About UNION Rooftop

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 3pm- 10pm
Tuesday: 3pm- 10pm
Wednesday: 3pm- 10pm
Thursday: 3pm- 10pm
Friday: 3pm- 11pm
Saturday: 3pm- 11pm
Sunday: 9am-10pm

Rooftop Happy Hour: 3pm-6pm everyday
Sunday Breakfast & Brunch 9am-3pm

****

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 4:00PM - 5:00PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (39)
Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fun (22)
Casual (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
People Watching (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (4)
Live Music (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Dancing (3)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was delish and diverse. Server was great but we all thought our food took longer to get than it should have and they weren't busy. Called 2 days ahead to move to main dining room after finding out they have a DJ during Sunday brunch on the rooftop. We were 3 generations gathering to celebrate our Aunti's 85 birthday and wanted conversation. I get there on time but all the rest got there early and they took them to the rooftop...oops...we got it worked out but I don't think that should happen at a place like this. They sat us at a cozy booth for 6 but we had a great time. It was nice to have valet parking on Sunday since my Aunti's mobility is challenged. She loved the whole experience and that's what really mattered to all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were celebrating 2 birthdays and we had a great time, great food and great service!!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our waiter was very hospitable. Good energy and enthusiasm for the evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had some issues with our reservation. Due to our group size decreasing, we were made to wait over a half an hour after our reservation time even though there were open tables. There was not anywhere to stand on the rooftop while we were waiting and kept getting pushed by the wait staff and other guests as we were "in the way." However once we got seated, the manager came over to apologize and gave us free appetizers and a drink on the house. Our service was very good from there on out and the food was delicious. Besides the long wait and first impression, we will most likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Came in before a show and everything was great. A little loud for my older parents upstairs, food was great. Our tab was a little over $50 per person and we felt like we got our $ worth.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic server, food and service. Hostess was not very pleasant and acted annoyed and not at all helpful when we tried to move one seat out of the potted tree it was directly under. She left and the server immediately came over and helped. After that everything was wonderful. Steaks were cooked perfectly...excellent char on outside. Amazing flavor.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Love the place but for brunch, the music can get a bit to loud! I'd love to have a conversation with my friends without feeling like I'm yelling at them..

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The ROOFTOP was awesome! Outside experience, in the winter, without the cold weather. The entire dining room was covered by glass. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and she recommended some great foods!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Too many tables in the space, but very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

What a fun place to go - even in wintertime, all of the pretty twinkling lights reflect on the glass roof and it's lovely. The service and food were all high quality and enjoyable. We'll happily go back soon, thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great spot for Sunday brunch and to hang out with group of friends! The music is great and rooftop have good vibe.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Dancing, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was delicious although it took a good half hour to get it and they weren't busy at that point. The brunch DJ was fun but it was really loud. Our server didn't come by often at all so we didn't have the opportunity to ask for things we wanted for our food (soda refill, extra sour cream, etc). The atmosphere would be much better at night in the summer, a great view and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This place is becoming a little passe - the birthdays and sparklers are too reminiscent of a hibachi restaurant in my opinion. This place is great when the weather starts to warm and the novelty of sitting on a rooftop has allure, but the food is mediocre and overpriced. Everything we ordered was fried, even the gnocchi. Our server was great, and the drinks are well made. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was good. Great service. Very loud - dining area right next to the bar, tables are very close to each other. And if you go at a time when there are quite a few larger parties of 6 to 8, as we did, it can be loud.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was great. Our server Erica was awesome !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fantastic spot with fantastic deals.

Tags: Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great late night date night special! An appetizer, 2 entrees, dessert, and a bottle of wine for $50! The food was great and our server was friendly, although somewhat inexperienced. The only disappointment was that they were out of the bottle of wine I ordered. Overall, a very unique and fun atmosphere for an affordable Friday night out in dowtown Minneapolis.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is a great restaurant at which to eat before or after a concert, play, game. The rooftop was a bit chilly the evening we went BUT when we asked them to turn the heat up, they did.

It can be a bit noisy-would carpeting absorb some of the noise?

Food and service were excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Liked the food, liked the view, especially when the lights were turned on. It was a cold, cloudy day when we were there, and we are curious about going back when it is nice out. Little more expensive than we would have expected, but it was not a bad experience. Big fan of the gnocchi caprese.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

So appreciate the friendly service and great recommendations on wine and pasta.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

It was great. A bit quiet, we had the whole place to ourselves. But it was a great overall spot.

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fabulous service. The food and drink selection was great and varied. We loved the Salmon Carpaccio and Santarita! Can't wait to visit again when the roof is open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was tasty, service was good, and the drinks were wonderful. Great atmosphere and view of the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I went to dinner on the rooftop to have a relaxing dinner on a work night. I ordered the oysters, mussels, truffle fries, and the nutella tart. The oysters were very good, but they didn't bring me utensils to use with the oysters. The mussels were mostly good and the grilled toast was great, but the broth was very salty. Also, the person who brought the dish out did not bring utensils or the bowl for the mussel shells. The truffle fries were great on their own, but the bleu cheese dip they included added an extra salt factor. As for the nutella tart, the nutella cream tasted like they added some form of acid (lemon or yogurt?) that completely stripped the nutella flavor from it which was upsetting. The gin pomegranate cocktail was also too sweet.

Overall a good experience, my server (christian?) was very great. There were just some small things that could have made it better.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Overall this was a great experience! Had the filet minion which was delicious, tender and perfectly cooked. Husband had the bacon wrapped meatloaf which was also very delicious. They have a decent drink menu as well with local craft beer, wine & specialty cocktails- the French apple martini was SO good!!! Would definitely dine here again

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Staff was friendly and helpful explaining the menu to our large group. Drinks and food were served quickly which is greatly appreciated on work outings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service!!
Awesome food, outstanidng ambiance......

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beautiful sitting under the glass dome, but really loud. Wish they'd turn the music down.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We stopped in for Sunday Brunch on our anniversary weekend. Staff was polite, on top of refills, and food was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My only wish was that they had honored my request from the reservation. Other than that we had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waitress Molly was absolutely amazing. The great service, conversation and recommendations by her really made our "Date Night" special. Definitely recommend the rooftop dinning at this location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We enjoyed the ambience and the great light and views of the roof top with the fresh air from the unseasonably warm day. The service was great, and the lamb chop special was delicious. Filet was good but a little too much char. Amazing cocktails and a great wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The rooftop is a fun place to have drinks and food on a pretty night. Service is great, energetic and friendly. Food is good, but not five star, but that's not why we went there. View is great and it's just fun to be up there on a pretty night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great with one exception. The noise level. Maybe because we had a large party that was very loud. The setting would have been more enjoyable if we didn't need to talk above them. Seemed like that what was it was slated for.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went out to dinner for Valentine's Day(the day after). We made reservations. The service was great, food arrived quickly, and atmosphere was outstanding. We will visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very kind and friendly wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Feb 14, 2017. Amazing spot. Gorgeous view , great food. And they gave us a Rose. Two thumbs up.

Tags: Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner
Had the steak and lobster dinner with Lobster Thermadore it was good though Not particularly memorable. Wine was expensive. Rooftop had a nice ambiance. Definitely a young crowd. Would like to go back in summer with the roof open.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service were excellent. The music could be turned down a little.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good but super loud techno and Sunday brunch wasn't an appealing pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.