About UNION Rooftop

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 3pm- 10pm
Tuesday: 3pm- 10pm
Wednesday: 3pm- 10pm
Thursday: 3pm- 10pm
Friday: 3pm- 11pm
Saturday: 3pm- 11pm
Sunday: 9am-10pm

Rooftop Happy Hour: 3pm-6pm everyday
Sunday Breakfast & Brunch 9am-3pm

****

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 4:00PM - 5:00PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (47)
Good for a Date (39)
Fun (37)
See All
Special Occasion (35)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Casual (28)
Good for Groups (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (18)
Modern Decor (16)
People Watching (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great Beer (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Cozy (6)
Family Style (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Live Music (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Business Meals (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Dancing (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Live Sports (2)
Waterfront (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The risotto was awful!The "braised" short rib was tough(clearly not braised).Something is off in the kitchen!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and fantastic service. A great place to go before going to a play.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Noisy, untidy place. Food is poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

The location is amazing and the staff is great! perfect brunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food - amazing. But we had a reservation and waited over an hour to get seated, and then was told our table was given away because of someone getting the "safari package". Then after I complained that we had waited over an hour they put a table together for our group we were sat pretty much in the middle of the dance floor and had people pushing our table and putting their empty drink cups on it. Overall horrible experience for my 30th birthday. But no complaints on the food, it was delicious. Wish the service could have matched!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very fast for how busy they were. Very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great night out at a beautiful rooftop restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We traveled from out of state to Minneapolis for my husband's birthday and chose the Union because of all the great reviews. The atmosphere is great and the rooftop was very cool. We got the cheese plate as an appetizer and it was delicious. I was very disappointed with my meal though. I got the steak and asparagus with mashed potatoes. The asparagus were cold and the steak was very very bland. I only had a butter knife and couldn't cut my steak without sawing at it. Our waiter never returned to see if I needed a steak knife, ask how the food was, or ask if we needed anything - I would have loved steak sauce to make the steak better and a knife to actually cut it or to have the asparagus heated instead of cold. Overall very disappointed for a $32 dish :( again, no one ever asked how anything was or if we needed anything (my husband would have loved another drink if he had seen anyone) and we didn't see anyone again until they came over and gave us the check. For such a nice restaurant I expected a lot more and for a special occasion we were really let down.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Mark, our server, was fantastic! The outdoor rooftop was a great place to spend pre-theatre dinner. It was quite busy so service did take a bit longer to order drinks/food. However, it was perfect for us because we were just enjoying a casual meal to chat and catch up as friends do. We were in no hurry at all. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, People Watching, Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I brought my gf here for her birthday I had a reservation and we showed up on time. We were seated on the corner of the rooftop by a garbage can and unused furniture. We had a wobbly table and felt secluded from the rest of the customers. The service by our waiter was good and I tipped him accordingly. I ordered the 6oz. Filet and it was good but too much onion. Ive had a better steak at Texas Roadhouse for half the price. My gf had a burger and no complaints. The cocktails were weak. I felt like it was a little pricey considering we got to sit in a corner of junk with a table that belongs in the trash I was unhappy.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was my first time here, as well as my friends and we all loved it! I was happy that they had a decent gluten-free selection and my drinks were delicious. The service was good especially considering how busy it was! I will definitely be returning. This is a great location for a girls night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had a reservation for 6:15. Table was not available. Told hostess we were going to Orpheum at 7:30. She said they were doing the best we could. Seated at around 6:30 and server was very good at getting our order in and check in time for theater, but the overall experience was less than we have experienced on many prior occasions at Union.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Loved this place! Even though it was too cold to retract the glass panels, it still felt like we were outdoors. Molly, our server, was exceptional. Super fun and friendly, and she knew all about the menu when we had questions. The best part is she didn't hover over us. She was great about asking if we needed anything, but then left us alone to enjoy the fabulous food. Best margaritas I've had in a long time. The place was busy, but not so crowded that you couldn't enjoy the atmosphere. I'll definately go again!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch and was so disappointed. I've been to Union Rooftop many times prior for dinner - always a fun time and delicious meal! We had the last seating and felt rushed from the moment we arrived from being told "last call" for drinks about 15 minutes after sitting down - to having the food start being put away in the middle of our meal. Oddly, there was food up and downstairs which was really inconvenient. Waiting for the elevator was not an option with the crowd so people took the stairs - not a good plan carrying a plate of food. The Prime Rib was not rare but raw and no one at the table could eat it - a tray of cookies had clearly been sitting out for hours and was literally melting - we all passed. Very mediocre overall and I would not return nor recommend for Easter brunch. Notable dishes - the breakfast potatoes were fabulous - we all loved them! The waffles also a hit! The build to order egg station was out of ingredients and when we asked for cheese in the eggs we were told it had to go on top and therefore didn't melt properly. Plus they were doing one order at a time so the wait was way too long.... disappointing meal for such as special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Fun, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had Easter brunch here. They forgot to turn on the burners. So all the food was cold. Think we would of got a discount on that wow. Cool looking place but a waste of time for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Interesting and fun location. Love the greenhouse roof and all of the natural light. Friendly staff, but a bit chaotic. No one seemed to know how the buffet was supposed to function. Brunch was ok, but have had better. Would try again with the regular menu. Funky and cool concept, would go again.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was really good and the service was amazing but I think that this is not a place for a date if you want it to be romantic. The roof top was great but definitely more of a party feel, which I'm not against, just unexpected. Definitely would like to have a bar hopping party or a get together here where people can drink and eat good food and have a great time. Just a little suggestions, maybe tell needs a noise gauge on it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Miso Sea Bass was excellent! It was a beautiful evening, the roof was open. Angel was an excellent server.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Too crowded, too noisy and small menu selection. No gluten free options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Celebrating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Way too noisey, mediocre food, mediocre service, far too many tables crowded together. Outside patio hard to access and then overturned furniture, dirty glasses, cig butts from previous night. Awful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I loved that it was nice enough to move the roof back. My only complaint was there was a woman smoking a Cigar not far from our table, and we didn't think that was allowed. Otherwise, another great experience!

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

On one of the first warm days of spring they rolled back the roof for open-air dining. A pleasant setting. The food was good and the service was continuous without every being intrusive. My only complaint - perhaps a reflection of older age: the incessant low percussive beat of the music got tiresome after a while. We couldn't hear the melody so it seemed like the same tune the whole time we were there.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

To be honest, we ate here a couple years ago and were impressed. However, the scene has changed, the food options were rather limited, a bit boring, and when we received our food it was over salted to say the least (salt is a seasoning, not the main flavor) . That being said, the ambience was wonderful, and the service was spectacular. The food.... well.... you be the judge.

By the way, we did use the valet (very convenient). ... but oddly when we got the car to leave, all the radio station presets were changed.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We went on a Thursday night right before a play at the Orpheum. There were 3 of us. Let's start with drinks - Pineapple Express and Peach Martini were good. I had the Pomegranate Lime Non-Alcoholic drink - love it, I will "try" make this at home but it was excellent, not too sweet.
My friend's sister had the Lobster Mac and Cheese - she said the Lobster was tough not tender. Overall her sister liked it. My friend just had a wedge salad and I had the Fish and Chips. They had way too much breading for my liking and the fries were not crisp and slightly soft. However, when I broke open the Fish and Chips the fish was a good and I had a bite of the breading if you like a lot of breading you'll like it. The staff was amazing, attentive, friendly and fun would go back just for that experience. Saw many amazing dishes that we may come back and try. I've heard wonderful things from friends and will go back and try again sometime I'm sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Dinner before Matilda with a dear friend and our grown daughters. A perfect setting for Minnesotans tired of winter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This is a great environment in summer or winter. They open it up in the summer so you get the fresh air, and in the winter the lighting is great. It does get noisy because of the full windows, but worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food and drinks are as good as they always were, but it seems they've gone REALLY aggressive with the DJ during brunch. They've always had music, but this was absolutely oppressive. I enjoy a noisy atmosphere, but our group had a hard time having any sort of conversation beyond one or two people. They used to wait to pick up the music until later, but it was already going strong at our 1130 seating time. It's a shame, too. Used to love this place for brunch, but I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Food was delish and diverse. Server was great but we all thought our food took longer to get than it should have and they weren't busy. Called 2 days ahead to move to main dining room after finding out they have a DJ during Sunday brunch on the rooftop. We were 3 generations gathering to celebrate our Aunti's 85 birthday and wanted conversation. I get there on time but all the rest got there early and they took them to the rooftop...oops...we got it worked out but I don't think that should happen at a place like this. They sat us at a cozy booth for 6 but we had a great time. It was nice to have valet parking on Sunday since my Aunti's mobility is challenged. She loved the whole experience and that's what really mattered to all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We were celebrating 2 birthdays and we had a great time, great food and great service!!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our waiter was very hospitable. Good energy and enthusiasm for the evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had some issues with our reservation. Due to our group size decreasing, we were made to wait over a half an hour after our reservation time even though there were open tables. There was not anywhere to stand on the rooftop while we were waiting and kept getting pushed by the wait staff and other guests as we were "in the way." However once we got seated, the manager came over to apologize and gave us free appetizers and a drink on the house. Our service was very good from there on out and the food was delicious. Besides the long wait and first impression, we will most likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Came in before a show and everything was great. A little loud for my older parents upstairs, food was great. Our tab was a little over $50 per person and we felt like we got our $ worth.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic server, food and service. Hostess was not very pleasant and acted annoyed and not at all helpful when we tried to move one seat out of the potted tree it was directly under. She left and the server immediately came over and helped. After that everything was wonderful. Steaks were cooked perfectly...excellent char on outside. Amazing flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Love the place but for brunch, the music can get a bit to loud! I'd love to have a conversation with my friends without feeling like I'm yelling at them..

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The ROOFTOP was awesome! Outside experience, in the winter, without the cold weather. The entire dining room was covered by glass. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and she recommended some great foods!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Too many tables in the space, but very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

What a fun place to go - even in wintertime, all of the pretty twinkling lights reflect on the glass roof and it's lovely. The service and food were all high quality and enjoyable. We'll happily go back soon, thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great spot for Sunday brunch and to hang out with group of friends! The music is great and rooftop have good vibe.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Dancing, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was delicious although it took a good half hour to get it and they weren't busy at that point. The brunch DJ was fun but it was really loud. Our server didn't come by often at all so we didn't have the opportunity to ask for things we wanted for our food (soda refill, extra sour cream, etc). The atmosphere would be much better at night in the summer, a great view and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.