About Undercurrent Restaurant

327 Battleground Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

Owners, Susan and Ben Roberts partnered up with brothers Wes and Chris Wheeler in 2015 and we invite you to enjoy our Contemporary American Cuisine where we utilize Classical French cooking techniques with global influences.
Our beverage program includes a full bar, wonderful local craft beers, and a 150 bottle wine list with 50+ wines by the glass for which Undercurrent has been recognized by both Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. We have been rated consistently tops in our class of restaurants.
The ambiance is truly one of the nicest in the area with ample space for you while dining. We now have a truly fabulous patio area. We seat our patio on a "first come first served basis".
A comfortable bar area is available for dining from our full menu or to begin or end your dining experience with us.
Please join us and let the capable staff at Undercurrent make your lunch or dinner a wonderful experience.
Cheers,
From ALL the staff here at Undercurrent

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch hours are Monday – Friday from 11:30AM to 2PM
Dinner hours Monday-Wednesday from 5:30PM to 9PM
Sunday Brunch from 11AM to 2:30PM
Bar hours are 4PM to 9:30PM
Thursday-Saturday from 5:30PM to 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Lindsey and Green Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-1266

Website:
http://www.undercurrentrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We can but we look at each catering job as to whether we can or can not accommodate.

Parking Details:
Plenty of on-street parking. Available parking after 5pm at the Sun Trust building's parking lot across Battleground Ave.

Executive Chef:
Michael Harkenreader

Private Party Facilities:
Undercurrent, a Piedmont Triad favorite for its New American Cuisine, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city of Greensboro. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Ben Roberts, owner: 3363701266x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up for our newsletter to find our all of the many special events we put on here at Undercurrent. www.undercurrentrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Undercurrent Restaurant
Scallops
Bacon Caramel Sticky Buns
Spinach Salad
Swordfish
Pork Osso Bucco
Ginger Martini
Red Snapper
Mixed Greens
Flounder Special
Manhattan
Black Russian Cocktail
Tasting Plate
Pork Special
Pomegranate Mint Cocktail
Fried Goat Cheese w/ Green Tomato Relish, Grilled House Cured Bacon, Roasted Red Pepper Remoulade
Gilligan's Island Cocktail
Smoked Cheddar Grit Puppies
Organic Greens, White Peach Vinaigrette, Red Onion, Orange Seasoned Almonds & Summer Melon
Sautéed Ashley Farms Chicken Breast
Grilled Bistro Steak
Apricot Chipotle Glazed Pork Belly w/ Black Bean, Sweet Corn, Poblano Saute & Basil Cream
White Chocolate Blueberry Bread Pudding
Grilled Romaine Ceasar Salad
Domaine Canton Ginger Martini
Elderflower Martini
Belvedere Black Russian Cocktail
Catfish And Collards
Warm Bread Basket
Rheinhessen Wine

Undercurrent Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Ambiance
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Value
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
11 More
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Special Occasion
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro
Romantic
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

special occasion (56)
fit for foodies (54)
romantic (41)
See All
great for lunch (29)
notable wine list (28)
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (23)
great for brunch (18)
great for outdoor dining (12)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and presentation!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go often and usually order the specia ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We go often and usually order the specials which are always out standing. Service is great and always helpful. If you haven't been to Undercurrent, GO!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were seated immediately. The food wa ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were seated immediately. The food was exceptional and our server had a great personality. He engaged my wife and me in conversation and offered some great recommendations. We were there for our anniversary and hope to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easy and delicious pre-theater dinner in ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Easy and delicious pre-theater dinner in the bar with Perry and delightful fellow customers. Nice to have a gourmet meal so early in the evening. Oyster salad and trout are dishes we've had before and they were both different from the past. Chef Harkenreader does great updates to the dishes that his customers demand.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New in town. Found this restaruant on g ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

New in town. Found this restaruant on groupon and what better way to check out a restaurant.

My husband and I were celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary. This was a great place to do so. It was the Tuesday after the 4th of July holiday so the restaurant was I am sure quieter and less populated then I am sure it normally is. This worked out great for us as it was quiet and romantic. We had a fabulous waiter, the food without a doubt was fabulous as well as the presentation. I am a good cook and so am very critical of food that is not well prepared and tasty, I simply do not go back to a restaurant a second time if I feel this is the case. Not this case though, I would go back in a heartbeat. Very nice ambiance in the dinning area, would have liked to eaten on the patio however the evening was much to muggy that night for outdoor dinning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a pleasant dining experienc ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It is always a pleasant dining experience at Undercurrent. The drinks were prepared expertly and the food and wine delicious. HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my girlfriend for her birthday last ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Took my girlfriend for her birthday last week! We both loved it! The food was exquisite. The duck was perfect- probably the best duck I've ever had. The service was also phenomenal. Thanks for helping make the occasion something so special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, truly one of the best me ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Food was great, truly one of the best meals I've had in Greensboro.

Wait staff unpolished for this price point. Black on black uniforms that's clearly showed they hadn't been washed. Friendly and courteous but for a $100 dollar meal between two people.... You expect more

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Undercurrent is one of my favorite resta ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Undercurrent is one of my favorite restaurants. Always great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I wanted to spend a quiet ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My fiance and I wanted to spend a quiet evening together and the evening was perfect from start to finish. Our server Josh was fantastic, he chose a perfect bottle of wine and recommend his favorite entrees..beyond exceptional. He was professional and very engaging..a real gem. The mangers stopped by and were very happy and friendly. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although Undercurrent has a great wine l ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Although Undercurrent has a great wine list, Friday nights you can bring your own wine with no corkage fee. For me that means you can get a really good meal at a reasonable price (with wine). The cost doesn't require a special occasion. I believe our bill was about $35. per person which is a great value for excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The scallops and the trout entrees tonig ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The scallops and the trout entrees tonight were outstanding. You come to expect great service

and good food at the Undercurrent, but tonight the combinations of flavors in both meals were

exceptional. When you and your spouse are both saying "Wow, that's great!", then you know you

are eating food that a lot of planning and thought went into its preparation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was an awesome Father's day brunch wh ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was an awesome Father's day brunch where we were well taken care of by Josh. Quite a busy spot. We weren't able to get in until one of the later servings. Bloody Mary's were fantastic, apps, entrees and dessert were quite tasty and innovative. There were quite a large amount of wines by the glass. Prices were not cheap but were quite indicative of what you would expect when it come to quality ingredients! We'll be back!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous relaxed brunch atmosphere. Liv ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fabulous relaxed brunch atmosphere. Live musician made our Father's Day brunch even better. The three is us enjoyed our entries immensely. You can call ahead to alert the chef of any dietary restrictions, such as gluten free. Although I was on a diet, the other two diners remarked that the cornbread muffins and biscuits were heavenly. Also offers outdoor dining. This was our first visit but we will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Undercurrent has always been a favorite, ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Undercurrent has always been a favorite, but it just keeps improving with age! They have recently started serving brunch and I visited with a date on Fathers' Day, The atmosphere was lively and festive, but not loud. Subdued live music was provided as a special treat. Service was outstanding, especially considering how busy the restaurant was. Although I would not generally recommend taking children, there were several there that day and it did not seem to create a problem for anyone. The food is fantastic, and just the right amount. It is well-presented and unusual, without being too much so. I have been there for both lunch and dinner, with a group and with a date. I have observed many local people conducting business there, as well. Highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am never disappointed at the Undercurr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I am never disappointed at the Undercurrent and Father's Day 2016 was no exception. Our reserved table was ready to go and we had a wonderful menu selection. Service was great and the food was yummy!

Always a treat to enjoy a meal at Undercurrent! Glenda

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent ambiance, staff and delicious ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent ambiance, staff and delicious food. I will be definitely returning again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

all was nice and good, except that Prose ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

all was nice and good, except that Prosecco was not available.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious and romantic

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Loved the food, and their Friday no-corkage-fee special

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in the area.

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Without a doubt, The Undercurrent is the best choice in dining. I had possibly the best trout I have ever tasted. Deserts are always memorable. Bread fresh, hot and homemade. Service friendly and efficient. Whenever I am in the area - I make time to dine at The UnderCurrent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific for business travelers, excellent food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A group of 3 of us from out of town were staying at the Marriott nearby for business. When we travel we like to look for a nearby places that have food unique to the city we're in. While in Greensboro we checked out the Undercurrent's menu. We decided to try it out, and it did not disappoint. The atmosphere was open and airy, it was busy and active but not noisy. We were able to carry on a conversation with no problem. Service and staff were very friendly and pleasant. The food selection was fantastic, and we wanted to each have 2-3 of the different entrees but instead of making pigs of ourselves we decided we'd have to come back a few more times. We tried the bluefish rillette, the tenderloin and scallops, and the peach upside down cake with bacon ice cream for dessert. It was incredible, we'd definitely recommend Undercurrent and plan to come back several more times.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This is absolutely the best restaurant in towm.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Undercurrents is a restaurant you can go to and know you will always get the best food, best service, and best value for your money. You can't say that about most restaurants. We take visitors there when they are in town, because we know the food will be wonderful. I have never had anything at Undercurrents I didn't like, and we go there often.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

50th Anniversary

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything was GREAT! Undercurrent is our favorite! We like the portion size of meals that do not stuff us and leave room for desert. We will always go to Undercurrent for special occasions and just to have a special night for just the two of us. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday outing

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We brought friends for my husband's birthday celebration. The food was excellent as was the service. We were able to talk and have a conversation without having the next table listening in. The restaurant was bright, cheerful and clean. We had a wonderful night at a wonderful restaurant. Our friends wanted to come back there when they come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Strawberry soup was superb

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Strawberry soup was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always have a good experience when we ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We always have a good experience when we visit Undercurrent. Lunch is a favorite as well as dinner and now we are excited to have them as a choice for brunch. Service was great and everyone is friendly. Particularly enjoyed the crab cake biscuit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Brunch was a mixed experience.

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We missed things like the usual great bread. The biscuits are not good and the muffin was okay (the jam is also way too sweet). Main course servings were relatively small (especially the crab cake biscuit which was basically appetizer size). This is not a horrible thing given most places overfeed, but it is unexpected. The wait staff continues to turn over and our waiter was completely off on timing and did not know the wine list. But we still continue to love many things about them. The desserts were outstanding, the ambiance is great, the people are friendly, and the food is fresh. The willingness of the kitchen to accommodate to special requests is also notable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

I have a tree nut allergy and notified t ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I have a tree nut allergy and notified the restaurant via open table! The chef prepared a special sauce just for my meal and our server was aware of it the moment we sat down! The food was delicious and service awesome! We will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday. The food is divine. If it's on the menu, try the duck, it is fantastic.

***** overall - great restaurant in general. Location is convenient, parking is good.

***** food - everything was delicious

**** service - our waitress was great, but there were several issues with timing from the kitchen. No big deal, but not flawless.

**** ambiance - it is nice inside, cool little statues, but feels a little crowded - probably because most of the tables are open-- not a lot of sight dividers like booths, or short walls, etc. Ceilings are high, and the noise levels can get very loud. Could use some sound dampening, and slightly dimmed lighting in my opinion. A plus to the loudness is that you can tune it out because you're hearing everyone's conversations at once instead of being able to pick out things people are saying at the table next to you.

**** value - Definitely not an inexpensive restaurant. Appetizers are around $12-14, entres about $25-30. Wine averages $8 or so per glass. All very good and nice presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

slow service; poor value

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

This restaurant used to be our favorite for special occasions but this is the second time we have poor service and the servings have been small. Add this to servers with a real smug attitude... I intend to try another place the next occasion. I am sad to see this decline in one of our favorite places.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was great but service was lacking

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was great but service was lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Wonderful food and service. Always a ple ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Always a pleasure to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, each course better than the previous

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The wait staff and Chief Sommelier were so helpful. The food was incredible. And there presentation was world class. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Consistently Excellent Restaurant

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We have been to this restaurant numerous times. Consistentcy is the operative word. Great food, excellent service, wonderful atmosphere, never hurried!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were given a choice of sitting inside ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We were given a choice of sitting inside but right in front of live music or outside. We opted for outside beautiful evening really complex flavors of wonderful dishes. After dinner we asked if we could move inside for dessert where it was a little warmer. They accommodated us very well and we could listen to the music from afar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not been here in a very long time

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Back for the first time in years, because not impressed in times past. Only because of a server at another place I frequent said to retry. I was more than pleasantly surprised. Small focused menu at reasonable prices. I really liked that they offered half portions on many entrees making it easy to try other things as well. Which gave me the opportunity to try their clam chowder which is now the best I have ever had. It looked atypical as it was a darker color and hardly the creamy white you would associate with this dish... but excellent in any book! I had the scallops which had a sweetness to them but cooked perfectly with a setup that had to include a bacon component that worked excellently. And the bread pudding is to die for. Stay away from the Pomegranate-Chocolate Ganache which had a tartness none at our table liked and nothing for a chocolate sweet tooth. But don't worry a very small thing with a nearly perfect meal. Kudos!!! Now if I can just get them to lower the corkage fee!:)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I could give them 6 stars, I would. W ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

If I could give them 6 stars, I would. We took my parents here for their first time after a year of us telling them about our favorite restaurant. We hyped it up so much, we put it at a high level of expectation. The food was amazing, the seating was in a quiet corner, the wait staff was second to none. This restaurant and their staff deserve to get the best scores in the triad area. They are fantastic! Undercurrent will continue to be our favorite restaurant choice in GSO, and we will continue to give recommendations to anyone who asks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Suprising Disappointment

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We have eaten at Undercurrent several time on our trips to Greensboro. In the past the food was uniformly excellent so we were a bit disappointed this trip. As always the spring rolls were great and the scallops cooked to perfection. But the trout was season so heavily and cooked so long that it was barely edible. The "herb crust" on the trout was all that could be tasted (--it was bitter--and the fish was dried out. The vegetables served with both entres were similarly over seasoned. Seasoning should enhance flavors not drown them out.

The ambiance and service were extraordinary. The chef needs to tone down the spices and herbs and let the food shine through.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and choices. Wonderful place ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Great food and choices. Wonderful place for a romantic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Valentine's Day

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I came here on Valentine's Day evening. The staff called me two times in advance to make sure I was still coming (due to sudden ice and snow), which I thought was very professional. When we got there, our server was kind and professional and took excellent care of us. The food was great, the atmosphere was great, I couldn't have asked for a better evening. What's more, they even followed me on Instagram the day after and thanked us for dining with them. They are the definition of perfection! :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.