About Union 50

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (70)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Good for a Date (67)
See All
Modern Decor (62)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Live Music (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Hot Spot (43)
Good for Groups (41)
Fun (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (40)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Bar Seating (36)
Business Meals (35)
Casual (34)
Authentic (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Romantic (26)
Late-night Find (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
People Watching (17)
Great Beer (16)
Wood Oven (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Cozy (12)
Historic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Healthy (10)
Tapas (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Private Room (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Seasonal (5)
Fireplace (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Dancing (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Free birthday dessert of our choosing!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined a day ago

Free birthday dessert of our choosing!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I'm a little conflicted about this revie ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

I'm a little conflicted about this review, because there were some positives about the experience. First off the drinks were quite good, but the Libertine is blocks away and theirs are even better. Our waitress was good. I had the scallop and mussel chowder. It tasted good, but the mussels came in the shell. It was a pain to get the meat out, even though they give you a special utensil. My wife got the fries, which were good. Then I also got the scallops for my main dish. They are in the Grand section, which are supposedly entrée size dishes. It had 3 scallops, which I don't consider enough for an entrée. It tasted good though. My wife got the lamb sugo. Sure it mentions pasta in the description, but we didn't really expect it to be a pasta dish. It also tasted good too, but it just wasn't what she was hoping for. I just felt like the place tries really hard to be a trendy, foodie type restaurant, but just didn't really hit the mark.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

This is one of my favorite spots in Indy ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

This is one of my favorite spots in Indy. Food is always consistent and well crafted. Also enjoy the extensive drink menu and signature cocktails.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great food, very good cocktails, ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

We had great food, very good cocktails, and the live entertainment- Austin Stirling- was lively and very entertaining.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server was Mike and he was fantastic ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was Mike and he was fantastic! We went out for valentines and had an early reservation because we had Paint Nite plans later. He gave us a fantastic menu tour and was very descriptive in each dish. Mike knew his stuff and was passionate about the chef and food that he served. He was very attentive yet not intrusive on a date night which is perfect. Thanks Mike!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined on Valentine's Day. Had reservatio ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Dined on Valentine's Day. Had reservations, and the first table they offered was in the usual special dining area, and in the back corner (felt like I was being led to a one off table that wasn't part of the place really), requested a different table and was offered a bar area table. I ordered the "Special" of steak, potato's, apple, etc; She order the pork chops. The meal arrived about 45 mins. later, and the food was "average". The steak was literally three bite size pieces, maybe totaling 4 ounces (disappointed but didn't want to complain as we already waited awhile), Port Chops, dry. At this point, neither of us wanted to spend our whole evening at dinner, nor follow up with a dispute with a manager, so decided to bite the bullet and leave. Our waiter asked if I was ready to order dessert, we passed on that. Followed up by asking if I cared to settle up, I said that's fine and gave him my card. He return with the receipt, as I was then looking at it for the first time I noticed that my steak meal was $39+!!! For literally three bites and a few apple tiny chunks and smear of potatoes. I signed, left a tip, left to the Valet Lot (which was $8 and wasn't posted anywhere, just a suggestion to display the price somewhere). I felt like the value of the food/amount/etc was honestly pathetic. That was my fifth trip to Union 50, and doubt I return. I felt taken advantage of honestly. Left the place, still hungry as my $40 dinner was honestly smaller than majority of children's meals at places. I could've went to St. Elmo's or Ruth Chris, and received much better food and more of it for the same or even less money.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Excellent waitress and fantastic service ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent waitress and fantastic service. Courses were spaced and each item properly prepared. A little pricey for the portion size but a much better value then many of the local "upscale" dining options. I will be back often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter Austin was very knowledgeable ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter Austin was very knowledgeable of the menu and made some great recommendations. Union 50 is excellent, from the service and ambiance to the food it was a great experience. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy Valentine's Day dinner. Our server ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Yummy Valentine's Day dinner. Our server was a little overly gracious in a strange way, doing the Oprah bow just more enthusiastically. Made it a little weird.

Overall, I love Union 50, we'll be back.

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Business Meals, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent service, food, and drinks! Lov ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service, food, and drinks! Loved the atmosphere and the band was great. We will be back.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!!! Will definitely be back! Se ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fantastic!!! Will definitely be back! Second time eating there and loved everything both times!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried Union 50 after a Saturday matinee. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Tried Union 50 after a Saturday matinee. 6 of us first-timers. All of us LOVED the ambiance, the food and service!!! Would definitely recommend...and return!!!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and nice atmosphere. More open ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food and nice atmosphere. More open than most Mass Ave area restaurants which I think helps it feel more relaxed and enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

spectacular without a premium price. Pou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

spectacular without a premium price. Poutine! Gr8 atmosphere. quiet even when packed (b/4 band starts.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Historic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, , Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, craft cocktails and real ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic food, craft cocktails and really good live music. Great restaurant. Now one of my faves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit. We came becau ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This was our first visit. We came because they had Pappy VanWinkle in stock and this was a bourbon my husband wanted to try. The service was awesome. The food was delicious and the plating was gorgeous. We loved the atmosphere. Our waiter was fantastic. We had a really great experience. This is a great place to go on a date or with a group of friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed an amazing meal with friends! ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We enjoyed an amazing meal with friends! Everything about the experience, especially the food, was exceptional. We look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of the 4 "Devour" restaurants we chose, ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Of the 4 "Devour" restaurants we chose, Union 50 won, although the Livery was a close second.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great environment for nice date. Food wa ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great environment for nice date. Food was amazing. Service was exceptional.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time here with a group of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had a great time here with a group of eight plus a baby. The fixed menu was a favorite of everyone at the table. Good service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere for a gathering of frien ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Nice atmosphere for a gathering of friends. The live music is a nice touch but is too loud to continue conversation if you are anywhere near the stage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was creative and phenomenal! Gr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was creative and phenomenal! Great combinations & presentation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant. Michael was an exc ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love this restaurant. Michael was an excellent server. Team work is evident and results in lots of attention.

Whitney is awesome!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Wood Oven, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food in a great setting. Live ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fantastic food in a great setting. Live music most nights of the week.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a great event and time!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

It was a great event and time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great decor and a fun feel to the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Really great decor and a fun feel to the restaurant. Excellent service. Enjoyed the Devour Indy menu

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Variety of excellent options, great unin ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Variety of excellent options, great uninreusive service, private feel in an open environment and quiet enough to have a conversation. Go there. I will, again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Second time in a week to enjoy Devour In ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Second time in a week to enjoy Devour Indy and ordered the steak both times-delicious! Only complaint is high cost of house wines- $12 is simply $2-4 too high-drop the price Mr Cunningham! Will be back anyway!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Union 50 has been one of our favorite di ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Union 50 has been one of our favorite dining places since it opened. Their Devour menu was superb, and our waitperson, Angela, was friendly, fun, knowledgeable and efficient. She was excellent, as was our aged rib steak and Artic Char. Both were combined with the perfect spices, sauces and accompaniments. A truly wonderful meal! The drinks are excellent, too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Tapas, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a awesome time. The service is im ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a awesome time. The service is impeccable. You will love it for sure. We've been there 3 times and will be going back for more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The mussels in red curry and coconut mil ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The mussels in red curry and coconut milk were fabulous! I had the Artic Char which was delicious. The carrot cake was the best I've ever had. The place was hopping so it was rather noisy. I did like that there is lots of space between the tables so you felt that you had privacy.

I will definitely go back to try other things on the menu. It would be great fun to go back with a group of friends.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Union 50 during ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My husband and I went to Union 50 during Devour Downtown. Great food, great cocktails, and great value for what received. Would definitely go back for a special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, nice ambiance, only criticis ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, nice ambiance, only criticism is not enough choices for vegetarians

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We were there for Devour Downtown before ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were there for Devour Downtown before a concert. The selections were superior to most restaurants that participate in Devour. The portions were quite nice and the flavors were diverse and well done. We loved our dinner and our waiter was very attentive to our schedule. It was a five star evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply Amazing. With Union 50 the food s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Simply Amazing. With Union 50 the food scene in Indianapolis has quickly placed itself among the nations elite.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Wood Oven, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our first visit to Union 50 was a big hi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our first visit to Union 50 was a big hit. My only regret was that we filled up before getting around to ordering the "Duck Duck" Grande option. Our meat and cheese board was the best we've had in town. The sesame sticky chicken wings were a delicious, unique take on something so otherwise common. The service and ambience were phenomenal. My only partial complaint was the price of the beer options. Paying $8 for a beer that you can get a 4 pack of for $12 or get for $5-6 anywhere else in town was aggravating. Putting a premium on the in-house cuisine is a no brainer, but for a draft beer come on. The live music was entertaining and high quality. Lastly, the cheesecake was pretty much mind blowing, the best dessert that my wife or I could remember having.

Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I left a one star for the service becaus ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I left a one star for the service because the hosts were extremely rude and stuck up. That first impression sets the tone for the dinner. Very rude. Everything else is great at union 50.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Creative cuisine. Innovative bar menu. O ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Creative cuisine. Innovative bar menu. Overall, a great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to Union 50 many times and alw ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Have been to Union 50 many times and always have a great meal. The drinks and food are expertly prepared and very creative. It is an excellent value with a terrific atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal. The appetizers ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. The appetizers and charcuterie plate were very good. All the entrees our group had were outstanding, and as a family we shared tastes across the table, so we all got a good sampling of the menu. Our servers were very good, attentive, and eager to please. The only complaint I have is the noise level. We had a rather large party of 8 and so were seated in an alcove off the main dining room. When we got there there was another table of 8 in the same area and they were pretty noisy (well, so were we, but we had a hard time hearing, so I guess my complaint is with the acoustics). Also adjacent to this area there was a large group that was having some sort of get together/meeting which added to the noise level. At one point our waitress pulled a curtain dividing our area from this gathering which improved the noise level, but made us feel cut off from the rest of the restaurant. But the quality of the food was so excellent I would definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.