Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Undercurrent Restaurant

Owners, Susan and Ben Roberts partnered up with brothers Wes and Chris Wheeler in 2015 and we invite you to enjoy our Contemporary American Cuisine where we utilize Classical French cooking techniques with global influences.
Our beverage program includes a full bar, wonderful local craft beers, and a 150 bottle wine list with 50+ wines by the glass for which Undercurrent has been recognized by both Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. We have been rated consistently tops in our class of restaurants.
The ambiance is truly one of the nicest in the area with ample space for you while dining. We now have a truly fabulous patio area. We seat our patio on a "first come first served basis".
A comfortable bar area is available for dining from our full menu or to begin or end your dining experience with us.
Please join us and let the capable staff at Undercurrent make your lunch or dinner a wonderful experience.
Cheers,
From ALL the staff here at Undercurrent

327 Battleground Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch hours are Monday – Friday from 11:30AM to 2PM
Dinner hours Monday-Wednesday from 5:30PM to 9PM
Sunday Brunch from 11AM to 2:30PM
Bar hours are 4PM to 9:30PM
Thursday-Saturday from 5:30PM to 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Lindsey and Green Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-1266

Website:
http://www.undercurrentrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We can but we look at each catering job as to whether we can or can not accommodate.

Parking Details:
Plenty of on-street parking. Available parking after 5pm at the Sun Trust building's parking lot across Battleground Ave.

Executive Chef:
Michael Harkenreader

Private Party Facilities:
Undercurrent, a Piedmont Triad favorite for its New American Cuisine, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city of Greensboro. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Ben Roberts, owner: (336) 370-1266

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up for our newsletter to find our all of the many special events we put on here at Undercurrent. www.undercurrentrestaurant.com

Undercurrent Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
See All
Quiet Conversation (25)
Business Meals (24)
Good for a Date (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Romantic (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Healthy (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Private Room (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Music (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
996 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 hours ago

Fabulous quality food, value and presentation.
Great wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Definitely try the buttermilk fried chicken.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating two birthdays. The food was awesome. We had a very attentive and pleasant waiter. It's a great place within walking distance of our work place.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best restaurant in Greensboro. A great place for brunch-very reasonably priced. We've never had a bad meal at Undercurrent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Undercurrent never disappoints; we can always count on excellent service, fresh and locally grown organic food that is prepared to perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

As always, the duck was amazing. Wine selection is fantastic. Atmosphere is upscale but casual. Just a delightful place to share a meal with someone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Met a friend for lunch. Great crab cakes. Always a great place to eat with great, creative food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Private Room, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Loved this place -- terrific staff, inventive menu, interesting wine list, and a nice focus on local ingredients. One of the best meals I've had in the area, by far!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Sunday brunch with fiancee was lovely with great ambience and excellent service. Will come again and often.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Of many Undercurrent dinners, this one was one of the very best.

Comfortable and knowledgeable yet efficient service from Theresa.

We started with two soups - duck and curried shrimp - by two different chefs - Michael and Noah. Both were mixed intense flavors with perfect consistency.

Our entrees were salmon and smoked trout. Again both were perfectly served and delicious.

We know we're biased but would match this dinner against the best we've had in Washington and Charleston.

It was a fine night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not good. Food average at best and service slow and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Great gluten free selection. Having the ability buy the small plate size is a great option for those of us who eat less. The small plate was still significant in size. Great waitress,flavors, pricing, wonderful ambience! What else can you ask for? Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Horribly bland food with no flavor. Soft shell crab was overly fried and steak was not seasoned well at all. Sides were tasteless. Expensive and overly strong cocktails. Would not recommend to friends. Only good thing about this place is the exceptional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Exceptional food, fine dining with Industrial elegant feel - we so enjoyed our Anniversary dinner and our attentive and well timed service by Kelsey. The Undercurrent is certainly a gem of a restaurant in downtown Greensboro. We highly recommend it for whatever the occasion. Nest time, we plan to come early so that we can experience the bar scene before our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Organic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Happened to be in Greensboro en route to our next college tour with my son and made a reservation at your restaurant. I chose your restaurant because you had a cheese plate/charcuterie on the menu. This is my son's favorite item. We were not disappointed. The service was impeccable. The gentleman who greeted us even offered to pay our parking meter if there was any need. The entrees were very good. I would visit again the next time I am in Greensboro.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The noise level from the kitchen was very high. There were not a lot of customers so the staff had a lot of chances to chat, loudly. Perhaps I should have asked for a table far away from the kitchen.
I was not happy with the underdone seafood, so I sent it back, for more cooking.
I was told that this is how they serve it & I should have ordered it ‘medium’ if I wanted it cooked through.
Overall it was good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Celebrated a friend's birthday at lunch. The food was exceptional. I had delicious lentil curry soup and the fried oyster salad. The oysters were crisp on the outside and yummy on the inside. My friend had the salad with very generous salmon. Our server was professional and non-intrusive. I plan to go here more often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful Sunday Brunch menu, excellent service, and great food. Will return many more times.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved it! Would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My husband and I love the Undercurrent and eat there regularly. We usually dine early, so it's pretty quiet, but as the evening goes on it can get noisy. The food is delicious and inventive, the wait staff superb, and we have never been disappointed. The special wine dinners are especially fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 6, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Greensboro. Varied lunch menu, quiet atmosphere, and excellent food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As always, Wes and his team provide the best in a dining experience. Seasoned and professional staff members greet and seat quickly, super wine list, great kitchen and daily lunch and dinner special dishes. Reliable and elegant, Undercurrent is a favorite of ours, and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

On a chilly, stormy night, the restaurant was cold, we were seated near two large, noisy tables, and our server seemed a little unsure of himself. Although the food was good, we just didn't enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always love going to the Undercurrent. We also like visiting with Adam.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

A good meal. Always a lot of good options on the menu. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As always, it was a great dining experience. We had guests from out of town who also enjoyed the evening immensely. Chef Michael is so creative and everything he prepares is delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Of the many excellent meals with had at Undercurrent, this one stands out.

Tomato and chorizo soup, chicken satay, trout and flounder were all perfectly done. Kelsey gave great service and the bottle of Tavel completed the evening.

We're lucky to have Undercurrent in Greensboro.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love going to Undercurrent on Friday nights because there is no corkage fee and the food is wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Easy to find in downtown GSO, The Undercurrent offers fine food, a marvelous wait staff, excellent bartender, and a quiet atmosphere to talk . Having patrons at a table next to you was not the best arrangement, since overlapping conversations result.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Daniel, our waiter, started out the evening at Undercurrent in a relaxed manner. He was very accommodating throughout the evening. My wife and I and the wife of the other couple enjoyed the boneless quail. My lamb chops were " melt in your mouth " great. Yes, it was perfect evening at Undercurrent for a lovely 2 hour Valentines evening .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Undercurrent was great! All was perfect. We enjoyed the evening together there in all ways. We will go back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was good and nicely presented, although very small portions for the price. Service was extremely slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our first time eating at Undercurrent. We made reservations and was seated immediately upon arrival. Our server came quickly to our table, gave us the specials & took our drink order. Our food was delicious and made to our specification. We will definitely come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything about the evening was really great. I commented to my wife during the meal that it was nice to eat a very good dinner at a restaurant that had a low noise level. The waitress that handled our table did a super job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing Sunday brunch! The food was absolutely beautiful and tasted even better than it looked. The menu featured a wide range of classic brunch options with creative twists. Undercurrent's atmosphere is modern and elegant with out being "cold". The live jazz music was such a nice addition without being overbearing and our service was excellent. Overall the experience was truly fantastic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time there and service was great! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed my experience. Food was excellent. Brunch prices were very reasonable. Loved the live music. Great service. Ambiance was welcoming. Conversations could be held.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went to Undercurrent for Sunday brunch. Menu offered many good options. I went standard with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, home fries. My date had a sausage omelette. Service was excellent as were both of our meals.
An added plus was Dave Fox on piano with a talented singer who did 30's classics along with some Beatles.
We chose Sunday brunch rather than trying to navigate a Valentine's Day dinner date. Great decision. We will be back to one of my favorite restaurants for either dinner or another Sunday brunch with musical accompaniment.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was as well. We will definitely be back for another date night!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Incredibly good food. Very tasty. All three of us thought it was one of the most tasty dishes we had ever had (sea base special and scallop diners)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.