Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Union Cafe

Union Cafe is a popular restaurant and bar lounge located in the heart of the Short North. Featuring Columbus' best patio, Union Cafe serves modern American cuisine from 3 chefs. Treat yourself to popularly priced dishes with excellent portions. Union Cafe is also known for having the best drinks in Columbus. Grande sized libations will leave you with a fun time.
A visually arresting interior design complements our terrific service staff. Roam from the covered patio bar to the serpentine archway bar up to the candle light dining and back around to the amber glow dining lounge.
Union Cafe is a full video cafe, so you can enjoy your favorite music videos, sports and more while you dine in style. Popular events include:
SUNDAY BRUNCH BUFFET
MONDAY $10 PIZZAS + $2 PINTS
TEQUILA TUESDAYS free chips + salsa and $5 PATRON margaritas
WEDNESDAY $9.99 STEAK + FRIES
FRIDAY HAPPY HOUR with $5 Happy Hour martinis & appetizers

782 N High St.
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast/Brunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 2:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hull Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 421-2233

Website:
http://www.columbusnightlife.com/unioncafe2010/index.php#

Entertainment:
Karaoke Monday nights

Catering:
We have a Modern Catering Menu with items such as Tandoori Chicken Skewers, Meat & Cheese Tray, Dessert Samosas, Southern Pimiento and Lime Spiced Tortilla Chips.

Parking Details:
Public Parking garage located at Hubbard east of High St, less than 1 block away.

Public Transit:
COTA Bus #2

Executive Chef:
Benjamin P, Glenn S, Tyler B

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
People Watching (25)
Great for Brunch (19)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Fun (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Casual (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Dancing (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was very much subpar. Several tables around us, who arrived and ordered after us, received their entrees prior to us receiving our apps. By the time our apps arrived, the spinach and artichoke dip had a layer of film, obviously after sitting for a while. The servers then tried to serve our entrees within 5 minutes of delivering our apps, giving us no time to enjoy the apps. After the entree, it took a significant amount of time for the desserts to be delivered, which we ordered early on, prior to even receiving the entree.

Yes the shrimp pad Thai was really good. I recommend. But the service really was displeasing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service! Food was delicious. It was noisy and crowded but we will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Ordered a pizza, which was very good! Definitely would go back for lunch/dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I always enjoy Union Cafe, great food and wonderful wait staff!! Keep up the good work!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Love this place! Great food, great service, great vibe! Went for Sunday brunch: all you can eat buffet with made to order omelettes & waffles, standard brunch buffet food. Wait staff is so attentive and friendly. Regular beverage should be included with meal price though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Union Cafe is one of my go-to restaurants for any occasion. Two of my girlfriends and I went to dinner before Red, White and Boom, and as usual, had a great time. We sat on the outdoor patio and got to people watching while listening to the usual mix of bubbly pop music. Our server was very friendly, energetic, and prompt and their drinks were mixed so well that we each only needed one. I ordered the chicken Pad Thai, which I enjoyed, but if I order it again, I will ask for more sauce in the dish. My drink and the Pad Thai came to about $20.00 before tip, so the meal was very affordable. Although this is my first review of Union Cafe, I have been there many times before and will continue to frequent this awesome restaurant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had a great time!!! Went for a birthday and ended up with new friends!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Was there for Showtunes with Jackie Beat. Wish the camera for stage worked! Food was good and service great as always!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Pre-Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food and service, but the TVs were too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was awesome for drag brunch

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food! Great entertainment! Service was a tad slow but also to be expected with such a busy time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Happy Hour!!!! Loved the patio...Great people...Excellent Food

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2017

This place has the best people ! Everyone is fantastic! The alcohol is plenty and flows nicely. The food is great. Try the brunch !! Waffle bar and mimosas !

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Vegan, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Healthy, Quick Bite, Cozy, Disabled Access, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was ok-nothing to write home about, should have ordered a burger and fries, as it is one of their better menu items, the grilled cheese was gross -mostly melted butter and large chunks of goat cheese ( I couldn't finish it, awful) and my roasted Brussels sprouts were not as delicious at Arch City Tavern, waitress was very sweet and good, our table was on the side where you can't really people watch, and there were no good food or drink specials since it was a Saturday:(

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was a very busy Showtunes Sunday and our server, MaKayla was awesome. Getting through that crowd has to be tough, and she took great care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very disappointed in the service. Took 15 minutes before a waitress came to our table. I had to finally find a manager to help us. Even then rarely saw her. We were over halfway through our meal before we got our drinks

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The service is great and it is always an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The only thing that I believe they can improve on is having their draft beer colder.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We made a reservation for our Detroit volleyball team not knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with the food choices and cost in addition to the attentive service. Would not hesitate to recommend to others. Loved the ambiance and diversity of the customer base.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Stopped for a quick bite. Super fun energy, lively crowd on a busy Saturday night on the short north. Good bar food. Tacos super tasty. A little loud for conversation. Service is excellent . Tyler ( from Chicago) was terrific.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, People Watching, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Strong drinks, good food and good service, located in an fun neighborhood within Short North District of Columbus

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We got there way late but we're still served with a great attitude. I left a 50%+ tip for his service even though we were there 1 hour to kitchen closing. Delicious food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I love brunch at Union on the patio, awesome drinks! I never have had poor service here, I recommend sitting out on the patio and enjoy the company and people watching. I love the short north area, especially fun on gallery hop!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This was our third visit. We love the food. I would definately recommend calling for reservations. Unfortunately this visit the server was carrying hot queso to the table next to ours and it slid off the plate landing on my entire leg and bare foot. One dining experience i soon won't forget!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We were promptly seated. Our vivacious server explained the brunch step. She had already prepared the table before we sat down. Having 3 serving stations made for easier selection. Our server continued to spot our every need. Never an empty glass or cup. Besides, she was just plain fun. There was no hurry to move along and she was gracious in letting us continue a conversation beyond eating. I definitely will return for this we'll-priced brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing brunch! $4 bloodies and mimosas, everything you could want food wise. Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Union is such a vibrant place to eat, chill, grab a few drinks with friends or a special someone. I personally love to show up for Tequila Tuesdays for their margarita drink specials and some delicious appetizers. I've eaten there during the week when it's a little more low key and intimate (which I love), but also enjoy the weekends when it is busier and the party is getting started. And it does get amazingly packed on the weekends ...so just know going in that reservations are a going to help you out a lot if you want a table. Food wise there will be something to satisfy everyone and they are very accommodating about making changes to suit your tastes, like if you are vegetarian, but your partner isn't, haha! (Meat on the side, please.) The staff is always so nice too. And even as busy as they get they always seem to make you a priortiy. As far as restaurants go this is one that everyone should try and get all their friends to try too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have enjoyed The Union Sunday brunch for years. It's always been a wonderful surprise to introduce to many of our visiting friends. As well, The Union brunch has been our regular spot for family and friends birthday celebrations.
This Sunday was an exception. The cleanliness and service by Amber was spectacular; she epitomizes the top-notch qualities of The Union service.
Unfortunately, the food was sub- par. The waffles were undercooked. (Our second experience of this standard within the month.) Both pasta recipes tasted as if they had been made days previously and placed in the serving station to warm. They were dry with cheese stuck to the noodles instead of melted into the recipes. The bacon was greasy and flimsy. In the past, The Union's bacon was the best in the city - the right amount of perfect crunch. The pecan chocolate chip pancakes were lifeless and thin. Again, in the past, a dish to look forward to.
The fruit and muffins were perfectly made to The Union's tasty high standards. We did not try the omelet.
This is our second visit within three weeks, where the food is declining. I'm hoping that the head chef is on vacation and will return soon to bring the highest quality of culinary standard back to The Union we know and love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was too perfect. Just the stupid Ohio liquor rules stop you from drinking before 11am...

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We love coming to union. Great drinks, great atmosphere, great food, etc. we will continue to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've been coming to union for 10 years. It's a fun place, sting drinks with great music. It is not a quiet place though. So if you want to be able to sit quietly and chat, this isn't a good place to go.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Union has been one of my favorite cafes since I moved here from NY 3 years ago. Queer, friendly and show tunes. Can't beat it :)

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A great brunch, despite the absurdly disorganized seating process...Having 100 people show up at 10 am - never a good idea! Once we were finally seated - the food and drinks and service were all great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great service amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our server was amazing, the only thing was we were there for 3.5 hours and it took a while to get our checks (which I understand because we were a group of 16). Overall enjoyable experience.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A reservation a must!! But the food was amazing. Service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My server was super nice and he took him time to come check on me often and to keep the shots flowing. He wished me a happy birthday and was really sweet to my guest. Will definitely be back

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Two couples, about 50, trying to catch up on each other's lives? Worst place I could have picked. Girls'night out, singing to the video, doing shots? Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I love union, I go there a few times a month. The food is amazing and the service is always great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.