Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Union 50

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (90)
Fit for Foodies (79)
Creative Cuisine (78)
See All
Modern Decor (71)
Handcrafted Cocktails (61)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Special Occasion (54)
Hot Spot (53)
Good for Groups (52)
Live Music (49)
Fun (48)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Bar Seating (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Casual (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (42)
Business Meals (41)
Worth the Drive (37)
Authentic (33)
Romantic (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Late-night Find (23)
People Watching (22)
Great Beer (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
Open Kitchen (17)
Cozy (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Outstanding Value (13)
Wood Oven (13)
Tapas (12)
Healthy (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Historic (10)
Private Room (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Fireplace (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

I had one of my most memorable dining experience at Union 50 for my daughter's birthday. The food was delicious and unique, and the service was outstanding! I look forward to my next opportunity to enjoy the cuisine and atmosphere at Union 50.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was relatively good. Cocktails were skimpy and presentation was mediocre.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

It was refreshing to have a waitor confident enough to make recommendations. The food and waitor were so good we came back Saturday night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

good not great we had a charcuterie board portions were small, not enough for men terrine was unexceptional shrimp + grits were good salmon was good nothing was "wow"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent, some of the best I had in awhile. A little slow between courses. Took 20 minutes to get a cheese board. However, the server was very nice and apologetic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Spectacular as always!

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This spot is on my current list of favorites. The food is good. I love the decor. There is live music. I've dined there many times and it's always nice. (I wish the chef would bring back the creamy kale soup and the pulled pork sandwich)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Union 50 is consistently very good and worth the price. Make reservations in advance. It seems to be a bit noisier later in the evening and there is often music .

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We came to here Felicia joi Cook open for awake the wild which was great! We shared the meatloaf dinner recommended by our waiter which turned out to be unique and spicy (very good). The service
Was very good in the back private area. The valet service was very helpful due to hard to find parking during st Patrick's day. We transferred to a table out in the main area by the stage and the service was slower in that area. All in all it was a good time and good food. Not to mention the wine was a step above the traditional bar/ restaurant.

Tags: Dancing, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Dan was a great server. We came and met up with friends to listen to Awake the Wilde. I'd like to see a few less eclectic menu options and a lower price for those who do not want anything to fancy. Food is always good, though.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The palate of the chef was similar to mine. I like attend paid to favor--bitter sweet sour texture with each bite. Wonderful presentation. A local gem

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, extensive wine and cocktail choices. The scallop and mussel chowder was fantastic followed by a very tasty walleye dinner. My wife had the scallops and thought they were well prepared and proportioned well. Friends had the shrimp and grits and thought they were very tasty as well. Great spot before a show at the Old National Center. I highly recommend this place and will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A Mass Ave post theatre spot. Or for any occasion. Chicken wings, mushrooms and pea shoots were complimentary tastes. The garlic fries were so filling that we had no room for main entree. Variety of ways to satisfy your palate and leave satisfied.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Went at 8:00 pm on Saturday night so not a shock that the bar was busy and it was louder but didn't ruin experience. The only bad comment is my steak was under cooked and burnt on one side pretty bad. I did not return it but wish I had. Server was great!
Had real nice time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I usually don't take time to write restaurant reviews. We have dined at nice restaurants all over the world and I would put our dinner at Union 50 this past Saturday up against almost any meal. We started with a dish of beets and endive - creative and well-done with a little twist on your average first course beet salad. Next, we tried the wood-fired wild mushrooms - they were out of site (a menu regular). We both thought we were eating a big piece of pork belly atop the mushrooms, but found out it was bacon, manchego, and thinly sliced potatoes. A really impressive dish. My wife had ahi tuna with a szechwan-coriander rub. Truth be told it was just, "decent." We both thought it a little on the salty side, but still a good overall flavor profile. I had the walleye special which was balanced, creative, and one of the best dishes I have ever tasted.
This was not our first time at the restaurant, but it was certainly our favorite meal there. I have always had pretty good food at Union 50, but this was exceptional. I'm usually a little critical of the service as I think it tends to be a bit on the inattentive/aloof side. Our server this past Saturday was pleasant and relatively punctual. He had a good knowledge of the food and spoke to the bartender regarding a question on a bottle of wine. He was pleasant and a significant step above most of the servers I have had at this restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great nite, creative dishes and cocktails. Extensive beer and wine list

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We went for the first time for our wedding anniversary. It was a great experience. Beef tartar and skate wing were exceptionally good.enjoyed wine pairing suggested by our knowledgeable server. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great restaurant! Another great win for the Cunningham Group.
Jess provided great service and provided very insightful suggestions.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Cunningham restaurants keeps putting out great places to eat and have fun. And they're all very unique. Food was fantastic. Wait staff was very good and treated us very well. Bartenders make great craft cocktails. And the music is always very enjoyable but not so loud that you can't talk to your table guests. I also like their loyalty program. You actually really get something from it , like $100 to use in all of their restaurants. Obviously, I'm a big fan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Our experience was wonderful. I had the mussels dish and it was delicious. All the food was so great. Our server Andrew was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Novel cuisine, and great variety including variety of meal sizes. We had people of varied appetites and splitting up into small dishes/tapas, mid-size bistro, and full meals was very welcome. Skate was prepared extremely well, and that's not easy. Doesn't show up in most restaurant menus. Cocktails very imaginative.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had the best server! She new all about everything on the menu and gave us great recomendations.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great buzzy bar for any upscale reason to go out and get great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere sets this restaurant apart from others!

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Historic, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The server was great explaining the menu. If you didn't know the set up you could leave hungry or dissappointed sine there are small, medium and large meals. Not somewhere I'd go every weekend sine it gets pricey, but definitely for a special occasion. Wait staff was very attentive too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Pork Chop along with accompanying sides was a great mix.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great creative food options, large beer, wine and whiskey selection, service was excellent and the space was open and had a really cool vibe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Great experience! Scallop and mussel chowder was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Daniel was our server tonight and we could have not asked for anyone better. We came in for a birthday and left with a memorable experience that will stay with us for a lifetime. The food was exquisite except for the desert but otherwise we will be back with no hesitation. I highly recommend Daniel for anyone going to union 50 looking for a memorable experience. Thank you again for the informative recommendations about food and drinks to make our evening above and beyond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful evening. Mussels, scallops, and duck enjoyed at our table. Outstanding service overall.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We sat in the back room at one of the big tables that they slide out between each course. That ended up being kind of cool and a good idea. We had wonderful service, great food, and delicious drinks. We all love Union 50, the atmosphere is great and the food has never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a great evening! Inventive cocktails and food. Charcuterie options provide a nice appetizer option. Our server Paula was fantastic - attentive without being intrusive. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our meal here spoiled us! The flavor and quality made our new few meals seem incredibly mediocre. I ordered the wood-fired mushrooms with tofu - a large dish! - these mushrooms were magical! My boyfriend ordered the scallops - insane! - best scallop I've ever tasted! We had carrot cake for dessert and it was phenomenal. Definitely get a handcrafted cocktail as well!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Fantastic all around opportunity - great food and service

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Best dinner ever! We love this menu. I had the beet salad and tuna. Perfect order. Andrew was our waiter and we will ask for him every time!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Unusual menu. Beautiful decor. We had a cheese board with 3 meats and a side of french fries.
Plenty of food for the three of us. Margarita was delish!

Tags: Quick Bite, Tapas, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The meals seemed costly for the amount of food received. I ordered an item on the petit size as I am a small eater, but it was an appetizer for one size versus a small meal. I expected a bread and a vegetable side but none were served.
Loved the sfaff but I think a waiter jumped in after a waitress said she'd return. We were ready though and went ahead and placed an order.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our server (Jen I think) was awesome!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I thought the overall experience was good. Bartender did a great job making my friend a custom drink. Everybody enjoyed the food. our server could have been more attentive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We celebrated two birthdays spanning a good 45 years and we were pleased beyond my expectations. While an open seating environment, the noise level was very acceptable and our party of 6 could easily carry on several conversations without struggle.

The cocktails were bountiful and very fairly priced. The selections of bourbons and gins was extensive and included the 'standards' as well as some amazing hidden gems.

The food? Scrumptious. Again- the entrees were ample, the appetizers were delightful, the service was impeccable. The charcuterie board of select meats was creative, the cheeses served at a perfect temperature to assure best flavors.

The food was served 'as expected'- that is, both on a very timely basis, neither rushing us nor creating a time gap to have all 6 entrees served at once.

My ONLY disappointment? The size of the desserts. While we barely had room for any gargantuan servings, I would have appreciated, perhaps, a smidge more.

All in all, a 4.9 out of 5. Truly a great evening and great memories.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.