About Urban Kitchen

14008 Memorial Dr.
Ste F
Houston, TX 77079
View Larger Map

Urban bites are just around the corner. At Urban Kitchen restaurant we serve a unique mix of classic dishes with an urban twist morning, noon, and night. We are located in the heart of Memorial and Energy Corridor.
Urban Kitchen embraces food and community as one. We aim to be that neighborhood destination for any meal and for people of all ages.
We are now open, so don’t wait and come on in for your next meal!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Kirkwood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 531-7550

Website:
http://urbankitchenhouston.com/

Catering:
Call for details

Parking Details:
Ample parking area

Executive Chef:
Jose Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Urban Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (14)
great for brunch (13)
great for lunch (10)
See All
fit for foodies (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
good for groups (7)
special occasion (5)
romantic (4)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
83 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ilham (which I learned means inspiration ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Ilham (which I learned means inspiration in Moroccan), our server, did a fantastic job. She was outstanding!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really quality ingredients. Great flavo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Really quality ingredients. Great flavor. Fantastic Jalapeño margarita's. Server was incredibly attentive and friendly. Wife and I look forward to coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Will definitely retu ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was excellent. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Urban Kitchen was the perfect spot for o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Urban Kitchen was the perfect spot for our Father's Day brunch. We were seated immediately and presented with 3 different menus with a delicious assortment on each one. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgable regarding the menus. Our glasses were never empty and the managers checked in on us and even helped out with a family photo. We look forward to coming back to this location.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location put us off at first since i ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The location put us off at first since it's located in a shopping center but once inside, it has a nice feel and the service was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent but it was very w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was excellent but it was very warm and somewhat uncomfortable in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I love the salmon with risotto. Excelle ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I love the salmon with risotto. Excellent! Wine was also good. The waitress was very friendly.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good brinch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Very good brinch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of the reasons we like going to Urba ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

One of the reasons we like going to Urban Kitchen is the great service, varied selections, and reasonable prices. Everything was great for Mother's Day brunch, but I didn't know about the pre-fix menu. So we ended up spending more than we intended to. Still great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was very good, food was OK.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Chicken and waffles consisted of waffle triangles that tasted store bought and chicken that was very salty. Odd blueberry syrup on the side with 2 slivers of strawberry as basically decorations. Should have tried one of the egg benedicts instead. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We both had the burger; medium-well came ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We both had the burger; medium-well came back as well. The buns were dry. My egg wasn't as ordered. And although I really wanted to sit outside, the outdoor seating that sits right in the parking lot of the shopping area wasn't ideal with the cars driving through (exhaust fumes while eating). The good news is the waitress was absolutely delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great value for the price

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great value for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant, good ambience and food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

First time visiting Urban Kitchen and we were pleasantly surprised at the décor and ambience. Our reservations were for six and we were seated at the only round table in the restaurant. Good for us not so much for any other large group. They could possibly use another round table. The waitress (Olga) seemed aloof and not attentive. Overall we will return because the food was good and the ambience too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Suprisingly nice for the shopping center.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Surprisingly nice for the shopping center, the center looked a bit old but the restaurant was nice. Live Music on a Sunday afternoon. Was a great brunch. Very eclectic menu.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

OK food; better service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This was a brunch visit. It was a bit chaotic at the front entrance and the small space to receive guests doesn't help. I was originally placed right near the saxophonist and then moved across the room. Both tables (my original and final one) were sticky. Was that the humidity or something else?The French toast was OK - could have probably used another 1 min or 2 in the pan. The scrambled eggs were prepared as requested (very soft scramble) and the bacon was crisp. Service was good. (I think her name was Monica.) Dark interiors, cramped booths, but overall it was fine for a quick brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Very nice eclectic menu. Excellent flavo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Very nice eclectic menu. Excellent flavor and outstanding service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at Urban Kitchen

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We actually thought we were going to Union Kitchen but ended up here. The food was credible. My wife had the short ribs and I had the baby backs, and they were both done very nicely. We did have some problems with service, but the waitress apologized for her lapses - she knew it. The atmosphere is fairly stark, but as a bonus there is also outside seating without a view on a parking lot. The air conditioning was turned down so low that people were sitting outside to get away from it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Poor service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

This is the second time we are going there. We thought our first time service was a fluke. However we were disappointed again. There were 6 of us in the party

We got seated immediately (plus) but to be expected since we did make the reservation. But it took the wait staff about 10 mins to come back with water. 10 mins later to bring us all menu and finally about 10 more minutes before taking out drinks order

Then it was a wait of about 30 mins before we got to order food.

The food was okay for some of us. Like the appetizer of avocado bites was good. The calamari was chewy. And actually the Brussels sprouts on it was better than the calamari.

The main course of the spare ribs were good and everyone else was not too impressed by their salmon, chicken dish nor fish taco

Dessert was pretty good especially the tres leches

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Hidden gem.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Great find. Very personable wait staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I really like the food and menu here. Si ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

I really like the food and menu here. Simply prepared and very well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Decent place for lunch, nice variety of ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Decent place for lunch, nice variety of choices on the menu and tasty food. Very quiet on the day we visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Really good food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Easy in, nice atmosphere, wait staff warm and friendly. Food is varied from very healthy to meat and potatoes feel good food. Service excellent. All food is FRESH.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered the margarita flatbread pizza ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

I ordered the margarita flatbread pizza and a side salad. Waiter explained pizza was wafer thin and I ordered it. It was delicious. Season great with tasty tomatoes and strips of cheese.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice decor, reasonably good food, nothin ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Nice decor, reasonably good food, nothing exceptional. Waitstaff capable and courteous. Foods which should be served with a spoon inexplicably get a fork

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Don't let the strip mall location fool you.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We learned about Urban Kitchen from some excellent web reviews. This is our third time visiting this year, so you know we like it. Every dish we have tried has been good, and the service staff is friendly and efficient. The decor is casual upscale, nothing dramatic, but a comfortable place to bring a date or have drinks with friends. The restaurant could easily be placed in the Montrose corridor of restaurants and fit right in. My last meal was the salmon, asparagus,and risotto . The fish had a nice sear, while retaining its moisture. The asparagus was cooked perfectly, and the risotto had a beautiful texture and consistency. Highly recommend it! My wife had the Urban Flatbread, Pear, Brie, and Truffled Arugula. Very tasty, but we both thought it would be better with less Arugula. The only item I wish is if they had a larger fish selection since they cook it so well. Otherwise, it's a great place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

great brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I had brunch for g the first time at urban kitchen and I definitely will return. The service was excellent. Very friendly staff and management, and the food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent dinner

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Best Calamari with Brussel Sprouts in a Sweet Chili Vinaigrette in Houston.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wouldn't recommend

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Highlights: $2 mimosas were great! Service was good. The food was served very quickly.

Disappointments: the food was not good. I had a wrap that was 95% lettuce. My CUBAN Fiancé had the Cuban sandwich... he was very disappointed and didn't even eat half of it.

Final thoughts: based on the food alone, we would not go back. We always return to restuarants that stand out, but one did not stand out to us.

Perhaps dinner would be better, but I would not recommend this place to friends for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

Brunch with a twist

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Different twist from ordinary brunch. Healthy omelet very good with a sprinkle of balsamic vinegar. Coffee served with steamed milk a plus.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service is always great. Great ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Food and service is always great. Great addition to neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

It is so nice to make the short drive to the Urban Kitchen and have plenty of parking places. The restaurant is never overcrowded (which I'll never understand, because the food is so exceptional). The noise level is the quietest I have seen in any restaurant. The menu has many great dishes and it is great for a romantic evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

Everyone in our party thought the food and service was exceptional. The menu has many great dishes on it. Parking is never a problem. There are plenty of parking spaces at night in the shopping center lot. The booths are very comfortable and quiet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch is better then dinner. Sat by th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Brunch is better then dinner. Sat by the door and the draft was a bit unnerving. The food was just okay. The drinks were mediocre. A waitress that mixes drinks not aways the best. I do love the place but will stick to brunch. Friendly but still trying to figure it out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Amazing service, wonderful staff, delici ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Amazing service, wonderful staff, delicious menu, great prices, superb setting. I will definitely return and recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant food pleasant interior. What el ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Pleasant food pleasant interior. What else can you ask for in a neighborhood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was S...L...O...W

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

A large table of 12 or so seemed to throw everything out of sync. Food was slow arriving; no water or bread until we asked about 20 minutes in. Waitress forgot part of the drink order and had to ask us again. However, when the food arrived all was good. This food was just excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Portion control needed!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Portion sizes of breakfast meals are large enough to feed at least two people. Pancakes and french toast are good but nothing super special. Either order could easily feed two to three people. Very expensive as eggs or breakfast meats are extra.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Food was really good! Great flavored!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Food was really good! Great flavored!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and service was amazing. I had ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

The food and service was amazing. I had the tortilla soup and it was delicious!

The only problem we encountered was shortly after we left I was notified by open table that they had cancelled our reservation (so no credit for me). I called and they quickly fixed the error.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for lunch as part of the H ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

We went there for lunch as part of the Houston restaurant week. Food was good, generous portions with quick service. Great value.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.