About Underbelly

1100 Westheimer
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Underbelly is the perfect title to tell "the Story of Houston Food", and when it comes to Houston, there is no better storyteller than Chef Chris Shepherd. Chris’ upcoming restaurant shares his journey as a chef in a city he describes as "the most secretive and dynamic culinary destination in the country.” Beneath the well-known oily surface lies an endless array of local ingredients and cultures that shape Chris' unique perspectives on food.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday:11:00am - 3:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Waugh

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9800

Website:
http://www.underbellyhouston.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Shepherd

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Vinegar Pie With Salt Brittle
Korean Braised Goat And Dumplings
Hickory king grits, smoked pork Korean stew
Fried Green Beans
Pork Schnitzel With Crispy Farmers Market Vegetables
Cha Ca Style Snapper
Short Rib Ragu
Beet Panna Cotta
Castello Di Argiano - Monteleccio 2007
Fried Carrot Cake
Chocolate Strawberry Trifle
Brussel Sprouts In Fish Sauce
Korean Flatiron
Poussin, Rice Cake, Swiss Chard Cole Slaw
Seared Golden Tile, Cauliflower Hummus, Chard, Pickles
Gulf Coast Bouillabaisse
Lamb Meatballs in Vindaloo
Short Rib, Coconut Chili Jam, Curry Tapioca
Funnel Cake with Fruit
Pork Roast & Brussel Sprouts
Heirloom Tomato, Arugala, House Ricotta & Pickled Blackberry
Mississippi Mud
Beef Stew
Soba Noodle, Beet, Daikon, Mustard Vinaigrette
Sourdough w/ Spiced Nectarine Butter
Graham's 20 Year Tawny Port
Charred Leeks, Pecan Romanesco
Vinegar Pie
Warm Rye Bread, Charred Spring Onion Butter
Sneaky Pete Imperial IPA
Coffee
Peaches & Cream Fried Pie
Easy Rider Beer Do-Nuts • Beer Glaze
Vinegar Pie • Salt Brittle
Vietnamese Style Meatballs
Heirloom Eggplant • Thai Green Curry • Jasmine Rice
Vanilla Ice Cream
Beef Carpaccio
Seared Lamb Tenderloin drizzled with cooked Grape must
Shrimp & Pancetta Fritters • Okra • Squash • Pepper • Aioli
Cheesecake
Lamburger Helper
Shrimp and Grits
Hog And Hominy Poutine
Goat With Dumplings
Beet Salad, Goat Cheese, Candied Nuts
Waygu Tenderloin Carpaccio With Quail Egg
Braised Korean Goat With Dumplings
Crispy Ham Ribs
Chicken and biscuits
Okra
Fried Market Vegetables In Fish Sauce
Roasted Butternut Squash Salad
Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie
Seasonal Vegetables
Flounder Crudo
Slow Dough Bread And Roasted Garlic Corn Butter
Roasted Beets, Whipped Goat Cheese, Preserved Lemon & Roasted Garlic Puree, Dill
Butcher's Block
Wagyu Tenderloin Beef Carpaccio, Chive Oil, Quail Egg, Local Salt
Shrimp
Wagyu Satay With Red Curry Tapioca
Seared Snapper
Seared Swordfish And Roasted Brussel Sprouts
Wagyu Beef Skewers And Soba Noodles
Wagyu Bimbibap
Fried Market Vegetables in Caramelized Fish Sauce
Pork Shoulder And Gulf Oyster Lettuce Wraps
Smoked Oysters
Popcorn Caramel Creme And Vanilla Ice Cream
Pulled Goat And Dumplings
Pan-Seared Shrimp And Pimento Cheese Grits
Spring Lamb Carpaccio
Debris Po-Boy
Dreamsicle
Carolina Style Bbq Meatballs
Grilled Sweet Corn, Lime, Mayo, Chile, Cotija
Crispy Pork, Squash, Egg, Rice Noodle, Chile, Herbs
Wagyu Roast, Appalachian Red Corn Porridge, Charred Carrots, Molasses
Charcuterie plate
Braised Short Ribs
Heirloom Tomato, Arugula, House Ricotta, Coppa
Pork Schnitzel
Carpaccio of Wagyu Tenderloin
Heirloom Eggplant, Burmese Yellow Curry, Jasmine Rice
Cochinita Pibil
Fried Strawberry Pie
Korean Dumplings Hotpot
Triggerfish With Fried Rice And Sauteed Veg
Beet Salad
Butter Biscuits And Chicken Gravy
grilled cheese and tomato bisque appetizer.  porn #grilledcheese #appetizer #wedding
Crispy Okra Caramelized W/ Fish Sauce
Slow Dough Bread And Honey Lardo
Grits
Goat
Pork Dumplings
Slow Roasted Pork Belly, Redneck Cheddar Grits
Okra, Steel Cut Oat, Figs, Golden Beets
Slow Roasted Akaushi Pot Roast, Dinosaur Kale, Pork & Beans

Underbelly Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Exclusive (US)
Hot Spot
Exclusive (US)
Notable Wine List
Exclusive (US)
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Exclusive
Hot Spot
Exclusive
Notable Wine List
Exclusive

Fit for Foodies (110)
Good for Groups (74)
Special Occasion (72)
See All
Hot Spot (57)
Notable Wine List (51)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Local Ingredients (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Family Style (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Seasonal (8)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Organic (7)
Casual (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Spicy (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Cozy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Let the waitress set our menu- great exp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Let the waitress set our menu- great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No dish that we tried failed to deliver ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

No dish that we tried failed to deliver on smoky unique flavours,caramelised green beans and ribeye were standout in taste. Cool,casual vibe,unpretentious service ,there when you need them,good explanation on menu. Would definitely recommend this restuarant,and would absolutely go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This place was WAY over priced for the q ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This place was WAY over priced for the quality of food. As a visitor to Houston, I was encouraged to visit this establishment. Not sure what all the hype is about, but now I know. My pork tostada was dried out, snapper prepared nicely, but overall quite bland. Needed more flavor (and I am one that usually thinks things are too salty).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Love this place, waiters and staff are s ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Love this place, waiters and staff are so friendly. Love their recommendations and ability to choose the most delicious foods. Would strongly recommend for the great food and wine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Underbelly is a creative, delicious meal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Underbelly is a creative, delicious meal that is interesting and fun too. Lots of choices that are very creative but also some "down home southern cooking" too .. Service was great and came to the table at just the right pace.

Tags: Organic, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a great night out. Lovely food, grea ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

had a great night out. Lovely food, great staff. I did think it was a little cold inside :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Underbelly several times. Always ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Been to Underbelly several times. Always enjoy the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent --love the change of pace menu ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent --love the change of pace menu. Farm to table is the way to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Underbelly could be found in LA or NYC b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Underbelly could be found in LA or NYC but instead it's authentic and located right here in Houston. The food is amazing and the scene is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Seasonal, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointing. Had been looking fo ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Very disappointing. Had been looking forward to going there for months, but the flank steak was tough and absolutely tasteless. The cherry tomatoes were good, and that's about the only good thing I can say about the salad. The desserts were great, though, especially the vinegar pie. Both the salad and desserts were over-priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

I thought from the reviews that this was ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I thought from the reviews that this was going to be really special. Very average and very over rated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Food is delicious and is brought to the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food is delicious and is brought to the table with a relaxed timing that allows to best savour the dishes without having to wait for it. The waiter was a bit brisk and I almost got oil on my trousers. The setting is simple and could benefit from a bit more of decoration in particular on the outside patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

What a fabulous meal we enjoyed here wit ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

What a fabulous meal we enjoyed here with friends and family, celebrating my husband's birthday last week. The food was incredible, like we expected it would be, and the staff was helpful and attentive. I just wish we didn't have to fly all the way from Virginia to get there! Very memorable dinner!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Underbelly for our anniversar ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went to Underbelly for our anniversary. The service was wonderful and the food was great. Our two favorites were the goat dumplings (not to be missed) and the pork belly on grit cake (so delicious). We ordered 5 plates at our waiters encouragement and ate almost everything (three were proteins and two vegetables). We did not have room for dessert and definitely came hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and ambiance. The very in ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food and ambiance. The very interesting food and menu, along with the family style service, is a great conversation piece. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An imaginative mix of Gulf and Asian inf ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

An imaginative mix of Gulf and Asian influenced food, using local ingredients, served in an almost tapas-like set up of small dishes creatives one of the most fun, surprising and outright tasty food experiences in Houston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great great place!

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Underbelly continues to mine the locavor ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Underbelly continues to mine the locavore theme with tasty and results. The take on tteokbokki is a must-order, as are the shishito peppers.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been around for a while. Great re ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

It has been around for a while. Great reviews have been written about it. However, it was my first time there. Parking in Montrose can be a challenge. So, the availability of valet parking was great. Food was great but service was superb. Ask for Arthur as a server. I would follow him wherever he works for his amazing skills. He has years and years of experience in the hospitality industry and truly understands food, wine, and stands up for excellence.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had several colleagues in from Europe. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I had several colleagues in from Europe. I like to take such groups to Underbelly because it is a quintessential fusion of Houston food influences. We started with the charcuterie and freshly baked bread. The homemade pepperoni was especially noteworty. We had several courses, including the jalapeno cheese sausage, the chobia, the Korean braised goat and dumplings, the ribeye, the ham ribs, and the bulkogi pork collar. Each course was better than the last. Underbelly is always good, but they were really on their game that night. One of my colleagues (a Belgian, no less, so he know his food) said it might have been the best meal he ever had. A truly great meal. Thanks!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter spit on my date every time he ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter spit on my date every time he spoke.

I was about to complain/ ask for another server, but felt embarrassed over such a disgusting thing.

Please, correct this.

I never want to go into your restaurant again, and certainly will recall that whenever Underbelly is brought up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Absolutely my favorite restaurant in Hou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Absolutely my favorite restaurant in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The flavors they weave into each dish wi ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The flavors they weave into each dish will blow your mind.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible. Food wasn't all th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service was terrible. Food wasn't all that great. Didn't live up to the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We came in less than an hour before clos ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We came in less than an hour before closing on a Monday and were still served perfectly. Food and service were on point. This was probably my 15th time here and it's always been very good, but this time, it was the best we've ever experienced. Keep up the great work! Our server, Kim was extremely helpful and gave amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was unbelievable. Everything wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was unbelievable. Everything was outstanding. We had the Pork Belly with melons, the flank steak, the charcuterie plate, and Korean braised goat with dumplings. The meal was a top class experience and we can't wait to go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to love Underbelly but I just c ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I wanted to love Underbelly but I just can't give it more than three stars. The concept of locally sourced, modern Southern fusion cooking sounds great. It's the execution (& the naming) of the dishes I struggled to love.

I started with their jambalaya. It showed up stuffed in a sausage casing. I inquired if it was the correct dish and was told this is their interpretation of jambalaya. I commented their interpretation is called Boudin. More importantly I thought the dish was bland & on the petite side for the price.

Next was the crispy okra with fish sauce which I absolutely loved!! Zero complaints!!

I finished with the Korean braised goat & dumplings. Again I thought the seasoning was to the bland side but the dumplings were incredibly heavy (dense & chewy). To me the dumplings were a fail! The art of making dumplings (pasta) is about delivering something light & fresh. The dumplings were little dough rocks, I can't see how any chef would eat those and not call them a failed attempt.

I liked the cocktail & wine selection.

So as much as I'd love to give them 5 stars I can't. First course was ok, 2nd course was great & 3rd course was average at best. Additionally, it's a BMW (bring my wallet) type place. It's pricy for what you get. Quality costs money but there's a line. At its core these are all Southern comfort food dishes. Okra is cheap, rice is cheap, dumplings are cheap so serving petite portions at premium prices doesn't come off to me as paying for quality as much as being over the appropriate price point. The menu is priced like a one star Michelin restaurant in Paris.

I'm sure I've probably offended all the James Beard foodies with this review but I can only call it as I see it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Loved the atmosphere and service. Food w ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and service. Food was good not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The only reason I took back 1 star was m ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The only reason I took back 1 star was most likely because of OpenTable/UnderBelly interface. I booked the special champagne dinner for my anniversary, only to find out that through Open Table, there was a mess-up and we ended up with regular dinner. I was about the cancel the dinner because I was really upset with the mess-up.

Otherwise the food was great. I like the asian influence in most of the dish. The food was very well executed, except it leaned on saltiness. I didn't try the goat dumplings this time because I thought this dish was always overspiced which overtook the goat taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

How can this place always be so great? ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

How can this place always be so great? Every time I eat here I'm impressed. The food is incredible, and the staff really enhance the experience. I'm already thinking about my next opportunity to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and the food and servic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great atmosphere and the food and service are excellent!! Just let them take care of your table and you will be glad you did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I have eaten at Underbell ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My husband and I have eaten at Underbelly both times we were in Houston recently. It has become our "date place" when we are lucky enough to be in town. We love the food and service. Our most recent visit was in July. Each item we ordered were full of my favorite summer flavored with unexpected additions that made each bite a wonderful departure from an ordinary dish. Underbelly is an eating adventure for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Underwhelming, overpriced, and just pla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Underwhelming, overpriced, and just plain pathetic attempts at food service

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food, but it was bit slower coming ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, but it was bit slower coming out than anticipated. The server made up for it in the end, which was appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic food and drink. Service was gr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic food and drink. Service was great, everything explained in detail when we asked about the dishes and also recommended wine for us with what we had ordered. Ambiance was nice, a little dark when we first sat down but then they opened the blinds to let some light in.

Great dinner with friends. Pricey but would go here for special occasions, date night or with visitors to Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always love the unusual combination and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always love the unusual combination and excellent flavors created by chef, it does get extremely noisy and hard to converse - we had dinner at peak business

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Whenever we visit Houston Underbelly is ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Whenever we visit Houston Underbelly is on our list for dinner. The menu is so inventive and fun and as always, we over order because there are so many things we want to try.

The wait staff knows the food and wine and really helps you build your meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was very impressed with the service, fr ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Was very impressed with the service, friendly staff, and wonderful food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our waiter could not ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was great. Our waiter could not have been more helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my favorite restaurant in the wo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the world. You will never go wrong with any dish ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.