About Urban Grub

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Urban Grub
Shrimp & Grits
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Bread
Pork Fries
Innis & Gunn Scottish Ale
Korean Wonton Salad
2010 Big House Unchained Naked Chardonnay
charcuterie
Ossobuco
Traditional Eggs Ben
Mac & Cheese
Vanilla Bean Doughnut
Fried Chicken And Waffles With Hot Sauce Butter
Chocolate Peanut Butter Crunch Bars
Rappahannock Oysters
Southern Steak Frites
Cobia
Double Pork Chop with Apricot Relish
Grouper Special
Oysters
Lobster Pizza Flatbread
Rotisserie Chicken
Vegetable Burrito
Banana Pudding Pie
Grubeletta
Mussels
Grilled Shrimp Enchilada W/ Gouda, Diced Tomatoes, And Tasso Gravy
Steak Frites W Chimchurri Sauce
Beef Short Rib Enchiladas W Rice And Black Beans
Fl Oysters With Truffled Mustard
Smoked Chicken Enchilada W Mushroom Comfit, Gruyere, And Asparagus Relish
Salmon
Trout
Wood Grilled Trout W Butternut Squash Oranges And Arugala With A Bacon Vinagrette
Pork Fries W/ White Bbq Sauce
Billy's Hot Chicken Tacos
Wood Oven Mac And Cheese
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits
Southern Sampler Charcuterie Board
24 Hr Braised Andouille Pork Shank W Celery Root Puree Smoked Creamed Mustard Greens And Chili Butter
Prawns
Pasta Carbonara w/ Chicken
Live Band Oysters
Kale, Butternut Squash And Corn
Pork Chop With Cheese Grits
French Kiss Oysters With Sriracha And Mini Pearls
Peach Sangria Cocktail

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
3 More
Hot Spot
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Fit for Foodies (116)
Special Occasion (107)
Hot Spot (88)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (85)
Good for Groups (76)
Great for Outdoor Dining (72)
Romantic (60)
Notable Wine List (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Great for Brunch (45)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Late-night Find (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fireplace (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great Beer (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a birthday dinner which was lis ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was a birthday dinner which was listed on the reservation. Two steaks ordered medium to medium well came out rare, were sent back and came back medium rare and had to be sent back again. They came out the third time still a little on the red side but they were close enough for the hungry diners. Everyone else finished their food before those steaks finally came back correct. I chose Urban Grub as my favorite spot and talked it up before our party of 8 went and left a bit embarrassed especially since I wasn't the one paying. I don't really know that I could say to the big group let's try it again. My double cut was delicious as it always is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

It took an hour get our food and another ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

It took an hour get our food and another to get the check, and this was with reservations. The food is fine, but not that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great spot to get brunch with a girlfrie ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great spot to get brunch with a girlfriend - loved our server, and the Bellini was fantastic. Classic eggs benedict was good, nothing to write home about so I wish I'd been more adventurous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fun time there,however I had th ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a fun time there,however I had the trout which could have been good but was overly salty

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The general manager and staff went out o ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The general manager and staff went out of their way to help make our night special! Thanks to everyone!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall an excellent date night restaura ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overall an excellent date night restaurant. The service was not my favorite, not that it was bad but I'm usually the kind of person who doesn't like a waiter to have a full on conversation with me at the table. Food was excellent and the selection of both food and alcohol were awesome.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I came with a group of 8 & Urban Grub wa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I came with a group of 8 & Urban Grub was just amazing! Our server, Otis, was such a pleasure to be around. He made us laugh, shared stories about his granddaughter, and made fantastic entree recommendations! The food was delicious. I suggest trying their banana pudding! I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food hhjjjjjjjjjhjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food hhjjjjjjjjjhjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjhbbb

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visiting I think the reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

First time visiting I think the reviews are better than the food. Good bar place and meeting place. Thought the food was just OK not bad but was looking for a step up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Been to Urban Grub several times, this w ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Been to Urban Grub several times, this was the first time I was let down. All the food is typically good but I ordered the lamb chops instead of my typical pork chop or steak. For the same amount I spent on lamb chops I could've had a nice big steak. Instead, the chops came out rare, tons of fat on them and were really, really small. They tasted good (what there was of them), but I will never order them again. Next time...rib eye or filet again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

Every thing food ,service, parking, wine ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Every thing food ,service, parking, wine list, drink list was great, great, great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic! We arrived on ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Everything was fantastic!

We arrived on time but had a special seating request. They were able to change everything in less than 10 minutes and re-seat our party inside.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My sister and I headed here for dinner a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My sister and I headed here for dinner after work on a Friday, before an evening concert downtown. The atmosphere and service was great - the food on the other hand was just okay.

Food: I hadn't had a good steak in some time and got the 7 ounce filet, on recommendation from our waiter. The filet wasn't cooked evenly at all (requested medium-rare) and the piece of meat looked barely to be 7 ounces. The taste was very bland. The Gouda grits were delicious and my sister had the pork chop that was the size of her face (and tasted good).

Price: We went out to eat Saturday night at a different restaurant in Nashville and I had the best piece of beef tenderloin I've ever eaten (plus a cocktail and an appetizer salad) all for LESS than what I paid for a cocktail, steak, and grits at Urban Grub.

It seems like a great place for a charcuterie board and wine, but that's about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Loved these decor & hip vibe. Very fun s ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Loved these decor & hip vibe. Very fun server, David. The food was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were top notch. Busy, m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food and service were top notch. Busy, maybe a bit loud.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was nice but very overbearing for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Waiter was nice but very overbearing for a business meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We were visiting Nashville and happened ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We were visiting Nashville and happened upon the restaurant walking around the area. We tried to go for lunch but didn't want to wait 45 mins. I'm glad we were able to come back for dinner. I like the wood and modern decor. The popovers and biscuits were yummy. I had the ribeye steak, it was cooked like I ordered and was flavorful. Most the all, the service was excellent, Barrett and Ilya did a great job, super attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Wish we had a place like this in Columbus Ohio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and amazing service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food and amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the double cut pork chop that was ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had the double cut pork chop that was one of the best I have ever had. service was friendly and efficient. definitely will go again should I be in nashville

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place just a few minutes from do ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A great place just a few minutes from downtown Nashville. Lots of craft beers, great new southern menu choices. The staff was very nice and the food was excellent. A fun dining experience for a younger crowd, and those that like to think young. The ham was wonderful and make sure ask about the beers. I had worried about the speed of service, but it was just right we had a great special lunch. I will be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great variety, outstanding service. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great variety, outstanding service. The staff is very knowledgable about all of the food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the charcuterie and their shrimp ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Enjoyed the charcuterie and their shrimp and grits were amazing! And having pitcher mimosas and bellinis was icing on the cake. I went with a party of 7, and each person said they enjoyed their meal, and the fact they it's a delightful restaurant that doesn't feel stuffy. I will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. O ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Our server was amazing. The seafood buffet was some of the best food we have ever eaten. Presented well, easy to serve yourself with the chefs on hand to answer questions. We sat in the bar and it was a cozy and fun atmosphere which looked out onto the green filled patio. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another exquisite experience at Urban Gr ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Another exquisite experience at Urban Grub - always terrific! Mike is the BEST and makes the dining experience fun - thanks, Mike! Great food, great atoms sphere, great team.

Tags: Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to this restaura ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was our first time to this restaurant and we were blown away. It started with our waiter James and ended with the flawless food. My son is a steak person and said "this could be the best steak ever". We will defiantly be back again.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a group of colleagues in town on bus ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Had a group of colleagues in town on business and took them to Urban Grub for a taste of Nashville's tremendous food scene. UG did not disappoint. The food quality was outstanding and the service from their team led by AP our waiter was nothing short of spectacular. The pacing of the meal combined with AP's encyclopedic knowledge of the menu was a true pleasure. Everyone agreed it was the best meal they had had in quite a long time, and the experience was certainly something to remember. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal. I even finally bran ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always a great meal. I even finally branched out and ordered a special rather than my favorite pork chop ever, and the halibut was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Urban Grub never disappoints! It's just ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Urban Grub never disappoints! It's just one of the coolest places to hang...and the food is delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome! I had shrimp & grits a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was awesome! I had shrimp & grits and my friend had the pork chop. We both had the wedge salad which was sizable and we should have split.

Great wine/beer selection, too. I would highly recommend Urban Grub!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Really nice place to eat. Brunch is rea ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Really nice place to eat. Brunch is really good selection . Great Ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and some of the best food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great ambiance and some of the best food in Nashville. Customer service is top notch. Try the Double Cut Pork chop or the Shrimp and Grits....fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food average at best. Not nearly as goo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food average at best. Not nearly as good as past visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was excellent from the waite ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The service was excellent from the waiter recommendations to food preparation. The pork chop with grilled peaches was cook to perfection at medium and my wife's salmon was slightly under cooked but delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked a table for 16 people for a fri ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I booked a table for 16 people for a friend's birthday dinner. I bought a birthday cake and took it in before the dinner. The hostesses took it back to the kitchen so that it could be served after we ate. I then pulled one of our two waiters aside at the beginning of dinner to remind them that we had a cake and to please bring it out after we ate. After dinner, the second of our waiters came up and asked me if it was a good time to bring out the cake. I said "yes", and it was only then...at the very last minute...that I was informed that there would be a $3 per person cake cutting fee. They failed to inform me of this at the beginning of our meal, only at the end when we were all finished and waiting on the cake. Not only is it outrageous to have a $3 per person cutting fee since we were a large group and we all ordered appetizers, entrees and several drinks per person so they were clearly making a huge amount on our table, but it was incredibly unprofessional to inform me of the fee at the very last minute. So the $24 cake that I brought in ended up costing me $66. I will never go back to Urban Grub, nor will I recommend it to my friends.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Urban Grub serves the best Pork Chop eve ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Urban Grub serves the best Pork Chop ever. It is huge.l Two of our party had it and would recommend it. Enjoyed dinner. Will go back more often. Tables a little crowded if next table is loud

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite places! Oysters are o ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

One of my favorite places! Oysters are outstanding!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here several times over the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We've eaten here several times over the past few years and have never been disappointed, but quite impressed with the quality of the experience. Creative menu, knowledgeable servers, good cocktails, daily specials, and prompt service- all make for a true destination restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A ways a good experience. I got the shr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A ways a good experience. I got the shrimp omelet, my husband got the country ham, and son got steak frites. Great wait staff and terrific fresh food. Seafood buffet be beat. Consistently a great place to go.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in N ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Nashville (or anywhere else). They smoke their own meats and everything is so fresh and full of flavor. We have to eat here every time we come to Nashville. Fantastic menu and food!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Urban Grub...I had ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another great meal at Urban Grub...I had the Brunch Buffet...high quality and great selections...don't miss the country ham croutons...Fabulous attention, but not pushy service...Will keep going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.