About Urban Farmer

525 SW Morrison St.
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Urban Farmer is a modern American steakhouse featuring indigenous and locally sourced food products from artisanal craftsmen. Located in the lobby of the Nines Hotel, a luxury collection property, Urban Farmer features refined dining in an elegantly understated atmosphere. Prime Beef, dry aged in-house, takes center stage alongside locally grown vegetables hand-carried to the kitchen door. Local wines, many of which are organic and biodynamic, round out a stellar beverage program that Portland's own crafted Spirits. Classic cocktails, refined urban setting, with panoramic city views as seen from the lovingly restored verandas that line the Historic Meier & Frank Building, circa 1909. Whether you desire a quick, delicious country-style breakfast, a "locavore" lunch featuring Oregon's bounty, or dinner and drinks for 2 to 20 in Urban Farmer's artistically designed dining room, we look forward to serving you with homespun grace and warmth.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 3pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Happy Hour: Everyday (excluding holidays): 3pm - 5pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-4900

Website:
http://urbanfarmerportland.com/

Catering:
We offer many semi-private and private dining spaces for receptions or dinner from 10 to 80 guests.

Parking Details:
In addition to offer valet, there are 2 parking garages within one block of our location: Star Park located at SW 6th and Alder as well as Smart Park located at SW 4th and Morrison.

Public Transit:
We are located right on the Max Line at the Pioneer Place stop as well as the Steetcar Pioneer Place stop.

Executive Chef:
Matt Christianson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Urban Farmer is Portland's Steakhouse offering the very best the Oregon farmers, ranchers and fisherman have to offer within a modern, farmhouse chic environment.

Urban Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Portland / Oregon
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (83)
special occasion (75)
good for groups (50)
See All
great for brunch (50)
romantic (40)
great for lunch (39)
hot spot (29)
notable wine list (26)
vibrant bar scene (17)
neighborhood gem (13)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (11)
scenic view (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, steak prepared perfectly but ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

My food and I say food because me and my wifes salad was salty to the point that you can't eat it. They took away the salad and brought the steaks, it was prepared right, but super salty. Thanks to the wine I could eat half of it, but they ruined the steak with very large amount of salt on it. I gave it 3 stars because I understand its a mistake of the chef that can be fixed in the future. I will come again, but pretty disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, better server!

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Great food, better server!

food4
ambience4
service3

Very slow service yet not busy. Great fo ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Very slow service yet not busy. Great food

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was outstanding, and the amb ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was outstanding, and the ambiance was also excellent. We enjoyed the cocktails and the oysters. However, given that the restaurant specialty is listed as a steakhouse, we were extremely disappointed in this regard. We ordered a $49 14-oz steak cooked medium to share between two people. The steak was served to us on two separate plates for us to share, but it was cooked to well done and it was tough to cut and chew. At this price point, I would have expected a more tender and properly cooked steak. I am also skeptical that it was a 14-oz cut. We did not have time to send it back to the kitchen. I would return to this restaurant again, but I will not be ordering a steak next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very unimpressive

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

It's in the foyer of a chain hotel, okay so it's a luxury collection, but it looks like and is the attrium foyer of the hotel and this Resto is stuck in the middle. The decor is rather cheap, the food was mediocre, we had the strip steak ordered medium rare came rare with tough sinew throughout. The apps were bland and frankly over seasoned. The tuna was chunks or barely seared tuna large chunks in a soup, the octopus was undercooked and chewy although good flavour. The roasted mushrooms oily and the seared greens were good. Maybe it's what you are used to, or preference but having eaten in the willamette valley and having great food this was very disappointing.

food2
ambience2
service2

Wasn't aware it was brunch only because ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wasn't aware it was brunch only because of Mother's Day, even asked to order off regular menu and was told "no". For the fixed price, I did not get my $ worth (or time because it took forever even to just water).

food3
ambience3
service4

Wasn't aware they were only doing a buff ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wasn't aware they were only doing a buffet for Mother's Day-- at $57/ person, it was the most spendy meal of the weekend, especially since it didn't include booze.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Date Night Favorite

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my boyfriend here to treat him for earning his nursing license. He loves food, wine and dessert and really enjoyed this restaurant experience. We will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was excellent. I had eggs, bacon, hash browns and a homemade English muffin. That was the best part. It was perfect for a girls day out.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

I've always had a superb experience with ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've always had a superb experience with UF. Wouldn't expect anything less.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Birthday Celebration!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our first time at Urban Farmer and not our last! The service was friendly, professional and knowledgeable. The cheese cart was so fun. We enjoyed a French cheese and a goat cheese we had never tried. I had the rack of lamb, my favorite. I was not disappointed. It came with a phyllo dough side. We had also ordered a potato side (in a crust). I would stop by just to have a glass of wine and this. So yummy!! Go to Urban Farmer. You will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was just right. Not too attentive but came around often enough to check. Food was delicious with lots of interesting choices. The décor and atmosphere was interesting...casual but a bit elegant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet up wuth friends

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We started out with cocktails in the bar area. The bar area and the surrounding area is great for meetings and you don't have to talk loud to be heard. Appetizers along with cocktails were fabulous. Our dinner was over the top.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch experience

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

The grits, shrimp and pulled pork plate was decadent....absolutely loved it!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Brunch Spot!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food here is always spot on. The house made English muffins are the reason I keep going back! The service is good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for groups of 4-8

Dined on April 24, 2016

The steak menu is a la carte so you must order sides . The sides would easily feed 6 so it would be better with a group to get the full value and variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for Birthdays and (somewhat) Kid Friendly

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was fantastic. We had our kids with us and they loved the food that was on the kid menu. I would strongly recommend this restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Urban Charmer!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Brunch was really wonderful. The setting itself is so visually appealing, the menu is so full of delicious options we hardly knew what to choose, everything was scrumptious! Benedicts were great, the honey biscuit dish was to die for, and even the coffee and orange juice elicited compliments. I asked for a birthday treat for a family member, and they surprised us with an inventive sweet: a small pistachio-blueberry cheesecake with chamomile sorbet; it was just the perfect ending to our party. Will definitely be back to try some of the dishes we missed. Next time we will be wearing sometime stretchy :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

I thought the food was good but it was r ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

I thought the food was good but it was ridiculously expensive and highly downtown pretentious. With a name like urban farmer I expected something more down-home and local. Instead I got trendy downtown hotel for too much money for out-of-towners.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Very Spendy

Dined on April 6, 2016

Atmosphere is fantastic. However, $200 for 2 entrees 1 app and drinks is a bit too much to overcome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

For the cost I thought the service shoul ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

For the cost I thought the service should have been MUCH better. It was slow and our waiter seemed pretty annoyed to be there.

food3
ambience5
service5

Overall a great place. I may just be una ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Overall a great place. I may just be unaccustomed to the type of beef or the method of preparation, but I did not like my choice at all. The rest of my party had the salmon, and they loved it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food

Dined on March 25, 2016

Steak tartare, porterhouse and Mac cheese were excellent. Wine list limited and overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Limited choice; expensive

Dined on March 16, 2016

Limited choice; expensive

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value for brunch!

Dined on March 13, 2016

In the Atrium on the 6th floor of the Hotel Nine in downtown Portland. Very nice Aitmosphere with bright sky light and ample space between tables. Service was attentive and warm! Food was very good and well presented! Highly recommended this place for brunch! Will come back again to try their dinner next time when we visit Portland!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great last minute find.

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were looking for a great steak last minute and we found an exceptional overall experience. We got a reservation but after visiting we now know they have a huge community table in the bar so if they are booked up just go anyway. Just beware that if you tell them you are there for an anniversary they will bring you dessert and you will be charged.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and our server wss very ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was amazing and our server wss very nice and knowledgeable.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First Timer

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was not bad and the service was not bad. I just thought the steak was slightly over cooked and the potato side was mostly burnt to the bottom of the dish. Was a little disappointing considering the $$$$ cost. Have been here for drinks before and it is a gorgeous setting. Was really looking forward but I would say they do not stack up against top steak establishments.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a surprise

Dined on March 5, 2016

I really had no idea what to expect with this spot but I could have never imagined amazing outdoor dining ... indoors. Brilliant location with some amazing food. They even grew their own mushrooms. The cinnamon roll was one of the best I have ever had. The duck hash was the perfect brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I met clients and we had time to dine an ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

I met clients and we had time to dine and work without feeling pressured. The waitress was excellent, knowledgeable, friendly and professional. Appetizer was too small a portion of food for wood block presntation. We had the meat plate. Not a fair value. Looked skimpy, 5 meats, and unattractive. 3 pieces of toast served with dish was insufficient. Steak was succulent, mashed potatoes and Brussel sprouts excellent. Sea scallop dish on ?risotto was presented beautifully, unclear on flavors. Octopus on pasta was terrible. The sauce was a salt lick, to thick and did not pair well with the tender octopus pieces. I did not complain because I was hosting gueats/clients and did not want to make them uncomfortable with a menu hassle. I will not dine here again. The ambiance was soothing and comfortable, the value and food quantity and flavors were not fine dining worthy.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great brunch location. Generous portions. Service was on point and attentive. Would come back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The porterhouse steak with truffle butte ...

Dined on February 22, 2016

The porterhouse steak with truffle butter was amazing! I highly recommend this place if your looking for steak dinner very right. The service was perfect, it was my boyfriend's birthday and they brought us a champagne toast and him a butterscotch sundae. Only nitpick is that the sundae was served in a main jar with a hinged lid that made it difficult to get into and eat every drop. Otherwise, it was delicious and I'd definitely order it again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was on point & cocktails were beaut ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was on point & cocktails were beautifully & deliciously crafted. Staff was super nice & attentive. For as swanky as the Nines hotel is, the prices were pretty moderate. $100 for 4 entrees with 4 cocktails and coffee during brunch. The atrium is beautiful, lots of light and awesome foliage. Seating was comfortable and classy. Will definitely be visiting again soon.

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointed...won't go back

Dined on February 21, 2016

This was always my go to restaurant, but something has changed since my last visit . The ambiance and setting are still great, but the food is marginal to meh. Our Maine lobster salad was overdone. The accompanying eggplant puree was bland. (The salad was better when they used pineapple). Our brussels sprouts were very under cooked and our twice baked fingerling tart was burnt and salty. The steaks and the caviar deviled eggs were there only good spots to the meal. Such a bummer, I really liked this place, but I won't be going back anytime soon.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Dinner

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent steak. I had the sampler of 3, six ounce cuts that I split with my friend. Good side by sode comparison.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Urban Farmer is always a hit

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Food is always good (esp the benedicts), but this last visit had exceptional service - and a free birthday dessert was graciously provided during our brunch - thank you for a great dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you like a good steak this is the place for you

Dined on February 17, 2016

Great ambiance, staff was so friendly, the cheese cart was so fun!, our steaks were delicious. Perfect place to spend our wedding anniversary!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Valentine's dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

The place is very nice. Cocktails are very well made. Service is good. The food is not delicious. Some dishes are overpriced.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely Valentine's Day visit

Dined on February 15, 2016

I was a little surprised that despite my reservation, my group had to wait 45 minutes to be seated. The reason provided was that the kitchen needed to catch up with all the orders being placed. However, we were immediately welcomed to sit in the lounge, a quiet open space with various unique sitting areas. We were immediately offered the drink and lounge menu, with lighter fare while we waited for a table in the main area to open up, making up for the wait. The drinks listed on the menu are not for the weak of heart. Urban Farmer offers a range of quality drinks ranging from revived classics to more exciting mixed drinks with deceptively innocent sounding names. For those not partial to alcohol, the Young Farmer is a must try. The wait time for the food was understandable, as it became quite apparent when our order arrived that quality is taken very seriously here. The presentation of the food stayed true to the restaurant's rustic style. The servers were very attentive and knowledgeable. One of my few complaints would be that the lighting was a bit too dark for my taste; I feel this prevented me from truly enjoying the visual of such a thoughtful meal presentation. The scallops were some of the best I've had in Portland and elsewhere, and the Taste of New York is an experience best had with multiple people. I've already recommended it to a friend as a Mother's Day treat. While I myself dressed up for the occasion, the locale is also family friendly and welcomes more relaxed attire.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not overly impressed

Dined on February 15, 2016

The fingerling potatoes were the best part of the meal. Meat was a little over done. Always irritating when your bar bill can't be transferred to your dinner bill

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.