About Vaccaro's Trattoria

1000 Ghent Road
Akron, OH 44333
View Larger Map

Vaccaro's Trattoria offers innovative Italian cuisine as well as classic favorites served in a casual fine dining atmosphere. Our pasta is made fresh daily. We have a stylishly appointed bar & an extensive & thoughtfully chosen wine list to complement our menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday thru Friday 11a to 4p
Dinner Monday thru Thursday 4p to 9p Friday & Saturday 4p to 10p
Closed on Sunday

Cross Street:
Exit 138 at Interstate 77

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(330) 666-6158

Website:
http://www.vactrat.com/

Catering:
Vaccaro's Trattoria offers virtually any type of catering service desired, from drop-off, ready to serve food to complete in-home, multi course dinners with wait staff & on-site chef service.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Owner Raphael Vaccaro

Private Party Facilities:
Vaccaro's Trattoria can accommodate parties in the restaurant of up to 60 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Raphael: 330-990-6158x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Vaccaro's Trattoria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Akron
Best Food
Akron
4 More
Best Ambiance
Akron
Best Value
Akron
Fit for Foodies
Akron
Neighborhood Gem
Akron
Best Restaurants in Bath ›

special occasion (19)
neighborhood gem (17)
notable wine list (17)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
romantic (14)
good for groups (11)
great for lunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed our meal. Getting there was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our meal. Getting there was a bit challenging: there is no menu on their website so you cannot know what they offer. The primary dish I wanted (which had been mentioned in a recent newspaper article about them) was no longer offered. When I called for a reservation (as recommended on the website), I got a voicemail that said they were all full for Valentine's Day -- this was on July 21!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Anthony did a great job as our waiter. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Anthony did a great job as our waiter. My meal, the peppercorn strip steak, was not up to par and he made sure that I got a much better cut of meat. We had a lovely evening and look forward to going back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the wine discount on Monday. Bad se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Love the wine discount on Monday. Bad server, slow, dirty plates left on table, out of the wine we ordered, waited 30 minutes for check. Otherwise enjoyable. I look forward to trying it again with a different server I hope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

New chef under owner Rafael has taken V ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

New chef under owner Rafael has taken Vaccaro's back to its Italian roots. One of the best meals I have had in recent memory. From the home made meatballs, sausage, pasta, pomodoro and aglio olio sauces to the excellent and reasonably priced Italian wine, it was all first class. This is what Vaccaro's is supposed to be....the freshest and best Italian in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Restaurant, Excellent food! Al ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent Restaurant, Excellent food! Always great to dine here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband ordered the halibut because t ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband ordered the halibut because the last time we came he ordered the sea bass and it was delicious! The halibut was extremely over cooked and dry. It was very disappointing. I ordered the scallops and they were pretty good, but nothing to get excited over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We arrived on time and since they were n ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We arrived on time and since they were not busy they closed the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent service, excellent food. Gnoch ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food. Gnochi was superb. I believe the waiters name was Anthony. His suggestions were superb. My wife and I had a great meal and a great time(which was our first). We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Ken and I went for our anniversary. Very elegant dining room. Very quiet at first as we were one of 3 tables. The room quickly filled to capacity. Food was excellent, service was good and the owner came over and greeted everyone at their table. He was very friendly and we were given complimentary homemade bailey's and the best tiramisu over a chocolate brownie for dessert. We will definitely go there again!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our favorite stop

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food and service are always outstanding here. Chef's specials are delicious, exotic and yet very approachable. Service even on busy nights is attentive and personal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, food, service, and atmosphere ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

As always, food, service, and atmosphere was excellent. Newer menu gives broader appeal. retail wine night was tops.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very disappointing experience

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We have dined here before and came for a special family occasion. We had to wait 25 minutes past our reservation to be seated. Our server was extremely slow and forgetful. The reason given for all of the problems was that there was a graduation party of 30 in another part of the restaurant and they were ordering off the menu. When our dinner finally arrived almost 2 hours after our arrival, I asked for everything to be boxed to go. If they cannot plan seating and handle large groups, then maybe they should rethink their planning. I understand that large groups change the normal routines but the rest of the customers should not have to suffer for their lack of planning. We were offered a gift card to make up for the inconvenience but we turned it down because I have no intention in returning to patronize this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great Birthday get together with friends

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fabulous get together with group of 12 friends to celebrate my birthday. The menu had a wonderful variety. The lobster pasta and pistachio crusted veal tenderloin were favorites. We will definitely go to Vaccaro's again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh and real. Best way to describe the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fresh and real. Best way to describe the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't say enough good things. I'm 65and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Can't say enough good things. I'm 65and have eaten at lots of Italian Restaurants. This was hands down, the best.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What should of been a nice dinner for my ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

What should of been a nice dinner for my daughter and I, had us feeling like we didn't belong. The waiter looked down his nose at me because I ordered soda. He seemed bothered he had to wait on us. He read through the specials explaining some of them as if we were dim witted. Ten minutes went by before he brought my drink refill and it was watered down. Once our food came my daughter asked if we could leave. We ate most of our dinner and she took her pizza home. She ended up eating the pizza in the car because she felt we weren't worthy enough to be there. We were paying the same as everyone else in the restaurant so the need to have us feel that way was unnecessary. Would I recommend your restaurant to anyone??? Sure if they wanted to drink wine and don't order soda. I usually have a glass of wine but since we were on our way home from Cleveland I did not want to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

New chef and menu not as good. Monday n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

New chef and menu not as good. Monday night and food too for ever to arrive. Jason out waiter thought he was funny, but really just annoying. Used to be one of my local favorites but won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Mother's day

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our reservation was for 1:15 pm and they were already out of the veal dish. The service was excellent. the chicken in the chicken parm was excellent but the rigatoni was dry since it needed more sauce (skimpy on sauce). a different noodle would have been better. others at our table loved the linguine with clams and lasagna.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Surprised

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I was taken back how fancy Vicarro's was for it being hidden in a plaza. The menu seemed very out of the ordinary with lots of seafood for an Italian restaurant. I was very surprised. Not very big and a bit noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely delicious traditional Italian ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Absolutely delicious traditional Italian food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good as Always

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Stopped in for dinner and a drink. Greeted warmly, food was good as always. Would definitely recommend. The grilled Caesar salad was pretty spectacular.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Vaccaros many times an ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We have dined at Vaccaros many times and have never been disappointed. Make an effort to ask for Amy as your server. She is professional and detail oriented. Pasta is made in house and exquisite . The house nightly specials are unique and delicious . Vaccaros is a special place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had a true Italian meal. Food was don ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a true Italian meal. Food was done well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Monday is retail wine night. They have ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Monday is retail wine night. They have an impressive list of wines. My wife had the duck and I had cod. They owner and staff is always friendly. This is one of our favorite places.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were very happy with our meals . Ho ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We were very happy with our meals . However service could be improved , on different occasions we have had waitresses that know other customers and spend time talking with them rather than watching their tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Italian Restaurant

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I had the lasagna al carne and it was amazing; my husband had rigatoni with a marinara type sauce and 3 meatballs. Everything was wonderful! Looking forward to our next visit...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

davebtid

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

love this place, Made me feel I was special and has a warm friendly atmosphere while be very up scale. Very Italian

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italian lunch

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Vaccaro's is an old name in West Akron. They have remained true to their roots and yet expanded from pizza to pasta. Chef makes "egg pasta" from scratch. Combos of pasta and sauces give a great variety to select from. Menu changes anually. Nice atmosphere, outdoor tables in summer, fall for the early arrivals. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Spaghetti and meatballs was very good -

The mista salad (house salad) was just ok - lettuce kind of limp and not much dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday and it was great! Fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

It's a great place to meet for lunch or dinner. Perfect for a business meeting too. The food is so good, menu's very creative and a favorite among my friends and me. The wines are the best too - really the best wine list in the area. It is always such a pleasant dining experience - you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh & Tasty

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place – This place has the BEST bread ever!!

Everyone that had the lasagna loved it. The Salmon looked delicious. Need to go back just to try that.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place for a special occasion

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The evening didn't start great because of confusion between the waitresses about who was waiting on the table. That lead to a mix up with the wine we ordered. After that was sorted out it was a good meal. There are no real choices for a vegetarian which surprise me at an Italian restaurant. The salads took quite a while to come but were very nice when we did get them. I ended up with the spinach linguini with squash and zucchini. My husband order the scallop special. Both tasted excellent and the portions were fair. The deserts were excellent also. We would go back but not in the near future.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellant

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My husband and I enjoy this place every time we visit. The food is outstanding and the services is even better. Liz is the waitress to ask for, she is extremely knowledgeable and friendly and seemed to anticipate what we wanted/needed. We enjoyed ourselves so much we spent 2.5 hours there on Friday night. Best date night we ever had!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great specialty dinners, and supe ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Always great specialty dinners, and superb authentic Italian wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Anniversary night

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Although we had to wait 20 minutes after our reservation we had a very enjoyable night. We were comped a drink while we waited and the wait staff was very hospitable. Food has never disappointed us here. Very good food at good price. They even comped another drink after our meal. We just ordered apps and dessert. We don't come to this restaurant enough. Always recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We waited 45 minutes after our reservati ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We waited 45 minutes after our reservation time to be seated. When I questioned the maitre'd, his only answer was "Its not my fault". Fortunately the food was great and the waitress was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful dinner at Vaccaro's Trattoria

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

From the moment we arrived for our dinner reservations, everything was superb. We sat at a little table with huge, upholstered captain's chairs, which I loved. We had the egg plant french fries to start off. It was a very good size portion and very tasty. I had the margherita pizza on thin crust and my friend had the clams/mussels appetizer. The food was absolutely delicious. The white wine sauce on the clams/mussels was excellent for dipping bread in afterwards. The Moscato wine was excellent. Our waitress was very attentive. I noticed the owner stopping at different tables throughout the evening. He came to our table as well to see how our dinner was and we had a very nice conversation with him. It was an absolutely wonderful evening. We will be back!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Should have gone to Olive Garden

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

Ridiculously long wait for our food (salad as well as main course). The pasta that accompanied the chicken parm was lukewarm at best. The chicken was acceptable, though my preference is organic food and based on the size of the chicken breast, doubtful it was. The pasta aglio e olio was very bland, could barely taste the garlic, though it was scalding hot when it was served. Overall wasn't impressed, especially given the prices. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food and service was good We would go ba ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Food and service was good

We would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.