About Union Social Eatery St. Clair

21 St Clair West
Toronto, ON M4V 1K6
View Larger Map

Union Social Eatery is a new, premium casual eatery known for its well crafted menus and cocktails, an extensive draught and wine selection and the kind of place where comfort rules, and your table is your own little escape. It's a place where you can be yourself, relax, laugh with friends and enjoy great food.



It's common dining, done uncommonly well!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am

Sunday: 10:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Yonge Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 901-3456

Website:
http://www.unionsocial.ca/

Public Transit:
St. Clair stop on Yonge line (Yonge & St.Clair)

Executive Chef:
Michael Rame

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Social Eatery St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (36)
neighborhood gem (25)
great for lunch (18)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (14)
kid-friendly (10)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
special occasion (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service

Dined 3 days ago

Service is always great, food is always delicious and a diverse menu for all types of eaters. Just a great neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was great. Relaxed atmosphere. High ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was great. Relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended. Staff were extremely attentive.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Not bad

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Korean short rib tacos were excellent, garlic shrimp tacos were decent, big eye tuna sliders were lacking.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very attentive without being ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Service was very attentive without being intrusive for our small group. All food choices were excellent. We appreciated the acknowledgement of our first visit and the desserts provided for our birthday folks. Will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fun, fast and fabulous service

Dined on April 30, 2016

Perfect local spot for casual dinner with the family on a Saturday night. Lots of choice on the menu, and food is well priced and decent. Portions tend to be quite large. Our server was amazing--knew menu well, and provided very prompt service and follow up. Burgers are great, and so are salads, pastas and appetizers. Noise level is high, and while we were in a booth we still had to speak above restaurant noise. Lots of tvs on above bar for sports fans. Would definitely come back again--quality of food was better than I recall from our last visit.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Brunch

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Went for the weekend brunch menu. Chef sent over an appetizer free when they found out it was our first time! Very nice spot and not overly busy. Food a bit pricey but overall good. Portions are a fair size. Service was very attentive. Would go again and try the regular menu.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

surprisingly good food, and very attentive service

Dined on April 2, 2016

WE enjoyed our food a lot. Our friend had the banana coconut chicken and loved it. My Ahi tuna salad was fresh and tasty. The service was attentive and friendly. The bill for four of us with two wines and a beer came to $100. Very good value

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant Experience

Dined on March 15, 2016

We had a nice dinner at this restaurant. Food was very good. Menu has a good variety of choices - something for everyone. The service was great and the staff were very friendly and professional.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Something for everyone

Dined on February 27, 2016

We we went for an early (6:30) dinner with kids and grandparents. There's a decent kids' menu and an extensive menu. Food was quite good and the service was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Surprising pleased! I new the environme ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Surprising pleased! I new the environment was esthetical pleasing what I didn't realize was how good the food would be who new I could have a beer and dragon rolls what a refreshing spin on classic pub food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun with friends

Dined on February 4, 2016

Had a great time with a group of 4 the other evening. The vibe is fun but relaxed, menu had lots of options with good prices. Will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

winterlicious 2016

Dined on February 4, 2016

We went for winterlicious as the dessert selection caught my eye ( lindor creme brule...yummy!). The service was great and staff were very friendly. The food was just ok though nothing special. Nice bar if your in the area and want to grab a few drinks with friends and get some decent bar food. Reminds me of jack astors and other chain/bar restaurants. Would go again if in the area and cant decide on anything else...

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice place, a little noisy

Dined on January 31, 2016

Very busy on a Saturday night, food was good service ok. I little to load for our group, but maybe because we were seated under asset of three speakers? Only other issue is we did online reservation with a request for seating near window or booth, however we were seated smack in the middle of an open area near the entrance. Next time we will call direct if possible. Nice place for the area.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4

Good food with great service. They gave ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Good food with great service. They gave us their Mediterranean dip trio on the house and it was really good. Food and the drinks were good too. Great place for a casual meal.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gluten Free Heaven

Dined on January 23, 2016

I love this restaurant for it's great value and gluten free options. The food is amazing (although they didn't have the dragon rolls) and the staff is super friendly. A summertime patio would be a huge bonus but it's still a great spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience everytime

Dined on January 22, 2016

I had been to Union a few times for brunch and there was never more than a handful of people there. The food is delicious, fast, and the service is the best I've seen from any restaurant in that price point. I went for dinner there for the first time and it was packed. Glad to see the crowd did not take away from the food or the service we had come to expect. I will continue to recommend people to this restaurant not just for bruncj but also for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time

Dined on January 17, 2016

A friend recommended Union Social to me and I decided to try it out Saturday night. We had appetizers however looking at the menue I wished I would have saved myself for a dinner!! The food was great and the service was even better. The manager walked around to each table thanking us for coming in, and I noticed her chatting with others As well. A friend of mine told me the manager did the same for her when she first went to union social. I've never seen that before, and i thought it was great. I am looking forward to my next visit !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great selection of food

Dined on January 17, 2016

The service was phenomenal. I think it was the general manager that came out to greet us and even serviced us food. That is just another level up! Our group of four started off with the "Firecracker something" appetizer which was very tasty and enjoyable. I had the burger (think it was called Smokehouse) and it was a good juicy burger. Truffle fries was way too greasy for me. Noise level was not bad. We didn't have to scream to hear each other. This was on a Saturday evening. On one occasion, some guy cheered aloud while watching whatever sports that were playing on the TVs. I would probably come back to try some of the other unique dishes instead of a burger. I say probably only because I do not eat out often. So when a restaurant earns a second visit, it means I recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to catch up with friends!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great spot to meet up with friends, whether you have a small or large group. Lots of variety on the menu and the prices aren't bad either.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great lunch!

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

We met a couple of friends there for lunch on Ne Year's Eve and enjoyed our meal. Each of us liked our selection, and the portions were generous. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere!

Dined on December 17, 2015

Great atmosphere!

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Too loud in a small space

Dined on December 13, 2015

I am familiar with the Mississauga location so decided to try out one of the other ones. I was a little disappointed. The food was great as usual, however the space of the restaurant was small in comparison and found it to be loud and crowded. We were having dinner with some friends to celebrate christmas and noticed the tables were all booths except for the high tables and there was no area in the restaurant where people can sit to have a conversation without having to shout in order to hear. I know this is a smaller location however I would not return and would rather go to the mississauga location. Much bigger and even though its loud there are area's to sit and eat and enjoy the time with friends without having to shout because of the distractions of noise.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

Dined on December 11, 2015

Great service

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great for lunch

Dined on December 8, 2015

Had soup of the day and the house burger. My friend also had the soup (chicken & wild rice) and the club sandwich. We both thought the soup was really delicious and really enjoyed each of our meals. Our server was attentive and we found the entire experience really good. The only 'bad' was we were both surprised by the noise level of the restaurant when we arrived ... I think because all hard surfaces and they had a full house, but it was notable. We both look forward to going back for a meal another time and would recommend the restaurant for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Great local rstaurant

Dined on December 6, 2015

Great burgers and fries, friendly service, noisy but fun

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

Just no

Dined on December 5, 2015

Pack 'em in, pack 'em in. This place was overcrowded and, as a result, too noisy to enjoy. At a small table away from the bar area (which was crowded like cattle), we had to scream at each other to "converse." The wine list was weak, and the menu doesn't know what it wants to be -- Tex-Mex/Asian/what? We left after a round of drinks and appetizers to have dinner somewhere else. Disappointed.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Good place to watch sports, casual pub dining.

Dined on November 30, 2015

Nothing fancy, but OK burgers, salads etc, a few good size TV's visible to more than just those at the bar, and friendly service. Nice variety of beers on tap.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Interesting menu, great service

Dined on November 23, 2015

Portions are very generous, so be sure to bring your appetite or share with a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

Union Social Eatery

Dined on November 19, 2015

Had dinner with friends - all in our 40s - last Thursday. The food was really great, we all had some variance of the burger. The service was terrific, you couldn't ask for a more attentive and pleasant staff. We met after work at 6:30 though, and the noise was insane. I would suggest if you want to talk to go a little later than that, maybe 7:30, so you can hear your friends. I could tell it would be a fantastic after work drinks spot by the volume of the clientele - lots of fun.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent menu selection!

Dined on November 18, 2015

Great spot for lunch, the meal and service was excellent. Had a couple of dishes and split to try them out with my colleague - great place, going back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3

Same quality as a Firkin Pub

Dined on November 8, 2015

Don't get me wrong, I enjoy the Firkin to gather with friends and watch a game. I had expected this to be more similar to a Joey's but a little more up scale. That was not the case. The server was nice and the food tasted ok but it was about the quality I would expect from a ski hill chalet- think very low quality poutine. We started with the tuna sliders and while a nice taste, the buns were so stale that I just ate my tuna off them with a fork. The poutine that came as a side of my sandwich was covered in what looked like packaged cheddar and bland grey-ish gravy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, great service!

Dined on November 7, 2015

There were 7 of us for an early dinner on a Saturday evening. Service was great. The waitress was extremely attentive, very friendly and extremely helpful. Good gluten free menu as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic spot

Dined on November 5, 2015

Well aware of the fact that a lot of the people eating here are on lunch, they turn their food around quickly and it's delicious! Can't go wrong. We ordered the fish and chips (yum!!! coleslaw is great) and the killer chicken (OMG it's awesome) with truffle fries (also, OMG it's amazing).

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great neighbourhood spot for getting tog ...

vip
Dined on October 22, 2015

Great neighbourhood spot for getting together for drinks and a bite with friends after work on a Thursday! Loved it! The truffle fries are delicious! 👍

food4
ambience4
service2

Pleasant server, but very poor service.

Dined on October 17, 2015

To start off, our server was very pleasant and nice, and the mimosa I had was delicious. Now for the not so great parts: there were menu items unavailable and the server only told us after we ordered them. Perhaps in future that can be communicated immediately upon sitting down (especially because we were there for brunch and there are only 5 items on the brunch menu, so 2/5 being unavailable is quite significant...). We asked for bread while we waited because one member of our family was very hungry; the server said they didn't have any to offer. A few minutes later we inquired about soup crackers instead and she then offered to serve us naan bread as a complementary appetizer - which was very appreciated except we don't know why that wasn't offered the first time. Or at least pointed out to us that we could order it from the menu - because we definitely would have. After ordering from the 3 brunch items remaining on the menu, the server came back from the kitchen that they only had 2 servings left of one of the items when we had ordered 3, so one of us had to change to another meal (basically choosing from 2 of the 5 options). We had to ask for coffee re-fills, and it's not like we asked immediately, it was about 45 minutes to an hour after we initially got our coffee that we wanted refills. When the server refilled my coffee, she walked away without noticing my mom (who's birthday it was) also holding out her coffee mug for a refill. My mom also verbally asked for more coffee without the server hearing or noticing. We had to ask twice for the bill and it wasn't very busy at all. It was also cold in there and half our family had their coats on throughout brunch. This review sounds like we're high maintenance, but it really just wasn't a great experience. The food was alright but not anything special. I wouldn't recommend to a friend, unfortunately.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for friends to meet and eat

Dined on October 16, 2015

Good for reasonable prices. Limited but acceptable wine list. Very noisy so not good for meetings

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

More attention from our server

Dined on October 15, 2015

We could have had more attention for our server. She wasn't always around when we wanted to make our order, and ketchup and mustard doesn't seem to be a staple at this restaurant. I had asked for both once, but when our server only came back with mustard, I had to ask for ketchup (It was for a burger and fries, so I am surprised it wasn't even predicted).

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3

Good Location but....

vip
Dined on October 12, 2015

It was an especially loud room, albeit it was the Jays game. The acoustics are actually quite poor in the space. Also the lighting was much too bright. Blindingly so, as it was right in my eyes. I asked to have the lights dimmed a bit but nothing was done. The food was okay. The service was very friendly. I do like the location.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

From the hostess to the servers and the ...

Dined on October 9, 2015

From the hostess to the servers and the busers, service was excellent! We came to watch the Jays game and unfortunately I forgot to book a table with a view of the tv wall but our server was able to accommodate a table switch about quarter way through the game. Perfect for group lunches because they have several large tables but a little loud to have conversations. Great experience overall!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food & beer selection. Good atmosph ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

Good food & beer selection. Good atmosphere. Great service. Will be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.