Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Union Cafe

Union Cafe is a popular restaurant and bar lounge located in the heart of the Short North. Featuring Columbus' best patio, Union Cafe serves modern American cuisine from 3 chefs. Treat yourself to popularly priced dishes with excellent portions. Union Cafe is also known for having the best drinks in Columbus. Grande sized libations will leave you with a fun time.
A visually arresting interior design complements our terrific service staff. Roam from the covered patio bar to the serpentine archway bar up to the candle light dining and back around to the amber glow dining lounge.
Union Cafe is a full video cafe, so you can enjoy your favorite music videos, sports and more while you dine in style. Popular events include:
SUNDAY BRUNCH BUFFET
MONDAY $10 PIZZAS + $2 PINTS
TEQUILA TUESDAYS free chips + salsa and $5 PATRON margaritas
WEDNESDAY $9.99 STEAK + FRIES
FRIDAY HAPPY HOUR with $5 Happy Hour martinis & appetizers

782 N High St.
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast/Brunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 2:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hull Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 421-2233

Website:
http://www.columbusnightlife.com/unioncafe2010/index.php#

Entertainment:
Karaoke Monday nights

Catering:
We have a Modern Catering Menu with items such as Tandoori Chicken Skewers, Meat & Cheese Tray, Dessert Samosas, Southern Pimiento and Lime Spiced Tortilla Chips.

Parking Details:
Public Parking garage located at Hubbard east of High St, less than 1 block away.

Public Transit:
COTA Bus #2

Executive Chef:
Benjamin P, Glenn S, Tyler B

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Celebrate Father's Day with Columbus' best Brunch! Dine inside or on the patio with our omelet bar, belgian waffle bar, 20 item buffet, bloody mary bar and more! Reservations available at 10am, walk ins welcome afterwards.

Union Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Happy Hour (24)
Fun (24)
See All
People Watching (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Casual (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Dancing (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Spicy (2)
Romantic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I love brunch at Union on the patio, awesome drinks! I never have had poor service here, I recommend sitting out on the patio and enjoy the company and people watching. I love the short north area, especially fun on gallery hop!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was our third visit. We love the food. I would definately recommend calling for reservations. Unfortunately this visit the server was carrying hot queso to the table next to ours and it slid off the plate landing on my entire leg and bare foot. One dining experience i soon won't forget!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were promptly seated. Our vivacious server explained the brunch step. She had already prepared the table before we sat down. Having 3 serving stations made for easier selection. Our server continued to spot our every need. Never an empty glass or cup. Besides, she was just plain fun. There was no hurry to move along and she was gracious in letting us continue a conversation beyond eating. I definitely will return for this we'll-priced brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing brunch! $4 bloodies and mimosas, everything you could want food wise. Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Union is such a vibrant place to eat, chill, grab a few drinks with friends or a special someone. I personally love to show up for Tequila Tuesdays for their margarita drink specials and some delicious appetizers. I've eaten there during the week when it's a little more low key and intimate (which I love), but also enjoy the weekends when it is busier and the party is getting started. And it does get amazingly packed on the weekends ...so just know going in that reservations are a going to help you out a lot if you want a table. Food wise there will be something to satisfy everyone and they are very accommodating about making changes to suit your tastes, like if you are vegetarian, but your partner isn't, haha! (Meat on the side, please.) The staff is always so nice too. And even as busy as they get they always seem to make you a priortiy. As far as restaurants go this is one that everyone should try and get all their friends to try too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was too perfect. Just the stupid Ohio liquor rules stop you from drinking before 11am...

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Dancing, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have enjoyed The Union Sunday brunch for years. It's always been a wonderful surprise to introduce to many of our visiting friends. As well, The Union brunch has been our regular spot for family and friends birthday celebrations.
This Sunday was an exception. The cleanliness and service by Amber was spectacular; she epitomizes the top-notch qualities of The Union service.
Unfortunately, the food was sub- par. The waffles were undercooked. (Our second experience of this standard within the month.) Both pasta recipes tasted as if they had been made days previously and placed in the serving station to warm. They were dry with cheese stuck to the noodles instead of melted into the recipes. The bacon was greasy and flimsy. In the past, The Union's bacon was the best in the city - the right amount of perfect crunch. The pecan chocolate chip pancakes were lifeless and thin. Again, in the past, a dish to look forward to.
The fruit and muffins were perfectly made to The Union's tasty high standards. We did not try the omelet.
This is our second visit within three weeks, where the food is declining. I'm hoping that the head chef is on vacation and will return soon to bring the highest quality of culinary standard back to The Union we know and love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We love coming to union. Great drinks, great atmosphere, great food, etc. we will continue to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've been coming to union for 10 years. It's a fun place, sting drinks with great music. It is not a quiet place though. So if you want to be able to sit quietly and chat, this isn't a good place to go.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Union has been one of my favorite cafes since I moved here from NY 3 years ago. Queer, friendly and show tunes. Can't beat it :)

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A great brunch, despite the absurdly disorganized seating process...Having 100 people show up at 10 am - never a good idea! Once we were finally seated - the food and drinks and service were all great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great service amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server was amazing, the only thing was we were there for 3.5 hours and it took a while to get our checks (which I understand because we were a group of 16). Overall enjoyable experience.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Dancing, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A reservation a must!! But the food was amazing. Service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My server was super nice and he took him time to come check on me often and to keep the shots flowing. He wished me a happy birthday and was really sweet to my guest. Will definitely be back

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Dancing, Romantic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Two couples, about 50, trying to catch up on each other's lives? Worst place I could have picked. Girls'night out, singing to the video, doing shots? Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I love union, I go there a few times a month. The food is amazing and the service is always great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The service was less than poor and they included tip
Into our checks otherwise I wouldn't have tipped. There were no parties around us and it took 30 minutes just to get drinks and then over an hour and a half to get food. Absolutely insanely terrible service. Won't come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 24, 2017

More of a bar with good food than a fancy restaurant, Union is a friendly place and it's easy to become known as a regular. The drinks are good, so enjoy.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was a good place to eat. I would say the drinks were just okay. Not horrible, not great. The food, the service, everything was decent but not overly great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, drinks & atmosphere! Our waitress was great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Union is an anchor in The Short North! Gay or straight it is a always a fun place to eat & drink!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I really love the place but I was not so happy with my portobello mushroom & eggplant enchiladas. Too much cheese and little eggplant in my opinion. But I will return. The cocktails are amazing!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always, always love going to Union. Food and service and drinks can't be beat. Diverse staff and clientele. Just a wonderfully relaxing, comfortable, safe, fun place to be.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall great. Would return. My only complaint would be regarding our table. There was not enough space in the isles for customers to pass with two people at our table having to constantly move so someone could get by. One person ended up moving seats and my mom kept having to move and also had several people carrying food over her head while trying to get through. I could tell it was hard for her to enjoy her food because of this. The food was great but we would never go back with a big group.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was our first time here and we will be back. Vegetarian friendly and lots of good options for food and beverage.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brunch is always delicious at Union. Made a 10am reservation and was seated and served right away. Great atmosphere with the music videos and the all you can eat buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I like that they take reservations and we were seated when we arrived. Very friendly staff and our server was very personable and attentive. Good selection of draft beers. Nice menu and reasonable prices. I had the mushroom and swiss burger on a challah bun and my wife had the club on sourdough. Both were very good. The fries are sort of battered and are excellent - not your normal fries. I has a Guiness on tap. $40 with tip - I rate that as a good value too. We will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We reserved a spot for the Drag Brunch. The waffle bar was amazing. Double miosas for $8 each. The brunch buffet was delicious. And the entertainment was beyond the pale. Nina West, Virginia West, Helena Troy, and Bianca Debonair put on a fabulous show. We will be back, probably next month.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 1, 2017

LOVE IT! With daily specials It's officially my go to spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I made a reservation for 16, yet there was not enough room for our group. So for a good 45 minutes, we had people just standing around. I would come back here to drink and to get some Happy Hour appetizers, but never again to dine with a large group.

Tags: Happy Hour, Dancing, Fun, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First time visitor. Awfully noisy (Saturday night around 7:30 p.m.) due to combination of music videos playing on large screens and general conversation levels. Our group of 5 struggled to hear each other. Food was tasty though not inspired. Waiter was quite attentive and friendly. I would only recommend this restaurant in certain sitations.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Every time I go to Union I enjoy myself!! Good food, good service, good drinks, good entertainment!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The staff was very cute and friendly! I came once for brunch which was delicious. The spread of food on the buffet is great, plus an omlet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were seated immediately with our reservation. We ordered drinks and got our food from the brunch buffet. Everything was delicious, the staff was very attentive and nice, and the overall atmosphere was an energetic way to start off a Sunday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was delicious but took a couple hours to receive it. We set a reservation and were seated immediately and received drinks relatively quickly but it was very, very busy and took nearly 2 hrs to receive our food.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good afternoon dining experience. Attentive wait staff. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Drinks, appetizer and entrée excellent. Fantastic value. Great environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ordered food all at once but requested the entrees come later than the apps; we had our 2 apps and 2 entrees at the table within 20 minutes of each other, and with those portions, it was way too much food at once (so we just took it home :D )
BUT, LOVE the portions, the staff, the ambiance, the music videos, the lack of sports and news (I can watch that at home!), the drinks, food... One of my favorite High Street experiences of all time <3

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Union Cafe is excellent venue for meeting a friend for drinks, dinner or a big night out. The staff are excellent and very proficient at multitasking as it gets very busy and crowded at times. Overall excellence.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.