About Urban Grub

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Urban Grub
Shrimp & Grits
Traditional Eggs Ben
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Bread
Pork Fries
Innis & Gunn Scottish Ale
Korean Wonton Salad
2010 Big House Unchained Naked Chardonnay
charcuterie
Ossobuco
Mac & Cheese
Vanilla Bean Doughnut
Fried Chicken And Waffles With Hot Sauce Butter
Chocolate Peanut Butter Crunch Bars
Rappahannock Oysters
Southern Steak Frites
Cobia
Grouper Special
Double Pork Chop with Apricot Relish
Oysters
Lobster Pizza Flatbread
Rotisserie Chicken
Grubeletta
Banana Pudding Pie
Vegetable Burrito
Mussels
Grilled Shrimp Enchilada W/ Gouda, Diced Tomatoes, And Tasso Gravy
Smoked Chicken Enchilada W Mushroom Comfit, Gruyere, And Asparagus Relish
Fl Oysters With Truffled Mustard
Salmon
Beef Short Rib Enchiladas W Rice And Black Beans
Steak Frites W Chimchurri Sauce
Trout
Wood Grilled Trout W Butternut Squash Oranges And Arugala With A Bacon Vinagrette
Pork Fries W/ White Bbq Sauce
Wood Oven Mac And Cheese
Billy's Hot Chicken Tacos
Pasta Carbonara w/ Chicken
24 Hr Braised Andouille Pork Shank W Celery Root Puree Smoked Creamed Mustard Greens And Chili Butter
Southern Sampler Charcuterie Board
Prawns
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits
Live Band Oysters
Kale, Butternut Squash And Corn
French Kiss Oysters With Sriracha And Mini Pearls
Peach Sangria Cocktail
Pork Chop With Cheese Grits

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
3 More
Hot Spot
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

fit for foodies (148)
special occasion (109)
neighborhood gem (108)
See All
hot spot (102)
great for outdoor dining (99)
good for groups (96)
vibrant bar scene (65)
great for brunch (59)
romantic (57)
notable wine list (52)
great for lunch (42)
late-night find (20)
kid-friendly (15)
scenic view (9)
Sort By:
Newest
949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great. The restaurant was uncom ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great. The restaurant was uncomfortably hot and the service was slow. Thirty minute wait for our reservation. Still worth it for the delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and service !!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was very complete and we had a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The menu was very complete and we had a great time. Will return when our situation permits. Olivia was excellent hostess/waitress. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had Sunday brunch. Our server Otis wa ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had Sunday brunch. Our server Otis was amazing ! Very entertaining and on top of it !

Our only problem was the heat. It was really uncomfortable.

We had ordered the same dishes before but didn't enjoy them as much this time.

Everything else was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Our high expectations were exceeded by f ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our high expectations were exceeded by friendly professional staff, food was prepared as ordered. Made our night out very pleasant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent! Previo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and service were excellent! Previous dining experiences were also very positive. However, it was very hot and humid the evening we dined and we were seated on the patio. My daughter who is visibly pregnant was also in our party. Our initial reaction was negative; but there were overhead fans and as it turned out, it might have been cooler where we were than inside as there appeared to be an issue with the air conditioning. Based our our initial disdain, it appeared that the hostess told a manager and someone quickly followed up to ensure we were okay. We appreciated their attention, but in the future, it might be good to check with the party to see if they are okay with a patio table given the extreme heat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great atmosphere, great waiter, all musi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great atmosphere, great waiter, all music types as its in Nashville and funny as well. Cooked my steak wrong, I did not really complain but they insisted that they do it again. I have eaten in restaurants all around the world and was impressed with this one. Would definitely recommend a visit. A lot of people with beards dining the night we were there for some reason.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Went to try it out with a friend and had ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Went to try it out with a friend and had a great time. Had a wonderful server that made great recommendations. The asparagus is wonderful, the edamame was goood but nothing to write home about. And the double cut porkchop feeds three easily, it's so big!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wait staff. Zach took good care of ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great wait staff. Zach took good care of us. Food never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing!! And we will defin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food was amazing!! And we will definitely go back! Despite making reservations we were seated outside on a very warm night and weren't given the option to dine inside. The patio area was quite nice, though still rather loud - however we had to continually swat at flies...

Other than not recognizing our bug battles, the waitstaff was tremendous and again - the food, the drinks, the donut dessert - were some the best we've had in Nashville!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is consistanly good at Urban Gr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food is consistanly good at Urban Grub! Everything is delicious and it is great for large groups- just wish it was a little less expensive so I could eat there more! But, it never dissappoints !

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable evening. We were seated p ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very enjoyable evening. We were seated promptly and greeted by KK our server. Our server explained the internal workings of the restaurant and how they enhanced the menu. Our dinner was exceptional. We also met the general manager who helped us with a very good and affordable wine

Outstanding restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Friendly staff, relaxed environment, bea ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Friendly staff, relaxed environment, beautiful overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch. Everything was good exc ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for brunch. Everything was good except the service was a little slow. We were not checked on after food came to table and had to hunt down our waiter. The only food disappointment was the fried oyster sandwich. Overall though we had a good time and enjoyed the experience.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Seafood bar very good. Other menu items ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Seafood bar very good. Other menu items ok. Ask for reservations inside as they told us 50% of their seating is outside and on a warm day you might want to specify. Service was good. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food and great place to chill on t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food and great place to chill on the outside patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

If you have not had the double cut pork ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

If you have not had the double cut pork chops from Urban Grub, then you truly do not know just how good a pork chop can be! The portions are huge, the collard greens and cheese grits are perfect compliments. We simply had no room left for desert. Sarah was an outstanding waitress and conversationalist. Also, where else can you buy a "Pork Slap" beer?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

service was excellent, food was very goo ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

service was excellent, food was very good. during the peak dining time it is a little loud so you have to speak up at the table to be heard, not quiet dining. I would say worth going to, and we would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Seating was awful. Put in booth and sun ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Seating was awful. Put in booth and sun so blinding made meal

Miserable. Waitress offered no solutions and strange no blinds. Good food but horrible seating

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Only a few items that are good--mostly h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Only a few items that are good--mostly hit and miss. Pretty expensive for what you get--not good value at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We had 11am reservations for brunch with ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had 11am reservations for brunch with a childhood friend and her family from New York. We arrived at 11 and at 12:15 were told that our order had not been put in yet. To his credit, the manager came by to offer drinks and dessert. We asked for a discount instead which he said he would do. 4 of the 5 meals came out about 20 min later and the last one about 15 min after that. The French dip bennie was full of gristle and over cooked although I was told it would be cooked to order. I could not even cut it with the steak knife. It was highly recommended as the favorite item on the brunch menu by the server. I asked to have the horseradish sauce on the side however it was on the dish and I got cold, solidified hollandaise sauce on the side instead. At this point I was too embarrassed to bring it up in front of my out of town guests (their first visit here) so I let it go. The waiter, although bey nice, was more interested in being a stand up comic rather than a server. I do applaud the manager for the discount however no one came back to check and ask about the food. At this time I would not recommend Sunday brunch at Urban Grub.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was fabulous as always. Its one ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was fabulous as always. Its one of the best restaurants in town!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is amazing! We went for dinne ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This place is amazing! We went for dinner with a party of 7 and had excellent service. The ambiance is great, the food even better! The shrimp and grits is out of this world. We like this place so much we went back for brunch a few days later and were not disappointed. This is a definite find in the 12 South neighborhood.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had dinner for the second time at Urb ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had dinner for the second time at Urban Grub. The first time we had the most amazing service. This time was an "off" night. Our waiter, an elderly gentleman, was odd and mostly ignored us. Food was great. Restaurant so loud we couldn't hear each other. The manager was wonderful and attentive so we will give Urban Grub another shot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

There was a slight snafu with our reserv ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

There was a slight snafu with our reservation, the manager worked it out and comped us an appetizer. Not necessary but very nice of him and we appreciated it. That sort of customer service seems rare these days. Urban Grub gets high marks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter who lives in Nashville led u ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My daughter who lives in Nashville led us there. Perhaps one of the best (and friendliest ) service cultures anywhere. We always notice that long before the first bite and it influences the entire experience.

Then a great menu. Not a boring dish on it. Our group had the gamut from trout and salmon to steak and pork and also amazing shrimp and grits--and ask for some andouille sausage as well.

Delightful cocktails and nice wine list. Too full for dessert but split a gluten free cake with soaked figs....very good.

So just a delight that exceeded our espectations, led off by GM, wait team Nef and Mataya.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! Memorable food prepared beau ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fantastic! Memorable food prepared beautifully, all in all our standout experience in Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Urban Grub is terrific and Otis is the b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Urban Grub is terrific and Otis is the best waiter around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Urban Grub has been a favorite of mine s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Urban Grub has been a favorite of mine since my wife and I relocated to Nashville last year. We frequent this establishment approx. once a month. When we have guests, we take them to Urban Grub. The seafood is amazingly fresh, the cured meats are nothing short of spectacular, and the service is impeccable. This was my second time eating the shrimp and grits. Our waited recommended adding House made Andouille sausage, what a great decision that was! I could rave all day about the food, drinks and atmosphere, but everyone should try it themselves! Thank you again Urban Grub for an excellent dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came to Urban Grub for ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My husband and I came to Urban Grub for our 5 year anniversary and we had the most amazing dining experience. All of the wait staff were so incredible and attentive and they made us feel so special. We were even greeted with two glasses of champagne in celebration of our anniversary. We had a great table outside right by the fireplace and enjoyed a delicious meal. We will definitely be back next time we are in Nashville!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to UG multiple times before, ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have been to UG multiple times before, but my most recent experience was by far the best I have ever had. Our waiter was very pleasant, the food and wine were wonderful, and we had a great spot out on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here a few times. Usually soli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I've been here a few times. Usually solid spot for food, wine, drinks, etc... Was there last Friday and everything was good except for the ribeye. I ordered it medium and it came out super tough. I've ordered it before and I must have received the last piece of meat or something, but it wasn't the normal quality I expect from an establishment where my bill normally is close to $300 every time. Took it home to go and made great steak and eggs the next morning though...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything we had was delicious!! Highly ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything we had was delicious!! Highly recommend the Pork Fries. Vanilla Bean Donuts with bacon ice cream for dessert - over the top, off the hook! And ask for Otis to be your server - best ever!! Thanks Otis for a memorable evening and great recommendations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My strip and my wife's grouper were perf ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My strip and my wife's grouper were perfect. The Grub was back to its A game. I still suggest going early before it gets hectic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent as usual - The 4 of u ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was excellent as usual - The 4 of us started with the andouille sausage and pork fries. For entrees, 3 of us got the Shrimp and Grits, and 1 person got the double cut pork chop. Food was excellent and service was good. We sat outside and while it was hot out the covered patio and fans kept us comfortable while we ate.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, fresh food. Very pricey thoug ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent, fresh food. Very pricey though. Great wine list.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We sat outside and the patio has a great ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We sat outside and the patio has a great atmosphere. I'm from Michigan and was amazed by the Grits and homemade biscuits. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Got to sit on back patio which was beaut ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Got to sit on back patio which was beautiful and so fun! Much better than inside which was kind of loud. We really enjoyed the pretty patio and the fans felt nice even in the heat. Our food was fantastic. The andouille sausage appetizer was so tasty and all our meals were very delicious. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent meal and overall g ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was an excellent meal and overall great outing. Our fortieth anniversary and a good choice for such an event. Our first time there ,hope to return at a future time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first visit to Urban Grub. Was recom ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our first visit to Urban Grub. Was recommended by friends. Would definitely return and would love to sit on the patio next time. Loved the charcuterie plate and the fresh heirloom tomato appetizer from the stand across the street. Stopped by there on our way out to take some home!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.