Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 2.30mi
  3. Distance: 4.27mi
  4. Distance: 5.47mi

About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Seafood, Hawaiian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast 6:30 to 11:00 a.m.
Dinner 5:30 to 9:00 p.m.
Sushi Lounge & Table 5:30 to 10:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Bellec

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is a interactive culinary journey held along the stunning coastline at Ulu Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge. Each Saturday, enjoy a sparkling beverage and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the ocean, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the best seasonal and local bounty found throughout the Hawaiian Islands.

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Romantic (43)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Scenic View (37)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for a Date (31)
Local Ingredients (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Authentic (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (7)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Organic (5)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Spicy (2)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The steak and local sea bass dishes were outstanding, along with the sides (included).
Chocolate soufflé very delicious and memorable.
Beautiful ocean view. Our Thai-born server was excellent and described dish options perfectly. Also very pleasant and personable. This experience contributed greatly to a wonderful 28th Anniversay for us. It was our third visit, as we live only 15 minutes Up Queen K highway from Hualalai.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Ulu has to be our favorite spot on the Big Island. You take an incredible location (the restaurant sits on the waterfront), combine with all the best local cuisine, and top it off with a fun, professional and energetic wait staff and you'll have a memorable experience. If you like Poke, order it as it is prepared tableside and will not disappoint. This is not a cheap meal, but you would expect nothing less from a Four Seasons experience. Really worth a visit if you love a fine dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 15, 2017

I can't say enough good things about our experience at 'Ulu! What a treat! Creative, delicious menu with an emphasis on fish but lots of other tasty sounding options. Wonderfully prepared hand-crafted cocktails. Outstanding service that is professional and friendly. So many other "nice" restaurants greet us "hey guys". That would not happen here. The ocean view is so pretty I had to make myself stop staring and pay attention to my husband as we were celebrating a milestone anniversary. Truly an excellent evening. Prices reflect the quality of the food and service and we had no problem with that. Will definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The breaking waves were 20 feet from our table. The sunset was amazing. The service was intelligent, just the right amount of engagement, efficient and complete. The food was memorable. Just delicious does not do it justice. This meal was for my birthday. We will be going back for many more regular days.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Few things in life are truly perfect, but dining at Uu Ocean Grill is certainly one of those things. It was sublime.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Had an amazing dinner! Great food on the ocean. Highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We come here every year when we are in Kailua Kona. The food and service are everything you would expect. The fresh fish dishes are spectacular. The sunsets are spectacular as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Just excellent. Great drinks. Good wine list. Can't beat slapping waves while you eat. Very pricey.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Did not live up to expectations - the view was great but the food was ok and overpriced. Mentioned it was our anniversary which meant nothing. We even got a worse table than others who came in after us. Not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

My wife's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Not only was the food, ambiance, and location excellent, but also our server Dan. Was in a hurry to catch a flight and they were amazingly accomodating. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Delicious food. Excellent service. Beautiful location. Expensive for what you get but the food quality is exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Incredible!! Fantastic views, delicious trays, and Tik is a top notch server! Appreciated everything about the night :-)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My wife's Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The best birthday dinner I could ask for with the best server...Bronson. Loved our dinner there. Food and ambiance and attentiveness of staff amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We came for our 15th anniversary and it was spectacular! The venue is just gorgeous- got to see a sunset and an orange MOONset! Waves crashing and warm ocean breeze were lovely. Food was delicious. You get what you pay for. Worth the splurge for a special occasion. Cocktails $18-20 and entrees about $50. But again- a highlight of our vacation! Our server was great- took a lot of time to describe things perfectly and gave us hints about the area. He was a pleasure! Overall highly recommend if you are ready to splurge!

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We went to Ulu Ocean Grill at the Four Seasons at the suggestion of a close friend. As we were celebrating our 31st wedding anniversary, I made a reservation for 6 pm to watch the sunset and mentioned it was for our special day. From the moment we walked in, we were wished Happy Anniversary by the entire staff whenever we spoke to someone. We enjoyed drinks in the bar with Tom the bartender. Our waiter Dan was very attentive without hovering and he had a knack for anticipating our every need. My husband ordered the Thai soup and Mahi- Mahi with the soup being especially good. I ordered the green salad and Mongolian beef which was delicious. One nice part of the evening was the relaxing vibe with the guitar player in the background. The chocolate soufflé was divine and came complimentary to celebrate our big day! We will definitely come again the next time we're in Kona!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Fish, meat, and vegetables were perfectly prepared and I believe all were locally sourced from the island. The service was absolutely perfect. While the view is primarily why we dined here, the food and service is why we returned nearly every night during our stay on property.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Disappointing experience. Local Staeks have not been offered as an option. Restaurant is overrated.
Four Seasons Restaurants are much better in other regions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

There is nothing special about the food. It is ridiculously expensive simply because they can take advantage of the amazing views. I felt taken advantage of. I've had much better for a lot less in restaurants back home. The property is beautiful, and as such, they can make it a tourist trap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2017

For our anniversary celebration dinner reserved weeks ahead, we were seated in a lovely spot that happened to be really windy. The wind kept picking up and our table was outside the canvas baffles they can draw down for wind protection so we thought it best to move to another table. Staff accommodated the move and we were in the new spot for maybe 5 minutes when the team drew the wind baffles into place. All good...However in moving we got a new waiter. He told us that we'd moved into worse wind than our previous table (which was outside the baffle, remember) and we'd better "move again now." I wish we had: This waiter did not act terribly respectful about our food preferences or our plan to order a few small plates at a time. When we asked about whether a menu item was spicy he acted irritated and listed other things for us to avoid. We asked to replace a sauce on an item with an sauce listed on another item and his response was hard to classify: willing, but condescending? We ordered two rounds of small plates anyway. The first two were serviceable - boring crab fritters on tasty pear slaw, and a decent but bland sashimi dish (needed soy, ponzu, something). The second two were less auspicious: a plate that wasn't meant for us, and an order of calamari that were gummy and mucosal in the middle. We'd intended to have main courses and dessert but after the gross calamari, error in pickup, and weird service, we gave up and asked for the bill. They spotted our drinks. (The drinks were pretty good, so thumbs up to the bar.)

We went to a lesser-known beachside bar down by Mauna Lani for the rest of our supper and didn't regret it. I think we won't try the Four Seasons again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Hands down...the best place for a fabulous meal!!!
We ate here 2 out of 3 evenings in Kona. The service is first rate...the preparation is first rate...the presentation is first rate! This is a foodies paradise!! thank you for two wonderful evenings right by the oceanside for a wonderful dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Ulu is one of our favorite restaurants on the big island. Service is always great (although this time it was lacking the usual wonderful service we are used to from the staff). Sushi and kitchen items delish. Poke is the very best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best setting in the Big Island. You are right by the water in the most beautiful hotel in Hawaii.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great location, great food and a view that's worth every penny! Our server Floyd was great, you could tell he really enjoys what he's doing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was a great choice for a sunset dinner! You are literally right on the beach with your table. Service was perfect and top notch. Paired with complementary valet service it was a great night. The fresh fish catch was amazing and cooked just right. We had an appetizer of Ahi poke which was made table side and was delicious! One of the best meals I had on the island. Highly recommend the splurge for one night!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great location right on the beach. Excellent service. Good sushi and lobster & shrimp pad Thai

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We went to Ulu our first night in Hawaii. I almost cancelled because we were so tired from our flight. We are so glad we kept our reservation. I cannot say enough about the ambiance, service and deliciousness that was our experience at Ulu. The menu and wine list were excellent and on par with any top restaurant I've been to. What made Ulu different was the exquisite waterfront location (I swear we were given the best table in the house), with lights trained on waves crashing on the rocky shore just footsteps away. Palm trees swaying overhead, stars in the sky, a professional waitstaff who did not hurry your evening and made you feel like you were the only ones there. Add a musician whose volume, talent and tone were perfect for listening enjoyment but also ease of conversation, and top it off with a divine dinner from appetizer to dessert, and you have the ultimate special evening. Worth every penny. We dined in some of the best restaurants on Big Island this week - Ulu was, hands down, the very best of them all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Unparalleled setting right on the sand at the Four Seasons hotel. Menu is small but excellent. Service was outstanding. Highly recommended

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Enjoyed the menu options, food was terrific. Beautiful setting - great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of our favorite spots! Service always fantastic! Poke tableside is delish!! Sushi is always great and cooked entrees consistently good. Often have wonderful live music. View is calming and peaceful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2017

First time in Hawaii, with my wife celebrating our honeymoon. Awesome location (maybe a little hard to find w/o a GPS). Ambience excellent, soft live music in background, ocean front, beach access, mellow ocean surf, fantastic sunset.

Food as expected, very very good!. Our server also surpassed our expectations, not only knowledgeable about restaurant's options, but also appropriately conversant about life in Hawaii.

Great selection of spirits, beers and specially wines.
Able to accommodate customized food servings and details.

We spent 3 hours in our celebration dinner - beyond words!

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Beautiful oceanside setting. Perfect, friendly personalized service. Incredible food, especially hors d'oeuvres. A special place to make culinary memories.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

ハワイ島でロケーション最高な超高級居酒屋さんをイメージ下さい。
兎に角一度行ってみて!

次回もまた必ず来ます‼︎

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

All the good was overlooked even after the waiter took my r tree back to the kitchen for another as he was shocked at how overbooked the fish was
In the end they comped my entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The outdoor seating is on the beach and a beautiful location at sunset. The food and drinks were delicious and creative. They were having a mini wine tasting event which was a special treat. A wonderful musician played music on the patio (acoustic guitar and singing). Normally our service at Ulu's is impeccable, but this time it was very slow.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Extraordinario ambiente con una vista al mar que no olvidará. Muy buena gastronomía y carta de vinos. Cuando fuimos nosotros tardaron una hora en traer nuestro plato principal. Única crítica. Por lo demás, excelente experiencia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

One of my new favorites. They have a great menu, Asian inspired, but a flair of other influences. Highly recommended for the food, view, and service. We'd come back in a heartbeat. By the way, don't let the word "Grill" turn you off. It is not a restaurant grill kind of spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Our server Bronson helped make our double birthday celebration a night to remember. He was funny, attentive and knowledgeable. We ordered the Baozi, very tasty, the tomato salad, perfectly seasoned and the right amount for four, and the calamari, dry and disappointing. For our entrees, the guys both had the Mongolian beef...needless to say, there was nothing left. I had a taste and it was full of flavor and tender. I had the lobster tails, delightful and way too much to eat. The tumeric-ginger butter and quinoa were a nice addition to the lobster. Bronson paired a lovely Sancerre wine with the lobster. For sides, I definitely suggest the sweet corn. I could have eaten the entire bowl!! Desserts finished a perfect evening. We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.