza, spaghetti to the grouper special. Our waiter was outstanding. He was helpful and respectful of our conversation and celebration. We have eaten here before and will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The service was wonderful. The food was innovative and delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Food was Excellent, Service was very slow. Very difficult to get waiters attention

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

great place, consistently good, excellent choice of Italian wines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great Restaurant and happy it is open for lunch. There are not many dining options in Richfield for a business lunch so this was a nice find. Located immediately off high way in small strip. Service is excellent and food is fabulous. Homemade pasta and sauces are incredible which makes it hard to decide which to order. Restaurant decor and ambience also makes for a romantic dinner as well as a place for friends and family to dine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Awesome dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Where do I Begin? Bland food, lousy service, dated decor. Our waiter spilled a glass of water on our table. Of the five meals, he brought two together, and two five minutes later, and the last was not even served before everyone else was done. Food mediocre at best. Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is not my 1st time here. As expected, the food was fantastic. My date was very impressed by the ambiance, variety and the plate presentation. Chef Jeffrey is worth his weight in gold. Now my most favorite restaurant. Keep up the good work

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This place is absolutely AMAZING!!!
The food was seriously the best I've had in years!!! A gem that I'll return to as often as I can.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Meal was fabulous. Can't wait to go again. Will recommend to my friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Homemade pastas were the hit....plus the free pizza to go was a nice touch!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The service, food, and the waiter were all wonderful.Will definitely return!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We hadn't been to Vaccaro's for several years, never really liking how spicey their Italian recipes were. HOWEVER, this time around the dinner was truly excellent and now gives us a good reason to go again in the near future. The grilled scallops with squid ink spaghetti, grilled red peppers and green beans was delicious! I loved the unique Grilled Caesar Salad also. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our food was good, but not great. My mother in law and uncle got the scallops. The presentation was pretty, however, they got 3/4 scallops for 33$. I had the veal which was good and my husband got the linguine with clams and he loved it. The pasta is made daily which we learned because the chef and owner came around to the tables asking how our dinner was and how could improve. I thought that was pretty awesome. Dinner was slow to come out and they seemed understaffed tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had not been there in quite a while and forgot how wonderful the food and service is.
Will definitely keep it on our "go to" list. Our waitress was cordial and attentive. We chose 2 of the specials based on her recommendation and they were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was delicious, and they have a plentiful wine list and great service. It was a relaxing and no -rush dining experience much like in Italy. The owner was going from table to table checking on guests. All-in all a really nice dining experience. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 30, 2016

awesome dining experience, staff knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Always great! Tuesday is retail wine night. Great prices. The food is outstanding. The owner suggested a wine that was outstanding. This is a true gem.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Always fabulous and our first choice for special occasions, even a relaxed Saturday night pizza and wine at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.