About Urban Tavern

Hilton San Francisco
333 O'Farrell St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

If you are looking for one of the best places to eat in San Francisco, look no further than Urban Tavern. Conveniently located in the Union Square area, guests are within walking distance from fabulous shopping centers, the theater district, the famous Cable Cars, Chinatown, and more. It's easy to see why Urban Tavern is the San Francisco gastropub of choice!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST BUFFET 6:00 AM - 11:00 AM
DINNER A LA CARTE 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
GASTRO PUB 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Seven Days A Week

Cross Street:
Mason St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 923-4400

Parking Details:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square parking. Entrance on Ellis at Mason with applicable fees.

Public Transit:
Muni: 38 Geary

Executive Chef:
Michael Raub

Private Party Facilities:
Urban Tavern offers a private dining room ideal for 50-100 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Gerald Miller / General Manager / Urban Tavern: 4159234400x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Urban Tavern, San Francisco, CA
Urban Tavern, San Francisco, CA

Urban Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (2)
See All
Good for Birthdays (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
1118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there before a performance at the G ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Went there before a performance at the Golden Gate Theater - selected for convenient location. Not expecting too much knowing it was part of the SF Hilton. However, the four of us were very pleasantly surprised.

Things I would definitely get again -- octopus, parsnip soup, potato crisps, and the brisket burger (which was exceptional).

Pasta Bolognese and Sole were good, but wouldn't necessarily get again. Spicy cauliflower florets was a miss.

Price was reasonable. Service a little slow, but friendly and professional.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place, but way overpriced for what ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Nice place, but way overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We enjoyed a lovely Thanksgiving dinner ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely Thanksgiving dinner at Urban Tavern. There were just a couple of touches that might have made it better, though. First, for a holiday dinner, a white table cloth (vs. bare wood table) makes all the difference with respect to the atmosphere. Secondly, a basket of biscuits-- at minimum cost to the restaurant-- would round out the meal, and make us feel more like guests welcome to linger, versus the sense that we should order, eat, pay and run. That said, we did enjoy the meal and the service.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I usually don't order chicken dishes, bu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I usually don't order chicken dishes, but was persuaded by a colleague who ate at the Urban Tavern the precious evening to order the wine bottle free-range chicken. Glad I did. It was extremely good. Service is impeccable - just right amount of attention. Good place to talk - no blaring music, noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My steak was the best ever. I really, re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

My steak was the best ever. I really, really liked it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The new menu looks very promising. We h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The new menu looks very promising.

We have tried 5 of the entrees so far and all of them were great!

The Ramen was so good, I had to have it again the next time we were there.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunate Food and Cityscape is Closing!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2015

Apparently when we arrived 12/7 there was a private party on the 46th floor and we were sent a few floors down to a lounge for an unfortunately over priced ($233 for 2 adults and 2 kids) and a lacking flavor buffet! We had been to cityscape years ago and it was amazing, that is why returned this time with our kids. As we ate our bland meal we were told that the Hilton was letting go of most of their staff in all food service; all restaurants and they won't have room service at all after 12/7. We felt bad for staff and future guests and felt that we needed to write to inform others. We made our reservation via opentable and opentable should have been told they were closing and that the venue had changed to accommodate a private party? The wine was great and our kids enjoyed the view. But fyi... It is closing per staff and it was not tasty and definitely not worth the price we paid? We should have gone somewhere else, I wish we were told that it was closing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Incredible view and delicious food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2015

Had a corner table and the view of SF skyline was incredible! The food was buffet style but was delicious. Very attentive staff. Will definitely cane back when in SF!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

bad service, not great food

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2015

My husband and I made a reservation for Saturday night that was not needed the place was nearly empty but we still stood at the front waiting to be seated for 15 min with no line. The disinterested waitress also took her time getting to us, I counted 3 tables she was responsible for at the time and she was still nowhere to be seen most of our meal, we even had to go to the bar for a second drink. It is a buffet right now but the selection is low all of 3 of any course can be found at a barley warm tempature with a spoon so caked in food it looked like it hadent been washed all week. So then we had to pay and we had a gift certificate that was purchased 3 months ago but they wouldent take it because they stopped accepting them 5 months ago just another annoyance to add to a miderocre meal. The only good thing was the view right now in there temporary location on the top floor the view of the city is amazing but you could go to top of the mark for better food and drinks at the same price maybe even get a server that has even a small interest in being in the building. I wouldent go back here if the meal were free with so many amazing places to eat in this city bad food does not need to be tolerated.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Very good view

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2015

The view is amazing. Plus it is very close to union square.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Not being a buffet fan, this was not a g ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Not being a buffet fan, this was not a good choice for me, but the Urban Tavern we usually go to downstairs was closed for renovation and we appreciate having our parking in the hotel validated when we go to one of the nearby theatres. I might take an out of town guest here to enjoy the panoramic view of the City.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

All you can eat buffet. Food was better ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2015

All you can eat buffet. Food was better than ok but not great. The dessert was actually delicious but that made it dangerous as you can get all you can eat. You go here for the view. Amazing. Can be beat. Also, our servers were very attentive and sweet. I would go here for the next full moon or romantic date...who likes to eat. Definitely will go back for that view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great service with amazing views.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2015

Food was nothing to write home about but was good. The service was fantastic and the views are amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food really was not worth the price, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2015

The food really was not worth the price, we got the buffet. Decent wine selection. More of a place to get drinks. But the service was great. The woman who served us was so nice!! She even had them keep the buffet open a bit longer for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Best Views of San Francisco

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 18, 2015

We were surprised it was a buffet but the food was very good, service was great, and the views of the city were jaw dropping.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Urban Tabern is not open due to remodeling

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2015

So we're told to their 46th floor City Scape restaurant. No a la carte menu but a $37 buffet with limited selection. On top of that, they don't accept Urban Tavern's certificate from restaurant.com, and I think they need to mention that before you're seated, not until the bill came and you're told sorry we don't accept it. Bad business practice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Restaurant is okay, not a true brewpub/gastropub

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2015

Do not choose this place if you are looking for a brewpubs/gastropubs, are a foodie, or craft beer fan. I was not aware it was part of the Hilton hotel when I booked my reservation.

The food was okay. Nothing was bad about it, but it lacked anything interesting beyond basic flavors. Our group of 4 had the fish and chips, pretzel/sausage, chicken, and heirloom tomato salad. Everyone finished their plates, but no one felt we would recommend anything to a friend.

Beer list has a decent selection of beers from the major breweries.

Ambiance, this place did not feel like a brewpub/gastropub. It felt like a hotel restaurant serving brew pub type food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I was really excited with the Chicken Sa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2015

I was really excited with the Chicken Salad as described on the menu however when it arrived the meat was very dry and the greens were so saturated with salad dressing there was a puddle on the plate below the greens. The upper floor of the restaurant was crowded with a large group. That could have explained the length of time it took to get the meal to the table and to get the attention of our server who was otherwise pleasant and eager to assist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Diner

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2015

The cost of both wines by the bottle and by the glass are outrageous.

A glass of Cabernet Sauvignon at $24 per glass ? Where do you get your prices from?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Meh

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2015

Waiter was great but the food took forever to get to the table and was cold. Spending $350 on dinner at a restaurant you would think they were a little more on top of things. Sadly, I don't believe anyone from the group of 6 of us will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Have the veggie lasagna and it was great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2015

Have the veggie lasagna and it was great will come back for sure. Also French onion soup was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Convenient to ACT

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2015

First time at the Urban Tavern. Pliney Elder beer with single burger. The burger was kind of dry. Recommend getting the double. Came with fries. The companion order was the club salad which was very good and fresh. The toppings of egg, bacon, bleu cheese and tomatoes were finely chopped on top of fresh lettuce and the tomatoes fresh and flavorful. No dressing came on top or on the side, not sure if server forgot, but fine w/o dressing. Accompanied with a glass of Prosecco. Coffee after was good. We had enough time before the performance and we weren't rushed. It was a bit pricey, but suppose that's expected for hotel (Hilton) prices in SF. Service for the most part around us was very friendly, although our server appeared he'd rather be somewhere else - somewhat forced-friendly. Maybe would try again if we're in the area for a show, but not a destination in itself.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Wonderful and eclectic menu

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 4, 2015

We found this restaurant while browsing through Open Table on our recent trip to San Francisco. The menu is diverse and eclectic --our orders included French onion soup, fish and chips, a pretzel and sausage--with something to appeal to diverse tastes. Even better, each of the dishes were what one would want and expect from it. The decor is cool and trendy and lends a relaxed air to the place. As far as service is concerned, Urban Tavern does not disappoint. The staff is friendly and attentive. So, dependable food, a fun atmosphere and great service is what we found at Urban Tavern. We'll be back the next time we are in San Fran.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

keep looking

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2015

Bad service. Not worth a review keep looking for a restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

A small menu done well

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2015

We thought the choices were somewhat limited, but we had the lamb shank, Teres Major (flank steak) and special garlic noodles with shredded pork. Each one was done very well and tasty. Not much garlic on the noodles, but I guess that's a good thing. Combined with free 5 hour validated parking and a restaurant.com voucher, it was an excellent deal all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great spot for pre-theatre lunch or dinner.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2015

We had just fifty minutes to order, eat, pay and run, as two of the four of us have matinee tix at ACT. The staff was very helpful at guiding us to the items that would be the quickest out of the kitchen. The grilled cheese sandwich with bacon was awesome - a nice blend of cheeses, sliced almonds for a distinctive crunch and just a touch of honey to round out the flavors. Our guests reported that the leek potato soup was superb, as was the Zin they poured that afternoon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good pre-theater option

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2015

Urban Tavern is part of the Hilton hotel, quite close to most of the theaters in the area and especially close to Feinstein's (if you don't fancy eating at Anzu - in Hotel Nikko - all the time). Our reservation was quite early and we were given a nice booth, a big plus. Their wine list isn't the best but my companion enjoyed his Back to Black 21st Amendment IPA. We ordered the veggie lasagna and fish and chips. Good food although the lasagna could have been hotter and there was too much batter on the fish. Also had the peanut butter cup for dessert - very nice. In and out in plenty of time. Our waiter was attentive and friendly and even let me taste the wine before I ordered a glass. If it wasn't for the intermittently screaming child at the back, I would recommend this place 100%, but it is a hotel restaurant and they always cater to families. Probably would return for another theater outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

nice quiet lunch

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2015

We went here before going to see Book of Mormon. It was surprisingly quiet and empty at noon, although the lobby of the Hilton was packed. Our server was very attentive, and it was a good atmosphere for visiting with our friends. There were four of us, and even without any alcohol, the bill came to $90! I was astounded, but I guess that is normal for SF! Even so, the location was great, and we'd probably go again. (and maybe not order $6.00 fries....)

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Early dinner before theater

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2015

We went there for an early dinner before theater on a Wednesday night. The server was friendly and efficient. The onion soup is rich and hearty. The rib eye and pork shoulder dishes were very good.

Please note that Hilton is offering five hours of free parking when you have dinner here. We parked our car in the Hilton garage and had dinner. We walked to the theater and picked up the car at Hilton after the show. This worked out very well for us.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Decent food, Had a good time. Close loca ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2015

Decent food, Had a good time. Close location to the conference center

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

food great, service poor

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2015

I ordered two appetizers for dinner: soup & flat bread. Said I'd like to start with soup (but I did say the flat bread first). Flat bread came out first, mentioned to guy delivering food - he brought over waiter who argued with me that because I had said the flat bread first, that's what I wanted. (who has soup second?!). He angrily said he would bring me soup now if I really wanted, even though (he assured me) that I had asked for it second and bring me the flat bread back later. (presumably the same one?). As I didn't want angry server bringing me cold pizza later, I kept the flat bread and had soup for course 2.... at which time I was too full from the flatbread.

oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Great Fish and Chips, at a high price.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2015

OK, good fish and chips are hard to come by, but they were the most expensive thing on the menu at $24, which seems quite high for what should be a casual dish.

Even on an expensed trip (which I was not, as I am local) this just seems too high. Even $16 seems a bit on the rich side, but I would not have felt taken advantage of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Pretty good

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2015

The food was decent and portions were good sized. I wished they would specify when there are nuts in a dish since this food allergy is so common. I ordered the crab cakes which don't usually have nuts in it but they did here. It was a bummer to have to waste $17 to not eat it. But overall, this was a decent dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

jacksprat

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2015

We had an eight person table with a couple of young kids and the waiter could not have been nicer. The food was good as well. I recommend the pork panini and the hamburger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was good. We went after the lunch r ...

vip
 (Dubai)·Dined on April 3, 2015

Food was good. We went after the lunch rush, so there wasn't much excitement in the dining room. Again, though, food was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Hilton Hotel Surprise!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2015

Seated immediately AWAY from the noisier bar area. Attentive wait staff, with good suggestions. Did not rush us at all. Good hot & tasty and not salty! We were able to BART in and walk to the venue to meet with clients. I'd gladly go back to meet a gal pal for lunch even! Will recommend for anyone attending Feinstein's too! Glad we went, thanks to Restaurant.com deal as well!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good location and if you are in the Hilt ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 27, 2015

Good location and if you are in the Hilton and cannot go far its a good spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Fabulous pre-theatre dining

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 21, 2015

Went before theatre and had great food and concise service. I wasn't very hungry so ordered the crispy chicken tacos that came with mini sides of salsa and guac on smallish corn tortillas that were very good. The dish was well composed and tasty. I also had the polenta side which was fine but unremarkable. My friends had the swordfish entree and the beef shank which they thoroughly enjoyed. We had the plate of cookies for dessert which were a nice light finish. I rate the experience close to 4 stars. The only kink in the dinner was that our server was just a little odd but I can't put a finger on exactly what I thought was off - maybe just a bit too familiar or casual for a more formal dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Overpriced

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2015

Food and wine are very expensive. Restaurant has a handsome interior, but on the Sunday evening we were there, it was incredibly noisy. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Free corkage on Monday

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2015

They have free corkage on Mondays, so bring your own bottle. Unfortunately, it is for wine only, not beer. Not sure why 750ml of beer is different from 750ml of wine.

The portions are large by SF standards. The food is very good, but it could use some improvements. My braised lamb shank was tough in portions where is all should be falling off the bone.

Service was friendly. Did take a while for our bottle to get opened though. Server was very attentive otherwise, stopping by numerous times to see if all was going fine.

I've been here three or four times and it is reliably good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.