Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Urban Grub

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Thur: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sat: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (84)
Fit for Foodies (76)
Special Occasion (71)
See All
Creative Cuisine (63)
Fireplace (58)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Hot Spot (54)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Good for Groups (50)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Modern Decor (45)
Local Ingredients (42)
Fun (42)
Bar Seating (38)
Romantic (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Great for Brunch (38)
Casual (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Cozy (32)
Business Meals (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great Beer (28)
Notable Wine List (28)
Wood Oven (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Authentic (22)
Open Kitchen (18)
People Watching (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Seasonal (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Family Style (12)
Tapas (11)
Healthy (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Private Room (10)
Scenic View (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Live Sports (2)
Live Music (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved, loved, loved this place. Everything was perfect, from the cheese & meat boards, to the shared foods, to the donut dessert. Would definitely be back if I didn't live 750 miles away😢

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Tapas, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

It would be difficult to say which was better, the food or the service. Highly recommend the steaks, oysters, pork chop, and the red fish. Everyone in my party was very happy.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was closed due to awarer main break - no fault of the restaurant but did not find out until we got there. Open table allowed us to make the reservation but we were never notified they were closed. Hmmmm...

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Will become a regular brunch place for us and we will bring our visitors to Nashville.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

The food, atmosphere , muffins, Service was great!! Loved it

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Double cut pork chop was to die for! Great waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Kathryn our server was AMAZING! She was so knowledgeable about the menu and had great descriptions & opinions on everything.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service! Delicious meal with locally sourced food. A must visit in Nashville!

Tags: Fireplace, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

This place was amazing. Great food, recommend the brunch it is worth the cost believe me. Staff was wonderful, fun and helpful. We told everyone we could that weekend how amazing the food was and to go if they had the time. A+++++

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

energetic vibe and a creative menu! drinks were fantastic and service even better!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and service! Will definitely be back. I had the filet and my husband had the pork shank. We had the mac and cheese and collard greens. All of it was amazing. Our server Ben was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Lovely time as always. Olivia, our waitress, was fantastic!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This was a quick visit to Nashville, 3rd trip to this great city, this was the best dining experience we've had so far...really great menu/wine list...some dishes are sous vide/finished on grill (including outstanding lamb chops I had)...but even better than the food was the wait-staff...I have lots of dietary restrictions, these guys are so intimately familiar with details/ingredients of their menu that it was easy to select...they were very accommodating...we were there early (to see a show after)...and it was packed then...so definitely make a reservation...go here folks!

Tags: Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Very good food with a southern flare. Reservation is highly recommended on most days.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We loved the gluten free popovers. The food was delicious and service was excellent. I loved sitting by the gas fire. My one complaint was that there are several doors and we wound up entering the bar area instead of the restaurant area. It was a bit confusing for our first time there. Glad we had early reservations. It was getting crowded and loud and we dined on a Tuesday. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I have always enjoyed my time at Urban Grub. It's one of my top restaurants. We go there on a regular basis and the food and service are always great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service were amazing as always. If you are going for brunch I highly recommend the Gouda grits.

Tags: Seasonal, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch for a girl's weekend. Excellent food, service and value! HUGE food and drink selection and great up and coming neighborhood!

Tags: Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is my new favorite place in Nashville. The bar is huge so it would be an amazing place for happy hour or just a date night drink. We made reservations for dinner and made it tapas style so we could try a little bit of everything. I'm glad we did! Appetizers: Andouille sausage and Lobster BLT flatbread. Both amazing!! Then we had the Roasted Beet Salad. I am not normally a beet fan, but this salad was delicious. And last we split the shrimp enchiladas. Once again a winner. I can't wait to go back and try their charcuterie board and oyster bar (I'm pregnant now so these items are currently off limits).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overall a great experience on food. However, we order our food and were rushed to finish. We were not finished with appetizers at all and the main entrees came. Just piles of food on the table. It was a mess. next time I will be very specific about timing on appetizers vs. entrees

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fun, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had some family in from out of town and while we were tempted to try something new, we felt Urban Grub would be a great experience. As usual the food was excellent- the guys enjoyed the oysters and the pork fries sound strange, but they are so good! I had the filet and my husband had the shrimp and grits- both were excellent. My uncle enjoyed the lobster pasta and my aunt the steak and frites. Overall a fun, great evening!

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Nashville. Went with a group of 11 for birthday brunch and they were very accommodating. Wonderful experience

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great restaurant! The bar is very comfortable and wonderfully equipped. Window views from almost any seat. The food was creative, delicious and fun to share. The grits, scallops, halibut and andouille sausage were all delicious in their own way. Nice wine options, well priced, and the servers were attentive. The owner was friendly and very present, establishing a great atmosphere. Gladly go back any time . . .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was delicious. Valet parking. Good location away from craziness of downtown. Nef was a great waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service and ambiance was great. My lamb chops were not medium as I'd requested. I mentioned it to my waiter and he offered to have it put back on the grill. I declined since I'd rather eat it undercooked than over cooked. Everything else was wonderful. They comped our dessert which was unnecessary but a very nice gesture.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fine dining experience in an upscale casual location. We enjoyed the shrimp and grits and the house salad was delicious. Don't miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service, ordered charcuterie, smoked salmon, the crab cakes, and lobster pasta. Each was exquisite.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, good ambiance, prompt service and great specialty drinks. Lots of food!!!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our waitress started out being very nice but when she realized we weren't going to order alcohol with our meal her attitude totally changed and was rude and dismissive the food was mediocre at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This has to be one of the best meals I have had in Nashville. I can't wait to go back and try more things on the menu! The service was fantastic, and very funny- Keith! The cocktails were inventive and enjoyable. And the food- wow! Keith knew I wanted scallops and offered to add them to the Carbonara. WOW! I couldn't wait to eat my leftovers the next day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We dined fairly early on a rainy Sunday night in March; the fireplaces were wonderful! The raw oysters were a hit with the oyster fans in our party, and the banana pudding pie was a hit with all of us. Be sure to ask for bread; gluten free popovers and delicious tiny biscuits to die for. Good selection of craft beers on draft and interesting cocktails. We'll be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went a couple weeks ago for a girls brunch and sat in the bar. Service was awesome and the vibe was great. Went again with family and sat in the restaurant. The service was good, but the noise level was very high and we couldn't hardly talk. The crab bennie had a very small piece of crab but the belini was awesome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Perfect every single time. Our favorite restaurant in Nashville.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A 1:00 lunch on a Saturday took two hours which was way too long, especially given that we had a 3 year old with us. Apparently, the kitchen was backed up and the service and attention from the staff was spotty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Their covered patio was chilly even though they have heaters. We requested to be moved inside and they accommodated the request. We found the dining area to be noisy. Made conversation difficult. I understand that Friday night can be the noisy crowd, but it was disappointing to have great food with limited conversation...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Urban Grub is absolutely fabulous. You will never go wrong!!! Their pork chop is the best, always!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Spectacular. Hadn't had pork chop since first visit and decided to try it again (I was busy trying all the other things), and it was even better than I remember. Will be back with family.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Delicious food, fun cocktails, and attentive service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.