Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 29 times today

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

4.7
890 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Farm-to-table
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Romantic
  • Waterfront
Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Farm-to-table, Seafood, Hawaiian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast 6:30 to 11:00 a.m.
Dinner 5:30 to 9:00 p.m.
Sushi Lounge & Table 5:30 to 10:00 p.m.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(808) 325-8000
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Thomas Bellec
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL BIRTHDAY EXPERIENCE. ALWAYS BEAUTIFUL AND STUNNING

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

This was exactly the type of restaurant I was looking for as my splurge dinner while on vacation in Hawaii! You will find outstanding service, gourmet crafted foods, stunning views and a gorgeous view! Just prepare yourself for the 5-star prices that go along with a 5- star experience. Well worth it! Treat yourself!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Family vacation. 12 people. I had one night (3 hours) to actually spend time with my wife. I took her to Ulu's and had the best date ever because of the atmosphere, quality of drinks, very pleasant staff, most outstanding food (top 5 ever for sure), and of course my wife. It was worth it. It will be for you too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

A perfect setting for a perfect dining experience. What a beautiful way to spend our last night in Hawaii! Service was excellent and the food were devine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Excellent, excellent ! What more can I say !
Food, Ambiance,Service,View - its all there .
Love to come here when I am on the Big Island .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Such a beautiful setting and superior Four Seasons service and food. Relaxing and a fabulous birthday dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Inventive food, attentive service, and fantastic views. Reserve tables for about an hour before sunset to get the best tables for the view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Would give six stars if possible. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable of the food and drink items. Atmosphere was incredible, food was delicious and everything made for an unforgettable experience! Excellent value! It was our anniversary and we were not charged for dessert. We will come back to your restaurant every time we visit the Big Island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Had a wonderful time. Food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. Can’t wait to return!! Mahalo!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The view was really very nice. Service good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Absolutely fabulous! One of my favorite restaurants in the world. We dine here on every trip to the Big Island.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The property itself took our breathe away. Dining at Ulu was outstanding. We were sat on the outside with a beautiful view. It did start to rain so we got relocated inside which was still beautiful! Our server Justin was very friendly and attentive. We also had another gentleman, I think he was the SA, his name is Dace was friendly as well. Both very professional. Food was very delicious and I wish I could have everything on the menu. Which means we will be back soon! Thank you for making our time there memorable :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The evening was perfect as an anniversary celebration. This restaurant is one of the finest in Kona area. The staff at the Four Seasons were exceptional!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Wonderful! Beautiful setting, excellent food and service. Otoro was amazing! Expensive but worth it (we ordered a second round it was so good!). Entrees were also great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Exceptional in every way! We were seated at a table directly in view of the water. Bianca, our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and delivered each course with perfect timing. Everything we ordered was fresh, flavorful and delicious and the Chef’s Choice Sashimi and it was over the top!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Our server, Bianca, was amazing. The food was amazing. The venue was amazing. Everything was amazing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We have eaten here many times on our trips to the big island and always have had a great experience. However, this time the food was, at best, mediocre and the service was hit and miss. Our server was very nice but there were long periods of time when she was nowhere to be seen. Two dishes were so disappointing that they went uneaten. To the credit of the restaurant, we were not charged for those items without our asking. We will not return anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I live on the Big Island and frequent all of the island's restaurants. In my opinion, Ulu Ocean Grille is the best restaurant on the island. The restaurant has spectacular views, located right on the ocean, outstanding hawaiian-asian-fusian cuisine and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Booking the reservation was a little odd. We wanted to book the reservation for 8 and was told nothing was available. so we booked it for 6 and was told that it wasn't available so we split our party into 2 reservations for three people. Fortunately, all six of us got to eat together but it wasn't crowded.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

These folks get it right every time. My favorite experience on Island and my go to place for a special dinner. Even on ordinary days!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

You can't beat the view and ambience here, and the food was very good as well. A little pricey, but the view makes it worth it, and our waiter Floyd was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

What a perfect place for our anniversary dinner! Our server Bronson was the perfect host for our night! He made it special simply by being himself. Thank you to the manager Katherine, for making sure everything was good and checking on us. Five star treatment! If you haven't tried Abalone, try it here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

On vacation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Anniversary dinner did not disappoint in any way. Service was impeccable and the food was amazing. I honestly don't believe you could have anything disappointing on this menu. Atmosphere and views were on point. Go early before sunset to enjoy the views and take advantage of photo ops. Our waiter Chad, recommended the "Loco Moco" appetizer which was a fun twist on a local dish. It was so delicious! We also had his recommendation of Mongolian Beef and Local Snapper. So happy with our choices! All we can say is WOW! Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Proposed to my girlfriend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

If possible I'll give this place a 10 star it's amazing! Service is top of the notch and food is just fresh and delicious! Our server is so kind and we were seated by the ocean where we saw some sea turtles! Overall an amazing experience

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Was really looking forward to this dinner and was very disappointed. Had the lobster and shrimp pad Thai and the Mongolian beef. The pad Thai was bland and boring and the Mongolian beef was over cooked and tough. The mushroom fried rice looked and tasted like it had been cooked an hour before. Had eaten at Merriman’s a couple of days before and it never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food was absolutely delicious! Had Lobster tails, creamed corn, sea bass, sushi and apple tart. Portions were abnormally small but delightful. Even the smallest of our group had to load up on bread in order to feel satisfied...even with the bite size desert.

Service would have been excellent except that the waitress made it clear that kitchen was about to close so we needed to hurry up even though we arrived exactly at 9PM for a 9PM reservation and were seated at 9:10 PM and were told that restaraunt was open until 1000 PM. We checked with one of the servers who said that kitchen was in fact open for orders until 1000PM. Not cool for the waitress to even mention it when it wasn’t even true. Not a pleasant start to a Four Seasons $600 dinner. Maybe she wanted to go home early?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Food so so atmosphere fantastic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Excellent in all areas.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Nice views, great service. Good sushi

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Everything was amazing...the food, the service from Bronson, the table, the ocean waves. Even the rain stayed away! This is a favorite when we visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Best location ever, doesn’t get more beautiful than this!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Amazing view and amazing meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The beautiful setting , wonderful service and amazing food made for a perfect Anniversary date. We ordered baked Kona abalone as a pupu, shrimp and lobster Pad Thai, Black Pepper NY steak as our main entrees and finished it off with a macadamia chocolate chip soufflé. Everything was amazingly prepared. The drinks are pricey at $21 but delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This is my favorite restaurant in the Waikoloa Beach area. The food is fresh, uses local sources, has incredible flavor, and the service is fantastic. The location on the ocean is so alluring. When we return home to Seattle we often dream of eating at Ulu’s through the year.....wonderful memory we were able to repeat this year. Very special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

This is so much more than just a dinner - it’s an experience. The setting is heavenly, the service is eloquent and the food is intensely delicious. In my experience this is the number one fine dining experience on this Island, and would stand up beautifully to a world class audience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Great Service, very unique takes on various foods. Excellent presentation and tast. Wide variety of surf and turf farm to table !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

My husband and I went one night during our vacation and had such a spectacular time that we went the following night for our anniversary. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was perfect for sunset watching!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We have dined at Ulu many times and, as always, it was outstanding. Our server, Floyd, was terrific. The food was amazing. And the atmosphere was heavenly!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23

Tweets by 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge