About UNION Rooftop

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 3pm- 10pm
Tuesday: 3pm- 10pm
Wednesday: 3pm- 10pm
Thursday: 3pm- 10pm
Friday: 3pm- 11pm
Saturday: 3pm- 11pm
Sunday: 9am-10pm

Rooftop Happy Hour: 3pm-6pm everyday
Sunday Breakfast & Brunch 9am-3pm

****

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View

Restaurant Photos

UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
Lamb
Meat.  Shared Plates. House Made & ,artisan Cured Meats.
White Russian
Scallops
Oysters
Buffalo Style Oysters With Blue Cheese & Shaved Celery
Cauliflower Soup
Sorbet Blackberry And Peach
Baja Style Mahi Mahi With Chile Verde Street Tacos
Potato Fries Hand-Cut With Russian Dressing
Trout

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Hot Spot
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

great for outdoor dining (97)
scenic view (87)
hot spot (61)
See All
good for groups (54)
special occasion (52)
vibrant bar scene (46)
fit for foodies (36)
great for brunch (33)
romantic (24)
great for lunch (22)
late-night find (21)
neighborhood gem (12)
notable wine list (4)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Happy Hour was not offered on the roofto ...

Dined 5 days ago

Happy Hour was not offered on the rooftop. The appetizer we had of calamari was over $12 and contained mostly shredded lettuce, only a handful of calamari. Not a good value.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

In the City to visit children for Father ...

Dined 5 days ago

In the City to visit children for Father's Day --brunch at the Union Rooftop recommended for us by our son. Small selection, but adequate for different tastes. The roof top view and ambiance great venue four daytime meal. Service was excellent--waiter even went to kitchen to get answer to question on omelet variation. I had huevosrancheros And my wife had a chicken and cheese omelet. Good food, great place and service at a good price for downtown Minneapolis.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was all very fresh. Mimosas were re ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was all very fresh. Mimosas were refilled promptly and they knew it was hot out so water was constantly refreshed as well.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was great. I had heard Shea designe ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. I had heard Shea designed the entire restaurant in MN from the branding & graphic design to the interior design/decorating . It's definitely unique in nature and the food was fantastic by far. Best salmon I ever had paired nicely with risotto. The drinks were weak for their pricing and the rooftop under the glass awning was way too loud. The groups of the bouchey bachelorette parties were echoing off the glass wall and ceiling so bad I couldn't hear my boyfriend speak 2 feet from me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary. We ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating our anniversary. We were sandwiched closely between two tables and could hear all conversations around us. Meal was great. Server was nice. We were told there was a dress code on the rooftop so was surprised to see tank tops shorts and flip flops on many guests. Felt overdressed. All in all a good experience

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I had a reservation for 9pm, but my grou ...

Dined 7 days ago

I had a reservation for 9pm, but my group was not seated until 9:30pm. There was no extra seating area to wait. Very disappointed for my guests that had to stand for a half hour. We were seated outside, however my group had a concern about rain. Staff was moldy rude that we were concerned about possible rain. Otherwise the dinning experience/ waiter was great! No one had any complaints about their food or service. I would come back, but would be hesitant on reservations for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WONDERFUL wait staff! Great food and dri ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

WONDERFUL wait staff! Great food and drinks! A loud but overall a great time!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The space is a bit small. The tables are ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The space is a bit small. The tables are very close to another and it feels a bit weird. But the vibe of the place is nice.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good, service was pleasant. The ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was good, service was pleasant. They were reorganizing after a private event which was a little distracting, but the good view and nice weather made up for it!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place for a "bonding" experience wi ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Nice place for a "bonding" experience with new business associates. Do not expect to discuss business as noise levels are prohibitive. Food is a notch above "bar food" but with a good beer selection. Service was fast and good leaving ample time to continue the evening at another venue.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Brought a business partner to lunch here ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Brought a business partner to lunch here. We both ordered the hashbrown skillets. How hard is it to make hashbrowns? They were both very overcooked - there wasn't a part of the hashbrown that wasn't dark, brown and crisp. And then what really topped it off was the fried egg had been cooked so much that there was nothing left to it. I was supposed to be happy that they put a second egg on it that was equally overcooked. I will not go out of my way to ever come here again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food. I got a flatbread and it w ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food. I got a flatbread and it was amazing. Drinks were very solid as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

It was so hot we ended up leaving to eat ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was so hot we ended up leaving to eat downstairs. I guess the A/C can not keep up under the retractable roof. Bummer!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Atmosphere is out of this world. Hot Spo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Atmosphere is out of this world. Hot Spot for sure. Very Energetic and the retractable roof is killer. Great Bar. A little on the snooty side... but that just must be the thing. Appetizers and Food were very good, the Crispy Dumplings, Fish and Chips (Fish was very good in a Grain Belt Batter and whole chunk white fish). Beef Stroganoff was a hit. The Prime Oscar was 5 star cooked and presented. Lobster Mac and Cheese got Thumbs up... Food all around was very Good! The Chairs and Tables are a fit to move easily and fold down to make extra room on the dining room floor... Not that comfortable, nor tables all that stable... but that is not why you came here... Floor managers need to look more relaxed and inviting. Pretty Cold and Stoic Wait staff was pleasant. Lot of organization on the floor for seating and reserving for larger parties... they did a bang up job from my eyes. Took my parents here for their 40th Anniversary and they loved the Hospitality that the Union Rooftop showed us! Great experience

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect for Hosting Out of Town Guests

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great Location ... Great Food ... Great Atmosphere for hosting guests from out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Not for us. Domed or doomed?

Dined on June 10, 2016

We had a 5:15 reservation (before a performance) and arrived to a nearly empty rooftop space. We were seated at the first table next to the elevator/maitre d stand. When we asked for another table, we were given the corner table under a plant by the kitchen. Why???? Age-ism? We dine out a lot and tip well but the vibe is clearly intended for young after work. It was rude and unnecessary. So...Our server was extra nice. The food was average, at best. And the bill was nearly $100 for 1 turkey burger, 1 flat bread, 3 drinks and tip. Huh? The happy hour specials that show up on line are not honored on the rooftop, only downstairs, we were told....(also empty of customers, both as we came and left). Domed and doomed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grams Anniversary

Dined on June 10, 2016

Love the Union Rooftop. It's great for romantic dinners, group get-togethers and office dinners! Would be one of my first recommendations for downtown Minneapolis - every time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Stay-cation

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great food, awesome view of the city, DJ plays music the whole time...feels like you're having brunch on vacation!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

The atmosphere was loud and rambunctious ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The atmosphere was loud and rambunctious. We were sat 15 minutes after arriving but unfortunately right next to a large bachelorette party. It was absolutely not the romantic setting we were looking for at all that we had read about it previous reviews. We left after five minutes of being at our table. Will not return unless with a large group. Horrible experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was good, and atmosphere was fun. Very busy, but service was prompt. Girlfriend really enjoyed her pear martinis.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our first table smelled like pickle juice.

Dined on May 29, 2016

It was good. We had a nice time, good service, except when we were initially seated, the hostess sat us in the very back row of tables, next to the stage and near the server's station. It seemed an odd place to put us, especially since there were a number tables in the open air and we had made reservations. We asked to be moved and we were accommodated. From then on it was a lovely time.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a really pleasant experience. Di ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Overall a really pleasant experience. Dined on the roof top, perfect weather, good bourbon and beer selection. Very good food with a huge variety on the menu. We ordered 2 steak sandwiches rare but came well done. It was tastey so ate anyway. Waitstaff was excellent at start but got busy and became very slow. We weren't in a hurry so it didn't upset us but noticeable, needed water refills a few times and never noticed. Would definitely go again. Above average in all areas.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food but music way too loud

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food has always been good here but the music is entirely too loud. I like music but I also like being able to have a conversation with friends at my own table.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Loud with a great view

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was excellent. The venue is very loud - if you have five or more at your table, don't plan on talking with everyone - it is impossible to hear. Wine by the glass is overpriced and the pour is very small.

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Don't waste your money

Dined on May 26, 2016

Fun ambiance and good service were the only accolades for Union Rooftop. The portions were small, and neither of our meals arrived with the ingredients listed on the menu. Flatbread had little if no goat cheese...so no binder and sausage just fell off the crust. Salad was missing 2 ingredients and was the size of a side salad vs. a full dinner salad ($16). It was a rip off! My cocktail was listed as including muddled strawberries and mint...no mint in sight, and one thinly sliced strawberry on a skewer as garnish. Disappointing experience for the money.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience1
service2

Bad service. Super loud.

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Bad service. Super loud.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Not good

Dined on May 25, 2016

My boyfriend and I waited a half hour just to get a SERVER AND WATER! Waitress was not friendly and barly checked in on us to see if we needed anything. Our appetizer was cold when that was delivered to us too. Nice rooftop seating but wow were the workers not friendly at all!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the food!

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was great, nice setting but the noise level was much too high - and that was before it was completely full.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Although the retractable roof is a nice ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Although the retractable roof is a nice feature, it holds in the noise level considerably when closed. The food was nothing special. The waitress knew we had to get to the theatre on time and made sure the food and drinks came quickly. There's potential here, but not this night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our reservation was made for 5:45. We sa ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Our reservation was made for 5:45. We sat at the bar and grabbed a drink when we arrived to wait for our table to be ready. At 6:00, we went to check in at the front, and they said our table should be available "soon". As it turned out, our table wasn't ready until 6:45, a full hour after our reservation time. Needless to say, we won't be going back to Union for dinner anytime soon.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Union's rooftop dining is a lot of f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Union's rooftop dining is a lot of fun, the food is excellent. Great views of downtown Minneapolis and a nice, urban vibe! Just a really good time,

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4

Our experience was really nice; however ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our experience was really nice; however if you are in a hurry this is not the best place to go. We enjoyed the slower pace, not rushed feeling/atmosphere. The service was a little slow towards the end of our visit. Very attentive staff and they were aware of how slow things were coming out of the kitchen. They acknowledged this fact and made up for it. I would recommend this restaurant.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was incredibly slow! We made an ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was incredibly slow! We made an 11 am brunch reservation on a Sunday because we had 1 pm tickets to Orpheum. We figured we'd have to kill time walking around downtown after our meal. It took 10 min for our server to even acknowledge our presence. We barely made it to the play on time. It's a bit ironic/ballsy that the restaurant posts a notice on their menu that they limit time at tables to 90 min. If they want to cycle people through more quickly they should get better servers. Food was good but certainly wasn't good enough to make up for the slow service. The ambiance is cool but there are NO umbrellas. We were there on an incredibly hot and sunny day, and after more 90 minutes at the restaurant, (not by choice )we were all quite sunburned. Not really sure why it's such a popular place.

food5
ambience4
service4

The huevos rancheros was amazing turkey ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The huevos rancheros was amazing turkey burger was bland bottomless mimosas are a good value but they are a little slow on keeping the glass full over all very fun and sunny for brunch

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went there on a Saturday night (8:45) a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went there on a Saturday night (8:45) and the weather was perfect for the rooftop. Unfortunately we were placed at a table right next to the entrance/hostess stand and due to the large groups waiting for tables (turns out to be a very popular place for bachelorette parties as there were at least 6 there) we practically had people standing on top of us while we were trying to enjoy the evening. If possible, try to request a table near the edge (although those were high tops) for a little less chaos.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Evening

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was just a simple date night for myself and my wife. We dined on the rooftop and when you first arrive it gives you the vibe of just another rooftop bar but the service was great and we were pleasantly surprised by the food. We enjoyed the place very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

I wish that the menu in the lower level ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I wish that the menu in the lower level was the same and the menu in the upper level. We had been here once before for brunch and the prices were much more fair at that time than for dinner. I would not go back for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A perfect Spring evening meal before The ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A perfect Spring evening meal before The Book of Mormon! The rooftop seemed to get us above much of the traffic noise on Hennepin. It was a bit breezy but not obnoxiously so. The sauces on everyone's entrees were absolutely superb! Thanks for a great dining experience. It was only our second time there but rest assured, we'll be back! Keep up the good work!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great business lunch spot, no wait, rela ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great business lunch spot, no wait, relatively quiet, gorgeous patio.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the UNION Rooftop one oth ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I have been to the UNION Rooftop one other time, but only had drinks and appetizers. This time I recommended for a business dinner I had with some Florida suppliers and we were all so impressed and delighted with the experience. Matt, our server was knowledgeable and very attentive despite the filled tables. Everything, from the beverages to the appetizer (pork dumplings), to the entrees, was spot on. No complaints! In fact, I am still thinking about the excellent Bleu Encrusted Filet dinner that I had. Also wondering when I can return and have the same thing again. What a lovely evening to show off the best of Minneapolis to my Florida colleagues from the St. Pete / Clearwater area!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.