About Union Bar & Grill

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Union Bar & Grill located on the first floor of Union Restaurant features top quality American fare and a variety of bar snacks, burgers, sandwiches, tons of TV's, bar games and more!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 3pm-Midnight
Tuesday 3pm-Midnight
Wednesday 3pm-Midnight
Thursday 3pm-Midnight
Friday 3pm-2am
Saturday 11am-2am
Sunday 11am-Midnight

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://www.unionmpls.com/

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $8 after 5 PM daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Court Parking Ramp

Executive Chef:
Kyle Darling

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a private seated dinner or a cocktail reception, Union Bar & Grill can accommodate your needs. Sophisticated dinner, business meeting, holiday parties and rehearsal dinners...the versatility of Union Bar & Grill will help to make your event one to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Frechette: 8884229158

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Union Bar & Grill
  • Union Bar & Grill
  • Union Bar & Grill
  • Union Bar & Grill
  • Union Bar & Grill
  • Union Bar & Grill
  • Union Bar & Grill
Union Bar & Grill
Union Bar & Grill
Union Bar & Grill
Union Bar & Grill
Union Bar & Grill
Union Bar & Grill
Union Bar & Grill

Union Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.6

ambience

3.3

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

65% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for a Date (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
45 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was great! My server my extra ef ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was great! My server my extra effort into delivering the best birthday dinner experience!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated on the main floor. There ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were seated on the main floor. There was only one other table of people seated in our area the whole time we were there. The food was fair; the ambiance was nice. I can't remember what I ate; someone else in our party ordered the fish and chips and thought the batter was inedible. We had dessert, it was ok. Probably not somewhere I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We went to the Union Bar and Grill befor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We went to the Union Bar and Grill before going to the Lion King play at the Orpheum. The location was perfect. We had made a reservation and were seated promptly. Our server was very nice and attentive. The food was excellent. We shared the wedge salad and some snacks. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Drinks were great. Very e ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was good. Drinks were great. Very energetic place.

Hostess was clueless (both bottom and rooftop). Kept sending us up and down.

Waiters were very nice and didn't keep pestering us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to be on the rooftop but with the sun out it was too hot. Wish there would have been some umbrellas but I know that takes up space.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were quite disappointed with Union, u ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were quite disappointed with Union, unfortunately. We chose to have dinner & drinks here before seeing The Lion King at the Orpheum. We thought the drinks were incredibly overpriced for the quantity/value and the food was very disappointing. My husband had a steak, mashed potatoes, and green beans. He said the green beans were the best part as the steak was mediocre and quite chewy and his mashed potatoes were cold. I ordered the gnocchi and it was terribly oily and tasted mass-produced. Our server seemed quite pre-occupied and the woman working the pull-tab station tried to make conversation with us during our whole dinner, which was quite distracting. We do not plan to return and felt it was incredibly overpriced for the value. A very loud atmosphere as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This place has really gone downhill. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This place has really gone downhill. Their air conditioning barely works so we ate our dinner in a sweaty, hot restaurant. We were at a really small table near the kitchen. Not enough room to eat. Our drinks were messed up. And they even had pull tabs or some other gambling looking thing in the front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The hostess seem to busy to check us in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The hostess seem to busy to check us in or acknowledge is when we walked in the front door. We decided not to wait and just head to where we thought our table and party were. Once we joined our party the waiter started out great getting us drinks checking in on food then toward the end of our dinner it felt like he disappeared and we waited for quiet a bit for our final check I can't remember if he checked in to see if our first couple of bits were good. It just felt like we were an after thought once our order was in. It felt like an average dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I booked a table through OpenTable and p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I booked a table through OpenTable and put a special request for the rooftop area. When we arrived the host told us the rooftop area was closed for a private event. If they aren't going to allow seating there it would be nice to know before hand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I didn't know what to expect, but was di ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I didn't know what to expect, but was disappointed. Bar tender made my martini with gin instead of vodka and even when the wait staff agreed, I was not offered a replacement. that was very confusing and disappointing. Really?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Happy place! Good food and good service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Happy place! Good food and good service at a good location and for a good price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow. Didn't have anyon ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was very slow. Didn't have anyone stop by our table for 15 minutes after being seated. During this time others were seated and served drinks. Our flatbreads did not have near the toppings as others we saw. True lack of consistency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The Union Bar & Grill is a great place t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Union Bar & Grill is a great place to go if you are going downtown and seeing a show. I went and saw the The Lion King at the Orpheum with my girlfriend and my best friend. I researched a a lot of places and wanted to try something new, decently priced and with in walking distance to the Orpheum. I ended up deciding on The Union Bar & Grill. The restaurant itself is located about a half block from the venue and is designed really well. It is spacious, trendy and I never got the feeling that I was on top of other people that were eating. Our waiter was nice, well informed and suggested entrees that we would like.

We started out with the Firecracker Shrimp. It was really good and good balance of flavor. It was sweet but wasn't overly spicy. To drink, I had a Jameson Mule which is a twist on a Moscow Mule. This was very good and the bartender was very generous with the alcohol. For dinner I had a Reuben. The meat had a smoky flavor that I have had on a Reuben before, which added a different flavor too it but it was a bit tough. Both the girls I was with had the Bison burger which was cooked perfectly but needed a little more seasoning but the lack of seasoning was offset by the pickled red onions and jalapenos.

Overall I would give the Union Bar & Grill 4.5 out of 5. Even though our dinner entrees okay, the drinks, service and atmosphere more than make up for that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good, but average. No wow ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything was good, but average. No wow factor. Service was good, but not great. Wine list was pretty decent. Cocktails were good, too. I'd go here again for just drinks, perhaps with an app. Otherwise, there are plenty of other places downtown with better food at similar prices.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

When I made the reservation, I reserved ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

When I made the reservation, I reserved the roof top, specially asking for it. They called back 2 days later and said they didn't have roof top. I booked a week in advance. The menu in the dining room is not nearly as good as the rooftop. I was really looking forward to the roof top. Won't go again unless I can sit rooftop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been here a couple of times before ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I've been here a couple of times before and the food was definitely better on my previous visits (same dish). Made a reservation a couple of days ahead of time, but we were seated at a very strange (and rickety) high top in the front window away from basically the entire rest of the restaurant. When we asked for something other than a high top she stated that's all they had because of a private event in th back room. So we took the window high top next to some sort of weird bar game table.

As I said, the food was good, but it's been better before.

They state on their website that they validate parking in two garages, so as we were leaving we asked the hostess. She reached into something on the host stand "Oh. We might be out. Hold on." She went somewhere else in the restaurant and returned a moment later and just said "We're out. Sorry." And that was it. Not the best customer service, and a little irritating since they list it on their website.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We had good service but the sangria was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had good service but the sangria was not as good as the rooftop even when told it was the same recipe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Mac & Cheese shareable is delicious, ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Mac & Cheese shareable is delicious, but exactly what it is described as: a shareable.

The fettuccine Alfredo is good, but more than a traditional Alfredo sauce.

The black and bleu steak was good. The sides (green beans and mashed potatoes) were great. I love green beans a tad undercooked and they were perfect. The potatoes were a tad dry, but I love potatoes regardless of their flaws. The steak was my only issue. While it's the main, I regularly do not expect restaurants to cook steak true to temperature. The steak was a bit over done for medium rare, but it was a decent medium.

The drinks: we ordered a rose, a red sangria and white sangrias. The pour on the rose was extremely light based on the other drinks coming off the bar, but it might have been the last of the bottle. The red sangria was very good, but the garnishes differed from the white and red sangria. One of the white sangrias came with completely different macerated fruit than the other two ordered. It was not very consistent for the same drinks order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Our experience

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Union was recommended to me by a dear friend, but I must say I was sorely disappointed in my Union Dining experience. First, our reservation was wrong, even after I had confirmed it the day before. Because of this, the hostess was incredibly rude and snapped at me that I needed to "let us know these things ahead of time." We were in the midst of surprising my husband for his birthday, so you can imagine my upset that it was off to a rocky start. Our waitress was the saving grace of the evening. Very prompt and attentive to our needs. When our meal came, my food was cold, but everyone else seemed to have a warm meal. Overall, I was not impressed and probably won't visit this establishment again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Nice place!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I enjoyed the space and the ambiance, but the service at the bar was a little slow. It was happy hour time and I would have like speedier service. Overall I enjoyed the experience and I will definitely visit again the next time I go to Minneapolis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Stay downstairs

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went there to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We made a reservation on OpenTable but some computer glitch put us downstairs rather than the rooftop. We waited downstairs for a bit until a table opened up on the rooftop which gave us an opportunity to compare the two parts of the restaurant. Our server downstairs was great. He was a bit overwhelmed but he was friendly and tried his best. We would have gladly stayed with him as our server. Upstairs seemed disorganized and frankly unable to keep up with the heavy crowd on a beautiful Sunday evening. For example, my wife asked our server his opinion about one dish which he said was his favorite but then she didn't get that dish even though she ordered it. The food was okay. It wasn't bad but not worth the price. Incidentally, we notice that the same menu item was $5 less downstairs. It seemed that way for other menu items. So really, you paying 25% more at the same restaurant for ambiance. Admittedly, it was nice on the rooftop but the food that particular day was pretty ordinary. I don't mind paying for ambiance sometimes but it just wasn't worth the hassle. We had been there before for a previous anniversary and it was a completely different experience from the hostess to the food and the servers. That is why we went back. And why we were rather disappointed. I can't really recommend it except maybe downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I made reservation on OpenTable for 11:3 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I made reservation on OpenTable for 11:30 on a Sunday only to be told that we could not eat because brunch was only served on the roof and there was no room on the roof. We left to eat elsewhere and it turned out the restaurant marked us as not having honored our reservation. Not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Just bad, we had a table right next to t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Just bad, we had a table right next to the kitchen. We had to flag down a server every time we needed something. Our medium rare steak was well done, then replaced it with rare one. We waited on things longer than we enjoyed. We where celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary . After all the miss happs they didn't attempt to do anything to make it right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Typical bar food, alongside a smattering ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Typical bar food, alongside a smattering of other comfort food options. Ambiance has an exciting vibe, with a lovely bar crowd. Dining room service is excellent - just the right amount of attention without being overbearing. Great staff and good location. Not as good as the rooftop, but does pretty well to hold its own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We were not aware that Union Bar & Grill ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were not aware that Union Bar & Grill had changed the menu and became a casual restaurant with an emphasis on sandwiches and "bar food." Overall it was a mediocre menu and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

It was okay

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We went to Union before the McCartney show so naturally it was busy, . With that said, the server, although friendly, took his sweet time taking our orders or checking on us. We were ready to order quite quickly but he still made us sit through and listen to the specials and recommendations that we didn't ask for. I get it, that's his job, but you have to read the situation too. The food took a very long time and was okay. I was told ahead of time there were Gluten-Free options for my son who has Celiac's, but it was very limited. I thought the best thing I tasted was the parmesan fries, which speaks for itself. I would try it again when they're not so busy, and I've heard the rooftop is great, but I would say it was underwhelming overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Union Style Service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I could not believe how terrible the service was here. We had reservations for 6:15 to have dinner before an event. We were seated fairly quickly but did not receive ANY service for over 15 minutes. I walked up to the hostess to ask if we were going to be waited on and she said she would say something to our server. In the meantime I went to the bar to get us drinks which was another terrible experience, the staff behind the bar would not even make eye contact with me. As I looked around the restaurant I was surprised to see how empty it was in the dining area based on the level of service we were receiving. We waited at least another 5 minutes before anyone showed up. By this time we felt it was too late to order a dinner and settled on appetizers and another drink. A very bad experience to start out our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Okay bar and grill, prefer the rooftop

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This was my first time dining in the bar and grill as opposed to the rooftop. Uniquely, these areas have different menus. The "bar and grill" is emphasis on the bar in terms of atmosphere. After our server cleared our dinner plates he disappeared for quite some time. Came back with the check but we wanted dessert so requested those menus. This was a hiccup in the service which was otherwise okay - lackluster, not great, but not bad. I ordered coffee with dessert and it took a long time to arrive. Apparently they had to brew a fresh pot, an earlier explanation would have been nice but once again the server was MIA - saw him across the bar at a register but not looking our direction at all (no one checked to see how our dessert was going, although he had checked on us once during our main course). The food was just okay, not a great value for the price. I would pick the rooftop for sit-down meals in future, but the bar and grill would be a good choice for a happy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Valentine's Dinner

 
·Dined on February 15, 2016

First time @ the Union. We reserved the bar/grill seating instead of rooftop on line. Over all food was excellent (We ordered calamari, truffle fries, salmon dinner & the steak with blue cheese crumbles)

We did get seated right away because of reservations however, it did take awhile to be greeted by server.

Was disappointed that oysters was not an option for the bar/grill & only available for rooftop. While making reservations on line, highly recommend that it states something about some menu items are available only for rooftop/bar-grill.

Will go back but maybe sit upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server, marginal food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a really friendly waitress who was there just the right amount of time. The food really wasn't good. And that was after the waitress was nice enough to steer us away from a couple of the worse items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

we have been to the Union before...expec ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

we have been to the Union before...expected the seafood selection. The menu has changed and is mostly burgers, shrimp, appetizers and maybe a steak on the menu. What kind of steak? It just list steak. Flavors were ok although some parts of the steak were really chewy and difficult to cut so I left those pieces on the plate. Our waiter was great though, if you go an d get Phil you are in good hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Union Bar and Grill

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

Union Bar and Grill is an okay option for dinner near Minneapolis' major theaters. We were contacted in advance to confirm our reservation. We were seated immediately and found our server to be friendly and efficient. I was not blown away by the food, but it was fine. I thought the fries and onion rings that came with sandwiches looked a little sad, and also a little skimpy for the onion rings with the upcharge. The atmosphere is very nice. If they could bump up the caliber of food quality, we'd go back for sure. Currently, I'm underwhelmed for the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was good and the service was fine** ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Food was good and the service was fine****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good atmosphere, OK food, poor service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Our reservation worked out great. It was a busy Saturday evening so it was a fun and busy atmosphere to be a part of. Unfortunately the service was poor. The bus boy was working his tail off to keep the place a float while the waitress seemed not at all in a hurry. The food was good, nothing remarkable.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Bad service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

We had reservations and yet were place at a table under the service glasses and water. Servers reached around us to get these items. It took 30 minutes to get wait staff to come to our table even after the host made them aware of the issue. The our main course came before our appetizer.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Not what I expected

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

I was first seated in a crowded area when plenty of open space existed. Requested a new location. They clearly didn't have enough wait staff. Specifically asked if French fries came with the hamburger and got onion rings. No one stopped back to ask about food until it was too late. Ordered one drink to sample and waiter didn't come back to ask if it was ok or what else we might like. Very noisy and hard to hear. The place was pleasant to look at. Overall I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Different menus

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

My wife and I booked a reservation and visited Union for the first time. We were seated in the bar. I don't recall having a choice as to where we booked the reservation, the bar or the upstairs restaurant. Anyways, I also must have missed something because when I viewed the menu online, it had a number of items on it that I was looking forward to ordering. Unfortunately, the menu I must have been looking at was for the upstairs. Somewhat disappointing. On date night, we were looking forward to the oysters and/or mussels! Not a bad place though. Good place to go to for drinks with buddies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Very noisy with poor service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Unless you're on the rooftop I'd avoid this place due to the noise level and poor service. If you're into a loud bar scene then this is the place for you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Great twist on casual sports bar food. O ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

Great twist on casual sports bar food. Outstanding service, personal welcome by the GM was a nice added touch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow. Great cocktails. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Service was very slow. Great cocktails. Food was good but cold. Forgot our appetizer and kept bringing food we did not order. A lot of people standing around and food sitting for a long time. It was really funny that things were as mixed up. We kept laughing when they brought us food 3 times before we even placed an order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.