About UPSTAIRS 2

2311 Cotner Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90064
View Larger Map

Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar, Los Angeles, is pleased to announce that we've won a 2014 OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award for Top 100 Wine List. Determined by more than 5 million reviews submitted by verified OpenTable diners over the last year, the Top Wine List honorees each bested more than 15,000 restaurants.
"Our passion at Upstairs 2 is to provide our guests the best dining experience possible. We are always changing our food and wine pairings to keep the restaurant exciting to both new and repeat guests. We offer 40 wines by the glass on our ever- evolving wine list."says Sommelier Marilyn Snee
Thanks to all the diners who have helped Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar earn this accolade in the U.S. and in Los Angeles. Be sure to reserve in advance, now that the word is out. Your table is waiting!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
staff@upstairs2.com

Cross Street:
Tennessee & 405 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 231-0316

Website:
http://www.upstairs2.com/

Catering:
UPSTAIRS 2 has been providing catering services for groups from 4 to 1000. Service can be provided to your home or other locations. The menus are customized to your taste. Few caterers talk about their ability to provide the correct pairing of wine and food so that your wedding, anniversary, birthday or special event is the hit that you expected. UPSTAIRS 2 also has a program for corporate lunches.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the roof where the restaurant is located. Street parking is generally available.

Public Transit:
Upstairs 2 is a 5-10 minute walk from the new Expo/Sepulveda station. Be kind to the environment and be safe! Use the Metro Expo Line to attend our classes, fests, or when dining at Upstairs 2 Wine Bar & Restaurant. The Wine House is a 36 min Metro ride from Downtown LA or 10 min Metro ride from Downtown Santa Monica.

Executive Chef:
Maiki Le

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Start planning your Graduation Party, Summer BBQ, Bar Mitzvah, birthday celebration, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or special event with Upstairs 2.
Our restaurant and special event room can be used for parties, off site meetings,luncheons and more. We are a full service caterer
and can come to your home or business.
email us at staff@upstairs2.com or call us at 310-231-0316

Restaurant Photos

  • Shortribs - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
  • Flourless Chocolate Cake With Ganache - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
  • Asparagus And Burrata Salad - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
  • Five Spice Pork Shoulder - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
  • Cowboy Ribeye - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
  • Lobster BLT - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
  • Crab Cucumber Rolls - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
  • Duck Prosciutto - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
  • Pasta - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
Shortribs - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
Flourless Chocolate Cake With Ganache - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
Asparagus And Burrata Salad - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
Five Spice Pork Shoulder - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
Cowboy Ribeye - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
Lobster BLT - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
Crab Cucumber Rolls - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
Duck Prosciutto - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA
Pasta - UPSTAIRS 2, Los Angeles, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In a chic space above the famous Wine House, we offer diners a unique perspective rarely experienced at other restaurants – one in which the selection of wine and its marriage to food comes first and foremost. We welcome you to join us in our delicious culinary and viti-cultural mission!

UPSTAIRS 2 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Westside
Best Restaurants in West Los Angeles ›

Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Romantic (5)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great unassuming spot. Menu options were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Great unassuming spot. Menu options were delightful and everything we ordered was delicious. Wine list is very comprehensive and the staff was quite knowledgable.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were frequent diners when the previou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

We were frequent diners when the previous chef was there. Upstairs 2 was one of our favorite places to take friends who like to share delicious, high quality small plates and drink interesting wine at reasonable prices. It also has a full bar and a comfortable, relatively quiet atmosphere which is great for conversation with your friends. Marilyn, the sommelier, knows her wine pairings and if you want, you can just leave it to her and you'll be very happy. So when the former chef left and the menu was ever so slightly re-tooled, we were afraid we'd lost our favorite place to hang and didn't visit for a while. Finally tried the new chef and are we happy we did. Another great meal with friends, slightly different, but just as good. Started with sparkling wine and dates, which were so good we ordered more. The ahi tuna crudo was enough to share, but so good we all wished we'd ordered our own. Our guests were enthralled with the tarte flambé. Then we shared fried chicken baos, ny steak and a tomato mozzarella flatbread, each thing tasting even better than it appeared on the menu. This chef definitely knows how to combine quality ingredients. Brava! We finished with the best ice cream I can remember tasting anywhere. Can't wait to try other items next time back, which will be soon, I promise. Upstairs 2 is still #1!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and lovely atmosphere. A ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Incredible food and lovely atmosphere. An unusual location but what a treat. Best meal I have had in a long time and fabulous wine selection. Can't say enough good things.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, timely, and you can ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious, timely, and you can HEAR your dining companion. Perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Even with recent changes in menu and che ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Even with recent changes in menu and chef (to which apparently some people have had a problem dealing with), this restaurant continues to be one of our favorites. The Thanksgiving meal was superb in every way, and the service, as usual, was top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our family Thanksgiving meal. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This was our family Thanksgiving meal. It was really good. Traditional options as well as other options for great price. Kids and adults had a great time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We've been here 3 other times and this t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We've been here 3 other times and this time there was a difference in the food taste. Menu changed a bit, but some of the items that weren't changed and we had them, not as good. My understanding is the Chef changed. Not too anxious to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

The food is very good, but the wine is f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is very good, but the wine is fantastic. They put great effort into making sure that you have a wine you like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Every time I come here, the food is exc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Every time I come here, the food is excellent. Highly recommend the venison.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Upstairs 2. Eclectic menu and out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love Upstairs 2. Eclectic menu and outstanding wine selections, which of course, one would expect from the restaurant upstairs from the Wine Store. It's hard to find a place these days where you can feel "away." At Upstairs 2, I feel like I have escaped somewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars at this restaurant and a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We are regulars at this restaurant and are never diappointed. They now have entries and small plated. All excellent. The streak is great and the lamb chop cooked to perfection.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and waitperson service excellent bu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and waitperson service excellent but the kitchen continues to be EXTREMELY slow in getting courses out! This has been the case for our last two visits! In the future if and when we come to this eatery..it will be early in evening; hopefully kitchen staff will not be as ovewhelmed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Upstairs 2 is my home away from home. T ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Upstairs 2 is my home away from home. The staff is warm, welcoming and professional with great eye to detail.

What I love most about the place is that it is a wine-centric restaurant. On the menu wines are divided by characteristics, "soft and aromatic reds", for example, and the menu items are matched to them, making it easy to pair wines with dinner.

If you're still stuck, sommelier, Marilyn Snee, is one of the most knowledgeable around, and can guide you to the right choice.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A small space , very noisy.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A small space , very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

We very much enjoyed our dining experien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dining experience, which was shared with friends, and would highly recommend Upstairs 2 to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

New. Menu but same quality.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

New. Menu but same quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very enjoyable event dinner trying diffe ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Very enjoyable event dinner trying different wines with each small plate course. Nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite place to go. Great staff, g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our favorite place to go. Great staff, great food, great drinks, and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent restaurant with superb wine li ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent restaurant with superb wine list, will definitely dine at this establishment again in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I have been long standing patron, but th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I have been long standing patron, but the options seem to be a bit fewer this evening. I preferred the more affordable small plates versus higher priced medium sized plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

New chef, new menu. Not as many choices ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2016

New chef, new menu. Not as many choices as before, menu not as interesting, and some of our favorites missing. All in all, we were disappointed. Just not as good as before. Probably won't be returning for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Exquisite flavors carefully crafted to p ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Exquisite flavors carefully crafted to perfection. I was very pleased and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've enjoyed dining here on two previous ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I've enjoyed dining here on two previous occasions but this time was disappointing. The menu had change significantly and the options were more limited and most contained unbalanced flavors. Will need to check menu prior to if/when I decide to return. Very disappointing. Must have a new inexperienced chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Our first visit with the new chef -- bet ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our first visit with the new chef -- better than ever.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine selections by the glass. You ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great wine selections by the glass. You can do a 2.5 ounce or a 6. The way they have the menu it pairs with the wine - so really wine focused. The food is really great. The Fried Chicken Bao is great. The lamb chop - great! Spaetzle - yes spaetzle - really great. So many great dishes. Really nice folks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great people, killer wine!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, great people, killer wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food is clean, good, fresh well pres ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is clean, good, fresh well presented and high quality. The prices for the level of elegance of the atmosphere, the high level of service, the high quality of the food and the spectacular, reasonably priced wines are more than fair. This is one our family go to places to celebrate an occasion with a special meal together. We are particularly grateful for the fair pricing for such an elegant experience that does not make us gasp for air when we get the bill. We especially love that we can talk quietly with each other for the atmosphere is subdued yet deeply alive. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to enjoy an elegant quiet meal, with a great wine selection with people they want to enjoy.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been fans of Upstairs 2 for year ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been fans of Upstairs 2 for years and came for the Lobster Special and were once again charmed by the intimate setting of the dining room, the stellar wines to chose from and were awed by the new chef's talents on the menu. Loved hearing that much of the food was sourced a the SM Farmer's market. We look forward to coming back again soon to try another of the Chef's whim dinners.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were a group of four and thoroughly e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were a group of four and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. We shared a few appetizers and had an entree each. Stand outs were the roast duck breast and the polenta. Great service and impressive wine list. I also liked the unique way their menu easily pairs food and wines for the diner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They recently changed chefs, and therefo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

They recently changed chefs, and therefore menus. The previous chef and menu were excellent. The new chef/menu are hit & miss. The scallops are terrific, and my friends liked the steak. But the crab appetizer can't compare to the one they had before. And the panna cotta was disappointing. Plus they removed some of my favorites from their menu, like the meatloaf & the lamb meatballs. I used to love this place but now I'm not sure if I'll come back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Reminds me of a New York supper club. I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Reminds me of a New York supper club. Imaginative menu and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have been going to this restaurant fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been going to this restaurant for a number of years without disappointment, ever. After the son of the owner appeared a few months ago, everything has changed, but not for the better. The staff are as great as ever, except for the chef who has changed. And she has changed the menu radically. The dishes are not bad, but not as innovative and cost effective as they were before.

The ambience has also changed from pleasant to extremely noisy the last time we were there.

Please bring back some of the old dishes or at least some new ones that are tasty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Super disappointed! Absolutely loved th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Super disappointed! Absolutely loved the old Mediterranean style menu. New chef with a completely different menu with absolutely nothing saved from the old menu. Most restaurants change a few things with a new chef--but NOTHING from old menu remains and I struggled finding something I really wanted to eat. Won't be returning!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

We wanted to spend the last evening with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We wanted to spend the last evening with good friends before leaving SoCal for our move to Mexico so we decided on our go-to Upstairs2. Marilyn recommended first a Chianti to go with our various selections including the peach salad, Branzino, Flat bread, Scallops, and more, then the Châteauneur-du-Pape for a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Such a special evening with special friends - unforgettable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed our meal and I'm lookin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I really enjoyed our meal and I'm looking forward to returning very soon!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Updated menu is short but impactful. S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Updated menu is short but impactful. Super location, and one you would never imagine for a restaurant. Wine list is, of course, spectacular, and Marilyn makes terrific recommendations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than the breast of chicken, which ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Other than the breast of chicken, which was dry and not very imaginative, the food was quite good, the service attentive and the wine pairings added to the enjoyment of the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great experience. I expected mor ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Another great experience. I expected more garlic in the chimichurri sauce but the heirloom tomato soup was out of this world. Nice relaxed visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very disappointing menu after having gon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very disappointing menu after having gone there for years.

Limited at best with few choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

The salmon was very good but portion not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The salmon was very good but portion not huge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.