About Undercurrent Restaurant

327 Battleground Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

Owners, Susan and Ben Roberts partnered up with brothers Wes and Chris Wheeler in 2015 and we invite you to enjoy our Contemporary American Cuisine where we utilize Classical French cooking techniques with global influences.
Our beverage program includes a full bar, wonderful local craft beers, and a 150 bottle wine list with 50+ wines by the glass for which Undercurrent has been recognized by both Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. We have been rated consistently tops in our class of restaurants.
The ambiance is truly one of the nicest in the area with ample space for you while dining. We now have a truly fabulous patio area. We seat our patio on a "first come first served basis".
A comfortable bar area is available for dining from our full menu or to begin or end your dining experience with us.
Please join us and let the capable staff at Undercurrent make your lunch or dinner a wonderful experience.
Cheers,
From ALL the staff here at Undercurrent

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch hours are Monday – Friday from 11:30AM to 2PM
Dinner hours Monday-Wednesday from 5:30PM to 9PM
Sunday Brunch from 11AM to 2:30PM
Bar hours are 4PM to 9:30PM
Thursday-Saturday from 5:30PM to 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Lindsey and Green Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-1266

Website:
http://www.undercurrentrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We can but we look at each catering job as to whether we can or can not accommodate.

Parking Details:
Plenty of on-street parking. Available parking after 5pm at the Sun Trust building's parking lot across Battleground Ave.

Executive Chef:
Michael Harkenreader

Private Party Facilities:
Undercurrent, a Piedmont Triad favorite for its New American Cuisine, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city of Greensboro. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Ben Roberts, owner: (336) 370-1266

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up for our newsletter to find our all of the many special events we put on here at Undercurrent. www.undercurrentrestaurant.com

Undercurrent Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Seasonal (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (7)
Private Room (7)
Authentic (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
969 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Love going to Undercurrent on Friday nights because there is no corkage fee and the food is wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Easy to find in downtown GSO, The Undercurrent offers fine food, a marvelous wait staff, excellent bartender, and a quiet atmosphere to talk . Having patrons at a table next to you was not the best arrangement, since overlapping conversations result.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Daniel, our waiter, started out the evening at Undercurrent in a relaxed manner. He was very accommodating throughout the evening. My wife and I and the wife of the other couple enjoyed the boneless quail. My lamb chops were " melt in your mouth " great. Yes, it was perfect evening at Undercurrent for a lovely 2 hour Valentines evening .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Undercurrent was great! All was perfect. We enjoyed the evening together there in all ways. We will go back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was good and nicely presented, although very small portions for the price. Service was extremely slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our first time eating at Undercurrent. We made reservations and was seated immediately upon arrival. Our server came quickly to our table, gave us the specials & took our drink order. Our food was delicious and made to our specification. We will definitely come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything about the evening was really great. I commented to my wife during the meal that it was nice to eat a very good dinner at a restaurant that had a low noise level. The waitress that handled our table did a super job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing Sunday brunch! The food was absolutely beautiful and tasted even better than it looked. The menu featured a wide range of classic brunch options with creative twists. Undercurrent's atmosphere is modern and elegant with out being "cold". The live jazz music was such a nice addition without being overbearing and our service was excellent. Overall the experience was truly fantastic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time there and service was great! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed my experience. Food was excellent. Brunch prices were very reasonable. Loved the live music. Great service. Ambiance was welcoming. Conversations could be held.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went to Undercurrent for Sunday brunch. Menu offered many good options. I went standard with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, home fries. My date had a sausage omelette. Service was excellent as were both of our meals.

An added plus was Dave Fox on piano with a talented singer who did 30's classics along with some Beatles.

We chose Sunday brunch rather than trying to navigate a Valentine's Day dinner date. Great decision. We will be back to one of my favorite restaurants for either dinner or another Sunday brunch with musical accompaniment.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was as well. We will definitely be back for another date night!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Incredibly good food. Very tasty. All three of us thought it was one of the most tasty dishes we had ever had (sea base special and scallop diners)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at Undercurrent. The soups were both delicious, one cauliflower and the other sun dried tomaro and garlic. We shared a duck confit and sweet potato tart that was unremarkable. We both enjoyed our entrees; scallops and lamb. We went for the smaller portion which was perfect and plenty of food. We had some confusion over the half bottle of wine we tried to order. The wine list hadn't been updated for change in stock but we ended up with a decent half of Cabernet Sauvignon. Good wait staff. Front of house staff were hard to find both on arrival and when we tried to get our coats at the end of the meal! Overall a very pleasant dinner in nice surroundings.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Simply spectacular evening. Chef Michael's creations were flawless and the service attentive yet unobtrusive. This restaurant also has one of the great features for a truly wonderful evening-seating so that one has the ability to actually talk to each other. I would recommend the Undercurrant (and have) to anyone looking for one of the best restaurant experiences in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous crabcakes over salad fix specially for us off the menu. Great evening with old friends. Service was fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 27, 2017

There was a large business-type group dining. The restaurant did place a decorative divider between the group and other diners, but the noise level was greater than on previous occasions. Great food and good value. Perhaps the best overall dining experience in the city.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is still the best restaurant in Greensboro, NC. We go here often and came on January 22 for brunch. Their brunch is outstanding. We have had two parties here last year and the staff did an excellent job. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Everything was DELICIOUS! We had salmon, trout, and scallops, and all were fabulous. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 20, 2017

They continue to be a lovely place to eat a good meal. I would like to see more options for healthier eaters made available. Sauces here tend to get heavy and vegetarian or vegan options are really not easy to get (even the set ups are not good options for the health conscious). But the quality is consistent and the ambiance is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

normally I enjoy this restaurant and I will return however...yesterdays lunch was a disappointment. Service was slow and unfortunately two of us got the wrong dish served. In all fairness it was not mentioned as it was a birthday lunch for one of them and she did not want to make a fuss. And it must be said she enjoyed her crab cake salad (instead of the special entree)...my pork sandwich was not at all what was described and was pretty much fried to within an inch of it's life. Desert was very good although we waited 20 min for it.

I have never been disappointed here before and so I hope it was just an off afternoon.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Just when I didn't think it could get any better - it did! Wow! The Sun Flower Seed Gnocchi, Kale, Roasted Tomato, Balsamic Onions, Butternut Squash Puree with Thyme Cream - a foodie's dream dish! You can't go wrong at The Undercurrent!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always wonderful. Staff really does read the OpenTable special requests. Thanks for another great meal and experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service, food, ambiance was extraordinary. Our waiter was very attentive. The food was excellent. I like That they serve local foods.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always perfect!

We got steak ~ 'couldn't eat it all ~ even better for breakfast the next morning 😉👍

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Greensboro. Food is always outstanding and offerings vary from visit to visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

"our table" was situated right in front of the kitchen, which we were not happy with at all. We requested another table, the waitress seemed a bit annoyed, but she did ask a gentlemen about moving us, and our request was handled by him.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed our experience except for my wife's grossly underdone salmon when the doneness was confirmed with waiter twice before order was placed. Order was for medium well and dish came as rare. Finally, when we wanted to find our waitperson, or anyone for that matter, to handle this issue it took 10 minutes to do so. The management did decide to do the dish over again for her. However, they should understand this never satisfies anyone because when the dish finally arrives the other members of the party have already completed their main courses. It makes everyone uncomfortable.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Undercurrent is my favorite Greensboro restaurant. Food, service, ambiance is always superb.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Never disappointed! The Sunflower Seed Crusted Trout with German Potato salad - French green beans - sauce Gribiche and Fried kale - over the top delicious! And always - THE BEST hot and house made bread you will find in the Greensboro-Winston-Salem- High Point area! Service wonderful and welcoming. My go-to place for lunch anytime I am in the area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We've lived in the area for years and have never been here - boy, have we missed out! Started with cocktails at the bar and found the bartender to be very friendly and professional, the drinks were outstanding. Moved to a table for dinner and were not disappointed. The meal was wonderfully fabulous!! The menu is not overwhelming, which is nice. The service at our table was not the greatest, but we wondered if it were because there was such a crowd that night. We will definitely be going back. And often!

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent menu and willing to adapt dishes for celiac customers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Outstanding location, the decor is great and the food was fantastic. Loved the bar area with the couch go early and have some drinks prior to getting your table. I had the roasted duck and it was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We continue to frequent this special spot for so many reasons. The obvious ones are, of course, the food, service and ambiance. But last night I noticed that Peggy will replace the white napkins for black ones based on what you're wearing. One more of the little things that Undercurrent does to keep us returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great. Food was surperb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Inventive menu. Everything we ate was prepared well, and with creative twists. The rack of lamb with the rich maple gastrique was devine. Offers a variery of entrees for those of us not able to eat seafood. Also, will accomodate folks who are vegetarian. Attentive service. And at last, a restaurant that was quiet enough to have a conversation. Yes, we go out to eat, but also to converse with friends and loved ones.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great atmosphere. Service was OK. Food was creative but not to my taste. At least the items I had chosen. Others enjoyed some of the menu items but not all. I would go again and make different choices. Prices were as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a wonderful brunch experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 8, 2016

While most of my guests said their food was excellent, my salmon dish was marginal at best. The salmon itself was fine but the accompanying items were either tasteless or bitter - in hindsight, I should have requested something else. Our server was very nice and attentive, but the host, who also delivered some of the dishes and handled the check was very abrupt, and unfriendly.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 7, 2016

First time visit - greeted in a friendly manner by hostess. Server arrived immediately with warm welcome and quickly served cocktails, and reviewed menu. Somewhat unique menu with local flavors and twist to standard fare, but very tastefully applied. Perfect venue to actually have a conversation - well appointed surroundings that minimized the noise. EXCEPTIONAL service all evening. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Located in downtown Greensboro. Nice, cozy atmosphere good for business lunch and special occasion.

I went there several times, but this time, the dish was not as good as I expected.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Anniversary dinner. Entrees were: scallops and trout. Service was excellent. Food was prepared very nicely and was excellent. Lovely restaurant with a big city feel. We are determined to dine here more than once a year.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

My favorite place in the Greensboro area to eat! I am never disappointed in the fabulous entrees offered at The Undercurrent. It was my first time to try the trout and I was delighted. Delicious - and always with the perfect seasoning and sauces! The bread is always fresh, hot and homemade!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As always, great food and great service...our favorite restaurant in Greensboro

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Continues to be the most lovely dining experience...great food and superb seevice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Everything was perfect. Modern and elegant. Delicious impactful dishes and lovely service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We have never had a bad meal for lunch, dinner or special event (Murder Mystery Dinner). This was a special business lunch. We conducted the business and enjoyed the location. Our server is easily one of the best in Greensboro, if not the best. I'm keeping the name secret, so the server doesn't get too many requests.

We've had great meals coming in very casual at the bar, on un-special evenings. Adam is a great mixologist .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had the salmon dish which was full of flavor and cooked perfectly. The trout dinner was superb, cook just right and with great potatoes. The bread puddinf desert was over the top and was warm, with blue berries and Carmel and a large size so was worth the affordable price. great meal and without alcohol was $50. worth it. Wonderful server who worked very hard to ensure a great business meal. She was awesome and the other servers lookes equally attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Excellent food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.