About Urban Grub

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
3 More
Hot Spot
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

fit for foodies (151)
special occasion (124)
neighborhood gem (115)
See All
hot spot (112)
good for groups (103)
great for outdoor dining (98)
vibrant bar scene (73)
romantic (72)
great for brunch (68)
notable wine list (60)
great for lunch (43)
late-night find (25)
scenic view (14)
kid-friendly (13)
Sort By:
Newest
873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Sooooo great! Pork fries are amazing app ...

Dined 3 days ago

Sooooo great! Pork fries are amazing appetizer! ♡ ♡ ♡

food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp and grits, or the grits alone are ...

Dined 4 days ago

Shrimp and grits, or the grits alone are amazing! Wagyu beef also amazing. Oysters were top of the line.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the Urban Grub, great food and you ...

Dined 5 days ago

Love the Urban Grub, great food and you get quite a bit for the price. The Oysters were the best I've had in town and my pork chop was about the size of my head. Try to save room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience.

Dined 5 days ago

Always a great dining experience.

food2
ambience3
service1

Sunday night- after a busy brunch day wa ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Sunday night- after a busy brunch day was aweful...waiters working doubles, kitchen exhausted, two immature hostesses-

food5
ambience5
service1
value4

We wanted to try almost everything. And ...

Dined 7 days ago

We wanted to try almost everything. And ordered multiple items for the table. Everything was really good and easily shareable...I would recommend the corn, beet salad, fish tacos, crab cakes, mac and cheese etc. Unfortunately our waiter's professionalism was really lacking. He seemed to have a hard time standing and was constantly bent over, invading our personal space at the table. He shared multiple awkward personal stories (which other tables in our section were also experiencing) and he was difficult to track down when we were missing food or needed to order additional cocktails. The rest of the staff seemed to be on-point, but our server really ruined the experience for us.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This time we actually got to eat our foo ...

Dined 7 days ago

This time we actually got to eat our food. Our first visit was interrupted by a kitchen fire. The food was delicious. We were set outside although we did not ask for that seating arrangement. Since it was by the bar it was very noisy, and it was difficult to converse with our friends. Would like to try for a third visit because the food and service was so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always over the top delicious!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Always over the top delicious!

food3
ambience3
service4

Very trendy restaurant .Valet service wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Very trendy restaurant .Valet service was nice and very close to entrance door. Had the roasted chicken pasta. Very rich but nice. Server was very attentive. Table was next to kitchen and positioned in such a way that you could not see anything other than the booth we were in.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and the drinks were ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was amazing and the drinks were great!

food2
ambience3
service4

Got the snapper special and it was cold. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Got the snapper special and it was cold. Was warned by the hostess but was still cold. Ate most of my husband's food, his was much better than mine (he got the other special of the day). Food was a little pricey and portions weren't what I was expecting. Our server was ok but I felt like we got worse service than our neighbors at other tables who all got wine. Felt as though we got treated differently for not drinking. We were in town visiting for the weekend and I wasn't very impressed. We would have went somewhere else if we had had the time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed dining outdoors for brunch on ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We enjoyed dining outdoors for brunch on a Saturday, party of six. Our server was great and attentive. We were on the outdoor patio next to a table of 20 or 25, which made hearing conversations a bit difficult, but that was our only negative that day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant! Ambiance is amazin ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very nice restaurant! Ambiance is amazing!!! Drinks were delicious. Stay away from the hot chicken tacos but the Ribeye steak was amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Most memorable amongst many great dining ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Most memorable amongst many great dining experiences of my road trip. Overwhelming thumbs up....great job Molly!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant. Food is great and ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Love this restaurant. Food is great and staff is wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! It's a must when in Nashville ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent! It's a must when in Nashville!

food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty doggone good if you ask me! Was r ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Pretty doggone good if you ask me! Was really surprised at the value for what you get. Amazing food and what we got was pretty inexpensive, but they also serve their full dinner menu.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Cool place. Great food!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Urban was kind of at the leading edge of the foodie Renaissance in Nashville. Great food and the Sunday brunch has been expanded. Like all you can eat oysters on the half shell shrimp and crab legs....then this place is for you on Sunday!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried oysters for the first time and the ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Tried oysters for the first time and they were amazing! If we ever visit Nashville again, this will definitely be on our to do list!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3

Enchiladas weren't very good. The carbon ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Enchiladas weren't very good. The carbonara pasta wasn't very good. The truffle fries were very good. Cool looking place from outside. Just a weird menu overall. I expected more.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and desserts.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food and desserts. We did get two of the same lobster dishes. One came with plenty of lobster while the other had minimal amounts in it. Our own fault for not bringing it to the waiters attention. The place needs a sign with the name on it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this place is Great! I ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything about this place is Great! I especially appreciate that a lot of the food is made in-house or sourced locally. This tells me that a lot of thought and effort is put into each dish, involving an experienced and educated culinary team. I certainly recommend the charcuterie platter to start. All of the options seem great, but I could eat a whole plate of the thin sliced, dry aged New York Strip. My vote is 5 stars, my overall experience was fantastic. My only critiquing would be the pace of the food, our entrees came out a little fast. I was on a date, so we were talking a lot and eating the charcuterie slow. Considering that it was a busy holiday, and being in the restaurant industry myself, it's an easy mistake and probably not a consistent issue.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, knowledgeable wait s ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent service, knowledgeable wait staff

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always wonderful. Great atmosph ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is always wonderful. Great atmosphere. One of my favorite places to take visiting friends!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We love Urban Grub for dinner, but this was our first brunch experience there (we were celebrating mothers day with family). Both the food and the service was fabulous!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We are no stranger to brunches at urban ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We are no stranger to brunches at urban grub, but this was the first time we went and got the buffet. Man, it was great! They have more than enough options to give you a little taste of everything, and we were all absolutely stuffed. I don't know what was my favorite – the regular items or the cold seafood selection

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Nashville for 6 days and carefully pl ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

In Nashville for 6 days and carefully planned out every restaurant. All 4 of us agree that this was the best dinner. It exceeded Etch & Kayne Prime ( they both were great too!). Urban Grub will be 1st on our list next year. Pork chop was to die for. Shrimp & grits were heavenly. Oysters were monsters! Ottis and a blonde lady were our "team" waiters & they gave excellent service. Book it early or you won't get in!! Also gave us free champagne to honor our anniversaries.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location and tables by the open wi ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great location and tables by the open windows were appreciated for the breeze. Lunch options were diverse and very tasty. Variety of oysters available. Pork tenders did not disappoint. Highly recommend it. Will go back for dinner.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

Although the ambiance and openness of the restaurant is nice, we found the food to be below average for the price. Our server, Christopher, was very nice and attentive but much of the food was served cold - eggs Benedict of any type should not be cold and the muffins should not be so overdone that they cannot be cut with a steak knife. Many of the plates would have been sent back had it not been for the fact that our entire party was very hungry. The one bright spot was the grits - they were fantastic, even when served cool. Our party also ordered two pitchers of drinks from the bar and we were sorely disappointed that the entire pitcher was filled with ice and very little beverage even after I requested less ice with the second order.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Neighborhood Spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food in general was really terrific with one caveat. I ordered the filet cooked medium and it came out beyond rare. It was late and I didn't want to return it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Get together

Dined on May 6, 2016

Had family in for a Lipscomb Graduation. Urban Grub is the Graduates favorite restaurant in Nashville. The Oyster Bar is second to none in the city. The group of 11 had not one complaint. Every dish prepared perfectly and service was amazing. I thank Manager Garth for his hospitality and will always return to Urban Grub when in town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Otis is the most amazing waiter I've enc ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Otis is the most amazing waiter I've encountered. He will take you through an experience for dinner. We had a party of 4 gents on a bus dinner. If you've dinner gone to Urban Grub before, do yourself a favor and don't look at the menu - just tell them you want the pork chop. Best on the planet. But everything else is amazing too.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was delicious! We didn't order ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was delicious! We didn't order anything bad. I highly recommend the shrimp and grits.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster flatbread and vanilla bean donut ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Lobster flatbread and vanilla bean donuts are AMAZING!!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great brunch spot and best service I had all weekend in Nashville. Will definitely return again

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was incredible. Our server, Zach, ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was incredible. Our server, Zach, knew the menu and was able to make some great recommendations. Try the pork fries for an appetizer. Service and the food were perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FABULOUS Food and Service

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service at Urban Grub was amazing, as was the food. Try the banana pudding dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Group Spot!

Dined on April 30, 2016

I love Urban Grub for brunch - the brunch menu is very affordable, you can make reservations (even for a large group!), the ambiance is awesome, it's all around fantastic!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here many times. Food and serv ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Have been here many times. Food and service is always fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect experience from start to finish. ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Perfect experience from start to finish. Laid back atmosphere with great attention to detail. Exceptional food and exceptional service.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.