About Uptown Kitchen

7225 Heritage Square Dr
Granger, IN 46530
View Larger Map

Uptown Kitchen is a funky, urban restaurant that focuses on serving high quality, fresh, natural foods. Great selection of vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Unique bar that features an ever changing selection of craft beers, cocktails and an extensive wine list. Open for breakfast & lunch 7 days per week. Huge selection of house made desserts, specializing in layer cakes and cheesecakes. Reservations accepted for any meal, any day. Voted as best breakfast in Michiana. Great weekend brunch specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Vegetarian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:


Monday through Sunday 7am - 3pm.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(574) 968-3030

Website:
http://theuptownkitchen.com/

Catering:
Our specialty catering menu offers many healthy, made from scratch items that are available for full service catering both on and off site. Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus are available for your event, or we can customize a menu unique to your occasion. We also offer many Vegetarian and Gluten Free options.



Please contact Nancy Nacci at nnacci1@gmail.com.

Parking Details:
Well lit parking lot off of Gumwood Road, directly West of Uptown Kitchen.

Private Party Facilities:
Our semi-private dining room seats parties of up to 40 for special events. Our private dining room seats up to 12 people and has a flat screen TV with an A/V hook up.

We also host large parties in other areas of the restaurant upon request. Special menus are created for each event and we have a pastry chef to create specialty desserts for your occasion.



Food and beverage minimums apply. Please contact us for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Nancy Nacci: 5743864039x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Uptown Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Indiana
Kid Friendly
Indiana
Contemporary American
Indiana
6 More
Best Overall
South Bend
Best Food
South Bend
Best Service
South Bend
Best Ambiance
South Bend
Best Value
South Bend
Most Booked
South Bend
Best Restaurants in Granger ›

great for brunch (36)
fit for foodies (29)
good for groups (22)
See All
great for lunch (21)
kid-friendly (18)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for outdoor dining (10)
special occasion (10)
hot spot (6)
notable wine list (6)
romantic (2)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We got held up at Notre Dame's graduatio ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We got held up at Notre Dame's graduation but the restaurant went above and beyond and held our reservation after we called. The brunch was then excellent as well.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, a very good meal with a group o ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall, a very good meal with a group of nine family members and friends. We made a reservation for 8:45 pm, but then received a call on the day of our reservation asking if we were having dinner or just drinks and stating that the kitchen normally closes at 8:45 pm. Why would a restaurant allow a reservation to be made at the same time the kitchen was closing? The kitchen stayed open for us, but our dishes and glasses were rushed off the table before we left the restaurant so that they could start the process of closing the restaurant. All is all, it was surprising for a high quality restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were ten of us and they put us in ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

There were ten of us and they put us in lovely back room! The food was great - highly recommend the huevos rancheros.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu for Mother's Day!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great menu for Mother's Day!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is always excellent. They are happy to make changes to suit individual preferences or needs. Very good Vegan options, great seafood and breakfast food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very organized

Dined on May 8, 2016

Busy day, of course, on Mother's day morning, but they handled it very well, no kinks in our service or our food and drinks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, Well reasoned beer menu

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Good service, efficient. Like the way the kitchen thinks about food... interesting takes on standard items and well prepared. Very well though beer menu. Only downside is the noise level can overwhelm quiet conversation.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and always great food.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic service and always great food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Food & Friendly Staff

Dined on March 6, 2016

Went to Uptown on a Sunday after church...very, Very crowded. Almost too crowded! Good for the restaurant, bad for patron! Service was friendly and much quicker than what we expected in all the chaos! I have been there on two other occasions when it was less busy and enjoyed the atmosphere. Sunday was my family's first time and it was loud, similar to being at a steakhouse on a Friday night!! Overall, my rather picky husband enjoyed the food. But we might try at a different hour. Maybe Uptown needs to open a second location!! Not enough restaurants with quality ingredients!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not just a brunch spot anymore!

Dined on March 6, 2016

I've been to Uptown Kitchen dozens of times for breakfast, brunch, and lunch. My book club decided to try it out for dinner. We went on a Saturday night. I was a little surprised that it wasn't more packed. About half of the restaurant was being used. Our server was great as usual ( I have had him before for brunch). The ambiance was energetic and fun, but not too loud. Great options for dinner for everyone (healthy, vegetarian, meat lovers, pizza, etc). My meal was delicious and my friends all said the same about their meals. The wine list was also great and there was a special on wine bottles! Great experience. We are glad it's open for dinner again and I will be going there again :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Service continues to be an issue

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Uptown has struggled for nearly a year to execute even basic acceptable service. Inattentive staff stand around talking, inappropriately dressed (hostess staff), aren't checking food orders when they come out, and rare is the table touch after the food has arrived. The food is SO good that we keep coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A must visit for breakfast in the area

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. I have a hard time choosing between a couple dishes from breakfast and that is always a good thing. It feels like a treat when you go to Uptown Kitchen.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and service was spot on! ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was great and service was spot on! Very enjoyable!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is excellent and service was great! ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

Food is excellent and service was great! They have a wonderful selection of special items which are worth checking out. Eat there a couple times a month for brunch/lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great for lunch and brunch, but skip dinner

Dined on January 8, 2016

Good food with many options if you are on a restricted diet. The acoustics are not great so it can get loud during busy times, but it's a good casual spot for brunch/lunch. It seemed a little dead at dinner and even though the website claims breakfast is served all day, dinner is the exception.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious Brunch!

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Brunch at Upton is excellent! Love the $5 Mimosas and Bloody Marys! The coffee is also wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

Continues to struggle with adequate help

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

We are avid and frequent lovers of Uptown, but the restaurant continues to struggle with competent attentive help. I don't offer this critique hastily -- as we've frequented Uptown for several years -- and the service since last spring (May) has been sub-par (even compared to Northern Indiana standards), to say the least.... Unless we've had Charles (young man with beard). He is ON it. Always. Maybe he could train the others - frequently. Just a thought... The food keeps us coming back -- it is beyond delicious!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for breakfast in Michiana

Dined on December 24, 2015

Very good place to take someone from out of town. The food is amazing and it seems like they provided larger portions than in the past, maybe to fit in with the area?

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Good lunch

vip
Dined on December 7, 2015

Good lunch

food3
ambience1
service1

Very rude wait staff.

Dined on November 15, 2015

Long wait, then very rude wait staff. The wait from ordering to serving was slow and the excessively tattooed maitre d was just flat out rude. Sorry I don't know her name nor do I want to.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently exceptional!

Dined on November 14, 2015

Uptown Kitchen offers a consistently exceptional experience. Wonderful place to bring guests, warm, welcoming environment, great staff, delicious food, chefs who readily accommodate dietary exceptions. Our 'go-to' place for breakfast and brunch. Best Bloody Marys! And we're very pleased to have dinners back at Uptown! Fantastic, quality beer and wine lists to go along with the great food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Will be back!

Dined on November 12, 2015

This was my second time dining for lunch and I will definitely be returning. The food and service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1

most likley the worse resturant in the area.

Dined on November 1, 2015

over priced horrible service nothing nice to say about this place.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great Find

Dined on October 11, 2015

We enjoyed a lovely brunch last Sunday. Their menu has a good variety of options. Portions are generous, the waitstaff were attentive and friendly. Next time we are in town, we'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an exceptional experience

Dined on October 4, 2015

Great service, delicious and unique food choices, excellent coffee, reasonably priced!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Bridal Party Brunch and Lunch

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

Met with bridal party both for lunch and brunch. Could not have chosen a better restaurant. Thanks for making the weekend extra special.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

We've been long time fans of both Uptown ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

We've been long time fans of both Uptown Kitchen and The Mark Dine & Tap. The food is always unique and delicious and the service level is always excellent. There is enough variety for my vegetarian and "burgertarian" daughters to both find something they want. I also really appreciate the Gluten Free options. I've got family with Celiac's and its great to be able to go out with them when they are in town. My only wish is that the noise level could be muffled a bit. I understand that's part of the ambience that the owners had in mind, but I find it hard to have a conversation and for my parents who are a little hard of hearing, it's not a comfortable place to be.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great service!

Dined on September 20, 2015

Not our first visit and won't be our last. Food was excellent and so was the service. Nice dining atmosphere. Have been here for breakfast brunch and dinner over the past few years. Great dining experiences. Like the alcoholic beverages offered at brunch😀

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service3

Fun Place, Good Food, Great People

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

I stopped by with my family at 8:55pm. Yup, we were those people. And to make matters worse than showing up five minutes before the kitchen closed, the same staff was due in at 6am the next morning. No matter, Jen, the manager/host welcomed us and the kitchen prepared two exvellent steaks and tasty chicken with fettucine dish to my party. Our waitress, Ashley, could not have been more accomodating. So impressed with the welcome we received despite being "those people" we came back for brunch the next day. I am so glad we did. Seated in the bar, we watched a very lively brunch seen with a mix of the young and hip and famiilies arriving from church. The Mimosa received high grades from my very discerning wife ( of course she has great taste she married me!) The Mediterranean Fritatta was the biggest hit at our table. Service was a little slow, but it was Sunday brunh so just relax and enjoy. I am sure if you were in a rush you they would be happy to accomodate you.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Give it a try - you might like ti.

Dined on September 6, 2015

Our group of 4 were seated right away. Services was prompt and attentive. We all had brunch items but could have had lunch items becasue of the time of day. All the food was excellent. I had Marchaca and my only disappointment was the avocado was actually a puree. Also, bloody mary's were very tasty - just a little spicy. Thank you Uptown Kitchen for a nice meal, good atmosphere and food to remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Sunday breakfast

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

Stopped in for breakfast on a Sunday morning the day after a ND football game. The food and service were excellent. GET AN OPENTABLE RESERVATION -- waiting room was packed on the way out at 9:30am. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5

Another of the increasingly frequent gli ...

vip
Dined on August 20, 2015

Another of the increasingly frequent glitches by Open Table. 9 hours after we checked in, still not credited to our account after checking with the hostess twice. More and more frequently, Open Table just cannot get things right the first time.

food4
ambience1
service4

Elkhart diners

Dined on August 2, 2015

Food and service was great. I made reservations for 10am and was put in the childrens' area, which I really did not appreciate especially when there was plenty of room in the rest of the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

great food as always

Dined on July 26, 2015

The food is the main reason we go back every time. However, the atmosphere and service is great. No wonder there is always a line.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot to meet with friends and fami ...

Dined on July 19, 2015

Great spot to meet with friends and family. Fast, friendly service; great menu selection - both food and beer!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Service & Food

Dined on June 21, 2015

We have been to Uptown Kitchen several times now and the service & food is always excellent! Friendly, prompted service. Glad my friend introduced us to this place! 😊

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Excellent Service for a casual corporate brunch

Dined on June 7, 2015

We had a large group of 14 people, visiting for a corporate event in Mishawaka, IN. We were able to reserve a table. The staff was able to seat us fairly quickly on a busy Sunday morning. Many in our group did not speak English and the server did very well in helping the interrupter translate the groups request. Some in the group requested items that were not on the menu and the server was able to suggest "Like" items to the satisfaction of the guest. Thank you for the excellent services.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Virginia

Dined on May 10, 2015

As always when eating at Uptown Kitchen it's everything a foodie could want and so much more. The attention to details are everywhere in the ambiance and most especially the FOOD! The coffee is sublime, the OJ outstanding and the breakfast meats are top! Try the Chicken Sausage - you wont want any other breakfast meat.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service1

Terrible service

Dined on April 26, 2015

I will never come back here. The food was nothing special, and the service was horrendous. I know there is a stereotype that college kids don't tip well, but if you provide poor service, you're just adding to a vicious cycle. I will give you a 20% tip if service is ranging from fantastic to above par. This service was terrible. The waitress appeared cold and disinterested, waiting to other tables more frequently than ours. I spilled a glass of orange juice all over the table. Nobody noticed, so I had to grab a towel from the bar to clean it up by myself. I left the empty glass and wet rag on the table and it was never picked up. The waitress did not first offer to bring the tea selection box to our table when we ordered tea, instead expecting us to know what tea the restaurant had. When we asked what types of tea they had, she simu replied, "Well, a lot, what kind do you want?" expecting us to know the varieties, even though we had never been there. We waited 20 minutes to get glasses of water. The waitress hardly asked us if we needed anything throughout the meal. I was looking forward to brunch here, as I had heard great things from friends. I regret to say that I was unimpressed and will certainly not return. This is a hot spot for ND kids on the weekends. PLEASE treat us like your other customers. I promise not all college kids are poor tippers.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty

Dined on April 26, 2015

great experience for breakfast with our 1 year old. The food was very good as always. This is definitely a place we like to frequent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.