About UPSTAIRS 2

2311 Cotner Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90064
View Larger Map

Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar, Los Angeles, is pleased to announce that we've won a 2014 OpenTable Diners’ Choice Award for Top 100 Wine List. Determined by more than 5 million reviews submitted by verified OpenTable diners over the last year, the Top Wine List honorees each bested more than 15,000 restaurants.
"Our passion at Upstairs 2 is to provide our guests the best dining experience possible. We are always changing our food and wine pairings to keep the restaurant exciting to both new and repeat guests. We offer 40 wines by the glass on our ever- evolving wine list."says Sommelier Marilyn Snee
Thanks to all the diners who have helped Upstairs 2 Restaurant and Wine Bar earn this accolade in the U.S. and in Los Angeles. Be sure to reserve in advance, now that the word is out. Your table is waiting!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday & Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
staff@upstairs2.com

Cross Street:
Tennessee & 405 Fwy.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 231-0316

Website:
http://www.upstairs2.com/

Catering:
UPSTAIRS 2 has been providing catering services for groups from 4 to 1000. Service can be provided to your home or other locations. The menus are customized to your taste. Few caterers talk about their ability to provide the correct pairing of wine and food so that your wedding, anniversary, birthday or special event is the hit that you expected. UPSTAIRS 2 also has a program for corporate lunches.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on the roof where the restaurant is located. Street parking is generally available.

Public Transit:
Upstairs 2 is a 5-10 minute walk from the new Expo/Sepulveda station. Be kind to the environment and be safe! Use the Metro Expo Line to attend our classes, fests, or when dining at Upstairs 2 Wine Bar & Restaurant. The Wine House is a 36 min Metro ride from Downtown LA or 10 min Metro ride from Downtown Santa Monica.

Executive Chef:
Maiki Le

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Start planning your Graduation Party, Summer BBQ, Bar Mitzvah, birthday celebration, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or special event with Upstairs 2.
Our restaurant and special event room can be used for parties, off site meetings,luncheons and more. We are a full service caterer
and can come to your home or business.
email us at staff@upstairs2.com or call us at 310-231-0316

Restaurant Photos

  • Shortribs
  • Flourless Chocolate Cake With Ganache
  • Asparagus And Burrata Salad
  • Five Spice Pork Shoulder
  • Cowboy Ribeye
  • Lobster BLT
  • Crab Cucumber Rolls
  • Duck Prosciutto
  • Pasta
Shortribs
Flourless Chocolate Cake With Ganache
Asparagus And Burrata Salad
Five Spice Pork Shoulder
Cowboy Ribeye
Lobster BLT
Crab Cucumber Rolls
Duck Prosciutto
Pasta

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 5:30PM - 6:15PM 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

In a chic space above the famous Wine House, we offer diners a unique perspective rarely experienced at other restaurants – one in which the selection of wine and its marriage to food comes first and foremost. We welcome you to join us in our delicious culinary and viti-cultural mission!

UPSTAIRS 2 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Los Angeles
Contemporary American
Westside
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Westside
Best Restaurants in West Los Angeles ›

Notable Wine List (48)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (17)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Tapas (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been long standing patron, but th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 2 days ago

I have been long standing patron, but the options seem to be a bit fewer this evening. I preferred the more affordable small plates versus higher priced medium sized plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

New chef, new menu. Not as many choices ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

New chef, new menu. Not as many choices as before, menu not as interesting, and some of our favorites missing. All in all, we were disappointed. Just not as good as before. Probably won't be returning for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Exquisite flavors carefully crafted to p ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Exquisite flavors carefully crafted to perfection. I was very pleased and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've enjoyed dining here on two previous ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I've enjoyed dining here on two previous occasions but this time was disappointing. The menu had change significantly and the options were more limited and most contained unbalanced flavors. Will need to check menu prior to if/when I decide to return. Very disappointing. Must have a new inexperienced chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Our first visit with the new chef -- bet ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our first visit with the new chef -- better than ever.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine selections by the glass. You ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great wine selections by the glass. You can do a 2.5 ounce or a 6. The way they have the menu it pairs with the wine - so really wine focused. The food is really great. The Fried Chicken Bao is great. The lamb chop - great! Spaetzle - yes spaetzle - really great. So many great dishes. Really nice folks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great people, killer wine!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, great people, killer wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food is clean, good, fresh well pres ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is clean, good, fresh well presented and high quality. The prices for the level of elegance of the atmosphere, the high level of service, the high quality of the food and the spectacular, reasonably priced wines are more than fair. This is one our family go to places to celebrate an occasion with a special meal together. We are particularly grateful for the fair pricing for such an elegant experience that does not make us gasp for air when we get the bill. We especially love that we can talk quietly with each other for the atmosphere is subdued yet deeply alive. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to enjoy an elegant quiet meal, with a great wine selection with people they want to enjoy.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been fans of Upstairs 2 for year ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been fans of Upstairs 2 for years and came for the Lobster Special and were once again charmed by the intimate setting of the dining room, the stellar wines to chose from and were awed by the new chef's talents on the menu. Loved hearing that much of the food was sourced a the SM Farmer's market. We look forward to coming back again soon to try another of the Chef's whim dinners.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were a group of four and thoroughly e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were a group of four and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. We shared a few appetizers and had an entree each. Stand outs were the roast duck breast and the polenta. Great service and impressive wine list. I also liked the unique way their menu easily pairs food and wines for the diner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They recently changed chefs, and therefo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

They recently changed chefs, and therefore menus. The previous chef and menu were excellent. The new chef/menu are hit & miss. The scallops are terrific, and my friends liked the steak. But the crab appetizer can't compare to the one they had before. And the panna cotta was disappointing. Plus they removed some of my favorites from their menu, like the meatloaf & the lamb meatballs. I used to love this place but now I'm not sure if I'll come back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Reminds me of a New York supper club. I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Reminds me of a New York supper club. Imaginative menu and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We have been going to this restaurant fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been going to this restaurant for a number of years without disappointment, ever. After the son of the owner appeared a few months ago, everything has changed, but not for the better. The staff are as great as ever, except for the chef who has changed. And she has changed the menu radically. The dishes are not bad, but not as innovative and cost effective as they were before.

The ambience has also changed from pleasant to extremely noisy the last time we were there.

Please bring back some of the old dishes or at least some new ones that are tasty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Super disappointed! Absolutely loved th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Super disappointed! Absolutely loved the old Mediterranean style menu. New chef with a completely different menu with absolutely nothing saved from the old menu. Most restaurants change a few things with a new chef--but NOTHING from old menu remains and I struggled finding something I really wanted to eat. Won't be returning!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

We wanted to spend the last evening with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We wanted to spend the last evening with good friends before leaving SoCal for our move to Mexico so we decided on our go-to Upstairs2. Marilyn recommended first a Chianti to go with our various selections including the peach salad, Branzino, Flat bread, Scallops, and more, then the Châteauneur-du-Pape for a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Such a special evening with special friends - unforgettable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed our meal and I'm lookin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I really enjoyed our meal and I'm looking forward to returning very soon!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Updated menu is short but impactful. S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Updated menu is short but impactful. Super location, and one you would never imagine for a restaurant. Wine list is, of course, spectacular, and Marilyn makes terrific recommendations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Other than the breast of chicken, which ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Other than the breast of chicken, which was dry and not very imaginative, the food was quite good, the service attentive and the wine pairings added to the enjoyment of the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great experience. I expected mor ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Another great experience. I expected more garlic in the chimichurri sauce but the heirloom tomato soup was out of this world. Nice relaxed visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very disappointing menu after having gon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very disappointing menu after having gone there for years.

Limited at best with few choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

The salmon was very good but portion not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The salmon was very good but portion not huge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Pleasant ambience, excellent food, stell ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Pleasant ambience, excellent food, stellar service. A wonderful restaurant for regular dining, an occasion, or a date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite place to eat! Consi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is our favorite place to eat! Consistently 5 stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an unsung neighborhood gem. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is an unsung neighborhood gem. The food is inventive and always solidly satisfying. The wine list is interesting and the sommelier is extremely helpful. And you can actually have a conversation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Very nice food and wine pairings. Friend ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Very nice food and wine pairings. Friendly and efficient service. Busy with a nice vibe but not annoyingly loud. Every time I return here, I remind myself to do it more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful chef's tasting menu pairings w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful chef's tasting menu pairings with wines. Staff were attentive and fun to talk to. Sommelier was approachable and very easy to talk to and informative. The wines were delicious and well matched to the dishes we chose. Cant't wait to come back with our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been going here since they opene ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been going here since they opened. Used to go nearly once a month and now every two or three months. We loved the old menu, but the new chef and menu are REALLY good. Although I am missing the corn salad as a summer offering, the menu is now fresh and vibrant and the offerings are "sort of" like what was there before. The crudo is exceleent, all the fish items we had, wild sea bass, hamachi are excellent. Flat breads are always excellent, and the lamb/Morrocan style "new" one was excellent...

The wines are excellent (after all the Wine House is downstairs) and the servers know the menu and wine and can make great recommendations.

The only thing that Janet and I would like to see, an updated an more interesting desert menu.

Thanks again...see you soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Do not like the new menu. We like the o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Do not like the new menu. We like the old small plates menu much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

The food is delicious, and the service i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food is delicious, and the service is fine. The space, however, is depressing. If you're going to put a restaurant above a wine store, next to a freeway, invest in decor to elevate the environment to one that makes for a pleasant meal. We found ourselves too distracted by the setting to enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Unusual location by freeway but they do ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Unusual location by freeway but they do a great job of making it special. Food is great - friendly staff - enjoyed the evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'd eaten at Upstairs 2 before when a di ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I'd eaten at Upstairs 2 before when a different chef was in charge. I really liked that menu, so I went again with some trepidation as reading the new menu online didn't particularly excite me. I came away feeling that a favorite restaurant was still an enjoyable experience & as always, a terrific wine list. Stilton gougeres & roasted Loup de Mer ( branzino) were excellent and the minced lamb flatbread was scrumptious drunk with the Jellyroll Syrah. The walnut & mascarpone stuffed ravioli were pretty memorable too.

Marilyn, the sommelier, always gives excellent advice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful food, extensive and interestin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful food, extensive and interesting wine list. Food and wine direction now both handled by incredibly talented women. The Chef's Whim meal on Thursday evenings is an incredible three-course value at $25.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Chef! New Menu! Same great wine list ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

New Chef! New Menu! Same great wine list! We were excited to try everything new and it didn't disappoint. We were particularly knocked out by the Diver Scallops, Rainbow Carrots (yes, who knew carrots could be so terrific) and the Crab Spring Rolls.

Although the restaurant was packed, Morgan, our server, was on top of everything and Marilyn, the Sommelier, had some new interesting and delicious wines to try.

A wonderful evening and delightful innovations to the menu. Needless to say, we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent new items on the menu. Great t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent new items on the menu. Great taste and presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good but miss some of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was very good but miss some of the old favorites...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried this restaurant for my husband 's birthday. The food was excellent. The wine was superlative and the coctails we started out with were great. Sean was our waiter and was terrific. He knew the menu and the wines, very knowledgeable and attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Super wine values . Because of the Wine ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Super wine values . Because of the Wine House downstairs they don't mark up the wine much. They give you great advice too on selection. The food is also very good - I haven't been there since the Chef changed - but I am going in a couple weeks. Will let you know! Highly recommend it from several visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was very slow that night

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been to the Wine House many times and I really like it but last Saturday was extremely busy and very loud. Our server couldn't seem to catch up. My husband ordered a drink waited almost 15 minutes for our server to say "you still don't have your drink?" and then proceeded to go to the bar and make it herself. The sommalier was serving us water because everyone else was too busy. The short ribs were amazing, the sea bass was fluffy and buttery and the artichoke was delicious. Each wine we picked paired nicely with our dinners and the server we had was helpful with our wine selections too. The service was just so slow and labored that night. We brought a friend that had never been and I felt a little bad because we didn't get the service that we normally do there. It won't stop me from going but i was a bit disappointed last weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

SO DISAPPOINTING~

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been long term patrons of this venue and have been delighted. This time, they apparently have modified their menu..even charge for their bread and oil and apparently also have a new chef! The entrees for all of four of us was most disappointing..overly seasoned and not at all the same as was previously. We shall miss Upstairs 2!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Poor service, good food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Hostess acted as if we were interfering with her other tasks. She really did not wecome us.

We sat at the table she showed us to and were not visited for more than 6 or 7 minutes.

The tasting menu was good and the wine pairings were interesting.

With a professional staff, this would be a fine place to eat.

For now, pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.