About Vaccaro's Trattoria

Vaccaro's Trattoria offers innovative Italian cuisine as well as classic favorites served in a casual fine dining atmosphere. Our pasta is made fresh daily. We have a stylishly appointed bar & an extensive & thoughtfully chosen wine list to complement our menu.

1000 Ghent Road
Akron, OH 44333
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday thru Friday 11a to 4p
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 5p to 9p Friday & Saturday 5p to 10p
Closed on Sunday

Cross Street:
Exit 138 at Interstate 77

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 666-6158

Website:
http://www.vactrat.com/

Catering:
Vaccaro's Trattoria offers virtually any type of catering service desired, from drop-off, ready to serve food to complete in-home, multi course dinners with wait staff & on-site chef service.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Raphael Vaccaro

Private Party Facilities:
Vaccaro's Trattoria can accommodate parties in the restaurant of up to 60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Raphael: (330) 666-6158

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

50% off all wine bottle selection

Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

50% off all wine bottle selection

Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Join us for 50% off all wines from our wine list. Excludes Tax and Tip. Does not apply to glass pour wines. Special valid Apr 20, 2017 - Aug 1, 2017 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Vaccaro's Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

NeighborhoodGem (8)
Anniversaries (8)
SpecialOccasions (8)
See All
QuietConversation (8)
GoodForDates (7)
Authentic (7)
Birthdays (6)
Casual (6)
Groups (6)
Romance (6)
NotableWineList (6)
TastingMenu (5)
Foodies (5)
HappyHour (5)
DisabledAccess (4)
BarSeating (4)
BusinessMeals (4)
WorthTheDrive (4)
ComfortFood (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
CreativeCuisine (3)
Healthy (2)
VegetarianOptions (2)
PrePostTheatre (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
VibrantBarScene (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
LiveSports (1)
SundayLunch (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
Lunch (1)
GlutenFree (1)
HandcraftedCocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
Sort By:
S
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

It's been at least 6 months since we have been there due to moving from fairlawn to medina. In the past food was always great. This time the food was ok. Bread was always good this time it had a funny taste. I had the wedge salad there was very little ranch dressing and very little blue cheese crumbles. My wife had the scallops on a bed of spaghetti they said the sauce had a little kick. But it was more than a little she couldn't even eat it. My daughter had the fig pizza it looked Ike's good but the figs were whole vs a paste. She has had this type of pizza before at high end places and the paste was great. The whole figs were just to chewy. They did not have enough staff the watress was good but she was just to overwhelmed. She told us the kitchen was at 116 degrees. I don't know how someone could work in that condition. In the past the head chef would walk around and ask how things were this time no such luck it was a Thursday night it was not that busy. There was a table next to us that appeared. To know the owner. He was at a there table all night long stopping by and asking how things are going or if they needed anything. Never did this guy go around and ask the other tables if all was ok. The was very disappointed this was always a great place but the past couple times we have been there it appears staff have changed , executive chef may have changed. Not sure I will go back. Sad this use to be a great neighborhood gem. I hope this reviews help turn things around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

They just started a Wednesday summer special. Choices include prime rib and samon. Both offering we're outstanding in taste and price. The great meal also incudes a summer drink. You always feel welcome and special. The owner often sits down and talks with you. It's like one big family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The Cavs night special was tremendous, and the dishes and service were great!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great good! Good service! Nice evening overall. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Another outstanding meal - it is always hard for me to pass up the Cioppino. It did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Delicious and luxurious. Our waiter Tony was a real pro and made us feel welcome. Great menu. Everything was top quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was fantastic and will definitely eat there again. This was my first visit for lunch,
so next time I will try dinner.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thank you Raphael

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I hadn't been to Vaccaro's for quite some time (not for any particular reason). I was happy with it back then and very happy with it now. Everything was great! Amy was a great server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Just always very loud/ sat in the small dining area and thought it would be better/ not really

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I ordered cheese lasagna. It looked and tasted like it had been made 10 hours prior and reheated. The cheese between the noddle layers was completely dry and almost non-existent. I couldn't even finish it. My husband had steak. It was an average cut of meat at best, unevenly cooked and served with french fries and asparagus...an odd pairing. For a night out without our kids and hoping to get a decent meal, we were really disappointed. My homemade lasagna is not dry and much more flavorful. His home-grilled steak is a much higher quality, especially for the money. The appetizers of goat cheese and stuffed jalepenos were tasty, but not enough to warrant us returning to Vaccaro's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Enjoyable evening and good food. Raph stopped by and he's charming as ever.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was fantastic, service is consistently good, the owner is great and very personable. Great wine list, a menu that ranges from $15-$40ish entres that are all fantastic. We come here at least twice a month, never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Vaccaro's. The food is delicious. I had the mahi mahi. It was beautifully prepared with grilled asparagus and red pepper polenta. My husband had the cioppino, filled with shrimp, scallops, and other seafood. Both were excellent. The menu included a number of fish and meat dishes as well as more traditional Italian food like lasagne and ricotta stuffed eggplant. All of the pasta is homemade. Prices are reasonable, especially for the quality. Homemade pasta with a variety of sauces starts at $12. The service was attentive and the ambience is lovely. Definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food was very good. We brought our daughter and our waitress said she was so well behaved that she brought her strawberries and blueberries for dessert. I thought that was very nice of the waitress to go out of her way to do that. Great experience. Great food. Great service. Would definitely go back!!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Always an interesting menu, excellent service and a great host/owner. Just like dining at home but without having the TV on. Great!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were the noisy ones because our experience was THAT good and worth enjoying! From the superb wine recommendations to the amazing food, five of five -- again. Beef Braciole that's spoon-ready; who dusts ocean scallops with cinnamon and a chili thread? Lasagna that screams Italian comfort. No wonder the CBS golf crew eats here when in town, and they see restaurants around the world. None better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was my first time there and the food was excite as well as the service. I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Excellent food -extensive wine list. Favorite place in Akron.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have eaten at Vacarro's for years, it has never been as good as it is today. The pasta is homemade, the seafood is fresh, and wine list is awesome. I love the attention to detail that they do from the table setting, the wine pour and the food coming out of the kitchen. They are rocking it all.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Vaccaro's is unbelievable, the food was exceptional and the management and staff were spot on. This was without doubt one of the best experiences my wife and I have ever, ever had. Highest recommendation!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent family style Italian Restaurant. Excellent food, excellent atmosphere, excellent staff, excellent Chef/Owner!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Private Room, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Terrible service, food overcooked. Just an awful dining experience. So terrible we'd never go back nor recommend anyone to. Possible we went on a bad night, but it was so bad they won't be getting a second chance from us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waiter was very entertaining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was just ok. We had to ask for our bread. Only checked on us a few times. Not very busy for Valentine's Day. My linguine and clam sauce was not worth the price. It was very dry

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lobster pasta had poor quality shrimp.
Lobster was good but the shrimp was below average for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always great. I had the lobster pasta which was delicious.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Date with my wife!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic entrées and impeccable service.
Swordfish, salmon and lasagna were all tasty and perfectly prepared.
Our only suggestion, window treatments are needed to the block the bright highway lights shining into the restaurant through the parking lot window. Really killed the ambiance. Otherwise it was an excellent value and we will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The waiter was great. The lamb chop was not tender. I would serve a frenched lamb chop versus the regular lamb chop. I only buy frenched chops because of that. The food was presented very nicely. Lovely ambiance. The calamari was very good. Again, don't use regular lamb chops. I am a bonified foodie and trust me, the chef can take this recommendation to the bank.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The pesto with spinach linguini was delicious and not overly oily. House salad dressing was delicious. Husband loved his gnocchi with secret sauce (I wasn't a fan, but then again, I didn't order it). The fritte dessert (fried donuts) was amazing, fresh and hot, but HUGE...enough for 4 or 5 people. Waiters were very nice. The only thing I didn't like about the service (and maybe this is a personal thing because I've served for a very high-end country club before) was they cleared my husbands plate before I was done. That makes me feel rushed. In fact one server asked if she could clear my plate while I was still chewing. It would be nice if restaurants would train servers to wait until everyone is finished before clearing. Otherwise, a fantastic experience and will be back to try other things on the menu. $$Pricey!!$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We enjoyed Vaccaros and will be back. It has a crowded dining room
but was not that distracting. Food is excellent, everyone had a clean
plate. Server was attentive but not overboard.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was delicious, and the portions were just right. A bit pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice quaint little place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We celebrated Christmas with family. Everything was perfect. All entrees tasted wonderful from pizza, spaghetti to the grouper special. Our waiter was outstanding. He was helpful and respectful of our conversation and celebration. We have eaten here before and will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great Restaurant and happy it is open for lunch. There are not many dining options in Richfield for a business lunch so this was a nice find. Located immediately off high way in small strip. Service is excellent and food is fabulous. Homemade pasta and sauces are incredible which makes it hard to decide which to order. Restaurant decor and ambience also makes for a romantic dinner as well as a place for friends and family to dine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Awesome dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Where do I Begin? Bland food, lousy service, dated decor. Our waiter spilled a glass of water on our table. Of the five meals, he brought two together, and two five minutes later, and the last was not even served before everyone else was done. Food mediocre at best. Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is not my 1st time here. As expected, the food was fantastic. My date was very impressed by the ambiance, variety and the plate presentation. Chef Jeffrey is worth his weight in gold. Now my most favorite restaurant. Keep up the good work

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This place is absolutely AMAZING!!!
The food was seriously the best I've had in years!!! A gem that I'll return to as often as I can.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.