Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast 6:30 to 11:00 a.m.
Dinner 5:30 to 9:00 p.m.
Sushi Lounge & Table 5:30 to 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Bellec

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is a interactive culinary journey held along the stunning coastline at Ulu Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge. Each Saturday, enjoy a sparkling beverage and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the ocean, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the best seasonal and local bounty found throughout the Hawaiian Islands.

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (39)
Scenic View (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
See All
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Worth the Drive (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Organic (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 15 hours ago

Celebrated our 20th year anniversary today at Ulu. Service was outstanding and food was delicious and you can't beat the view (perfect sunset)!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Ulu is an extremely beautiful restaurant, sitting next to the ocean waves. The staff was A+, very knowledgeable and professional. The prices are high as expected for such a high end restaurant. My only issue was finding the restaurant in the dark. Driving to the parking area and walking to the restaurant could be marked better, as it is a ways in there, but it was worth it for our wedding night dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was off the hook!
Setting, exceptional buffet. Very pleasant people.
Service slipped quite a bit midway through. But the ocean, company, food made up for it.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. Wonderful selection of foods prepared in delicious and creative ways. The setting is glorious and the food quite matched the setting. The presentations and the servers added to the occasion. The strawberry shortcake dessert theater top it off. A bit pricey but definitely worth the splurge!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nothing less than A+!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We didn't enjoy the food as we expected, although the service was perfect and very professional, our food was a little bit out of textures and flavours. Mongolian beef was normal and "out of price" plate. Fancy and very comfortable restaurant with terrific views but food wasn't at the same level as the place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Thoroughly enjoyed the cocktails, wine and the sushi was incredible. Chocolate soufflé for dessert was delicious. Expensive but well worth it for a special occasion. Beachfront table was very romantic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Really good food, we sat outside by the beach and watched the sun set. The food was amazing, the sushi rolls were outstanding and the server was very honest when we asked for hid recommendation, which was refreshing!!

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

we alway make it a point to to visit ulu when we are on the island. service, food and setting are top notch..

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Fabulous dining experience from the moment we walked in. This is among the very best in all of Hawaii!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Unique experience with a wonderful view....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We ordered only sushi and it was excellent. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our third time having a special dinner at the 'Ulu Ocean Grill at the Four Seasons on the Big Island of Hawaii. We've always gone here for a lovely evening out whenever we visit Hawaii and this dinner did not disappoint.

We used our visit to the Four Seasons 'Ulu Ocean Grill as a final dinner of our two week trip. It was a beautiful evening and the scenery was just as amazing as always...with the ocean a few feet away and the sunset coloring the evening.

The service is always incredibly immaculate and helpful with descriptions and suggestions. Dinner was lovely with incredible fresh fish prepared in a variety of ways.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Beach front dining spot is spectacular. Service was very good, and very good pace to the meal. Food was good, but some food was spiced very well, some not so good. The ono special I had really had no spicing, but cooked perfectly. The soufflé was average, not worth 20 minute wait. Wine list was very good, but overpriced. Same for the cocktails and beer.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Your restaurant was outstanding, everyone was so professional ant called by name, food was terrific with nice big portions, would definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Spicy, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Perfect setting great service and food. Go. Only downside hard to find

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

If you're thinking that you're going to get a fancy date night type dinner, because you're going to the Four Seasons, you are quite wrong. My fiancé and I are on vacation and wanted a peaceful nice meal. My experience was ruined by the children IN THEIR PAJAMAS running around, yelling and slurping their spaghetti. The food was good, but the atmosphere was terrible. So very disappointing. Children should not be allowed at such an establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing experience. Most romantic and best food on the island. The Four Seasons properties never disappoint. They know how to make the experience special.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal. The tempura shrimp and spicy ahi roll was AMAZING! The appetizers were great especially the calamari. A friend ordered the octopus and raved about the dish. The lights shining on the waves made for a gorgeous view. All in all a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We visit every year while in Hawaii. We love this restaurant. Service was outstanding and ambience beyond belief. I have many food allergies and they were so wonderful to make sure my meal was a success.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

'Ulu is a wonderful restaurant we come back to every time we are on the big Island. The food is just outstanding, and the whole experience is worth coming. We had all seafood based dishes which were the freshest that we have eaten anywhere. The all seafood (no rice) special sushi roll was outstanding as were the rest of the dishes combined with other fresh seasonal ingredients. The service is friendly, not invasive but just right. Our waiter Brian was very knowledgeable about the menu and steered us in the right direction on all our orders. It was a special anniversary for us and the restaurant took care of us in a way that made it very memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is obviously a lovely spot, overlooking the ocean. The hostess team and bar help were very attentive. Our waiter was knowledgeable. However, our starter sashimi roll was inferior to one we had at a small cafe in Hawi just the day before. We waited 30 minutes for our entries, and one of them was cold. Both were very tasty, but not exceptional. Check was $300+ with only one $17 glass of wine.

Four Seasons management should take a hard look at this operation. This place is taking its customers for granted, and charging first class prices for a second class effort. We were disappointed, and will not go back.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

One of the best settings and views you will ever have for dinner.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very disappointed. Food was so oversalted we couldn't eat it and did not have an opportunity to let our server know. Food taken away full without anyone asking if we even wanted a to go box or noting that it was almost all still on our plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is one of the most beautiful settings for a restaurant anywhere. We timed our reservation just right - arrived just before so we could view the sunset from the fire pit lounge area over pre-dinner cocktails. Luckily the sun cooperated as the next days were completely overcast and cloudy. The food is excellent. Although high-priced - it is the sa,eat any restaurant of its caliber in the area. The service was excellent and they made special note of the birthday I told them ahead of time that we were celebrating.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Outstanding food and view.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We dined at this restaurant on our Big Island holiday. We had a lovely table looking over the lit surf. The service was attentive although not overly so and the food very good. Definitely will return when on the Bug Island.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Thank you Dejan for capturing a friendly oceanic atmosphere, offering delicious food with your personal engagement so that we can feel 100% fulfilled!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The wait of over 90 minutes for a burnt piece of fish turned me off. I should have returned the dish to the kitchen. Not worth the expense. The sauce for the special of the day was uninspired and bland. The basic green salad was refreshing and the highlight of an otherwise sad meal at an over-priced restaurant. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Not to be missed for a beautiful dining experience on the big island.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were looking forward to a meal at a restaurant some had called he best on the Big Island. All the more so, as I had dined at the Four Seasons as part of a group event and was very impressed.

Unfortunately, the experience at Ulu fell way short. The ambience is wonderful; great lighting and the Hawaiian surf pounding just 50 feet away. But the cuisine was, at best, mixed. On the plus side: the sushi, fresh and tasty as possible. But the grilled octopus was as tough as jerky and we sent it back.

The $40 Pad Thai did have plenty of lobster, but some of it was, again, overlooked to the point it was an unrecognizable leathery protein.

Even the helping of caramel corn delivered with the check was sub-par.

Our waiter was great, but he seemed over-worked and thus could not be quite as attentive as I think he'd have liked.

For those who want the ultimate in romantic scenes and great sushi, Ulu delivers. We did not try enough of the apps and mains to say whether the two fails we experienced were just a fluke or a broader problem. But, for a place of Ulu's standing, never mind its price, we should expect it to hit 100% consistently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Scenery is outstanding. Overlooking the lit waves of the ocean. Food was above average but some room for improvement. However, desserts (souffle & home made carmel corn) was excellent)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our server was outstanding. The food service was at an appropriate speed....not too fast, never wondering if it was coming. The ambiance was nice & enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The restaurant was right on the ocean so the view was spectacular - make sure you request a table by the beach. We had outstanding service from our waiter and the wine list was what you would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. I do feel the food was overrated though my sister absolutely loved her lemon grass chicken. I don't like nori but the restaurant was very accommodating and wrapped by sushi in soy wrapper. For me the meal was good, not memorable and my husband thought the same.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Perhaps the most spectacular setting on the Big Island. The service and the food were also wonderful. A beautiful spot to watch the sunset. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Stunning location. Great service with very friendly staff. Eighty percent of ingredients were
from the Big Island. Interesting menu. Perfect for a special occasion, birthday, girls night out.
Or just a foodie splurge. Very best eatery on the water - on the Big Island.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent, absolutely excellent end to our stay in Hawaii. Had we known how good it would be we'd have eaten there twice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great table with perfect view of the ocean. Great service. Great food. We make it a point to come here every year when we are on vacation. Followed another reviewer's suggestion of having a cocktail at the beach tree bar first to watch the sunset before moving down to the Ulu for dinner. We will definitely do that again. Can't wait to come back next year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We've eaten at ULU before and have always enjoyed the creative and tasty dishes the chef prepares as well as the wonderful service. This time was our favorite by far, though. It was my husbands 50th birthday and the evening was magical from beginning to end. The food was delicious as always, and the pastry chef made my husband a German chocolate cake that was out of this world delicious. We had a lovely table right along the beach, but almost all the tables in the restaurant have great beach views. If you're thinking about trying Ulu out, you really can't go wrong. It is pricey, but I can assure you that you'll get what you pay for. The food, wine, exceptional service and views all come together to create a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.