About Union 50

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Indiana
American
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Indianapolis
American
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

fit for foodies (195)
hot spot (138)
good for groups (137)
See All
special occasion (120)
vibrant bar scene (118)
neighborhood gem (111)
great for outdoor dining (54)
late-night find (53)
romantic (45)
notable wine list (39)
great for lunch (11)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time there. The food was even bett ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

First time there. The food was even better then I'd heard and I loved the atmosphere. I will be back for sure. The chicken, pork chop, and duck fat fries were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. Four of us had our fir ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing. Four of us had our first experience with this restaurant. All of us said we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was a great experience. The server wa ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It was a great experience. The server was helpful and knowledgeable of the menu with great advice. The food was wonderful and the pacing of serving was perfect. We also greatly enjoyed the cocktails. Can't wait to return with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my wife's birthday at Union 5 ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday at Union 50 this week. Service was excellent - server was very attentive, gave good advice and knew the dishes on the menu. Cocktail and wine selection was good. Food was beautifully presented and tasted good. Perhaps a little too salty, but this was not a major issue. Portions were very generous...bigger than we expected. The pork chop was one of the best I have had - great smokey flavor and moist inside. Mushrooms were also excellent. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal. Everyone shared and no o ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful meal. Everyone shared and no one was disappointed. The duck was tender and delicious. The wild mushrooms were a favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey and portions are a bit small but ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Pricey and portions are a bit small but food is absolutely delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cheese plate was on point. The special g ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Cheese plate was on point. The special green thai curry fish dish was delicious. Poutine was yum. The old fashion was superb. The desert wine was not what we were expecting (we wanted sweet and syrupy and got something that tasted like straight vodka). The white anchovies on the caesar were spectacular, along with the homemade dressing. The special cocktail with bourbon and chocolate bitters was maybe my favorite part. This boozy drink should really be added to the desert cocktail menu. Our waitress was so awesome and gave phenomenal service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Union50 was absolutely incredible! We w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Union50 was absolutely incredible! We went for a late dinner (10pm) so it was pretty loud, but the live music was just incredible. The service was fantastic, and the food.....oh my! The poutine "Chilaquiles" were so unique and equally delicious. Our table got several smaller plates and shared everything and I'm so glad we did. We got to try more menu items that way and there was not one thing that disappointed. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten in several Cunningham resta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have eaten in several Cunningham restaurants. We mostly eat at Charbonos. It was our wedding anniversary of 30 years and wanted something special. We were happy with Union 50 and hope to eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was incredible

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome time. Food was great, service wa ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Awesome time. Food was great, service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meatloaf was great as well as the scallo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Meatloaf was great as well as the scallops! Great birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is always amazing at Union50! ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything is always amazing at Union50! Service and food are top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am impressed with the size and decor. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I am impressed with the size and decor. The menu is quite limited though. Our service was not great but acceptable .

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

VERY limited wine-by-the-glass selection ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

VERY limited wine-by-the-glass selection...only one chardonnay offered and it was not good. Had to send my entree back, due to being extremely overcooked (sauteed skate should NOT be dark brown). A smear of pureed turnip served as the vegetable AND side on the plate. The only additional side offered on the menu is french fries, which hardly go with everything (and cost $7.00). We were celebrating a birthday, so we shared a free dessert, which was a little chocolate cake that looked like it was cooked in a muffin tin and topped with way too much thick chocolate sauce, with hazelnut ice cream on the side. Good thing it was free. Server was "kind of new," and no idea how several of the dishes were made. Also could not figure out when to remove dirty dishes from our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Yum. Duck was fab. Saw lots of other ite ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Yum. Duck was fab. Saw lots of other items on the menu I'd like to try. I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I made a reservation here ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My fiance and I made a reservation here for date night. The menu was very appealing on their website and we had heard lots of good things. When we arrived (Saturday night) we were seated immediately and were soon greeted by our waitress. The waitress was knowledgeable, helpful and entertaining. We ordered a couple drinks and were very pleased; well mixed. Ordered one of the meat and cheese boards (delicious) as well as the sticky Asian chicken wings. With these 2 dishes and our drinks, we were surprisingly content (in terms of being full). We then ordered the french toast desert.. Even though, because of a cold, i was having trouble smelling or tasting, with both agreed this was AMAZING. Prices were what we expected. We will DEFINITELY go back and likely bring friends. Fun place, incredible food and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Quiet because we went really early on a ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Quiet because we went really early on a holiday weekend but normally the place is really loud. Not a quiet romantic place, but food is great and place had a lively energetic feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

This was my 4th visit and reason I keep ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was my 4th visit and reason I keep coming back...the food is outstanding. Don't miss poutine and sticky wings (if you like a little spice). The duck is great, as is the meatloaf. Their cocktails are top notch. Atmosphere is loud not so loud you can't converse with your companions. Service is good but not exceptional. And has never been at a level that detracted from the meal. I can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I cannot say enough good things about ou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I cannot say enough good things about our experience at Union 50. The dishes were creative and delicious, featuring lots of local fare (and you could definitely taste it). It was a great place to meet with friends, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to celebrate, have a great meal, or even just grab a fun drink with a friend after work. Our service was great, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place remains near the top of our l ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This place remains near the top of our list - right behind Vida. Different vibes, different styles, but excellent food, service, bar at both. The charcuterie board at Union 50 is unmatched, especially the "chef's choice ". We have never been disappointed here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambiance, great decor and fant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, great decor and fantastic food. Highly recommend the mushrooms.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have patronized 4 other Cunningham re ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have patronized 4 other Cunningham restaurants for 12 years with great satisfaction; however I feel Union50 while having a classy ambiance is overpriced and under delivers.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was some of the best we've had in I ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was some of the best we've had in Indy. Flavorful, unique, fresh. The poutine was awesome. Our shrimp and grits was the best we've had; the portion was pretty small for the price. For us, one entree size plus poutine was enough, but didn't leave us stuffed by any means. We had some chocolates afterward; presentation was nice but the chocolates themselves weren't anything special. Waiter was knowledgable and helpful but seemed to be in a hurry when we asked questions about the menu. Atmosphere was really fun. The place was packed and the live music was great. Overall a great experience. Would like to return and try more of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a chance to watch the chef, and he w ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Had a chance to watch the chef, and he was meticulous. That said, I had the tuna and it was under-seasoned. Medjool dates were outta this world. Mushroom appetizer very good. Poutine just ok. For me, it just didn't live up to the hype. But definitely good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Has its ups and downs but well worth it ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Has its ups and downs but well worth it ..... Depends on the server 💋

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Looking forward to returning! Can't say ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Looking forward to returning! Can't say enough about it, lots to like!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was in Indianapolis for a conference a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I was in Indianapolis for a conference and friends who live here recommended Union 50 as a place to take colleagues because of the great food, excellent service, and reasonable prices. All three of those turned out to be accurate, and my friends and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were there for Father's ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband and I were there for Father's Day and had a wonderful meal. We enjoyed everything from the salads to the desserts even the drinks were on point. We recommend it and we will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I went there for a special ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A friend and I went there for a special occasion for apps and drinks before a night on the town. We were pleasantly surprised with the charcuterie board. We would honestly just go back for that! Great atmosphere, wasn't overcrowded.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaraunt in indy. The restaraunt ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best restaraunt in indy. The restaraunt had a nice atmosphere, great drinks, awesome food, and the wait staff was extraordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mussels were prepared perfectly. Gr ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The mussels were prepared perfectly. Great place to take my friend who was visiting from out of town. She loved it. Our server Jess was super as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice. Great service, great food. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice. Great service, great food. Will definitely dine again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I had dinner here the other day with my ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I had dinner here the other day with my sister and it was a great experience! The food was very good, the atmosphere was fun and the service was excellent! Will definitely go back!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. I had shrimp and gri ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was delicious. I had shrimp and grits. Portions are not huge. Scallops dinner was small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with a menu designed to h ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent food with a menu designed to help you and your table explore it all - small plates, regular meal size...anything you want including a knowledgeable server to help you decide.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I booked this restaurant for a business ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I booked this restaurant for a business dinner. It was received very well and the staff was excellent. I definitely will go there with friends and family in the near future. Thanks for being at the top of my list and at the top of other lists that matter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Union 50 has become our favorite. Excel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Union 50 has become our favorite. Excellent and interesting food with good service and a great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite place to eat. Delicious foo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My favorite place to eat. Delicious food. Knowledgeable staff. Very nice atmosphere. Was easy to spend 100 dollars on 2 people but well worth the money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Upscale meeting place. The food variety ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Upscale meeting place. The food variety is excellent. Friendly staff. Small error on bill corrected immediately. Great beer list

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.