About Urban Grub

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Thur: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sat: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Everyone will enjoy choices on each of the four courses on Valentine's Day. the price is $89 per person and luxury extras as well as wine pairings will be available."

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Special Occasion (53)
See All
Fit for Foodies (51)
Hot Spot (45)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Fireplace (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Good for Groups (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Bar Seating (34)
Fun (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Modern Decor (32)
Great for Brunch (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Casual (21)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Authentic (18)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Wood Oven (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
People Watching (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Great Beer (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Healthy (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Family Style (7)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Private Room (6)
Scenic View (6)
Tapas (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I came to this restaurant after I called ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined a day ago

I came to this restaurant after I called and verified with the hostess a vegan dish will be available. We arrived and sat down and learned about the fantastic vegan dish. We ordered our dinner - a salad, and two entrees....mine came cold and they remade the meal. Not only did my dining partners food get cold waiting for mine to arrive there was no mention of apologizing for the inconvenience and mistake or any deduction for the situation. After kindly relaying the story to the manager who came over to handle our gift certificate he also did not offer any compensation....just returning from a very elegant vacation and having wonderful cuisine and fantastic service we were very disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

We ordered from the brunch menu and coul ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We ordered from the brunch menu and couldn't find one thing we didn't love. The grits were amazing. Looking forward to coming back and eating from the regular menu!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as always. Our favorite Nas ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Exceptional as always. Our favorite Nashville place for lunch, brunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been here a few times and it's alwa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Have been here a few times and it's always enjoyable. Great food and atmosphere and the wait staff are wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the Chile Relleno on the brunch me ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

I had the Chile Relleno on the brunch menu and it was excellent. The music was a little too loud for me but other than that it is a great place to eat brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was top notch. Ambiance was grea ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was top notch. Ambiance was great too. My steak was not all it was cracked up to be but was still good. My wife's food was great. The noise level was high but we could still have a conversation. Great place to people watch due to being a very popular eating establishment.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great, as always. The serv ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great, as always. The server was the best we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Off the chain GOOD!!! Our first time her ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Off the chain GOOD!!! Our first time here, brought out of town guests, we were all blown away with the food, vib, drinks. The pork chop was RIDICULOUSLY great!!! The best pork chop both my hubby & I have ever had! Treat yourselves and go!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food.

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kewl vibe to the place. Food was unique ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Kewl vibe to the place. Food was unique and excellent. Service is tops too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great, this is ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food and service was great, this is one of my favorite places to eat in Nashville

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our table was ready when we arrived. Th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our table was ready when we arrived. They had a long line, so I would definitely get reservations. The staff was friendly and attentive. Overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always impressive- great food and servic ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always impressive- great food and service. Nice menu options along with superb drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Favorite atmosphere and brunch buffet! U ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Favorite atmosphere and brunch buffet! Urban Grub is my favorite 12 South restaurant. The seafood is fresh and the drinks are on point!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time going to UG for d ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my first time going to UG for dinner, I have been there several times for brunch and it never disappoints. This time was different. We arrived just after the evening rush. There was still a crow but enough room to enjoy the company of others. The food was delicious but the hospitality of our waiter NEFF was above and beyond our expectations. He made us his priority and kindly served us all of our food. He was always smiling and polite and knew just when to pop in our conversation. He made our meal special and will be returning to UG for dinner very soon to see NEFF.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great, especially service from Ne ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was great, especially service from Nef . The food was great, especially the filet we had.

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Never disappoints. Great menu, professio ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Never disappoints. Great menu, professional service, nice vibe. Victor was one of best ever.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for a date night on Friday. Ever ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We came for a date night on Friday. Everything is always great each time we come. :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've tried for quite a while to get a t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We've tried for quite a while to get a table here. We finally planned ahead, got a reservation, and am happy to say it was well worth the wait! We had the luck of getting an awesome table that sat up in a private area and overlooked the kitchen. We got to watch all the activity but also had a quiet area to talk and enjoy our own party. The food was outstanding! The oysters were fresh perfection, and everything else we ordered for our party of 5 was delicious. Try the dessert donuts for a perfect end. The service was outstanding as well. We had a whole team of people attending to us and they all couldn't have been more full of Southern hospitality. Worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always spot on. Service is alway ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food is always spot on. Service is always mediocre and wayyyyyyyy over the top. They always hit you with an speal that lasts forever. All I ask for is a simple introduction. If I want to hear about every special you have, trust me I will ask.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Urban Grub seems to be hit and miss. We' ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Urban Grub seems to be hit and miss. We've had brunch and lunch a few times. We love the bread basket they bring - delicious. Recently, I ordered one of the omelets which was pretty bland and tasteless. There was very little Goat Cheese on the omelet so it was dry and tough. The grits are really good and they have wonderful iced tea.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The staff provided excellent service - t ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The staff provided excellent service - there was never an empty glass on the table. We ate here for brunch and it was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was a great experience from beginni ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was a great experience from beginning to end. Chris, our server, was fantastic and weaved us through the menu - from some cool drinks, apps, charcuterie, main dishes and dessert. It was a memorable evening. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here before....food was ok...servic ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Been here before....food was ok...service could have been a lot better. I'm sure it had a lot to do with staff working late from New Years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

The waiter seemed like she was on drugs ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waiter seemed like she was on drugs and the food was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was the best table ever in the outsid ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was the best table ever in the outside gazebo with the fire pit in the middle of the table! The food was wonderful and very special at each of the required 4 courses for New Years Eve. We would definitely go back. Our daughter with Celiac enjoy the popovers and ate at least 7! Special night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had heard great things about Urban Gr ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had heard great things about Urban Grub. We decided to try it out for our New Year's Eve dinner. The cost was $89/person for a 4 course meal. When we were ready to order, we came to find they had run out of a couple items. This was disappointing considering it was a limited menu and we were spending $89 each. We were told the scallops (one of the main entree dishes) were running low, but the waiter double checked and told us there were enough available. My sister ordered the scallops for her main course. We got our appetizers and salads which were both good. It did take almost 45 minutes to have these two courses. When our entrees arrived, my sister did not getter scallops, she got a cold crab cake. When we spoke to the manager, he was not very sympathetic and told us they had run out. He gave us a free drink-her meal was ruined, not her drink. Our waiter also apologized, but had no reason as to why he didn't come tell us in case she didn't want a crab cake-which, again, was cold. The way the situation was handled was unacceptable. Especially, when we're paying $89/person and the problem was the main entree. The other food we had was all mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

NYE prix fixe, 4-course dinner was much ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE prix fixe, 4-course dinner was much anticipated; however, Urban Grub ran out of certain menu items by 9:30 pm. After being seating, our hostess rudely responded to my question on wine pairings by saying we could ask our server as she turned away. Our server was great and empathetic considering he couldn't provide menu items we ordered; we didn't like our crab cake, and he was quick to offer snapper as a replacement. We were persistently offered a complimentary round of drinks that I did not want. The snapper appetizer, shrimp & grits entree, and vanilla bean donuts were fantastic. We didn't understand (and barely ate) the lemon curd dessert with the egg yolk and gigantic pork cracklin'.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Our reservation was at 8:45 and when arr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our reservation was at 8:45 and when arrived on NYE we had to wait 45 minutes. After that long went up to hostess stand and they

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was our first experience at Urban G ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our first experience at Urban Grub. We were delightfully surprised. The food was creative and excellent. The decor was warm and enveloping but contemporary (it was a cold, damp night), and the service attentive without being intrusive. We liked the "vib" of the place, how it is divided into smaller dining rooms, materials, light levels. It was a bit noisy.

We plan to go back, and have already recommended Urban Grub to friends.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Greatest food experience I've had. Servi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Greatest food experience I've had. Service was fantastic. James was perfect. Thanks

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Organic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a delicious BBQ lunch. We'll defi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a delicious BBQ lunch. We'll definitely come back again!

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service were great. The atmosp ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and service were great. The atmosphere of the restaurant was one of the highlights. Overall the food was the best part. We had mostly seafood. It was awesome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, excellent service, wonde ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service, wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Urban Grub is not only delicious; it's a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Urban Grub is not only delicious; it's a beautiful restaurant. The food was amazing and the service was great as well. The donut dessert is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had several appetizers and 4 differen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had several appetizers and 4 different entrees. Everything was amazing and as always the service was THE BEST. Thanks, Neff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service!!

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food, great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, meal was just fair

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great atmosphere, meal was just fair

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

We went to Urban Grub on Christmas Eve f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went to Urban Grub on Christmas Eve for dinner after reading many great reviews and were pretty disappointed overall. We both ordered specials on the menu that evening. I got the snapper which was served in a bowl with so much "sauce" it resembled soup. I was starving and it was still almost inedible. My friend ordered the scallops and said they were just okay. There are so many great restaurants in Nashville, so do yourself a favor and skip this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Our family celebrated Christmas Eve at U ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our family celebrated Christmas Eve at Urban Grub. There were 7 in our party and we had a nice table in a private corner. Chris, our server, was excellent. Everyone loved their meal. The atmosphere was very special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.