About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Falsini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OCEANFRONT HARVEST DINNER
On Saturday evenings, the Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is an interactive culinary journey. Enjoy a sake and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the water, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine and cocktail experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the bounty of the islands.

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (39)
Special Occasion (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
See All
Waterfront (32)
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Healthy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Music (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Birthday meal for my wife and it was spe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Birthday meal for my wife and it was special. Chad was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On our vacation. Went back a second time ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

On our vacation. Went back a second time. Love, love, love the ambiance. The service is outstanding. Try to sit with Bronson! The GM is adorable- we had a great time both nights. The view is out of this world. *the fresh fish dishes are best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous View w/ outstanding service and ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fabulous View w/ outstanding service and menu. Save room for the soufflé.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a table just off the beach--no on ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a table just off the beach--no one in front of us--so could see the sunset. Service was very good and the food excellent. Great location!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great restaurant in a first class resort ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great restaurant in a first class resort. Great food and great service. Beautiful setting overloooking the Pacific Ocean! Wide variety and tasty. Will definitely come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, Great service. Perfec ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Beautiful setting, Great service. Perfect spot for a romantic dinner or a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Literally you pay for the view. The rest ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Literally you pay for the view. The restaurant had high beam lights into the ocean so you can see the waves crashing. I had the tomato salad and coconut soup - - pretty tasty. My husband had the special fish which didn't wow us given the price. We ordered the soufflé based on the waiter's suggestion. The soufflé didn't rise and so they gave it to us for free. Honestly it's an exclusive restaurant with quality service and ambience. Go there for special occasions but save up!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Magical place to dine. So gorgeous a set ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Magical place to dine. So gorgeous a setting and food wonderful. Have a cocktail at the beach bar to see the sunset and then go dine. It is the most beautiful place we have seen on the island

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is very expensive but the best restau ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It is very expensive but the best restaurant on the Big Island. The food is so creative and amazing. The service is attentive and helpful. We go to this restaurant every time we are here because it is exceptional. Sitting outside by the water and watching the waves during dinner is wonderful. The live music was also great. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always come away from Ulu so impresse ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We always come away from Ulu so impressed with all aspects of this wonderful experience. Carola is a treasure (and a friend) and other members of the service team are also VERY attentive without being at all intrusive. The chef is creative and makes lovely, tasty dishes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent a wonderful evening at 'Ulu wit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We spent a wonderful evening at 'Ulu with my daughter and her husband. We took an early reservation so we could enjoy the beautiful sunset along the beach. The sushi and the Hawaiian Sea Bass were incredible!

We walked the grounds and were very impressed by the layout and architecture of the resort. Similar to the food offerings, 'Ulu Ocean Grille is simple, but elegant.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and beautiful place to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great atmosphere and beautiful place to eat while a few feet away from the ocean. Pricey, but good food. Crab fritters, sriracha shrimp and lobster,shrimp pad Thai were great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We're residents of the island and have v ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We're residents of the island and have visited Ulu many times previously. This experience was a total disaster and we will not ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

A fantastic experience only to be out do ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 14, 2016

A fantastic experience only to be out done by the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect from top to bottom. T ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Absolutely perfect from top to bottom. The most beautiful setting, stunning cuisine and attentive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

As always, our most recent trip to 'Ulu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always, our most recent trip to 'Ulu was amazing. Service is outstanding, the food is memorably delicious, and you can't beat the location. My only recommendation is to get reservations a couple of weeks in advance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible food, service, location. Ask ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Incredible food, service, location. Ask for a front row table by the water in time to catch the sunset. If this is going to be your "special" meal while on the island, choose this spot. Worth every penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Tapas, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok but I was quite underwhelmed ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was ok but I was quite underwhelmed. For what we paid I was expecting a bit more of a specialty restauraunt. Instead it was a fairly run of the mill mainland type restaurant. It was overpriced for the quality of the food and boring menu.

Our octopus appy was VERY tough and tasted mostly like deep fry oil. Two fish entrees were okay but no imagination. I've made similar quality food myself.

I'd suggest to spend your money elsewhere. Read the reviews carefully. Many people say the view is lovely but the food is so-so. When you're paying $200+ on dinner you expect the food to be outstanding.

If you're looking for a view, Lava lava beach club is also on the beach and has excellent live music every night and sometimes hula with good food and drinks. Beautiful sunset view from Lava. If you're going to Maui, go to Mama's fish house. Much more inspired menus and beautiful views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We enjoyed a leisurely late evening meal ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed a leisurely late evening meal and left more than satisfied. This is another Big Island restaurant that is leading the charge with respect to its efforts to focus on locally sourced and produced food and it shows. The fish dishes are superb and all the more so for efforts to creatively incorporate spices and sauces that compliment the fish dishes. The local wild boar on steamed buns was lovingly prepared and packed punch. We did not try any of the sushi but it was in much abundance on the tables of diners all around us. Ulu does a great job with its wine pairings and is not shy about permitting small wine tastings of what might work with your appetizers and entrees. The service was extremely knowledgeable, although slow and erratic, and we attributed that to the fact that the restaurant was extremely busy. Ulu would benefit from more of a "team" approach to service and seems to cling to insisting that one waiter, the same waiter, serve you throughout the evening. This is not an inexpensive restaurant but the price is worth you if you are looking for that all around Hawaiian high end dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant's beachside view, gorgeo ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This restaurant's beachside view, gorgeous decor, and Ono food make it worth the splurge for a special occasion!

This was our third time here. The service was exceptional. We loved the shrimp with watermelon appetizer, the Hualalai Roll, and the amazing wine.

The best food of the night was the dessert! The homemade marshmallows, made from scratch Graham crackers and Valhrona chocolate paired up to make the most decadent and delicious S'mores!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an outstanding restaurant in eve ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant in every possible way. A big WOW in every category. The mushroom fried rice is densely delicious. Four Seasons is now raising their own oysters! The menu is creative and varied and almost entirely locally sourced and very fresh. Very pricey but commensurate with the quality. A memorable special occasion dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a date night while we had a ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went for a date night while we had a sitter for the kids. Ambiance was nice and good was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful setting, albeit a windy night ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Beautiful setting, albeit a windy night so we had to sit inside. Great fish but otherwise not an inspired meal. Does not measure up to our past experiences at this restaurant t.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Our first visit to this restaurant and i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Our first visit to this restaurant and it was awesome! The setting is gorgeous, the food fabulous and the service top-notch. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent service by our server Chad. Gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

excellent service by our server Chad. Great location right on the beach with the ocean light up and waves crashing and some of the best fish I have ever had. This was our second time there and will repeatedly return whenever in Hawaii.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really wonderful from start to finish. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Really wonderful from start to finish. Great cocktails, great food, great service, great ambiance. Perfection!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The scenery was fantastic. We sat at a t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The scenery was fantastic. We sat at a table right by the ocean. The food was fresh and local. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was spectacular

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The view was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, menu and service with a ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Excellent food, menu and service with a beautiful view. Doug at the bar is a wonderful bartender as well!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ulu is a great restaurant for resort din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Ulu is a great restaurant for resort dining. Listen to the waves, enjoy the Asian fusion menu. A bit high priced, but it's a resort restaurant. My fish was cooked perfectly and my appetizer was delish. We come here every year and it never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance, service and food! Specia ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great ambiance, service and food! Special thanks to Josh and Chad for their friendly fun service! We come back every year and love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome meal and view well worth the mon ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome meal and view well worth the money! Wish we would have went at sunset! ,,,

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting, the restaurant, the view, a ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The setting, the restaurant, the view, and the service were all amazing. But the food was unfortunately very very sub-par. I don't want to say it's bad because it was 'bad' ... it just wasn't good. It was so far below my expectations given the location and the hotel that it left me very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We found the service and ambiance top no ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We found the service and ambiance top notch. The food , we had sushi rolls and ahi sashimi and oysters. The rolls I could of got anywhere. Nothing special. Sashimi was very good but not above and beyond what would be expected for the price. Wife's Martini was $25 ouch and my whiskey and coke $15 ouch.

Great atmosphere.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant, which is located in the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This restaurant, which is located in the Four Season's Hotel in Kona was amazing. They food was amazing, and the staff was top notch. You must...I repeat, must get the dish with the truffle ponzu sauce. Also, end your meal with their soufflé of the evening! to die for!!!!

If I am ever back at the Big Island, I will definitely dine here again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, , Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best way to describe dining at Ulu O ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The best way to describe dining at Ulu Ocean Grill is an "experience!" Do not be afraid of the label "sushi lounge" in the name. Do not be intimidated by the Four Seasons title. Just embrace and go!! Sophisticated yet casual. And while sushi dishes are featured, the chef-prepared entrees are incredible. Fresh local ingredients prepared creatively and perfectly done.

Add to the excellent food, the staff at Ulu's will make your evening unforgettable. Manager Josh made us feel so welcome and comfortable on our first time visit. Our server Carola was so knowledgeable and helpful with our meal selections and dining.

We cannot say enough about our wonderful dining experience. Thank you, Ulu Grill.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fine, but not great nor o ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was fine, but not great nor outstanding. And you expect this with such prices. Food itself is more interesting at nearby Beach Tree Bar and slightly cheaper.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was amazing, waiter was great, the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was amazing, waiter was great, the place is beautiful.

But - we had reservations for 7:30pm we got I Irish seats in around 8pm and those were outside in a very windy place, after I specifically asked to dine inside. Then we had to wait for 30 minutes before getting new seats.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Gorgeous views and ambiance. Food and se ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Gorgeous views and ambiance. Food and service also excellent... Great blend of flavors. Cannot eait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view, fantastic food, and grea ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Fantastic view, fantastic food, and great service! Their Siracha shrimp appetizer is a must! Everything was magical- we highly recommend!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.