About Urban Farmer

525 SW Morrison St.
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Urban Farmer is a modern American steakhouse featuring indigenous and locally sourced food products from artisanal craftsmen. Located in the lobby of the Nines Hotel, a luxury collection property, Urban Farmer features refined dining in an elegantly understated atmosphere. Prime Beef, dry aged in-house, takes center stage alongside locally grown vegetables hand-carried to the kitchen door. Local wines, many of which are organic and biodynamic, round out a stellar beverage program that Portland's own crafted Spirits. Classic cocktails, refined urban setting, with panoramic city views as seen from the lovingly restored verandas that line the Historic Meier & Frank Building, circa 1909. Whether you desire a quick, delicious country-style breakfast, a "locavore" lunch featuring Oregon's bounty, or dinner and drinks for 2 to 20 in Urban Farmer's artistically designed dining room, we look forward to serving you with homespun grace and warmth.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 3pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Happy Hour: Everyday (excluding holidays): 3pm - 5pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between 5th and 6th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 222-4900

Website:
http://urbanfarmerportland.com/

Catering:
We offer many semi-private and private dining spaces for receptions or dinner from 10 to 80 guests.

Parking Details:
In addition to offer valet, there are 2 parking garages within one block of our location: Star Park located at SW 6th and Alder as well as Smart Park located at SW 4th and Morrison.

Public Transit:
We are located right on the Max Line at the Pioneer Place stop as well as the Steetcar Pioneer Place stop.

Executive Chef:
Matt Christianson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bone Marrow
Oysters
Eggs Benedict
2 Egg Breakfast With Bacon
charcuterie
Steak and Eggs
Caesar Salad
Meatballs
Tuna Slider
Chocolate Whiskey Cake
Dark Chocolate Ice Cream
Deviled Eggs
Winter Manhattan
100% Wagyu Bavette
Migrant Farmer
Huntsman's Toddy
Rude Barbie
Pacific Oysters
HUB Organic Lager
Slider
Farmer
Mac and Cheese
Fruit
Bread and Butter
Shellfish Bisque
Chocolate Mousse
Foie Gras Slider
Grass-fed New York Strip Steak
Whistle Pig
kolbe beef sliders
Brunch Desserts
Bloody Mary
Tomato, Watermellon & Mint Salad
Oregon Grain Fed Bone-In Rib Eye
Dungeness Crab Salad
Ribeye: 24 oz Painted Hills
roasted foraged mushrooms
CHEDDAR BACON BISCUIT  fried egg, sausage gravy, crispy chicken leg, lemon marmalade
Soup
BBQ Pork Slider
Wagyu Beef Skewer
Chocolate Dessert
Hazelnut French Toast
Orange Souffle
Creme Caramel
Affrogato
Beef Tartare
8Oz Local Tenderloin
Ribeye Steak
Bangers & Mash
Wild Foraged Mushrooms
Sweet Corn
Bavette Steak With Fried Morels
Braised Pork With Gnocchi
Butterscotch Sundae
Painter's Hill Ribeye
Roasted Fingerling Potato Tart
Butterscotch Brownie Sundae
Cheddar Cheese Grits with Poached Eggs
Valrhona Chocolate Hazelnut Souffle
Winter's Manhattan
Salmon Tartare
Duck Confit Hash With Poached Eggs
Jerk Chicken Sandwich
Fried Tomatoes
Cornbread
Fingerling Potatoes
Baby carrots
Dungeness Crab Omelette
House Made Charcuterie Platter
stumptown coffee
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Steak flight
twice baked fi ngerling potato tart, aged cheddar, bacon, chives
First Course
Blackberry Smash
Menu @ Happy Hour
Pheasant Breast
Pancetta Wrapped Banana
Chicken Pops
Salt Cured Foust Gras
Apple Doughnuts
Chocolate Pate
Corpse Reviver 2.5
Cucumber Gimlet
New York Steak Tasting
Cheese
Manhattan
Ceaser Salad
Cheese And Cured Meat
Grilled Rapini With Duck Egg
Sea Scallops With Beef Tounge
Snap Peas With Bok Choy And Ham
Pork Loin
Ahi tuna
Cheese Cart
Magnolia Farms Waygu Tenderloin
Beef Slider & Reuben
NY Steak Tasting
Eggs Benedict W/ Avocado

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Urban Farmer is Portland's Steakhouse offering the very best the Oregon farmers, ranchers and fisherman have to offer within a modern, farmhouse chic environment.

Urban Farmer Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (58)
fit for foodies (54)
great for brunch (36)
See All
great for lunch (30)
good for groups (29)
romantic (23)
notable wine list (23)
hot spot (21)
vibrant bar scene (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

EXCELLENT food and service! We would hig ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 3 days ago

EXCELLENT food and service! We would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really only OK. My fish was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was really only OK. My fish was dry and terribly salty. Veggies were better but over-priced. Bread was fine.

I may just have ordered the wrong things - husband liked his steak just fine.

Service was quite good, and it's always nice to have the sparkling/still water option at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a lovely brunch. Peter was amazing, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a lovely brunch. Peter was amazing, as always. Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with some girlfriends on a birthday ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went with some girlfriends on a birthday weekend Portland trip. Had a memorable time previously and wanted to have that again. The service this time was underwhelming. I would still would go again for the food!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We went for brunch and mimosas and it wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We went for brunch and mimosas and it was delicious. Cool ambience and closely decor and the food was amazing. Not too busy either and we made our reservation last minute while we were shopping nearby. Perfect spot. The homemade biscuits especially the honey one were amazing, as was the crab omelette a friend had. My eggs Benedict with avocado were divine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Urban Farmer was the PERFECT spot to cel ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Urban Farmer was the PERFECT spot to celebrate a special birthday. The food and drinks are amazing, you can't go wrong. Plus, the service was impeccable. Great place to take friends and family for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was disappointing this time. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was disappointing this time. I have been here three times and that was certainly a unique situation. Possibly our server was new but they were not on point. Otherwise a great place to eat and socialize.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

As always, the food and service were ama ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always, the food and service were amazing. I wish the tables were slightly more intimate but that's my only issue and it doesn't stop me from returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Had 3 meals at Urban Farmer during a wee ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Had 3 meals at Urban Farmer during a week long stay. First weekend brunch around 11:30 am was great. Really appreciate option for a half order of their wonderful classic eggs benedict. Second was a steak dinner and again was able to get a smaller portion than what's on the menu by getting just one steak off the 4 steak sampler entree. it was perfectly cooked and the half order of greens was a perfect accompaniment. the fresh baked cornbread that came with the meal was excellent. Third time was an early brunch and i think maybe everyone had been out at the blues festival the night before because the duck hash was wet and had way too much cayenne added. A side of their house fennel sausage was grey and wet on the outside and dry on the inside. Waiter did not register that the meal was subpar after i explained why most of it was left on the plate. So mostly pluses, but avoid early weekend brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent food and service. Great atmosp ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. Great atmosphere. A bit noisy but in an open space there is no way to control noise. Definite must dine in Portland.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Urban Farmer is a solid choice if you're ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Urban Farmer is a solid choice if you're looking for a steakhouse that's one step above a Ruth's Chris or Morton's. The service is excellent. The food is well executed and reasonably priced for its quality. My only criticism of the food is that it's not particularly exciting or adventurous. Then again, I'm not a big steakhouse fan. My business partner is, so I've been to quite a number of them around the world. And let's face it, one doesn't go to a steakhouse looking for the exciting or adventurous. It's a conservative choice. For example, the "Local Greens" salad came with a wonderfully fresh and bright assortment of greens, poached baby carrots and saved root vegetables. However, the honey vinaigrette dressing was sort of old fashioned and "meh." The Portland location is a mixed bag with regard to ambiance. The high atrium is nice, but it does impart a bit of a food court in and upscale mall character to the restaurant. It gets more intimate after dark. But that's well after 9:30 pm in the Portland summertime. So, Urban Farmer might be a better choice for a date in the wintertime when, as we Portlander's know, it's often dark by 4:30 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We did a lot of research on Portland res ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We did a lot of research on Portland restaurants before choosing Urban Farmer. UF features farm to table beef- some of the best I've tasted in years. Excellent cocktails before dinner. Outstanding service with particularly good advice on how to navigate the menu. And the steaks- forget it vegetarians, this is a steakhouse, and one of the best. We tried the 24 oz New York sampler- 8 oz each grass-fed, corn-finished, and corn-raised beef from Oregon. The last was among the finest steaks I've had in years. Wow. I did not try the Colorado Kobe equivalent, since I come from Colorado and have access to this at home. And what a wine list. My wife and I are Pinot Noir lovers and we were not disappointed. Pinot's range from about $70-$600. We went for level 2-3 and were very pleased with the recommendation. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For starters, arrived early and ordered ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

For starters, arrived early and ordered a beer at the bar. Bartender served beer foaming over and making a mess in front of me on the bar and didn't even wipe it up. Normally, no big deal but I had a nice shirt on and was meeting my date.

My date and I both ordered the halibut which took forever. Waiter and manager both apologized and informed us it would be out in a few minutes. That was great and we appreciated knowing. However, when we served, both our Halibut dishes were raw in the middle and cold.

They did comp us a dessert. Kind of spoiled the meal experience. Not what I would expect when dropping $160

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Surprised to be disappointed. Excited t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Surprised to be disappointed. Excited to dine and left saying "will not be back "

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

While a bit pricey, the food was all top ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

While a bit pricey, the food was all top-notch, the service was professional and friendly and we all truly enjoyed the experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

High quality food in a lovely atmosphere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

High quality food in a lovely atmosphere. However, there was nothing vegan on the menu, nor any indications of what's gluten free. A bit frustrating in 2016 that vegan options aren't easily noted. That said, I explained my dilemma and they suggested a potato hash, which was quite tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great restaurant and food was fantastic. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great restaurant and food was fantastic. Service was lacking because we had not seen our server for 15 mins and was waiting for a check and a togo box.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I was surprised that there was no mentio ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was surprised that there was no mention of Father's Day at brunch. We have always considered this our hidden gem that is never busy, and has great food. I felt our server was a bit too casual calling my husband bro instead of sir? Maybe I was just expecting more today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

For hotel dining, this is very nice, ver ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

For hotel dining, this is very nice, very informal. The raclette salad was special. I very much like knowing the sources of menu items. The Oregon tenderloin was disappointing. The California tenderloin was very good. As far as ambience, at The Nines, I prefer the view from Departure's roof top dining.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

My first time at Urban Farmer and I will ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My first time at Urban Farmer and I will definitely go back. Great food and service with very nice outdoor dining.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and impeccable service

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My girlfriend and I were on a day trip to Portland and we saw good reviews for this restaurant. It was right downtown, but on the 8th floor of a hotel. Food was great - we had an excellently prepared sampler of different Steaks. Simple preparation but high quality. Our server was awesome and he advised us on gluten-free options, even dessert. We had a great time and the food was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I arrived late in the evening and sat at ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I arrived late in the evening and sat at the bar. No one appeared for a while. In fact, the host took it upon himself to clear away the dishes that were still in front of me. Service was not good the first half of the meal but improved the second half. But the steak I had was just unremarkable. I've had many that were better and at much better values. Perhaps get a table earlier in the evening when service is more attentive, and try something other than the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

My husband and I enjoyed the décor, serv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the décor, service, and delicious food at this upscale farm to table restaurant on the 8th floor of The Nines Hotel. We were pleased that seating was spacious and comfortable. My dish consisted of three steak medallions and was delicious. My husband ordered the 8 ounce filet. Our meat was cooked perfectly and we shared a potato tart and an asparagus, pea, and gave bean saute.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Happy hour is on point. Must try the chi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Happy hour is on point. Must try the chili Mac!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, steak prepared perfectly but ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

My food and I say food because me and my wifes salad was salty to the point that you can't eat it. They took away the salad and brought the steaks, it was prepared right, but super salty. Thanks to the wine I could eat half of it, but they ruined the steak with very large amount of salt on it.

I gave it 3 stars because I understand its a mistake of the chef that can be fixed in the future. I will come again, but pretty disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, better server!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food, better server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very slow service yet not busy. Great fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Very slow service yet not busy. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The service was outstanding, and the amb ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was outstanding, and the ambiance was also excellent. We enjoyed the cocktails and the oysters. However, given that the restaurant specialty is listed as a steakhouse, we were extremely disappointed in this regard. We ordered a $49 14-oz steak cooked medium to share between two people. The steak was served to us on two separate plates for us to share, but it was cooked to well done and it was tough to cut and chew. At this price point, I would have expected a more tender and properly cooked steak. I am also skeptical that it was a 14-oz cut. We did not have time to send it back to the kitchen. I would return to this restaurant again, but I will not be ordering a steak next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very unimpressive

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

It's in the foyer of a chain hotel, okay so it's a luxury collection, but it looks like and is the attrium foyer of the hotel and this Resto is stuck in the middle. The decor is rather cheap, the food was mediocre, we had the strip steak ordered medium rare came rare with tough sinew throughout. The apps were bland and frankly over seasoned. The tuna was chunks or barely seared tuna large chunks in a soup, the octopus was undercooked and chewy although good flavour. The roasted mushrooms oily and the seared greens were good. Maybe it's what you are used to, or preference but having eaten in the willamette valley and having great food this was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Wasn't aware it was brunch only because ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wasn't aware it was brunch only because of Mother's Day, even asked to order off regular menu and was told "no". For the fixed price, I did not get my $ worth (or time because it took forever even to just water).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Wasn't aware they were only doing a buff ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wasn't aware they were only doing a buffet for Mother's Day-- at $57/ person, it was the most spendy meal of the weekend, especially since it didn't include booze.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Special Date Night Favorite

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my boyfriend here to treat him for earning his nursing license. He loves food, wine and dessert and really enjoyed this restaurant experience. We will be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was excellent. I had eggs, bacon, hash browns and a homemade English muffin. That was the best part. It was perfect for a girls day out.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I've always had a superb experience with ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I've always had a superb experience with UF. Wouldn't expect anything less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Birthday Celebration!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our first time at Urban Farmer and not our last! The service was friendly, professional and knowledgeable.

The cheese cart was so fun. We enjoyed a French cheese and a goat cheese we had never tried.

I had the rack of lamb, my favorite. I was not disappointed. It came with a phyllo dough side.

We had also ordered a potato side (in a crust). I would stop by just to have a glass of wine and this. So yummy!!

Go to Urban Farmer. You will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Service was just right. Not too attentive but came around often enough to check. Food was delicious with lots of interesting choices. The décor and atmosphere was interesting...casual but a bit elegant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to meet up wuth friends

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We started out with cocktails in the bar area. The bar area and the surrounding area is great for meetings and you don't have to talk loud to be heard. Appetizers along with cocktails were fabulous. Our dinner was over the top.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch experience

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The grits, shrimp and pulled pork plate was decadent....absolutely loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Brunch Spot!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food here is always spot on. The house made English muffins are the reason I keep going back!

The service is good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for groups of 4-8

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The steak menu is a la carte so you must order sides . The sides would easily feed 6 so it would be better with a group to get the full value and variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.