Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

urban an american grill

3.8
268 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Great for Brunch
  • Business Meals
Urban, an American Grill, is located in the Westin at the Domain and serves a comforting menu highlighting local ingredients. Inspired by the flavors and spirits of Texas, our cuisine changes with the seasons but always includes favorites like Chef's signature meatloaf, crispy brussels sprouts , and our delicious wood fired pizzas. Our hand cut steaks are sourced locally from Cameron, Texas and include a delicious Filet Mignon, as well as a 14 oz. NY strip steak with all the fixings. In addition to our welcoming dining room, guests can experience our friendly service and outstanding value in our private wine room, our expansive private dining room, or outside on either of our two patios.....Join us for Comfort Food, reinvented.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 6:30am - 12:00pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(512) 490-1511
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have a private wine library for up to 20 guests, and a private dining room for parties up to 40.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Jessica Gralla: (512) 832-4197 ext. 6627
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering options available.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Esperanza
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet and on-site self park available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music in the lounge Tuesday through Friday and in the restaurant for brunch on Sundays
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We are hosting a special Valentines Day dinner with live music in the restaurant as well as a specialty menu to choose from. Chef has some delicious options available such as steamed PEI mussels, lobster bisque, port wine braised short rib, and a 8oz. Filet Mignon and lobster tail. We will be showcasing some amazing desserts including our marble chocolate cheesecake and chocolate fondue to end the night.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 268 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.8
food
4.3
service
3.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
67% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Exceptional breakfast buffet with coffee or tea, juice, all kinds of cooked eggs, pancake and French toast from their kitchen as well as a plethora of choice including smoke salmon, bacon, sausage, bagels, croissants, oatmeal, fresh fruit... on the buffet. Best deal in town for less then $20 a head.

The waitress was superb, kind, helpful and attentive. We couldn’t recommend it more highly.

If you are in the Domain area of Austin, urban is the breakfast choice. It is located inside of the Westin.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Venison/Boar meatloaf over cook but flavorful (green beans over cooked as well) - Luke warm, hamburger well done came out medium at best. Appetizer of chicken lollipops were described as being on skewers- not on bone. Bacon on both burgers undercooked. Service woman was nice but unseasoned at waiting tables.

On a good note - enjoyed the music we could hear coming from the bar. The hotel is beautiful. Manager and staff were friendly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

For $20/pp for brunch, I would’ve expected better. I’ve had much better for $20 or less elsewhere. The Bloody Mary was terrible. The biscuits were overdone, and the sausage was bland. Everything else was just okay. Nothing special or memorable. Definitely not worth the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We went for Vday and had a great time. Order off the special menu and we were impressed by how well everything was cooked. We'll definitely be back for a date night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine’s Day. Our server was wonderful, food was delicious,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Service was excellent! Live easy jazz music was a nice touch to the quiet relaxing evening atmosphere. Dessert was amazing!
Roses and chocolates for the ladies were definitely pluses on Valentine’s Day! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 25, 2018

We ate around 8 pm and there were few other patrons at this time. Service and food were what you expect from a nice hotel restaurant. The food was flavorful and well prepared. The wait staff was cheerful and attentive that made for a pleasant dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Wonderful staff and Christmas dinner experience. Thank you for serving dinner to our family during a holiday!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The food was delicious and the ambiance was nice. the wine selection good as well

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

We came to Urban for a birthday lunch and we and our teens all enjoyed our food. I've been dreaming of the brussel sprouts appetizer ever since....

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Food wasn't what we were expecting. Filet tasted good and was done to order but lacked the sauce it supposedly came with. "Blistered" heirloom tomatoes were cold fresh slices of not so ripe tomatoes. Server tried too hard and didn't know the difference between a le and a lemon. Too many great options in Austin to waste our time going back here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 2, 2017

They have a fantastic breakfast buffet. They make your eggs to order. Everything was delicious. $20 includes coffee/juice drinks. A bit pricey but not bad unless you get alcohol, then way too pricey. Two people 3 drinks $75 plus tip.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 19, 2017

The hostess did not speak English well. Not a big deal, we got a table just fine. Our waiter did not speak English well. This proves more difficult if you want to ask questions about the food or express an issue of some kind. My meal was bad. The server did not offer to fix it until it was time to sign my check, at which point we were running late and I didn't feel like dealing with the hassle. I won't return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent service good food, all

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 24, 2017

Lovely restaurant with a nice menu. Great service from changing the temperature when we found it too cold, to accommodating our request for separate checks to laughing when we switched seats. Good food and a pleasant dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

This is a FANTASTIC spot for Celiacs. Great attention and care is given to providing a GF experience. I am Celiac and not even a trace of gluten is ok for me. I have been here multiple times and never had an issue. Waitstaff is exceptional (thank you Diego!!) + chef and all support staff exceptional as well. It has never been busy/overwhelmed with people when I've been here which I find surprising--I selfishly am pleased that this spot is my hidden gem but will totally understand if the rest of Austin discovers it and swarms on over. I hesitate to even talk about how fantastic it is since I'd love to keep it all to myself. Had the Meat/Cheese Board+Bacon Gruyere Dip+Steak(Filet&NewYorkStrip)....Prepared & delivered as ordered, excellent quality and phenomenal flavors, preparation. Surprisingly, the value was A+. $30 steak here is equivalent to $60+ steak at top rated steakhouses in Austin (I've been to them all so yes,I know what I'm talking about!). Give them a try, I cannot imagine a scenario where you won't be thrilled.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2017

Restaurant was surprisingly completely empty on a Saturdat night, but the food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was amazing. Fresh shrimp, amazing crab claws, desserts galore, rib eye, ham, prime rib, eggs, and tons more. Probably one of the best brunches I've had in Austin.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2017

While we were a large party (9 people), we were one of only 3 occupied tables in the entire restaurant. The service was INCREDIBLY slow during the entire meal. It took upwards of 15 minutes for someone to bring our drink order to the table, for example. No one came to check on how our food was tasting after it was delivered. Well after we had all finished our meal, the waiter finally came back to see if we wanted dessert - which we did. It took over half an hour to get the 3 desserts brought to the table - supposedly because one of them included waffles and they had turned the waffle iron off earlier and needed to wait for it to reheat. I don't know about anyone else, but I don't buy that it takes 30 minutes to get a waffle iron hot enough to cook on. Likely because of sitting under a heat lamp forever, the brownie dessert we received was incredibly burned. In general, the food is just OK - definitely not worth the price.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 8, 2017

They just launched a new menu. Our food didn't come out timely. Service and taste were disappointing. We had a party of 8 and one person's food sat under the warmers for about 10 minutes before the rest of the food was ready. Once the plates got to us, over half of them were wrong in some manner or another. The food was greasy and lacked flavor. The restaurant only had about 4 other tables occupied, so not sure why it was so hard to get the orders correct and in a timely manner.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here for Valentine's Day dinner and we're seated promptly. That was the only good thing about our experience. The restaurant wasn't busy and our waitress had 2 tables and she wasn't attentive. Had to ask for refills and it took her over 15 min to grab sugar for my tea. She finally bought bread over 2 minutes before our food arrived. Our meal came out after waiting over an hour and my steak was ice cold. After sending it back, no manager or even our waitress apologized. It took over 2 hours in total. Definately not worth it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2017

This was a very bad experience. Waited 35 minutes for entrees, had to practically flag down waiter whenever we needed something, my salmon was undercooked, and I won't be back again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Took an hour and 45 minutes to get our food after ordering

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2017

The service here was awesome. The staff was very accommodating to my toddler and very patient with us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 16, 2017

The scallops were excellent. The kitchen was sensitive to allergies and adjusted as needed. At lunch the dining room was uncomfortably cold.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 25, 2016

Greasy under cooked scallops, twice!!
Tasteless guacamole and salsa, thoughtless presentation.
Chewy calamari that the breading fell off of.
Disgusting sangria.
The service and The Brussels sprouts were the highlight of our Christmas Day dinner.
This was strike 2 for this restaurant, they won't get a third attempt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2016

Great brunch ! Made the day start perfectly. The pancakes are to die for !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2016

I was really surprised to find this was part of the Westin Hotel. None the less, food was good the Brussels were excellent and the pizza crust on the margarita pizza was great

The place was very quiet and almost empty, but
Maybe that was because it was a rainy night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for the Christmas buffet last year and for Thanksgiving this year and was very happy both times.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 23, 2016

Breakfast Saturday and brunch Sunday. Good food, good value for hotel. Kitchen had difficulty keeping up both days with "rush"

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 15, 2016

This restaurant is a lovely place that is generally pretty quiet. The service is excellent and the food is on the higher quality end for grills.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to urban for Mother's Day Brunch and thoroughly enjoyed it! There was something for everyone in our party - my mom (the picky eater), my fiance (who is low-carb'ing it) our 14 year old (carnivore!) and me (I'll eat pretty much anything). The service was fantastic, and there were chefs constantly patrolling the buffet to ensure everything was up to standards and stocked for the crowd. We'll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Could have sworn the menu said ask for gluten free options. There was next to nothing gluten free, and I had 3 grandchildren who are all GF and dairy free. Asked the waiter who asked the chef. French toast was "made from scratch". Unfortunately, no one told us that would be in addition to the brunch cost. Three French toasts cost us $42, and the kids had to wait forever. But our waiter was the best. I'm only sorry I was so busy with hungry grandkids that I failed to get his name.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2016

We went to Urban for brunch. The food was great and our waitress was amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife's meatloaf was clearly several days old and really gross-tasting. To the server's credit, she took it off the bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2016

Salmon and quinoa meal was amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2016

They did an amazing job accommodating my large (and very loud!) birthday party on a Saturday night! Thanks for the excellent service and for making my birthday extra fun!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was very bland no contrast. Was surprised that there is a fixed price menu and that was all for Valentine's Day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2016

Wonderful Sunday Brunch with appropriately mellow live guitar and vocal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 9, 2016

This restaurant had great service and great drinks - but the menu is limited and the food is a little weird to me.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7