About Urban Farmer

525 SW Morrison St.
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Urban Farmer is a modern American steakhouse featuring indigenous and locally sourced food products from artisanal craftsmen. Located in the lobby of the Nines Hotel, a luxury collection property, Urban Farmer features refined dining in an elegantly understated atmosphere. Prime Beef, dry aged in-house, takes center stage alongside locally grown vegetables hand-carried to the kitchen door. Local wines, many of which are organic and biodynamic, round out a stellar beverage program that Portland's own crafted Spirits. Classic cocktails, refined urban setting, with panoramic city views as seen from the lovingly restored verandas that line the Historic Meier & Frank Building, circa 1909. Whether you desire a quick, delicious country-style breakfast, a "locavore" lunch featuring Oregon's bounty, or dinner and drinks for 2 to 20 in Urban Farmer's artistically designed dining room, we look forward to serving you with homespun grace and warmth.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 3pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-4900

Website:
http://urbanfarmerportland.com/

Catering:
We offer many semi-private and private dining spaces for receptions or dinner from 10 to 80 guests.

Parking Details:
In addition to offer valet, there are 2 parking garages within one block of our location: Star Park located at SW 6th and Alder as well as Smart Park located at SW 4th and Morrison.

Public Transit:
We are located right on the Max Line at the Pioneer Place stop as well as the Steetcar Pioneer Place stop.

Executive Chef:
Matt Christianson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Urban Farmer is Portland's Steakhouse offering the very best the Oregon farmers, ranchers and fisherman have to offer within a modern, farmhouse chic environment.

Urban Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Modern Decor (21)
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Casual (9)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Organic (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Private Room (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great overall ambience with tasty food a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great overall ambience with tasty food and excellent service!!! A Great Portland experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for Valentines day, it was an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Went here for Valentines day, it was an awesome experience. The food was awesome, the service was really great, and the special menu was perfect

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on Valentine's Day and it was my ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We went on Valentine's Day and it was my date and I's first time dining at Urban Farmer. The overall ambiance and space was very lovely - dimmed lighting and a high open ceiling that goes to the top of the hotel. Comfy couches to sit and wait at while they ready your table. Neat lighting and art/sculptures. The food was very good. Not the BEST I've ever had but no complaints. The service was wonderful and we felt very well taken care of. They didn't run out of anything on the menu which I greatly appreciated since it was prix fixe for the occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I was excited to try this place out. We ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

I was excited to try this place out. We went for Valentine's day at 8pm. The hosts looked like they had been there too long and were complaining about a group at a table taking too long which I found unprofessional. As for the food, the steak was WAY overdone. The salmon was nice, the sides were nothing special. I'm glad I at least tried it, but will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

This reservation was on Valentines Day. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

This reservation was on Valentines Day. As always, the service was spot-on. Our waitress was timely, funny, efficient...everything you hope for. Also, as always, I highly recommend the cheese service; it's a great opportunity to try something new and I've never been disappointed. Although I've eaten at Urban Farmer many times, this was my first experience with a prefix menu and I wasn't especially impressed. I just didn't care for the selections available. For a pre-set menu, it was largely uninspired. I'll definitely return but, if it's on a holiday, I will call to verify that the full menu is available.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Valentine's Day menu. Brunch and t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Valentine's Day menu. Brunch and the Bloody Mary bar is also a delight. I highly recommend urban farmer for the food and for people watching.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food selection was horrible. It was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

The food selection was horrible. It was cold and tasted bad. The deserts were disgusting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

We went to Urban Farmer for Valentines D ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to Urban Farmer for Valentines Day and it was absolutely wonderful. The service was great, the food was excellent (may have been the best steak I've ever eaten), and it was immediately comfortable. We'll be back again!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the food, just took forever to ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We loved the food, just took forever to get our check to leave.

Tags: Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Took my date here for Valentines Day and ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took my date here for Valentines Day and wasn't disappointed in the least. The service was on point the entire time, and the ambiance was high class intertwined with a relaxed vibe. Only criticism I have to offer is that the 42 day dry aged new York I had was slightly lacking in flavor surprisingly, however the rib eye my date ordered was perfectly seasoned and cooked. Every drink I had was also put together expertly, especially the Big Horse. Would without a doubt recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were served corked wine, my wife's st ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We were served corked wine, my wife's steak was overdone and mine was underdone.

Martini was among the worst I have had with too much vermouth (way too much).

Not a great experience.

Expensive and impressive menu but it didn't live up to it.

Waiter was great under the circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Restaurant is great, parking is expensiv ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Restaurant is great, parking is expensive and tales to long to get your car back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really great location and scene. Amazing ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Really great location and scene. Amazing cocktails! And attentive service. Would recommend for anyone on a date night or night out with friends

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've tried UrbanFarmer three times. F ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We've tried UrbanFarmer three times.

First, unremarkable.

2nd, terrible. Never got food after 1.5 hours. They gave us a certificate.

3rd, one year later - food just BAD. Just take a torch to the butcher shop instead. Ribs, almost inedible. Tough. Over cooked. Cut too much fat/not trimmed well. Pork chop very rubbery. Very little flavor.

Side dishes no better.

This restaurant needs the entire memu reworked.

Service ok. Nothing special.

Too many other good options.

Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Great place. Great Menu. Great service a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place. Great Menu. Great service and attention to details. Atmosphere is a bit cold and industrial but everything else was great. Hard to find if you are not from Portland.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was my first visit to Urban Farmer. ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first visit to Urban Farmer. We came for brunch. The food quality was excellent and service was reasonably good. Prices are typical for upscale hotel restaurants. Although the restaurant is in an atrium area, sounds were muffled and we were easily able to converse. I would definitely consider returning.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The tasting menu was amazing! I recomme ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The tasting menu was amazing! I recommend you add the wagyu beef to it and enjoy! Homemade corn bread. Everything was perfect and delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was probably my 5th or 6th time eat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was probably my 5th or 6th time eating at urban farmer going back to around 2010. The last time i ate there was May, 2015. The butternut squash soup was very disappointing to me and my guest. The soup was bland and a far cry from when i ate it in May, 2015. The salmon i ate the previous night was very good. Another disappointment regards the menu itself. Seems the menu has only had minimal, if any, changes for as long as i've eaten there (roughly 2010).

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We have eaten breakfast and lunch many t ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have eaten breakfast and lunch many times at Urban Farmer and have found it to serve good food in a upscale but comfortable setting. On this visit our server was not attentive, forgot to order on of 5 entrees and failed to refill the coffee even after being asked. The food was good and it won't stop us from returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This place is great. We will definitely ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place is great. We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You cannot go wrong with Urban Farmer. T ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

You cannot go wrong with Urban Farmer. The food, the service, the atmosphere is always on point and its such a bright and open space to enjoy brunch on New Year's Day with the most important people in your life.

The benedict is always my favorite, the honey biscuit is now a favorite my fiance's, and my mother in-law also decided to enjoy a benedict and we shared a side of bacon. While we did not get bloody mary's this time around, the mimosas were delightful!

We will certainly be back again soon!

Tags: , Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a tradition for several years now, a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As a tradition for several years now, a big group of artist friends dine here for brunch every January first. We love this place because of the food and atmosphere, and its easy for us to talk and hear each other. Its always been perfect! And parking is easy.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal in this best brunch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great meal in this best brunch spot in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was extremely over cooked. I had t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was extremely over cooked. I had the Snapper and it was extremely tough and chewy. My friend ordered a Porterhouse rare and came over well. I understand we were there on a holiday and the staff was busy but the food quality was not what we expected to be especially at a Luxury Hotel. Our server was very attentive and worked well with our big group but unfortunately the kitchen didn't perform.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Man somehow I got lucky and made a reser ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Man somehow I got lucky and made a reservation the day of nye. I couldn't have asked for a better meal. My company enjoyed it as well. A woman at the bar complained to me about having to wait for a table, but I'm pretty sure she didn't have a reservation. I mean it was n.y.e, we with the reservation were seated promptly. If you ask me ill tell ya this place was great!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is very good but overpriced and a b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is very good but overpriced and a bit too sweet for my taste.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We went to Urban Farmer for NYE. We wer ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Urban Farmer for NYE. We were visiting Portland and I researched restaurants for our New Year's dining and settled on Urban Farmer. When we arrived at the restaurant I was delighted with the vibe and excited for our evening. It ended being a huge disappointment. It started off well enough - we were shown to our table and seated right away. Someone came and filled our water glasses, and then...we sat. After what seemed like a very long wait, our server finally arrived and seemed very eager for us to put our order in. We told her we wanted to order a cocktail to start. We placed our cocktail order and then she immediately asked what we wanted to order for food. We had settled on our starters so we thought we'd put the order in for that at the same time, but we told her we wanted to enjoy our cocktails before the starters came. It took forever for the cocktails to arrive. The cocktails had barely been delivered before the starters arrived. We both enjoyed the octopus starter - it was absolutely delicious. We put our orders in for our mains - we both ordered steaks, asking for them to be prepared medium rare. And then we waited. For almost an hour and a half. We were getting close to finishing our bottle of wine before the mains were finally placed in front of us. And after such a long wait, they came well overcooked. For a restaurant that sells itself as a high end steak place, you'd think they could get steaks right. Especially when they are charging close to $50 US for an 8 oz cut of meat. We mentioned it to the server, and to her credit she responded immediately. The manager also came over to speak with us and offered us dessert or a cheese plate on the house. We chose a dessert to share between us, and when we got the check, they had not only comped the dessert but also the starters. That helped with the disappointment, but overall I left wishing I'd made a different choice for our evening.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We had dinner on New Year's Eve. Granted ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had dinner on New Year's Eve. Granted it was busy, but we waited a very long time for our food. I believe it was about an hour and a half. When it arrived, one of my friend's steaks was cold. We mentioned it to the waiter, so he comped our corkage fee for the champagne we brought with us. Our waiter was really good, and the ambiance was nice-we had a baby with us, and were given a table tucked away so we had some room for him plus bothered other people less. The food was good, but we were disappointed in the wait and the cold steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Urban Farmer is a great dining experienc ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Urban Farmer is a great dining experience, the staff, service and food are some of the best in Portland. The salad is made with fresh local ingredients and it showed, the sides are delicious and plenty big enough to share. The steak is cooked to perfection and it's hard to put your fork and knife down once you've tasted it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Undoubtably the best steak place in port ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Undoubtably the best steak place in portland. Great ambiance, personalized service and the highest quality. I am a huge fan of other "chains". This independent place ranks with the best. The food is superb and the steaks are perfect. For non meat eaters the fish and duck are of the same quality.

Location is quite nice. Atrium of the hotel. Adds to it.

Never had dessert. Always too full from appetizer and main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very helpful, timing was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our server was very helpful, timing was very relaxed, and of course the food was outstanding. We ordered 2 of the samplers for the four of us, and the steaks were prepared and cooked perfectly. Really appreciated the oversized booth so we could relax and spread out instead of being packed in. Awesome dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to Urban Farmer several times ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I've been to Urban Farmer several times - never a disappointment! Would highly recommend visiting.

Unfortunately, my brother ordered a steak this time (a bit mid-to-higher end, ~$60). Ended up being an odd cut, probably 30-40% fat. Other than that - everything was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Urban Farmer is a fantastic spot for ste ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Urban Farmer is a fantastic spot for steak. There are other options, but the steak is what keeps me coming back. From the atmosphere to the service, Urban Farmer gets it right, with a thorough attention to detail. I highly recommend a few selections from the cheese cart, the NY steak tasting entree, with foraged mushrooms & baked mac-n-cheese on the side.

Definitely bring your appetite!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this place for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible Food we enjoyed on our 40th a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Incredible Food we enjoyed on our 40th anniversary! Steak was the best We've ever eaten....the mushrooms were fantastic, and don't go without tasting the Potato tart dish. Unbelievable!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Organic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Bar Seating, , Authentic, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice hotel restaurant located in the N ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A nice hotel restaurant located in the Nines hotel atrium but that could benefit from a lower overhead space for a more intimate experience. Food really good, large bar. Great service will come back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The restaurant has slipped over the past ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The restaurant has slipped over the past year. I ordered fois gras and got four tiny pieces the size of a thumbnail ($20). My steak was very good ($53). My wife ordered half a chicken and only got white meat that was very dry ($32). I expect excellence at an expensive restaurant. It fell very short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The service is very good, the ambience i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The service is very good, the ambience is good, but the food is not so good. Everything was overcooked and tasteless.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

After reading reviews I was exited to tr ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 26, 2016

After reading reviews I was exited to try this place. In town for Christmas and read the prix fixe menu, all dishes sounded good. Was seated and ordered a cocktail. Went with the shrimp app, pork chop, and twice baked fingerlings. First course was so-so, shrimp was decent but a little rubbery. Ok I can deal with that. Second dish (main course) the pork was very dry & twice baked fingerlings same thing a bit over done and dry. So I requested an alternative main course. Scallops with risotto. Scallops a little under cooked and risotto on the runny side. Sent the second dish back along with the mostly uneaten fingerlings. On a good note my cocktail was decent! They were pleasant enough and comped my food. Tried to offer a dessert but I passed. Ambiance was nice. But in all I would probably not go back. Hopefully it was just an off night for them, if not they need to look at the chefs and the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was very nice but the service w ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was very nice but the service was rather awkward. Perhaps we arrived at a shift change and things never quite got back on the right foot. Rather disappointing for a special holiday dinner but not really anyone's fault. Wouldn't return for a high-stakes special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.