About Vaccaro's Trattoria

Vaccaro's Trattoria offers innovative Italian cuisine as well as classic favorites served in a casual fine dining atmosphere. Our pasta is made fresh daily. We have a stylishly appointed bar & an extensive & thoughtfully chosen wine list to complement our menu.

1000 Ghent Road
Akron, OH 44333
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Steakhouse, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday thru Friday 11a to 4p
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 5p to 9p Friday & Saturday 5p to 10p
Closed on Sunday

Cross Street:
Exit 138 at Interstate 77

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 666-6158

Website:
http://www.vactrat.com/

Catering:
Vaccaro's Trattoria offers virtually any type of catering service desired, from drop-off, ready to serve food to complete in-home, multi course dinners with wait staff & on-site chef service.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Raphael Vaccaro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vaccaro's Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great selection of wine and entrees
Food is fantastic Service second to none

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Food and service were great. Wine was great and good value overall. My scallop dish was spectacular but everyone else's was great too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food very good, nice people working, just need to update room, looks very old out of date, patio chair not very cozy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Was a perfect location for a business meal. Food was outstanding. Must try the lasagna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2017

This restaurant is always very accommodating and consistently very good . Staff is the tentative but not overbearing . We all enjoyed our meals .

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2017

We frequent Vaccaro’s routinely, and have never been disappointed. This last time we celebrated a birthday (of course they sang). We started with calamari and a bottle of Pinot Noir; they have a notable wine selection. Then the three of us enjoyed the Chilean sea bass, eggplant involving and the build-your-own pasta. Everything was delicious. Our server, Amy, was spectacular as usual - knowledgeable, engaging and attentive. Raphael Vaccaro stopped by to say hello. We will certainly continue patronizing Vaccaro’s.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Ordered wine by the glass. Bottle had to have bee opened earlier that week and was already bad. Told the waiter and he said "sorry" and didn't offer to make it right. 26 dollars for two glasses of wine we did not drink.

Waiter never told us the special.

No bread was offered until we asked.

Wedding soup had no meatballs.

Restaurant has been inconsistent the last few years. Decided to give it one more chance.

They failed and we will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 11, 2017

We went for the crab legs. I was a little disappointed with them. Usually the quality of the food is outstanding but this one fell short. The wine that was selected for us exceeded our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

As always, Vacarro's Trattoria comes through. Delicious food. Good ambiance. Casual yet refined. Amy and the entire staff are attentive to all our needs. My wife and I are regulars and look forward every week to dining here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Rafael and his team deliver great food, wine and service. It is a regular in our dining out circuit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Went to the Wednesday night Clam bake. The choder was outstanding. Food was plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great meal at Vaccaro's. Have never had a bad experience here. The lasagna is the best I have eaten, anywhere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Excellent food! Service was good, although we were the only ones there at the time. I do suggest watching your bill. We were overcharged on 2 items. This also happened another time so was there!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was not good, service was very slow, the portions small-- there was a fly buzzing around while we were eating. Went there for lunch and it took us 1 1/2 hours to get out of there. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wood fire Wednesday was delicious!! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Generally we have always enjoyed going to the Trattoria for a very nice dinner. We were quite disappointed when, having invited friends, our experience at the restaurant was substandard. Even though we had reservations, we were seated in the center of the aisle, and were repeatedly bumped by the service crew and patrons alike as they passed on either side of our table (we are not large people). The service was quite slow, our wine glasses when they arrived were very filmy (plastic would have been better, looked like a steamy mirror). When we asked that we have clean glasses, our glasses were replaced with very large, fishbowl glasses that had thick rims and were difficult to handle and drink from. We had to ask for bread. The waiter was unwilling to work with us on any changes to the standard menu, which my experience in the past at Vacarro's has always been very customer oriented. The waiter did not offer dessert, we had to ask to see a menu. I asked for some whipping cream for my dessert which never arrived. I left thinking that perhaps the management had changed as our dining experience was so inept.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We go to eat on Wednesday in the summer because of the special. We had the pork chops that were outstanding! Great value. You can always find a great wine to match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Typically this is one of our go to restaurants. Service was very good this time Amy was great. My caeser was not charred like it use to be. I do prefer the old garnish of a brittle like asiago peice. The bread with cheese that was with this dish was very salty. My wife's speciality salad was excellent. The bread served in the basket had to much seasoning, I think it may have been rosemary. My fettuccine was good the first couple bites were salty. I don't know if I just became use to the salt or it was just the 1st bits. The spaghetti and meatballs were very good. It appears the resturant is trying to bring things back to the ways the past chefs performed. We talked to some other customers that also visit frequently they also commented that the prior chef was outstanding. This current chef has just not found the niche yet. We will continue to go back hope to see continuous improvement. Thanks

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

As always a most enjoyable experience. Dinner was excellent with wonderful and extremely attentive service. Homemade pasta and gnocchi..does it get any better?! A quiet and clubby atmosphere along with a well paced meal service made for undistracted conversation .Eggplant fries are fantastic for appetizers! Desserts... TO DIE FOR! Vaccaros is probably one the best restaurants in Northeast Ohio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

It is really cool to sit with the owner and talk about food and wine. They have a $19.99 Wednesday special that is fantastic! I would say this is one night not to miss. Smoked prime rib or salmon. The new desert menu is one you would want to start at the top and go down to the list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I was surprise at how mediocre the food was. Rolled up veal that was too dry, pretty flavorless pasta, all in all not the outstanding fare I had expected. I am sure our server was a nice guy but probably in the wrong industry. He spilled oil on my wife's sleeve, mispronounced elements of the specials, had to be reminded continuously of drink orders that were sitting in the window at the bar, I could go on. Finally, the prices are very high and not justified at all by the overall experience. Now I know why our guests kept suggesting going someplace else. Next time I will listen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

All four meals were fantastic!!! From the Caesar salad, to the tomato capreses, to the sea bass, to the lasagna's and the cioppino, everything was fresh, hot and marvelous!!!

Jared did a great jod servicing the table.

Definitely making this a regular spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Overall this restaurant seemed a little tired, struggling to reach previous heights it may once have commanded. I seemed to have a skill in selecting items from the menu which were unavailable and though the wine list looked good, they didn't have many of the bottles first selected. The dishes themselves, though fine in concept, were impacted from a lot of substitutions and the execution failed to live up to the price tag. A baked goats cheese and roasted red peppers tasted more tomato than red pepper with a high level of acidity which overwhelmed the goats cheese. Salmon with squid Ink and lemon pasta suffered from overcooked salmon and very under seasoned pasta, though with the addition of a little salt the pasta managed to provide the subtle flavors we'd been anticipating. The Veal tenderloin medallions however were switched out for slices of what seemed more like beef though the overall flavor of this dish was better than the Salmon. I may attend again to see if there is improvement for the future, but it would be to one of the special evenings providing better value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I had the opportunity to visit this restaurant two weeks in a row due to business travel. The first time the restaurant was so warm people at our table were fanning themselves and removing outer sweaters and jackets. I orders the chicken piccata. The chicken was ok but the pasta was flavorless. The next week the restaurant was 80 degrees (we sat right beneath the thermostat) I ordered the gnocchi and had to request salt to be delivered to the table. Overall would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 19, 2017

the air conditioning did not work very hot and stuffy in there which left me very hesitant of going back

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Poor Service. Terrible food.
Food not prepared as described on Menu.
Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The servers were very friendly and professional. They were genuinely interested in making sure our meals were to our liking. The cocktails were great. The entrees were tasty. Just an alround super dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is one of our "go to" spots in the area for a "nicer" place for dining. Being in a small strip center might put off some people, but the atmosphere is warm and inviting inside. They must be doing something right. They've been here a long time, which in the restaurant biz is difficult. The owner was very helpful in assisting us with wine choices. Knowledgeable, and not pushing higher priced wines on a customer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always awesome! Raphael and his staff do a fantastic job hosting, and the food is always wonderful.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great selection great food
Exceptional service
High recommendation for any occasion

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Requested a round table far in advance, but did not get one. Table was jammed in among other tables, several tables were vacant. Not sure why?? They may been expecting a bigger crowd that never materialized!!??

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 22, 2017

It's been at least 6 months since we have been there due to moving from fairlawn to medina. In the past food was always great. This time the food was ok. Bread was always good this time it had a funny taste. I had the wedge salad there was very little ranch dressing and very little blue cheese crumbles. My wife had the scallops on a bed of spaghetti they said the sauce had a little kick. But it was more than a little she couldn't even eat it. My daughter had the fig pizza it looked Ike's good but the figs were whole vs a paste. She has had this type of pizza before at high end places and the paste was great. The whole figs were just to chewy. They did not have enough staff the watress was good but she was just to overwhelmed. She told us the kitchen was at 116 degrees. I don't know how someone could work in that condition. In the past the head chef would walk around and ask how things were this time no such luck it was a Thursday night it was not that busy. There was a table next to us that appeared. To know the owner. He was at a there table all night long stopping by and asking how things are going or if they needed anything. Never did this guy go around and ask the other tables if all was ok. The was very disappointed this was always a great place but the past couple times we have been there it appears staff have changed , executive chef may have changed. Not sure I will go back. Sad this use to be a great neighborhood gem. I hope this reviews help turn things around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

They just started a Wednesday summer special. Choices include prime rib and samon. Both offering we're outstanding in taste and price. The great meal also incudes a summer drink. You always feel welcome and special. The owner often sits down and talks with you. It's like one big family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

This is a great everyday spot, but we were celebrating a birthday. The food and service were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was on point and the service was excellent. Wine list was exceptional. The fresh pasta and homemade sauce was incredible. The deserts and after dinner drinks was the finishing touch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Dean our waiter was great. Food was excellent. We all had variations of there homemade pasta. No complaints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This truly one of the last genuine Italian restaurant! Scratch made pasta, meatballs and sauces. Doesn't get any better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The Cavs night special was tremendous, and the dishes and service were great!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Vacarro for Mother's day buffet. They had an outstanding selection of food. One of the outstanding features was the lamb mashed potatoes. I can only say, wow! It made mother's day a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great good! Good service! Nice evening overall. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.