About UPSTAIRS 2

2311 Cotner Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90064
View Larger Map

Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar, Los Angeles, is pleased to announce that we've won a 2014 OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award for Top 100 Wine List. Determined by more than 5 million reviews submitted by verified OpenTable diners over the last year, the Top Wine List honorees each bested more than 15,000 restaurants.
"Our passion at Upstairs 2 is to provide our guests the best dining experience possible. We are always changing our food and wine pairings to keep the restaurant exciting to both new and repeat guests.We offer 40 wines by the glass on our ever- evolving wine list."says Sommelier Marilyn Snee
Thanks to all the diners who have helped Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar earn this accolade in the U.S. and in Los Angeles. Be sure to reserve in advance, now that the word is out. Your table is waiting!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tennessee & 405 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 231-0316

Website:
http://www.upstairs2.com/

Catering:
UPSTAIRS 2 has been providing catering services for groups from 4 to 1000. Service can be provided to your home or other locations. The menus are customized to your taste. Few caterers talk about their ability to provide the correct pairing of wine and food so that your wedding, anniversary, birthday or special event is the hit that you expected. UPSTAIRS 2 also has a program for corporate lunches.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the roof where the restaurant is located. Street parking is generally available.

Executive Chef:
~

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Crab Cucumber Rolls
  • Lobster BLT
  • Pasta
  • Duck Prosciutto
Crab Cucumber Rolls
Lobster BLT
Pasta
Duck Prosciutto

Promotions

Free Parking

Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Free Parking

Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Our parking lot is located adjacent to the restaurant. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 22, 2016 - Jul 22, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00

Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $75.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Includes three full glasses of wine paired with first three courses. Special valid May 5, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 on Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In a chic space above the famous Wine House, we offer diners a unique perspective rarely experienced at other restaurants – one in which the selection of wine and its marriage to food comes first and foremost. We welcome you to join us in our delicious culinary and viti-cultural mission!

UPSTAIRS 2 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Los Angeles
Contemporary American
Los Angeles
Best Value
Westside
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Westside
Contemporary American
Westside
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Westside
Best Restaurants in West Los Angeles ›

notable wine list (81)
fit for foodies (72)
neighborhood gem (51)
See All
special occasion (43)
good for groups (26)
romantic (25)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, extensive and interestin ...

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food, extensive and interesting wine list. Food and wine direction now both handled by incredibly talented women. The Chef's Whim meal on Thursday evenings is an incredible three-course value at $25.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

New Chef! New Menu! Same great wine list ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

New Chef! New Menu! Same great wine list! We were excited to try everything new and it didn't disappoint. We were particularly knocked out by the Diver Scallops, Rainbow Carrots (yes, who knew carrots could be so terrific) and the Crab Spring Rolls. Although the restaurant was packed, Morgan, our server, was on top of everything and Marilyn, the Sommelier, had some new interesting and delicious wines to try. A wonderful evening and delightful innovations to the menu. Needless to say, we'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent new items on the menu. Great t ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent new items on the menu. Great taste and presentation.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good but miss some of ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was very good but miss some of the old favorites...

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried this restaurant for my husband 's birthday. The food was excellent. The wine was superlative and the coctails we started out with were great. Sean was our waiter and was terrific. He knew the menu and the wines, very knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was very slow that night

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been to the Wine House many times and I really like it but last Saturday was extremely busy and very loud. Our server couldn't seem to catch up. My husband ordered a drink waited almost 15 minutes for our server to say "you still don't have your drink?" and then proceeded to go to the bar and make it herself. The sommalier was serving us water because everyone else was too busy. The short ribs were amazing, the sea bass was fluffy and buttery and the artichoke was delicious. Each wine we picked paired nicely with our dinners and the server we had was helpful with our wine selections too. The service was just so slow and labored that night. We brought a friend that had never been and I felt a little bad because we didn't get the service that we normally do there. It won't stop me from going but i was a bit disappointed last weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

SO DISAPPOINTING~

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been long term patrons of this venue and have been delighted. This time, they apparently have modified their menu..even charge for their bread and oil and apparently also have a new chef! The entrees for all of four of us was most disappointing..overly seasoned and not at all the same as was previously. We shall miss Upstairs 2!

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor service, good food

Dined on June 5, 2016

Hostess acted as if we were interfering with her other tasks. She really did not wecome us. We sat at the table she showed us to and were not visited for more than 6 or 7 minutes. The tasting menu was good and the wine pairings were interesting. With a professional staff, this would be a fine place to eat. For now, pass.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef's Whim on a whim

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We have dined at Upstairs 2 on many occasions, but this was the first time we tried the 3-course, Chef's Whim menu -- only on Thursdays. Service was attentive and professional -- as usual. And this menu was great value and taste. We would certainly do this again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

The food is serve in small and medium si ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food is serve in small and medium size- the reason why the food price is that much. Food are group in the kind of wine that matches it. We have this 3 course which is $75/ head good if your a wine drinker. Because each course serves you another glass of wine that matches your food. It was our first time in this place. Food taste good. Menu choices are enough. Not too much not too less. Lots of parking space. Make sure you park upstairs. There is a ramp on the right side of the building.

food4
ambience3
service4

Food was good. Place is a bit weird. Kin ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was good. Place is a bit weird. Kind of dated and the crowd is the opposite of hip.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't pass up this hidden gem!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

My girlfriend and I dined here together on Saturday, May 28th for dinner. It was each of our first times, and we could not have been more pleasantly surprised! I've been a fan and customer of Wine House for many years and was excited to finally try their restaurant. True to its reputation, this is a hidden gem not to be missed. The dining room was on the small side, but not to the point we felt cramped. It was also a bonus we felt secluded from all the craziness of West LA. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Most importantly, the food was absolutely delicious. The only weak point was the Moroccan chicken, but it was simply a good dish amongst excellent ones. Make a point to try their dark chocolate creme brulee for dessert...it's THAT good, trust me! Everything is small to medium sized which allows for sampling several dishes. Finally, as one would expect at the Wine House's restaurant, the cocktails and wine list were impressive at all price points. Bonus points for grouping the menu items according to wine pairings. Everything was quite reasonably priced considering the area, quality of the food, and the fact that Upstairs 2 is a very "chef-driven" restaurant. We can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Surprising gem

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

At first I thought the building was empty. It seemed to be located in a somewhat obscure region of LA. The restaurant is above the wine/liquor store which is why it is so well hidden. The food is tapas style and very good. The wine list is actually quite impressive and reasonable by the glass. This seems to be a gem for a mature crowd, but I highly recommend for great wine and plates to share.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a lovely place. I would have never ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

What a lovely place. I would have never found it if I weren't going to the Odyssey Theatre and wanted a restaurant near by. Would definitely come back

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently great

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The service is as always exceptional! Morgan, our server, was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Sean, the bartender is fabulous and always remembers the type and style of wine I like.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Pleasant evening

Dined on May 22, 2016

A foodie friend recommended this restaurant for a Saturday night dinner with a friend visiting from another country. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. Food was quite well prepared, service was attentive and timely, wine by the glass were excellent. Being the restaurant is above a wine shop you would expect this. Noise level was quite reasonable considering the restaurant being packed. Finely, a very short wait for our table. Now the bad stuff. décor, was unimpressive considering the price point, simple but rather bland. lighting was less than desirable, at least at our table. Lastly, portion sizes were on the small side, though that was to be expected, being that it was a bit of a tasting menu. That being written, if the waiter had informed us of the size we might have ordered more. Example being, ravioli serving was two normal sized ravioli, which were delicious, though not quite enough for three people. Also the charcuterie portions were a joke, though once again very tasty. To end on a high note. The Loup de Mare and the Moroccan Chicken were delicious. The next time we will be better prepared to order and there will be a next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!! Will definitely return soo ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Great place!! Will definitely return soon for wine pairing dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent choices for small and larger p ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent choices for small and larger plates. Have been before and will go again.

food4
ambience4
service5

I liked this place a lot the first time ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I liked this place a lot the first time around. I thought the food was not as good this visit but still overall enjoyable. We did the wine pairing dinner and I thought the pairing for the first choice was not good. The third course was excellent as was the dessert. Service is very attentive and friendly. I would definitely go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional food outstanding service def ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Exceptional food outstanding service definitely one of the best kept secrets in LA. Make the trip and enjoy dinner there you won't be disappointed

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food & Wine Pairings Fantastic

Dined on May 8, 2016

I discovered this place because I shop for wine downstairs at The Wine House, which blows Wally's (or any other westside "boutique" wine store) out of the water. Upstairs 2 has great food and the menu suggests wine pairings with the dishes, which are spot on. Marilyn Snee, the sommelier, is one of the top 5 somms in LA. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific Food, Value and Service

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Mother's Day Brunch here last year and decided to return. Our 2 pm brunch had terrific food and wine and the servers, even though they had been there since 10 am and had a hectic day with mothers, families and lots of small children, were upbeat and cheerful. Marilyn was terrific and kept everything moving smoothly. Creative food (but not too wacky that Mom won't like it), service and wine never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

lovegoodfood

Dined on April 29, 2016

A great evening with managers group from work celebrating promotions and good food. The food with wine pairings was perfect - a most wonderful time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Pleasant surprise

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I had not eaten at Upstairs 2 for years (other than special events), I found the food much better than I remembered it, really quite good, and incredibly reasonably priced for the west side. The tasting menus were especially well priced. The Corkage fee at $15 was also reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great as always.

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Upstairs 2 is one of our favorite restaurants. Consistently great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the wine here

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

These guys know wine. It's refreshing to go to a restaurant that prides the wine as much as the food. Love that the menu is divided up by wine and the servers are very knowledgeable about it. We also love that it's priced lower than comparable places in LA and the parking is a dream.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Upstairs 2 for Date Night

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our server, Morgan, anticipated our needs/wants and exceeded expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not noisy for a change!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Upstairs 2 provides a sophisticated , well priced menu and wine list in a lovely calm atmosphere. In other words one can actually hold a conversation and not be deafened by music and noise. This is a rare combination in Los Angeles these days !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small Plates Gem

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. If you are a small plates person and like to taste lots of different dishes this is the place. The Foie Gras is the best in town. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The wine is superb. Great place to go out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Upstairs 2 - a neighborhood surprise

Dined on March 12, 2016

We have been shopping at the Wine House for years and occasionally have been upstairs for some events. But we were so positively and deliciously surprised to LOVE their fixed price dinner last Friday with our friends. Each course was delicious and the value was superb, especially considering they included wine pairing with each course. So it is not the glam hot spot, but for those of us who value great food, wine, good service and conversation above glitz we will absolutely return soon for another great meal! We appreciate the chef, staff and overall high standards of Upstairs 2. So I say to my West Los Angeles neighbors, try it and let's encourage them to keep this neighborhood jewel!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The boneless beef ribs are delicious! Hi ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The boneless beef ribs are delicious! Highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Food is Amazingly Good

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We love the scallops. Also, the Moroccan chicken is an absolute standout. Really enjoyed the beet salad. The mushroom soup is to die for. The Branzino was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We love the food here!!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The scallops and lamb chops are excellent!! So is yellow beet salad

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Different and good

Dined on February 25, 2016

Sitting atop a wine store, Upstairs2, is a good place to sample different wines. They serve varying sized pours so even "light" drinkers can sample a couple of varieties. Menu consists of a variety of small to medium plates so you can have different dishes to pair with wine. Definitely worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We love Upstairs 2. Food is always good ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We love Upstairs 2. Food is always good as is the wine.

food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Great Neighborhood Find

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Upstairs 2 was an exciting food experience.The wine list is one of the best in LA. The menu coordinates the perfect wine with each food selection.I found that the service was fair. The food was a pleasant surprise as we ate each course. The lobster roll is a winner, the crispy eggplant is terrific, and the New York Strip was perfect. This restaurant should be on the top of your dining list!! Enjoy and raise a glass to your choice of every wine pairing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really Great Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoyed the ambiance and the food for Upstairs2. The wine list was extensive and was presented very well with pairings for food items on the menu. Definitely would come again and recommend to foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Dined on Feb 13, 2016

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was an outstanding server. He was excellent with suggestions and provided the right amount of attentiveness (not too much, not too little). The food was well prepared in terms of temperature, technique and execution. Flavors and textures were paired thoughtfully. The wine list is well curated, and you can find something which works for any budget and with any dish. A little "undercover," but a true gem in the neighborhood. We shall return...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good every time.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food is delicious. The sommelier is very knowledgeable and fun. Love the menu with wine selections already paired with food selections to make it easier to choose.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great!

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Was not sure what to expect, as it was speculative visit and the external look was not that enticing, but the experience was great, warm welcome and efficient, the service and food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.