About UPSTAIRS 2

2311 Cotner Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90064
View Larger Map

Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar, Los Angeles, is pleased to announce that we've won a 2014 OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award for Top 100 Wine List. Determined by more than 5 million reviews submitted by verified OpenTable diners over the last year, the Top Wine List honorees each bested more than 15,000 restaurants.
"Our passion at Upstairs 2 is to provide our guests the best dining experience possible. We are always changing our food and wine pairings to keep the restaurant exciting to both new and repeat guests.We offer 40 wines by the glass on our ever- evolving wine list."says Sommelier Marilyn Snee
Thanks to all the diners who have helped Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar earn this accolade in the U.S. and in Los Angeles. Be sure to reserve in advance, now that the word is out. Your table is waiting!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tennessee & 405 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 231-0316

Website:
http://www.upstairs2.com/

Catering:
UPSTAIRS 2 has been providing catering services for groups from 4 to 1000. Service can be provided to your home or other locations. The menus are customized to your taste. Few caterers talk about their ability to provide the correct pairing of wine and food so that your wedding, anniversary, birthday or special event is the hit that you expected. UPSTAIRS 2 also has a program for corporate lunches.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the roof where the restaurant is located. Street parking is generally available.

Executive Chef:
~

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Chef's Whim

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Free Parking

Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Chef's Whim

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Every Thursday Upstairs 2 offers a special menu. The 3-course prix fixe Chef's Whim was created to take advantage of market specials and pass the savings on to our customers. Chef's Whim is priced at $25.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Limited Availability, No Substitutions. Special valid Mar 24, 2016 - May 31, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 10:00 PM.
Free Parking

Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Our parking lot is located adjacent to the restaurant. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Includes three full glasses of wine paired with first three courses. Special valid May 5, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 on Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In a chic space above the famous Wine House, we offer diners a unique perspective rarely experienced at other restaurants – one in which the selection of wine and its marriage to food comes first and foremost. We welcome you to join us in our delicious culinary and viti-cultural mission!

UPSTAIRS 2 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Los Angeles
Best Value
Westside
Fit for Foodies
Westside
2 More
Contemporary American
Westside
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Westside
Best Restaurants in West Los Angeles ›

notable wine list (88)
fit for foodies (78)
neighborhood gem (59)
See All
special occasion (47)
romantic (30)
good for groups (28)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!! Will definitely return soo ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Great place!! Will definitely return soon for wine pairing dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent choices for small and larger p ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent choices for small and larger plates. Have been before and will go again.

food4
ambience4
service5

I liked this place a lot the first time ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I liked this place a lot the first time around. I thought the food was not as good this visit but still overall enjoyable. We did the wine pairing dinner and I thought the pairing for the first choice was not good. The third course was excellent as was the dessert. Service is very attentive and friendly. I would definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food outstanding service def ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Exceptional food outstanding service definitely one of the best kept secrets in LA. Make the trip and enjoy dinner there you won't be disappointed

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food & Wine Pairings Fantastic

Dined on May 8, 2016

I discovered this place because I shop for wine downstairs at The Wine House, which blows Wally's (or any other westside "boutique" wine store) out of the water. Upstairs 2 has great food and the menu suggests wine pairings with the dishes, which are spot on. Marilyn Snee, the sommelier, is one of the top 5 somms in LA. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific Food, Value and Service

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Mother's Day Brunch here last year and decided to return. Our 2 pm brunch had terrific food and wine and the servers, even though they had been there since 10 am and had a hectic day with mothers, families and lots of small children, were upbeat and cheerful. Marilyn was terrific and kept everything moving smoothly. Creative food (but not too wacky that Mom won't like it), service and wine never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

lovegoodfood

Dined on April 29, 2016

A great evening with managers group from work celebrating promotions and good food. The food with wine pairings was perfect - a most wonderful time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Pleasant surprise

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I had not eaten at Upstairs 2 for years (other than special events), I found the food much better than I remembered it, really quite good, and incredibly reasonably priced for the west side. The tasting menus were especially well priced. The Corkage fee at $15 was also reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great as always.

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Upstairs 2 is one of our favorite restaurants. Consistently great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the wine here

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

These guys know wine. It's refreshing to go to a restaurant that prides the wine as much as the food. Love that the menu is divided up by wine and the servers are very knowledgeable about it. We also love that it's priced lower than comparable places in LA and the parking is a dream.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Upstairs 2 for Date Night

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our server, Morgan, anticipated our needs/wants and exceeded expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not noisy for a change!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Upstairs 2 provides a sophisticated , well priced menu and wine list in a lovely calm atmosphere. In other words one can actually hold a conversation and not be deafened by music and noise. This is a rare combination in Los Angeles these days !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small Plates Gem

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. If you are a small plates person and like to taste lots of different dishes this is the place. The Foie Gras is the best in town. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The wine is superb. Great place to go out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Upstairs 2 - a neighborhood surprise

Dined on March 12, 2016

We have been shopping at the Wine House for years and occasionally have been upstairs for some events. But we were so positively and deliciously surprised to LOVE their fixed price dinner last Friday with our friends. Each course was delicious and the value was superb, especially considering they included wine pairing with each course. So it is not the glam hot spot, but for those of us who value great food, wine, good service and conversation above glitz we will absolutely return soon for another great meal! We appreciate the chef, staff and overall high standards of Upstairs 2. So I say to my West Los Angeles neighbors, try it and let's encourage them to keep this neighborhood jewel!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The boneless beef ribs are delicious! Hi ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The boneless beef ribs are delicious! Highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Food is Amazingly Good

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We love the scallops. Also, the Moroccan chicken is an absolute standout. Really enjoyed the beet salad. The mushroom soup is to die for. The Branzino was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We love the food here!!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The scallops and lamb chops are excellent!! So is yellow beet salad

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Different and good

Dined on February 25, 2016

Sitting atop a wine store, Upstairs2, is a good place to sample different wines. They serve varying sized pours so even "light" drinkers can sample a couple of varieties. Menu consists of a variety of small to medium plates so you can have different dishes to pair with wine. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We love Upstairs 2. Food is always good ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We love Upstairs 2. Food is always good as is the wine.

food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great Neighborhood Find

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Upstairs 2 was an exciting food experience.The wine list is one of the best in LA. The menu coordinates the perfect wine with each food selection.I found that the service was fair. The food was a pleasant surprise as we ate each course. The lobster roll is a winner, the crispy eggplant is terrific, and the New York Strip was perfect. This restaurant should be on the top of your dining list!! Enjoy and raise a glass to your choice of every wine pairing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really Great Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoyed the ambiance and the food for Upstairs2. The wine list was extensive and was presented very well with pairings for food items on the menu. Definitely would come again and recommend to foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Dined on Feb 13, 2016

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was an outstanding server. He was excellent with suggestions and provided the right amount of attentiveness (not too much, not too little). The food was well prepared in terms of temperature, technique and execution. Flavors and textures were paired thoughtfully. The wine list is well curated, and you can find something which works for any budget and with any dish. A little "undercover," but a true gem in the neighborhood. We shall return...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good every time.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food is delicious. The sommelier is very knowledgeable and fun. Love the menu with wine selections already paired with food selections to make it easier to choose.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great!

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Was not sure what to expect, as it was speculative visit and the external look was not that enticing, but the experience was great, warm welcome and efficient, the service and food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their prix fixe menus are always interes ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Their prix fixe menus are always interesting and this one for dineLA was no exception. Great for a quiet, relaxing dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasting menu is always creative and deli ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Tasting menu is always creative and delicious. Marilyn and Shawn always make each meal amazing with their pairings and recommendations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's the Top!

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

Upstairs 2 is perfect in every way, never disappoints, and boasts the always charming sommelier Marilyn Snee and the culinary genius of Chef Todd Barrie. The Dine LA menu was exceptional and the wine flight inspired. To enjoy again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

not that impressed

Dined on January 28, 2016

not the restaurant of my prior experience when opened. when there before the food, all of what everyone had was amazing. I returned wanting to bring my family for my birthday. we were seated & it was 15-20 min before any one even came to the table, this was a WED night. The server was pretty uninterested in the process really, no energy & it all lacked. The truffle salad, shrimp & lobster salad were just mediocre in taste, not even what I had expected. one person had the beef prefix & said it was very good but I did not try it. the bread pudding was so so & I am not even that picky of an eater. this was all really a disappointment. my feeling, menu has gotten to big, no food can be excellent with a chef processing so many food types. past, small menu & excellent. I wont return to this restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Well worth a trip... or two or three!

Dined on January 28, 2016

I'd been there before, but this most recent time was the best yet. Clearly the kitchen, which was good in the past, has stepped up a notch or two more. And the wine pairings are wonderful, introducing me to all sorts of gems.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Too much sauce

Dined on January 28, 2016

I just felt the flavors were very strong and overpowered the eating experience. Mainly the Tri-tip dish was saturated in the sauce that I couldn't taste the meat. I didn't eat it, took it home to get rid of the sauce. The waitress didn't come by to see how we liked our food. Lastly some employee came to some customers (manager? Wine expert?) and she spoke so loudly we couldn't have a conversation without practically yelling. Some blonde woman with a leopard jacket. Not the best experience. It wasn't that busy to excuse the poor service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely, well appointed and delicious

Dined on January 24, 2016

Upstairs2 is well appointed and comfortable, but it's not stuffy. The food is delicious and creative. There were many items for vegetarians which is my dining preference. The wine list is compelling and is reasonable given the depth of single serve offerings. We like that Upstairs2 offers the diner more than one size of wine glass to choose from. The regular food list is organized around suggested wine pairings and it's enjoyable to read the pairings besides that they are helpful. Our server, Morgan, was efficient, knowledgable, helpful and very pleasant. We plan to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first, and I hope not last, ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

This was our first, and I hope not last, visit. Our server, Morgan, was outstanding. We passed on the Restaurant Week special menu, which looked phenomenal, as is their tasting menu (a real buy at $75, including wine pairings). We opted for a sample of regular menu items, which we shared. Grilled artichoke salad was good, crab cucumber roll pretty good, Moroccan chicken fair to good and duck salad was outstanding, as was the crispy-skinned black cod. For dessert, we had the sticky toffee pudding (OK) with gelato. Including 2 carafes of Cabernet our total bill was $140 for 4 people—an outstanding value!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice place

Dined on January 22, 2016

I've lived in the neighborhood for over 10 years and have always wanted to go to Upstairs 2. I finally did for Dine LA week. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was extremely pleasant. My dinner companion and I were able to have a lovely conversation without raising our voices and the service was tops. Loved the lamb ragu I had and the 1/2 lobster salad was tasty too.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The oddly located place that's meant to surprise

Dined on January 17, 2016

For better or worse this place feels like a nice upscale hotel restaurant that happens to be in a cinderblock building near the freeway. The environment is nice. It is simply done yet feels sophisticated. The food is very good. Its not a creative menu but its well done. The menu is arrange by the vine it compliments, which should strange but once you get use to it, its quite a nice way to order because it helps you get the best dinning experience possible. The service service here I find is a hit and miss. I've had great server and others that I wish came with a door bell. Overall through its not much of a gamble to go here and expect a good dinning experience.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great Ambiance, Sub-Par Service

Dined on January 10, 2016

Our server was attentive, though he was also the bartender, which seemed odd. The bussing team was pretty bad -- they would set food down but forget silverware, place silverware randomly on the table when they did bring it, forget requests for more water or sharing plates. The food was tasty, but I did expect better given the price and also the "high-end" atmosphere the restaurants boasts. Little nit-picky things overall, but when you're billing yourself as a fine-dining establishment, I expect fine-dining service to go with it.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Glad I finally got there.

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

We got the four course tasting menu with the wine pairings. At $75 it is a bargain. We started with the lobster bisque which was very tasty and included a nice little chunk opf lobster, though a bit salty for my taste. We then had the fois gras perfectly paired with a sauternes; I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Next was the venison chop, modest sized but delicious, also perfectly prepared and well accompanied and she had the rack of lamb which was also very nice. We closed off with a salted caramel frozen mousse seated on a chocolate cookie crust. The place was quite busy for a mid-week though holiday week night but noise level and service quality were just fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a spot we wanted to try as it w ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

This was a spot we wanted to try as it was half way between our home and that of our friends'. The food was so excellent that we plan to return again and again whether meeting friends or not.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food AND wine!

Dined on December 31, 2015

Marilyn is fantastic host and sommelier! She really works to make your entire experience special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Day after Xmas dinner

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

For the past four years we have been going to this restaurant. Table for 8. This year was a big disappointment. Food was not up to standards of past years. Smaller portions. Not as tasty. The final kicker, our credit card was compromised the next day, and had to be cancelled.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my first visit to a restaurant ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

This was my first visit to a restaurant I have long wanted to try as I have frequented the Wine House store that shares the property. I was very pleased with the food, and the pace of the dining experience. While the staff was pleasant I do feel there was a slight lack in attention, especially since two of us were eating the prix fixe tasting menu and it would have been nice to have more service descriptions. It felt like food was being tossed on the table without presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.