About Urban Farmer

525 SW Morrison St.
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Urban Farmer is a modern American steakhouse featuring indigenous and locally sourced food products from artisanal craftsmen. Located in the lobby of the Nines Hotel, a luxury collection property, Urban Farmer features refined dining in an elegantly understated atmosphere. Prime Beef, dry aged in-house, takes center stage alongside locally grown vegetables hand-carried to the kitchen door. Local wines, many of which are organic and biodynamic, round out a stellar beverage program that Portland's own crafted Spirits. Classic cocktails, refined urban setting, with panoramic city views as seen from the lovingly restored verandas that line the Historic Meier & Frank Building, circa 1909. Whether you desire a quick, delicious country-style breakfast, a "locavore" lunch featuring Oregon's bounty, or dinner and drinks for 2 to 20 in Urban Farmer's artistically designed dining room, we look forward to serving you with homespun grace and warmth.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 3pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Happy Hour: Everyday (excluding holidays): 3pm - 5pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-4900

Website:
http://urbanfarmerportland.com/

Catering:
We offer many semi-private and private dining spaces for receptions or dinner from 10 to 80 guests.

Parking Details:
In addition to offer valet, there are 2 parking garages within one block of our location: Star Park located at SW 6th and Alder as well as Smart Park located at SW 4th and Morrison.

Public Transit:
We are located right on the Max Line at the Pioneer Place stop as well as the Steetcar Pioneer Place stop.

Executive Chef:
Matt Christianson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone Marrow
Oysters
Eggs Benedict
charcuterie
2 Egg Breakfast With Bacon
Steak and Eggs
Caesar Salad
Meatballs
Chocolate Whiskey Cake
Dark Chocolate Ice Cream
Tuna Slider
Deviled Eggs
Winter Manhattan
100% Wagyu Bavette
Migrant Farmer
Huntsman's Toddy
Rude Barbie
Pacific Oysters
HUB Organic Lager
Slider
Farmer
Mac and Cheese
Fruit
Bread and Butter
Shellfish Bisque
Chocolate Mousse
Foie Gras Slider
Grass-fed New York Strip Steak
Whistle Pig
kolbe beef sliders
Brunch Desserts
Bloody Mary
Tomato, Watermellon & Mint Salad
Oregon Grain Fed Bone-In Rib Eye
Dungeness Crab Salad
Ribeye: 24 oz Painted Hills
roasted foraged mushrooms
CHEDDAR BACON BISCUIT  fried egg, sausage gravy, crispy chicken leg, lemon marmalade
Soup
BBQ Pork Slider
Wagyu Beef Skewer
Chocolate Dessert
Hazelnut French Toast
Orange Souffle
Creme Caramel
Affrogato
Beef Tartare
8Oz Local Tenderloin
Ribeye Steak
Bangers & Mash
Wild Foraged Mushrooms
Sweet Corn
Bavette Steak With Fried Morels
Braised Pork With Gnocchi
Butterscotch Sundae
Painter's Hill Ribeye
Roasted Fingerling Potato Tart
Butterscotch Brownie Sundae
Cheddar Cheese Grits with Poached Eggs
Valrhona Chocolate Hazelnut Souffle
Winter's Manhattan
Salmon Tartare
Duck Confit Hash With Poached Eggs
Jerk Chicken Sandwich
Fried Tomatoes
Cornbread
Fingerling Potatoes
Baby carrots
Dungeness Crab Omelette
House Made Charcuterie Platter
stumptown coffee
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Steak flight
twice baked fi ngerling potato tart, aged cheddar, bacon, chives
First Course
Blackberry Smash
Menu @ Happy Hour
Pheasant Breast
Pancetta Wrapped Banana
Chicken Pops
Salt Cured Foust Gras
Apple Doughnuts
Chocolate Pate
Corpse Reviver 2.5
Cucumber Gimlet
New York Steak Tasting
Cheese
Manhattan
Ceaser Salad
Cheese And Cured Meat
Grilled Rapini With Duck Egg
Sea Scallops With Beef Tounge
Snap Peas With Bok Choy And Ham
Pork Loin
Ahi tuna
Cheese Cart
Magnolia Farms Waygu Tenderloin
Beef Slider & Reuben
NY Steak Tasting
Eggs Benedict W/ Avocado

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Urban Farmer is Portland's Steakhouse offering the very best the Oregon farmers, ranchers and fisherman have to offer within a modern, farmhouse chic environment.

Urban Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Portland / Oregon
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (62)
fit for foodies (57)
great for brunch (39)
See All
good for groups (33)
great for lunch (32)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (20)
hot spot (17)
vibrant bar scene (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
kid-friendly (9)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Surprised to be disappointed. Excited t ...

Dined 3 days ago

Surprised to be disappointed. Excited to dine and left saying "will not be back "

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

While a bit pricey, the food was all top ...

Dined 6 days ago

While a bit pricey, the food was all top-notch, the service was professional and friendly and we all truly enjoyed the experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

High quality food in a lovely atmosphere ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

High quality food in a lovely atmosphere. However, there was nothing vegan on the menu, nor any indications of what's gluten free. A bit frustrating in 2016 that vegan options aren't easily noted. That said, I explained my dilemma and they suggested a potato hash, which was quite tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great restaurant and food was fantastic. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant and food was fantastic. Service was lacking because we had not seen our server for 15 mins and was waiting for a check and a togo box.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

I was surprised that there was no mentio ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I was surprised that there was no mention of Father's Day at brunch. We have always considered this our hidden gem that is never busy, and has great food. I felt our server was a bit too casual calling my husband bro instead of sir? Maybe I was just expecting more today.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

For hotel dining, this is very nice, ver ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

For hotel dining, this is very nice, very informal. The raclette salad was special. I very much like knowing the sources of menu items. The Oregon tenderloin was disappointing. The California tenderloin was very good. As far as ambience, at The Nines, I prefer the view from Departure's roof top dining.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time at Urban Farmer and I will ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

My first time at Urban Farmer and I will definitely go back. Great food and service with very nice outdoor dining.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and impeccable service

Dined on June 5, 2016

My girlfriend and I were on a day trip to Portland and we saw good reviews for this restaurant. It was right downtown, but on the 8th floor of a hotel. Food was great - we had an excellently prepared sampler of different Steaks. Simple preparation but high quality. Our server was awesome and he advised us on gluten-free options, even dessert. We had a great time and the food was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I arrived late in the evening and sat at ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

I arrived late in the evening and sat at the bar. No one appeared for a while. In fact, the host took it upon himself to clear away the dishes that were still in front of me. Service was not good the first half of the meal but improved the second half. But the steak I had was just unremarkable. I've had many that were better and at much better values. Perhaps get a table earlier in the evening when service is more attentive, and try something other than the steak.

food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed the décor, serv ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the décor, service, and delicious food at this upscale farm to table restaurant on the 8th floor of The Nines Hotel. We were pleased that seating was spacious and comfortable. My dish consisted of three steak medallions and was delicious. My husband ordered the 8 ounce filet. Our meat was cooked perfectly and we shared a potato tart and an asparagus, pea, and gave bean saute.

food5
ambience5
service5

Happy hour is on point. Must try the chi ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Happy hour is on point. Must try the chili Mac!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, steak prepared perfectly but ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

My food and I say food because me and my wifes salad was salty to the point that you can't eat it. They took away the salad and brought the steaks, it was prepared right, but super salty. Thanks to the wine I could eat half of it, but they ruined the steak with very large amount of salt on it. I gave it 3 stars because I understand its a mistake of the chef that can be fixed in the future. I will come again, but pretty disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, better server!

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food, better server!

food4
ambience4
service3

Very slow service yet not busy. Great fo ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Very slow service yet not busy. Great food

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was outstanding, and the amb ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was outstanding, and the ambiance was also excellent. We enjoyed the cocktails and the oysters. However, given that the restaurant specialty is listed as a steakhouse, we were extremely disappointed in this regard. We ordered a $49 14-oz steak cooked medium to share between two people. The steak was served to us on two separate plates for us to share, but it was cooked to well done and it was tough to cut and chew. At this price point, I would have expected a more tender and properly cooked steak. I am also skeptical that it was a 14-oz cut. We did not have time to send it back to the kitchen. I would return to this restaurant again, but I will not be ordering a steak next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Very unimpressive

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

It's in the foyer of a chain hotel, okay so it's a luxury collection, but it looks like and is the attrium foyer of the hotel and this Resto is stuck in the middle. The decor is rather cheap, the food was mediocre, we had the strip steak ordered medium rare came rare with tough sinew throughout. The apps were bland and frankly over seasoned. The tuna was chunks or barely seared tuna large chunks in a soup, the octopus was undercooked and chewy although good flavour. The roasted mushrooms oily and the seared greens were good. Maybe it's what you are used to, or preference but having eaten in the willamette valley and having great food this was very disappointing.

food2
ambience2
service2

Wasn't aware it was brunch only because ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wasn't aware it was brunch only because of Mother's Day, even asked to order off regular menu and was told "no". For the fixed price, I did not get my $ worth (or time because it took forever even to just water).

food3
ambience3
service4

Wasn't aware they were only doing a buff ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wasn't aware they were only doing a buffet for Mother's Day-- at $57/ person, it was the most spendy meal of the weekend, especially since it didn't include booze.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Date Night Favorite

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my boyfriend here to treat him for earning his nursing license. He loves food, wine and dessert and really enjoyed this restaurant experience. We will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was excellent. I had eggs, bacon, hash browns and a homemade English muffin. That was the best part. It was perfect for a girls day out.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

I've always had a superb experience with ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I've always had a superb experience with UF. Wouldn't expect anything less.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Birthday Celebration!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our first time at Urban Farmer and not our last! The service was friendly, professional and knowledgeable. The cheese cart was so fun. We enjoyed a French cheese and a goat cheese we had never tried. I had the rack of lamb, my favorite. I was not disappointed. It came with a phyllo dough side. We had also ordered a potato side (in a crust). I would stop by just to have a glass of wine and this. So yummy!! Go to Urban Farmer. You will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was just right. Not too attentive but came around often enough to check. Food was delicious with lots of interesting choices. The décor and atmosphere was interesting...casual but a bit elegant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to meet up wuth friends

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We started out with cocktails in the bar area. The bar area and the surrounding area is great for meetings and you don't have to talk loud to be heard. Appetizers along with cocktails were fabulous. Our dinner was over the top.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch experience

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

The grits, shrimp and pulled pork plate was decadent....absolutely loved it!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Brunch Spot!

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food here is always spot on. The house made English muffins are the reason I keep going back! The service is good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for groups of 4-8

Dined on April 24, 2016

The steak menu is a la carte so you must order sides . The sides would easily feed 6 so it would be better with a group to get the full value and variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for Birthdays and (somewhat) Kid Friendly

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was fantastic. We had our kids with us and they loved the food that was on the kid menu. I would strongly recommend this restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Urban Charmer!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Brunch was really wonderful. The setting itself is so visually appealing, the menu is so full of delicious options we hardly knew what to choose, everything was scrumptious! Benedicts were great, the honey biscuit dish was to die for, and even the coffee and orange juice elicited compliments. I asked for a birthday treat for a family member, and they surprised us with an inventive sweet: a small pistachio-blueberry cheesecake with chamomile sorbet; it was just the perfect ending to our party. Will definitely be back to try some of the dishes we missed. Next time we will be wearing sometime stretchy :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

I thought the food was good but it was r ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

I thought the food was good but it was ridiculously expensive and highly downtown pretentious. With a name like urban farmer I expected something more down-home and local. Instead I got trendy downtown hotel for too much money for out-of-towners.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Very Spendy

Dined on April 6, 2016

Atmosphere is fantastic. However, $200 for 2 entrees 1 app and drinks is a bit too much to overcome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

For the cost I thought the service shoul ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

For the cost I thought the service should have been MUCH better. It was slow and our waiter seemed pretty annoyed to be there.

food3
ambience5
service5

Overall a great place. I may just be una ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Overall a great place. I may just be unaccustomed to the type of beef or the method of preparation, but I did not like my choice at all. The rest of my party had the salmon, and they loved it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food

Dined on March 25, 2016

Steak tartare, porterhouse and Mac cheese were excellent. Wine list limited and overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Limited choice; expensive

Dined on March 16, 2016

Limited choice; expensive

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value for brunch!

Dined on March 13, 2016

In the Atrium on the 6th floor of the Hotel Nine in downtown Portland. Very nice Aitmosphere with bright sky light and ample space between tables. Service was attentive and warm! Food was very good and well presented! Highly recommended this place for brunch! Will come back again to try their dinner next time when we visit Portland!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great last minute find.

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were looking for a great steak last minute and we found an exceptional overall experience. We got a reservation but after visiting we now know they have a huge community table in the bar so if they are booked up just go anyway. Just beware that if you tell them you are there for an anniversary they will bring you dessert and you will be charged.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and our server wss very ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was amazing and our server wss very nice and knowledgeable.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First Timer

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was not bad and the service was not bad. I just thought the steak was slightly over cooked and the potato side was mostly burnt to the bottom of the dish. Was a little disappointing considering the $$$$ cost. Have been here for drinks before and it is a gorgeous setting. Was really looking forward but I would say they do not stack up against top steak establishments.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a surprise

Dined on March 5, 2016

I really had no idea what to expect with this spot but I could have never imagined amazing outdoor dining ... indoors. Brilliant location with some amazing food. They even grew their own mushrooms. The cinnamon roll was one of the best I have ever had. The duck hash was the perfect brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.