Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast 6:30 to 11:00 a.m.
Dinner 5:30 to 9:00 p.m.
Sushi Lounge & Table 5:30 to 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Bellec

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is a interactive culinary journey held along the stunning coastline at Ulu Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge. Each Saturday, enjoy a sparkling beverage and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the ocean, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the best seasonal and local bounty found throughout the Hawaiian Islands.

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Waterfront (38)
Scenic View (33)
See All
Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (9)
People Watching (7)
Fun (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (5)
Cozy (5)
Live Music (4)
Organic (4)
Casual (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
695 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant did not receive our online booking, although I was sent several confirmation emails. This was a frustrating start. The host was able to seat us after relatively quick considering they were not expecting us.
Spectacular location, ambience and food. Service was great. Perfect spot for a special occasion or simply a lovelt evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

The sushi was excellent. The main courses were just average, a bit salty. Service was wonderful though and environment lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was mundane, it was great!! We loved it! The atmosphere was amazing along with the scenery. The customer service was top notch. We were greeted with these sesame chips and a mouthwatering slab of butter. Oh the butter!! Our meals were showcased to us in a timely manner and they tasted amazingly mundane. Best anniversary ever!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 5 days ago

What a perfect night! We were celebrating our 40th anniversary and it was a truly memorable evening. Everything was just superb: delicious food, wonderful oceanfront ambiance, great acoustic guitar music, attentive and thoughtful service.

We started out with the crispy shrimp roll, and the flavors of our cocktails with tequila, mango, jalapeno, and cucumber were a great accompaniment to that. For our main course, we had the Tomahawk steak for two with the sides of Kaiwe smoked mashed potatoes, spinach/chard saute, and mushroom fried rice. Everything was perfectly prepared. I don't know how it could have been any better. We are looking forward to returning. Soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was amazing! Our waitress, Elizabeth, was helpful, enjoyable and made our dining experience wonderful! We will be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic setting ideal for enjoying a perfect sunset on the Big Island. Fantastic poke' tableside Keahole lobster tails , NY strip steak with kiawe smoked mashed potatoes, Macadamia nut souffle & Kona ice cream were out of this world. +One of the best Mai Tais I have ever had. Though not inexpensive (Dinner was ~$250 for 2 ) a great meal and evening.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Absolutely perfect. Our waiter was very kind and knowledgeable. Cocktails and appetizers were simple and delicious. The lobster was very well prepared and a very generous portion. Make sure to try the s'mores!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had requested a bread basket in lieu of their flatbread and it was brought to the table almost within minutes of being seated at an oceanfront table. The service was very good, the food was also very good however a bit less salt and it would have been excellent. We went for my birthday and that did not go forgotten either as it had been noted on the reservation. All around excellent and we will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great food, great service, great backdrop, fantastic experience...

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Just simply unforgettable. The most informative service we've ever had, and the most delicious food. Un...Real...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The setting is lovely; we watched the beautiful Hawaiian sun set into the sea. Food and drinks were very good. I loved sushi roll, Thai soup and dessert soufflé, as well as Lava Flow cocktail. Service was very good by casual Hawaii standards. Live music was not too loud.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Everything about this place is top-shelf, from the location, to the service to the food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great view, fair service, food was very very disappointing and certainly not worth the price.
Rice was extremely starchy, in a big ball, all stuck together. Sushi was good, not great, salads were very ordinary, fish was fair, mongolian beef disappointing.
If you want a great view it delivers, to bad the food doesn't. I would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We have been here many times, and it never disappoints. Spectacular setting. The menu is creative and local and fresh. The sushi (and sashimi) are superb. The wine list is excellent with many price points. The service is impeccable (ask for Carola Soder-Johnson...disclaimer, she is a friend, AND she is also an excellent server...as I am sure all of those at Ulu are). We will be back again and again. Oh yes, and a walk along the beach before dinner will reveal resting turtles this time of year and whales offshore Dec-March.

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Everything you would expect from the Four Seasons - excellent! It made for a very memorable birthday. The sushi was like I was in Japan- better than words can describe. If you love sushi & sashimi then you MUST get some here, just don't look at the price ;-).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent experience, excellent restaurant. The food was well designed, the setting was impeccable, the service was perfect. We sat right on the ocean, waves crashing, beautiful view. I had coconut curry snapper and my wife had a native Hawaiian fish (name escapes me). Both dishes were cooked perfectly, and seasoned perfectly. Had the poke appetizer which they prepare at the table, it was phenomenal. We had a chocolate sufle and the s'mores for desert. The mango marshmallow was amazing. Highly recommend this place for a nice night out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was exceptional; hostess and wait staff were spot on, professional, friendly and attentive. Food was wonderful, just not to our expectations. Waterfront table was outstanding, truly a memorable experience. Celebrated our getaway wedding dinner at Ulu; very happy with our overall experience. Thanks to the staff for making it so enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for dinner. Sushi was excellent. Would definitely recommend the Hawaiian rolls.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Bronson was an outstanding waiter who knew the menu and the detailed ingredients ...listened and provided an outstanding service. ..one of the best experiences :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The service was mediocre but everything else was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Best island sunset view and best food on the Big Island!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This was our first time here. It was so good we are going back on Friday. Excellent !!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I was so terribly disappointed. The resturant is right on the water and gorgeous but we were seated in the back and had to look around partitions to see the ocean. The waiter was inattentive and supercilious. The food including Hawaiian sea bass and Mahi-mahi was only fair and the portion size was small. I have had better seafood on the mainland. Imagin my unpleasant surprise. Dessert was also diasappointing. The macadamian nut cake was the size of 1/2 a piece of pie and the specialty s'mores were essentially inedible(rubbery flavored marshmellow and discs of mediocre chocolate).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!!! Favorite restaurant hands down

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Ocean-side seating is outstanding as was the service. However, the mark-up on wine is too much and two of our appetizers were not that good. The calamari was dry/over cooked and the Dungeness Crab Fritters were small, dry balls of shredded Blue Crab, not chunks of Dungeness. Both were priced at over $20 and not worth it. The Ceviche was excellent as was the desert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We came here to celebrate our 5th anniversary before the end of our trip. I have to say this is one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. The entire staff was very friendly and the view is amazing! The food was all delicious and portions were bigger than I would expect with an upscale restaurant since a lot of times you pay more and get less. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Setting is exquisite with tables by the ocean, which is lit up beautifully. Food was fine—unremarkable, especially for the price. Service was abysmal—waitress was inattentive, forgetful and incompetent. She would disappear for large stretches of time, to the extent that we found ourselves having to ask for help from servers at other tables. They evidently knew there was an issue because the couple behind were comped their drinks and apps, and so were we.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The beautiful design and scenery of the restaurant, right along the beach, gives it a romantic ambiance! Although pricey, fhe food is excellent and so is the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I have been to three restaurants (Hualalai Grill, Beach Tree and Ulu) at the Hualalai Four Seasons Resort for special occasions and Ulu is our favorite. We decided to host my brother-in-law's birthday next month at Ulu. We love the food, location and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food, excellent ambience and attentive serves make this a frequent repeat visit. Local oysters, tableside poke and grilled octopus were fab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Expensive. Entree and all sides were separate charge. Great as it is right on beach but almost all tables in full sun. Food was good but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Celebrated our 20th year anniversary today at Ulu. Service was outstanding and food was delicious and you can't beat the view (perfect sunset)!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing dinner, from the place which is literally on the ocean and fully Polynesian style, the service which is so professional et just perfect to the food that is local, tasty and gourmet.
All of that for a reasonable price.
Thanks you so much, you make the difference with the restaurant around !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Ulu is an extremely beautiful restaurant, sitting next to the ocean waves. The staff was A+, very knowledgeable and professional. The prices are high as expected for such a high end restaurant. My only issue was finding the restaurant in the dark. Driving to the parking area and walking to the restaurant could be marked better, as it is a ways in there, but it was worth it for our wedding night dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My partner and I splurged on one meal during our time in Hawaii. We read reviews, and chose carefully.

Good: We had a great waitress, perfect view of the ocean, did not feel rushed. The calamari appetizer was great! But not worth the price.

Bad: About halfway through my lobster pad Thai, I discovered a long, thick dark hair embedded in it. Appetite ruined. The staff apologized, brought out a new dish, and took the pad Thai and our shared dessert off the bill.

For one appetizer, one cocktail, and one dinner (my partner's vegetarian dish), the bill before tax and tip was $100.

If I were this restaurant, and charging those kinds of prices, I would have given us the entire meal for free.

Left the experience feeling disappointed and ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was off the hook!
Setting, exceptional buffet. Very pleasant people.
Service slipped quite a bit midway through. But the ocean, company, food made up for it.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. Wonderful selection of foods prepared in delicious and creative ways. The setting is glorious and the food quite matched the setting. The presentations and the servers added to the occasion. The strawberry shortcake dessert theater top it off. A bit pricey but definitely worth the splurge!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nothing less than A+!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We didn't enjoy the food as we expected, although the service was perfect and very professional, our food was a little bit out of textures and flavours. Mongolian beef was normal and "out of price" plate. Fancy and very comfortable restaurant with terrific views but food wasn't at the same level as the place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Thoroughly enjoyed the cocktails, wine and the sushi was incredible. Chocolate soufflé for dessert was delicious. Expensive but well worth it for a special occasion. Beachfront table was very romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.