Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.61mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About Urban Grub

In a city known for putting up platinum food as well as platinum records, Nashville has a bounty of restaurant options but none as unique, exciting
and diverse as the sure-fire hit Urban Grub. Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic,
healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star
on the Nashville dining scene. The menu is a combination of southern traditions
with a “flavored up tweak, ” fresh fish and seafood, fresh shucked oysters,
smoked and grilled meats and vegetables, and cantina style hand-helds.

2506 12th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tue-Thur: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sat: 11:00am - 11:00pm
Sun: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 679-9342

Website:
http://urbangrub.net/

Parking Details:
We offer complementary valet, don't worry about finding a place to park.

Executive Chef:
Edgar Pendley

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

Stuffy upscale is out…..ethnic, healthy, casual and pick-up is in which makes Urban Grub the next big star on the Nashville dining scene. Host your next event with us and experience all this and more; mingle with your guests and enjoy an evening of delicious cuisine and superb service.

Urban Grub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (110)
Special Occasion (107)
Fit for Foodies (107)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Great for Outdoor Dining (89)
Hot Spot (83)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Good for Groups (74)
Good for Birthdays (73)
Local Ingredients (69)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Handcrafted Cocktails (64)
Romantic (60)
Worth the Drive (59)
Fun (59)
Casual (59)
Bar Seating (53)
Fireplace (53)
Great for Brunch (51)
Business Meals (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Comfort Food (45)
Notable Wine List (39)
Modern Decor (38)
Cozy (35)
Sunday Lunch (34)
People Watching (32)
Authentic (31)
Great Beer (30)
Great for Lunch (26)
Happy Hour (24)
Late-night Find (20)
Wood Oven (19)
Open Kitchen (18)
Seasonal (17)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Healthy (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Family Style (11)
Organic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Private Room (8)
Tapas (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Scenic View (4)
Live Sports (3)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (2)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place for business or fun!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Had reservations for a business dinner. Our table was a large round table in the bar:/ I immediately asked the hostess to reseat us in the restaurant. She was flustered when I asked her, and she ignored my results and just put the menus on the table. It was so loud we had to yell to be able to hear each other. Waitress couldn't even reach drinks to people at the back part of table. Food was good but not remarkable. Price was on point. Given the other amazing restaurants in Nashville, not sure why people like this place so much.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

23rd Anniversary dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Urban Grub is by far my favorite restaurant in Nashville and I have lived here my whole life. The service is amazing but what's even more amazing is the food and they way the chef prepares it is just perfect every time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a fantastic experience at Urban Grub! The atmosphere was energetic and everyone had a outstanding meal. Can't wait to return soon!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Our experience was incredible from beginning to end. The hostess was very nice, manager greeted us, servers were very knowledgeable. Food was incredible! Can't wait to come back! Thank to everyone for a great brunch!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was below average. The service was just okay. I'll be back but it wasn't stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved: the ambiance, patio, oysters (some of the best!), charcuterie plate (super fresh), pork shank (unbelievable), margaritas (tops), donuts

So/So: the service (competent but not above standard, which is a shame as we are all excellent tippers and our bill was $300+), short rib enchiladas (ok), lobster casarecce

Terrible: rolls / biscuits (undercooked), fries (undercooked)...not sure what was going on in the kitchen, but we had a few things undercooked and as it took our waiter a while to check on us, we didn't get replacements in time. (We did get free donuts as a result but..)

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an 8:30pm reservation, and were seated at about 8:45. It took almost 10 minutes for our waiter to greet us and get a drink order, and that set the tone for the level of service for the night. We ordered the shrimp appetizer, and it was good, as were our dinners. That said, we probably won't be back, as it took 2 full hours to get in and out, and there were only 2 of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Definitely one of our favorites anywhere!!! The food is incredible and the drinks are amazing!!! Yes 100%!!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Good service. Good food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing service, food and atmosphere! Enjoyed the evening out on their terrace dining with Todd and Victor as our servers. The scallop special along with the filet made a perfect evening.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Have been here twice and it was great both times. The pork chop and lamb chops are excellent. Atmosphere is perfect for a night out with that special someone and guaranteed to impress. Overall, an excellent dining experience. One of my new favorites in Nashville.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was very nice the food was excellent. The only negative very noisy and hard to converse. I sa the same situation at another green hills restaurant. We would talk to our adjacent chair but not across the table. We would go back and may ask for outdoor seating.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

We decided of all the places in Nashville to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary Urban Grub would be the one. We have eaten here before and always had the best food and service. They have a wide variety to choose from, their dry aged beef is best around. It is a great place for those special occasions or just two meet up with friends for a fantastic night out.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Had a wonderful meal here. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Food was outstanding. Atmosphere was fun.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

WE especially enjoyed the Lobster flatbread ...an appetizer...could've made a meal out if it. It was our 40th wedding anniversary...and the waitress surprised us with two glasses of champagne on the house. She did a great job. I had salmon and my wife had trout...they were both delicious. WE will go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food, great service, and wonderful atmosphere!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Shrimp and Grits were awesome! Also, tried the pork fries and the andoilles sausage-both wonderful. The Coal beet salad was great and not your typical salad but also a must try! Will definitely go back to Urban Grub.....Sarah was the best!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Since I live in

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food was amazing. Highly recommend the pork chop with bourbon glazed peaches. Outstanding!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Urban grub was one of my favs for like four years until earlier this week. The service was still good, the andouille sausage is still amazing, but everything else was meh. My friend got the shrimp enchilada and there was barely any shrimp in it. That is fine but it doesnt even taste good, no flavor. I stuck w what I had before and it was ok. Everything was still good, but not great, it lost the spark for me. Sadly removing it from my fav list on opentable :/

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I've visited this place on many occasions, never come out disappointed !!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food and service were great but the entire restaurant was extremely hot.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

the bar is tucked in the back and does not get much breeze, so when someone smokes (if you are non smoker, it chokes you out), so we ate in the dining room, very nice. Our waiter was very friendly and recommended some great food. The NY Strip was very good! The lump crab appetizer is great, but you only get about 5 pieces of crab meat.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We love 12 South on a sunny afternoon. It's always full of life, visitors & locals intermingling on the street & in the multitude of eateries along it's banks.
I've passed by Urban Grub numerous times taking in heady scents coming from their grill, figuring good things were going on inside, but never paused on my way to whichever patio we'd decided to settle into.
Then, whilst looking through Yelp for listings of other great patio locations, Urban Grub jumped out at me.
"How could this be?" I wondered. "The bluff exterior presented to 12th offers no such option."
But my curiosity was piqued & now I had good reason to check it out.
An Open Table request for patio seating logged & we were on our way.
We're huge fans of this patio & can hardly wait for winter weather to return so we can enjoy it with the open fire blazing.
The food was good & very well prepared but just lacking a little of the spark, originality, that my favorite places in town capture. I think, in presenting themselves as experts in both prime meat AND fresh seafood, they unfortunately fall fractionally short of convincing me they are either.
That said, we loved the Pork Fries starter & will be returning for that guilty pleasure.
I had the Scottish salmon with asparagus. As stated, a well prepared meal, but if the most interesting thing, to me, on your menu is salmon, t probably needs to branch out some. In hindsight, the BBQ Platter of Springer Mountain Farms Chicken prepared 3 ways may have been a better way to go (& will be the likely victim when we get a chance to return).
Ashley had a very tasty & generous Club Carbonara, but, if you're ordering pasta at a Meat & Seafood place ...
Ashley did order an excellent Terlato Chapoutier Australian Shiraz from the winelist.

Seriously though, we will be returning & I won't hesitate to bring visitors into the 'secret garden' that is their patio.
Maybe the fault was ours in not trying their meat or seafood (apart for salmon ;) ).
Next time!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Awesome place. Will definitely go back. Lamb chops to die for. Great location. Easy in and out. Great atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We always enjoy this restaurant. The food is deliciously prepared and served with the very best of care by attentive servers. You must try the andouille sausages. Mmmmm!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I brought some friends as I had been there before. They absolutely loved it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Brought my daughter from out of town and see was pleased to find many GF options including GF biscuit

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had!
Started with the Charcuterie board and had the shrimp and grits. Service was fantastic. Thanks James!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Went here for a date night. The food was delicious, and so were the drinks. The pasta dish I had is definitely not something I could pull off myself, so it was a treat! The playlist of music was a little odd, especially for a late dinner on a Saturday night. The music made me feel like I was eating at a fast casual restaurant, the kind where you order at the counter and put a number on your table. The food was awesome, and so was the service, and the decor was nice too. So, the music was just weird!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Awesome place everyone has to try it!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We love eating at the bar with Anthony, we share a fresh delic salad and I have the filet and my husband has the half strip and we share the french fries. Great dinner and fun environment!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Fantastic food, lots of flies outside where we sat

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The Pork Chop is the best I had in a long time. The outdoor area is nice but with a lot of flies (Could be attracted to the meat!). Overall, it was a very nice place, with good quality food. Oysters and Pork Chop, plus the sausage appetizer is a must try

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Amazing food... service was awesome!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We ate here on our last vacation night. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. We sat outside and listened to the rain hit the tin roof above us. The food was absolutely delicious. I would definitely go back next time I'm in Nashville!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We went here for brunch, but after surveying the menu I went with shrimp and grits. It was definitely delicious (add andouille if you like Cajun recipes). The fresh biscuits and banana muffins were also to die for. The wait was a little long, so definitely make a reservation before or be prepared to jump on bar seating.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

James was our server and he was excellent, couldn't have asked for better service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.