Union 50

4.8
1328 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for a Date
Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 4:30pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(317) 610-0234
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Adan Sandoval
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1328 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Nine of us went out for a birthday celebration. The food was delicious as always. My mahi mahi was delicious, along with an amazing succotash. We always always get the chilaquiles poutine to start. It’s unbelievable. Kimchi meatloaf was so good, as was the pork chop (a standard favorite of ours).
Our waiter wasn’t very knowledgeable on drinks, but we all managed to find drinks we really enjoyed!! Ambiance is great, and the noise level was perfect for dinner conversations ... until the band started.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

I had the salmon and had a couple of bites of the duck - Both were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Shrimp toast was outstanding as was the tuna crudo and Lamb Shank!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

I love that there is a variety of plate sizes to choose from and to share. With 4 people we ordered small, medium, and large plates and then shared them. Every dish was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The food was fantastic, great cocktail and whiskey list, and a great wait staff. Our waiter even brought us a little champagne when we told him it was our anniversary! Great experience all around!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We went for a birthday dinner. The party of seven ranged from age 20 to 93 and everyone enjoyed the food! We had to ask to be moved from the high table that was planned for us because my 93 year old tiny grandmother (who uses a walker) can not maneuver a high seat. The hostesses did not hesitate; they just adjusted and moved us to a different table.

Our server Daniel was very good - knowledgeable, friendly and checked on us throughout the evening. I would recommend Union 50 to anyone who has a special occasion or a small dinner for two - if you enjoy good cocktails and quality food this is a spot to visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

The waiter knew I’m detail everything on the menu. He gave us great recommendations in each category of the menu. Also, the different drink options as well. The food was amazing, though a little pricey. The atmosphere was awesome! I would like to see what it’s like when they have live music!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Loved the food. Our waitress was new, but we wouldn't have known that if she hadn't mentioned it. She did a fantastic job. Fun place... Already can't wait to go back to try some of the other food options available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Food was amazing, and service (talkin' to you Josh) was absolutely top-notch. We'll definitely go back and try things we couldn't try this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

We went with another couple and everyone really enjoyed their meals. The waiter was friendly and attentive. Each couple split a salad. The waiter allowed the two women to split the Beef tenderloin dinner, adding extra vegetables to the second plate. Both women thought their half dinners were the perfect size and excellently prepared. I thought the Duck, Duck was particularly good. The other man ordered the pork chop and was very pleased. We will all be coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The staff were so accommodating and friendly for my parents 50th wedding anniversary dinner. Champaign toast, great food and fun atmosphere. My brother who lives in the Bay area was impressed with the food selection. Just delightful. We had reservations at 6 on a Friday night, before the bar crowd arrived. It was perfect. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Great as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Terrific food and service. It could not have been better and all our choices were simply amazing! Union 50 will not disappoint!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Our first time! Young lady pouring water was there practically before we were seated, which was immediate! Service was friendly and timely! Excellent!! All of our food was very tasty, with a little new twist. Excellent, a very nice surprise. Trendy and very cool! We’ll definitely go back. Ask for Brooklyn!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

I took several colleagues and a client here for a business dinner. None of my guests had been to Union 50 previously and several were from out-of-town (LA and New England). All were favorably impressed with the food, atmosphere and service. (Brandon was outstanding.) I was surprised at having live music on a Tuesday night, but it didn't prevent lively conversation. I would definitely come here again for dinner/drinks with friends, family, colleagues or clients.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 12, 2018

The waiter sucked. The duck made my friend sick. And it was my birthday and I didn’t have a good time. I’m very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Great food and atomosphere. Will go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Always a great experience at a Cunningham restaurant!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Our server (sorry, I forgot his name, but he's from Houston like I am!) was INCREDIBLE. His suggestion to get the pork chop was spot on, as I swear, it was one of the best that I have had!

If I am ever back in Indy, I'll return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We had a wonderful experience at Union 50. The service was knowledgeable and friendly. Thank you for the great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Wonderful menu, went with the chef special of the day and the salad dish was amazing! We split the chilaquiles poutine and they were to die for, make sure to start off with them!! Fun cocktail list, but wish there was more of a description of what liquor types used in the drink rather than just adjectives.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Food was excellent as usual. The duck fat fries are a decadent treat to share. Hubby had the halibut special and was still talking about it the next day! I had the grilled gnocchi - delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Went to Union 50 for a special dinner with my son's dad to meet my son's new girlfriend. it was an awesome meal... we all loved the music!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Union 50 was outstanding! Took my wife for our anniversery, and it's now one of our favorite spots! Alexis was so nice and reccomended some great options! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Outstanding food, service, and environment!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Enjoyed a lovely birthday dinner
Our server Nick was very attentive and brought a special birthday dessert!
We will be back

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I used Open Table to make a 6:00p reservation for date night for three couples. I hoped that by eating early, the restaurant would be a little quieter so we could visit without shouting at each other. Unfortunately we were seated directly in front of the staging area between the cooking area and the guest tables. The noise was more than we liked and the traffic of servers to/from other areas of the restaurant was excessive. I love this place, the food, the vibe, the people watching however this time I was disappointed in our seating location. Next time I'll be more specific about location where we'd like to sit when making the reservation. NoraB.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I didn’t actually make it, the email was sent to me and I live 1,000 miles away. Someone put the wrong email down. Sorry for them, because I get to write this awesome review for them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Food really is a notch above most of the restaurants on Mass Ave.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

The service- AMAZING!!!!
The food- AMAZING!!!!
The atmosphere- AMAZING!!!!
This restaurant is what all other restaurants in Indy should measure themselves against!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

This cavernous member of the Cunningham Restaurant Group has an interesting ambiance and has live music many evenings. The food over two visits was very good. Lamb, scallops and pork chop dishes were enjoyable. Extensive charcuterie.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Union 50 has sleek modern décor, excellent food, and attentive service. The place is set in a 1950s industrial building repurposed as a restaurant. Behind the bar is a glass brick wall that was very impressive at sunset. My wife and I felt the food was mostly great. The Medjool dates appetizer was to die for. The tomato and goat cheese was good, too, although not as special. The lamb shank with roasted sweet corn and roasted tomatoes was superb. The mussels had a delicious tangy sauce, but were a tad overcooked to my taste. The server was very knowledgeable and very helpful. He told us the chardonnay we ordered was tart and when I said, yes, it’s tart, he brought a small glass of a mellow chardonnay to try, in case we wanted to move to a different wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I love the chic decor. I was excited to introduce friends to a restaurant inhale come to really enjoy. Unfortunately the food was that great. The waiter got my order wrong. The chicken wings were terrible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The food is awesome! It was a random find in a great neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Waited way too long to get a waiter to greet us and give water
Custom drink menu was very vague and waiter did not know how to explain it other than reading the same info as the menu I wanted to get a special drink tried two different ones totally not what the waiter told me and wound up with my old standby drink instead
The salmon had a huge piece of hair in it — but we were comped for it and the gave a free dessert

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Wonderful per usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Fun food...great experience

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Sorry to say I was not that happy with my recent dining experience at Union 50. It was my second visit and I had made clear reservations for a table for cocktails and then a seating for dinner and the hostesses (BTW...why do restaurants let piercings and nose rings be ok with staff who are greeting and dealing with the public???- I guess that is the subject of a different post) had a really hard time deciding to let our party sit at one of the 5 open tables for cocktails before we were seated for our dinner reservation...even though I was specific in my reservation request. They wanted a business group to sit at the actual bar lined up at the trough... I would have understood if I didn't have a reservation and if they had been more than half full. We spent $300 or more and It was like a huge imposition to get my group of 4 seated facing each other at a bar table. "We are just very very protective of our bar tables." they said...Not like we were mistaken for homeless people crashing at a Starbucks.... Anyway, the waitress was fine, the food was really good. Prices were ok and the portions are as they say petite...very creative chef and menu. Excellent beer and wine selection. All in all a nice nite spoiled by some impossible to understand rules. Who wants their dinner to begin with a hassle. I just may not appear quite hip enough to be part of their desired demographics. I can't imagine returning although maybe one of my kids or some young hipster will invite me there and I will fit in better appearing to be their father...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

My husband and I had a wonderful 1 year anniversary dinner at Union 50!
Great food, great service and it wasn’t too loud.
We were even given a glass of bubbly each to celebrate!
Thanks Union 50!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
34

Tweets by Union 50