About Union Hill Kitchen

5336 Peachtree Road
Chamblee, GA 30301
View Larger Map

Executive Chef Alexis Hernandez, a CNN International & Food Network alumnus & brings his unique approach of American cuisine to Atlanta. Creating dishes that reflect his personal keen instinct for balancing flavor, texture & simplicity.
Our Accolades include BEST OF ATLANTA :
BEST NEW RESTAURANT | BEST NEW CHEF | BEST RESTAURANT | BEST BURGER
Our restaurant has also won an award for "NEIGHBORHOOD GEM" and the 2015 elusive "DINER"S CHOICE AWARD"
Our Chef is a also Food Network Cutthroat Kitchen Champion! Watch him on Episode, "Crabs of Steel" & "20,000 leagues under the prep table."
The restaurant is a charming 50 seat 1950’s vintage gas station, tucked in a cozy street corner in the heart of Chamblee. It has become one of the city"s most sought after spots! Our patrons enjoy the 25 seat outdoor patio during the summer and fall months. Reservations are accepted for the indoor dining room only.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Tuesday - Saturday 11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Dinner:
Wednesday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday - Saturday 5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Sunday Closed
Monday Closed

HOLIDAY HOURS:

MONTH OF NOVEMBER.
We are CLOSED on Thanksgiving Day.

Our chef is Celebrating Valentine's Day on February 12 & 13 with a Prix Fixe menu. The chef's regular menu will not be available these two days.

Cross Street:
Pierce Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 458-6252

Website:
http://www.unionhillkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking in our private lot and there is ample off-street parking available.

Public Transit:
Marta - Chamblee Station.

Executive Chef:
Alexis Hernandez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Union Hill Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (20)
great for outdoor dining (18)
See All
special occasion (14)
great for lunch (14)
romantic (11)
notable wine list (8)
hot spot (6)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

neighborhood gem in Chamblee that's wort ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

neighborhood gem in Chamblee that's worth finding and eating at soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Union Hill was an excellent find not far ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Union Hill was an excellent find not far from our home. The food was delicious and the presentation was very nice. The staff was very friendly and accomdating. We will be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I wanted to like this place SO much. Had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I wanted to like this place SO much. Had heard good things and like supporting neighborhood businesses, but was unfortunately disappointed with Union Hill. I made a last minute reservation to take my in-laws there after they arrived in town. Despite having a reservation (made about 45 min in advance), we waited for 10 minutes beyond our reservation time to be seated....and there were only 2 other tables of people in the entire restaurant. It just didn't make sense. A few dishes were good, namely the onion dip. The burger was too messy to enjoy. The scallops were $32 for 4 scallops and I left hungry. My mother in law's salmon was grossly overcooked despite being the first dish out, and my father in law's crab cake sandwich was a huge bun with a very tiny crab cake (smaller than what i would expect for an appetizer size portion). All in all, we found it to be poor value for the money and an overall disappointing experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Had a wonderful time. Was seated quickl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Had a wonderful time. Was seated quickly, very friendly staff! I had the Cuban Pork dish! Pork was so flavorful and tender! Loved the fried plantains! Awesome wine list! Servers very attentive and professional! My friend had the Maryland Crab dish! She said it was delicious! She ordered a side of hand cut fries with blue cheese dressing and bacon. She couldn't stop talking about how good they were. Their specialist drinks are delicious, Cuban Mule! Leave room for dessert, icecream sundae with peach pearls soooooo very good! Music is spot on! I can't wait to return with more friends. Atmosphere very romantic too! The patio are full! I was told if you made reservations you can call in and specifically ask for the patio! They also had a comfortable seating area outside for cocktails and a wood burning Chimney out in the patio! Loved it all!

Need to make reservations!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Ambiance

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This lunch trip to UHK was fun! The server Mauricio was very knowledgable about the wine list. He suggest a wonderful red for me and a delightful white for my girlfriend! I enjoyed the shrimp appetizer, the shrimp were tender and flavorful! I had the UH burger and it was a good size and medium. Cooked perfect, and her Hudson Fried Chicken burger was moist and delicious! Thankful we have a place to visit like UHK near Brookhaven! Chef Alexis is very approachable and most gracious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Always

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Been there several times. With a friend and in a group. Never disappoints. Service very attentive and makes you feel like you are at home. Chef is very enjoyable to talk with and always suggesting different wines. Also gives advice about different food topics. I can't say enough good things about UHK! My place to go when I have cravings for their out of bounds stuffed dates, fried chicken, and a fun place to visit. The regulars that sit at the bar are entertaining and fun to hang out with! A must place to visit. Reservations are needed for Thursday, Friday or Saturday!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bland Food, Average Service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This place was recommended to us based on the fact that it was new and near where we live, but it was definitely underwhelming. The food was bland (pork and mezaluna), and the service was average at best. Water cups weren't refilled, server didn't come by to refill wine or ask how the food was. It was very slow especially when you consider we were one of only 3 tables in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We stopped in for a Saturday lunch befor ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We stopped in for a Saturday lunch before heading to the Fox Theatre. We started with an appetizer of Crab Bites on Pineapple Slaw. Amazing! I had the Union Hill Burger and Belgian fries. The burger was cooked to perfection, the flavors all worked so well together and the fries were yummy.

My friend had the Smokehouse burger and Tuscan fries. Also raved about her food. Service was excellent, waitress knowledgeable about the menu, friendly, attentive without being overbearing.

A neighborhood gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Hubby and 2 teens brought me here for Mother's Day on Saturday night. The space is small and cozy. Reservations are a good idea. I like that they can open the wall so diners can be indoors/outdoors. The occasional train going by is loud, but also a throwback to the past. I told the waitress the 4 items I was considering ordering and she recommended the pork. My husband got the fried chicken and my kids got the chicken sandwich and a burger. The pork was delicious and substantial (lunch the next day!). Everyone else at the table ate every item on their plate (even the Brussels sprouts which I was hoping to steal from my husband since he supposedly doesn't like them and was disappointed when his plate first arrived and he saw the generous serving.) I liked the cocktail menu. Enjoyed the Havana Mule. A little slow for entrees but attentive staff really made it fine and I appreciated the extra time with my family.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

neighborhood gem

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We love this place! My husband and I stopped by for an after dinner drink and dessert several months ago and have been wanting to go back for dinner. Finally, we met another couple there on Saturday night. We all loved everything - the ambiance (quaint, charming), the cocktails, the food and most of all the friendly staff/owner. I think this could be one of our favorite date night places for my husband and I or a low key place to meet friends. We loved the patio area as well to enjoy this gorgeous weather we have had recently.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a uniquely cool building!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food in a uniquely cool building!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and unique ambiance. We will ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food and unique ambiance. We will definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The staff seems excited to see you. Gre ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff seems excited to see you. Great neighborhood restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, thoughtful execution and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Delicious food, thoughtful execution and there are many new things on the menu. The mezzaluna with shrimp is very simple but complicated in flavor. The soft shell crab- they harvest them to order but are very limited so if they have it get them. The private island martini is back for summer! All is good now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great hidden gem in the heart of Chamblee

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This is a Cuban-inspired menu with a seafood specialty and a southern twist. The food is great, portions are healthy, and service is fantastic.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and the food was ama ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Outstanding service and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Restaurant with Potential to Be Better

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Food was very good and creative. Lunch menu needs improvement, looks like dinner menu with a few additions. Way to pricey for lunch. Small plates are anywhere from $10-$15, dinner maybe not for lunch. Noise level at dinner is ridiculous! Must've asked the server a hundred times " I'm sorry what did you say?" It's due to the space but they really need to figure out the acoustics of the place. It's borderline annoying. Recalled the noise level on our first visit. Service was excellent. Hope they get out the kinks, would love to see them as busy all the time as Southbound down the street.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great find! Please go here it is an awes ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great find! Please go here it is an awesome restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fried chicken and Cuban pork were bo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The fried chicken and Cuban pork were both considered specialties so ordered both. The pork was dry and not very flavorful. They check was better but not spectacular. Worth about 1/2 what we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great burgers and other great dishes

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The burgers are unique and fantastic, but there are many other amazing dishes full of flavor. The chef is known for his burgers, but the menu is much deeper and richer than that! Everyone loved their meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely. I always want the back booth. J ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Lovely. I always want the back booth. Juicy burgers. The best chopped salad I have ever had! Wonderful wait staff. Bravo Chef Alexis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience. Super service and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent experience. Super service and terrifically creative take on Cuban food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant great food!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Great restaurant great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flavor AND service

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The service was outstanding. The food, especially lamb dish and date appetizer, were fabulous. Several of the folks in our party of six ordered and enjoyed their specialty drinks. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have missed this food...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Union Hill Kitchen has always been a favorite for us, however due to travel and work we haven't been able to dine there lately, nor anywhere else for that matter. We finally found time and as always couldn't be happier. There were several new items on the menu as well as our favorites! We ordered a yukon potato appetizer with curry and other spices that, we were told, had to be enjoyed 3 ways to enjoy the differences in acidities. First taste the potato alone, then with the lime squeezed on one, and finally lime and salt. So delicious each way and such different tastes. I always have a hard time choosing my entree, however this night it was even more difficult. As an extremely picky eater, I always order the same thing at most restaurants because I know what I like. A new item on the menu was Lamb Ropa Vieja, a dish I have enjoyed before at other places with chicken. I am not a fan of lamb at all and would never order it as an entree ever. When discussing the new items on the menu, the chef offered to bring me a tasting and it was amazing. Ropa Vieja dishes have the protein shredded when prepared. For the first time I ordered a lamb entree and was so glad I did. The shredded lamb was perfectly seasoned and shredded and served with noodles. I really recommend this dish and can't wait to have it again! Every time we dine at Union Hill we leave so happy and look forward to our return!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I want to like this place because it's n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I want to like this place because it's near my house. This is my 2nd poor experience here, so I'll not return. After sitting at our table for 45 minutes (with 1 round of drinks/no apps orders/no dinner ordered/and missing my sparkling water) I asked a manager to please help us. They did take a bit off our bill, but the night was too far gone for a discount to get me back.

The atmosphere is cute, but slow service with mediocre food will eventually kill this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was really tasty.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

The food was really tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It's a great, local spot!! The owner tak ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

It's a great, local spot!! The owner takes a personal interest in your meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fried chicken and crab cakes are great a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Fried chicken and crab cakes are great as are the specialty cocktails. The restaurant is a comfortable place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience again. Sat outside wit ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great experience again. Sat outside with fireplace and appetizers. Dinner was excellent and the service could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I can still taste the chorizo stuffed dates

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I had a very rare night out, sans children, with my husband. We were celebrating 28 years together and wanted dinner to be something special. We chose Union Hill Kitchen after hearing about it on Splendid Table last year and reading local reviews that were favorable.

We were not disappointed.

We started our meal with chorizo stuffed dates, mainly for the novelty. It seems like something interesting to try. The rest of the meal was absolutely scrumptious, but it is the truth of stuff dates I will remember most. The blend of flavors is hard to describe. The sweetness of the dates blended beautifully with the chorizo. I think I could have made a meal out of it with another order of them.

Instead I had scallops which were simply delicious. My husband had the fried chicken, one of Union Hill's signature dishes. It was as well seasoned and perfectly crispy as any review I have ever read. We were both glad that there was plenty of the brussel sprout hash served alongside it as I kept stealing bites off my husband's plate.

I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. From the friendly greeting at the door to the attentiveness of our waiter there was never a moment I did not feel like I was the top priority of the staff.

All in all it was a meal and and experience I would love to repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this restaurant!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I love this restaurant, great innovative food, good wine list, great people - make for a wonderful night out in the neighborhood ---

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great find

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Comfortable, friendly place with lots of personality. Short menu, but something for everyone for sure. Good bar with unusual and delicious choices. I picked this place for a business dinner and everyone was more than pleased with both the ambiance and the food. I heartily recommend it for small groups.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We'll go back and take friends

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

I was disappointed that it was so quiet on a Wednesday night, but service was great. Great food. Next time we'll take friends. And....the background music was delightful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've dined at Union Hill twice in the la ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I've dined at Union Hill twice in the last 6 months. The first time, I had an OT reservation but the greeter told me I didn't when I could see the reservation screen with my name behind him. Fine, yes they had a crowd that night but don't lie to me! Just ask and I'll sit at the bar. The stuffed dates could have been good but for the acidy tomato sauce. The salmon burger was dry and flavorless something, it's off the menu now for good reasons.

Then a few weeks ago, we dropped by for a couple of Smoke House burgers on the way home, medium rare please! Probably the worst burger I've ever had, well done+, dry, dry, dry, probably cooked at noon, a cup of burnt bbq sauce to hide the burger.

I won't mention the poor beer list......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Union Street

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

They gave away my 7pm Open Table Reservation prior to my on time arrival. Sat us in bar with a wine treat and eventually got us in. Service not optimal. Wrong entree brought to table. No attention for drink/water refills without solicitation. They tried to make us happier with extra pour on our wine and a free birthday dessert but not sure it was enough to make me want to return. BUT The fudge pretzel dessert was amazing enough for me to try one more time. Want Chamblee restaurant scene to thrive but they'll need to beef up their game.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Union Hill good not great

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The restaurant is extremely noisy where I had a pounding headache and couldn't wait to leave. The food was good not great. The service started off very well until we finished and waited a long time for our plates to be cleared and for the check. My husband ordered some kind of potato appetizer which I thought would have been more appropriate as a side dish than an appetizer. The crab cakes were good but I've had much better. The tables are so close together that my arm kept getting hit every time someone walked by. When one of the owners came over to introduce himself shortly after we were seated, I thought that was a nice touch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great find in Chamblee

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

First time at Union Hill Kitchen (recommended by some friends) and it did not disappoint! Food was fantastic, cocktails were amazing, staff was great! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

So glad we decided to get out of our usual restaurant rut and try this one! It was a great night out with great friends and a culinary delight. We had an amazing evening. The owner and chef partners went out of their way to make the evening special. Almost felt like we were dining in their home the experience was so personal. Amazing service and food. Everything we tried was a culinary treat...don't miss the beet tartare. You will be blown away by this creative app. We can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All I have to say is that this is the be ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

All I have to say is that this is the best restaurant I have been to in a very long time. The dates were killer as well as the lamb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.