About Union 50

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Indiana
American
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Indianapolis
American
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

fit for foodies (195)
good for groups (143)
hot spot (140)
See All
special occasion (116)
vibrant bar scene (116)
neighborhood gem (109)
late-night find (61)
romantic (51)
great for outdoor dining (46)
notable wine list (39)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We have patronized 4 other Cunningham re ...

Dined 4 days ago

We have patronized 4 other Cunningham restaurants for 12 years with great satisfaction; however I feel Union50 while having a classy ambiance is overpriced and under delivers.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was some of the best we've had in I ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was some of the best we've had in Indy. Flavorful, unique, fresh. The poutine was awesome. Our shrimp and grits was the best we've had; the portion was pretty small for the price. For us, one entree size plus poutine was enough, but didn't leave us stuffed by any means. We had some chocolates afterward; presentation was nice but the chocolates themselves weren't anything special. Waiter was knowledgable and helpful but seemed to be in a hurry when we asked questions about the menu. Atmosphere was really fun. The place was packed and the live music was great. Overall a great experience. Would like to return and try more of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a chance to watch the chef, and he w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Had a chance to watch the chef, and he was meticulous. That said, I had the tuna and it was under-seasoned. Medjool dates were outta this world. Mushroom appetizer very good. Poutine just ok. For me, it just didn't live up to the hype. But definitely good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Has its ups and downs but well worth it ...

Dined 6 days ago

Has its ups and downs but well worth it ..... Depends on the server 💋

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Looking forward to returning! Can't say ...

Dined 6 days ago

Looking forward to returning! Can't say enough about it, lots to like!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in Indianapolis for a conference a ...

Dined 7 days ago

I was in Indianapolis for a conference and friends who live here recommended Union 50 as a place to take colleagues because of the great food, excellent service, and reasonable prices. All three of those turned out to be accurate, and my friends and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were there for Father's ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I were there for Father's Day and had a wonderful meal. We enjoyed everything from the salads to the desserts even the drinks were on point. We recommend it and we will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I went there for a special ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A friend and I went there for a special occasion for apps and drinks before a night on the town. We were pleasantly surprised with the charcuterie board. We would honestly just go back for that! Great atmosphere, wasn't overcrowded.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaraunt in indy. The restaraunt ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Best restaraunt in indy. The restaraunt had a nice atmosphere, great drinks, awesome food, and the wait staff was extraordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mussels were prepared perfectly. Gr ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The mussels were prepared perfectly. Great place to take my friend who was visiting from out of town. She loved it. Our server Jess was super as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice. Great service, great food. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice. Great service, great food. Will definitely dine again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had dinner here the other day with my ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I had dinner here the other day with my sister and it was a great experience! The food was very good, the atmosphere was fun and the service was excellent! Will definitely go back!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. I had shrimp and gri ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was delicious. I had shrimp and grits. Portions are not huge. Scallops dinner was small.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food with a menu designed to h ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food with a menu designed to help you and your table explore it all - small plates, regular meal size...anything you want including a knowledgeable server to help you decide.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked this restaurant for a business ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I booked this restaurant for a business dinner. It was received very well and the staff was excellent. I definitely will go there with friends and family in the near future. Thanks for being at the top of my list and at the top of other lists that matter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Union 50 has become our favorite. Excel ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Union 50 has become our favorite. Excellent and interesting food with good service and a great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My favorite place to eat. Delicious foo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My favorite place to eat. Delicious food. Knowledgeable staff. Very nice atmosphere. Was easy to spend 100 dollars on 2 people but well worth the money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had been wanting to try this place for a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had been wanting to try this place for awhile. Lived up to expectations. Got wonderful recommendations from the servers, who clearly knew the menu well. Loved the swordfish! They were also on top of keeping our waters filled and seeing if we needed anything, which I appreciate. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere in the restaurant! The ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Great atmosphere in the restaurant! The food was delicious and so were the drinks. We wanted something a little different and this was perfect!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for a celebration

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

This is a great restaurant. The food is excellent and inventive. We went for a 40th birthday celebration and were pleased by the entire evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Union 50 w friends for nice evening out.

Dined on May 30, 2016

Enjoyed the ambiance. Service was excellent and drink menu was delightful. Everyone enjoyed their entrees and we shared several items for the entire table. Will come back soon

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Choice for

Dined on May 29, 2016

We were in town for the Indy 500. It was an excellent choice. Great food, I highly recommend the pork chops and the poutine for an appetizer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Union 50 always delivers!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had another great dining experience at Union 50. Certainly one of the hot places in Indianapolis. Great menu, especially for those who like to share. Great menu, excellent cocktails and affordable wine list as well as many local craft beers. Will not disappoint! Live music starting at 10:00pm. Very attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Foodies in indy- fun charcuterie , pouti ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Foodies in indy- fun charcuterie , poutine, and eclectic plates - fantastic housemate craft cocktails- O'na boat and by the pool were our favorites - live music came on at 10:30

food5
ambience5
service5

The service, the quality of the food an ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The service, the quality of the food and the waitress was outstanding. We were seated where we could see the executive chef garnishing and plating the dishes; he was fantastic. We loved our experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Impressive architecture/room. Very knowl ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Impressive architecture/room. Very knowledgable servers.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was okay...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was good. Waiter was new. Restaurant is loud due to hardscape. Waited 45 min for band to start playing after dinner. Was way too late - most guests had left the restaurant. Band was not our taste.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've always had a great meal at Union 50 ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I've always had a great meal at Union 50 and the service has always been excellent. I would have given both the food and overall experience five stars but my wife ordered the squash gnocchi and on this occasion the gnocchi were little hard, sort of burnt or overcooked? Tasty but not soft and pillowy as they should be. My meatloaf on the other hand was excellent as was our salad. You can certainly fine a good wine as well as a decent beer list at Union 50. As far as the ambience goes, it's a cool place and one of my 'go to' restaurants with guests who have never been there. I like the vibe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal food, environment and service ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Phenomenal food, environment and service. Will definately go back

food5
ambience5
service5

such a good time. Hannah was wonderful.

Dined on May 22, 2016

such a good time. Hannah was wonderful.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A birthday celebration for four netted a ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A birthday celebration for four netted a complimentary dessert. Food was quite unique, all of it nicely presented. Small plates are generous, easy to combine for a meal. Two ordered the skate wing, which was sold out, and had to select other dishes. Nightly special was salmon (very good), but chef would not allow substitution of vegetables. Service was moderately attentive... we poured most of two champagnes bottles ourselves, as server was not around. Space is chic and modern, very open, so can be noisy as it fills up. Bar and dining areas comingle. There was live music the night we were there, but the sound level and acoustics made conversation difficult, so we left for a quieter venue after dinner. Still, the food was wonderful, the space is beautiful, the bar is well stocked with variety and depth. Well worth a visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it and will be back!

Dined on May 16, 2016

I planned a small business dinner with a customer who appreciates fine food and dining experiences, and Union 50 looked interesting from its website and from its ratings in Indianapolis. We enjoyed the evening thoroughly - great food, service and atmosphere. Union 50 goes on the "keeper list" of places to go in Indy for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Not your typical Hoosier food....

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was very good, but not your typical Hoosier fare! It might be a little too eclectic for the average Indy food goer. The atmosphere was good, but as a person on the vertically challenged side, I found the over sized booth difficult to maneuver! Anything in the middle of the table was outside my reach!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp and grits are awesome, so was the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Shrimp and grits are awesome, so was the Kim Chi meatloaf. Poutine was wonderful as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely one of Indy's best! Everythin ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Definitely one of Indy's best! Everything was top notch, and we will be back soon!

food3
ambience3
service4

People rave about this place so I was ex ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

People rave about this place so I was excited to take my husband there for his birthday. It was fine but the portions were tiny (we did not get small plates… ) And the ambience was just OK to us - not great - though they sat us at a tiny table on the edge of the bar. I had the tuna, which was good, but my husband had the scallops - three tiny scallops, not enough for an adult. We had appetizers too - the bisque was delightful but the beef tartare was like bad ham salad. Overall, I'm glad we went but I certainly wasn't bowled over & not sure we'll go back with so many other choices downtown.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

FOOD WAS GREAT! HAD A GREAT TIME! OUR ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

FOOD WAS GREAT! HAD A GREAT TIME! OUR SERVER HAD MANY RECOMMENDATIONS FOR US.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there before going to the theate ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We went there before going to the theater. Had drinks and then dinner. Everything was wonderful. We expected no less. It is always great. The food and service are both top notch. We will return again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Union 50

Dined on May 10, 2016

Had heard about Union 50 & wanted to try it: started with the frites/sauce which were delicious & then had the mussels - the broth was more spicy than rich which is OK but just know this. Cocktails & service good - would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent! They have a gr ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The food was excellent! They have a great choice of different foods. I love the way the restaurant is decorated. Daniel our server did a great job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.