About UNION Rooftop

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 3pm- 10pm
Tuesday: 3pm- 10pm
Wednesday: 3pm- 10pm
Thursday: 3pm- 10pm
Friday: 3pm- 11pm
Saturday: 3pm- 11pm
Sunday: 9am-10pm

Rooftop Happy Hour: 3pm-6pm everyday
Sunday Breakfast & Brunch 9am-3pm

****

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (32)
Good for a Date (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
See All
Good for Groups (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Casual (17)
Fun (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Romantic (12)
People Watching (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Live Music (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Dancing (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous service. The food and drink selection was great and varied. We loved the Salmon Carpaccio and Santarita! Can't wait to visit again when the roof is open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

I went to dinner on the rooftop to have a relaxing dinner on a work night. I ordered the oysters, mussels, truffle fries, and the nutella tart. The oysters were very good, but they didn't bring me utensils to use with the oysters. The mussels were mostly good and the grilled toast was great, but the broth was very salty. Also, the person who brought the dish out did not bring utensils or the bowl for the mussel shells. The truffle fries were great on their own, but the bleu cheese dip they included added an extra salt factor. As for the nutella tart, the nutella cream tasted like they added some form of acid (lemon or yogurt?) that completely stripped the nutella flavor from it which was upsetting. The gin pomegranate cocktail was also too sweet.

Overall a good experience, my server (christian?) was very great. There were just some small things that could have made it better.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall this was a great experience! Had the filet minion which was delicious, tender and perfectly cooked. Husband had the bacon wrapped meatloaf which was also very delicious. They have a decent drink menu as well with local craft beer, wine & specialty cocktails- the French apple martini was SO good!!! Would definitely dine here again

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Staff was friendly and helpful explaining the menu to our large group. Drinks and food were served quickly which is greatly appreciated on work outings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent service!!

Awesome food, outstanidng ambiance......

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Beautiful sitting under the glass dome, but really loud. Wish they'd turn the music down.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We stopped in for Sunday Brunch on our anniversary weekend. Staff was polite, on top of refills, and food was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My only wish was that they had honored my request from the reservation. Other than that we had a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waitress Molly was absolutely amazing. The great service, conversation and recommendations by her really made our "Date Night" special. Definitely recommend the rooftop dinning at this location.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We enjoyed the ambience and the great light and views of the roof top with the fresh air from the unseasonably warm day. The service was great, and the lamb chop special was delicious. Filet was good but a little too much char. Amazing cocktails and a great wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The rooftop is a fun place to have drinks and food on a pretty night. Service is great, energetic and friendly. Food is good, but not five star, but that's not why we went there. View is great and it's just fun to be up there on a pretty night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great with one exception. The noise level. Maybe because we had a large party that was very loud. The setting would have been more enjoyable if we didn't need to talk above them. Seemed like that what was it was slated for.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband and I went out to dinner for Valentine's Day(the day after). We made reservations. The service was great, food arrived quickly, and atmosphere was outstanding. We will visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very kind and friendly wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Feb 14, 2017. Amazing spot. Gorgeous view , great food. And they gave us a Rose. Two thumbs up.

Tags: Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Cozy, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines dinner

Had the steak and lobster dinner with Lobster Thermadore it was good though Not particularly memorable. Wine was expensive. Rooftop had a nice ambiance. Definitely a young crowd. Would like to go back in summer with the roof open.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service were excellent. The music could be turned down a little.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good but super loud techno and Sunday brunch wasn't an appealing pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Erica was an outstanding server and had great recommendations

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went here for an early Valentine's Day dinner. I ordered the cajun chicken pasta and my husband ordered the bacon wrapped meatloaf. Both were excellent! Fast service and great hosts. I would definitely recommend Union Rooftop.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had the best waitress, Molly! Great service and great food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Date night

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The cheap date night is an amazing value-- appetizer, two entrees, dessert, and a bottle of wine for $50. The service was good, but we definitely felt rushed as we were trying to enjoy our date night. The food was fantastic! I highly recommend the salmon. We were drawn to the Union Rooftop for the atmosphere, and it definitely did not disappoint. Overall it was a positive experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good food and service. Fun views!! We will be back

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was phenomenal! Atmosphere was great and service was wonderful. Server was friendly, helpful and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Went there before a show at the Orpheum - great location!

Server was knowledgeable and helpful. Extensive wine list and craft cocktails. Interesting menu items.

Mom had the chorizo chili, I had gnocchi with chicken. Both delicious! We shared the Manchego cheese sticks -- the sweet quince sauce was a nice counter to the warm salty cheese!

The music made it difficult to talk at times, and when the place filled up it was extra noisy. But very fun and festive!

Several staff made time to greet us, all very pleasant and cheerful.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I came here for the rooftop Sunday brunch. Let's just say it's not for everyone. If you like crowds, live DJs, and unlimited (but weak) mimosas, this might be your brunch spot. I thought the food was very average, I didn't care for the noise, I disliked sitting 1 foot away from the next table, and thought the service was a little lacking. Luckily, they do churn people through pretty quickly, which was good for me and my date as we were not enjoying the experience that much. Maybe it's better during the summer when there's more seating available, but I'll stick with other brunch options, thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service wasn't horrible but it was brief and impersonal. The food was okay but the flatbread got cold really fast and the pasta was expensive for the amount you got.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I love this roof top in downtown Minneapolis! It is covered, heated, and allows for a great view with amazing dining. While I certainly enjoy this great spot a lot more in the summer time, it certainly has a special charm in the winter as well.

The service this time was spectacular, and I wouldnt change a thing. He was very attentive, but far from overbearing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were seated 20 minutes late, but fortunately did not have a tight schedule so were able to enjoy dinner. It looks and sounds like a bar, so we were surprised when the food turned out to be pretty good. I think this would be a better spot in the summer without the greenhouse type roof. It reflects sound down and makes it very loud.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

We met our longtime friends from Chicago there. Our service was fabulous. I had the sea scallops and my husband had special house chicken. Both were excellent. They have s great wine list too.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was poor! Burger was over cooked despite ordering medium. Salad was literally just spring mix, nothing else, no tomato, no cheese, no crouton, no nothing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a 4:45 reservation because we had 11 in our party. We showed up on time and were not seated until almost 5:20. Because of this late seating we ended up only ordering appetizers and drinks due to a time constraint with our post dinner plans. I can not comment on much dinner menu but the wontons, chicken flat bread and calamari were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fun atmosphere. The food was super- we got the shrimp, mussel and oysters as apps. Hanger steak and lobster pasta for our man. We enjoyed every dish an look forward to coming back to try more. Mark was a friendly server!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The rooftop location is too loud to have a conversation. We ordered an appetizer and entre and everything was just ok.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been here before and love the food, service and ambience. The food is great, wonderful service and such fun scenery. Try a few appetizers to share especially the shrimp (if you like spice). Also the fish or pasta.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This was our third visit to the Union Rooftop, but by far, our most complete dining experience. Overall, we had an excellent time there and would recommend this location to anyone. The menu prices are $$ to $$$, but the quality and portion size were excellent. Many beers and wines to choose from as well. Our server was great - he was energetic, attentive, and friendly throughout our entire stay which was longer considering my Italian heritage :) Last, but certainly not least, the atmosphere and ambiance was incredible! The rooftop offers beautiful views both inside and out and makes for a great location whether you are celebrating a big event, on a date, or just having dinner with friends or family.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing food and service looking forward to returning!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Would HIGHLY recommend! Great service, great food and a great experience overall!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time dining here and was very impressed. Service and food were excellent. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Convenient location when going to the Orpheum. Beautiful restaurant. Only drawback for me was the limited options of food available which did not contain garlic.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Staff were excellent tho on a very slow night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I went with my boyfriend on New Years Eve thinking it would be a nice and romantic evening. However, I was unaware the Union was hosting CANDYLAND--a three-floor party. The service was rushed and the waiters/waitresses were too busy setting up for the dance party than to attending guests. In fact, while we were dining, the staff continually removed tables around us which felt incredibly awkward and rude.

Food arrived in a timely manner but for the prices, the food was kind of a let down. Our appetizer was firecracker shrimp served with limp ice berg lettuce. While the shrimp was tasty, the garnish looked cheap. Next, I ordered the Union salad which was supposed to be goat cheese, apple, and vinaigrette but ended up being barely tossed salad with goat cheese...no apple. For our entrees, I ordered the Steak Frites medium rare. While the cap steak itself was a decent size, parts of it were charred. My boyfriend ordered the Fillet Oscar medium rare. It was also a decent size but his filet mignon was completely charred. The inside was more medium as well. The waitress was able to take it off the bill but it was a complete waste of filet mignon.

Overall, for being such a hyped up restaurant, it was a real let down. If all three levels of the restaurant are hosting an event--especially on New Years, then they shouldn't take normal reservations. I felt rushed, the noise level was loud, and the service was spotty.

Tags: Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, People Watching, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved eating at the Union Rooftop Restaurant on New Year's Eve. We ate before the partying started at 9:30. It would have been fun to stick around for it....but it was a $30 cover charge! It was fairly quiet and it was fun looking out the windows at the city surrounding us. The Lobster Mac & Cheese is absolutely fantastic! It arrived super hot and yummy. I got it for a side dish. The food is good and service excellent. We will be back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first visit. Came for an early evening New Years Eve meal. Our party ranged from age 11 to 56 and each of us found something on the menu to enjoy. Loved the White Sangria cocktail. Good service. Though slightly noisy it was well within what is reasonable for a holiday night. We would definitely return, and recommend it to friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were sat at a table in the middle of a crowded area, when asked to move to another table, the host didn't even speak to us, but grabbed our glasses, menus, and silverware and lead us to another table. Sorry for wanting a different location. After that, the server was very nice and the food was good. It is very loud, so don't expect to have a quiet conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Union rooftop was a absolutely great place! We went there before going to Orchestra Hall, we didn't feel rushed and we had plenty of time to enjoy the meal and atomsphere. The noise level made it difficult to have good dinner conservation, but the food was fabulous, something for everyone. I will definitely go here again and recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Only complaint is they were breaking down table and setting up new tables as we ate and visited. They pushed tables right past our table both coming and going. It made it way more noise and very annoying as a customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very cool place. Good service and good food. The lobster Mac and Cheese was exceptional. Dining room was a little small and tables were close together but overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We made a reservation for 5:30pm on a Saturday night, but the Rooftop restaurant wasn't very busy so it was not needed. We were seated right away at a table for two. My girlfriend and I ordered the Dirt Bike and Pineapple Express drinks. Both drinks were fine but a little too expensive for the quality. We then ordered the Cajun Chicken Alfredo and Filet Mignon. The Alfredo was good but a little too salty. The Filet Mignon was perfect. Our service was great and the atmosphere was ideal for a semi-formal date. We ended with the 5-Layer Cake which was a little too rich. Overall, we had a good experience. We will likely come back but might skip the drinks and dessert next time.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.