About Underbelly

1100 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Underbelly is the perfect title to tell "the Story of Houston Food", and when it comes to Houston, there is no better storyteller than Chef Chris Shepherd. Chris’ upcoming restaurant shares his journey as a chef in a city he describes as "the most secretive and dynamic culinary destination in the country.” Beneath the well-known oily surface lies an endless array of local ingredients and cultures that shape Chris' unique perspectives on food.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday:11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Waugh

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9800

Website:
http://www.underbellyhouston.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepherd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Underbelly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Exclusive
Contemporary American
Exclusive
Best Service
Exclusive
1 More
Contemporary American
Exclusive

fit for foodies (185)
good for groups (104)
special occasion (101)
See All
hot spot (88)
notable wine list (82)
neighborhood gem (72)
romantic (31)
great for lunch (31)
vibrant bar scene (21)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Don't Understand All of the Hype

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went for family birthday. Food was good but not up to all of the hype. The shared dish style was a bit odd and led to strange service. Vegetables were brought our about 15 min before entrees. Overall a bit to trendy and pricy for my liking.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, inspired menu, varied wine o ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food, inspired menu, varied wine offerings. We had a really good server. Really made the night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The atmosphere and service were good. T ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The atmosphere and service were good. The menu has several interesting items which is what got us to attend in the first place. Food flavors were good, but quantities fall far below the mark. I do not need a big plate a food but some of the plates served were so meager that the Underbelly is an extremely poor value for money spent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic! Lots of flavor depth ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Always fantastic! Lots of flavor depth at underbelly, always.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Really great food --- Underbelly is my f ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Really great food --- Underbelly is my favorite restaurant in Houston. The server had a bit of an off day, though. He was oddly distant, didn't offer up any details about the menu (we had to ask). In the past, the servers have always given a spiel about the place before we've ordered. It wasn't bad service, just not quite the friendly service I'm used to there. Probably just an off day. Still a great lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent experience and a wonderful pla ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent experience and a wonderful place to go with friends or to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!! A chef friend recommended I tr ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Amazing!! A chef friend recommended I try Underbelly while in Houston. The super courteous and attentive staff gave us the scoop on ordering and helped with recommendations. Everything we ordered was delicious and full of flavor; the mixed veggies, perhaps the simplest menu item, was somehow my second favorite. I'd definitely return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have to give Chris his due. He has put t ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Have to give Chris his due. He has put together a simple concept with structure and hospitality and turned it up. Congrats. We will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here twice now and really li ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I have been here twice now and really like this place. Is is fun that the menu constantly changes so there are always new options. My husband and I like the option of sharing small plates so that concept works well for us. We liked all 4 of the dinner items and also the dessert we ordered. Will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Service and the food were better tha ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The Service and the food were better than Exceptional. I was there for a business dinner that we had 6 people. We didn't even have to order because the Waitress said she would take care of us and bring us entrees and she and the food were incredible.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fun experience.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Second time at Underbelly. Food was outstanding again. Ordered two helpings of the unique broccoli dish. Our waiter was attentive and amiable. The kitchen was a bit slow this evening; but, our waiter was our advocate with the chefs. That's the only reason overall rating was not "Outstanding." Once again a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Downtown Lunch Alternative

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great Downtown Lunch Alternative. Close to downtown, but with an entirely different lunch ambiance. Imaginative fare that is not too heavy, but very tasty. Room is quiet enough for business discussions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative and Rich Flavors

Dined on May 4, 2016

Truly innovative dishes using standard and exotic ingredients that are rich an succulent. Vibe is very welcoming and everything is very well put together. Had the brisket , the goat and dumplings, the broccoli in fish oil and the soft shell crab. All were incredible and came out quickly. The wine choices suggested by our server were excellent. Will certainly return when I am back in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Tasty Twist on Southern and Vietnamese Food!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Underbelly does a cool twist on southern classics with a vietnamese influence, melding both into something unique and exciting. Everything we ordered was delicious. The setting is pretty casual and the our waitress was very attentive. We will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & amazing service. Get goat dumplings.

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Delicious food, cool setting, and amazing service. Been twice and it never gets old. Be sure to get the goat and kimchee dumplings. They are amazing and unforgettable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great sharing menu

Dined on April 27, 2016

Wonderful spot for a business dinner. Choosing what to share, comparing notes on the different dishes, and ordering a wide array of foods was a great way to interact with folks you do not know well. Wait staff extremely knowledgeable in helping design the meal. We had grouper, steak, goat, broccoli, and salad. All terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Mediocre Experience

Dined on April 27, 2016

Underbelly came highly recommended from several business associates. Unfortunately, the place was noisy and the food was mediocre at best. The salad greens were crisp and fresh. The other items were not quite as flavorful as expected. I found the entrées to be somewhat bland. The problem may be my palate as I eat out quite a bit and have gotten used to more seasoned meats and vegetables.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food runs the gamut; great service

Dined on April 21, 2016

Some of the dishes we ordered were amazing. Others were less impressive, very salty. Server was great. Noise made conversation difficult.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lived up to it's reputation.

Dined on April 20, 2016

It was our 32nd anniversary, I had never been to Underbelly, although my wife had been twice before. The service was relaxed but attentive, the staff was friendly and un-fazed by special requests. The food was every bit as fabulous as writers have asserted. The charcuterie was marvelous, the rice dumplings with braised goat was absolutely nuts, and their pork belly was top-notch, second only to Le Ren's in Nederland.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Incredible food made by a culinary mastermind!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Mr. Shepherd is a genius!!! The gumbo will make you forget your Tante's. The caramelized fish sauce on the veggies was amazing. Everything was amazing. I have dined at Underbelly several times for lunch and dinner and I have never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic. The highlight ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Everything was fantastic. The highlights for me? The pork belly on the charcuterie plate was like butter. Delicious and melt in your mouth good. I would also highly recommend the tamales! They were fresh and delicious and the pork in them was spiced to perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic!!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Much of the food is Asian influenced but with a wide ranging scope. Everything was excellent and despite a fairly wide variety of selections for the table, there seemed to be clear, and appreciated flavor profile ties between the different items. Very impressed with the creativity and depth of flavor. Great relaxed ambience. Lots of care went into the selection of menu items and crafting of individual dishes, this was readily apparent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I took my parents here who were visiting from out of town- we all LOVED it. Our server helped us order just the right amount of food- we wanted to order more but I'm glad we listened to him! The grilled beef was amazing, so flavorful! Extremely knowledgeable staff and overall wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on April 15, 2016

We came to celebrate my Friends birthday with a group of people we all chose excellent place to share with an each other and the server was very knowledgeable of the wine and helped us choose the perfect wine to pair with their food it was an amazing night

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Bacon sausage, and maybe the best pork c ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Bacon sausage, and maybe the best pork chop ive ever had

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Underbelly always good

Dined on April 13, 2016

Always reliable and creative menu. Excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Uniquely Delicious Dining

Dined on April 12, 2016

We loved dining at Underbelly while my parents were in town. The menu is very unique with a variety of shared plates. Everyone will find something new and something they love. Be prepared to spend $$$ for this unique dining experience, farm fresh ingredients and extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fine dinner

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

A fine dinner, with excellent service, a superb Condrieu wine, and really wonderful food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Quite lunch location.

Dined on April 11, 2016

Great food. Quite lunch location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Very good dinning experience. Everything ordered was great and on point. Some dishes may have been borderline too spicey but not complaining. Meal was perfect! Everything tried exceeded expectations!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Underbelly several times n ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We've been to Underbelly several times now and will keep going back. The food is amazing and the service is outstanding. The goat-dumplings and crispy market vegetables are our favorite, but there were several new items (to us) on the menu which were delicious as well like the steak and short rib. Overall a terrific value.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Let the staff help with the sequence of ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Let the staff help with the sequence of the plates you order.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food but pricey

Dined on April 3, 2016

Loved our underbelly experience but the prices have gone up! $30 for the prosciutto appetizer was shocking.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was completely unfazed by o ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Our waitress was completely unfazed by our party of 12, which was mostly comprised of Underbelly newbies. She chose most of our dishes, and each was a freaking culinary masterpiece. The pork belly? Amazing. Tamales? Yes. Cha Cha Snapper? Droooool. Go here. Do it.

food5
ambience5
service5

We would recommend letting the waiter se ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We would recommend letting the waiter select your menu! Live a little! They know best! The food was really well done, the service phenomenal and everyone working there was on point. Fantastic experience.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Can't figure this place out....

Dined on March 24, 2016

We have been to Underbelly about four times now and each time we walk away unimpressed. It's a cool place and the service is always good and the staff friendly, but we just can't figure the food out. It's not that it's bad or anything, it's just nothing special. The names of the dish's on the menu are all modern or whatever and sound really good but when you're done, you go "well, that was just ok". I don't think we'll go back. We would like to go back, as we like the restaurant and it's concept, but we have yet to walk out of the restaurant and go, wow, that was great. Just sayin'.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on March 22, 2016

Underbelly continues to impress and not rest on their laurels. Menu is very diverse so there really is something for everyone. Catfish and crab fingers dish was incredible...very fresh, bright flavors. Fried chicken and dumplings also was spot-on delicious. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

I had a nice time and the food was good ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

I had a nice time and the food was good. Kim, our waitress was wonderful.

food5
ambience4
service5

Was our first visit to Underbelly. Enjoy ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Was our first visit to Underbelly. Enjoyed our dinner very much. Could have ordered less food. Very noisy and low lighting. Had to use or cell phone to read the menu and to read the bill.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Food Experience

Dined on March 18, 2016

this was not just a dinner but an experience. Very impressed with the quality of the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.