About Union 50

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Indiana
American
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Indianapolis
American
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

fit for foodies (178)
good for groups (135)
hot spot (131)
See All
vibrant bar scene (121)
special occasion (110)
neighborhood gem (102)
late-night find (63)
romantic (54)
notable wine list (36)
great for outdoor dining (35)
great for lunch (13)
great for brunch (11)
 (7)
 (5)
 (5)
 (5)
scenic view (4)
 (4)
 (3)
kid-friendly (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Choice for

Dined 3 days ago

We were in town for the Indy 500. It was an excellent choice. Great food, I highly recommend the pork chops and the poutine for an appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3

Foodies in indy- fun charcuterie , pouti ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Foodies in indy- fun charcuterie , poutine, and eclectic plates - fantastic housemate craft cocktails- O'na boat and by the pool were our favorites - live music came on at 10:30

food5
ambience5
service5

The service, the quality of the food an ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The service, the quality of the food and the waitress was outstanding. We were seated where we could see the executive chef garnishing and plating the dishes; he was fantastic. We loved our experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Impressive architecture/room. Very knowl ...

Dined 4 days ago

Impressive architecture/room. Very knowledgable servers.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've always had a great meal at Union 50 ...

Dined 4 days ago

I've always had a great meal at Union 50 and the service has always been excellent. I would have given both the food and overall experience five stars but my wife ordered the squash gnocchi and on this occasion the gnocchi were little hard, sort of burnt or overcooked? Tasty but not soft and pillowy as they should be. My meatloaf on the other hand was excellent as was our salad. You can certainly fine a good wine as well as a decent beer list at Union 50. As far as the ambience goes, it's a cool place and one of my 'go to' restaurants with guests who have never been there. I like the vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal food, environment and service ...

Dined 4 days ago

Phenomenal food, environment and service. Will definately go back

food5
ambience5
service5

such a good time. Hannah was wonderful.

Dined on May 22, 2016

such a good time. Hannah was wonderful.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A birthday celebration for four netted a ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A birthday celebration for four netted a complimentary dessert. Food was quite unique, all of it nicely presented. Small plates are generous, easy to combine for a meal. Two ordered the skate wing, which was sold out, and had to select other dishes. Nightly special was salmon (very good), but chef would not allow substitution of vegetables. Service was moderately attentive... we poured most of two champagnes bottles ourselves, as server was not around. Space is chic and modern, very open, so can be noisy as it fills up. Bar and dining areas comingle. There was live music the night we were there, but the sound level and acoustics made conversation difficult, so we left for a quieter venue after dinner. Still, the food was wonderful, the space is beautiful, the bar is well stocked with variety and depth. Well worth a visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it and will be back!

Dined on May 16, 2016

I planned a small business dinner with a customer who appreciates fine food and dining experiences, and Union 50 looked interesting from its website and from its ratings in Indianapolis. We enjoyed the evening thoroughly - great food, service and atmosphere. Union 50 goes on the "keeper list" of places to go in Indy for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Not your typical Hoosier food....

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was very good, but not your typical Hoosier fare! It might be a little too eclectic for the average Indy food goer. The atmosphere was good, but as a person on the vertically challenged side, I found the over sized booth difficult to maneuver! Anything in the middle of the table was outside my reach!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp and grits are awesome, so was the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Shrimp and grits are awesome, so was the Kim Chi meatloaf. Poutine was wonderful as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely one of Indy's best! Everythin ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Definitely one of Indy's best! Everything was top notch, and we will be back soon!

food3
ambience3
service4

People rave about this place so I was ex ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

People rave about this place so I was excited to take my husband there for his birthday. It was fine but the portions were tiny (we did not get small plates… ) And the ambience was just OK to us - not great - though they sat us at a tiny table on the edge of the bar. I had the tuna, which was good, but my husband had the scallops - three tiny scallops, not enough for an adult. We had appetizers too - the bisque was delightful but the beef tartare was like bad ham salad. Overall, I'm glad we went but I certainly wasn't bowled over & not sure we'll go back with so many other choices downtown.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

FOOD WAS GREAT! HAD A GREAT TIME! OUR ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

FOOD WAS GREAT! HAD A GREAT TIME! OUR SERVER HAD MANY RECOMMENDATIONS FOR US.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there before going to the theate ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We went there before going to the theater. Had drinks and then dinner. Everything was wonderful. We expected no less. It is always great. The food and service are both top notch. We will return again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Union 50

Dined on May 10, 2016

Had heard about Union 50 & wanted to try it: started with the frites/sauce which were delicious & then had the mussels - the broth was more spicy than rich which is OK but just know this. Cocktails & service good - would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent! They have a gr ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was excellent! They have a great choice of different foods. I love the way the restaurant is decorated. Daniel our server did a great job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went to Union 50 before ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

My husband and I went to Union 50 before a show at Old National Center. We were very happy with the location as we just walked to the show from the restaurant. Service was prompt and professional. We ordered by our server's recommendations and enjoyed everything! The bacon wrapped figs and mushroom small plate were very unique and delicious. It is a big open space but I didn't think the noise level was bad. I noticed there is a separate area for larger parties, so that probably helped. I would definitely recommend it to a friend! We will go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here many times and never disappoin ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Been here many times and never disappointed! Service and food are always amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Mother's Day Brunch at Union 50

Dined on May 8, 2016

I love Union 50. I made reservations for the Mother's Day Brunch because I received an email from Union 50; I otherwise would not have known about it. The menu looked great! When we arrived and were seated, we were given the normal menus for dinner. I asked the server if they had the Mother's Day Brunch menus for us to browse, and he said that they did not have them printed. As a matter of fact, he did not seem to realize they had such a special going on. He had to find out what the specials were and verbally report them to us. I find it odd that Union 50 would advertise this special occasion menu but would not have it available to their customers in the restaurant. I had to send a picture of the email to my family members so that they could read and choose what they liked. Once we received our meals, they were delicious! I had the French Toast (as did 2 others in my party), and my other friend had the Chicken and Waffle. That was also particularly tasty. One last issue with there being no printed menu was there was no where to see a price. It ended up being about $60 before tip for 4 meals (no drinks included). I thought this was rather expensive, especially for brunch that does not fill you up (the French Toast option had no protein with the meal). Besides the aforementioned issue, the service was great, per usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent choice for every taste

Dined on May 7, 2016

Union 50 was a great choice for a restaurant before going to the theatre. The food choices were very innovative and the offered something special for everyone. We chose 'Nduja toast and Medjool dates which were extraordinary. The Maple Leaf Farm Duck was tender, flavorful and delicious. I tasted my husband's shrimp and Grits and although the grits made it a "heavy" food, the shrimp were plump and flavorful. Our server was excellent and attentive. We got out in plenty of time to get to the IRT. It will be a place that we will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

We love Union 50. Great food, great cocktails, great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Making the best of a bad situation.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a large group and reservations at 7:30. The party ahead of us arrived at 5:00 and did not leave until 8:30. The staff and management was very concerned about our wait and supplied us with some horsdevoures and drinks until the other party left. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was wonderful as always, service wa ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was wonderful as always, service was top notch, friendly, quick but unobtrusive.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Communications Director

Dined on May 4, 2016

Very nice place, fun, hip. Waiter was not knowledgeable about the food, ingredients or preparation and seemed distracted.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Night out with friends

Dined on April 30, 2016

From start to finish the dinner was perfect . Service was also outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

great spot- our first time there and I am sure we will go back- had the tenderloin and was amazing!!

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is top notch. From the ambiance to food and service is excellent. Angela our server was very knowledgeable about the menu, anticipated all of our needs and was spot on with all of her recommendations. Will go back there in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great cocktails and well-crafted food!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Union 50 was recommended to a group of us attending an annual meeting in Indianapolis as a restaurant that was representative of the area, but modern and fresh. Reservations were not a problem and we even showed with one extra person, but were seated quickly. The shared meats and cheeses as chosen by the chef were excellent as were the cocktails recommended by our waitress. She was friendly and had a strong knowledge of the bar and food menus. Our entrees were well received by everyone in our group and we all agreed that we would return if in the area again. I would highly recommend Union 50.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Good as always! Thanks! Great Cocktsils

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Good as always! Thanks! Great Cocktsils

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Experience!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Just a great experience! They were so nice to bring us complimentary champagne for our anniversary. It was a wonderful surprise and we have never experienced something like that before. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food! SLOW service!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We started with a meat and cheese board which was delicious, then shared an arugala salad with beets and apple (yummy), then had the Kimichi Meatloaf and YellowTail special. Food was great!! Server was nice but very slow-dinner took 3 hours after being seated immediately.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

NCHS

Dined on April 23, 2016

A very nice addition to the Indy restaurant scene. Interesting menu, fun atmosphere, easy parking, friendly service - a good package. We had the tuna, shrimp, pork chop and meat loaf - all were very nice.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

New items on the menu for each visit. We ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

New items on the menu for each visit. We will return again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Waitress was very helpful with selecting ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Waitress was very helpful with selecting from the menu. Chefs choice meat/cheese board was excellent!

food4
ambience3
service4

Creative nice addition to Indy

Dined on April 19, 2016

Creative nice addition to Indy

food5
ambience5
service5

The charcuterie plates as a starter. The ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

The charcuterie plates as a starter. The kimchi meatloaf was a delight

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Union 50 Overall

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was given to us as an anniversary gift along with tickets to the Murat Theatre. The outside temp was about 80 so we chose outdoor seating on the east side of the building. There was no sun and the breeze was gentle. The service was excellent, food superb, and the outdoor activity vibrant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Evening

Dined on April 16, 2016

We went out to celebrate with my sister and her boyfriend the night after our wedding. Both of them are from Texas so we wanted to show them around the Indy scene and thank them for their help. We had a WONDERFUL meal with small plates to share then the larger plates for dinner. Our server, Riley, gave us complimentary champagne when finding out we were newlyweds. The ambiance is so much fun and we heard some great music. This was our second time at Union50 and won't be our last!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Perhaps the best food I've ever had anyw ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Perhaps the best food I've ever had anywhere. Interesting selections.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.