Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Undercurrent Restaurant

Owners, Susan and Ben Roberts partnered up with brothers Wes and Chris Wheeler in 2015 and we invite you to enjoy our Contemporary American Cuisine where we utilize Classical French cooking techniques with global influences.
Our beverage program includes a full bar, wonderful local craft beers, and a 150 bottle wine list with 50+ wines by the glass for which Undercurrent has been recognized by both Wine Spectator and Wine Enthusiast. We have been rated consistently tops in our class of restaurants.
The ambiance is truly one of the nicest in the area with ample space for you while dining. We now have a truly fabulous patio area. We seat our patio on a "first come first served basis".
A comfortable bar area is available for dining from our full menu or to begin or end your dining experience with us.
Please join us and let the capable staff at Undercurrent make your lunch or dinner a wonderful experience.
Cheers,
From ALL the staff here at Undercurrent

327 Battleground Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch hours are Monday – Friday from 11:30AM to 2PM
Dinner hours Monday-Wednesday from 5:30PM to 9PM
Sunday Brunch from 11AM to 2:30PM
Bar hours are 4PM to 9:30PM
Thursday-Saturday from 5:30PM to 9:30PM

Cross Street:
Lindsey and Green Streets

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 370-1266

Website:
http://www.undercurrentrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We can but we look at each catering job as to whether we can or can not accommodate.

Parking Details:
Plenty of on-street parking. Available parking after 5pm at the Sun Trust building's parking lot across Battleground Ave.

Executive Chef:
Michael Harkenreader

Private Party Facilities:
Undercurrent, a Piedmont Triad favorite for its New American Cuisine, offers some of the best private dining fare in the city of Greensboro. We have exemplary private dining for the most discerning of palates and work with all different budget levels.

Private Party Contact:
Ben Roberts, owner: (336) 370-1266

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sign up for our newsletter to find our all of the many special events we put on here at Undercurrent. www.undercurrentrestaurant.com

Undercurrent Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Business Meals (22)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Romantic (14)
Modern Decor (12)
Authentic (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Healthy (10)
Seasonal (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Private Room (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Organic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

Horribly bland food with no flavor. Soft shell crab was overly fried and steak was not seasoned well at all. Sides were tasteless. Expensive and overly strong cocktails. Would not recommend to friends. Only good thing about this place is the exceptional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Exceptional food, fine dining with Industrial elegant feel - we so enjoyed our Anniversary dinner and our attentive and well timed service by Kelsey. The Undercurrent is certainly a gem of a restaurant in downtown Greensboro. We highly recommend it for whatever the occasion. Nest time, we plan to come early so that we can experience the bar scene before our meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Organic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

Happened to be in Greensboro en route to our next college tour with my son and made a reservation at your restaurant. I chose your restaurant because you had a cheese plate/charcuterie on the menu. This is my son's favorite item. We were not disappointed. The service was impeccable. The gentleman who greeted us even offered to pay our parking meter if there was any need. The entrees were very good. I would visit again the next time I am in Greensboro.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

The noise level from the kitchen was very high. There were not a lot of customers so the staff had a lot of chances to chat, loudly. Perhaps I should have asked for a table far away from the kitchen.
I was not happy with the underdone seafood, so I sent it back, for more cooking.
I was told that this is how they serve it & I should have ordered it ‘medium’ if I wanted it cooked through.
Overall it was good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Celebrated a friend's birthday at lunch. The food was exceptional. I had delicious lentil curry soup and the fried oyster salad. The oysters were crisp on the outside and yummy on the inside. My friend had the salad with very generous salmon. Our server was professional and non-intrusive. I plan to go here more often!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Wonderful Sunday Brunch menu, excellent service, and great food. Will return many more times.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Loved it! Would definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My husband and I love the Undercurrent and eat there regularly. We usually dine early, so it's pretty quiet, but as the evening goes on it can get noisy. The food is delicious and inventive, the wait staff superb, and we have never been disappointed. The special wine dinners are especially fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 6, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Greensboro. Varied lunch menu, quiet atmosphere, and excellent food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Authentic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As always, Wes and his team provide the best in a dining experience. Seasoned and professional staff members greet and seat quickly, super wine list, great kitchen and daily lunch and dinner special dishes. Reliable and elegant, Undercurrent is a favorite of ours, and we are never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

On a chilly, stormy night, the restaurant was cold, we were seated near two large, noisy tables, and our server seemed a little unsure of himself. Although the food was good, we just didn't enjoy the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always love going to the Undercurrent. We also like visiting with Adam.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As always, it was a great dining experience. We had guests from out of town who also enjoyed the evening immensely. Chef Michael is so creative and everything he prepares is delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Of the many excellent meals with had at Undercurrent, this one stands out.

Tomato and chorizo soup, chicken satay, trout and flounder were all perfectly done. Kelsey gave great service and the bottle of Tavel completed the evening.

We're lucky to have Undercurrent in Greensboro.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love going to Undercurrent on Friday nights because there is no corkage fee and the food is wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Easy to find in downtown GSO, The Undercurrent offers fine food, a marvelous wait staff, excellent bartender, and a quiet atmosphere to talk . Having patrons at a table next to you was not the best arrangement, since overlapping conversations result.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Daniel, our waiter, started out the evening at Undercurrent in a relaxed manner. He was very accommodating throughout the evening. My wife and I and the wife of the other couple enjoyed the boneless quail. My lamb chops were " melt in your mouth " great. Yes, it was perfect evening at Undercurrent for a lovely 2 hour Valentines evening .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Undercurrent was great! All was perfect. We enjoyed the evening together there in all ways. We will go back for sure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was good and nicely presented, although very small portions for the price. Service was extremely slow.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our first time eating at Undercurrent. We made reservations and was seated immediately upon arrival. Our server came quickly to our table, gave us the specials & took our drink order. Our food was delicious and made to our specification. We will definitely come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything about the evening was really great. I commented to my wife during the meal that it was nice to eat a very good dinner at a restaurant that had a low noise level. The waitress that handled our table did a super job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing Sunday brunch! The food was absolutely beautiful and tasted even better than it looked. The menu featured a wide range of classic brunch options with creative twists. Undercurrent's atmosphere is modern and elegant with out being "cold". The live jazz music was such a nice addition without being overbearing and our service was excellent. Overall the experience was truly fantastic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First time there and service was great! We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed my experience. Food was excellent. Brunch prices were very reasonable. Loved the live music. Great service. Ambiance was welcoming. Conversations could be held.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went to Undercurrent for Sunday brunch. Menu offered many good options. I went standard with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, home fries. My date had a sausage omelette. Service was excellent as were both of our meals.
An added plus was Dave Fox on piano with a talented singer who did 30's classics along with some Beatles.
We chose Sunday brunch rather than trying to navigate a Valentine's Day dinner date. Great decision. We will be back to one of my favorite restaurants for either dinner or another Sunday brunch with musical accompaniment.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was as well. We will definitely be back for another date night!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Incredibly good food. Very tasty. All three of us thought it was one of the most tasty dishes we had ever had (sea base special and scallop diners)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at Undercurrent. The soups were both delicious, one cauliflower and the other sun dried tomaro and garlic. We shared a duck confit and sweet potato tart that was unremarkable. We both enjoyed our entrees; scallops and lamb. We went for the smaller portion which was perfect and plenty of food. We had some confusion over the half bottle of wine we tried to order. The wine list hadn't been updated for change in stock but we ended up with a decent half of Cabernet Sauvignon. Good wait staff. Front of house staff were hard to find both on arrival and when we tried to get our coats at the end of the meal! Overall a very pleasant dinner in nice surroundings.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Simply spectacular evening. Chef Michael's creations were flawless and the service attentive yet unobtrusive. This restaurant also has one of the great features for a truly wonderful evening-seating so that one has the ability to actually talk to each other. I would recommend the Undercurrant (and have) to anyone looking for one of the best restaurant experiences in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fabulous crabcakes over salad fix specially for us off the menu. Great evening with old friends. Service was fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 27, 2017

There was a large business-type group dining. The restaurant did place a decorative divider between the group and other diners, but the noise level was greater than on previous occasions. Great food and good value. Perhaps the best overall dining experience in the city.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is still the best restaurant in Greensboro, NC. We go here often and came on January 22 for brunch. Their brunch is outstanding. We have had two parties here last year and the staff did an excellent job. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Everything was DELICIOUS! We had salmon, trout, and scallops, and all were fabulous. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 20, 2017

They continue to be a lovely place to eat a good meal. I would like to see more options for healthier eaters made available. Sauces here tend to get heavy and vegetarian or vegan options are really not easy to get (even the set ups are not good options for the health conscious). But the quality is consistent and the ambiance is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

normally I enjoy this restaurant and I will return however...yesterdays lunch was a disappointment. Service was slow and unfortunately two of us got the wrong dish served. In all fairness it was not mentioned as it was a birthday lunch for one of them and she did not want to make a fuss. And it must be said she enjoyed her crab cake salad (instead of the special entree)...my pork sandwich was not at all what was described and was pretty much fried to within an inch of it's life. Desert was very good although we waited 20 min for it.
I have never been disappointed here before and so I hope it was just an off afternoon.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Just when I didn't think it could get any better - it did! Wow! The Sun Flower Seed Gnocchi, Kale, Roasted Tomato, Balsamic Onions, Butternut Squash Puree with Thyme Cream - a foodie's dream dish! You can't go wrong at The Undercurrent!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always wonderful. Staff really does read the OpenTable special requests. Thanks for another great meal and experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The service, food, ambiance was extraordinary. Our waiter was very attentive. The food was excellent. I like That they serve local foods.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Always perfect!
We got steak ~ 'couldn't eat it all ~ even better for breakfast the next morning 😉👍

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.