Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Union Social Eatery St. Clair

Union Social Eatery is a new, premium casual eatery known for its well crafted menus and cocktails, an extensive draught and wine selection and the kind of place where comfort rules, and your table is your own little escape. It's a place where you can be yourself, relax, laugh with friends and enjoy great food.



It's common dining, done uncommonly well!

21 St Clair West
Toronto, ON M4V 1K6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am

Sunday: 10:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Yonge Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 901-3456

Website:
http://www.unionsocial.ca/

Public Transit:
St. Clair stop on Yonge line (Yonge & St.Clair)

Executive Chef:
Michael Rame

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Social Eatery St. Clair Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (16)
Casual (16)
Good for Groups (10)
See All
Great for Lunch (10)
Fun (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Sports (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Romantic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

First time there, waitress was friendly, informative and efficient. Since it was our first time there, the manager brought out a free house special appetizer which was yummy! I would definitely recommend and go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 4, 2017

great food. I always love this place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great selection of beers and burgers. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My only complaint was the service. Service was not at all comparable to previous visits. It seemed like only 2 servers were looking after the entire restaurant. It was disappointing as my wife and I usually enjoy this restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The service was the worst I have ever experienced in a restaurant. It was a busy night with three large parties going on in the restaurant and clearly not enough waiting staff. We had to wait so long the food came to the table cold; we had to ask twice for things to be brought. One person in our party received her food half an hour after the others. It was extremely noisy so we couldn't hear each other; I would never come back to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was a last minute lunch. It was great! I was with a friend who wanted to share so we got the beef tacos, fish sandwich and candy salad. Everything was good but the fish sandwich was impressively delicious and the fish was grilled - not fried! The fries were amazing too. I'd go back and recommend for a fun spot to get together with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It's disappointing. Have been there thrice now. Each time the experience is similar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great service! It was our first time and the server was patient and explained the menu well. Also they gave us a free app for our first visit. Would come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Went for Winterlicious. Service was friendly, fast, and efficient. Food was delicious and very generously portioned. Great value for money. Have recommended to friends already.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

My party of six went for the dinner time Winterlicious menu selections. The service was great and the food was very good wth large portions. Dessert was delicious, although all three selections were chocolate. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The wait staff was very accommodating when we told them we had time constraints. I ordered the steak, but it wasn't a good cut of meat -kind of gristly and I hate that. The creme brule was less amazing than I have had in the past, but maybe it was less caloric too... I found the menu choices interesting, though I stuck to the Winterlicious menu. I will come back to try some of the choices on the regular menu.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went for Winterlicious lunch - Food was good and better than your typical pub/bar food which is what I expected. Service was good at first but then it got really busy and service ended up being slow. I would still go back to eat there since I live nearby and the menu is good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I've eaten here a few times and while the food has always been good, the service has been hit or miss. My last 2 visits definite improvements in service. This visit I had a great server and felt very comfortable. Hopefully the trend continues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

My lunch companion forgot to ask for his burger to be substituted with a vegetarian patty. Our server, after noticing he'd eaten everything else asked about it and offered to switch it. Even though my companion insisted it was OK, she pleasantly and professionally suggested a number of ways she could make it up to him. When the bill came, she'd taken the burger off the bill. Awesome service and it will make me go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Sweet waitress. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great place. Excellent food but a little loud for business. With that said, there is a lot of great atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was exceptional and the food was amazing. As a first timer, the server even brought us out a little treat on the house. Super nice of her and the kitchen to do that for us.
We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Kyle was an amazing server - knowledgeable, fun, polite.....
Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 8, 2016

I have never seen a sever go above and beyond as much as mine did. I would go back in a second if I knew she was my server!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great overall. Good service and food. We're a bit close to the kitchen, but that put us away from potential noise.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

On our first time visiting, we were sent a complimentary sample of an appetizer. It was a great surprise. And the braised short rib firecrackers are AMAZING. My favourite neighbourhood restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Came here on a weekend and it was fairly packed but not so busy that people had to wait long for a table. Figured because this was closer to corporate offices, might not be too busy on a weekend compared to their other locations.

Initially made a reservation for 2 but had another friend join us so it was easy to move us to a bigger table – thank you!

Lots of options on the menu, felt like one of your typical Jack Astor’s type of restaurant. Ordered a few apps and had the fish and chips. Wow – my piece of fish was HUGE! Good value and taste wise, pretty good as well!

Perfect dig to hang out and catch up with your buddies and catch a sports game. Very casual, good service, good value, overall would recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Have just started going to this restaurant as it was recommended...well, it's the only place I'm going to these days! Great service, food and the service team is extremely friendly and professional! Thank you for a consistently wonderful experience!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The manager is amazing and dealt with my food allergies extremely well. The quality of the food is far at best. Not returning anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Union Social is well located in the center of Toronto. Everything was great about the ambiance, service, etc. Only drawback was I ordered the Shrimp Taco lunch special which was lacking on shrimp and heavy on rice (a substitute for the fries). I'll certainly go back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I like that there are many options for various palates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food is incredible - get the Firecracker appy - delicious!!! Wonderful neighbourhood place. The overall experience was great but I did note a request for a window table and mentioned we were celebrating a birthday. We were not offered a window table even though there were ones available and the birthday was not acknowledged at all. To move from great to exceptional, it would be nice for them to acknowledge your requests/comments.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great spot, lots of fun. Food is consistently great and the staff are super!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Too noisy for us. Food was ok but not spectacular. Our table was given to another family but the waitress offered to pay our first round of drinks, which was a nice gesture.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Average meal at an average restaurant with excessive noise level and average service.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good Food, Good Time, Perfect Service, Thanks for Compliment appetizer !!!

Thank you !!!!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were celebrating a low key family birthday. The food was good. The servers were super. It was a bit too noisy and our table was a little large for 6 but I would return as everything else was really great. Happy that it is in my neighbourhood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Union Social Eatery is one of my favorite neighborhood places. It's casual enough to feel relaxed, and has decent enough food to enjoy the occasional meal. The wine list is OK and reasonably-priced. Wonderful staff and service - This differentiates the experience from other similar places.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Amazing experience!!! The service in particular, in addition to the awesome food, is what will keep me coming back :) super attentive staff - offered great suggestions on menu items, and paid attention to things like refills without asking :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 8, 2016

We always enjoy Union Social. The service we received was outstanding,
One thing we miss is martini night on a Thursday

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a coffee and two delightful appetizers, with tortilla chips and toasted pita tips. The smashed avocado with basil and feta was surprisingly good. Nice service and the staff turned the music down for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The manager and staff were always asking if everything was okay. Food was fresh good flavour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We've been eating here for two years now. It seems the food quality has dropped slightly - everything we ordered was too greasy. We made a reservation and asked for the window table (which was available) and they brought us to another table at which point we reminded them about our reservation. The wait staff is okay, it used to be a lot more friendly and the food was much better. We'll probably go back at some point because it's so close but it's disappointing to see that it's not what it used to be. It can be very noisy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing quality food, and they are consistently great. Union is one of our favourite places to go for a casual meal. We love that everything is always made fresh and that there is a good variety of options on the menu. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Delicious unique meals here always. Been here many times, always good. A bit loud and the lights a bit bright, but service, food and wine choices excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.