About Underbelly

1100 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Underbelly is the perfect title to tell "the Story of Houston Food", and when it comes to Houston, there is no better storyteller than Chef Chris Shepherd. Chris’ upcoming restaurant shares his journey as a chef in a city he describes as "the most secretive and dynamic culinary destination in the country.” Beneath the well-known oily surface lies an endless array of local ingredients and cultures that shape Chris' unique perspectives on food.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday:11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Waugh

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9800

Website:
http://www.underbellyhouston.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepherd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Braised Korean Goat With Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vinegar Pie With Salt Brittle - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Korean Braised Goat And Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Hickory king grits, smoked pork Korean stew - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Green Beans - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Schnitzel With Crispy Farmers Market Vegetables - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Cha Ca Style Snapper - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beet Panna Cotta - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Short Rib Ragu - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Castello Di Argiano - Monteleccio 2007 - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Carrot Cake - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Chocolate Strawberry Trifle - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Brussel Sprouts In Fish Sauce - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Korean Flatiron - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Poussin, Rice Cake, Swiss Chard Cole Slaw - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seared Golden Tile, Cauliflower Hummus, Chard, Pickles - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Gulf Coast Bouillabaisse - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Lamb Meatballs in Vindaloo - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Short Rib, Coconut Chili Jam, Curry Tapioca - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Funnel Cake with Fruit - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Roast & Brussel Sprouts - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Heirloom Tomato, Arugala, House Ricotta & Pickled Blackberry - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Mississippi Mud  - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beef Stew - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Soba Noodle, Beet, Daikon, Mustard Vinaigrette - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Sourdough w/ Spiced Nectarine Butter - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Graham's 20 Year Tawny Port - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Charred Leeks, Pecan Romanesco - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vinegar Pie - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Warm Rye Bread, Charred Spring Onion Butter - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Sneaky Pete Imperial IPA - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Coffee - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Peaches & Cream Fried Pie - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Easy Rider Beer Do-Nuts • Beer Glaze - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vinegar Pie • Salt Brittle - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vietnamese Style Meatballs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Heirloom Eggplant • Thai Green Curry • Jasmine Rice - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Vanilla Ice Cream - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beef Carpaccio - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seared Lamb Tenderloin drizzled with cooked Grape must - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Shrimp & Pancetta Fritters • Okra • Squash • Pepper • Aioli - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Cheesecake - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Lamburger Helper - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Shrimp and Grits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Hog And Hominy Poutine - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Goat With Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beet Salad, Goat Cheese, Candied Nuts - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Waygu Tenderloin Carpaccio With Quail Egg - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Crispy Ham Ribs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Chicken and biscuits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Okra - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Market Vegetables In Fish Sauce - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Roasted Butternut Squash Salad - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seasonal Vegetables - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Flounder Crudo - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Slow Dough Bread And Roasted Garlic Corn Butter - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Roasted Beets, Whipped Goat Cheese, Preserved Lemon & Roasted Garlic Puree, Dill - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Butcher's Block - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Tenderloin Beef Carpaccio, Chive Oil, Quail Egg, Local Salt - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Shrimp - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Satay With Red Curry Tapioca - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seared Snapper - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Seared Swordfish And Roasted Brussel Sprouts - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Beef Skewers And Soba Noodles - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Bimbibap - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Market Vegetables in Caramelized Fish Sauce - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Shoulder And Gulf Oyster Lettuce Wraps - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Smoked Oysters - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Popcorn Caramel Creme And Vanilla Ice Cream - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pulled Goat And Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pan-Seared Shrimp And Pimento Cheese Grits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Spring Lamb Carpaccio - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Debris Po-Boy - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Dreamsicle - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Carolina Style Bbq Meatballs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Grilled Sweet Corn, Lime, Mayo, Chile, Cotija - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Crispy Pork, Squash, Egg, Rice Noodle, Chile, Herbs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Wagyu Roast, Appalachian Red Corn Porridge, Charred Carrots, Molasses - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Charcuterie plate - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Braised Short Ribs - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula, House Ricotta, Coppa - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Schnitzel - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Carpaccio of Wagyu Tenderloin - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Heirloom Eggplant, Burmese Yellow Curry, Jasmine Rice - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Cochinita Pibil - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Fried Strawberry Pie - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Korean Dumplings Hotpot - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Triggerfish With Fried Rice And Sauteed Veg  - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Beet Salad - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Butter Biscuits And Chicken Gravy - Underbelly, Houston, TX
grilled cheese and tomato bisque appetizer.  porn #grilledcheese #appetizer #wedding - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Crispy Okra Caramelized W/ Fish Sauce - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Slow Dough Bread And Honey Lardo - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Grits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Goat - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Pork Dumplings - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Slow Roasted Pork Belly, Redneck Cheddar Grits - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Okra, Steel Cut Oat, Figs, Golden Beets - Underbelly, Houston, TX
Slow Roasted Akaushi Pot Roast, Dinosaur Kale, Pork & Beans - Underbelly, Houston, TX

Underbelly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Exclusive
Best Service
Exclusive
Fit for Foodies
Exclusive
3 More
Best Food
Exclusive
Best Service
Exclusive
Fit for Foodies
Exclusive

Creative Cuisine (60)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Good for a Date (47)
See All
Local Ingredients (47)
Special Occasion (44)
Open Kitchen (42)
Good for Groups (34)
Notable Wine List (32)
Family Style (32)
Worth the Drive (27)
Authentic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Seasonal (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Fun (20)
Business Meals (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Casual (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
Organic (14)
People Watching (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Tapas (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Cozy (10)
Healthy (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Spicy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great Beer (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (3)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1741 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The foof was not really special, it was ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The foof was not really special, it was boring, spicy, the waiter was cool and very nice. Do i recomend it? To tey it once it is ok. To make it a regular stop no.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was great. The atmosphere is a ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great. The atmosphere is a a bit casual but do not be deceived; the food was impressive. Lover of pork, I felt as if I was in a candy store. Pork belly, smoke room, butcher on site, and delicious. I will be back for more.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Casual, Seasonal, Fun, People Watching, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience and food was s ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great experience and food was superb as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant deserves its rep! Absol ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant deserves its rep! Absolutely amazing! I would not go with two people--you need at least four because everything is family style and you need to be able to buy enough items to get a good selection of appetizers, veggies and meat. Beef was amazing as were the green beans, beets and omg the dumplings! That is a small plate so if you do want to go w just two people, it is an excellent choice. Nothing was just okay. Everything was great to "best I ever had"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum, yum & yum - expansive menu for any ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Yum, yum & yum - expansive menu for any desire you might have. Delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Organic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great! Server had a nice wine suggesting ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great! Server had a nice wine suggesting to pair with the entire meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Authentic, Organic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Underbelly continues to be one of my fav ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Underbelly continues to be one of my favorite restaurants any where. The food is creative, unique and fantastic. I love the ambiance that is casual, rustic and elegant. The service is always efficient and accommodating; and I love that I can bring wine from my cellar. Chris Sheppard is a genius. I can't wait till the next time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and service was good. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food was delicious and service was good. They made every attempt to give us options for my wife who has a lot of dietary restrictions and it worked out. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

It was an amazing meal, everything was p ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

It was an amazing meal, everything was perfect, our friends from LA said it was a top 10 experience for them, we have been before and have had a consistent wonderful experience, highly recommended.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered 5 plates so that we could sam ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We ordered 5 plates so that we could sample the most interesting sounding items on the lunch menu. I am not going to say that the food tasted bad...not at all. Odd is the best way to describe all but 1 dish. What you expect to taste is not at all what you taste. Let me break it down plate by plate:

  1. Flash fried green beans tossed in caramelized fish sauce - it smelled foul but tasted pretty good. The smell, however, didn't make eating it very easy.

  2. Korean beef stew - it looked like a regular beef stew and the meat was tender, but there was something in that dish that gave it a sour taste. Also the meat tasted like it had been marinated in something very different. There was a side of spiced sauces that we didn't know how it was to be consumed. I ended up pulling my meat out of the liquid and dipping it in the sauce - which made the meat taste better to me.

  3. Grilled flank steak over rice noodles with peanuts and cucumber - the flank steak was great but it tasted like fajita meat on top of an Asian noodle salad. The two just didn't go well together. So we ate the meat first and the noodles/cucumber/peanuts as a side.

  4. Braised pork on cheese grits - the pork was delicious. It was like a Korean BBQ pulled-pork. The cheese grits were simply awful. They tasted butter-milky and the texture was so odd that i thought the grits weren't cooked...but after further inspection it turned out to be some sort of hard corn husk (like you'd find in popped corn).

  5. Pork Schnitzel over pickled cabbage - this was absolutely delicious. It tasted exactly like we expected...only 10 times better.

Overall, it was an interesting experience - but a little too adventurous for my taste. My business associate, who IS quite adventurous, also felt like the dishes were a little too interesting - even for his taste.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Very unique ecperience. Highly recommen ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very unique ecperience. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Underbelly never disappoints! The food i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Underbelly never disappoints! The food is amazing and the service was great. We really enjoyed the wine recommendation from Matt the sommelier. As usual we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Waitress forgot my drink. Vinegar could ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Waitress forgot my drink. Vinegar could've been better. Otherwise the food and atmosphere was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

It was a wonderful meal. I believe there ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It was a wonderful meal. I believe there was a little too much food ordered. I do wish that the cut of the day came with a larger side, the sweet potatoes and bacon were wonderful with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my girlfriend here to celebrate our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Took my girlfriend here to celebrate our 1 year together.

First off, service was exceptional! Austin was our waiter and he intricately explained the items on the menu in great detail and recommended some great choices for us. Other staff members were cordial and very professional.

Ambiance was great; I'm not a great fan of the "hoity toity" over the top fancy places. Underbelly's decor and overall presentation gave the impression that they simply want to serve quality food.

Value was awesome. We ordered the red snapper, Underbelly-style Korean dukbokki and the pork chop. The quality and QUANTITY of the food was amazing!

Overall, I highly recommend Underbelly for anyone looking for a restaurant that offers great food, exceptional service, professionalism and incredible value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

everything was wonderful , until it took ...

 
·Dined on November 17, 2016

everything was wonderful , until it took 15 minutes before the last course of dishes were removed from the table and only after I asked someone to clear the table , other than that , it was great , love the cuisine and menu

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Very interesting ingredients and combina ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very interesting ingredients and combinations. Service was superb. Something for everyone.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always has an amazing and ever changing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Always has an amazing and ever changing menu that does not disappoint. One of the only restaurants around in which the flavor of the food is always spot on - requires no doctoring like extra salt, pepper, or sauces.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, engaging, delicious. Service, ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Delicious, engaging, delicious. Service, food, options, all were terrific. Great evening!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

While I've been a fan of Shepard's since ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

While I've been a fan of Shepard's since the Catalan days, I'd been out of the Houston scene for a time - back for a visit. This was certainly very good overall, the space and vibe solid, interesting wine list absent dramatic pricing, the meals were well put together but lacked the serious punch and layers which are expected at this price point. Maybe I'm just looking at it from fond remembrances, but the other this was a good one still seeming to perform via reviews, delivered on those expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Had a great time trying out Underbelly. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had a great time trying out Underbelly. The menu has a lot of unique combinations and the plates come designed to be shared with the table. I was here on a date and it was a fantastic place to spend time, chat, and share a meal and a bottle of wine. I would highly recommend Underbelly to anyone looking for a unique dining experience. It was a tad loud when we first arrived in the middle of a Friday night prime dinner rush, but as we stayed later into the night the volume lowered and even with it having been loud, we had a blast here. I should also note that the wine list was pretty intimidating to both myself and my date. The waitress was happy to help us out and helped us pick out a delicious wine that we both enjoyed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful authentic experience with outs ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful authentic experience with outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Some of the most creative a delicious di ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Some of the most creative a delicious dishes you'll find anywhere. What a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was the 2nd time my wife and had di ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was the 2nd time my wife and had dinner at Underbellys and it was just as exciting as the 1st time. First and foremost, GREAT FOOD!! Very authentic and only one item one the menu from the 1st time, the dumplings and Korean Goat (we were glad to see it as you will not taste a better dish with a Houston flair.)The wine pairings were right on each plate ( we ate family style ordering each item on the menu for 4in the party). Then came the dessert paired with a port wine only a King would love. Look forward to our next trip back. Thank you for another great night out

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Seasonal, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Spicy, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food with wonderful service. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Incredible food with wonderful service. Be brave and try new things, I promise you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Houston gem. Great food with a unique ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

A Houston gem. Great food with a unique menu. This restaurant has a fun, informal atmosphere located in a happening spot in the city. It is a good-- friend get together spot-- to share unique menu items and enjoy really good food. I would describe the menu as casual elegant. One feature I learned on this most current visit is that you can BYOB. The corkage fee is $15 so bring one of your better wines. The servers are all well trained and very pleasant to work with and guide you through the food selection process.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four of us went to this dinner and each ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Four of us went to this dinner and each of us felt this was among the most memorable dinner of our lives, and perhaps at the very top of our list. As this farm to table restaurant advises on the menu for the adventurous, we asked our waitress to order the meal for us and pair wines appropriately. With knowledge that we weren't big eaters but loved to taste, we ended up with 8 courses that we were unable to decide which topped which since every course had a new revelation from the best Steak Tartare I've ever eaten to the charcuterie butchered and aged on the premises (yes, underbelly was one of the items) to homemade cheese within a bean salad, to a vietnamese red snapper that took vietnamese cuisine to levels I never had experienced previously, to out of this world wood ear mushrooms accompanying steak tips, to a spicy barbecued pork collar, to a different spiciness in the korean dumplings with braised goat that this restaurant is known for (crisp on the outside, soft on the inside), to the monkey bread with homemade ice cream dessert. A beautiful and leisurely tour accompanied by the perfect wine chosen by our guide. She was given carte blanche so I was pleasantly surprised that the choice of wines was reasonably priced ($31 and $75 per bottle). When you consider that this feast really cost a little over $100 a person and the Chef Chris Shephard is first class, that's about as good as a bargain as one could hope for on a safari like this. One could easily spend much less for first class food and service. The other dinners I've had that were this memorable were made by a Cordon Bleu Chef at a Michelin Three Star Restaurant in Lausanne, Switzerland and a personal 12-course tasting meal by a chef who was a relative of the party. Ten Thumbs Up!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Historic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food and service !

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Superb food and service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great experience.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very helpful in recommend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The waiter was very helpful in recommending vegetarian options. Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our meal at Underbelly althou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Underbelly although it was pricey. The food was really good, and Dakota really helped us understand the concept.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I don't think some of the options on the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I don't think some of the options on the menu or value for money specially the fish meal

Too pricy was my first impression.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Chef Chris is one of the best chefs in t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Chef Chris is one of the best chefs in the country. Every dish is perfectly balanced and eye-rolling delicious. We don't live in Houston, but go to Underbelly every time we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome simply awesome. We were 6 peo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Awesome simply awesome. We were 6 people and the menu has a lot of great interesting choices. We told the server to just pick items and bring them her choice. It was great and made for a fun dinner. Wine list is great and being from New York it was a great value. A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Brittney was absolutely fan ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our waitress Brittney was absolutely fantastic! She recommended a few very yummy items & was such a genuine person! DO NOT wait any longer to dine here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Underbelly lives up to its incredible re ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Underbelly lives up to its incredible reputation. The food was absolutely delicious, the service was impeccable, and the atmosphere is lively. I couldn't be happier with the experience. All three dishes we ordered were excellent and the wine suggestions were on point. Thank you for a great dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Maybe the best meal I've had since retur ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Maybe the best meal I've had since returning to Houston from NYC in 2011. The three friends I took to lunch would agree with me...we all want to return soon and continue working our way through the menu. We each ordered a dish and then shared them...honestly could not decide which was the best. Ah, but dessert....the Vinegar Pie! Sounds awful but is to die for -- puts any lemon or chess pie to shame.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Organic, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Immediately walking in I was blow away. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Immediately walking in I was blow away. The atmosphere and employees were just so inviting! I've never been to Houston and this being my first time I didn't want to leave, I personally work in a local restaurant and ab

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is truly a"meaty" experience. They lo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It is truly a"meaty" experience. They love meat and it shows.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The group of six of us liked everything ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The group of six of us liked everything we ordered! Had a great time and love the food here each and every time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.