Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.46mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Union Hill Kitchen

Executive Chef Alexis Hernandez, a CNN International & Food Network alumnus & brings his unique approach of American cuisine to Atlanta. Creating dishes that reflect his personal keen instinct for balancing flavor, texture & simplicity.
Our Accolades include BEST OF ATLANTA :
BEST NEW RESTAURANT | BEST NEW CHEF | BEST RESTAURANT | BEST BURGER
Our restaurant has also won an award for "NEIGHBORHOOD GEM" and the 2015 elusive "DINER"S CHOICE AWARD"
Our Chef is a also Food Network Cutthroat Kitchen Champion! Watch him on Episode, "Crabs of Steel" & "20,000 leagues under the prep table."
The restaurant is a charming 50 seat 1950’s vintage gas station, tucked in a cozy street corner in the heart of Chamblee. It has become one of the city"s most sought after spots! Our patrons enjoy the 25 seat outdoor patio during the summer and fall months. Reservations are accepted for the indoor dining room only.

5336 Peachtree Road
Chamblee, GA 30301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:
Wednesday - Saturday 11:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Dinner:
Tuesday - Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Friday - Saturday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Sunday Closed
Monday Closed

HOLIDAY HOURS:

We will celebrate Valentine's Day Friday 2/11 Saturday 2/12 and Tuesday 2/14.



Cross Street:
Pierce Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(770) 458-6252

Website:
http://www.unionhillkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
There is parking in our private lot and there is ample off-street parking available.

Public Transit:
Marta - Chamblee Station.

Executive Chef:
Alexis Hernandez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Hill Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (3)
Romantic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Tonight was disappointing as the appetizer wasn't what it was advertised on the menu and no effort was made to correct the issue despite bringing it to the server's attention. The food was slow coming out as well and the service seemed very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Disappointed in the service from Amber as she didn't seem like she had her head in the game. She kept forgetting things we asked her for to enjoy our meals. She seemed spaced out. The manager did a great job of trying to help out. The food was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant was packed and the food was amazing. The bar was jamming with regular customers and the Chef and Owner made it a point to speak to every guest which is always a pleasure. His culinary vision is translated into an energetic dining experience and the food and service are great. The bartender and server learn your preferences and cater to you like you are part of their family. I would highly recommend Union Hill Kitchen. The consistent service and food keep me coming back weekly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This restaurant is so loud that you cannot carry on a conversation!
I ordered their fried chicken. It had a delicious crust but the chicken breast was far from tender and juicy. The waiter had it replaced with a more tender piece.
My husband enjoyed his grilled chicken salad.

No bread was offered or served.

A bit pricey for what you get. Probably won't return anytime soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing find! The food is spectacular and very innovative in the combination of flavors. My kids LOVED it. Chef Alex was a pleasure to meet. We had a wonderful evening at Union Hill Kitchen. A gem of a place which we would recommend for anyone who wants to rediscover great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because our friend ordered the $29 scallops and was served 3 scallops and some corn. It was more of an appetizer than a meal. My husband and I got the shredded pork, black beans, rice and plantains which was really good and our other guest like the mongo burger and fries. It's a good restaurant, just don't get the $10 per scallop plate!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Steak was extremely expensive for no reason. The portion size was very small for the high cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This is one of the most friendly places we enjoy going to. The scallops come with charred onion and I thought I wouldn't like it but it was a great! Fried chicken was juicy and the crust was something I wanted a full plate of to take home. This place is a gem and it's a special place for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Lunch tacos are really great couldn't finish our meals. Shrimp and salmon tacos are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We were excited to go to Union Hill as none of our family had dined there. A bit of confusion as my wife called for a reservation and was told that there were no tables inside and we could eat outside, but it would be after 8pm for an inside table. I came to OpenTable and there were all of the time slots we wanted available... the restaurant was nearly empty when we arrived, but quickly filled.

The GM was also acting as the hostess and did a great job explaining the menu and the specials. There were only two waitresses working the dining room, and I think that another wait person would have made the front of the house seem a little less hectic.

The food was really good. My wife had the crabcake, and I had the filet.

Overall a good experience, but I would want to exhaust all options before making that my destination next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2017

My friend and I shared dishes of cauliflower and ravioli, which were both delicious and plenty!!

Our waitress was very nice and helpful, and the whole experience very pleasant. Because the music wasn't too loud, were able to have a nice conversation .

I would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I always love coming here- the food is always outstanding . The potato croquettes, Orpheus beer and dumplings are something new I haven't had because they are new and hit the spot for our group. The fried chicken was delicious as always, and the soft shell crab had good crunch and our friends enjoyed the Salmon and the filet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Tried this restaurant again, really wanting to like it. The food was OK, but not good enough to get us back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Nothing to write home about. More than one of us had their quote Famous Fried Chicken, it was okay the brussel sprouts were terrible. The salmon is farm raised and was not good. We like to space and wanted to like the place but the food just was a miss. They also do not have sweet tea which is a No-No in the south. If you serve chicken and mashed potatoes and don't have sweet tea you've left off a vital part of supper Round Here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Once again, Union Hill strikes gold. Not once since going to this establishment have I had a bad experience. Every experience continues to raise the bar both with the food and also the matching exceptional service. Chef Hernandez has a unique ability to pair flavors with each menu item where you are left with a truly unforgettable culinary experience. His passion for cooking and the guests' dining experience is unparalleled in the industry. The entire team works collaboratively to take care of the guests from the Bar Tender, Chase, to the servers, Taucia and Mauricio, and the GM, Nicole. Every time I go, it feels like you are a member of their family, making the entire experience like dining with your best friends. The food is truly outstanding in every aspect and I would offer the highest recommendation for this restaurant. I will be a lifelong customer and appreciate the energy and effort Chef Hernandez has put into creating this experience for me and others as a customer.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

This place is a gem in Chamblee. These guys are welcoming and really make you feel at home if you allow them. They have several new additions for summer MRI the menu that need mentioning. Stuffed dumplings with bulgogi and steak tip salad. Also the souse vide steak is the best steak I have ever had! The chef here works hard on every dish to make sure it's fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Wonderful lunch spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The wait staff Saturday 6.24 was amazing - great tip on the fries!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

First timer, food and service was awesome. Even gave us a tip on how to rack up on points to get stuff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food and service are average. Restaurant is pricey and cocktails are good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Totally unexpected if you judge it by location and external appearance you will miss a wonderful place

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food and the service is equally good. Great vibe at the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Restaurants come in two categories; ones that fix food to suit your taste, and ones that require you to trust the chef. Union Hill Kitchen is definitely in the latter category. This means you accept interesting combinations, i.e. candied bacon with deviled eggs, and innovative methods, i.e. sous vide steaks that come only in medium rare and medium. If you want to treat yourself to a good meal, trust the chef and go to Union Hill.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I hope it was just an off night, but I went to this restaurant because of the reviews here were so stellar, unfortunately I don't get it. Not sure if it was because it was a weeknight, but the restaurant was mostly empty and I only ate the lamb appetizer out of starvation. It wasn't seasoned at all so just it was very bland. It took an hour for our entree which by the time it arrived it was so underwhelming we decided to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great potato croquettes and the filet tip salad is new for summer and very good! I enjoy the food here and I always look forward to having Chef come by our table to chat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My husband and I ate dinner here on a Saturday night around 8:30. We were seated right away and had a lovely table on the patio. We started with craft cocktails and then had a glass of wine.
We started with the roasted cauliflower and it was delicious.
I had the burger and my husband had the ravioli. These were amazing as well. The fries that came with my burger were perfect.
We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was A-MAZING! Chef Alexis Hernandez was delightful-very passionate about the food he serves and what goes into each dish and why. He is very kind and wants to make each persons experience the best!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Nicole is a treasure. Remembered what we had for our last meal! Unfortunately, they were out of the dish we wanted. That speaks to the dedication to freshness. Love the service and food. Will be going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great location and amazing food! We had Amber as our server and she did a great job despite the restaurant being very busy due to the air show taking place. Had the smokehouse burger and it was very tasty! I would highly recommend trying it. The servers are fun and really interact with the guest and the food is first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great spot for lunch or dinner. The new server Amber does a great job and a surprise visit by the Executive Chef truly makes the experience unforgettable. I would highly recommend the smokehouse burger and the Belgian fries!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Sat on the patio with my dog and watched the trains go by. Dogs allowed as long as they don't interfere with other guests. Jalapeño poppers stuffed with crab were delicious and spicy- amazing! Moscow Mike with fresh ginger was a nice refresher. Taco special with crab and shrimp was really good as well and the manchego black beans were delicious! Only available at lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Once again, the food and service do not disappoint. My steak was perfectly prepared and tender enough to cut with a basic fork. The appetizers had a great combination of flavors and culinary richness that is unmatched in Atlanta. Our service was extremely attentative to our needs and the chef makes it a point to visit with each table to ensure that they are enjoying the vision that he has created for his restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is my new favorite restaurant in the Southeast and for good reason. The staff's amazing personalities are matched by equally unparalled cuisine that is brilliantly crafted by their award winning Executive Chef, Alexis Hernandez. He has built something special that is clearly the choice for locals given how many regulars are always dining when I go. The special filet is prepared with great accompaniments and the dish is a great mix of flavor and texture in the steak. Chef Hernandez has clearly expressed his culinary expression personally in every dish as not one thing on the menu that I have tried has been anything less than simply amazing. Taucia, Nicole, Mauricio, and Chase do a great job of making guests feel welcome and being attentive to create a special dining experience. I would highly recommend the food to anybody visiting or living in Atlanta.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Very disappointed. Over priced, poorly decorated, and unstatisfying. The patio furniture is ugly and falling apart, the menu is a hot mess, and there was only one server when we arrived, who also served as the bartender. Drinks were blah.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great steak and amazing appetizers. Nicole and Taucia do a great job and a visit from the Chef is the icing on the cake! I would highly recommend this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great experience once again. Taucia and Nicole never disappoint and the food was incredible! I would highly recommend the chicken sandwich for Lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This bright, airy restaurant with indoor/outdoor dining options for lunch and dinner is fabulous: fantastic food prepared by a chef who cares about his cuisine and his clients complemented by great service! I've visited twice for dinner and enjoyed both occasions immensely. The cocktails are classics with a fun twist...my favorite is the burnt caramel Old Fashioned. For those who prefer grape to the grain, there is a nice wine selection. Starters are wonderful and easily can be paired or put in a trio for a sensational tastings dinner. If the salmon dip with homemade pita chips is available, grab it - it's great! The fried chicken and Cuban pork entrees are very different in terms of flavor profiles but both are incredibly delicious. Portions are generous, so I have not saved room for dessert yet; my next visit will focus on a starter and a sweet treat. Go and enjoy!

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Absolutely love this place! The entire staff makes the experience both enjoyable and memorable. I absolutely love Taucia and the Chef is truly one of the most talented in the US! His award winning cuisine never disappoints! It's hard to change and try other menu items as each item is so tasty! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. It's casual atmosphere makes it easy to enjoy the top notch dishes and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Best restaurant experience in this part of town. We were really surprised not only by the creative menu but by the quality and great taste. We will definitely recommend the restaurant and will return soon with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have passed by many times on my way home from work and had been curious. After reading the menu online, my husband and I decided to come for date night. We sat at the bar and had a drink and people watched. There seemed to be a lot of large parties (more than 4) on this night, maybe because mother's day was the next day? We were the only small table and I kind of felt overpowered and forgotten amongst all the large tables. Service at the table was slow, the hostess filled in for the server, who took over 5 minutes to get to the table. She was nice, once we got going. The food was excellent. Very unique menu and I appreciate that aspect. I had the seared scallops and creamed corn, which was more in a cream sauce than what one would think about southern creamed corn, and I was fine with that! My husband had the burger, which was phenomenal. We opted for the tuna tartar for an appetizer and it was good but not great. It is served with home made pita chips which were somewhat oily. We didn't get dessert because we were full! I do like the venue, it's just noisy and I had the feeling that at any moment things could go south. So we will probably go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.