About Union 50

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Indiana
Fit for Foodies
Indiana
American
Indiana
4 More
Best Food
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
Fit for Foodies
Indianapolis
American
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Fit for Foodies (169)
Hot Spot (116)
Good for Groups (111)
See All
Special Occasion (101)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Vibrant Bar Scene (90)
Late-night Find (41)
Romantic (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All in all. A good to great experience . ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

All in all. A good to great experience . Initial contact with the bar staff while we waited for our table required some patience. I stood there for quite some time before being achnowedged . Then Waited to pay after finally getting (4) drinks. Didn't notice any mngt. Working The floor. But kitchen and server execute quite well.. Will be back .craig

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cunningham does it again with another tw ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Cunningham does it again with another twist to his winning formula.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with friends we had visiting from o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went with friends we had visiting from out of town. Had a wonderful meal and the service was top notch. Mussels were excellent, and the KimChi meatloaf was also very good. We will return again for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, beautiful presentations ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food, beautiful presentations and outstanding service. Daniel was our waiter and he was great! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner. Excellent dri ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner. Excellent drink/wine choices, and both the pork chop and filet were perfectly grilled. Great music and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was an excellent combination of fla ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was an excellent combination of flavors/tastes. So good! Staff was great. Will be back!

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were new menu choices compared to ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

There were new menu choices compared to last time and it was just as delicious as the food we've had in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was great. Must try ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food and service was great. Must try the poutine. Alittle pricey for the tiny portions. Probably will return just not regularly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing atmosphere. I was in town visit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing atmosphere. I was in town visiting my daughter who has since moved to Indianapolis for work. She recommended Union50. Food was fantastic and the decor is outstanding. Service was excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband was sick for over 24 hours af ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My husband was sick for over 24 hours after eating the shrimp & grits. The chef added habanero peppers and cayenne pepper and purred it into the sauce. My husband said he had never had anything this hot in his life. To spend over $100 for a special occasion only to have someone get so sick is just so disappointing. We will not be going back to this establishment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

As always, we had a wonderful evening ce ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

As always, we had a wonderful evening celebrating at Union 50! Getting s reservation for 13 was a breeze with their help and patience, unlike other places we tried. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a great time, food was excellent, ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great time, food was excellent, service was on point. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Union 50 was all that I heard it was goi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Union 50 was all that I heard it was going to be. Great sharable dishes. Calamari was incredible. Salad was a little small, but presentation was good. Tuna was tender and perfectly prepared. Solid beer and wine selection too. Waiter was friendly and informative. Give it a try

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Place is solid. Get the Grand Board. Hav ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Place is solid. Get the Grand Board. Have a beer or 10.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, interesting food. Great beer ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent, interesting food. Great beer and wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I recently ate at Union 5 ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My husband and I recently ate at Union 50 to celebrate a special occasion. In the course of my reservation, we were asked whether we had ever dined at Union 50 before as well as whether we were celebrating anything, which I appreciated. Our server, then, of course, was knowledgeable about this when we arrived.

She, as well as the rest of the staff that waited on us, was phenomenal. They

were polite and personable, we were never left waiting for food or drink, and our table was promptly cleared after each dish.

We chose to try a mix of different things including the Goat Cheese Stuffed Peppadew Peppers, the Medjool Dates, the Kimchi Meatloaf, the Toast + Jam, and the Skate Wing. While everything was well cooked and thoughtfully prepared, we were disappointed with the bulk of our meal. While we enjoyed the first two, and the third was okay, the last two, and especially the Skate Wing, were overwhelmingly fishy. We also had a few of the drinks - the To Be Determined..., On a Boat, and Snake Pit 1984. These were all okay, but nothing I would order or drink again.

While we were disappointed that there was not live music while we were present, we enjoyed what we perceived to be a both laid back and energetic ambience. The inside of the restaurant has a trendy/modern vibe, while also feeling warm and inviting, and the noise level is just right.

I do not foresee us returning alone, but it's possible we might if some of our friends wanted to check it out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was outstanding!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great space, great service! ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food, great space, great service! The group that owns Union 50 knows how to run a successful restaurant and are doing so in many places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicely eclectic, rich contemporary deco ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Nicely eclectic, rich contemporary deco, excellent food, nice outdoor patio and in a quaint just outside of downtown location. I will return, especially since they have live music later in the evenings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Sit at the bar for a fe ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Love this place. Sit at the bar for a few drinks and a nosh, or sit at a table with a larger party for a fabulous dinner. Service, drinks and food are consistently fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time there. Our wait ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our first time there. Our waiter was excellent and so was the food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and we had spectacula ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was great and we had spectacular service. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp toast (toast and jam) was delicio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Shrimp toast (toast and jam) was delicious. One of our group had stringent food restrictions, and the chef accommodated him perfectly. Very fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for dinner, whether personal ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great spot for dinner, whether personal or business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great night for dinner and drink ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Another great night for dinner and drinks st 50!!

Don't miss the Chowder!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return trip to introduce to friends. Eve ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Return trip to introduce to friends. Even better this time. Cheese board is a wonderful start--you get to select your own and staff was very helpful in guiding us through the choices. We had 4 different entrees and all were good. I'm particularly fond of the shrimp and grits--as good as any I've had even in low country! Cocktails are exceptional. Wine list is more than satisfactory, but not exceptional. No disappointments and I will return more than once.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time at the venue, food was very ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Second time at the venue, food was very good. Would come back and recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very cool restaurant. Make a reservatio ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very cool restaurant. Make a reservation! Unique food selection all cooked very well. Will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time there. The food was even bett ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

First time there. The food was even better then I'd heard and I loved the atmosphere. I will be back for sure. The chicken, pork chop, and duck fat fries were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. Four of us had our fir ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food was amazing. Four of us had our first experience with this restaurant. All of us said we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a great experience. The server wa ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It was a great experience. The server was helpful and knowledgeable of the menu with great advice. The food was wonderful and the pacing of serving was perfect. We also greatly enjoyed the cocktails. Can't wait to return with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my wife's birthday at Union 5 ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday at Union 50 this week. Service was excellent - server was very attentive, gave good advice and knew the dishes on the menu. Cocktail and wine selection was good. Food was beautifully presented and tasted good. Perhaps a little too salty, but this was not a major issue. Portions were very generous...bigger than we expected. The pork chop was one of the best I have had - great smokey flavor and moist inside. Mushrooms were also excellent. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal. Everyone shared and no o ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful meal. Everyone shared and no one was disappointed. The duck was tender and delicious. The wild mushrooms were a favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey and portions are a bit small but ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Pricey and portions are a bit small but food is absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cheese plate was on point. The special g ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Cheese plate was on point. The special green thai curry fish dish was delicious. Poutine was yum. The old fashion was superb. The desert wine was not what we were expecting (we wanted sweet and syrupy and got something that tasted like straight vodka). The white anchovies on the caesar were spectacular, along with the homemade dressing. The special cocktail with bourbon and chocolate bitters was maybe my favorite part. This boozy drink should really be added to the desert cocktail menu. Our waitress was so awesome and gave phenomenal service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Union50 was absolutely incredible! We w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Union50 was absolutely incredible! We went for a late dinner (10pm) so it was pretty loud, but the live music was just incredible. The service was fantastic, and the food.....oh my! The poutine "Chilaquiles" were so unique and equally delicious. Our table got several smaller plates and shared everything and I'm so glad we did. We got to try more menu items that way and there was not one thing that disappointed. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten in several Cunningham resta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have eaten in several Cunningham restaurants. We mostly eat at Charbonos. It was our wedding anniversary of 30 years and wanted something special. We were happy with Union 50 and hope to eat there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was incredible

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome time. Food was great, service wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Awesome time. Food was great, service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meatloaf was great as well as the scallo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Meatloaf was great as well as the scallops! Great birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.