About Union Cafe

782 N High St.
Columbus, OH 43215
View Larger Map

Union Cafe is a popular restaurant and bar lounge located in the heart of the Short North. Featuring Columbus' best patio, Union Cafe serves modern American cuisine from 3 chefs. Treat yourself to popularly priced dishes with excellent portions. Union Cafe is also known for having the best drinks in Columbus. Grande sized libations will leave you with a fun time.
A visually arresting interior design complements our terrific service staff. Roam from the covered patio bar to the serpentine archway bar up to the candle light dining and back around to the amber glow dining lounge.
Union Cafe is a full video cafe, so you can enjoy your favorite music videos, sports and more while you dine in style. Popular events include:
SUNDAY BRUNCH BUFFET
MONDAY $10 PIZZAS + $2 PINTS
TEQUILA TUESDAYS free chips + salsa and $5 PATRON margaritas
WEDNESDAY $9.99 STEAK + FRIES
FRIDAY HAPPY HOUR with $5 Happy Hour martinis & appetizers

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Asian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast/Brunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm


Lunch:

Daily: 2:00pm - 4:00pm


Dinner:

Daily: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Hull Alley

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 421-2233

Website:
http://www.columbusnightlife.com/unioncafe2010/index.php#

Entertainment:
Karaoke Monday nights

Catering:
We have a Modern Catering Menu with items such as Tandoori Chicken Skewers, Meat & Cheese Tray, Dessert Samosas, Southern Pimiento and Lime Spiced Tortilla Chips.

Parking Details:
Public Parking garage located at Hubbard east of High St, less than 1 block away.

Public Transit:
COTA Bus #2

Executive Chef:
Benjamin P, Glenn S, Tyler B

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Bar Seating (16)
See All
People Watching (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Casual (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Scenic View (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Dancing (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Live Sports (3)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Romantic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Music (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing meal and incredible service! Ove ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 hours ago

Amazing meal and incredible service! Overall great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time at Union as always! Jose made ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Great time at Union as always! Jose made it special and really worked hard to make sure we enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gage is an amazing server!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Gage is an amazing server!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch is the BEST in the City lo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Sunday brunch is the BEST in the City love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The brunch is fantastic and the help if ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The brunch is fantastic and the help if very friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was visiting Columbus, and a friend reco ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Was visiting Columbus, and a friend recommended this restaurant. We really enjoyed it!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Love going to union! All of the staff s ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love going to union! All of the staff seem happy with there jobs and happy to serve the Community!

Tags: Healthy, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we had submitted a reservati ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Even though we had submitted a reservation, we were seated at a table that already had someone sitting at it. Instead of taking us to the empty area with the booths, they stuck us right in the middle of the standing bar, and didn't even wipe the table, after removing the previous occupant. 1/2 of our order was incorrect, and the drinks were low quality; not as I had remembered.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The food was OK, but not that good and w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was OK, but not that good and way over priced for what we got. The place looks worn out and old, the bathroom was dirty and the plates at the brunch bar were not clean. All around disappointing experience with out of town guests that we brought there for New Year's Day brunch. Likely not going back there anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great lunch for our work group, very goo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great lunch for our work group, very good value for a lunchtime special!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Union is a great place to get together w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Union is a great place to get together with friends. The vast menu has something for everyone, the patio is fabulous, it's modern without feeling too hipster. Great happy hour and special events too!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Live Music, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took the family to The Union for their b ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Took the family to The Union for their breakfast buffet I'd heard good things about and we weren't disappointed. Omelet station, waffles and lots of choices with other breakfast items. Played music videos on the tvs from 80's/90's and it was awesome.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great downtown bar. Predominantly LGBT ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great downtown bar. Predominantly LGBT scene. Strong drinks and great food. Can definitely get loud and crowded at night and on the weekends. Staff is always super nice and friendly. A Short North staple for sure!!

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Casual, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, , Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made my reservations on Open table and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I made my reservations on Open table and let union cafe know why we were heading out for a night to celebrate! Even though you get the standard "we will try to accommodate all your special requests" disclaimer, we were so very happy and impressed! We had an amazing table and our server was SPOT ON! not only was he friendly and welcoming but he joked around with us and made us feel like we were his top priority even though the place was packed!

The food was delicious and everyone was so very pleased with the entire experience. Thank you Union Cafe for making our night out so very special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They really had wonderful food, everythi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

They really had wonderful food, everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for lunch and had an amazing tim ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We went for lunch and had an amazing time. We enjoyed our time so much we went back that night for the show. Hands down the best staff in Columbus! Nick, Brad, and Jaime you guys made the experience... And to the incomparable Amanda Sue, you rock!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friends and I had a great time. The ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My friends and I had a great time. The food was great as well as the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accidentally booked Drag brunch, and it ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Accidentally booked Drag brunch, and it was absolutely fabulous. Couldn't have planned it better. All the staff was very sweet and accommodating and the food was amazing as always.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and great service!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new husband andI came here the mor in ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My new husband andI came here the mor ing after our wedding to have brunch with close family and the wedding party. It was a little chilly inside for my preference and the food (buffet style) got cold quickly. Everything else was fantastic, all the food, the Belgian waffles and the omlettes were delic! The coffee was on point. Great place and great atmosphere and glad we were really glad that we chose Union Cafe!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place to watch a football game and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great place to watch a football game and have drinks and eat.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Union to watch the 2nd Presid ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We went to Union to watch the 2nd Presidential debate. It was packed! Which is great to see that many people out to watch. The food and service was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I love this joint. It's casual vibe, and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I love this joint. It's casual vibe, and great people watching is always a draw.

Tags: Seasonal, Spicy, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fun, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Casual, Live Music, Dancing, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent waitress, loved her!!! Food a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent waitress, loved her!!! Food at the Sunday brunch was delicious . Waffles were wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband, a few friends, and I went to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My husband, a few friends, and I went to Union Cafe to have a birthday brunch and we had a fantastic experience! The food was amazing as always (best brunch in town to us!) and the service was even better. Our friends have two small boys and the waitress didn't charge us for them since they were so small which was great! We will definitely be coming back. Thanks for making his birthday so special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here numerous times for late ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I have been here numerous times for late night to get a drink. This was my first time going to get food and the experience was horrible. It was my friend and I and our waiter rarely asked us if we needed anything. He was waiting on the table right next to us too and kept going to them for drinks, food, etc but for us we had to GET UP and ask someone to bring us more water. Whenever he was at the table next to us we would try to get his attention and it was as if he was ignoring us. EXTREMEMLY disappointed. If we ever go back we will request NOT TO have him as our server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great place to eat with an amazing staff ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great place to eat with an amazing staff. Highly suggest everyone give it a try - chicken nachos will feed three people easily

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for Drag Brunch. Fun and good food ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Went for Drag Brunch. Fun and good food and mimosas

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming in for almost 15 ye ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We have been coming in for almost 15 years I think. We enjoy the "CHEERS" feeling.

We would like to reserve table 11 for Saturday October 8 at 3:00.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Show tunes weren't as entertaining as us ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Show tunes weren't as entertaining as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

THE WORST SERVICE IVE EVER EXPERIENCED

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2016

THE WORST SERVICE IVE EVER EXPERIENCED

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The "made to order" omelet was the best ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The "made to order" omelet was the best I've ever had; one of my friends with me said the same thing. Very fresh, very moist egg, and not overcooked like most omelets; very cheerful preparer. I love Bloody Marys, but in most places, you cannot taste the alcohol because they must put in less than a full shot of (in my case gin), but this one was the most reasonably priced, but I could taste at least a full shot of gin and it was delicious to the very last drop! I will recommend this place and all my friends in attendance plan to return. The waiter was most entertaining. It pays to make a reservation for brunch, as we did, as after 10 a.m., it was immediately packed, standing in line to get in the door.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for Sunday's all you can eat brunch ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went for Sunday's all you can eat brunch buffet and loved it! There's a waffle bar, omelet station and other breakfast options. Waitress was helpful and attentive, all other staff were very friendly! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu items need some work, but the patio ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Menu items need some work, but the patio atmosphere is excellent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

A group of us were here to watch the OSU ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A group of us were here to watch the OSU Football game. Great time with Nina West, cheerleaders and beer specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations as soon as they were a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Made reservations as soon as they were available for the Saturday drag brunch. We show up and was told all the seating was full so we get stuck sitting at the bar. We walk around the the restaurant and there was 10+ tables that were empty. We were told that seating was preselected. By the the ne of brunch there was still plenty of tables that were still open. It looked that all of the Union regulars or "groupies" had their table even after showing up 20-30 mins late. Even with the open tables we were never offered to move to a table from the bar.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great time at Union!

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Always a great time at Union!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best patio in town. Atmosphere is excel ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Best patio in town. Atmosphere is excellent, but food is only ok.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food and service was great. Th ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious food and service was great. The nachos are a great appetizer to start with for 4 people. I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is always good here. But the he ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food is always good here. But the heart of this restaurant/bar is the serving staff and bartenders. I had family in town and we went there for dinner. Gage was our server and just helped make the night great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.