Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Union Hill Kitchen

Executive Chef Alexis Hernandez, a CNN International & Food Network alumnus & brings his unique approach of American cuisine to Atlanta. Creating dishes that reflect his personal keen instinct for balancing flavor, texture & simplicity.
Our Accolades include BEST OF ATLANTA :
BEST NEW RESTAURANT | BEST NEW CHEF | BEST RESTAURANT | BEST BURGER
Our restaurant has also won an award for "NEIGHBORHOOD GEM" and the 2015 elusive "DINER"S CHOICE AWARD"
Our Chef is a also Food Network Cutthroat Kitchen Champion! Watch him on Episode, "Crabs of Steel" & "20,000 leagues under the prep table."
The restaurant is a charming 50 seat 1950’s vintage gas station, tucked in a cozy street corner in the heart of Chamblee. It has become one of the city"s most sought after spots! Our patrons enjoy the 25 seat outdoor patio during the summer and fall months. Reservations are accepted for the indoor dining room only.

5336 Peachtree Road
Chamblee, GA 30301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday - Saturday 11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Friday - Saturday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Sunday Closed
Monday Closed

HOLIDAY HOURS:

We will celebrate Valentine's Day Friday 2/11 Saturday 2/12 and Tuesday 2/14.



Cross Street:
Pierce Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 458-6252

Website:
http://www.unionhillkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking in our private lot and there is ample off-street parking available.

Public Transit:
Marta - Chamblee Station.

Executive Chef:
Alexis Hernandez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Hill Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Romantic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Historic (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, Union Hill Kitchen did a great job with dinner this evening. Chef Alexis and Tauchia are truly amazing and every experience fun and entertaining! My steak was outstanding, perfectly cooked, and had tons of flavor. We tried the turnovers for an appetizer, and the flavor was amazing. The entire meal was great, but it was matched by equally outstanding service.

Marty and Nicole both do a great job making every guest feel welcome and part of the Union Hill Kitchen family. This is our new favorite restaurant in Atlanta for sure. I would HIGHLY recommend the restaurant to anybody.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious! Loved the venue that viewed the train tracks. Staff was friendly and fun. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our first visit to Union Hill Kitchen and we both really liked it. Our waiter's name was Mauricio and he was very professional and attentive. Everyone was very friendly and the food was delicious! I had the scallops and my husband had one of their steak specials.
We enjoyed dining on the patio, even though it faces the train tracks. Something kind of soothing about watching the cargo trains slowly go by.
I look forward to returning and trying some other dishes on the creative menu. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Once again Chef Alexis and Tasha hit a homerun tonight. They not only delivered truly exceptional food, but the service was equally as impressive. The restaurant has a truly unique family appeal to it as the staff are clearly a family, and they treat their guests as a member of their family. This is my third time dining at Union Hill Kitchen, and every time hits at perfect 10 on the scale. It's hard to get the food so consistent, but they do it every time. I will definitely be a regular and would encourage people to give it a try as you will be back routinely for more great food and excellent attention paid to you as a customer.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Cozy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We always have a great time, wonderful food, friendly service and Chef comes around to talk and laugh with diners. Highly recommend

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Special fried oysters with remoulade was so good! The scallops were great and had onion char on the sides that gave it a wonderful substantial flavor. The Chef here knows what he is doing and extremely passionate about the food he serves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was my fourth visit to Union Hill Kitchen and the food did not disappoint. This is a little neighborhood gem for those of us on the NE side of town that don't want to drive all the way into Atlanta, especially now with the bridge out. They have a nice wine list and make a good mojito. The fried chicken is delicious which is a big splurge for me, but worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We've eaten at UHK a number of times and it's been great. Fresh food, great tastes and menu, entertaining Chef and staff.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The entrees were a bit pricey, but the service was spectacular - it made this a wonderful evening! Thanks to the chef and staff!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Crab cake was disappointing. Mostly filler - very little crab - only side offered was fries; otherwise, a $6 upcharge to substitute. Hubby's fried chicken very good. Limited menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We were greeted by the chef/owner. Great service and food. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I grabbed a quick lunch on this occasion - Hudson fried chicken sandwich with fries. Good as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was my first time dining at this restaurant, and let's just say I am so glad that I gave it a shot and went. The food was OUTSTANDING, but it was matched with equally impressive service by the entire front of the house team. I have never had a filet like this in my life, and it was cooked using a special cooking technology evidently. It was the most flavorful and tender steak I have ever eaten. The appetizers were outstanding as well. We had the deviled eggs and roaster cauliflower and the flavors jumped off the plate. Our server was fantastic and it was apparent that they all worked together as a team as our beverages were never less than half filled. We had the great opportunity to meet Chef Alex during our visit, and it was apparent his passion for culinary perfection. He was one of the most personable and passionate culinary professionals that I have had the pleasure to meet. This restaurant truly surpassed my expectations in every aspect, and I will be dining there a lot!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Cold dreary day calls for the Chef's Fried chicken. Always delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Catered to special dietary needs while continuing to serve creative and delicious dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Seemed like a bad sign when at 7:15 on a Friday night there were only 2 other tables seated. Fried chicken was so dry it had to be sent back, took another 20-25 minutes for replacement entrees to come out. Seemed like service should have been much faster since the dining room was empty. Over all experience was pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love everything about this place!!! There's a new dish on the menu the lamb shank with a pea puree the flavors were incredible with a delicious red wine Finca Antigua

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The chorizo stuffed dates and the roasted cauliflower were fabulous. There were too many fries with the crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Another amazing meal at Union Hill. The lamb shank was phenomenal - I wish I could eat it every day. Service was on point, and a great wine recommendation as always.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This has become my wife and my go to local gem. We love the chef/owner and have brought several friends with us over the past several months. Nobody has been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Beet salad is on the menu! The filets were amazing and everyone should cook them how Union hill cooks them-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had a great evening at Union Hill. Great drinks, food and friends. The portabella mushroom ravioli was amazing and unique and the ropa viejo was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

my wife and I always enjoy our dining experience here.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing Valentine's dinner. We had a lobster bisque and the sous vide rib was 16 oz/ perfectly medium rare and and lamb with the pea purée was really really good. The dates stuffed with chorizo were sweet and salty and will come back for more!
We had some desserts that were not on the menu that the chef sent out to us. A Perfect dinner as always. Thank you Chef and Marty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The servers were very nice, which was really the best part of the meal. Unfortunately the rest of the experience was truly unforgettable, and not in a good way. The chorizo / dates appetizer had zero flavor. The double fried chicken was completely dry (almost inedible) and the mashed potatoes had large, uncooked chunks in it. I don't mean to be a jerk about this, but the food was particularly not pleasant.

And I recommend changing the lighting...The orange and red lights everywhere made me feel like I was in Kramer's apartment with the Chicken Roasters sign blinding me with red light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Union Hill Kitchen is our go to spot. This is truly the Chef's creation. From the front to the kitchen Chef has put in sweat equity to provide a great place to enjoy one's outing. Each dish has a story and given the opportunity to talk with to Chef, you'll be energized by his passion and love for the food and the customer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Wonderful new menu items since the last time I came to Union Hill. They had a special of tuna tartare that was really good! They also had a 16 oz Ribeye steak that was cooked some special way that made it super tender. Amazing place, great music, the service is wonderful and I like small little restaurants.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Because my meal came out late and I mean literally 10 min later than others at my table and NO apology, it ruined the entire meal. Plus not to mention, it was freezing and had to eat with my coat on. Mushroom ravioli is in a really bland dish almost like chicken broth. With the poor service, late food and freezing atmosphere, you will NOT get me to ever go back there again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I was super excited to go here because the restaurant has odd hours, and I had not been able to make it over there yet. However, both my boyfriend and i were extremely disappointed in the quality of the food.

Our food was tepid but the plates were hot. The flavor of the food tasted good, yet was extremely salty with basic flavors and ingredients. I eat out several times a week, and this was not worth ~$25 a plate for an entree. The chef came out from the kitchen and was loudly complaining to the hostess about problems in the kitchen which totally killed any good vibes remaining from the attractive ambience of the restaurant.

The hostess asked how our food was, and we told her about the temperature issue, and she said she would let the kitchen know. No further accommodations were made.

I am honestly shocked that the chef won several awards because besides being timed improperly, the food was just boring and did not woe me in any way. Our bill for 2 alcoholic beverages, an appetizer, and 2 entrees was over $150. I could have gotten this quality of food from a much cheaper restaurant. I would recommend dropping that kind of cash at Seven Lamps if you are expecting superior flavor and service because that is what I expect from an award winning chef and restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always great food! Dates are addictive -Cassoulet with confit chicken and Mike amazing and butternut squash with crunchy walnuts was really really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The butternut squash ravioli was divine and flavorful. The chef shared his wine knowledge and recommed the Baby blue
The lamb dumplings were so unique and delicious I will definitely be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 17, 2017

It was a birthday celebration. The bartender waited on us and he was wonderful!

Tags: Tapas, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We decided to try some place we'd never been. Both of us really enjoyed Union Hill Kitchen! The food was fabulous and the staff was informative and friendly. We'll definitely be back! Thank you!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food and relaxed environment. Great staff too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The noise level was very high, food was good. We were a table of 5 which arrived early and only one other couple was dining at the time. Our party had trouble hearing each other as well as our server. There are no soft surfaces to absorb sound and thing became worse as several trains passed by. Food was good for most. Ordered 4 burgers which came out a little more cooked than medium but very tasty. One burger was missing it's cheese and bun was burnt. Would go back but maybe for lunch when outdoor dining on the patio is possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I really enjoyed our visit to Union Hill Kitchen. The staff and Sous Chef couldn't have been nicer or more interesting to talk with and get menu suggestions/cooking techniques/spice identification from. We were there on a quiet night Christmas week. The food was well prepared and very filling and satisfying. We will go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Good dinner and good recommendations by wait staff. Enjoyed the lamb ropa vieja.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent food. Chef was very personable and visible. Whatever you get, get it with french fries (they are really good here). Only downside was service was a little slow and inattentive.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 7, 2016

There were only 2 other guests seated in the restaurant. There were 2 wait staff, yet it took 20 minutes to take our order and another 20 minutes to bring the food. We ordered salads with fried chicken and salmon, so the food prep time wasn't the issue. The lettuce wasn't fresh and the chicken and salmon were the size of a "tender" not a half breast or even a normal size piece of salmon. All in all, not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.