About Underbelly

1100 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Underbelly is the perfect title to tell "the Story of Houston Food", and when it comes to Houston, there is no better storyteller than Chef Chris Shepherd. Chris’ upcoming restaurant shares his journey as a chef in a city he describes as "the most secretive and dynamic culinary destination in the country.” Beneath the well-known oily surface lies an endless array of local ingredients and cultures that shape Chris' unique perspectives on food.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday:11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Waugh

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9800

Website:
http://www.underbellyhouston.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepherd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Underbelly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (60)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Local Ingredients (51)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (42)
Open Kitchen (41)
Family Style (40)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Groups (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Casual (29)
Authentic (25)
Fun (25)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Seasonal (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Romantic (17)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (17)
Tapas (16)
Tasting Menu (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Organic (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
People Watching (9)
Great Beer (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Spicy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Let me start by saying that their coffee is terrible. I was surprised for such a high priced dinner that there wouldn't be a fine quality coffee being served with desserts. Being from the Bay Area, I expected more quantity or lessor expensive for the type of food we had. The prices We're too high for the proportion of the plates served.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Healthy, Organic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This is hands down the best restaurant in Houston. The building is gorgeous, the food spectacular, and the service is top notch. I've been here a few times and it has never been anything but extraordinary.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Private Room, Disabled Access, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Simply put Underbelly is amazing! My wife and I love this place. Date night, special occasion, double date, just want to eat somewhere outside the suburbs, etc. Underbelly is our choice more times than not. Typically, going to the same restaurant over and over and over would get old and boring and routine, however Chris and his outstanding team at Underbelly break that mold by continually changing the menu to feature fantastic Bayou City inspired entrees. Tonight I had grits. And gravy. Topped with a fried egg. For dinner. Yeah grits, gravy and eggs for dinner. [expletive deleted] awesome! Would recommend to everyone and I usually do!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great job A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

I've been wanting to go to Underbelly for a long time. Finally went and I wasn't let down. Definitely won't be the last time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 17, 2017

I had a great dinner with my friend. Sharing food made it very intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was fine with the exception of feeling rushed by the waitress.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

The waitress was fabulous and friendly. We love your restaurant.

Tags: Organic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely great from start to finish. Wine was great and went with waiters recommended dishes and could not have been happier.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great menu, wonderful combinations of fresh food, with great, informative service

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Most unusual and tasty food experience. We sat down, relaxed, and let our server choose our food for us. We will be back!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The salad was a mystery. Why would anyone put "flavors" like that together. Unappealing and unappetizing in execution and taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

My 4th time to Underbelly and it will not be my last. One of the more interesting menus in Houston and there is something to fit everyone's taste. Surprisingly good wine list. The shared items are great for a group of friends. Go next door to Hay Merchant before or after to complete your evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

We visit every time we come to Houston. Outstanding food!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food was amazing, wait staff very knowledgeable

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 3, 2017

The service was very slow. Had to flag the waitress several times. She did offer very good recommendations for the food. Thought the food was good overall, just to expensive for the amount we received. There were four of us, ordered four dishes at around 20 each and it was one bite per person. Ordered two cauliflower dishes which were amazing and two deserts.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding food and service!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food as always...we find that it's best to have our server pick the dishes for the table so we get a nice mix. The staff are excellent, and we always have a great time dining here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Love the food, desserts and service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Underbelly continues to be a top level Houston restaurant destination. This was one of our favorite places for years. We moved from Houston and hadn't been back for 2 years. We specifically decided that we would make the trip back if we could get reservations at Underbelly! It lived up to every thing we remembered! Spectacular food great wine and impeccable service! Sure wish they would open in New Orleans!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

The entire experience was wonderful. Whimsical menus, a view of the curing room, a seat next to the open kitchen, a lengthy wine menu, a "big bowl of salad" with delicious crunchy vegetables and a tangy lemon vinaigrette, goat and dumplings that were surprisingly crispy (and a must have), the braised short rib with fried rice (possibly one of the best dishes I've ever had, YUM), and the vinegar pie, which was an unexpected treat. I loved every minute!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

For an upscale restaurant the prices are reasonable, and the food is exquisite.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great dining experience, knowledgeable server and the food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

Every dish was amazing! We especially enjoyed the duck breast and the pork collar. Do not miss the fresh baked ciabatta with Meyer lemon butter.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 23, 2017

Went here with colleagues and friends for lunch, and we ordered family style. The charcuterie board was plentiful and included generous servings of 4 meats, prepared and cured in house, and pickled radishes, carrots, all locally sourced, especially when ordered with a loaf of hot out of oven ciabatta. The Korean braised goat and dumplings was a favorite- spicy, great texture and taste with minimal gaminess that I had come to expect from goat. The dumplings were perfectly sized rice cakes, chewy with a nice crust reminiscent of my favorite part about fried rice ( the crunchy stuff from the bottom of the pan ). Pulled pork and grits were creamy but not mushy. The dishes were brought out at a nice pace so everyone had a chance to enjoy the food at hand. Chicken lettuce wraps also great for sharing, with good portion of meat.

Tasty homemade drinking vinegar shrubs made for refreshing cocktails, with options for sparkling water, a pilsner or sparkling wine as the base.

Despite all the food we saved room for dessert - panna cotta had perfect texture, fried carrot pie and the lard biscuit strawberry shortcake all were served with a dollop of ice creams. All were fantastic.

Service was attentive and friendly.

We made reservations for our large party although at that early weekday hour there was plenty of seating.

So glad to know places such as Underbelly are part of the Houston scene.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awful. Terrible food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were there on Saturday happy hour, the glass wines are all half price until 6:30pm. We ordered the wing for snack and it's very disappointed. It is cooked too dry and not flavorful but the dressing is ok.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

The wine was excellent. Me and my wife were kind of dissapointed in the food. The Korean goat dumplings were awesome, five stars. The cobia was not very good at all. The 20 month old perchutta was awesome. The tamales were not very good. The beef collar was fairly good. I think we had a few other things to eat but nothing really stood out. But i would recomend the place for the wine, and me and my wife will go back for the wine. For 240$ i expect everything to be outstanding, and it just wasnt. I think next time we will just go to the wine bar and have the bar food with wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Execellent restaurant!

  • food quality superb

  • wine selection outstanding and fairly priced

  • service is great

  • atmosphere is cozy and warm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was outstanding service was great and the wine list was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

My girlfriend and I came here for our anniversary, we absolutely loved it. Service exceeded our expectations and the food was spectacular. I recommend Undebelly for special occasion or for those seeking fine dining.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

As always, Chris and his team made it a great evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food amazing wine selection. Some of the plates are a bit pricey but the food is nothing like anywhere else!! I'm a foodie and I'm super excited to have dined here.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Authentic, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The flavors were fantastic! The menu choices are wide, unique, and very pleasantly unexpected! A bit too load for our tastes, but not unreasonable because everyone is friendly and enthusiastic.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

I have heard rave reviews and now know that they were all true. Absolutely delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Our waiter Dakota was great. The pace of dining was fantastic and the order of the food coming out was perfect. The wine we ordered had wonderful taste and paired well with our meals. Will definitely be dining soon again here.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place never disappoints. The food is creative and delicious. Our waitress was informed and very knowledgeable about the menu, which was helpful since my wife and I wanted to try a variety of dishes (perhaps more than we needed, but all of the dishes sound so wonderful). She did a great job timing the dishes and bringing them out to the table in an order that allowed us to enjoy the flavors of each dish without competing with other dishes we ordered. Great menu, great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

the atmosphere is good, however the food is too pricy for what you are getting. A regular Asian restaurant can do it 10 times better. If you are using the Asian cooking techniques, then there is a lot of room for improvement.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

Have been away from Houston for several years, and was happy to see that Underbelly has only improved in my absence. My wife and I booked reservations for our anniversary and were treated to top-notch service and incredible food. Our server (Dakota) was knowledgeable and friendly, offering great suggestions for wine as well as food. He took care of us in a manner that reflects the quality of Underbelly's cuisine, and really helped to make a special evening all the more memorable.

Run, don't walk... especially if you like tasty food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Spicy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Organic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I enjoy the dinner there on New Year's Eve. The food was delicious and we would highly recommend dining there if you are in Euston or looking for a high-end restaurant with quality food

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.