Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Union Cafe

Union Cafe is a popular restaurant and bar lounge located in the heart of the Short North. Featuring Columbus' best patio, Union Cafe serves modern American cuisine from 3 chefs. Treat yourself to popularly priced dishes with excellent portions. Union Cafe is also known for having the best drinks in Columbus. Grande sized libations will leave you with a fun time.
A visually arresting interior design complements our terrific service staff. Roam from the covered patio bar to the serpentine archway bar up to the candle light dining and back around to the amber glow dining lounge.
Union Cafe is a full video cafe, so you can enjoy your favorite music videos, sports and more while you dine in style. Popular events include:
SUNDAY BRUNCH BUFFET
MONDAY $10 PIZZAS + $2 PINTS
TEQUILA TUESDAYS free chips + salsa and $5 PATRON margaritas
WEDNESDAY $9.99 STEAK + FRIES
FRIDAY HAPPY HOUR with $5 Happy Hour martinis & appetizers

782 N High St.
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast/Brunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 2:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hull Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 421-2233

Website:
http://www.columbusnightlife.com/unioncafe2010/index.php#

Entertainment:
Karaoke Monday nights

Catering:
We have a Modern Catering Menu with items such as Tandoori Chicken Skewers, Meat & Cheese Tray, Dessert Samosas, Southern Pimiento and Lime Spiced Tortilla Chips.

Parking Details:
Public Parking garage located at Hubbard east of High St, less than 1 block away.

Public Transit:
COTA Bus #2

Executive Chef:
Benjamin P, Glenn S, Tyler B

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Enjoy Columbus' most popular award winning Brunch Buffet. Easter Brunch in the Short North. 10am-2:30pm. Reservations recommended.

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Enjoy Cinco De Mayo on Columbus' best patio. Jumbo margaritas and our award winning menu will leave you satisfied. Aye Papi!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Treat your mother to our award winning Brunch Buffet featuring our mile long buffet, bloody mary bar, Belgian waffle bar and made to order chef omelettes. Mom is always worth it!

Union Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (26)
Happy Hour (25)
Bar Seating (22)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Casual (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Late-night Find (16)
People Watching (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Dancing (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Music (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Romantic (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Two couples, about 50, trying to catch up on each other's lives? Worst place I could have picked. Girls'night out, singing to the video, doing shots? Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was less than poor and they included tip
Into our checks otherwise I wouldn't have tipped. There were no parties around us and it took 30 minutes just to get drinks and then over an hour and a half to get food. Absolutely insanely terrible service. Won't come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

More of a bar with good food than a fancy restaurant, Union is a friendly place and it's easy to become known as a regular. The drinks are good, so enjoy.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was a good place to eat. I would say the drinks were just okay. Not horrible, not great. The food, the service, everything was decent but not overly great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, drinks & atmosphere! Our waitress was great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Union is an anchor in The Short North! Gay or straight it is a always a fun place to eat & drink!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I really love the place but I was not so happy with my portobello mushroom & eggplant enchiladas. Too much cheese and little eggplant in my opinion. But I will return. The cocktails are amazing!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always, always love going to Union. Food and service and drinks can't be beat. Diverse staff and clientele. Just a wonderfully relaxing, comfortable, safe, fun place to be.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall great. Would return. My only complaint would be regarding our table. There was not enough space in the isles for customers to pass with two people at our table having to constantly move so someone could get by. One person ended up moving seats and my mom kept having to move and also had several people carrying food over her head while trying to get through. I could tell it was hard for her to enjoy her food because of this. The food was great but we would never go back with a big group.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was our first time here and we will be back. Vegetarian friendly and lots of good options for food and beverage.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Modern Decor, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brunch is always delicious at Union. Made a 10am reservation and was seated and served right away. Great atmosphere with the music videos and the all you can eat buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I like that they take reservations and we were seated when we arrived. Very friendly staff and our server was very personable and attentive. Good selection of draft beers. Nice menu and reasonable prices. I had the mushroom and swiss burger on a challah bun and my wife had the club on sourdough. Both were very good. The fries are sort of battered and are excellent - not your normal fries. I has a Guiness on tap. $40 with tip - I rate that as a good value too. We will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We reserved a spot for the Drag Brunch. The waffle bar was amazing. Double miosas for $8 each. The brunch buffet was delicious. And the entertainment was beyond the pale. Nina West, Virginia West, Helena Troy, and Bianca Debonair put on a fabulous show. We will be back, probably next month.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 1, 2017

LOVE IT! With daily specials It's officially my go to spot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I made a reservation for 16, yet there was not enough room for our group. So for a good 45 minutes, we had people just standing around. I would come back here to drink and to get some Happy Hour appetizers, but never again to dine with a large group.

Tags: Happy Hour, Dancing, Fun, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First time visitor. Awfully noisy (Saturday night around 7:30 p.m.) due to combination of music videos playing on large screens and general conversation levels. Our group of 5 struggled to hear each other. Food was tasty though not inspired. Waiter was quite attentive and friendly. I would only recommend this restaurant in certain sitations.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Every time I go to Union I enjoy myself!! Good food, good service, good drinks, good entertainment!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The staff was very cute and friendly! I came once for brunch which was delicious. The spread of food on the buffet is great, plus an omlet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were seated immediately with our reservation. We ordered drinks and got our food from the brunch buffet. Everything was delicious, the staff was very attentive and nice, and the overall atmosphere was an energetic way to start off a Sunday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was delicious but took a couple hours to receive it. We set a reservation and were seated immediately and received drinks relatively quickly but it was very, very busy and took nearly 2 hrs to receive our food.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Drinks, appetizer and entrée excellent. Fantastic value. Great environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ordered food all at once but requested the entrees come later than the apps; we had our 2 apps and 2 entrees at the table within 20 minutes of each other, and with those portions, it was way too much food at once (so we just took it home :D )
BUT, LOVE the portions, the staff, the ambiance, the music videos, the lack of sports and news (I can watch that at home!), the drinks, food... One of my favorite High Street experiences of all time <3

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Union Cafe is excellent venue for meeting a friend for drinks, dinner or a big night out. The staff are excellent and very proficient at multitasking as it gets very busy and crowded at times. Overall excellence.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I love taking me and my fiancé to Union. The people are so welcoming and inviting! The drinks are great and the food is even greater! The vibe is amazing and it brings about a romance to you and your spouse!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We booked a table at Union for the Super Bowl and Showtunes Sunday. Food was good and the atmosphere was amazing.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had an absolutely amazing birthday celebration. We did the Sunday Brunch which was fantastic as always!!! Our server Zach is amazing I love when I get him to be my server.... The Union Cafe is definitely the best. To be perfectly Honest all of the staff are friendly and greet you with a smile and upbeat vibe!!!! Love It!!!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The staff was amazing. Very friendly and helpful. We were running late for our reservation and they called us and kept the table open longer than 15 minutes which they didn't have to do. Food and drinks were very good. Some of us went back for brunch the next day and I just cannot stress enough how great the staff is here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and superb staff. We went here prior to an evening out at the theater and it was perfect. Not too fancy but not too casual.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great brunch, as always! Mimosas were delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing meal and incredible service! Overall great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had to send back one dish that was cold. sent back a drink because it tasted like rum and nothing else. Server took 15 minutes to acknowledge us once we sat down. Very loud. Food was just ok. Nothing outstanding and lots of mess ups make this place overall not worth it

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great time at Union as always! Jose made it special and really worked hard to make sure we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Gage is an amazing server!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sunday brunch is the BEST in the City love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The brunch is fantastic and the help if very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Was visiting Columbus, and a friend recommended this restaurant. We really enjoyed it!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love going to union! All of the staff seem happy with there jobs and happy to serve the Community!

Tags: Healthy, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Even though we had submitted a reservation, we were seated at a table that already had someone sitting at it. Instead of taking us to the empty area with the booths, they stuck us right in the middle of the standing bar, and didn't even wipe the table, after removing the previous occupant. 1/2 of our order was incorrect, and the drinks were low quality; not as I had remembered.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was OK, but not that good and way over priced for what we got. The place looks worn out and old, the bathroom was dirty and the plates at the brunch bar were not clean. All around disappointing experience with out of town guests that we brought there for New Year's Day brunch. Likely not going back there anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.