About Union Cafe

782 N High St.
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

Union Cafe is a popular restaurant and bar lounge located in the heart of the Short North. Featuring Columbus' best patio, Union Cafe serves modern American cuisine from 3 chefs. Treat yourself to popularly priced dishes with excellent portions. Union Cafe is also known for having the best drinks in Columbus. Grande sized libations will leave you with a fun time.
A visually arresting interior design complements our terrific service staff. Roam from the covered patio bar to the serpentine archway bar up to the candle light dining and back around to the amber glow dining lounge.
Union Cafe is a full video cafe, so you can enjoy your favorite music videos, sports and more while you dine in style. Popular events include:
SUNDAY BRUNCH BUFFET
MONDAY $10 PIZZAS + $2 PINTS
TEQUILA TUESDAYS free chips + salsa and $5 PATRON margaritas
WEDNESDAY $9.99 STEAK + FRIES
FRIDAY HAPPY HOUR with $5 Happy Hour martinis & appetizers

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast/Brunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 2:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hull Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 421-2233

Website:
http://www.columbusnightlife.com/unioncafe2010/index.php#

Entertainment:
Karaoke Monday nights

Catering:
We have a Modern Catering Menu with items such as Tandoori Chicken Skewers, Meat & Cheese Tray, Dessert Samosas, Southern Pimiento and Lime Spiced Tortilla Chips.

Parking Details:
Public Parking garage located at Hubbard east of High St, less than 1 block away.

Public Transit:
COTA Bus #2

Executive Chef:
Benjamin P, Glenn S, Tyler B

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
1 More
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Columbus ›

great for outdoor dining (35)
hot spot (35)
good for groups (34)
See All
vibrant bar scene (33)
great for brunch (31)
great for lunch (21)
neighborhood gem (20)
fit for foodies (15)
late-night find (15)
special occasion (9)
scenic view (6)
romantic (5)
kid-friendly (2)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as always

vip
Dined 6 hours ago

Awesome as always

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We spent the entire weekend at this bar! ...

Dined 3 days ago

We spent the entire weekend at this bar!! Beginning on Saturday with their nightlife and returning the next morning for their Sunday brunch and again that same evening for late night drinks! It was great!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went there for the Sund ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I went there for the Sunday brunch. It was an awesome experience. The food and service was great. The brunch was very reasonably priced.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly and fun staff. Good food and gr ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Friendly and fun staff. Good food and great drinks. Awesome place for friends to gather and enjoy the music atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

unpretentious brunch spot. excellent se ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

unpretentious brunch spot. excellent service. fun atmosphere. nice patio. clean bathrooms. great food. one complaint. they can't serve booze until 11 and open at 10. however, the coffee is great as well, so still winning. amazing staff. everyone makes you feel at home and wanting to return every week. love it!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pure Energy

Dined on May 28, 2016

First and foremost, Meredith is the best server - ever. She knew the menu, made great recommendations, and when we had a challenge with the chicken, she took care of it quickly. Great crowd in the outdoor patio made the night even more energetic.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it, met up with a few friends to h ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved it, met up with a few friends to have brunch for my birthday. The service was great and the food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time visit

Dined on May 13, 2016

We took our adult kids to the UNION CAFE to celebrate our Grand daughters grad from Columbus State. We wanted someplace close with a nice patio. The food was incredible and the service was the best ever! We are still raving about how good it was. Made our celebration really special. Thank you . And we can't wait for it to warm up, so we can come back and sit on that gorgeous patio!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I'd heard about Union Cafe's great brunch buffet and I'm so glad we finally experienced it! Delicious food, attentive and fun servers and a price that can't be beat. We went for Mother's Day and my mom loved it. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Going to miss this place!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Sure wish I could take this place to Florida with me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on May 1, 2016

I visit Union Cafe quite often and as always the staff is exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunching is a Habit

Dined on April 24, 2016

Brunch Hard, Brunch Often. This place is the best in town for a buffet brunch. Come hungry because they have everything you could ever want.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful date night!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Whole experience was lovely. I felt completely comfortable here on my date. The food and service were excellent. Booked a reservation and was immediately seated once I checked in. Food is reasonably priced. Drinks are strong! The music was a tad loud so it was a bit difficult to talk to one another, making us shout at times.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

I meet with a group of friends once a mo ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I meet with a group of friends once a month at Union for Show Tunes. It's a fun place to get together, catch up, and occasionally burst into song!

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Total disappointment

Dined on April 16, 2016

I made a reservation for a bachelorette party for 13 people 3 weeks in advance. When we got to the restaurant they sat us at three different tables. When I complained they told me there was nothing they could do unless we waited another HOUR. It was very disappointing as we all obviously had expected to sit together----I don't think a restaurant should take a reservation unless they are able to accommodate the party. Our server was very nice though.

food5
ambience5
service5

People were freat

Dined on April 13, 2016

People were freat

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Love Union Cafe, My Favorite Brunch Place!

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is a very nice place to eat for brunch on any occasion, Everything about this place from the set up, food, service, scenery, and location is absolutely phenomenal!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a large group in for a quick dinner ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Had a large group in for a quick dinner before a show across the street. Our server did an excellent job of getting drink and food orders out quickly. Great service as always!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yay

Dined on March 30, 2016

Cool placee to eat at be for it gets crazy at night

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place to take friend's

Dined on March 20, 2016

Always a great place to take friend's

food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Bring your ear plugs!!!!!!!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food and drinks were very good, service was quick and friendly. Fun atmosphere, but be prepared to yell to be hear over the booming sound system. I felt like I was at a concert with almost painful noise levels. If I come back I'm ordering food to go, I value my hearing!!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Experience

Dined on February 24, 2016

We always love getting a group together to go to Union. It's such a fun, upbeat place with good food and good drinks for a price that isn't outrageous. Our server was very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

We love coming here. The atmosphere keep ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We love coming here. The atmosphere keeps bringing us back

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Unique and varied menu and attention to detail

Dined on February 14, 2016

If you are looking for a quiet place for dinner the Union Cafe would not be the place; however if you want an active and vibrant ambiance then you have found your place. The hostess was very information and friendly and kept us informed regarding the availability of our table. We grabbed a drink at the bar and the bar tender was highly informed and helpful regarding possible drink options. Once our table was ready we were quickly seated and our waiter was quick to welcome us and inform us regarding the daily specials. The menu is very extensive and it runs the gamut from traditional appetizers, tapas, pizza, burgers and large plates. We started with some flavored artichokes and queso with chips. The artichokes were amazing, and I do not normally like artichokes. The queso and chips were not really memorable since they used a melted cheese sauce. My preference is for a thicker chunkier type queso. It was certainly good though. Everyone tried different entrees and all were very good. The service was excellent and everyone enjoyed their food. It was a fun experience and we certainly will be back, especially when it is warmer and we can enjoy the patio.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected Fun

Dined on February 11, 2016

Three of us settled on Union reservations at 5:30 since it was available and fairly close to the Short North's Garden Theatre. We initially were one of only three active tables in the restaurant, but within a half hour, the place began to buzz as fun people milled in, the current and classic pop music videos drove the beat and an attentive and charming server kept us on schedule for the show. The drinks were definitely a liberal pour from the friendly bartenders who often waved across to the room to a Thursday crowd that seemed more like a Saturday crowd. All-in-all, everyone was friendly and the Chicken Pad Thai (spicy) and the grilled Calamari were both delicious. I would not have expected good food at a place like this (sorry, I know, book... cover... judge... I get it), so it was a delightful surprise in a comfortable place that's not stuffy or pretentious.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Party Atmosphere

Dined on February 7, 2016

We were at Union for a party so the party atmosphere was perfect. Our waiter was fun and attentive. I ordered a chopped salad and spouse ordered Taco Salad which he said was one of the best he's had. My drink could've been more authentic, it was good, but I would like stick to beer next time.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited Union Cafe while on a visit to C ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Visited Union Cafe while on a visit to Columbus, Ohio. Had dinner on Saturday and the staff was so nice, especially the new floor manager we came back Sunday. Amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5

Alway wonderful

Dined on February 6, 2016

Alway wonderful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Union Cafe - First timers!!!

Dined on January 31, 2016

We were referred by some people we met earlier in the day for the Pad Thai that they claimed was excellent. They weren't wrong at all. Pad Thai was EXCELLENT!! Same for the Poutine and Wings!! Brunch was also EXCELLENT!! FRIENDLY STAFF THAT MADE US FEEL VERY WELCOME FOR BEING OUT OF TOWNERS!! Would definitely recommend to any friends who visit Columbus and WOULD DEFINITELY COME BACK AGAIN IN THE FUTURE!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal experience. I have been for c ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Phenomenal experience. I have been for casual dining and for the tremendous Sunday Buffet. Both were excellent. By far the best brunch I have had in a really long time in Columbus. The staff are great! Pleasant attitudes makes the experience that much better.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great for Celebrations

Dined on January 23, 2016

I hosted my birthday dinner here and am glad I did! The food and drinks were great and appropriately priced (actually, the drinks were inexpensive and quality). I love the lighting here, and the layout is cool and unique. Very vibrant crowd and energy. My only "con" is that the dining tables are a bit close to each other, but one can manage. Great, unique find in Columbus.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant Week

Dined on January 22, 2016

The appetizers were amazing. I didn't care much for our dinner. We had a lemon sauce and caper chicken with mashed potatoes and a side of broccoli. The chicken had too much pepper on it - the potatoes too much cheddar cheese - and the broccoli had too much garlic. The deserts were incredible and the staff was fantastic. Our waiter was so attentive and went above and beyond what we could have asked for. Everything was great. Just wish our dinner was better.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on January 18, 2016

Union has always had good food but the revised menu has been fantastic! We went for 614 Restaurant Week so the value was great too. Drinks seem expensive at first but are large and there are often specials so they are really a great deal as well. The caesar salad I had was honestly the best caesar salad I have ever enjoyed. Our waiter was very attentive, conversational, and fun. No complaints at all! I have gone on many occasions for Sunday brunch as well which is also phenomenal.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous New Years must!

Dined on January 1, 2016

If you are looking for a fun and great food in a great location, you can't do better than Union Cafe!! An eclectic mix of customers and great entertainment just can't be beat!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best NYE Ever!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Rarely go out on NYE, but booked dinner at Union Cafe to compliment the AXIS show later in the evening. Fantastic menu offerings, excellent meals, and off the chain entertainment by Nina West, Virginia West and their special guests. Union Cafe never disappoints, but this NYE dinner sets the bar for all that will follow. My girl and I thank you all.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Crazy busy, but fun

Dined on December 7, 2015

We reserved on OpenTable, but by the time we arrived, the joint was packed with celebrators from the MLS winners (PORTLAND TIMBERS!!). They told us they wouldn't be able to honor our reservation, but when a table opened up, they allowed us to take it ahead of others on the waitlist. I really appreciated that they worked with us! It was showtunes night, which, in my opinion, is the best night of the week. Food was good and more interesting than most bar food. The waiters were also super attentive even though we were literally packed in shoulder to shoulder. Would like to revisit in the future!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service1

I always like going to union because of ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

I always like going to union because of the ambience. The music videos are fun and it's always good vibes from everyone there. However I am becoming tired of being asked to cash out immediately after I arrive and order. I frequent your establishment usually after I get off work around 1030 or 1045, and I am also a server at a restaurant nearby. I understand the urgency of wanting to leave work, but I don't need to be constantly reminded by my server that they "get off at 11 and are trying to leave". To make matters worse, we were not transferred to another server after our first left, so if we decided we wanted another drink I had to go wait in line at prime bar time, around 11. I go to union to have a good time with friends, not to be pressured into ordering right away and then promptly ignored after.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food ! We had large party of 1 ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

Excellent food ! We had large party of 12. Very accommodating, great service, very friendly.

food3
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed my visit

Dined on November 14, 2015

I enjoyed our visit but we went strictly to watch Buckeyes play. I picked a seat at the bar instead of table. Well, the seats we picked were in front of a flat screen that didn't work! We made the best of it. Planned on staying for the whole game, we left at half time and went to another bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks and food were amazing. Server wa ...

Dined on November 13, 2015

Drinks and food were amazing. Server was great and very personable. Everyone has always been really great when I've been there.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.