About Urban Kitchen

14008 Memorial Dr.
Ste F
Houston, TX 77079
View Larger Map

Urban bites are just around the corner. At Urban Kitchen restaurant we serve a unique mix of classic dishes with an urban twist morning, noon, and night. We are located in the heart of Memorial and Energy Corridor.
Urban Kitchen embraces food and community as one. We aim to be that neighborhood destination for any meal and for people of all ages.
We are now open, so don’t wait and come on in for your next meal!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Kirkwood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 531-7550

Website:
http://urbankitchenhouston.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Ample parking area

Executive Chef:
Jose Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Urban Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
See All
Casual (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (2)
Romantic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always delicious every time we eat here. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always delicious every time we eat here. Great weekend brunch! Hostess always happy to see you! Delicious always!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat outside. Between delicious food cook ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Sat outside. Between delicious food cooked perfectly to attentive servers, it was a wonderful brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent neighborhood restaurant. Somet ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent neighborhood restaurant. Sometimes disappointed in service, we have had to remind waiter of special requests, etc. But quality of food is consistently good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

16th Birthday for my daughter. Staff sen ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

16th Birthday for my daughter. Staff sent a dessert on the house!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here many times and am never d ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Have been here many times and am never disappointed. Their calamari is wonderful and their Urban Burger is obscenely delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The flat breads were great, nice and cri ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The flat breads were great, nice and crispy. The porkchops were good thick and cooked well but light on the sauce. The sides, kale and asparagus were nothing special. Took forever to get the check. Started getting busy at that time so I don't want to be there when it gets busy. Overall a reasonably enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We enjoyed a very relaxing brunch/lunch ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We enjoyed a very relaxing brunch/lunch visit to the Urban Diner.

There is shaded outdoor dining, but we chose indoor because it was a pretty hot day.

We enjoyed understated, yet attentive and very cheerful service. We had the choice of brunch or lunch menus - both of which offered plenty of appealing choices.

A salmon burger (well cooked, nice flavor) and a juicy steak wrap and a beer later we left very happy.

A good place - tasty food and chill atmosphere. We will return!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed my experience at Urban Americ ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I enjoyed my experience at Urban American Kitchen. The service was very polite, attentive, and considerate. We were there for Sunday Brunch & the food was very delicious. I liked the outdoor seating, but would have prefered indoors if the it was bigger & could hold more tables. Overall, I liked this restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waffles was doughy , lobster benedict wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Waffles was doughy , lobster benedict was mostly english muffin with tiny pieces of losbster. Restaurant has potential but just need some work on their brunch menu. Pancakes were good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was overall good, but the ambia ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was overall good, but the ambiance wasn't exactly what I wanted for a Brunch setting. It was very quiet and I wanted a little more lively of a spot. I would recommend for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Food is always good.

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went here for the first time during r ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went here for the first time during restaurant weeks for brunch and we had a blast!! The food was amazing, the service was great, and brunch cocktails were available by the carafe. Definitely will go back!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Chose B&B for end of Houston Restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Chose B&B for end of Houston Restaurant Week experience. Had never been there but had read favorable reviews. Just wanted the old building setting, downtown vibe (we live in Sugar Land) and chef-driven food. B&B was exceptional in all that and more. Customer service started in parking lot when we encountered an employee & asked which doorway we should use, having never been. Then the outstanding service continued with hostesses, waitstaff, bar service, plus multiple staff that serviced our table upstairs. The food was fabulous! We're going back and bringing friends. Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level in this place is abit to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The noise level in this place is abit too high... need some soft furnishing to dampen the noise level.

Food was good and Olga our server was superb.. attentive and came over a few times to ensure we were okay.

Water was always filled and happy to provide more bread when requested.

Food was good - had the Fettucini Alfredo, Stuffed Chicken and also the pork chops. The pork chops were delicious... soft and buttery. And the brussel sprouts that came with it was divine.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This time i asked for the steak salad, w ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2016

This time i asked for the steak salad, was so so so good! Cannot wait to try something else, you cannot go wrong! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A good place with several small misses f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

A good place with several small misses from being a great place. Decor is nice, but feels like an upscale Applebee's. Menu has unique items and was cooked perfectly, but the flavors didnt come through. Drinks werent sweet enough and took awhile to come. Dessert was blah. I would give it another shot if I was in the area. The fried avocado balls were delicious!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Really nice service and delicious food!! ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really nice service and delicious food!!!! Excellent opportunity to spend time with my family and get mimosas. The burger a tried was great

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server took her time to explain some ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The server took her time to explain some of the menu I had questions. Her response was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was mediocre service was terrible. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was mediocre service was terrible. Entrees came out at different times and I never got the desert that I ordered. Got tired of waiting, payed the bill and left.

Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Took advantage of Restaurant Wk menu. Th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took advantage of Restaurant Wk menu. The pork tenderloin was very tender and tasty. Portions generous. I had to take half my meal and dessert home after eating the appetizer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, but not fantastic. O ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was good, but not fantastic. One order was wrong, but quickly fixed. However, we only saw our waitress when we ordered and when she brought the check. We had to flag down other staff for our needs. It's was also very loud. The food was fine, but I'm not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent food and service! We've been t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and service! We've been there many times and will continue to go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a visiting friend here after find ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I took a visiting friend here after finding the restaurant on the Houston Restaurant Weeks site. Set an reservation and was running late so I changed it and that was no problem. Arrived and were quickly seated. Our waiter was very nice but the food was just okay in my opinion. We ate french toast with strawberries (two skinny slices of not so fresh strawberries per plate)...nothing special. I forget the name of the brunch item I had but it was similar to a tostada. Two deep fried corn tortillas, black beans, fried egg, avocado and salsa. This would have been good but there was so much grease on the plate which I assume was from the tortillas being placed on the plate right out of the oil. Just gross.

I would never go back to this place...even if my food was free.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We went for lunch and ate off the Restau ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We went for lunch and ate off the Restaurant Weeks menu. All three courses were delicious and the service was wonderful. Very pleased!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My girlfriend and friend came in for bru ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

My girlfriend and friend came in for brunch, looking to try something new for restaurant week. Not once did we see our server after we placed our order. Our water cups were constantly empty. Appetizer and entree were about 25 minutes apart when served and was never followed up on or notified of it being late. Overall, just a bad experience with the service. If I didn't have so much sympathy for servers, I would have tipped $0 as my colleague did. Ended up leaving 10% when our waitress deserved 0.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Houston restaurant week find. We ended u ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Houston restaurant week find. We ended up selected from the menu as there were plenty of things to chose from. We'd go back again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food at Urban American Kitc ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We loved the food at Urban American Kitchen!!! My husband had the Prime Rib Eggs Benedict and it was one of the best things I have ever tasted and I don't even like red meat very much. The menu has a great variety of choices and the prices are pretty good. They were understaffed the Saturday that we went, but family members jumped in to help. We will be back to try out more dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

French toast wasn't cooked doughy and wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

French toast wasn't cooked doughy and waitress said you don't like it cooked that way? No I love eating raw egg. Exchanged for omelet it was worst then French toast. Was charged for meal they took 3 dollars off. Never go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was really good. I highly recom ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was really good. I highly recommend the prime rib benedict. The service left much to be desired, perhaps we came on a short staffed day. It's worth checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Food selection had a broad spectrum of c ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food selection had a broad spectrum of choices. The setting was casual and relaxed. The dinner crowd all seemed to be enjoying themselves. I had a tender filet with asparagus and brussel sprouts. I followed up with a delicious coconut tres leches cake highlighted with caramel sauce. A nice relaxing dinner in a friendly casual environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ilham (which I learned means inspiration ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Ilham (which I learned means inspiration in Moroccan), our server, did a fantastic job. She was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really quality ingredients. Great flavo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really quality ingredients. Great flavor. Fantastic Jalapeño margarita's. Server was incredibly attentive and friendly. Wife and I look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Will definitely retu ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was excellent. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Urban Kitchen was the perfect spot for o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Urban Kitchen was the perfect spot for our Father's Day brunch. We were seated immediately and presented with 3 different menus with a delicious assortment on each one. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgable regarding the menus. Our glasses were never empty and the managers checked in on us and even helped out with a family photo. We look forward to coming back to this location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location put us off at first since i ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The location put us off at first since it's located in a shopping center but once inside, it has a nice feel and the service was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent but it was very w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was excellent but it was very warm and somewhat uncomfortable in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I love the salmon with risotto. Excelle ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2016

I love the salmon with risotto. Excellent! Wine was also good. The waitress was very friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good brinch

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Very good brinch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of the reasons we like going to Urba ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

One of the reasons we like going to Urban Kitchen is the great service, varied selections, and reasonable prices. Everything was great for Mother's Day brunch, but I didn't know about the pre-fix menu. So we ended up spending more than we intended to. Still great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was very good, food was OK.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Chicken and waffles consisted of waffle triangles that tasted store bought and chicken that was very salty. Odd blueberry syrup on the side with 2 slivers of strawberry as basically decorations. Should have tried one of the egg benedicts instead. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.