About Urban Farmer

525 SW Morrison St.
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Urban Farmer is a modern American steakhouse featuring indigenous and locally sourced food products from artisanal craftsmen. Located in the lobby of the Nines Hotel, a luxury collection property, Urban Farmer features refined dining in an elegantly understated atmosphere. Prime Beef, dry aged in-house, takes center stage alongside locally grown vegetables hand-carried to the kitchen door. Local wines, many of which are organic and biodynamic, round out a stellar beverage program that Portland's own crafted Spirits. Classic cocktails, refined urban setting, with panoramic city views as seen from the lovingly restored verandas that line the Historic Meier & Frank Building, circa 1909. Whether you desire a quick, delicious country-style breakfast, a "locavore" lunch featuring Oregon's bounty, or dinner and drinks for 2 to 20 in Urban Farmer's artistically designed dining room, we look forward to serving you with homespun grace and warmth.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 3pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Happy Hour: Everyday (excluding holidays): 3pm - 5pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-4900

Website:
http://urbanfarmerportland.com/

Catering:
We offer many semi-private and private dining spaces for receptions or dinner from 10 to 80 guests.

Parking Details:
In addition to offer valet, there are 2 parking garages within one block of our location: Star Park located at SW 6th and Alder as well as Smart Park located at SW 4th and Morrison.

Public Transit:
We are located right on the Max Line at the Pioneer Place stop as well as the Steetcar Pioneer Place stop.

Executive Chef:
Matt Christianson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone Marrow
Oysters
Eggs Benedict
2 Egg Breakfast With Bacon
charcuterie
Steak and Eggs
Caesar Salad
Meatballs
Tuna Slider
Dark Chocolate Ice Cream
Chocolate Whiskey Cake
Winter Manhattan
100% Wagyu Bavette
Migrant Farmer
Rude Barbie
Huntsman's Toddy
Pacific Oysters
HUB Organic Lager
Slider
Farmer
Deviled Eggs
Mac and Cheese
Bread and Butter
Fruit
Shellfish Bisque
BBQ Pork Slider
Chocolate Mousse
Foie Gras Slider
Grass-fed New York Strip Steak
kolbe beef sliders
Whistle Pig
Brunch Desserts
Bloody Mary
Oregon Grain Fed Bone-In Rib Eye
Tomato, Watermellon & Mint Salad
Dungeness Crab Salad
Ribeye: 24 oz Painted Hills
roasted foraged mushrooms
CHEDDAR BACON BISCUIT  fried egg, sausage gravy, crispy chicken leg, lemon marmalade
Soup
Chocolate Dessert
Wagyu Beef Skewer
Hazelnut French Toast
Affrogato
Creme Caramel
Orange Souffle
Beef Tartare
8Oz Local Tenderloin
Ribeye Steak
Bangers & Mash
Wild Foraged Mushrooms
Sweet Corn
Bavette Steak With Fried Morels
Butterscotch Sundae
Braised Pork With Gnocchi
Painter's Hill Ribeye
Cheddar Cheese Grits with Poached Eggs
Roasted Fingerling Potato Tart
Butterscotch Brownie Sundae
Valrhona Chocolate Hazelnut Souffle
Salmon Tartare
Winter's Manhattan
Duck Confit Hash With Poached Eggs
Baby carrots
Fried Tomatoes
Jerk Chicken Sandwich
Cornbread
Fingerling Potatoes
Dungeness Crab Omelette
twice baked fi ngerling potato tart, aged cheddar, bacon, chives
Steak flight
stumptown coffee
Heirloom Tomato Salad
House Made Charcuterie Platter
Blackberry Smash
First Course
Chicken Pops
Salt Cured Foust Gras
Menu @ Happy Hour
Pheasant Breast
Pancetta Wrapped Banana
Chocolate Pate
Apple Doughnuts
Cucumber Gimlet
Corpse Reviver 2.5
Cheese
Ceaser Salad
Manhattan
New York Steak Tasting
Cheese And Cured Meat
Ahi tuna
Snap Peas With Bok Choy And Ham
Pork Loin
Grilled Rapini With Duck Egg
Sea Scallops With Beef Tounge
Cheese Cart
Magnolia Farms Waygu Tenderloin
NY Steak Tasting
Beef Slider & Reuben
Eggs Benedict W/ Avocado

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Urban Farmer is Portland's Steakhouse offering the very best the Oregon farmers, ranchers and fisherman have to offer within a modern, farmhouse chic environment.

Urban Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Great for Brunch (32)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Romantic (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Scenic View (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were impressed from the moment we arr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were impressed from the moment we arrived. The hostess greeted us exactly how a hostess should, happy to see us, engaging, took us to a quiet table for our anniversary. Our waiter was passionate and helped us decide on the perfect meal. Our food was amazing, great steak, great sides. We were extremely pleased with our anniversary dinner choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All three of us ordered the Steak Tour, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

All three of us ordered the Steak Tour, and all three of us received at least one steak that was extremely unpleasant (given the quality of the restaurant and the price). Nobody complained to the wait-staff because we generally don't send food back, but for 65 dollars We all felt one of the steaks was sub-par.

Also the vegetables that we ordered came very under cooked.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved it! Great food! Fantastic servic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved it! Great food! Fantastic service! We will go again. 😃

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast and attentive service. Food was fan ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fast and attentive service. Food was fantastic. Overall a very enjoyable brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Environment is excellent and one of a ki ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Environment is excellent and one of a kind in Portland. Scallops (main course) and octopus (starter) were perfectly cooked and delicious. Porterhouse was heavily marinated and a bit too salty. Meat was cooked uneven - medium rare on the outside, and rare closer to the bone.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great steak house, I think I counted 14 ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great steak house, I think I counted 14 choices. Wagyu, grass fed, grain fed, corn fed . You can do a tasting or choose your preference. Service exceptional. Appetizers four gras, octopus just two of many choices. Bone marrow add on superb .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way overpriced to be in the courtyard of ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Way overpriced to be in the courtyard of a hotel!!!

NO atmosphere!

Very disappointed with the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

We waited 1h for a steak. At the end the ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We waited 1h for a steak. At the end the food was good, but too long of a wait and too expensive. Also the fact that is inside a hotel, is disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

I really was not as impressed by the mea ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I really was not as impressed by the meal as I had hoped to be. The food was good, but not great. The pricing did not accurately reflect the quality of the meal. I have had better for much less. The waitress was top drawer. I'm sorry the kitchen didn't follow through for her.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great brunch in Portland. I've dined at ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great brunch in Portland. I've dined at Urban Farmer for brunch on two trips to this beautiful city and each were memorable. Highly recommend the crab and mushroom omelette. The house made English muffins saved my hungover life. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I always love bringing friends here for ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I always love bringing friends here for the first time. The wagyu steak tasting is awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A tad pricey but convenient if you're st ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

A tad pricey but convenient if you're staying at the hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

I had high hopes when I booked a table f ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had high hopes when I booked a table for my husband's birthday at Urban Farmer. We were both very disappointed by the food. We eat out at higher-end dining venues a lot and both thought that the food was WAY below par for the price point - about on par with a chain steakhouse; nothing very special from a culinary standpoint.The service was good. That was the one saving grace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was not very good. I would have ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was not very good. I would have enjoyed my steak cooked instead it was raw and cold, the butter topping didn't even melt as the temperature was not medium as I had ordered. It was grisly meat not prime. My husbands fish was rare too. We would have complained and sent back but it took so get in the first place we were just ready to go. The server was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Delicious dinner and great service! Hig ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious dinner and great service! Highly recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's was a bit pricey but the steaks wer ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It's was a bit pricey but the steaks were great!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, especially the steaks, was sup ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food, especially the steaks, was superb.

Service was adequate and the ambience was like sitting in the lobby of a high rise Hyatt Regency hotel

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Overall a great experience, even though ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Overall a great experience, even though the halibut was way over cooked. To the point of being crispy fried! We did really appreciate the complimentary champagne toast at the end. Such a nice surprise for our special occasion! Would recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

EXCELLENT food and service! We would hig ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

EXCELLENT food and service! We would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really only OK. My fish was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was really only OK. My fish was dry and terribly salty. Veggies were better but over-priced. Bread was fine.

I may just have ordered the wrong things - husband liked his steak just fine.

Service was quite good, and it's always nice to have the sparkling/still water option at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a lovely brunch. Peter was amazing, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a lovely brunch. Peter was amazing, as always. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with some girlfriends on a birthday ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went with some girlfriends on a birthday weekend Portland trip. Had a memorable time previously and wanted to have that again. The service this time was underwhelming. I would still would go again for the food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We went for brunch and mimosas and it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went for brunch and mimosas and it was delicious. Cool ambience and closely decor and the food was amazing. Not too busy either and we made our reservation last minute while we were shopping nearby. Perfect spot. The homemade biscuits especially the honey one were amazing, as was the crab omelette a friend had. My eggs Benedict with avocado were divine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Urban Farmer was the PERFECT spot to cel ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Urban Farmer was the PERFECT spot to celebrate a special birthday. The food and drinks are amazing, you can't go wrong. Plus, the service was impeccable. Great place to take friends and family for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was disappointing this time. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was disappointing this time. I have been here three times and that was certainly a unique situation. Possibly our server was new but they were not on point. Otherwise a great place to eat and socialize.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

As always, the food and service were ama ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always, the food and service were amazing. I wish the tables were slightly more intimate but that's my only issue and it doesn't stop me from returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had 3 meals at Urban Farmer during a wee ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had 3 meals at Urban Farmer during a week long stay. First weekend brunch around 11:30 am was great. Really appreciate option for a half order of their wonderful classic eggs benedict. Second was a steak dinner and again was able to get a smaller portion than what's on the menu by getting just one steak off the 4 steak sampler entree. it was perfectly cooked and the half order of greens was a perfect accompaniment. the fresh baked cornbread that came with the meal was excellent. Third time was an early brunch and i think maybe everyone had been out at the blues festival the night before because the duck hash was wet and had way too much cayenne added. A side of their house fennel sausage was grey and wet on the outside and dry on the inside. Waiter did not register that the meal was subpar after i explained why most of it was left on the plate. So mostly pluses, but avoid early weekend brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent food and service. Great atmosp ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great atmosphere. A bit noisy but in an open space there is no way to control noise. Definite must dine in Portland.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Urban Farmer is a solid choice if you're ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Urban Farmer is a solid choice if you're looking for a steakhouse that's one step above a Ruth's Chris or Morton's. The service is excellent. The food is well executed and reasonably priced for its quality. My only criticism of the food is that it's not particularly exciting or adventurous. Then again, I'm not a big steakhouse fan. My business partner is, so I've been to quite a number of them around the world. And let's face it, one doesn't go to a steakhouse looking for the exciting or adventurous. It's a conservative choice. For example, the "Local Greens" salad came with a wonderfully fresh and bright assortment of greens, poached baby carrots and saved root vegetables. However, the honey vinaigrette dressing was sort of old fashioned and "meh." The Portland location is a mixed bag with regard to ambiance. The high atrium is nice, but it does impart a bit of a food court in and upscale mall character to the restaurant. It gets more intimate after dark. But that's well after 9:30 pm in the Portland summertime. So, Urban Farmer might be a better choice for a date in the wintertime when, as we Portlander's know, it's often dark by 4:30 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We did a lot of research on Portland res ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We did a lot of research on Portland restaurants before choosing Urban Farmer. UF features farm to table beef- some of the best I've tasted in years. Excellent cocktails before dinner. Outstanding service with particularly good advice on how to navigate the menu. And the steaks- forget it vegetarians, this is a steakhouse, and one of the best. We tried the 24 oz New York sampler- 8 oz each grass-fed, corn-finished, and corn-raised beef from Oregon. The last was among the finest steaks I've had in years. Wow. I did not try the Colorado Kobe equivalent, since I come from Colorado and have access to this at home. And what a wine list. My wife and I are Pinot Noir lovers and we were not disappointed. Pinot's range from about $70-$600. We went for level 2-3 and were very pleased with the recommendation. Yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For starters, arrived early and ordered ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

For starters, arrived early and ordered a beer at the bar. Bartender served beer foaming over and making a mess in front of me on the bar and didn't even wipe it up. Normally, no big deal but I had a nice shirt on and was meeting my date.

My date and I both ordered the halibut which took forever. Waiter and manager both apologized and informed us it would be out in a few minutes. That was great and we appreciated knowing. However, when we served, both our Halibut dishes were raw in the middle and cold.

They did comp us a dessert. Kind of spoiled the meal experience. Not what I would expect when dropping $160

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Surprised to be disappointed. Excited t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Surprised to be disappointed. Excited to dine and left saying "will not be back "

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

While a bit pricey, the food was all top ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

While a bit pricey, the food was all top-notch, the service was professional and friendly and we all truly enjoyed the experience

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

High quality food in a lovely atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

High quality food in a lovely atmosphere. However, there was nothing vegan on the menu, nor any indications of what's gluten free. A bit frustrating in 2016 that vegan options aren't easily noted. That said, I explained my dilemma and they suggested a potato hash, which was quite tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great restaurant and food was fantastic. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant and food was fantastic. Service was lacking because we had not seen our server for 15 mins and was waiting for a check and a togo box.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I was surprised that there was no mentio ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was surprised that there was no mention of Father's Day at brunch. We have always considered this our hidden gem that is never busy, and has great food. I felt our server was a bit too casual calling my husband bro instead of sir? Maybe I was just expecting more today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

For hotel dining, this is very nice, ver ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

For hotel dining, this is very nice, very informal. The raclette salad was special. I very much like knowing the sources of menu items. The Oregon tenderloin was disappointing. The California tenderloin was very good. As far as ambience, at The Nines, I prefer the view from Departure's roof top dining.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

My first time at Urban Farmer and I will ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My first time at Urban Farmer and I will definitely go back. Great food and service with very nice outdoor dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and impeccable service

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My girlfriend and I were on a day trip to Portland and we saw good reviews for this restaurant. It was right downtown, but on the 8th floor of a hotel. Food was great - we had an excellently prepared sampler of different Steaks. Simple preparation but high quality. Our server was awesome and he advised us on gluten-free options, even dessert. We had a great time and the food was fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I arrived late in the evening and sat at ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I arrived late in the evening and sat at the bar. No one appeared for a while. In fact, the host took it upon himself to clear away the dishes that were still in front of me. Service was not good the first half of the meal but improved the second half. But the steak I had was just unremarkable. I've had many that were better and at much better values. Perhaps get a table earlier in the evening when service is more attentive, and try something other than the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.