About Union

659 Dauphin Street
Mobile, AL 36602
View Larger Map

Nestled in the Loda district of Mobile, Union has provided excellent food, service, and an intimate atmosphere since 2012.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Washington St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 432-0300

Private Party Contact:
Shannon Walker: 2514320300

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Union Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Mobile
Best Value
Mobile
Fit for Foodies
Mobile
3 More
Romantic
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
Most Booked
Mobile
Best Restaurants in Mobile ›

romantic (14)
special occasion (14)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
notable wine list (6)
neighborhood gem (5)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
good for groups (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a delicious dining experience at ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Always a delicious dining experience at Union. The cocktails were pleasing, salads and soup tasty, and the steaks and chicken were excellent. Our server, Craig, is always welcoming and attentive. See you next time we are in Mobile!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We came here for my husbands birthday. T ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We came here for my husbands birthday. This place has amazing steaks. I wasn't so hungry this go around so I ordered the crab bisque and a salad. The crab bisque was superb and I have no complaints on that whatsoever. The salad wasn't all the rave though. My lettuce had some brown places on it. Not impressed at all !

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

1 hr 20 mins to get a sub-par steak. NEVER AGAIN.

Dined on March 15, 2016

After calling to confirm our 6:00 pm reservation the night of the Elton John concert (8:00 pm) and since they specifically asked if we were going to the concert, I felt positive about the fact that we would have no trouble making it in time with our party of 4. Got there a minute or two before 6:00 pm - 20 minutes to get drinks, another 25 to get the appetizer, and our steaks came out of the kitchen (after much grousing and complaining on our part) at 7:20. YES - let me repeat - 7:20. Each of us was given the wrong steak - three of them were ribeyes, so we had to sort it out among ourselves who got rare, medium well, etc. After much swapping, we had 5 whole minutes or so to wolf down our meal. Did I mention that the steak quality was in line with Winn Dixie meat? Did I mention that for two people I paid more for that horrible experience than I did for my two Elton John tickets? Did I mention that I wouldn't go back EVER? Did I mention that I wouldn't recommend this to an enemy?

food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent beer selection. Steaks were gr ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent beer selection. Steaks were great! Unique side dish options. Great place for a romantic date.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience. Steak was superb and the wife loved her salmon dish. Glad there are seafood offerings for the non-meat diners. Servers are quiet but very attentive. Timing of servings was smooth and to perfection. Side dishes are unusual, generous, and delicious. We decided to make Union our new "favorite restaurant".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Valentine's dinner with my husband ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Valentine's dinner with my husband! Food was excellent, from the appetizers to dessert. Our server Craig was very attentive. I like the small restaurant experience. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience4
service4

The food was outstanding. The restauran ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was outstanding. The restaurant had red roses and chocolates in honor of Valentine's Day which was really nice. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and service was excellent as usual Still my favorite restaurant in town !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Good selection for a great meal. Filet w ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Good selection for a great meal. Filet was perfectly prepared and bartender did a great job on the cocktails. Waiter Scott? Was very attentive and helpful. Will return

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great!

Dined on January 17, 2016

They had a few food options not available, but our waiter was absolutely amazing! I am already planning my next night out dinner there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Business dinner

Dined on January 17, 2016

Steaks were great! Service was good as well. Very quaint but a little noisy. Would go back for sure.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It was okay

Dined on January 17, 2016

It was disappointing that one of the apps we wanted was no longer available. I didn't understand why it was still on the menu or why our server didn't let us know at the beginning of service that it was no longer available. Instead he let us look over our menus for 15 minutes, choose what we wanted and then we had to make a hasty change. Also, they were out of the champagne I wanted. Overall, what we had was really good but it wasn't exactly what we wanted.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful gourmet find in downtown Mobile

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food and service were outstanding, my wife's ribeye melted in your mouth. (She let me finish her steak, which was better then my NY Strip). Wait staff was very attentive and friendly, and provided insight into other places to eat and drink in the area.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining with Union Steakhouse

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Could not ask for a better dining experience. Our server Carlos was superb...he knew menu, wines and could quietly move in and out of the table while taking care of needs. Shannon, our hostess, was very polite and professional. I highly recommend the smoked duck flatbread appetizer as it is a gracious plenty portion perfect with wine and tasted fabulous. My steak was prepared to perfection and the wife's cobia was just to her liking. Glad to see they are working to have other non-steak items for those who aren't in the mood for red meat. The Fleur pinot noir wine is an excellent choice and our bottle went too fast! We are very often dining out at the nicer restaurants and Union has now been put on our favorite list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love it

Dined on December 18, 2015

Love the Union. It is a favorite date night spot with my husband. Delicious food and they never make you feel rushed through one moment of the evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

Dined on November 8, 2015

My husband and I went for our 1 year anniversary and couldn't have been happier. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. I had the beef carpaccio which was melt in your mouth delicious and my husband had the friend green tomatoes with shrimp. He said his was amazing and the portion was larger enough to share. We both had the filets which cut like butter and were cooked to perfection. For desert he had the creme brulé and I had the chocolate cake. Both were rich, creamy, and amazing! We will absolutely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

VERY GOOD FOOD A+++++

Dined on September 28, 2015

Very good place to eat. I would consider this place Mobile's finest. Service was great.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service3

i ordered the ribeye medium

Dined on August 22, 2015

But it came out well done. when I asked my server about it he explained dry aged steaks are darker when cooked medium. he offered to cook the steak again I declined because usually when I send food back to be recooked it is always opposite spectrum. This was no different. The second state was rare. so I will not return

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find

Dined on August 8, 2015

Our Server Craig was very attentive and knowledgeable about food, wine, and cocktails. The steak, sides, and dessert were fit for a king or queen. The setting of the restaurant was open but each table was still secured enough to hold a conversation. My wife and I will be repeat customers many times over.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Good spot

Dined on August 7, 2015

Service is great. Decent wine selection. Cocktails good. Appetisers great. Burgers great. Steaks have been mediocre on two visits

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice steak

Dined on July 31, 2015

The filet was really tender and I loved the field green salad too. Our server was attentive and we enjoyed our bartender too.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Mobile Restaurant

Dined on July 23, 2015

Our group went to Union for dinner during the annual Mega conference. Everyone ordered steak. All steaks were perfectly prepared and so delicious. I got a Tequila Sangria. It was one of the best drinks I have ever had. Do not miss the bread pudding. It tastes like a cinnamon roll with wonderful, warm sauce. Skip the Bananas Fosters. Not great. Excellent service, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

A fine night out with friends

Dined on June 20, 2015

Steaks we're good and come with a number of complementary sauces so you can try more than 1. French onion soup had a strange sweet taste. Overall a good experience. Waiter needs to work on coming around more often for drinks/refills and serving everyone at the table at the same time. For the $ I'd probably go to Ruth C

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Solid Performance

vip
Dined on May 16, 2015

The service was very attentive but not overbearing. The food was cooked the right temperature. The salad was perfect and not overdressed. The steak could have been a bit thicker but it was seasoned well and tasted great. It was a very good experience and I would go back when in town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service2

Steak was warm at best, even ask hotest ...

Dined on March 21, 2015

Steak was warm at best, even ask hotest to feel it. Then charged for everything else when nothing but salad was eaten. Ruth Chris from now on.

food3
ambience4
service3

Busy and friendly

Dined on March 15, 2015

We met another couple here and waited a couple of minute for our reservation. Service was very friendly, but was very slow - maybe some large groups slowing things down? Didn't get an order placed for 30 minutes, but the server had asked up front what our plans were for the evening, so maybe he would've warned us if we'd been in a hurry. Food was pretty good, but my husband's ribeye wasn't seasoned at all and our vegetables were undercooked - very crunchy! Best thing was the crab bisque - delicious!

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful downtown steakhouse

Dined on March 1, 2015

First time at the restaurant. Took my mother for her birthday. It's a beautiful restaurant and perfect for a special occasion. Smaller restaurant, intimate. Staff are very friendly but service was quite slow. Steaks were lightly seasoned and grilled perfectly. No need for any sauces but there were a number of good options on the menu. Side dishes were very small especially for the overall price point of the meal. Typically I'd expect larger, shareable sides for $8-$10. Instead we had undersized portions for $4. Wine list was adequate. In Mobile, an outsized wine list probably would be out of place. That said a larger (and separate) reserve wine list would have been nice. The wine list combined by the glass and by the bottle. Upside: beautiful restaurant, lovely staff, high quality steaks. Definitely recommended for a romantic dinner or a special occasion. Downside: slow kitchen, odd but adequate wine list, tiny side dishes.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!

Dined on January 29, 2015

Union was definitely an amazing experience! Our server was amazing, the food was incredible, the atmosphere was warm and welcoming! We really enjoyed ourselves. We'd been told any times by plenty of people about Union and we finally went! We are glad we did! We definitely will be back! They also have a new special on Monday nights, 1/2 price burgers! We were blown away by the vibe! Just an incredible place!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious!

vip
Dined on January 28, 2015

Very good food at reasonable prices. generous portions. friendly, professional service.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Choice for Steak in Downtown Mobile, AL

Dined on January 18, 2015

The building is really an old union hall. Photos from days gone by in Mobile adorn the walls. Smallish seating area; try to avoid table by the door if it is cold ... Incoming guests tend to linger with door open, allowing cold air to rush in. Service was friendly and professional. Steak (filet) was very tender. Try the "Union Potatoes" as a side. Small new potatoes which are fried with skin on. Price is reasonable for what you receive. The "cons" -- which would not stop me from returning -- were (1) length of time it took to get food, which was curious because restaurant wasn't busy, and (2) steak was not as hot as it really should have been. It appeared the steak was finished and kitchen was waiting for sides to be done.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Return Visit

Dined on January 4, 2015

My family ate here 3 weeks ago, and the visit this time did not disappoint. Great service. Recommend it.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

A foodie flop!

vip
Dined on December 25, 2014

I consider myself a foodie having traveled and eaten in several parts of the world as well as throughout the United States. This is my third time to this restaurant with my husband and will be my last. Honestly, I wish The Union had more choices on their menu... they offer one pork dish and one chicken dish in addition to the 3-4 steak options. I didn't like this restaurant the first time I went but was hopeful that maybe I went on a bad night but after going the second time I knew it wasn't a good place for foodies. My last and final time was Christmas Eve dinner with my husband and our family. The only reason I chose this place was because it was one of the few places open on Christmas. I have always thought the food (especially the steaks) were over priced and not that great. However the salads are pretty good whereas the wine selection could be better. The restaurant needs to make some tremendous changes before I will consider going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Mobile's fine dining

vip
Dined on December 24, 2014

Small and intimate. Great food with suberb service

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

The Service was awesome

Dined on December 19, 2014

This being my first time going to Union, the food and the service were spot on. I definitely recommend the Filet Mignon. Ask For Gene when you go, he was a very good server!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Anniversary forgotten.

Dined on December 19, 2014

The food and service were very good, but they totally neglected my Open Table notes regarding that this was our 20th wedding anniversary. No acknowledgement whatsoever. Will think twice about returning for a special occasion.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5

Gave it a second chance because service ...

Dined on December 18, 2014

Gave it a second chance because service was so great but was disappointed again with the steak. Our food came out warm...(maybe because we had a party of 8).

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

Dined on December 16, 2014

The food was great, service was exceptional, can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good food; excellent service

Dined on December 7, 2014

My family had a very good meal, and the service was excellent. The Fried Green Tomato appetizer with large shrimp on top of it was very good. Great sauce on it, also. One of the better restaurants in Mobile.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Downtown date night

Dined on November 23, 2014

This cozy, hip downtown restaurant is good for an expensive steak dinner, but is also nice for a week-night gourmet burger and a good glass of wine. Try the delicious fried green tomatoes topped with shrimp for an appetizer and a proper martini from the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Not Extraordinary, but Very Good and Consistent

vip
Dined on November 22, 2014

This was my second time dining at Union, and I really think it's one of the gems of Mobile's dining scene. It's the perfect size; the decor is terrific; the service is fantastic; and the food is excellent. Union doesn't try to do too much and doesn't try to be something it's not (or can't be). It's consistently good and the kind of restaurant that ought to do very well in Mobile.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.