Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Union Hill Kitchen

Executive Chef Alexis Hernandez, a CNN International & Food Network alumnus & brings his unique approach of American cuisine to Atlanta. Creating dishes that reflect his personal keen instinct for balancing flavor, texture & simplicity.
Our Accolades include BEST OF ATLANTA :
BEST NEW RESTAURANT | BEST NEW CHEF | BEST RESTAURANT | BEST BURGER
Our restaurant has also won an award for "NEIGHBORHOOD GEM" and the 2015 elusive "DINER"S CHOICE AWARD"
Our Chef is a also Food Network Cutthroat Kitchen Champion! Watch him on Episode, "Crabs of Steel" & "20,000 leagues under the prep table."
The restaurant is a charming 50 seat 1950’s vintage gas station, tucked in a cozy street corner in the heart of Chamblee. It has become one of the city"s most sought after spots! Our patrons enjoy the 25 seat outdoor patio during the summer and fall months. Reservations are accepted for the indoor dining room only.

5336 Peachtree Road
Chamblee, GA 30301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday - Saturday 11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Friday - Saturday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Sunday Closed
Monday Closed

HOLIDAY HOURS:

We will celebrate Valentine's Day Friday 2/11 Saturday 2/12 and Tuesday 2/14.



Cross Street:
Pierce Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 458-6252

Website:
http://www.unionhillkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking in our private lot and there is ample off-street parking available.

Public Transit:
Marta - Chamblee Station.

Executive Chef:
Alexis Hernandez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Hill Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Authentic (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Good food and friendly service. Although this was our first visit the staff made us feel like old friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Being generous here with three stars and basing it purely on food. If we account for the service, we'd be at one (since zero isn't an option). Cauliflower appetizer sat on a bed of salt and sauce. The burger was good, pork dish was average and I walked out with stomach pains. Waitress was super nice, but absent - we waited a good 15 mins with our dirty plates and no water before tracking someone down to get our check and then got someone else's bill. All in all, I'd recommend you go elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great restaurant with nice outdoor area and cozy on the inside. Staff was friendly and attentive, providing good suggestions when asked.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great experience! Chef Alex and Fanta were wonderful hosts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Chef said they were short staffed-which we didn't mind! He personally took care of us and went out of his way to make a lunch salad for me that I LOVE that wasn't on the dinner menu. He Recommended the best bottle of wine and we both got our favorite fried chicken for our meals. The entire staff was accommodating and we never once would have known they were short staffed as we got our food and drinks on time and felt they went above and beyond having Chef come out and mingle with the patrons. Love this place, especially when it's cooler and we can comfortably eat outside and smell the chiminea burning.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Absolutely fabulous food and service!! LOVE this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Very convenient and nice for pre-theater dinner with friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I’ve always eaten dinner on the patio, so can’t rate the indoor dining experience. It’s a nice patio and noise was minimal except for the occasional MARTA train. Service was slow at first but improved, once we got our drinks. I’ve eaten lunch here often and it’s always good. Great restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The chef’s new Street food appetizer was really good as well as the gunpowder potatoes. I ordered whole sea bass, which was a special-was served with potatoes and some chives delicious. I love this place. It out small gem in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The restaurant was buzzing tonight from the time we stopped in until we left. The food was delicious and the service was excellent as usual. I love the new bartender, Fanta! She does a great job of making her guests feel welcome at the bar! I would highly recommend dining at Union Hill Kitchen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

My awesome VIP guest and friend recommended this restaurant...and it was aahmazing!! This place was incredible!! Everyone treated us like royalty! The food was to die for...beautiful ambiance and decor, chef Alex and his crew were very sweet and welcoming to us. Located in such a cute town (downtown Chamblee) We will definitely be back!! Coming here made our night. Thank you for showing us so much warmth and love. ❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2017

It was our first visit to Union Hill Kitchen and we will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2017

What a joy to celebrate UHK's fourth anniversary. Chef Hernandez and his team provided a wonderful menu mixed with surprises from the kitchen.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The food here is divine and creative. We have loved this restaurant since it opened around 4 years ago. And would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We love to eat there. The staff is friendly and makes you feel very welcome. The food is delicious as well as drinks. Always a great evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2017

We were invited to a special dinner for UHK’s 4 year anniversary. Amazing street food celebration designed by the chef and Team- arepas, egg rolls, Italian crostini with prosciutto, and empanadas! Hopefully it will make it onto the new menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Union Hill Kitchen continues to try and innovate, yet please the regulars that love certain items on the menu. It's fun to see what Chef Hernandez is trying next. From a new appetizer to having new whiskey's to a wine selection that is small but full of surprises.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2017

What a great time celebrating my birthday. I really enjoyed the cauliflower appetizer and my pasta and shrimp. Thank you to Nicole and Chef Hernadez for making the night special.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Smaller plates-,I recommend 3-4 per person they are serving 5 entrees , but in limited quantities. You need to get here early if you want the entree and specials- the chef seems to be doing smaller plates- and since he is buying food daily - it's the freshest you can get in chamblee -

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Over all- we really love this place! Chef is great! Knowledgeable- and you should trust how he designs the dishes. There is a reason for how they do service, food, cocktails. It's baffeling information and passion as I get to know the chef more and more. The chef and his staff work hard from early morning to have the freshest stuff. So if they are out by 7:00 pm they are out- it's a small place and ingredients are limited. The soft shell was very good- if they are not sold out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Awful! Food was terrible and service atrocious. Not sure how it stays in business.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food, good service, enjoyable experience all around.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great dinner with friends! The staff are always so welcome and the Executive Chef treats the guests like they are family. He goes out of his way to make everybody have a top notch dining and service experience!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Loved the dinner. This place always nails good food and a fun service! The servers are great and treat you like family! The food is outstanding and well portioned!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our 2nd time to this restaurant and we really enjoy it. It's a bit pricey, but the service is excellent and the food was great both times. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Tonight was disappointing as the appetizer wasn't what it was advertised on the menu and no effort was made to correct the issue despite bringing it to the server's attention. The food was slow coming out as well and the service seemed very slow.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This restaurant has been one of my favorites since moving to Atlanta two 2 years ago but has disappointed on my last two visits. Disappointing has been the lack of any change in the menu and the specials are usually limited. On this occasion my favorite appetizer the stuffed dates was limited to only two small dates and lacked the usual flavor. My companion's cauliflower appetizer was bland to the point of being tasteless. The entrees were better although my fried chicken was more soggy than crisp. When it came time for desert we were told two of the best deserts out of the five offerings were out despite the fact that it was only 8 PM on a Saturday. The key lime pie was not very flavorful and not tart. Service was friendly but very slow, it took 20 min for deserts to come despite the fact that they required no preparation. When the server removed the uneaten cauliflower appetizer she asked if my companion did not like it and when he said it lacked flavor she said nothing. Overall still not a bad meal but well below the 5 stars I used to give this restaurant in past years.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This place offers intimacy and great food! Small restaurant with a very loyal customer following - Steak is amazing and so is the onion and salmon dip. Baby blue red wine is best I have had- pricey but quality costs money! Great beers Orpheus is available by request if they haven't sold out-

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Disappointed in the service from Amber as she didn't seem like she had her head in the game. She kept forgetting things we asked her for to enjoy our meals. She seemed spaced out. The manager did a great job of trying to help out. The food was good though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Restaurant was packed and the food was amazing. The bar was jamming with regular customers and the Chef and Owner made it a point to speak to every guest which is always a pleasure. His culinary vision is translated into an energetic dining experience and the food and service are great. The bartender and server learn your preferences and cater to you like you are part of their family. I would highly recommend Union Hill Kitchen. The consistent service and food keep me coming back weekly.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This restaurant is so loud that you cannot carry on a conversation!
I ordered their fried chicken. It had a delicious crust but the chicken breast was far from tender and juicy. The waiter had it replaced with a more tender piece.
My husband enjoyed his grilled chicken salad.

No bread was offered or served.

A bit pricey for what you get. Probably won't return anytime soon

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing find! The food is spectacular and very innovative in the combination of flavors. My kids LOVED it. Chef Alex was a pleasure to meet. We had a wonderful evening at Union Hill Kitchen. A gem of a place which we would recommend for anyone who wants to rediscover great food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because our friend ordered the $29 scallops and was served 3 scallops and some corn. It was more of an appetizer than a meal. My husband and I got the shredded pork, black beans, rice and plantains which was really good and our other guest like the mongo burger and fries. It's a good restaurant, just don't get the $10 per scallop plate!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Steak was extremely expensive for no reason. The portion size was very small for the high cost.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This is one of the most friendly places we enjoy going to. The scallops come with charred onion and I thought I wouldn't like it but it was a great! Fried chicken was juicy and the crust was something I wanted a full plate of to take home. This place is a gem and it's a special place for us.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Lunch tacos are really great couldn't finish our meals. Shrimp and salmon tacos are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Another excellent experience! Chef Alexis has something special here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We were excited to go to Union Hill as none of our family had dined there. A bit of confusion as my wife called for a reservation and was told that there were no tables inside and we could eat outside, but it would be after 8pm for an inside table. I came to OpenTable and there were all of the time slots we wanted available... the restaurant was nearly empty when we arrived, but quickly filled.

The GM was also acting as the hostess and did a great job explaining the menu and the specials. There were only two waitresses working the dining room, and I think that another wait person would have made the front of the house seem a little less hectic.

The food was really good. My wife had the crabcake, and I had the filet.

Overall a good experience, but I would want to exhaust all options before making that my destination next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

My friend and I shared dishes of cauliflower and ravioli, which were both delicious and plenty!!

Our waitress was very nice and helpful, and the whole experience very pleasant. Because the music wasn't too loud, were able to have a nice conversation .

I would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I always love coming here- the food is always outstanding . The potato croquettes, Orpheus beer and dumplings are something new I haven't had because they are new and hit the spot for our group. The fried chicken was delicious as always, and the soft shell crab had good crunch and our friends enjoyed the Salmon and the filet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.