Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.26mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Union 50

Union 50 is an innovative, chef driven restaurant and bar located in the Mass Ave neighborhood in Indianapolis, IN. Our dinner menu features creative dishes that change seasonally. Our full service bar features local libations and handcrafted cocktails. Union 50 also hosts live music, local and touring musicians and bands, multiple times per week.

620 N. East Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
MONDAY-THURSDAY: 4:30pm - 1:00am
FRIDAY-SATURDAY: 4:30pm - 2:00am
SUNDAY: 4:30pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 610-0234

Website:
http://www.union-50.com/

Entertainment:
Union 50 hosts live music up to five nights per week. Visit our website to check out upcoming bands: www.union-50.com

Executive Chef:
Thomas Melvin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Union 50 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (90)
Good for a Date (87)
Creative Cuisine (77)
See All
Modern Decor (71)
Handcrafted Cocktails (67)
Special Occasion (59)
Hot Spot (57)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Live Music (52)
Fun (52)
Bar Seating (49)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Good for Groups (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Business Meals (40)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Casual (38)
Worth the Drive (35)
Local Ingredients (32)
People Watching (30)
Romantic (29)
Authentic (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Late-night Find (25)
Great Beer (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Tasting Menu (23)
Open Kitchen (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Cozy (16)
Healthy (15)
Tapas (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Wood Oven (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Private Room (11)
Historic (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Fireplace (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Scenic View (4)
Organic (4)
Live Sports (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
856 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, excellent food, wonderful ambiance. Sat outside on the patio. I highly recommend the poutine and charcuterie board for apps.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

I tend to go to Union 50 when visiting Indianapolis to see family. When it first opened, it had a great urban vibe and guests seemed to like it. Now, it's becoming big like another suburban sports bar - people dress sloppy and the scene is noisy and not as clean as before. I had a well seasoned and cooked pork chop - but it was served cold. My margueritas were made with some form of fruit concoction that was overly-sweet and nontraditional. I love in NYC - yet found the prices to be high - even for NY.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food! Chef deserves greatest marks! I would put this place as one of the best Indianapolis has to offer.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was exceptional. Very different options on the menu & they were delicious. We will come back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

When I first looked at the menu, I wasn't sure there was anything I would like. Then I selected the strawberry salad and the date small plate. They were both excellent so I was happy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 22, 2017

A very nice experience. The decor is very nice with a open feeling. The menu offers something for everyone and has some very creative options. The service was excellent, being there as needed but no hovering over us. Thought the prices were reasonable. This is a place that we will return to again.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Great ambiance, food and service. A+ went twice over the four days I was in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic food. Each entrée was like a melody of flavors. The seasoning was so well balanced that I found myself slowing down and savoring every bite. We were 3 girls out for a weekend and we each got an entrée to share. The duck, the tenderloin and the shrimp toast with Ahi jam. Each was excellent and we enjoyed going from dish to dish as they seemed to compliment each other. The vegetables served with the mains were delicious too. We then splurged on dessert - the carrot cake and the chocolates. Both were amazing but the chocolates were particularly impressive. Maybe the smoothest, silkiest chocolates I've ever tasted and not too sweet and no waxy texture. They just melted beautifully on your tongue. Service was very good, the atmosphere is hip but comfortable and the music was very enjoyable. Our visit really ended our night perfectly. I won't say it is inexpensive, but for the quality of food and atmosphere, the value was great to me - I felt it was a bargain; on a quality level to anything I've had in Chicago. To my taste, it was one of the best meals I've experienced.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Late-night Find, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic food and great service, little bit out of the way if you are staying downtown but absolutely worth the Uber ride. One suggestion have the rules of the shuffle board table posted, lots of fun but we didn't know what we were doing.

Tags: Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Really nice restaurant with a vibrant crowd. Great food and drinks. We ate outside and it has a nice neighborhood feel to it with fire pits included for cool evenings. Our server was super nuce and very knowledgeable. I will definitely go back on my next trip to Indy.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Had a great dining experience. Waiter was fun and knowledgeable

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great service. Food was very unique but still delicious. Great portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Kitchen and server overwhelmed. Maybe it was a bad night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A group of four of us went to Union 50 as a friends get-together. Unfortunately the service that evening was the worst we've experienced and have been to Union 50 multiple times previously. After checking in with us for drinks, our server disappeared for a long time before returning to ask about our dinner order. After finally receiving our dinner orders our server was just absent from the floor when we needed her assistance. Ultimately the general manager stepped in and finished our dinner service. The other issue was music began at 9 pm (most often at 10 pm) and was so loud that we could not carry on a conversation without yelling. Ultimately, the whole evening was not in consistent with previous experiences at Union 50.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love this restaurant and this time was no different. Was celebrating with my adult family and wanted to introduce they to some high scale dining. Everything we ate and drank was amazing! They were very impressed with the experience at Union 50.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Michael provided us with superb service. Food was simple great ... Some combinations that you won't find elsewhere in Indy such as steak tartare or the Thai meatloaf (which was great). That being said, aside from from a couple of poutine combinations or fries with different sauces .... finicky youngsters probably won't find much to their liking ...

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We chose Union 50 for Mother's Day lunch/brunch. It was everything you'd want: quiet enough for family conversation, delicious food and drinks, and excellent friendly service.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mike did a great job for Mothers Day brunch for our group of 7.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

WARNING! You will want to try everything in one visit but won't be able to. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Two thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Second time there for dinner, same great waiter named Tay. Excellent service, food and drinks were high quality. It's not inexpensive but it's a nice place for dinner and/or drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I have been to Union 50 several times either for business or for a family special occasion. It is consistently excellent - both the food and the service. The food selections are often pretty unique, things I have not seen at other places, and always delicious. I also like the relaxed ambiance. Very relaxing place to dine!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

ioujqgaergnrjktnhtnhehmyjm,rl,uk,;uk;i.;il.iol.nsjufuiwehn,vfjklerng

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our group was very impressed with Union 50. The atmosphere is warm, inviting, and fun. I liked the fireplace on the outside patio before entering the restaurant. The decor was modern but still cozy. The bar area was a very fun and lively atmosphere. The live music was great, too. The food and service were excellent. Our group will definitely visit again!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent Food, Excellent Service, great reward point system. Can accommodate larger groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a wonderful experience from the servers to the management. I want to thank Mike Burden for making the experience so very awesome!!

Thanks

Drew Hubble

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We were celebrating our daughters college graduation, her choice of restaurants and I might add, it was an excellent choice. Our server, Jessica could not have been better! She was AWESOME! She worked with my hubbies "non-foodie" palette and succeeded nicely. This is a very trendy, cool place....we loved it!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food and service were both excellent. We enjoyed a charcuterie board and cocktails. The were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everything about the food and environment was awesome; service was a little slower than expected. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 5, 2017

All around fantastic meal and service. The chef is extremely creative in his menu options and the service was attentive but not over the top.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Private Room, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Casually upscale and very noisy. I had to consciously raise my voice so my partner could hear me & we had to ask the waiter to repeat what he'd said a couple of times because his responses were lost in the noise. It was noisy when we walked in & then they turned on music over the loudspeaker system & that made it even more difficult to hear conversation. Good for loud parties, too noisy for intimate conversations. Count on paying at least $8 to park your car.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 5, 2017

What a great time. The service was superb but the food - oh my, no words to describe how delicious it all was. All 9 of us enjoyed each dish and appetizer. Let's don't forget the drinks - the spicy margarita was a table favorite. First time there and we loved it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I have to applaud the service here. Great attention from all quarters. And the food was excellent for everyone in our party. We will be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I really did love this place. It was our first visit but can not wait to go back. Would be a fun place to take another couple.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was our second visit and it did not disappoint. The food is absolutely great, the service is wonderful, and the overall ambience is a joy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

First time experience at Union 50. Energetic young man took care of the valet parking. Fabulous service provided by Daniel. Mouth watering dishes served at just the right temperature in a timely fashion. To- die- for carrot cake for dessert! Unfortunately we left before the live music - met the band in the parking lot on the way out. Have already shared this wonderful restaurant with family and friends.

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Amazing food and drinks. Cool location and decor

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is our second time. The first time we felt it was "meh" - as if they were working a bit too hard to be trendy and hip. We decided to give it another try. This time we were left feeling full, well cared for by our server and had some excellent tasting food. They seemed to have settled in and are just focusing on good food/drinks and good service. We were very happy with this experience. Brandon was our server and we really appreciated his excellent service and his recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Another hit!
We love Cunningham restaurants and this one does not disappoint. They hire the best people, source the best foods, find the best chefs, and offer a fun, happy, comfortable atmosphere with varied experiences within one roof. Sit at the bar. Sit at a table in the bar. Sit close to the open kitchen. Sit outside. Sit at a comfortable table with a large party or small. Great for a fun evening with the best service in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Historic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.