About Urban Grub

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Thur: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sat: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (70)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Creative Cuisine (60)
See All
Special Occasion (59)
Hot Spot (51)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Fireplace (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Groups (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Modern Decor (36)
Great for Brunch (35)
Fun (34)
Local Ingredients (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Notable Wine List (28)
Romantic (28)
Cozy (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Great Beer (23)
Business Meals (22)
Authentic (22)
Casual (22)
Wood Oven (21)
Open Kitchen (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
People Watching (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Tapas (9)
Healthy (9)
Seasonal (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Scenic View (6)
Private Room (6)
Family Style (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Historic (3)
Live Music (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

First time here, and it was awesome. Our waiter ( can't remember his name but he had Curley hair) was well informed , explained everything was friendly and attentive. The food was beyond expectations. Everything is homemade, and I mean everything... We had the Pork Chop which was gigantic and melted in your mouth. Just do yourself a favor and go!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Visiting Nashville for 1st time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

We had girls night out and we really enjoyed the food

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Historic, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was Very Good, Especially The Shrimp n Grits n Pork Shank. They have a Great Atmosphere...

D

Also David n Todd was awesome Servers for a first time experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Made a reservation and then had to wait 15-20 minutes. Didn't seem to have enough wait staff. Took forever to get drinks and then to clear table and bring ticket. Waiter was great, just overwhelmed with large tables.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Extremely noisy. Made even worse with loud music causing patrons to talk louder in order to talk/hear. Too bad as the food is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great meal at Urban Grub. We had a table of 6 and were served by a team of 3 waiters. The servers were friendly, fun and helpful. We ended up splitting 4 entrees and a couple of appetizers. The meal came with hot homemade bread. My adult children loved this spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We loved Urban Grub - the oysters were delicious. Very fun atmosphere, great beer selection and the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

We absolutely love urban grub. The food is always on point and the service is always great. We always want something new and great to eat. It's a little pricey but it's worth it

Tags: Great Beer, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience, Melodye was our waitress and she was fantastic, food was incredible.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal, the background noise was rather high. But we will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My new favorite restaurant! Love the atmosphere, service and the food does not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Chef designed courses. Everything unique and exciting. Very tasty and satisfying. Cool vide, good service. Expensive:)

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place in Nashville. Service was great and food was even better!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fun, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful dining experience for Valentine's Day. The staff was great and knowledgeable with their menu. The food was outstanding from the charcuterie plate to the pork chop! Excited to check it out again in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Urban grub was great, but I was a little disappointed that they had a fixed menu for Valentine's Day but it wasn't advertised anywhere- not on their website or on open table. I would have liked to know I was in for an $89/person meal before I went. Other than that, the food was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My wife and I went on Sunday evening, Feb 12 (Valentines weekend) and the place was filled. Fortunately, we had made reservations.

The ambiance is casual / modern / rustic and well thought out.

Our server was knowledgeable, attentive, and quick. The service aspect was a real surprise. No long wait for drinks. They came right up. No long wait for our meal, either.

The food is more on the line of fine dining. Obviously, the chef is on top of things. Presentation and flavor - all there. They have an extensive wine and beer list, too.

Valet parking is just about your only option if you go during prime time. The 12 South area is red hot for young people and locals.

The prices are on the upper mid level but certainly not outrageous. You might pay a bit more here, but the variety and quality of cuisine PLUS the exceptional service are worth it. You get what you pay for! :-)

Tags: Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love the atmosphere here. It's such a cool building and unique space. Then the food and service were great as well. In the end it was a bit pricey, but for the most part it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best pork chop I have ever had!! Great service and all around great dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The best oysters in Nashville. Service was top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've been here twice and have thoroughly enjoyed both experiences. All of the employees were so nice, and the wait staff was very knowledgeable about the menu. The food was delicious, and the ambience was very nice. I can't say enough good things about this place. If you haven't been here before you definitely need to try it. A+

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful night! We had reservations and I highly suggest that! We were seated just a little after 5:00 and were welcomed by our server right after we were seated! We ordered drinks and a couple appetizers. We had the mushrooms and pork fries. For dinner our table ordered the ribs, filet, ribeye, and the fish special of the night. Along with mashed potatoes, mac and cheese, and collards sides! Everything was absolutely delicious! For dessert we ordered the banana pudding and vanilla bean donuts! Great service! Great meal! Highly suggested!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was the second time eating here and I'm still very pleased. The farm to table food is as good as I could imagine. I do enjoy outside dining better than the inside dining but still a very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great place. Great food. Nef, our waiter, was very friendly and helpful. Banana pudding pie....amazing! Will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My first visit to Urban Grub was phenomenal. Friendly service-- I mean, the guy acted like he was practically family-- and incredible food. With that expectation in place, this visit to Urban Grub was lackluster. The service was spotty. Our waiter would stop at our table, briefly describe a menu, and promptly leave. My girlfriend and I were ready to order, and the waiter didn't stay long enough for us to get a word in edgewise. The food I received, a lobster pasta dish, was bland and the only part of the lobster that was used was the claw.

The saving grace: I expressed my discontentment to our waiter, who removed the pasta from our tab, and even prepared a fresh helping to take home.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It was the perfect evening . I think we had the best table in the restaurant. The food was amazing. The service was second to none.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic place. Great Food, great atmosphere, friendly service

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were surprised by the tight seating last night. Not the best experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The seating was horrible. They have the tables with you practically sitting on top of one another. They first set us on an open patio by the bar and I ask to be moved. Then we go to a back dining room with seating for 20 people, and there should have only been about 14 to 16 seating spaces. My wife and I could not carry on a conversation for having to listen to the people next to us that I literally could reach and touch their shoulder. I realize this is a poplar restaurant, but for the prices they charge you should be able to go out for dinner and enjoy yourself without having to hear everyone else conversation. The tables are so close that the wait staff could barely step between the tables. The second table they sat us at was right in the line of everyone going to the other tables and it was by the waiter/staff drink and kitchen entrance station and every time a waiter or waitress came by, you had to hear them say "Corner". There should not have even been a table in this spot. Thankfully our waitress asked if we would like to move further down, and we said yes which made it our third move. My wife had the pork shank and she said it was delicious. I had the Lobster pasta dish. The flavor was good, but it was very dry and the pasta was undercooked, which made it chewy. We have dined at Urban Grub many times, but this was definitely not a good night or dining experience. When you go to a restaurant that you are going to spend probably $100 +, then the dining experienced should have been much better than our experience this last time. I will certainly have to chose to spend my dining money differently in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was excellent and the food was on point. Our server Neff was outstanding and made some great recommendations on food and drinks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome!! We had a great meal - the service was terrific and we loved all of the dishes we selected!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great staff - service was really good. However, the food was disappointing. The Tennessee Hot Brown came HIGHLY recommended by the waitress and it couldn't have been more disappointing. Very bland and barely hot when it arrived. Other friends had Eggs Benedict which they said were just OK and an omelet that was decent. Still, on the whole, the food was really a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Anniversary was absolutely wonderful brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was our second time here and it was as good as the first. Wait staff is very knowledgeable and pleasant. We capped off a great birthday weekend with Sunday brunch. Our waiter from our first visit came by to say happy birthday, and ask how we were doing. A must for seafood lovers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The very best food and service I have had in a long while! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful dining experience!!! The food was great and the service was absolutely perfect! The portions are huge so order accordingly!!! We didn't have room for dessert but we will definitely be back for the donuts. They looked amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We surprised my sister with a birthday dinner. The staff was over the top in accommodating our requests~ a view of the fire pit area and bringing in a balloon and our own dessert. We shared the most tender and juicy pork chop, the crab cakes and fish tacos with huge pieces of whitefish. I wish we could have tried more dishes but we were completely full. Next time!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fireplace, Fun, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Historic, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My son's steak was amazing, while my grouper was extremely disappointing. The waitress was a sweetheart. It's hard to rate an overall meal when one was so good and one was not. With so many dining options in Nashville, I'm not sure we'll be back.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This quickly became one of my favorite restaurants. The food and service was on par with a "khakis and tie" restaurant but the vibe is very relaxed and enjoyable. My wife insisted as we were leaving to comeback next week to try other menu options, I was actually going to suggest the same thing lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a wonderful brunch.

I would like to compliment the staff for being so friendly and professional.

We came with our friends and their baby in a carriage.

They placed us in a room at a table where the carriage was comfortably accommodated and so were we .

Throughout the brunch they were attentive .The brunch selection was excellent and we were allowed to leisurely enjoy it .

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Tapas, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

You must get the andouille sausage and the charcuterie board. Their pop over is to die for, we asked for tons of bread baskets because the pop over is just too yummy. They also have house made pasta, which I wasn't in the mood for seafood. So I asked for carbonara pasta. The food is over-all very good. I would recommend this restaurant for any foodie in town. It's located in 8th avenue south so it's super easy to find parking on the street. There is complimentary valet parking, but I ate so much so a good walk was fine :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I am just so pleased with my visit last night. The food was incredibly fresh farm to table. Every entree was cut, seasoned, seared and presented fantastically well!! The service was above and beyond. Manager Garth, my server James and his serving assistant Keith just gave me the best hospitality I've received in a very long time. I will always request James from now on. Everything was just A++

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was fantastic. We started with a charcuterie plate with andouille sausage, prosciutto, and some cheese that had been soaked in a dark lager. The sausage was tasty and came in a 6oz portion which was WAY more than enough for two people. We paired it with a recommended cabernet sauvignon which was also great. I ended up ordering the shrimp and grits, which has been a menu favorite for years, but its definitely not health food. Its TASTY but man is it loaded with cream and butter. My date had the grouper (special) which was also really good. Our waitress, Liv, was super knowledgable about the menu and gave great recommendations. We had a fantastic meal and will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Celebrated Recent promotion with my mom. Decided to class it up x10 at the last second. OpenTable made it happen. Most fun I've ever had with my mom. Oysters. Fish tacos..and we each got a PEA CRABS! One each.#lucky seriously the best night ever

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Business Meals, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Matthew and Taylor were awesome! Great reccomendation to do family style boards. Food was AMAZING!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We enjoyed the food and the waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was delicious! The pork chop was out of this world! One of our favorite spots for a date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The staff was excellent, and the food was better. I will return, This place is currently on my hot list!!.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wow. Fresh oysters, peel and shrimp are huge. Food is seasoned to perfection no salt or pepper needed. Highly recommend this place. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Awesome food and atmosphere! Urban Grub never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.