Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Union Bar & Grill

3.8
223 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Good for a Date
  • Happy Hour
Union Bar & Grill located on the first floor of Union Restaurant features top quality American fare and a variety of bar snacks, burgers, sandwiches, tons of TV's, bar games and more!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - 3pm – 9pm
Thursday: 3pm – 10pm
Friday: 3pm - 2am
Saturday: 11am - 2am
Sunday: 11am - 9pm

***
Happy Hour:
Monday - Friday: 3pm - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: 11am - 6pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(612) 455-6690
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kyle Darling
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
-Valet Parking $8 after 5 PM daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Court Parking Ramp
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 223 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.7
food
3.7
service
3.5
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Server was great. Table location was good. Seemed like the hostess had a bit of an attitude even with a reservation. Food portions are huge. The tempura beans were more like a bean encased in a 1/2 inch of fried breading. The salmon was good. The chicken thighs were a bit salty. The house salad was good. The grilled apple and beets were good. Overall it was ok, but nothing I would repeat.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Extremely difficult to hold a conversation over the noise. Food was just OK. Good happy hour menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The food was delicious; the server was pleasant. Overall, we had a delightful time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We were here on a Sunday afternoon before a play and we got sat at a very crowded table next to the very loud DJ booth so it was hard to have conversation. It took us about 20 minutes to get a drink order in. I liked the idea of it, but it was just so busy and too loud. The food was good, but it is not very vegetarian or vegan friendly. My experience was okay, by I would like to come back a different time and try again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Dinner with six women and they all enjoyed. Thanks for a wonderful meal.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Unfortunately we were told they were out of menus and do to our time constant we need to order right away. The food took a long time to come out and our server seemed extremely overwhelmed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

BEST food and drinks I’ve have in a long time!!!! Mark was an amazing waiter! Very friendly and attentive. The other staff always had our waters filled and dishes cleared out. The atmosphere on the rooftop was exciting!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Waitress misheard when my friend said “well done” for “no bun.” Not a huge deal just had to wait a couple minutes for a new burger. However the big deal was when there was another person who brought out the burger with no bun. My friend was confused because my friend never asked for “no bun.” So my friend looked at her, she was about 50 year old Hispanic woman, and she said “um can I please have a bun?” As I said my friend confused so she politely asked for a bun like a normal person would like with a burger. She looks at my friend with the most annoyed face and scowls at me. Then looks back just to roll her eyes at my friend and our table. She said absolutely nothing to us but still could not have managed to be more rude and ruin our nights with her terrible service. We had a blonde waitress who wasn’t so bad but didn’t seem to care that she messed up the order and just said “oh this happens a lot.” Overall kind of made my birthday a mess.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wonderful! Everything was delicious and we had excellent service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I've been coming to the Union for their rooftop for a few years now and have always loved the place, however, I had yet to experience their food. We went on Mother's Day and were among the first group of people in the restaurant and it never got busy which is why we were surprised when 2 of the 5 food orders came out wrong. A server didn't return for almost 20 minutes and by that point our group ate the food that was brought to them. It tasted fine but would have been a better dining experience if our table received what we ordered or at least been checked on to make sure what we ordered was correct. Overall the food was good and the server was friendly. I would still recommend this place to a friend with the hopes this was a one-time-only incident.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

There food was mediocre at best. The salads we ordered were wilted and to much dressing. The entrees we ordered were the Surf and Turf. Asked for medium gave us 2 burnt pieces of meat. Horrible!!!!. Wanted to try a new place and got burned. Never again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Good food and good service. Perfect spot before our show at the Pantages.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 30, 2018

If you're looking for a casual dinner then this is your place. But for special occasions you might as well go somewhere else. I set up a reservation on Sunday for 7pm for rooftop dining to celebrate my wedding anniversary. When we arrived they sat us on a booth, we asked if there were any roof top seats available since we had booked a reservation. All they said was " Nope. They're all booked. Do you want this table or come back another day?!" We bought a couple drinks and left right away. WORST place to dine in by far, our night was ruined.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I showed the manager my Hennepin Theatre Subscriber card and asked what the offer was. She told me that there was no offer. I knew that I had received an offer on a previous visit but, couldn't remember what it was. I didn't want to argue, so accepted her answer. In checking the benefits page, it clearly shows that Union offers a free glass of wine with the subscriber card. It would be nice if the manager was aware of this!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our waiter got almost every item (food & drink) wrong. Could've been an off day, but he was not good at his job.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

While the food was good, the service was so bad I would never go back. My daughter had to go to the bar to get me a pop refill and it took over 40 mins to get french toast and an omelette. The manager did come over to talk to us though. Then when our waiter came back, all he said was it wasn’t his fault. Great people to hire.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Good place to have dinner prior to a show. Good happy hour, and food was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We didn't get to try the food or drinks at this restaurant. I had made a reservation for 4:30pm to eat here before the Timberwolves vs Rockets playoff game - I called ahead that day to let them know we were going to be about 10 minutes late for our reservation, at that time I was told the kitchen would be closing at 4:30 for a large party and food would not be available. When I mentioned I made a reservation and was just running late, they agreed to accommodate us so we went ahead on to the restaurant, however when we arrived, we were given a breakfast menu and told that's all they were serving. It was disappointing we weren't told this ahead of time when I called. We ended up leaving b/c beer and pancakes didn't sound good!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This is simply not a very good value. The food is of significantly lower quality than other restaurants on Hennepin Ave, and it does not offer a good deal for that food. If you go, it must be for the rooftop. The dining room is not worth it.

Essentially, I would rather go elsewhere on Hennepin Ave.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This is my go-to place if I'm seeing a show at the State Theater. Valet parking, good food, pleasant service, and convenient to the downtown theaters.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great location for dinner before events at the Target Center. Open atmosphere, good menu selections. We had the Minni-Apple Cristo and Classic Cheeseburger. Food came out quickly and was great! We initially were seated at a less desirable table (servers constantly using computer on wall right next to our chairs) and they graciously moved us to a better table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Waiter was very helpful. We did not order alcoholic beverages and I felt as though we didn't get the constant service the tables who were purchasing alcoholic beverages did.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Make sure to sit upstairs. Service was awesome everywhere!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Always downtown for concerts at least twice a month and haven't stopped into Union until last Saturday after our show at State Theater due to location. Had reservations for 7:30 and checked in at 7:20 pointing to my name. We were seated no issues. Slow service and waiter didn't seem real confident. Menus were disgustingly dirty. Ordered drinks and the Burrata cheese curds. Then ordered a couple entrees. The waiter then stated I will wait to put your order in because the cheese takes long time. We said fine in no hurry. Cheese came had a few bites then noticed the cheese was just barely warm on inside. Had a southwest burger and a pork sandwich weren't bad nothing spectacular. Heres the kicker got home and one of us got super sick out both ends and blamed the Burrata cheese curds. I said hmm I feel fine but I have iron stomach eat two week old leftovers no big deal. Then 3 hours later I was throwing my guts up was horrible. Great location service and food super weak. Seem to be relying on location. Way too many better options within 5 blocks. Won't be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Thought it would rise to the occasion. The appetizers were a joke, we ordered the calamari and buffalo chicken wings.
Calamari were resting on a green layer and not everything on the plate was calamari, few pieces were but the rest were covered with the same batter but they were little tomatoes, that was a cheater. The chicken wings were literally 3 real big chicken wings. We were expecting the small buffalo wings that you dip in blue cheese or something but we had to use the knife to cut it.
The main course was ok. I ordered the bread budding for my desert. I would have given it a good rating if they didn’t smothered it with Nutella, the bread was literally swimming in the Nutella
The experience was’t pleasant and the bill was a bit high for the quality of the food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The food and service was excellent, but the open industrial decor made it hard to hear due to resonant noise from the busy restaurant. Also, a minor thing but don't face the windows during sunset, the reflections off neighboring buildings will be blinding and the sun shades aren't opaque enough to block it out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Our food was excellent! Hot and didn't need to wait long at all. Drink were very good. Would highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The server was flirty with my boyfriend & his dad not okay.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I'd say the reservations around brunch are confusing. Brunch upstairs, but none down. The hosts were not very friendly, and seemed annoyed by people. The waitstaff downstairs were friendly, but underwhelming in terms of talking food.

I would say it was "fine"

Not bad, but nothing too special.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 23, 2018

30 minutes for the first drink. Food was so so.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Nice place except for the horrible sewer gas smell coming from the basement. When we told the manager about this, he blamed it on the air conditioner. When we left, the smell was definitely coming from the basement. This is not acceptable in a restaurant and possibly unsafe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The food was good. The only small issue was that the salmon had to be sent back to be cooked a little more.
Our waiter was pretty attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We were looking for a good place within walking distance from our downtown hotel, a Saturday evening and we had not considered needing reservations. Found this place searching the web. Was able to get a table on short notice. The staff was great and service was very expedient. Food was perfectly prepared and quickly presented. I will dine here again if I ever have that opportunity.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I went here for a date with my boyfriend Saturday night. Even at 5pm, it was PACKED. Thankfully we were still seated right away and our server was friendly and fast. It was really loud, with a 15 person line for the ladies room, and huge groups waiting by the door, but besides that we had a great night. Our food was delicious as well. If you don’t mind a busy place, I would highly recommend for a fun night out. The mojitos were awesome.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The Union Bar and Grill was a great place for a dad (me) and a 6 year old (my son) at 6:15. My son liked his mac and cheese and the steak and shrimp was excellent for me. This place would be good for any pre-non-formal event meal downtown Minneapolis. Reasonable prices, great location and decent ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great service...great food. Location is good for grabbing a bite before going to one of the entertainment establishments up and down Hennepin. We went before a show at the Orpheum—just a couple blocks down.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Great vibe and service, unfortunately the food was only okay. Would go back for happy hour again and stick to the appetizers

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 6, 2018

Service was for the most part fairly prompt. Noisy bar/scene setting. Food was good. Price was on par with similar venues.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The Waiter was rude, slow and continues to bring the wrong items after we ordered them.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The food was delicious and the restaurant itself was very nice and classy. However the serving staff took a very long time to get our checks and then to run our cards. It took almost 45 minutes after we were done eating, and eventually we had to call her over. I would dine here again, but would like the service to be improved.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6

Tweets by Union Bar & Grill