About Urban Grub

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Urban Grub
Shrimp & Grits
Traditional Eggs Ben
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Bread
Pork Fries
Innis & Gunn Scottish Ale
Korean Wonton Salad
2010 Big House Unchained Naked Chardonnay
charcuterie
Ossobuco
Mac & Cheese
Vanilla Bean Doughnut
Fried Chicken And Waffles With Hot Sauce Butter
Chocolate Peanut Butter Crunch Bars
Rappahannock Oysters
Southern Steak Frites
Cobia
Double Pork Chop with Apricot Relish
Grouper Special
Oysters
Lobster Pizza Flatbread
Rotisserie Chicken
Vegetable Burrito
Banana Pudding Pie
Grubeletta
Mussels
Grilled Shrimp Enchilada W/ Gouda, Diced Tomatoes, And Tasso Gravy
Steak Frites W Chimchurri Sauce
Beef Short Rib Enchiladas W Rice And Black Beans
Fl Oysters With Truffled Mustard
Smoked Chicken Enchilada W Mushroom Comfit, Gruyere, And Asparagus Relish
Salmon
Trout
Wood Grilled Trout W Butternut Squash Oranges And Arugala With A Bacon Vinagrette
Pork Fries W/ White Bbq Sauce
Billy's Hot Chicken Tacos
Wood Oven Mac And Cheese
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits
Southern Sampler Charcuterie Board
24 Hr Braised Andouille Pork Shank W Celery Root Puree Smoked Creamed Mustard Greens And Chili Butter
Prawns
Pasta Carbonara w/ Chicken
Live Band Oysters
Kale, Butternut Squash And Corn
Pork Chop With Cheese Grits
French Kiss Oysters With Sriracha And Mini Pearls
Peach Sangria Cocktail

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
1 More
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Fit for Foodies (141)
Special Occasion (118)
Neighborhood Gem (113)
See All
Hot Spot (101)
Good for Groups (92)
Great for Outdoor Dining (90)
Vibrant Bar Scene (64)
Romantic (62)
Great for Brunch (59)
Notable Wine List (57)
Great for Lunch (38)
Late-night Find (24)
Kid-friendly (11)
Scenic View (9)
Sort By:
Newest
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite places! Oysters are o ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of my favorite places! Oysters are outstanding!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here several times over the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We've eaten here several times over the past few years and have never been disappointed, but quite impressed with the quality of the experience. Creative menu, knowledgeable servers, good cocktails, daily specials, and prompt service- all make for a true destination restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A ways a good experience. I got the shr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

A ways a good experience. I got the shrimp omelet, my husband got the country ham, and son got steak frites. Great wait staff and terrific fresh food. Seafood buffet be beat. Consistently a great place to go.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in N ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of the best restaurants in Nashville (or anywhere else). They smoke their own meats and everything is so fresh and full of flavor. We have to eat here every time we come to Nashville. Fantastic menu and food!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Urban Grub...I had ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Another great meal at Urban Grub...I had the Brunch Buffet...high quality and great selections...don't miss the country ham croutons...Fabulous attention, but not pushy service...Will keep going back!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Nashville for the weekend and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were in Nashville for the weekend and chose two restaurants for dinner, Etch and Urban Grub. Etch was singularly fabulous on Friday night from the food to the stellar service. Urban Grub on Saturday was good but we all wondered if we would have been more pleasantly disposed if we had experienced it before going to Etch. We had the charcuterie plate which was good, especially the andouille sausage and the Maytag blue cheese. One of our party ordered the trout, which was probably the best of the four entrees, which included salmon, shrimp and grits and the andouille pork shank. The odd thing was that we were greeted at our table by someone I can only assume was the manager as he did not identify himself and told that our waiter would tell us about the specials. Some time later, after we had made our choices, we remembered to ask and she seemed distracted and gave details only after we asked numerous questions. My husband and I both ordered enchiladas originally, he the shrimp and I the short rib, but our waitress told us that the restaurant was not known for their enchiladas and recommended alternatives, which we ordered. My husband was happy with his shrimp and grits, which he described as comfort food, but I was less happy with the pork, which was more meat than I wanted and was quite salty. It was actually quite good but I was looking for something a bit less meat-centric and this was not a good choice. Another odd thing was that I asked out of curiosity what a vegetarian could order in this restaurant and our waiter listed the seafood options--so I would not recommend Urban Grub if you are actually a vegetarian. Overall, the experience was fine but not stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Adrian was our server and he was delight ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Adrian was our server and he was delightful, polite and entertaining. Perfect waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite places to dine when v ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of my favorite places to dine when visiting family in Nashville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always come back!!!!! It's our favori ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

We always come back!!!!! It's our favorite. The wine the waiter recommended didn't disappoint. The Pork Chops!!! Best ever. Heard the spaghetti and meatballs are to die for. Didn't have em but I will be back. The tile fish was superb. Smallish but I'm A ok with that. The charcuterie and salad fill me up fast. Fresh fresh fresh is the name of the game.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at the restauran ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time at the restaurant and we are going back next week. Rainy night, no problem, valet took the car. Our waiter - Chris - was fantastic and helpful with our choices. We are foodies and had to try the Pork Fries to start. Give it a second or two before the smoke taste hits you. The steak frites and the ribeye were perfectly prepared. The manager - Garth - expanded our experience by showing us around the restaurant after our meal. Urban Grub has dining areas for everyone - multiple dining rooms, bar area, covered outdoor dining, outdoor dining, private dining rooms and a chef's table near the kitchen. This is a must try...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family was visiting from our of town and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Family was visiting from our of town and booked a Saturday night dinner at Urban Grub for my sister's birthday. The service was excellent and everyone was extremely pleased with their food. Had a variety of dishes (pork shank, short rib enchiladas, shrimp & grits, chicken carbonara and of course, the pork chop) and everyone raved about their food! There was a lot of "you have to try some of this!" around the table. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great experience! The food was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great experience! The food was fabulous and the service was outstanding. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were so surprised, pleasantly of cour ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were so surprised, pleasantly of course, when we arrived at this restaurant. Open Table has never steered us wrong!

Talk about a neighborhood gem..... this is one!

The service was great......our table was wonderful ........our waiter was so creative on everything and definitely on target. Everything that he recommended was absolutely wonderful.

We will definitely go there again and recommend it to everyone!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too much salt on everything. Otherwise ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Too much salt on everything. Otherwise very good. Biscuits great

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Excellent restaurant and incredible serv ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent restaurant and incredible service. I go here several times a month and I am always glad that I did.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Besides the food, our waiter was tremend ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Besides the food, our waiter was tremendous. As for the 50 characters required for the review, I'm just not going to do it. It's good food, period.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Shrimp and grits...amazing! I'm never d ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Shrimp and grits...amazing! I'm never disappointed with the food or service, and the ambience is second to none!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a larger group and made changes t ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had a larger group and made changes to our reservations last minute. Because of the changes, we had to wait a while. I believe the manager's name was Eric...he took amazing care of us and ended up putting us in a private room. We had Olivia and Allie as our servers and I have to say Olivia's service was one of the best I have ever had. Her and Allie both took great care of us and our needs for the whole dinner. I will not only recommend this restaurant next time I am in town, but I will be back next time I am back! OUTSTANDING!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our servers were amazing! I'm 9 months p ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our servers were amazing! I'm 9 months pregnant and they offered great options that were healthy and complied with all the pregnancy restrictions. They were truly the most thoughtful team! We had an amazing date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great local farm to table restaurant. O ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great local farm to table restaurant. Our server, Otis, was outstanding. He was funny and a great ambassador for the restaurant. Possibly the best biscuits that I have had intheir bread basket, truly reminded me of mom.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wife and I took a friend for brunch. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The wife and I took a friend for brunch. An excellent way to end a weekend full of great food. They take reservations and have a great outdoor patio area. Ask for Otis, he's great. The brunch and lunch menu seemed more reasonably priced/ more affordable for those that love good food but are on a budget.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My friends and I came here on vacation l ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My friends and I came here on vacation last night and it exceeded our expectations! The bread was a great start and we got the bluepoint oysters which were super fresh and delicious. I ordered the shrimp and grits (also the servers top recommendation) and was blown away! I would suggest sticking to entrees in the boxes as one of my friends got the ribs and wasn't as thrilled. But overall the restaurant gets

100%, the food, ambiance, and service was on point!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You have to ask for Otis as your waiter. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

You have to ask for Otis as your waiter. He is best. Excellent meat and cheese boards. We had pork chop and pasta- both excellent. Only drawback is the noise level. Hard for conversation.

One of our favorite places in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food with local vibe! Service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food with local vibe! Service was the best I have had in town and everyone was proud of being part of Urban Grub.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first trip to Nashville and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our first trip to Nashville and was our first meal out. Everything was fantastic! The food was amazing. There is no other was to describe it - totally scrumptious. The service was outstanding. Everyone was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and totally went out of their way to make our visit top notch. We'd definitely come here again and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about Urban Grub was great ou ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything about Urban Grub was great our food and server Otis, but had incident with Valet when parking that has turned in to a very upsetting outcome so Parking Management Company will be hearing from 3rd party.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed a couple of meals at Ur ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We have enjoyed a couple of meals at Urban Grub before but our last experience there was a season ender. I reserved our table through Open Table and was excited to get a spot. I was surprised that we were seated on the patio. It was a July evening--probably 90 degrees or so. There was nothing on the booking page to indicate it was outdoor seating but I chalked it up to experience and looked forward to a great meal. Then I met the flies. A few flies are to be expected outside and I am not a germophobe, but by the time our main course arrived we were swarmed--no exaggeration--they were all over our food. The table beside us were having the same issue and left in disgust before their main course arrived. The group on the other side did the same. It was gross. If I batted them away from my plate long enough to take a bite, they just went over to the side dishes and sat on those. Eventually, I covered our dishes with our napkins but by this point I had lost my appetite. We headed home after paying. We liked our server and we didn't complain to him because we didn't think it was fair. He did comment (after seeing our pathetic attempts to save our food using napkins) that "every night they stop when the sun goes down" indicating to me at least that this situation has been going on long enough for this man to have clocked the natural rhythms of flies. Here's where paying about $200 for a meal comes into my review. We don't eat out often but when we do we are investing in an experience. Urban Grub does pretty good food...there is a reason that this was our third time there...but it's not a cheap place to eat. It's fancy. They don't even have a name on the building--that's fancy. The hostesses have an air of boredom and disinterest--that's fancy. Anyway, if you're a fancy restaurant you get a bad review for being willing to shove paying customers into the July elements and making them share it with a hoard of insects that want to eat their supper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We've been going to urban grub for two y ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We've been going to urban grub for two years and have never been disappointed. The service is always excellent. The food top notch and the environment casual and upbeat.

I have food allergies and I'm always accommodated. Since this is a farm to table type restaurant preparing an allergy free meal makes it easy to prepare something delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in the city. Fabulous di ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Best restaurant in the city. Fabulous dining experience, everyone in our party enjoyed it. Steaks are always on point, charcuterie is superb and I can't say enough about the wine list - loved the Amarone

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily one of the best restaurants we ha ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Easily one of the best restaurants we have been to in Nashville!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special seafood was very tough, teeny po ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Special seafood was very tough, teeny portion and pricey. Disappointed. Sorry. It was excellent for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was very good, presentation was bea ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was very good, presentation was beautiful and tasty. Portion sizes were normal but price was high. Would enjoy going again, but would need to be special occasion for the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service, food, valet parking, but ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great service, food, valet parking, but the acoustics in the restaurant were not great (it was very loud in the restaurant)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful unique menu in agreat neighbor ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Wonderful unique menu in agreat neighborhood! We were visiting Nashville, and loved the 12th street area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever I know I will be visiting Nashv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Whenever I know I will be visiting Nashville, I make it a point to make a reservation at the Urban Grub......for me, a visit to Nashville would not be complete without the home made biscuits and jam, along with the unique southern cuisine offered. It is always a great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

SO HAPPY a group of us ate here...our wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

SO HAPPY a group of us ate here...our waiter kept it incredibly lively (Otis!!) and was so attentive all night. The food was DELICIOUS - I've tried a lot of good steaks, and I have to say they had one of my top 3 filets I've ever eaten. Everything was so wonderful, great variety of food, expansive wine/ cocktail list, appetizers, dessert, the whole deal. Definitely would recommend this one!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Urban Grub twice now, and I ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've been to Urban Grub twice now, and I've loved it both times! I've yet to sit inside, but the outside area is fabulous!!! Pork fries are a MUST TRY!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The restaurant was uncom ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food was great. The restaurant was uncomfortably hot and the service was slow. Thirty minute wait for our reservation. Still worth it for the delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It took a long time for our server to ev ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It took a long time for our server to even acknowledge us. We sat by a window with no covering so the sun was hot and blinding. Servers and hosts are not dressed well at all-it's a nice restaurant not Hooters. Valet service is slow. All that being said, the food and oysters are really good but all the other issues make it not worth it for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Great food and service !!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food and service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.