About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Falsini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OCEANFRONT HARVEST DINNER
On Saturday evenings, the Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is an interactive culinary journey. Enjoy a sake and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the water, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine and cocktail experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the bounty of the islands.

Restaurant Photos

Risotto Fritters - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Half Cheeseburger And French Fries - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Chocolate Bon Bons - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Coconut Adrift - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Cappuccino - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Sugared Pizza Dough - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Olives And Mixed Nuts - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Banana Split - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Wild Boar Pizza - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI
Pork Chop With A Corn Relish - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge, Kaupulehu, HI

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Best Overall
Hawaii / Big Island
8 More
Best Food
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Service
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Ambiance
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Value
Hawaii / Big Island
Outdoor Dining
Hawaii / Big Island
Scenic View
Hawaii / Big Island
Special Occasion
Hawaii / Big Island
Most Booked
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Kaupulehu ›

Scenic View (44)
Special Occasion (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
See All
Romantic (35)
Waterfront (26)
Local Ingredients (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (6)
People Watching (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (5)
Organic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Music (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fireplace (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (0)
Late-night Find (0)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant's beachside view, gorgeo ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This restaurant's beachside view, gorgeous decor, and Ono food make it worth the splurge for a special occasion!

This was our third time here. The service was exceptional. We loved the shrimp with watermelon appetizer, the Hualalai Roll, and the amazing wine.

The best food of the night was the dessert! The homemade marshmallows, made from scratch Graham crackers and Valhrona chocolate paired up to make the most decadent and delicious S'mores!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an outstanding restaurant in eve ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant in every possible way. A big WOW in every category. The mushroom fried rice is densely delicious. Four Seasons is now raising their own oysters! The menu is creative and varied and almost entirely locally sourced and very fresh. Very pricey but commensurate with the quality. A memorable special occasion dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a date night while we had a ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went for a date night while we had a sitter for the kids. Ambiance was nice and good was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful setting, albeit a windy night ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Beautiful setting, albeit a windy night so we had to sit inside. Great fish but otherwise not an inspired meal. Does not measure up to our past experiences at this restaurant t.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Our first visit to this restaurant and i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our first visit to this restaurant and it was awesome! The setting is gorgeous, the food fabulous and the service top-notch. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent service by our server Chad. Gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

excellent service by our server Chad. Great location right on the beach with the ocean light up and waves crashing and some of the best fish I have ever had. This was our second time there and will repeatedly return whenever in Hawaii.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really wonderful from start to finish. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Really wonderful from start to finish. Great cocktails, great food, great service, great ambiance. Perfection!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The scenery was fantastic. We sat at a t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The scenery was fantastic. We sat at a table right by the ocean. The food was fresh and local. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was spectacular

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The view was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, menu and service with a ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent food, menu and service with a beautiful view. Doug at the bar is a wonderful bartender as well!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ulu is a great restaurant for resort din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Ulu is a great restaurant for resort dining. Listen to the waves, enjoy the Asian fusion menu. A bit high priced, but it's a resort restaurant. My fish was cooked perfectly and my appetizer was delish. We come here every year and it never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, service and food! Specia ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great ambiance, service and food! Special thanks to Josh and Chad for their friendly fun service! We come back every year and love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome meal and view well worth the mon ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome meal and view well worth the money! Wish we would have went at sunset! ,,,

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting, the restaurant, the view, a ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The setting, the restaurant, the view, and the service were all amazing. But the food was unfortunately very very sub-par. I don't want to say it's bad because it was 'bad' ... it just wasn't good. It was so far below my expectations given the location and the hotel that it left me very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We found the service and ambiance top no ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We found the service and ambiance top notch. The food , we had sushi rolls and ahi sashimi and oysters. The rolls I could of got anywhere. Nothing special. Sashimi was very good but not above and beyond what would be expected for the price. Wife's Martini was $25 ouch and my whiskey and coke $15 ouch.

Great atmosphere.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant, which is located in the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant, which is located in the Four Season's Hotel in Kona was amazing. They food was amazing, and the staff was top notch. You must...I repeat, must get the dish with the truffle ponzu sauce. Also, end your meal with their soufflé of the evening! to die for!!!!

If I am ever back at the Big Island, I will definitely dine here again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best way to describe dining at Ulu O ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The best way to describe dining at Ulu Ocean Grill is an "experience!" Do not be afraid of the label "sushi lounge" in the name. Do not be intimidated by the Four Seasons title. Just embrace and go!! Sophisticated yet casual. And while sushi dishes are featured, the chef-prepared entrees are incredible. Fresh local ingredients prepared creatively and perfectly done.

 Add to the excellent food, the staff at Ulu's will make your evening unforgettable.  Manager Josh made us feel so welcome and comfortable on our first time visit.  Our server Carola was so knowledgeable and helpful with our meal selections and dining.

 We cannot say enough about our wonderful dining experience.  Thank you, Ulu Grill.
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fine, but not great nor o ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was fine, but not great nor outstanding. And you expect this with such prices. Food itself is more interesting at nearby Beach Tree Bar and slightly cheaper.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was amazing, waiter was great, the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was amazing, waiter was great, the place is beautiful.

But - we had reservations for 7:30pm we got I Irish seats in around 8pm and those were outside in a very windy place, after I specifically asked to dine inside. Then we had to wait for 30 minutes before getting new seats.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Gorgeous views and ambiance. Food and se ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Gorgeous views and ambiance. Food and service also excellent... Great blend of flavors. Cannot eait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view, fantastic food, and grea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Fantastic view, fantastic food, and great service! Their Siracha shrimp appetizer is a must! Everything was magical- we highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service for special anniversary ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Terrible service for special anniversary dinner. Table was not cleaned off, had to ask for plates to be removed. Large moths flying in and around our table, nothing was done about it. Dessert served for our anniversary was the smallest piece of cake I have ever seen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very nice ambience at upscale resort, ri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Very nice ambience at upscale resort, right by the ocean. Food was creative and flavorful. Service was efficient and friendly. Not cheap ... but worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view, service, drinks, and food were ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The view, service, drinks, and food were all amazing. I loved everything about our dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a nice experience.. beautiful loc ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Always a nice experience.. beautiful location..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Lucked ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner very much. Lucked out with a table right on the ocean with a perfect view of the sea turtles feeding near the rocks. Lovely dinner. Great service and the food was excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh seafoods, nice choice of champagne ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Fresh seafoods, nice choice of champagne and beautiful sunset. A perfect place to dine with someone you love.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sushi and more on Big Island, great ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Best Sushi and more on Big Island, great setting, attentive staff, outstanding food - what more would you want.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view and wonderful food. It's ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Fantastic view and wonderful food. It's located on the beach, within the Four Seasons Resort which is beautiful to walk through. The gardens and architecture are truly unique. Great service as well. Be prepared to spend a lot but so worth it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food. Excellent service. Gorg ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Delicious food. Excellent service. Gorgeous setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner right by the Pacific. We were sta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Dinner right by the Pacific. We were staying 15 miles up to coast in Waikoloa - wanted to check out the Four Seasons and Ulu. Great experience - large outdoor dining area - right on the beach, with floodlit breaking surf. Food was outstanding - lots of local ingredients. Had the Hapu fish special. Our waiter - carlos - was awesome - lots of great conversation about the location, the winds, the volcanos. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I were not staying on Kona, ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My wife and I were not staying on Kona, but had a long layover in the airport. We decided to take a cab to the Four Seasons and have dinner and we were very glad we did. The ambiance of the restaraunt is amazing, facing the open ocean. We sat outside and it was cool and comfortable with a remarkable ambiance. The menu was fantastic, and despite only having baked local oysters on the menu, the chef was able to accomodate our request for raw oysters - which were fantastic and fresh. Our main courses were also excellent, and I would easily recommend the pad Thai. Service was prompt and our waiter took time to talk with us and make thoughtful recommendations based on our preferences. If we're ever back in Hawaii, we will certainly stop in again!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ulu is a stunningly beautiful and stimul ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Ulu is a stunningly beautiful and stimulating restaurant and one not to be missed

for anyone who visits Kona, Hawaii. You will never be disappointed by the food and

the presentation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Scenic View, Fireplace, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited this evening for dinner as it ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We visited this evening for dinner as it is the last night of our honeymoon. The restaurant was quite aware that we were celebrating our honeymoon however opted to do nothing about it. They did however bring champagne to the couple next to us celebrating an anniversary and desert to another couple celebrating a birthday. Seeing as though we were the youngest couple there, being treated in such a way even after all the $$$ we spent was disgusting. The food was good, but unfortunately cannot give a better review. There are better choices on the island!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

Best restaurant on the Big Island, great ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Best restaurant on the Big Island, great food, great service, great ocean view.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best location one can expect

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The best location one can expect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

WOW! Ulu captures the essence of Hawai ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 26, 2016

WOW! Ulu captures the essence of Hawaii and wraps it in a delightful dining experience. The lobster was perfection. Put Ulu at the tip of your list!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for a birthday/anniversary ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We went here for a birthday/anniversary dinner. The service was outstanding. The food was delicious and the view was spectacular!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding - except for irritating tech ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Outstanding - except for irritating techno-beat recorded music. Ulu is always a must for our visits to the Big Island - and is dependably the dining-out highlight of our trip. The oceanfront tables are romantic and quiet. The menu features perfectly prepared local seafood. Desserts are delicious - including creative sorbets. They impressively remembered my wife's birthday when we were first greeted by the server. The servers are always the most professional, knowledgeable and attentive waitstaff we have encountered anywhere. The only thing missing is music that fits the ambiance. You do not expect to hear a techno-beat rhythm piped through speakers amid this backdrop of crashing waves and stunning sunsets, it is jarring and incongruent. Some live jazz or Hawaiiana would more befit the visually stunning setting and the $300 check.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the more romantic overall setting ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2016

One of the more romantic overall settings I have ever experienced. Amazing location, nice ambiance and beautiful views. Very good service. Tight menu - outstanding seafood - but enough variety for most anyone. Better sushi than I have had most anywhere. Would consider a "must do" for that special dinner when on the Big Island. Will absolutely most definitively go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.