Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Union Hill Kitchen

Executive Chef Alexis Hernandez, a CNN International & Food Network alumnus & brings his unique approach of American cuisine to Atlanta. Creating dishes that reflect his personal keen instinct for balancing flavor, texture & simplicity.
Our Accolades include BEST OF ATLANTA :
BEST NEW RESTAURANT | BEST NEW CHEF | BEST RESTAURANT | BEST BURGER
Our restaurant has also won an award for "NEIGHBORHOOD GEM" and the 2015 elusive "DINER"S CHOICE AWARD"
Our Chef is a also Food Network Cutthroat Kitchen Champion! Watch him on Episode, "Crabs of Steel" & "20,000 leagues under the prep table."
The restaurant is a charming 50 seat 1950’s vintage gas station, tucked in a cozy street corner in the heart of Chamblee. It has become one of the city"s most sought after spots! Our patrons enjoy the 25 seat outdoor patio during the summer and fall months. Reservations are accepted for the indoor dining room only.

5336 Peachtree Road
Chamblee, GA 30301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday - Saturday 11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Friday - Saturday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Sunday Closed
Monday Closed

HOLIDAY HOURS:

We will celebrate Valentine's Day Friday 2/11 Saturday 2/12 and Tuesday 2/14.



Cross Street:
Pierce Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 458-6252

Website:
http://www.unionhillkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking in our private lot and there is ample off-street parking available.

Public Transit:
Marta - Chamblee Station.

Executive Chef:
Alexis Hernandez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Hill Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

I’ve always eaten dinner on the patio, so can’t rate the indoor dining experience. It’s a nice patio and noise was minimal except for the occasional MARTA train. Service was slow at first but improved, once we got our drinks. I’ve eaten lunch here often and it’s always good. Great restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The restaurant was buzzing tonight from the time we stopped in until we left. The food was delicious and the service was excellent as usual. I love the new bartender, Fanta! She does a great job of making her guests feel welcome at the bar! I would highly recommend dining at Union Hill Kitchen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

My awesome VIP guest and friend recommended this restaurant...and it was aahmazing!! This place was incredible!! Everyone treated us like royalty! The food was to die for...beautiful ambiance and decor, chef Alex and his crew were very sweet and welcoming to us. Located in such a cute town (downtown Chamblee) We will definitely be back!! Coming here made our night. Thank you for showing us so much warmth and love. ❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2017

It was our first visit to Union Hill Kitchen and we will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The food here is divine and creative. We have loved this restaurant since it opened around 4 years ago. And would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We love to eat there. The staff is friendly and makes you feel very welcome. The food is delicious as well as drinks. Always a great evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We were invited to a special dinner for UHK’s 4 year anniversary. Amazing street food celebration designed by the chef and Team- arepas, egg rolls, Italian crostini with prosciutto, and empanadas! Hopefully it will make it onto the new menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Union Hill Kitchen continues to try and innovate, yet please the regulars that love certain items on the menu. It's fun to see what Chef Hernandez is trying next. From a new appetizer to having new whiskey's to a wine selection that is small but full of surprises.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2017

What a great time celebrating my birthday. I really enjoyed the cauliflower appetizer and my pasta and shrimp. Thank you to Nicole and Chef Hernadez for making the night special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Smaller plates-,I recommend 3-4 per person they are serving 5 entrees , but in limited quantities. You need to get here early if you want the entree and specials- the chef seems to be doing smaller plates- and since he is buying food daily - it's the freshest you can get in chamblee -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Over all- we really love this place! Chef is great! Knowledgeable- and you should trust how he designs the dishes. There is a reason for how they do service, food, cocktails. It's baffeling information and passion as I get to know the chef more and more. The chef and his staff work hard from early morning to have the freshest stuff. So if they are out by 7:00 pm they are out- it's a small place and ingredients are limited. The soft shell was very good- if they are not sold out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Awful! Food was terrible and service atrocious. Not sure how it stays in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food, good service, enjoyable experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great dinner with friends! The staff are always so welcome and the Executive Chef treats the guests like they are family. He goes out of his way to make everybody have a top notch dining and service experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Loved the dinner. This place always nails good food and a fun service! The servers are great and treat you like family! The food is outstanding and well portioned!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our 2nd time to this restaurant and we really enjoy it. It's a bit pricey, but the service is excellent and the food was great both times. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Tonight was disappointing as the appetizer wasn't what it was advertised on the menu and no effort was made to correct the issue despite bringing it to the server's attention. The food was slow coming out as well and the service seemed very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This restaurant has been one of my favorites since moving to Atlanta two 2 years ago but has disappointed on my last two visits. Disappointing has been the lack of any change in the menu and the specials are usually limited. On this occasion my favorite appetizer the stuffed dates was limited to only two small dates and lacked the usual flavor. My companion's cauliflower appetizer was bland to the point of being tasteless. The entrees were better although my fried chicken was more soggy than crisp. When it came time for desert we were told two of the best deserts out of the five offerings were out despite the fact that it was only 8 PM on a Saturday. The key lime pie was not very flavorful and not tart. Service was friendly but very slow, it took 20 min for deserts to come despite the fact that they required no preparation. When the server removed the uneaten cauliflower appetizer she asked if my companion did not like it and when he said it lacked flavor she said nothing. Overall still not a bad meal but well below the 5 stars I used to give this restaurant in past years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This place offers intimacy and great food! Small restaurant with a very loyal customer following - Steak is amazing and so is the onion and salmon dip. Baby blue red wine is best I have had- pricey but quality costs money! Great beers Orpheus is available by request if they haven't sold out-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Disappointed in the service from Amber as she didn't seem like she had her head in the game. She kept forgetting things we asked her for to enjoy our meals. She seemed spaced out. The manager did a great job of trying to help out. The food was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Restaurant was packed and the food was amazing. The bar was jamming with regular customers and the Chef and Owner made it a point to speak to every guest which is always a pleasure. His culinary vision is translated into an energetic dining experience and the food and service are great. The bartender and server learn your preferences and cater to you like you are part of their family. I would highly recommend Union Hill Kitchen. The consistent service and food keep me coming back weekly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This restaurant is so loud that you cannot carry on a conversation!
I ordered their fried chicken. It had a delicious crust but the chicken breast was far from tender and juicy. The waiter had it replaced with a more tender piece.
My husband enjoyed his grilled chicken salad.

No bread was offered or served.

A bit pricey for what you get. Probably won't return anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing find! The food is spectacular and very innovative in the combination of flavors. My kids LOVED it. Chef Alex was a pleasure to meet. We had a wonderful evening at Union Hill Kitchen. A gem of a place which we would recommend for anyone who wants to rediscover great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because our friend ordered the $29 scallops and was served 3 scallops and some corn. It was more of an appetizer than a meal. My husband and I got the shredded pork, black beans, rice and plantains which was really good and our other guest like the mongo burger and fries. It's a good restaurant, just don't get the $10 per scallop plate!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Steak was extremely expensive for no reason. The portion size was very small for the high cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This is one of the most friendly places we enjoy going to. The scallops come with charred onion and I thought I wouldn't like it but it was a great! Fried chicken was juicy and the crust was something I wanted a full plate of to take home. This place is a gem and it's a special place for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Lunch tacos are really great couldn't finish our meals. Shrimp and salmon tacos are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Another excellent experience! Chef Alexis has something special here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We were excited to go to Union Hill as none of our family had dined there. A bit of confusion as my wife called for a reservation and was told that there were no tables inside and we could eat outside, but it would be after 8pm for an inside table. I came to OpenTable and there were all of the time slots we wanted available... the restaurant was nearly empty when we arrived, but quickly filled.

The GM was also acting as the hostess and did a great job explaining the menu and the specials. There were only two waitresses working the dining room, and I think that another wait person would have made the front of the house seem a little less hectic.

The food was really good. My wife had the crabcake, and I had the filet.

Overall a good experience, but I would want to exhaust all options before making that my destination next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

My friend and I shared dishes of cauliflower and ravioli, which were both delicious and plenty!!

Our waitress was very nice and helpful, and the whole experience very pleasant. Because the music wasn't too loud, were able to have a nice conversation .

I would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I always love coming here- the food is always outstanding . The potato croquettes, Orpheus beer and dumplings are something new I haven't had because they are new and hit the spot for our group. The fried chicken was delicious as always, and the soft shell crab had good crunch and our friends enjoyed the Salmon and the filet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Tried this restaurant again, really wanting to like it. The food was OK, but not good enough to get us back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Nothing to write home about. More than one of us had their quote Famous Fried Chicken, it was okay the brussel sprouts were terrible. The salmon is farm raised and was not good. We like to space and wanted to like the place but the food just was a miss. They also do not have sweet tea which is a No-No in the south. If you serve chicken and mashed potatoes and don't have sweet tea you've left off a vital part of supper Round Here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Once again, Union Hill strikes gold. Not once since going to this establishment have I had a bad experience. Every experience continues to raise the bar both with the food and also the matching exceptional service. Chef Hernandez has a unique ability to pair flavors with each menu item where you are left with a truly unforgettable culinary experience. His passion for cooking and the guests' dining experience is unparalleled in the industry. The entire team works collaboratively to take care of the guests from the Bar Tender, Chase, to the servers, Taucia and Mauricio, and the GM, Nicole. Every time I go, it feels like you are a member of their family, making the entire experience like dining with your best friends. The food is truly outstanding in every aspect and I would offer the highest recommendation for this restaurant. I will be a lifelong customer and appreciate the energy and effort Chef Hernandez has put into creating this experience for me and others as a customer.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This place is a gem in Chamblee. These guys are welcoming and really make you feel at home if you allow them. They have several new additions for summer MRI the menu that need mentioning. Stuffed dumplings with bulgogi and steak tip salad. Also the souse vide steak is the best steak I have ever had! The chef here works hard on every dish to make sure it's fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Wonderful lunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The wait staff Saturday 6.24 was amazing - great tip on the fries!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

First timer, food and service was awesome. Even gave us a tip on how to rack up on points to get stuff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food and service are average. Restaurant is pricey and cocktails are good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Totally unexpected if you judge it by location and external appearance you will miss a wonderful place

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.