About 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

72-100 Kaupulehu Dr.
Kaupulehu, HI 96740
View Larger Map

Among the finest venues for dining in Hawai'i, 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge is a breathtaking oceanfront fish and seafood restaurant on Hawai'i Island's Kona-Kohala Coast. The culinary team keeps the focus on local cuisine with a Regional, Seasonal and Artisanal philosophy. Located within Four Seasons Resort Hualālai, 'ULU is a favorite as one of the best restaurants in Hawai'i.

'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge has been named one of the 100 Most Romantic Restaurants in America and 100 Best Al Fresco Dining Restaurants in America for 2016 by OpenTable.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Hawaiian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Queen Ka'ahumanu Hwy

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 325-8000

Website:
http://www.uluoceangrill.com/

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary self and valet parking nightly.

Executive Chef:
Massimo Falsini

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OCEANFRONT HARVEST DINNER
On Saturday evenings, the Oceanfront Harvest Dinner is an interactive culinary journey. Enjoy a sake and sushi reception while you watch the sun set over the water, before joining your dinner companions at the communal harvest tables. There, our chefs and the Resort’s wine and cocktail experts will guide you through a spectacular five-course dinner celebrating the bounty of the islands.

Restaurant Photos

Risotto Fritters - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Half Cheeseburger And French Fries - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Chocolate Bon Bons - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Coconut Adrift - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Cappuccino - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Sugared Pizza Dough - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Olives And Mixed Nuts - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Banana Split - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Wild Boar Pizza - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge
Pork Chop With A Corn Relish - 'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge

'Ulu Ocean Grill and Sushi Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Best Overall
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Food
Hawaii / Big Island
6 More
Best Service
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Ambiance
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Value
Hawaii / Big Island
Fit for Foodies
Hawaii / Big Island
Romantic
Hawaii / Big Island
Most Booked
Hawaii / Big Island
Best Restaurants in Kaupulehu ›

Scenic View (45)
Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (40)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Waterfront (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Organic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fun (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The best location one can expect

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 3 days ago

The best location one can expect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

WOW! Ulu captures the essence of Hawai ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

WOW! Ulu captures the essence of Hawaii and wraps it in a delightful dining experience. The lobster was perfection. Put Ulu at the tip of your list!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for a birthday/anniversary ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went here for a birthday/anniversary dinner. The service was outstanding. The food was delicious and the view was spectacular!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding - except for irritating tech ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding - except for irritating techno-beat recorded music. Ulu is always a must for our visits to the Big Island - and is dependably the dining-out highlight of our trip. The oceanfront tables are romantic and quiet. The menu features perfectly prepared local seafood. Desserts are delicious - including creative sorbets. They impressively remembered my wife's birthday when we were first greeted by the server. The servers are always the most professional, knowledgeable and attentive waitstaff we have encountered anywhere. The only thing missing is music that fits the ambiance. You do not expect to hear a techno-beat rhythm piped through speakers amid this backdrop of crashing waves and stunning sunsets, it is jarring and incongruent. Some live jazz or Hawaiiana would more befit the visually stunning setting and the $300 check.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the more romantic overall setting ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

One of the more romantic overall settings I have ever experienced. Amazing location, nice ambiance and beautiful views. Very good service. Tight menu - outstanding seafood - but enough variety for most anyone. Better sushi than I have had most anywhere. Would consider a "must do" for that special dinner when on the Big Island. Will absolutely most definitively go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice setting for a romantic dinner. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very nice setting for a romantic dinner. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We were seated with a great view of the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We were seated with a great view of the sunset. The menu isn't very big and the food was mostly good but the service was excellent!

We took note of the other reviewers who said the fish was a bit overcooked, so we asked for it a little undercooked and it was perfect! Had the following:

2 appetizers: the octopus - a little tough and salty but overall good, and the hamachi sashimi - delicious!,

Entrees - the Bershire Pork Duo - porky goodness! The pork chop was cooked to perfection (slightly pink) and the pork belly was crunchy and melting in the mouth... a contradiction but pork lovers will understand.

Also had the Charred Hawaiian Hapu'upu'u - cooked beautifully after we asked that it be slightly undercooked. We also had the side of the mushroom fried rice. It was good, but not great.

For dessert, we had the coconut raspberry souffle. It was our anniversary and they wrote on the plate "Happy Anniversary" in Hawaiian... beautiful and delicious at the same time! They also gave complimentary caramel toffee popcorn! What a treat! The prices were a bit high for us but why not for a special occasion!

Overall, great service, good food and an awesome view!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner was excellent but have to say th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Dinner was excellent but have to say that when mentioning dinner specials, and describing tomahawk steak for two which we bought and was awesome, but not mentioning the price of $185 in retrospect was bad form. Most expensive entres were less than $50 so we had no idea that it would cost us that much. We had other choices we would taken knowing the actual cost. Otherwise evenning was awesome and will return again but will now ask cost of any specials.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Beautiful setting as close to the beach ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Beautiful setting as close to the beach as you can get. Food was wonderful, great presentation, lovely service.

They have some unique cocktails - my husband had the Pear Sakatini and I had a Hibiscus Martini and both were very good

We loved everything about experience at Ulu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ulu was very romantic , but very expensi ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ulu was very romantic , but very expensive! Bring lots of$$$$$$

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service were perfection!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Food and service were perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our anniversary dinner at Ulu Ocean Gril ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our anniversary dinner at Ulu Ocean Grill was lovely. The food is consistently very good with fresh local ingredients. We always have a chocolate and Grand Marnier souffle for dessert. As usual, both souffles were perfect. Our server, Dan, was excellent. Ulu is certainly a lovely locale to have dinner and is well worth the drive from Kona.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was over cooked. We ordered medium ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was over cooked. We ordered medium steak and it was well done. It took so long we didn't want to wait for another plate. Sushi was kinda boring options. Overall it wasn't worth 200 we didn't finish anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Terrific food, great service. Presentati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Terrific food, great service.

Presentation and taste accents with dishes were very unique.

Open air restaurant in a lovely internal and external setting on the ocean. You can hear the waves.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful views, waves crashing right be ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Beautiful views, waves crashing right before you. Elegant grounds and restaurant. Might have been an off night, but service extremely slow...waiting almost an hour for entree. Food was ok, but not worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Service was outstanding on a busy night! ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Service was outstanding on a busy night! The live music was delightful with a wonderful ambience was created with the lighting of the lava rocks and waves.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable experience! Definitely wort ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Unbelievable experience! Definitely worth the splurge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This could not have been a better dining ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This could not have been a better dining experience. From the setting to the food to the service, absolute perfection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not only the best restaurant on the big ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Not only the best restaurant on the big island but one of the best I've eaten at period! Even the basic dishes, like the calamari, seemed to have been re engineered to taste as delicious as possible. Highly, recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most important and most relevant par ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The most important and most relevant part of the dining experience at Ulu is that this is the very best ocean front fancy restaurant in Hawaii, other than Mama's Fish House on Maui. If you are on this island, Hawaii, and are looking for the most romantic ocean front dining experience short of paying for a private table at a resort, perched on a grassy knoll or on the sand, this is it. The ocean is across the walkway. The weather tends to perfection.

There have been some changes since we last ate here. The once outstanding purple sourdough bread has been replaced by lavosh. If you are a fan of crispy crackers, that is great. I like them, but miss the purple bread.

The menu choices are simply not on the same level they were when we last ate here in 2015. The Asian flare is still the pronounced sensibility, with many sushi selections and the rest of the menu tending toward a Thai/Chinese fusion that does not always make sense. We were steered away from the Pad thai as being too salty a rendition. My husband had the Mongolian beef. it arrived in a sauce reminiscent of Indonesian kecap manis sedang, a sweet thick brown sauce that tended to drown the beef. The beef was cut thick, so was very chewy and not particularly appealing.

We shared a shrimp sushi roll. It was good but not outstanding. Nothing to elevate it. The mushroom rice had thick chunks of mushroom. As we ate it, I could not remember if the waiter had described it as a fried rice or a risotto. Not fried, but risotto and again, not nuanced or subtle. Sticky without the flavors you would associate with a great risotto, and yet it ought to have been a fried rice to go with the rest of the menu.

My fire roasted lobster tails were very good. They were simply prepared, and the serving was generous. Plenty to share with my husband. They came on a bed of wilted spinach that was similarly unadorned, and as such, was good but again, not special.

Our dessert was one of the souffles - very nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated our 33rd anniversary! Got sea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Celebrated our 33rd anniversary! Got seated oceanside with a beautiful view of the evening sunset. Our waiter Justin was the best we ever had! He was very knowledgeable in the various dishes prepared and wine parings that it went well with it. We started off with a delicious New Zealand salmon bruschetta (chef's special) which was very unique. Our second dish we tried was there Waimea green salad that was very refreshing and plentiful. Our main course that we shared was the local snapper prepared with coconut curry that went well with the fish on top of thin rice noodles...delish!!! Will make a point to return to this AWESOME restaurant on our next visit to the Big Island. MAHALO!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for my Mother's Birthday on va ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Went here for my Mother's Birthday on vacation. An amazing view of the ocean and fantastic outdoor and "porch" style seating areas allow for a once in a lifetime dining experience. Recommend booking days in advance if you want a time during sunset. Food was good, but didn't live up to the rest of the dining experience. Service was top notch and very attentive. They also brought out a small cake with fresh fruit for my Mother as well.

Highly recommend if you are staying on the Kona side of the island.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great setting but the food was a little ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great setting but the food was a little disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was amazing and the setting was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was amazing and the setting was second to none!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance... On patio overlooking beach a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Ambiance... On patio overlooking beach and ocean... You could hear the waves.... Watching the sunset while sipping our wine... The tiki torch guy lighting the torches...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been coming to the island annually ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Have been coming to the island annually for the last five years although this was our first time to the hotel/restaurant but it won't be the last. We came to celebrate my husbands birthday and were treated to a table on the edge of the patio with front row seats to the ocean and fabulous sunset. Our waiter was professional, knowledgeable, and provided quality customer service. The food was outstanding! We shared the calamari and beet salad and then each enjoyed a lovely fish dinner. We would have licked our plates but it would have been bad form. If you want great food, professional servers, and a view that you can't get enough of then this is the place for you. We will be going back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food served at the waters edge ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fantastic food served at the waters edge. Not cheap, but worth splurging on.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic beachfront setting at sunset. W ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Romantic beachfront setting at sunset. We were here a month ago, and returned again from Maui.

Bronson was the consummate server, giving excellent suggestions and knowledgable in detail. We also enjoyed his sense of humor. We felt very well cared for and attended to by Bronson and Dace in a low-key way, without a feeling of intrusiveness.

Had a great virgin mojito with coconut water, mulled ginger, mint, cucumber; and a homemade ginger beer. Chicken coconut lemongrass soup. Slow-grilled octopus. Steamed buns with lilikoi wild boar. Hawaii sushi roll and Ginger Hamachi. Pineapple upside down cake with Puna goat cheese and Thai basil gelato. Didn't feel rushed. Very relaxing at our seaside table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite place ever! Incredible food, ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My favorite place ever! Incredible food, ambiance and staff! Brilliant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant, situated right on ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, situated right on the beach, but most items are extremely overpriced for the quality. Started out with the tuna tartare/poke, that was absolutely delicious and fairly priced. Moved on to the $40 shrimp and lobster pad thai that was mostly oversauced noodles. Few vegetables, with far too few shrimp and lobster pieces to justify the $40 price tag. Definitely a disappointment in every way. My husband's filet mignon was very tiny and overcooked. I think it was about $60. The highlight of the evening was a nice glass of sancerre that was $24, overpriced for that particular winery and vintage, but perfectly chilled and really enjoyable in that setting. The scenery is spectacular, though, so we'd go back just to enjoy the ocean breezes and lovely setting! But will order different entrees.....

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Ulu is one of our favorite restaurants i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Ulu is one of our favorite restaurants in Hawaii. We are always so delighted with the entire experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for the view and because on ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We went here for the view and because one of our party, the guest of honor, had been before and requested it. *I* would not go back. My two guests loved it. The food was excellent, but very expensive - over $40 per entree. Wines are quadruple retail. There was live music but the crowd was attempting to talk louder than the performer, so the noise level was extremely high at our oceanside table. We finally asked our server to move us to a quieter corner and she cheerfully obliged. Service was somewhat slower than I expected, but my guests were not bothered in the slightest. To be fair to the server, I had my wife sign the bill and add the tip.

The restaurant is part of the Four Seasons Hotel, which itself part of a gated resort community. The security guard at the gate was *extremely* rude, telling my wife 'I can't let you drive freely around the resort. You must go directly to the hotel.' as if there was anything he could do about it! We drove where we pleased, since we were an hour early for our dinner reservation, and walked along the beautiful shoreline. There were two endangered green sea turtles hauled up on the beach so we took photos of them while maintaining a respectful distance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

Wow! Ulu was never better. We had a trul ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wow! Ulu was never better. We had a truly memorable evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanting.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Enchanting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very memorable experience dining at 'Ulu ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very memorable experience dining at 'Ulu. Impeccable service, delicious food, but the best thing for us was the ambiance/decor of the restaurant and outdoor dining. We had an early reservation and were seated at the perimeter of the outdoor tables, just a few steps away from the sand, with a beautiful view of the sunset. Couldn't ask for a better dining environment. The food was up to par with the environment, and while we did enjoy what we ordered (local oysters, grilled octopus, local snapper and another fish dish), we would definitely come back for the outdoor dining experience alone. Our server, Steve, was really friendly, genuine and down-to-earth (e.g. not snooty). Overall a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious. Service impeccable. ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Food was delicious. Service impeccable. Our server, Bronson, was superb. His knowledge about the menu, the food preparation, was exceptional. He was friendly and the ultimate professional. On top of all this, the setting is second to none. Beautiful. Can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Genesis is amazing! She always goes abov ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Genesis is amazing! She always goes above and beyond and makes everything super enjoyable. The miso glaze on the fish of the day is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is outstanding. The food was ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The service is outstanding. The food was not as good this time- the portion size was not the same as in the past (smaller) however the manager was amazing and jumped to fix it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

There probably is no better restaurant a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

There probably is no better restaurant atmosphere here than anywhere I have ever been. The only two negatives were the food portion/preparation and music selection this time.

We have been here(2nd restaurant name) almost every year since 2003 and this year was the least impressive on the food.

Also the "club" music played instead of a live slack guitarist greatly reduced the amazing ambience normally associated with this restaurant.

I still recommend it, but I am not sure my wife and I will be back at least for a while.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friends recommended this restaurant to u ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Friends recommended this restaurant to us and we were not disappointed. The setting right on the ocean is beautiful even at night, the service was impeccable (our server was Dan), food excellent. We enjoyed the Charred local Octopus, Corn and Coconut Chicken Soup, one of us had the wood oven roasted snapper and the other 2 of us had the Charred Hawaiian Hapu'upu'u, chocolate Souffle and Nuts for Bananas were shared. Walking through the Four Seasons grounds to get to the hotel was lovely as well; a beautiful hotel as one would expect. We had a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.