Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 81 times today

Urban Grub

4.6
2262 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
Urban Grub is a casual fine dining bar and eatery located in a renovated carwash in Nashville’s iconic 12 South district.

The design of the restaurant features a rustic elegance, filled with custom woodwork, stone fireplaces and rounded booths tucked in intimate corners. Urban Grub offers both indoor and outdoor seating with a combination of the two in the beer garden, accompanied a view of the restaurant’s meat curing room, as well as a covered gazebo for larger parties.

From the inviting indoor-outdoor atmosphere to the elevated Southern cuisine of fresh seafood, house-made charcuterie, and prime dry-aged steaks, the experience is unforgettable.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Southern, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tue–Thu 5:00 pm–12:00 am
Fri 5:00 pm–1:00 am
Sat 11:00 am–1:00 am
Sun 11:00 am–12:00 am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(615) 679-9342
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Edgar Pendley
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in, which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

View Private Dining Details
What 2262 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 10 hours ago

Anniversary dinner. Jimmy was a great server. Very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. Great experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 15 hours ago

Great outdoor patio, inspired menu and exceptional service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined a day ago

Excellent restaurant and friendly, accommodating management and wait staff. Food was delicious. I highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Best charcuterie in town

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Consistently awesome food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It was a great experience. We had friends visiting from Texas and this was our first time trying Urban Grub but the menu gave such a variety we thought it would be a great place to take them. The staff was very sweet and the food was wonderful. The guys chose the pork chop and ribeye - incredible!! The girls chose shrimp and grits and grouper special - great flavors ... we had nothing left on our plates! Wiped clean. The cocktails and wine choices were wonderful as well. A suggestion: try the collard greens. They had so much flavor. I’m so glad our server was sweet enough to bring them out as an extra treat. We had picked coal roasted carrots (pretty good), Mac and cheese (very creamy and almost like dumplings, unique and very good), mashed potatoes (ranks very high on delish factor too), and brussel sprouts (ours weren’t very tender, almost raw still, did not care for). The collard greens and mac and cheese took the spotlight on sides for us all. Oh! And the homemade breads and biscuits!!!! Talk about melt in your mouth! Loved those.

The only negative thing I would say is that our table was a little awkward. It was an artistic curved booth for 4 people facing directly at the kitchen and nothing else. We got a great view of the the servers coming in and out of the kitchen. That is the only thing I would’ve changed about our dinner - our table position in the restaurant.

We had a great time and want to come back to try more dishes and cocktails. Thank you Urban Grub!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Pork fries were ok. Pasta is great. Pork chop is the best I have ever eaten

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Awesome dining experience. The Andouille sausage is a must. The Pork Chop is also a great option. Considering going back again tonight.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We met our local nephew and his friend for dinner at our favorite place to dine. We are new to the area for a year and We visit Urban Grub at least once a week: great service, great atmosphere, great food! Appetizer, lobster flatbread, and bubbly satiated us until our main courses. We had pork chop (amazing portion, texture, and temperature), salmon grilled perfectly atop pea purée and snap peas adorned with pea tendrils and trout with lentils and veggies along with a side of corn on the cob! A little kick and amazing flavor in the corn. Who can ever turn down a basket of popovers and biscuits - we never can. Phillip our server with Brandon was attentive, pleasant and professional. Appreciated Garth stopping by checking in. Too full for dessert this time. Can’t wait until next week!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Overall good experience. Medium rare steak came out well done. Other than that, pretty good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

We went out for dinner with special guests those are business partners. For them, this is the first time to visit Nashville. And they really enjoyed the dinner in Urban Grub. Server is very friendly and kind. Food was so great. Especially, they loved oysters, Shrimp and Grids, Steaks. I'd like to visit again in the similar situation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Not as good as the last time. I think we will not be back. Missing items on menu from before.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

Went during brunch and had very poor service, wasn’t even sure if our server was suppose to be our server or not. Food and atmosphere was good, but will most likely not be back anytime soon due to service that was provided.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

First time we tried the Brunch - and it was great! Good seafood with creative twists that were all tasty! We had great service and enjoyed relaxing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This was my third time at UG, but my least favorite. Portions were smaller (my shrimp and grits was seriously half the size it was last time and there was only 1 crab cake, when last time there were 2 - ??). My elderly mother ordered a daiquiri and got some kind of whisky drink. She should’ve sent it back, but didn’t want to cause a fuss. We were seated on the porch on the front right of the restaurant. It isn’t nearly as nice as the inside dining room. 😕. But the food was still very good as was the service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Urban Grub is one of my favorite restaurants. We normally have a wonderful time. The food and wait staff is always outstanding... but, it is all a bit pricey.
We usually only go to this restaurant just on special occasions, because of the prices. So, it really saddens me that we had to wait an extra 20 minutes for our table even after making an reservation on open table. Then, we were sat outside in 95 degrees weather in blazing sun. Our Server notice us blocking our 26mth old from the sun. And offered to move us.. which was to another table outside, where the sun followed us. We was so excited to try the brunch menu, but we was all sweating to death so bad, we could not even think about getting any food that was not cold!!! Our server was very kind, as it wasn’t his fault that we was sat out there... I just feel if you have a reservation, and you have a small child. They should have to ask you if you want to sit outside. We were the only ones that were out there. And I feel like we were isolated from the rest of the restaurant. It just ruined our experience there :(

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Garth was fantastic and did a platter for shared food. One of our favorite restaurants in the works

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Very impressed. My only objection was that it was Friday evening around 6:00 when we ate and it was VERY loud. Otherwise, the food was great and although a bit slow, the service was good. Definitely will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Great evening. Helpful recommendation from wait staff. Wide-ranging wine/beer menu. Pricey, but worth it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Extremely noisy. Service left something to be desired especially since we had two people working our table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Excellent restaurant that's well worth the short trip from downtown Nashville to the 12 South District. Serving an extensive range of meats and shellfish, with an in-house butcher ensuring the best cuts served. The oysters were the plumpest I've seen outside of Tokyo sushi restaurants, and the steak was delicious.
Only complaint was the service - we filled out the charcuterie / oysters card for our starters and the waiter only noticed we'd filled out one side of it and totally missed our oyster order. As a result the meal ended up taking a lot longer than planned.
Extensive wine list with some amazing descriptions of the bouquets, plus some excellent in-house artisan cocktails, all make for a great all-round experience. Oh and the hot bread basket they bring around is to die for - the gluten-free cheese puffs were outstanding.
All in all a pretty great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

One of the best restaurants in Nashville. Delicious meats cured in house and great variety. Great service and nice ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My husband and I took our friends thee for dinner on Mother's Day. The food and the service was amazing. We've been there before but our friends had never been. They absolutely enjoyed it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Favorite restaurant in Nashville. Excellent food, fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The best Mother’s Day dinner ever!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day was awesome. Our server really took care of us and I have no complaints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Awesome Mother's Day experience!
Great food, great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day. Bloody Mary’s were super disappointing. No real flavor. Tasted like straight V8 at best. Celery only in them and stalks were pathetic. Otherwise, very good meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The services was great but the food was pretty average. I was hoping for something special for this area of town and the reputation of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Thank you for the AMAZING Mother’s Day!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Every time I’ve been to Urban Grub has been better than the last. We had the pleasure of Adam as our server and he couldn’t have done a better job. Urban Grub truly exceeds my expectations every time. If you happen to be reading reviews to find the perfect place to go... this should help in making your decision.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had a horrible waiter that night so that made for not so good experience that evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We always enjoy Urban Grub! You can count on the food being great, the service very attentive, and the atmosphere hopping. We especially enjoyed the service from our server (Otis)! He could not have been more professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. We hope to get Otis each and every time we come back to Urban Grub! We highly recommend Urban Grub to everyone!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food was great, but everything was warm not hot like in the past.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Had another great meal. There is no question that this place is consistent and the portions are very generous. Brought our two teenage kids along and they want to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Best place to dine in Nashville and we have tried many

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Waiter was inattentive, and acted like he wanted us to leave. Food was ok, very bland.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food was fantastic. Service was a little slow but it was a Vandy graduation night so the place was slammed. Worked out great for us, because we had a nice long dinner with good conversation. Food when it arrived was piping hot, so I knew it was a case of the kitchen being backed up, not a case of lack of attention. They have a raw bar that looked like a great place to hang out. Bar was slammed and lively.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
57