About urban an american grill

11301 Domain Drive
Austin, TX 78758
View Larger Map

Urban, an American Grill, is located in the Westin at the Domain and serves a comforting menu highlighting local ingredients. Inspired by the flavors and spirits of Texas, our cuisine changes with the seasons but always includes favorites like Chef's signature meatloaf, loaded mac and cheese, and our delicious Urban Kobe Burger. Other inspired dishes include our Espresso Rubbed Pork Chop with butternut squash risotto and crispy brussel sprouts, Pan Seared Scallops with sauteed spinach and creamy grits, and the always popular Bar Steak with bourbon shallot butter and house made salt & pepper fries. In addition to our welcoming dining room, guests can experience our friendly service and outstanding value in our private wine room, our expansive private dining room, or outside on either of our two patios.....Join us for Comfort Food, reinvented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Esperanza

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 490-1511

Website:
http://www.urbanatthedomain.com/

Entertainment:
Live music in the lounge Tuesday thru Saturday and in the restaurant for brunch on Sundays

Catering:
Catering options available.

Parking Details:
Valet and on-site self park available.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Taylor

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private wine library for up to 20 guests, and a private dining room for parties up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Kyle Smith: 512-832-4197x6627

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Mothers day brunch Buffet from 11am-3pm. Featuring traditional breakfast collections, crafted salads, local Gulf seafood, ancho chicken breast, blackened mahi-mahi, delectable desserts and finally $1 mimosas. Reservations are preferred.

Restaurant Photos

  • urban an american grill
  • Shrimp And Avocado
  • Kobe Beef Hamburger
  • Sweet Corn Bisque
  • Shiner Pizza
urban an american grill
Shrimp And Avocado
Kobe Beef Hamburger
Sweet Corn Bisque
Shiner Pizza

urban an american grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Brunch
Austin
Best Restaurants in Northwest ›

good for groups (7)
great for brunch (6)
special occasion (5)
See All
great for lunch (3)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
fit for foodies (2)
kid-friendly (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
romantic (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
230 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant is a lovely place that i ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant is a lovely place that is generally pretty quiet. The service is excellent and the food is on the higher quality end for grills.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was awesome!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to urban for Mother's Day Brunch and thoroughly enjoyed it! There was something for everyone in our party - my mom (the picky eater), my fiance (who is low-carb'ing it) our 14 year old (carnivore!) and me (I'll eat pretty much anything). The service was fantastic, and there were chefs constantly patrolling the buffet to ensure everything was up to standards and stocked for the crowd. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing brunch selection.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Could have sworn the menu said ask for gluten free options. There was next to nothing gluten free, and I had 3 grandchildren who are all GF and dairy free. Asked the waiter who asked the chef. French toast was "made from scratch". Unfortunately, no one told us that would be in addition to the brunch cost. Three French toasts cost us $42, and the kids had to wait forever. But our waiter was the best. I'm only sorry I was so busy with hungry grandkids that I failed to get his name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Brunchy

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We went to Urban for brunch. The food was great and our waitress was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food not good

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

My wife's meatloaf was clearly several days old and really gross-tasting. To the server's credit, she took it off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Salmon and quinoa meal was amazing!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Salmon and quinoa meal was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

They did an amazing job accommodating my large (and very loud!) birthday party on a Saturday night! Thanks for the excellent service and for making my birthday extra fun!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very bland no contrast. Was sur ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was very bland no contrast. Was surprised that there is a fixed price menu and that was all for Valentine's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Sunday Brunch + Live Music

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Wonderful Sunday Brunch with appropriately mellow live guitar and vocal.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant had great service and gr ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

This restaurant had great service and great drinks - but the menu is limited and the food is a little weird to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

We (wife and I) went for New Year's Eve ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We (wife and I) went for New Year's Eve with a friend. There was a fixed menu and some seasonal cocktails. Ambience in the restaurant is nice. Low light and music, comfortable seating. It took a little while for us to get a server, the manager came by to get our drinks though. If you're not from Austin, beer menu would be good: just a few local staples on tap and a few more in bottles. They had a couple seasonal cocktails which my wife had and said were great. The server was a little flustered and had trouble with some of the menu items when he arrived. There were some foods someone asked to explain and he didn't know either. Other than these more "professional" things he was a nice guy and attentive. Main and appetizer courses were just ok. I had the roast chicken which was ok but nothing is write home about; overpriced I think for 30$. The others said the same about their main courses. Dessert was good, my wife enjoyed the cake slice we got. Appetizers were small and kind of expensive. Again nothing I'd write home about.

In summary service was a good effort. Drink list left something to be desired. Food was just okay and expensive. Would go back for happy hour maybe, not a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great service, too expensive for the portions

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went for new years eve, paid over $100 and had to go get a burger afterward. The porion are tiny. But the service was great and the restaurant itself is very pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Recommend with qualifications

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

This was my second visit to this restaurant. The first visit was several month ago for a team lunch. That experience was overall very pleasant. The most recent visit did not meet expectations.

After arriving at the restaurant the hostess greeted me and informed me that this meal, on Christmas day, was buffet only at a cost of $45 per adult. We had a party of 4 including my 4 year old daughter. After a little deliberation with my wife, we decided to take the table. There was no information regarding this limited menu in OpenTable. This would have helped in our decision-making process.

Service was a little slow for being pretty sparsely populated. There were seemingly plenty of servers moving around the main eating area.

The selection at the buffet was not kid-friendly at all. The vast majority of the foods were geared towards adults with a wider palate. The exception here was the omelet station where you could get a simple egg and cheese omelet.

Several of the foods on chafing dishes or under heat lamps were somewhat dry. I will concede that the dishes themselves were well-prepared including a pork loin, prime rib (dry), roasted turkey, and various sides and salads.

Overall I don't think the value was there for a Christmas dinner. I would have liked OpenTable to note the limited menu in the reservation process. Furthermore, I would have liked the quality of the food to be higher as well as more kid-friendly.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Christmas brunch

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

It was delicious...and a bargain! We will do it again next year if possible .

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A surprising urban find.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

The outside at first look like any other restaurant in the area. However, moment you walk in from the decor on the main floor to the kitchen... it left me whelmed. The quality of service was delightful and refreshingly pleasing reminder that good service still exist. The appetizer, calamari is highly underrated. One of the best calamari I've had in the area. The ribeye entree was absolutely amazing. A reminder that when it comes to steaks, Texas does it right. The taste was immaculate and sui. Every cut and piece was evenly cooked to my liking and flavorful. The drink selection is pretty much the only part of the menu you'll drop a pretty penny on but for special or any ocassion at best... it's worth it. Bottle pricing was worth it. Highly recommending this location. Side note: This place being attached to the Westin hotel. Can always check in to ensure your night is safe.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was OK server was OK restaurant bea ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 18, 2015

Food was OK server was OK restaurant beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Nothinge good to share about this place. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Nothinge good to share about this place. Too pricey for the experience. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Food was not good for the price and shou ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Food was not good for the price and should be $$$ instead of $$. We will not ever eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Great food. The scallops were great and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

Great food. The scallops were great and the meatloaf was good. The service was friendly and attentive. My wife and I visited for dinner around 6:30 and the place was pretty empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sunday brunch: while the entrees for bru ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Sunday brunch: while the entrees for brunch aren't terribly expensive ($13-$14), the menu is limited and the entrees do not come with any side items such as fruit or morning breads. They have a kids menu but it's not printed and they just read it to you so you don't know prices. We ordered a kids milk that turned out to to cost $4.50. Really???? Unfortunately for Urban, there are too many other places that offer brunch and provide more options and sides for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Belated Birthday Dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

I met with a couple of friends for a belated birthday dinner. They server was so friendly and checked up on us. We were having such a relaxed evening, that before we knew it we had closed the place down! We had been sitting there chatting for 5 hours. The staff was so sweet and never said a word to let us know that they had already closed. Poor things were waiting for us! I wish that had mentioned something because we really had lost track of the time, but they never complained and patiently waited for us to leave. I really appreciate that they gave us time to catch up. Food was very good and the atmosphere was conducive for a nice quiet time with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Mediocrity

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2015

The food was mediocre at best - meat with no sear, breading too thick, and nearly all food was bland. The service was fine, but nothing to rave about. The ambience is very nice, but I'd rather have good food than good ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Upscale without the up

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

I like to try new food venues. Being that the urban was in the Domain district I thought there might be something to it. I did not realize that this was the dining room attached to the Westin. We entered through the restaurant doors, separate from the main lobby doors. We were seated promptly, table for four. I had no problems placing a reservation, most times I wanted were all available, on a Friday evening. I had previewed the menu online prior to our arrival, but the online version contained slightly more than what was now offered. We all ordered either NY Strip or Ribeye. Online, it mentioned that this beef was aged. In house, there was no mention of the process. Entrees included the standard mashed potato, which were tasty, but no other version of potato was offered or available. Also included was one side, a good variety of seasonal vegetables. We had the honey roasted Brussel sprouts with toasted pecans. They were a little over roasted, crispy and somewhat dry. Others had asparagus and green beans which were satisfactory. No salad, no bread included or available and no Worchestershire sauce. We skipped dessert and headed to the local custard stand. Overall, the meal was acceptable but I am all about bang for the buck and for 4 meals, each over $30 a plate, I expected more than what was offered and presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great dining experience

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

We were a party of four ladies in town for a conference. Found this lovely spot and had the best time with each other and the staff was so so nice. Amazing food. Great wine. Would definitely come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for Mother's Day brunch and ever ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

We went for Mother's Day brunch and everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best birthday ever

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

Customer service was outstanding! I hosted my birthday dinner here and I have no regrets at all! They even gave me a birthday dinner desert, I was very impressed I will denfintley be going back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Disappointed

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

I usually enjoy dining at Urban, but Valentine's Day was a disaster.

When we arrived, the valet asked us if we were checking in or there for an event. Once I responded "dinner." He told me that the valet was full and that I could park across the street in the obviously FULL Macy's parking lot.

After finally finding parking several blocks away and joining my girlfriend for dinner, we were told that we could only order either the Price Fix menu or from the bar menu,

We left...very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Would've been better off at a Wendys

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Menu was extremely limited, entirely too long in between courses, seats uncomfortable, and only had my drink refilled once in an hour and a half. All of that for $177 = not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Vday meal was ok.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

The valentine four course meal was ok. Not great, not bad. Unfortunately that is not enough for me to recommend the restaurant. Maybe other items in the menu would impress me but may not get the opportunity to try them.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Prix fixe menu for Valentines Day.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Dined in the Urban Grill, dinner was a Prix fixe menu for Valentines Day. Food was tastelss. Very dissapointing. When I don't even finish my dessert, the food must be bad.

Service was good, but couldn't make up for the tasteless food. My wife and I didn't select any of the same courses, but we were both equally unhappy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Mediocre at best

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Went there on Valentine's Day and was thoroughly let down. Granted it was a special occasion, the service was awful. The food was poor. Very overpriced. Don't waste your time in Austin eating here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Menu change

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Expecting to have the normal menu, only a surprise menu was available with a forced price of 60$ a person.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Good for the Area

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 9, 2015

I go here a lot for breakfast when I stay at the hotel, the food is pretty good with their breakfast buffet, they will make anything else for you as well. They are very accommodating.I like my bacon extra crispy and the buffet usually isn't so I always request a side of it. The servers are hit or miss some are fantastic and others are so so. I wish that they had chicken and dumplings during breakfast. I haven't been able to try their dinner menu yet. Just the happy hour menu and in room service items. I would give this place a love it if the prices weren't so high for what you are getting, but I guess it is attached to the Westin so it can't be cheap. There is always parking in the parking lot though and they do offer valet.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Had lunch with two friends. We really en ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 3, 2015

Had lunch with two friends. We really enjoyed the food, and it was like being in someone's home. I had the scallops and grits, it was delicious. My friends had fish tacos, and kale salad with salmon.Both said the food was very good. We are going back for Brunch. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unexpected...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 23, 2015

My wife and I came to Urban to see if this would be a suitable place to have a baby shower. I expected a little bit nicer ambience and different layout but even still...it was okay. The service was pretty decent, the waitress was attentive, then again, this is located in the Westin hotel and it was barely 5, therefore not really busy. We initially wanted to try Urban because of a picture of an appetizer that intrigued my wife. The appetizer was a Shrimp and Avocado with Mango cocktail w/ cilantro line vinaigrette. Not bad, but this was something that any foodie can do at home. We then had the Pork Belly Carbonara, the Carbonara sauce was mediocre and I found the pork to be a bit dry and flavorless. This was supposed to be one of the better items on the menu. So, for the summary, place was nice atmosphere with mediocre and overpriced food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great Experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 20, 2015

Took a large group here for a dinner. When we arrived we were offered the private room, which was a very nice surprise.

The service was excellent and consistent throughout the meal. The food was very good.,

Would go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Underwhelming at best...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 16, 2015

After reading some reviews, I was excited to book a lunch meeting at Urban and give it a try. I was lucky enough to have a meeting with some people I know well as I was embarrassed at the level of service and the quality of food that we received. As this restaurant is located inside the Wesrin, I would have expected a better partner to the hotel. Disappointed at best, will not return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

New Year's Eve

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

This was a set menu for NYE......nicely done, attentive service, good food. Servings were a bit fast, felt a little rushed for a expensive evening out.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

I had Thanksgiving dinner there and it was wonderful. A five course, creative and tasty meal. It was so good I made reservations for Christmas. I was so disappointed! Only 2 "special" holiday meals, quail and beef wellington. So I ordered off the regular menu. I had salmon that really had no taste but it was a very fatty meal. It came on top of battered and deep fried green beans and a very rich risotto made out of quinoa. Too fatty and heavy. My husband ordered chicken and dumplings and it was more like a stewed chicken breast that had no flavor. If that was their regular menu then I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Want to go back to check out HH.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

First of all, I give this place some credit for being open on Christmas day. I had the beef wellington cooked perfect. I was a little worried when I found out the is place was attached to a hotel but the food was great and service was good. Four of our five plates came out together but the waiter Diego said my daughters pizza had the wrong ingredients and it will be two more minutes for the replacement. After around two minutes he brought out the pizza with the wrong ingredients for the table until the correct one was ready. The pizza had peporonni and garlic bulbs as part of the toppings, it was good. I'm glad they made a mistake. Overall it was a great experience, nice lounge area on the other side. Would like to see if they have any happy hour deals during the week. No kids menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.