About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai at Historic Ka'ūpūlehu, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Best Scenic View Restaurants in America for the OpenTable Diners' Choice Awards.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Falsini

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OCEANFRONT HARVEST DINNER
On Saturday evenings, the Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is an interactive culinary journey. Enjoy a sake and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the water, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine and cocktail experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the bounty of the islands.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Hawaii
Best Service
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
11 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Hawaii
Best Overall
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Food
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Service
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Ambiance
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Value
Hawaii / Big Island
Fit for Foodies
Hawaii / Big Island
Outdoor Dining
Hawaii / Big Island
Romantic
Hawaii / Big Island
Special Occasion
Hawaii / Big Island
Most Booked
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Kaupulehu ›

great for outdoor dining (74)
scenic view (70)
special occasion (66)
See All
romantic (65)
fit for foodies (58)
notable wine list (33)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4

We were completely underwhelmed by Ulu. ...

vip
Dined a day ago

We were completely underwhelmed by Ulu. The service was great, but that's where it ended. We had sashimi as a first course, which was good. After that everything went downhill. I had the snapper in coconut curry. I never tasted any coconut or curry. It was so bland it was bordering on tasteless. More like coconut water with undercooked vegetables and fish. My husband had the fish of the day, opa in lemongrass. That was even more bland. No taste at all. We had the soufflés. They also were practically tasteless. I have never had such a bland and tasteless restaurant meal in my life. The view was great, but not worth $300.00. Never again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome views, great service

Dined 4 days ago

This is truly a great restaurant. Views and ambiance are top notch. Service is excellent. They truly make you feel special at the Four Seasons. Poke and lavash were great. Awesome presentation and flavor was spot on. We ordered the Shrimp crunch roll and the Mongolian beef which were ok but quite frankly PF Changs does both better. Banana Chocolate dessert was ok as well. Spiced Caramel Corn at the end was a nice touch. Wouldn't hesitate to go back and try some other dishes. Truly a wonderful setting with great service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect sunset dinner in Hawaii

Dined 4 days ago

Went with family including a 2 y/o. One of the best dinners i've had. It will be one of our best memories of our trip with amazing sunset pictures.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant ! Lovely food & service ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great restaurant ! Lovely food & service ! However, slightly overpriced for what it was.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great setting next to the beach. Very ro ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Great setting next to the beach. Very romantic! Food is spectacular!!

food2
ambience5
service4

We have been making annual treks to the ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have been making annual treks to the Ulu Grill as we were married at the Hualalai several years ago. This experience was really disappointing, however. I ordered the grilled octopus appetizer which was so tough it was literally not chewable. It also hadn't been trimmed properly and so had sort of fatty edges that were quite unappetizing. I had then ordered the fish special, which I think was Ono. It was so overdone that I didn't eat it, though I did bring it home thinking maybe I could make fish tacos out of it. Later I just threw it out as it was so over cooked. Our waiter was quite nice, and I didn't complain, though I would have thought he might have asked why we didn't eat our dinners. My husband had a lobster Phad Thai which was good. I can't remember which appetizer he ordered, but I think it was also fine. I had also asked for a glass of Sancerre and it was quite tart (I wondered if the bottle had been open awhile), but I just had a taste, so asked for the Sav Blanc instead, which was good. I think this is such a special location and I've had many great experiences there. Unfortunately, this was not one of them!! I'm hoping it was just poor choices on my part, as I've had many great meals there.

food3
ambience5
service3

Waited 8 to 10 minutes before anyone gre ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Waited 8 to 10 minutes before anyone greeted us. The calamari was awesome but we were less than impressed with the sushi and the lobster tails. We also ordered the steak, and though it was good, it wasn't anything compared to Ruth's Chris. The bartender was very personable. If you go, go for the atmosphere for sure.

food3
ambience5
service5

Great environment. Small portions. Great ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great environment. Small portions. Great service.

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

the food was very bad . we ordered 3 dif ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

the food was very bad . we ordered 3 diff. dishes ad all three was bad. the coffee was lurk warm

food5
ambience5
service5

This is easily my favorite dinner on the ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

This is easily my favorite dinner on the entire island. The location and ambiance are unbeatable. I sat at a table right on the ocean and was seated 20 minutes before sunset. The view was breathtaking. Justin, my waiter, was welcoming and obviously embraces the Aloha spirit to the fullest. He was able to explain every dish and cocktail on the menu in great detail. The food was extremely fresh, cooked perfectly, and wonderfully flavorful. The dinner was capped with a delicious coconut and raspberry souffle. I cannot wait to return my next time on the island.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the pleasure of dining at Ulu for ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I had the pleasure of dining at Ulu for breakfast, Mother's Day Brunch and dinner while staying at the Four Seasons Hualalai and have to say every experience was special. The food was excellent and the staff was exceptional! Best part was that I had a 6 month old and they were very welcoming to her, offering food appropriate for a baby, picking up utensils that she would drop on the ground. And I could enjoy a creative menu while being baby friendly. Kudos to Doug, Lilibeth, Josh and Junior! What a great team!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stellar location and service, great food.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Perfect location and setting, polished service and table with food that met the admittedly high expectations I have from the Brand. Cuisine was local in style and presentation without being cheesy or cloy..... RECOMMENDED. ULU was quite flexible about adjusting rez by the way/ Five Stars

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An Occasion to Remember!

Dined on May 9, 2016

This was our first time trying this restaurant and it is truly a gem. Everything was outstanding - ambiance, service and food. We will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Decadent Mother's Day brunch. Beautiful ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Decadent Mother's Day brunch. Beautiful setting, delicious food & drinks. We had a lovely time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was super attentive and provided a ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Staff was super attentive and provided a personalized experience.

food1
ambience1
service1
value3

Excellent meal and service - Highly recommend

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This is an incredible location in the Four Seasons Hotel. The setting is beautiful and although the meal was expensive, the quality of all the dishes were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3

We frequent Ulu while on the Big Island ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We frequent Ulu while on the Big Island because my husband loves their sushi & I appreciate the 1,000 point table opportunities. I do love their filet, but the quality, temperature and the servers willingness to obtain a filet for me is inconsistent. (As there is a steak restaurant on property, but we both enjoy different things)

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top quality beach side dining on Kona coast.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Fabulous dining experience at Sunset on the Kona coast. Casual, farm to table options. The very best of HAWAII.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Meal in my Life

Dined on April 27, 2016

From the beginning to the end was it a wonderful experience!! Only negative was the fact that we first got the sushi-menu 15 minuts after the frist menu, and at that point we had decided what we wanted :) But that was only a minor thing that didn't cast a shaddow at all!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Posh yet casual. But what a venue. Yards ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Posh yet casual. But what a venue. Yards from breaking waves lit up at night.

food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Good food, poor service

Dined on April 22, 2016

Had heard Ulu was Four Season's nicest restaurant. The food was good- crab fritters and grilled lobster. However, the service was terrible. We were seated at least 15 minutes before our waiter even came over. He said "I left you waiting longer than I wanted", which I thought, "ok, he's acknowledged it and we'll be on track now", but no, the rest of the night was the same. He took drink orders and said he'd bring bread. Another 15 minutes to get a drink, and then no bread. At this point people who had been seated after us had already ordered. The night continued in the same manner. Although the food was good, the service was a very disappointing start to our vacation and we expected more from Ulu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food with outstanding service. ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Fantastic food with outstanding service. While it's hard to top a beachside sunset for dinner. The top notch service at Ulu made our experience a memorable. Our waiter did a very good job of describing each dish and it's nuances, especially when asked to compare two potential choices.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the most gorgeous sunset dinners ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

One of the most gorgeous sunset dinners we have ever experienced! Food and service were phenomenal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ulu by the Sea

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food as usual is always excellent, and the presentation cannot be beat ! Excellent service and beautiful Oceanside dining......

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible setting. Great food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Incredible setting. Great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Oceanside Dining

Dined on April 9, 2016

Loved the setting and the food and the service. Absolutely the best for a memorable night out on the Big Island.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing highly recommend it

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Amazing highly recommend it

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

wines by the glass

Dined on April 6, 2016

If you are ordering wine by the glass be careful and pay attention. I was charged $50 for a glass of Rose. Totally shocked when I received the bill

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't go wrong with any choice on the me ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Can't go wrong with any choice on the menu.

food4
ambience5
service5

The setting is amazing......directly on ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

The setting is amazing......directly on the beach of the four seasons kona. Beautiful. Fish is always fresh. We had the beet salad and it was fresh and light and very tasty. Good stuff......always.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience.

Dined on March 22, 2016

We had a memorable dinner with great friends, fabulous food and beautiful ocean views. It was the most perfect place on the island to enjoy a remarkable dinner. The wait staff was the best ever. .We will definetly be back!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Spectacular view

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great location. Food was good with local and fresh choices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

most beautiful location

Dined on March 13, 2016

This has to be the nicest venue of any restaurant I have ever been to. Sitting on the lanai, we were feet from the beach. Beautiful sunset, waves, out of the wind and sun. The cocktails were delicious. Sushi was very fresh. The food was very, very good. Moist, very fresh fish. Miso glazed kampachi was delicious. Desserts were soufles, and were very light. We lingered over dinner for a long time, because the setting was so beautiful. We would highly recommend this restaurant and can't wait to return for another special occassion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Oo ka la 'Ulu Ocean Grill

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

An excellent restaurant right by the beach walk of the Four Seasons resort in Hualalai. Food was excellent as was bar. But location is the big draw - a beautiful beach perfect for watching the sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Very disappointed!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Beautiful venue. Great service. However, the food was a huge letdown. The crab appetizer was an unappetizing, hard, overcooked ball of deep fried tastelessness (although the sauce with it was great). The local snapper was overcooked, although again with a great curry sauce. The shrimp noodle dish was good. The 4C (chocolate four ways) was good but not great. $167 including tip for one app, two entrees, two beers, one coffee, and one dessert - not worth it considering we had better food at four other Kona/Kealakekua restaurants for half to two thirds the price. Dined at Ulu March 10, 2016 - never again!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic setting but food can be even better

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Fantastic setting for an evening meal close to water. Elegant and serene with impeccable service. The food was good but my wife felt her halibut was overlooked and so a little dry.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply amazing!

Dined on March 8, 2016

Simply amazing!

food1
ambience5
service2

This restaurant is very every expensive. ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

This restaurant is very every expensive. Count on at least 100 per person

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic, outdoor setting, amazing service!

Dined on March 7, 2016

Eating here was a highlight of our trip to the Big Island. We celebrated a special anniversary in the most romantic setting possible. The service was so professional and personal at the same time. The food was delicious and the presentation amazing. Recommend highly and hope to return!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Best!

Dined on March 4, 2016

This was our third time at Ulu Ocean Grill. The service and view are exceptional and the food - amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.