About UNION Rooftop

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Hours Edit
Monday - Thursday: 11:00 am - 2:00 pm, 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday: 11:00 am - 2:00pm, 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm, 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Scenic View (58)
Special Occasion (54)
See All
Good for a Date (53)
Fun (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Good for Groups (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
Casual (35)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Bar Seating (32)
People Watching (32)
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Hot Spot (24)
Happy Hour (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Late-night Find (19)
Seasonal (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Cozy (7)
Great Beer (6)
Healthy (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Live Music (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Spicy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Disappointed the menu's food description didn't match what was served. Prime rib was a grilled steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 12, 2017

It was a great view seeing the sun set and into the moonlight with candle lit dinner! Celebrated our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

I made a reservation for the evening of 10/5. The reservation was made for the Rooftop for my girlfriends birthday. When we arrived we were notified that the Rooftop was closed for a private event. Reluctantly we sat In the bar and grill area where we were notified that the menu was not the same as the Rooftop. I ordered buffalo wings which were over cooked and the wings were broke into little pieces that I could barely take a bite without picking out little pieces of bone. My girlfriend ordered a margarita Flat bread pizza which had no tomatoes. The food came out promptly but we waited 20 minutes for our bill.

Why would a reservation be able to be made if the Rooftop was going to be closed? And if it was reserved after the reservation was made why would I not be notified?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Bottomless mimosa but we only got four refills! That’s not bottomless!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We wanted to go for Sunday brunch. Because it was raining, the rooftop was closed. It was so loud you had to scream at each other to hear. Very disappointing and unnecessarily loud. I get it's a party atmosphere, but people should be able to talk. We went downstairs to eat, and it was ok but not what we wanted (no brunch menu).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We were in the cities for the night and were just trying to find something close to the hotel that was reasonably priced. It was a nice spot to eat but it was extremely loud with music, people and t.v.s being on. I could barely hear our waitress. I had the duck which was cooked well and tasted delicious. My husband had scallops, which I know are usually spend but it was 4 for $30 and they didn't have a consistent cook on them. He also got the lobster Mac n cheese which was amazing. Overall my experience there was just eh.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Dishes we ordered were excellent - my husband claimed the duck was the best he's ever had! Overall the restaurant is looking a bit "dog-eared" and dirty. Time for a deep clean and surface refresh.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great way to enjoy a birthday celebration and take in the sunset views of the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

The service was above and beyond. Our waitress was fantastic :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great view of downtown while you eat. A unique glass rooftop that slides open for great summer days, and closed yet sunny for cold winter ones. Good variety on the menu. Our server was all smiles and energy. When there was a long delay with our dessert, she made it right. She understood the time frame for catching a show at the theater that night. It is a bit noisy so if you want to have a quiet conversation it is not the best thing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and the location. The DJ was on the loud side and it was difficult to have a conversation with 4 people. I would not recommend this venue for a work outing if there is intention of talking work.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have probably been to The Union 10 times in the past five years, with each time getting better and better. I order something different on the menu each time, and have yet to choose a bad item. With the amazing view of Downtown Minneapolis, the great wait staff, and occasional life music, I can't imagine a better downtown restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Overall the food was amazing and the waiter/waitress did a great job with special requests. However, the friendliness was lacking quite a bit. Then towards the end the waitress stepped it up and asked for a positive review which was a little frustrating. Overall I would recommend it but it was also very hard for conversation as it was extremely loud.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food and service were wonderful but the acoustics were terrible- difficult to talk.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We had got stuck in traffic and were late for our reservation. I called and they said we will hold your table and we had wonderful service and nice gluten free options! Great spot for before theater and nice to be outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The rooftop ambiance is wonderful. Was a beautiful evening and even though almost every table was occupied the noice level was low in the open air. The Scallops melt in your mouth. My husband had the fish and chips. The fish was very good but the fries were a big greasy. Overall Great! Will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food and service were excellent. The atmosphere was very friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, People Watching, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our food came promptly and was delicious. We had two appetizers and then a dinner. Our waiter was super friendly and new just the right amount of time to spend chatting with us and giving us space. It was my wife's birthday and they brought out a flourless chocolate torte with a sparkler on top

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

First time here and will definitely be back. We were on rooftop which is like a glass dome - really cool - then they opened it so beautiful night air.

Food was delicious - had butternut ravioli, fancy cheese sticks and a wonderful tart dessert.

Service was fabulous. Just wish warmth lasted longer to enjoy rooftop!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Casual, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

good service , great food, they maintained our booking though we landed up late

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We would not know. We made a reservation for 2pm on the rooftop. Showed up and you closed at 2. Thanks for nothing. Waste of time. Waitress shrugged her shoulders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

I would have left a better review if it was not for the fact we were seated 30 minutes past our reservation time. We did arrive early making it a 45 minute wait for us to get a table when we could clearly see tables open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Our server Molly gave us great service- very attentive and was quick to serve us our food and drinks. Will definitely be back again.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My boyfriend and I were looking for a cool rooftop dining venue and The Union was the perfect spot! It was our first time there and the service was great! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We love going to the Union Rooftop. Very open and friendly space.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great location if you are attending an event at any of the theaters nearby. The seating could be improved. We were squeezed between a party and another table, making it difficult to move our chairs away from the table and increasing the volume, which is already pretty loud. Everyone in our party liked their food. Service was good but the waitress seemed very rushed. I'd like to try the downstairs next time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Loves everything about it! Great food, people and night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food! Great service!
Molly was our Server and she is one of the best. She is very friendly, attentive and fun. Our steaks were cooked perfectly so hats off to the chef.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I went for a bachelorette party, and the food was good, some items more expensive than others. The bride to be got a complimentary dessert. We wished we were less full so we could enjoy the dessert options as well. Good lighting, and was able to enjoy the view. Saw many age groups attend this restaurant as well, and all were enjoying the experience. I was told we could bring in some decorations for the party as well.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was great! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was delicious, but one thing that was so remarkable was the speed that the food was served! It was incredibly fast, and delicious. Great service all around!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Late night date night deal was great and our server was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The atmosphere and food at the Union rooftop was exceptional. Our waiter was fun and very attentive. I will definitely recommend Union rooftop to my friends and colleagues.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 29, 2017

First time for me and a group of "gal pals" and the atmosphere and food was great (we had wonderful weather too:-) The variety of food items was great and our very diverse food preferences were satisfied.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Fantastic seafood selection in a variety of styles! Location was perfect, and the rooftop dining room was beautiful with a lovely view! Ideal spot for a meal or happy hour! They made our daughter feel very special on her birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This wasn't my first visit to Union Rooftop but as usual the meal was great.

The views are always excellent and in the rain it's even better. Everyone in my group got a different entree and everyone was really pleased with their choice. I personally had the spinach and lobster hash-browns and would recommend them to anyone looking for a breakfast item with a little extra something.

My only comment is that it can get a bit cold in the dining are if the weather isn't sunny and warm so a coat or sweater anytime in the fall isn't a bad extra item to bring along.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Server was very rude in the beginning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

I went for the Sunday brunch and loved the Turkey Burger. I remember service was not great at all and the orange juice was watery. However I loved the ambiance & the turkey burger was A1 so I brought back my boyfriend for his birthday. I requested a cake.. and didn't get one, but a lot of other people had the lighted birthday cakes. I also was disappointed in the 2 mini bites of lobster in the "Lobster mac and cheese" and had my cup refilled only one time..... super mediocre service, and you don't always get the bang for your buck with the amount your paying for the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food. We just felt a little rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We went to the Rooftop to catch the eclipse during lunch. The eclipse didn't disappoint but the service sure did. Food was good not great. And I'm OK with good (because I'm not a self-proclaimed foodie). There are some unique options to try and we enjoyed our choices. But the service was not good at all. Our server was slow, low energy, and not sure if she smiled once (and not that I needed her to smile - but her bad attitude towards something was very visible towards us). To make things as worse as they could be, she ask if we needed separate checks (my wife and I who, because we look different I guess, warrants the asking), and we said "no just one check please". Again not a big deal until we waited nearly 20 minutes for the check AND she showed up with 2 checks.

If anyone asks, I would not recommend it but I also would not recommend against it. Perhaps a different day the service is better. But I'm sure we won't visit again given all the other options available in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.