Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Union 50

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for a Date (74)
Creative Cuisine (62)
See All
Special Occasion (58)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Good for Groups (54)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Bar Seating (50)
Live Music (48)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Fun (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Hot Spot (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Casual (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Business Meals (28)
People Watching (27)
Romantic (27)
Happy Hour (24)
Great Beer (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Tasting Menu (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Authentic (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Seasonal (14)
Cozy (13)
Tapas (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Scenic View (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Live Sports (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent atmosphere, great service, great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This is the second time we have been to Union 50. Blown away again by the quality of the food and the incredible presentation. It's a must go in Indianapolis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

the food was great and service was nice! I was happy with my roasted chicken and my date loved the duck

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was amazing. The food was delicious and inventive We will definitely return. Great food at a great value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for a date or friends to get together. The live music performances are nice as well.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Healthy, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

2nd time visitor. 2 great meals. A little spendy, but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I surprised my girlfriend with dinner here for our anniversary and was surprised myself by how good everything was. Completely recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Union 50 is a beautiful restaurant. The food is good, too. Bone marrow though pricey is striking. The skate wing was outstanding and just a bit spicy from the chili oil. The tartare with quail egg was great but could have been more thoroughly chopped and was a little gray. The duck was perfectly cooked though there was not much of the promised confit and I think the cubed vegetable with it was parsnip not turnip. The tenderloin with pink peppercorn sauce was very good as were the truffle fries.

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and great service. I also loved that there was music (good) playing but that it wasn't so loud that you couldn't have a conversation. Thumbs up for the shrimp and grits!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Exceptional service ! And the tuna crudo was fantastic !

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

restaurant is decorated very nicely with an open floor plan....love the aesthetics.
Music was extremely loud no way around that except to sit outdoors which offers a nice patio facing East Street. Menu did not offer your basics so be prepared to pull out the dictionary for clarity. Nice place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Love the skate wing on the bistro menu! Lemon drop martini was excellent too

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a positive experience. Great cocktails, good food in substantial portions. Especially like the mixed board of charcuterie and cheese. Excellent service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We made a decision later in the day and someone had hear that it was an excellent place.
They were right. Service was professional and the food was superb. Shrimp and Grits,
Fries excellent and the Haddock Special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Love the outside dining. The cheese board is a favorite. Would definitely recommend to friends but note that to be careful of drinks and extras. Pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food and drinks are great. A bit pricey, but the atmosphere may be worth it. We will go back!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 13, 2017

really awesome service! We came here for my boyfriend's birthday and were amazed at the food and our server led us through the dark like a right flashlight.
Excellent time, will be back, am dreaming of the amazing food we had! (lamb pasta, duck, melon salad and chef's grand board)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had dinner before the U2 concert. Service was perfect considering the concert start time. The shuttle service to/from was EXCELLENT! Food was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Love the entire experience- food and setting were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Good food and loved the restaurant layout. Service was a little slow but we will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was amazing. We had sticky wings, the wild mushrooms, pork chop, shrimp and grits, and pain perdu. It was all outstanding and I cannot wait to eat here again. Another Cunningham success!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I love Union 50! The enviance is really cool and the good is delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Always an excellent experience at Union 50, as is always the case with all of the Cunningham Restaurant Group locations. Enjoyed live music, hand-crafted cocktails, and delicious food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great menu with many options for either sharing small bites or enjoying a full entree. You could make a meal from the selection of fabulous starters. Get the poutine with pulled pork, avocado and cheese!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 5, 2017

What a wonderful meal, their scallop/mussel chowder is the best chowder I've ever had, including clam chowders in New England. The food was delicious, definitely recommend.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

My experience here was a mixed bag. The food was excellent and we went during Devour Indy, so the value was good. I was disappointed by the service. We went on a Sunday night when the restaurant was around 30% capacity. Our dining experience start-to-finish was 2 hours long. We watched several other parties be seated, served, and conclude their dining experience before our entrees were even delivered to our table. We were a party of 4 and no one ordered anything elaborate, so I am unsure what happened with our group.

Again, the food was excellent and the ambiance was great. I would not be opposed to returning to this restaurant (in several months or so), to try for a better experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Wonderful spot just off Mass Ave. which meant outdoor dining was peaceful with a very cool vibe! Service was top notch but the star of the evening was the food! The choices of small, shareable and entree size plates gave us a chance to try many menu options which were all outstanding. Fantastic, well crafted drink service options. To top it off, valet parking solving the often difficult Mass Ave. area dilemma. They've thought of everything! Can't wait to go again.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Drinks, Bistro and small plates were great. Entrees Chicken was dry and beef tenderloin medium vs medium rare ordered. This restaurant well awarded and everything accordingly except above.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

As always, Union 50 provided a fabulous all around experience. Everything on the menu is delicious. The dates are a "must have" for me every time I go. The toast and jam was amazing and they make a beautiful old fashioned. Regardless of what you get for dinner, do yourself a favor and finish off your experience with the carrot cake - it's decadent. If you have questions about anything on the menu, ask. Everyone who works there knows the menu inside and out and can tell you about the food and drinks in intimate detail. Eat, drink, and enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Experienced Devour Downtown menu. Loved the restaurant and neighborhood. Delicious trout and strip steak.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Food and service was awesome. It was our servers first night on the floor and he was phenomenal. I wish I could remember his name but it has slipped my mind!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Went later in the evening for a quiet birthday celebration with my boyfriend--we tried the hand cut fries in truffle oil with beer cheese and the house ketchup, as well as the fried gnocchi, both of which were amazing. The portions look small but are very very filling.

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We visited Union 50 during Devour Indy. A few in our party got there early and spent some time at the bar. The bartender was great and offered suggestions and was very knowledgeable. Our waiter was excellent. Very attentive, but never overly so. He was very knowledgeable about the menu and gave great recommendations. The atmosphere was fun and perfect for our group. We will be back-during Devour or not. Prices were not crazy on the regular menu. During Devour it was $30 per person for a 3 course meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food and experience. It's classy and comfortable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner (6:15p on a Saturday). However, the music in the back ground was loud. That was a noticable barrier/negative given we purposefully did not go when live music was playing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Nice overall vibe. The food was yummy (especially the meatballs) and our waitress was nice however the wait for our food was wayyyyyy too long. Nearly an hour to get our meals.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

7:30 Reservation tonight got us fed and out at 10:45pm! Not acceptable... This even after asking what time the band started, as we wanted to be done by then as we were seated directly in front of the speakers...
Garret started out with GREAT service timely and attentive. Got us drinks right away water was brought and continuously refilled until 2nd round of drinks...
We order the Chef Choice Grand Charcuterie tray was very good. Ordered 2nd round of drinks now about 8:30 (1hour in) 2nd course showed up... Then all servers seemed to stop acknowledging our needs to the point we had to ask for water refills...
waited over 60 minutes for our entrees to appear (9:30 pm). We were told "there was a big party ahead of us and was slowing food times..." SERIOUSLY NOT MY ISSUE. But at that point became our issue... Or at least the timing of our food anyway.... Still no-one checking on refills of drinks. (One in the party 3 hours plus mind you, only 2 refills on "Arnie Palmers"... ) And again asking for water refills even when tables right next to us are getting refills constantly... We felt like Messiers Cellophane...
Entrees appear and are fantastic. Yet again
no refills on water or drinks. now its 10pm and the ROCK BAND LOUDER than necessary starts blaring in our ears... Mind you seated in front of speaker.... Dessert finally shows up. Again no refills on water. Waiters all seem to disappear... Had to get up and ask for bill to find out Garret was having a special birthday dessert made for me. Grateful but seriously added another 20 minutes to the painful 3 hour plus dinner. Birthday Celebration experience ���� Suggestion when making a reservation ask.if there are any large parties and maybe adjust your dinning time accordingly...
Again FOOD was Good!
Atmosphere nice until the WAY too LOUD music started.
Service times? Seem they feel 3 plus hours is good? Us not so much...

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Birthday party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Loud music --- live but not ideal for a work meeting dinner on a Tuesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I have been here before and loved it, but this time I wasn't as pleased. My beet salad was tiny. Service was really iffy. My appetizer was delivered with my entree. I don't think tuna crudo is the best accompaniment for steak. I didn't send it back but didn't enjoy it the way I would have if it had been delivered first or at least along with my salad. We ordered coffee with dessert. Dessert came, 15 minutes later, coffee still missing. I like to drink my coffee with dessert. Cancelled the coffee order. It wasn't really all that busy so not sure what the issue was. Had a 6:45 reservation and barely made a 9 p.m. show just two blocks away.

On the good side, we sat outside and it's lovely there with the exception that the flowers were all wilting and the soil in the pots was completely dry. Felt bad for the poor plants. Great beer and wine selection and really enjoyed the rose sangria.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.