Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Union 50

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (80)
Good for a Date (74)
Creative Cuisine (73)
See All
Special Occasion (58)
Bar Seating (58)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Live Music (53)
Handcrafted Cocktails (50)
Hot Spot (44)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Fun (42)
Good for Groups (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Casual (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Local Ingredients (29)
People Watching (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Modern Decor (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Business Meals (27)
Romantic (26)
Late-night Find (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great Beer (23)
Tasting Menu (23)
Happy Hour (20)
Authentic (19)
Tapas (18)
Open Kitchen (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Seasonal (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (10)
Wood Oven (7)
Live Sports (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Organic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (2)
Spicy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
922 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 hours ago

Took some local folks here based on a recommendation along with some clients- wonderful food, great venue. The locals will be back for sure and I will continue to take clients in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic recommendations by the waiter. Excellent wine, cheese and meat plate followed by a dreamy salmon dish. Will be back when I'm in Indy again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

First time eating here. Excellent service. Dishes were phenomenal! Delicious! Noise level is low and allows for conversation. We had the beef tenderloin...tasty and tender.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great looking restaurant, I loved the setting. Food was delicious and the beer was great too. Wait staff was good, slow that evening with getting the drinks out though we weren't in any hurry. Only negative was portion size. I imagined the 'grande' size dishes would have a little bit more, as everyone in my party was still hungry after our meal so we got ice cream elsewhere after.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

As always a fantastic experience! The food was incredible as well as the service! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This spot never fails to deliver on great food and service!
If you go, you MUST have the chowder!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This a great little place in a really nice neighborhood! It is comfortable, modern, and food & service were fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Pre-wedding celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very nice place to spend an evening with a loved one. Good service; however, our waiter came back to check on us about every 5 min..whuch was a drag on our intimate evening. A little bit pricey in my opinion. 3.5 stars out of 5.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nice spot in Indianapolis. Food and service was good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

they were very accommodating in adjusting ingredients for my vegan diet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Indianapolis. Food is always interesting, creative and delicious. Service is great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A great find just off of Mass Ave. Convenient parking on the street leading up to it, although the front door is a little hard to find since it's located in a back alley.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Incredible service, incredible food! Created an extremely wonderful atmosphere . We will be back hopefully very soon!

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food open late worth the trip downtown.The Snapper we had was awesome. But the portions was a little small. The service wasn't bad just not good low end bar and grill . The bar area was nice well thought out.They hit the nail on the head. The main dinning not at the same level. I wouldn't recommend it for a intimate celebration or romantic date. They need a couple of tables tucked away in a corner. A simple white tablecloth would help without making it feel stuffy. I'm just thinking of what I would call a great restaurant with a bar in Chicago or Dallas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We brought our in-laws and two young kids for dinner. We were sat at a very large table in a smaller room. It was nice for the kids but it was a bit awkward for service because the servers were unable to reach us. All of the adults chose a cocktail from the menu and they were all quite good and not too sweet. We tried two different types of fries with all the dipping sauces. The fries were ok. I prefer mine smaller and more crisp. The sticky chicken wings and the baby kale salad were very good. We had two fish entrees - red snapper and halibut- these were cooked very well and the vegetable accompaniments were delightful. We also tried the carrot cake which was one of the best I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 8, 2017

What a great place! My wife and I go here as often as possible because of the great service, food, and atmosphere. Definitely a gem.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was my second visit to this restaurant and I love it. I do prefer to dine early before the live music at around 10 pm - it did put an end to our first visit there as we had been sat close to the stage and some of us couldn't hear each other. I know now to request a table away from the stage area! Fabulous food and drink selection. I know I will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and cocktails. Scallops were the best my wife has ever eaten and my kimchi meatloaf was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Usually don't start with dessert but most restaurants view desserts as an after thought. Not here. Save room for dessert, you will not be disappointed.
Now on to dinner. Party of four adults, no reservations at 5:30 on Friday night. They sat us right away. Within the hour the place was packed! Get there early or definitely make reservations. I am just going to say this once - everything we ordered was wonderful. Started off with beef tartare, bacon wrapped dates and the beet/strawberry salad. Entrees were Tomahawk pork chop, Shrimp and grits, Duck duck and the Kimchi meatloaf.
Server, Jameson, was attentive, knowledgeable of the menu and gave us plenty of room to talk. Drinks were refilled constantly. Never felt rushed. 10/10 on the service.
Atmosphere is relaxed but lively and the noise level was moderate until it filled up (the band was just setting up their equipment).
I am highly recommending Union 50. Next time we are in town we will be here. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We had an excellent experience at Union 50. The service was amazing, as was the ambiance and food. I could honestly eat the Skate Wing dish every day and not grow sick of it. SO GOOD!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The place and the food is fantastic, the live music is a good idea, but the volume is way too loud, it's impossible to hear each other talk... it was a little annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Union 50 is or was a great place for a lively crowd and amazing food and service. Our visit this evening was underwhelming at best. Maybe due to it being the 4th of July holiday. We are a huge fan of all of the concepts the union 50 owner has brought to life, however the experience tonight all around was underwhelming.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great bartender. Knowledgeable and friendly.

Waiter good also.

Band? Well, sure they're talented just not our type of music. What was that anyway?

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was delicious. Had the charcuterie board for appetizer and it was amazing. Will go back for sure. Our server was excellent

Tags: Fun, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were seated immediately on a Saturday night. We chose outdoors as it was a lovely night and it was perfect. I had the meatloaf with potato puffs and my husband had the filet. He said it had the best flavor ever. My meatloaf was exceptional. Drinks were excellent. My mouth waters thinking of this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My family and I went to Union 50 prior to a show. We like the bistro feel to the place. The food was great. The menu is always interesting. My wife had beef tartar and my daughter bone marrow. Each was excellent. They have a nice assortment of wines and special cocktails. Some might find it expensive but for an upscale restaurant in the Mass Avenue area it is reasonable. The service was also very prompt and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This restaurant never fails to provide excellent food and service. I love the decor. The menu is imaginative, dishes are attractive and delicious.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This was our first visit to Union 50 but certainly not our last. It was a beautiful restaurant with great service and fabulous food. The cocktail and wine selections were very good. It would have been nice to have a valet Parker but we found street parking to be readily available.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had wonderful service and the food was excellent!

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

My server recommended the beet salad to pair with a glass of sparkling rose, both of which were delicious. If the mussels were a smaller plate at a lower price I would have ordered charcuterie to finish. More crisps to soak up the juice would have been nice, if offered. So either fewer mussels or more toasts to split with someone. This old man can only tolerate so many calories. I dined on a Sunday evening, prepare for a loud experience Thursday through Saturday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had a great meal at Union 50 Sunday night. Our server was Robert and he was excellent. He made the dining experience even better. Thanks Robert!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Again, excellent food but horribly slow service. The charcuterie board and poutine fries are our favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were there to celebrate a birthday. Food was delicious and served promptly. All dietary concerns were met.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This place never fails. We dined early to make it to the theater and with superb service we were able to have a leisurely meal and still make it on time. The noise level was low this early. We were given a perfect table for two in a corner. Terrific as always!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2017

5/5 get the bone marrow, a glass of the chardonnay and sit on the patio! This place was awesome. Enjoyed everything I ate and drank. Fast service, free parking and short walking distance from the old national center

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food as always was amazing! Service was great! No complaints!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

outstanding and I did not expect that. Accommodating when I did not like my table with no attitude. Friendly great ambience and most important really really good food. Fresh, creative, clean food. Plenty of menu selections for food and drink but not too much. The entire staff was involved in the dining process. Clean inside and outside - maintained in a way that showed allot of pride
From Central NY, my youngest will be at Butler Un in the fall, can't wait to go back with the entire family

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Amazing food, great service. So delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My group was in town on business travel and looked at online reviews to find somewhere that looked appealing to try local for dinner. We really nailed it with Union 50! We were all so happy between the amazing unique dishes/flavors and drink selection - we also lucked out with an amazing waitress who was incredibly good at her job.
Apparently Tuesday is open mic night, so the place got a little loud if you are trying to have a conversation, but it was a fun vibe.
If you find yourself in Indy, DEFINITELY check it out!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.