Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Union Cafe

Union Cafe is a popular restaurant and bar lounge located in the heart of the Short North. Featuring Columbus' best patio, Union Cafe serves modern American cuisine from 3 chefs. Treat yourself to popularly priced dishes with excellent portions. Union Cafe is also known for having the best drinks in Columbus. Grande sized libations will leave you with a fun time.
A visually arresting interior design complements our terrific service staff. Roam from the covered patio bar to the serpentine archway bar up to the candle light dining and back around to the amber glow dining lounge.
Union Cafe is a full video cafe, so you can enjoy your favorite music videos, sports and more while you dine in style. Popular events include:
SUNDAY BRUNCH BUFFET
MONDAY $10 PIZZAS + $2 PINTS
TEQUILA TUESDAYS free chips + salsa and $5 PATRON margaritas
WEDNESDAY $9.99 STEAK + FRIES
FRIDAY HAPPY HOUR with $5 Happy Hour martinis & appetizers

782 N High St.
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast/Brunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 2:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hull Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 421-2233

Website:
http://www.columbusnightlife.com/unioncafe2010/index.php#

Entertainment:
Karaoke Monday nights

Catering:
We have a Modern Catering Menu with items such as Tandoori Chicken Skewers, Meat & Cheese Tray, Dessert Samosas, Southern Pimiento and Lime Spiced Tortilla Chips.

Parking Details:
Public Parking garage located at Hubbard east of High St, less than 1 block away.

Public Transit:
COTA Bus #2

Executive Chef:
Benjamin P, Glenn S, Tyler B

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Casual (23)
People Watching (23)
See All
Fun (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The breakfast buffet is not vegan friendly. When I asked the server about vegan options, he didn't know and asked someone else who I think was a manager. His answer was "we have fruit" which is not a meal. We ended up having to leave and schedule another reservation for a different restaurant down the street. Luckily this second place had a variety of options including vegan friendly options.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I anticipated noise levels being high. However the quality of the sound was very poor considering it was showtune sunday.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I love Union. they have the best brunch and patio In the Short North!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food but was initially turned away for not having a reservation only to make one on Open Table and go back and there's tons of open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic food, impeccable service and some of the friendliest staff and patrons that I've ever experienced.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing food and very fun atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I have been here before and really enojyed it. That being said I was very disappointted this time. I told my friends from out of town how great and fun this place was and that we had to go to the drag brunch. I put in a reservation and they even called to confirm the night before. When we get there they say that they have overbooked the inside and they have places outside. Ihe only problem is that its raining outside and the show (the reason we all came) was inside. Ruined the whole experience. The only reason we stayed was becuase we already paid for parking.

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As a frequent Union patron, I was extremely dissatisfied this past Saturday. We made a reservation for the drag brunch, and upon arrival, we were told that they had overbooked their tables and that our table would be outside. It was around 50 degrees and raining, most of the tables had rain on the tables and seats. We had no option other than to go elsewhere to eat. We did come back and were extremely pleased with our server, Alexander, however we were unable to sit down inside until the show was over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Girls day out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fun place, good food, ambiance. Attended a drag show and brunch, great fun

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The staff was very helpful and our server was the best! Had a great time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food and drinks were good but not great, the music was loud so not great for conversation. Service was exceptional! Overall an upscale college bar with good food and fair pricing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Staff were attentive, the food was amazing, and the ambiance is positive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Excellent, fun place, great service, reasonable prices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My husband and I were there for Sunday brunch on 8/13/17; we had made a reservation for 10:00. It was a gorgeous day, so we sat on the patio. We were greeted warmly, seated promptly, and our server, Zach, was friendly and efficient. He took care to let us know they added 2 new dishes to the brunch buffet, shrimp grits and sweet potato bake. They were both OUTSTANDING. The shrimp grits had a lot of shrimp in them, flavored very nicely. The sweet potato bake had a thick crust of amazing pecan crumble - OMG. The buffet was fine, normally I skip the breakfast pizza because it's not that great. Their sausage and bacon are good, pancakes are good, biscuit/gravy good. I don't like the pasta, but that's just me. Great fresh fruit. I love the omelet bar, although there was a new person and the omelets weren't too pretty (but I don't care). Husband and I split a chocolate peanut butter waffle from the waffle bar (OMG). The coffee was very good and we were pleased that they have flavored creamer available. This is well worth the price and we look forward to going back, but not too soon, or we won't fit in the chairs (we're already pushing maximum density).

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fun, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I absolutely loved this place! We were celebrating a bachelorette and running late on our large party reservations, but they still quickly sat us and the service was amazing! The food was delicious! The atmosphere and energy is everything for celebrations! We had such a good time!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing food! Friendly staff. Always a good choice.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My husband and I have visited the UNION CAFE a few times, each visit always a great experience. Food is amazing, portions are huge, the service is impeccable and we love the patio. Saturday was an exceptionally beautiful day and I made reservations for 4 of us. Our friends from Cinci were coming to visit and they like good burgers. They loved the food and we had a wonderful time and they want to come back, next time they visit.
Thank you all so much!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a great time at Union Cafe, we always do! Food was good and so was our server Meredith, she was very attentive and friendly. I like the variety of food on their menus and prices are decent compared to so many other restaurants in Short North area!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I have been going to brunch at union for the last 5 years. And it has just gotten better and better. I love this place. The staff is amazing they make you feel like party of the family and the food....OMG! All I will say is try it for yourself. 😁😁😁😁😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The staff is absolutely amazing! I've been to expensive steak houses that don't even come close to the service I receive at Union. LOVE this place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Im a regular at union at night on the weekends and friends told me to go in the day time for food because it's great. I went for my birthday dinner and the food was amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The service was very much subpar. Several tables around us, who arrived and ordered after us, received their entrees prior to us receiving our apps. By the time our apps arrived, the spinach and artichoke dip had a layer of film, obviously after sitting for a while. The servers then tried to serve our entrees within 5 minutes of delivering our apps, giving us no time to enjoy the apps. After the entree, it took a significant amount of time for the desserts to be delivered, which we ordered early on, prior to even receiving the entree.

Yes the shrimp pad Thai was really good. I recommend. But the service really was displeasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent service! Food was delicious. It was noisy and crowded but we will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The lunch special pricing was terrific, and the service was excellent. Great tasting pizzas.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Ordered a pizza, which was very good! Definitely would go back for lunch/dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I always enjoy Union Cafe, great food and wonderful wait staff!! Keep up the good work!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Love this place! Great food, great service, great vibe! Went for Sunday brunch: all you can eat buffet with made to order omelettes & waffles, standard brunch buffet food. Wait staff is so attentive and friendly. Regular beverage should be included with meal price though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Union Cafe is one of my go-to restaurants for any occasion. Two of my girlfriends and I went to dinner before Red, White and Boom, and as usual, had a great time. We sat on the outdoor patio and got to people watching while listening to the usual mix of bubbly pop music. Our server was very friendly, energetic, and prompt and their drinks were mixed so well that we each only needed one. I ordered the chicken Pad Thai, which I enjoyed, but if I order it again, I will ask for more sauce in the dish. My drink and the Pad Thai came to about $20.00 before tip, so the meal was very affordable. Although this is my first review of Union Cafe, I have been there many times before and will continue to frequent this awesome restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had a great time!!! Went for a birthday and ended up with new friends!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Was there for Showtunes with Jackie Beat. Wish the camera for stage worked! Food was good and service great as always!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Pre-Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food and service, but the TVs were too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was awesome for drag brunch

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food! Great entertainment! Service was a tad slow but also to be expected with such a busy time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Happy Hour!!!! Loved the patio...Great people...Excellent Food

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This place has the best people ! Everyone is fantastic! The alcohol is plenty and flows nicely. The food is great. Try the brunch !! Waffle bar and mimosas !

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Vegan, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Healthy, Quick Bite, Cozy, Disabled Access, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was ok-nothing to write home about, should have ordered a burger and fries, as it is one of their better menu items, the grilled cheese was gross -mostly melted butter and large chunks of goat cheese ( I couldn't finish it, awful) and my roasted Brussels sprouts were not as delicious at Arch City Tavern, waitress was very sweet and good, our table was on the side where you can't really people watch, and there were no good food or drink specials since it was a Saturday:(

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was a very busy Showtunes Sunday and our server, MaKayla was awesome. Getting through that crowd has to be tough, and she took great care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.