About Union Bar & Grill

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Union Bar & Grill located on the first floor of Union Restaurant features top quality American fare and a variety of bar snacks, burgers, sandwiches, tons of TV's, bar games and more!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 3pm-Midnight
Tuesday 3pm-Midnight
Wednesday 3pm-Midnight
Thursday 3pm-Midnight
Friday 3pm-2am
Saturday 11am-2am
Sunday 11am-Midnight

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://www.unionmpls.com/

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $8 after 5 PM daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Court Parking Ramp

Executive Chef:
Kyle Darling

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a private seated dinner or a cocktail reception, Union Bar & Grill can accommodate your needs. Sophisticated dinner, business meeting, holiday parties and rehearsal dinners...the versatility of Union Bar & Grill will help to make your event one to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Frechette: 8884229158

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Union Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.5

ambience

3.3

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

65% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Casual (8)
See All
Bar Seating (7)
Quick Bite (7)
People Watching (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (4)
Live Sports (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first visit to Union Bar & ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit to Union Bar & Grill. We were going to the theatre that was within walking distance which was a bonus.

As for the food, we order an appetizer of onion rings which was very good. The main entres were not very good at all...Chicken Paremasan and Ribs. Chicken was very salty, pasta was not too bad, Ribs were not very good at all!! Meat was very tough!!

Delicious chocolate layered cake!

Not sure if I would return to the Union Bar & Grill when attending a local theatre.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Super loud, terrible service. They pack ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Super loud, terrible service. They pack as many people in as they can. Our table was bumped no less than 20 times by random people. Someone took my chair as we were leaving before I even had my coat on.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

The roof top is great! However, the bar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The roof top is great! However, the bar & grill lack the same attention to food, service and overall experience. Advise to only dine roof top.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Knew it was a weird night with the show ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Knew it was a weird night with the show going on at 1st Ave. Everything just seemed a bit off. Will definitely try again as many friends have recommended it, it was just underwhelming the first time

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I had made a reservation for the Rooftop ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I had made a reservation for the Rooftop because I had read about it and seen photos in MSP Mag, but when we arrived we were told it was unavailable due to a private party. I felt I should have been told in advance, as we wanted a more formal atmosphere than the grill and its TVs and game tables. We were offered an appetizer for our disappointment, which was very kind. Food was just ok -- nothing special. Overall, I wasn't impressed. There are so many Mpls restaurants offering unique flavors and creative dishes that I am not likely to visit Union in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Very busy, but still provided faster tha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very busy, but still provided faster than average service and better than average food/selections for a sports bar. Also, reasonable prices. Good, fun, and energetic sports bar atmosphere with a lot of screens throughout to view from any seat/table.

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Decent selection of beers, both local an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Decent selection of beers, both local and national. Food was good, I had the Steak Frites and was excellent although the steak was on the smallish side for the money, it was cooked perfectly, the presentation was excellent and the frites very good. My wife had the fish and chips. Again, the preso was good, the chips excellent and the batter was good, but I think the fish was cooked in oil not hot enough since it was a little oily to taste and felt heavy. Beer was good, decorations of the place fantastic, ambiance was the best part. It was loud, but not overly so. Great place to take friends to just hang out downtown with a cold brew or one of their excellent sounding cocktails.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Dramatically understaffed (2 waiters for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dramatically understaffed (2 waiters for the whole place!) for a place that was serving attendees of a sold out show next door at the State Theater. My wife ordered a turkey burger and it showed up pink. Sent it back, the replacement also showed up pink. Then we had to leave for the show so she didn't get to eat a full meal. They comped the burger and gave a free slice of cheesecake.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Get there for happy hour daily from 3-6p ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Get there for happy hour daily from 3-6pm and again for late night during the weekdays! We had a bunch of appetizers amongst the group for our meal pre-concert. Very loud on a Saturday evening!

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fast, friendly service. Good food at a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fast, friendly service. Good food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The spotlights shining directly into my ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The spotlights shining directly into my eyes made for a big headache. We were there before a Lynx game, it wasn't very busy. Had Pulled pork nachos which looked like a birds next and was dry and many of the chips were burnt. Also had the pork dumplings - they were very tasty. Not impressed by the cost associated with the beverages - nor that there wasn't a "tall" option for the beer I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

We were initially seated at a table in a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were initially seated at a table in an area that wouldn't even qualify as a place to eat. A weird corner of the place where they had stuck a high table, with absolutely no room to maneuver. I asked if there were any low tables in the main dining area. We were told there were none. But when I went to the restroom a few minutes later, there seemed to be plenty. Sure, I get it, probably reservations. But we had reservations too. It took about 20 minutes to get waited on, just for drinks. It took another 15-20 minutes to have our orders taken. The food arrived promptly. And it was cold. We never saw any wait staff again and had to get up and find someone to bring us our tab. But the food was mediocre, so it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

great place for good food, drinks - grea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

great place for good food, drinks - great place for a family get together. Close to many different venues.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great! My server my extra ef ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was great! My server my extra effort into delivering the best birthday dinner experience!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated on the main floor. There ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were seated on the main floor. There was only one other table of people seated in our area the whole time we were there. The food was fair; the ambiance was nice. I can't remember what I ate; someone else in our party ordered the fish and chips and thought the batter was inedible. We had dessert, it was ok. Probably not somewhere I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We went to the Union Bar and Grill befor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We went to the Union Bar and Grill before going to the Lion King play at the Orpheum. The location was perfect. We had made a reservation and were seated promptly. Our server was very nice and attentive. The food was excellent. We shared the wedge salad and some snacks. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Drinks were great. Very e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was good. Drinks were great. Very energetic place.

Hostess was clueless (both bottom and rooftop). Kept sending us up and down.

Waiters were very nice and didn't keep pestering us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to be on the rooftop but with the sun out it was too hot. Wish there would have been some umbrellas but I know that takes up space.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A go to place that is always a joy - foo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2016

A go to place that is always a joy - food is always good the people make it great. The ownership keeps long term team members that we consider friends when we are there. Our favorite place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were quite disappointed with Union, u ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were quite disappointed with Union, unfortunately. We chose to have dinner & drinks here before seeing The Lion King at the Orpheum. We thought the drinks were incredibly overpriced for the quantity/value and the food was very disappointing. My husband had a steak, mashed potatoes, and green beans. He said the green beans were the best part as the steak was mediocre and quite chewy and his mashed potatoes were cold. I ordered the gnocchi and it was terribly oily and tasted mass-produced. Our server seemed quite pre-occupied and the woman working the pull-tab station tried to make conversation with us during our whole dinner, which was quite distracting. We do not plan to return and felt it was incredibly overpriced for the value. A very loud atmosphere as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This place has really gone downhill. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

This place has really gone downhill. Their air conditioning barely works so we ate our dinner in a sweaty, hot restaurant. We were at a really small table near the kitchen. Not enough room to eat. Our drinks were messed up. And they even had pull tabs or some other gambling looking thing in the front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The hostess seem to busy to check us in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The hostess seem to busy to check us in or acknowledge is when we walked in the front door. We decided not to wait and just head to where we thought our table and party were. Once we joined our party the waiter started out great getting us drinks checking in on food then toward the end of our dinner it felt like he disappeared and we waited for quiet a bit for our final check I can't remember if he checked in to see if our first couple of bits were good. It just felt like we were an after thought once our order was in. It felt like an average dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I booked a table through OpenTable and p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2016

I booked a table through OpenTable and put a special request for the rooftop area. When we arrived the host told us the rooftop area was closed for a private event. If they aren't going to allow seating there it would be nice to know before hand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I didn't know what to expect, but was di ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2016

I didn't know what to expect, but was disappointed. Bar tender made my martini with gin instead of vodka and even when the wait staff agreed, I was not offered a replacement. that was very confusing and disappointing. Really?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Happy place! Good food and good service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Happy place! Good food and good service at a good location and for a good price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow. Didn't have anyon ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was very slow. Didn't have anyone stop by our table for 15 minutes after being seated. During this time others were seated and served drinks. Our flatbreads did not have near the toppings as others we saw. True lack of consistency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The Union Bar & Grill is a great place t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Union Bar & Grill is a great place to go if you are going downtown and seeing a show. I went and saw the The Lion King at the Orpheum with my girlfriend and my best friend. I researched a a lot of places and wanted to try something new, decently priced and with in walking distance to the Orpheum. I ended up deciding on The Union Bar & Grill. The restaurant itself is located about a half block from the venue and is designed really well. It is spacious, trendy and I never got the feeling that I was on top of other people that were eating. Our waiter was nice, well informed and suggested entrees that we would like.

We started out with the Firecracker Shrimp. It was really good and good balance of flavor. It was sweet but wasn't overly spicy. To drink, I had a Jameson Mule which is a twist on a Moscow Mule. This was very good and the bartender was very generous with the alcohol. For dinner I had a Reuben. The meat had a smoky flavor that I have had on a Reuben before, which added a different flavor too it but it was a bit tough. Both the girls I was with had the Bison burger which was cooked perfectly but needed a little more seasoning but the lack of seasoning was offset by the pickled red onions and jalapenos.

Overall I would give the Union Bar & Grill 4.5 out of 5. Even though our dinner entrees okay, the drinks, service and atmosphere more than make up for that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was good, but average. No wow ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything was good, but average. No wow factor. Service was good, but not great. Wine list was pretty decent. Cocktails were good, too. I'd go here again for just drinks, perhaps with an app. Otherwise, there are plenty of other places downtown with better food at similar prices.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

When I made the reservation, I reserved ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2016

When I made the reservation, I reserved the roof top, specially asking for it. They called back 2 days later and said they didn't have roof top. I booked a week in advance. The menu in the dining room is not nearly as good as the rooftop. I was really looking forward to the roof top. Won't go again unless I can sit rooftop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been here a couple of times before ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 15, 2016

I've been here a couple of times before and the food was definitely better on my previous visits (same dish). Made a reservation a couple of days ahead of time, but we were seated at a very strange (and rickety) high top in the front window away from basically the entire rest of the restaurant. When we asked for something other than a high top she stated that's all they had because of a private event in th back room. So we took the window high top next to some sort of weird bar game table.

As I said, the food was good, but it's been better before.

They state on their website that they validate parking in two garages, so as we were leaving we asked the hostess. She reached into something on the host stand "Oh. We might be out. Hold on." She went somewhere else in the restaurant and returned a moment later and just said "We're out. Sorry." And that was it. Not the best customer service, and a little irritating since they list it on their website.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We had good service but the sangria was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had good service but the sangria was not as good as the rooftop even when told it was the same recipe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The Mac & Cheese shareable is delicious, ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Mac & Cheese shareable is delicious, but exactly what it is described as: a shareable.

The fettuccine Alfredo is good, but more than a traditional Alfredo sauce.

The black and bleu steak was good. The sides (green beans and mashed potatoes) were great. I love green beans a tad undercooked and they were perfect. The potatoes were a tad dry, but I love potatoes regardless of their flaws. The steak was my only issue. While it's the main, I regularly do not expect restaurants to cook steak true to temperature. The steak was a bit over done for medium rare, but it was a decent medium.

The drinks: we ordered a rose, a red sangria and white sangrias. The pour on the rose was extremely light based on the other drinks coming off the bar, but it might have been the last of the bottle. The red sangria was very good, but the garnishes differed from the white and red sangria. One of the white sangrias came with completely different macerated fruit than the other two ordered. It was not very consistent for the same drinks order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Our experience

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Union was recommended to me by a dear friend, but I must say I was sorely disappointed in my Union Dining experience. First, our reservation was wrong, even after I had confirmed it the day before. Because of this, the hostess was incredibly rude and snapped at me that I needed to "let us know these things ahead of time." We were in the midst of surprising my husband for his birthday, so you can imagine my upset that it was off to a rocky start. Our waitress was the saving grace of the evening. Very prompt and attentive to our needs. When our meal came, my food was cold, but everyone else seemed to have a warm meal. Overall, I was not impressed and probably won't visit this establishment again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Nice place!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 23, 2016

I enjoyed the space and the ambiance, but the service at the bar was a little slow. It was happy hour time and I would have like speedier service. Overall I enjoyed the experience and I will definitely visit again the next time I go to Minneapolis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Stay downstairs

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went there to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We made a reservation on OpenTable but some computer glitch put us downstairs rather than the rooftop. We waited downstairs for a bit until a table opened up on the rooftop which gave us an opportunity to compare the two parts of the restaurant. Our server downstairs was great. He was a bit overwhelmed but he was friendly and tried his best. We would have gladly stayed with him as our server. Upstairs seemed disorganized and frankly unable to keep up with the heavy crowd on a beautiful Sunday evening. For example, my wife asked our server his opinion about one dish which he said was his favorite but then she didn't get that dish even though she ordered it. The food was okay. It wasn't bad but not worth the price. Incidentally, we notice that the same menu item was $5 less downstairs. It seemed that way for other menu items. So really, you paying 25% more at the same restaurant for ambiance. Admittedly, it was nice on the rooftop but the food that particular day was pretty ordinary. I don't mind paying for ambiance sometimes but it just wasn't worth the hassle. We had been there before for a previous anniversary and it was a completely different experience from the hostess to the food and the servers. That is why we went back. And why we were rather disappointed. I can't really recommend it except maybe downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I made reservation on OpenTable for 11:3 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

I made reservation on OpenTable for 11:30 on a Sunday only to be told that we could not eat because brunch was only served on the roof and there was no room on the roof. We left to eat elsewhere and it turned out the restaurant marked us as not having honored our reservation. Not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Just bad, we had a table right next to t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Just bad, we had a table right next to the kitchen. We had to flag down a server every time we needed something. Our medium rare steak was well done, then replaced it with rare one. We waited on things longer than we enjoyed. We where celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary . After all the miss happs they didn't attempt to do anything to make it right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Typical bar food, alongside a smattering ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Typical bar food, alongside a smattering of other comfort food options. Ambiance has an exciting vibe, with a lovely bar crowd. Dining room service is excellent - just the right amount of attention without being overbearing. Great staff and good location. Not as good as the rooftop, but does pretty well to hold its own.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We were not aware that Union Bar & Grill ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were not aware that Union Bar & Grill had changed the menu and became a casual restaurant with an emphasis on sandwiches and "bar food." Overall it was a mediocre menu and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

It was okay

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2016

We went to Union before the McCartney show so naturally it was busy, . With that said, the server, although friendly, took his sweet time taking our orders or checking on us. We were ready to order quite quickly but he still made us sit through and listen to the specials and recommendations that we didn't ask for. I get it, that's his job, but you have to read the situation too. The food took a very long time and was okay. I was told ahead of time there were Gluten-Free options for my son who has Celiac's, but it was very limited. I thought the best thing I tasted was the parmesan fries, which speaks for itself. I would try it again when they're not so busy, and I've heard the rooftop is great, but I would say it was underwhelming overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.