Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Uptown Kitchen

4.3
162 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

Dedicated to serving the freshest natural foods, everything at Uptown Kitchen in Granger, IN is made from scratch and from locally sourced ingredients. Proud to proclaim the kitchen free of deep frying gear, heat lamps and microwaves, it emphasizes the freshest and healthiest foods.

Menus at Uptown Kitchen include lunch, brunch and dinner options as well as a kid's menu, gluten-free choices and a fantastic dessert menu. The choices include build your own gourmet pizzas, fresh greens salads, fresh smoothies, sandwiches and the wildly popular all-day breakfasts. A visit to Uptown Kitchen is full of choices and all of them are healthy and of the highest quality possible.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Vegetarian, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Monday through Sunday 7am - 3pm.

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(574) 968-3030
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our semi-private dining room seats parties of up to 40 for special events. Our private dining room seats up to 12 people and has a flat screen TV with an A/V hook up.

We also host large parties in other areas of the restaurant upon request. Special menus are created for each event and we have a pastry chef to create specialty desserts for your occasion.



Food and beverage minimums apply. Please contact us for more information.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Nancy Nacci: (574) 386-4039
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Our specialty catering menu offers many healthy, made from scratch items that are available for full service catering both on and off site. Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus are available for your event, or we can customize a menu unique to your occasion. We also offer many Vegetarian and Gluten Free options.



Please contact Nancy Nacci at nnacci1@gmail.com.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Well lit parking lot off of Gumwood Road, directly West of Uptown Kitchen.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 162 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 26, 2016

Very convenient location and extensive menu of interesting choices with nice emphasis on organic. Popular and packed for weekend brunch. My omelet was flavorful but a bit dry. Friends loved their salad and salmon Benedict. Be prepared for a high noise level that makes conversation a challenge. Friendly, responsive service. Husband's food was good but not exceptional. Overall, food quality depends on what you order and how busy they are (based on multiple experiences). We'll go back -- we like to support local, non-chain restaurants that are good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 5, 2016

I love the options on the menu, and it tasted great, but unfortunately, it took far too long for out food to arrive - almost an hour. I had to leave early to make it to my graduation on time. Additionally, our table was not avaliable when we arrived, even though a reservation was made days in advance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2016

I love the half sandwich with soup. I asked for extra tapenade on my caprese sandwich which was so yummy it made my day. My sister lives in the area, but I always make sure to stop in when I'm there. It's my favorite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2016

Uptown Kitchen is one of our "Go To" places in the Michiana area. There are only a few places that serve "real food" and this is one of the best! It's great for Foodies who appreciate the benefits of eating good food as opposed to chemically enhanced food. We always have a great time there and they are great with our two young kids! I'd recommend it to anyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2016

Waitress and Chef very accommodating. Chef made a special meal for my daughter with gluten issues.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2016

We got held up at Notre Dame's graduation but the restaurant went above and beyond and held our reservation after we called. The brunch was then excellent as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Overall, a very good meal with a group of nine family members and friends. We made a reservation for 8:45 pm, but then received a call on the day of our reservation asking if we were having dinner or just drinks and stating that the kitchen normally closes at 8:45 pm. Why would a restaurant allow a reservation to be made at the same time the kitchen was closing? The kitchen stayed open for us, but our dishes and glasses were rushed off the table before we left the restaurant so that they could start the process of closing the restaurant. All is all, it was surprising for a high quality restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2016

There were ten of us and they put us in lovely back room! The food was great - highly recommend the huevos rancheros.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Great menu for Mother's Day!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is always excellent. They are happy to make changes to suit individual preferences or needs.
Very good Vegan options, great seafood and breakfast food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Busy day, of course, on Mother's day morning, but they handled it very well, no kinks in our service or our food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2016

Good service, efficient. Like the way the kitchen thinks about food... interesting takes on standard items and well prepared. Very well though beer menu. Only downside is the noise level can overwhelm quiet conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic service and always great food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2016

I liked the food at this restaurant. It was typical breakfast food and nothing overly spectacular, but still a great staple. I would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2016

Went to Uptown on a Sunday after church...very, Very crowded. Almost too crowded! Good for the restaurant, bad for patron! Service was friendly and much quicker than what we expected in all the chaos! I have been there on two other occasions when it was less busy and enjoyed the atmosphere. Sunday was my family's first time and it was loud, similar to being at a steakhouse on a Friday night!! Overall, my rather picky husband enjoyed the food. But we might try at a different hour. Maybe Uptown needs to open a second location!! Not enough restaurants with quality ingredients!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2016

I've been to Uptown Kitchen dozens of times for breakfast, brunch, and lunch. My book club decided to try it out for dinner. We went on a Saturday night. I was a little surprised that it wasn't more packed. About half of the restaurant was being used. Our server was great as usual ( I have had him before for brunch). The ambiance was energetic and fun, but not too loud. Great options for dinner for everyone (healthy, vegetarian, meat lovers, pizza, etc). My meal was delicious and my friends all said the same about their meals. The wine list was also great and there was a special on wine bottles! Great experience. We are glad it's open for dinner again and I will be going there again :)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 24, 2016

Uptown has struggled for nearly a year to execute even basic acceptable service. Inattentive staff stand around talking, inappropriately dressed (hostess staff), aren't checking food orders when they come out, and rare is the table touch after the food has arrived. The food is SO good that we keep coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. I have a hard time choosing between a couple dishes from breakfast and that is always a good thing. It feels like a treat when you go to Uptown Kitchen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was great and service was spot on! Very enjoyable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2016

Food is excellent and service was great! They have a wonderful selection of special items which are worth checking out. Eat there a couple times a month for brunch/lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 8, 2016

Good food with many options if you are on a restricted diet. The acoustics are not great so it can get loud during busy times, but it's a good casual spot for brunch/lunch. It seemed a little dead at dinner and even though the website claims breakfast is served all day, dinner is the exception.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 2, 2016

Brunch at Upton is excellent! Love the $5 Mimosas and Bloody Marys! The coffee is also wonderful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 26, 2015

We are avid and frequent lovers of Uptown, but the restaurant continues to struggle with competent attentive help. I don't offer this critique hastily -- as we've frequented Uptown for several years -- and the service since last spring (May) has been sub-par (even compared to Northern Indiana standards), to say the least.... Unless we've had Charles (young man with beard). He is ON it. Always. Maybe he could train the others - frequently. Just a thought...

The food keeps us coming back -- it is beyond delicious!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2015

Very good place to take someone from out of town. The food is amazing and it seems like they provided larger portions than in the past, maybe to fit in with the area?

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 7, 2015

Good lunch

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 14, 2015

Long wait, then very rude wait staff. The wait from ordering to serving was slow and the excessively tattooed maitre d was just flat out rude. Sorry I don't know her name nor do I want to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2015

Uptown Kitchen offers a consistently exceptional experience. Wonderful place to bring guests, warm, welcoming environment, great staff, delicious food, chefs who readily accommodate dietary exceptions. Our 'go-to' place for breakfast and brunch. Best Bloody Marys!
And we're very pleased to have dinners back at Uptown! Fantastic, quality beer and wine lists to go along with the great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2015

This was my second time dining for lunch and I will definitely be returning. The food and service was impeccable.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 1, 2015

over priced horrible service nothing nice to say about this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 11, 2015

We enjoyed a lovely brunch last Sunday. Their menu has a good variety of options. Portions are generous, the waitstaff were attentive and friendly. Next time we are in town, we'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2015

Great service, delicious and unique food choices, excellent coffee, reasonably priced!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 2, 2015

Met with bridal party both for lunch and brunch. Could not have chosen a better restaurant. Thanks for making the weekend extra special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 20, 2015

We've been long time fans of both Uptown Kitchen and The Mark Dine & Tap. The food is always unique and delicious and the service level is always excellent. There is enough variety for my vegetarian and "burgertarian" daughters to both find something they want. I also really appreciate the Gluten Free options. I've got family with Celiac's and its great to be able to go out with them when they are in town. My only wish is that the noise level could be muffled a bit. I understand that's part of the ambience that the owners had in mind, but I find it hard to have a conversation and for my parents who are a little hard of hearing, it's not a comfortable place to be.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 20, 2015

Not our first visit and won't be our last. Food was excellent and so was the service. Nice dining atmosphere. Have been here for breakfast brunch and dinner over the past few years. Great dining experiences. Like the alcoholic beverages offered at brunch😀

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 19, 2015

I stopped by with my family at 8:55pm. Yup, we were those people. And to make matters worse than showing up five minutes before the kitchen closed, the same staff was due in at 6am the next morning. No matter, Jen, the manager/host welcomed us and the kitchen prepared two exvellent steaks and tasty chicken with fettucine dish to my party. Our waitress, Ashley, could not have been more accomodating.
So impressed with the welcome we received despite being "those people" we came back for brunch the next day. I am so glad we did. Seated in the bar, we watched a very lively brunch seen with a mix of the young and hip and famiilies arriving from church. The Mimosa received high grades from my very discerning wife ( of course she has great taste she married me!) The Mediterranean Fritatta was the biggest hit at our table. Service was a little slow, but it was Sunday brunh so just relax and enjoy. I am sure if you were in a rush you they would be happy to accomodate you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2015

Our group of 4 were seated right away. Services was prompt and attentive. We all had brunch items but could have had lunch items becasue of the time of day. All the food was excellent. I had Marchaca and my only disappointment was the avocado was actually a puree. Also, bloody mary's were very tasty - just a little spicy.

Thank you Uptown Kitchen for a nice meal, good atmosphere and food to remember.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 6, 2015

Stopped in for breakfast on a Sunday morning the day after a ND football game. The food and service were excellent. GET AN OPENTABLE RESERVATION -- waiting room was packed on the way out at 9:30am. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 20, 2015

Another of the increasingly frequent glitches by Open Table. 9 hours after we checked in, still not credited to our account after checking with the hostess twice. More and more frequently, Open Table just cannot get things right the first time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 2, 2015

Food and service was great. I made reservations for 10am and was put in the childrens' area, which I really did not appreciate especially when there was plenty of room in the rest of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 26, 2015

The food is the main reason we go back every time. However, the atmosphere and service is great. No wonder there is always a line.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5