About Undercurrent Restaurant

327 Battleground Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

Owners, Susan and Ben Roberts partnered up with brothers Wes and Chris Wheeler in 2015 and we invite you to enjoy our Contemporary American Cuisine where we utilize Classical French cooking techniques with global influences.
Our beverage program includes a full bar, wonderful local craft beers, and a 150 bottle wine list with 50+ wines by the glass for which Undercurrent has been recognized by both Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. We have been rated consistently tops in our class of restaurants.
The ambiance is truly one of the nicest in the area with ample space for you while dining. We now have a truly fabulous patio area. We seat our patio on a "first come first served basis".
A comfortable bar area is available for dining from our full menu or to begin or end your dining experience with us.
Please join us and let the capable staff at Undercurrent make your lunch or dinner a wonderful experience.
Cheers,
From ALL the staff here at Undercurrent

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch hours are Monday – Friday from 11:30AM to 2PM
Dinner hours Monday-Wednesday from 5:30PM to 9PM
Sunday Brunch from 11AM to 2:30PM
Bar hours are 4PM to 9:30PM
Thursday-Saturday from 5:30PM to 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Lindsey and Green Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-1266

Website:
http://www.undercurrentrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We can but we look at each catering job as to whether we can or can not accommodate.

Parking Details:
Plenty of on-street parking. Available parking after 5pm at the Sun Trust building's parking lot across Battleground Ave.

Executive Chef:
Michael Harkenreader

Private Party Facilities:
Undercurrent, a Piedmont Triad favorite for its New American Cuisine, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city of Greensboro. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Ben Roberts, owner: (336) 370-1266

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up for our newsletter to find our all of the many special events we put on here at Undercurrent. www.undercurrentrestaurant.com

Undercurrent Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Cozy (11)
Seasonal (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (7)
Private Room (7)
Healthy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
948 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is still the best restaurant in Gre ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

This is still the best restaurant in Greensboro, NC. We go here often and came on January 22 for brunch. Their brunch is outstanding. We have had two parties here last year and the staff did an excellent job. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, , Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was DELICIOUS! We had salmon, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was DELICIOUS! We had salmon, trout, and scallops, and all were fabulous. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They continue to be a lovely place to ea ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

They continue to be a lovely place to eat a good meal. I would like to see more options for healthier eaters made available. Sauces here tend to get heavy and vegetarian or vegan options are really not easy to get (even the set ups are not good options for the health conscious). But the quality is consistent and the ambiance is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Just when I didn't think it could get an ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Just when I didn't think it could get any better - it did! Wow! The Sun Flower Seed Gnocchi, Kale, Roasted Tomato, Balsamic Onions, Butternut Squash Puree with Thyme Cream - a foodie's dream dish! You can't go wrong at The Undercurrent!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful. Staff really does read ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always wonderful. Staff really does read the OpenTable special requests. Thanks for another great meal and experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service, food, ambiance was extraor ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service, food, ambiance was extraordinary. Our waiter was very attentive. The food was excellent. I like That they serve local foods.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Greensboro. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Greensboro. Food is always outstanding and offerings vary from visit to visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

"our table" was situated right in front ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

"our table" was situated right in front of the kitchen, which we were not happy with at all. We requested another table, the waitress seemed a bit annoyed, but she did ask a gentlemen about moving us, and our request was handled by him.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our experience except for my ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed our experience except for my wife's grossly underdone salmon when the doneness was confirmed with waiter twice before order was placed. Order was for medium well and dish came as rare. Finally, when we wanted to find our waitperson, or anyone for that matter, to handle this issue it took 10 minutes to do so. The management did decide to do the dish over again for her. However, they should understand this never satisfies anyone because when the dish finally arrives the other members of the party have already completed their main courses. It makes everyone uncomfortable.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Undercurrent is my favorite Greensboro r ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Undercurrent is my favorite Greensboro restaurant. Food, service, ambiance is always superb.

Tags: , Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed! The Sunflower Seed ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Never disappointed! The Sunflower Seed Crusted Trout with German Potato salad - French green beans - sauce Gribiche and Fried kale - over the top delicious! And always - THE BEST hot and house made bread you will find in the Greensboro-Winston-Salem- High Point area! Service wonderful and welcoming. My go-to place for lunch anytime I am in the area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've lived in the area for years and ha ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We've lived in the area for years and have never been here - boy, have we missed out! Started with cocktails at the bar and found the bartender to be very friendly and professional, the drinks were outstanding. Moved to a table for dinner and were not disappointed. The meal was wonderfully fabulous!! The menu is not overwhelming, which is nice. The service at our table was not the greatest, but we wondered if it were because there was such a crowd that night. We will definitely be going back. And often!

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent menu and willing to adapt dish ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent menu and willing to adapt dishes for celiac customers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding location, the decor is great ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Outstanding location, the decor is great and the food was fantastic. Loved the bar area with the couch go early and have some drinks prior to getting your table. I had the roasted duck and it was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We continue to frequent this special spo ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We continue to frequent this special spot for so many reasons. The obvious ones are, of course, the food, service and ambiance. But last night I noticed that Peggy will replace the white napkins for black ones based on what you're wearing. One more of the little things that Undercurrent does to keep us returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great. Food was surperb.

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great. Food was surperb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Inventive menu. Everything we ate was pr ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Inventive menu. Everything we ate was prepared well, and with creative twists. The rack of lamb with the rich maple gastrique was devine. Offers a variery of entrees for those of us not able to eat seafood. Also, will accomodate folks who are vegetarian. Attentive service. And at last, a restaurant that was quiet enough to have a conversation. Yes, we go out to eat, but also to converse with friends and loved ones.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Service was OK. Food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great atmosphere. Service was OK. Food was creative but not to my taste. At least the items I had chosen. Others enjoyed some of the menu items but not all. I would go again and make different choices. Prices were as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

We had a wonderful brunch experience!

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While most of my guests said their food ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 8, 2016

While most of my guests said their food was excellent, my salmon dish was marginal at best. The salmon itself was fine but the accompanying items were either tasteless or bitter - in hindsight, I should have requested something else. Our server was very nice and attentive, but the host, who also delivered some of the dishes and handled the check was very abrupt, and unfriendly.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit - greeted in a friendly ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

First time visit - greeted in a friendly manner by hostess. Server arrived immediately with warm welcome and quickly served cocktails, and reviewed menu. Somewhat unique menu with local flavors and twist to standard fare, but very tastefully applied. Perfect venue to actually have a conversation - well appointed surroundings that minimized the noise. EXCEPTIONAL service all evening. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Located in downtown Greensboro. Nice, c ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Located in downtown Greensboro. Nice, cozy atmosphere good for business lunch and special occasion.

I went there several times, but this time, the dish was not as good as I expected.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Anniversary dinner. Entrees were: scall ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Anniversary dinner. Entrees were: scallops and trout. Service was excellent. Food was prepared very nicely and was excellent. Lovely restaurant with a big city feel. We are determined to dine here more than once a year.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite place in the Greensboro area ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

My favorite place in the Greensboro area to eat! I am never disappointed in the fabulous entrees offered at The Undercurrent. It was my first time to try the trout and I was delighted. Delicious - and always with the perfect seasoning and sauces! The bread is always fresh, hot and homemade!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, great food and great service. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As always, great food and great service...our favorite restaurant in Greensboro

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Continues to be the most lovely dining e ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Continues to be the most lovely dining experience...great food and superb seevice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. Modern and elega ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Everything was perfect. Modern and elegant. Delicious impactful dishes and lovely service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have never had a bad meal for lunch, ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We have never had a bad meal for lunch, dinner or special event (Murder Mystery Dinner). This was a special business lunch. We conducted the business and enjoyed the location. Our server is easily one of the best in Greensboro, if not the best. I'm keeping the name secret, so the server doesn't get too many requests.

We've had great meals coming in very casual at the bar, on un-special evenings. Adam is a great mixologist .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the salmon dish which was full of ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had the salmon dish which was full of flavor and cooked perfectly. The trout dinner was superb, cook just right and with great potatoes. The bread puddinf desert was over the top and was warm, with blue berries and Carmel and a large size so was worth the affordable price. great meal and without alcohol was $50. worth it. Wonderful server who worked very hard to ensure a great business meal. She was awesome and the other servers lookes equally attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food & service!

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was pretty good, but we were there ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was pretty good, but we were there over two hours. Got there at 6pm and it was not crowded at that point. The service was slow, and the food took forever to get to the table. I've had comparable food and much better service elsewhere in Greensboro for less money. I don't know that I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We tried Undercurrent Restaurant's new S ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We tried Undercurrent Restaurant's new Sunday Brunch menu and we were amply rewarded.

Some old standby's are on the menu, but there were lots of new items too. My wife tried the French toast and I tried the off-menu special that included poached eggs. Expect some really pleasing new taste treats. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Our server Kelsey was wonderf ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent! Our server Kelsey was wonderful, explained how food is seasoned and we enjoyed her recommendations. Pumpkin hummus was particularly good. Duck breast nicely done. Excellent presentation of all dishes. House Pinot Noir was excellent also. Hope to return on regular basis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We met friends for dinner during NCAT's ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We met friends for dinner during NCAT's homecoming weekend. We were pleasantly surprised with the restaurant. we loved the ambiance of the restaurant and all five of us enjoyed our food. While I had the scallops my son got the cornmeal dusted trout which was my favorite. For dessert the cheesecake was good and surprisingly light while the bread pudding was very heavy. You might want to share if you get the bread pudding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, excellent food and service! ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 26, 2016

As always, excellent food and service! The menu is creative and their are many healthy/Paleo options. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Undercurrent is an interesting upscale r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Undercurrent is an interesting upscale restaurant in downtown Greensboro. I had NC tuna served in an imaginative apple-based could. While interesting, the flavor combinations honestly were a bit strange. Service was ok, but I expected better at this price point. The service person didn't really seem to know the menu or the ingredients on the plate well. The wine by the glass was brought to the table in the glass, rather than being bored at the table. This is a nit, but when you're ordering fine wine by the glass, you want to know that you were getting what you paid for.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent dining at its finest. Wonderfu ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent dining at its finest. Wonderful patio, extensive wine list, and great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bartender was professional and engaging. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Bartender was professional and engaging.

The server was friendly and enjoyable

Food was tasty.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed Undercurrent! The ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed Undercurrent! The atmosphere is so inviting and modern and the food choices are diverse! Great blending of flavors and ingredients!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.