About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Falsini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OCEANFRONT HARVEST DINNER
On Saturday evenings, the Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is an interactive culinary journey. Enjoy a sake and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the water, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine and cocktail experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the bounty of the islands.

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Scenic View (40)
Waterfront (39)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Romantic (31)
Good for a Date (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
634 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

We dined at this restaurant on our Big Island holiday. We had a lovely table looking over the lit surf. The service was attentive although not overly so and the food very good. Definitely will return when on the Bug Island.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined 3 days ago

Thank you Dejan for capturing a friendly oceanic atmosphere, offering delicious food with your personal engagement so that we can feel 100% fulfilled!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

The wait of over 90 minutes for a burnt piece of fish turned me off. I should have returned the dish to the kitchen. Not worth the expense. The sauce for the special of the day was uninspired and bland. The basic green salad was refreshing and the highlight of an otherwise sad meal at an over-priced restaurant. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Not to be missed for a beautiful dining experience on the big island.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were looking forward to a meal at a restaurant some had called he best on the Big Island. All the more so, as I had dined at the Four Seasons as part of a group event and was very impressed.

Unfortunately, the experience at Ulu fell way short. The ambience is wonderful; great lighting and the Hawaiian surf pounding just 50 feet away. But the cuisine was, at best, mixed. On the plus side: the sushi, fresh and tasty as possible. But the grilled octopus was as tough as jerky and we sent it back.

The $40 Pad Thai did have plenty of lobster, but some of it was, again, overlooked to the point it was an unrecognizable leathery protein.

Even the helping of caramel corn delivered with the check was sub-par.

Our waiter was great, but he seemed over-worked and thus could not be quite as attentive as I think he'd have liked.

For those who want the ultimate in romantic scenes and great sushi, Ulu delivers. We did not try enough of the apps and mains to say whether the two fails we experienced were just a fluke or a broader problem. But, for a place of Ulu's standing, never mind its price, we should expect it to hit 100% consistently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Scenery is outstanding. Overlooking the lit waves of the ocean. Food was above average but some room for improvement. However, desserts (souffle & home made carmel corn) was excellent)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our server was outstanding. The food service was at an appropriate speed....not too fast, never wondering if it was coming. The ambiance was nice & enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Perhaps the most spectacular setting on the Big Island. The service and the food were also wonderful. A beautiful spot to watch the sunset. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Stunning location. Great service with very friendly staff. Eighty percent of ingredients were

from the Big Island. Interesting menu. Perfect for a special occasion, birthday, girls night out.

Or just a foodie splurge. Very best eatery on the water - on the Big Island.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great table with perfect view of the ocean. Great service. Great food. We make it a point to come here every year when we are on vacation. Followed another reviewer's suggestion of having a cocktail at the beach tree bar first to watch the sunset before moving down to the Ulu for dinner. We will definitely do that again. Can't wait to come back next year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We've eaten at ULU before and have always enjoyed the creative and tasty dishes the chef prepares as well as the wonderful service. This time was our favorite by far, though. It was my husbands 50th birthday and the evening was magical from beginning to end. The food was delicious as always, and the pastry chef made my husband a German chocolate cake that was out of this world delicious. We had a lovely table right along the beach, but almost all the tables in the restaurant have great beach views. If you're thinking about trying Ulu out, you really can't go wrong. It is pricey, but I can assure you that you'll get what you pay for. The food, wine, exceptional service and views all come together to create a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

After reading the reviews several months before my trip to Hawaii I decided that we would make a reservation in advance and kind of spend more than usual as a pretty expensiveThrValentines dinner. The service was great the view wonderful but the food was Terrible! My fish was overcooked could hardly cut it with a knife and my husband couldn't find the abalone in his expensive noodle dish!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Awesome sunset view in an upscale environment. Great service! Wife didn't like her veggie dish because she doesn't like ginger but otherwise the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 7, 2017

You can't beat the spot...we had a lovely table as close to the water as you can get. It was very windy, but we opted to sit outside anyway, and were happy we did. The wind died down and it was beautiful. We had a wonderful server, Bronson, who was very helpful and took great care of us. My husband said his sashimi was very good (small) and his fish dinner was good. I am a vegetarian and had pretty limited options. I chose a vegetable curry, which was very bland, but our server brought me some hot sauce that livened it up a bit. Not fabulous. Dessert was so-so, not impressed. Overall, our food at the Beach Tree was better than at 'Ulu. It's still a very lovely place to dine, but I would not rate the food 5 Star...and two nights later, we were dining in Kona and my husband ordered the same bottle of wine he had at 'Ulu, only 1/2 the price. That seems pretty ridiculous.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was one of our last dinner in Hawaii, and it was an absolute perfect ending. Perfect setting, staff was great and accommodating, chef was outstanding... an absolute must!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent meal, pricey though, but what you would expect from a 4 Seasons restaurant. Macadamia soufflé was a little cloud from heaven! Local ingredients in a semi-Hawaiian style

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is a classy restaurant right next to the ocean where you can enjoy the sunset and the waves crashing into the rocks. The food was well prepared, and the cocktails were refreshing, a nice break from the sugary tropical drinks at other places. Staff was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

This is an amazing restaurant! Our Service was outstanding! This restaurant was a little over our normal budget. Our server was exstreamly kind and was able to get a little creative with the drink menu when she intuitivly discovered we were in over our heads with the price point. She never once made us feel unwelcome even though she knew our tab was not going to be what she typically sees. We had such a nice meal! We loved it!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Manager and staff were incredibly friendly!!!

Enjoyed the chicken corn soup very much.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Once again, Ulu Ocean Grill delivered a lovely birthday dinner. Overall, it was a great dining experience with the exception of the Chesapeake Bay Oysters, which were small and dry; the trip to Hawaii did them in. The rest of the dinners were excellent; the beet salad and heirloom tomato salad were delicious. The sushi orders were great. And as usual, the chocolate and grand marnier souffles for dessert were beyond delicious! Of course we highly recommend Ulu Ocean Grill for a lovely dinner on the ocean.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

If you are looking for upscale seaside dining on the Big island Ulu Ocean Grill is pretty hard to beat although Browns Beach House remains my personal favorite. Brian, our waiter was just what you would expect at an upscale restaurant. He was attentive, friendly, had great knowledge of the menu and provided a truly pleasurable dining experience. The quality of the food coming out of the kitchen was excellent and for 95% of their diners they would give them 5 stars. Ok, so I'm a bit of a snob :) but for me, the food lacked the Wow! Factor. Excellently prepared but perhaps lacking originality. Again, that's just me. Bottom line, I would gladly recommend them to anyone looking for a pricey but competent upscale meal while on Big Island.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As this was my first time dining at Ulu, I was impressed on every level. The food was excellent and the service absolutely outstanding. Mahalo to Ulu for a lovely evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was quite good- both the fish and meat dishes. Service, however, was abysmal. After 15 minutes of waiting after being seated I had to go find a server. After ordering drinks, it was close to a half hour before they arrived. Same with the food order- starters took over a half hour to arrive and then main courses another half hour after finishing our starters. Our server rarely checked to see how things were going at our table. Keeping the water glasses full was a struggle. We dine out quite often and this was some of the worse service. We couldn't believe we were at a Four Seasons, which presumably prides itself on service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We were there for my wife's 60th birthday and it was fantastic! Food was outstanding but the server was one of the best

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great service and food. Very attentive servers. Fabulous wine selection as well as many vegan and vegetarian options.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vegan, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 23, 2017

A wonderful menu with creative dishes. We had a number of fish dishes which all tasted great. But the kitchen consistently over cooked the fish. Too bad for such an expensive meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Expensive, $19 for glass of house wine and a dinner meal started at $50

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food and ambiance was perfect, what to expect from the four seasons.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Unbelievable views of the ocean while eating. Fantastic service. Amazing food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Incredible ambiance with the sound and sight of Kohala coast surf even after dark. This dinner was a capstone outing for our trip. It also turned out to be a perfect spot to be before a short drive to the airport for a late flight home. A lovely final memory.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Birthday meal for my wife and it was special. Chad was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

On our vacation. Went back a second time. Love, love, love the ambiance. The service is outstanding. Try to sit with Bronson! The GM is adorable- we had a great time both nights. The view is out of this world. *the fresh fish dishes are best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fabulous View w/ outstanding service and menu. Save room for the soufflé.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a table just off the beach--no one in front of us--so could see the sunset. Service was very good and the food excellent. Great location!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great restaurant in a first class resort. Great food and great service. Beautiful setting overloooking the Pacific Ocean! Wide variety and tasty. Will definitely come back

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Beautiful setting, Great service. Perfect spot for a romantic dinner or a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Literally you pay for the view. The restaurant had high beam lights into the ocean so you can see the waves crashing. I had the tomato salad and coconut soup - - pretty tasty. My husband had the special fish which didn't wow us given the price. We ordered the soufflé based on the waiter's suggestion. The soufflé didn't rise and so they gave it to us for free. Honestly it's an exclusive restaurant with quality service and ambience. Go there for special occasions but save up!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Magical place to dine. So gorgeous a setting and food wonderful. Have a cocktail at the beach bar to see the sunset and then go dine. It is the most beautiful place we have seen on the island

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It is very expensive but the best restaurant on the Big Island. The food is so creative and amazing. The service is attentive and helpful. We go to this restaurant every time we are here because it is exceptional. Sitting outside by the water and watching the waves during dinner is wonderful. The live music was also great. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We always come away from Ulu so impressed with all aspects of this wonderful experience. Carola is a treasure (and a friend) and other members of the service team are also VERY attentive without being at all intrusive. The chef is creative and makes lovely, tasty dishes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We spent a wonderful evening at 'Ulu with my daughter and her husband. We took an early reservation so we could enjoy the beautiful sunset along the beach. The sushi and the Hawaiian Sea Bass were incredible!

We walked the grounds and were very impressed by the layout and architecture of the resort. Similar to the food offerings, 'Ulu Ocean Grille is simple, but elegant.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great atmosphere and beautiful place to eat while a few feet away from the ocean. Pricey, but good food. Crab fritters, sriracha shrimp and lobster,shrimp pad Thai were great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We're residents of the island and have visited Ulu many times previously. This experience was a total disaster and we will not ever return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 14, 2016

A fantastic experience only to be out done by the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Absolutely perfect from top to bottom. The most beautiful setting, stunning cuisine and attentive staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As always, our most recent trip to 'Ulu was amazing. Service is outstanding, the food is memorably delicious, and you can't beat the location. My only recommendation is to get reservations a couple of weeks in advance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Incredible food, service, location. Ask for a front row table by the water in time to catch the sunset. If this is going to be your "special" meal while on the island, choose this spot. Worth every penny.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Tapas, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was ok but I was quite underwhelmed. For what we paid I was expecting a bit more of a specialty restauraunt. Instead it was a fairly run of the mill mainland type restaurant. It was overpriced for the quality of the food and boring menu.

Our octopus appy was VERY tough and tasted mostly like deep fry oil. Two fish entrees were okay but no imagination. I've made similar quality food myself.

I'd suggest to spend your money elsewhere. Read the reviews carefully. Many people say the view is lovely but the food is so-so. When you're paying $200+ on dinner you expect the food to be outstanding.

If you're looking for a view, Lava lava beach club is also on the beach and has excellent live music every night and sometimes hula with good food and drinks. Beautiful sunset view from Lava. If you're going to Maui, go to Mama's fish house. Much more inspired menus and beautiful views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed a leisurely late evening meal and left more than satisfied. This is another Big Island restaurant that is leading the charge with respect to its efforts to focus on locally sourced and produced food and it shows. The fish dishes are superb and all the more so for efforts to creatively incorporate spices and sauces that compliment the fish dishes. The local wild boar on steamed buns was lovingly prepared and packed punch. We did not try any of the sushi but it was in much abundance on the tables of diners all around us. Ulu does a great job with its wine pairings and is not shy about permitting small wine tastings of what might work with your appetizers and entrees. The service was extremely knowledgeable, although slow and erratic, and we attributed that to the fact that the restaurant was extremely busy. Ulu would benefit from more of a "team" approach to service and seems to cling to insisting that one waiter, the same waiter, serve you throughout the evening. This is not an inexpensive restaurant but the price is worth you if you are looking for that all around Hawaiian high end dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.