Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Urban Tavern

If you are looking for one of the best places to eat in San Francisco, look no further than Urban Tavern. Conveniently located in the Union Square area, guests are within walking distance from fabulous shopping centers, the theater district, the famous Cable Cars, Chinatown, and more. It's easy to see why Urban Tavern is the San Francisco gastropub of choice!

Hilton San Francisco
333 O'Farrell St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
HAPPY HOUR 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
DINNER 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
BAR 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Seven Days A Week

Cross Street:
Mason St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 923-4400

Website:
http://urbantavernsf.com/

Parking Details:
Hilton San Francisco Union Square parking. Entrance on Ellis at Mason with applicable fees.

Public Transit:
Muni: 38 Geary

Private Party Facilities:
Urban Tavern offers a private dining room ideal for 50-100 guests.

Contact Portia Amofa directly for details and booking.
portia.amofa@hilton.com

Private Party Contact:
Portia Amofa / Catering Manager, Specialty Venues: (415) 403-6697

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Urban Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (6)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Cozy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Romantic (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great spot for a pre-theater meal. Service was great on our latest visit. Shaved sprout salad with halibut was delicious. Half chicken also a winner. As always, the cocktail menu didn't disappoint!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food was not good. Service was ok. Not worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Interesting menu! The small plate options were excellent (grilled octopus was delicious)- overall, nice list of options (but not too many)- definitely high end culinary delights, especially for a gastro-pub. Beer options were terrific, and the service was top-notch!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We were in a bit of a rush before a show and the wait staff was extremely attentive! The food was yummy, including dessert. We had the steak and the burger and both were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Very knowledgeable, personable service. Creative menu that was well prepared and tasty. Décor a bit stark. Good location from trolley, theaters and Union Sq activities.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My wife and I used to have dinner at Urban Tavern almost any time we had an errand to run, or a movie or a play to catch, near Union Square. They used to validate parking at the Hilton for up to 5 hours for *free*--just enough time for dinner and any of those other activities. They also used to have no corkage fee one night a week, and half-price bottles another night. The restaurant closed for a couple of years ago or so, and re-opened recently. We found that, while the food and service were exceptional, they got rid of a lot of the perks, and honestly, the remodeling feels like it was unnecessary. (In the booths, the table is an odd distance from the seats, you kind of have to lean forward while you're eating.) So, the menu items are noticeably more expensive than we recall them being in the past; the entrées average about $35, and most glasses of wine are over $15—So, two entrées and two glasses of wine have already set you back about $100 (and that's before appetizers, desserts, taxes, and tips.) Before we went, I called to ask if they still validated parking at the hotel, and they said they did. When I was leaving the garage, the teller told me it was $10; I mentioned the restaurant had validated the ticket, and he said, "Yes, they did; the validation is $10 for the first 4 hours." (It would be $22 if we parked for 5 hours.) It's sad because the food was really fantastic (the labeling of gluten-free items on the menuwas greatly appreciated, too), and everyone at the restaurant was super professional, but at these prices, with no free 5-hour parking, and without the other promotions (e.g., corkage waivering), it seems unlikely we'll be able to go back often.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our server Sebastian?(from Barcelona) was exceptional. He made perfect recommendations of food and wine pairings , which made for, an excellent experience. This gentleman has served us previously and it has always been a pleasure.

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We dined at the Urban Tavern before attending a play. The ambiance is nice and the drinks, food, and service were all excellent. I think the menu was pretty much what is on their web site. The restaurant was reasonably quiet but I have to note that we were there between 5-6:45 PM so it might be noisier later.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The octopus appetizer and the flank steak entree were both amazing. Definitely try it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food from a limited but diverse menu. A few options done very well. Lots of gluten free and vegan choices, too. Urban Burger was fantastic!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was outstanding! Everything was simply amazing. I'm gluten free and I had one of the best meals I've had out in forever. The price was not as bad as I expected and honestly, it was worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sat at the bar. Food was pretty good but our bartender, Wade, was outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Even though traffic made us 15 minutes late for our reservation they graciously seated us. The space is very tasteful and surprisingly well done with acoustics so you can still hear yourselves converse despite the high ceilings and concrete feel. My companion tends to be overly chatty with wait staff and despite the fact that he was extremely busy and obviously did not have time for this, he was gracious and polite and handled it well. The menu was diverse and had something for everyone and it made it very difficult to decide what to order. We ordered four things and they were all absolutely fabulous - hamburger, crispy pork rilletes, octopus in Spanish spices, and shaved brussell sprout salad. The wine choices were excellent. This is fairly pricey but I felt it was worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Busy, vibrant eatery and bar with a compact but wide-ranging menu and a good wine list including glass and a half options. Worth dropping by for a quick meal if you are in-house at the Hilton.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service is terrible and the food was not fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Delicious food and amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Excellent food, I give it 5 star for presentation, 5 stars for design, 5 star for quality of ingredients and the list go on. Highly recommend it and I am quite the restaurant snob (:
P.S The Roasted Kabocha Squash Soup is beyond amazing. I never tasted something like that in my life!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food!

Ramen soup is still the best!

Definitely coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Too forever to get service once seated. Waiter did not gonovwr menu or specials. Steak was sent back 3 times for improper cook temp. Then the waiter stopped serving us after the manager came over to attempt to correct situation. Do not recommend this place when there are so many other great options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wok loved everything about our experience and will definitely be returning with friends. Such good food and service. Menu had a lot of fun mixes and foods.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas Day dinner. Food reasonable, service very poor. Very slow. Certainly not worth a second trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It was nice for an evening dinner in the city. I would suggest a little more expanded menu. Otherwise enjoyed it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We had the skirt steak and the New York strip. Both were Ok if not a little cool when they got to the table. Clearly the chef is trying to be inventive but not quite there yet. Service was very good. However, there was a lot of noise from drinkers at the bar and in the rather sterile, modern style of decoration (a tavern does not come to mind with the way the place is decorated) it echoes around. Given the options in SF, can't find a compelling reason to return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was great, service was good, but the menu was a little pricey. Glad they had a kids menu but the $22 hamburger was a little much. Love this place though, and its location by Union Square, where stuff costs more anyway, i guess.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Service was great and the food was very creative (and delicious!). One of my new favorite spots. The staff made it an exceptional experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went there before a performance at the Golden Gate Theater - selected for convenient location. Not expecting too much knowing it was part of the SF Hilton. However, the four of us were very pleasantly surprised.

Things I would definitely get again -- octopus, parsnip soup, potato crisps, and the brisket burger (which was exceptional).

Pasta Bolognese and Sole were good, but wouldn't necessarily get again. Spicy cauliflower florets was a miss.

Price was reasonable. Service a little slow, but friendly and professional.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Nice place, but way overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely Thanksgiving dinner at Urban Tavern. There were just a couple of touches that might have made it better, though. First, for a holiday dinner, a white table cloth (vs. bare wood table) makes all the difference with respect to the atmosphere. Secondly, a basket of biscuits-- at minimum cost to the restaurant-- would round out the meal, and make us feel more like guests welcome to linger, versus the sense that we should order, eat, pay and run. That said, we did enjoy the meal and the service.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I usually don't order chicken dishes, but was persuaded by a colleague who ate at the Urban Tavern the precious evening to order the wine bottle free-range chicken. Glad I did. It was extremely good. Service is impeccable - just right amount of attention. Good place to talk - no blaring music, noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

My steak was the best ever. I really, really liked it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The new menu looks very promising.

We have tried 5 of the entrees so far and all of them were great!

The Ramen was so good, I had to have it again the next time we were there.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2015

Apparently when we arrived 12/7 there was a private party on the 46th floor and we were sent a few floors down to a lounge for an unfortunately over priced ($233 for 2 adults and 2 kids) and a lacking flavor buffet! We had been to cityscape years ago and it was amazing, that is why returned this time with our kids. As we ate our bland meal we were told that the Hilton was letting go of most of their staff in all food service; all restaurants and they won't have room service at all after 12/7. We felt bad for staff and future guests and felt that we needed to write to inform others. We made our reservation via opentable and opentable should have been told they were closing and that the venue had changed to accommodate a private party? The wine was great and our kids enjoyed the view. But fyi... It is closing per staff and it was not tasty and definitely not worth the price we paid? We should have gone somewhere else, I wish we were told that it was closing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2015

Had a corner table and the view of SF skyline was incredible! The food was buffet style but was delicious. Very attentive staff. Will definitely cane back when in SF!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2015

My husband and I made a reservation for Saturday night that was not needed the place was nearly empty but we still stood at the front waiting to be seated for 15 min with no line. The disinterested waitress also took her time getting to us, I counted 3 tables she was responsible for at the time and she was still nowhere to be seen most of our meal, we even had to go to the bar for a second drink. It is a buffet right now but the selection is low all of 3 of any course can be found at a barley warm tempature with a spoon so caked in food it looked like it hadent been washed all week. So then we had to pay and we had a gift certificate that was purchased 3 months ago but they wouldent take it because they stopped accepting them 5 months ago just another annoyance to add to a miderocre meal. The only good thing was the view right now in there temporary location on the top floor the view of the city is amazing but you could go to top of the mark for better food and drinks at the same price maybe even get a server that has even a small interest in being in the building. I wouldent go back here if the meal were free with so many amazing places to eat in this city bad food does not need to be tolerated.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2015

The view is amazing. Plus it is very close to union square.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Not being a buffet fan, this was not a good choice for me, but the Urban Tavern we usually go to downstairs was closed for renovation and we appreciate having our parking in the hotel validated when we go to one of the nearby theatres. I might take an out of town guest here to enjoy the panoramic view of the City.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2015

All you can eat buffet. Food was better than ok but not great. The dessert was actually delicious but that made it dangerous as you can get all you can eat. You go here for the view. Amazing. Can be beat. Also, our servers were very attentive and sweet. I would go here for the next full moon or romantic date...who likes to eat. Definitely will go back for that view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2015

Food was nothing to write home about but was good. The service was fantastic and the views are amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2015

The food really was not worth the price, we got the buffet. Decent wine selection. More of a place to get drinks. But the service was great. The woman who served us was so nice!! She even had them keep the buffet open a bit longer for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 18, 2015

We were surprised it was a buffet but the food was very good, service was great, and the views of the city were jaw dropping.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.