Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Union Hill Kitchen

Executive Chef Alexis Hernandez, a CNN International & Food Network alumnus & brings his unique approach of American cuisine to Atlanta. Creating dishes that reflect his personal keen instinct for balancing flavor, texture & simplicity.
Our Accolades include BEST OF ATLANTA :
BEST NEW RESTAURANT | BEST NEW CHEF | BEST RESTAURANT | BEST BURGER
Our restaurant has also won an award for "NEIGHBORHOOD GEM" and the 2015 elusive "DINER"S CHOICE AWARD"
Our Chef is a also Food Network Cutthroat Kitchen Champion! Watch him on Episode, "Crabs of Steel" & "20,000 leagues under the prep table."
The restaurant is a charming 50 seat 1950’s vintage gas station, tucked in a cozy street corner in the heart of Chamblee. It has become one of the city"s most sought after spots! Our patrons enjoy the 25 seat outdoor patio during the summer and fall months. Reservations are accepted for the indoor dining room only.

5336 Peachtree Road
Chamblee, GA 30301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday - Saturday 11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Friday - Saturday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Sunday Closed
Monday Closed

HOLIDAY HOURS:

We will celebrate Valentine's Day Friday 2/11 Saturday 2/12 and Tuesday 2/14.



Cross Street:
Pierce Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 458-6252

Website:
http://www.unionhillkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking in our private lot and there is ample off-street parking available.

Public Transit:
Marta - Chamblee Station.

Executive Chef:
Alexis Hernandez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Hill Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Authentic (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

First timer, food and service was awesome. Even gave us a tip on how to rack up on points to get stuff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service are average. Restaurant is pricey and cocktails are good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Totally unexpected if you judge it by location and external appearance you will miss a wonderful place

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Restaurants come in two categories; ones that fix food to suit your taste, and ones that require you to trust the chef. Union Hill Kitchen is definitely in the latter category. This means you accept interesting combinations, i.e. candied bacon with deviled eggs, and innovative methods, i.e. sous vide steaks that come only in medium rare and medium. If you want to treat yourself to a good meal, trust the chef and go to Union Hill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great potato croquettes and the filet tip salad is new for summer and very good! I enjoy the food here and I always look forward to having Chef come by our table to chat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My husband and I ate dinner here on a Saturday night around 8:30. We were seated right away and had a lovely table on the patio. We started with craft cocktails and then had a glass of wine.
We started with the roasted cauliflower and it was delicious.
I had the burger and my husband had the ravioli. These were amazing as well. The fries that came with my burger were perfect.
We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was A-MAZING! Chef Alexis Hernandez was delightful-very passionate about the food he serves and what goes into each dish and why. He is very kind and wants to make each persons experience the best!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Nicole is a treasure. Remembered what we had for our last meal! Unfortunately, they were out of the dish we wanted. That speaks to the dedication to freshness. Love the service and food. Will be going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great location and amazing food! We had Amber as our server and she did a great job despite the restaurant being very busy due to the air show taking place. Had the smokehouse burger and it was very tasty! I would highly recommend trying it. The servers are fun and really interact with the guest and the food is first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great spot for lunch or dinner. The new server Amber does a great job and a surprise visit by the Executive Chef truly makes the experience unforgettable. I would highly recommend the smokehouse burger and the Belgian fries!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Sat on the patio with my dog and watched the trains go by. Dogs allowed as long as they don't interfere with other guests. Jalapeño poppers stuffed with crab were delicious and spicy- amazing! Moscow Mike with fresh ginger was a nice refresher. Taco special with crab and shrimp was really good as well and the manchego black beans were delicious! Only available at lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Once again, the food and service do not disappoint. My steak was perfectly prepared and tender enough to cut with a basic fork. The appetizers had a great combination of flavors and culinary richness that is unmatched in Atlanta. Our service was extremely attentative to our needs and the chef makes it a point to visit with each table to ensure that they are enjoying the vision that he has created for his restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is my new favorite restaurant in the Southeast and for good reason. The staff's amazing personalities are matched by equally unparalled cuisine that is brilliantly crafted by their award winning Executive Chef, Alexis Hernandez. He has built something special that is clearly the choice for locals given how many regulars are always dining when I go. The special filet is prepared with great accompaniments and the dish is a great mix of flavor and texture in the steak. Chef Hernandez has clearly expressed his culinary expression personally in every dish as not one thing on the menu that I have tried has been anything less than simply amazing. Taucia, Nicole, Mauricio, and Chase do a great job of making guests feel welcome and being attentive to create a special dining experience. I would highly recommend the food to anybody visiting or living in Atlanta.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Very disappointed. Over priced, poorly decorated, and unstatisfying. The patio furniture is ugly and falling apart, the menu is a hot mess, and there was only one server when we arrived, who also served as the bartender. Drinks were blah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great steak and amazing appetizers. Nicole and Taucia do a great job and a visit from the Chef is the icing on the cake! I would highly recommend this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great experience once again. Taucia and Nicole never disappoint and the food was incredible! I would highly recommend the chicken sandwich for Lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This bright, airy restaurant with indoor/outdoor dining options for lunch and dinner is fabulous: fantastic food prepared by a chef who cares about his cuisine and his clients complemented by great service! I've visited twice for dinner and enjoyed both occasions immensely. The cocktails are classics with a fun twist...my favorite is the burnt caramel Old Fashioned. For those who prefer grape to the grain, there is a nice wine selection. Starters are wonderful and easily can be paired or put in a trio for a sensational tastings dinner. If the salmon dip with homemade pita chips is available, grab it - it's great! The fried chicken and Cuban pork entrees are very different in terms of flavor profiles but both are incredibly delicious. Portions are generous, so I have not saved room for dessert yet; my next visit will focus on a starter and a sweet treat. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Best restaurant experience in this part of town. We were really surprised not only by the creative menu but by the quality and great taste. We will definitely recommend the restaurant and will return soon with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have passed by many times on my way home from work and had been curious. After reading the menu online, my husband and I decided to come for date night. We sat at the bar and had a drink and people watched. There seemed to be a lot of large parties (more than 4) on this night, maybe because mother's day was the next day? We were the only small table and I kind of felt overpowered and forgotten amongst all the large tables. Service at the table was slow, the hostess filled in for the server, who took over 5 minutes to get to the table. She was nice, once we got going. The food was excellent. Very unique menu and I appreciate that aspect. I had the seared scallops and creamed corn, which was more in a cream sauce than what one would think about southern creamed corn, and I was fine with that! My husband had the burger, which was phenomenal. We opted for the tuna tartar for an appetizer and it was good but not great. It is served with home made pita chips which were somewhat oily. We didn't get dessert because we were full! I do like the venue, it's just noisy and I had the feeling that at any moment things could go south. So we will probably go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I ordered the salmon dip and the onion dip that the Chef put on the menu for summer very flavorful and I not a fan of smoked salmon but Nichole was right it was very good! Fried chicken and salmon burgers were the hit tonight! Chicken was great with that crunchy crust and the salmon burger was very tropical with the pineapple Slaw. The energy here is always high and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was likely our last time at the restaurant. I had such high hopes because it's nice to venture out and not have to go to the same old places. Unfortunately there really wasn't anything about the dinner that merits a drive over to Chamblee. If you happen to be in the area it isn't bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing food and great service. Very trendy location but the Chef makes the entire experience unforgettable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

As always, Union Hill Kitchen did a great job with dinner this evening. Chef Alexis and Tauchia are truly amazing and every experience fun and entertaining! My steak was outstanding, perfectly cooked, and had tons of flavor. We tried the turnovers for an appetizer, and the flavor was amazing. The entire meal was great, but it was matched by equally outstanding service.

Marty and Nicole both do a great job making every guest feel welcome and part of the Union Hill Kitchen family. This is our new favorite restaurant in Atlanta for sure. I would HIGHLY recommend the restaurant to anybody.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was delicious! Loved the venue that viewed the train tracks. Staff was friendly and fun. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our first visit to Union Hill Kitchen and we both really liked it. Our waiter's name was Mauricio and he was very professional and attentive. Everyone was very friendly and the food was delicious! I had the scallops and my husband had one of their steak specials.
We enjoyed dining on the patio, even though it faces the train tracks. Something kind of soothing about watching the cargo trains slowly go by.
I look forward to returning and trying some other dishes on the creative menu. Highly recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Once again Chef Alexis and Tasha hit a homerun tonight. They not only delivered truly exceptional food, but the service was equally as impressive. The restaurant has a truly unique family appeal to it as the staff are clearly a family, and they treat their guests as a member of their family. This is my third time dining at Union Hill Kitchen, and every time hits at perfect 10 on the scale. It's hard to get the food so consistent, but they do it every time. I will definitely be a regular and would encourage people to give it a try as you will be back routinely for more great food and excellent attention paid to you as a customer.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Cozy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We always have a great time, wonderful food, friendly service and Chef comes around to talk and laugh with diners. Highly recommend

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Special fried oysters with remoulade was so good! The scallops were great and had onion char on the sides that gave it a wonderful substantial flavor. The Chef here knows what he is doing and extremely passionate about the food he serves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was my fourth visit to Union Hill Kitchen and the food did not disappoint. This is a little neighborhood gem for those of us on the NE side of town that don't want to drive all the way into Atlanta, especially now with the bridge out. They have a nice wine list and make a good mojito. The fried chicken is delicious which is a big splurge for me, but worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We've eaten at UHK a number of times and it's been great. Fresh food, great tastes and menu, entertaining Chef and staff.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The entrees were a bit pricey, but the service was spectacular - it made this a wonderful evening! Thanks to the chef and staff!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Crab cake was disappointing. Mostly filler - very little crab - only side offered was fries; otherwise, a $6 upcharge to substitute. Hubby's fried chicken very good. Limited menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We were greeted by the chef/owner. Great service and food. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 22, 2017

I grabbed a quick lunch on this occasion - Hudson fried chicken sandwich with fries. Good as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was my first time dining at this restaurant, and let's just say I am so glad that I gave it a shot and went. The food was OUTSTANDING, but it was matched with equally impressive service by the entire front of the house team. I have never had a filet like this in my life, and it was cooked using a special cooking technology evidently. It was the most flavorful and tender steak I have ever eaten. The appetizers were outstanding as well. We had the deviled eggs and roaster cauliflower and the flavors jumped off the plate. Our server was fantastic and it was apparent that they all worked together as a team as our beverages were never less than half filled. We had the great opportunity to meet Chef Alex during our visit, and it was apparent his passion for culinary perfection. He was one of the most personable and passionate culinary professionals that I have had the pleasure to meet. This restaurant truly surpassed my expectations in every aspect, and I will be dining there a lot!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Cold dreary day calls for the Chef's Fried chicken. Always delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Catered to special dietary needs while continuing to serve creative and delicious dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Seemed like a bad sign when at 7:15 on a Friday night there were only 2 other tables seated. Fried chicken was so dry it had to be sent back, took another 20-25 minutes for replacement entrees to come out. Seemed like service should have been much faster since the dining room was empty. Over all experience was pretty disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love everything about this place!!! There's a new dish on the menu the lamb shank with a pea puree the flavors were incredible with a delicious red wine Finca Antigua

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The chorizo stuffed dates and the roasted cauliflower were fabulous. There were too many fries with the crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.