About Urban Grub

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Thur: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sat: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Shrimp & Grits - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Fried Oyster Sandwich - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Bread - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Pork Fries - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Innis & Gunn Scottish Ale - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Korean Wonton Salad - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
2010 Big House Unchained Naked Chardonnay - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
charcuterie - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Ossobuco - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Traditional Eggs Ben - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Mac & Cheese - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Vanilla Bean Doughnut - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Fried Chicken And Waffles With Hot Sauce Butter - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Peanut Butter Crunch Bars - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Rappahannock Oysters - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Southern Steak Frites - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Cobia - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Double Pork Chop with Apricot Relish - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Grouper Special - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Oysters - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Lobster Pizza Flatbread - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Rotisserie Chicken - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Vegetable Burrito - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Banana Pudding Pie - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Grubeletta - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Mussels - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Grilled Shrimp Enchilada W/ Gouda, Diced Tomatoes, And Tasso Gravy - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Steak Frites W Chimchurri Sauce - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Beef Short Rib Enchiladas W Rice And Black Beans - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Fl Oysters With Truffled Mustard - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Smoked Chicken Enchilada W Mushroom Comfit, Gruyere, And Asparagus Relish - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Salmon - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Trout - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Wood Grilled Trout W Butternut Squash Oranges And Arugala With A Bacon Vinagrette - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Pork Fries W/ White Bbq Sauce - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Billy's Hot Chicken Tacos - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Wood Oven Mac And Cheese - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
BBQ Shrimp And Cheese Grits - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Southern Sampler Charcuterie Board - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
24 Hr Braised Andouille Pork Shank W Celery Root Puree Smoked Creamed Mustard Greens And Chili Butter - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Prawns - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Pasta Carbonara w/ Chicken - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Live Band Oysters - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Kale, Butternut Squash And Corn - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Pork Chop With Cheese Grits - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
French Kiss Oysters With Sriracha And Mini Pearls - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN
Peach Sangria Cocktail - Urban Grub, Nashville, TN

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

On New years Eve, everyone will enjoy choices on each of the 4 courses from our special menu that evening. The price is $89 per person, and luxury extras, as well as wine pairings will be available.

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Nashville
Southern
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Special Occasion (66)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Good for a Date (59)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Hot Spot (45)
Good for Groups (43)
Romantic (39)
Fireplace (37)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Great for Brunch (30)
Fun (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Modern Decor (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Casual (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Authentic (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Business Meals (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Comfort Food (18)
People Watching (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Great Beer (15)
Wood Oven (15)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Cozy (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Healthy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Tapas (5)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Sort By:
S
1118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service and food is always great, but th ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Service and food is always great, but the ambience is what makes UG one of our cold weather favorites! Fireplaces and Christmas music.. so cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time I come here I ask myself why ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Every time I come here I ask myself why I don't come here more. Being from out of town there are numerous places to select from in Nashville but Urban Grub always leaves me with the feeling of I want to come back tomorrow and have the same thing.

Drinks, appetizers, and entrees are always made with the best ingredients and the presentation is perfect. Every guest I have ever taken leaves full and speechless. It is just that good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Urban Grub a ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my second visit to Urban Grub and instead of dinner this visit was to meet a friend for Sunday brunch. We had a reservation that specifically requested a booth if possible. However we were initially seated at a high top outside near the bar before being moved to a table on the actual patio due to the unbearable heat at our first seat. Even though the staff very efficiently adjusted the outdoor heaters and moved us relatively quickly this made for a less than pleasant start to our Urban Grub experience. After that, things improved and the food was just as spectacular as we knew it would be! Service was not as stellar as my first visit and I think this was in part due to our request to move away from the heat. And, just to clarify, I don't mean it was a little warm and we were uncomfortable...the table was literally hot to the touch and the ice in our water melted before we were moved (and we were moved pretty quickly!) All that to say, Urban Grub is still an amazing dining experience but in the future I will ask specifically to be seated indoors where the service and atmosphere are much better in my opinion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The service was excellent as usual. The ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was excellent as usual. The Sunday breakfast buffet has a wide variety of delicious items. However, we were very disappointed with the French toast.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waited at the bar while we waited for ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Waited at the bar while we waited for our reservation - bartender was great. Seated at a table that was in a tented off patio. This was not great - it was super drafty and frankly cold. I understand the desire to expand seating but we were seated right at the walls of the tent right by the gaps which is not really viable for a pleasant dining experience. The food was very good and the service was solid. I would recommend to a friend but maybe ask to be inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

I love this place. Be prepared to spend ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I love this place. Be prepared to spend a lot of money, but you will have a great meal.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Urban Grub as part of a Girls We ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Went to Urban Grub as part of a Girls Weekend in Nashville. Recommended by a family member. We were not disappointed! Have never had a more knowledgeable server who took her time explaining the menu. The food was awesome and the restaurant was beautiful! Would definitely go back next time in Nashville.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My trips to Nashville are never complete ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

My trips to Nashville are never complete until I have dined at Urban Grub. The small biscuits, with the homemade jam are a stand-alone treat. I have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great place to eat with friends. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Just a great place to eat with friends. Consistent quality service and food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fireplace, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My now fiance and I came here a year ago ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My now fiance and I came here a year ago for dinner and made it official that we were dating exclusively. One year later we can back to celebrate that special night and now we are having our rehearsal dinner here in six months! Urban Grub will always be special to us. We also came here for our engagement dinner celebration too. The food is always AMAZING and the service is always on top of it. I've ate here many times and it's been my favorite for a long time!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Cozy, People Watching, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter never acknowledged the special oc ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Waiter never acknowledged the special occasion , no urgency & consumed by other tables

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

We were in Nashville for the weekend and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We were in Nashville for the weekend and so happy we found this gem. We ordered from the waiters recommendations and happy we did. I would definitely have dinner there the next time I'm in town!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner to celebrate our annive ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful dinner to celebrate our anniversay. Delicious food and very friendly service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great customer service. Servers were all ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great customer service. Servers were all great. Great team work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a favorite place for weekend bru ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is a favorite place for weekend brunch and as usual, it did not disappoint. Stradas and omlets are great and the Gouda cheese grits are worth the calories!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was phenomenal and the service was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was phenomenal and the service was outstanding. The shrimp and grits are worth going back for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service were impeccable! I ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food and service were impeccable! It was our first time at Urban Grub and we visited because of a recommendation from a friend. We were definitely NOT disappointed! We loved it so much, we've got another reservation this weekend. It's the epitome of great Southern comfort food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside on the patio, nice ambience. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Sat outside on the patio, nice ambience. Shrimp and grits were awesome. One of my favorite places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food perfectly prepared and co ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Delicious food perfectly prepared and could arrange to be easily shared between diners. Only draw back was because the restaurant is so popular the noise level was very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere for a night out with so ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great atmosphere for a night out with somebody. The noise level was perfect in that it kept the atmosphere fun and energetic. The wait staff was amazing and catered to our every needs. It is a fancy restaurant without having the stuffy feel to it. Would definitely recommend to anybody looking for a nice restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

2nd time visit, never disappointed. Outs ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

2nd time visit, never disappointed. Outstanding food and service, excellent wines. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My go to restaurant on 12 South when I v ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My go to restaurant on 12 South when I visit Nashville. Valet Parking is a bonus.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is always amazing here! Normall ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food is always amazing here! Normally, the wait staff is wonderful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I had reservations here for 9pm for a pa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I had reservations here for 9pm for a party of 2 and ended up waiting almost 25 minutes. I asked the hostess why we were waiting so long when we had reservations and were told that they were waiting on people to leave and that there were no open tables.

While I was waiting, I saw large parties be seated before us. I also saw a couple walk in and they were told "we will seat you right away". They were immediately seated at a table by a manager.

We left shortly after that.

This restaurant caters to larger groups and celebrities before the average public.

Don't try this place unless you want to wait, even with reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

One of the best experiences for food and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

One of the best experiences for food and service we have had in Nashville over the past 3 years. Glad we got the tip to come here. We will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was pure awesomeness

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was pure awesomeness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Oyster bar was wonderful. Menu food was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Oyster bar was wonderful. Menu food was ok but fish could have been fresher.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

As always, food was exceptional. Love th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

As always, food was exceptional. Love this restaurant and their staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always!

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fabulous as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and there was a n ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was very good and there was a nice selection. I'm not into smoked meats, but that is their thing, and they had an impressive smoke room and variety. The cheeses on the charcuterie were very nice. It was packed on a Saturday night, so I'm glad we had a reservation. The blonde hostess was a complete snob. When we arrived at 4:50 for a 5:00 reservation, she looked at me like I had 3 heads and sent us away. (That may be why we were eventually seated in the bar, which was fine, as it was probably a more festive atmosphere.) However, our server was fabulous and made up for any hard feelings fostered at entry. Will visit again when I'm in town and my wallet allows.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friends since grade school came up for a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Friends since grade school came up for a girls weekend. We had brunch on the porch. The weather was beautiful. Food was outstanding! Excellent service! Would recommend for any occasion. I personally loved the shrimp and grits!!!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Nashville spot. Our waitstaff was ve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fun Nashville spot. Our waitstaff was very friendly and took time to recommend some favorite tourist attractions. Good selection on the menu but 4 out of 5 in our party felt the chef was a little heavy with the salt. Atmosphere was great. We were seated outside under heaters which felt great! Be sure to make a reservation because it's a popular venue!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an amazing restaurant!!! I have ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is an amazing restaurant!!! I have been here twice and have not had any part of my meal be anything but spectacular!!! My friend who went with me call the double cut pork chop the best thing she has ever had (it is the last thing I would think to order but it's a must have). This place is a must on every visit to Nashville

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wive and I were in Nashville for the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My wive and I were in Nashville for the CMA awards. You were recommended by a friend. 5 star food and great service. Thanks.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal in a great atmosphere.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Delicious meal in a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

just delicious, well crafted food. Serv ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

just delicious, well crafted food. Service was excellent. We gave our waitress the option and she steered us to some specialties and dishes that fed our family of 6 well. The kids 9-14 found their meals tasty. Barely had room for dessert but glad we ordered the banana pudding. Great to share!

Will definitely be back

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

went to restaurant for anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

went to restaurant for anniversary dinner. had the shank that was recommended and described as "fall off the bone" tender. I found it to be fairly tough and hard to deal with. my wife had the crab cakes and they were rather bland. I asked about dessert and it seemed to be a bit of an annoyance. I was told that the kitchen was closing and that hopefully the dessert chef wouldn't leave before i ordered. I will say that the service was good and that our server was overall very warm and personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food. Kudo's to the chef! Service ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food. Kudo's to the chef!

Service was beyond great. So nice to have a five star dinner in such a relaxing atmosphere.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone....pickiest eaters to food snobs, everyone would enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great atmosphere, mostly ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great service, great atmosphere, mostly great food. I'll try you again and order something different as my wife's pasta dish was delicious! However mine was not. The pasta sauce was very bland, I could do better at home and the minimal amount of lobster in the dish I was paying for blew me away.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual, the food was outstanding, the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

As usual, the food was outstanding, the staff was very friendly and personable, and the service was amazingly quick, especially for being a Saturday night. Additionally, they were able to accommodate our request to be seated on the patio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.