About Union Social Eatery St. Clair

21 St Clair West
Toronto, ON M4V 1K6
View Larger Map

Union Social Eatery is a new, premium casual eatery known for its well crafted menus and cocktails, an extensive draught and wine selection and the kind of place where comfort rules, and your table is your own little escape. It's a place where you can be yourself, relax, laugh with friends and enjoy great food.



It's common dining, done uncommonly well!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am

Sunday: 10:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Yonge Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 901-3456

Website:
http://www.unionsocial.ca/

Public Transit:
St. Clair stop on Yonge line (Yonge & St.Clair)

Executive Chef:
Michael Rame

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Social Eatery St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Midtown / Uptown ›

Good for Groups (55)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Great for Lunch (45)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Special Occasion (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Scenic View (4)
Romantic (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always enjoy Union Social. The servic ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We always enjoy Union Social. The service we received was outstanding,

One thing we miss is martini night on a Thursday

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a coffee and two delightful appet ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a coffee and two delightful appetizers, with tortilla chips and toasted pita tips. The smashed avocado with basil and feta was surprisingly good. Nice service and the staff turned the music down for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The manager and staff were always asking ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The manager and staff were always asking if everything was okay. Food was fresh good flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We've been eating here for two years now ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We've been eating here for two years now. It seems the food quality has dropped slightly - everything we ordered was too greasy. We made a reservation and asked for the window table (which was available) and they brought us to another table at which point we reminded them about our reservation. The wait staff is okay, it used to be a lot more friendly and the food was much better. We'll probably go back at some point because it's so close but it's disappointing to see that it's not what it used to be. It can be very noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Amazing quality food, and they are consi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing quality food, and they are consistently great. Union is one of our favourite places to go for a casual meal. We love that everything is always made fresh and that there is a good variety of options on the menu. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious unique meals here always. Been ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Delicious unique meals here always. Been here many times, always good. A bit loud and the lights a bit bright, but service, food and wine choices excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I had a salad with goat cheese and salmo ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I had a salad with goat cheese and salmon. Pretty good. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We went to this restaurant because they ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to this restaurant because they offer a nice gluten free menu for my husband and son. The waitress was very attentive to our needs. The food was delicious and at a very reasonable price. It was a treat to have so many gluten free options available.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came for summerlicious 2016 and I real ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I came for summerlicious 2016 and I really liked the feel of the restaurant. It was a cross between a pub and a diner and I really liked it. The people were also really nice. I started with the firecrackers and they were really good. Deepfried wontons almost stuffed with a mix of cheese and meat. I didn't really get mushrooms from it when I ate it, but they were really tasty. Next I shared the burger and the beef sandwich. Both were good, but I liked the burger a bit better. It had a nice peppery bite in the meat and the toppings were nice. I really liked the bread on the steak sandwich though and it was cooked well. Could maybe have used a titch more sauce. I liked the fries as well. Dessert was a bit of a disaster. The cookie sandwich had melted everywhere and the cookies were soggy. It also looked like someone had take a knife, spread some ice cream on a cookie and topped it with another cookie and thrown it on a plate. It wasn't good. The mars bar parfait wasn't terribly appetizing either and the brownie bits didn't taste good. They were chemically (like the individually wrapped ones in the grocery store). A good meal before dessert though and I would come back. My only other gripe would be the service was slow considering there were a lot of servers there and the restaurant wasn't full. Everyone was super nice though, it just was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice place, second time being there, wil ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Nice place, second time being there, will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great menu, fast service

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great menu, fast service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience dining in this restaura ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great experience dining in this restaurant, outstanding service, food excellent and a vibrant atmosphere...we'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great, friendly and speedy. ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was great, friendly and speedy. I really enjoyed the unique options on the menu (candied salad; Brie burger) though I felt the taste of those unique dishes was a little bland and not quite what I expected.

Regardless I'll be coming back and this makes a great lunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

They heard it was our first time at the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

They heard it was our first time at the restaurant and gave us some complementary appetizers

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Enjoyed the interesting items on the men ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Enjoyed the interesting items on the menu for summerlicious. Most of the items blew our expectations away from the appetizers to the mains, however the desserts were a little small. Otherwise the atmosphere was booming and lively. First time dining here and would try again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Summerlicious was great

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Summerlicious was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Was here for summerlicious. The service ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Was here for summerlicious. The service was great, good food, lovely vibe. Will come again for beers and watch the game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy and slow as it was a busy lun ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very noisy and slow as it was a busy lunch time. The manager offered complimentary coffee and dessert which was nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our office went to celebrate a coworkers ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our office went to celebrate a coworkers birthday and we decided to take advantage of the Summerlicious menu. The servers were great as well as the ambiance. Our group really enjoyed our meals, the portions were big and filling. The only tiny drawback was that I found a hair in my meal, however, the staff were really great in replacing my meal. Overall I would recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

I seriously cannot say enough amazing th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I seriously cannot say enough amazing things about my Summerlicious 2016 experience here! The food was amazing, and the value was definitely there! Best of all, our serve was attentive (very rare nowadays). I can't wait to come back for other items on their menu.

What I ate

Prime Rib fire crackers - 5/5

Steak sandwich - 5/5 (imagine your typical chewy steak sandwich, but 10x better and with flavour)

Mint chocolate ice cream sandwich - 3.5/5 (it was a tad too sweet for my taste, but if you're the type to like super sweet desserts then it's for you)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service - just the right level ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service - just the right level of attentiveness. Food was really good. Nice portion sizes (not too big or too small), and lots of flavour. I had the blueberry jalapeno back ribs that came with fries with a rosemary gravy. It was really flavourful and I gave my feedback that they should add this to the regular menu (it was a special for Summerlicious). Candy House salad to start and walnut torte for dessert, both tasty. BF had tomato -peach soup (very tasty, although the peach didn't come through much), panang noodle bowl (really satisfying, could really taste the coconut milk), and mars bar parfait (he liked it). Also had a really nice glass of red wine (spain, temperillo... or something like that!).

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time to this restaurant and it won ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

First time to this restaurant and it won't be our last. Wonderful staff that explained specials, were friendly and knowledgable. Energetic atmosphere. Food was served piping hot and was delicious - no complaints about any of it.

Looking forward to our next visit. Thanks to all the staff for an awesome evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service but food was typical pub f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great service but food was typical pub food. Great for craving a beer and to indulge in some unhealthy cravings.. But nothing stood out to much in terms of quality or flavour. Service was great tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Nice fun place. Too loud for me to hear ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice fun place. Too loud for me to hear though. Great for a social after work get together. Not a great place for kids though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great atmosphere with attractive server ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great atmosphere with attractive server ladies. The food was exceptional, service was hospitable and prompt.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place. Went there during lunch on ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great place. Went there during lunch on Sunday, was very surprised by the quality and service. Nice food, nice atmosphere, good service. Will come again when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful. Great location very active ne ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful. Great location very active neighborhood the manager and the service were wonderful we were first-time clients so they provided us with a free appetizer. Very nice and friendly food was great selections are awesome will definitely go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood gem with friendly service.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant; very friendly service; reasonably-priced and better than average cuisine and beverages.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great and the service is in ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was great and the service is incredible! I very much looking forward to going back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was lovely and efficient.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was HOT which was a treat as restaurants usually serve warm food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Union Social at St. Clair

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was delicious, and for the second time I found myself choosing from the daily specials. My only issue is that the restaurant is so popular that it is always full which means it is noisy and sometimes difficult to hear the people you are with. But I suppose that is not a bad problem for the restaurant!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Union Social Eatery St. Clair is my go t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Union Social Eatery St. Clair is my go to place in the neighborhood. The food is always very good and the service exceptional.

It is a bit on the loud side and you are advised to make a reservation because they are always busy which speaks to how good the experience is.

The manager, Sarah, is outstanding at her job!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Service

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service is always great, food is always delicious and a diverse menu for all types of eaters. Just a great neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Relaxed atmosphere. High ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was great. Relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended. Staff were extremely attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not bad

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Korean short rib tacos were excellent, garlic shrimp tacos were decent, big eye tuna sliders were lacking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was very attentive without being ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Service was very attentive without being intrusive for our small group. All food choices were excellent. We appreciated the acknowledgement of our first visit and the desserts provided for our birthday folks. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, fast and fabulous service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Perfect local spot for casual dinner with the family on a Saturday night. Lots of choice on the menu, and food is well priced and decent. Portions tend to be quite large.

Our server was amazing--knew menu well, and provided very prompt service and follow up.

Burgers are great, and so are salads, pastas and appetizers. Noise level is high, and while we were in a booth we still had to speak above restaurant noise. Lots of tvs on above bar for sports fans. Would definitely come back again--quality of food was better than I recall from our last visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Brunch

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Went for the weekend brunch menu. Chef sent over an appetizer free when they found out it was our first time! Very nice spot and not overly busy. Food a bit pricey but overall good. Portions are a fair size. Service was very attentive. Would go again and try the regular menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

surprisingly good food, and very attentive service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

WE enjoyed our food a lot. Our friend had the banana coconut chicken and loved it. My Ahi tuna salad was fresh and tasty. The service was attentive and friendly. The bill for four of us with two wines and a beer came to $100. Very good value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant Experience

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

We had a nice dinner at this restaurant. Food was very good. Menu has a good variety of choices - something for everyone. The service was great and the staff were very friendly and professional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.