About Vaccaro's Trattoria

1000 Ghent Road
Akron, OH 44333
View Larger Map

Vaccaro's Trattoria offers innovative Italian cuisine as well as classic favorites served in a casual fine dining atmosphere. Our pasta is made fresh daily. We have a stylishly appointed bar & an extensive & thoughtfully chosen wine list to complement our menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday thru Friday 11a to 4p
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 5p to 9p Friday & Saturday 5p to 10p
Closed on Sunday

Cross Street:
Exit 138 at Interstate 77

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 666-6158

Website:
http://www.vactrat.com/

Catering:
Vaccaro's Trattoria offers virtually any type of catering service desired, from drop-off, ready to serve food to complete in-home, multi course dinners with wait staff & on-site chef service.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Raphael Vaccaro

Private Party Facilities:
Vaccaro's Trattoria can accommodate parties in the restaurant of up to 60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Raphael: 330-990-6158x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vaccaro's Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Akron
Best Food
Akron
2 More
Best Ambiance
Akron
Best Value
Akron
Best Restaurants in Bath ›

Special Occasion (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome dinner

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is not my 1st time here. As expect ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This is not my 1st time here. As expected, the food was fantastic. My date was very impressed by the ambiance, variety and the plate presentation. Chef Jeffrey is worth his weight in gold. Now my most favorite restaurant. Keep up the good work

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is absolutely AMAZING!!! The ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This place is absolutely AMAZING!!!

The food was seriously the best I've had in years!!! A gem that I'll return to as often as I can.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Meal was fabulous. Can't wait to go agai ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Meal was fabulous. Can't wait to go again. Will recommend to my friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Homemade pastas were the hit....plus the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Homemade pastas were the hit....plus the free pizza to go was a nice touch!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service, food, and the waiter were a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The service, food, and the waiter were all wonderful.Will definitely return!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been to Vaccaro's for several ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We hadn't been to Vaccaro's for several years, never really liking how spicey their Italian recipes were. HOWEVER, this time around the dinner was truly excellent and now gives us a good reason to go again in the near future. The grilled scallops with squid ink spaghetti, grilled red peppers and green beans was delicious! I loved the unique Grilled Caesar Salad also. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Our food was good, but not great. My mot ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our food was good, but not great. My mother in law and uncle got the scallops. The presentation was pretty, however, they got 3/4 scallops for 33$. I had the veal which was good and my husband got the linguine with clams and he loved it. The pasta is made daily which we learned because the chef and owner came around to the tables asking how our dinner was and how could improve. I thought that was pretty awesome. Dinner was slow to come out and they seemed understaffed tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We had not been there in quite a while a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had not been there in quite a while and forgot how wonderful the food and service is.

Will definitely keep it on our "go to" list. Our waitress was cordial and attentive. We chose 2 of the specials based on her recommendation and they were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, and they have a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was delicious, and they have a plentiful wine list and great service. It was a relaxing and no -rush dining experience much like in Italy. The owner was going from table to table checking on guests. All-in all a really nice dining experience. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome dining experience, staff knowled ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 30, 2016

awesome dining experience, staff knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great! Tuesday is retail wine nig ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Always great! Tuesday is retail wine night. Great prices. The food is outstanding. The owner suggested a wine that was outstanding. This is a true gem.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fabulous and our first choice for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Always fabulous and our first choice for special occasions, even a relaxed Saturday night pizza and wine at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent home made Italian! Everything ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent home made Italian! Everything we ordered was very obviously fresh made and amazing flavor. Will be a repeat customer if you try Vaccaro's once!

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It is always a wonderful dining experien ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It is always a wonderful dining experience! Whether we have the whole evening or are in a quick lunch mindset, Raphael and his staff are worth the time!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant serves wonderfully delic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This restaurant serves wonderfully delicious food and I would definitely recommend eating here if you have plenty of time on your hands. The waitress was very funny and charming so I would hate to lay the blame for slow service on her, as I believe it lies with kitchen staff. I can appreciate they are making a fine dining meal, so I would expect slower service than a fast food restaurant, however this was exceptionally slow. We ended up drinking a whole bottle of wine before our appetizer arrived, which was only bruchetta...four slices of bread with three different types of topping to assemble ourselves. The salad course and main followed in equally slow order. It's a real shame, if they could speed up the delivery of food this restaurant would go on my top list of favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Overall very good. The service was great ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Overall very good. The service was great and the food was even better!! My boyfriend and I were obsessed with it!! Definitely will be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the finest dining experiences in ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of the finest dining experiences in Ohio

Greeted by owner-chef Raef Vaccaro

Amy our waitress known well to us and is a superior professional at her job

We had part of 8...all very pleased!

We need to return more often

Highly recommended

Tags: Healthy, Spicy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good! Service was wonderful from th ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very good! Service was wonderful from the moment we walked in to when we left. Food was delicious and plentiful and the complimentary bread was amazing (you can tell its completely homemade). Really, the evening here was excellent and we have no complaints whatsoever. I do have to say that the Nutella chocolate lava cake dessert was the best I've ever had! Will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster pasta was phenomenal. We lik ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The lobster pasta was phenomenal. We liked it with both with oil and with Alfredo. The calamari would have been great except the peppers, olives, and sauce were overbearing. The hostess was fantastic and incredibly friendly. The server was slow. The wedding soup was above average.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Poor and slow service, food just ok for ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Poor and slow service, food just ok for cost which was overpriced. Wouldn't recommend it. To many others out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Wedding soup with no mini meatballs, at ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wedding soup with no mini meatballs, at all?

Chicken parm an inch thick (not pounded .. no extra effort)

Boxed rigatoni with chicken parm ... should be spag or other noodle

Person busing tables, filling water glasses was dirty (her uniform) .. very unappetizing

Not a place for foodies, or discriminating Italians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Awesome meal - would go back to this res ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome meal - would go back to this restaurant at the first opportunity!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Homemade pasta and real sauce, what's no ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Homemade pasta and real sauce, what's not to like!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

nice atmosphere, good service, excellent ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

nice atmosphere, good service, excellent chicken parmigiana

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and service! Brought fr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service! Brought friends here twice!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We just moved to the Akron area from Day ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We just moved to the Akron area from Dayton, Ohio and found this nice place to relax and enjoy a good meal. The wait staff was very attentive and the service was excellent. We went on a weeknight and it was not too busy but I would guess a weekend evening would probably be a bit more crowded. The food presentation was excellent and we were personally presented an after-dinner drink by the owner! We look forward to making this a regular stop on our culinary trail!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice touch how the owner visits eac ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very nice touch how the owner visits each table during their meal and provides and after dinner drink for those celebrating a special occasion. Besides the desert menu needs to be tested on a return visit as we were too full to sample.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Small dining area but well presented. Fa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Small dining area but well presented. Fantastic service with nice suggestions regarding wine. Food was above average and everyone (7 of us) enjoyed our meals. This is a nicer Italian restaurant but not overpriced.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was fantastic. Pasta was just like ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was fantastic. Pasta was just like what we have experienced in Florence and Rome. But much more convenient. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As before, very good meal at a reasonalb ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 22, 2016

As before, very good meal at a reasonalble price. We will definitely return to Vaccaro's

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meal. Getting there was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. Getting there was a bit challenging: there is no menu on their website so you cannot know what they offer. The primary dish I wanted (which had been mentioned in a recent newspaper article about them) was no longer offered. When I called for a reservation (as recommended on the website), I got a voicemail that said they were all full for Valentine's Day -- this was on July 21!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Anthony did a great job as our waiter. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Anthony did a great job as our waiter. My meal, the peppercorn strip steak, was not up to par and he made sure that I got a much better cut of meat. We had a lovely evening and look forward to going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the wine discount on Monday. Bad se ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Love the wine discount on Monday. Bad server, slow, dirty plates left on table, out of the wine we ordered, waited 30 minutes for check. Otherwise enjoyable. I look forward to trying it again with a different server I hope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

New chef under owner Rafael has taken V ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2016

New chef under owner Rafael has taken Vaccaro's back to its Italian roots. One of the best meals I have had in recent memory. From the home made meatballs, sausage, pasta, pomodoro and aglio olio sauces to the excellent and reasonably priced Italian wine, it was all first class. This is what Vaccaro's is supposed to be....the freshest and best Italian in the area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Restaurant, Excellent food! Al ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent Restaurant, Excellent food! Always great to dine here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband ordered the halibut because t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband ordered the halibut because the last time we came he ordered the sea bass and it was delicious! The halibut was extremely over cooked and dry. It was very disappointing. I ordered the scallops and they were pretty good, but nothing to get excited over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We arrived on time and since they were n ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We arrived on time and since they were not busy they closed the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service, excellent food. Gnoch ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food. Gnochi was superb. I believe the waiters name was Anthony. His suggestions were superb. My wife and I had a great meal and a great time(which was our first). We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Ken and I went for our anniversary. Very elegant dining room. Very quiet at first as we were one of 3 tables. The room quickly filled to capacity. Food was excellent, service was good and the owner came over and greeted everyone at their table. He was very friendly and we were given complimentary homemade bailey's and the best tiramisu over a chocolate brownie for dessert. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.