About Undercurrent Restaurant

327 Battleground Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

Owners, Susan and Ben Roberts partnered up with brothers Wes and Chris Wheeler in 2015 and we invite you to enjoy our Contemporary American Cuisine where we utilize Classical French cooking techniques with global influences.
Our beverage program includes a full bar, wonderful local craft beers, and a 150 bottle wine list with 50+ wines by the glass for which Undercurrent has been recognized by both Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. We have been rated consistently tops in our class of restaurants.
The ambiance is truly one of the nicest in the area with ample space for you while dining. We now have a truly fabulous patio area. We seat our patio on a "first come first served basis".
A comfortable bar area is available for dining from our full menu or to begin or end your dining experience with us.
Please join us and let the capable staff at Undercurrent make your lunch or dinner a wonderful experience.
Cheers,
From ALL the staff here at Undercurrent

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch hours are Monday – Friday from 11:30-2:00
Dinner hours Monday-Wednesday from 5:30-9:00
Bar hours are 4pm to 9:30PM
Thursday-Saturday from 5:30-9:30
Bar hours are 4PM to 10PM
Closed on Sundays except during Furniture MKT, Easter, and Mother’s Day

Cross Street:
Lindsey and Green Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-1266

Website:
http://www.undercurrentrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We can but we look at each catering job as to whether we can or can not accommodate.

Parking Details:
Plenty of on-street parking. Available parking after 5pm at the Sun Trust building's parking lot across Battleground Ave.

Executive Chef:
Michael Harkenreader

Private Party Facilities:
Undercurrent, a Piedmont Triad favorite for its New American Cuisine, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city of Greensboro. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Ben Roberts, owner: 3363701266x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up for our newsletter to find our all of the many special events we put on here at Undercurrent. www.undercurrentrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Undercurrent Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
9 More
Romantic
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Best Value
Greensboro
Fit for Foodies
Greensboro
Romantic
Greensboro
Special Occasion
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

special occasion (53)
fit for foodies (49)
romantic (40)
See All
notable wine list (29)
good for groups (20)
great for lunch (18)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for outdoor dining (8)
great for brunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

Brunch was a mixed experience.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We missed things like the usual great bread. The biscuits are not good and the muffin was okay (the jam is also way too sweet). Main course servings were relatively small (especially the crab cake biscuit which was basically appetizer size). This is not a horrible thing given most places overfeed, but it is unexpected. The wait staff continues to turn over and our waiter was completely off on timing and did not know the wine list. But we still continue to love many things about them. The desserts were outstanding, the ambiance is great, the people are friendly, and the food is fresh. The willingness of the kitchen to accommodate to special requests is also notable.

food5
ambience5
service5

I have a tree nut allergy and notified t ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I have a tree nut allergy and notified the restaurant via open table! The chef prepared a special sauce just for my meal and our server was aware of it the moment we sat down! The food was delicious and service awesome! We will definitely be returning.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious

Dined on April 22, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday. The food is divine. If it's on the menu, try the duck, it is fantastic. ***** overall - great restaurant in general. Location is convenient, parking is good. ***** food - everything was delicious **** service - our waitress was great, but there were several issues with timing from the kitchen. No big deal, but not flawless. **** ambiance - it is nice inside, cool little statues, but feels a little crowded - probably because most of the tables are open-- not a lot of sight dividers like booths, or short walls, etc. Ceilings are high, and the noise levels can get very loud. Could use some sound dampening, and slightly dimmed lighting in my opinion. A plus to the loudness is that you can tune it out because you're hearing everyone's conversations at once instead of being able to pick out things people are saying at the table next to you. **** value - Definitely not an inexpensive restaurant. Appetizers are around $12-14, entres about $25-30. Wine averages $8 or so per glass. All very good and nice presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

slow service; poor value

Dined on April 20, 2016

This restaurant used to be our favorite for special occasions but this is the second time we have poor service and the servings have been small. Add this to servers with a real smug attitude... I intend to try another place the next occasion. I am sad to see this decline in one of our favorite places.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was great but service was lacking

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was great but service was lacking

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service. Always a ple ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Always a pleasure to eat there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, each course better than the previous

Dined on April 2, 2016

The wait staff and Chief Sommelier were so helpful. The food was incredible. And there presentation was world class. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Consistently Excellent Restaurant

Dined on April 1, 2016

We have been to this restaurant numerous times. Consistentcy is the operative word. Great food, excellent service, wonderful atmosphere, never hurried!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We were given a choice of sitting inside ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We were given a choice of sitting inside but right in front of live music or outside. We opted for outside beautiful evening really complex flavors of wonderful dishes. After dinner we asked if we could move inside for dessert where it was a little warmer. They accommodated us very well and we could listen to the music from afar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not been here in a very long time

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Back for the first time in years, because not impressed in times past. Only because of a server at another place I frequent said to retry. I was more than pleasantly surprised. Small focused menu at reasonable prices. I really liked that they offered half portions on many entrees making it easy to try other things as well. Which gave me the opportunity to try their clam chowder which is now the best I have ever had. It looked atypical as it was a darker color and hardly the creamy white you would associate with this dish... but excellent in any book! I had the scallops which had a sweetness to them but cooked perfectly with a setup that had to include a bacon component that worked excellently. And the bread pudding is to die for. Stay away from the Pomegranate-Chocolate Ganache which had a tartness none at our table liked and nothing for a chocolate sweet tooth. But don't worry a very small thing with a nearly perfect meal. Kudos!!! Now if I can just get them to lower the corkage fee!:)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

If I could give them 6 stars, I would. W ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

If I could give them 6 stars, I would. We took my parents here for their first time after a year of us telling them about our favorite restaurant. We hyped it up so much, we put it at a high level of expectation. The food was amazing, the seating was in a quiet corner, the wait staff was second to none. This restaurant and their staff deserve to get the best scores in the triad area. They are fantastic! Undercurrent will continue to be our favorite restaurant choice in GSO, and we will continue to give recommendations to anyone who asks.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Suprising Disappointment

Dined on March 3, 2016

We have eaten at Undercurrent several time on our trips to Greensboro. In the past the food was uniformly excellent so we were a bit disappointed this trip. As always the spring rolls were great and the scallops cooked to perfection. But the trout was season so heavily and cooked so long that it was barely edible. The "herb crust" on the trout was all that could be tasted (--it was bitter--and the fish was dried out. The vegetables served with both entres were similarly over seasoned. Seasoning should enhance flavors not drown them out. The ambiance and service were extraordinary. The chef needs to tone down the spices and herbs and let the food shine through.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and choices. Wonderful place ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Great food and choices. Wonderful place for a romantic meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I came here on Valentine's Day evening. The staff called me two times in advance to make sure I was still coming (due to sudden ice and snow), which I thought was very professional. When we got there, our server was kind and professional and took excellent care of us. The food was great, the atmosphere was great, I couldn't have asked for a better evening. What's more, they even followed me on Instagram the day after and thanked us for dining with them. They are the definition of perfection! :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Snowy Valentine's dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everything we had was great. Awesome dinner with my Valentine! Menu is a bit the small side, but local options make up.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The restaurant was extremely cold

Dined on February 14, 2016

The waitstaff was observed doing jumping jacks in a corner in order to keep warm.The meal was great however the cold temperature detracted from the dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Our food was absolutely delicious from a ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our food was absolutely delicious from appetizer to entrée to dessert. Our waiter was Brandon. He was extremely professional and very well versed in the menu and specials. He didn't have to read anything. He knew everything about pairings. He knew the flavor of beer and wine! Excellent restaurant and great job Brandon!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere, food was mixed.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The atmosphere and service are very good here. The smoked oyster appetizer was very good. The trout dish I had was excellent. The chicken dish my finance had was disappointing, lacking in spice, including salt. We could have done better chicken at home. It was a surprising let down, especially at the price.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Not As Good As It Once Was

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have loved this place for a long time. But on recent trips, we have noticed inconsistency in both the food and the service. On our last trip, for instance, the portions of meat and fish were both significantly smaller than once was the practice (it was still enough food, but simply much less of the entree). And the busy-ness of the dishes can get distracting (multiple sauces, for example, mean lots of different tastes on a plate). The older staff who has been in place continues to do good work, but we are seeing lots of new faces who tend to not be as well trained for a fine dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent everything

Dined on February 13, 2016

We returned to our favorite restaurant for Valentine. As usual the food was cooked perfectly and was very professionally presented. Our waitress was outstanding. The Jester Shiraz on their wine list has become one of our favorites. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, well-paced dinner with friends

Dined on February 2, 2016

Duck confit flatbread, a special lobster/salmon cake with couscous and Chef Harkenreaders pate stood out on this visit plus the the always excellent house made breads. Pistachio ice cream was outstanding. As always, Scott delivered excellent, professional service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicate delicasies

Dined on January 30, 2016

Undercurrent provided various options for any discernible palette. Our party ordered an eclectic variety of specials and standard menu items. The quality of the prepared meals certainly met our expectations. The Exquisite atmosphere coupled with the service of that of a dear friend made for an exceptional experience overall. We were certainly not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Greensboro, NC

Dined on January 29, 2016

We went to Undercurrents for my husband's birthday. Zach was our waiter. He did an outstanding job. The food was excellent, as always. This is our favorite restaurant in Greensboro!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on January 27, 2016

I really could not be more pleased with a restaurant. We've dined at the Undercurrent multiple times and have always been pleased with the service and with the meal. On this occasion we were celebrating my wife's birthday and the entire staff was so nice. We always look forward to dining here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, wonderful service

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

We had an absolutely lovely time at Undercurrent. The food was spectacular, the service was paced nicely (never felt rushed, and we stayed a long time!) and the overall ambiance was very charming. I would recommend this restaurant 100% to anyone who is looking for a charming, delicious meal in Greensboro.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Resturant!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Undercurrent always has great food. We love the farm fresh food and unique dishes associated. It never disappoints. Great service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1

Not good!! Took my husband out for his ...

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Not good!! Took my husband out for his birthday dinner with my children. Our server was okay. My soup was cold but I didn't say anything. My meal was ice cold so I sent it back. I have never done that before but I could not eat a cold prime rib. Unfortunately, I was not able to eat dinner with my family and it ruined our meal. The dining room was empty so perhaps there is an issue with service and food. I really regret taking my family to your restaurant it put a damper on my husband's birthday celebration.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great for every one but portion ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was great for every one but portions seemed small this time. Restaurant very noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious!

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

The soups, breads and entrees are always hot and delicious but it is the deserts that I always leave room for when I dine at this restaurant. The chef is always creating new variations with chocolate - and this latest one with toasted nuts and marshmallow with a dense, smooth chocolate filling is memorable. Hoping they keep it on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Greensboro

Dined on December 18, 2015

This is my very favorite restaurant in Greensboro. I have never had a bad meal. The food Is creative, not just the ordinary meat, potatoes and a vegetable. Their price point is right on, and less expensive than other restaurants in the area where the food is not nearly as good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

December 2015

Dined on December 15, 2015

We ordered several items. The lobster/ shrimp egg roll was very good. The mushrooms were nice. My colleague had the duck and said it was excellent. My lamb was fantastic. My wife had the tenderloin and said it was delicious. The service was good, not great. The noise level was very loud. The dinning areas is completely open. Overall I would easily recommend this place.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, lunch was great.

Dined on December 7, 2015

Our recent lunch at Undercurrent was outstanding, as usual. Wait staff was professional and friendly. Loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Tasting food with disinguished sea ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

Great Tasting food with disinguished seaoning and cooking style.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food & service I have tried al ...

Dined on November 25, 2015

Excellent food & service I have tried almost everything on the menu and it has all been excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine Dining at Undercurrent

Dined on November 22, 2015

As ALWAYS, we had a wonderful and most enjoyable evening at Undercurrent on November 21, 2015. Dinner was divine, wait staff outstanding and the entire evening was perfect. Although we live almost an hour away, Undercurrent is worth the drive. We love this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great eats

Dined on November 21, 2015

What a joy to have this to come to whenever I am in Greensboro. What a wonderful experience from the host station to an accommodating Adam in the bar to dining with an upbeat, well informed server-Allie, to the floor manager, Perry, taking time to bring us our main course.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Over the Top

vip
Dined on November 16, 2015

The name might be "Undercurrent" but it is over the top with food, ambiance, service. My first time at this downtown Greensboro gem and will not be my last visit. I recommend it for lunch and the portions are just right.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

nice evening

Dined on November 14, 2015

a very nice overall evening. a gem in downtown area, quiet and well serviced. good and more than sufficient wine list. service was very good, a touch too attendant perhaps, but that is better than too little. food was very good, suggest modifying the approach to trout and larger serving (two pieces were still small and breaded does not bring the trout out as I would prefer). Appetizers, quail and fish of the day and flourless chocolate dessert quite good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good, and lamb was excelll ...

Dined on November 7, 2015

Food was very good, and lamb was excelllent. Wait staff were knowledgable and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Eats

Dined on November 3, 2015

Split a spinach salad and tried the wraps. Wife had the special and I went with the turkey wrap. Very pleased with both the salad and the wraps. Enjoyed a Chardonnay with our meal.

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.