Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Falsini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OCEANFRONT HARVEST DINNER
On Saturday evenings, the Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is an interactive culinary journey. Enjoy a sake and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the water, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine and cocktail experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the bounty of the islands.

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (42)
Scenic View (37)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Romantic (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (5)
Organic (4)
Cozy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Tapas (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

If you're thinking that you're going to get a fancy date night type dinner, because you're going to the Four Seasons, you are quite wrong. My fiancé and I are on vacation and wanted a peaceful nice meal. My experience was ruined by the children IN THEIR PAJAMAS running around, yelling and slurping their spaghetti. The food was good, but the atmosphere was terrible. So very disappointing. Children should not be allowed at such an establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing experience. Most romantic and best food on the island. The Four Seasons properties never disappoint. They know how to make the experience special.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal. The tempura shrimp and spicy ahi roll was AMAZING! The appetizers were great especially the calamari. A friend ordered the octopus and raved about the dish. The lights shining on the waves made for a gorgeous view. All in all a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We visit every year while in Hawaii. We love this restaurant. Service was outstanding and ambience beyond belief. I have many food allergies and they were so wonderful to make sure my meal was a success.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

'Ulu is a wonderful restaurant we come back to every time we are on the big Island. The food is just outstanding, and the whole experience is worth coming. We had all seafood based dishes which were the freshest that we have eaten anywhere. The all seafood (no rice) special sushi roll was outstanding as were the rest of the dishes combined with other fresh seasonal ingredients. The service is friendly, not invasive but just right. Our waiter Brian was very knowledgeable about the menu and steered us in the right direction on all our orders. It was a special anniversary for us and the restaurant took care of us in a way that made it very memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is obviously a lovely spot, overlooking the ocean. The hostess team and bar help were very attentive. Our waiter was knowledgeable. However, our starter sashimi roll was inferior to one we had at a small cafe in Hawi just the day before. We waited 30 minutes for our entries, and one of them was cold. Both were very tasty, but not exceptional. Check was $300+ with only one $17 glass of wine.

Four Seasons management should take a hard look at this operation. This place is taking its customers for granted, and charging first class prices for a second class effort. We were disappointed, and will not go back.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of the best settings and views you will ever have for dinner.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very disappointed. Food was so oversalted we couldn't eat it and did not have an opportunity to let our server know. Food taken away full without anyone asking if we even wanted a to go box or noting that it was almost all still on our plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is one of the most beautiful settings for a restaurant anywhere. We timed our reservation just right - arrived just before so we could view the sunset from the fire pit lounge area over pre-dinner cocktails. Luckily the sun cooperated as the next days were completely overcast and cloudy. The food is excellent. Although high-priced - it is the sa,eat any restaurant of its caliber in the area. The service was excellent and they made special note of the birthday I told them ahead of time that we were celebrating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Outstanding food and view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We dined at this restaurant on our Big Island holiday. We had a lovely table looking over the lit surf. The service was attentive although not overly so and the food very good. Definitely will return when on the Bug Island.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Thank you Dejan for capturing a friendly oceanic atmosphere, offering delicious food with your personal engagement so that we can feel 100% fulfilled!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The wait of over 90 minutes for a burnt piece of fish turned me off. I should have returned the dish to the kitchen. Not worth the expense. The sauce for the special of the day was uninspired and bland. The basic green salad was refreshing and the highlight of an otherwise sad meal at an over-priced restaurant. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Not to be missed for a beautiful dining experience on the big island.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were looking forward to a meal at a restaurant some had called he best on the Big Island. All the more so, as I had dined at the Four Seasons as part of a group event and was very impressed.

Unfortunately, the experience at Ulu fell way short. The ambience is wonderful; great lighting and the Hawaiian surf pounding just 50 feet away. But the cuisine was, at best, mixed. On the plus side: the sushi, fresh and tasty as possible. But the grilled octopus was as tough as jerky and we sent it back.

The $40 Pad Thai did have plenty of lobster, but some of it was, again, overlooked to the point it was an unrecognizable leathery protein.

Even the helping of caramel corn delivered with the check was sub-par.

Our waiter was great, but he seemed over-worked and thus could not be quite as attentive as I think he'd have liked.

For those who want the ultimate in romantic scenes and great sushi, Ulu delivers. We did not try enough of the apps and mains to say whether the two fails we experienced were just a fluke or a broader problem. But, for a place of Ulu's standing, never mind its price, we should expect it to hit 100% consistently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Scenery is outstanding. Overlooking the lit waves of the ocean. Food was above average but some room for improvement. However, desserts (souffle & home made carmel corn) was excellent)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our server was outstanding. The food service was at an appropriate speed....not too fast, never wondering if it was coming. The ambiance was nice & enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The restaurant was right on the ocean so the view was spectacular - make sure you request a table by the beach. We had outstanding service from our waiter and the wine list was what you would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. I do feel the food was overrated though my sister absolutely loved her lemon grass chicken. I don't like nori but the restaurant was very accommodating and wrapped by sushi in soy wrapper. For me the meal was good, not memorable and my husband thought the same.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Perhaps the most spectacular setting on the Big Island. The service and the food were also wonderful. A beautiful spot to watch the sunset. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Stunning location. Great service with very friendly staff. Eighty percent of ingredients were
from the Big Island. Interesting menu. Perfect for a special occasion, birthday, girls night out.
Or just a foodie splurge. Very best eatery on the water - on the Big Island.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent, absolutely excellent end to our stay in Hawaii. Had we known how good it would be we'd have eaten there twice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great table with perfect view of the ocean. Great service. Great food. We make it a point to come here every year when we are on vacation. Followed another reviewer's suggestion of having a cocktail at the beach tree bar first to watch the sunset before moving down to the Ulu for dinner. We will definitely do that again. Can't wait to come back next year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We've eaten at ULU before and have always enjoyed the creative and tasty dishes the chef prepares as well as the wonderful service. This time was our favorite by far, though. It was my husbands 50th birthday and the evening was magical from beginning to end. The food was delicious as always, and the pastry chef made my husband a German chocolate cake that was out of this world delicious. We had a lovely table right along the beach, but almost all the tables in the restaurant have great beach views. If you're thinking about trying Ulu out, you really can't go wrong. It is pricey, but I can assure you that you'll get what you pay for. The food, wine, exceptional service and views all come together to create a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

After reading the reviews several months before my trip to Hawaii I decided that we would make a reservation in advance and kind of spend more than usual as a pretty expensiveThrValentines dinner. The service was great the view wonderful but the food was Terrible! My fish was overcooked could hardly cut it with a knife and my husband couldn't find the abalone in his expensive noodle dish!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Awesome sunset view in an upscale environment. Great service! Wife didn't like her veggie dish because she doesn't like ginger but otherwise the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 7, 2017

You can't beat the spot...we had a lovely table as close to the water as you can get. It was very windy, but we opted to sit outside anyway, and were happy we did. The wind died down and it was beautiful. We had a wonderful server, Bronson, who was very helpful and took great care of us. My husband said his sashimi was very good (small) and his fish dinner was good. I am a vegetarian and had pretty limited options. I chose a vegetable curry, which was very bland, but our server brought me some hot sauce that livened it up a bit. Not fabulous. Dessert was so-so, not impressed. Overall, our food at the Beach Tree was better than at 'Ulu. It's still a very lovely place to dine, but I would not rate the food 5 Star...and two nights later, we were dining in Kona and my husband ordered the same bottle of wine he had at 'Ulu, only 1/2 the price. That seems pretty ridiculous.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was one of our last dinner in Hawaii, and it was an absolute perfect ending. Perfect setting, staff was great and accommodating, chef was outstanding... an absolute must!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent meal, pricey though, but what you would expect from a 4 Seasons restaurant. Macadamia soufflé was a little cloud from heaven! Local ingredients in a semi-Hawaiian style

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is a classy restaurant right next to the ocean where you can enjoy the sunset and the waves crashing into the rocks. The food was well prepared, and the cocktails were refreshing, a nice break from the sugary tropical drinks at other places. Staff was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This is an amazing restaurant! Our Service was outstanding! This restaurant was a little over our normal budget. Our server was exstreamly kind and was able to get a little creative with the drink menu when she intuitivly discovered we were in over our heads with the price point. She never once made us feel unwelcome even though she knew our tab was not going to be what she typically sees. We had such a nice meal! We loved it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Manager and staff were incredibly friendly!!!
Enjoyed the chicken corn soup very much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Once again, Ulu Ocean Grill delivered a lovely birthday dinner. Overall, it was a great dining experience with the exception of the Chesapeake Bay Oysters, which were small and dry; the trip to Hawaii did them in. The rest of the dinners were excellent; the beet salad and heirloom tomato salad were delicious. The sushi orders were great. And as usual, the chocolate and grand marnier souffles for dessert were beyond delicious! Of course we highly recommend Ulu Ocean Grill for a lovely dinner on the ocean.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

If you are looking for upscale seaside dining on the Big island Ulu Ocean Grill is pretty hard to beat although Browns Beach House remains my personal favorite. Brian, our waiter was just what you would expect at an upscale restaurant. He was attentive, friendly, had great knowledge of the menu and provided a truly pleasurable dining experience. The quality of the food coming out of the kitchen was excellent and for 95% of their diners they would give them 5 stars. Ok, so I'm a bit of a snob :) but for me, the food lacked the Wow! Factor. Excellently prepared but perhaps lacking originality. Again, that's just me. Bottom line, I would gladly recommend them to anyone looking for a pricey but competent upscale meal while on Big Island.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As this was my first time dining at Ulu, I was impressed on every level. The food was excellent and the service absolutely outstanding. Mahalo to Ulu for a lovely evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was quite good- both the fish and meat dishes. Service, however, was abysmal. After 15 minutes of waiting after being seated I had to go find a server. After ordering drinks, it was close to a half hour before they arrived. Same with the food order- starters took over a half hour to arrive and then main courses another half hour after finishing our starters. Our server rarely checked to see how things were going at our table. Keeping the water glasses full was a struggle. We dine out quite often and this was some of the worse service. We couldn't believe we were at a Four Seasons, which presumably prides itself on service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We were there for my wife's 60th birthday and it was fantastic! Food was outstanding but the server was one of the best

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great service and food. Very attentive servers. Fabulous wine selection as well as many vegan and vegetarian options.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vegan, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 23, 2017

A wonderful menu with creative dishes. We had a number of fish dishes which all tasted great. But the kitchen consistently over cooked the fish. Too bad for such an expensive meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Expensive, $19 for glass of house wine and a dinner meal started at $50

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.