About Union - Downtown Mobile, AL

659 Dauphin Street
Mobile, AL 36602
View Larger Map

Nestled in the Loda district of Mobile, Union has provided excellent food, service, and an intimate atmosphere since 2012.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Burgers, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Washington St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(251) 432-0300

Private Party Contact:
Shannon Walker: 2514320300x

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union - Downtown Mobile, AL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Mobile
Romantic
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
2 More
Best Overall
Mobile
Special Occasion
Mobile
Best Restaurants in Mobile ›

Special Occasion (8)
Romantic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
81 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice menu and great atmosphere. Wait st ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Nice menu and great atmosphere. Wait staff is knowledgable and friendly without being bothersome. The fried green tomato appetizer alone is worth a visit to this place. Steaks were cooked well, but presentation could use work. A small filet on a 9-inch plate by itself looks very lonely. We'll be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Took family (2 adults, 3 kids). Very nic ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Took family (2 adults, 3 kids). Very nice atmosphere. Whole place holds about 40-50 guests. Food was very good. Service was good. Would be a very nice place for a date or romantic night with significant other

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steaks were small and tough. Service was ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Steaks were small and tough. Service was adequate. Ambience was very good it was a shame the food did not match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

We have eaten at Union several times, wh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have eaten at Union several times, while I still answered that we would recommend it, the steaks were very disappointing this time. They had an odd taste. My husband's was overly salted, and mine was very undercooked according to what I ordered. I'm hoping it was just an "off" night, as we very much enjoy dining at Union.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Union is excellent at all foods. genero ...

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Union is excellent at all foods. generous portions. superb service. Wife loved her fish dish. I always enjoy the steaks. Craig is an excellent server!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good steakhouse is downtown mobile. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very good steakhouse is downtown mobile. Steaks and sides are great. I do believe they rival Ruth's Chris - however it does not have the same high end feel. Service was great and very friendly. We went there for Father's Day dinner with my 5 children and son in law. We had a great meal and a reasonable price for the quality of the food. I wish it just had a little more of a high end ambiance for a high end steakhouse. I will definitely go back and it is a cheaper alternative to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The steak was cooked perfectly and was d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The steak was cooked perfectly and was delicious! Staff was friendly and service was exceptional. Would most certainly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food Variety

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My wife likes seafood rather than red meat so she was concerned that she could not get fish. It seems that they serve fish dishes on weekends but not on weekdays. We make it a point to go there only on weekends at this time. The fish dish she enjoyed was delicious! We like proseco but not at $12 per glass...that is pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a delicious dining experience at ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Always a delicious dining experience at Union. The cocktails were pleasing, salads and soup tasty, and the steaks and chicken were excellent. Our server, Craig, is always welcoming and attentive. See you next time we are in Mobile!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We came here for my husbands birthday. T ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We came here for my husbands birthday. This place has amazing steaks. I wasn't so hungry this go around so I ordered the crab bisque and a salad. The crab bisque was superb and I have no complaints on that whatsoever. The salad wasn't all the rave though. My lettuce had some brown places on it. Not impressed at all !

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

1 hr 20 mins to get a sub-par steak. NEVER AGAIN.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

After calling to confirm our 6:00 pm reservation the night of the Elton John concert (8:00 pm) and since they specifically asked if we were going to the concert, I felt positive about the fact that we would have no trouble making it in time with our party of 4. Got there a minute or two before 6:00 pm - 20 minutes to get drinks, another 25 to get the appetizer, and our steaks came out of the kitchen (after much grousing and complaining on our part) at 7:20. YES - let me repeat - 7:20. Each of us was given the wrong steak - three of them were ribeyes, so we had to sort it out among ourselves who got rare, medium well, etc. After much swapping, we had 5 whole minutes or so to wolf down our meal. Did I mention that the steak quality was in line with Winn Dixie meat? Did I mention that for two people I paid more for that horrible experience than I did for my two Elton John tickets? Did I mention that I wouldn't go back EVER? Did I mention that I wouldn't recommend this to an enemy?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent beer selection. Steaks were gr ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent beer selection. Steaks were great! Unique side dish options. Great place for a romantic date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great dining experience

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience. Steak was superb and the wife loved her salmon dish. Glad there are seafood offerings for the non-meat diners. Servers are quiet but very attentive. Timing of servings was smooth and to perfection. Side dishes are unusual, generous, and delicious. We decided to make Union our new "favorite restaurant".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Valentine's dinner with my husband ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Valentine's dinner with my husband! Food was excellent, from the appetizers to dessert. Our server Craig was very attentive. I like the small restaurant experience. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. The restauran ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was outstanding. The restaurant had red roses and chocolates in honor of Valentine's Day which was really nice. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food and service was excellent ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food and service was excellent as usual Still my favorite restaurant in town !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good selection for a great meal. Filet w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Good selection for a great meal. Filet was perfectly prepared and bartender did a great job on the cocktails. Waiter Scott? Was very attentive and helpful. Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

So great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

They had a few food options not available, but our waiter was absolutely amazing! I am already planning my next night out dinner there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business dinner

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Steaks were great! Service was good as well. Very quaint but a little noisy. Would go back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

It was okay

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

It was disappointing that one of the apps we wanted was no longer available. I didn't understand why it was still on the menu or why our server didn't let us know at the beginning of service that it was no longer available. Instead he let us look over our menus for 15 minutes, choose what we wanted and then we had to make a hasty change. Also, they were out of the champagne I wanted. Overall, what we had was really good but it wasn't exactly what we wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A wonderful gourmet find in downtown Mobile

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food and service were outstanding, my wife's ribeye melted in your mouth. (She let me finish her steak, which was better then my NY Strip). Wait staff was very attentive and friendly, and provided insight into other places to eat and drink in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining with Union Steakhouse

vip
 (Mobile)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Could not ask for a better dining experience. Our server Carlos was superb...he knew menu, wines and could quietly move in and out of the table while taking care of needs. Shannon, our hostess, was very polite and professional. I highly recommend the smoked duck flatbread appetizer as it is a gracious plenty portion perfect with wine and tasted fabulous. My steak was prepared to perfection and the wife's cobia was just to her liking. Glad to see they are working to have other non-steak items for those who aren't in the mood for red meat. The Fleur pinot noir wine is an excellent choice and our bottle went too fast! We are very often dining out at the nicer restaurants and Union has now been put on our favorite list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love it

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Love the Union. It is a favorite date night spot with my husband. Delicious food and they never make you feel rushed through one moment of the evening

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

My husband and I went for our 1 year anniversary and couldn't have been happier. The service was impeccable and the food was amazing. I had the beef carpaccio which was melt in your mouth delicious and my husband had the friend green tomatoes with shrimp. He said his was amazing and the portion was larger enough to share. We both had the filets which cut like butter and were cooked to perfection. For desert he had the creme brulé and I had the chocolate cake. Both were rich, creamy, and amazing! We will absolutely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

VERY GOOD FOOD A+++++

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

Very good place to eat. I would consider this place Mobile's finest. Service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i ordered the ribeye medium

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

But it came out well done. when I asked my server about it he explained dry aged steaks are darker when cooked medium. he offered to cook the steak again I declined because usually when I send food back to be recooked it is always opposite spectrum. This was no different. The second state was rare. so I will not return

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Great Find

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

Our Server Craig was very attentive and knowledgeable about food, wine, and cocktails. The steak, sides, and dessert were fit for a king or queen. The setting of the restaurant was open but each table was still secured enough to hold a conversation. My wife and I will be repeat customers many times over.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good spot

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

Service is great. Decent wine selection. Cocktails good. Appetisers great. Burgers great. Steaks have been mediocre on two visits

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice steak

 
·Dined on July 31, 2015

The filet was really tender and I loved the field green salad too. Our server was attentive and we enjoyed our bartender too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Favorite Mobile Restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Our group went to Union for dinner during the annual Mega conference. Everyone ordered steak. All steaks were perfectly prepared and so delicious. I got a Tequila Sangria. It was one of the best drinks I have ever had. Do not miss the bread pudding. It tastes like a cinnamon roll with wonderful, warm sauce. Skip the Bananas Fosters. Not great.

Excellent service, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fine night out with friends

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2015

Steaks we're good and come with a number of complementary sauces so you can try more than 1. French onion soup had a strange sweet taste. Overall a good experience.

Waiter needs to work on coming around more often for drinks/refills and serving everyone at the table at the same time. For the $ I'd probably go to Ruth C

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Solid Performance

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

The service was very attentive but not overbearing. The food was cooked the right temperature. The salad was perfect and not overdressed. The steak could have been a bit thicker but it was seasoned well and tasted great. It was a very good experience and I would go back when in town.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Steak was warm at best, even ask hotest ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

Steak was warm at best, even ask hotest to feel it. Then charged for everything else when nothing but salad was eaten. Ruth Chris from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Busy and friendly

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

We met another couple here and waited a couple of minute for our reservation. Service was very friendly, but was very slow - maybe some large groups slowing things down? Didn't get an order placed for 30 minutes, but the server had asked up front what our plans were for the evening, so maybe he would've warned us if we'd been in a hurry. Food was pretty good, but my husband's ribeye wasn't seasoned at all and our vegetables were undercooked - very crunchy! Best thing was the crab bisque - delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Beautiful downtown steakhouse

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

First time at the restaurant. Took my mother for her birthday. It's a beautiful restaurant and perfect for a special occasion. Smaller restaurant, intimate. Staff are very friendly but service was quite slow. Steaks were lightly seasoned and grilled perfectly. No need for any sauces but there were a number of good options on the menu.

Side dishes were very small especially for the overall price point of the meal. Typically I'd expect larger, shareable sides for $8-$10. Instead we had undersized portions for $4.

Wine list was adequate. In Mobile, an outsized wine list probably would be out of place. That said a larger (and separate) reserve wine list would have been nice. The wine list combined by the glass and by the bottle.

Upside: beautiful restaurant, lovely staff, high quality steaks. Definitely recommended for a romantic dinner or a special occasion.

Downside: slow kitchen, odd but adequate wine list, tiny side dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Amazing!!!

 
·Dined on January 29, 2015

Union was definitely an amazing experience! Our server was amazing, the food was incredible, the atmosphere was warm and welcoming! We really enjoyed ourselves. We'd been told any times by plenty of people about Union and we finally went! We are glad we did! We definitely will be back! They also have a new special on Monday nights, 1/2 price burgers! We were blown away by the vibe! Just an incredible place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on January 28, 2015

Very good food at reasonable prices. generous portions. friendly, professional service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good Choice for Steak in Downtown Mobile, AL

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

The building is really an old union hall. Photos from days gone by in Mobile adorn the walls. Smallish seating area; try to avoid table by the door if it is cold ... Incoming guests tend to linger with door open, allowing cold air to rush in. Service was friendly and professional. Steak (filet) was very tender. Try the "Union Potatoes" as a side. Small new potatoes which are fried with skin on. Price is reasonable for what you receive. The "cons" -- which would not stop me from returning -- were (1) length of time it took to get food, which was curious because restaurant wasn't busy, and (2) steak was not as hot as it really should have been. It appeared the steak was finished and kitchen was waiting for sides to be done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Return Visit

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on January 4, 2015

My family ate here 3 weeks ago, and the visit this time did not disappoint. Great service. Recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A foodie flop!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

I consider myself a foodie having traveled and eaten in several parts of the world as well as throughout the United States. This is my third time to this restaurant with my husband and will be my last. Honestly, I wish The Union had more choices on their menu... they offer one pork dish and one chicken dish in addition to the 3-4 steak options. I didn't like this restaurant the first time I went but was hopeful that maybe I went on a bad night but after going the second time I knew it wasn't a good place for foodies. My last and final time was Christmas Eve dinner with my husband and our family. The only reason I chose this place was because it was one of the few places open on Christmas. I have always thought the food (especially the steaks) were over priced and not that great. However the salads are pretty good whereas the wine selection could be better. The restaurant needs to make some tremendous changes before I will consider going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.