Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.29mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.29mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.29mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.29mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

About Urban Kitchen

Urban bites are just around the corner. At Urban Kitchen restaurant we serve a unique mix of classic dishes with an urban twist morning, noon, and night. We are located in the heart of Memorial and Energy Corridor.
Urban Kitchen embraces food and community as one. We aim to be that neighborhood destination for any meal and for people of all ages.
We are now open, so don’t wait and come on in for your next meal!

14008 Memorial Dr.
Ste F
Houston, TX 77079
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Kirkwood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 531-7550

Website:
http://urbankitchenhouston.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Ample parking area

Executive Chef:
Jose Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Urban Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (4)
See All
Good for a Date (3)
Romantic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
S
130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

The refried beans were a little bit runny the refried were a little bit runny

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything we had was awesome! From the custom cocktails to appetizer, dinner options, kids menu and dessert! Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Have dined here many times and found it consistently enjoyable with good quality food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nice little restaurant with a good lunch variety. Good place for a nice lunch date with a special someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was hands down , the worst dinner I have ever had in a long time . Mashed potatoes tasted like kerosene had been dozed over them , my fish was tasteless . Our waiter was good though .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I probably won't be back. I wasn't impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This restaurant was supposedly rated in the top 10 restaurants in Houston. Three out of four of our orders had to be changed after we ordered because they were out of that item. When the food did come it was cold!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Crab stuffed shrimp was simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Birthday lunch

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Stumbled upon it by accident, but very pleased to have done so. Restaurant was half full and conversation was easy. Décor is cosy and pleasant. Really loved that you get to pick 2 sides to go with your entrée. The Brussels sprouts are amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Food is always on point. Servers are friendly and very professional.

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and the service was wonderful. Had dinner there with some good friends to celebrate for the holidays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Lots of tasty items on menu. Always get something different. Fish tacos are amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went to Urban Kitchen on Saturday with family. Had a myriad of tastes and some wanted brunch. The menu is available for brunch or lunch and everyone enjoyed their meal. $15 pitcher of mimosas was also a great value. Have had lunch at Urban Kitchen with my husband, in the past and will be back & recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food. Good prices. Never need to wait for a table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always delicious every time we eat here. Great weekend brunch! Hostess always happy to see you! Delicious always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Sat outside. Between delicious food cooked perfectly to attentive servers, it was a wonderful brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent neighborhood restaurant. Sometimes disappointed in service, we have had to remind waiter of special requests, etc. But quality of food is consistently good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

16th Birthday for my daughter. Staff sent a dessert on the house!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have been here many times and am never disappointed. Their calamari is wonderful and their Urban Burger is obscenely delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The flat breads were great, nice and crispy. The porkchops were good thick and cooked well but light on the sauce. The sides, kale and asparagus were nothing special. Took forever to get the check. Started getting busy at that time so I don't want to be there when it gets busy. Overall a reasonably enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We enjoyed a very relaxing brunch/lunch visit to the Urban Diner.

There is shaded outdoor dining, but we chose indoor because it was a pretty hot day.

We enjoyed understated, yet attentive and very cheerful service. We had the choice of brunch or lunch menus - both of which offered plenty of appealing choices.

A salmon burger (well cooked, nice flavor) and a juicy steak wrap and a beer later we left very happy.

A good place - tasty food and chill atmosphere. We will return!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I enjoyed my experience at Urban American Kitchen. The service was very polite, attentive, and considerate. We were there for Sunday Brunch & the food was very delicious. I liked the outdoor seating, but would have prefered indoors if the it was bigger & could hold more tables. Overall, I liked this restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Waffles was doughy , lobster benedict was mostly english muffin with tiny pieces of losbster. Restaurant has potential but just need some work on their brunch menu. Pancakes were good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was overall good, but the ambiance wasn't exactly what I wanted for a Brunch setting. It was very quiet and I wanted a little more lively of a spot. I would recommend for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went here for the first time during restaurant weeks for brunch and we had a blast!! The food was amazing, the service was great, and brunch cocktails were available by the carafe. Definitely will go back!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Chose B&B for end of Houston Restaurant Week experience. Had never been there but had read favorable reviews. Just wanted the old building setting, downtown vibe (we live in Sugar Land) and chef-driven food. B&B was exceptional in all that and more. Customer service started in parking lot when we encountered an employee & asked which doorway we should use, having never been. Then the outstanding service continued with hostesses, waitstaff, bar service, plus multiple staff that serviced our table upstairs. The food was fabulous! We're going back and bringing friends. Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The noise level in this place is abit too high... need some soft furnishing to dampen the noise level.
Food was good and Olga our server was superb.. attentive and came over a few times to ensure we were okay.

Water was always filled and happy to provide more bread when requested.

Food was good - had the Fettucini Alfredo, Stuffed Chicken and also the pork chops. The pork chops were delicious... soft and buttery. And the brussel sprouts that came with it was divine.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2016

This time i asked for the steak salad, was so so so good! Cannot wait to try something else, you cannot go wrong! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

A good place with several small misses from being a great place. Decor is nice, but feels like an upscale Applebee's. Menu has unique items and was cooked perfectly, but the flavors didnt come through. Drinks werent sweet enough and took awhile to come. Dessert was blah. I would give it another shot if I was in the area. The fried avocado balls were delicious!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really nice service and delicious food!!!! Excellent opportunity to spend time with my family and get mimosas. The burger a tried was great

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The server took her time to explain some of the menu I had questions. Her response was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was mediocre service was terrible. Entrees came out at different times and I never got the desert that I ordered. Got tired of waiting, payed the bill and left.
Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took advantage of Restaurant Wk menu. The pork tenderloin was very tender and tasty. Portions generous. I had to take half my meal and dessert home after eating the appetizer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was good, but not fantastic. One order was wrong, but quickly fixed. However, we only saw our waitress when we ordered and when she brought the check. We had to flag down other staff for our needs. It's was also very loud. The food was fine, but I'm not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and service! We've been there many times and will continue to go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I took a visiting friend here after finding the restaurant on the Houston Restaurant Weeks site. Set an reservation and was running late so I changed it and that was no problem. Arrived and were quickly seated. Our waiter was very nice but the food was just okay in my opinion. We ate french toast with strawberries (two skinny slices of not so fresh strawberries per plate)...nothing special. I forget the name of the brunch item I had but it was similar to a tostada. Two deep fried corn tortillas, black beans, fried egg, avocado and salsa. This would have been good but there was so much grease on the plate which I assume was from the tortillas being placed on the plate right out of the oil. Just gross.

I would never go back to this place...even if my food was free.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We went for lunch and ate off the Restaurant Weeks menu. All three courses were delicious and the service was wonderful. Very pleased!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.