About UNION Rooftop

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Hours Edit
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm, 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 2:00pm, 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm, 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 4:00PM - 5:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 5:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Sat 4:00PM - 5:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (61)
Scenic View (58)
Fun (56)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Special Occasion (44)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Casual (37)
Hot Spot (34)
Good for Groups (33)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Happy Hour (26)
People Watching (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Late-night Find (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Business Meals (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Seasonal (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Live Music (6)
Great Beer (5)
Family Style (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Dancing (2)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and food

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Although we had reservation, there was not an available table for us on the rooftop other than outside where it was freezing. We asked to wait for an indoor table, but because of pride events that was not an option because they were preparing for an event. Twice I talked with someone over the phone regarding reservation and no one ever mentioned this. We end up going downstairs and because the kitchen was closing in 10 minutes again due to pride activities we had to order fast food. Totally killed the vibe of date night for my husband's birthday. We drove an hour from Rockford for fast food.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

The restaurant was recommended to us by friends. I'm not sure why they thought so highly of it. I was disappointed having a moderately high expectation. The reality was that it was a poor value, with ok food, moderate portions, very average service but, decent views.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was raining and with the roof closed it's really noisy, however, it's a great place and the food is good

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Mark is the best!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was great as well as serevive. It was extremely loud until they opened the retractable roof. The noise level went down and the weather couldn't have been nicer. A wonderful evening!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Roof was loud but comfortable. Amazing service and good food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Was very fun! But if you want to have a good conversation, best to skip it! haha. The DJ was so loud but it definitely adds to the experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Live Music, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I had reservations for 9:30 and was told they would call me when our table was ready - by 10pm I still hadn't received a call. It was a waste of my time and the whole bachelorette party to drive downtown.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My 1st time dining at Union was kind of a bust. They were over booked and under staffed. A large party of 20+ had them overwhelmed! Our server was admittedly behind, and never got caught back up. Towards the end of the night they turn the rooftop into more of a lounge type setting which is cool! However kind of dangerous to carry the lounge furniture over customers heads....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and I go for a date every Saturday night.
We went to Union for the first time on Saturday. We enjoyed the place and food very much. At first it was very warm but after we sat down the manager opened the roof top. It was very pleasant and enjoyable.

We were able to meet people on the next table and had a great evening.
We had the duo Guacamole, Ceviche and Sea Bass. All were excellent!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The last time we will go. Food fair at best. Service was good but you can't eat the wait staff

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great experience! Attended for a bachelorette party and they brought out a piece of cake with a sparkler on it without any requests from our group. So fun! Only downfall - we were on the rooftop on a 96 degree day and while they had the rooftop "closed," it was basically like we were sitting in a greenhouse roasting. Good food, fun service and awesome atmosphere when it's not a billion degrees out!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The most romantic date I have been on. Stunning views and wonderful food!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday with a group of friends. The service prior to ordering was pretty slow, but once we placed our order, the food came quickly. Everything was really good. Later in the evening they opened up the rooftop which was nice as my wife wanted something outside. We have a great time and will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The place was very quiet for a Friday lunch-hour. There was a bartender and two servers. Neither knew how to open the patio umbrellas so we sat outside and cooked (we should've moved inside.) The food was fine, but overpriced for what it was. Fun for a "special" view of the city, but there was dozens of rooftop bars that are better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We sat on the rooftop, but not under the awning. This helped with the noise level. We had a great waitress. We followed her recommendations, and had a wonderful meal. It was a lot of fun to sit on the rooftop for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Sat on the rooftop. Would advise against an outside seat when the sun is up since the umbrellas were up and blowing around a bit and hitting some of the customers. After the sun went down they lowered the umbrellas so was not an issue thereafter.
Food was good. I had the fish n chips. Also had the firecracker shrimp as an appetizer, which was very good. Erika was my server and was very friendly and efficient.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went for dinner before going to the theater. Great service, Great menu, Great ambiance! I look forward to going again!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We had a reservation for a birthday dinner 6/6 at 6:45pm on the rooftop. We were told no tables were available (when we had made a reservation days in advance) and had to wait until someone left to seat our party. (Again, we had a reservation) we finally got sat around 7:30pm. The hosts weren't apologetic, and didn't update us on the situation. There's also no seating so we stood the whole time we waited. I work in the industry so I get that these things happen, but it was not handled well or professionally. Very disappointed. The one good thing about the night is our server once we were sat was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We dined here for Sunday brunch. Dining on the rooftop outside was fun. There was a DJ playing music that was so loud, at times my family & I didn't converse because it was just to difficult for us to hear each other over the music. We all found that this really detracted from our dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We waited far too long to be seated on the rooftop even though we had reservations. Far too many drunk bachelorette parties. Terribly uncomfortable chairs and the outdoor portion felt rundown. Slow service, overpriced drinks. We ended up leaving before dinner and eating someplace else. If you're not a drunk 21 year old, don't go. Not even in the early evening. Don't do it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Sat on the outside patio area of rooftop and it was great. The service was awesome and so was the food!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was really nice to sit on the rooftop and see the view of the city while eating an excellent meal. I loved it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Went here for a cute date in downtown but it was SUPER loud, tables are SUPER close so you are pretty much eating with your neighbors as well. Tables are so close my chair was bumped by waiters multiple times. Not a romantic or cute date setting at all, but would be fine for larger parties who want a loud and casual spot.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Too hot in the atrium. They said it would cool off when the a/c kicked in and it really did not cool off.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great food and rooftop! Will definitely be back

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It is a nice crowd to feel like you're in with the in crowd

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Casual, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food and nice ambiance sitting on the rooftop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

LOVE the retractable roof! Great food, I've had the Steak Frites both times I've been here. Truffle fries are a must!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The late night date night special is an awesome deal. The bottle that comes with the meal was great for being included. Service was a little slow, but very friendly

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had tickets for the Orpheum, so we had 5:45 rooftop reservations. Unfortunately, the inclement weather required the roof to be drawn. However, the noise level was miserable, and the tables were packed so tightly together that neighboring chairs/tables had to be moved each time there was a table turnover. The staff was dealing with some new menu items that had just been introduced that day, so there was some confusion when questions were asked about menu items. It was a mediocre experience, though we've had a wonderful experience on a warm summer night when the roof was open to the world....so there ya go!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was amazing. Buffet was perfect!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

For Mothers day brunch. I was a bit disappointed you had to do the buffet. I had called ahead to ensure you didn't have to only choose this for food choice. I was told that was true you could order other than buffet. Once we were seated we realized this was not the case.

It was great food but a bit pricey for what you received.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Rooftop Union was extremely warm with no air flow. Very uncomfortable. We cut our dinner short and sweated profusely the whole time. Dinner was at 6 pm and we wished we had made reservations somewhere else.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had reservations for the rooftop before we went to the Orpheum. We were running late and phoned ahead to modify our reservation without complication. They were very accomidating. Upon arrival we went up to the rooftop but it was packed! First nice day in Minnesota this spring. We gave our reservation to another couple and the restaurant was very helpful and let us dine in the downstairs area. We had great food and good atmosphere. Valet service was excellent!!! Would definitely recommend for dinner anytime, but especially before a show.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our table for 8 was ready as soon as our party showed up, and our waiter made sure that our orders were placed quickly because we were on a little bit of a time crunch. The food came out unbelievably fast, and all 8 people loved their dishes! The weather was perfect, and the open rooftop views are amazing.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Got seated immediately. Service was on the slow side and seating a little too close together. Each meal was flavorful and well presented making this a worthwhile visit. All in all I would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was pretty good, but like other customers have said service was poor. We waited about fifteen minutes after being seated before anyone came to our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great rooftop patio! Food was very good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.