About Union 50

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Indiana
Best Ambiance
Indiana
American
Indiana
3 More
Best Overall
Indianapolis
Best Ambiance
Indianapolis
American
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Fit for Foodies (69)
Modern Decor (58)
Creative Cuisine (55)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Good for Groups (41)
Hot Spot (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Bar Seating (32)
Fun (31)
Business Meals (29)
Casual (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Live Music (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Romantic (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Authentic (19)
People Watching (18)
Great Beer (17)
Late-night Find (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Tasting Menu (11)
Healthy (11)
Open Kitchen (9)
Tapas (9)
Private Room (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Historic (6)
Cozy (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything we ordered was delicious. The ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything we ordered was delicious. The menu was eclectic, but not pretentious. The drinks were spot on. The service was impeccable. In short: our new favorite spot in Indy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, fun atmosphere - would recom ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, fun atmosphere - would recommend highly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

I was happy to find Union 50. The food w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

I was happy to find Union 50. The food was fresh, the service was friendly and helpful. Great place to eat!

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Our server w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and provided great suggestions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and bar service. We allow ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and bar service. We allowed the chef to make the decisions on the meet and cheese board and it was superb. The food portions are ample and very well placed in their price point. If you leave hungry, it is your own fault. This restaurant is part of Cunningham Restaurant Group which is a group of very good dining experiences - each very authentic on its own merit. The service only had 4-stars because of excess hovering. Other than that, a great night and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

So fun great time with good people

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 1, 2016

So fun great time with good people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great place! We took a job ca ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This is a great place! We took a job candidate we're trying to hire and the restaurant was just the perfect welcome-to-Indy. Upscale but reasonable, decent beer menu, wonderful space, great friendly service. Really played up the Hoosier hospitality angle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful menu - all of our food was ama ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful menu - all of our food was amazing. We had 8 people -shaped a lot of the apps and we all got different entrees. Everything was wonderful. Great cocktails and wine list. Wonderful service from the bar to the server.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a great atmosphere, very atte ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always, a great atmosphere, very attentive service and great flavors with all offerings.

They make it easy to share which makes the meal a lot more fun. Nice variety of craft beers and the bartenders are very creative with their cocktails.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food wass excellent. We had a great ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food wass excellent. We had a great time. The waiter brought our entrees at the right time. We did not feel rushed to finish our appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The space was nice. This is a beautiful ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The space was nice. This is a beautiful restaurant and bar. They have live music late nights. I think for a drink it's probably a decent bet. We were not fans of the food particularly, small portions, inflated prices. 35 and younger crowd my guess. Lost of servers with the whole scruffy beard, pony tail, and baggy pants. Not our scene.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

A casual relaxed bar atmosphere with gou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A casual relaxed bar atmosphere with gourmet food. Quiet on a Sunday early evening. We shared a duck meal and a red snapper meal. Both were outstanding. Good informative waiter. Our meals arrived soon after we ordered. A very nice experience. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We go frequently and have never been di ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We go frequently and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were recommended to try Union 50 by t ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were recommended to try Union 50 by two different couples so decided to try it. Our daughter and son in law are millennials. The other couple recommending this restaurant to us were in their 60's. When we dined at Union 50 prior to going to IRT we found that all ages made up the guests at the restaurant. Some were informal diners and others were there for special occasions or on their way to special events in the city. The food was OUTSTANDING!!! The service was the best we have had for a long while. We will be back and will pass our great experience to others encouraging them to go check out this great place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Wood Oven, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the best restaurant I have ever ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This was the best restaurant I have ever been to. The Cunningham group REALLY knows how to do the restaurant scene. Everything was amazing. The carrot cake is a must if you are a carrot cake lover!!!! Took my wife there for her 50th birthday. We both benefited from the experience!!!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In town for a convention, went there on ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

In town for a convention, went there on last night. Not the quietest restaurant, but sleek and modern and not so noisy that conversation was impossible. Outstanding, locally sourced, chef driven menu. The duck fat and rosemary french fries with aioli were addictively good. Great service with a knowledgeable, friendly waiter. Wish it were in my neighborhood in Houston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a great time with an old friend eati ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

had a great time with an old friend eating mostly shared food. could have done regular entrees but more fun to share. good for locally owned, more unique atmosphere, less traditional take on food items, thoroughly enjoyed, didn't need to dress fancy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Private Room, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Union 50s atmosphere is stunning.

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Union 50s atmosphere is stunning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Union 50 offered a fabulous evening of g ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Union 50 offered a fabulous evening of great food and fun. This was a business dinner with friends so it was nice to have the opportunity to chat. Noise level was fine. Food was amazing. Service was the best. Highly recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was Fantastic! Our server Mike, wa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was Fantastic! Our server Mike, was extremely knowledgeable and delivered great customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We are a frequent customer of the Cunnin ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We are a frequent customer of the Cunningham group restaurants but first time visitor for Union 50. We were quite impressed with the whole evening from the great service by Angela and her recommendations, nice presentation of the food, and just a neat environment. Always nice to be able to have a conversion over a dinner without having to yell. A nice hidden gem. We are already talking up the place with our friends. Thank you for a great evening in the recognition of veterans! It was the best meal of the day!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had our 2nd great experience at Union 50 ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Had our 2nd great experience at Union 50. The food was great as was the service. Delicous cheese and meat board and both pouttines to start it off. Entrees were all very good as were the beverages. Felt like a good value for high end dining.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is possibly the best restaurant in ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This is possibly the best restaurant in the city, but at ~$60/person for a baller of a meal, it's definitely one to save for special occasions (if you are poor like me). This visit was not as mind-blowing as a year ago, but that's because their menu is constantly changing. They even nail the non-fancy stuff; they churn out some of the world's best fries in duck fat, for instance. The alcohol selection (beer, cocktails, and wine) may be reason alone to come, and I really like the ambience, setup, and decor; think upscale gastropub in a great location off Mass Ave.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Very cool decor. Gre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great experience. Very cool decor. Great vibe. Food was delicious but in my opinion, they are trying WAY too hard to be unusual with their food selection and menu items. Maybe I am old-school but Bone Marrow as a menu item just doesn't do it for me. Having said that, the food we did order was excellent. Bar area and outdoor seating fantastic.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, Great Food Our server was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great service, Great Food

Our server was great to work with and the manager, he treated us like we were family!

Definitely will be coming back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Indy from Fort Wayne and this p ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Visiting Indy from Fort Wayne and this place was recommended to us. We decided to try a few of the petit plates. We weren't disappointed! Highly recommended it, especially if you like trying new food combinations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had dinner at Union 50 with family th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had dinner at Union 50 with family that were in from out of town. Everything was perfect. One of our group is gluten-free, and they accommodated her amazingly.

The cheese board was excellent, especially the Beehive SeaHive cheese. Beet salad was delicious, entrees were outstanding.

All in all, just a wonderful time. We would return in a heartbeat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place!! Recommend the charcute ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this place!! Recommend the charcuterie board!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious innovative menu, small plates ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious innovative menu, small plates , sharing available with no problem. This is a large open space so the noise level is high. Our 2nd time back, we will come again the next time we are in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food- knowledgeable wait staff but ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food- knowledgeable wait staff but a little slow on service. Seems very popular and trendy currently as it is in a hot spot of Indianapolis ( Masss Ave). Good but not much to differentiate itself from the others in area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

In town for a conference and wanted to f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2016

In town for a conference and wanted to find a local spot to take clients. This was a wonderful dinner and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I ate here after the symp ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My husband and I ate here after the symphony to celebrate his birthday. The food was fantastic and we did not have to wait long after ordering to enjoy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for all special events and get-tog ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great for all special events and get-togethers. Food is outstanding and never fails. The ambience is such that it can be hard to have quiet conversation. It is always a go-to when having to take friends or family out for dinner in Indianapolis

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the skate wing had some ammoni ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I thought the skate wing had some ammonia smell and mentioned it to the wait staff - this was unusual given my past experience at U-50.

Would like some response from the management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Family members who now live in NY (Manha ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Family members who now live in NY (Manhattan) were in tow and Union 50 was recommended as the place to go. None of us were disappointed and the New Yorkers are still raving about it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible and our waitress ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was incredible and our waitress was able to make great recommendations on both food and beverages.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My overall experience was great. The no ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My overall experience was great. The noise level was too high for me. It is hard to have a good conversation at a shout! Loved the food and the decor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic time! Great food and great ser ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fantastic time! Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Union 50 with my son and seve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We went to Union 50 with my son and several friends from his football team. We enjoyed the New York Striploan and several appetizers (Dates and Poutine). I thought the meal and experience were incredible until we went there last Friday and I had the Pork Chop. It was FANTASTIC! It's a great place to go with a group, Food is incredible, atmosphere is cool, service is great. We stayed around and enjoyed the live music. One of my favorite places in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service, venue and food. Will ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fantastic service, venue and food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.