Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.56mi

About Underbelly

Underbelly is the perfect title to tell "the Story of Houston Food", and when it comes to Houston, there is no better storyteller than Chef Chris Shepherd. Chris’ upcoming restaurant shares his journey as a chef in a city he describes as "the most secretive and dynamic culinary destination in the country.” Beneath the well-known oily surface lies an endless array of local ingredients and cultures that shape Chris' unique perspectives on food.

1100 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday:11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Waugh

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9800

Website:
http://www.underbellyhouston.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepherd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Underbelly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (55)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Local Ingredients (43)
See All
Good for a Date (41)
Notable Wine List (36)
Open Kitchen (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Family Style (27)
Casual (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Seasonal (19)
Fun (18)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Romantic (12)
Organic (12)
Tapas (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great Beer (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
People Watching (7)
Spicy (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1908 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I hate leaving a bad review because I love underbelly and

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Both times I've been to underbelly the food has been amazing, every dish. The only disappointing aspect of our last time there was that we were sat in a recently built side room with no windows that lacked any of the atmosphere that the main restaurant space has. If I go back, I would request to sit in the restaurant and not the tiny side room, a complete different feel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Sweet baby Jesus, we so humbly thank you for the fatty, tasty meat butter -- also known as a short rib -- piled upon our plates, soon to make its way into our bodies. And we also take pause to praise the God-imbued flavors of the rabbit and dumplings. Additionally, who knew that such specialness could be wrought from consuming a dessert that was christened "vinegar pie?" With ample wine, we again thank you and the chef and staff for this near-transcendent experience. Amen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful food, fantastic service. Goat was a surprise and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

One of the most adventurous, eclectic restaurants in the country, not just Houston (with very kind words in The New York Times from their food critic.) Their caramelized season vegetables in fish oil sauce is a wonder, particularly for crunchy green veggies like Brussels Sprouts or Broccoli. The combination of Southern and Asian influenced cuisine with locally derived ingredients makes for a unique experience. (Note: While all is super-well prepared and very tasty, this is not a comfort food, meat loaf and hamburger haven!)

Recommendation: three or four eating together beats two; these are tasting dishes meant to be shared and a setting of only two limits how much you can try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

This place is awesome-innovative food and a unique wine and beer list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

What I love most about Underbelly is the fact that I get to eat what I'll call "foodie food" - creative, delicious and comfortable - in an environment that is not stuffy and pretentious nor cost prohibitive. I love the open dining room and the wood block tables. It feels like a big family kitchen to me. And I can't write this review without giving props to our amazing waitress Katherine along with the beet salad, goat dumplings and strawberry shortcake. I will be back for sure.....and soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was mediocre at best for the price we paid. Our server was outstanding though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Always great food and wine list. Service is good as well. Highly recommend if your willing to take a chance on the unknown cuisine that you can count on to be very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

we understand why this place has received so many awards. The five dishes we picked were made with an artisans touch. Unique and diverse menu. The waiter explained what was in every dish and where the idea came from or region. The waiter was outstanding. We were not rushed. It was not just dining out but a memorable culinary experience. Definitely recommend to anyone and we will return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Family Style, Healthy, Organic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 26, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at Underbelly. The two of us got 4 items to share and ended up taking some leftovers home. The short rib was my favorite and my boyfriend liked the grits and greens the best. We split a half bottle of wine. The staff was very attentive and we enjoyed the ability to look into the kitchen. Underbelly is pricey so we will save this place for another special occasion. We left feeling full and happy though.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Locally sourced door - herbs from cutting garden out back. Interesting spin on classic ingredients. Some entrees (notably days special steak) expensive for what it was.

Tags: , , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on March 25, 2017

Sorry Underbelly, I wanted to like you but for all the hype I expected a much higher quality food. Meatballs were dry, smoked fish dip was just bad, and the brisket had no flavor. Service was very good, and the wine selection is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This was my first experience at Underbelly. We ordered five plates, which was more than enough. They change their menu everyday, so there's always something new. It's an incredibly in demand restaurant, but we managed to get a reservation. Phenomenal experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on March 23, 2017

I was very disappointed!!! The prices were outrageous!!! Red Snapper for $65.00 had hardly any meat on the bones. Four for dinner and our meals were brought out at different times. Guess I am used to Texas size portions for these prices. I went with my husband and two adult sons and we left hungry. Won't be going back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The waitress did not do a very good job of explaining the menu from the way to order. She said it was family style and to order a lot of sheared dishes but did not explain the size of the dishes. We way over ordered and she did not tell us we had ordered too much food for just two people.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Underbelly is amazing! Consistently the best restaurant in Houston and mouthwateringly delicious!!! We love it and go here as often as we can.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great service and even greater was the food!! We will be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious!!! Excellent food preparation and service. Like that they are BYOB friendly so that we can enjoy wine from our cellar with their kitchen company creations. Bread perfectly baked as it should be. Outstandingly prepared vegetables and meats. Attentive, polite, and well timed service.

Tags: People Watching, Organic, Seasonal, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

I could not have asked for a better experience. The food was delicious, the service was perfect, and the environment was casual and comfortable. Although I think it has great value, I cannot afford to eat there often. But I guarantee I will be back for an occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food quality was good. Enjoyed the service and I tipped well for that reason. Pricing was a little costly based on the environment; it was loud in the restaurant. I'd recommend some upgrades to soften the background noise for patrons who are willing to pay top dollar for a relaxing time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on March 10, 2017

Server Bruce explained foods well and his recommendations were spot on. Creative gourmet food sharing style brought to the table in a perfect leisurely pace--not rushed but not too slow. The menu changes daily according to availability of ingredients. The shredded goat and rice dumplings is one constant on the menu, with good reason. World class dining and a memorable experience.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 5, 2017

Lots of fun, each course was wonderfully different from the next and the shared dining experience made for a great night of breaking bread with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Enjoyed sharing different dishes with everyone at table. Wine recommendation was very good as well. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food prepared in creative but tasty way. Our waiter was incredibly helpful and added substantially to our experience. Definitely recommend and will return.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Amazing job. I've been wanting to dine here for quite some time and it was well worth the wait. Can't wait to get a chance to come back again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Absolutely the best. Service is top notch: For the most recent meal, we had a group from various corners of the world and the server (Emily) made the experience smooth, welcoming and enjoyable. The cuisine and wine are unique, excellent and one of the best in Houston. Bring a big group or settle in for a cozy, private meal that many people only read about. Thank you UB!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Let me start by saying that their coffee is terrible. I was surprised for such a high priced dinner that there wouldn't be a fine quality coffee being served with desserts. Being from the Bay Area, I expected more quantity or lessor expensive for the type of food we had. The prices We're too high for the proportion of the plates served.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Healthy, Organic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is hands down the best restaurant in Houston. The building is gorgeous, the food spectacular, and the service is top notch. I've been here a few times and it has never been anything but extraordinary.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Private Room, Disabled Access, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Simply put Underbelly is amazing! My wife and I love this place. Date night, special occasion, double date, just want to eat somewhere outside the suburbs, etc. Underbelly is our choice more times than not. Typically, going to the same restaurant over and over and over would get old and boring and routine, however Chris and his outstanding team at Underbelly break that mold by continually changing the menu to feature fantastic Bayou City inspired entrees. Tonight I had grits. And gravy. Topped with a fried egg. For dinner. Yeah grits, gravy and eggs for dinner. [expletive deleted] awesome! Would recommend to everyone and I usually do!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great job A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time here and it was awesome! Service was great- will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I've been wanting to go to Underbelly for a long time. Finally went and I wasn't let down. Definitely won't be the last time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Delicious food and delicious drinks. Great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Family Style, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I had a great dinner with my friend. Sharing food made it very intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was fine with the exception of feeling rushed by the waitress.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The waitress was fabulous and friendly. We love your restaurant.

Tags: Organic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely great from start to finish. Wine was great and went with waiters recommended dishes and could not have been happier.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great menu, wonderful combinations of fresh food, with great, informative service

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Most unusual and tasty food experience. We sat down, relaxed, and let our server choose our food for us. We will be back!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.