About Urban Grub

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Urban Grub
Shrimp & Grits
Traditional Eggs Ben
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Bread
Pork Fries
Innis & Gunn Scottish Ale
Korean Wonton Salad
2010 Big House Unchained Naked Chardonnay
charcuterie
Ossobuco
Mac & Cheese
Vanilla Bean Doughnut
Fried Chicken And Waffles With Hot Sauce Butter
Chocolate Peanut Butter Crunch Bars
Rappahannock Oysters
Southern Steak Frites
Cobia
Grouper Special
Double Pork Chop with Apricot Relish
Oysters
Lobster Pizza Flatbread
Rotisserie Chicken
Grubeletta
Banana Pudding Pie
Vegetable Burrito
Mussels
Grilled Shrimp Enchilada W/ Gouda, Diced Tomatoes, And Tasso Gravy
Smoked Chicken Enchilada W Mushroom Comfit, Gruyere, And Asparagus Relish
Fl Oysters With Truffled Mustard
Salmon
Beef Short Rib Enchiladas W Rice And Black Beans
Steak Frites W Chimchurri Sauce
Trout
Wood Grilled Trout W Butternut Squash Oranges And Arugala With A Bacon Vinagrette
Pork Fries W/ White Bbq Sauce
Wood Oven Mac And Cheese
Billy's Hot Chicken Tacos
Pasta Carbonara w/ Chicken
24 Hr Braised Andouille Pork Shank W Celery Root Puree Smoked Creamed Mustard Greens And Chili Butter
Southern Sampler Charcuterie Board
Prawns
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits
Live Band Oysters
Kale, Butternut Squash And Corn
French Kiss Oysters With Sriracha And Mini Pearls
Peach Sangria Cocktail
Pork Chop With Cheese Grits

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
1 More
Southern
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

fit for foodies (132)
neighborhood gem (107)
special occasion (99)
See All
hot spot (98)
great for outdoor dining (94)
good for groups (91)
vibrant bar scene (70)
great for brunch (54)
romantic (49)
notable wine list (49)
great for lunch (39)
late-night find (23)
kid-friendly (14)
scenic view (11)
Sort By:
Newest
913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent, fresh food. Very pricey thoug ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, fresh food. Very pricey though. Great wine list.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We sat outside and the patio has a great ...

Dined 5 days ago

We sat outside and the patio has a great atmosphere. I'm from Michigan and was amazed by the Grits and homemade biscuits. Everything was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got to sit on back patio which was beaut ...

Dined 6 days ago

Got to sit on back patio which was beautiful and so fun! Much better than inside which was kind of loud. We really enjoyed the pretty patio and the fans felt nice even in the heat. Our food was fantastic. The andouille sausage appetizer was so tasty and all our meals were very delicious. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an excellent meal and overall g ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was an excellent meal and overall great outing. Our fortieth anniversary and a good choice for such an event. Our first time there ,hope to return at a future time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first visit to Urban Grub. Was recom ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our first visit to Urban Grub. Was recommended by friends. Would definitely return and would love to sit on the patio next time. Loved the charcuterie plate and the fresh heirloom tomato appetizer from the stand across the street. Stopped by there on our way out to take some home!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

I was especially impressed with the serv ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I was especially impressed with the server's knowledge of the dishes and the ability to answer the questions before they were asked. Zach and the "team" who assisted him deserve ⛤⛤⛤⛤⛤⛤

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

love the 22 once pork chop. they should ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

love the 22 once pork chop. they should have been embarrassed to serve the salad and even more embarrassed to charge what they charge for the salad. come on urban grub if you are going to charge 10 for a salad, serve a good size salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have a great experience here. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I always have a great experience here. The chef prepares amazing creations that never disappoint and the staff is second to none!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. They have a great b ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was delicious. They have a great brunch buffet spread and menu items. Our server, Otis was great. Excellent service. Someone forgot to put crab on our oskar crab egg benedict but when we mentioned to Otis he took care of it right away. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful engaging service and wonderful ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

wonderful engaging service and wonderful food. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food from appetizer to dessert.

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food from appetizer to dessert.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We LOVED the food and can't wait to retu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We LOVED the food and can't wait to return. The charcuterie platter and oysters were our favorite. Others in our party got the pork chop (it's huge!), shrimp and grits, and red snapper....it was all delicious. It's a noisy place which made conversation difficult at times. Service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

If you want good service be sure to ask ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

If you want good service be sure to ask for AP!

food4
ambience4
service4

Got seated outdoors -a very sweet patio ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Got seated outdoors -a very sweet patio location -the only drawback being the bugs. James - our waiter- was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We always start with the andouille saus ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We always start with the andouille sausage appetizer which is the perfect size for sharing and was excellent as usual. i got the shrimp and grits (no other choice for me here - it's spectacular! Now that I've had Urban Grub's version I don't order it anywhere else) and my coworker got a steak with a side of grits. Love the ambience and the valet parking - it was a great time and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit... And yup! The ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This was my second visit... And yup! The pork chop was still the best I've had. Both times the service was great and the food was excellent. There is also great raw bar and a fantastic wine list.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The fried shrimp sandwich was extremely ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

The fried shrimp sandwich was extremely mediocre at best. The bun was really lame and the shrimp was scarce. The first disappointing entree we have had at Urban Grub

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was great both times I've been there.

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food is impeccable, the service is wonderful, the vibe is top-notch. Our waiter (I think his name was Neff?) was awesome. He was friendly, personable, and accommodating. The only thing I would ask for is the charcuterie to be a bit less expensive when ordering with a menu item. I would've loved to have done both, but it was just out of price range for brunch. It was also a bit loud, with the music speakers and the robust conversations that were going on at the other tables.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Go-To Restaurant for Out of Town Guests

Dined on June 10, 2016

We often bring friends here who are visiting from the North for a taste of upscale Southern cuisine. Our most recent visit included a friend who is a chef in Chicago. Everything we ordered was outstanding: meat/cheese plate, oysters, trout, scallops, fish special (grouper), and steak/frites. Will continue to visit Urban Grub with and without our out-of-state freinds.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service5

Not the best place to go with a group if ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Not the best place to go with a group if you are interested in conversation. It's extremely loud. The service was excellent and food was good.

food1
ambience5
service3

Second time there. Last time there. Cool ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Second time there. Last time there. Cool atmosphere. Cool menu. Great for those that want fluff but no substance. Bottom line...food is not good. Service both times were friendly, but slow and not attentive.

food4
ambience5
service4

Favors were fantastic ... Went for brunc ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Favors were fantastic ... Went for brunch on Sunday and thought there would be more breakfast choices

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was excellent... Desert wasn't as g ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was excellent... Desert wasn't as good though ...

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service Bad food

Dined on June 3, 2016

We consistently come here and always have great food but our last visit was not good. We had the grouper and lamb chops. Grouper was like eating rubber and the lamb chops were the same way. The oysters were fabulous, as always! We were surprised to have such horrible food, but considered it a fluke. I wanted to tell the server but my husband did not. Our server was great! We decided next time we come we will not order the lamb chops or grouper.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good. Outstanding steak and apps ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Always good. Outstanding steak and apps. Great service. Fun.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

2nd Visit Not As Great As 1st

Dined on May 31, 2016

My first visit back in the winter was very memorable. Unfortunately, this visit was marginal from food to especially service. There was room at the bar area so I canceled my reservation. The waitress seemed hacked off we weren't drinking/eating enough, so this was a turn off.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service1

Terrible service, rude staff! Food was d ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Terrible service, rude staff! Food was decent

food5
ambience5
service5

This was such a fantastic experience! Th ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

This was such a fantastic experience! The group enjoyed every meal, appetizer, and cocktail. Our service was perfect! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

food5
ambience3
service5

Energetic noise level for me is equal to ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Energetic noise level for me is equal to too loud. But food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Bruch

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went on a Sunday and enjoyed their delicious Sunday Brunch buffet. It was loaded with several seafood options and the food was excellent! Topped it off with a pitcher of sangria that was the icing on the cake! I highly recommend this place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Unique place. Food was good.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Unique place. Food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great atmosphere with incredibl ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Always a great atmosphere with incredible service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Excellent!

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was my 5th visit to Urban Grub. It consistently delivers in service, taste, and experience! The steaks are perfectly cut, cooked, and served. The filet does not disappoint! The roasted carrots would make any veggie hater a veggie lover! Chris our waiter was charming and offered excellent suggestions. He went above and beyond by giving us some extra cash back to tip the valet.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The food is always creative and deliciou ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food is always creative and delicious. The service this time was almost surly. The servicer seemed to be in a bad mood and the young man who brought out the food didn't care who ordered what and almost slammed the plates down hurriedly. Even though the service was a little disappointing, the food and wines made up for it. I'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

12th Ave. S is so trendy

Dined on May 27, 2016

My dining experience at the Urban Grub was satisfactory. I enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant even though I had to practically yell at my friends for a decent conversation. The food was tasty but not outstanding. I would recommend this eatery, only because I feel anyone should try something at least once. Maybe the next patron will have a better experience than myself.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot for date night

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great oysters Andouille Sausage rivals some of the best in Nawlins' . Banana pudding was my fav dessert in a while. Good spot for date night with your significant other.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Sooooo great! Pork fries are amazing app ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Sooooo great! Pork fries are amazing appetizer! ♡ ♡ ♡

food5
ambience5
service5

A fun relaxed setting with great service ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

A fun relaxed setting with great service and food! I'll be back for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp and grits, or the grits alone are ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Shrimp and grits, or the grits alone are amazing! Wagyu beef also amazing. Oysters were top of the line.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the Urban Grub, great food and you ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Love the Urban Grub, great food and you get quite a bit for the price. The Oysters were the best I've had in town and my pork chop was about the size of my head. Try to save room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.