Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Undercurrent Restaurant

Owners, Susan and Ben Roberts partnered up with brothers Wes and Chris Wheeler in 2015 and we invite you to enjoy our Contemporary American Cuisine where we utilize Classical French cooking techniques with global influences.
Our beverage program includes a full bar, wonderful local craft beers, and a 150 bottle wine list with 50+ wines by the glass for which Undercurrent has been recognized by both Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. We have been rated consistently tops in our class of restaurants.
The ambiance is truly one of the nicest in the area with ample space for you while dining. We now have a truly fabulous patio area. We seat our patio on a "first come first served basis".
A comfortable bar area is available for dining from our full menu or to begin or end your dining experience with us.
Please join us and let the capable staff at Undercurrent make your lunch or dinner a wonderful experience.
Cheers,
From ALL the staff here at Undercurrent

327 Battleground Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch hours are Monday – Friday from 11:30AM to 2PM
Dinner hours Monday-Wednesday from 5:30PM to 9PM
Sunday Brunch from 11AM to 2:30PM
Bar hours are 4PM to 9:30PM
Thursday-Saturday from 5:30PM to 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Lindsey and Green Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-1266

Website:
http://www.undercurrentrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We can but we look at each catering job as to whether we can or can not accommodate.

Parking Details:
Plenty of on-street parking. Available parking after 5pm at the Sun Trust building's parking lot across Battleground Ave.

Executive Chef:
Michael Harkenreader

Private Party Facilities:
Undercurrent, a Piedmont Triad favorite for its New American Cuisine, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city of Greensboro. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Ben Roberts, owner: (336) 370-1266

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up for our newsletter to find our all of the many special events we put on here at Undercurrent. www.undercurrentrestaurant.com

Undercurrent Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Business Meals (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Romantic (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Authentic (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Healthy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Private Room (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (3)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Another delicious meal at our favorite restaurant in Greensboro. It's hard to resist the lamb, but I tried the scallops and they were wonderful. Best restaurant in Greensboro!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal, scallops were good with a different presentation. Rack of lamb also excellent. Comfortable relaxed service made it a lively evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was not as good as you would expect from a high end restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Undercurrents for Mother's Day. It was such a nice day, we sat on the patio. The food was great, the service perfect, the patio charming, and the day perfect. Thank Undercurrents for making my Mother's Day special, but you make all our visits special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch has improved. But there are still questions about the size of portions. Special dishes that were small plate should have been marked as such. Dishes that cater to people who might eat cleanly (no carbs or no dairy, for instance) or who are vegetarian should also be a part of the menu. There are many creative options that could easily be done here. I also seem to see a new server every time and often the small details are lacking if you do not get seated with one of the more experienced hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious food. Good service. Brunch prices are very reasonable. Undercurrent is the best restaurant in Greensboro!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Celebrating our daughters college graduation. The wine manager was terrific in his recommendations, he offered two exciting wines that were amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Undercurrent is the best restaurant in Greensboro. The food is absolutely first rate and the wait staff is knowledgeable, gracious, and efficient. Small size servings are offered which allows room for dessert! The lamb is fabulous!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Who would have guessed Undercurrent would serve a strawberry fused sausage appetizer and sheeps head. Both were delicious as was smoked trout. Great service from Theresa. We had another very good experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Crazy good crab cakes. Sat at the bar. Incredible service and fabulous wine selection by the glass.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Duck soup was awesome. Crab cake special always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch, and it was very good...as usual. A great place for any meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Nice evening, good menu with local flair. Reasonable wine list, and interesting cocktails. Particularly enjoyed the Dark Star. Started with a cheese tray and very impressed with it. More than enough for the two of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Had a great meal here last year but this year we were very disappointed. The beet salad was drenched in strawberry vinegarette and was tasteless. The salmon app was floating in a green cream sauce. Blah. The trout entree was submerged in an orange sauce.
Service was subpar. Atmosphere was the only redeeming portion of the eve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fabulous quality food, value and presentation.
Great wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Undercurrent is my favorite restaurant. Dining there is always such a special experience that we drive 90 miles for a meal that's always memorable. The staff is so warm, friendly and accommodating, and their professionalism is everything you'd expect from a well-heeled restaurant. Their food is farm to table and is prepared in such inventive ways. I love the cheese plate, sea scallops and blueberry bread pudding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great food. Definitely try the buttermilk fried chicken.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were celebrating two birthdays. The food was awesome. We had a very attentive and pleasant waiter. It's a great place within walking distance of our work place.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best restaurant in Greensboro. A great place for brunch-very reasonably priced. We've never had a bad meal at Undercurrent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Undercurrent never disappoints; we can always count on excellent service, fresh and locally grown organic food that is prepared to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

As always, the duck was amazing. Wine selection is fantastic. Atmosphere is upscale but casual. Just a delightful place to share a meal with someone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Met a friend for lunch. Great crab cakes. Always a great place to eat with great, creative food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Private Room, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved this place -- terrific staff, inventive menu, interesting wine list, and a nice focus on local ingredients. One of the best meals I've had in the area, by far!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Sunday brunch with fiancee was lovely with great ambience and excellent service. Will come again and often.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Of many Undercurrent dinners, this one was one of the very best.

Comfortable and knowledgeable yet efficient service from Theresa.

We started with two soups - duck and curried shrimp - by two different chefs - Michael and Noah. Both were mixed intense flavors with perfect consistency.

Our entrees were salmon and smoked trout. Again both were perfectly served and delicious.

We know we're biased but would match this dinner against the best we've had in Washington and Charleston.

It was a fine night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not good. Food average at best and service slow and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Great gluten free selection. Having the ability buy the small plate size is a great option for those of us who eat less. The small plate was still significant in size. Great waitress,flavors, pricing, wonderful ambience! What else can you ask for? Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Horribly bland food with no flavor. Soft shell crab was overly fried and steak was not seasoned well at all. Sides were tasteless. Expensive and overly strong cocktails. Would not recommend to friends. Only good thing about this place is the exceptional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Exceptional food, fine dining with Industrial elegant feel - we so enjoyed our Anniversary dinner and our attentive and well timed service by Kelsey. The Undercurrent is certainly a gem of a restaurant in downtown Greensboro. We highly recommend it for whatever the occasion. Nest time, we plan to come early so that we can experience the bar scene before our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Organic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Happened to be in Greensboro en route to our next college tour with my son and made a reservation at your restaurant. I chose your restaurant because you had a cheese plate/charcuterie on the menu. This is my son's favorite item. We were not disappointed. The service was impeccable. The gentleman who greeted us even offered to pay our parking meter if there was any need. The entrees were very good. I would visit again the next time I am in Greensboro.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The noise level from the kitchen was very high. There were not a lot of customers so the staff had a lot of chances to chat, loudly. Perhaps I should have asked for a table far away from the kitchen.
I was not happy with the underdone seafood, so I sent it back, for more cooking.
I was told that this is how they serve it & I should have ordered it ‘medium’ if I wanted it cooked through.
Overall it was good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Celebrated a friend's birthday at lunch. The food was exceptional. I had delicious lentil curry soup and the fried oyster salad. The oysters were crisp on the outside and yummy on the inside. My friend had the salad with very generous salmon. Our server was professional and non-intrusive. I plan to go here more often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful Sunday Brunch menu, excellent service, and great food. Will return many more times.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved it! Would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My husband and I love the Undercurrent and eat there regularly. We usually dine early, so it's pretty quiet, but as the evening goes on it can get noisy. The food is delicious and inventive, the wait staff superb, and we have never been disappointed. The special wine dinners are especially fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 6, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Greensboro. Varied lunch menu, quiet atmosphere, and excellent food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As always, Wes and his team provide the best in a dining experience. Seasoned and professional staff members greet and seat quickly, super wine list, great kitchen and daily lunch and dinner special dishes. Reliable and elegant, Undercurrent is a favorite of ours, and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

On a chilly, stormy night, the restaurant was cold, we were seated near two large, noisy tables, and our server seemed a little unsure of himself. Although the food was good, we just didn't enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always love going to the Undercurrent. We also like visiting with Adam.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A good meal. Always a lot of good options on the menu. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.