About Union Cafe

782 N High St.
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

Union Cafe is a popular restaurant and bar lounge located in the heart of the Short North. Featuring Columbus' best patio, Union Cafe serves modern American cuisine from 3 chefs. Treat yourself to popularly priced dishes with excellent portions. Union Cafe is also known for having the best drinks in Columbus. Grande sized libations will leave you with a fun time.
A visually arresting interior design complements our terrific service staff. Roam from the covered patio bar to the serpentine archway bar up to the candle light dining and back around to the amber glow dining lounge.
Union Cafe is a full video cafe, so you can enjoy your favorite music videos, sports and more while you dine in style. Popular events include:
SUNDAY BRUNCH BUFFET
MONDAY $10 PIZZAS + $2 PINTS
TEQUILA TUESDAYS free chips + salsa and $5 PATRON margaritas
WEDNESDAY $9.99 STEAK + FRIES
FRIDAY HAPPY HOUR with $5 Happy Hour martinis & appetizers

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast/Brunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 2:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hull Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 421-2233

Website:
http://www.columbusnightlife.com/unioncafe2010/index.php#

Entertainment:
Karaoke Monday nights

Catering:
We have a Modern Catering Menu with items such as Tandoori Chicken Skewers, Meat & Cheese Tray, Dessert Samosas, Southern Pimiento and Lime Spiced Tortilla Chips.

Parking Details:
Public Parking garage located at Hubbard east of High St, less than 1 block away.

Public Transit:
COTA Bus #2

Executive Chef:
Benjamin P, Glenn S, Tyler B

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Outdoor Dining
Columbus
5 More
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Outdoor Dining
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

Great for Brunch (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Happy Hour (5)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Romantic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dancing (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Show tunes weren't as entertaining as us ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Show tunes weren't as entertaining as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

THE WORST SERVICE IVE EVER EXPERIENCED

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

THE WORST SERVICE IVE EVER EXPERIENCED

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Went for Sunday's all you can eat brunch ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went for Sunday's all you can eat brunch buffet and loved it! There's a waffle bar, omelet station and other breakfast options. Waitress was helpful and attentive, all other staff were very friendly! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The "made to order" omelet was the best ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The "made to order" omelet was the best I've ever had; one of my friends with me said the same thing. Very fresh, very moist egg, and not overcooked like most omelets; very cheerful preparer. I love Bloody Marys, but in most places, you cannot taste the alcohol because they must put in less than a full shot of (in my case gin), but this one was the most reasonably priced, but I could taste at least a full shot of gin and it was delicious to the very last drop! I will recommend this place and all my friends in attendance plan to return. The waiter was most entertaining. It pays to make a reservation for brunch, as we did, as after 10 a.m., it was immediately packed, standing in line to get in the door.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Menu items need some work, but the patio ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Menu items need some work, but the patio atmosphere is excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

A group of us were here to watch the OSU ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

A group of us were here to watch the OSU Football game. Great time with Nina West, cheerleaders and beer specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations as soon as they were a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Made reservations as soon as they were available for the Saturday drag brunch. We show up and was told all the seating was full so we get stuck sitting at the bar. We walk around the the restaurant and there was 10+ tables that were empty. We were told that seating was preselected. By the the ne of brunch there was still plenty of tables that were still open. It looked that all of the Union regulars or "groupies" had their table even after showing up 20-30 mins late. Even with the open tables we were never offered to move to a table from the bar.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great time at Union!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Always a great time at Union!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best patio in town. Atmosphere is excel ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best patio in town. Atmosphere is excellent, but food is only ok.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food and service was great. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious food and service was great. The nachos are a great appetizer to start with for 4 people. I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always good here. But the he ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food is always good here. But the heart of this restaurant/bar is the serving staff and bartenders. I had family in town and we went there for dinner. Gage was our server and just helped make the night great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got to sit in a newly reconditioned boot ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Got to sit in a newly reconditioned booth!

Thanks

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was generally good, but the s ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was generally good, but the service made it all. We could have been given stale toast and still rated this place highly just because service was so wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had reserved a booth for the evening ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had reserved a booth for the evening and another table moved themselves into before we got there. We were asked if we could sit elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It's the place to be on a Friday night i ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It's the place to be on a Friday night if you're LGBT and in Columbus

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best sirloins I've ever had. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

One of the best sirloins I've ever had. Cooked perfectly. Generous drinks. Server was very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We asked to sit in a small booth next th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We asked to sit in a small booth next the the 2-top to which we were assigned and were told 'no'. The booth remained empty throughout our meal. We selected from the 'restaurant week' menu. The salad (golden beet) and soup (tortilla) selections were tasty. We looked forward to the rest of our meal. Down hill from there. The 'Skye' beverages were generous but the lemonade mixer had an artificial taste. The entrees, lemon chicken w rice and dill potato salad and, blackened chicken, were generous in portion but poor in flavor and texture. The soft pretzel desert was tough and cold. The cookie and custard desert was melted and soggy. Our server was overworked, leaving us with poor service. We like to try restaurants that are new to us and found the Union to be a disappointment. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Had a great meal at a good value during ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Had a great meal at a good value during Restaurant Week. Drinks had plenty of spirit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Brunch with my son, daughter ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for Brunch with my son, daughter-in-law and two of my grandchildren, it was great!

The food on the buffet was of high quality, the omelette station, waffle station, was well attended and the lines went quickly, our server Meredith made us feel welcome and made sure we had what we needed. The cost of the buffet and drinks, were of great value. All in all a great experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it. The atmosphere and service ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We loved it. The atmosphere and service was great. Food was amazing! Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We like Union. Drinks and food are tast ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We like Union. Drinks and food are tasty, patio is great, servers are friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent restaurant, service, friendly, ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent restaurant, service, friendly, great employees, wait staff, food, location, everything. We had a great time and both had amazing salads and meals. We even returned the next day for lunch. Will be back again and again. Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was phenomenal! The food was gre ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was phenomenal! The food was great. Literally the most well seasoned, cooked and delicious chicken breast I've had in a long time; did not expect that. The ambience was loud and crowded. Uncomfortably so, but all else was spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Awesome as always

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We spent the entire weekend at this bar! ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We spent the entire weekend at this bar!! Beginning on Saturday with their nightlife and returning the next morning for their Sunday brunch and again that same evening for late night drinks! It was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and at a great pr ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was excellent and at a great price. You would not be able to get such a variety of food items for the price. We eat out quite a lot and have never found a better place for brunch. I was very impressed with the food. The service was also outstanding. Our waiter was just the Best, and we really enjoyed ourselves. We will be eating at Union Café again very soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went there for the Sund ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I went there for the Sunday brunch. It was an awesome experience. The food and service was great. The brunch was very reasonably priced.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly and fun staff. Good food and gr ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Friendly and fun staff. Good food and great drinks. Awesome place for friends to gather and enjoy the music atmosphere

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

unpretentious brunch spot. excellent se ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

unpretentious brunch spot. excellent service. fun atmosphere. nice patio. clean bathrooms. great food. one complaint. they can't serve booze until 11 and open at 10. however, the coffee is great as well, so still winning. amazing staff. everyone makes you feel at home and wanting to return every week. love it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pure Energy

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

First and foremost, Meredith is the best server - ever. She knew the menu, made great recommendations, and when we had a challenge with the chicken, she took care of it quickly. Great crowd in the outdoor patio made the night even more energetic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it, met up with a few friends to h ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved it, met up with a few friends to have brunch for my birthday. The service was great and the food was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time visit

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We took our adult kids to the UNION CAFE to celebrate our Grand daughters grad from Columbus State. We wanted someplace close with a nice patio. The food was incredible and the service was the best ever! We are still raving about how good it was. Made our celebration really special. Thank you . And we can't wait for it to warm up, so we can come back and sit on that gorgeous patio!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing brunch

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I'd heard about Union Cafe's great brunch buffet and I'm so glad we finally experienced it! Delicious food, attentive and fun servers and a price that can't be beat. We went for Mother's Day and my mom loved it. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going to miss this place!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Sure wish I could take this place to Florida with me!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I visit Union Cafe quite often and as always the staff is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunching is a Habit

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Brunch Hard, Brunch Often. This place is the best in town for a buffet brunch. Come hungry because they have everything you could ever want.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful date night!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Whole experience was lovely. I felt completely comfortable here on my date. The food and service were excellent. Booked a reservation and was immediately seated once I checked in. Food is reasonably priced. Drinks are strong! The music was a tad loud so it was a bit difficult to talk to one another, making us shout at times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I meet with a group of friends once a mo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I meet with a group of friends once a month at Union for Show Tunes. It's a fun place to get together, catch up, and occasionally burst into song!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Total disappointment

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I made a reservation for a bachelorette party for 13 people 3 weeks in advance. When we got to the restaurant they sat us at three different tables. When I complained they told me there was nothing they could do unless we waited another HOUR. It was very disappointing as we all obviously had expected to sit together----I don't think a restaurant should take a reservation unless they are able to accommodate the party. Our server was very nice though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

People were freat

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

People were freat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.