About UNION Rooftop

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Hours Edit
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm, 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 2:00pm, 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm, 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (70)
Scenic View (60)
Good for a Date (59)
See All
Special Occasion (57)
Fun (53)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Good for Groups (45)
Casual (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Hot Spot (36)
People Watching (35)
Bar Seating (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Happy Hour (30)
Romantic (29)
Worth the Drive (25)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Seasonal (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Business Meals (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Quick Bite (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Live Music (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Sports (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1793 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

We went to the Rooftop to catch the eclipse during lunch. The eclipse didn't disappoint but the service sure did. Food was good not great. And I'm OK with good (because I'm not a self-proclaimed foodie). There are some unique options to try and we enjoyed our choices. But the service was not good at all. Our server was slow, low energy, and not sure if she smiled once (and not that I needed her to smile - but her bad attitude towards something was very visible towards us). To make things as worse as they could be, she ask if we needed separate checks (my wife and I who, because we look different I guess, warrants the asking), and we said "no just one check please". Again not a big deal until we waited nearly 20 minutes for the check AND she showed up with 2 checks.

If anyone asks, I would not recommend it but I also would not recommend against it. Perhaps a different day the service is better. But I'm sure we won't visit again given all the other options available in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere was nice .
I had chicken cordon blue. It was a large piece , but it was only like warm and dry , the crust was hard to cut through . The broccoli seemed like it was just tossed on a hot grill , some charged spots , not tasty at all . No flavor and seemed stale .
Prim rib was okay , my date had that .
Very sparse on the veggies asparagus..
I would say we will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Better than expected :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice relaxing atmosphere with excellent food , wine & service !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Very, very unorganized, it didn't look like the servers had sections and it was mayhem. Our mains arrived before our appetizers, we were presented with the bill when we still had half a bottle of wine left.. they also no showed me on open table after seating me, which I had to request to be changed as I got the no show email during dinner. There are much better rooftops in downtown Minneapolis, I would probably skip this spot.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

My sister and I took my Cousin & His wife here for dinner, before my cousin went to his 45th Reunion. He is now living in Los Angeles, and hasn't been back here is years. They both loved the place, the wine, the service and the food. We had a lovely evening seeing each other after so many years and just catching up and getting to know each other again. They were staying in downtown Minneapolis and wanted to go somewhere close by. My sister and I have always wanted to try the Union Rooftop. So, we thought this would be the perfect time and it was. Weather and everything was perfect. We will be back again at some point. Maybe eating downstairs next time or try Brunch or Happy Hour. We all seemed to have picked a good spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first server for dinner was a bit clueless. Our server for dessert after we attended the Brave New Workshop was excellent as was the desserts! He actually brewed us a pot of coffee so we could have fresh coffee with our dessert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server, Mike, was fantastic. The food was beautiful and the cocktails good. I had Mango mojitos and I can honestly say it was probably the best I've had. Steak were perfect and lemon tart was lovely. Hostesses are a bit strange and cold but as soon as Mike appeared we were comfortable. It was Very loud, definitely not the place for good conversation in a group, with the the 2 of us it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing. Our anniversary dinner was a success because we tried a new restaurant and picked an excellent choice. Great scenery and fresh air. Great vibe.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

We came for a bachelorette party. The staff was extremely helpful and willing to accommodate when our group ended up larger than anticipated. Also very attentive and even brought out cake at the end.

I would definitely come again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Good food good Service was just too loud for a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Mediocre at best. Run down appearance, dirty floors over crowded seating, sports bar menu. Food so so, beverage menu low level quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great views and staff. Very limited and unimaginative brunch menu. No reason to return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I found the Union Rooftop to be a fun energetic place to enjoy a beautiful evening and dinner before a concert. Service was good and she was very friendly. Enjoyed seeing the bachelorette parties coming and going. Food options were good and tasted great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Rooftop is fun lively environment. Food was good, service friendly, menu has something for everyone. I will definitely visit again when I'm in Minneapolis.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

It's staggering how bad the food is. Complete waste of money. Rude seating host.

Just don't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We eat out often, this was a spot we will return to. Food was great and also the service.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Awesome fun brunch. There was a DJ there playing enjoyable music, I swear if there was a dance floor people would've been on it!! Server was amazing and was constantly refilling our bottomless mimosas! Food was great but more memorable was the rooftop view and fun party ambience. Makes me want to day drink every Sunday!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was good, the service outstanding. It started raining while we were there and they closed the canopy so we could continue. It got really loud and hard to hear after the canopy was closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Loud, OVERPRICED, they tried to up-sell their already crazy exp menu, pricey prime rib totally overdone! Will never go here again nor would I recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Hostess was very accommodating and our waiter was great. Rooftop is setting is great. My meal was very good as was my husbands.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Extensive wine list and very interesting and diverse menu. Definitely the hot trendy place for the young professionals of the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The buffalo shrimp was great. Didn't care for the flatbread pizza.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great service and Food and drinks. A lot of fun. Prompt seating (had a reservation).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great rooftop and delicious food! Definitely would recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Best feature is that it is rooftop dining. However, level of cleanliness was disappointing. Tabletops were dirty and floors were unswept. Trash gatherered in corners and around server-stands.

Overall, the lack of cleanliness was unappetizing and detracted from the generally good level of service and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Union is usually a good place to go, but this time it took ten minutes for our server to come over the first time, the champagne wasn't chilled, we had to ask for silverware to be delivered to the table, and the request for a birthday candle on the dessert was ignored. All these things not a big deal separately, but collectively gave the impression that the servers don't care and we're just phoning it in. Probably won't go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Very lively atmosphere! We had to wait over 20 minutes for our reserved table but the host was very kind and apologetic. The buffalo shrimp was worth the wait!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Our first time there. The food and location was amazing. Our server Emily was a delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our server was amazing! We came for my friends birthday, and she gave all of us a birthday shot! The food was amazing and the DJ killed it!

Tags: Seasonal, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food was amazing. The service was extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Will be going back!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 19, 2017

There was a disconnect between Open Table and the restaurant as they never received my online reservation and had to scramble for seating our large corporate party. I won't be using this online reservation service again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great food and dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Awesome food but be prepared for a really high noise level!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We ended up sitting at the bar instead of our reserved table for two since it was so loud. Even though there were several bartenders standing around, we were not greeted for approximately 10 minutes. Once the drinks orders were taken and delivered, we were never asked if we wanted to order food. I had to wave down the bartender to put our order in. Once the food came, the bartender never checked backed and I had to ask another bartender for our check. I mentioned that I had not seen our bartender for quite some time. We got our tab, paid and left outraged. It was a very unfortunate experience given that we were there to have a full meal and drinks. We went across the street and had an absolutely fabulous experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had an excellent dinner at the Union Rooftop to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday. The app was the "local cheese platter" that had a little of something for the both us and was nicely presented. I had the pan seared salmon which was very moist and tasty. My wife had the chicken cordon bleu which she really liked, and I will take her word that it was scrumptious. We split the chocolate cake for dessert -Yum! - which was topped off by a sparkler for my wife's birthday. She appreciated the extra touch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everyone from the host stand to our servers were very friendly, kind and attentive. Perfect pre- show dinner and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Union is a very regular place. I'm never pleased with the service, but I'm also never extremely dissatisfied. The bison burger was very good, but they brought me a filthy tea cup this time. Their coffee cups don't appear to be sufficiently washed. Our calamari had fried shrimp peel included on the plate. Its not fine dining, but it is pretending to be.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Fun place. Great place to spend a birthday. A little loud, but that was fine for us!! Good service!

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.