About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Falsini

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OCEANFRONT HARVEST DINNER
On Saturday evenings, the Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is an interactive culinary journey. Enjoy a sake and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the water, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine and cocktail experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the bounty of the islands.

Restaurant Photos

Risotto Fritters
Half Cheeseburger And French Fries
Coconut Adrift
Chocolate Bon Bons
Cappuccino
Olives And Mixed Nuts
Sugared Pizza Dough
Banana Split
Wild Boar Pizza
Pork Chop With A Corn Relish

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:30PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 9:00PM

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Hawaii
Best Overall
Hawaii / Big Island
7 More
Best Food
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Service
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Ambiance
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Value
Hawaii / Big Island
Fit for Foodies
Hawaii / Big Island
Romantic
Hawaii / Big Island
Special Occasion
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Kaupulehu ›

great for outdoor dining (50)
scenic view (46)
special occasion (44)
See All
romantic (42)
fit for foodies (36)
notable wine list (16)
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals i have ever had. T ...

Dined 4 days ago

One of the best meals i have ever had. The service was amazing the view absolutly beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful restaurant, mediocre food

Dined on June 11, 2016

First off, the restaurant is beautiful. The setting is incredible, right on the beach, and every seat seems to either be outdoors or have a view outdoors. I was surprised at how open-air the place was. Our table was closest to the beach and it couldn't have been better. The service was also great. Exactly the high level of attention and care you'd expect a high end restaurant such as this. While some of the food was great (like the oysters) and the pork buns, the entrees were highly disappointing. Both fish entrees we ordered were criminally overcooked. Being that the restaurant menu appears so specialized in seafood, we were shocked at how dry and bland the actual dishes were. Our only other complain were the prices, but that is, I suppose, to be expected. For example, wines on the wine list were well chosen, but often 3x retail prices--higher than most restaurant markups. All in all, it's a special occasion type of place where you should expect great service and a great setting, but don't hold your breath on the actual food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sushi in spectacular oceanfront setting

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service from Steve and Junior, with friendly warm aloha. Great oysters from their farm on property with Chef's eye dropper bottle of hot sauce. Very good sushi rolls and hamachi nigiri. Pineapple upside down cake with goat cheese, and Thai basil gelato. Stunning sunset views literally on the beach/ocean. Torch lighting and conch shell blowing ritual inches from our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Ulu seems to define casual elegance. Foo ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Ulu seems to define casual elegance. Food is fresh, ambience stellar, and the service friendly yet professional.

food5
ambience5
service5

Went for dinner and it was great! Sat ju ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Went for dinner and it was great! Sat just feet from the beach, so we had front row seats an sunset. The food was delicious! Highly recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!!! Just what I expected. Loved ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious!!! Just what I expected. Loved everything including the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, service, ambience and a go ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Amazing food, service, ambience and a gorgeous sunset! These guys do it right in so many ways!

food3
ambience3
service4

We were completely underwhelmed by Ulu. ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We were completely underwhelmed by Ulu. The service was great, but that's where it ended. We had sashimi as a first course, which was good. After that everything went downhill. I had the snapper in coconut curry. I never tasted any coconut or curry. It was so bland it was bordering on tasteless. More like coconut water with undercooked vegetables and fish. My husband had the fish of the day, opa in lemongrass. That was even more bland. No taste at all. We had the soufflés. They also were practically tasteless. I have never had such a bland and tasteless restaurant meal in my life. The view was great, but not worth $300.00. Never again.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was fantastic, the view unbeata ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was fantastic, the view unbeatable. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great meal/experience, but brace for the check.

Dined on May 25, 2016

Love Ulu, just wish it didn't cost an arm and a leg. For a cocktail/apps/dinner/desert our party of four shelled out $600+. That being said, the meal was really fantastic. The Ali Poke app was done tableside and was terrific. Our entree's were all very good -- I think I'd pass on the Shrimp/Lobster Pad Thai. It was good, just not memorable. The soufflé's were top-notch. The service -- really none better. Our waiter took our picture at sunset and was very willing to help us get it right. Definitely a Four Seasons quality venue.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome views, great service

Dined on May 24, 2016

This is truly a great restaurant. Views and ambiance are top notch. Service is excellent. They truly make you feel special at the Four Seasons. Poke and lavash were great. Awesome presentation and flavor was spot on. We ordered the Shrimp crunch roll and the Mongolian beef which were ok but quite frankly PF Changs does both better. Banana Chocolate dessert was ok as well. Spiced Caramel Corn at the end was a nice touch. Wouldn't hesitate to go back and try some other dishes. Truly a wonderful setting with great service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect sunset dinner in Hawaii

Dined on May 24, 2016

Went with family including a 2 y/o. One of the best dinners i've had. It will be one of our best memories of our trip with amazing sunset pictures.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant ! Lovely food & service ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great restaurant ! Lovely food & service ! However, slightly overpriced for what it was.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great setting next to the beach. Very ro ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Great setting next to the beach. Very romantic! Food is spectacular!!

food2
ambience5
service4

We have been making annual treks to the ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have been making annual treks to the Ulu Grill as we were married at the Hualalai several years ago. This experience was really disappointing, however. I ordered the grilled octopus appetizer which was so tough it was literally not chewable. It also hadn't been trimmed properly and so had sort of fatty edges that were quite unappetizing. I had then ordered the fish special, which I think was Ono. It was so overdone that I didn't eat it, though I did bring it home thinking maybe I could make fish tacos out of it. Later I just threw it out as it was so over cooked. Our waiter was quite nice, and I didn't complain, though I would have thought he might have asked why we didn't eat our dinners. My husband had a lobster Phad Thai which was good. I can't remember which appetizer he ordered, but I think it was also fine. I had also asked for a glass of Sancerre and it was quite tart (I wondered if the bottle had been open awhile), but I just had a taste, so asked for the Sav Blanc instead, which was good. I think this is such a special location and I've had many great experiences there. Unfortunately, this was not one of them!! I'm hoping it was just poor choices on my part, as I've had many great meals there.

food3
ambience5
service3

Waited 8 to 10 minutes before anyone gre ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Waited 8 to 10 minutes before anyone greeted us. The calamari was awesome but we were less than impressed with the sushi and the lobster tails. We also ordered the steak, and though it was good, it wasn't anything compared to Ruth's Chris. The bartender was very personable. If you go, go for the atmosphere for sure.

food3
ambience5
service5

Great environment. Small portions. Great ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great environment. Small portions. Great service.

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

the food was very bad . we ordered 3 dif ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

the food was very bad . we ordered 3 diff. dishes ad all three was bad. the coffee was lurk warm

food5
ambience5
service5

This is easily my favorite dinner on the ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

This is easily my favorite dinner on the entire island. The location and ambiance are unbeatable. I sat at a table right on the ocean and was seated 20 minutes before sunset. The view was breathtaking. Justin, my waiter, was welcoming and obviously embraces the Aloha spirit to the fullest. He was able to explain every dish and cocktail on the menu in great detail. The food was extremely fresh, cooked perfectly, and wonderfully flavorful. The dinner was capped with a delicious coconut and raspberry souffle. I cannot wait to return my next time on the island.

food5
ambience5
service5

Just outstanding in every way. Probably ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Just outstanding in every way. Probably the best dining experience on the Big Island.

food4
ambience5
service1
value5

This was the second time we dined at 'Ul ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

This was the second time we dined at 'Ulu Ocean Grill during this years Hawaii vacation. Our first visit this year was excellent in every respect but this time we had serious service problems. Everything started fine but once our entrees were delivered the server disappeared. Our table wasn't cleared when we were finished. At one point the manager came by our table and asked if we were finished and we replied yes. He took one of the plates from the six dinners and also disappeared. After considerable time we did get the attention of someone who alerted our server. Even after we asked for the check we experienced long delays before getting the check and having our credit card returned. In defense of our server, he was assigned far too many tables for a high end restaurant. I fault the restaurant for being understaffed. For whatever reason, they probably were one or two servers short that night and didn't have plans on how to deal with this situation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the pleasure of dining at Ulu for ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I had the pleasure of dining at Ulu for breakfast, Mother's Day Brunch and dinner while staying at the Four Seasons Hualalai and have to say every experience was special. The food was excellent and the staff was exceptional! Best part was that I had a 6 month old and they were very welcoming to her, offering food appropriate for a baby, picking up utensils that she would drop on the ground. And I could enjoy a creative menu while being baby friendly. Kudos to Doug, Lilibeth, Josh and Junior! What a great team!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stellar location and service, great food.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Perfect location and setting, polished service and table with food that met the admittedly high expectations I have from the Brand. Cuisine was local in style and presentation without being cheesy or cloy..... RECOMMENDED. ULU was quite flexible about adjusting rez by the way/ Five Stars

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An Occasion to Remember!

Dined on May 9, 2016

This was our first time trying this restaurant and it is truly a gem. Everything was outstanding - ambiance, service and food. We will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Decadent Mother's Day brunch. Beautiful ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Decadent Mother's Day brunch. Beautiful setting, delicious food & drinks. We had a lovely time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was super attentive and provided a ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Staff was super attentive and provided a personalized experience.

food1
ambience1
service1
value3

Excellent meal and service - Highly recommend

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This is an incredible location in the Four Seasons Hotel. The setting is beautiful and although the meal was expensive, the quality of all the dishes were outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3

We frequent Ulu while on the Big Island ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We frequent Ulu while on the Big Island because my husband loves their sushi & I appreciate the 1,000 point table opportunities. I do love their filet, but the quality, temperature and the servers willingness to obtain a filet for me is inconsistent. (As there is a steak restaurant on property, but we both enjoy different things)

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top quality beach side dining on Kona coast.

Dined on May 4, 2016

Fabulous dining experience at Sunset on the Kona coast. Casual, farm to table options. The very best of HAWAII.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best Meal in my Life

Dined on April 27, 2016

From the beginning to the end was it a wonderful experience!! Only negative was the fact that we first got the sushi-menu 15 minuts after the frist menu, and at that point we had decided what we wanted :) But that was only a minor thing that didn't cast a shaddow at all!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Posh yet casual. But what a venue. Yards ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Posh yet casual. But what a venue. Yards from breaking waves lit up at night.

food4
ambience5
service1
value2

Good food, poor service

Dined on April 22, 2016

Had heard Ulu was Four Season's nicest restaurant. The food was good- crab fritters and grilled lobster. However, the service was terrible. We were seated at least 15 minutes before our waiter even came over. He said "I left you waiting longer than I wanted", which I thought, "ok, he's acknowledged it and we'll be on track now", but no, the rest of the night was the same. He took drink orders and said he'd bring bread. Another 15 minutes to get a drink, and then no bread. At this point people who had been seated after us had already ordered. The night continued in the same manner. Although the food was good, the service was a very disappointing start to our vacation and we expected more from Ulu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food with outstanding service. ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Fantastic food with outstanding service. While it's hard to top a beachside sunset for dinner. The top notch service at Ulu made our experience a memorable. Our waiter did a very good job of describing each dish and it's nuances, especially when asked to compare two potential choices.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the most gorgeous sunset dinners ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

One of the most gorgeous sunset dinners we have ever experienced! Food and service were phenomenal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ulu by the Sea

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food as usual is always excellent, and the presentation cannot be beat ! Excellent service and beautiful Oceanside dining......

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible setting. Great food.

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Incredible setting. Great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Oceanside Dining

Dined on April 9, 2016

Loved the setting and the food and the service. Absolutely the best for a memorable night out on the Big Island.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing highly recommend it

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Amazing highly recommend it

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

wines by the glass

Dined on April 6, 2016

If you are ordering wine by the glass be careful and pay attention. I was charged $50 for a glass of Rose. Totally shocked when I received the bill

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't go wrong with any choice on the me ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Can't go wrong with any choice on the menu.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.