Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 51 times today

Union 50

4.7
1243 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 4:30pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(317) 610-0234
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Adan Sandoval
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1243 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food, atmospher and service. I'll be back next trip to indy

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Great time but when the band started it was so loud you couldn’t hear anything

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

This was one of the best overall dining experiences I've had in a long time. Awesome ambiance, great service, and fantastic food. The mushroom plate and duck entrée were phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Good service and the food was good. No domestic scotch which was my husband ‘s preference. As soon as the music began we had to leave. No way to carry on s conversation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

We had a very large table in the back room. The room was extremely noisy. Our service was terrible. The server rushed us to order. When we were through with appetizers, we had to ask twice to get our table cleared. Our California friends were more impressed with the sushi restaurant from the night before. Very disappointed with Union 50.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

This is my favorite place to have dinner before a show at the Old National Center- consistently great service, good food, and tasty tap wine!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Not knowing Indy, we chose this place for an early pre-concert dinner. Good choice! It’s a large trendy space with a warehouse vibe and a great bar area. The menu has so many desirable items! Our server Jared provided good and attentive service and was engaging. Great job! My husband started with the Wood-Fired San Marzano Tomatoes & Goat cheese which was served with grilled bread to smear the woodsy and creamy tomato and cheese onto. Yum! I had The East Street Salad, which tasted great but was so much smaller in size than what my husband had in the same category. I was disappointed since I had a small fish entree. The salad had delicato squash, apple & fennel. It was fresh and good but the little strip of salad down the middle of the plate looked great but not much to eat. For entrées, my husband had the kimchi meatloaf served with potato fritters. It was plentiful and tasty. It was in the smaller bistro category than my swordfish in the grand section of the menu, but again mine was a smaller portion. WTH?? As a women who eats healthier and went down 4 sizes, I do expect good sized-portions as the food is lighter than fatty fare. Anyway, the swordfish was out of this world good, perfectly grilled and moist. I loved the cauliflower purée, too. The food here is outstanding. I highly recommend it. If I’m in town again, I would order a third item so I wouldn’t walk away not fully satisfied like I did this visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great menu and food was amazing!! Love the ambiance!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was amazing. The food was amazing. It was buzzing but not loud. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My fav dining spot Downtown.
My go to for business and pleasure!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We started with the meat and cheese board and it was amazing. Our server knew exactly which cheeses to pair with which meats. I had the special of the night and my boyfriend had the salmon and we both loved them! Drinks were also very good. Great place for a group or date night. Live music later in the night and there is a patio for warmer months. Also a very cool building.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great venue to see live music and enjoy drinks and apps. Servers are very helpful and attentive. I did not order an entree this time - but have in the past and it was good. Prices on entrees are a bit high - but if you are seeing live music the experience is well worth it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Out of swordfish which seems odd for early Saturday night dinner reservation, 6:30 pm.

Tenderloin was very good. Need more staff, service was not attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

As always the service and food at Union 50 were beyond expectations. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu. The chef prepared our dishes in very unique ways. The food presentation and taste were first class. I highly recommend Union 50 ever chance I get.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

UNION 50 IS BOMB!! ordered the kimchi meatloaf and duck duck, both are AMAZING! absolutely my favorite meal in Indy, have been thinking about it even after several days. Waiters are super helpful and nice, the place has a great decoration and good music. Would absolutely recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always a great place for dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Thank you that a dear friend hosted. Great service and creative and delicious food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Wonderful!!!! I had the mushrooms and they were delicious!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Union 50 was really a good choice. When we arrived the place was packed. I had made reservations for 4 people but found out when we arrived that another person was coming. At first they said about an hour wait, but like 10 minutes later they had made arrangements and we were sitting. The food was outstanding. The chessboard was delicious. We also had the mussels, tuna tartare, dates, etc. and every singles dish was delicious. Will definitely return when I am back in Indianapolis

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We had a wonderful time! The food was amazing and the service impeccable. Thanks for a great evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Wonderful dinner at Union 50. We were visiting from North Myrtle Beach and wanted a taste of the local scene. We ate at the bar. Heather was a fantastic bar tender/server. We started with the cheese board with Smoked Cheddar, Mont'Amore, and Honey Ricotta. I had the King Salmon (risotto was very good), and my husband had the Beef Tenderloin. Everything was cooked to perfection. The only "complaint" was the Beet + Feta Cheese Salad. Hardly any Feta was in the salad to even taste. It could have used more for sure. I would still go back and definitely recommend Union 50 to anyone asking to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This place is just awesome plain and simple. The food is creative and delicious (haven't tried one thing I haven't liked). Waiters and waitresses are very friendly, answer your questions, and make it a fun expierence. Highly recommend to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My wife and I were celebrating my new job, and the service, food, cocktails, and ambiance were all delightful. An exceptionally positive experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We liked the food and the restaurant overall. It was a little loud for 5:30 we thought. I get that later in the evening it might get loud but when you're just going for an early dinner the noise level can be frustrating. But the food was really good and our waitress was very attentive. The bartenders were not as attentive. Wait staff 101 ALWAYS say, "I'll be right with you!" I see that too often where people don't acknowledge you. But I will definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Our first time at Union 50 and we loved it. The food and service was amazing. The crowd was very light on the evening of Easter Sunday and our only complaint would be the fact they sat another group right next to our table in a dining room which was completely empty. Otherwise an incredible dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Only one small hiccup. We enjoyed dinner here on Saturday night and only had one small hiccup. I ordered the duck and my husband ordered the tomahawk pork chop, medium rare. It came out over cooked, so he sent it back. The server didn't argue, and knew right away it was too done. They brought another, as quickly as possible, but I was almost done with my dinner when it arrived. We very much appreciated they checked the temp on the second, before leaving the table, and also comped drinks for the trouble. Top notch service right there! We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

It was our anniversary and the service was top notch! We have been there four times and each time we always leave with a smile. The service is great and the food is perfect. I couldn’t ask for anything more. It’s a great place for a nice meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. Cocktails were great and the food was even better. I’m not a fan of bars in general but, this is so much more than a bar that serves food. Highly recommend if you’re looking to try something new. Parking can be a challenge on busy evenings...use the valet but, bring cash.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Our entrees were incredible, and so was the service, but the chocolate cake was dry. Other than that, a perfect experience! The grand board and duck are always incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Came for an early dinner before a play, and everything was satisfying. Both roasted marrow and wild mushroom bistro dishes were superb. Duck fat and rosemary fries with truffle oil aioli hit the spot. The waiter's recommendations were right on for us including pinot noir and even rum.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The meal was perfect for a business interview dinner. The atmosphere wasn't too loud and we could still have discussions about our position with the candidate. The food was delicious, and our table was cleared all at once, which was a nice touch our entire table noticed. Our served, Lindsey I believe, was friendly and helpful discussing the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

A wonderful dinner for a party of 8. The wait staff was excellent; the food delicious! A perfect place to celebrate

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Food and service were excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Lamb shank was to die for. Waiter Josh was spot on with the recommendation. Ambiance is unique. Menu is a foodie delight. And live music to boot. Surprised at steep prices, but I’m surprised at every restaurant in Indianapolis— DC prices in a smaller city. Quite shocking and disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Always like Union 50 Food and drinks are really good. Used the open table app for my reservation and then received a call from union 50 , they wanted me to call them back to confirm . Not sure why union 50 uses open table then makes you call back to confirm what you just did online

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Very nice restaurant, food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Entertaining out of state friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

WE LOVE ALL OF THE CUNNINGHAM GROUP RESTAURANTS...ESPECIALLY UNION 50!
WE TOOK OUR GRANDDAUGHTERS AGES 12 AND 14 BEFORE GOING TO SEE LES MISERABLES. THE SERVER WAS DELIGHTFUL AND KIND IN EXPLAINING THE MENU TO OUR GRANDDAUGHTERS. WE HAVE BEEN TO UNIION 50 MANY TIMES AND WILL GO BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I love this place. Great atmosphere and food. The staff is great. It's worth taking the time to dine here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Mike our server was AWESOME! He even brought me little “shot glasses” of white wines sample to taste to make certain I was happy. The scallop dish is perfect in texture, flavor (can stand up to a Pinot Noir) and cooked to perfection. Hubby had the swordfish and gobbled it up. Cool bar, large wine selection. We will be back for live music + dinner in the future.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32