About Union Bar & Grill

Union Bar & Grill located on the first floor of Union Restaurant features top quality American fare and a variety of bar snacks, burgers, sandwiches, tons of TV's, bar games and more!

731 Hennepin Ave
Minneapolis, MN 55402
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday 3pm-Midnight
Tuesday 3pm-Midnight
Wednesday 3pm-Midnight
Thursday 3pm-Midnight
Friday 3pm-2am
Saturday 11am-2am
Sunday 11am-Midnight

Cross Street:
8th Street and Hennepin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(612) 455-6690

Website:
http://www.unionmpls.com/

Parking Details:
-Valet Parking $8 after 5 PM daily
-Self parking $5 with voucher at Macy's (Park & Shop) or LaSalle Court Parking Ramp

Executive Chef:
Kyle Darling

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a private seated dinner or a cocktail reception, Union Bar & Grill can accommodate your needs. Sophisticated dinner, business meeting, holiday parties and rehearsal dinners...the versatility of Union Bar & Grill will help to make your event one to remember!

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Frechette: (888) 422-9158

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Union Bar & Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

3.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (18)
Casual (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
See All
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Scenic View (8)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Live Sports (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Music (2)
Romantic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
108 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

The chef was so cooperative! He made a special dish for our daughter , a vegetarian. He took a dish on the menu and completely remade it, and it tasted fabulous!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

It was fine for a pre-event dinner. The service seemed a bit rushed, but not overly so. The food was decent, but nothing to go out of one's way for.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

My mother, daughter and I visited before seeing a matinee at the Orpheum Theater. The service was prompt, the food was really good and our server even offered to take a couple of pictures for us to commemorate the event! Very enjoyable!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a 6:30 reservation on the main floor. They had closed the main floor dining room for a private party and all that was available for reservations was the bar. We (2) checked in at 6:15 and were never called for a table. By moving a chair, we squeezed up to the bar and ate there. The bartender provided good service. Had an 8 o'clock show. Wouldn't have been able to eat if not for squeezing in at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

My sister-in-law and I came for happy hour and dinner before we saw Wicked at the Orpheum. I was sat at 5:47 pm and a server didn't approach the table until 5:59. Luckily we got our order in before happy hour ended. They seemed either very short staffed, or very inattentive. The restaurant was busy for a Tuesday. We had the pepperoni flatbread, it was just fine. The buffalo wings could have been cooked a bit more to make them crispier. The wedge salad was delicious. Will return for value and rooftop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Great for a quick meal before heading to the Orpheum. Food was good, happy hour pricing were even better. We'll stop in again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Date night before going to the theatre
Started with happy hour, ordered the Arancini risotto balls and BBQ chicken flat bread. Risotto balls were very good, but was underwhelmed by the BBQ chicken flat bread (which arrived luke warm at best) BBQ sauce overpowered the taste) Would have been nice if our waitress would have checked in with us 1 more time before HH ended, but she did not. Ordered the fish and chip entrée, very tasty and temperature was nice and hot

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

This was a good place to grab happy hour with friends after work. Unforunately, due to an event in the area, it was extremely busy and the service was slow. Our waitress made up for the slow service by honoring happy hour prices a little after 6PM.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food - loved the variety of approachable menu items. Waiter was attentive and friendly. Great way to have a Sunday dinner with my family. Worth the trip from Eagan

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was a cluster. Some food upstairs - some downstairs - poor wait service. Hostess did not follow thru with my Open Table reservation. Table was cleared when went upstairs for food. Some food cold and poor quality.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fabulous food and great service. We really enjoyed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I've always received great service. I love the food. Perfect place to meet up for drinks/food before attending events at Target Center.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

They had my reservation incorrect due to "computer issues". Instead of 5 people, they had us down for 2. I would call to make reservations at Union if I go back. They were able to accommodate us, thankfully.

Food and drinks were good, location is best part of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome place for before concert appetizers and drinks. Extensive happy hour food and drink choices. Very friendly staff!

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not at all impressed. The best part was service and that was mediocre at best...suprising

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was great, loved the food, great place to go and enjoy drinks, food, or both!
Lively and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Bar and Grill are decorated with a minimalist in mind. Industrial feel. Staff was distracted with internal demands so did not get much attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The wiatress took us wait for 25 minute because we feel that we are not proity to them because we are DEAF. This is same pattern.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was marginal, nothing special. We had the black and blue burger and it was very dry and no flavor; The potato twisters were good but only lukewarm. We had the onion rings and they were really greasy and the barbecued pulled pork but the barbecue sauce was really sweet. Our waitress, Angelina was awesome! She made my hubby's birthday really special- because our food was so marginal, she gave him a piece of chocolate cake with a beautiful firecracker candle!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Definitely a fun place to go to with family our friends, the service and food is amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good Food, Great Service. Very enjoyable experience

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Maybe the rooftop or downstairs are exciting. The main dining level was a disappointment. Not the union I remembered.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The waitress was great, the food was grand. The rooftop was overcrowded though, with tiny tiny tables all set up in a row. I had to apologize to my date several times because I was embarassed about how they crammed us in like sardines. I made a reservation for a table by the window two weeks before hand and they lost the reservation and gave us a 2 x 2 table next to the rest room, and where the wait staff was going in and out. We couldn't even hear eachother talk. Never again on Valentine's Day. They tried to make it special with giving each guest a rose, which I will give them credit for. Also the waitress, like I said, was amazing but youd expect them to consider size and breathing room way more than they did. They set it up ahead to cram people in, and that's exactly what they did. The couple next to us had they're table literally 1 foot apart from ours - now picture being surrounded by that on all 4 sides for about 7 rows and 4 columns.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was a disappointing visit. It was our first time to Union Bar & Grill. Service was fine other than conflicting information about whether they were having happy hour from 3-6pm as posted. Despite it being 5:30pm, ultimately we were told there was no happy hour. More importantly to us, the food was mediocre. The ceasar salad was plain, the chicken in the pesto chicken was rubbery, and the toppings on the flat bread pizza were skimpy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great spot to go before a performance at the Orpheum!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Good food, very reasonable prices. Gets really busy, even during the week. Can be loud if it is packed. The fish and chips was very light and not greasy. I don't care for oily or greasy food, and the fish and chips was wonderful.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall my experience at Union Rooftop was good. The hostess and the waiters were friendly and the food came out quickly. I would go back, but would recommend sitting on the rooftop rather than downstairs.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a wonderful, friendly waiter who was aare we ha tikets fr aa cert. Faast, friendly serve!

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wait staff was very attentive and had no problem splitting the check however the food was lackluster. Ordered three appetizers/small plates to share and didn't feel any were particularly good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Can understand why the 1000 points. Not going to return.

Service was terrible. Wait staff must be understaffed. Too long to put in am order for drinks, waited, waited. Asked manager, waited.

Food is OK, nothing special.

Do not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was not Good. In Downtown Minneapolis you can get much better food for the same price. If you are going to play the games or as an area to hangout for happy hour this will work if you go for the food you will be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I thought our waitress was very nice and our food was very good. I loved everything except the seating we got for a reservation wasn't great--we couldn't all see each other and the noise level was extremely loud. Other than that I would absolutely go again

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Spicy, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great location. Went with my daughter before a show at First Avenue. Had reservations but we were early and the hostess was able to seat us early. It was a little loud and crowded but the service was quick and the food was very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went to Union prior to show at Target Center. Union is one of the few restaurants in the area that take reservations - which is nice when you have a show to get to. We were even delayed from our reservation time due to traffic. I called to let them know we would be late, and when we arrived our table was still ready! No stress involved as a pre-show drink and meal!

Tags: Tapas, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best hamburger in town.
Wonderful Happy Hour appetizer offerings.
Great service.

Bathroom leaves a little to be desired!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I was in Mpls for the Art Garfunkel concert with my 2 daughters. The food was fine, not great. Our sever, Charles was attentive and friendly. The happy hour beer choices were extremely limited but ok overall. It was a nice time but not good enough to merit another visit.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Even with our reservation they sat us on high top tables in the bar. Our waitress was very blunt and did not explain or give suggestions in regards to the email. I would plan on going back to give it a second chance but would definitely head upstairs to the rooftop and not within the bar & grill section.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were searching out venues for a grooms dinner and wile the rooftop appeared to be a nice space we went to the dining room to have dinner and I ordered the recommended steak. It was the worst steak I have ever tasted, it reminded me more of liver than steak and their bearnaise sauce recipe needs to be scrapped and overhauled. My wife ordered a burger which had good flavor but when she went to cut it in half in order to make it easier to eat, it is like it deflated and completely fell apart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband & I went here before the Wolves game. The burger & fries were great perfect size not to big. My husband enjoyed the make your own mac & cheese. Overall great spot to grab a bite to eat before heading to a game.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The Gentleman for the Valet parking was so polite. Our waitress ,,the service was good. The food was not the best. Had a steak, was chewy, and not seasoned very well, especially for paying $20. The cheesecake we had you good tell it had been frozen, almost tasted after the freezer. Truly disappointed in overall experience. Will never go back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.