Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Urban Grub

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Thur: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sat: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (113)
Fit for Foodies (100)
Special Occasion (89)
See All
Creative Cuisine (75)
Fireplace (73)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Hot Spot (72)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
Good for Groups (66)
Modern Decor (57)
Local Ingredients (56)
Handcrafted Cocktails (55)
Fun (55)
Romantic (54)
Great for Brunch (50)
Bar Seating (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Casual (43)
Worth the Drive (42)
Business Meals (41)
Cozy (39)
Notable Wine List (36)
Great Beer (32)
Wood Oven (30)
Comfort Food (29)
Authentic (27)
People Watching (27)
Open Kitchen (24)
Late-night Find (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Seasonal (19)
Family Style (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Tapas (13)
Private Room (12)
Healthy (12)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Live Sports (4)
Vegan (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Always great food and a superlative but casual wait staff. Urban Grub is to be experienced and you can usually count on about 3 hours of enjoyment and conversation for dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter went above and beyond for us! We were seated at a little outdoor patio table and could not have been more pleased with the atmosphere. The food was DEVINE!!!!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

This place was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great. Our waiter James was awesome. Really helpful

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the finer quality restaurants in the area, Urban Grub offers incredible food, and a great atmosphere. Somewhat difficult to get in on the weekend. Make a reservation or miss out on this 5-star gem!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

I went with my husband and two children and we all loved our food. The service was amazing; our waiter was so fun, informative, and accommodating. I thought he said his name was Nef but not positive. The only negative was the noise level, but it was Saturday night and they were really busy. We enjoyed raw oysters, the ribeye, and shrimp and grits. My husband said his shrimp and grits was the best he had ever had. I loved the blue point oysters and was pleasantly surprised by the gluten free popovers. Our bill with dinner plus drinks and tip was $178 but was worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service were very good, even exceptional. We were slightly late for our reservation, but were greeted warmly and promptly seated. We immediately were greeted by the server with a overview of the starters along with his own personal favorites. The service was spot-on but never hurried or pushy.

Overall a very great experience, and we will most definitely be returning in the near future.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our first time dining at this restaurant. Celebrating my lovely wife Birthday. The atmosphere was very pleasant and our food was delicious. Our waiter was terrific. We will be back. 👍

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time at urban grub. Our waiter was friendly and informative. The food was delicious and the place itself had a nice welcoming ambience. The oysters were marvelous! We would recommend this to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great! As always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Ambiance is great and hands down some of the best food in Nashville. Highly recommend the double pork chop. It really is phenomenal!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

All the food was delicious. The crab cakes were all crab little to no filler

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Loved everything. Food was excellent. Service was excellent. The pork chop was incredible. The donuts were too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 20, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in Nashville for sure. We are visiting nash for the weekend and a friend of ours told us to come here, that it was worth any wait and she was so right. First, the oysters were perfect. Shucked right, not fishie, and absolutely fresh. The mini pop overs and biscuits were awesome. My bf is a southerner and he approved of these biscuits hands down . Now the meal. My filet was amazing. Cooked perfect with sweet yummy onions. The bf got the ribeye with mushrooms and it was aged perfectly. Our friend got the grouper special and she now loves grouper. The family style sides were perfect. The homemade pasta in the poblano mac and cheese was on point. The mashed potatos needed a little bit of salt and pepper. But the Cuban corn... that I fell in love with. Reminded me of my days in az with street corn and I was absolutely smitten with this corn. Will return here again when we come back to visit. Just amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Had the baby wedge salad and it was done well. Good selection of beer n drinks. It can get busy so come early.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent service! Excellent food! I could come back to eat every night of vaca! Great ambiance and atmosphere. Best crab cakes I have ever eaten. Luved the light fixtures. Amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food, good service and cozy atmosphere. This was my first experience at Urban Grub and it was definitely a good one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We visited here from time to time and today was better than normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We ate there on Easter and had a great experience. Awesome food. Our filet was one of the best we've ever had! Service was great. I think it was Todd and Jimmy (I think it's Jimmy?) They were great. Very attentive and nice. We will be back soon!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The charcuterie place was excellent. They make their own sausage which is superb. The pork chop was prepared perfectly

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter brunch with some friends, had a great experience, definitely would recommend. Their grits are amazing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We took a friend who was visiting from NYC for brunch on Easter. The food was good. Creative, but a bit pricey. The waiter was a bit pretentious, which fit well with some of the clientele. Great ambience with a lot of open air seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was very good, particularly the grit and the banana pudding! Our server was the nicest possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The staff were spectacular, fun, and friendly. The food was incredible.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place! Enjoyed the food, service & atmosphere

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Worst service I have ever had! Waitress was clueless! Apps came out after entrees, never refilled drinks or got new ones because the server never came around. Food was mediocre at best and way overpriced. Grilled oysters left us very unsatisfied.

The fact the waitress never apologized for her lack luster service, and the manager never came by to see how we were doing was truly a disappointment.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Delicious food, great ambiance and amazing service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great spot away from hub of Broadway in Nashville.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We we staying about 2 miles away and never would have never found it if it wasn't for open table. Fantastic food & service. If we ever get back to Nashville we would definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We love it!!!! Pork chop is fantastic. So is the spaghetti and meatballs. But the trout is perfect too!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Delicious food and variety. Service was very good. Loved sitting inside /outside on a beautiful spring evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Really great place- great food, exceptional service, terrific atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Urban Grub hits the mark every time.
The food is always fantastic and the service is always top notch.
Our server, Jimmy, was wonderful and knowledgeable.
I will be sure to ask for him again.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Have passed by several times. So glad that we finally committed to visit. Thought it looked cool from the outside, but the inside was wonderful. Earthy, rustic, upscale and cozy all at once. Was great for a night out away from the kids. We felt "cool" again ;-)

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Staff was attentive. Food was very good. We liked the vibe of the restaurant and neighborhood. Friendly to our to teenagers. Nice wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was ok after we got it. The wait after we ordeed our food was ridiculously long. But the reason I won't go back: Urban Grub allows people to smoke in the bar area, a violation of the state's ten year old indoor smoking ban. If they're ignoring this health law I assume they are ignoring other health laws. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Table was too crowded for 5 people and environment was too loud!!! Food was great and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We came for brunch and had a bad experience. One person ordered the eggs Benedict and the eggs were undercooked. Additionally a lot of the water has spilled onto he dish. Another person ordered the steak and eggs. The advertised 8oz ribeye was as thin as a piece of country ham. They asked his preference of temperature but the steak was not thick enough to be any other temperature but raw or cooked. My meal was not bad although the hash brown casserole was burnt. Overall a very unpleasant experience for what has been my favorite dinner restaurant in Nashville. Really disappointed in the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The smoked chicken strata was bland and flavorless, except for the fennel root which was quite nice. The poached eggs on the benidict had gelatinous whites were under done. Raw oysters very good. Dinks good. Been there twice before and had better luck. House Smoked meats are very special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

One of the best dining experiences in all of Nashville. Food was incredible and the restaurant is pretty amazing. Staff was on their "A Game". Will Definitely go back to taste all their yummy menu. Great place for a date.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.