Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Urban Grub

Urban Grub is a casual fine dining spot located in a renovated carwash in Nashville’s booming 12 South district.

The design of the restaurant features a rustic elegance, filled with custom woodwork, stone fireplaces and rounded booths tucked in intimate corners. Urban Grub offers both indoor and outdoor seating with a combination of the two in the beer garden with a view of the restaurant’s meat curing room, as well as a covered gazebo for larger parties.

From the inviting indoor-outdoor atmosphere to the elevated Southern cuisine of fresh seafood, house-made charcuterie, and prime dry-aged steaks, the experience is unforgettable.

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Thur: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sat: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

The Urban Grub offers a multitude of private and semi-private events spaces in the restaurant, as well as buyouts for large scale events. From 10 to 300 guests, Urban Grub has a unique private space for your next event. In addition to its five gorgeous interior event spaces, Urban Grub has expanded to add an additional outdoor dining area, with a large ten-foot wide fireplace, designed for private whole-animal dinners for guests that are interested in a very unique event. Chef Edgar Pendley is also available to cater your next off-site event, working with you to create a custom inspired menu. If you are interested in letting Urban Grub make your next gathering unique, please fill out the form below and someone will contact you within the next couple of days.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (106)
Special Occasion (100)
Fit for Foodies (97)
See All
Creative Cuisine (89)
Neighborhood Gem (88)
Hot Spot (80)
Fun (73)
Great for Outdoor Dining (71)
Casual (68)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Local Ingredients (64)
Worth the Drive (61)
Good for Groups (61)
Vibrant Bar Scene (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (49)
Business Meals (45)
Notable Wine List (44)
Authentic (42)
Bar Seating (41)
Great for Brunch (38)
Romantic (38)
Comfort Food (37)
Tasting Menu (32)
People Watching (30)
Happy Hour (29)
Great Beer (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Cozy (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Healthy (16)
Seasonal (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Organic (8)
Tapas (7)
Scenic View (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Live Sports (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1756 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome food, good service. Great ambiance sitting out on the patio with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent, the service slow. The hostesses were very nice. At this price point they need to up their service in the dining room. Our waiter mentioned multiple times that he would be right back. Right back was 10-15 minutes. It was my husband’s 40th bday celebration and that at least warrants a Happy Birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

There were 6 if us. Four of the entres were outstanding while two were only fair. Great wine list and reasonabley priced. Our waiter admitted he was new and it showed. Service was poor. I offered to open the wine myself because he was struggling. Very nice guy but was in the weeds.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere is great! The food was luke warm. I wish it was a little hotter upon serving but overall it was a great dinner with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome! Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

As always Urban Grub didn’t disappoint. Amazing setting, the best oysters, delicious food. I will be back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Sat at the oyster bar. Great view while eating. Food was fabulous !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Service can make or detract from the whole meal and this was the case at Urban Grub. The food was not memorable and the server James was condescending and annoying. Jennifer was also our server and she bent over backwards to make up for him. I know that the pants below the butt can be a style. However in a restaurant I don't believe it is appropriate. This restaurant came highly recommended and it was a big disappointment. The food was okay. It is no comparison to Etch which we ate at the next evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic times. Im traveled from St Louis MO to enjoy your restaurant. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

The drinks and food never disappoints. Oysters are brought in daily and were fresh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The server was very, very good. The drinks were great. They know how to make a good gin martini. My rib eye was done exactly to my specifications and my wife's pork chops were moist and tender. Next time we are in Nashville we will definitely go back to. Urbangrub.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great atmosphere on patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance. My first visit but I will be back.

We sat in bar which is why it was loud. The dining area is quieter.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Urban Grub was recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint. The food was creative and one of the best meals I've had in a long long time. I was told the pork chop would be the best I've ever eaten and it was. Everybody at my table had great things to say about their meals. On top of the great food the service was amazing. Both of our wait staff were fun, knowledgeable, and very helpful. They even gave us great ideas for places to eat for the rest of our stay. All in all this was a great experience and one we'll definitely return to on our next trip to Nashville.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was lovely, but beware servings are massive and we could have ordered half the food. The pork was melt in your mouth but 1 serve definitely enough for 2, you want to save room for sides and sweets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was great! I got the "Hot Brown" and it was HUGE but it was so good that I ate the whole thing. It's was pretty loud on a Sunday and parking n the area is a pretty tough to find so plan ahead. We booked our reservation through Open Table 45 mins before we got there and had no issues getting a table, but many other people were outside waiting so book in advance.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We’ve been going to urban grub for years,and the food is always top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Jennifer and Garth were wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Absolutely loved the entire experience. Xander our waiter was awesome and our food was incredible. Great meal and ambience. Worth the splurge

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We enjoyed our anniversary here. Great staff, great menu. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My friend and I were meeting a couple other people for dinner but had a limited amount of time to eat since we had tickets to a show. Our other dining companions were running late so we put our order in before they arrived. The rest of our party arrived and ordered about 20-30 minutes after we did. Their appetizers and main course arrived about 15 minutes later, neither our appetizer nor our meals had come almost an hour after we initially ordered. We asked the waiter to take our meals off the bill since we had to leave. He told us he would take it off then a moment later walked out with our plates (not including our appetizer) - which was not particularly helpful. In the end we had bread and a bit of cheese for dinner and had to eat elsewhere after our show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We tried Urban Grub on a recommendation of a friend of a friend. Loved everything except the noise level. The food and service was impeccable!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Always spot on for Brunch with perfect options for our children as well. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was the only thing that saved our experience. Our first experience was excellent from the time we walked in to when we left. We came for our second experience and it was complete opposite. The hostess and her staff had no clue what was going on. People with reservations were getting forgotten about even after receiving a beeper. I watched 2 groups walk in and seated before our group was. I had to go to the hostess and ask when our table would be ready. She stated they were waiting for a table outside. We were never asked if we wanted to dine outside or inside. We finally get seated and our waiter was too busy to wait on his section. Luckily the guy with him helped him out tremendously. We had a group of 5 and when 3 waters were put on the table our party asked for 2 more and the waiter replied " I only have two hands." Not very nice and professional when your pay relies on the tips your patrons leave. We did not see much of that waiter after that. He wanted to converse more with a table full of women. Luckily the food made up for the experience. However this makes me not want to recommend to others based on the 50/50 chance of how service will be. Very disappointed to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Good spot. Funky, eclectic food choices. Pretty tasty, but not awesome. Fun patio. Lots of fun people and great wait staff. Third visit, might try something different next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Dined here when visiting Nashville to celebrate a birthday. We were seated outside in the beautiful garden setting, had a nice and seemingly competent server. Oysters and appetizers were delicious, drinks were also good. Entrees were somewhat disappointing. One member of our group ordered the steak/frites, which arrived with terrible presentation, basically a steak with French fries dropped on top, it was not up to caliber for this place. The grouper special was also lacking in presentation, and in our opinion, quite small for the price. The member of our group who ordered the grouper shared with the waitress that it was overlooked and she replied by saying she jokingly wasn't going to tell the chef. We made clear that the entree would be eaten and paid for, but that it was overlooked. A little more staff training is needed to navigate these types of situations professionally. Overall, I would return, but there is room for improvement.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Amazing steak and great wine! Our waiters were so attentive and the owner came over and personally introduced himself to us. We saw this place on a tour we took and are so glad we did! Will def come back to Nashville for this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Outstanding food and service... Pork chops and collard greens were out of this world

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We were seated in an almost enclosed booth and it was terrific! We met friends we hadn't seen in a while and I was worried we would have trouble hearing over what can be a loud venue. It was perfect! Of course, the food is always terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Garth and his team attended to every detail for this 56th anniversary dinner for my parents. Each member of the team congratulated my parents, they were presented with complementary champagne and we were seated in a "quieter" table so that the three generations of the family could visit and enjoy a great meal. Whenever we are planning to be in Nashville, we make a reservation at the Urban Grub.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was quite good; server had a thorough knowledge of the menu and was able to answer all of our questions. Decor was pretty cool, but the ambiance was a bit negatively affected by the other customers (loud large party next to us)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great atmosphere and good food. Really nice to sit out on one of the patios on a nice evening. Wait staff is pretty attentive, drink selection is fun and good choice of appetizers. The oysters were delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent food and great service! The vanilla bean donuts are a must!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great Service
Really good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 26, 2017

As always, outstanding . One of my three favorite dining places in Nashville.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Excellent every time. Great go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Good and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

went for brunch, they make so many items from scratch , the bacon they smoke, the butter....the biscuits...ETC.......but dont miss the grits !!!! Which they make from scratch!!! Ive had many good grit dishes all over the south.....these simply were the best I've ever had!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Loved this place and our server Xander was superb!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.