About Union Bar & Grill

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Union Bar & Grill located on the first floor of Union Restaurant features top quality American fare and a variety of bar snacks, burgers, sandwiches, tons of TV's, bar games and more!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 3pm-Midnight
Tuesday 3pm-Midnight
Wednesday 3pm-Midnight
Thursday 3pm-Midnight
Friday 3pm-2am
Saturday 11am-2am
Sunday 11am-Midnight

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://www.unionmpls.com/

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $8 after 5 PM daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Court Parking Ramp

Executive Chef:
Kyle Darling

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a private seated dinner or a cocktail reception, Union Bar & Grill can accommodate your needs. Sophisticated dinner, business meeting, holiday parties and rehearsal dinners...the versatility of Union Bar & Grill will help to make your event one to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Frechette: 8884229158

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN
  • Union Bar & Grill, Minneapolis, MN

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Union Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.6

ambience

3.3

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

66% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (17)
Casual (13)
Happy Hour (13)
See All
Quick Bite (9)
People Watching (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
74 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best hamburger in town. Wonderful Happy ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Best hamburger in town.

Wonderful Happy Hour appetizer offerings.

Great service.

Bathroom leaves a little to be desired!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I was in Mpls for the Art Garfunkel conc ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

I was in Mpls for the Art Garfunkel concert with my 2 daughters. The food was fine, not great. Our sever, Charles was attentive and friendly. The happy hour beer choices were extremely limited but ok overall. It was a nice time but not good enough to merit another visit.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Even with our reservation they sat us on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Even with our reservation they sat us on high top tables in the bar. Our waitress was very blunt and did not explain or give suggestions in regards to the email. I would plan on going back to give it a second chance but would definitely head upstairs to the rooftop and not within the bar & grill section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We were searching out venues for a groom ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were searching out venues for a grooms dinner and wile the rooftop appeared to be a nice space we went to the dining room to have dinner and I ordered the recommended steak. It was the worst steak I have ever tasted, it reminded me more of liver than steak and their bearnaise sauce recipe needs to be scrapped and overhauled. My wife ordered a burger which had good flavor but when she went to cut it in half in order to make it easier to eat, it is like it deflated and completely fell apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

My husband & I went here before the Wolv ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband & I went here before the Wolves game. The burger & fries were great perfect size not to big. My husband enjoyed the make your own mac & cheese. Overall great spot to grab a bite to eat before heading to a game.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Gentleman for the Valet parking was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The Gentleman for the Valet parking was so polite. Our waitress ,,the service was good. The food was not the best. Had a steak, was chewy, and not seasoned very well, especially for paying $20. The cheesecake we had you good tell it had been frozen, almost tasted after the freezer. Truly disappointed in overall experience. Will never go back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Hostess forgot about us, main was brough ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hostess forgot about us, main was brought out before appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We celebrated a New Year's supper with o ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated a New Year's supper with our 4 adult family members. The food was fun and the drinks were good. We had a pulled pork sandwich, fish & chips, mac & cheese w steak, philly steak sandwich, rueben sandwich, and flank steak.

The food was wonderful. We requested a GF menu, the challenge was; the menu only offered what not to order, it wasn't truely a GF menu. The pulled pork was chosen and was well recieved. It was nice to see on the menu that the fries were managed in GF oil.

Tags: Fun, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The wait staff was pleasant. I had the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The wait staff was pleasant.

I had the fish and chips which were grease laden and soggy.

Bright lights and big screen TVs positioned very high provided a confusing visual experience.

Best suited for the sports bar patron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

They have a good selection on their menu ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

They have a good selection on their menu and the venue is amazing. We were disappointed in the service as my steak came out cold and it took awhile to come out despite there not being a lot of people dining at our same time. We may give it another chance but will try a weekend night versus a weekday next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

I arrived and was promptly seated, about ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I arrived and was promptly seated, about 5:40 I sat for over 10 minutes before anyone greeted me. My friend arrived just around 6pm the server promptly took her drink order and vanished we ordered around 6:15. When my friends drink came (I had forgotten she ordered it) I looked at my watch and it was 6:20. Yes it took over 20 minutes for a traditional margarita from the bar, (of the let's say 40 seats around the bar 10 were occupied). We orders the pork dumplings as an appetizer they were pre bought frozen product. The internal temperature was still cold when served. She ordered the fish and chips, batter was way to thick fish itself was good. I had the steak frites the béarnaise sauce was thick and mustard like. The meat itself was cooked well but not well seasoned. Both dishes came with the "sidewinder fries" another pre bought frozen product that was not even cooked well the potatoes were hard. We paid and left went to another restaurant for dessert and drinks before the show. The rooftop is okay do not waste your money downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

I had the Mac & Cheese burger which was ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I had the Mac & Cheese burger which was delicious. The sidewinder fries are amazing! Our server was prompt and very friendly. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Better than average bar food. The atmosp ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Better than average bar food. The atmosphere was entirely sports bar. No seat couldn't see multiple TVs with sports on. The food was decent, some things better than others, none of it outstanding or memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place to grab a drink and a bite b ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place to grab a drink and a bite before a Timberwolves game.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Union Bar & ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was our first visit to Union Bar & Grill. We were going to the theatre that was within walking distance which was a bonus.

As for the food, we order an appetizer of onion rings which was very good. The main entres were not very good at all...Chicken Paremasan and Ribs. Chicken was very salty, pasta was not too bad, Ribs were not very good at all!! Meat was very tough!!

Delicious chocolate layered cake!

Not sure if I would return to the Union Bar & Grill when attending a local theatre.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Super loud, terrible service. They pack ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Super loud, terrible service. They pack as many people in as they can. Our table was bumped no less than 20 times by random people. Someone took my chair as we were leaving before I even had my coat on.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

The roof top is great! However, the bar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The roof top is great! However, the bar & grill lack the same attention to food, service and overall experience. Advise to only dine roof top.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Knew it was a weird night with the show ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Knew it was a weird night with the show going on at 1st Ave. Everything just seemed a bit off. Will definitely try again as many friends have recommended it, it was just underwhelming the first time

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

I had made a reservation for the Rooftop ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I had made a reservation for the Rooftop because I had read about it and seen photos in MSP Mag, but when we arrived we were told it was unavailable due to a private party. I felt I should have been told in advance, as we wanted a more formal atmosphere than the grill and its TVs and game tables. We were offered an appetizer for our disappointment, which was very kind. Food was just ok -- nothing special. Overall, I wasn't impressed. There are so many Mpls restaurants offering unique flavors and creative dishes that I am not likely to visit Union in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Very busy, but still provided faster tha ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very busy, but still provided faster than average service and better than average food/selections for a sports bar. Also, reasonable prices. Good, fun, and energetic sports bar atmosphere with a lot of screens throughout to view from any seat/table.

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Decent selection of beers, both local an ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Decent selection of beers, both local and national. Food was good, I had the Steak Frites and was excellent although the steak was on the smallish side for the money, it was cooked perfectly, the presentation was excellent and the frites very good. My wife had the fish and chips. Again, the preso was good, the chips excellent and the batter was good, but I think the fish was cooked in oil not hot enough since it was a little oily to taste and felt heavy. Beer was good, decorations of the place fantastic, ambiance was the best part. It was loud, but not overly so. Great place to take friends to just hang out downtown with a cold brew or one of their excellent sounding cocktails.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Dramatically understaffed (2 waiters for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Dramatically understaffed (2 waiters for the whole place!) for a place that was serving attendees of a sold out show next door at the State Theater. My wife ordered a turkey burger and it showed up pink. Sent it back, the replacement also showed up pink. Then we had to leave for the show so she didn't get to eat a full meal. They comped the burger and gave a free slice of cheesecake.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Get there for happy hour daily from 3-6p ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Get there for happy hour daily from 3-6pm and again for late night during the weekdays! We had a bunch of appetizers amongst the group for our meal pre-concert. Very loud on a Saturday evening!

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fast, friendly service. Good food at a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fast, friendly service. Good food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The spotlights shining directly into my ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The spotlights shining directly into my eyes made for a big headache. We were there before a Lynx game, it wasn't very busy. Had Pulled pork nachos which looked like a birds next and was dry and many of the chips were burnt. Also had the pork dumplings - they were very tasty. Not impressed by the cost associated with the beverages - nor that there wasn't a "tall" option for the beer I ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

We were initially seated at a table in a ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were initially seated at a table in an area that wouldn't even qualify as a place to eat. A weird corner of the place where they had stuck a high table, with absolutely no room to maneuver. I asked if there were any low tables in the main dining area. We were told there were none. But when I went to the restroom a few minutes later, there seemed to be plenty. Sure, I get it, probably reservations. But we had reservations too. It took about 20 minutes to get waited on, just for drinks. It took another 15-20 minutes to have our orders taken. The food arrived promptly. And it was cold. We never saw any wait staff again and had to get up and find someone to bring us our tab. But the food was mediocre, so it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

great place for good food, drinks - grea ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

great place for good food, drinks - great place for a family get together. Close to many different venues.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great! My server my extra ef ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was great! My server my extra effort into delivering the best birthday dinner experience!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated on the main floor. There ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were seated on the main floor. There was only one other table of people seated in our area the whole time we were there. The food was fair; the ambiance was nice. I can't remember what I ate; someone else in our party ordered the fish and chips and thought the batter was inedible. We had dessert, it was ok. Probably not somewhere I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We went to the Union Bar and Grill befor ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We went to the Union Bar and Grill before going to the Lion King play at the Orpheum. The location was perfect. We had made a reservation and were seated promptly. Our server was very nice and attentive. The food was excellent. We shared the wedge salad and some snacks. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Drinks were great. Very e ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was good. Drinks were great. Very energetic place.

Hostess was clueless (both bottom and rooftop). Kept sending us up and down.

Waiters were very nice and didn't keep pestering us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to be on the rooftop but with the sun out it was too hot. Wish there would have been some umbrellas but I know that takes up space.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A go to place that is always a joy - foo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2016

A go to place that is always a joy - food is always good the people make it great. The ownership keeps long term team members that we consider friends when we are there. Our favorite place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were quite disappointed with Union, u ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were quite disappointed with Union, unfortunately. We chose to have dinner & drinks here before seeing The Lion King at the Orpheum. We thought the drinks were incredibly overpriced for the quantity/value and the food was very disappointing. My husband had a steak, mashed potatoes, and green beans. He said the green beans were the best part as the steak was mediocre and quite chewy and his mashed potatoes were cold. I ordered the gnocchi and it was terribly oily and tasted mass-produced. Our server seemed quite pre-occupied and the woman working the pull-tab station tried to make conversation with us during our whole dinner, which was quite distracting. We do not plan to return and felt it was incredibly overpriced for the value. A very loud atmosphere as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

This place has really gone downhill. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

This place has really gone downhill. Their air conditioning barely works so we ate our dinner in a sweaty, hot restaurant. We were at a really small table near the kitchen. Not enough room to eat. Our drinks were messed up. And they even had pull tabs or some other gambling looking thing in the front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The hostess seem to busy to check us in ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The hostess seem to busy to check us in or acknowledge is when we walked in the front door. We decided not to wait and just head to where we thought our table and party were. Once we joined our party the waiter started out great getting us drinks checking in on food then toward the end of our dinner it felt like he disappeared and we waited for quiet a bit for our final check I can't remember if he checked in to see if our first couple of bits were good. It just felt like we were an after thought once our order was in. It felt like an average dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I booked a table through OpenTable and p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2016

I booked a table through OpenTable and put a special request for the rooftop area. When we arrived the host told us the rooftop area was closed for a private event. If they aren't going to allow seating there it would be nice to know before hand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I didn't know what to expect, but was di ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 19, 2016

I didn't know what to expect, but was disappointed. Bar tender made my martini with gin instead of vodka and even when the wait staff agreed, I was not offered a replacement. that was very confusing and disappointing. Really?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Happy place! Good food and good service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Happy place! Good food and good service at a good location and for a good price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow. Didn't have anyon ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was very slow. Didn't have anyone stop by our table for 15 minutes after being seated. During this time others were seated and served drinks. Our flatbreads did not have near the toppings as others we saw. True lack of consistency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.