About Urban Farmer

525 SW Morrison St.
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Urban Farmer is a modern American steakhouse featuring indigenous and locally sourced food products from artisanal craftsmen. Located in the lobby of the Nines Hotel, a luxury collection property, Urban Farmer features refined dining in an elegantly understated atmosphere. Prime Beef, dry aged in-house, takes center stage alongside locally grown vegetables hand-carried to the kitchen door. Local wines, many of which are organic and biodynamic, round out a stellar beverage program that Portland's own crafted Spirits. Classic cocktails, refined urban setting, with panoramic city views as seen from the lovingly restored verandas that line the Historic Meier & Frank Building, circa 1909. Whether you desire a quick, delicious country-style breakfast, a "locavore" lunch featuring Oregon's bounty, or dinner and drinks for 2 to 20 in Urban Farmer's artistically designed dining room, we look forward to serving you with homespun grace and warmth.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 3pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Happy Hour: Everyday (excluding holidays): 3pm - 5pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-4900

Website:
http://urbanfarmerportland.com/

Catering:
We offer many semi-private and private dining spaces for receptions or dinner from 10 to 80 guests.

Parking Details:
In addition to offer valet, there are 2 parking garages within one block of our location: Star Park located at SW 6th and Alder as well as Smart Park located at SW 4th and Morrison.

Public Transit:
We are located right on the Max Line at the Pioneer Place stop as well as the Steetcar Pioneer Place stop.

Executive Chef:
Matt Christianson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone Marrow
Oysters
Eggs Benedict
2 Egg Breakfast With Bacon
charcuterie
Steak and Eggs
Meatballs
Caesar Salad
Tuna Slider
Dark Chocolate Ice Cream
Chocolate Whiskey Cake
Winter Manhattan
100% Wagyu Bavette
Migrant Farmer
Rude Barbie
Huntsman's Toddy
Pacific Oysters
HUB Organic Lager
Slider
Farmer
Deviled Eggs
Mac and Cheese
Bread and Butter
Fruit
Shellfish Bisque
BBQ Pork Slider
Chocolate Mousse
Foie Gras Slider
Grass-fed New York Strip Steak
kolbe beef sliders
Whistle Pig
Brunch Desserts
Bloody Mary
Oregon Grain Fed Bone-In Rib Eye
Tomato, Watermellon & Mint Salad
Dungeness Crab Salad
Ribeye: 24 oz Painted Hills
roasted foraged mushrooms
CHEDDAR BACON BISCUIT  fried egg, sausage gravy, crispy chicken leg, lemon marmalade
Soup
Chocolate Dessert
Wagyu Beef Skewer
Hazelnut French Toast
Affrogato
Creme Caramel
Orange Souffle
Beef Tartare
8Oz Local Tenderloin
Ribeye Steak
Bangers & Mash
Wild Foraged Mushrooms
Sweet Corn
Bavette Steak With Fried Morels
Butterscotch Sundae
Braised Pork With Gnocchi
Painter's Hill Ribeye
Cheddar Cheese Grits with Poached Eggs
Roasted Fingerling Potato Tart
Butterscotch Brownie Sundae
Valrhona Chocolate Hazelnut Souffle
Salmon Tartare
Winter's Manhattan
Duck Confit Hash With Poached Eggs
Baby carrots
Fried Tomatoes
Jerk Chicken Sandwich
Cornbread
Fingerling Potatoes
Dungeness Crab Omelette
twice baked fi ngerling potato tart, aged cheddar, bacon, chives
Steak flight
stumptown coffee
Heirloom Tomato Salad
House Made Charcuterie Platter
Blackberry Smash
First Course
Chicken Pops
Salt Cured Foust Gras
Menu @ Happy Hour
Pheasant Breast
Pancetta Wrapped Banana
Chocolate Pate
Apple Doughnuts
Cucumber Gimlet
Corpse Reviver 2.5
Cheese
Ceaser Salad
Manhattan
New York Steak Tasting
Cheese And Cured Meat
Ahi tuna
Snap Peas With Bok Choy And Ham
Pork Loin
Grilled Rapini With Duck Egg
Sea Scallops With Beef Tounge
Cheese Cart
Magnolia Farms Waygu Tenderloin
NY Steak Tasting
Beef Slider & Reuben
Eggs Benedict W/ Avocado

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Urban Farmer is Portland's Steakhouse offering the very best the Oregon farmers, ranchers and fisherman have to offer within a modern, farmhouse chic environment.

Urban Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Great for Brunch (27)
See All
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
People Watching (6)
Business Meals (5)
Organic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have had week-end brunch many times befo ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 2 days ago

Have had week-end brunch many times before. Food is very good, English muffin the best along with house made jam. Service this time spotty and slow. Not organized and it was not real busy at 11:00am.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our appetizers and entrees took longer t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our appetizers and entrees took longer than expected, but the manager came over to apologize and comped the appetizer and a dessert. I feel like that went above and beyond and just showed us what class this establishment has to ensure that your dining experience is a positive one.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were treated phenomenally, it was our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were treated phenomenally, it was our Anniversary and they sent a delicious cheese plate to us while we were enjoying a pre dinner cocktail at the bar. Our dessert had a personal anniversary message written in chocolate. The cocktails were original and excellent and the dinner was fantastic. Will definitely return in the future.

Tags: Tapas, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Organic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Casual, Outstanding Value, Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was good, service was great but it wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was good, service was great but it was located in the middle of a hotel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Urban Farmer was a pleasant surprise dur ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Urban Farmer was a pleasant surprise during my birthday weekend. Brunch was excellent and my mojito was incredible.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very overpriced. Not great food. Very ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very overpriced. Not great food. Very very disappointed

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Awesome and innovative good combo, absol ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Awesome and innovative good combo, absolutely delicious! We took my mom for brunch and had a nice large booth. They serve great coffee and really good food. The portions are large, the Benedict could be shared. I ate the shrimp and grits with pulled pork and this delicious gravy. Sounds like strange combo but was perfect. Service was good, ambiance is bright and lively. Loved it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a petite fillet steak. I ord ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I ordered a petite fillet steak. I ordered it cooked rare. It was a very poor cut of steak - so tough I couldn't eat 1/2 of it - nor did I want to. For the price of this meal, I was very disappointed. I had eaten here once before and remembered a fine dining experience. Unfortunately, I had a bad experience this time. Martini was excellent. My wife had a salmon dish that was very good as was a side dish we shared. Hope this was a one off.

Tags: People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Dustin was our waiter and he is one of t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Dustin was our waiter and he is one of the best I have had in my many years of dining out. He knew the different menu items, ingredients and gave us excellent service. I will tell clients to make reservations and ask to be seated at his table/booth.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a family gathering there in c ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed a family gathering there in celebration of a birthday and had one of the best dinners any of us has ever experienced. We've already made reservations to bring more of our family during the holidays and will be back often. We highly recommend it to locals and visitors alike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lot of fun at the Urban Farmer. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was a lot of fun at the Urban Farmer. It is bright and open. We had the chicken sandwich and the frittata off of the brunch menu. YUM! Service was friendly and fast. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was one of the worst meals/restaura ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This was one of the worst meals/restaurants we have eaten in Portland. The service was terrible, it took forever to get a beer and then when I finally did get a beer there was a fly in it. My wife had a hair in her food too. We will not be going back to Urban Farmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Altogether great experience. Service was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Altogether great experience. Service was wonderful, enjoyed their cheese and wine selection. The only aspect that bothered me was my main entree. I ordered the salmon and it came out extremely salty, I also thought the mushroom side was bland. Potato side was amazing!

For the price of the entree, I would say not worth it. I have gone to places who have served better salmon for much less. I would definitely go back for drinks and maybe some appetizers!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food! Great service! Bright at ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Excellent food! Great service! Bright atmosphere. Yummy drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for brunch. It was a little har ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went for brunch. It was a little hard to get past the terrible service; however the food was very good. Atmosphere was a bit off as it was in an atrium in a hotel although the immediate space was well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a disappointing experience here o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a disappointing experience here over the weekend. We waited over 30 min to be seated & steak ordered medium well was served rare. It was re-served equally rare & at that point we gave up. The manager was extremely embarrassed about our experience & did not bring us a check. Despite efforts to rectify our evening, under-cooking steak twice doesn't encourage us to visit here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The food was OK but not entirely worth t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was OK but not entirely worth the price. The sides were nothing special and the steak was just a steak. I'd go back just because the ambiance of the place makes for an awesome date location. Our server was great though and offered a wonderful dinning experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The NY steaks were over cooked, not by a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The NY steaks were over cooked, not by a little but ALOT. Waste of money and meat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food for a hotel, a little noisy b ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food for a hotel, a little noisy but good ambiance. Nice wine list and great whiskey selection

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Came to the restaurant with high hopes a ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Came to the restaurant with high hopes as I had heard great things. I ended up with a disappointing experience. The wait staff did not seem to have any energy or real pride in what they were serving. I ordered the bone in ribeye medium rare. The steak was not cut well (not the same thickness throughout). This led to the edge being overcooked, the center being jus right, and the portion near the bone almost raw. Mushroom side had a strange flavor like rubbing alcohol about every third bite. A bright spot was the bartender. My drinks were well prepared and expertly presented. I likely won't be back as I am from out of state and need a more predictably good dining experience for the money. Also, I can heartily recommend the cornbread that is served prior to the meal. Very well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Fabulous food and beverages, impeccable ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Fabulous food and beverages, impeccable yet personal service. A winner every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never go there again. $80 Wegyu stray wa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Never go there again. $80 Wegyu stray was cold and full of gristle. The steak was served warm, not hot. Probably was waiting for my wife's steak which was hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

We were impressed from the moment we arr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were impressed from the moment we arrived. The hostess greeted us exactly how a hostess should, happy to see us, engaging, took us to a quiet table for our anniversary. Our waiter was passionate and helped us decide on the perfect meal. Our food was amazing, great steak, great sides. We were extremely pleased with our anniversary dinner choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My server insults my girlfriend unintent ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My server insults my girlfriend unintentionally(I'm pretty sure) about the the amount of food she was ordering as of she's a big girl and had a large appetite. We ordered a lot of food bc we wanted to sample a nice variety of what your establishment had to offer. I'm not the type to even write these kind of reviews but it definitely effected the rest of our interactions the rest of the meal despite the wonderfully executed meal... The last positive thing I will say, I haven't been to a steak house in Portland who offers the variety of different steaks to order(aged, grass fed, corn finished ect.). All in all very nice but like I said the comments made by my server was uncomfortable and effected my date for the rest of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

All three of us ordered the Steak Tour, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

All three of us ordered the Steak Tour, and all three of us received at least one steak that was extremely unpleasant (given the quality of the restaurant and the price). Nobody complained to the wait-staff because we generally don't send food back, but for 65 dollars We all felt one of the steaks was sub-par.

Also the vegetables that we ordered came very under cooked.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved it! Great food! Fantastic servic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved it! Great food! Fantastic service! We will go again. 😃

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast and attentive service. Food was fan ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fast and attentive service. Food was fantastic. Overall a very enjoyable brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Environment is excellent and one of a ki ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Environment is excellent and one of a kind in Portland. Scallops (main course) and octopus (starter) were perfectly cooked and delicious. Porterhouse was heavily marinated and a bit too salty. Meat was cooked uneven - medium rare on the outside, and rare closer to the bone.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great steak house, I think I counted 14 ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great steak house, I think I counted 14 choices. Wagyu, grass fed, grain fed, corn fed . You can do a tasting or choose your preference. Service exceptional. Appetizers four gras, octopus just two of many choices. Bone marrow add on superb .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way overpriced to be in the courtyard of ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Way overpriced to be in the courtyard of a hotel!!!

NO atmosphere!

Very disappointed with the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

We waited 1h for a steak. At the end the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We waited 1h for a steak. At the end the food was good, but too long of a wait and too expensive. Also the fact that is inside a hotel, is disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

I really was not as impressed by the mea ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I really was not as impressed by the meal as I had hoped to be. The food was good, but not great. The pricing did not accurately reflect the quality of the meal. I have had better for much less. The waitress was top drawer. I'm sorry the kitchen didn't follow through for her.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great brunch in Portland. I've dined at ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great brunch in Portland. I've dined at Urban Farmer for brunch on two trips to this beautiful city and each were memorable. Highly recommend the crab and mushroom omelette. The house made English muffins saved my hungover life. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I always love bringing friends here for ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I always love bringing friends here for the first time. The wagyu steak tasting is awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A tad pricey but convenient if you're st ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

A tad pricey but convenient if you're staying at the hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

I had high hopes when I booked a table f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had high hopes when I booked a table for my husband's birthday at Urban Farmer. We were both very disappointed by the food. We eat out at higher-end dining venues a lot and both thought that the food was WAY below par for the price point - about on par with a chain steakhouse; nothing very special from a culinary standpoint.The service was good. That was the one saving grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was not very good. I would have ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was not very good. I would have enjoyed my steak cooked instead it was raw and cold, the butter topping didn't even melt as the temperature was not medium as I had ordered. It was grisly meat not prime. My husbands fish was rare too. We would have complained and sent back but it took so get in the first place we were just ready to go. The server was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Delicious dinner and great service! Hig ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious dinner and great service! Highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was a bit pricey but the steaks wer ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It's was a bit pricey but the steaks were great!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, especially the steaks, was sup ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food, especially the steaks, was superb.

Service was adequate and the ambience was like sitting in the lobby of a high rise Hyatt Regency hotel

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.