About Union Bar & Grill

Union Bar & Grill located on the first floor of Union Restaurant features top quality American fare and a variety of bar snacks, burgers, sandwiches, tons of TV's, bar games and more!

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 3pm – 10pm
Friday: 3pm - 2am
Saturday: 11am - 2am
Sunday: 11am - 10pm

***
Happy Hour:
Monday - Friday: 3pm - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11am - 6pm

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://www.unionmpls.com/

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $8 after 5 PM daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Court Parking Ramp

Executive Chef:
Kyle Darling

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 5:30PM 7:45PM - 10:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Union Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Special Occasion (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

It was fine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We do not recommend the Union Bar and Grill. Our server was highly inadequate. Half of our dinner order (two of four) were incorrect, and our waiter did not stop back to check on us. We had to flag him down to get the orders corrected. He then never returned to check in, inquire about whether we needed drink refills. Finally, another server noticed and took our order for drink refills. The food was marginal - many, many better choices nearby. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great service. Friendly staff! Would definitely go there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food. Great service. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My husband and I dropped our young adults off at a concert so we decided to eat downtown. Our college age daughter had mentioned that her friends said the Union bar and grill was good so we thought we'd give it a try. We were very pleased with our choice. Probably not a great place to take somebody who is irritated by noises, like elderly parents. But a whole lot of fun for everyone else!!! Good food, friendly staff, fun ambiance. I had there salmon with chili sauce. Yum!

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

First time at the Rooftop. We were a bit thrown off because we made a reservation at The Union and wanted to sit on the rooftop. Apparently, there are two Open Table sites and the Rooftop is separate. The host was kind, but made no promises that we could be seated up there. We took the elevator up to the roof. The hostess up there asked if we had a reservation (the place was packed). When we said we had made a reservation for downstairs thinking it was upstairs, she was very accommodating. We were seated in seconds and had a great meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This place has an awesome rooftop outdoor seating area. It's a must do at night if the weather is nice. We came for drinks and it was good....but they were out of mostly everything our group wanted. Anyway would highly recommend for the view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

What a fun, great place to eat. Upbeat vibe. Really generous portions for a good value. Nice variety of options for everyone. Good happy hour drink and appetizer specials.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Live Sports, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Passable food. Decent burgers and they do have some really decent fries but that's about where it ends. Some apps tasted like they came from Schwans (frozen and microwaved). Chicken wings that looked undercooked and overspiced. Way better options downtown.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 28, 2017

I was surprised how much Union had changed since I was there last. Previously, it was a more upscale restaurant with trendy food, craft cocktails, and a nice, lounge-ish area in the front. Apparently now it's more of a bar and grill. With high top tables and beer deal posters on the wall. Service wasn't great, but our server seemed to be new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great place for a nice long date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We were there for dinner before 4th of July fireworks. The hostess was great, very friendly and nice. We started off as a party of 3 for dinner, but 3 friends joined us for drinks. My burger was just meh, my onion rings were cold, and two of my friends drinks were messed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

A few very large parties really slowed things down for us. The wait staff was apologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I've been to the rooftop, which has great food and a great menu. The downstairs bar and grill, however, has terrible food. The menu has little variety and is limited, and our steak and salmon were both overcooked. I ordered a medium steak that came out well done. We ordered dessert that came out nothing like the description on the menu. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The rooftop was cramped and uncomfortable the servers were bumping into the table and the food was simply awful. Never knew vegtables could be brown and not green and still be served. Never again, I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Everything was amazing. Food was delicious. Lighting/area was cool. The only negative thing I have to say is the volume of the DJ was way too loud to be able to have a decent conversation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We love to stop in at Union whenever my daughter and I go to a show downtown. We have a relaxing lunch or dinner. The food is always good. We have had our same waiter Charles our last 2 visits with great friendly service. We should be back again when Aladdin comes to the Orpheum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

One server for the lower level and the hostess had to help with drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wanted a reservation for the rooftop and when I arrived was told that that the rooftop had a separate reservation. Settled for the downstairs restaurant. Was nice but not what I had planned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food. A bit crowded and very loud. It was not easy to hold a conversation with the person across the table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Do not sit downstairs (street level). Table seating in the bar area is, at best, a last ditch affair. Had reservations, but since we arrived early we were seated in the bar area. We figured this would be fine since we were not familiar with the place. My chair was bumped every few minutes by wait staff running carts of food downstairs to a private dining are. Two tables near the back of the bar (by the stairs) should never have been placed there. Terrible location guaranteed to be in the way.
The food was so-so. The steak was over cooked and lacked any seasoning. Green beans were cold and under cooked.
After our food, we were still brave and went upstairs for a drink. A much better atmosphere. Drinks were on the pricey side, but the open air deck on a warm spring evening made up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Thought we had booked a table upstairs on the rooftop. When we arrived, found out we had a reservation downstairs. They have a different menu and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were seated directly under the restaurant speaker system the night of the Kentucky Derby Party and the volume level was ridiculous...it was EXTREMELY LOUD! Like hurt my ears, instant headache loud during the race. After the race was over the volume did go down a bit but still too loud to carry on any kind of conversation.
Food was very good and so were the cocktails. Our server was excellent and location was perfect for where we needed to be. I loved the idea of Happy Hour on a Saturday.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Met expectations. In town for show. Had 5:45 reservations in bar. We were a few minutes late and they accommodated our request to move to roof top for dinner. Still was out and at show by 7:10. Service was good and food was good. Very convenient for attending orpheum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

It's a bummer that happy hour is not available on the rooftop. The food was good (everything was spicy - not unbearable but just a heads up for Minnesotans since they like their jalapeños). Server was friendly but would disappear and we wanted to leave and couldn't find her.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Super handy to get to the Orpheum Theater in time. I had the Asian Chicken salad, hold the chicken, since I'm a vegetarian. It was really good! I also had the truffle french fries which were probably the best truffle fries ever! Usually truffle fries are too skinny, like matchsticks, but these were thick cut and delicious!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I've been to the restaurant with reservations several times without an issue. This time we had to wait over 30 minutes to be seated. They offered us free appetizers to make it up to us. Then we were served quickly and made our Theater event without a problem. We all enjoyed our meals and will come again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was delicious from the burgers, to the flatbread pizzas to the pasta dishes. Our service was really great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Don't think you want my review as a major disappointment. We ran into someone who had eaten there recently and sort of indicated the food wasn't very good. I selected an "interesting" combination of a sandwich with mashed potatoes that ended up being part of the sandwich. Barely could eat it and wasn't sure how and had to ask for silverware to cut it and still just couldn't stomach it. We had to ask for our check which was only other time we saw the waitress. She seemed shocked that we would have to approach her for it.
Too many downtown places that are way way better and hospitable. Almost made us feel like it was our fault for "whatever". Companion said he did leave a tip but way short of his normal amount. I was disappointed ANY amount had been left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The chef was so cooperative! He made a special dish for our daughter , a vegetarian. He took a dish on the menu and completely remade it, and it tasted fabulous!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was fine for a pre-event dinner. The service seemed a bit rushed, but not overly so. The food was decent, but nothing to go out of one's way for.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My mother, daughter and I visited before seeing a matinee at the Orpheum Theater. The service was prompt, the food was really good and our server even offered to take a couple of pictures for us to commemorate the event! Very enjoyable!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a 6:30 reservation on the main floor. They had closed the main floor dining room for a private party and all that was available for reservations was the bar. We (2) checked in at 6:15 and were never called for a table. By moving a chair, we squeezed up to the bar and ate there. The bartender provided good service. Had an 8 o'clock show. Wouldn't have been able to eat if not for squeezing in at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My sister-in-law and I came for happy hour and dinner before we saw Wicked at the Orpheum. I was sat at 5:47 pm and a server didn't approach the table until 5:59. Luckily we got our order in before happy hour ended. They seemed either very short staffed, or very inattentive. The restaurant was busy for a Tuesday. We had the pepperoni flatbread, it was just fine. The buffalo wings could have been cooked a bit more to make them crispier. The wedge salad was delicious. Will return for value and rooftop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great for a quick meal before heading to the Orpheum. Food was good, happy hour pricing were even better. We'll stop in again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Date night before going to the theatre
Started with happy hour, ordered the Arancini risotto balls and BBQ chicken flat bread. Risotto balls were very good, but was underwhelmed by the BBQ chicken flat bread (which arrived luke warm at best) BBQ sauce overpowered the taste) Would have been nice if our waitress would have checked in with us 1 more time before HH ended, but she did not. Ordered the fish and chip entrée, very tasty and temperature was nice and hot

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This was a good place to grab happy hour with friends after work. Unforunately, due to an event in the area, it was extremely busy and the service was slow. Our waitress made up for the slow service by honoring happy hour prices a little after 6PM.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food - loved the variety of approachable menu items. Waiter was attentive and friendly. Great way to have a Sunday dinner with my family. Worth the trip from Eagan

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was a cluster. Some food upstairs - some downstairs - poor wait service. Hostess did not follow thru with my Open Table reservation. Table was cleared when went upstairs for food. Some food cold and poor quality.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fabulous food and great service. We really enjoyed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.