About Vaccaro's Trattoria

1000 Ghent Road
Akron, OH 44333
View Larger Map

Vaccaro's Trattoria offers innovative Italian cuisine as well as classic favorites served in a casual fine dining atmosphere. Our pasta is made fresh daily. We have a stylishly appointed bar & an extensive & thoughtfully chosen wine list to complement our menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday thru Friday 11a to 4p
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 4p to 9p Friday & Saturday 4p to 10p
Closed on Sunday

Cross Street:
Exit 138 at Interstate 77

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 666-6158

Website:
http://www.vactrat.com/

Catering:
Vaccaro's Trattoria offers virtually any type of catering service desired, from drop-off, ready to serve food to complete in-home, multi course dinners with wait staff & on-site chef service.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Raphael Vaccaro

Private Party Facilities:
Vaccaro's Trattoria can accommodate parties in the restaurant of up to 60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Raphael: 330-990-6158x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vaccaro's Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Akron
Best Food
Akron
1 More
Best Value
Akron
Best Restaurants in Bath ›

Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Poor and slow service, food just ok for ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Poor and slow service, food just ok for cost which was overpriced. Wouldn't recommend it. To many others out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Wedding soup with no mini meatballs, at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wedding soup with no mini meatballs, at all?

Chicken parm an inch thick (not pounded .. no extra effort)

Boxed rigatoni with chicken parm ... should be spag or other noodle

Person busing tables, filling water glasses was dirty (her uniform) .. very unappetizing

Not a place for foodies, or discriminating Italians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Awesome meal - would go back to this res ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome meal - would go back to this restaurant at the first opportunity!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Homemade pasta and real sauce, what's no ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Homemade pasta and real sauce, what's not to like!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

nice atmosphere, good service, excellent ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

nice atmosphere, good service, excellent chicken parmigiana

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and service! Brought fr ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food and service! Brought friends here twice!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We just moved to the Akron area from Day ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We just moved to the Akron area from Dayton, Ohio and found this nice place to relax and enjoy a good meal. The wait staff was very attentive and the service was excellent. We went on a weeknight and it was not too busy but I would guess a weekend evening would probably be a bit more crowded. The food presentation was excellent and we were personally presented an after-dinner drink by the owner! We look forward to making this a regular stop on our culinary trail!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice touch how the owner visits eac ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Very nice touch how the owner visits each table during their meal and provides and after dinner drink for those celebrating a special occasion. Besides the desert menu needs to be tested on a return visit as we were too full to sample.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Small dining area but well presented. Fa ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Small dining area but well presented. Fantastic service with nice suggestions regarding wine. Food was above average and everyone (7 of us) enjoyed our meals. This is a nicer Italian restaurant but not overpriced.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was fantastic. Pasta was just like ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was fantastic. Pasta was just like what we have experienced in Florence and Rome. But much more convenient. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As before, very good meal at a reasonalb ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

As before, very good meal at a reasonalble price. We will definitely return to Vaccaro's

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meal. Getting there was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. Getting there was a bit challenging: there is no menu on their website so you cannot know what they offer. The primary dish I wanted (which had been mentioned in a recent newspaper article about them) was no longer offered. When I called for a reservation (as recommended on the website), I got a voicemail that said they were all full for Valentine's Day -- this was on July 21!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Anthony did a great job as our waiter. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Anthony did a great job as our waiter. My meal, the peppercorn strip steak, was not up to par and he made sure that I got a much better cut of meat. We had a lovely evening and look forward to going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the wine discount on Monday. Bad se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Love the wine discount on Monday. Bad server, slow, dirty plates left on table, out of the wine we ordered, waited 30 minutes for check. Otherwise enjoyable. I look forward to trying it again with a different server I hope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

New chef under owner Rafael has taken V ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

New chef under owner Rafael has taken Vaccaro's back to its Italian roots. One of the best meals I have had in recent memory. From the home made meatballs, sausage, pasta, pomodoro and aglio olio sauces to the excellent and reasonably priced Italian wine, it was all first class. This is what Vaccaro's is supposed to be....the freshest and best Italian in the area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Restaurant, Excellent food! Al ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent Restaurant, Excellent food! Always great to dine here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband ordered the halibut because t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband ordered the halibut because the last time we came he ordered the sea bass and it was delicious! The halibut was extremely over cooked and dry. It was very disappointing. I ordered the scallops and they were pretty good, but nothing to get excited over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We arrived on time and since they were n ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We arrived on time and since they were not busy they closed the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service, excellent food. Gnoch ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food. Gnochi was superb. I believe the waiters name was Anthony. His suggestions were superb. My wife and I had a great meal and a great time(which was our first). We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Ken and I went for our anniversary. Very elegant dining room. Very quiet at first as we were one of 3 tables. The room quickly filled to capacity. Food was excellent, service was good and the owner came over and greeted everyone at their table. He was very friendly and we were given complimentary homemade bailey's and the best tiramisu over a chocolate brownie for dessert. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our favorite stop

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food and service are always outstanding here. Chef's specials are delicious, exotic and yet very approachable. Service even on busy nights is attentive and personal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, food, service, and atmosphere ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

As always, food, service, and atmosphere was excellent. Newer menu gives broader appeal. retail wine night was tops.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very disappointing experience

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We have dined here before and came for a special family occasion. We had to wait 25 minutes past our reservation to be seated. Our server was extremely slow and forgetful. The reason given for all of the problems was that there was a graduation party of 30 in another part of the restaurant and they were ordering off the menu. When our dinner finally arrived almost 2 hours after our arrival, I asked for everything to be boxed to go. If they cannot plan seating and handle large groups, then maybe they should rethink their planning. I understand that large groups change the normal routines but the rest of the customers should not have to suffer for their lack of planning. We were offered a gift card to make up for the inconvenience but we turned it down because I have no intention in returning to patronize this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great Birthday get together with friends

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fabulous get together with group of 12 friends to celebrate my birthday. The menu had a wonderful variety. The lobster pasta and pistachio crusted veal tenderloin were favorites. We will definitely go to Vaccaro's again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh and real. Best way to describe the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fresh and real. Best way to describe the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough good things. I'm 65and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Can't say enough good things. I'm 65and have eaten at lots of Italian Restaurants. This was hands down, the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What should of been a nice dinner for my ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

What should of been a nice dinner for my daughter and I, had us feeling like we didn't belong. The waiter looked down his nose at me because I ordered soda. He seemed bothered he had to wait on us. He read through the specials explaining some of them as if we were dim witted. Ten minutes went by before he brought my drink refill and it was watered down. Once our food came my daughter asked if we could leave. We ate most of our dinner and she took her pizza home. She ended up eating the pizza in the car because she felt we weren't worthy enough to be there. We were paying the same as everyone else in the restaurant so the need to have us feel that way was unnecessary. Would I recommend your restaurant to anyone??? Sure if they wanted to drink wine and don't order soda. I usually have a glass of wine but since we were on our way home from Cleveland I did not want to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

New chef and menu not as good. Monday n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

New chef and menu not as good. Monday night and food too for ever to arrive. Jason out waiter thought he was funny, but really just annoying. Used to be one of my local favorites but won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Mother's day

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our reservation was for 1:15 pm and they were already out of the veal dish. The service was excellent. the chicken in the chicken parm was excellent but the rigatoni was dry since it needed more sauce (skimpy on sauce). a different noodle would have been better. others at our table loved the linguine with clams and lasagna.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Surprised

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I was taken back how fancy Vicarro's was for it being hidden in a plaza. The menu seemed very out of the ordinary with lots of seafood for an Italian restaurant. I was very surprised. Not very big and a bit noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely delicious traditional Italian ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Absolutely delicious traditional Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good as Always

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Stopped in for dinner and a drink. Greeted warmly, food was good as always. Would definitely recommend. The grilled Caesar salad was pretty spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Vaccaros many times an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We have dined at Vaccaros many times and have never been disappointed. Make an effort to ask for Amy as your server. She is professional and detail oriented. Pasta is made in house and exquisite . The house nightly specials are unique and delicious . Vaccaros is a special place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had a true Italian meal. Food was don ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a true Italian meal. Food was done well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Monday is retail wine night. They have ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Monday is retail wine night. They have an impressive list of wines. My wife had the duck and I had cod. They owner and staff is always friendly. This is one of our favorite places.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were very happy with our meals . Ho ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We were very happy with our meals . However service could be improved , on different occasions we have had waitresses that know other customers and spend time talking with them rather than watching their tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Italian Restaurant

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I had the lasagna al carne and it was amazing; my husband had rigatoni with a marinara type sauce and 3 meatballs. Everything was wonderful! Looking forward to our next visit...

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

davebtid

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

love this place, Made me feel I was special and has a warm friendly atmosphere while be very up scale. Very Italian

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italian lunch

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Vaccaro's is an old name in West Akron. They have remained true to their roots and yet expanded from pizza to pasta. Chef makes "egg pasta" from scratch. Combos of pasta and sauces give a great variety to select from. Menu changes anually. Nice atmosphere, outdoor tables in summer, fall for the early arrivals. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Spaghetti and meatballs was very good -

The mista salad (house salad) was just ok - lettuce kind of limp and not much dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.