About Union Bar & Grill

Union Bar & Grill located on the first floor of Union Restaurant features top quality American fare and a variety of bar snacks, burgers, sandwiches, tons of TV's, bar games and more!

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 3pm-Midnight
Tuesday 3pm-Midnight
Wednesday 3pm-Midnight
Thursday 3pm-Midnight
Friday 3pm-2am
Saturday 11am-2am
Sunday 11am-Midnight

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://www.unionmpls.com/

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $8 after 5 PM daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Court Parking Ramp

Executive Chef:
Kyle Darling

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a private seated dinner or a cocktail reception, Union Bar & Grill can accommodate your needs. Sophisticated dinner, business meeting, holiday parties and rehearsal dinners...the versatility of Union Bar & Grill will help to make your event one to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Frechette: (888) 422-9158

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Union Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.9

ambience

3.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Casual (9)
See All
Fun (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Good for Groups (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Live Sports (5)
Great Beer (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (2)
Tapas (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Romantic (1)
Dancing (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great, loved the food, great place to go and enjoy drinks, food, or both!
Lively and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Bar and Grill are decorated with a minimalist in mind. Industrial feel. Staff was distracted with internal demands so did not get much attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The wiatress took us wait for 25 minute because we feel that we are not proity to them because we are DEAF. This is same pattern.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was marginal, nothing special. We had the black and blue burger and it was very dry and no flavor; The potato twisters were good but only lukewarm. We had the onion rings and they were really greasy and the barbecued pulled pork but the barbecue sauce was really sweet. Our waitress, Angelina was awesome! She made my hubby's birthday really special- because our food was so marginal, she gave him a piece of chocolate cake with a beautiful firecracker candle!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Definitely a fun place to go to with family our friends, the service and food is amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good Food, Great Service. Very enjoyable experience

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Maybe the rooftop or downstairs are exciting. The main dining level was a disappointment. Not the union I remembered.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waitress was great, the food was grand. The rooftop was overcrowded though, with tiny tiny tables all set up in a row. I had to apologize to my date several times because I was embarassed about how they crammed us in like sardines. I made a reservation for a table by the window two weeks before hand and they lost the reservation and gave us a 2 x 2 table next to the rest room, and where the wait staff was going in and out. We couldn't even hear eachother talk. Never again on Valentine's Day. They tried to make it special with giving each guest a rose, which I will give them credit for. Also the waitress, like I said, was amazing but youd expect them to consider size and breathing room way more than they did. They set it up ahead to cram people in, and that's exactly what they did. The couple next to us had they're table literally 1 foot apart from ours - now picture being surrounded by that on all 4 sides for about 7 rows and 4 columns.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was a disappointing visit. It was our first time to Union Bar & Grill. Service was fine other than conflicting information about whether they were having happy hour from 3-6pm as posted. Despite it being 5:30pm, ultimately we were told there was no happy hour. More importantly to us, the food was mediocre. The ceasar salad was plain, the chicken in the pesto chicken was rubbery, and the toppings on the flat bread pizza were skimpy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great spot to go before a performance at the Orpheum!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Good food, very reasonable prices. Gets really busy, even during the week. Can be loud if it is packed. The fish and chips was very light and not greasy. I don't care for oily or greasy food, and the fish and chips was wonderful.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall my experience at Union Rooftop was good. The hostess and the waiters were friendly and the food came out quickly. I would go back, but would recommend sitting on the rooftop rather than downstairs.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a wonderful, friendly waiter who was aare we ha tikets fr aa cert. Faast, friendly serve!

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wait staff was very attentive and had no problem splitting the check however the food was lackluster. Ordered three appetizers/small plates to share and didn't feel any were particularly good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Can understand why the 1000 points. Not going to return.

Service was terrible. Wait staff must be understaffed. Too long to put in am order for drinks, waited, waited. Asked manager, waited.

Food is OK, nothing special.

Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was not Good. In Downtown Minneapolis you can get much better food for the same price. If you are going to play the games or as an area to hangout for happy hour this will work if you go for the food you will be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I thought our waitress was very nice and our food was very good. I loved everything except the seating we got for a reservation wasn't great--we couldn't all see each other and the noise level was extremely loud. Other than that I would absolutely go again

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Spicy, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great location. Went with my daughter before a show at First Avenue. Had reservations but we were early and the hostess was able to seat us early. It was a little loud and crowded but the service was quick and the food was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went to Union prior to show at Target Center. Union is one of the few restaurants in the area that take reservations - which is nice when you have a show to get to. We were even delayed from our reservation time due to traffic. I called to let them know we would be late, and when we arrived our table was still ready! No stress involved as a pre-show drink and meal!

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best hamburger in town.
Wonderful Happy Hour appetizer offerings.
Great service.

Bathroom leaves a little to be desired!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I was in Mpls for the Art Garfunkel concert with my 2 daughters. The food was fine, not great. Our sever, Charles was attentive and friendly. The happy hour beer choices were extremely limited but ok overall. It was a nice time but not good enough to merit another visit.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Even with our reservation they sat us on high top tables in the bar. Our waitress was very blunt and did not explain or give suggestions in regards to the email. I would plan on going back to give it a second chance but would definitely head upstairs to the rooftop and not within the bar & grill section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were searching out venues for a grooms dinner and wile the rooftop appeared to be a nice space we went to the dining room to have dinner and I ordered the recommended steak. It was the worst steak I have ever tasted, it reminded me more of liver than steak and their bearnaise sauce recipe needs to be scrapped and overhauled. My wife ordered a burger which had good flavor but when she went to cut it in half in order to make it easier to eat, it is like it deflated and completely fell apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband & I went here before the Wolves game. The burger & fries were great perfect size not to big. My husband enjoyed the make your own mac & cheese. Overall great spot to grab a bite to eat before heading to a game.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The Gentleman for the Valet parking was so polite. Our waitress ,,the service was good. The food was not the best. Had a steak, was chewy, and not seasoned very well, especially for paying $20. The cheesecake we had you good tell it had been frozen, almost tasted after the freezer. Truly disappointed in overall experience. Will never go back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Hostess forgot about us, main was brought out before appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We celebrated a New Year's supper with our 4 adult family members. The food was fun and the drinks were good. We had a pulled pork sandwich, fish & chips, mac & cheese w steak, philly steak sandwich, rueben sandwich, and flank steak.

The food was wonderful. We requested a GF menu, the challenge was; the menu only offered what not to order, it wasn't truely a GF menu. The pulled pork was chosen and was well recieved. It was nice to see on the menu that the fries were managed in GF oil.

Tags: Fun, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The wait staff was pleasant.

I had the fish and chips which were grease laden and soggy.

Bright lights and big screen TVs positioned very high provided a confusing visual experience.

Best suited for the sports bar patron.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

They have a good selection on their menu and the venue is amazing. We were disappointed in the service as my steak came out cold and it took awhile to come out despite there not being a lot of people dining at our same time. We may give it another chance but will try a weekend night versus a weekday next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I arrived and was promptly seated, about 5:40 I sat for over 10 minutes before anyone greeted me. My friend arrived just around 6pm the server promptly took her drink order and vanished we ordered around 6:15. When my friends drink came (I had forgotten she ordered it) I looked at my watch and it was 6:20. Yes it took over 20 minutes for a traditional margarita from the bar, (of the let's say 40 seats around the bar 10 were occupied). We orders the pork dumplings as an appetizer they were pre bought frozen product. The internal temperature was still cold when served. She ordered the fish and chips, batter was way to thick fish itself was good. I had the steak frites the béarnaise sauce was thick and mustard like. The meat itself was cooked well but not well seasoned. Both dishes came with the "sidewinder fries" another pre bought frozen product that was not even cooked well the potatoes were hard. We paid and left went to another restaurant for dessert and drinks before the show. The rooftop is okay do not waste your money downstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I had the Mac & Cheese burger which was delicious. The sidewinder fries are amazing! Our server was prompt and very friendly. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Better than average bar food. The atmosphere was entirely sports bar. No seat couldn't see multiple TVs with sports on. The food was decent, some things better than others, none of it outstanding or memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great place to grab a drink and a bite before a Timberwolves game.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was our first visit to Union Bar & Grill. We were going to the theatre that was within walking distance which was a bonus.
As for the food, we order an appetizer of onion rings which was very good. The main entres were not very good at all...Chicken Paremasan and Ribs. Chicken was very salty, pasta was not too bad, Ribs were not very good at all!! Meat was very tough!!
Delicious chocolate layered cake!
Not sure if I would return to the Union Bar & Grill when attending a local theatre.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Super loud, terrible service. They pack as many people in as they can. Our table was bumped no less than 20 times by random people. Someone took my chair as we were leaving before I even had my coat on.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The roof top is great! However, the bar & grill lack the same attention to food, service and overall experience. Advise to only dine roof top.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Knew it was a weird night with the show going on at 1st Ave. Everything just seemed a bit off. Will definitely try again as many friends have recommended it, it was just underwhelming the first time

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I had made a reservation for the Rooftop because I had read about it and seen photos in MSP Mag, but when we arrived we were told it was unavailable due to a private party. I felt I should have been told in advance, as we wanted a more formal atmosphere than the grill and its TVs and game tables. We were offered an appetizer for our disappointment, which was very kind. Food was just ok -- nothing special. Overall, I wasn't impressed. There are so many Mpls restaurants offering unique flavors and creative dishes that I am not likely to visit Union in the future.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very busy, but still provided faster than average service and better than average food/selections for a sports bar. Also, reasonable prices. Good, fun, and energetic sports bar atmosphere with a lot of screens throughout to view from any seat/table.

Tags: Great Beer, Quick Bite, Live Sports, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Decent selection of beers, both local and national. Food was good, I had the Steak Frites and was excellent although the steak was on the smallish side for the money, it was cooked perfectly, the presentation was excellent and the frites very good. My wife had the fish and chips. Again, the preso was good, the chips excellent and the batter was good, but I think the fish was cooked in oil not hot enough since it was a little oily to taste and felt heavy. Beer was good, decorations of the place fantastic, ambiance was the best part. It was loud, but not overly so. Great place to take friends to just hang out downtown with a cold brew or one of their excellent sounding cocktails.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.