About UPSTAIRS 2

2311 Cotner Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90064
View Larger Map

Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar, Los Angeles, is pleased to announce that we've won a 2014 OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award for Top 100 Wine List. Determined by more than 5 million reviews submitted by verified OpenTable diners over the last year, the Top Wine List honorees each bested more than 15,000 restaurants.
"Our passion at Upstairs 2 is to provide our guests the best dining experience possible. We are always changing our food and wine pairings to keep the restaurant exciting to both new and repeat guests. We offer 40 wines by the glass on our ever- evolving wine list."says Sommelier Marilyn Snee
Thanks to all the diners who have helped Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar earn this accolade in the U.S. and in Los Angeles. Be sure to reserve in advance, now that the word is out. Your table is waiting!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
staff@upstairs2.com

Cross Street:
Tennessee & 405 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 231-0316

Website:
http://www.upstairs2.com/

Catering:
UPSTAIRS 2 has been providing catering services for groups from 4 to 1000. Service can be provided to your home or other locations. The menus are customized to your taste. Few caterers talk about their ability to provide the correct pairing of wine and food so that your wedding, anniversary, birthday or special event is the hit that you expected. UPSTAIRS 2 also has a program for corporate lunches.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the roof where the restaurant is located. Street parking is generally available.

Public Transit:
Upstairs 2 is a 5-10 minute walk from the new Expo/Sepulveda station. Be kind to the environment and be safe! Use the Metro Expo Line to attend our classes, fests, or when dining at Upstairs 2 Wine Bar & Restaurant. The Wine House is a 36 min Metro ride from Downtown LA or 10 min Metro ride from Downtown Santa Monica.

Executive Chef:
Maiki Le

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Start planning your Graduation Party, Summer BBQ, Bar Mitzvah, birthday celebration, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or special event with Upstairs 2.
Our restaurant and special event room can be used for parties, off site meetings,luncheons and more. We are a full service caterer
and can come to your home or business.
email us at staff@upstairs2.com or call us at 310-231-0316

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In a chic space above the famous Wine House, we offer diners a unique perspective rarely experienced at other restaurants – one in which the selection of wine and its marriage to food comes first and foremost. We welcome you to join us in our delicious culinary and viti-cultural mission!

UPSTAIRS 2 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (26)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (7)
Tapas (7)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Authentic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife have eaten at Upstairs 2 many ti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife have eaten at Upstairs 2 many times and have never been disappointed by the food, service or wine pairing. There is a buzz but it's easy to carry on a conversation. Their Dine LA menu was excellent with many choices. wee will certainly dine there many times in the future.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We used the Dine LA menu. Most dishes we ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We used the Dine LA menu. Most dishes were very good, however the steak was not tender and the mashed potatoes were very watery and lacked taste. Mashed potatoes are easy and these were not as good as some instant brands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic spot! Innovative fabulous food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic spot! Innovative fabulous food! A must try.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great treat. It was Dine LA ni ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great treat. It was Dine LA night, but it's one of our favorite in WLA....and relaxing night out without kids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

A great place for the chef's menu with w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A great place for the chef's menu with wine pairing. The food and wines went together so well and it was a great chance to try different wines to have with the great food. Cozy and warm atmosphere! An enjoyable evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was excellent; the service too. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was excellent; the service too. We plan to return

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our favorites. Food is al ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is one of our favorites. Food is always great, and it's quiet. Not a fancy room but pleasant enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Notable Wine List, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The perfect spot for dinner with friends ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The perfect spot for dinner with friends. The wine pairing suggestions are beyond! The steak and duck were amazing! Mary and Maiki are a great team. I left my credit card with my bill, and they accomodated me the next day, and let me come when they were closed. So special!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for NYE dinner. 4 course for $79. O ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE dinner. 4 course for $79. Overall just ok. Nothing spectacular. Definitely more locals come here so service seemed best for regulars, not new comers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent as always. Does not disappoint ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always. Does not disappoint. Good for any dinner out and special occasions.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is fantastic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I love this place. The food is fantastic and the wine pairings are sublime. Marilyn Snee, the somm, is the single most knowledgable wine professional I have ever met. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They put a lot of thought into their foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They put a lot of thought into their food and wine menus and the food is overall very good. But the room decor is dated and the ambiance lacking. And the diners are 75% seniors. The room needs a total maeover which would probably increase business and lead to a more diverse clientele.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

It's really not worth the price but if y ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It's really not worth the price but if you like a romantic setting this is good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Unique opportunity to experience interes ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Unique opportunity to experience interesting, outstanding wines. Great, friendly and knowledgeable som.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. We joked with ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I love this restaurant. We joked with our server that we would be spending time catching up. They paced our choices extremely well so that we could have a leisurely dinner. Also the noise level is perfect. Such a welcome! The food was exceptional. I will be back- frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The speciality for a December is goose. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The speciality for a December is goose. I usually find the quite fatty but the preparation was excellent and quite lean. There is always excellent help with the wine and it can be purchased downstairs at the wine shop. The noise was minimal and we could actually hear each other. The excell not menu changes often. Highly recommended.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love! I finally found a L.A. restaurant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love! I finally found a L.A. restaurant with great food and an ambiance where you can hear your dinner partner. And parking without valet! I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So good to go to a restaurant where not ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

So good to go to a restaurant where not only the food is wonderful, you can also hear the conversations.

The fried chicken boa is wonderful.

For the holiday the chef prepared roast goose, what a treat.

Of course the wine list is exemplary.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Right-sized portions; amazing mouth wate ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Right-sized portions; amazing mouth watering food; excellent wines; attentive and friendly staff. Definitely a hidden gem. Worth the drive!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful as usual. Sean wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was wonderful as usual. Sean was our waiter and remembered us from our first visit months ago. We love this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for the special Roast Goose menu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We went for the special Roast Goose menu + wine pairing -- fabulous! Every bite was great... as always, the sommelier recommended just the right wine for each individual palate! Will be returning soon....

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tapas, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Even tho this is our go-to gem, we were ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Even tho this is our go-to gem, we were once again surprised with some of the oft changed menu items. So we tried the chicken pot pie, which was full of chicken and flavorful. Tho a little smaller than expected, it certainly was more than enough. We also had the goose, added for the holiday season, which was superbly cooked.....moist and tender! Holiday additions and delicious!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great unassuming spot. Menu options were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great unassuming spot. Menu options were delightful and everything we ordered was delicious. Wine list is very comprehensive and the staff was quite knowledgable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were frequent diners when the previou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We were frequent diners when the previous chef was there. Upstairs 2 was one of our favorite places to take friends who like to share delicious, high quality small plates and drink interesting wine at reasonable prices. It also has a full bar and a comfortable, relatively quiet atmosphere which is great for conversation with your friends. Marilyn, the sommelier, knows her wine pairings and if you want, you can just leave it to her and you'll be very happy. So when the former chef left and the menu was ever so slightly re-tooled, we were afraid we'd lost our favorite place to hang and didn't visit for a while. Finally tried the new chef and are we happy we did. Another great meal with friends, slightly different, but just as good. Started with sparkling wine and dates, which were so good we ordered more. The ahi tuna crudo was enough to share, but so good we all wished we'd ordered our own. Our guests were enthralled with the tarte flambé. Then we shared fried chicken baos, ny steak and a tomato mozzarella flatbread, each thing tasting even better than it appeared on the menu. This chef definitely knows how to combine quality ingredients. Brava! We finished with the best ice cream I can remember tasting anywhere. Can't wait to try other items next time back, which will be soon, I promise. Upstairs 2 is still #1!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and lovely atmosphere. A ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Incredible food and lovely atmosphere. An unusual location but what a treat. Best meal I have had in a long time and fabulous wine selection. Can't say enough good things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, timely, and you can ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was delicious, timely, and you can HEAR your dining companion. Perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even with recent changes in menu and che ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Even with recent changes in menu and chef (to which apparently some people have had a problem dealing with), this restaurant continues to be one of our favorites. The Thanksgiving meal was superb in every way, and the service, as usual, was top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our family Thanksgiving meal. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our family Thanksgiving meal. It was really good. Traditional options as well as other options for great price. Kids and adults had a great time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We've been here 3 other times and this t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We've been here 3 other times and this time there was a difference in the food taste. Menu changed a bit, but some of the items that weren't changed and we had them, not as good. My understanding is the Chef changed. Not too anxious to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The food is very good, but the wine is f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is very good, but the wine is fantastic. They put great effort into making sure that you have a wine you like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Every time I come here, the food is exc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Every time I come here, the food is excellent. Highly recommend the venison.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Upstairs 2. Eclectic menu and out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love Upstairs 2. Eclectic menu and outstanding wine selections, which of course, one would expect from the restaurant upstairs from the Wine Store. It's hard to find a place these days where you can feel "away." At Upstairs 2, I feel like I have escaped somewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars at this restaurant and a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We are regulars at this restaurant and are never diappointed. They now have entries and small plated. All excellent. The streak is great and the lamb chop cooked to perfection.

Tags: Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and waitperson service excellent bu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and waitperson service excellent but the kitchen continues to be EXTREMELY slow in getting courses out! This has been the case for our last two visits! In the future if and when we come to this eatery..it will be early in evening; hopefully kitchen staff will not be as ovewhelmed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Upstairs 2 is my home away from home. T ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Upstairs 2 is my home away from home. The staff is warm, welcoming and professional with great eye to detail.

What I love most about the place is that it is a wine-centric restaurant. On the menu wines are divided by characteristics, "soft and aromatic reds", for example, and the menu items are matched to them, making it easy to pair wines with dinner.

If you're still stuck, sommelier, Marilyn Snee, is one of the most knowledgeable around, and can guide you to the right choice.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A small space , very noisy.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A small space , very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

We very much enjoyed our dining experien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dining experience, which was shared with friends, and would highly recommend Upstairs 2 to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

New. Menu but same quality.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

New. Menu but same quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very enjoyable event dinner trying diffe ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very enjoyable event dinner trying different wines with each small plate course. Nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite place to go. Great staff, g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our favorite place to go. Great staff, great food, great drinks, and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.