About UNION Rooftop

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 3pm- 10pm
Tuesday: 3pm- 10pm
Wednesday: 3pm- 10pm
Thursday: 3pm- 10pm
Friday: 3pm- 11pm
Saturday: 3pm- 11pm
Sunday: 9am-10pm

Rooftop Happy Hour: 3pm-6pm everyday
Sunday Breakfast & Brunch 9am-3pm

****

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Restaurant Photos

UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
UNION Rooftop
Lamb
Meat.  Shared Plates. House Made & ,artisan Cured Meats.
White Russian
Scallops
Oysters
Baja Style Mahi Mahi With Chile Verde Street Tacos
Potato Fries Hand-Cut With Russian Dressing
Sorbet Blackberry And Peach
Buffalo Style Oysters With Blue Cheese & Shaved Celery
Cauliflower Soup
Trout

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Outdoor Dining
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Hot Spot
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
1 More
Outdoor Dining
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (119)
Scenic View (93)
Hot Spot (58)
See All
Special Occasion (56)
Good for Groups (53)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Great for Brunch (31)
Romantic (31)
Late-night Find (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Fun (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Casual (8)
People Watching (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Music (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ambience is the only reason to go. Food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Ambience is the only reason to go. Food was ready instantaneously meaning it was sitting out and my overcooked steak reflected it. The blue cheese was actually gelled. I should have sent it back but didn't as was business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Union rooftop is always a fun dining exp ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Union rooftop is always a fun dining experience. Beautiful night for the rooftop and great good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had only eaten in the bar before but the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had only eaten in the bar before but the rooftop was lovely. The service was under welling however. The server was not friendly seemed overly rushed and not very polished for a downtown dining experience. Food was good, prices in line with downtown and evening was enjoyable on the rooftop.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Love this place. Great service and food. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Love this place. Great service and food. Loved the people watching from the roof. Will go there again for sure!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really loved everything from what I sa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I really loved everything from what I sawcoming all the way up stairs and leaving.

Tags: Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very energetic, loud and fun scene for B ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Very energetic, loud and fun scene for Brunch. We weren't expecting a DJ but made our way to the dance floor and had a great time. Great place if you don't mind it loud. DJ had great mixes.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and view! Horrible service. I ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food and view! Horrible service. I was also very confused by the ambience. We went for Sunday brunch and there was a ridiculously loud DJ acting like it was Saturday night and shot girls walking around. Confusing, that is for Saturday night. If they could approach Sunday brunch the right away, it would be very successful.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Union. The good: our food was delicious. The service was very good. The not so good: the rooftop was closed, and the restaurant was beyond loud. Everyone was shouting at each other. We asked for the quietest table and were seated next to a table of 9. I am weary of servers asking, How are WE doing? Is OUR food delicious? That talk is good for toddlers, but not adults. Lastly, even though our server knew it was our anniversary, they don't do the sweet little things - a small dessert, for example - that other restaurants do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

It was our first time at Union Rooftop, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was our first time at Union Rooftop, and I am quite impressed by the experience. I suggest going on the weekend so you can request Phil, one of the most polite and energetic servers I have ever met. Although the noise level and overabundance of Bachelorette parties were both excessive, the food, quality and immaculate service made up for both. I highly recommend the Beff Carbaccio, and their chefs also can provide a delicious burger as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Lovely rooftop dining. It washrooms so g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Lovely rooftop dining. It washrooms so glad their was a glass ceiling! Still had the feeling of being outside. We got specialty drinks which were very good. Ordered a bunch of food to share & we liked it all!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. We had the filet and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was excellent. We had the filet and the Sea Bass. Weather did not cooperate, so we were disappointed. We will definitely be back on a clear night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You need to come prepared to spend $$$$. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

You need to come prepared to spend $$$$. The specialty drinks were too much for the venue!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious dishes, great attentive servic ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious dishes, great attentive service and the ambiance of a beautiful summer evening with a retracted roof top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. The service we h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was delicious. The service we had was wonderful. We were seated immediately, someone came to talk to us shortly after, and the menu was explained in detail and suggestions were given. Once we ordered, our food came out super fast and was hot and delicious. The only downside was how loud it was but it's understandable, it's a bar on a Friday night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service! Our server was honest and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service! Our server was honest and directed our party of 7 to make tasty meal and drink choices. The sea bass was delicious and try the blueberry margarita

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

our new favorite restaurant!!! Thanks so ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

our new favorite restaurant!!! Thanks some have for an amazing time and fabulous night

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From reservations (which were cancelled ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

From reservations (which were cancelled by the restaurant the first time reserved), to calling while driving inquiring about valet parking...to waiting at desk (only customers) while the staff talked...to the ambiance (lack their of)...this was a complete disappointment. Then, hovered over to order (excessively); caesar salad made with KALE; food delivered before salads half done; completely untrained staff. Worst restaurant experience ever. Food was bland. Will not return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Great place! I loved the rooftop and bei ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great place! I loved the rooftop and being able to dine outside. The food was fantastic and I was able to make a dish vegetarian. Server was nice and service was prompt. The area was pretty empty since my friend and I went for a late lunch and it was pretty quiet, which was nice. Overall great place and I would like to go back when the rooftop is out!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered the flatbread & it was so salt ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I ordered the flatbread & it was so salty I could barely eat it. It didn't have much taste - I was disappointed. It was the Margareta flatbread. It was a special occasion as I had taken my 2 grandkids to see The Lion King & this was a treat for them. They loved their burgers but I didn't like mine

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The Union Rooftop is a great place for b ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The Union Rooftop is a great place for brunch on Sunday mornings, especially just before an early afternoon show at the Orpheum.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was great. I received a $75 gift card ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was great. I received a $75 gift card from my co workers for my wedding and the food was fantastic. I definitely recommend that people go there because the atmosphere was great and the food as I said was fantastic. My wife and I will definitely go there again and bring our friends. It was a little pricey for each meal but that's what you'll be paying for food in Downtown Minneapolis, but most can't match the environment that Union Rooftop provided.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were sat and we were not greeted for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were sat and we were not greeted for 15 minutes. We actually had to go to the host stand and ask where our server was. They apologize and someone came over within a few minutes. The menus, both food and drink, were good. The food was very good and I thought reasonably priced. The view was fantastic and the atmosphere was very good. The only disappointment was in our service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The experience was great, the roof opens ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The experience was great, the roof opens and closes based on the weather. The weather was perfect so the roof was open. The sea bass was outstanding, the steaks were excellent and all the meals served at our table were delightfully presented and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Thanks for a great night out!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Our server made ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food and service. Our server made wonderful recommendations and was friendly and professional. One person in our party received the wrong order. Our server promptly had his order redone, took the entree off the bill and gave him a complimentary dessert. Nice touch!.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice for rooftop dinning. Can b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very nice for rooftop dinning. Can be very bright in the afternoon with full sun. Bring sunglasses. Salads small. Dinner portions a lot to eat (chicken, & Pasta).

Service great everyone very friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first experience at Union. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This was our first experience at Union. We needed to be re-sat due to the noise level and the second table was more private and much quieter. Our waiter was very casual but adequate in his service. Food quality was really good. I had sea bass that was cook perfectly and had a very nice flavor. My wife had the scallops and they were even better. We also split a wedge salad that was good. The price was on the high-end for the overall appearance, quality of service, and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love it, hipster vibe, awesome patio, fo ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love it, hipster vibe, awesome patio, food was great. All came at once but I was starving so no problem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My date and I were looking forward to a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My date and I were looking forward to a lovely, romantic outdoor dining experience. The Union Rooftop proved to be way to noisy, way too crowded, way to hot for us. Our waitress either didn't know the menu or was being patronizing toward my girlfriend. Either way, we paid for our wine and quickly left for another restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Could use more sun screens so don't need ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Could use more sun screens so don't need to duck until sun goes behind a cloud or building.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Honestly The best Ravioli plate I have e ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Honestly The best Ravioli plate I have ever eaten! The view was amazing and very good vibe to the restaurant. We will definitely be back soon !! 2 THUMPS UP!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I really have zero complaints. A member ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I really have zero complaints. A member of our group a stomach ache after eating the steak gnocchi, but didn't get sick. It lasted for about an hour.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oysters were fantastic. Great Beer and W ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Oysters were fantastic. Great Beer and Wine List. Portions for the dinner was just right.

Service was outstanding, polite and professional.

An overall wonderful night in Downtown Minneapolis

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, great bar scene. Both ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great atmosphere, great bar scene. Both bar tender & server were a little slow to respond but it seemed to be quite a busy night. I thought our salads were a little small for the price, although the amount of chicken was a lot! Beautiful rooftop, great location. My overall impression was that it was a little chaotic and the hostesses didn't seem to know exactly what was happening. However, we had a good experience. I would recommend it to try but wouldn't necessarily choose to go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We received our entree before our appeti ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We received our entree before our appetizer. We told the server we just wouldn't do the appetizer. They apologized, gave use the appetizer and took it off the bill.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

No shade at all on the rooftop Cocktails ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

No shade at all on the rooftop

Cocktails arrived 10 mins after food.

Not very attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

It was fun to sit upstairs and take in t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was fun to sit upstairs and take in the downtown skyline. The menu is more limited than for dining downstairs, which we would have preferred given that we had two children with us. Our server was friendly but he was really busy so even if we caught his attention, it might take awhile before he got to us. I would try the Union again but if it was the same group, I would ask to be seated downstairs.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was good, but just good. The appeal o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was good, but just good. The appeal of the rooftop restaurant really is diminished when youre placed inside on top of the roof. Otherwise the food was good but expensive and our waitress was just ok.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service, very accommodating with t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great service, very accommodating with table request. We were hoping for a table out of the sun and were easily moved from our original location to a more shady spot. The staff was very friendly, courteous, and efficient. The food was delicious and came out in a timely manner. I'd highly recommend Union to friends, family, and colleagues.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The outdoor ambiance was refreshing afte ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The outdoor ambiance was refreshing after a day indoors at a conference. Service was excellent, food was yummy - especially truffle fries and egg/bacon hash browns. One of my dining companions had the salmon with quinoa an cleaned his plate. OMG! Try them. You'll love them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Sunday Brunch here after bein ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to Sunday Brunch here after being told they ranked very highly for their food. It was a complete disappointment. While the ambience is interesting, the eggs benedict had hardly any hollandaise sauce, the basic breakfast was very average with toast that was limp and without butter or jam. Won't return here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.