About UNION Rooftop

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 3pm- 10pm
Tuesday: 3pm- 10pm
Wednesday: 3pm- 10pm
Thursday: 3pm- 10pm
Friday: 3pm- 11pm
Saturday: 3pm- 11pm
Sunday: 9am-10pm

Rooftop Happy Hour: 3pm-6pm everyday
Sunday Breakfast & Brunch 9am-3pm

****

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View

Restaurant Photos

UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
Lamb
Meat.  Shared Plates. House Made & ,artisan Cured Meats.
White Russian
Scallops
Oysters
Buffalo Style Oysters With Blue Cheese & Shaved Celery
Cauliflower Soup
Sorbet Blackberry And Peach
Baja Style Mahi Mahi With Chile Verde Street Tacos
Potato Fries Hand-Cut With Russian Dressing
Trout

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

great for outdoor dining (129)
scenic view (98)
hot spot (72)
See All
good for groups (59)
special occasion (59)
vibrant bar scene (47)
fit for foodies (37)
great for brunch (29)
great for lunch (29)
romantic (28)
late-night find (22)
neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (7)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The outdoor ambiance was refreshing afte ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

The outdoor ambiance was refreshing after a day indoors at a conference. Service was excellent, food was yummy - especially truffle fries and egg/bacon hash browns. One of my dining companions had the salmon with quinoa an cleaned his plate. OMG! Try them. You'll love them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have frequented Union and dubbed it as ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 2 days ago

I have frequented Union and dubbed it as one of my favorite brunch spots for a long time. My experience this weekend has changed that. First of all, the food was cold and taste was subpar to say the least. Secondly, the “90-minute interval” is a joke! Our group of 10 had barely finished our food and were still ordering drinks when someone came up to our table stating that we had “15 minutes left”. Excuse me? I would still find this appalling if the roof top were full but there were open tables throughout the rooftop!

It was nice knowing you Union, you lost a loyal customer this weekend.

#byefelicia

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Exceptional food, quick and knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Exceptional food, quick and knowledgeable service, lively atmosphere, great outdoor feeling and views while under glass--that's Union Rooftop. Perfect pre-show diner place. It is sunny; if you're going while the sun's up, bring your sunglasses. Even the servers wore them!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved my experience at the Union Rooft ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 7 days ago

I loved my experience at the Union Rooftop. It was my first time there and Adam my waiter was amazing. We were in town for a show at the Orpheum and were running a bit late. He made sure that our drinks/food and bill were out in enough time so we could get to the show with plenty of time to spare. I would 100% recommend the Union Rooftop to anyone looking for a place to eat. Such a fun experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a co-workers birthday by h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We celebrated a co-workers birthday by having lunch at the Union's rooftop and soaking up a little vitamin D on a vivid blue sky day right downtown Mpls. We were seated immediately and had our choice of sun or shade. Our server had impeccable timing which allowed us a leisurely lunch but still got us out in less than 1 hour. I had the turkey burger with avocado, tomato and a crisp side salad which were both delicious. This is one of my favorite lunch spots because of the rooftop. I would recommend to a friend and often do!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This is definitely a place to go for the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is definitely a place to go for the drinks and atmosphere instead of food or service. The view is very pretty but the food selection and quality wasn't great. The service was poor, but we were a big group so I think she figured she'd get the automatic tip either way.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We waited 20 minutes before being asked ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We waited 20 minutes before being asked for our drink order (and that was after we flagged down a server.) We were then told that the kitchen was about to close so we had to get our food orders in. The food was delicious! And being under the window roof during a thunderstorm was breathtaking! We left to check out other clubs but knew we'd be back to check out the dj and we were not disappointed...this was our favorite place out of the six places we went for clubbing. So service was very disappointment but the club and food were awesome!

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Seems like a place that is always busy, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Seems like a place that is always busy, which is a good sign. Made a reservation and glad we did. Tables were pretty close together so not much privacy. Atmosphere was awesome and food was good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We really enjoyed our meal here. The se ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal here. The service wasn't as slow as previous reviews led me to believe it would be, so that was a pleasant surprise. The food was good and waitstaff friendly. I would recommend that you remember sunglasses & sunscreen if it is a sunny day. When it is nice out and the roof is retracted there isn't much shade or seating away from the sun.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was a little disappointed it took 20 m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was a little disappointed it took 20 minutes to even get water. Nobody stopped at my table even.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Great location! Service was slow, but we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great location! Service was slow, but we weren't in a rush, so enjoyed the outdoors-

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Very cool place with excellent service. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very cool place with excellent service. Felt good was priced right and our server kicked butt! Great evening and a must see

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Felt like we were paying for the unique ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Felt like we were paying for the unique setting. Very loud which is fine but the food is average at best and swimming in sauce which wasn't appealing. One person ordered the cordon bleu which was a supervised chicken breast but only a small portion of filling. I would return after work for a couple of drinks and look elsewhere for dinner. Feels like you are paying way too much for the "cool space" rather than quality. Not so sure that combination is sustainable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I had my stark cooked twice and both tim ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had my stark cooked twice and both times over done. End u returning the food. Manager and server was very nice. They did my charge for my food but we spent over $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

Molly is an OUTSTANDING server and she m ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Molly is an OUTSTANDING server and she made our visit quite pleasurable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The staff was very accommodating, we had ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The staff was very accommodating, we had a 9 year old with us, and we were an hour early. The food was excellent, great selection of adult beverages. We dined on the rooftop and the views of the city were wonderful. It was not noisy, but you could hear the "city".

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were both great. T ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and service were both great. The rooftop is very nice, but it was a hot, humid and very sunny day. They don't have any umbrellas (not sure if that's a Minneapolis law due to winds?) so we got VERY hot. Otherwise, we enjoyed our meal and the service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Thought it would be a fun spot for brunc ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Thought it would be a fun spot for brunch before a matinee at the Orpheum but too much of a scene. When we arrived there were several staff behind the host station but yet only one was helping. The party of 6 in front of is was told they would have to wait and so they put their name in. In the meantime, our small party of 2, that had a reservation, was FINALLY asked what they could do for us but it felt like an afterthought. I think the staff was too worried about how they looked in their sunglasses! Sorry! Not returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Super excited to have rooftop reservatio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Super excited to have rooftop reservations for our anniversary. Super unfortunate the weather did not cooperate. We had a lovely dinner. The view of the storm was quite incredible. I think our server might have been new. If so, he did a great job. Very personable, very professional. Our food was delicious albeit a little "fast" on delivery. I prefer some time between courses. All in all it was a very nice evening. We will be back.......hopefully when the sun is shining.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed the Union Rooftop! I highly rec ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Enjoyed the Union Rooftop! I highly recommend for a fun dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The rooftop is what makes this place. If ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The rooftop is what makes this place. If it's a nice day, make sure to go to the rooftop. It's a beautiful view of downtown Minneapolis and at night it's even more stunning with the strung lights and the city glow. That's where the luster stops. The food is decent. Not much of a selection. I ordered the Tuna Poke and got sick the next day; however, my friend ordered their wings and raved about how wonderful they were (I tried them too and they were delicious). Overall, I believe the food is a hit-and-miss, so next time I go I'll just stay away from their seafood. My friend and I also ordered drinks (a mojito for me and a vodka-style drink for her) which were VERY strong. Felt like one giant shot instead of a mixed drink. Our waiter and hostess were friendly, but we were attended very little during our 2 hour visit. Overall, if you're looking for a scenic place to eat this is your place; just order something safe. I gave this place three stars just because I fell in love with the view and ambiance of it, so I will be back for sure. I'll just order a different drink and a safer food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Amazing location, mediocre food, terribl ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Amazing location, mediocre food, terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was excellent, great service, a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was excellent, great service, and while the live DJ was cool, it was quite loud and hard to converse with the person sitting next to me. I would go back, but not while the DJ is there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

bad service, took forever to get the dri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

bad service, took forever to get the drinks and food we ordered, ok food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Would have liked more gluten free option ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Would have liked more gluten free options and more attentive waitstaff. Was difficult to get his attention and drink wait was long.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The rooftop at Union is beautiful, howev ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The rooftop at Union is beautiful, however the service was horrible and the length of time we waited for our food ridiculous. It took over a half hour to get our food. This was a very similar experience from the last time that I had lunch at Union. Very disappointing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

This is my second time here, and it was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is my second time here, and it was awful for the following reasons........

1) Scallops were tough and not good. Sent back without problem and substituted something else

2) We had 830 reservations and staff was clearing tables around us for a DJ. We were on a date and it really was rude and ruined the mood

3) There were many bachelorette group dinners. Again, ruined the mood.

4) Hostesses (three of them) talked amongst themselves for quite some time before acknowledging us

I felt it was young and not a classy place.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

Happy Hour was not offered on the roofto ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Happy Hour was not offered on the rooftop. The appetizer we had of calamari was over $12 and contained mostly shredded lettuce, only a handful of calamari. Not a good value.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

In the City to visit children for Father ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

In the City to visit children for Father's Day --brunch at the Union Rooftop recommended for us by our son. Small selection, but adequate for different tastes. The roof top view and ambiance great venue four daytime meal. Service was excellent--waiter even went to kitchen to get answer to question on omelet variation. I had huevosrancheros

And my wife had a chicken and cheese omelet. Good food, great place and service at a good price for downtown Minneapolis.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was all very fresh. Mimosas were re ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was all very fresh. Mimosas were refilled promptly and they knew it was hot out so water was constantly refreshed as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. I had heard Shea designe ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was great. I had heard Shea designed the entire restaurant in MN from the branding & graphic design to the interior design/decorating . It's definitely unique in nature and the food was fantastic by far. Best salmon I ever had paired nicely with risotto. The drinks were weak for their pricing and the rooftop under the glass awning was way too loud. The groups of the bouchey bachelorette parties were echoing off the glass wall and ceiling so bad I couldn't hear my boyfriend speak 2 feet from me.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were celebrating our anniversary. We ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary. We were sandwiched closely between two tables and could hear all conversations around us. Meal was great. Server was nice. We were told there was a dress code on the rooftop so was surprised to see tank tops shorts and flip flops on many guests. Felt overdressed. All in all a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I had a reservation for 9pm, but my grou ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had a reservation for 9pm, but my group was not seated until 9:30pm. There was no extra seating area to wait. Very disappointed for my guests that had to stand for a half hour. We were seated outside, however my group had a concern about rain. Staff was moldy rude that we were concerned about possible rain.

Otherwise the dinning experience/ waiter was great! No one had any complaints about their food or service. I would come back, but would be hesitant on reservations for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

WONDERFUL wait staff! Great food and dri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

WONDERFUL wait staff! Great food and drinks! A loud but overall a great time!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The space is a bit small. The tables are ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The space is a bit small. The tables are very close to another and it feels a bit weird. But the vibe of the place is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good, service was pleasant. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was good, service was pleasant. They were reorganizing after a private event which was a little distracting, but the good view and nice weather made up for it!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place for a "bonding" experience wi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Nice place for a "bonding" experience with new business associates. Do not expect to discuss business as noise levels are prohibitive. Food is a notch above "bar food" but with a good beer selection. Service was fast and good leaving ample time to continue the evening at another venue.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Brought a business partner to lunch here ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Brought a business partner to lunch here. We both ordered the hashbrown skillets. How hard is it to make hashbrowns? They were both very overcooked - there wasn't a part of the hashbrown that wasn't dark, brown and crisp. And then what really topped it off was the fried egg had been cooked so much that there was nothing left to it. I was supposed to be happy that they put a second egg on it that was equally overcooked. I will not go out of my way to ever come here again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Amazing food. I got a flatbread and it w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food. I got a flatbread and it was amazing. Drinks were very solid as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was so hot we ended up leaving to eat ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was so hot we ended up leaving to eat downstairs. I guess the A/C can not keep up under the retractable roof. Bummer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.