About Underbelly

1100 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Underbelly is the perfect title to tell "the Story of Houston Food", and when it comes to Houston, there is no better storyteller than Chef Chris Shepherd. Chris’ upcoming restaurant shares his journey as a chef in a city he describes as "the most secretive and dynamic culinary destination in the country.” Beneath the well-known oily surface lies an endless array of local ingredients and cultures that shape Chris' unique perspectives on food.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday:11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Waugh

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9800

Website:
http://www.underbellyhouston.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepherd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pork Schnitzel With Crispy Farmers Market Vegetables
Cha Ca Style Snapper
Short Rib Ragu
Beet Panna Cotta
Castello Di Argiano - Monteleccio 2007
Fried Carrot Cake
Chocolate Strawberry Trifle
Brussel Sprouts In Fish Sauce
Korean Flatiron
Vinegar Pie With Salt Brittle
Shrimp and Grits
Korean Braised Goat And Dumplings
Hog And Hominy Poutine
Chicken and biscuits
Cheesecake
Poussin, Rice Cake, Swiss Chard Cole Slaw
Seared Golden Tile, Cauliflower Hummus, Chard, Pickles
Gulf Coast Bouillabaisse
Short Rib, Coconut Chili Jam, Curry Tapioca
Lamb Meatballs in Vindaloo
Funnel Cake with Fruit
Pork Roast & Brussel Sprouts
Heirloom Tomato, Arugala, House Ricotta & Pickled Blackberry
Mississippi Mud
Beef Stew
Soba Noodle, Beet, Daikon, Mustard Vinaigrette
Sourdough w/ Spiced Nectarine Butter
Graham's 20 Year Tawny Port
Charred Leeks, Pecan Romanesco
Vinegar Pie
Warm Rye Bread, Charred Spring Onion Butter
Sneaky Pete Imperial IPA
Coffee
Easy Rider Beer Do-Nuts • Beer Glaze
Peaches & Cream Fried Pie
Vinegar Pie • Salt Brittle
Heirloom Eggplant • Thai Green Curry • Jasmine Rice
Vietnamese Style Meatballs
Vanilla Ice Cream
Beef Carpaccio
Seared Lamb Tenderloin drizzled with cooked Grape must
Shrimp & Pancetta Fritters • Okra • Squash • Pepper • Aioli
Lamburger Helper
Goat With Dumplings
Beet Salad, Goat Cheese, Candied Nuts
Waygu Tenderloin Carpaccio With Quail Egg
Braised Korean Goat With Dumplings
Crispy Ham Ribs
Okra
Fried Market Vegetables In Fish Sauce
Roasted Butternut Squash Salad
Seasonal Vegetables
Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie
Flounder Crudo
Slow Dough Bread And Roasted Garlic Corn Butter
Roasted Beets, Whipped Goat Cheese, Preserved Lemon & Roasted Garlic Puree, Dill
Butcher's Block
Wagyu Tenderloin Beef Carpaccio, Chive Oil, Quail Egg, Local Salt
Shrimp
Wagyu Satay With Red Curry Tapioca
Seared Snapper
Seared Swordfish And Roasted Brussel Sprouts
Wagyu Beef Skewers And Soba Noodles
Wagyu Bimbibap
Fried Market Vegetables in Caramelized Fish Sauce
Pork Shoulder And Gulf Oyster Lettuce Wraps
Smoked Oysters
Popcorn Caramel Creme And Vanilla Ice Cream
Pulled Goat And Dumplings
Pan-Seared Shrimp And Pimento Cheese Grits
Spring Lamb Carpaccio
Debris Po-Boy
Dreamsicle
Crispy Pork, Squash, Egg, Rice Noodle, Chile, Herbs
Carolina Style Bbq Meatballs
Wagyu Roast, Appalachian Red Corn Porridge, Charred Carrots, Molasses
Charcuterie plate
Grilled Sweet Corn, Lime, Mayo, Chile, Cotija
Braised Short Ribs
Carpaccio of Wagyu Tenderloin
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula, House Ricotta, Coppa
Heirloom Eggplant, Burmese Yellow Curry, Jasmine Rice
Pork Schnitzel
Cochinita Pibil
Fried Strawberry Pie
Korean Dumplings Hotpot
Triggerfish With Fried Rice And Sauteed Veg
Beet Salad
Butter Biscuits And Chicken Gravy
grilled cheese and tomato bisque appetizer.  porn #grilledcheese #appetizer #wedding
Slow Dough Bread And Honey Lardo
Crispy Okra Caramelized W/ Fish Sauce
Grits
Goat
Pork Dumplings
Slow Roasted Pork Belly, Redneck Cheddar Grits
Okra, Steel Cut Oat, Figs, Golden Beets
Slow Roasted Akaushi Pot Roast, Dinosaur Kale, Pork & Beans
Crispy Pressed Lamb Belly, Watermelon, Basil, Mint
Pork Chop

Underbelly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Exclusive
Notable Wine List
Exclusive
Fit for Foodies
Exclusive
1 More
Notable Wine List
Exclusive

fit for foodies (156)
good for groups (98)
special occasion (95)
See All
hot spot (83)
notable wine list (69)
neighborhood gem (64)
great for lunch (30)
romantic (25)
vibrant bar scene (19)
late-night find (9)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I have eaten at Underbell ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at Underbelly both times we were in Houston recently. It has become our "date place" when we are lucky enough to be in town. We love the food and service. Our most recent visit was in July. Each item we ordered were full of my favorite summer flavored with unexpected additions that made each bite a wonderful departure from an ordinary dish. Underbelly is an eating adventure for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Underwhelming, overpriced, and just pla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Underwhelming, overpriced, and just plain pathetic attempts at food service

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food, but it was bit slower coming ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, but it was bit slower coming out than anticipated. The server made up for it in the end, which was appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic food and drink. Service was gr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic food and drink. Service was great, everything explained in detail when we asked about the dishes and also recommended wine for us with what we had ordered. Ambiance was nice, a little dark when we first sat down but then they opened the blinds to let some light in.

Great dinner with friends. Pricey but would go here for special occasions, date night or with visitors to Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always love the unusual combination and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always love the unusual combination and excellent flavors created by chef, it does get extremely noisy and hard to converse - we had dinner at peak business

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Whenever we visit Houston Underbelly is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Whenever we visit Houston Underbelly is on our list for dinner. The menu is so inventive and fun and as always, we over order because there are so many things we want to try.

The wait staff knows the food and wine and really helps you build your meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was very impressed with the service, fr ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Was very impressed with the service, friendly staff, and wonderful food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our waiter could not ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was great. Our waiter could not have been more helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my favorite restaurant in the wo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the world. You will never go wrong with any dish ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here never disappoints!! The wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food here never disappoints!! The waiter surprised us with 2 out of 5 entrees we ordered and WOW! They were both delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and wonderful lunch menu choi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food and wonderful lunch menu choices. The non-alcoholic specialty drinks are a must-try. Service was attentive but not too pushy. Can't wait to return for dinner next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at 5.30pm is perfect coz there's ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Dining at 5.30pm is perfect coz there's barely a crowd so we can talk and hear each other (carpet but still bare walls and ceiling in an open room, noise bounces like crazy) and enjoy good and quick service from kitchen and wait staff. Fantastic bread from Slow Dough, nice crunchy crust. We had to order two loaves. The food servings were right but have to say the bresaola (dried beef) plate barely had a few shavings for $14. That's a bit much. Better value to get the charcuterie plate (we did). The goat Korean sticky rice dough sticks in Korean kochujan red spicy sauce are supposed to be a big favorite. I think it's just okay. Nothing really says "wow" about it. (If you want Korean, go eat Korean.) Though it would be more like "mandoo" coz the menu saying "dumpling." So don't be fooled if you're expecting something that comes out looking like a dumpling with filling inside. It ain't. Good waiter . Love the smoked meat balls. Big surprise of the evening. Didn't think there'd be that much smokiness in it, but there was!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I always love Underbelly. Since the menu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I always love Underbelly. Since the menu changes everyday I feel like I can keep coming every three months and get a different experience. Our server was great, I cannot remember her name. The wine list was good. Also, we had bar service before and that was fantastic. Thank you for the hospitality. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great visit! We loved everything ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Another great visit! We loved everything we ordered- especially the heirloom tomato salad, okra, smoked meatballs, and mocha parfait. And we would never go to Underbelly without ordering the goat and dumplings- yummy! By far our favorite place in town to go when we have a babysitter. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cool restaurant that is casual, but ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very cool restaurant that is casual, but has a nice overall appeal. There are a variety of dishes to choose from so this is great for those more adventurous. They sell small plates that are to be shared amongst the table. Our choices were that two of the four were good. The okra was salty and the pork belly was just not too my liking though it may appeal to others. The beef shoulder and caprese salad were both very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We had a really good meal at Underbelly ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a really good meal at Underbelly sharing all the dishes we ordered. We started with a fresh baked ciabatta, literally right from the oven and hot to the touch. It was served with a whipped peach butter, but truth be told I would have preferred butter or olive oil., since the peach flavor was tired. Our first dish was a delicious heirloom tomato salad followed by a bresaola and compressed melon dish punched with basil and paneer and with crusty salt flakes providing a tiny surprise of crunch. Flash fried green beans with fish sauce were good but too salty for me. The famous for good reason! Korean goat and dumplings had a smooth and rich ragu full of meat. The dumplings were bite-sized, crunchy on the outside and dense. We finished with a slice of the vinegar pie which was underwhelming and an outrageously delicious blackberry fried pie with honey Rosemary ice cream and crisp coffee cake crumbles. The service was somewhat disappointing considering it was an early dinner hour and not too busy. We were asked if it was our first time, which it was, but compared to what we heard around us, the dish explanations were abbreviated. I had to ask for a clean plate at one point when a new course arrived and a used plate from a prior course remained in front of me. We were not rushed and had to ask for the check. Would definitely return and would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great reastaurant . Have been eating her ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great reastaurant . Have been eating here since they have opened. Food is fantastic. Beer and wine selection is excellent. Eating in the bar or at a table is superb.

Mark T

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, but the waiter w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was excellent, but the waiter was beyond rude. One of my guests asked him to describe a dish. She was not familiar with the type of pasta or sauce. He rudely responded, "You know what grilled shrimp is, right?" Sheesh! Next time we'll Google it. Isn't it the job of the wait staff to answer questions about the menu and treat guests with respect?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The focus is on sharing so bring your fr ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The focus is on sharing so bring your friends and a bottle of wine since they allow and encourage corkage. The more the merrier. The underbelly salad is big enough for six people and was almost a meal in itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was excited about this restaurant beca ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I was excited about this restaurant because of its farm-to-table menu, and we enjoyed the food. But we found the dining room and overall vibe to be uninspired. It looked and felt like a Cracker Barrel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

The service even though helpful, was lac ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service even though helpful, was lacking just pleasantries and manners which cost nothing, no matter if your trying to be a local hang out place or first class dinning.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food, good service, one of my favo ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food, good service, one of my favorite lunch spots!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We dined here for our daughter's birthda ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We dined here for our daughter's birthday. Everything was Ok, but at a high price. We ordered the pork belly and out came 2 small pieces of meat. They say it is meant for sharing, but I disagree. It was an appetizer portion at best. I pointed it our to the waiter and he said he would let the kitchen know. And that was that.

Not planning to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Awesome experience. Great food, and ama ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Awesome experience. Great food, and amazing service. Portions seemed a bit small, and pricey.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our family of 3 went to Underbelly for m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our family of 3 went to Underbelly for my husband's birthday. We ordered 5 different dishes plus dessert and shared them. We loved them all! They might note on the menu how spicy the Korean goat and dumplings are tho!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable and delicious evening spe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very enjoyable and delicious evening spent at Underbelly. The service was exceptional and the food was, as my mother said, "really the best we've had in some time." We all just about died over the sauce on the eggplant pasta (scraping the bowl to get every last bit). The bread was the perfect chewy/crusty combination, and the steak had great flavor as well as being tender. Loved the tiny okra and the fresh corn in our dishes. And the desserts were exceptional. Ready for another fried pie as I write this.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Such amazing cuisine. Great staff that a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Such amazing cuisine. Great staff that are passionate about food. Fantastic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Chris Shepard creates some of the m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Chef Chris Shepard creates some of the most flavorful and delicious dishes I have ever tasted! His seared grouper with fresh gazpacho and fresh tomato pico along with the pork belly with kimchi was to die for! The service was outstanding! A true foodie dining experience! Will most definitely will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome as usual. Goat dumplings are jus ...

 
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Awesome as usual. Goat dumplings are just awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu is creative; food is very tasty. It ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Menu is creative; food is very tasty. It is fun to select multiple menu items and share with everybody at the table. Jeff B waited on us and gave helpful commentary about our choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Underbelly is always good, creative, fre ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Underbelly is always good, creative, fresh, flavorful, seasonal, spicy, sweet...whatever you crave, they have it. Best of what Houston has to offer.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service to match! Oooooo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service to match! Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was super helpful describing and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Waiter was super helpful describing and recommending the dishes. Owner very hands on. Have never had a bad experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Underbelly is our favorite Houston resta ...

 
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Underbelly is our favorite Houston restaurant. We went here recently to celebrate/mourn our move from Houston, and it was the perfect way to commemorate the occasion. We love having our waiter pick the dishes. Emily did a superb job doing so. She was friendly, entertaining, and super knowledgable. Underbelly is everything that I would expect from high-end, farm-to-table restaurant. It's delicious, conscious, and detailed-oriented. Chef does a wonderful job of curating dishes to tell a culinary story about Houston. We will truly miss Underbelly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service made the difference between this ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Service made the difference between this visit and our previous visit nearly 4 years ago. We were a party of 3 and ordered five dishes. While they didn't all wow us, the pork chop, grits and pole bean dishes did! We won't wait 4 more years to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome all around

 
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our second experience dining at Underbelly, and an experience is exactly how I would describe Underbelly. Everything is on point: the wait staff, the atmosphere, the drinks, the food, and the letting the wait staff choose our food is super fun. The prices are not outrageous for the experience and service received. Totally worth it. Totally love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A bit confusing at first when your not f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A bit confusing at first when your not familiar with the concept, but was ok. Glad we didn't order more food than we were advised to. There is plenty of food overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Underbelly group Friday June 3rd

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a really fun meal at Underbelly with our group. We had several stellar wines (that were amazing values) and let our server dictate our meal, save for adding the kale salad. The only misses were an oversalted mushroom and grits dish and eggplant and shrimp dish. All of the cooking techniques and flavors were spot on and the Pork chop was commented by several in the group as being the best they had ever eaten. The goat milk pops and vinegar pie were a great ending to a really fun food experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening out

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Underbelly offers creative dishes in a very nice setting and with excellent service. It is a true gem in the Houston food scene!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What can I say that hasn't been said? C ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

What can I say that hasn't been said? Chris Shepherd has created an amazing restaurant with spectacular offerings.

Service was on point as usual. Very friendly and attentive, with excellent recommendations and answers to any questions.

If I had to say anything critical it would be to slow down on service :)

Maybe our group just ordered too much. We ordered about 20 dishes and for a little while it was slightly chaotic as so many delectable choices sprawled across the large butcher-block table.

Snow cap peas won the night. Whoever is buying their produce knows something the rest of us don't. Well done and a nice surprise.

If you have gone for lunch but never been to dinner, you need to fix that. Lunch is good. Dinner is stellar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.