About Urban Kitchen

14008 Memorial Dr.
Ste F
Houston, TX 77079
View Larger Map

Urban bites are just around the corner. At Urban Kitchen restaurant we serve a unique mix of classic dishes with an urban twist morning, noon, and night. We are located in the heart of Memorial and Energy Corridor.
Urban Kitchen embraces food and community as one. We aim to be that neighborhood destination for any meal and for people of all ages.
We are now open, so don’t wait and come on in for your next meal!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Kirkwood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 531-7550

Website:
http://urbankitchenhouston.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Ample parking area

Executive Chef:
Jose Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Urban Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (9)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Romantic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waffles was doughy , lobster benedict wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Waffles was doughy , lobster benedict was mostly english muffin with tiny pieces of losbster. Restaurant has potential but just need some work on their brunch menu. Pancakes were good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was overall good, but the ambia ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was overall good, but the ambiance wasn't exactly what I wanted for a Brunch setting. It was very quiet and I wanted a little more lively of a spot. I would recommend for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

We went here for the first time during r ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went here for the first time during restaurant weeks for brunch and we had a blast!! The food was amazing, the service was great, and brunch cocktails were available by the carafe. Definitely will go back!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Chose B&B for end of Houston Restaurant ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Chose B&B for end of Houston Restaurant Week experience. Had never been there but had read favorable reviews. Just wanted the old building setting, downtown vibe (we live in Sugar Land) and chef-driven food. B&B was exceptional in all that and more. Customer service started in parking lot when we encountered an employee & asked which doorway we should use, having never been. Then the outstanding service continued with hostesses, waitstaff, bar service, plus multiple staff that serviced our table upstairs. The food was fabulous! We're going back and bringing friends. Thank you!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Tapas, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level in this place is abit to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The noise level in this place is abit too high... need some soft furnishing to dampen the noise level.

Food was good and Olga our server was superb.. attentive and came over a few times to ensure we were okay.

Water was always filled and happy to provide more bread when requested.

Food was good - had the Fettucini Alfredo, Stuffed Chicken and also the pork chops. The pork chops were delicious... soft and buttery. And the brussel sprouts that came with it was divine.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This time i asked for the steak salad, w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This time i asked for the steak salad, was so so so good! Cannot wait to try something else, you cannot go wrong! Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A good place with several small misses f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A good place with several small misses from being a great place. Decor is nice, but feels like an upscale Applebee's. Menu has unique items and was cooked perfectly, but the flavors didnt come through. Drinks werent sweet enough and took awhile to come. Dessert was blah. I would give it another shot if I was in the area. The fried avocado balls were delicious!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Really nice service and delicious food!! ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really nice service and delicious food!!!! Excellent opportunity to spend time with my family and get mimosas. The burger a tried was great

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server took her time to explain some ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The server took her time to explain some of the menu I had questions. Her response was very helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was mediocre service was terrible. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was mediocre service was terrible. Entrees came out at different times and I never got the desert that I ordered. Got tired of waiting, payed the bill and left.

Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Took advantage of Restaurant Wk menu. Th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Took advantage of Restaurant Wk menu. The pork tenderloin was very tender and tasty. Portions generous. I had to take half my meal and dessert home after eating the appetizer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, but not fantastic. O ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was good, but not fantastic. One order was wrong, but quickly fixed. However, we only saw our waitress when we ordered and when she brought the check. We had to flag down other staff for our needs. It's was also very loud. The food was fine, but I'm not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent food and service! We've been t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and service! We've been there many times and will continue to go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a visiting friend here after find ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I took a visiting friend here after finding the restaurant on the Houston Restaurant Weeks site. Set an reservation and was running late so I changed it and that was no problem. Arrived and were quickly seated. Our waiter was very nice but the food was just okay in my opinion. We ate french toast with strawberries (two skinny slices of not so fresh strawberries per plate)...nothing special. I forget the name of the brunch item I had but it was similar to a tostada. Two deep fried corn tortillas, black beans, fried egg, avocado and salsa. This would have been good but there was so much grease on the plate which I assume was from the tortillas being placed on the plate right out of the oil. Just gross.

I would never go back to this place...even if my food was free.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We went for lunch and ate off the Restau ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We went for lunch and ate off the Restaurant Weeks menu. All three courses were delicious and the service was wonderful. Very pleased!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My girlfriend and friend came in for bru ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My girlfriend and friend came in for brunch, looking to try something new for restaurant week. Not once did we see our server after we placed our order. Our water cups were constantly empty. Appetizer and entree were about 25 minutes apart when served and was never followed up on or notified of it being late. Overall, just a bad experience with the service. If I didn't have so much sympathy for servers, I would have tipped $0 as my colleague did. Ended up leaving 10% when our waitress deserved 0.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Houston restaurant week find. We ended u ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Houston restaurant week find. We ended up selected from the menu as there were plenty of things to chose from. We'd go back again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food at Urban American Kitc ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We loved the food at Urban American Kitchen!!! My husband had the Prime Rib Eggs Benedict and it was one of the best things I have ever tasted and I don't even like red meat very much. The menu has a great variety of choices and the prices are pretty good. They were understaffed the Saturday that we went, but family members jumped in to help. We will be back to try out more dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

French toast wasn't cooked doughy and wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

French toast wasn't cooked doughy and waitress said you don't like it cooked that way? No I love eating raw egg. Exchanged for omelet it was worst then French toast. Was charged for meal they took 3 dollars off. Never go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was really good. I highly recom ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was really good. I highly recommend the prime rib benedict. The service left much to be desired, perhaps we came on a short staffed day. It's worth checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Food selection had a broad spectrum of c ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food selection had a broad spectrum of choices. The setting was casual and relaxed. The dinner crowd all seemed to be enjoying themselves. I had a tender filet with asparagus and brussel sprouts. I followed up with a delicious coconut tres leches cake highlighted with caramel sauce. A nice relaxing dinner in a friendly casual environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ilham (which I learned means inspiration ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Ilham (which I learned means inspiration in Moroccan), our server, did a fantastic job. She was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really quality ingredients. Great flavo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really quality ingredients. Great flavor. Fantastic Jalapeño margarita's. Server was incredibly attentive and friendly. Wife and I look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Will definitely retu ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was excellent. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Urban Kitchen was the perfect spot for o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Urban Kitchen was the perfect spot for our Father's Day brunch. We were seated immediately and presented with 3 different menus with a delicious assortment on each one. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgable regarding the menus. Our glasses were never empty and the managers checked in on us and even helped out with a family photo. We look forward to coming back to this location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location put us off at first since i ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The location put us off at first since it's located in a shopping center but once inside, it has a nice feel and the service was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent but it was very w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was excellent but it was very warm and somewhat uncomfortable in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I love the salmon with risotto. Excelle ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I love the salmon with risotto. Excellent! Wine was also good. The waitress was very friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good brinch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Very good brinch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of the reasons we like going to Urba ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

One of the reasons we like going to Urban Kitchen is the great service, varied selections, and reasonable prices. Everything was great for Mother's Day brunch, but I didn't know about the pre-fix menu. So we ended up spending more than we intended to. Still great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was very good, food was OK.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Chicken and waffles consisted of waffle triangles that tasted store bought and chicken that was very salty. Odd blueberry syrup on the side with 2 slivers of strawberry as basically decorations. Should have tried one of the egg benedicts instead. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We both had the burger; medium-well came ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We both had the burger; medium-well came back as well. The buns were dry. My egg wasn't as ordered. And although I really wanted to sit outside, the outdoor seating that sits right in the parking lot of the shopping area wasn't ideal with the cars driving through (exhaust fumes while eating). The good news is the waitress was absolutely delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great value for the price

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great value for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant, good ambience and food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

First time visiting Urban Kitchen and we were pleasantly surprised at the décor and ambience. Our reservations were for six and we were seated at the only round table in the restaurant. Good for us not so much for any other large group. They could possibly use another round table. The waitress (Olga) seemed aloof and not attentive. Overall we will return because the food was good and the ambience too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Suprisingly nice for the shopping center.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Surprisingly nice for the shopping center, the center looked a bit old but the restaurant was nice. Live Music on a Sunday afternoon. Was a great brunch. Very eclectic menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

OK food; better service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This was a brunch visit. It was a bit chaotic at the front entrance and the small space to receive guests doesn't help. I was originally placed right near the saxophonist and then moved across the room. Both tables (my original and final one) were sticky. Was that the humidity or something else?The French toast was OK - could have probably used another 1 min or 2 in the pan. The scrambled eggs were prepared as requested (very soft scramble) and the bacon was crisp. Service was good. (I think her name was Monica.) Dark interiors, cramped booths, but overall it was fine for a quick brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Very nice eclectic menu. Excellent flavo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Very nice eclectic menu. Excellent flavor and outstanding service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at Urban Kitchen

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We actually thought we were going to Union Kitchen but ended up here. The food was credible. My wife had the short ribs and I had the baby backs, and they were both done very nicely. We did have some problems with service, but the waitress apologized for her lapses - she knew it. The atmosphere is fairly stark, but as a bonus there is also outside seating without a view on a parking lot. The air conditioning was turned down so low that people were sitting outside to get away from it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Poor service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

This is the second time we are going there. We thought our first time service was a fluke. However we were disappointed again. There were 6 of us in the party

We got seated immediately (plus) but to be expected since we did make the reservation. But it took the wait staff about 10 mins to come back with water. 10 mins later to bring us all menu and finally about 10 more minutes before taking out drinks order

Then it was a wait of about 30 mins before we got to order food.

The food was okay for some of us. Like the appetizer of avocado bites was good. The calamari was chewy. And actually the Brussels sprouts on it was better than the calamari.

The main course of the spare ribs were good and everyone else was not too impressed by their salmon, chicken dish nor fish taco

Dessert was pretty good especially the tres leches

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Hidden gem.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Great find. Very personable wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.