About Underbelly

1100 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Underbelly is the perfect title to tell "the Story of Houston Food", and when it comes to Houston, there is no better storyteller than Chef Chris Shepherd. Chris’ upcoming restaurant shares his journey as a chef in a city he describes as "the most secretive and dynamic culinary destination in the country.” Beneath the well-known oily surface lies an endless array of local ingredients and cultures that shape Chris' unique perspectives on food.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday:11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Waugh

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9800

Website:
http://www.underbellyhouston.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepherd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pork Schnitzel With Crispy Farmers Market Vegetables
Cha Ca Style Snapper
Short Rib Ragu
Beet Panna Cotta
Castello Di Argiano - Monteleccio 2007
Fried Carrot Cake
Chocolate Strawberry Trifle
Brussel Sprouts In Fish Sauce
Korean Flatiron
Vinegar Pie With Salt Brittle
Shrimp and Grits
Korean Braised Goat And Dumplings
Hog And Hominy Poutine
Chicken and biscuits
Cheesecake
Satsuma Roll, Ginger, Cardamom Ice Cream
Poussin, Rice Cake, Swiss Chard Cole Slaw
Seared Golden Tile, Cauliflower Hummus, Chard, Pickles
Gulf Coast Bouillabaisse
Short Rib, Coconut Chili Jam, Curry Tapioca
Lamb Meatballs in Vindaloo
Funnel Cake with Fruit
Pork Roast & Brussel Sprouts
Heirloom Tomato, Arugala, House Ricotta & Pickled Blackberry
Mississippi Mud
Beef Stew
Soba Noodle, Beet, Daikon, Mustard Vinaigrette
Sourdough w/ Spiced Nectarine Butter
Graham's 20 Year Tawny Port
Charred Leeks, Pecan Romanesco
Vinegar Pie
Warm Rye Bread, Charred Spring Onion Butter
Sneaky Pete Imperial IPA
Coffee
Easy Rider Beer Do-Nuts • Beer Glaze
Peaches & Cream Fried Pie
Vinegar Pie • Salt Brittle
Heirloom Eggplant • Thai Green Curry • Jasmine Rice
Vietnamese Style Meatballs
Vanilla Ice Cream
Beef Carpaccio
Seared Lamb Tenderloin drizzled with cooked Grape must
Shrimp & Pancetta Fritters • Okra • Squash • Pepper • Aioli
Lamburger Helper
Goat With Dumplings
Beet Salad, Goat Cheese, Candied Nuts
Waygu Tenderloin Carpaccio With Quail Egg
Braised Korean Goat With Dumplings
Crispy Ham Ribs
Okra
Fried Market Vegetables In Fish Sauce
Roasted Butternut Squash Salad
Seasonal Vegetables
Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie
Flounder Crudo
Slow Dough Bread And Roasted Garlic Corn Butter
Roasted Beets, Whipped Goat Cheese, Preserved Lemon & Roasted Garlic Puree, Dill
Butcher's Block
Wagyu Tenderloin Beef Carpaccio, Chive Oil, Quail Egg, Local Salt
Shrimp
Wagyu Satay With Red Curry Tapioca
Seared Snapper
Seared Swordfish And Roasted Brussel Sprouts
Wagyu Beef Skewers And Soba Noodles
Wagyu Bimbibap
Fried Market Vegetables in Caramelized Fish Sauce
Pork Shoulder And Gulf Oyster Lettuce Wraps
Smoked Oysters
Popcorn Caramel Creme And Vanilla Ice Cream
Pulled Goat And Dumplings
Pan-Seared Shrimp And Pimento Cheese Grits
Spring Lamb Carpaccio
Debris Po-Boy
Dreamsicle
Crispy Pork, Squash, Egg, Rice Noodle, Chile, Herbs
Carolina Style Bbq Meatballs
Wagyu Roast, Appalachian Red Corn Porridge, Charred Carrots, Molasses
Charcuterie plate
Grilled Sweet Corn, Lime, Mayo, Chile, Cotija
Braised Short Ribs
Carpaccio of Wagyu Tenderloin
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula, House Ricotta, Coppa
Heirloom Eggplant, Burmese Yellow Curry, Jasmine Rice
Pork Schnitzel
Cochinita Pibil
Fried Strawberry Pie
Korean Dumplings Hotpot
Triggerfish With Fried Rice And Sauteed Veg
Beet Salad
Butter Biscuits And Chicken Gravy
grilled cheese and tomato bisque appetizer.  porn #grilledcheese #appetizer #wedding
Slow Dough Bread And Honey Lardo
Crispy Okra Caramelized W/ Fish Sauce
Grits
Goat
Pork Dumplings
Slow Roasted Pork Belly, Redneck Cheddar Grits
Okra, Steel Cut Oat, Figs, Golden Beets
Slow Roasted Akaushi Pot Roast, Dinosaur Kale, Pork & Beans
Crispy Pressed Lamb Belly, Watermelon, Basil, Mint

Underbelly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Exclusive
Notable Wine List
Exclusive
Fit for Foodies
Exclusive
1 More
Notable Wine List
Exclusive

fit for foodies (172)
good for groups (108)
special occasion (104)
See All
hot spot (84)
notable wine list (75)
neighborhood gem (67)
great for lunch (30)
romantic (27)
vibrant bar scene (20)
late-night find (11)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1625 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

I was excited about this restaurant beca ...

Dined 6 days ago

I was excited about this restaurant because of its farm-to-table menu, and we enjoyed the food. But we found the dining room and overall vibe to be uninspired. It looked and felt like a Cracker Barrel.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The service even though helpful, was lac ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service even though helpful, was lacking just pleasantries and manners which cost nothing, no matter if your trying to be a local hang out place or first class dinning.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food, good service, one of my favo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food, good service, one of my favorite lunch spots!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Awesome experience. Great food, and ama ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Awesome experience. Great food, and amazing service. Portions seemed a bit small, and pricey.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family of 3 went to Underbelly for m ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our family of 3 went to Underbelly for my husband's birthday. We ordered 5 different dishes plus dessert and shared them. We loved them all! They might note on the menu how spicy the Korean goat and dumplings are tho!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable and delicious evening spe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very enjoyable and delicious evening spent at Underbelly. The service was exceptional and the food was, as my mother said, "really the best we've had in some time." We all just about died over the sauce on the eggplant pasta (scraping the bowl to get every last bit). The bread was the perfect chewy/crusty combination, and the steak had great flavor as well as being tender. Loved the tiny okra and the fresh corn in our dishes. And the desserts were exceptional. Ready for another fried pie as I write this.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Such amazing cuisine. Great staff that a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Such amazing cuisine. Great staff that are passionate about food. Fantastic atmosphere.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Chef Chris Shepard creates some of the m ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Chef Chris Shepard creates some of the most flavorful and delicious dishes I have ever tasted! His seared grouper with fresh gazpacho and fresh tomato pico along with the pork belly with kimchi was to die for! The service was outstanding! A true foodie dining experience! Will most definitely will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as usual. Goat dumplings are jus ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Awesome as usual. Goat dumplings are just awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu is creative; food is very tasty. It ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Menu is creative; food is very tasty. It is fun to select multiple menu items and share with everybody at the table. Jeff B waited on us and gave helpful commentary about our choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Underbelly is always good, creative, fre ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Underbelly is always good, creative, fresh, flavorful, seasonal, spicy, sweet...whatever you crave, they have it. Best of what Houston has to offer.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service to match! Oooooo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food and service to match! Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter was super helpful describing and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Waiter was super helpful describing and recommending the dishes. Owner very hands on. Have never had a bad experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Underbelly is our favorite Houston resta ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Underbelly is our favorite Houston restaurant. We went here recently to celebrate/mourn our move from Houston, and it was the perfect way to commemorate the occasion. We love having our waiter pick the dishes. Emily did a superb job doing so. She was friendly, entertaining, and super knowledgable. Underbelly is everything that I would expect from high-end, farm-to-table restaurant. It's delicious, conscious, and detailed-oriented. Chef does a wonderful job of curating dishes to tell a culinary story about Houston. We will truly miss Underbelly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Service made the difference between this ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Service made the difference between this visit and our previous visit nearly 4 years ago. We were a party of 3 and ordered five dishes. While they didn't all wow us, the pork chop, grits and pole bean dishes did! We won't wait 4 more years to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome all around

Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our second experience dining at Underbelly, and an experience is exactly how I would describe Underbelly. Everything is on point: the wait staff, the atmosphere, the drinks, the food, and the letting the wait staff choose our food is super fun. The prices are not outrageous for the experience and service received. Totally worth it. Totally love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

A bit confusing at first when your not f ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

A bit confusing at first when your not familiar with the concept, but was ok. Glad we didn't order more food than we were advised to. There is plenty of food overall

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Underbelly group Friday June 3rd

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a really fun meal at Underbelly with our group. We had several stellar wines (that were amazing values) and let our server dictate our meal, save for adding the kale salad. The only misses were an oversalted mushroom and grits dish and eggplant and shrimp dish. All of the cooking techniques and flavors were spot on and the Pork chop was commented by several in the group as being the best they had ever eaten. The goat milk pops and vinegar pie were a great ending to a really fun food experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening out

Dined on June 4, 2016

Underbelly offers creative dishes in a very nice setting and with excellent service. It is a true gem in the Houston food scene!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What can I say that hasn't been said? C ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

What can I say that hasn't been said? Chris Shepherd has created an amazing restaurant with spectacular offerings. Service was on point as usual. Very friendly and attentive, with excellent recommendations and answers to any questions. If I had to say anything critical it would be to slow down on service :) Maybe our group just ordered too much. We ordered about 20 dishes and for a little while it was slightly chaotic as so many delectable choices sprawled across the large butcher-block table. Snow cap peas won the night. Whoever is buying their produce knows something the rest of us don't. Well done and a nice surprise. If you have gone for lunch but never been to dinner, you need to fix that. Lunch is good. Dinner is stellar.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lives up to its reputation.

Dined on May 28, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday. The waitstaff was very friendly and provided excellent service. We had an idea of the wines and foods that we wanted to eat, told our waiter, and he suggested an excellent meal course for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Experience

Dined on May 24, 2016

We ate at this restaurant when holidaying in Houston in May 2016. We had read a review in Mindfood Magazine in New Zealand and found ourselves in Houston. What a great find. Great food, helpful staff and of course fine New Zealand Wine.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Don't Understand All of the Hype

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for family birthday. Food was good but not up to all of the hype. The shared dish style was a bit odd and led to strange service. Vegetables were brought our about 15 min before entrees. Overall a bit to trendy and pricy for my liking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, inspired menu, varied wine o ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food, inspired menu, varied wine offerings. We had a really good server. Really made the night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The atmosphere and service were good. T ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The atmosphere and service were good. The menu has several interesting items which is what got us to attend in the first place. Food flavors were good, but quantities fall far below the mark. I do not need a big plate a food but some of the plates served were so meager that the Underbelly is an extremely poor value for money spent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic! Lots of flavor depth ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always fantastic! Lots of flavor depth at underbelly, always.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Really great food --- Underbelly is my f ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Really great food --- Underbelly is my favorite restaurant in Houston. The server had a bit of an off day, though. He was oddly distant, didn't offer up any details about the menu (we had to ask). In the past, the servers have always given a spiel about the place before we've ordered. It wasn't bad service, just not quite the friendly service I'm used to there. Probably just an off day. Still a great lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent experience and a wonderful pla ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent experience and a wonderful place to go with friends or to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!! A chef friend recommended I tr ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Amazing!! A chef friend recommended I try Underbelly while in Houston. The super courteous and attentive staff gave us the scoop on ordering and helped with recommendations. Everything we ordered was delicious and full of flavor; the mixed veggies, perhaps the simplest menu item, was somehow my second favorite. I'd definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have to give Chris his due. He has put t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Have to give Chris his due. He has put together a simple concept with structure and hospitality and turned it up. Congrats. We will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here twice now and really li ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I have been here twice now and really like this place. Is is fun that the menu constantly changes so there are always new options. My husband and I like the option of sharing small plates so that concept works well for us. We liked all 4 of the dinner items and also the dessert we ordered. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Service and the food were better tha ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The Service and the food were better than Exceptional. I was there for a business dinner that we had 6 people. We didn't even have to order because the Waitress said she would take care of us and bring us entrees and she and the food were incredible.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fun experience.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Second time at Underbelly. Food was outstanding again. Ordered two helpings of the unique broccoli dish. Our waiter was attentive and amiable. The kitchen was a bit slow this evening; but, our waiter was our advocate with the chefs. That's the only reason overall rating was not "Outstanding." Once again a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Downtown Lunch Alternative

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great Downtown Lunch Alternative. Close to downtown, but with an entirely different lunch ambiance. Imaginative fare that is not too heavy, but very tasty. Room is quiet enough for business discussions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative and Rich Flavors

Dined on May 4, 2016

Truly innovative dishes using standard and exotic ingredients that are rich an succulent. Vibe is very welcoming and everything is very well put together. Had the brisket , the goat and dumplings, the broccoli in fish oil and the soft shell crab. All were incredible and came out quickly. The wine choices suggested by our server were excellent. Will certainly return when I am back in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Tasty Twist on Southern and Vietnamese Food!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Underbelly does a cool twist on southern classics with a vietnamese influence, melding both into something unique and exciting. Everything we ordered was delicious. The setting is pretty casual and the our waitress was very attentive. We will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & amazing service. Get goat dumplings.

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Delicious food, cool setting, and amazing service. Been twice and it never gets old. Be sure to get the goat and kimchee dumplings. They are amazing and unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great sharing menu

Dined on April 27, 2016

Wonderful spot for a business dinner. Choosing what to share, comparing notes on the different dishes, and ordering a wide array of foods was a great way to interact with folks you do not know well. Wait staff extremely knowledgeable in helping design the meal. We had grouper, steak, goat, broccoli, and salad. All terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Mediocre Experience

Dined on April 27, 2016

Underbelly came highly recommended from several business associates. Unfortunately, the place was noisy and the food was mediocre at best. The salad greens were crisp and fresh. The other items were not quite as flavorful as expected. I found the entrées to be somewhat bland. The problem may be my palate as I eat out quite a bit and have gotten used to more seasoned meats and vegetables.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food runs the gamut; great service

Dined on April 21, 2016

Some of the dishes we ordered were amazing. Others were less impressive, very salty. Server was great. Noise made conversation difficult.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.