Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 27 times today
Special offers available. See details

Union Cafe

4.6
380 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Casual
  • Fun
Union Cafe is a popular restaurant and bar lounge located in the heart of the Short North. Featuring Columbus' best patio, Union Cafe serves modern American cuisine from 3 chefs. Treat yourself to popularly priced dishes with excellent portions. Union Cafe is also known for having the best drinks in Columbus. Grande sized libations will leave you with a fun time.
A visually arresting interior design complements our terrific service staff. Roam from the covered patio bar to the serpentine archway bar up to the candle light dining and back around to the amber glow dining lounge.
Union Cafe is a full video cafe, so you can enjoy your favorite music videos, sports and more while you dine in style. Popular events include:
SUNDAY BRUNCH BUFFET
MONDAY $10 PIZZAS + $2 PINTS
TEQUILA TUESDAYS free chips + salsa and $5 PATRON margaritas
WEDNESDAY $9.99 STEAK + FRIES
FRIDAY HAPPY HOUR with $5 Happy Hour martinis & appetizers
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Breakfast/Brunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 2:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(614) 421-2233
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Benjamin P
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We have a Modern Catering Menu with items such as Tandoori Chicken Skewers, Meat & Cheese Tray, Dessert Samosas, Southern Pimiento and Lime Spiced Tortilla Chips.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hull Alley
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Public Parking garage located at Hubbard east of High St, less than 1 block away.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
COTA Bus #2
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Karaoke Monday nights
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Enjoy Cinco De Mayo food and jumbo margarita + beer specials on Columbus' #1 Patio in the Short North!

Saturday, May 5, 2018

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Join us for our award winning Chef Brunch buffet featuring live belgian waffle bar, live omelet bar, mile ling buffet and make your own bloody mary!

Sunday, May 13, 2018

What 380 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Their brunch was excellent. All the offerings tasted great and were fresh. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Great Sunday Brunch with vegetarian options. Waffles are out of this world! And great big mugs of coffee too! You'll dig the 80's music videos too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great Friday date night on the packed patio... vibrant spot with lots of fun energy...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food is always good and I love he music

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The breakfast Buffett had a good selection of food. But the potatoes and eggs were overcooked and dry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The service, atmosphere and food are always amazing. Never had a disappointing moment while visiting Union. Always a 5 star experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Always a great experience with Jose, David, and Gage!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Friend celebrating a milestone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The vegetarian options are creative and delicious - a very refreshing change from most places that serve us the same old thing! The ambiance is always noisy and upbeat and the music videos are kitschy and fun.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great vibrant and fun atmosphere for a brunch buffett.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The Easter buffet was amazing!! Servers were super friendly and took great care of us, I will definitely be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food was outstanding, the service was great, and the staff was incredibly friendly. I will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Food and ambiance is what we totally expected, very fun, positive and upbeat place to hang. Staff are AWESOME!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Went on a Saturday night and had reservations at 8 so we expected it to be busy but it was packed. Sat at a high top by the bar and it was being used as a bar by a group of girls. The overflow from the bar and the traffic from wait staff kept running into our table which annoyed us. Atmosphere was loud and not the best for a date night. Had the burger which was dry and flavorless for a pricey $13 and the pizza which was super doughy. Might try it again down the road but probably a better place for drinks and not food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Drinks and food were amazing!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Loud and full of straight girls, but the staff and food were incredible, and the music videos on the walls were as fun as ever!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Best value for the quantity. Food is always great and the servers always friendly. I love this place. Anytime is a great time to go to Union Cafe!!! Drinks are to die for!! Love the music love the videos love the atmosphere. Just a great place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Jose, David, and Gage are the reason we frequently visit! On top, the best eats in town!!!
Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I love Union! Every time I go I have a wonderful time. My friend and I went before going to Axis for a drag show, and it was lovely. Despite it being St. Patrick's day and CRAZY our waiter was prompt and attentive. My food was fantastic and my friend enjoyed his meal as well. I will always choose Union when I make the trip out to Columbus! Keep it up <3

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I always enjoy Union, I love their Chicken Burger! Great service and great people watching are two of the many reasons I frequent this establishment. Also, the amount of alcohol for the price provides unmatched value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

After several recommendations I gave in and visited for Brunch with family and friends to celebrate my birthday. Food options were wonderful, wonderful staff and cozy atmosphere. I have found my go to spot for Brunch!

My favorites were the breakfast pizza, chicken pasta and mimosas.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Waiter was good and attentive and the food is always good. They have several different options including healthy options (my favorite).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

An absolutely amazing experience the service and the food were great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Favorite brunch in Columbus!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The service was impeccable!! They were super helpful and very fast to get you anything, plus the food was delicious!! I will definitely be going back ASAP! If you have never been there before I highly recommend to go and try it out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good brunch especially the spicy cheesy grits. While they open at 10am, the don't serve mimosas, etc. until 11am.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Sunday Brunch
It’s best to make a reservation or else you may have a long wait.
They serve real Belgian Waffles with actual sugar lumps. They’re crispy and fluffy and beyond yummy. Omelets made to order and the buffet is foodie heaven.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Had a great time at Union for Drag Brunch. Service was amazing, show was excellent, food was great, ambiance was great. No complaints!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Drag brunch was fun and food was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Food is amazing !!! The drinks were actually pretty strong. Love people watching there .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Great birthday night with friends and Rupaul’s Drag show. Thanks Cameron!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Love David, Jose, and Gage. A Always fun and delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Had the Sunday breakfast buffet. Great omelet. Loved Bloody Mary bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

So thankful that Union takes reservations! This is unique among many of the Short North restaurants. I had a group of 6 attending a show in the Short North and wanting dinner after. I knew it would be difficult to find a place without a reservation. We ended up being late because the show ran over. Union staff were very kind and courteous and called when we were late to find out when we would be there. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

It was a nice setting and good friendly ppl and nice hip gay bar and grill but bathrooms small lol and places needs to be bigger near bar

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Union is always such a fun environment. I love bringing all of my friends to showcase the amazing drinks and food. Would highly recommend to anybody for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We always have a good time at U! Gage is the best!😘

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Union cafe is always so much fun! Great food and atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

It was fantastic! It’s always a great time at Union. It’s why I always visit every time I’m in town from Detroit. Union is my destination dining spot in Cbus. Thank you so much!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10

Tweets by Union Cafe