Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Undercurrent Restaurant

Owners, Susan and Ben Roberts partnered up with brothers Wes and Chris Wheeler in 2015 and we invite you to enjoy our Contemporary American Cuisine where we utilize Classical French cooking techniques with global influences.
Our beverage program includes a full bar, wonderful local craft beers, and a 150 bottle wine list with 50+ wines by the glass for which Undercurrent has been recognized by both Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. We have been rated consistently tops in our class of restaurants.
The ambiance is truly one of the nicest in the area with ample space for you while dining. We now have a truly fabulous patio area. We seat our patio on a "first come first served basis".
A comfortable bar area is available for dining from our full menu or to begin or end your dining experience with us.
Please join us and let the capable staff at Undercurrent make your lunch or dinner a wonderful experience.
Cheers,
From ALL the staff here at Undercurrent

327 Battleground Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch hours are Monday – Friday from 11:30AM to 2PM
Dinner hours Monday-Wednesday from 5:30PM to 9PM
Sunday Brunch from 11AM to 2:30PM
Bar hours are 4PM to 9:30PM
Thursday-Saturday from 5:30PM to 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Lindsey and Green Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-1266

Website:
http://www.undercurrentrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We can but we look at each catering job as to whether we can or can not accommodate.

Parking Details:
Plenty of on-street parking. Available parking after 5pm at the Sun Trust building's parking lot across Battleground Ave.

Executive Chef:
Michael Harkenreader

Private Party Facilities:
Undercurrent, a Piedmont Triad favorite for its New American Cuisine, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city of Greensboro. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Ben Roberts, owner: (336) 370-1266

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up for our newsletter to find our all of the many special events we put on here at Undercurrent. www.undercurrentrestaurant.com

Undercurrent Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (45)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Romantic (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Local Ingredients (32)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Brunch (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Authentic (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Casual (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent menu, superb food quality and presentation, and tremendous service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our two or three favorite restaurants in Greensboro. We like the quiet elegant, the wait staff, and especially the food. The menu changes fairly often. I personally favor vegetarian dishes,—the kitchen staff always puts together a very unique combination for me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went to undercurrent for our anniversary and the place was beautiful . The appetizer was great and the dinner was good too , I know I am a bit picky but the sides with the main dishes did not work to well.but the service was great and I would go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

We enjoyed the experience from beginning to end. Ambience was chic and understated, table placement gives the guest a sense of coziness and intimacy. The service was impecable and the food exquisite. I've already recommended it to at least 5 people!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Perfect Sunday brunch with family! Food was excellent and the service was great. Recommend the breakfast waffles, eggs cooked to order, and any of the salads for brunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was decent although they substituted many of the side items without making us aware. My husband ordered the prime rib and it mentioned steak fries and he ended up with potatoes. I was missing The pina coloda cheesecake left an awful after taste. The service was not great at all. My glass stayed empty for quite sometime until I asked for a refill. I was there to celebrate my birthday and even noted it on the reservation. No one even acknowledged it.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The Undercurrent Restaurant has a very inventive menu. Combinations of flavors will challenge your preconceived ideas. For example, matching trout with black beans. The service was outstanding and very attentive without being obtrusive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The salads and soup were quite nice. There were four of us and we all ordered the "large" (their definition of large is a large lie) rack of lamb which consisted of three appetizer size chops for $35. I will say that they were tasty. The waiter, while pleasant, left a bit to be desired. He had difficulty getting the orders correct. We ordered espresso and when it came it was tepid at best and we had to ask for a lemon rind.
The ambiance was quite nice and the noise level within acceptable levels. That being said we will not be returning to this over priced restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Absolutely the best corn chowder I've ever tasted - thick with corn and sweet cornbread croutons! You have to get by to try this - I'm sure it's seasonal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As always, we enjoyed this dining experience with our children, owners themselves, of a fine dining restaurant. The only negative was over cooked snapper, which was ordered by 3 of the 5 diners. We did let our waiter know. However, over all a nice dinner. We will be back! Hopefully, the chef will have a better day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our family went to celebrate a promotion. The server was friendly and very knowledgeable. Our appetizer plate of locally made artisan cheeses was outstanding and we all tried soups that were delicious and unique such as a cold cucumber soup with a mint oil. For entrees, my girls had a fried chicken cutlet with roasted okra and charleston ice cream (never heard of this creamy rice dish), husband had a ribeye and I had a smaller portion of rack of lamb. The lamb was very good but not as tender as I'd prefer. Overall still a beautifully presented meal. My husband and one daughter tried the Gateau Marjolaine which was fabulous and my other daughter tried a seasonal sorbet assortment of 3 flavors. The blueberry and nectarine flavors were really good. The sriacha lime unfortunately was overpowering with the strong lime flavor and heat of the sriacha sauce. Otherwise, a great meal. Highly recommend for food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was the best all around that we have had there in a long while. Everyone agreed that we want to go again because the entire experience was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Undercurrent is our favorite restaurant in Greensboro. The food is delicious and inventive, and the service is always first-rate. Great wait staff! We usually dine on the early side, so it's pretty quiet, but it can get a bit noisy when it's crowded. It's a great place for a date, special occasion, or anytime you want a really good meal. The decor is subdued but sophisticated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The food was fantastic! Attention to details and flavors with very fresh local sourcing. I LOVED the Tuna that we orders. You could taste it wasn't frozen and it melted in your mouth. The cucumber and mint soup was so delusions (and I don't love cold soup) and the corn chowder was excellent. Pricey, but worth the cost. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Restaurant week was great here. Melanie was a fantastic server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We have never had a negative experience at this restaurant. The food is always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food and great service! The duck breast was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

My wife and I have visited Undercurrent many times, but for a variety of personal reasons, it had been a few years since our last visit. We made it for our anniversary celebration. It was better than we remembered. The duck breast was breath-taking--unbelievably tender, moist and marvelous flavor. The sides were surprising in their treatment, vibrant in flavor, and a delight to the eye. Our server, advisor, and new friend, Melanie was just the best at her job we have ever seen. She knew the menu inside out, was wise in her discernment of us, generous with her knowledge, which she freely gave, but without any level of pressure. The evening included one odd negative. We ordered the wine recommended by the sommelier. Strangely, with the passage of time it went from full-bodied and complex to astringent. Passed the word on. They were puzzled as well. It was a French red I do not recall--exxcept it was $11.00 for a glass!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was good, but the value was not. The applications could be simpler - a few too many fussy details that took away from the ingredients. And the prices, not exorbitant, were more than the food merited.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and service! We will certainly be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Lovely restaurant, excellent food and wine list. Especially good for a quiet anniversary dinner. Can't go wrong at Undercurrent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere- Ryan- the waitress- was awesome tried it through groupon but will for sure go back

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

One of the best meals we've had in a long time! Beautiful decor, outstanding service, and delicious food. Every element, from the beginning basket of warm bread to the decadent desserts, had been executed to perfection. Although there were many other options, each of us chose a seafood dish: fried oyster salad, a crabcake platter, grilled salmon. All were outstanding, every bit as good as the best seafood restaurants in the area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food, as always. Very creative menu and presentation.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We used a Groupon to eat at Undercurrent and it was such a lovely idea! The food was delicious and unique, the drinks were delicious, and the atmosphere was that of a fine dining experience. I would recommend this place for a good date, a birthday surprise, or for anyone who wants to just treat themselves to good food. Decent selection of meats all prepared to order with local ingredients; the vegetables are fresh and the sauces are to die for!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We went here for a date night and dined on the patio. Artisanal cheese plate was eclectic and delicious. Bread pudding is a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

New chef really needs to taste the food before sending out to diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Undercurrent is just the nicest, friendliest, most delicious food in Greensboro. I can't think of another white-table cloth restaurant with staff this friendly, food this delicious, and prices this reasonable.

Perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 8, 2017

In the years we have been in Greensboro, my wife and I somehow missed the Undercurrent. We went there for our anniversary dinner recently. It was probably the best dinner out we have been to in Greensboro, and there are some fine restaurants here. (Our waitress called it one of Greensboro's best-kept secrets.) We heartily recommend it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have eaten at Undercurrent many times over the years. This was, as always, a great experience. Maybe the best. Fried Green Tomato appetizer was creative and beautiful. Pork chop special was perfectly cooked, as was the Ribeye. Great Local Cocktails as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Best restaurant in Greensboro. Service is always amazing and farm-to-table approach brings tremendous dishes.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, absolutely the best server we have had in years anywhere.

Proteins were over-done; rest of the dish was excellent. Shame the protein star was not as perfect as the rest of the dish.

Will try it again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Once again a great dining experience. Wine was affordable and outstanding. Specials of the day are always work getting and the snapper I ate was delicious and very well prepared with outstanding side to go along. Will go back...they also you local when possible. Nice, nice place for a special meal in Greensboro.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Absolutely a jewel in the Greensboro - High Point - Winston Salem area! Incredible blending of textures and flavors. I had the perfectly seasoned trout and always the warm fresh house bread.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great tasting food. Small portions..cocktails were watered down and overpriced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everything about our experience was perfect! Service was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious. Duck Breast was DIVINE! One of the most enjoyable evenings we've had in a while.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What an excellent evening! The food was delicious, the ambiance pleasing, and our server Colton was friendly, welcoming and attentive. We began with the gazpacho, which was a bit unusual - with an almost Southwestern flair - but utterly delicious. The lobster shrimp rolls were fantastic, as were the fried shrimp and kimchi starter. One in our party had the duck, which he said was exceptional, and the rest of us had either the seared scallops (the best I have had in Greensboro...ever!) or the lamb (excellent, cooked to a turn with a beautiful presentation). The cellar offered several choices that complimented our meal choices beautifully, and we had more than one bottle that we all enjoyed thoroughly. We finished by sharing a gorgeous peach tart, with the only complaint there being the diminutive portion we each had becauise we chose to share a single tart! For a while it was the battle of the spoons in that modest bowl! All around, a great dining experience, and we will most certainly return often.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was our first time at Undercurrent and it was amazing. Laura was a wonderful waitress. She was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and wine and was really fun to talk to. She made us feel like we were long time patrons. I will return and highly recommend Undercurent to anyone that is looking for amazing, unusual menu items. It was cooked to perfection and everything about our experience was wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 28, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Greensboro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.