Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Union 50

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (67)
Creative Cuisine (61)
Fit for Foodies (60)
See All
Special Occasion (56)
Good for Groups (51)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Bar Seating (47)
Vibrant Bar Scene (47)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Fun (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Hot Spot (40)
Live Music (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Business Meals (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Casual (31)
Happy Hour (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Romantic (25)
Great Beer (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
People Watching (20)
Cozy (19)
Authentic (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Seasonal (13)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Scenic View (8)
Tapas (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Vegan (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort by
S
1052 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Lamb shank was amazing! Excellent service, love the ambience.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall Experience: It was incredibly loud. Before the band set-up, it was fine, but the sound was at maximum level and when you are spending 150 on a meal for two, you do not expect to be yelling across a one-foot gap of a table and struggling to hear each other. We requested they turn it down so we did not have to continue shouting at each other and the server (which also could not hear us). They lowered the volume from I guessing 130 dB to 120 dB as if to laugh at our request. We wrapped up our bill and left shortly after. We will not be back unless we decide to try outdoor seating in the late Spring but we are just hoping our hearing recovers by then.
Food and Spirits: The food was good, but we bought two bottles of wine and the second one was sold to us as "off-dry" which I now know is their version of Moscato Sweet on top of it being the most expensive wine on the menu, it was not at all what we described we were looking for in our selection. We were requesting a dry white or semi-dry white. You cannot sample before you buy and the "by-the-glass" options are tap and not very good. We enjoyed the appetizers and meal!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server was very attentive. Food was excellent. I mentioned it was for a birthday celebration. Birthday greetings came from entire staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

The salmon.... only the salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Our server was excellent! Very knowledgeable, personal and took care of us. Very open restaurant with an incredible bar. Food tasted amazing and was hot!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Get the salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Food and Atmosphere was outstanding!! Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

My only complaint is that we didn't get our seats until 45 minutes after our reservation. Otherwise, food and table service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Love the new menu items... very "foodie" and very delicious!! We had an early dinner, which was quite nice as there was a laid back atmosphere and the noise level was relatively low. It's such a nice space and well designed place. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

It was our first time. We came for our anniversary and we had fun! The food was delicious, drinks on point and the service and atmosphere was excellent. We’ll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Girls night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

This place is never a let down! Food is always prepared to perfection and the wine is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Fun atmosphere and delicious food. Did not disappoint. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Live Music, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Food is always great here. Tomahawk pork chop is great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. The service left something to be desired. We ordered a charcuterie board and mussels to share. Both were good. we then ordered our main courses, two filets and two shrimp and grits and a couple orders of fries with several sauces to share. We never got the fries, even after asking about them. Then we ordered a dessert. After waiting 30 minutes for it, we asked again. He finally brought it, along with a second one to make up for his miss. It's not enough to keep us from going back, but it wasn't a great first experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We went at 5:45 with 4 children and could see it transforming from hip, kid friendly to more adult night life. That is difficult to really do well, and they were spot on!

The drinks did not seem to be coming from the bar smoothly, but the servers were definitely working hard to make everything right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fun, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great steak special and tasty tomahawk pork chop. Lovely service, ambience. A giant surprise when we got our bill and my husband’s $12 Manhattan cocktail was actually $19, because the server upsold him on the bourbon unbeknownst to him. Had he known his upgraded bourbon would add $7, he would’ve asked for the regular bourbon.
Also, my steak special was $39, about $12 over the average price of any other entree. It was delicious, but our server never mentioned the price of the special when she explained it.
Restaurants should always inform the guests of upcharges at the time of ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great food offered as small or large plates. Nicely plated. Very busy on weekends so service was a little slow and noise level was high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We chose Union 50 for dinner for 8 before a concert at Banker's Life. Our server was aware of our plans and paid special attention to our timing so we wouldn't be late. We enjoyed the cheese tray and fries and several dinner entrees. Scallops were very tasty.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Great place, great food and drinks. The place had a very modern but fun (kinda San Francisco) feel to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 30, 2017

I had heard good things about Union50, but it far surpassed the expectations! The drinks were heavy handed, the charcuterie was excellent and my dinner was one of the best I have had in a long time. Highly recommend!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Imaginative menu. Excellent food. Valet parking off Walnut St. Service off-kilter this visit -- has been excellent in past. Stuff brought off sequence: Received entree's first, then the cocktail. Appetizer was forgotten (cheese/sausage board). Was brought out later, no charge.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Totally worth a visit. Great location- plenty of street parking nearby. We had drinks and a combinations of appetizers small and medium plates- all were amazing. Mussels, stuffed dates, chilaquiles poutine (mixed with the mushroom), and drinks were wonderful. Come hungry- even the small plates will fill. Lighting was great and atmosphere is unbeatable for the Indy scene.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Union 50 has a diverse menu and the food was excellent. Poutine for an appetizer followed by salmon that melted in my mouth. The carrot cake had a nice minty twist.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2017

We were a little late so we called in. Staff was very accommodating. Our server, Joshua, was the absolutel best and went so far to tell the manager. Great experience, amazing food & drinks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Very tasty food but the service for us that night (busy night before a show) was very slow. It took a long time to get each round of drinks (and one was just a glass of wine). We were in a rush to make a show that started at 7, and explained this to the manager and again to the server when we arrived at 5:30. We ordered an appetizer which took about 20 min, and when we were done the waiter then said he would enter our entrees! As a result, they took more than 30 minutes from that point. We were running late now, so we took them to go as we didn't even have time for a taste.

To their credit, the meals were cooked, and I appreciated that consideration. However, the slow service and lack of attentiveness made the rest of the evening stressful while we waited for the food. Even after asking the waiter for an update (when we were already running much later than we hoped), he passed by 4 times without checking in - and avoided eye contact. It was very frustrating.

I wouldn't return because of the service. That said, even reheated, the food was very good the next day or two later.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Great food and live entertainment! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

This was first time visiting Union 50. Loved the bar and live music. Service was very good and it has a great vibe to it for groups or date environment. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Was sated next to loud kitchen, and when asked to be moved, I was offered a table about ten feet away. A little farther away, but next to a boisterous table that were friends of the general manager. What I had hoped would be an intimate date night, was Anything but. There was a very limited selection of main dish selections this night. Not impressed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Gluten free meal was exceptional; delicious and vegetarian!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Awesome meal great ambiance and love bed the decor and menu!!! Off to the Symphony for a night of Pips!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Delicious cocktails! Tuna curdo was yummy! Love the furniture & lighting!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was amazing and our server was attentive and knowledgeable. Great place to meet up with friends and have an outstanding meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

So glad we discovered this place. We are world travelers and the chef’s attention to detail, high-quality ingredients and creativity were spot on. The king salmon was superb and my fried gnocchi with puréed pea and creme fraiche was fantastic. If I am ever in Indianapolis again, I will return. In summer ask for the terrace. It looked lovely and a bit quieter than inside on a Saturday night.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This place is excellent. Very different menu. Service was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

It was a pleasant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent in every way. Great Good! Wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Came here for dinner before a trivia night and the food was wonderful. We had a Chef’s Grand Board, Duck fat & Rosemary fries, Roasted Bone Marrow, and Beef Tartare. All of them were absolutely wonderful. The service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Superb food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.