About Union Social Eatery St. Clair

21 St Clair West
Toronto, ON M4V 1K6
View Larger Map

Union Social Eatery is a new, premium casual eatery known for its well crafted menus and cocktails, an extensive draught and wine selection and the kind of place where comfort rules, and your table is your own little escape. It's a place where you can be yourself, relax, laugh with friends and enjoy great food.



It's common dining, done uncommonly well!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am

Sunday: 10:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Yonge Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 901-3456

Website:
http://www.unionsocial.ca/

Public Transit:
St. Clair stop on Yonge line (Yonge & St.Clair)

Executive Chef:
Michael Rame

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Social Eatery St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Comfort Food (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Sports (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Romantic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

My only complaint was the service. Service was not at all comparable to previous visits. It seemed like only 2 servers were looking after the entire restaurant. It was disappointing as my wife and I usually enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

This was a last minute lunch. It was great! I was with a friend who wanted to share so we got the beef tacos, fish sandwich and candy salad. Everything was good but the fish sandwich was impressively delicious and the fish was grilled - not fried! The fries were amazing too. I'd go back and recommend for a fun spot to get together with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It's disappointing. Have been there thrice now. Each time the experience is similar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great service! It was our first time and the server was patient and explained the menu well. Also they gave us a free app for our first visit. Would come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Went for Winterlicious. Service was friendly, fast, and efficient. Food was delicious and very generously portioned. Great value for money. Have recommended to friends already.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My party of six went for the dinner time Winterlicious menu selections. The service was great and the food was very good wth large portions. Dessert was delicious, although all three selections were chocolate. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The wait staff was very accommodating when we told them we had time constraints. I ordered the steak, but it wasn't a good cut of meat -kind of gristly and I hate that. The creme brule was less amazing than I have had in the past, but maybe it was less caloric too... I found the menu choices interesting, though I stuck to the Winterlicious menu. I will come back to try some of the choices on the regular menu.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went for Winterlicious lunch - Food was good and better than your typical pub/bar food which is what I expected. Service was good at first but then it got really busy and service ended up being slow. I would still go back to eat there since I live nearby and the menu is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I've eaten here a few times and while the food has always been good, the service has been hit or miss. My last 2 visits definite improvements in service. This visit I had a great server and felt very comfortable. Hopefully the trend continues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My lunch companion forgot to ask for his burger to be substituted with a vegetarian patty. Our server, after noticing he'd eaten everything else asked about it and offered to switch it. Even though my companion insisted it was OK, she pleasantly and professionally suggested a number of ways she could make it up to him. When the bill came, she'd taken the burger off the bill. Awesome service and it will make me go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Sweet waitress. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great place. Excellent food but a little loud for business. With that said, there is a lot of great atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was exceptional and the food was amazing. As a first timer, the server even brought us out a little treat on the house. Super nice of her and the kitchen to do that for us.

We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Kyle was an amazing server - knowledgeable, fun, polite.....

Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I have never seen a sever go above and beyond as much as mine did. I would go back in a second if I knew she was my server!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great overall. Good service and food. We're a bit close to the kitchen, but that put us away from potential noise.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

On our first time visiting, we were sent a complimentary sample of an appetizer. It was a great surprise. And the braised short rib firecrackers are AMAZING. My favourite neighbourhood restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Came here on a weekend and it was fairly packed but not so busy that people had to wait long for a table. Figured because this was closer to corporate offices, might not be too busy on a weekend compared to their other locations.

Initially made a reservation for 2 but had another friend join us so it was easy to move us to a bigger table – thank you!

Lots of options on the menu, felt like one of your typical Jack Astor’s type of restaurant. Ordered a few apps and had the fish and chips. Wow – my piece of fish was HUGE! Good value and taste wise, pretty good as well!

Perfect dig to hang out and catch up with your buddies and catch a sports game. Very casual, good service, good value, overall would recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Have just started going to this restaurant as it was recommended...well, it's the only place I'm going to these days! Great service, food and the service team is extremely friendly and professional! Thank you for a consistently wonderful experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The manager is amazing and dealt with my food allergies extremely well. The quality of the food is far at best. Not returning anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Union Social is well located in the center of Toronto. Everything was great about the ambiance, service, etc. Only drawback was I ordered the Shrimp Taco lunch special which was lacking on shrimp and heavy on rice (a substitute for the fries). I'll certainly go back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I like that there are many options for various palates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food is incredible - get the Firecracker appy - delicious!!! Wonderful neighbourhood place. The overall experience was great but I did note a request for a window table and mentioned we were celebrating a birthday. We were not offered a window table even though there were ones available and the birthday was not acknowledged at all. To move from great to exceptional, it would be nice for them to acknowledge your requests/comments.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great spot, lots of fun. Food is consistently great and the staff are super!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Too noisy for us. Food was ok but not spectacular. Our table was given to another family but the waitress offered to pay our first round of drinks, which was a nice gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Average meal at an average restaurant with excessive noise level and average service.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good Food, Good Time, Perfect Service, Thanks for Compliment appetizer !!!

Thank you !!!!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were celebrating a low key family birthday. The food was good. The servers were super. It was a bit too noisy and our table was a little large for 6 but I would return as everything else was really great. Happy that it is in my neighbourhood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Union Social Eatery is one of my favorite neighborhood places. It's casual enough to feel relaxed, and has decent enough food to enjoy the occasional meal. The wine list is OK and reasonably-priced. Wonderful staff and service - This differentiates the experience from other similar places.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing experience!!! The service in particular, in addition to the awesome food, is what will keep me coming back :) super attentive staff - offered great suggestions on menu items, and paid attention to things like refills without asking :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We always enjoy Union Social. The service we received was outstanding,

One thing we miss is martini night on a Thursday

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a coffee and two delightful appetizers, with tortilla chips and toasted pita tips. The smashed avocado with basil and feta was surprisingly good. Nice service and the staff turned the music down for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The manager and staff were always asking if everything was okay. Food was fresh good flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We've been eating here for two years now. It seems the food quality has dropped slightly - everything we ordered was too greasy. We made a reservation and asked for the window table (which was available) and they brought us to another table at which point we reminded them about our reservation. The wait staff is okay, it used to be a lot more friendly and the food was much better. We'll probably go back at some point because it's so close but it's disappointing to see that it's not what it used to be. It can be very noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing quality food, and they are consistently great. Union is one of our favourite places to go for a casual meal. We love that everything is always made fresh and that there is a good variety of options on the menu. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Delicious unique meals here always. Been here many times, always good. A bit loud and the lights a bit bright, but service, food and wine choices excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2016

I had a salad with goat cheese and salmon. Pretty good. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to this restaurant because they offer a nice gluten free menu for my husband and son. The waitress was very attentive to our needs. The food was delicious and at a very reasonable price. It was a treat to have so many gluten free options available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I came for summerlicious 2016 and I really liked the feel of the restaurant. It was a cross between a pub and a diner and I really liked it. The people were also really nice. I started with the firecrackers and they were really good. Deepfried wontons almost stuffed with a mix of cheese and meat. I didn't really get mushrooms from it when I ate it, but they were really tasty. Next I shared the burger and the beef sandwich. Both were good, but I liked the burger a bit better. It had a nice peppery bite in the meat and the toppings were nice. I really liked the bread on the steak sandwich though and it was cooked well. Could maybe have used a titch more sauce. I liked the fries as well. Dessert was a bit of a disaster. The cookie sandwich had melted everywhere and the cookies were soggy. It also looked like someone had take a knife, spread some ice cream on a cookie and topped it with another cookie and thrown it on a plate. It wasn't good. The mars bar parfait wasn't terribly appetizing either and the brownie bits didn't taste good. They were chemically (like the individually wrapped ones in the grocery store). A good meal before dessert though and I would come back. My only other gripe would be the service was slow considering there were a lot of servers there and the restaurant wasn't full. Everyone was super nice though, it just was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Nice place, second time being there, will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great menu, fast service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great experience dining in this restaurant, outstanding service, food excellent and a vibrant atmosphere...we'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was great, friendly and speedy. I really enjoyed the unique options on the menu (candied salad; Brie burger) though I felt the taste of those unique dishes was a little bland and not quite what I expected.

Regardless I'll be coming back and this makes a great lunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2016

They heard it was our first time at the restaurant and gave us some complementary appetizers

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Enjoyed the interesting items on the menu for summerlicious. Most of the items blew our expectations away from the appetizers to the mains, however the desserts were a little small. Otherwise the atmosphere was booming and lively. First time dining here and would try again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Summerlicious was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Was here for summerlicious. The service was great, good food, lovely vibe. Will come again for beers and watch the game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very noisy and slow as it was a busy lunch time. The manager offered complimentary coffee and dessert which was nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our office went to celebrate a coworkers birthday and we decided to take advantage of the Summerlicious menu. The servers were great as well as the ambiance. Our group really enjoyed our meals, the portions were big and filling. The only tiny drawback was that I found a hair in my meal, however, the staff were really great in replacing my meal. Overall I would recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I seriously cannot say enough amazing things about my Summerlicious 2016 experience here! The food was amazing, and the value was definitely there! Best of all, our serve was attentive (very rare nowadays). I can't wait to come back for other items on their menu.

What I ate

Prime Rib fire crackers - 5/5

Steak sandwich - 5/5 (imagine your typical chewy steak sandwich, but 10x better and with flavour)

Mint chocolate ice cream sandwich - 3.5/5 (it was a tad too sweet for my taste, but if you're the type to like super sweet desserts then it's for you)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.