About UPSTAIRS 2

2311 Cotner Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90064
View Larger Map

Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar, Los Angeles, is pleased to announce that we've won a 2014 OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award for Top 100 Wine List. Determined by more than 5 million reviews submitted by verified OpenTable diners over the last year, the Top Wine List honorees each bested more than 15,000 restaurants.
"Our passion at Upstairs 2 is to provide our guests the best dining experience possible. We are always changing our food and wine pairings to keep the restaurant exciting to both new and repeat guests. We offer 40 wines by the glass on our ever- evolving wine list."says Sommelier Marilyn Snee
Thanks to all the diners who have helped Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar earn this accolade in the U.S. and in Los Angeles. Be sure to reserve in advance, now that the word is out. Your table is waiting!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
staff@upstairs2.com

Cross Street:
Tennessee & 405 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 231-0316

Website:
http://www.upstairs2.com/

Catering:
UPSTAIRS 2 has been providing catering services for groups from 4 to 1000. Service can be provided to your home or other locations. The menus are customized to your taste. Few caterers talk about their ability to provide the correct pairing of wine and food so that your wedding, anniversary, birthday or special event is the hit that you expected. UPSTAIRS 2 also has a program for corporate lunches.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the roof where the restaurant is located. Street parking is generally available.

Public Transit:
Upstairs 2 is a 5-10 minute walk from the new Expo/Sepulveda station. Be kind to the environment and be safe! Use the Metro Expo Line to attend our classes, fests, or when dining at Upstairs 2 Wine Bar & Restaurant. The Wine House is a 36 min Metro ride from Downtown LA or 10 min Metro ride from Downtown Santa Monica.

Executive Chef:
Maiki Le

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Start planning your Graduation Party, Summer BBQ, Bar Mitzvah, birthday celebration, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or special event with Upstairs 2.
Our restaurant and special event room can be used for parties, off site meetings,luncheons and more. We are a full service caterer
and can come to your home or business.
email us at staff@upstairs2.com or call us at 310-231-0316

Restaurant Photos

  • Crab Cucumber Rolls
  • Lobster BLT
  • Pasta
  • Duck Prosciutto
Crab Cucumber Rolls
Lobster BLT
Pasta
Duck Prosciutto

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In a chic space above the famous Wine House, we offer diners a unique perspective rarely experienced at other restaurants – one in which the selection of wine and its marriage to food comes first and foremost. We welcome you to join us in our delicious culinary and viti-cultural mission!

UPSTAIRS 2 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Los Angeles
Contemporary American
Los Angeles
Best Value
Westside
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Westside
Contemporary American
Westside
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Westside
Best Restaurants in West Los Angeles ›

notable wine list (73)
fit for foodies (63)
neighborhood gem (47)
See All
special occasion (36)
good for groups (19)
romantic (18)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our favorite place to eat! Consi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is our favorite place to eat! Consistently 5 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an unsung neighborhood gem. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is an unsung neighborhood gem. The food is inventive and always solidly satisfying. The wine list is interesting and the sommelier is extremely helpful. And you can actually have a conversation!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Very nice food and wine pairings. Friend ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very nice food and wine pairings. Friendly and efficient service. Busy with a nice vibe but not annoyingly loud. Every time I return here, I remind myself to do it more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful chef's tasting menu pairings w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful chef's tasting menu pairings with wines. Staff were attentive and fun to talk to. Sommelier was approachable and very easy to talk to and informative. The wines were delicious and well matched to the dishes we chose. Cant't wait to come back with our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going here since they opene ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been going here since they opened. Used to go nearly once a month and now every two or three months. We loved the old menu, but the new chef and menu are REALLY good. Although I am missing the corn salad as a summer offering, the menu is now fresh and vibrant and the offerings are "sort of" like what was there before. The crudo is exceleent, all the fish items we had, wild sea bass, hamachi are excellent. Flat breads are always excellent, and the lamb/Morrocan style "new" one was excellent...

The wines are excellent (after all the Wine House is downstairs) and the servers know the menu and wine and can make great recommendations.

The only thing that Janet and I would like to see, an updated an more interesting desert menu.

Thanks again...see you soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Do not like the new menu. We like the o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Do not like the new menu. We like the old small plates menu much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

The food is delicious, and the service i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is delicious, and the service is fine. The space, however, is depressing. If you're going to put a restaurant above a wine store, next to a freeway, invest in decor to elevate the environment to one that makes for a pleasant meal. We found ourselves too distracted by the setting to enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Unusual location by freeway but they do ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Unusual location by freeway but they do a great job of making it special. Food is great - friendly staff - enjoyed the evening

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'd eaten at Upstairs 2 before when a di ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I'd eaten at Upstairs 2 before when a different chef was in charge. I really liked that menu, so I went again with some trepidation as reading the new menu online didn't particularly excite me. I came away feeling that a favorite restaurant was still an enjoyable experience & as always, a terrific wine list. Stilton gougeres & roasted Loup de Mer ( branzino) were excellent and the minced lamb flatbread was scrumptious drunk with the Jellyroll Syrah. The walnut & mascarpone stuffed ravioli were pretty memorable too.

Marilyn, the sommelier, always gives excellent advice.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, extensive and interestin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful food, extensive and interesting wine list. Food and wine direction now both handled by incredibly talented women. The Chef's Whim meal on Thursday evenings is an incredible three-course value at $25.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Chef! New Menu! Same great wine list ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

New Chef! New Menu! Same great wine list! We were excited to try everything new and it didn't disappoint. We were particularly knocked out by the Diver Scallops, Rainbow Carrots (yes, who knew carrots could be so terrific) and the Crab Spring Rolls.

Although the restaurant was packed, Morgan, our server, was on top of everything and Marilyn, the Sommelier, had some new interesting and delicious wines to try.

A wonderful evening and delightful innovations to the menu. Needless to say, we'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent new items on the menu. Great t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent new items on the menu. Great taste and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good but miss some of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was very good but miss some of the old favorites...

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried this restaurant for my husband 's birthday. The food was excellent. The wine was superlative and the coctails we started out with were great. Sean was our waiter and was terrific. He knew the menu and the wines, very knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Super wine values . Because of the Wine ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Super wine values . Because of the Wine House downstairs they don't mark up the wine much. They give you great advice too on selection. The food is also very good - I haven't been there since the Chef changed - but I am going in a couple weeks. Will let you know! Highly recommend it from several visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was very slow that night

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been to the Wine House many times and I really like it but last Saturday was extremely busy and very loud. Our server couldn't seem to catch up. My husband ordered a drink waited almost 15 minutes for our server to say "you still don't have your drink?" and then proceeded to go to the bar and make it herself. The sommalier was serving us water because everyone else was too busy. The short ribs were amazing, the sea bass was fluffy and buttery and the artichoke was delicious. Each wine we picked paired nicely with our dinners and the server we had was helpful with our wine selections too. The service was just so slow and labored that night. We brought a friend that had never been and I felt a little bad because we didn't get the service that we normally do there. It won't stop me from going but i was a bit disappointed last weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

SO DISAPPOINTING~

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been long term patrons of this venue and have been delighted. This time, they apparently have modified their menu..even charge for their bread and oil and apparently also have a new chef! The entrees for all of four of us was most disappointing..overly seasoned and not at all the same as was previously. We shall miss Upstairs 2!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Poor service, good food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Hostess acted as if we were interfering with her other tasks. She really did not wecome us.

We sat at the table she showed us to and were not visited for more than 6 or 7 minutes.

The tasting menu was good and the wine pairings were interesting.

With a professional staff, this would be a fine place to eat.

For now, pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Very elegant restaurant . Parking not v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very elegant restaurant . Parking not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Chef's Whim on a whim

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We have dined at Upstairs 2 on many occasions, but this was the first time we tried the 3-course, Chef's Whim menu -- only on Thursdays.

Service was attentive and professional -- as usual. And this menu was great value and taste. We would certainly do this again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is serve in small and medium si ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food is serve in small and medium size- the reason why the food price is that much. Food are group in the kind of wine that matches it.

We have this 3 course which is $75/ head good if your a wine drinker.

Because each course serves you another glass of wine that matches your food.

It was our first time in this place. Food taste good. Menu choices are enough. Not too much not too less. Lots of parking space. Make sure you park upstairs. There is a ramp on the right side of the building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good. Place is a bit weird. Kin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was good. Place is a bit weird. Kind of dated and the crowd is the opposite of hip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Don't pass up this hidden gem!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My girlfriend and I dined here together on Saturday, May 28th for dinner. It was each of our first times, and we could not have been more pleasantly surprised! I've been a fan and customer of Wine House for many years and was excited to finally try their restaurant. True to its reputation, this is a hidden gem not to be missed. The dining room was on the small side, but not to the point we felt cramped. It was also a bonus we felt secluded from all the craziness of West LA. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Most importantly, the food was absolutely delicious. The only weak point was the Moroccan chicken, but it was simply a good dish amongst excellent ones. Make a point to try their dark chocolate creme brulee for dessert...it's THAT good, trust me! Everything is small to medium sized which allows for sampling several dishes. Finally, as one would expect at the Wine House's restaurant, the cocktails and wine list were impressive at all price points. Bonus points for grouping the menu items according to wine pairings. Everything was quite reasonably priced considering the area, quality of the food, and the fact that Upstairs 2 is a very "chef-driven" restaurant. We can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Surprising gem

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

At first I thought the building was empty. It seemed to be located in a somewhat obscure region of LA. The restaurant is above the wine/liquor store which is why it is so well hidden. The food is tapas style and very good. The wine list is actually quite impressive and reasonable by the glass. This seems to be a gem for a mature crowd, but I highly recommend for great wine and plates to share.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a lovely place. I would have never ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

What a lovely place. I would have never found it if I weren't going to the Odyssey Theatre and wanted a restaurant near by. Would definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The service is as always exceptional! Morgan, our server, was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Sean, the bartender is fabulous and always remembers the type and style of wine I like.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant evening

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

A foodie friend recommended this restaurant for a Saturday night dinner with a friend visiting from another country. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. Food was quite well prepared, service was attentive and timely, wine by the glass were excellent. Being the restaurant is above a wine shop you would expect this. Noise level was quite reasonable considering the restaurant being packed. Finely, a very short wait for our table. Now the bad stuff. décor, was unimpressive considering the price point, simple but rather bland. lighting was less than desirable, at least at our table. Lastly, portion sizes were on the small side, though that was to be expected, being that it was a bit of a tasting menu. That being written, if the waiter had informed us of the size we might have ordered more. Example being, ravioli serving was two normal sized ravioli, which were delicious, though not quite enough for three people. Also the charcuterie portions were a joke, though once again very tasty. To end on a high note. The Loup de Mare and the Moroccan Chicken were delicious. The next time we will be better prepared to order and there will be a next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great place!! Will definitely return soo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great place!! Will definitely return soon for wine pairing dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choices for small and larger p ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent choices for small and larger plates. Have been before and will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I liked this place a lot the first time ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I liked this place a lot the first time around. I thought the food was not as good this visit but still overall enjoyable. We did the wine pairing dinner and I thought the pairing for the first choice was not good. The third course was excellent as was the dessert. Service is very attentive and friendly. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Exceptional food outstanding service def ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Exceptional food outstanding service definitely one of the best kept secrets in LA. Make the trip and enjoy dinner there you won't be disappointed

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food & Wine Pairings Fantastic

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I discovered this place because I shop for wine downstairs at The Wine House, which blows Wally's (or any other westside "boutique" wine store) out of the water. Upstairs 2 has great food and the menu suggests wine pairings with the dishes, which are spot on. Marilyn Snee, the sommelier, is one of the top 5 somms in LA. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific Food, Value and Service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Mother's Day Brunch here last year and decided to return. Our 2 pm brunch had terrific food and wine and the servers, even though they had been there since 10 am and had a hectic day with mothers, families and lots of small children, were upbeat and cheerful. Marilyn was terrific and kept everything moving smoothly. Creative food (but not too wacky that Mom won't like it), service and wine never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

lovegoodfood

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

A great evening with managers group from work celebrating promotions and good food. The food with wine pairings was perfect - a most wonderful time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant surprise

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I had not eaten at Upstairs 2 for years (other than special events), I found the food much better than I remembered it, really quite good, and incredibly reasonably priced for the west side. The tasting menus were especially well priced. The Corkage fee at $15 was also reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great as always.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Upstairs 2 is one of our favorite restaurants. Consistently great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the wine here

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

These guys know wine. It's refreshing to go to a restaurant that prides the wine as much as the food. Love that the menu is divided up by wine and the servers are very knowledgeable about it. We also love that it's priced lower than comparable places in LA and the parking is a dream.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upstairs 2 for Date Night

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Our server, Morgan, anticipated our needs/wants and exceeded expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not noisy for a change!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Upstairs 2 provides a sophisticated , well priced menu and wine list in a lovely calm atmosphere. In other words one can actually hold a conversation and not be deafened by music and noise. This is a rare combination in Los Angeles these days !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Small Plates Gem

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. If you are a small plates person and like to taste lots of different dishes this is the place. The Foie Gras is the best in town. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The wine is superb. Great place to go out with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.