About Union Cafe

782 N High St.
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

Union Cafe is a popular restaurant and bar lounge located in the heart of the Short North. Featuring Columbus' best patio, Union Cafe serves modern American cuisine from 3 chefs. Treat yourself to popularly priced dishes with excellent portions. Union Cafe is also known for having the best drinks in Columbus. Grande sized libations will leave you with a fun time.
A visually arresting interior design complements our terrific service staff. Roam from the covered patio bar to the serpentine archway bar up to the candle light dining and back around to the amber glow dining lounge.
Union Cafe is a full video cafe, so you can enjoy your favorite music videos, sports and more while you dine in style. Popular events include:
SUNDAY BRUNCH BUFFET
MONDAY $10 PIZZAS + $2 PINTS
TEQUILA TUESDAYS free chips + salsa and $5 PATRON margaritas
WEDNESDAY $9.99 STEAK + FRIES
FRIDAY HAPPY HOUR with $5 Happy Hour martinis & appetizers

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast/Brunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 2:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hull Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 421-2233

Website:
http://www.columbusnightlife.com/unioncafe2010/index.php#

Entertainment:
Karaoke Monday nights

Catering:
We have a Modern Catering Menu with items such as Tandoori Chicken Skewers, Meat & Cheese Tray, Dessert Samosas, Southern Pimiento and Lime Spiced Tortilla Chips.

Parking Details:
Public Parking garage located at Hubbard east of High St, less than 1 block away.

Public Transit:
COTA Bus #2

Executive Chef:
Benjamin P, Glenn S, Tyler B

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
1 More
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

Great for Brunch (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Fun (16)
See All
People Watching (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Dancing (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Music (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Romantic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took the family to The Union for their b ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Took the family to The Union for their breakfast buffet I'd heard good things about and we weren't disappointed. Omelet station, waffles and lots of choices with other breakfast items. Played music videos on the tvs from 80's/90's and it was awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown bar. Predominantly LGBT ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great downtown bar. Predominantly LGBT scene. Strong drinks and great food. Can definitely get loud and crowded at night and on the weekends. Staff is always super nice and friendly. A Short North staple for sure!!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Casual, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made my reservations on Open table and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I made my reservations on Open table and let union cafe know why we were heading out for a night to celebrate! Even though you get the standard "we will try to accommodate all your special requests" disclaimer, we were so very happy and impressed! We had an amazing table and our server was SPOT ON! not only was he friendly and welcoming but he joked around with us and made us feel like we were his top priority even though the place was packed!

The food was delicious and everyone was so very pleased with the entire experience. Thank you Union Cafe for making our night out so very special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They really had wonderful food, everythi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

They really had wonderful food, everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for lunch and had an amazing tim ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We went for lunch and had an amazing time. We enjoyed our time so much we went back that night for the show. Hands down the best staff in Columbus! Nick, Brad, and Jaime you guys made the experience... And to the incomparable Amanda Sue, you rock!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friends and I had a great time. The ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My friends and I had a great time. The food was great as well as the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accidentally booked Drag brunch, and it ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Accidentally booked Drag brunch, and it was absolutely fabulous. Couldn't have planned it better. All the staff was very sweet and accommodating and the food was amazing as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and great service!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new husband andI came here the mor in ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My new husband andI came here the mor ing after our wedding to have brunch with close family and the wedding party. It was a little chilly inside for my preference and the food (buffet style) got cold quickly. Everything else was fantastic, all the food, the Belgian waffles and the omlettes were delic! The coffee was on point. Great place and great atmosphere and glad we were really glad that we chose Union Cafe!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place to watch a football game and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place to watch a football game and have drinks and eat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Union to watch the 2nd Presid ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We went to Union to watch the 2nd Presidential debate. It was packed! Which is great to see that many people out to watch. The food and service was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I love this joint. It's casual vibe, and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I love this joint. It's casual vibe, and great people watching is always a draw.

Tags: Seasonal, Spicy, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Casual, Live Music, Dancing, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent waitress, loved her!!! Food a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent waitress, loved her!!! Food at the Sunday brunch was delicious . Waffles were wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband, a few friends, and I went to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My husband, a few friends, and I went to Union Cafe to have a birthday brunch and we had a fantastic experience! The food was amazing as always (best brunch in town to us!) and the service was even better. Our friends have two small boys and the waitress didn't charge us for them since they were so small which was great! We will definitely be coming back. Thanks for making his birthday so special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here numerous times for late ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I have been here numerous times for late night to get a drink. This was my first time going to get food and the experience was horrible. It was my friend and I and our waiter rarely asked us if we needed anything. He was waiting on the table right next to us too and kept going to them for drinks, food, etc but for us we had to GET UP and ask someone to bring us more water. Whenever he was at the table next to us we would try to get his attention and it was as if he was ignoring us. EXTREMEMLY disappointed. If we ever go back we will request NOT TO have him as our server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great place to eat with an amazing staff ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great place to eat with an amazing staff. Highly suggest everyone give it a try - chicken nachos will feed three people easily

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for Drag Brunch. Fun and good food ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Went for Drag Brunch. Fun and good food and mimosas

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming in for almost 15 ye ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have been coming in for almost 15 years I think. We enjoy the "CHEERS" feeling.

We would like to reserve table 11 for Saturday October 8 at 3:00.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Show tunes weren't as entertaining as us ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Show tunes weren't as entertaining as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

THE WORST SERVICE IVE EVER EXPERIENCED

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2016

THE WORST SERVICE IVE EVER EXPERIENCED

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Went for Sunday's all you can eat brunch ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went for Sunday's all you can eat brunch buffet and loved it! There's a waffle bar, omelet station and other breakfast options. Waitress was helpful and attentive, all other staff were very friendly! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The "made to order" omelet was the best ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The "made to order" omelet was the best I've ever had; one of my friends with me said the same thing. Very fresh, very moist egg, and not overcooked like most omelets; very cheerful preparer. I love Bloody Marys, but in most places, you cannot taste the alcohol because they must put in less than a full shot of (in my case gin), but this one was the most reasonably priced, but I could taste at least a full shot of gin and it was delicious to the very last drop! I will recommend this place and all my friends in attendance plan to return. The waiter was most entertaining. It pays to make a reservation for brunch, as we did, as after 10 a.m., it was immediately packed, standing in line to get in the door.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu items need some work, but the patio ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Menu items need some work, but the patio atmosphere is excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

A group of us were here to watch the OSU ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A group of us were here to watch the OSU Football game. Great time with Nina West, cheerleaders and beer specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations as soon as they were a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Made reservations as soon as they were available for the Saturday drag brunch. We show up and was told all the seating was full so we get stuck sitting at the bar. We walk around the the restaurant and there was 10+ tables that were empty. We were told that seating was preselected. By the the ne of brunch there was still plenty of tables that were still open. It looked that all of the Union regulars or "groupies" had their table even after showing up 20-30 mins late. Even with the open tables we were never offered to move to a table from the bar.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great time at Union!

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Always a great time at Union!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best patio in town. Atmosphere is excel ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best patio in town. Atmosphere is excellent, but food is only ok.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food and service was great. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious food and service was great. The nachos are a great appetizer to start with for 4 people. I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always good here. But the he ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food is always good here. But the heart of this restaurant/bar is the serving staff and bartenders. I had family in town and we went there for dinner. Gage was our server and just helped make the night great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got to sit in a newly reconditioned boot ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Got to sit in a newly reconditioned booth!

Thanks

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was generally good, but the s ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was generally good, but the service made it all. We could have been given stale toast and still rated this place highly just because service was so wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had reserved a booth for the evening ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had reserved a booth for the evening and another table moved themselves into before we got there. We were asked if we could sit elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It's the place to be on a Friday night i ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2016

It's the place to be on a Friday night if you're LGBT and in Columbus

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best sirloins I've ever had. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of the best sirloins I've ever had. Cooked perfectly. Generous drinks. Server was very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We asked to sit in a small booth next th ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We asked to sit in a small booth next the the 2-top to which we were assigned and were told 'no'. The booth remained empty throughout our meal. We selected from the 'restaurant week' menu. The salad (golden beet) and soup (tortilla) selections were tasty. We looked forward to the rest of our meal. Down hill from there. The 'Skye' beverages were generous but the lemonade mixer had an artificial taste. The entrees, lemon chicken w rice and dill potato salad and, blackened chicken, were generous in portion but poor in flavor and texture. The soft pretzel desert was tough and cold. The cookie and custard desert was melted and soggy. Our server was overworked, leaving us with poor service. We like to try restaurants that are new to us and found the Union to be a disappointment. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Had a great meal at a good value during ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Had a great meal at a good value during Restaurant Week. Drinks had plenty of spirit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Brunch with my son, daughter ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for Brunch with my son, daughter-in-law and two of my grandchildren, it was great!

The food on the buffet was of high quality, the omelette station, waffle station, was well attended and the lines went quickly, our server Meredith made us feel welcome and made sure we had what we needed. The cost of the buffet and drinks, were of great value. All in all a great experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it. The atmosphere and service ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We loved it. The atmosphere and service was great. Food was amazing! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We like Union. Drinks and food are tast ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We like Union. Drinks and food are tasty, patio is great, servers are friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant, service, friendly, ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent restaurant, service, friendly, great employees, wait staff, food, location, everything. We had a great time and both had amazing salads and meals. We even returned the next day for lunch. Will be back again and again. Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.