Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.29mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.29mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.29mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 1.29mi
  3. Distance: 1.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.53mi

About Urban Kitchen

Urban bites are just around the corner. At Urban Kitchen restaurant we serve a unique mix of classic dishes with an urban twist morning, noon, and night. We are located in the heart of Memorial and Energy Corridor.
Urban Kitchen embraces food and community as one. We aim to be that neighborhood destination for any meal and for people of all ages.
We are now open, so don’t wait and come on in for your next meal!

14008 Memorial Dr.
Ste F
Houston, TX 77079
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Kirkwood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 531-7550

Website:
http://urbankitchenhouston.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Ample parking area

Executive Chef:
Jose Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Urban Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

My experience was horrible from start to finish, the waiter, Cleyton was rude and arrogant and when I addressed it with the manager, she was very nonchalant in her handling of the situation. I also emailed the General Manager and they were nonchalant as well. And the food on that day was subpar at best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Good food and service. HRW lunch options were great. This was our first visit and look forward to our next friends lunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Reservation for 1:30 Saturday. Service was slow to get drink orders then food took a long time. Had to leave for dessert elsewhere because ladies and children were too cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very nice location and atmosphere. Good place to unwind and meet friends. The service was fantastic.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Frequent diner here for very good reasons. Great food, wonderful staff and convenient location. Kids love it too. Can't go wrong with the chicken and waffles or the pulled pork omelet!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We absolutely love, love, love this place! All their food is delicious not just their brunch. The coffee is amazing and the staff is very friendly and attentive. They have just added a covered patio which should be nice come fall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our waiter was attentive and fast, and the food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

A party of six during restaurant week, we were a little unsure of what we would find inside when we pulled into the parking lot because of the "strip center" location. However, we were very pleasantly surprised so don't let the landlord's neglect fool you. Urban Kitchen has a modern, yet still warm feel to the decor. Starting with cocktails, the Urban Margarita was very good, with just a hint of spice to it, and not sickly sweet like a lot of margaritas. The beer was ice cold, a big plus on a hot summer evening. They have a very nice variety of options from which to choose on the dinner menu, everything from appetizers to entrees. Don't miss the Urban Salad, or if you want something lightly fried, the Avocado Delights! Our daughter's steak was perfectly cooked as was my pasta--perfect al dente is hard to find! The ONLY drawback to the evening was the bathrooms. The men's bathroom was so bad that the men in our party took turns playing "lookout" and used the lady's room instead. Again, I would guess that is probably a landlord issue. I liked this place and would make the drive again. Lots of things on their menu that I still want to try!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I went there for a casual dinner while traveling. Entered the restaurant and stood by the hostess table for a few minutes when a man called out to me from behind the prep counter...."can I help you" - I said "yes can I just take any seat outside". He replied, "no problem go ahead and sit down I will be out in a minute". I sat outside for over ten minutes without menu, water or acknowledgment. Then I left and went to another restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Was a slow start but made up for it in the taste of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

First time there large quantity of food you will be full on anything on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Went for a friends get together for Houston Restaurant Weeks. OpenTable reservations worked perfectly. Ample parking. Note; Don't arrive via Memorial heading Eastbound. Traffic nighmare with the construction. I10 South on Kirkwood is much better.

Had Crab Cake benedict and Huevos Rancheros, and Bloody Mary's. Drinks were good, food was wonderful. nice little restaurant, that I'd like to try for lunch sometime (after the construction is done :) ). Our Waiter was good. I asked another for a fork, and I got the dreaded finger of patience with no words. I just said OK, and sat back down. I guess I wasn't in his section. Oh well, we got a fork soon after, so he either told our waiter, or used sign language to express himself.

In a nutshell, great food, fair price, will go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

First time here tonight. Wonderful service. The food was fantastic. I had the steak tartar and trout. They were both delicious. Their Pear Cake was a great ending to the meal. I will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Both the food and the service was exceptional, especially for the busy HRW season. The kitchen was moving at a perfect speed, and my water was always attended to immediately as it got low or empty. The food was one of the best things at this place, my meat was cooked perfectly and all the dishes were plated very clean. The full bar with creative and delicious cocktails was a huge, unexpected plus for this place. Where my experience really shined was in the servive, both with the waiters and the hostesses. They all had great attitudes and were very knowledgable. I will definitely be coming back, and I can't wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Went for Restaurant Weeks and had a great meal with a client.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

i love this restaurant. We eat lunch here at least once a week as it is near my office. Food is always good. Service is good and the wine list is excellent. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food, quick service, mimosas were great, easy in and out

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love the food and the employees! Dinorah and the servers always makes you comfortable and welcomed.

Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent food. Jeremy provided great, personable service. Will most definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Their rissoto was too salty. Not normal for this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I really enjoyed brunch at Urban Kitchen and will definitely return. The staff were kind and helpful, and our waitress was aware that my friend and I wanted to gab for a while before ordering so she didn't rush us at all. The food was delicious and well priced. Thumbs up from me!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Good service, clean atmosphere, noise level was just right. Most of all good was delicious. Would visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We love Urban Kitchen. The food is always fresh and the service always friendly. It's great having a go-to restaurant in the neighborhood.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our Mother's Day brunch at Urban kitchen. The food was excellent and given all we got for the brunch price, a good value. Our waiter was very accommodating and we all will go back based on our experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The refried beans were a little bit runny the refried were a little bit runny

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything we had was awesome! From the custom cocktails to appetizer, dinner options, kids menu and dessert! Highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Have dined here many times and found it consistently enjoyable with good quality food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nice little restaurant with a good lunch variety. Good place for a nice lunch date with a special someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was hands down , the worst dinner I have ever had in a long time . Mashed potatoes tasted like kerosene had been dozed over them , my fish was tasteless . Our waiter was good though .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I probably won't be back. I wasn't impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This restaurant was supposedly rated in the top 10 restaurants in Houston. Three out of four of our orders had to be changed after we ordered because they were out of that item. When the food did come it was cold!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Crab stuffed shrimp was simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Birthday lunch

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner here. Stumbled upon it by accident, but very pleased to have done so. Restaurant was half full and conversation was easy. Décor is cosy and pleasant. Really loved that you get to pick 2 sides to go with your entrée. The Brussels sprouts are amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Food is always on point. Servers are friendly and very professional.

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and the service was wonderful. Had dinner there with some good friends to celebrate for the holidays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Lots of tasty items on menu. Always get something different. Fish tacos are amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went to Urban Kitchen on Saturday with family. Had a myriad of tastes and some wanted brunch. The menu is available for brunch or lunch and everyone enjoyed their meal. $15 pitcher of mimosas was also a great value. Have had lunch at Urban Kitchen with my husband, in the past and will be back & recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food. Good prices. Never need to wait for a table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.