About UNION Rooftop

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

A word from UNION Rooftop

Experience the Union of talent, creativity, art, food, and design.

Kaskaid Hospitality has been credited with bringing dining in the Twin Cities to new heights, and UNION Rooftop is the crown jewel in its latest unveiling of unique hospitality concepts. Painstaking attention was paid to every detail, from restoring the building’s original architectural treasures to installing the one-of-a-kind retractable rooftop. UNION has engaged a talented culinary team that holds themselves to the highest standards, ensuring every dish is special, surprising, and cohesive. We have created a menu that can be experienced in just the right proportions, from an elegant snack before the theater, to a celebratory 5-course tasting menu featuring ingredients that change daily.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 3pm- 10pm
Tuesday: 3pm- 10pm
Wednesday: 3pm- 10pm
Thursday: 3pm- 10pm
Friday: 3pm- 11pm
Saturday: 3pm- 11pm
Sunday: 9am-10pm

Rooftop Happy Hour: 3pm-6pm everyday
Sunday Breakfast & Brunch 9am-3pm

****

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://unionmpls.com/

Entertainment:
DJ-inspired music Fridays and Saturdays after 10 pm

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $10 after 5 pm daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher after 4 pm at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Plaza ramps

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Whether you’re planning a business dinner, a social celebration or a corporate gathering, let UNION make your event extraordinary. We pride ourselves on the commitment to providing an experience that is truly unforgettable.

UNION Rooftop Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Scenic View
Minneapolis - St. Paul
Hot Spot
Twin Cities / Minneapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown / North Loop ›

scenic view (98)
great for outdoor dining (78)
special occasion (69)
See All
hot spot (60)
good for groups (56)
vibrant bar scene (42)
fit for foodies (42)
romantic (33)
great for brunch (30)
late-night find (29)
great for lunch (26)
neighborhood gem (14)
notable wine list (4)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Don't waste your money

Dined 4 days ago

Fun ambiance and good service were the only accolades for Union Rooftop. The portions were small, and neither of our meals arrived with the ingredients listed on the menu. Flatbread had little if no goat cheese...so no binder and sausage just fell off the crust. Salad was missing 2 ingredients and was the size of a side salad vs. a full dinner salad ($16). It was a rip off! My cocktail was listed as including muddled strawberries and mint...no mint in sight, and one thinly sliced strawberry on a skewer as garnish. Disappointing experience for the money.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience1
service2

Bad service. Super loud.

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Bad service. Super loud.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Not good

Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I waited a half hour just to get a SERVER AND WATER! Waitress was not friendly and barly checked in on us to see if we needed anything. Our appetizer was cold when that was delivered to us too. Nice rooftop seating but wow were the workers not friendly at all!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the food!

Dined 5 days ago

The food was great, nice setting but the noise level was much too high - and that was before it was completely full.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Although the retractable roof is a nice ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Although the retractable roof is a nice feature, it holds in the noise level considerably when closed. The food was nothing special. The waitress knew we had to get to the theatre on time and made sure the food and drinks came quickly. There's potential here, but not this night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our reservation was made for 5:45. We sa ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our reservation was made for 5:45. We sat at the bar and grabbed a drink when we arrived to wait for our table to be ready. At 6:00, we went to check in at the front, and they said our table should be available "soon". As it turned out, our table wasn't ready until 6:45, a full hour after our reservation time. Needless to say, we won't be going back to Union for dinner anytime soon.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Union's rooftop dining is a lot of f ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The Union's rooftop dining is a lot of fun, the food is excellent. Great views of downtown Minneapolis and a nice, urban vibe! Just a really good time,

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4

Our experience was really nice; however ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our experience was really nice; however if you are in a hurry this is not the best place to go. We enjoyed the slower pace, not rushed feeling/atmosphere. The service was a little slow towards the end of our visit. Very attentive staff and they were aware of how slow things were coming out of the kitchen. They acknowledged this fact and made up for it. I would recommend this restaurant.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was incredibly slow! We made an ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was incredibly slow! We made an 11 am brunch reservation on a Sunday because we had 1 pm tickets to Orpheum. We figured we'd have to kill time walking around downtown after our meal. It took 10 min for our server to even acknowledge our presence. We barely made it to the play on time. It's a bit ironic/ballsy that the restaurant posts a notice on their menu that they limit time at tables to 90 min. If they want to cycle people through more quickly they should get better servers. Food was good but certainly wasn't good enough to make up for the slow service. The ambiance is cool but there are NO umbrellas. We were there on an incredibly hot and sunny day, and after more 90 minutes at the restaurant, (not by choice )we were all quite sunburned. Not really sure why it's such a popular place.

food5
ambience4
service4

The huevos rancheros was amazing turkey ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The huevos rancheros was amazing turkey burger was bland bottomless mimosas are a good value but they are a little slow on keeping the glass full over all very fun and sunny for brunch

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Went there on a Saturday night (8:45) a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went there on a Saturday night (8:45) and the weather was perfect for the rooftop. Unfortunately we were placed at a table right next to the entrance/hostess stand and due to the large groups waiting for tables (turns out to be a very popular place for bachelorette parties as there were at least 6 there) we practically had people standing on top of us while we were trying to enjoy the evening. If possible, try to request a table near the edge (although those were high tops) for a little less chaos.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Evening

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was just a simple date night for myself and my wife. We dined on the rooftop and when you first arrive it gives you the vibe of just another rooftop bar but the service was great and we were pleasantly surprised by the food. We enjoyed the place very much.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

I wish that the menu in the lower level ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I wish that the menu in the lower level was the same and the menu in the upper level. We had been here once before for brunch and the prices were much more fair at that time than for dinner. I would not go back for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A perfect Spring evening meal before The ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A perfect Spring evening meal before The Book of Mormon! The rooftop seemed to get us above much of the traffic noise on Hennepin. It was a bit breezy but not obnoxiously so. The sauces on everyone's entrees were absolutely superb! Thanks for a great dining experience. It was only our second time there but rest assured, we'll be back! Keep up the good work!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great business lunch spot, no wait, rela ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great business lunch spot, no wait, relatively quiet, gorgeous patio.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the UNION Rooftop one oth ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I have been to the UNION Rooftop one other time, but only had drinks and appetizers. This time I recommended for a business dinner I had with some Florida suppliers and we were all so impressed and delighted with the experience. Matt, our server was knowledgeable and very attentive despite the filled tables. Everything, from the beverages to the appetizer (pork dumplings), to the entrees, was spot on. No complaints! In fact, I am still thinking about the excellent Bleu Encrusted Filet dinner that I had. Also wondering when I can return and have the same thing again. What a lovely evening to show off the best of Minneapolis to my Florida colleagues from the St. Pete / Clearwater area!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have lived in Minnesota all my life an ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I have lived in Minnesota all my life and this is the first time I went there. The food was great with a lot of choices. It was so pretty to be able to look outside. It would be fun to go back when the weather is a little warmer. The prices were what I was expecting for a nice meal downtown. Location was perfect as we were going to a play afterwards. I look forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I know this is a trend, and I am not one ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I know this is a trend, and I am not one of those people who expects enough food for leftovers for lunch tomorrow, but for instance, the toppings on the flatbread were VERY skimpy. And I know you used to have happy hour prices on the rooftop. I was disappointed that this is no longer the case.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Solar "Party" Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Booked a table for daughter's graduation on rooftop. Been there before a couple of times and really enjoyed the atmosphere and food. This time was a huge disappointment. The brunch had a DJ playing music so loud we could not converse with each other. Waitstaff was inattentive to our requests to turn down the music. We ended up moving to the bar area downstairs. Waitress was nice, but somewhere between ordering sandwiches and getting our food, something was lost in translation. Three out of eight in our party got the right food, they kept bringing out food we didn't order and by the time the right order came out we had to leave for the graduation ceremony. Don't know if we'll go back.

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

really really loud, super hard to hear, ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

really really loud, super hard to hear, not romantic at all. Food is average, and applebees like, but severely over priced. Not a good experience at all.

Tags: hot spot
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Overall underwhelming.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was nothing to even spend time to write a review about. Went after a show at the Orpheum, and had we driven downtown just to go here, we would have been much more disappointed by what we spent.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The music -TOO LOUD for Sunday brunch. Overpriced.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Mother's day. There is a DJ who plays really loud music Sunday mornings. You can't hear anything but this really loud music if you are seated in the closest 1/2 of the rooftop. Couldn't wait to leave. Didn't have silverware place settings for everyone, got our food and then had to wait for our server to come back to ask for stuff to put on our burgers, gave us the wrong beer - they actually gave it to our server knowing it wasn't what we ordered because they ran out and didn't bother to tell anyone until we sent it back. Also, the food is overpriced. The girls got a pancake breakfast. All you get is a pancake. And fake syrup. For $11.95. Then, if you want berries, they add $2 and they got six slices of strawberries (equivalent to two strawberries). Their glasses of beer are $6+ for a not so big pour. Cheeseburger with fries - $13.95. The burger was pretty good - I'll give them that. We were so disappointed we went to Crave rooftop, a block down, to spend the rest of our Mother's Day brunch time outside. I don't write complaints very often but this was just terrible.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A Forgettable Experience.

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was advertises as a Mother's Day Brunch Buffet. There was NO buffet. It was simply a menu, a short one at that, nothing more than what one would find at any simple breakfast cafe. We were seated promptly and arrived at a time when there was not a rush. Nevertheless it took a while to get served. The meal was okay, not great. My wife ordered orange juice and I ordered a mimosa. Both were not cold. Our waitress never offered coffee. Fortunately we sat far from the music speakers or it would have been unbearably loud. All in all not a very festive Mother's Day Brunch Buffet. It was however A Forgettable Experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time at Union Rooftop

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating Mother's Day and our anniversary with brunch. The food was good, service was excellent, the patio was perfect and the bottomless Mimosas' the best. Thank you for a great meal and get together. Sincerely, The Novak's and the Wagner's

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

Dined on May 7, 2016

The blue cheese crusted streak was amazing! Would definitely get it again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was really slow and food was onl ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Service was really slow and food was only OK. Salad dressing tasted only like oil and the salad was way overdressed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

21st birthday celebration

Dined on May 3, 2016

I had a wonderful time! The waitress was very personable and friendly. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was amazing. I will definitely be coming back :) Thank you for being a part of making my 21st a night to remember!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

The chicken cordon blue and walleye were ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

The chicken cordon blue and walleye were updated enough to be considered relevant while completely recognizable for what they are; a rarity today with fusions and deconstructed everything. We really enjoyed them. Dessert, a red velvet cake was highly disappointing and way over priced. Would definitely eat there again, but we would skip dessert.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My First Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was the first time I ever went to the Union. I first heard of it from a friend who really wanted to go here because a rooftop dinner sounded amazing. I also always pass by the place whenever I'm downtown. I ended up making a reservation here for my prom dinner because I thought it would be a very romantic place. When I got to the location I was a bit late for my reservation but no one said anything which was nice. All the staff very kindly greeted my date and I and guided us on where to go. When we asked if we could sit outside the waitress kindly said yes, and brought us over. She also kindly told us that the heater wasn't working so we could have a heads up and decide if we wanted to stay there or not. The waiters and servers were also very kind as well. It was such a beautiful area and the heaters really helped as well. Also the noise level was at a moderate level so I wasn't shouting at my date.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on April 28, 2016

We has reservations which we were late to due to bad traffic. They had no problem seating us right away despite our being 15 minutes late. We sat on the glass encased roof top on a drizzly day which was very lovely. The food was outstanding. We shared 4 appetizers and had a beer each and paid right around $25 a piece. The staff was welcoming, helpful and attentive. I will be going back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2

Food has slid downhill over years. Order ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food has slid downhill over years. Ordered walleye special, which came in heavy breading and was very oily. Sent it back. Calamari was uninspired. Waiter initially very inattentive. Seems like they are coasting.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Nice place.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Rooftop was really nice. Tables are close to each other. Food was adequate. Appetizers were wonderful, Ceviche & Dumplings. Steaks were done as ordered but not seasoned to well. Lobster Mac & Cheese was really creamy, so much so, that couldn't even taste the lobster, just the cheese. Red velvet cake was dry and not moist.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The DJ & music makes this a fun & energe ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The DJ & music makes this a fun & energetic place for brunch! Interesting & fabulous menu! Love the city views from the rooftop! Cool atmosphere!

food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Come for the ambiance, not the grub

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food is consistently disappointing, which is a shame. My pancakes were gummy and not quite done. My friend's food was equally-underwhelming. But we don't really come for the food, anyways. We come for the music, the rooftop vibe, and the fun atmosphere.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not impressed!

Dined on April 23, 2016

I was expecting much more than we got at the Union Rooftop. The place was humming with customers and crowded. The rooftop's outdoor furniture featured ripped and faded cushions. Dining tables were in very close quarters...too close for comfort. The lobster mac & cheese looked great but was cold. The turkey burger was served on a piece of unrecognizable bread which was soaked in sauce and was soggy. I guess for the $65.00 spent I would rather have cooked at home.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

Perfect for Sunday brunch. Mimosas and u ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Perfect for Sunday brunch. Mimosas and upbeat music to start the day off right. This rooftop location gives you a great view year round.

food1
ambience5
service4
value5

Dessert was excellent and the specials w ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Dessert was excellent and the specials were really good too. Do not try to be healthy and go with the salad here though... Not good. Dressing not appealing and just blah. But all other food items on the menu were excellent, so order anything but salad. Fabulous drinks too:)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

UNION Rooftop AWESOME!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Katy; bartender was smiling and friendly. Sebastian was very courteous and accommodating. Waiter; M. Payne was knowledgeable about menu items and his recommendations were right on. Halibut and Pork tenderloin were full of flavor and just right amount of food. ALL the staff were friendly and all were smiling. Enjoyed the view of downtown Minneapolis and watching the street scene. 4 STARS on everything. We highly recommend the UNION Rooftop for whatever the occasion.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Noisy Party

Dined on April 14, 2016

We expected more, was bombarded by noisy party on the 'scenic rooftop' so we moved downstairs - different cheaper menu, I could have had a better birthday dining experience.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good energy and feel, okay service.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was okay - he seemed a little over worked so he forgot a few of our requests. It was a low key day so no big deal. They probably should have a few more servers. The music is almost TOO loud, but it's still a great time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.