About Union 50

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Indiana
Fit for Foodies
Indiana
American
Indiana
4 More
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Fit for Foodies
Indianapolis
American
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Fit for Foodies (130)
Hot Spot (88)
Special Occasion (85)
See All
Good for Groups (76)
Vibrant Bar Scene (73)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (30)
Modern Decor (28)
Good for a Date (24)
Late-night Find (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Live Music (14)
Fun (13)
Business Meals (11)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
People Watching (8)
Great Beer (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tapas (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great, great, great restaurant! Came he ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great, great, great restaurant! Came here for my sister's bachelorette party and it was the perfect place to go. The noise level is moderate so we didn't have to worry about disrupting people with our party of nine. The service was spectacular and the food was amazing. They even allowed me to order champaign and appetizers days before hand to have ready shortly after we were sat. An all around great experience and I will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with this gem ! The only n ...

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Very pleased with this gem ! The only negative is that the seats outside are metal and not comfortable . They should put a cool cushion on them so you can sit and enjoy what they have done. A wine flight would also be appreciated. I wanted to try more than the bottle we settle on.

Our server was very attentive to our requests.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went on a recommendation and were ple ...

 
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We went on a recommendation and were pleasantly surprised. Great drinks and fabulous food! Will go back and recommend to others!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bacon wrapped dates were fantastic a ...

 
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The bacon wrapped dates were fantastic and the salmon was the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to share plates. Spectacul ...

 
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great place to share plates. Spectacular presentation and excellent service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit, and we will g ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our second visit, and we will go back often! Any excuse we can find...

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved dinner at Union 50 - delicious! ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We loved dinner at Union 50 - delicious! My pork chop was superb!!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited Union 50 without any knowledg ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We visited Union 50 without any knowledge of the restaurant. We were thrilled with everything -- food, service, drinks and ambiance exceeding expectations.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kitchen was pretty much mailing it in on ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Kitchen was pretty much mailing it in on a recent weeknight visit. Sent out old skate smelling of ammonia which was pretty much unforgivable to my dining companion, a chef herself. It was sent back. On the good side, burrata was excellent and recommended. After sending back the skate, the waiter noted it would be taken off the menu, but upon reviewing the tab it wasn't, so points off for that, though don't want to be too harsh there. Pleasant cocktails. Don't think I would return except maybe for cocktails and a bar nosh of the burrata.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The food is innovative, fresh, and delic ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food is innovative, fresh, and delicious. We enjoyed sharing small plates as appetizers, followed by individual entrees. The service was excellent- some of the best in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there and loved it. Will defi ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time there and loved it. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place.

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was excellent as was the service. C ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Meal was excellent as was the service. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tremendous addition to the Cunningham li ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Tremendous addition to the Cunningham line-up in Indy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a solid choice for dinner and dri ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always a solid choice for dinner and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal and service. Food is exc ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful meal and service. Food is exceptional. Great place to people watch.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! Just Great! They accommodated u ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great! Just Great! They accommodated us for live music and all of our special requests! Big Thanks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had wanted to go to Union ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My wife and I had wanted to go to Union 50 for a while and chose our anniversary as the occasion. Everything was excellent from the drinks to the food to the waitress. I would recommend Union 50 to everyone and look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's a bit pricy for what you get. The ' ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

It's a bit pricy for what you get. The 'grand' courses are not grand and are a little small to be honest. 29 dollars for a piece of steak and a few veg feels a bit steep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Really interesting menu. Taxman Brewery ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Really interesting menu. Taxman Brewery specialty beer AWESOME! Food was great.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal with friends during Devour! F ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great meal with friends during Devour! First time eating there--sat outside and it was perfect!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Organic, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried the Devour menu and we're happy ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We tried the Devour menu and we're happy with almost everything we got.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot for dinner and drinks. The fo ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great spot for dinner and drinks. The food was superb and the cocktails and beer selection were excellent.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kudos goes out to server, Courtney, her ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Kudos goes out to server, Courtney, her menu wrap was under 2 minutes which I love she hit all the points starting with the bar menu. She even came back with a wonderful recommendation a Mezcal, I did not indulge on that libation but went with my Scotch. Her coursing was on point. The kitchen made spectacular presentation with each course. The flavors were dynamic. I still cannot believe how many people do not try the bone marrow. Thank you again for a terrific dinner.

Regards,

Michael

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Union 50 amd it was great! ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time at Union 50 amd it was great! Awesome vibe! Great food and service!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great combo of energetic music and quiet ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great combo of energetic music and quiet deck. Although the music should start sooner! 10:45 was too late.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Really good food and service. The locati ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Really good food and service. The location is great also, perfect for walking to dinner after work or a downtown event. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great staff, excellent drinks

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great staff, excellent drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

If you're interested in trying different ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

If you're interested in trying different, delicious, modern cuisine, you will love this place. Be open to trying new things! We Kimchee meatloaf and it was fantastic. Highly recommend.

Tags: Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Healthy, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service is amazing! We've been ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food and service is amazing! We've been twice and have not been disappointed!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Union 50 twice and both ex ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We've been to Union 50 twice and both experiences were great! The food is excellent and the service is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was outstanding. Food couldn't ha ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Server was outstanding. Food couldn't have been better. Enjoyed the atmosphere however I don't think I would consider this restaurant if I was looking for quiet intimate conversation The music was so much better than the standard restaurant quality entertainment. Even the gentleman at valet parking was warm and personable. Every employee was welcoming and congenial. We will most definitely be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

What I love about Union 50 is their abil ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

What I love about Union 50 is their ability to elevate simple foods; I.e the wood-fired mushrooms, the shrimp and grits, French fries and their signature sauces. I am always happy with the food. The space is filled with modern decor, an awesome bar and plenty of tables, inside and out. My one complaint is the noise level due to how tall the ceilings are, it's very difficult to have an enjoyable conversation with just those at your table. With that said, I wouldn't recommend it for a first date if you're trying to get to know someone or for any special occasions during which you'll be toasting others or talking a lot. They do have a few private areas for bigger parties which is nice. I'd love to see them keep some signature items on the menu but switch it up more, let the chef make some decisions using seasonal ingredients. After all, you can get shrimp and grits and fries anywhere, but it's the experience and the care that goes into the food that helps Union 50 exceed it's competition.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our group of four arrived early Sunday e ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our group of four arrived early Sunday evening. We chose to be seated inside the dining hall, across from the bar. Our server made sure we had plenty of water and was personable.

We started off with some of the smaller plates and an order of Artisan Bread (not complimentary, but very affordably priced). The Sticky Chicken Wings were very tasty!

We also shared a plate of Medjool Dates. The dates were stuffed with Tequila spiked chorizo, and wrapped in bacon. I really liked the combination of flavors.

The order of Mushrooms was larger than expected. The potato-bacon terrine was nestled atop a tangle of mushrooms, with pea shoots and romesco sauce.

For our entrees, I ordered the Duck, one ordered Shrimp & Grits, and the others ordered the Pork Chops.

I liked the flavor of the Duck. I liked the side component flavors more than the actual duck breast itself. The breast was overcooked and slightly dry. The rest of the ingredients were wonderful, including the asparagus side.

The two who ordered the pork chops had differing opinions of their meals. Our friend seemed to enjoy the chop. My wife, who does not handle spicy heat, thought the seasoning on the potato was too strong and she struggled with finishing the meal. Our friend was able to pair the chop with some of the other flavors more successfully, but still thought he would prefer to try something else the next time he dined here.

To wrap up the evening, we ordered two of the desserts: chocolates and a "Decadent" Chocolate Cake that came with vanilla ice cream . We got nine pieces of chocolate and a creamy mousse for $8. Good flavors, but lacking a Wow factor. Same for the Decadent Cake. Comments were that it was much like a brownie with ice cream. Pretty standard and relatively small portion for another $8.

Like many of the avant garde restaurants in town, you have to roll the dice (and sometimes use a dictionary) to figure out what to order.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

All in all. A good to great experience . ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

All in all. A good to great experience . Initial contact with the bar staff while we waited for our table required some patience. I stood there for quite some time before being achnowedged . Then Waited to pay after finally getting (4) drinks. Didn't notice any mngt. Working The floor. But kitchen and server execute quite well.. Will be back .craig

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cunningham does it again with another tw ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Cunningham does it again with another twist to his winning formula.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with friends we had visiting from o ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went with friends we had visiting from out of town. Had a wonderful meal and the service was top notch. Mussels were excellent, and the KimChi meatloaf was also very good. We will return again for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, beautiful presentations ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic food, beautiful presentations and outstanding service. Daniel was our waiter and he was great! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner. Excellent dri ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. Excellent drink/wine choices, and both the pork chop and filet were perfectly grilled. Great music and friendly service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was an excellent combination of fla ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was an excellent combination of flavors/tastes. So good! Staff was great. Will be back!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.