About Underbelly

Underbelly is the perfect title to tell "the Story of Houston Food", and when it comes to Houston, there is no better storyteller than Chef Chris Shepherd. Chris’ upcoming restaurant shares his journey as a chef in a city he describes as "the most secretive and dynamic culinary destination in the country.” Beneath the well-known oily surface lies an endless array of local ingredients and cultures that shape Chris' unique perspectives on food.

1100 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday:11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Waugh

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9800

Website:
http://www.underbellyhouston.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepherd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Braised Korean Goat With Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vinegar Pie With Salt Brittle - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Korean Braised Goat And Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Hickory king grits, smoked pork Korean stew - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Green Beans - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Schnitzel With Crispy Farmers Market Vegetables - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Cha Ca Style Snapper - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beet Panna Cotta - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Short Rib Ragu - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Castello Di Argiano - Monteleccio 2007 - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Carrot Cake - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Chocolate Strawberry Trifle - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Brussel Sprouts In Fish Sauce - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Poussin, Rice Cake, Swiss Chard Cole Slaw - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seared Golden Tile, Cauliflower Hummus, Chard, Pickles - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Gulf Coast Bouillabaisse - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Lamb Meatballs in Vindaloo - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Short Rib, Coconut Chili Jam, Curry Tapioca - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Funnel Cake with Fruit - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Roast & Brussel Sprouts - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Heirloom Tomato, Arugala, House Ricotta & Pickled Blackberry - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Mississippi Mud  - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beef Stew - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Soba Noodle, Beet, Daikon, Mustard Vinaigrette - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Sourdough w/ Spiced Nectarine Butter - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Graham's 20 Year Tawny Port - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Charred Leeks, Pecan Romanesco - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vinegar Pie - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Warm Rye Bread, Charred Spring Onion Butter - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Sneaky Pete Imperial IPA - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Coffee - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Peaches & Cream Fried Pie - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Easy Rider Beer Do-Nuts • Beer Glaze - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vinegar Pie • Salt Brittle - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vietnamese Style Meatballs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Heirloom Eggplant • Thai Green Curry • Jasmine Rice - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vanilla Ice Cream - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beef Carpaccio - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seared Lamb Tenderloin drizzled with cooked Grape must - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Shrimp & Pancetta Fritters • Okra • Squash • Pepper • Aioli - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Cheesecake - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Lamburger Helper - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Shrimp and Grits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Hog And Hominy Poutine - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Goat With Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beet Salad, Goat Cheese, Candied Nuts - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Waygu Tenderloin Carpaccio With Quail Egg - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Crispy Ham Ribs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Chicken and biscuits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Okra - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Market Vegetables In Fish Sauce - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Roasted Butternut Squash Salad - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seasonal Vegetables - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Flounder Crudo - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Slow Dough Bread And Roasted Garlic Corn Butter - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Roasted Beets, Whipped Goat Cheese, Preserved Lemon & Roasted Garlic Puree, Dill - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Butcher's Block - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Tenderloin Beef Carpaccio, Chive Oil, Quail Egg, Local Salt - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Shrimp - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Satay With Red Curry Tapioca - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seared Snapper - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seared Swordfish And Roasted Brussel Sprouts - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Beef Skewers And Soba Noodles - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Bimbibap - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Market Vegetables in Caramelized Fish Sauce - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Shoulder And Gulf Oyster Lettuce Wraps - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Smoked Oysters - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Popcorn Caramel Creme And Vanilla Ice Cream - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pulled Goat And Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pan-Seared Shrimp And Pimento Cheese Grits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Spring Lamb Carpaccio - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Debris Po-Boy - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Dreamsicle - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Carolina Style Bbq Meatballs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Grilled Sweet Corn, Lime, Mayo, Chile, Cotija - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Crispy Pork, Squash, Egg, Rice Noodle, Chile, Herbs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Roast, Appalachian Red Corn Porridge, Charred Carrots, Molasses - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Charcuterie plate - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Braised Short Ribs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula, House Ricotta, Coppa - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Schnitzel - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Carpaccio of Wagyu Tenderloin - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Heirloom Eggplant, Burmese Yellow Curry, Jasmine Rice - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Cochinita Pibil - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Strawberry Pie - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Korean Dumplings Hotpot - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Triggerfish With Fried Rice And Sauteed Veg  - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beet Salad - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Butter Biscuits And Chicken Gravy - Underbelly, Houston, TX
grilled cheese and tomato bisque appetizer.  porn #grilledcheese #appetizer #wedding - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Crispy Okra Caramelized W/ Fish Sauce - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Slow Dough Bread And Honey Lardo - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Grits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Goat - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Slow Roasted Pork Belly, Redneck Cheddar Grits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Okra, Steel Cut Oat, Figs, Golden Beets - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Slow Roasted Akaushi Pot Roast, Dinosaur Kale, Pork & Beans - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Crispy Pressed Lamb Belly, Watermelon, Basil, Mint - Underbelly, Houston, TX

Underbelly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (66)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Local Ingredients (50)
Open Kitchen (44)
Family Style (40)
Notable Wine List (38)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Authentic (31)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Casual (26)
Seasonal (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fun (21)
Business Meals (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Romantic (19)
Tapas (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Cozy (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Organic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
People Watching (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Healthy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Spicy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1842 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My girlfriend and I came here for our an ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

My girlfriend and I came here for our anniversary, we absolutely loved it. Service exceeded our expectations and the food was spectacular. I recommend Undebelly for special occasion or for those seeking fine dining.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Chris and his team made it a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, Chris and his team made it a great evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food amazing wine selection. Some ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food amazing wine selection. Some of the plates are a bit pricey but the food is nothing like anywhere else!! I'm a foodie and I'm super excited to have dined here.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Authentic, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The flavors were fantastic! The menu ch ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The flavors were fantastic! The menu choices are wide, unique, and very pleasantly unexpected! A bit too load for our tastes, but not unreasonable because everyone is friendly and enthusiastic.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I have heard rave reviews and now know t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I have heard rave reviews and now know that they were all true. Absolutely delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Our ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Our waiter Dakota was great. The pace of dining was fantastic and the order of the food coming out was perfect. The wine we ordered had wonderful taste and paired well with our meals. Will definitely be dining soon again here.

Tags: Casual, , Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place never disappoints. The food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place never disappoints. The food is creative and delicious. Our waitress was informed and very knowledgeable about the menu, which was helpful since my wife and I wanted to try a variety of dishes (perhaps more than we needed, but all of the dishes sound so wonderful). She did a great job timing the dishes and bringing them out to the table in an order that allowed us to enjoy the flavors of each dish without competing with other dishes we ordered. Great menu, great service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tapas, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the atmosphere is good, however the food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

the atmosphere is good, however the food is too pricy for what you are getting. A regular Asian restaurant can do it 10 times better. If you are using the Asian cooking techniques, then there is a lot of room for improvement.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Have been away from Houston for several ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Have been away from Houston for several years, and was happy to see that Underbelly has only improved in my absence. My wife and I booked reservations for our anniversary and were treated to top-notch service and incredible food. Our server (Dakota) was knowledgeable and friendly, offering great suggestions for wine as well as food. He took care of us in a manner that reflects the quality of Underbelly's cuisine, and really helped to make a special evening all the more memorable.

Run, don't walk... especially if you like tasty food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Spicy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Organic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoy the dinner there on ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I enjoy the dinner there on New Year's Eve. The food was delicious and we would highly recommend dining there if you are in Euston or looking for a high-end restaurant with quality food

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic. Thank Austin. It was a grea ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic. Thank Austin. It was a great NYE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good - some items better than o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good - some items better than others. I was underwhelmed by the kale salad, the ciabatta bread & butter and the barrel fish. Ca cha snapper, short ribs, jalapeño sausage & goat dumplings were great. And I mean great. Incredible flavored. Desserts are not their strong suit. I remembered that from my last visit but decided to give it another go. My lemon upside cake could have been from the grocery store. Service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Family Style, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We attended Underbelly on New Years eve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We attended Underbelly on New Years eve and had a great time! The food was delicious, and even though they seemed quite busy, the servers were very friendly.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a fantastic experience celebrating o ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a fantastic experience celebrating our anniversary of 16 years. We fine dine often and were pleased to be relocated to the patio when we asked about a quieter area. The main dining room is very energetic -- at least during the holidays. The bartender served us and was absolutely fantastic. Very knowledgeable about the menu and saw to our every need. My wife is gluten free and he steered us to the best choices. Highly recommend underbelly! If you want/need an accommodation, just ask!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came early with our 2 kids and grandp ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We came early with our 2 kids and grandparents. There wasn't a lot that that kids could eat off the menu, but we figured that. They did well with bread, pork, and the desserts. The food was incredible.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want to eat the food of Houston, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

If you want to eat the food of Houston, then Underbelly is a must. Our party had courses including Korean style goat dumplings, Vietnamese style beef stew, gulf snapper, and pulled pork on traditional grits. Service was highly attentive and well informed. The food bursts with flavors. All items were well made.

Also in true Houston/Texas style, the food is not overly subtle and complex, but rather high quality, thoughtful, and exciting.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very knowledgeable and helpful waitstaff ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very knowledgeable and helpful waitstaff and food is always on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have eaten there many times and it never ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Have eaten there many times and it never fails to impress, the family style menu choices always make the simple act of choosing from the constantly changing menu a fun act in itself, and the dishes themselves, exquisitely presented and cooked to perfection. The wait staff are very knowledgeable and its nice when they recognize you from a previous visit - it makes you feel like part of the family. One of my favorite Houston restaurants. Would highly recommend, but would also suggest on making a reservation if you plan on eating at one of its busy times, as it can get crowded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my new favorite restaurants in Ho ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

One of my new favorite restaurants in Houston. The food and service are excellent. A bit noisy, when very full of customers. However we will go back in the future.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good. Lucky to have it here

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always good. Lucky to have it here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Underbelly did not underperform! Our gr ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Underbelly did not underperform! Our group sampled 11 of the small plates and each got at least 5 out of 6 thumbs up! Fun, easy pace, knowledgable staff. A great time to celebrate two birthdays.....oh, and 3 of the deserts are awesome!!! We didn't have time or the room to try any but 3 ;)

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A novel gastronomical experience. A mus ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A novel gastronomical experience. A must try for foodies.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good experience. Service was great ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very good experience. Service was great, professional, not too chummy but friendly and professional. Food was great, large enough plates to share. Only suggestion was to pre-slice the bread since it was difficult and messy for us to slice at the table.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappoints... consistently good q ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Never disappoints... consistently good quality food, great wait staff (Emily) and overall enjoyable experience! Love this place!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been waiting to hit this one for so long ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Been waiting to hit this one for so long and loved every second of it. Only wish is that they had a liquor license.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the menu says shareable plates rem ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

While the menu says shareable plates remember this is Texas and these ain't no tiny tapas. We made the mistake (again) of over ordering. 2 or 3 plates max if it's just two of you. Everything is good, but the goat dumplings are amazing and not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very excellent service. Food was outsta ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very excellent service. Food was outstanding and drinks were great. Weven are definitely going back to try other menu items.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, , Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had been awhile since i last went. Was r ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Had been awhile since i last went. Was really looking forward to this meal for my birthday. Had the flash fried Brocoli and korean dumplings. Broccoli was not what it once was, the dumplings didnt dissapoint. Had the snapper and tamales for a meal. I have to say the dumplings for the best part of this meal for me. :(

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Went for our 3rd wedding anniversary. To ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Went for our 3rd wedding anniversary. Told our server to "give us a tour" of the cuisine and pair it with wine. We had excellent service and were brought 6 separate dishes for two including a fantastic fried pie with dessert wine pairing at the end. Definitely the best meal I've had - out server was very knowledgeable and engaging. A great way to taste what Houston cuisine has to offer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Organic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food , excellent service ! Loved e ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food , excellent service ! Loved each and every course .

Limited menu option , which was good and easy to choose .

Loved the drink menu as well .

Overall I would highly recommend it to my friends

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was the fourth time i have been to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This was the fourth time i have been to this restauarant.

maybe a bad day, but the food was poor, and waiter did not seem to care. the Burratta tasted like potato salad and the crispy pork belly (usually great) was sloppy and disgusting.

Previously I have been with a large group in the evening, great fun and lunch which was pretty good./

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

As always solid and delish!! Great wine. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 13, 2016

As always solid and delish!! Great wine.... willamette pinot noir, seasonal veg killer, chacha fish fresh, flavorful and light! Pork belly melted in my mouth! Loved Meyer lemon upside down cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine was superb, the food was excell ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

The wine was superb, the food was excellent, the cream soda was outstanding, the dessert was scrumptious, and service was prompt and friendly. The only less than excellent food was the somewhat overly fatty ribeye.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter took himself a little too ser ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our waiter took himself a little too seriously for me. He also did the dreaded- he told you that you must eat the dishes in a certain order for the flavor- instead of " we recommend". Food is subjective and let the customer have it how they want if they wish. They're paying after all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dined at Underbelly with friends we have ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Dined at Underbelly with friends we have not seen for some time. Allover - an excellent experience. The food was delicious and creative. We tried and shared a variety of dishes, and everyone at the table enjoyed them all! The decor is modern and inviting. Service was excellent, including the valet parking. Recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let me begin by saying that my date and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Let me begin by saying that my date and I had high expectations for this restaurant from the numerous articles it has been featured in.

Upon arrival we were shown to a very loud corner table in front of the server station.

Next a wine glass was dropped right in front of our table causing glass to shatter against our legs, onto the table and the floor around us. Completely understand and staff apologized and did their best to clean it all up. Just want to establish the mood of the evening.

We ordered one of the family style meals for the ...grilled roast. Upon arrival it was so tough I had a hard time cutting it with my knife, much less chewing it. I gave up and ate veggies.

Server insisted we order beets dish. Nothing about the cold beets tasted any different than any other beets I have ever eaten. Best dish we tasted was the shrimp with turnip cake.

Needless to say we won't be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Chef Gary Ly created a wide range of dis ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Chef Gary Ly created a wide range of dishes for us and they were all wonderful. The ribs were ou of this world. The beet salad is so delicious. Ingredients were so fresh that it shines through the dish and the spectacular service made it a very memorable experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience at Underbelly. As first ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great experience at Underbelly. As first timers, we let the waitress make the selections for us. Everything was delicious. Wine was great. Service was on point.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.