Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Urban Grub

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Thur: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sat: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (115)
Fit for Foodies (105)
Neighborhood Gem (104)
See All
Good for a Date (103)
Hot Spot (97)
Creative Cuisine (85)
Great for Outdoor Dining (82)
Local Ingredients (77)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Good for Groups (69)
Fun (69)
Casual (68)
Worth the Drive (60)
Comfort Food (54)
Handcrafted Cocktails (54)
Vibrant Bar Scene (51)
Bar Seating (51)
Notable Wine List (49)
Great for Brunch (48)
Business Meals (47)
Romantic (44)
Authentic (40)
Sunday Lunch (38)
People Watching (31)
Great Beer (30)
Great for Lunch (29)
Tasting Menu (29)
Happy Hour (26)
Cozy (25)
Late-night Find (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Seasonal (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Organic (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Fireplace (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Scenic View (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Tapas (4)
Live Sports (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Music (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Fun, creative food options, very accommodating staff

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent in every way. Everyone enjoyed their meal so much. Exceptional value in quality of food for price paid. We will definitely return next time we're in Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Get the pork chop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Our second visit to Urban Grub - this restaurant has delicious, wonderful quality and interesting food. Our table ordered everything from classic bbq ribs and shrimp and grits, to their linguini and sausage and caesar salad. Everything was delicious, especially the peach pie for dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Sat basically under a curtain and took over an hour to get our appetizer. Seated us late and had 3 different servers. Food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Our trip to Urban Grub was delicious. We had pork fries and meat and cheese board as an appetizer. Everything was amazing except our table.

Despite having a reservation, we were seated outside. It was very disappointing since half the party was being blinded by the sun and the other half was in the sun baking. If possible making sure you request an inside table especially during the summer.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful service and excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Great meal as usual. Manager eric always goes the extra mile to make customers comfortable. Our waiter Jordan, Great! Attentive, efficient and friendly. One of our very best places to dine!!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter James was FANTASTIC. He made our experience!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience start to finish! The perfect amount of attentiveness by our server, great food recommendations and a beautiful patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Keith did an outstanding job. Then again we have never had a bad meal at urban grub. The charcuterie. Bam. The trout, pork chop, meatballs , steaks , oh the grits!!!! We love alot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Like many Nashville restaurants, Urban Grub is overpriced for the overall experience. If I'm going to pay close to $200 for a meal for two then I don't expect to see with people dressed like they just came from the beach. Please don't give me the typical "that's the Nashville vibe" excuse. If you want to charge like you're a classy restaurant then require your customers to dress accordingly. The food alone does not warrant the prices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Friends and Family...
Dinner was excellent, we had outside seating which was perfect except for the flys. I've seen restaurants have better luck with flys... but that is the only area that wasn't top notch, and only so much a place can do about nature when you are outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was fresh, creative and delicious. Waiter was knowledgeable and helpful with food recommendations, but service was slow. We enjoyed the outdoor seating.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Urban Grub never disappoints! My wife and I have been a few times. This was the first time in over a year. The trout was good. The filet was excellent! The sides were great - hash browns, asparagus and mac & cheese. Of course the bread is always great as well. The vanilla bean donuts were fantastic! Great menu selection. I doubt you could go wrong with anything on the menu! Will definitely go back!!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service and food were awesome..,really fun experience!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I'm from Boston and everytime I am in Nashville, I make sure to go to Urban Grub. The double cut pork chop will change your understanding of pork. Fresh everything, always great service. The only issue I have with this place is that I always over eat when I am there. Also, the charcuterie and oysters...

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Nashville!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wonderful experience. The food and service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Unfortunately out only bad meal the entire trip. Here are my major issues:

Made reservations and were seated outside. Unclear our reservation was for outside. Wasn't aware restaurants did that. It was hot out. There were flies.

Waiter introduces himself and then notes that several other servers will also be helping. Weird, but cool. He wound up doing all the work himself except for the one time another server tried to deliver my beer to another table, then found me and spilled part of it on himself, before putting it on the table.

Apps were good. Shrimp toast and pork fries. Pork fries were star of show.

Dinner was... disappointing. I paid $31 for a cold pork chop on a very warm plate (hello being under heat lamp for too long) and mashed potatoes (very tasty but again... top was a darker yellow color with implied sitting under a heat lamp for too long).

In the end I would pay more to eat here versus a Cheddars or an Applebees... but that's their real competition for quality in my eyes. Total disappointment.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went for our anniversary and honestly it wasn't ideal. Very noisy but the food was awesome. Service was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

They were most accommodating for us and our two small dogs. The patio area was lovely and the service and food outstanding. Wish this place had a San Diego Ca location. Highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was a great dining experience for brunch. Our server (Keith) was at the top of his game. Thanks Keith for taking great care of us on our 32nd wedding anniversary.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Usually one of our favorites, but everything was just a notch below during our last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Moved to Nashville area one year ago. Have been experiencing the food scene. Have gone to one non-chain restaurant per week. This, #53, is my favorite, hands down! Incredible food and service. Will be back for sure!!! Great find! A "go to" place now for me.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our service was outstanding. Xander was very knowledgeable and explained the menu! The food was seasoned and presented well. The taste was out of this world.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Family in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Pretty good depending on what you order. The oyster selection is terrific. Entrees are good but some over priced for the amount of food. Sides are spotty i.e the mash potatoes were dry, not the best. Good wine, beer & cocktail selection. The patio is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food is always delicious and consistently good. We love the filet, trout and the specials. They have a great bar and it's a fun place to dine.

Tags: Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Amazing staff. Tim and Taylor were very knowledgeable and attentive just enough.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Everything is made in house and is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great brunch buffet with oysters, crab legs, shrimp and grits, house made smoked meats, shrimp, cheese, salad and more! $28 for one trip, $44 for unlimited trips. Beautiful restaurant reminds me of a ski lodge in Colorado. Will go back again for a special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Disappointed . Made a reservation for a birthday party of five. Requested outdoors. Had to wait 30 minutes PAST our reservation time, and didn't get the seats I requested. Wouldn't have been a big deal except it was for a special birthday dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was spectacular! Service left a lot to be desired: consistently empty water glasses, waiter often missing, then when we left cash on the table for tip, he chased us down to ask where his tip was!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Outstanding, authentic experience . I recommend Urban Grub to everyone

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was fabulous , service was friendly but could have been a little more knowledgeable. Flies were bad as we are outside and they could use some shades for when the sun was going down. But over all we had a great time and loved the food me drinks. The mushroom spaghetti was to die for. Probably wouldn't ask to sit outside again though.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely a must when in Nashville

Great location and shopping near by

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great spot! Made for a fun birthday dinner. Staff, service, bar and food all top notch, lots of locally-sourced deliciousness.

Tags: Organic, Great Beer, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.