Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Undercurrent Restaurant

Owners, Susan and Ben Roberts partnered up with brothers Wes and Chris Wheeler in 2015 and we invite you to enjoy our Contemporary American Cuisine where we utilize Classical French cooking techniques with global influences.
Our beverage program includes a full bar, wonderful local craft beers, and a 150 bottle wine list with 50+ wines by the glass for which Undercurrent has been recognized by both Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. We have been rated consistently tops in our class of restaurants.
The ambiance is truly one of the nicest in the area with ample space for you while dining. We now have a truly fabulous patio area. We seat our patio on a "first come first served basis".
A comfortable bar area is available for dining from our full menu or to begin or end your dining experience with us.
Please join us and let the capable staff at Undercurrent make your lunch or dinner a wonderful experience.
Cheers,
From ALL the staff here at Undercurrent

327 Battleground Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch hours are Monday – Friday from 11:30AM to 2PM
Dinner hours Monday-Wednesday from 5:30PM to 9PM
Sunday Brunch from 11AM to 2:30PM
Bar hours are 4PM to 9:30PM
Thursday-Saturday from 5:30PM to 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Lindsey and Green Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-1266

Website:
http://www.undercurrentrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We can but we look at each catering job as to whether we can or can not accommodate.

Parking Details:
Plenty of on-street parking. Available parking after 5pm at the Sun Trust building's parking lot across Battleground Ave.

Executive Chef:
Michael Harkenreader

Private Party Facilities:
Undercurrent, a Piedmont Triad favorite for its New American Cuisine, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city of Greensboro. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Ben Roberts, owner: (336) 370-1266

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up for our newsletter to find our all of the many special events we put on here at Undercurrent. www.undercurrentrestaurant.com

Undercurrent Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Romantic (25)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Business Meals (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Cozy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Healthy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (3)
Fun (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1041 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed. The server spilled out bottle of wine and we had to ask him to clean it up. Dinner took over an hour to be served after ordering!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Not good. Overpriced, uninspired, and not well thought out dishes. Espressos came out cold. Would not return. Was hoping for the best, to no avail. If this is what passes for fine dining in Greensboro, folks need to drive to Triangle or Asheville. Sorry, truth hurts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I had an amazing crab cake! My girlfriend ordered the salmon, and I couldn't keep my fork out of her plate! Lol

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A great evening. Service was superb. GREAT dirty martini w/local vodka. Blue cheese was outstanding. Pork tenderloin/polenta was above average. Flounder was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Very good, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have always had great food and service numerous times we have been to Undercurrent Restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Brandon is an outstanding sommelier who appreciates good wine and wine values. The food is excellent, the owners and waitstaff attentive and friendly. Always a pleasure, we dine regularly at The Undercurrent and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent lunch. Food was delicious. I requested through open table a round table for 7 so we could all converse. It was ready for us. Excellent wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Excellent meal....and great martinni.....waitstaff very knowledgeable. Six of us....really enjoyed a very nice envening

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Undercurrent was perfect for a lunch with old friends. Of our dishes, the crab cake was probably best and the Undercurrent burger and pulled pork weren't far behind. Kolton provide just the right service - attentive and not intrusive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Although I am not a local, Undercurrents is always one of my go to resultants when ever I am in town for business. The food and service is reliably excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Vegetarian, half chicken and salmon were all excellent! Great service (Kelsey) as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Took friends to brunch...excellent as always! Good food, quiet, great service. We have a special table by the front window.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Very good food. Excellent specials. Very attentive wait staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 21, 2017

It was Girls Night Out & everyone had a wonderful time & enjoyed their food. And of course, Scott gave us great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Wife and I celebrated our anniversary recently. Service was exemplary and food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had Sunday brunch for Father's Day. As usual, the food was excellent and every item was fresh and prepared perfectly. We also enjoyed the live entertainment and it wasn't too loud, which frequently happens at other places.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is our favorite local white tablecloth restaurant. We visit for date night, special occasions, just to get out for a nice meal. We love the special menu nights. The patio is a great place on night nights. You wouldn't know you are downtown.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Always great food, but tonight was exceptional. The pork chop special might be one the best things I've eaten. The wreck fish special was also extremely good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very nice and quite setting. Food was pretty good. I was really hoping to get a virgin frozen drink. However, my waitress informed me they didnt have a blender to make the drink. I still will return, i enjoyed my visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Outstanding meal. Duck was superb, as were the fried oysters. Could use better selection of Shiraz - perhaps a better one from SE Australia. Elena was the best server I've experienced in 10 years of dining. Outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great restaurant. All the entree dishes were spectacular. Our server was great, provided good recommendations and was very attentive without ever being overbearing. A very high quality dinner experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Restaurant has always been great. Food is outstanding, as well as the drinks.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was our first visit but definitely will not be our last! We had a 6 pm reservation so the room was not full but we were very impressed at the lack of noise; a seeming rarity these days even in upscale restaurants. The menu was varied enough and the preparation and presentation of the trout and pork medallion dishes were fantastic. We chose the entree portions and saved enough to enjoy them again (without the ambiance but still quiet!). We have already recommended Undercurrent to half a dozen friends since our visit some of whom have not been before but said they would try it. I think they will not be disappointed. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Undercurrents is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. It's consistently wonderful - great food, great service, great atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Absolutely delicious! The best place in Greensboro to dine! The pork tenderloin was incredible. Bread always housemade- hot and delicious. Wonderful personal service. My must stop when I'm in Greensboro !

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Undercurrent has always been, and continues to be a totally dependable gift of fine dining. Ambience, service, and fascinatingly creative food brings a strong asset to this community. We always love our experience with this wonderful treasure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Dinner on Undercurrent's patio can be special and this dinner was. Weather was perfect. Laura's service matched the weather and the setting.

The food matched its usual excellence. Grilled shrimp and trout stood out while scallops, appetizer rib eye and potato/parsnip were delicious.

Undercurrent's bread may not get the acclaim it deserves. The bread is as consistently excellent as the rest of the meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Another delicious meal at our favorite restaurant in Greensboro. It's hard to resist the lamb, but I tried the scallops and they were wonderful. Best restaurant in Greensboro!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent meal, scallops were good with a different presentation. Rack of lamb also excellent. Comfortable relaxed service made it a lively evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was not as good as you would expect from a high end restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Undercurrents for Mother's Day. It was such a nice day, we sat on the patio. The food was great, the service perfect, the patio charming, and the day perfect. Thank Undercurrents for making my Mother's Day special, but you make all our visits special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food is good and consistent . Little expensive for greensboro. Service is a little slow also but if your not in a rush on a Saturday night it's ok. Brunch was very good and good value. Ambiance needs some work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch has improved. But there are still questions about the size of portions. Special dishes that were small plate should have been marked as such. Dishes that cater to people who might eat cleanly (no carbs or no dairy, for instance) or who are vegetarian should also be a part of the menu. There are many creative options that could easily be done here. I also seem to see a new server every time and often the small details are lacking if you do not get seated with one of the more experienced hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious food. Good service. Brunch prices are very reasonable. Undercurrent is the best restaurant in Greensboro!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Celebrating our daughters college graduation. The wine manager was terrific in his recommendations, he offered two exciting wines that were amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Undercurrent is the best restaurant in Greensboro. The food is absolutely first rate and the wait staff is knowledgeable, gracious, and efficient. Small size servings are offered which allows room for dessert! The lamb is fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Who would have guessed Undercurrent would serve a strawberry fused sausage appetizer and sheeps head. Both were delicious as was smoked trout. Great service from Theresa. We had another very good experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Crazy good crab cakes. Sat at the bar. Incredible service and fabulous wine selection by the glass.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Duck soup was awesome. Crab cake special always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.